18 May 2006, 00:28
humble in defeat?

laughing at green in about round 9
mouthing off at greens wife in final round

yeah very professional

dirty disgusting human being

Black Thunder
18 May 2006, 00:29
bumming about that one. is there a more dislikable person in australian sports than anthony mundine....??

neither would've beaten Kessler anyway (Green could've in his prime a couple of years back), they may be able to beat Beyer and none of the lot would get even close to Calzaghe.

jacross
18 May 2006, 00:30
:confused:

He lost by about 5%.

Is t his like when Hawthorn BELT Essendon by 1 point? :p

Mundine comfortably won. It was a convincing win in boxing and is not comparable to a 1 point footy game.

HOWEVER, as the Cats learned a few weeks ago when they played the Doggies, it doesn't matter whether you win by an inch or a mile.

superstar
18 May 2006, 00:30

He lost by about 5%.

Come off it. You couldnt get a much more one-sided contest. Green couldnt land a damaging blow all night. It was very comfortable.

Lidge
18 May 2006, 00:32
No surprise really. Green's never been the same since that dehydration incident. Well done Mundine.

True. Green's best was a few years ago. Lost a bit too much speed since then.

But no excuse. He accepted the fight (& truck load os cash) and credit must go to Mundine for taking the points tonight.

If I was Green, I'd be sacking his Cuban trainer. Definietly needs new tactics for the return bout.

G.O.B
http://img86.imageshack.us/img86/5774/tears20109qn.jpg

The view inside many redneck houses tonight.

Disclaimer: If you 'aint a redneck dont take this personally and dont respond with "I'm not a redneck so fu...."

crownie
This is like Collingwood winning a grand final, it just feels wrong

lol, good way to sum it up

Mundine might be a good fighter and might think his a role model to his people but its people like him and Michael Long that give Aboriginals are bad image.

"America got what they deserved" i hope that comment comes back and bites him really hard one day

starz
18 May 2006, 00:33
No doubt about it, boxing-wise Mundine >>>>> Green

Black Thunder
18 May 2006, 00:33
Green couldnt land a damaging blow all night.

Neither really did Mundine.

He landed more cleaner hits which is why he deservedly won. But both fighters were standing just as strongly as each other at the end of 12 rounds.

Which is why Mundine won't beat Kessler. Gotta have the power to beat the big boys to be the world champ.

Minkus_Swan
18 May 2006, 00:34
If I were you blangerang, I'd be editing a certain post of yours before you get shown the door.

Black Thunder
18 May 2006, 00:36
If I was Green, I'd be sacking his Cuban trainer. Definietly needs new tactics for the return bout.

I think Green might take the cash and call it a day. I've followed him pretty cloesly from day one and he's been on the decline ever seen the soliman-dehydration fight.

He's not going to get any better which is unfortunate because at his best he was a supreme fighter.

Lidge
18 May 2006, 00:36
lol, good way to sum it up

Mundine might be a good fighter and might think his a role model to his people but its people like him and Michael Long that give Aboriginals are bad image.

"America got what they deserved" i hope that comment comes back and bites him really hard one day

Drawing a long (no pun intended) bow, painting all aboriginals with the same brush.

Muslim Aboriginals maybe (at a stretch);)

toddy
18 May 2006, 00:37
Anyone see hopoate's first fight..... he dropped the other guy in 20 seconds or something!!! I think i felt the blows up here in brisbane!

Minkus_Swan
18 May 2006, 00:38
I think Green might take the cash and call it a day. I've followed him pretty cloesly from day one and he's been on the decline ever seen the soliman-dehydration fight.

He's not going to get any better which is unfortunate because at his best he was a supreme fighter.

Surely he'd be crazy to turn down even more money for a rematch?

Lidge
18 May 2006, 00:39

They have a rematch clause in their contract.

Ever heard of a boxer to knock back a guarnteed purse? They aren't exactly rocket scientists.

Kostya looks to be the only one who I can think of in recent times to walk away from a loss with massive $$ on the table to come back (although he may still step back into the ring)

toddy

Not being a big fighting fan (although for eveyone this was an exception with all that was said etc.) can you explain what happened in this "soliman-dehydration fight".

Black Thunder
Surely he'd be crazy to turn down even more money for a rematch?
why would Mundine want a rematch (aside from money which he should be able to get overseas anyway).

He risks getting beaten, although that is probably not going to happen, when he can go overseas and try and mix it with Kessler, Beyer and/or Calzaghe. and the yank.... can't remember his name.

crownie
18 May 2006, 00:40
Drawing a long (no pun intended) bow, painting all aboriginals with the same brush.

Muslim Aboriginals maybe (at a stretch);)

him and Hewitt could be the most hated Aussie sportsman by Australians

Choota

He lost by about 5%.

