View Full Version : Aflq News
Pages :
[
8]
morphous
29 Jan 2007, 10:21
you'll have to check where you looked Morphous. See below.
Just copied this from an email, a friend of mine going from a Div 1 club to a Div 2 club. He hasn't been transferred yet, as they (the 2 clubs) are haggling over the price.
> This is based on the transfer guidelines as set out by AFLQ.
>
>
>
> A total of 600 points was calculated for XXXX and under the guidelines
> we are able to ask for 75% of the transfer fee because he is moving
> form a Div
> 1 club to a Div 2 club.
>
>
>
> Age - 25 - 100pnts
>
> Years of senior footy - 6 - 100pnts
>
> Senior State Rep - 100pnts
>
> No. of games (100+) - 150pnts
>
> Premiership player - 150 pnts
>
>
>
> TOTAL - 600pnts
>
>
>
> This corresponds to a fee of $2000 and according to the guidelines we
> can ask for 75% of this form a Div 2 club.
>
>
>
> Therefore we request a fee of $1500 for his clearance.
Ok, I'll watch with great interest.
Third Qtr. Spray
29 Jan 2007, 12:21
[quote=thomo44;6571650]Some footy goss...... just passing it on....
* Wayne Carey set to play a game or two for PBC this year.
Don't know how accurate your gossip is but he is also rumored to be playing 6 or 7 games with his nephew KADE CAREY at Doutta Stars in the E.D.F.L. down in Melbourne this year.
Cheers :) :thumbsu:
Doug_Hondo
29 Jan 2007, 13:33
I was just inquiring as to why you are no longer at Springwood.
Who says im not at springwood still?
morphous
29 Jan 2007, 13:42
Who says im not at springwood still?
Lenny29 and thomo44 back on page 45
Doug_Hondo
29 Jan 2007, 13:43
tsss, far out mate too much time on ur hands. But so much for ur prediction of a exodus to puma land...only 3 left, while more have joined!
thomo44
29 Jan 2007, 13:44
i'm not to sure how accurate it is either, i got it 3rd hand. Apparently his brother is playing for PBC?
[quote=thomo44;6571650]Some footy goss...... just passing it on....
* Wayne Carey set to play a game or two for PBC this year.
Don't know how accurate your gossip is but he is also rumored to be playing 6 or 7 games with his nephew KADE CAREY at Doutta Stars in the E.D.F.L. down in Melbourne this year.
Cheers :) :thumbsu:
morphous
29 Jan 2007, 13:49
tsss, far out mate too much time on ur hands. But so much for ur prediction of a exodus to puma land...only 3 left, while more have joined!
I never predicted that. I think you're looking in the mirror from about this time last year.
Doug_Hondo
29 Jan 2007, 13:53
I wasnt referring to u, a few people having indicated there are troubles at mounties..not the case.
thomo44
29 Jan 2007, 13:55
I guess we'll see in March when the Peter Foster of the AFLQ cuts his list back to 55. Lets see how many bloke give up footy and more importantly how many kids will give the game away. Great work Lake, you idiot.
I wasnt referring to u, a few people having indicated there are troubles at mounties..not the case.
morphous
29 Jan 2007, 13:58
I guess we'll see in March when the Peter Foster of the AFLQ cuts his list back to 55. Lets see how many bloke give up footy and more importantly how many kids will give the game away. Great work Lake, you idiot.
He did a pretty good job with the u16 bushies in the past and one of the kids he use to coach has crossed from Morningside to Mt Gravatt (Guy Tarrant).
thomo44
29 Jan 2007, 14:02
Your point?
He did a pretty good job with the u16 bushies in the past and one of the kids he use to coach has crossed from Morningside to Mt Gravatt (Guy Tarrant).
morphous
29 Jan 2007, 14:07
Your point?
Well if he was successful at one I wonder why he seems to be failing at another.
