View Full Version : Favourite Video Clips?
SydneyBomber
21 Nov 2001, 18:52
Mine would have to be:
NIN - Wish (although I don't know about those 'shorts' Trent
:o )
Biohazard - How it is
Napalm Death - Suffer The Children
Emperor - The Loss & Curse of Reverence
Mr Bungle - Quote Unquote (oh yeah!!!!)
Suicidal Tendencies - POssesd to Skate
Damaged - Nailz
NWA - Straight Outta Compton
Carcass - Heartwork
Aphex Twin - Come to Daddy (someone else mentioned it in another thread - very freaky!)
That's all i can think of at the mo'.
Macca19
21 Nov 2001, 19:29
NIN - Wish
NIN - Closer
NIN - The Perfect Drug
Aphex Twin - Come To Daddy
Korn - Clown
Metallica - Enter Sandman
Led Zeppelin - Dazed and Confused. Great song, and although it was just a "live in some studio" thing, it's a very powerful performance, very gripping all the way through.
Ozzy Osbourne's "No More Tears" is also a good video, Motorhead's "Killed By Death" is a beauty (yes, the B-grade acting, props and wardrobe are a highlight), and of course, anything MANOWAR must be good!
SydneyBomber
21 Nov 2001, 20:07
Originally posted by Darky
Motorhead's "Killed By Death" is a beauty (yes, the B-grade acting, props and wardrobe are a highlight)
Gotta love the motorbike outta the grave bit!:D
Micheal Jacksons film clips are all pretty awesome...
Speed Demon - with all the claymation stuff and the dance contest with the Rabbit.
Smooth Criminal - just awesome, the mini movie rules.
Beat It - top film clip in the underground car park and the fight between the two gangs and all that.
Billie Jean - everything he touches lights up...just so cool.
Thriller - where he turns into that wolf thing and chases the chick and all the monster dancers...great stuff.
Remember the Time - with great special effects and an array of stars in the film clip including Magic Johnson, Eddie Murphy, Elizabeth Taylor and a few others that escape me.
History - just shows thousands of clips of his career played along to a great song that was hidden as the last track of new stuff on the double album HIStory.
Black or White - for its time and still today great special effects where the faces would change before our eyes from Sumo's to indians to black ppl to white to all sorts and again stars such as Tyra Banks and Isiah Thomas were featured in the video, more stars were also on there but have escaped me.
So many more great clips, MJ is the master of film clips....
The Hitman
22 Nov 2001, 06:43
Jeremy - Pearl Jam. It sends shivers down my spine...
Do The Evolution - Pearl Jam, great animation. Fun song with a message.
Thriller - Michael Jackson, the best from the great man.
Big Me - Foo Fighters, makes me giggle when Dave Grohl climbs throughb the limo, and pat Smears facial expressions are priceless...
Learn To Fly - Foo Fighters, funny clip with Grohl as most of the characters, including the gay pilot and air host.
The Hitman
Bloodstained Angel
22 Nov 2001, 07:33
Michael Jackson is a paedophile, a serial sexual absuer of young boys, a drug addict, a drunk, a walking cosmetic surgery nightmare.
How on earth can you call this human abomination a 'great man' ?
Santos L Helper
22 Nov 2001, 07:59
Originally posted by Bloodstained Angel
Michael Jackson is a paedophile, a serial sexual absuer of young boys, a drug addict, a drunk, a walking cosmetic surgery nightmare.
Oh BSA, I just shed a tear reading such vitriol from another poster. I had to check twice to make sure I hadn't posted that myself.
I tips me hat to you.;)
Agree!
Even calling him a 'man' is stretching the truth!
Shinboners
22 Nov 2001, 08:28
Michael Jackson - a great talent (well, up until Thriller anyway....most of the things he's done since then has been crap), but not a "great man".
Shinboners
22 Nov 2001, 08:30
Oh...and great filmclips....one that sticks out in my mind is the one by Cibo Matto. I can't remember the name of the song, but the clip has the screen split in two. It follows the two Cibo Matto girls through their day, but on the first half the screen, the girl is going FORWARD in time whilst on the second half, the other girl is going BACKWARDS in time. At the halfway point of the clip, they meet. The idea has since been "borrowed" by some advertiser to use in a TV commercial.
Originally posted by Shinboners
Oh...and great filmclips....one that sticks out in my mind is the one by Cibo Matto. I can't remember the name of the song, but the clip has the screen split in two. It follows the two Cibo Matto girls through their day, but on the first half the screen, the girl is going FORWARD in time whilst on the second half, the other girl is going BACKWARDS in time. At the halfway point of the clip, they meet. The idea has since been "borrowed" by some advertiser to use in a TV commercial.
ah yes... great clip..
the song is 'Sugar Water'...
that first album is great... viva le woman!
Being such a fan, I'm suprised Jod hasn't named him as one of the 10 most influential people of last century. ;)
GOALden Hawk
22 Nov 2001, 10:15
Originally posted by Macca19
Aphex Twin - Come To Daddy
Not my favourite....but easily the scariest clip I've ever seen..absolutely freaky!
Foo Fighters clips are always funny.
Buddy Holly by Weezer.
Black Hole Sun by Soundgarden.
Californication by RHCP.
Da funk by Daft Punk.
I'm a slave 4 u by Britney Spears :p
Desredandwhite
22 Nov 2001, 10:28
My favourite clip of all time is Beastie Boys' Sabotage. Fantastic ;-)
Others....
Bjork - I Miss You
Dixie Chicks - Goodbye Earl
Eels - Last Stop This Town
Faith No More - Epic
Gorillaz - Clint Eastwood
Veruca Salt - Volcano Girls
Led Zeppelin - Dazed and Confused. Great song, and although it was just a "live in some studio" thing, it's a very powerful performance, very gripping all the way through.
My favourite band.
This film clip is awesome and is an example of their ability to fuse psycadellia, hard rock and punk all at once.
Gotta love the "Cats" at the dining tables, giving it a little clap after Zep nearly blew them out of the studio! :D
I mentioned Aphex's one in another thread.
All I Need by Air is soppy, but still brilliant!
I generally reckon, that bands that you like musically, you will also like visually, as most of the vibes from a band transcend from just the music, into the entire package (ie: artwork, videos, etc.).
With this in mind, apart from a few efforts, I really like most of the efforts of Smashing Pumpkins and R.E.M.
The Cure also have some good efforts, in "Why Can't I Be You?" and "Love Cats". Pavement's "Shady Lane" and Nirvana's "In Bloom" are also superb.
Santos L Helper
22 Nov 2001, 12:07
Originally posted by FIGJAM
My favourite band.
This film clip is awesome and is an example of their ability to fuse psycadellia, hard rock and punk all at once.
Gotta love the "Cats" at the dining tables, giving it a little clap after Zep nearly blew them out of the studio! :D
I mentioned Aphex's one in another thread.
All I Need by Air is soppy, but still brilliant!
