View Full Version : Venting Rant of the Year
Kildonan
27 Jan 2006, 23:08
Wow, its only January and we already have a likely winner:
This post (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/newreply.php?do=newreply&p=4539750) of Joffaboy is in response to a newish poster who claimed he and others were making cheap shots at Carlton.
Correct just ask Pagan. he won a massive contract of $850k a season from Carlton to take them to a wooden spoon.
As for cheap shots. You haven't got a clue n00b. You have been around five minutes and get all uppity when a Saints fan has a go at Carlton.
Well lemming let me fill you in. For years you and your ilk arrogantly and smugly agreed with every disparaging insult your club in the guise of Elliott and co spouted about other clubs including the Saints.
"Let them rot" - was the quote atttributed to Collins in 1984 when the Saints were almost insolvent and could only pay their creditors 20c in the dollar. Greats who were loyal like Trevor Barker went to his grave never being paid what he was owed, all for the love of his football team. But we have this arrogant slime enncouraging the then VFL to give the Saints no help and effectively let them fold.
"Who would go to that rabble" were the words of Elliott in 1998 when the Saints were looking at Brittian to coach the Saints. All the arrogant Carlton fans chuckled. Yup what a rabble, look at their finances, look at their wooden spoons.
2001 - Hamill, humiliated and forced out of Carlton by Elliott, who "will hang him out to dry". Even though it was the Carlton admin that sunk the boots into Hamill, Carlton supporters from that moment have disparaged Hamill and called him a traitor (even though they welcolme traitors like Stevens into the fold). Nothing wrong with not liking an ex player but the hatred was taken to idiotic extremes, all because he left Carlton.
2001-2002. All we got from Carlton was. St.Kilda are again embracing mediocrity, all the PP's all the No.1 draft picks blah blah blah. Carlton dont rebuild blah blah blah. Carlton have pride, St.Kilda have none etc.....
2002 - The biggie. First Carlton win their first wooden spoon. personally for me nothing to cheer about, I really couldn't have cared except for the fact that all the arrogance and high horsed big noting done over the years by Collins, Elliott and co, wholeheartedly backed up by the Carlton supporters (who kept voting Elliott in). The Carlton supporters deserved what they got.
But the big news was that Carlton had been caught cheating again. This time the league threw the book at them. So in light of losing their PP and N0.1 DP Goddard goes to the Saints and Wells to North.
The hue and cry from Carlton supporters was amazing. First denying they cheated then railing against St.Kilda because Goddard was once a Carlton supporter. This led to an effort to bombard Goddard with emails to get him to come "home".
Then we have the insults and disparaging posts about how "supercoach" Pagan was going to take you up the ladder and how Grant Thomas couldn't coach. When asked for examples since that time, not one has been forthcoming. When asked for a head to head while Pagan has been at Carlton, the lemmings go mute. Not one fact to back up their insults, just another cheap shot at St.Kilda
So what do we have. Carlton arrogance and shadenfreud at the plight of others and then insults and dismissive arrogance about St.Kildas chances, here is a list
1) St.Kilda was "given" their current list
2)St.Kilda wil lose all of their players to other clubs
3) St.Kilda "stole" Hamill and Goddard
4) Grant Thomas is absolute crap but Pagan is a supercoach
5) Carlton never cheated and the AFL are out to get us and favour St.Kilda
6) Its football socialism, and AFl have wrecked football by given everyone a chance.
All of the above in various forms from Carlton supporters over the years.
But then what do we get in 2005? Carlton are a financial rabble. And who is in charge? The "Let them Rot" person himself in Collins. Funny now it is different when the boot is on the other foot isn't it?
I enjoy Carltons plight, not because i want to see them "Rot" as Collins would callously put it, but because arrogant Carlton supporters who basked in the reflected glory and bullying of Collins and Elliott et al are getting their comeuppance and are getting a lesson in humility and how to be humble.
And the final irony of this whole sorry saga. Carlton fans wanted their team to TANK, thats right actually wanting their team to lose games so they can get better draft picks. Thats correct, you heard me clearly, that self same socialist system that has supposedly brought Carltons dominance to its end, along with that dastardly AFL's connivance, has been embraced, has been lauded. And Carlton supporters wanted their team to throw games to effectively compromise it
All through the insults, the questioning of the Saints integrity, culture, history, all the barbs at the "free ride" we were supposedly give, all the dismissive eyerolling and hand waving and arrogance toward our "gifted list", did I ever, ever hear that St.Kilda didn't try. I heard pathetic, culture, rabble, 26 wooden spoons, 1 premiership etc, but never did I read that the Saints turned it up.