You don't know much about boxing, eh? With Essendon looking to spend to next few years in the gutter, perhaps you should watch some more of it. It's a good sport.

That was a very comprehensive points victory. Green was never in the fight. Still can't see Mundine beating Kessler due to a lack of power, but he is very skillful and incredibly quick. Beyer I don't rate, and Calzaghe v Mundine would be a top fight.

Green's career is over.

Black Thunder
They have a rematch clause in their contract.

didn't realise that

MeeSo
18 May 2006, 00:41
True. Green's best was a few years ago. Lost a bit too much speed since then.

But no excuse. He accepted the fight (& truck load os cash) and credit must go to Mundine for taking the points tonight.

It's a pity this fight didn't go ahead when Green was in his prime. That would have been great to watch. Mundine was smart to drag it out for so long. The money kept getting bigger and Green kept getting older.

Macca19
18 May 2006, 00:42
Great fight. Definately worth the Main Event money.

I dont know a thing about boxing, but from what I could tell, Green went in with the wrong tactics. Tried to wear Mundine down with body shots to get him to loosen up a bit in later rounds but it backfired. Used a lot of energy and shots which did minimal damage, whilst he was getting regularly pounded in the face by Mundine.

Both are supreme athletes. Amazing how Green could withstand that amount of shots to his face. Gotta give it to Mundine though....:D:D:D:D I hate him but hes a fantastic athlete.

Lidge
18 May 2006, 00:42
why would Mundine want a rematch (aside from money which he should be able to get overseas anyway).

Mundine would make far more money in a Green rematch here in Aust. He's hardly a household name or guaranteed box office for a promoter in the States. If he were world champ - and fighting an Americam - different story.

crownie
18 May 2006, 00:44
Mundine would make far more money in a Green rematch here in Aust. He's hardly a household name or guaranteed box office for a promoter in the States. If he were world champ - and fighting an Americam - different story.

Mundine would be hoping Amercians have short Memories if he was to fight there

crownie
18 May 2006, 00:45
6 point win in Boxing is a pretty convincing victory

Groove
18 May 2006, 00:46
Well done Mundine, wish i could have seen the fight. Thanks everyone who kept posting updates.

Lidge
It's a pity this fight didn't go ahead when Green was in his prime. That would have been great to watch. Mundine was smart to drag it out for so long. The money kept getting bigger and Green kept getting older.

More a matter of timing. Green at his peak would have been no match for Mundine a few years back. Would've been messy.

If you could get the timing right (or had a time machine) - would love to arrange a bout between Ali & Tyson at their respective peaks. Classic boxer vs classic brawler/animal.

Lightning_Rod
best fight ive ever watched, mundine had the right mind set, he got into greens head and got him off his game, mundines defencive blocking andgreen inability to hit the target made life hell for green, green wasnt as fast as mundine either. mundine killed him end of story, thank god!!

MeeSo
18 May 2006, 00:47
Which is why Mundine won't beat Kessler. Gotta have the power to beat the big boys to be the world champ.
Pretty fair assessment. Despite his speed I don't think Mundine is going to threaten any world class opponents.

akazie
18 May 2006, 00:48
Great fight. Definately worth the Main Event money.

I dont know a thing about boxing, but from what I could tell, Green went in with the wrong tactics. Tried to wear Mundine down with body shots to get him to loosen up a bit in later rounds but it backfired. Used a lot of energy and shots which did minimal damage, whilst he was getting regularly pounded in the face by Mundine.

Both are supreme athletes. Amazing how Green could withstand that amount of shots to his face. Gotta give it to Mundine though....:D:D:D:D I hate him but hes a fantastic athlete.

He's an ex Rugby League player, ofcorse he's a supreme athelete.:thumbsu: :D

Choota
18 May 2006, 00:49
Pretty fair assessment. Despite his speed I don't think Mundine is going to threaten any world class opponents.
I think Kessler is the only bloke possibly beyond him. Mundine put in the fight of his life last time against the Dane and came up short.

Who else would you regard as a world class opponent?

Minkus_Swan
18 May 2006, 00:52
I don't think Mundine can fight in the US anyway. Didn't he have his international ranking cancelled indefinitely?

hasto
18 May 2006, 00:54
Classic mentality after the fight.

At my local pub, aboriginal girl smashed a bottle over a white dudes head, white dude massive gash :D:D:D:Ding out blood taken to hospital, whites vs abo fights break out.

Mundine won easily

Lidge
18 May 2006, 00:55
best fight ive ever watched,

For mine - best 2 I ever saw were:

Jeff Harding vs Dennis Andries (Light Heavy Weight world title). The nearest thing you'll ever see to Rocky.