PUNK?? As someone who grew up on Led Zep and then grew to love punk, I think infering that they had one iota of punk in them is offensive to both Led Zep and punk bands.
Led Zeppelin epitomised everything that punk rebeled against in the music industry.
Er... I don't see any punk in Led Zeppelin either. :confused:
Bloodstained Angel
22 Nov 2001, 12:44
Hey Olmy - can't agree on that one mate !
I loved all the old Tim Rice filmclips of Cure songs from the 80's (especially Close to Me - the one in the wardrobe)
But as for the Cures music ? - nah, left me cold.
cheers
Shinboners
22 Nov 2001, 12:47
Being such a fan, I'm suprised Jod hasn't named him as one of the 10 most influential people of last century. ;)
I get the feeling that Michael Jackson (or for that matter, Jebediah) could release an album where the only thing he does is burp and fart into the microphone and Jod would call it a piece of musical genius. :D
Santos L Helper
22 Nov 2001, 13:00
I get the feeling that Michael Jackson (or for that matter, Jebediah) could release an album where the only thing he does is burp and fart into the microphone and Jod would call it a piece of musical genius. :D
Shinners, I think you just described Jebediah's last album.:rolleyes: :D :eek:
Originally posted by Santos L Helper
PUNK?? As someone who grew up on Led Zep and then grew to love punk, I think infering that they had one iota of punk in them is offensive to both Led Zep and punk bands.
Led Zeppelin epitomised everything that punk rebeled against in the music industry.
That's true. The Clash openly slagged Zeppelin for being a typical seventies stadium rock band.
I'm not saying that Zep's recordings were in the slightest bit punk, but in that particular film clip, there is a rawness there that at that time in the 60's would have been shocking to the viewers/listeners. When they break out in the middle of the song and go completely haywire, I have a strange desire to want to trash a hotel room!
Punk to me is just rock at its rawest.
NakedDeadGuy
22 Nov 2001, 16:00
Buddy Holly - Weezer (good one Goalden Hawk)
Wynona's Big Brown Beaver - Primus (I still haven't worked out if they're puppets or dwarves in suits)
One - Metallica
Originally posted by NakedDeadGuy
Wynona's Big Brown Beaver - Primus (I still haven't worked out if they're puppets or dwarves in suits)
Yes, absolutely brilliant song & clip. I haven't worked out the puppet or dwarf angle either.
I also like Soundgarden's "Jesus Christ Pose" song & clip.
It's very much like Olmy said, it's easier to enjoy a clip when you enjoy the song. Unfortunately most of my favourite bands don't do videos (or they never get played, or are just boring live thingos).
Originally posted by Olmy
With this in mind, apart from a few efforts, I really like most of the efforts of Smashing Pumpkins and R.E.M.
pumpkins 'bullet with butterfly wings' was a pretty cool vid..
rem's 'Imitation of life' is quite a great clip as well... its very 'where's wally'ish'.. love that one
That's a bit harsh don't you think? Since when was Michael Jackson a drunk? I think you'll find that he is, in fact, totally against alcohol. He wouldn't even hold a bottle of pepsi, because he hated the idea of caffeine (a bit hypocritical yes, but that's not what I'm arguing about). A drug addict? He was addicted to painkillers for a short time, something that could happen to anybody.
As for the paedophile business, well I guess nobody can truely know what happened, but I honestly believe, after reading a lot about it, that he didn't do it, and it was a ploy by the boy's parents to get at MJ's money. Still like I said, we don't know.
A walking cosmetic surgery nightmare? well I'll give you that. Unless of course you're talking about the change of his skin colour, which has nothing to do with cosmetic surgery, and in fact has quite a valid reason behind it, which I won't bother to go into now because I don't think that's what you were talking about.
So a great man? maybe, maybe not, he's certainly done a lot for charity. But a great entertainer? a matter of opinion I suppose, but considering the masses he's gotten through to, I'd say that's probably a yes.
All rock n rollers and probably most of the bands or artists you listen too BSA are Drunks and Drug Addicts. The Beatles are the greatest band of all time and they were all hooked on drugs.
How many times do you read stuff about Footy in the paper and think .. thats a load of crap.. You must believe everything you read BSA or have you met MJ and he told you the truth....
Crap on.....if i believed everything ive read and heard then the world would be a much different place.
Open your mind a little BSA.
Not of all ppl, there are religious people, polititians, scientists etc etc that make that list.
10 most influential musicians....YES. Right at Number 2 behind the Beatles.
Yeah your right because music is all about what Shinners likes, not about opinion.
Shinners, I think you just described Jebediah's last album.:rolleyes: :D :eek:
Of Someday Shambles kicked ass. Lots of other ppl thought so too as it has gone double platinum in Australia....
Music is about opinion, might be crap to you but it sounds real good to me.
Third album out next week!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Originally posted by aggels
That's a bit harsh don't you think? Since when was Michael Jackson a drunk? I think you'll find that he is, in fact, totally against alcohol. He wouldn't even hold a bottle of pepsi, because he hated the idea of caffeine (a bit hypocritical yes, but that's not what I'm arguing about). A drug addict? He was addicted to painkillers for a short time, something that could happen to anybody.
As for the paedophile business, well I guess nobody can truely know what happened, but I honestly believe, after reading a lot about it, that he didn't do it, and it was a ploy by the boy's parents to get at MJ's money. Still like I said, we don't know.
A walking cosmetic surgery nightmare? well I'll give you that. Unless of course you're talking about the change of his skin colour, which has nothing to do with cosmetic surgery, and in fact has quite a valid reason behind it, which I won't bother to go into now because I don't think that's what you were talking about.
So a great man? maybe, maybe not, he's certainly done a lot for charity. But a great entertainer? a matter of opinion I suppose, but considering the masses he's gotten through to, I'd say that's probably a yes.
HEAR HEAR!!!!
Eagle_Fan
23 Nov 2001, 01:55
Shinners, as a reasoned and obviously knowledgable BigFooty member, why do you feel the need to be so condescending so much of the time? :confused: All it does is make people not want to respond to your posts unless they agree implicitly, and adds to the already chronic lack of proper discussion.
Don't take offence, but you're an intelligent & witty footy fan, and I just don't get why you need to put people down all the time... :( It only makes your other 'work' (which is often among the best) harder to read and leaves a bitter taste in ones mouth..... besides, you never used to post like that.... :( Why start?
EF.
Originally posted by Eagle_Fan
Shinners, as a reasoned and obviously knowledgable BigFooty member, why do you feel the need to be so condescending so much of the time? :confused: All it does is make people not want to respond to your posts unless they agree implicitly, and adds to the already chronic lack of proper discussion.
Don't take offence, but you're an intelligent & witty footy fan, and I just don't get why you need to put people down all the time... :( It only makes your other 'work' (which is often among the best) harder to read and leaves a bitter taste in ones mouth..... besides, you never used to post like that.... :( Why start?
EF.
Nicely put Maude ..