Eagle Eye
29 Jan 2007, 14:17
Hmmmm! :D
thomo44
29 Jan 2007, 14:17
We'll see what Hondo has to say about it in March. All praise now,but am interested to see what happens when he gets cut. If Mt Gravatt were any good why would they recruit reserves players from div 2????
Ross,Bridge,Capaldi,Cant,Moor,Wallin(res a/coach)....
Are you one of these players Hondo?
Well if he was successful at one I wonder why he seems to be failing at another.
morphous
29 Jan 2007, 14:20
We'll see what Hondo has to say about it in March. All praise now,but am interested to see what happens when he gets cut. If Mt Gravatt were any good why would they recruit reserves players from div 2????
All clubs are in the same boat as far as having only 55 on a list, coaches have to be ruthless and it does get very hard as all clubs know when injuries mount up and theres limited permits allowed.
The players mentioned may have also followed the res coach over. Maybe they liked playing under Lake when he was at springwood too.
Doug_Hondo
29 Jan 2007, 14:25
Only two of the players u have mentioned are playing there.
thomo44
29 Jan 2007, 14:26
Who's that?
Only two of the players u have mentioned are playing there.
morphous
29 Jan 2007, 14:28
Who's that?
I think the a/coach would be obvious and I'm thinking the other is Cant.
thomo44
29 Jan 2007, 14:32
ok.
Enough of Mt Gravatt.
Whats happening with other clubs?
Anyone want to come up to Airlie and play? looking for a new coach, going for 4 in a row!!!!
Great lifestyle, plenty of work (tradies).
Doug_Hondo
29 Jan 2007, 15:54
Incorrect.
stmookeyj
29 Jan 2007, 15:56
Anyone want to come up to Airlie and play? looking for a new coach, going for 4 in a row!!!!
Great lifestyle, plenty of work (tradies).
Airlie's in the Mackay league right?
morphous
29 Jan 2007, 16:00
Incorrect.
Cut me a bit of slack Dougie you know I'm not good with the guessing game :)
thomo44
29 Jan 2007, 16:40
Airlie's in the Mackay league right?
yes. Standard is ok. Only 5 teams. Prob equivilent to Wynnum,yeronga league down there.
stmookeyj
29 Jan 2007, 16:49
yes. Standard is ok. Only 5 teams. Prob equivilent to Wynnum,yeronga league down there.
I should know, we (Brohters, Capricornia League) play Bakers Creek in about a month.
Doug_Hondo
29 Jan 2007, 16:59
Cut me a bit of slack Dougie you know I'm not good with the guessing game :)
Nah thats me done...
Forwardscout
31 Jan 2007, 11:21
heard that Rcihard 'Bear' Robinson has quit at Redlands and is heading back home to Tassie. If this is true this will be a huge blow for Redlands as he was ear marked to be captain this season.
morphous
31 Jan 2007, 12:27
heard that Rcihard 'Bear' Robinson has quit at Redlands and is heading back home to Tassie. If this is true this will be a huge blow for Redlands as he was ear marked to be captain this season.
That is true. He's been training hard and will be missed around the club.
hardluck11
31 Jan 2007, 12:34
That is true. He's been training hard and will be missed around the club.
Any one know how jack wells went for redlands last season. heard on the grape vine he coached for a few weeks at the start of the year.
morphous
31 Jan 2007, 12:58
Any one know how jack wells went for redlands last season. heard on the grape vine he coached for a few weeks at the start of the year.
Jack had a great year for us last year, he did help out coaching a couple games with Craig Millar when David Hart wasn't able to make a couple games early in the year.
hardluck11
31 Jan 2007, 14:03
Jack had a great year for us last year, he did help out coaching a couple games with Craig Millar when David Hart wasn't able to make a couple games early in the year.
Good to hear the tassie boy is going well!!!!!
any new recruits for redlands this year?
what ever happened to derek wirth. does he still have a kick. and justin stone???
morphous
31 Jan 2007, 14:07
Good to hear the tassie boy is going well!!!!!
any new recruits for redlands this year?
what ever happened to derek wirth. does he still have a kick. and justin stone???