Jeff Fenech vs Azumah Nelson (1st bout which was a draw)

And a Fenech fight I attended in Melbourne. He fought a Mexican (can't recall his name), but he busted both hands inside 4 rounds, but went on to win on points over 12 rounds. Not a classic - but for sheer guts this one deserves a mention.

akazie
18 May 2006, 00:59
I think Kessler is the only bloke possibly beyond him. Mundine put in the fight of his life last time against the Dane and came up short.

I think you should give the man a bit motre respect.

After all the guy has only been pro for a couple of years, he soley put his deduication into RL for years befofe boxing.

Each time I've seen him fight, he's got better, imagine how good he'd be if he started at it young?

He might be an a hole, but he is the man, I will put my money on him to win the title, didn't he say he could've won last time?

What I seen, he was in it but lacked the killer blow, with expearience, this guy will get better.

I don't like him, but he puts his fists where his mouth is and comes throught, good luck The MAN.

Lightning_Rod
18 May 2006, 01:04
For mine - best 2 I ever saw were:

Jeff Harding vs Dennis Andries (Light Heavy Weight world title). The nearest thing you'll ever see to Rocky.

Jeff Fenech vs Azumah Nelson (1st bout which was a draw)

And a Fenech fight I attended in Melbourne. He fought a Mexican (can't recall his name), but he busted both hands inside 4 rounds, but went on to win on points over 12 rounds. Not a classic - but for sheer guts this one deserves a mention.

i dont watch boxing often, nor have i seen a boxing fight with this much hype in australia, so that is why i said it was the best ive seen, made it even sweeter with the man winning.

Black Thunder
18 May 2006, 01:07

Calzaghe would beat the lot of them. Has been the best super middleweight boxer for some time.

He totally dominated Lacy last time out and Lacy is world class.

I'm not a big fan of him though because he picks and chooses his opponents with more prejudice than any other on the world scene. Has still had to face up to some good boxers and no ones even been close toe beaten him. 31 ko's from 41 fights and all 10 points decision have been unanimous.

Three of his last four bouts have been by decision and the points scores where 119 - 105, 119-107 and 119-107 (v Lacy), 120-107, 120-108, 120-108 (v Ashira - bit of an old has been but still not a bad fighter), and in the third bout the smallest margin of the judges was 8 points.

Dominated Byron Mitchell a couple of years back who's gone the distance with Sven Ottke in his prime. Mitchell has also beaten Manny Siaca twice who's beaten Mundine.

Scrumhalf
18 May 2006, 01:10
...how awesome is Mundine's theme? http://www.411mania.com/ubbthreads/img/graemlins/rock.gif

red+black
18 May 2006, 01:11
the only travesty was the korean scoring 116-114, that's ridiculous.

watched at the pub (pascoe vale). massive brawl after th 9th round, i reckon it was gatecrashers. cops called in, there was probably more interest in the brawl at that time than the tv.

how cute were the chicks that lead the boxers out? :thumbsu:

scottywiper
18 May 2006, 01:11
Not being a big fighting fan (although for eveyone this was an exception with all that was said etc.) can you explain what happened in this "soliman-dehydration fight".

I think it was actually against Sullivan. Green was exhausted and thought he lost, apologising to the Perth crowd. Was crook for a couple of days. He hasn't been the same fighter since.

Mundine outclassed him tonight.

scottywiper
18 May 2006, 01:14
No greater tool than the bloke he fought.

The difference is that Mundine has talent. Green is a talent-less tool.

Danny Green is a champion bloke, don't worry about that.

Black Thunder
18 May 2006, 01:15
sorry i should've written sullivan-green. don't know where i got soliman from?? i think that's a guy Mundine fought earlier in his career...

anyways, that aside Green won a fight but was so dehrydrated afterwards and disorientated he thought he'd lost and in the interview afterwards even said "well done, he was the better fighter on the night" sorta stuff....

Oh Furious One
18 May 2006, 01:18
Mundine talks it but he walks it. Respectah.

crownie
18 May 2006, 01:28
the only travesty was the korean scoring 116-114, that's ridiculous.

watched at the pub (pascoe vale). massive brawl after th 9th round, i reckon it was gatecrashers. cops called in, there was probably more interest in the brawl at that time than the tv.

how cute were the chicks that lead the boxers out? :thumbsu:

and the hoppa fight

w00dy
18 May 2006, 01:43
what's going on with main even, surely they can get a better ring announcer than campbell? "Danny 'the Man' Green"

gdmclean
18 May 2006, 01:45
summed it up perfectly. Mundine really has been fighting Danny Green since the slanging match started 4 or 5 years ago.

Ari
18 May 2006, 01:45
You don't know much about boxing, eh? With Essendon looking to spend to next few years in the gutter, perhaps you should watch some more of it. It's a good sport.