Bloodstained Angel
23 Nov 2001, 06:54
With respect jod23
I think you are the one who should open their mind a little regarding this person.
He is nothing but a disgusting rock spider
If he had nothing to hide - why didn't he let that boy go roight on ahead and take hime to court ?
NO, instead, he twice increased the amount of dirty money he was prepared to pay the nboy - just to keep the whole sorry, sordid business out of court and out of the papers.
I believe the final amount paid was in the region of 17 million US dollars.
A helluva lot of money and a hell of a lot of desperation on the part of MJ there I think.
I know you are a great fan of his - but please jod23 - look into your heart and ask yourself just what unspeakable, abominable acts of twisted sleaze this 'person' engages in ?
I don't know about you jod23, but anybody who likes having sex with defenceless young boys ought to be spending the rest of their lives rotting away in a prison cell - not feted as a international pop celebrity.
I'll just repeat that so it sinks in - he has sex with young boys - think about it mate - he enjoys ramming his **** up the ass of a kid who is younger than you are - much younger.
how on earth can you listen to his music when you realise what a complete abomination this man is ?
Yet he is a 'celebrity' - :confused: :confused: :confused:
Oh and as for his music ? - I agree with Shinboners, "off the Wall" is a funk classic and easily his best work. His material rapidly went down hill after that, about the same time he lost his mind and went sicko I guess
cheers
Santos L Helper
23 Nov 2001, 09:06
EF.
Eagle_Fan, your not getting Shinners mixed up with me are you?:confused:
Jars458
23 Nov 2001, 09:21
Best Video Clip - None of you have even come close yet.
GIRLS ON FILM - Duran Duran
a young teenage boys fantasy film clip.
A good runner up wold be Aqua - Barbie Girl - very funny clip.
As for Micahel Jackson - who knows what he has done.
BSA - you have no proof. Many people have had to pay off people before going to court when they are innocent to keep other dirty laundry out of court
I can see where you are coming from but you don't KNOW for sure
And in our legal system its innocent until proven guilty
Surely we have to stick by this system even it if gives results we may not like
But that's a whole other topic.
Macca19
23 Nov 2001, 09:43
Originally posted by jod23
All rock n rollers and probably most of the bands or artists you listen too BSA are Drunks and Drug Addicts. The Beatles are the greatest band of all time and they were all hooked on drugs.
How many times do you read stuff about Footy in the paper and think .. thats a load of crap.. You must believe everything you read BSA or have you met MJ and he told you the truth....
Crap on.....if i believed everything ive read and heard then the world would be a much different place.
Open your mind a little BSA.
Id say about 90% of the bands that would classify under rock n roll, alternative, hard rock or metal all do drugs and get drunk at every oppurtunity.
Santos L Helper
23 Nov 2001, 09:48
Id say about 90% of the bands that would classify under rock n roll, alternative, hard rock or metal all do drugs and get drunk at every oppurtunity.
Macca, I think BSA's main problem is the alleged child molesting. The other stuff was just thrown in for good measure.
Not that I am in a position to speak on behalf of BSA.;)
Macca19
23 Nov 2001, 09:55
Macca, I think BSA's main problem is the alleged child molesting. The other stuff was just thrown in for good measure.
Not that I am in a position to speak on behalf of BSA.;)
Nothing wrong with getting drunk all the time either!!!
Bloodstained Angel
23 Nov 2001, 12:37
thanks guys - yep thats what I'm on about for sure.
Hey I get hammered at every available opportunity myself, but sexually molesting small children ? :mad:
and anyone who really believes he is innocent of these accusations - gee I wish I wasn't so cynical and sceptical sometimes - I really wish I could blythly accept as Gospel everything I am told :rolleyes:
Look I've said enough and I'll shut up - but you know what I'm on about
well spotted on Girls on Film Macca - I've got the full uncensored version on video at home - say no more ;)
Shinboners
23 Nov 2001, 14:08
:confused:
huh? I don't think my style of posting has varied all that much in the time I've been here on bigfooty. I do know that I make a few sarcastic/cynical comments, but that's just me being me and I will not change that.....there are plenty of other things that I have wanted to post, but I felt that it would be way too nasty (and every now and again, I've posted something and then deleted it a minute later). If anyone takes personal offence with anything I've posted, they're free to e-mail or PM me and sort it out.
By the way, when I state my opinion, I do hope that others agree, but I expect that there will be others who disagree. By saying that people won't respond to my posts unless they agree implicitly, thus leading to a chronic lack of discussion is inherently contradictory. Without disagreement, most discussion would disappear.....just take a look at the number of posts that Dan25 generates with some of his opinions. And as has been pointed out (at least) on the North boards here on bigfooty, there is nothing more boring than reading a series of posts where everyone is furiously agreeing with everyone else.
Shinboners
23 Nov 2001, 14:13
Yeah your right because music is all about what Shinners likes, not about opinion.
Er....I was expressing an opinion.......
My two lira re:MJ
No-one is denying he has/had muscial talent. No-one is denying that other musical acts are drug addicts.
The point is that given his previous deeds it is a sad world if he's our example of a 'great man'.
As for the actual topic, love the Foo Fighters' Learn To Fly and REMs Imitation of Life.
Not many film clips around that I can say I like where I don't like the music. Errrrr ...... well maybe a couple of Mariah Carey ones ;)
Jars458
23 Nov 2001, 14:38
and anyone who really believes he is innocent of these accusations - gee I wish I wasn't so cynical and sceptical sometimes - I really wish I could blythly accept as Gospel everything I am told :rolleyes:
well spotted on Girls on Film Macca - I've got the full uncensored version on video at home - say no more ;)
First i twas me who said Girls on Film - Macca wouldn't listen to the golden boys of 80's pop.
Second
I don't believe he is innocent or guilty.
All I am saying is you can't be judge jury and executioner
you have to rely on the legal systme or make positve steps to try and change it.
This is the same reason people can't take the law into their own hands
What you are saying is essentially defamaion as nothing has been proved, however likely that the allegations are true.
Lots of people have been convicted of things tehy didn't do and remember all you are relying on is things you have seen and heard which are what the media want you to hear more often than not.
Cheers.
Shinboners
23 Nov 2001, 15:13
Speaking of uncensored.....has anyone else seen the uncensored "alternate" filmclip to Frankie Goes To Hollywood's "Relax"?
Jars458
23 Nov 2001, 15:25
Speaking of uncensored.....has anyone else seen the uncensored "alternate" filmclip to Frankie Goes To Hollywood's "Relax"?
No but I have Welcome to the Pleasure Dome on Vinyl
Also have a Holly Johsnon tape with such classics as
"There's a party going on in atomic city"
Beausgirl43
23 Nov 2001, 15:53
It think all the Blink 182 clips are a bit of a laugh.
cheers.. Kaz :)
Top Dog
23 Nov 2001, 15:58
Me and my 4 year old brother are in love with the Gorillaz film clips. I dont think its a healthy obsession for a 16 year old :eek:
Ok back to the topic.