A couple new recruits, some from Tassie.
Derek is still going strong, finished 2nd in last years club b and f, Stoneys working up near Darwin.
hardluck11
31 Jan 2007, 14:16
A couple new recruits, some from Tassie.
Derek is still going strong, finished 2nd in last years club b and f, Stoneys working up near Darwin.
Couldnt name a few could since im from down here???
morphous
31 Jan 2007, 14:23
Couldnt name a few could since im from down here???
I don't get to training much until after March when the under 18 state rep champs are over.
This is from the Redland homepage, not sure which are from Tassie.
Jonathan Hanran, Justin Carey, Ryan Guertan, RossO’Bryan, Mark Bray, James Fulkenberg, Bradley Rees, James Deaureaux, Julian Porter, Phil Carse, James Quirk, Daniel Briffa, Anthony Hickey, Hayden Anderson, Jaryd Hamilton, Mitch Eadie, Sean Conroy.
And also the Thompson brothers.
Forwardscout
31 Jan 2007, 14:45
I don't get to training much until after March when the under 18 state rep champs are over.
This is from the Redland homepage, not sure which are from Tassie.
Jonathan Hanran, Justin Carey, Ryan Guertan, RossO’Bryan, Mark Bray, James Fulkenberg, Bradley Rees, James Deaureaux, Julian Porter, Phil Carse, James Quirk, Daniel Briffa, Anthony Hickey, Hayden Anderson, Jaryd Hamilton, Mitch Eadie, Sean Conroy.
And also the Thompson brothers.
morphous i was told that the Thompson brother have decided not to play and that redlands have lost a quite a few of the top 10 from last year i.e. Shane Bonnicha and Brock Ackerly. Can you confirm this?
morphous
31 Jan 2007, 15:01
morphous i was told that the Thompson brother have decided not to play and that redlands have lost a quite a few of the top 10 from last year i.e. Shane Bonnicha and Brock Ackerly. Can you confirm this?
Brock did his knee last year and i believe it requires surgery and he is living on the sunshine coast. I think just before christmas bonna hurt his back haven't heard that hes quit all together.
I should know, we (Brohters, Capricornia League) play Bakers Creek in about a month.
What's the standard of the Capricornia league? I'm still pretty new to the area.
^^^Well I've decided to answer the question myself, I've joined the CQU Rockhampton Panthers, my current level of fitness is pretty piss poor, but the way the coach is working us, I'll come around. Fun fun fun.:)
bananabenda
7 Feb 2007, 14:17
I guess this topic might be better suited to drafts and trading, but I'd love some talk on the 2007 Queensland draft prospects. Who are the outstanding kids going round at the mo? Doesn't seem to be much talk about it. After last year's effort, I thought it would make a good topic of conversation.
morphous
7 Feb 2007, 14:36
I guess this topic might be better suited to drafts and trading, but I'd love some talk on the 2007 Queensland draft prospects. Who are the outstanding kids going round at the mo? Doesn't seem to be much talk about it. After last year's effort, I thought it would make a good topic of conversation.
Will know more once the state champs have finished in March.
morphous
7 Feb 2007, 15:57
Will know more once the state champs have finished in March.
The NAB cup match between North Melb and Collingwood at Carrara on Feb 23rd will have the Gold Coast Stingrays vs South East Bushrangers in a trial match for the curtain raiser. Should be a good game and gauge as these are usually two of the three top sides (other is Northern Raiders) and last year 9 out of the 18 players got drafted/rookie listed out of these sides.
