View Full Version : Pura Cup: South Australia v Victoria @ Adelaide Oval (Thurs-Sun)

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

CossieforAus
1 Feb 2006, 02:22
http://www.natfoods.com.au/media/global/pura-cup-logo.jpg
http://www.fiveaa.com.au/images/links/redbacks.gifV http://www.cricketvictoria.com.au/auth/main/sb/preview/stage/images/logos/bushrangers_logo.gif

Its 2nd v 3rd and to make this battle even better, both sides are at basically full strength (I mean its not like Elliott is a big loss and Bailey is a fine replacement for/if not improvement on Cullen) with the Vics for the 1st time in a long time having their full squad available for selection with Hodge back from the waste of time replacement of Ponting and Warney feeling fit and ready to fire after a long year of carrying Australia.

South Australia
Darren Lehmann (c), Mark Cosgrove, Graham Manou, Shane Deitz, Cullen Bailey, Callum Ferguson, Greg Blewett, Jason Gillespie, Cameron Borgas, Paul Rofe, Mark Cleary, Shaun Tait (12th man to be named)

Have to say 12th man would be a choice between Rofe and Cleary possibly?

Victoria
Cameron White (c), Jason Arnberger, Adam Crosthwaite, Gerard Denton, Shane Harwood, Brad Hodge, David Hussey, Nick Jewell, Michael Lewis, Lloyd Mash, Jonathan Moss, Shane Warne (12th man to be named on the morning of the match)

Where the hell is Klinger? :eek: Tough decision on 12th man for the Vics, go the 3 quicks and Warne or drop a quick and play Moss as the 3rd quick, or drop a batsman and play Moss as well as the 3 quicks, Warne and White

Weather: Adelaide is turning it on for this big game
Thursday : Min 17 Max 28 Shower or two.
Friday : Min 18 Max 30 Rain developing.
Saturday : Min 17 Max 29 Rain clearing later.

TREND for Sunday, Monday and Tuesday :
Fine. Maximum temperatures in the mid to high 20s.

portentous
1 Feb 2006, 08:05
I'm hoping to head to Adelaide Oval for a while on Saturday arvo to watch some of the game.

Carn Redbacks!

vasili
1 Feb 2006, 14:05
whos going to open the batting with Jason Arnberger

Hitman
1 Feb 2006, 14:21
whos going to open the batting with Jason Arnberger
Lloyd Mash or Nick Jewell, probably Mash

Thunderstruck
1 Feb 2006, 14:28
I wouldn't expect a great deal of rain on any of those days, pretty much mainly fine, that forecast has been updated now to remove most rain and so it should have been.

Tough one for redbacks, hopefully can really push through for the outright victory.

mcphee_is_a_gun
1 Feb 2006, 15:12
absolute disgrace that Wise has been dropped, easily our best bowler this season.

Hitman
1 Feb 2006, 15:34
Its funny I think the last time Victoria had Warne and Hodge available was also against SA last year, what a memorable game that was :)

Adelaide Hawk
1 Feb 2006, 15:49
I would think the genuine cricket lover is salivating at the thought of Lehmann facing Warne.

Hitman
1 Feb 2006, 15:50
I would think the genuine cricket lover is salivating at the thought of Lehmann facing Warne.
Im more looking forward to Cossie facing Warne, the greatest bowler ever to Australias future middle order star, mainly seeing as Warne and Lehmann have likely squared off many times

Cleavy
1 Feb 2006, 15:59
Tough decision on 12th man for the Vics, go the 3 quicks and Warne or drop a quick and play Moss as the 3rd quick, or drop a batsman and play Moss as well as the 3 quicks, Warne and White

Play 3 quicks unless it will turn big, imho. Mashy misses out.

Adelaide Hawk
1 Feb 2006, 16:25
Im more looking forward to Cossie facing Warne, the greatest bowler ever to Australias future middle order star, mainly seeing as Warne and Lehmann have likely squared off many times

I wouldn't think Lehmann would have faced Warne all that often, Warne has played very few games for Victoria over the years.