Oasis: Stand By Me
Blur: Parklife (Only becuase it has that geezer out of "Time Gentlemen Please" in it, and only that reason alone.)
Frankenbok: Don't call me Baby (cover of madison avenue)
Britney Spears: I'm a slave for you MTV Live version (Pure filth!)
With respect jod23
I think you are the one who should open their mind a little regarding this person.
He is nothing but a disgusting rock spider
If he had nothing to hide - why didn't he let that boy go roight on ahead and take hime to court ?
NO, instead, he twice increased the amount of dirty money he was prepared to pay the nboy - just to keep the whole sorry, sordid business out of court and out of the papers.
I believe the final amount paid was in the region of 17 million US dollars.
A helluva lot of money and a hell of a lot of desperation on the part of MJ there I think.
I know you are a great fan of his - but please jod23 - look into your heart and ask yourself just what unspeakable, abominable acts of twisted sleaze this 'person' engages in ?
I don't know about you jod23, but anybody who likes having sex with defenceless young boys ought to be spending the rest of their lives rotting away in a prison cell - not feted as a international pop celebrity.
I'll just repeat that so it sinks in - he has sex with young boys - think about it mate - he enjoys ramming his **** up the ass of a kid who is younger than you are - much younger.
how on earth can you listen to his music when you realise what a complete abomination this man is ?
Yet he is a 'celebrity' - :confused: :confused: :confused:
Oh and as for his music ? - I agree with Shinboners, "off the Wall" is a funk classic and easily his best work. His material rapidly went down hill after that, about the same time he lost his mind and went sicko I guess
cheers
With respect also BSA as i think your probably the best poster on BF. BUT how can you just believe everything you read or hear. Do you really think he sleeps in an oxygen tank? Who knows....
I think it shows that you could be a bit of a sheep as you are just following what the media tells you. The plan was an easy plan for the parents, its well documented that MJ loves kids so lets get the media involved and say that our kid was molested.....easy money. Jackson rather than dragging out in court for months and making it one of the biggest stories ala OJ, he simply tried to get rid of it by paying them money. That can be seen two ways...1-he did it and just wanted it to go away or 2-made it go away as quickly as possible as it would have done even more damage had it gone to a lengthy court saga, innocent or guilty he would have been finished.
Now instead of telling me that HE HAS had sex etc etc how about he maybe has had sex with boys or girls because to be brutally honest YOU DONT ACTUALLY KNOW and neither do i. I dont know if i believe it or not but i love his music and until someone gives me undeniable proof then my opinion of the greatest solo artist of all time will remain firm.
Cheers.
Hey Jod, are you going to buy Michael Jacksons new book? "The In's and Out's of Child Rearing".
Macca19
23 Nov 2001, 17:35
Originally posted by Jars458
First i twas me who said Girls on Film - Macca wouldn't listen to the golden boys of 80's pop.
Nothing wrong with Duran Duran!!!
I dont mind them at all.
In fact they are Jonathon Davis's (lead singer of Korn) all time favourite band!!!
Santos L Helper
23 Nov 2001, 17:37
With respect also BSA as i think your probably the best poster on BF. BUT how can you just believe everything you read or hear. Do you really think he sleeps in an oxygen tank? Who knows....
I think it shows that you could be a bit of a sheep as you are just following what the media tells you. The plan was an easy plan for the parents, its well documented that MJ loves kids so lets get the media involved and say that our kid was molested.....easy money. Jackson rather than dragging out in court for months and making it one of the biggest stories ala OJ, he simply tried to get rid of it by paying them money. That can be seen two ways...1-he did it and just wanted it to go away or 2-made it go away as quickly as possible as it would have done even more damage had it gone to a lengthy court saga, innocent or guilty he would have been finished.
Now instead of telling me that HE HAS had sex etc etc how about he maybe has had sex with boys or girls because to be brutally honest YOU DONT ACTUALLY KNOW and neither do i. I dont know if i believe it or not but i love his music and until someone gives me undeniable proof then my opinion of the greatest solo artist of all time will remain firm.
Cheers.
Admirable sentiments Jod, but let's hope you apply them to the real world too. Haven't you ever seen a person accused of a crime and believed it was true because the media presented it a certain way?
Originally posted by M29
Blur: Parklife (Only becuase it has that geezer out of "Time Gentlemen Please" in it, and only that reason alone.)
great stuff! wouldnt it be great to have that cockney accent
i've downloaded most of blur's videos~
and re Gorillaz videos.. they look great~~
ah, the genius of Damon Albarn...
SydneyBomber
23 Nov 2001, 19:17
"Girls On Film" mmmmmm... ;)
Makes me wish I owned a big yacht!
Anyone ever see the Nine Inch nails uncensored version of "Happiness In Slavery"?
A lovely tale of sadism/bondage about a guy who straps himself into a mechanical device that proceeds to literally tear his flesh to shreds until he's just a quivering mess of blood and meat. Brutal!:p
Praise You Fatboy Slim
I haven't caught many clips but I'm strangely amused by this one :p when they roll up to what looks like a theatre foyer or shopping centre, slap in the tape and preceed to do the "nerd dance" all over those innocent bystanders.
Admirable sentiments Jod, but let's hope you apply them to the real world too. Haven't you ever seen a person accused of a crime and believed it was true because the media presented it a certain way?
Thanks SLH but i wont say that i never read into what the media has to say because we all do it...but i try not to believe everything the media comes out with..
rfctigerarmy
23 Nov 2001, 20:31
19-2000 Gorillaz
Clint Eastwood Gorillaz
(if u dont know im a big Gorillaz Fan)
Nothing wrong with Duran Duran!!!
I dont mind them at all.
In fact they are Jonathon Davis's (lead singer of Korn) all time favourite band!!!
"Ordinary World" is a classic song.
I can't believe we've all missed TOOL. They have some sensational video clips, lead by the fantastic "Sober".
Lighten up Jod.
Anyway, weren't you the one last year who kept on arguing to me, that Billy Corgan isn't a great guitarist . . . . ummm . . . based on "your opinion" as justification that I was wrong??? :confused: :confused:
Lighten up Jod.
Anyway, weren't you the one last year who kept on arguing to me, that Billy Corgan isn't a great guitarist . . . . ummm . . . based on "your opinion" as justification that I was wrong??? :confused: :confused:
Billy Corgan is a good guitarist but you were arguing he was in Knofflers league...pfft...
Macca19
23 Nov 2001, 21:45
I can't believe we've all missed TOOL. They have some sensational video clips, lead by the fantastic "Sober".
Yup - not just Sober - but the whole lot of them are magical!!!
Mind you the guitarist (or maybe the drummer) has all these degrees in art and graphic design...he did all the clips for the band.
Billy Corgan is a good guitarist but you were arguing he was in Knofflers league...pfft...
No, I never argued that at all.
All I said was that Corgan was a great guitarist, to which you said he wasn't, and used your own opinion to tell me that I was "wrong".