I have heard that Jack Stanley from Aspley and Gubby Allens young bloke are good prospects but not sure if they are eligible for the 07 draft.They are creating conversation down south.
kidneyhawks
7 Feb 2007, 19:20
Wayne Carey to play a couple of games at PBC this year now that would be interesting, i know Craig O Brien has brought some quality players this year to Palmy but he would be something special. Might have to ask the question on how true it is to him tomorrow night.
morphous
7 Feb 2007, 19:29
Wayne Carey to play a couple of games at PBC this year now that would be interesting, i know Craig O Brien has brought some quality players this year to Palmy but he would be something special. Might have to ask the question on how true it is to him tomorrow night.
According to another post on BigFooty (can't remember where) hes committed to calling 15 games and rumored to be playing a couple games with his nephew which doesn't leave him much time to play at PBC.
kidneyhawks
7 Feb 2007, 19:36
Yeah thought it was a bit out there, would be interesting thats for sure
morphous
7 Feb 2007, 19:50
Yeah thought it was a bit out there, would be interesting thats for sure
North Melb/AFL could use him on the gold coast to get more exposure/interest.
Doug_Hondo
8 Feb 2007, 14:07
Wayne Carey's reputation on the Gold Coast isnt exactly perfect after his efforts as a Guest Speaker at Surfers Paradise Sportsmen dinner!
morphous
8 Feb 2007, 15:06
Wayne Carey's reputation on the Gold Coast isnt exactly perfect after his efforts as a Guest Speaker at Surfers Paradise Sportsmen dinner!
Forgot about that one also whilst on PBC according to the aflq website it's official that 10 players from Broadbeach have gone to PBC, I don't know the names tho.
Forwardscout
8 Feb 2007, 16:21
morphous - can you tell me if the Thompson boys (Michael and Robbie) have been seen at Redlands training yet?
morphous
8 Feb 2007, 16:51
morphous - can you tell me if the Thompson boys (Michael and Robbie) have been seen at Redlands training yet?
I haven't been there myself since last Wednesday but I believe they have been training.
Tamburo $1500 sign on.
$500 per match
+ work
All this through PBC.
Surfers have said they can beat that offer....
kidneyhawks
9 Feb 2007, 07:01
I could tell you morpheous but im not gonna. There is some really good players in there. A few boys that before they were at Broady all played at Southport together aswell. And with Palmy looking like that will play Zillmere(hopefully March 3rd) in the first practice game and Labrador(locked in for March 10th) in there 2nd in could be interesting to see how they go against them division 1 sides considering most of there players have played div 1 footy with some even higher.
Anyone know what Evan Durea*, Coffs Harbour boy played for Southport last year, is doing this year?
morphous
9 Feb 2007, 08:23
I could tell you morpheous but im not gonna. There is some really good players in there. A few boys that before they were at Broady all played at Southport together aswell. And with Palmy looking like that will play Zillmere(hopefully March 3rd) in the first practice game and Labrador(locked in for March 10th) in there 2nd in could be interesting to see how they go against them division 1 sides considering most of there players have played div 1 footy with some even higher.
But the suspense will kill me.
Doug_Hondo
9 Feb 2007, 10:19
Surfers need more then Tamburro to be competitive...
morphous
9 Feb 2007, 10:27
Surfers need more then Tamburro to be competitive...
Do you know what the salary cap is in div 2 doug?
Doug_Hondo
9 Feb 2007, 10:29
No idea...have to ask Lenny but there are definately very simple ways of getting around it, not really an issue, 3rd party sponsors etc are rife in just about every club...
morphous
9 Feb 2007, 10:31
No idea...have to ask Lenny but there are definately very simple ways of getting around it, not really an issue, 3rd party sponsors etc are rife in just about every club...
Very true
stmookeyj
9 Feb 2007, 15:23
^^^Well I've decided to answer the question myself, I've joined the CQU Rockhampton Panthers, my current level of fitness is pretty piss poor, but the way the coach is working us, I'll come around. Fun fun fun.:)
You poor ********ing soul.
morphous
9 Feb 2007, 21:45
Yep can confirm both are training
Forwardscout
9 Feb 2007, 22:23
Yep can confirm both are training
Thats good news for Redlands. There was some talk they had decided not to play. They can't afford to lose anymore good players having already lost a few of their top 10 from last season.