Never did I read a Saints supporter wanting the Saints to lose. On the contrary, if Wolf had not hit the post against Sydney in 2002, or we tried so hard at Optus Oval against Freo in 2002 who were on track for the finals, we could have drafted both Goddard and Wells.
For years Carlton lemmings like you have questioned St.Kilda's character, integrity, worth, and culture and then, when it finally dawns on Carlton fans that they are in the 21st century not the 20th where rich benefactors will buy players and therefore flags, what do they do? Do they suck it up and show some integrity, some character, some intestinal fortitude, the self same virtues they accuse others of not having? No, they Want their team to lose as a percieved way of an easy climb up the ladder.
And you have the temerity to reckon a couple of St.kilda fans have constant cheap shots:rolleyes:
Fair dinkum, from the crap we have had to endure at your clubs hands over the years and the rampant hypocricy of its thin skinned supporters, I reckon you have a flaming hide.
No bugger off n00b, have an idea before you begin your petty harping.
Kildonan
27 Jan 2006, 23:22
In 2005, I posted in a thread, here (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=147854&page=2), where I introduced some of the St Kilda posters - this is what I said about Joffaboy:
Joffaboy - he is a warrior / defender of the faith. Joffaboy has been here since time began and he has spent most of that time defending the Saints from unfair criticism and ridicule. If Bigfooty was a war - this is the man you want in the trenches with you. His bareknuckle approach to defending the Saints belies his true nature as a gentleman and a scholar.
Was I far off the mark?
mad-saint-guy
28 Jan 2006, 00:27
Definately best rant of the year. Nomination for "Rant Of The Century". :thumbsu: :D
JeffDunne
28 Jan 2006, 00:42
LOL – I think we need a sticky for a Best of JB’s rants. Some of his exchanges with Deej and the other lemmings are priceless.
Given the bloke's a bloody Sydneysider-Johnny-come-lately type (sorry JB ;) ) he’s surprisingly as passionate a Saints man as you’d find anywhere – equal of the best the animal cage had to offer.
sainter
28 Jan 2006, 01:57
:D
Sometimes I wonder how he can be bothered but keep up the good work. :thumbsu:
It's a little embarrassing when the best a lot of the them can offer is to remind us of our past but when the future is so bright there's not a lot they can say about that.
Axcellence
28 Jan 2006, 06:01
Wow.. Extremely potent post. He is a GUN :D
Its interesting though, as soon as the idiots are shown the mirror, how fast the interest level drops off by other people.
Kildonan
7 Feb 2006, 01:07
Not the same level of emotion as Joffa's post but JD is rehashing an old argument, the Carlton cheating scandal, for which they have already been punished. I think is important to understand these arguments and what they are based on:
Just read the Herald-Sun, oh man I'm going to bed, its gonna happen again
$200,000 under the table payments designed to evade the cap and Collo thick in the action
The payments, believed to be up to $200,000, were made in the early 1990s through the company Amigo Constructions, of which Williams was a director.
Williams and Carlton have admitted that Amigo invoiced the club for building and maintenance work which was not done.
The two parties admitted to the ATO the ruse was devised to beat the AFL salary cap.
The secret payments, disguised as maintenance work at Optus Oval, were arranged by then Blues boss Ian Collins, who is now chief executive of Telstra Dome and has returned to Carlton as club president.
Christ!
Collo is finished at best, the AFL will punish us again at worst
Here we go again.
You might want to start with this :
Thursday, September 18, 2003
Documents reveal hidden payments (http://footystats.freeservers.com/Special/Diary-carltoncrisis.html) (scroll down a bit - the whole page is a good read though. :)
Russell Robinson in the Herald Sun has revealed that the Carlton FC told the AFL that between 1992 and 1995, Greg Williams was paid $175,000 a year.
According to an undated copy of the club's AFL playing contract, Blues chief executive Stephen Gough – who took over from Ian Collins in 1993 – stated that my mutual agreement "payment will not exceed will not exceed $175,000 in any one year".
But court documents reveal Williams' payments did exceed this. An Australian Taxation Office audit of the Blues star's finances found that his taxable income in each of 1993 and 1994 financial years was $75,000 above $175,000. The following year (1995), it was $49,995 more than $175,000.
In a letter to Williams' manager, Peter Jess, in December 1994, Gough confirms earlier discussions between the two over Williams' contract. Gough advises Jess that Williams would be paid a base amount in 1994 of $275,000, which would drop to $225,000 in 1995.
The tax dept investigation and court case not only discovered who was responsible for the tax, but it also put on the public record what GW was earning from Carlton. Surprise, surprise, it wasn't what they told the AFL.