As far as guitarists go, I don't classify anyone as being in any particular "league". All that type of talk is for people who can't identify with musical individuality, and need others to tell them what is "great" and what isn't.
Besides, who's to say, using that type of thinking that Corgan isn't in Knopfler's league?? You? Pfft! C'mon, you've been playing guitar for 5 minutes, and you think you're some kind of expert? :rolleyes:
Yup - not just Sober - but the whole lot of them are magical!!!
Mind you the guitarist (or maybe the drummer) has all these degrees in art and graphic design...he did all the clips for the band.
Yeah, the guitarist is a bit of a maniac I reckon! :D It's fantastic stuff though. (Just not all the time ;) ).
vanders
23 Nov 2001, 22:10
A couple of my favourite clips would have to be:
Did It Again - Kylie Minogue...loved the song and really enjoyed the clip because it was just something i found kina amusing, and i attempted to dance along with it.so i liked it :D
Freak - Silverchair....it was rather weird...which explains why i like it!
Theyre the only ones i can think of, I dont really know of any other good clips!!
As for this whole Michael Jackson thing, no-one on here has anymore of an idea of whether he did it or not than I do, so as far as I'm concerned, everyone should just get over it/forget about it.
And as for what he has done with charities and stuff, I can see him being regarded as a great man and a great musician, and until it can be proven otherwise, I'm gonna keep that opinion.
No, I never argued that at all.
All I said was that Corgan was a great guitarist, to which you said he wasn't, and used your own opinion to tell me that I was "wrong".
As far as guitarists go, I don't classify anyone as being in any particular "league". All that type of talk is for people who can't identify with musical individuality, and need others to tell them what is "great" and what isn't.
Besides, who's to say, using that type of thinking that Corgan isn't in Knopfler's league?? You? Pfft! C'mon, you've been playing guitar for 5 minutes, and you think you're some kind of expert? :rolleyes:
Crap .... you were arguing something along those lines, i dont deny the fact that Corgan is a good guitarist just nothing on some really great guitarists....Ive been playing for 2 years but whether you play or not i dont think it matters, its clear that you can see that Knoffler is probably the greatest guitarist on the planet.
Macca19
23 Nov 2001, 22:21
I have to say - Mark Knopfler would be the most talented guitarist in the world. The guy is a genius...
vanders
23 Nov 2001, 22:34
I have to say - Mark Knopfler would be the most talented guitarist in the world. The guy is a genius...
I dont know much about guitarists and stuff...but i reckon Slash is pretty darn talented...and if u can find someone better than him...id say theyre a genius
Crap .... you were arguing something along those lines, i dont deny the fact that Corgan is a good guitarist just nothing on some really great guitarists....
"Crap"?? Pfft! What's "crap"?? Clearly you can't remember the discussion!!! To use your theory, you're a bit out of your league, mate! I mean, you, trying to tell me, what I'm saying . . . c'mon, that's laugh!
At any rate, IMO, Corgan IS a great guitarist (and many others would think so too), and whether you think he is or not, does not give you the right to tell me I'm "wrong"! :rolleyes:
Ive been playing for 2 years but whether you play or not i dont think it matters, its clear that you can see that Knoffler is probably the greatest guitarist on the planet.
Who says Knopfler's "greatest" guitarist in the world?? I don't even think there is such a rating, let alone, a method for determining who it is, apart from personal opinion.
It all comes down to personal opinon (not some system whereby there is a clear "better" music, or a more "correct" opinion on it).
I may agree, or disagree with people's opinions, however, unlike you, I'm not going around telling other people they're "wrong" in their opinions about music. If I disagree, I don't think I am in any position to tell someone else that they are "wrong" because of my perceived better judgement. The fact that you seem to think you can do so, is down-right insulting.
There's no point in having a decent discussion with the likes of yourself, as you are clearly unable to appreciate the views of others, and use your own point of view to argue that others are "wrong". :rolleyes:
If you want to argue that I'm "wrong", you'll need more than your own little point of view to convince me.
At any rate, what's the deal with comparing musicians, or guitarists in order to see who's "better" or who's "right" or wrong"?? Why can't you just listen to music, and appreciate it, without making some stupid judgement as to which is "better" and then imposing your ideas on the rest of the world???
Music isn't about a contest. It's about individuality - something you seem unable to appreciate. It's not about being "better". Music is for all to be enjoyed, and across a variety of tastes. People enjoy music for all different reasons. You seem to think that people should evaluate, reason, and enjoy music for all the same reasons that you do, and if they don't, then they're "wrong". That sounds like Art Nazism to me.
People who go around trying to force the impression that their preferences are "better" than others, are clearly missing the point of music entirely.
Santos L Helper
23 Nov 2001, 23:01
What makes a good guitarist? Is it someone who can play a big lead break, is it someone who can play intricate classical tunes, is it someone who plays rhythm and carries a song or is it some other quality? Depends on what your into really.
Personally, I think the guitarist who plays/writes rhythm is the best guitarist. Any hack can learn to play a lead break, but a true guitar player knows how to write and play original rhythm pieces.
I also think a true genious continues to grow with his instrument........what's Knopfler done in the last 10 years? He wrote some great guitar pieces, but what since? If I've missed some original stuff, I'd like to know about it.
My choice would be.........too difficult!! I'm sure there's some flamenco guitarists that would blow me away that I've never heard of.
What makes a good guitarist? Is it someone who can play a big lead break, is it someone who can play intricate classical tunes, is it someone who plays rhythm and carries a song or is it some other quality? Depends on what your into really.
Well said.
Macca19
23 Nov 2001, 23:13
I also think a true genious continues to grow with his instrument........what's Knopfler done in the last 10 years? He wrote some great guitar pieces, but what since? If I've missed some original stuff, I'd like to know about it.
Dire Straits last album, and 1 album with a different band (more folky) and a soloish album.
Santos - the guy would be in his late 60s at the moment... i strongly doubt he has anymore growing left with his guitar.
Ive never seen someone play so complicated pieces of music at such ease..he almost looks bored as he plays. Hes been playing music for 30 years...i dont think anyone in the world could teach him something new about a guitar!
"Crap"?? Pfft! What's "crap"?? Clearly you can't remember the discussion!!! To use your theory, you're a bit out of your league, mate! I mean, you, trying to tell me, what I'm saying . . . c'mon, that's laugh!
At any rate, IMO, Corgan IS a great guitarist (and many others would think so too), and whether you think he is or not, does not give you the right to tell me I'm "wrong"! :rolleyes:
Who says Knopfler's "greatest" guitarist in the world?? I don't even think there is such a rating, let alone, a method for determining who it is, apart from personal opinion.
It all comes down to personal opinon (not some system whereby there is a clear "better" music, or a more "correct" opinion on it).
I may agree, or disagree with people's opinions, however, unlike you, I'm not going around telling other people they're "wrong" in their opinions about music. If I disagree, I don't think I am in any position to tell someone else that they are "wrong" because of my perceived better judgement. The fact that you seem to think you can do so, is down-right insulting.