You poor ********ing soul.
Haha enlighten me.:p
bananabenda
11 Feb 2007, 11:43
Hey Morpheous, I hear theres some good home-grown talent at Redlands, and that Odgers is excited about the young kids coming through. Tell us a bit about them. I suppose they at least come from the Redlands area, and arent pinched by Redlands, unlike Mt G. and "Peter Foster" and his band of pirates. Rumour has it that Mt G have been "networking" and getting quite a few over to join their 16's and 18's. I guess thats where being an ex-Bushies coach comes in handy.
Man Mt Gravatt has been doing all that for soo long its not funny, some Taipans players have been told over the years that moving to Mt Gravatt would help their cause in making the side. So by no means a new phenomena, but these players tend to last only a year or two before they come to their senses.
morphous
11 Feb 2007, 12:48
Yeah Toddy's right.
As far as the good young players coming through we've got about 10 kids in the u18 Bushies squad of 25 and most of them will be bottom age players this year. We've got 2 players who are both 18 this year who played all bar 1 game each of seniors last year and yes there wasn't much competition for places last year but both of the former under 8 team mates held their own. One of them finished in the top 3 of the club medal and the other won the award for best first year player for the 18 Bushies.
morphous
11 Feb 2007, 12:48
And there no E in my name fellas :D
Forwardscout
11 Feb 2007, 14:23
Yeah Toddy's right.
As far as the good young players coming through we've got about 10 kids in the u18 Bushies squad of 25 and most of them will be bottom age players this year. We've got 2 players who are both 18 this year who played all bar 1 game each of seniors last year and yes there wasn't much competition for places last year but both of the former under 8 team mates held their own. One of them finished in the top 3 of the club medal and the other won the award for best first year player for the 18 Bushies.
Are you reffering to one of them finishing in the top 3 of the senior medal count at redlands? if so you may need to check your info i dont think that is correct.
morphous
11 Feb 2007, 14:30
Are you reffering to one of them finishing in the top 3 of the senior medal count at redlands? if so you may need to check your info i dont think that is correct.
Yeah sorry top 4, had a few too many that night.:D
Forwardscout
11 Feb 2007, 18:06
Yeah sorry top 4, had a few too many that night.:D
Interested to know who your talking about as far as i can recall the top six went:
Millar
Wirth
Wells
Mueller
Robinson
Howard.
Then again i may be wrong.
And looking at that top 6 its going to be another long year for the bombers with 3 of that top 6 in Howard, Wells and Robinson not playing there this season. You can also add O'Shea and Ackerly. Plus the experinces of Bell and Dennelly to that list. All top ten players for redland last year imo. back to square 1 for redlands!
morphous
11 Feb 2007, 19:44
Interested to know who your talking about as far as i can recall the top six went:
Millar
Wirth
Wells
Mueller
Robinson
Howard.
Then again i may be wrong.
And looking at that top 6 its going to be another long year for the bombers with 3 of that top 6 in Howard, Wells and Robinson not playing there this season. You can also add O'Shea and Ackerly. Plus the experinces of Bell and Dennelly to that list. All top ten players for redland last year imo. back to square 1 for redlands!
Heres the official top 10 from http://www.aflq.com.au/default.aspx?s=newsdisplay&aid=112719
1 - Craig Millar 105
2 - Derek Wirth 76
3 - Jarrod Wells 68
4 - Jared Campbell 64
5 - Richard Robinson 56
6 - Brad Howard 48
7 - Adam Mueller 46
8 - Shane Bonnitcha 37
8 - Jamie Hackett 37
10 - Wes Opray 32
We won't miss Denners much because he hardly played a game last year due to injury and travelling.
I think it will be a better season then last season.