Should we go on?
I am very impressed with that rant. Accurate and true!!!!
and little abuse!
I agree! If you look at the facts they should be be relocated..maybe New Zealand..?) They are a financial basket case who consistently under perform - what rights do wooden spooners have?
Joffaboy
13 Feb 2006, 13:55
Hey that guy is brilliant.
What a great encapsulation of why Carlton are disliked. Erudite and comprehensive.
That bloke is terriffic ;) :D
...and so humble ;)
Kildonan
4 May 2006, 22:10
I thought I might include this (one of my rants) after the Freo debacle in Tassie:
For 3 days you were lucky some old codger with a button at his finger forgot how to do his job. The injustice has now been righted and you've got certain posters at Saintsational sprouting off about taking the AFL to court or he'll never give money to the game again.
It sounds as if you have resented some of what was said at Saintsational and carried that resentment back to us here.
The chances of ANY St Kilda supporter understanding they're not the victim here is little to slim.
Sounds as if you've made up your mind that we're definitely not victims here.
Maybe our defintions of "victims" are at odds.
What I mean is:
- Our coach and players have been impugned, their integrity questioned on several national media, repeatedly.
- The players have been distracted and harassed by press and others
- The focus of our players has been distracted away from the next match
- The club has incurred costs to represent themselves
- The amount of negative press that we've received is comparable to that of Carlton after they cheated the cap
Now let's pretend that when we played Freo in Tassie, the timekeeper did his job and the siren sounded loudly enough to be heard. The match ended at the right time and Freo won the match by a point. Would any of the above have happened?
These are negative effects that would not have occured if the game ended correctly. Hence I suggest that we are victims of that incident.
Would you still have been the victims had the result stayed the as is, or would only Fremantle have been the victims?
No, clearly we would both still have been victims. We would have been 2 points better off, though.:D
From a St Kilda point of view, the game ended when the umpire ended it.
The AFL Comission stepped in and said "No. The match ended when the first siren sounded".
The end of any match for much of the history of the AFL has been when the umpire/s hear/s the siren and signals end of play. It is written in the Laws of the Game. St Kilda played until the umpire signalled end of play. At that time, the scores were level. The game was officially called a draw. Official documents had been provided by the AFL that declared the match drawn.
Now I don't suggest for a second, that Freo, under the circumstances, didn't have a reason to question the result. I am merely trying to present events factually, from a St Kilda point of view.
The St Kilda players played the game out according to the way the rules were set in place. There was never a proviso saying "if the umpires don't hear the siren then the AFL commission can step in and overturn the ending of a match" ruling, at the time they played. They had been officially awarded 2 points for a draw. St Kilda did not break any rules and yet have now been penalised 2 points. To have drawn the match according to the laws of the game and then have the points taken off them is to suggest that they had broken a rule, but they hadn't.
That may be considered a negative effect.
You might argue that those points were never ours.
This appears to be the case, but they had been officially awarded to us.
The fact is the siren wasn't loud enough and to complicate it the timekeeper didn't perform the duties correctly. These are shortcomings of the AFL, not St Kilda. St Kilda did no wrong.
Even if all the players knew the siren had been blown, the way the laws were written is that the game doesn't end until the umpire ends it. I'm not saying that anyone heard the siren or that no-one did. That is not the point, I don't know anyway. The point is St Kilda played until the game ended by the traditional ending. To do anything less would be unacceptable and unprofessional.
Freo were unprofessional and opted to appeal rather than play footy allowing this situation to occur. Freo should have played out the match and then worried about the technicalities. There would have been no real issue if they had.
Chris Connolly publicly called for the Saint Kilda club to "give up the points" thus bringing St Kilda into what essentially a problem between Freo and the AFL. He implied that there was a moral obligation for St Kilda to offer Freo the points. You might agree with this, but that is irrelevant. Neither St Kilda as a club, nor Grant Thomas have the power to hand out points. Nor, I suggest, would they be inclined to if they had that power. St Kilda had done nothing wrong. This was an issue that should have been between Freo and the AFL.
Drawing us into this was unfair and unsportsmanlike.
Yes we are victims, even if you don't see it.
But we'll get over it and come out stronger because of this.