Jaymin
1 Feb 2006, 16:43
Is Hampshire playing South Australia?

Surely Warne wouldn't bother turning out for Victoria?

Hitman
1 Feb 2006, 16:44
Is Hampshire playing South Australia?

Surely Warne wouldn't bother turning out for Victoria?
Very funny, but he is now lining up for the Vics for the rest of the month

Plus I am sure he has now lined up more for his state in the last 12 months than Ponting

Jaymin
1 Feb 2006, 16:47
Very funny, but he is now lining up for the Vics for the rest of the month

Plus I am sure he has now lined up more for his state in the last 12 months than Ponting

Until CA want him to rest again! ;)

Still waiting for Ponting to make his debut for NSW. :o

RoosterLad
1 Feb 2006, 17:08
should be a cracker of a game, in the past Victoria with Warne and Hodge would have demolished us, now we have superb batters, superb bowlers, i would take first innings points with a draw to be honest, that could send us top ;)

I tip Cleary as 12th man (unlucky, as he smashed a ton in the last match), Rofe should play. I was talking to a lad at work about this match, and he said Dizzy wont play if his wife hasnt given birth before the game starts, as it was a 'false alarm' on Sunday.

jo172
1 Feb 2006, 18:09
Anyone have the brain space to grasp how Mark Cleary was dropped and Deitz is still in the side!:confused:

mcphee_is_a_gun
1 Feb 2006, 18:22
10 news reported Cosgrove was in doubt with a injury.

Hitman
1 Feb 2006, 18:56
10 news reported Cosgrove was in doubt with a injury.
As if we could be that lucky

F/D
1 Feb 2006, 18:58
I miss Edward :(

mcphee_is_a_gun
1 Feb 2006, 18:59
I miss Edward :(
when does his suspension end?

Hitman
1 Feb 2006, 19:00
when does his suspension end?
After this game from what Fred said, funny timing that :p

mcphee_is_a_gun
1 Feb 2006, 19:03
After this game from what Fred said, funny timing that :p
:p Why does Hitman support Adelaide? ;)

Hitman
1 Feb 2006, 19:04
:p Why does Hitman support Adelaide? ;)
Hitman was to damn lazy to choose his team ;) Adelaide was the default option

Woodstock..
1 Feb 2006, 19:13
absolute ********ing disgrace that wise has been ********ing dropped!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hitman
1 Feb 2006, 19:14
Not that much seperating the attack

Bowling

Name Mat O M R W Ave Best 5 10 SR Econ

GC Rummans 1 4 0 22 1 22.00 1-6 - - 24.0 5.50
AB Wise 5 211.5 65 578 23 25.13 6-89 2 - 55.2 2.72
CL White 5 87.3 11 326 12 27.16 4-73 - - 43.7 3.72
ML Lewis 5 176.4 43 522 19 27.47 4-35 - - 55.7 2.95
GJ Denton 4 153.1 28 538 18 29.88 4-58 - - 51.0 3.51
SM Harwood 4 139.5 31 399 13 30.69 4-45 - - 64.5 2.85
J Moss 6 151 42 434 10 43.40 4-35 - - 90.6 2.87
N Jewell 6 2 1 4 0 - - - - - 2.00
BJ Hodge 3 3 1 8 0 - - - - - 2.66
DJ Hussey 6 15 6 29 0 - - - - - 1.93

RoosterLad
1 Feb 2006, 19:23
why do you care Woodstock? you think Victoria are above SA in the Pura Cup

how did Eddie Smith get banned? i apologise now, i will be in Darwin from Friday to Monday to watch the footy match being played there so I wont be here to brag about our victory. Gets! ICanDressMyself eastaugh apollo_creed and friends will have to make up for my absence

Cosgrove could play with a broken neck and still score a ton, he will play tomorrow, mark my words.