There's no point in having a decent discussion with the likes of yourself, as you are clearly unable to appreciate the views of others, and use your own point of view to argue that others are "wrong". :rolleyes:
If you want to argue that I'm "wrong", you'll need more than your own little point of view to convince me.
At any rate, what's the deal with comparing musicians, or guitarists in order to see who's "better" or who's "right" or wrong"?? Why can't you just listen to music, and appreciate it, without making some stupid judgement as to which is "better" and then imposing your ideas on the rest of the world???
Music isn't about a contest. It's about individuality - something you seem unable to appreciate. It's not about being "better". Music is for all to be enjoyed, and across a variety of tastes. People enjoy music for all different reasons. You seem to think that people should evaluate, reason, and enjoy music for all the same reasons that you do, and if they don't, then they're "wrong". That sounds like Art Nazism to me.
People who go around trying to force the impression that their preferences are "better" than others, are clearly missing the point of music entirely.
LMAO ..... its as if you just think that i said something else. MY OPINION IS THAT KNOFFLER IS THE GREATEST GUITARIST ON THE PLANET AND CORGAN IS JUST A GOOD GUITARIST.
I didnt force my opinions on you so whatever dribble your talking about please stop, its irritating.
Shinboners
24 Nov 2001, 11:01
I didnt force my opinions on you so whatever dribble your talking about please stop, its irritating.
Hmmm......I remember a rather heated discussion between Darky and Jod over whether Ben Cousins was a footballing star or not. Fine, that's a matter of opinion. But later in the year, Jod posted a thread that said to the effect, "If Ben Cousins made the All-Australian team, then Darky had to admit that Cousins was a star player". Now, forgive me if I'm wrong, but isn't that trying to force your opinion on someone else?
Now, there have been plenty of music discussions on this board, there was the one where Jod tried to tell everyone that heavy metal was just "noise" and I also read plenty of the Olmy vs Jod argument over guitarists, as as Olmy has pointed out, the likes of himself and Darky have tried to get Jod to at least concede that their point of view was valid, and that is very different to Jod's approach of telling someone else that their opinion is simply wrong.
Hmmm......I remember a rather heated discussion between Darky and Jod over whether Ben Cousins was a footballing star or not. Fine, that's a matter of opinion. But later in the year, Jod posted a thread that said to the effect, "If Ben Cousins made the All-Australian team, then Darky had to admit that Cousins was a star player". Now, forgive me if I'm wrong, but isn't that trying to force your opinion on someone else?
Now, there have been plenty of music discussions on this board, there was the one where Jod tried to tell everyone that heavy metal was just "noise" and I also read plenty of the Olmy vs Jod argument over guitarists, as as Olmy has pointed out, the likes of himself and Darky have tried to get Jod to at least concede that their point of view was valid, and that is very different to Jod's approach of telling someone else that their opinion is simply wrong.
Now now Shinners i didnt force my opinion on Darky. Darky and I merely came to an agreement that he would concede that Cousins was a star player if he made AA that year. He did and Darky now thinks Cuz is a star player. That was an agreement not forcing my opinion.
Heavy Metal is noise in my opinion and i remember those arguments over guitarists and heavy metal and you guys have your opinion and i have mine but it does get to a point where opinion doesnt matter.
For example, your opinion that Shaq is say better than Jordan is your opinion but it is wrong. This applies in the Corgan Knoffler case. People may have the opinion that Corgan is a better guitarist but it is plainly obvious that Knoffler is the more skiled guitarist. Opinions can be wrong.
This applies in the Corgan Knoffler case. People may have the opinion that Corgan is a better guitarist but it is plainly obvious that Knoffler is the more skiled guitarist. Opinions can be wrong.
You are an absolute tool. How can it be "obvious"?? I'd like to know what criteria you are using for your judgement, and also why I should have to agree with you?
You clearly don't understand the concept that music is about the individual. It is not something that can be measured, to determine who is "the best" or not. That's a load of Art-Nazist crap.
Music is about personal preference, not about one person telling everyone else that their preferences are right, and therefore what they like is "the best". There is no "better" that all people have to accept just because you say so.
You need to get over yourself.
LMAO ..... its as if you just think that i said something else.
Ma'e, I couldn't care less what you said. You clearly don't know what you're talking about yourself.
MY OPINION IS THAT KNOFFLER IS THE GREATEST GUITARIST ON THE PLANET AND CORGAN IS JUST A GOOD GUITARIST.
Yeah, I don't have a problem with that.
But you seem to have a problem with what I say, if it doesn't match up with your music-world-order. In fact, you seem to be quick to tell everyone else that their opinions about music are wrong (take for instance the recent example with Macca and Trent Reznor).
Ma'e, you're the one talking dribble. I believe it's you who's telling people that they're wrong. Likewise, I never said you were forcing your opinions on anyone, rather that you have a very distasteful habit of telling people that they're "wrong" (or inferring it at least), when you don't happen to feel the same way about music as they do.
it does get to a point where opinion doesnt matter.
You clearly don't have a clue. You would have done well in the '30's.
You are an absolute tool. How can it be "obvious"?? I'd like to know what criteria you are using for your judgement, and also why I should have to agree with you?
You clearly don't understand the concept that music is about the individual. It is not something that can be measured, to determine who is "the best" or not. That's a load of Art-Nazist crap.
Music is about personal preference, not about one person telling everyone else that their preferences are right, and therefore what they like is "the best". There is no "better" that all people have to accept just because you say so.
You need to get over yourself.
Listen man i understand that music is based solely on opinion. What is crap to some is great to others but you seem to think that been good or bad at playing guitar doesnt matter. Corgan is a good guitarist and i love the Smashing Pumpkins, they were a top band but the simple truth of it is that when you watch them both play the guitar it can be plainly seen that Knoffler is the superior guitarist. Opinion or not Knoffler is a more skilled guitarist, you might LIKE Corgans playing better but Knofflers is actually more skilled thats all im saying.
Opinion rules in music, some ppl hate Jebediah but i love them and there my favourite band but there is skill involved in music. A 2 year old thinks the Wiggles are the greatest songwriters in the world, its there opinion but Lennon and McCartney ARE better songwriters.
You seem to think that only opinion matters, it does 90% of the time but you have to remember that skill does matter aswell. Thats all im saying.
Listen man i understand that music is based solely on opinion. What is crap to some is great to others but you seem to think that been good or bad at playing guitar doesnt matter. Corgan is a good guitarist and i love the Smashing Pumpkins, they were a top band but the simple truth of it is that when you watch them both play the guitar it can be plainly seen that Knoffler is the superior guitarist. Opinion or not Knoffler is a more skilled guitarist, you might LIKE Corgans playing better but Knofflers is actually more skilled thats all im saying.
Opinion rules in music, some ppl hate Jebediah but i love them and there my favourite band but there is skill involved in music. A 2 year old thinks the Wiggles are the greatest songwriters in the world, its there opinion but Lennon and McCartney ARE better songwriters.