Joffaboy
12 May 2006, 12:23
In light of the Carlton announcement I thought it was time to bump this thread so all can read why some supporters of opposition teams have no time or sympathy for Carlton and their prediciment. :thumbsu:
Kildonan
24 Dec 2006, 20:26
This one is from Saintsational but it is a lovely rant and very worthy of being archived with this collection:
Title (Link) = Why Carlton people DISLIKE/HATE StKilda !! (http://www.saintsational.com/forum/posting.php?mode=quote&p=317398)
The more you go into this statement the more you come to realise that they have real problems and we are the innocent victims that they choose to blame. I have also noticed that those who display the most vitriol are the "Next Generation" (or under 30's) Carlton Fans. These are the people who have grown up with the success of Carlton, not understanding or wanting to understand how their success was achieved.
Somewhere in their past they must have had generations of fans/players/administrators who had the will and the skill to succeed. This was in the days before John Elliott and Ian Collins and their paper bags came along. Even under Elliott & Collins they achieved success. Most of their fans either did not know or did not care how this success was achieved.
We all know that much of their success was achieved illegally and that they are now paying the price for that. They lost their draft picks, they are $8Mill in debt and their board and coaching panel are in disarray. And after all of that, they are heading back to the future to try to fix their problems. They have Tom Elliott, son of John (paper bag) Elliott, Kernahan who has been part of the paper bag brigade as a player, coach & administrator and Fraser Brown, who was one of the major benificiaries of the paper bags (along with Williams) all telling of how they will fix the problems. No wonder the afl are nervous.
So how does their hatred for all things StKilda come into this. Easy really. It has been probably about 20 years since Carlton had any success that was the result of HARD WORK. All the success they have had in that time has been dodgy at best, with plenty of proof that much of their activity was ILLEGAL. They simply don't know or understand the ammount of work required to be successful and they see StKilda (the most successful Vic based team over the past 3 years) as somehow stealing what is rightfully theirs, such is their level of denial and that is why they are where they are. What they don't realise is that Rod Butterss, Grant Thomas, Jim Watts, John Beveridge and I suspect a small army of others have worked their butts off for more than 5 years to make StKilda successful, and we're still not there yet.
HARD WORK & PASSION are key ingredients in why StKilda is where Carlton think they should be and where they are where they think StKilda should be. Quite simply, THEY ARE JEALOUS. What they don't realise is that we are the most unsuccessful club in the history of the VFL/AFL and that a group of people had a vision to make StKilda a successful club, these people then rolled their sleeves up and set to work on achieving this vision. We are not there yet and we have lost some of the visionaries along the way, but we are still on the right path to acheiving sustained success. When that will be is still to be seen.
In Carlton, I see a lot of arrogant people who are down the bottom of the heap and all they can do is squabble amongst themselves trying to find someone to blame for the mess they are in. They do not know the work required to be successful. They are a proud club and they will rise again one day (I cannot see it in the short to medium term), but they will need to get a group together who are prepared to do the WORK that is necessary to be successful. UNTIL THAT TIME, THEY WILL DIRECT THEIR JEALOUSY IN A FORM OF HATRED at the people at StKilda who got off their bums and did something about achieving success in a legal & honest manner !!
Kildonan
1 Apr 2007, 07:16
There is a poster who follows Melbourne.
He seems to suffer from some sort of small man's complex and he expresses his hatred of St Kilda.
Some of his threads are so arrogant and offensive that he irks even his fellow Melbourne supporters.
Some history:
Does everyone remember the day that Matt Maguire broke his leg?
Anyone else enjoy this? I know, it's bad form to enjoy seeign players get injured, but there's something about seeing St Kilda players go down that I just really enjoy.
Any set back to the quest to gain that flag all their supporters think they're entitled to, just makes me smile.
I took the front page of the Age's sport section from saturday, framed it, and is now hanging up next to my other sports memorabilia.
Am I a bad person? Probably, but at least both my legs work.
Just another low brow sociopath .
Fancy posting such rubbish on big Footy.
No true football follower enjoys seeing a star player, or any player get a bad injury.
Ever heard about karma. Well there is bad luck around the corner for you and yours. thumbsd thumbsd :mad:
I thought I might have been alone in this one. Surely there's at least one other person who enjoyed it though?
not so much for Maguire himself being pwned, but more for all Saints fans getting the group pwn.
You are a first class ****wit. Now Im totally convinced.
I enjoyed Nathan Brown's broken leg more, if it makes you feel better. Mainly because I hate Nathan Brown, and also because, yeah actually I just hate Nathan Brown.
I'm not boasting, just keen to see if there's anyone else who enjoys seeing rival teams players get injured as much as I do?
St Kilda have been a dream side for me this year, firstly seeing Kosi flattened by Giansiracusa, now Maguire. Ah.. 2006, what a year.
So now you know the sort of person we are talking about.
Prior to the first match of 2007 the same poster has another little rant:
Way to have faith in your team, guys. Bloody hell.