RoosterLad
1 Feb 2006, 19:26
Not that much seperating the attack

Bowling

GC Rummans 1 4 0 22 1 22.00 1-6 - - 24.0 5.50
AB Wise 5 211.5 65 578 23 25.13 6-89 2 - 55.2 2.72
CL White 5 87.3 11 326 12 27.16 4-73 - - 43.7 3.72
ML Lewis 5 176.4 43 522 19 27.47 4-35 - - 55.7 2.95
GJ Denton 4 153.1 28 538 18 29.88 4-58 - - 51.0 3.51
SM Harwood 4 139.5 31 399 13 30.69 4-45 - - 64.5 2.85
J Moss 6 151 42 434 10 43.40 4-35 - - 90.6 2.87
N Jewell 6 2 1 4 0 - - - - - 2.00
BJ Hodge 3 3 1 8 0 - - - - - 2.66
DJ Hussey 6 15 6 29 0 - - - - - 1.93

Cam White, i thought he was in hot bowling form and should be playing for Australia? 12 wickets in 5 matches, with 4 coming in one innings

F/D
1 Feb 2006, 19:28
Cam White, i thought he was in hot bowling form and should be playing for Australia? 12 wickets in 5 matches, with 4 coming in one innings
Batting allrounder though.

Whats Cullens stats? :o

RoosterLad
1 Feb 2006, 19:31
He's injured at the moment anyway.

I read an interesting article in todays paper, Botha is going to the Uni of WA to get checked for being a cheating chucker.
Cullen went there last year to get tested just to see how hes going. Normal Offie: 0 degrees, Doosra/Wrong Un: 2 degrees (which means he has 13 degrees to play with)

:)

Hitman
1 Feb 2006, 19:31
Batting allrounder though.

Whats Cullens stats? :o
Bowling

DJ Cullen 5 255.5 39 862 20 43.10 5-93 1 - 76.7 3.36

Hitman
1 Feb 2006, 19:33

Strike rate of 43 compared to Cullens 76, Average of 27 compared to CUllens 43

In much better bowling form than Cullen, and White aint even a pure bowler :)

RoosterLad
1 Feb 2006, 19:38
Good to see White doesnt bowl himself as often as he should if hes the so called Gun Spinner, doesnt want to ruin his stats which is why he bowled 2 overs on Sunday.

Cullen Bailey has 12 wickets this season. Good to see we have the Cullen Brothers to fall back on as our spin options, If Dan cant play Bailey fills the void.

Rubbish Victoria rubbish.

Hitman
1 Feb 2006, 19:41
Good to see White doesnt bowl himself as often as he should if hes the so called Gun Spinner, doesnt want to ruin his stats which is why he bowled 2 overs on Sunday.

Cullen Bailey has 12 wickets this season. Good to see we have the Cullen Brothers to fall back on as our spin options, If Dan cant play Bailey fills the void.

Rubbish Victoria rubbish.
We got the greatest leg spinner in history to fall back on :)

Woodstock..
1 Feb 2006, 19:42
why do you care Woodstock? you think Victoria are above SA in the Pura Cup

how did Eddie Smith get banned? i apologise now, i will be in Darwin from Friday to Monday to watch the footy match being played there so I wont be here to brag about our victory. Gets! ICanDressMyself eastaugh apollo_creed and friends will have to make up for my absence

Cosgrove could play with a broken neck and still score a ton, he will play tomorrow, mark my words. Still havent got over that mistake???, and why do i care??? maybe because i want Victoria (the team that i go for if you havent noticed) to win, and with Wise we have more chance of winning because he is a class bowler

RoosterLad
1 Feb 2006, 19:44
Mate, there is NO WAY White will get into the Aussie team as a "pure" batsman, and no chance he will become a batting allrounder or whatever you want to call him. Funny how Dan Cullen is rated as Warnie's successor, he must be rated much higher than Cam White ;) :):D

Hitman
1 Feb 2006, 19:45
Mate, there is NO WAY White will get into the Aussie team as a "pure" batsman, and no chance he will become a batting allrounder or whatever you want to call him. Funny how Dan Cullen is rated as Warnie's successor, he must be rated much higher than Cam White ;) :):D
Funny how ******** Cullen is performing now everyone is talking about him

Woodstock..
1 Feb 2006, 19:50

Lets just ********ing end this ffs, White and Cullen are two diffrent players Cullen will always be the better bowler while White will be a very good batsman who can bowl a bit.