You seem to think that only opinion matters, it does 90% of the time but you have to remember that skill does matter aswell. Thats all im saying.
I probably shouldn't get involved in this (though i will anyway :p), but hang on Jod, on what basis is it determined what actually is better than other music? Who decides what is skilfull and what is not? Surely that too is opinion?
just my 2 cents.
Originally posted by Leia
I probably shouldn't get involved in this (though i will anyway :p), but hang on Jod, on what basis is it determined what actually is better than other music? Who decides what is skilfull and what is not? Surely that too is opinion?
just my 2 cents.
Well said.
What makes you think that you know more about guitar "skill" than me? Or that your view is right and that mine is wrong?
I've been playing guitar for over 10 years, and I have a fairly good idea of what is skill and what isn't.
However, what it all comes down to is opinion. What you classify as being skillful, or "more" skillful, is determined by your opinion.
I've seen live performance of both Knopfler and Corgan, have listened to both, and seen tablature of their compositions.
You think Knopfler is great. Yeah . . . he is. However, I don't see anywhere though, that says his skills are any "greater" or "better" than Corgan's. That comes down to a matter of opinion. I believe my opinion is an informed one - however, at the same time I don't necessarily think that people should have to agree with me, although, it would be nice to think that people would have the decency to note that my opinion is valid, rather than merely offering their own opinion (guised as "fact" :rolleyes:), to tell me that I'm wrong.
As I said earlier, it all comes down to which skills you prefer. Opinion. Personally, I think Knopfler's skills are less emotive, and more 'anal' than Corgan's. Knopfler may do more precision work, yet, in terms of the aggressive solos on Gish and Siamese Dream, Knopfler would be left wanting if he were to attempt Corgan's style.
Besides, both guitarists play different music. You can't compare them, and say which one is better, when clearly both are extremely talented musicians. Even comparing music of similar types is fairly abstract, so comparing Knopfler to Corgan (apart from noting differences/similarities), in order to assume which one is "better", seems pretty pointless to me.
Likewise, I mean, how could you compare classical guitar music to rock music, or flamenco? It doesn't add up.
For this reason, the entire "skill" argument is utterly void. I mean, people are good at playing the song THEY are good at playing. You don't hear them going around playing other people's songs that they're not good at performing.
By the way, you do know that Corgan has actually covered Knopfler, note-perfect, on occasions? Hmm. So much for Knopfler being capable of things that Corgan isn't!
At any rate, who's to say, that if there is a "world's greatest guitarist", that he isn't just some guy playing at home in his garage, without any intention of making his music a public business? This reason alone pretty much defeats the purpose of deciding who is the "best".
Macca19
28 Nov 2001, 18:38
As I said earlier, it all comes down to which skills you prefer. Opinion. Personally, I think Knopfler's skills are less emotive, and more 'anal' than Corgan's. Knopfler may do more precision work, yet, in terms of the aggressive solos on Gish and Siamese Dream, Knopfler would be left wanting if he were to attempt Corgan's style.
I dont really understand what you mean by its less emotive?? Do you mean Knopfler shows no emotion in his music?? If so (but im only guessing your saying that) you are dead wrong.
Both play the guitar differently....Konpfler doesnt use a pick and can play some ultra quick guitar tunes because of it. I think in the same aspect you mentioned, i dont think Corgan could play the same style Knopfler does.
I think we are forgetting another very very good guitar player here too - Santana.
I agree with what you say Olmy - its hard to compare seperate genres of music.
We are forgetting metal guitarists too like Kerry King, Kirk Hammett, Logan Mader, Dino Cazares
I dont really understand what you mean by its less emotive?? Do you mean Knopfler shows no emotion in his music?? If so (but im only guessing your saying that) you are dead wrong.
Both play the guitar differently....Konpfler doesnt use a pick and can play some ultra quick guitar tunes because of it. I think in the same aspect you mentioned, i dont think Corgan could play the same style Knopfler does.
I probably should have rephrased that! ;)
What I mean is, that the two styles differ greatly in their emotional output. Corgan's is different to Knopfler's, as both are playing and composing with a different intention in mind.
I'd probably say Corgan's style is instantly more aggressive, and once again the layering techique gives an entirely different sound to Knopfler's more "one-outish" guitar leanings. Likewise, Corgan used/uses entirely different effects, and with entirely different results. Possibly one similarity, is that on longer solos, both build to a crescendo (not uncommon though). However, the crescendo's of both Corgan and Knopfler are, once again, quite different in sound.
After Siamese Dream, Corgan sustained a wrist injury, and partly for this reason, his solos changed from longer, more defined guitar artistry, into more short burst, "effect-enhanced" licks. Another reason for the change, was the ever-present backlash against stadium-rock, and the perceived long "self-indulgence" that went along with songs over 3 minutes that contained huge solos (I'm sure Shinboners could tell you more about this ;) !).
Personally, I think Corgan's style offered something to rock music, that hadn't been offered all in the one package before. He took aspects from bands such as Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, amongst others, and incorporated them all into his guitar playing, which matched perfectly with his talent for songwriting.
Although they are quite derivative, I'd argue strongly, that Gish and Siamese Dream are/were two of the strongest rock records (artistically) of their time, in popular music.
I dont care if Corgan can play Knofflers Brothers In Arms Solo backwards and above his head, the point it, Knoffler actually wrote it!!!!
Mark Knoffler is undoubtably the best guitarist in the world, i dont particularly love the guy, im more of a modern rock lover which is why Jebs are my favourite band but when you watch him play its just.........well there arent any words.
The only other guitarist that i have watched play (obviously not live, on tape etc) that has blown my hair back and i have thought only he could do that...is Jimi Hendrix.
Not saying Corgan is bad, i love the Pumpkins but Knoffler is just amazing.
Still ... horses for courses and all that.
Jars458
29 Nov 2001, 10:17
Look you can't compare either of them to Pieter from Roxette.
It must have been love
Joyride
The Look
just brilliant guitar work.
Peter Coomb is also very good
toffe apple
Newspaper mamma
Sphagetti Bolognase
Saw him at the Schutzenfest - 50 pissed twenty somethings going off to Peter Coomb whilst the kids got trampled or looked on in amazement.
GoEagles
29 Nov 2001, 16:50
toffe apple
Newspaper mamma
Sphagetti Bolognase
Saw him at the Schutzenfest - 50 pissed twenty somethings going off to Peter Coomb whilst the kids got trampled or looked on in amazement.
My sister got that album when she was like 6. Has he done anything recent (in the last 10 years) or is he dead now?
I dont care if Corgan can play Knofflers Brothers In Arms Solo backwards and above his head, the point it, Knoffler actually wrote it!!!!
Mark Knoffler is undoubtably the best guitarist in the world, i dont particularly love the guy, im more of a modern rock lover which is why Jebs are my favourite band but when you watch him play its just.........well there arent any words.