Forwardscout
11 Feb 2007, 20:05
Heres the official top 10 from http://www.aflq.com.au/default.aspx?s=newsdisplay&aid=112719
1 - Craig Millar 105
2 - Derek Wirth 76
3 - Jarrod Wells 68
4 - Jared Campbell 64
5 - Richard Robinson 56
6 - Brad Howard 48
7 - Adam Mueller 46
8 - Shane Bonnitcha 37
8 - Jamie Hackett 37
10 - Wes Opray 32
We won't miss Denners much because he hardly played a game last year due to injury and travelling.
my apologises i was wrong.
Dont think Redlands are in a position to say they wont miss any player even if they didnt play much. They needed to pick up 10 top line senior players and not lose any especially not 5 of their top 10 including their captian and vice captain to have any real impact.
bananabenda
12 Feb 2007, 05:32
how many quality players have they picked up?
morphous
12 Feb 2007, 08:13
how many quality players have they picked up?
Not too sure at the moment.
Doug_Hondo
12 Feb 2007, 09:24
:confused:
morphous
12 Feb 2007, 09:46
:confused:
Gotta be optimistic.
tucky_16
12 Feb 2007, 18:15
aspley will be top 4 guaranteed this year....put money on it fellas
I think ill hold onto my money...
Krakour Magic
12 Feb 2007, 20:30
Is there a further update on Aspley's plans, Tucky? I have been hearing quite a bit about Aspley's aspirations for 2007, including some bold predictions not just for top 4, but for a quick burst straight to no. 1. I think that's great for the club and for the league to have success at some different clubs, but it would be great to get some further information on the club's activities. A pity Brent Evans couldn't have had a better list to back up his coaching efforts a couple of years ago - one of the better players in the comp.
It'll certainly be a big year for Division 2, with what seem to be much stronger sides. For mine, I think Western Magpies look like going from the premier team last year to an even better team in 07. Their professionalism, together with recruiting efforts, look like providing them with more success.
Palm Beach, with their many recruits from Broady, look like a return to top 4. Interestingly, the successful pre-season recruiting in 06 for Coolangatta (5 odd players in the rep. side, and 3 or 4 of those going on to Qld country side) didn't provide any fruit.
Noosa will remain strong for at least another year, with a couple of handy pick ups, and a strong desire to go one further.
Will be good to see what other teams can get amongst these 3 (and 4 including Aspley).
Doug_Hondo
12 Feb 2007, 22:22
Pre-season talk is cheap...
It is always fun to look back and see how wrong some are, there is no doubt that the competition will be better this year which is a positive thing.
thomo44
13 Feb 2007, 08:11
Don't rate Springwood? They were Prelim finalists last year?
What about Surfers?
Is there a further update on Aspley's plans, Tucky? I have been hearing quite a bit about Aspley's aspirations for 2007, including some bold predictions not just for top 4, but for a quick burst straight to no. 1. I think that's great for the club and for the league to have success at some different clubs, but it would be great to get some further information on the club's activities. A pity Brent Evans couldn't have had a better list to back up his coaching efforts a couple of years ago - one of the better players in the comp.
It'll certainly be a big year for Division 2, with what seem to be much stronger sides. For mine, I think Western Magpies look like going from the premier team last year to an even better team in 07. Their professionalism, together with recruiting efforts, look like providing them with more success.
Palm Beach, with their many recruits from Broady, look like a return to top 4. Interestingly, the successful pre-season recruiting in 06 for Coolangatta (5 odd players in the rep. side, and 3 or 4 of those going on to Qld country side) didn't provide any fruit.
Noosa will remain strong for at least another year, with a couple of handy pick ups, and a strong desire to go one further.
Will be good to see what other teams can get amongst these 3 (and 4 including Aspley).
morphous
13 Feb 2007, 08:55
http://www.aflq.com.au/default.aspx?s=newsdisplay&aid=115007
Tassie ace returns to Redland
Highly rated forward Michael Thompson is back at Redland after returning to Tasmania early last season.