F/D
1 Feb 2006, 19:52
He's injured at the moment anyway.

I read an interesting article in todays paper, Botha is going to the Uni of WA to get checked for being a cheating chucker.
Cullen went there last year to get tested just to see how hes going. Normal Offie: 0 degrees, Doosra/Wrong Un: 2 degrees (which means he has 13 degrees to play with)

:)
hehe, Cullen bowls a doosra? get real :o

F/D
1 Feb 2006, 19:52
We got the greatest leg spinner in history to fall back on :)
Hahahaha owned :D

Thunderstruck
1 Feb 2006, 20:09

LOL You'll see mate

Hitman
1 Feb 2006, 20:34
If people at the game see someone in a Vics shirt yelling out Dizzy is an old hack, Cossie is a fat bastard etc, dont be harsh on em, its only Eddie :)

Gets!
1 Feb 2006, 21:19
Yeah I if I see him, I'll most likely stab him :P

RoosterLad
1 Feb 2006, 21:27

Obviously you have never seen him bowl. At least he doesn't throw the ball like Botha.

spell_check
1 Feb 2006, 21:31
There was an article in the newspaper today that he said he was tested for the doosra and he only had a 2 degree bend.

Russian
2 Feb 2006, 00:21
Have to say 12th man would be a choice between Rofe and Cleary possibly? Has to be Cleary, Rofe's been our best 4 day bowler this season by a fair margin. Harwood should miss out for the Vics (so should Denton but I aint complaining if they want to drop Wise :D)

Hitman
2 Feb 2006, 00:37
Has to be Cleary, Rofe's been our best 4 day bowler this season by a fair margin. Harwood should miss out for the Vics (so should Denton but I aint complaining if they want to drop Wise :D)
No way we should leave out a bowler, SA are very much a batting side, need to bowl them out cheaply, Mash should miss out I think, bit harsh on him but thats what happens when you try and squeeze international superstars back into the team

Adelaide Hawk
2 Feb 2006, 04:53
Mash should miss out I think, bit harsh on him but thats what happens when you try and squeeze international superstars back into the team

Do you HONESTLY feel Hodge warrants the label 'international superstar'? I think that is taking things a little too far.

CrowMuncher
2 Feb 2006, 07:49
Mash should miss out I think, bit harsh on him but thats what happens when you try and squeeze international superstars back into the team

:D :D :D
An INTERNATIONAL SUPERSTAR ehehhe thats a good one

roostersgal4eva
2 Feb 2006, 09:18
SA won the toss and will bat

M.Cleary and J.Moss twelth man for respective teams

DaveW
2 Feb 2006, 09:24
Cosgrove out. Ouch.

Ben Cameron in. The one batsman I have wanted to see back. Hope he continues his 2nd XI form. Should open the batting too - that's the one area where we don't have strong competition for spots.

roostersgal4eva
2 Feb 2006, 09:28
why Clearys out I have NFI

DaveW
2 Feb 2006, 09:33
why Clearys out I have NFI
Rofe's our leading wicket taker this season, we simply had to find a spot for him. Cleary only bowled 14 overs for the match last round, so he was the obvious choice to go.

Unless you're thinking that Cleary could take a spot from one of the batsmen. In which case, I agree completely. ;)

roostersgal4eva
2 Feb 2006, 09:34
yeah - He's a better propersition than Deitz

DaveW
2 Feb 2006, 09:36
1/1

He who shall not be named out for a duck.

Gets!
2 Feb 2006, 09:37
Deitz gone SA are 1/1.

Ah well it wouldnt be an SA innings without an early wicket!