The only other guitarist that i have watched play (obviously not live, on tape etc) that has blown my hair back and i have thought only he could do that...is Jimi Hendrix.
Not saying Corgan is bad, i love the Pumpkins but Knoffler is just amazing.
Still ... horses for courses and all that.
All opinion (ie: no absolutes about it).
Anyway, you keep on changing the emphasis of the discussion! One minute you are arguing about guitar playing ability, the next you are arguing about composition ability! Likewise, one minute you argue that a great guitarist isn't defined purely on skill, yet on the other hand you argue that one guitarist is better than another based on perceived skills! Your arguments don't stack up, logically!
You seem to be either quite confused about the discussion at hand, or mischeiveously trying to manipulate it (and other people's words) just to feel good about your own opinions.
Danny Chook Fan Club
29 Nov 2001, 22:57
Filmclips - I like a storyline, a bit of a movie unfolding. I also like a bit of humour and something I consider to be clever.
With that in mind:
Stand By Me - Oasis
Charmless Man- Blur
All I Want Is You - U2
Smack My Bitch Up - The Prodigy
Let's Dance - Five
and many others.
All opinion (ie: no absolutes about it).
Anyway, you keep on changing the emphasis of the discussion! One minute you are arguing about guitar playing ability, the next you are arguing about composition ability! Likewise, one minute you argue that a great guitarist isn't defined purely on skill, yet on the other hand you argue that one guitarist is better than another based on perceived skills! Your arguments don't stack up, logically!
You seem to be either quite confused about the discussion at hand, or mischeiveously trying to manipulate it (and other people's words) just to feel good about your own opinions.
My horses for courses remark wasnt about opinion on music, it was about our differing opinion on whether or not skill has something to do with music....you seem to think it doesnt and its all about opinion, i think its 90% opinion and 10% skill.
thehardaway
30 Nov 2001, 20:12
Smack my Bitch Up by the Prodigy is definitely the best filmclip I have seen in recent years.
brampta
30 Nov 2001, 20:40
Woah this is going back to my days of watching Rage and Video Hits...
I thought Pretty Fly (for a white guy) was one of the funniest clips I'd ever seen a few years ago
I can remember being fascinated by Korn's Freak on a Leash for awhile there (even though I didn't particularly like the song).
I agree with whoever it was who suggested Bullet Without Butterfly Wings...
. . . whether or not skill has something to do with music....you seem to think it doesnt and its all about opinion . . .
Once again you are either misinterpreting what I'm saying, or trying to twist my words.
I never said skill had "nothing" to do with it - merely that what one person sees as skill, or which particular skills are appreciated more than others, might differ to that of others, and that no-one is necessarily right or wrong about it.
Karbassiyoon
27 Jul 2004, 01:32
After trying forever i've 75% downloaded howard jones' 'what is love' - class video clip for a typically emotive yet technologically enduced 80's hit.
Others in my collection include
- Nik Kershaw's 'the riddle' - mainly because i wanted to know what pictures you could possibly put to those lyrics
- Beyonce 'crazy in love' - voted the sexiest video of the year 2003 by E news
- Fountains of wayne 'stacey's mum' - how could you not. quality at both ends of the scale.
- Belinda carlisle 'leave a light on for me' - she's a very sexy woman
- Britney spears 'toxic' - bit of an impulse download this one
Ones i'd happily add if i could get a download
- Boogie pimps 'sunny' - hot woman
- Chingy 'one call away' - mainly for the groove at the end which i can't find on mp3.
Crooked Rain
27 Jul 2004, 06:29
It's my Life - Talk Talk
Cut your Hair - The mighty Pavement (some of the cheapest r the best)
Boys Keep Swinging - David Bowie
Take on Me - A HA
Buddy Holly - Weezer
Waterfalls - Paul McCartney
Cest Comm Ca - Rita Mitsouko
I Got You - Split Enz
Wings - The Fall
Bull in the Heather - Sonic Youth (love the naughty chick in it)
Worst clip - Am I ever gonna see the Biff Again? - Reg Reagan
bunsen burner
27 Jul 2004, 10:28
Here's some film clips that people should d/l from the Internet:
AC/DC - Shook Me All Night Long. Loved this as a teenage boy. Chicks on exercise bikes wearing leather or pvc hot pants with crotch zips. Plenty of crotch shots here.
Benny Benassi - Satisfaction. Hot chicks with power tools. A bit of a spoof of 70s chauvenism where sex was used to sell everything. Funny and mouth watering.
Girls on Film - Duran Duran. Topless chicks mud wrestling and pole pillow fighting. Enough said.
Beastie Boys - Sabotage. Spoof of 70s TV cop shows. Funny.
Eels - Souljacker part 1. Eels performing song in a prison.
Pearl Jam - Do the Evolution. Cartoony stuff like Pink Floyd's The Wall.
Rolling Stones - Jumping Jack Flash. Original studio version. Said to be the first time a video clip was used to sell a song. Band members are dressed up in face paint with Jagger supporting a tatoo of the devil on his chest.
Spiderbait - Black Betty. Whit playing drums on back of hot rod whilst driving down road.
Emerson Lake and Palmer - Fanfare for the Common man. The band perform the song in an empty stadium (the 1976 Montreal Olympis Stadium).
btw1: Michael Jackosn is a nonce.
btw2: Billy Corgan is not in same guitarist league as Mark Knofler.
Karbassiyoon
27 Jul 2004, 12:51
Other clips i've thought about having read the rest of the thread:
Alien Ant Farm - Smooth Criminal
Kylie Minoge - Did It Again (easily the best looking she's ever been)
M2M - Everything
He can play guitar and Franciscus Henry (who changed his name to mr. whiskers when he realised wogs don't sell) can do the vocals.
Fritz_the_Cat
28 Jul 2004, 00:20
So many good ones.. here is a few i love.. some already mentioned.
Aphex Twin - Windowlicker
Primus - Wynonas Big Brown Beaver
Prodigy - Smack My Bitch UP
Public Enemy - Night of the living Baseheads
Public Enemy - Give It Up
Tim Deluxe - It Just Won't Do
Erykah Badu - Love of my Life
Johnny Cash - Hurt
Peter Gabriel - Sledgehammer (Groundbreaker back then)
Sabrina - Boys (Summertime Love)
Fatboy Slim - Rockafella Skank
Radiohead - Paranoid Android
Beastie Boys - Sabotage
Bomfunk MC's - Uprocking Beats
Pink Floyd - Another Brick in the Wall
Radiohead - Just
The Chemical Brothers - Out of Control
Bloodhound Gang - The Bad Touch
Crystal Method - Name of the Game
Fatboy Slim - Ya Mama (push the Tempo) Classic!
Madonna - Like a Prayer
Rage Against The Machine - Renegades of Funk ... actually all RATM clips rock!
Bodycount - The Winner Loses
Limp Bizkit - Rearranged
the list goes on... i love music videos... my dream job would be producing them.