Thompson, 21, was recruited by the Bombers after starring in the 2005 Southern Tasmania grand final.
Playing for New Norfolk against Clarence, he was the difference between the two teams and won the Horrie Gorringe Medal for the best player on the ground.
He arrived at Redland in early 2006 when the club was in the midst of a most unstable period which eventually saw the departure of coach David Hart for family reasons.
Thompson went back to Hobart after the opening six weeks of the AFLQ season and helped New Norfolk to the preliminary final.
He kicked five goals and starred in the side’s first semi final win over Hobart, but was the focus of Glenorchy’s defense in the preliminary and was shut out of the game.
Redland has turned around its off-field fortunes since Thompson’s departure, with club development manager Craig Millar and full-time coach Gary Odgers bringing much needed stability and respect with their efforts.
The bonus for Redland is that Thompson has been training strongly and brought his brother Robert with him.
Both are strong-bodied key position players, although Michael is not overly tall and was used on a wing and at centre-half-forward by the overwhelmed Bombers last season.
Robert was a regular member of the New Norfolk side and both will be good players for the Bombers with a bit of support around them.
Krakour Magic
13 Feb 2007, 09:33
Don't rate Springwood? They were Prelim finalists last year?
What about Surfers?
Sorry, Thomo, knew I was missing someone last night when I wrote that. Definitely rate them up there amongst those teams.
Eagle Eye
13 Feb 2007, 10:23
Is the the top 4 in AFLQ Division 2 or the top 4 $pending $uburban club$ in the country? :D
morphous
13 Feb 2007, 10:28
Is the the top 4 in AFLQ Division 2 or the top 4 $pending $uburdan club$ in the country? :D
Getting into the top 4 of spending suburban clubs in the country would be pretty hard.
Eagle Eye
13 Feb 2007, 11:02
Getting into the top 4 of spending suburban clubs in the country would be pretty hard.
Didn't say they would get there, but they appear to be having a "crack" - might get into the top 4 Qld $penders just behind $outhport and the Mt Gravatt Vulture$ :rolleyes:
morphous
13 Feb 2007, 11:18
Didn't say they would get there, but they appear to be having a "crack" - might get into the top 4 Qld $penders just behind $outhport and the Mt Gravatt Vulture$ :rolleyes:
I'd say theres a few clubs in front of Mt Gravatt.
I wouldnt go that far!!
morphous
13 Feb 2007, 15:31
I wouldnt go that far!!
PBC, Surfers and Cooly couldn't be running too cheaply and too with Labrador.
thomo44
13 Feb 2007, 15:43
Apparently Springwood were paying $40 a win for senior players last year, and they were fairly successful... Now thats not doing it for money.... I guess this is why Tamburro would never play for them. I know Morningside never has really payed their players well, should see the results of that this year! Many are moving on...
morphous
13 Feb 2007, 15:45
Apparently Springwood were paying $40 a win for senior players last year, and they were fairly successful... Now thats not doing it for money.... I guess this is why Tamburro would never play for them. I know Morningside never has really payed their players well, should see the results of that this year! Many are moving on...
Morningside and Zillemere have never been known to be big spenders but always are around the finals.
As for Springwood I dunno, for the players they had it would be hard to believe if they were all on that.
Morningside and Zillemere have never been known to be big spenders but always are around the finals.
As for Springwood I dunno, for the players they had it would be hard to believe if they were all on that.
No doubts some of the bigger names would be getting a bit more.
bananabenda
13 Feb 2007, 17:18
Case 1-How many clubs have you heard say they have no money and their players are doing it for the love of the game or the club? A friend of mine's son was going to "train with Springwood" last week (his dads words). Apparently Springwood were willing to pay as much as $300 per game.
Case 2- Logan Cobras paid out $17,000 in player payments last year. I heard it straight from the horses mouth,(but won't elaborate further in case I give away the person who was very high up in their committee). Not bad for Division 5 footy.