******** regarding Cossie!!!!

roostersgal4eva
2 Feb 2006, 09:37
me and my big mouth :(

Cam to make a ton :D

ICanDressMyself
2 Feb 2006, 09:43
Deitz needs to go. If Cameron makes a decent score today he can take over from Deitz. He really has been pathetic this year to be honest.

A failure at state level.

roostersgal4eva
2 Feb 2006, 09:44
its been stuck on 1.2 overs for 5min

poor form cricket.com.au

Warne came in for Wise for the Bushies btw

Cap
2 Feb 2006, 09:59
1/1 great start atleast its not 3/0

hopefully Cossie can continue his form – Ferg would be due for a big score as well, hasn’t had the best season so far

ICanDressMyself
2 Feb 2006, 10:03
1/1 great start atleast its not 3/0

hopefully Cossie can continue his form – Ferg would be due for a big score as well, hasn’t had the best season so far

Um.. Cosgrove is out..

Cap
2 Feb 2006, 10:14
Um.. Cosgrove is out..

yup my bad - missed that one

2/19 - great start so far warne has already got one

ICanDressMyself
2 Feb 2006, 10:14
Warne into the attack and straight away gets a wicket.

Borgas out for 11 LBW b: Warne

SA 2/19.

jimmy_c8
2 Feb 2006, 10:16
Awsome start by the Vics, hopefully they can keep it up.

roostersgal4eva
2 Feb 2006, 10:17
me and my big mouth :(

Cam to make a ton :D

shutup Fil

:(

roostersgal4eva
2 Feb 2006, 10:20
Warne into the attack and straight away gets a wicket.

Borgas out for 11 LBW b: Warne

SA 2/19.
are you sure it was Warnie cause cricket.com.au have Lewis & Harwood bowling

starz
2 Feb 2006, 10:24
Why isn't Cosgrove playing?
Wish i had that info about an hour ago, would have doubled+ my stake on Vic.

ICanDressMyself
2 Feb 2006, 10:24
are you sure it was Warnie cause cricket.com.au have Lewis & Harwood bowling

Says Warne got him LBW for me. However, it's cricket.com.au so anything could be happening.

roostersgal4eva
2 Feb 2006, 10:27
Why isn't Cosgrove playing?
Wish i had that info about an hour ago, would have doubled+ my stake on Vic.

Starz - he's out with a Calf injury - Ben Cameron repaced him

starz
2 Feb 2006, 10:29
Starz - he's out with a Calf injury - Ben Cameron repaced him
ok thanks.
Probably failed a fitness test before play...?

roostersgal4eva
2 Feb 2006, 10:33
yes he did...

3/32 now - Ben Cameron out for 16

Go Ferg and Blewy!!

ICanDressMyself
2 Feb 2006, 10:37
Boof gone for a GOLDEN!!! :eek:

Game over.

roostersgal4eva
2 Feb 2006, 10:37
We do this every year....get into a position where we can make the final and we feck it up

:thumbsd::mad:

4/32 now

kaysee
2 Feb 2006, 10:40
Boof gone for a GOLDEN!!! :eek:

Game over.

Not yet... 4 day game remember. Great start by the Vics and a disaster for SA with Cossie out and 4 for FA.

Still if SA can scrounge to around 200+ and then bowl well and get Vic out for < 300 the game is still on.

kaysee
2 Feb 2006, 10:41
Time for Blewett to step up... has been a long long time since he made big 100.

Smokin_Joe
2 Feb 2006, 10:46
Good start for the Vics :)

Boof went for a duck im shocked:eek:

roostersgal4eva
2 Feb 2006, 10:46
Time for Blewett to step up... has been a long long time since he made big 100.
If ever there was a time for Blewy and Manou to step up - this is it!