All through the round 1 tips thread everyone's talking how the Saints are severely injured compared to Melbourne? For round 1?
Typical bloody saints fans, give them an excuse and they're happier than a pig in sh*t.
Watch them get physically brutalised again, and watch them say it's due to injury, again.
My tip? Melbourne by ten goals. Bookmark it. Print it out and staple it to your forehead if you must, but it will happen. St Kilda are Melbourne's bitch and have been our bitch for a long time, it won't change. Like sands through the hourglass, St Kilda are a terrible football club and not worthy of any respect, hence they get none.
LINK to all the Saints fans allegedly "breaking out the injury excuses"
No I didn't think so.
Sounds more like a sooky la la pre-empting his teams loss and getting in first. :o
Geez mate, if you can't win this Friday, boy it's going to be a loooooong season for the dees
Actually you mental midget, I pointed out which thread it was in. If you're simply too lazy or stupid to look it up, that's not my fault.
I do not appreciate being called a mental midget by anyone.
I looked at the thread:
Here are all the Saints posts:
Melbourne vs St Kilda - tough game to pick, I'd favour Melbourne as they have the wood on us lately and we look like we'll be slow starters this year.
Fremantle vs Port Adelaide - Can't go past the Dockers here, by a fair margin. Port will be a solid side this year though.
Kangaroos vs Collingwood - Collingwood own the Roos and while I think they'll struggle this year, they should have a first up win.
Brisbane vs Hawthorn - Brisbane at home should win.
Sydney vs West Coast - Sydney are slow starters to the season and could be vulnerable here, West Coast are good value at around 2.50.
Adelaide vs Essendon - Adelaide by a fair margin, the Dons have never been much good in Adelaide.
Western Bulldogs vs Geelong - These teams are usually in close games, and I think this one will be no different. Bulldogs just.
Carlton vs Richmond - Could be an early battle of the spooners, I tip Carlton with no confidence.
I think a lot here are tipping against the Saints bcoz of the MCG factor. Fair enough, but we have M. Clarke in the ruck and a midfield that is actually fit and faster. These were two areas lacking on our last two meetings.
Plus we have virtually a full list to pick from and saints dont. Dont under estimate our midfield mate. Johnstone, Bruce, Mcdonald, Mclean, Green, Jones, Bate, possibly Moloney, and stints from Davey. Pretty good if you ask me.
So point out where I am underestimating anything! Who do you think won't be playing for the Saints? Unlike the last time we met, Saints aren't injury ridden. A fit Hayes, Ball, Harvey, Dal Santo, X Clarke doesn't sound too bad to start with, plus the added bonus of a top tap ruckman. White won't be able to dictate terms like he did. I reckon Saints will win.
It turns out that the only poster mentioning St Kilda injuries is the Melbourne supporter (The Flash).
Then Saintsrule even disregard the "injury excuse" as a non-issue.
So my post earlier: LINK to all the Saints fans allegedly "breaking out the injury excuses"
No I didn't think so.
Was prophetic and accurate.
You prepared to back your mouth up with your wallet? Ten goals in? I'll take some of that ... how about $100, proceeds donated to recognised charity of winners choice?
rJ is a simpleminded sh1tstirrer whose arguments are weak and fill of holes, even by bay 13 standards, as pointed out by predominantly fans of other clubs on this thread.
If pwecious Bwockie doesn't play on Friday night, rJ will wun away and cwy!
Saints .... easily! thumbsu
You mean the guy who smashed your lot in a final last time out? I think you'll be crying if he does play.
Seeing Maguire injured was awesome, he's a deadset w@nker and I wil be giving him a massive spray on friday night about it, he's a douchebag and belong at St Kilda - if you're there feel free to mention to me how much of a dropkick you think I am. Will not happen.
Last time Melbourne played St Kilda I was sitting near YOUR members, and not ONE st kilda fan was willing to argue back with me. I'm hardly an intimidating physical presence, but it just seems your fans are actually in agreement with me when I mention you're the biggest joke of a football club and your fans are the worst bandwagoners in the country.
Anyway, talk is cheap, all that matters is that you're our bitches.
Those same players were 'fit' enough to play last year douche. Brock played injured last year as well, so did Green, so did Bruce and so did Robertson
Did you see Melbourne fans using injuries as an excuse for the Freo finals loss? No.
Hayes is a gun, no doubt - but Brock doesn't get compensated for - you just have to accept he is going to do a lot of damage. Just a fact of life.
I noted that St Kilda fans love their own players getting injured because it gives you a reason to think that losing isn't part of your culture. An out clause, so to speak.
would absolutely relish the oppurtunity. Come around to the M15 area nancy boy.