Case 3- Broady offered 2 brothers $450 per game this season if they played with the cats.
We know what clubs mean when they say -"We don't pay our players".
morphous
13 Feb 2007, 17:39
Case 1-How many clubs have you heard say they have no money and their players are doing it for the love of the game or the club? A friend of mine's son was going to "train with Springwood" last week (his dads words). Apparently Springwood were willing to pay as much as $300 per game.
Case 2- Logan Cobras paid out $17,000 in player payments last year. I heard it straight from the horses mouth,(but won't elaborate further in case I give away the person who was very high up in their committee). Not bad for Division 5 footy.
Case 3- Broady offered 2 brothers $450 per game this season if they played with the cats.
We know what clubs mean when they say -"We don't pay our players".
$17,000 in total player payments isn't much for a season, considering the state league salary cap is $100k if memory serves me correct.
And I believe most of the Zillemere players who have been there for a few years are playing for the love of the game.
bananabenda
13 Feb 2007, 18:15
Logan Cobras play in the lowest division where the salary cap was $8000. AFLQ is $100,000.
Funny too how Zillmere play for the love of the game yet they sent their juniors to the wall 5 years or so ago. It was the senior player payments that left the junior club without sufficient funds to pay their debts to the junior league. Why would Zantuck play for nothing when Mt G. could pay him as much money as Whitey? alllll clubs pay players. Even Morningside.
morphous
13 Feb 2007, 18:26
Logan Cobras play in the lowest division where the salary cap was $8000. AFLQ is $100,000.
Funny too how Zillmere play for the love of the game yet they sent their juniors to the wall 5 years or so ago. It was the senior player payments that left the junior club without sufficient funds to pay their debts to the junior league. Why would Zantuck play for nothing when Mt G. could pay him as much money as Whitey? alllll clubs pay players. Even Morningside.
I think Whitey playing at Mt Gravatt is similar to when Champion played at Mayne.
Zillemere yes have gone broke a few times but I believe this wasn't due to player payments but more to do with lack of sponsorship and money coming in.
bananabenda
13 Feb 2007, 18:54
Thats not what I've been told Re- Zillmere. Morphous (I spelt your name right this time),You need to understand aLLLLLL.... clubs pay their players I know of many clubs who deny it. Obviously telling people your willing to pay big bucks results in big payments being asked for by the player. If we say we don't pay players, we keep it under our hat, and the occasional sucker plays for petrol money and no more. Just ask Lenny.
But not to worry. Tell me more about redlands. And do you play for them? If not , why not?
morphous
13 Feb 2007, 19:02
Thats not what I've been told Re- Zillmere. Morphous (I spelt your name right this time),You need to understand aLLLLLL.... clubs pay their players I know of many clubs who deny it. Obviously telling people your willing to pay big bucks results in big payments being asked for by the player. If we say we don't pay players, we keep it under our hat, and the occasional sucker plays for petrol money and no more. Just ask Lenny.
But not to worry. Tell me more about redlands. And do you play for them? If not , why not?
I don't play for them, I can't walk. My brother plays for them and I use to be on the committee a few years ago.
bananabenda
13 Feb 2007, 19:19
Well, thats a good reason not to play. I'm sure you would play for the Sharks if you could walk. Is your brother still a junior? or is he a senior player now?
bananabenda
13 Feb 2007, 19:27
Hey Tucky 16, Why don't Aspley have a crack at AFLQ . Redlands stepped up to the plate( and I think the best times are yet to come for that club), There is only Zillmere on the North of town. With the strength of your juniors you would quickly become a force. Is it too costly? the salary cap is $100,000. Or is your ground too small? I think Northside should field 2 teams as should the West side have at least one.
morphous
13 Feb 2007, 19:28
Well, thats a good reason not to play. I'm sure you would play for the Sharks if you could walk. Is your brother still a junior? or is he a senior player now?
He started seniors last year