F/D
2 Feb 2006, 10:47
Wheres RoosterLad? :)

roostersgal4eva
2 Feb 2006, 10:53
Wheres RoosterLad? :)

probally at work....which is where I will be in 2 1/2hrs from now

Lidge
2 Feb 2006, 10:56
Ferguson dropped by Warne @ 1st slip off Harwood. Should've been 5/39

roostersgal4eva
2 Feb 2006, 10:59
4 and a 6 in two balls - thats more like the blewy we know and love

roostersgal4eva
2 Feb 2006, 11:05
4 and a 6 in two balls - thats more like the blewy we know and love
me and my big mouth - blewy out

SA 5/72

ICanDressMyself
2 Feb 2006, 11:10
As soon as that first wicket fell I knew it wasn't going to be a good day for us.

SA 6/72

Desperately need Ferg to stay in with support from Diz. This is where Cleary could have been useful!!

roostersgal4eva
2 Feb 2006, 11:11
As soon as that first wicket fell I knew it wasn't going to be a good day for us.

SA 6/72

Desperately need Ferg to stay in with support from Diz. This is where Cleary could have been useful!!
Go Ferg and Dizzie!!!

F/D
2 Feb 2006, 11:12
Hehe, look at the arrogant South Aussies sulk now :(

Gets!
2 Feb 2006, 11:13
Haha we will still win FD ya knobby.

Ferg is a gun and Dizzy can hang around all day.

roostersgal4eva
2 Feb 2006, 11:13
A victorian calling someone else arrogant....

thats rich

ICanDressMyself
2 Feb 2006, 11:14

Arrogant? Haha. Based on what exactly? You have eddiesmith - king of arrognace lets not forget.

Can you just stick to the game and not turn this into a SA vs Vic debate which is what I can see happening. Is that so much to ask :o

F/D
2 Feb 2006, 11:14
Arrogant? Haha. Based on what exactly? You have eddiesmith - king of arrognace lets not forget.

Can you just stick to the game and not turn this into a SA vs Vic debate which is what I can see happening. Is that so much to ask :o
Just look at the last ODD match, you guys went off!!!.

Anyways this match? all over :)

F/D
2 Feb 2006, 11:15
Haha we will still win FD ya knobby.

Ferg is a gun and Dizzy can hang around all day.
This is the only guy here that is funny.

Haha knobby :D

ICanDressMyself
2 Feb 2006, 11:16

No, not arrogant at all are ya :rolleyes:

roostersgal4eva
2 Feb 2006, 11:16
We have been stuck into by you pricktorians pretty much the whole year - so we have every right to give some out!!

like to dish it but dont handle it well huh F/D?

F/D
2 Feb 2006, 11:17
No, not arrogant at all are ya :rolleyes:
Honest truth mate :)

When you have a chance, you always fail. SA's culture.

F/D
2 Feb 2006, 11:17
only becase we have been stuck into by prickorians pretty much the whole year....

like to dish it but dont handle it well huh F/D?
I love to get it back, problem is, I'd probably get suspended if I dish it hard enough :D

ICanDressMyself
2 Feb 2006, 11:18
Honest truth mate :)

When you have a chance, you always fail. SA's culture.

Wow you speak ********.

No matter what happens. This year - you have been our bitches :D

F/D
2 Feb 2006, 11:19
Wow you speak ********.

No matter what happens. This year - you have been our bitches :D
Yeah true, I rate SA, best youngsters in the comp, however, you brought this kind of attention onto yourselves.

roostersgal4eva
2 Feb 2006, 11:20
Pot.Kettle.Black

ICanDressMyself
2 Feb 2006, 11:20
Yeah true, I rate SA, best youngsters in the comp, however, you brought this kind of attention onto yourselves.

Hahaha. What attention do you speak of? If you haven't noticed SA haven't exactly been the best team in the past so why the hell can't we get excited this year. It's been a while so give us a break.

Gets!
2 Feb 2006, 11:21
F/D make like Casey Donovan's career and disappear please.

Thankyou.

F/D
2 Feb 2006, 11:21
Scores fellas/sportschick?

F/D
2 Feb 2006, 11:22
F/D make like Casey Donovan's career and disappear please.

Thankyou.
Hey, would you like to come to my party, its on e-bay :o

Now that is sad :o