Funny you say that, but that's precisely where i was in the elimination final when not a single saints fan had the balls to stand up to me. Your team is a disgrace.
Pop on round to the GA area behind the goals, you'll notice me. Feel free to walk right up and introduce yourself, but be prepared for a massive barrage of abuse.
Now I know you are a liar as well as a nancy boy.
How will I notice you, the gay mardi gra look or a library monitor? or just listen for an idiot spewing crap?
I am telling the truth little man. Not my fault your fans are girls.
And yes, listen for me. You will hear it I assure you. You will then leave with your tail between your legs, never to be seen again.
When they had a near full list to choose from in a brief period in 2005 they smashed you, You're very insecure about this especially feeling the need to start a thread about it, Face it your list is inferior to St Kilda's in every way.
Ok, I'll ignore your back peddling about the fact you don't know the difference between the numbers two and three, and just address this point:
why would I be insecure about a team we continually smash?
Because I'm not. I just enjoy smashing them because their fans are a pack of weak dogs who wouldn't know a football if it hit them in the face (and I would like to see that happen for the record).
They are the WORST club in the history of the AFL. And that's a scientifically proven FACT. There is simply no bottom to their pit of crapness, and we will smash them on Friday. No question, it isn't even possible that they could win because their team just doesn't beat ours in normal circumstances. Just doesn't happen.
They had a full list to choose from bar TWO players in that final. Two.
In every final last year, every team was missing at least two players.
Not to mention the fact they think Michael Gardiner is somehow going to make them competitive in the ruck? GHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA classic.. they will get smashed out of the middle by the league's best young midfield group. Just the same as both matches last year.
why would I be insecure about a team we continually smash?
Smash!!! Your highest winning margin was 18 points and thats with 2 or 3 of St Kilda's best players out (which are better than any players currently on the Melbourne list. )
2005 R18 Melbourne 5.3 7.6 11.6 13.10 (88) lost to St Kilda 8.3 13.6 23.12 27.14 (176 )
2005 R4 St Kilda 7.2 9.4 16.9 23.13 (151) dftd Melbourne 5.6 9.11 13.13 15.14 (104)
Thats what you call a smashing.
Because I'm not. I just enjoy smashing them because their fans are a pack of weak dogs who wouldn't know a football if it hit them in the face (and I would like to see that happen for the record).
They are the WORST club in the history of the AFL. And that's a scientifically proven FACT. There is simply no bottom to their pit of crapness,
I never questioned there history, everybody knows its pathetic, I'm just stating they have a better list and they are a better team when they have a full list of players to choose from.
They had a full list to choose from bar TWO players in that final. Two.
In every final last year, every team was missing at least two players.
Yeh but those two players they had out weren't your avg fringe players. Hayes and Maguire would be equivalent to taking out McLean and Rivers but still the two ST Kilda players are the better footballers.
How so? I started similar threads before the EF last year, out of confidence for the fact Melbourne are better.
I like to put my rep on the line, because I back myself and I back my team.
Saints fans prefer to have an excuse as to why they suck. I like pointing that out. It brings a smile to my face, kind of like seeing Maguire's leg snap like a twig did.
1. What is your definition of 'smash' I reckon Saints have 'smashed' Dees in recent years by a lot more than 18 points.
2. Define how saints weak dogs differ from dees weak dogs. Dees fans are notoriously fragile and prone to not turning up when the going gets tough!
3. Do you understand the meaning of scientifically proven Please describe accurately the experiment together with the hypothesis.
4. Smash? What is the definition? 18 points?
5. You are confused. M. Gardiner wont play. But M. Clarke will.
6. You are confused again. The best young midfield group is WCE, Freo not bad either.
Hope that helps and look forward to the debate after dees lose!
1. What is your definition of 'smash' I reckon Saints have 'smashed' Dees in recent years by a lot more than 18 points.
Smash is the fact that of our last 12 matches we've won 10.
2. Define how saints weak dogs differ from dees weak dogs. Dees fans are notoriously fragile and prone to not turning up when the going gets tough!
The Demons average higher crowds than St Kilda by a decent margin, in fact, only Collingwood and Essendon average higher home crowds than Melbourne.
3. Do you understand the meaning of scientifically proven Please describe accurately the experiment together with the hypothesis.
You've only won one premiership ever, and you've come last more than any other club. This is proof that you are the worst.
4. Smash? What is the definition? 18 points?
See above.
5. You are confused. M. Gardiner wont play. But M. Clarke will.
Yes, I'm sure he's a match for Jeff White, one of the league's premier ruckmen over the last 10 years. Hell, Clarke isn't even as good as our third best ruckman, let alone Jeff White.
6. You are confused again. The best young midfield group is WCE, Freo not bad either.
Incorrect. Melbourne's young midfield group is vastly superior to both those sides. Name me one young player from either team as good as Brock McLean for example. Secondly, name me a better group of 5 than Bartram, Bate, Jones, Moloney, Sylvia . Name the six players 23 or under, and I'll agree with you.
Hope that helps and look forward to the debate after dees lose!
for a start, there is no debate, Melbourne are just better. Secondly, we won't lose, you guys are truly rooted. And just like after the final last year, 99% of Saints fans will leave bigfooty for a while, because they're weak dogs.
You don't have a choice sonny, until we win 26 spoons and you win another 11 flags, we're better than you.
You will cop it, and you will enjoy it. I will force you to.
Are you coming out now rJ?
lol, that was possibly the worst argument for why St Kilda don't suck that I've ever heard.
I'm a proud supporter of one of the most successful clubs in the AFL - I'm also a fan of football in general, and like most fans, I think St Kilda are a disgrace to the game of football by merely existing.
And yes, good luck to you seeing me after the game, I wager that you like most other saints fans will have left by half time anyway - weak dogs
You are suffering delusions of grandeur rick - regarding yourself and your team. I don't care about MFC's ancient history. Mate, give as good as you've got - water off a ducks back. The only thing you force me to do is laugh in disbelief at your inflated opinion of yourself and your team.
Mate, I never give as good as I get, I would never let my standards drop so low - I am the measuring stick and just remember how lucky you are to breathe the air I fart in.
Your club is gay.
Melbourne then played and lost to the mighty Saints
I told you so.
St Kilda > Melboune in every facet.
Go on start another thread about it.
If you squint when you read rick James' signature it looks like -
"I like to put things in my bum."
I'm sorry, I must re-iterate -
Melbourne are the SOFTEST BUNCH OF FOOTBALLERS IN THE LEAGUE.
thumbsu thumbsu
Always will be.
Oh come on they had injuries.
lil Bwocky - meet Leigh Fisher. Good night sweetheart.
Stick that rick james. Melbourne are a bunch of softc@ck girls who just got smashed.
Good thing for you we only had half a team out there tonight.
Once we get Riewoldt, Gardiner, and Raph and Max back we will even look better.
Melbourne are just plain crap and soft. About as soft as you head.
You complete tool rolleyes rolleyes
Hey rJ, remember this offer I made you?
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=7050502&postcount=24
Lucky for your wallet you don't have the stones to cash the cheques your big mouth writes ... rolleyes
You have zero creditability ... your posts are the bleatings of the demented.
You sad, sad, little man.
13 frees to 26 in the third quarter was the reason we lost.
Interesting that we were smashing you prior to Brock's injury as well.
Like i said, you guys should have had more faith in your team, you were making a bucketload of excuses before the match, and you ended up winning.
St Kilda are a joke.
You sad, pathetic, little man. thumbsd
SO.. What you do last night Rick James?
cried like his girlie football team.
pathetic excuse of a football team.
laughed at them as they trudged off and some bad loser Melbourne supporter wanted to have a go at me.
laughed even harder and told him to have a look at the scoreboard and to Get F###ed. Like his pussy sofc@ck team wouldn't go on with it. Slinked off like the pathetic loser he is, just like his gutless club.
All in all a very good night. Love watching a team with the likes of Yze squib it. thumbsu
Zero Credibility Rick James, oh and dropkick..has a nice ring to it.:) thumbsu
Melbourne was owned pure and simple.
AND WHAT I CONSIDER THE VENTING RANT POSTER OF THE WEEK:
Poor little RJ. It was all the big bad umpires. Not your team panicking like headless chooks and getting caught out like deer in the headlights under the pressure from the Saints.
You were smashing us? The only reason you had a lead in the first quarter was because of the shocking accuracy of our goalkicking. We had two more scoring shots PLUS two shots that were out-on-the-full. An eight point lead is a smashing? What fantasyland are you from?
The sheer, breath-taking hypocrisy of starting a thread accusing Saints supporters of using injury as an excuse and then using injury as an excuse for your team's performance IN THE SAME THREAD has got to be worthy of some award. Does "Before the Game" still run "Tool of the Week"? You'd have to be high up in the running.
The only joke here is a bitter little man who appears to be as heavily into the medications as his namesake.
http://www.cbc.ca/gfx/photos/jamesrick_cp_6174702.jpg
"Cocaine's a hell of a drug....."
Ahhh, karma!
rJ is a knob. He's been well and truly owned after the game on Friday night. But I bet he blythely marches on, posting his vitriol, as though his predictions were in fact accurate. Self delusion at its best.
What a knob. :thumbsd:
Vaul Darkhour
1 Apr 2007, 12:43
a bit of effort went into posting that... :eek:
goodie23
2 Apr 2007, 00:23
The problem with arguing with trolls is they tend to drag you down to their level. rick James clearly doesn't have a strong grasp of history, mathematics, logic, umpiring, football or just reality in general, so any reasonable argument will go straight past him.
Just a small observation, the largest umpiring mistake I noticed in the third quarter was in fact in Melbourne's favour. Robertson's goal was impressive certainly, but it was quite clear to me at the time and during the replay that he dragged the Saint contesting the mark down with him. Calling it would have been a very brave, but correct decision.
Yes, I agree. He dragged Gram down, but after that, what a fine effort! I was sitting with a bunch of Saints supporters, and we all just looked at each other, shrugged our shoulders and clapped the goal; it was that good. :thumbsu:
He's a unique player that Robertson. :)
The Punter
2 Apr 2007, 11:28
I had a large argument with the aforementioned RickJames last year about something I can't even remember. But as usual on this site, I tried to keep my arguments in the world of logic.
Friday night was about one thing - our pressure and Melbourne's inability to deal with it. We certainly got the best of the umpiring, but our "luck" with the umpiring coincided with an increase in our intensity, and fortune favours the brave. You could argue chicken or egg, but I though the final margin was a fair reflection of the match. The bottom line is if we play with that intensity on Thursday night (and I'm flying up for the match, I am happy to say), we should comfortably account for Brisbane.
Grimfang
4 Apr 2007, 00:24
Yay!! I got venting poster of the week!!
I'd like to thank my friends, my family and my agent but I would especially like to thank rick James. Without his pathetic, abject, absurd drivel I wouldn't have had my insipration.
You love me! You really love me!
Thank you. Thank you.
{Music starts. Grimfang bows. Exits stage left.}
;) :D
SIR SAINT HOTDOG
4 Apr 2007, 02:15
That was a great read seeing RJ wrong on so many occasions.
TheTimeCometh
6 Apr 2007, 00:31
also one of the longest.
Kildonan
18 Nov 2007, 14:48
One of my favourite topics :D
I have a good idea. Happyhawk why don't you worry about your club and we worry about ours.
Actually you have shown us that in very recent history your club and its fans cannot be trusted in "worrying about ours". Last time we allowed that your club cheated repeatedly.
Happy Hawk has raised a VERY valid question:
You oust the worst cheating president in the history of the AFL only after he dragged your club into the mire bringing huge debt and disrepute.
Then you install a new president, he and his company has been found guilty of "by far the most serious cartel case to come before the court" in Australian history. The Judge made it known that he regretted not being able to impose criminal charges.
Are we to stand by and watch history repeat itself. A known cheat with the pedigree to be the worst cheating president in AFL history, a board who turns a blind eye until it is all too late, and fans who don't have a moral stance because of the promise of easy money.
That's what it all boils down to, doesn't it? Easy money (just look the other way).
You say:
What you don't see is that nothing will be done and nothing needs to be done. Pratt is employed by Carlton not the AFL and he has no contract with them. Pratt was not employed by Carlton when he was involved in the cartel dealings so the AFL have know case. Pratt has payed his dues (even if it is "only" 36million) and there is nothing to worry about.
You hope nothing will be done because there goes your free lunch.
If Pratt leaves, you will have to work for your money like every other club. :eek:
My concern is that the AFL incumbents are just as corrupt as the Carlton ones. That Demetriou will not be able to see the disrepute that will eventuate when this cheat applies his ethics to the club. I can't predict how he will cheat - but I am pretty sure he will. It then is just a matter of him being clumsy and being caught.
What of the other clubs?
The ones that don't cheat.
Why should we stand by and allow this recidivist club continue to break the rules.
Surely Carlton Football Club are on their VERY LAST CHANCE.
If they get caught one more time they should be deregistered as a club.
End the cheating for them as they cannot end the cheating for themselves.
Australia's worst ever corporate criminal is president of their football club and they haven't sacked him. They are hoping this will blow over like every other appalling breach of laws / rules / ethics that they have been embroiled in in their sordid recent history.
Carlton cannot be trusted. They have no intention of ever following any rules. They are simply out to grab whatever they can for themselves with no regard for any rules or regulations.
One can almost hear them saying "the rules don't apply to us" using the same justification that white supremists claim.