That was a very comprehensive points victory. Green was never in the fight. Still can't see Mundine beating Kessler due to a lack of power, but he is very skillful and incredibly quick. Beyer I don't rate, and Calzaghe v Mundine would be a top fight.

Green's career is over.

I was merely referring to the difference in points on percentage. Would be somewhere between 5% to 10% more points were awarded to Mundine.

Im entirely aware of the way the bout panned out.

JohnF
18 May 2006, 01:46
That Korean judge should be shot. Even Danny Green's wife would have had it wider than him.

Mundine should do everything he can to get a shot at Beyer. He shouldn't waste his time with Calzaghe or Kessler. Both will beat him comfortably.

I thought Mundine wasn't as sharp tonight as when he fought Kessler, but he was still a level above Green.

pinkus maximus
18 May 2006, 01:49
for the sake of his fans I hope Danny doesnt have a rematch

Stakerz
18 May 2006, 01:57
Mundine talks it but he walks it. Respectah.That's why lots of people want him to get beaten:D

Lightning_Rod
18 May 2006, 02:06
Green covets Perth return
By Grantlee Kieza
May 18, 2006

DANNY Green and Anthony Mundine are set for a multi-million-dollar rematch in Perth this year.

And Subiaco Oval, home of the West Coast Eagles AFL club, has already drawn up plans to host the big event.
http://foxsports.news.com.au/story/0,8659,19172148-23218,00.html

NorthBhoy
18 May 2006, 09:45
He made him look stupid.

Should have seen the Cletis's in the pub last night. Abo this, **** Abo that. He knows what gets people through the gate and makes him a shiitload of cash and that is bogans who want to see a loud mouthed dark fella get whaled on. Idiots.

Was never going to be touched.

crazy_big_al
18 May 2006, 09:57
I knew the man was going to win

andrewb94
18 May 2006, 10:49
Now back to some real fighting
June 4 - Castillo vs Corrales 3, Darchinyan on the undercard vs Luis Moldanado.
Unlike last night this will be worth watching:thumbsu:

Bresh
18 May 2006, 10:54
He made him look stupid.

Should have seen the Cletis's in the pub last night. Abo this, **** Abo that. He knows what gets people through the gate and makes him a shiitload of cash and that is bogans who want to see a loud mouthed dark fella get whaled on. Idiots.

Was never going to be touched.

Damn skippy. I'd imagine that was the case at most pubs, the one where I was at, the ratio was at best 400:2. Like Wayne Carey said, it isn't arrogant if it's true. He walked the walk last night.

I know sweet FA about boxing, but you could tell as early as the second round that Mundine wasn't going to have much trouble.

Smokin
18 May 2006, 11:14
Predictable fight. Gawd Green is one dimensional and ordinary.

Was there last night, great atmosphere...for a round.

F/D
18 May 2006, 12:46
We can acknowledge he's a decent fighter, but respect? Nah. No effing way.

The man is scum.
He deserves respect for backing it up.

Suck it Green, lost to a MUCH better fighter.

F/D
18 May 2006, 12:53
Mundine would be hoping Amercians have short Memories if he was to fight there
Yeah, and Americans are the nicest peoplein the world? No.

coxon
18 May 2006, 15:17
go choc !!! :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

great to shut up danny green and his supporters.... cheers to the man!

Embers
18 May 2006, 15:50
Danny Danny Danny, he wouldnt of beat a 80 year old with a handbag last night, what a embarassing performance. One of the worst ive seen for quite a while.

Where was Plan B, why the hell are you now weaker and slower then ever before. Mundine made a mockery of him, it was like watching a grown man fight a child at stages. It wasnt a very entertaining fight due to the ease in which Mundine won, he has probably had training drills harder then that fight.

Green needs Fenech back badly, otherwise his career is over.

m.diddy
18 May 2006, 15:58
Was at he pub had money on the man, although didn't want to support him in case I got bashed. Too quick and way too smart for the machine.

babyg
18 May 2006, 16:56
I was merely referring to the difference in points on percentage. Would be somewhere between 5% to 10% more points were awarded to Mundine.

Im entirely aware of the way the bout panned out.

How about we go by round. Mundine about 11 times more rounds than Green.

D/MoN
18 May 2006, 20:48
Was at he pub had money on the man, although didn't want to support him in case I got bashed. Too quick and way too smart for the machine.

Ratio at my pub was 500+:5, and boy, "we" were pretty stoked with The Man. No race abuse at my pub, just a lot of very, very disappointed punters.

Last nite was Mundine's "Rage Against The Machine" :D

Buddhy
18 May 2006, 23:01
Some guy got killed over here last night, 13 pubs had brawls. Pretty pathetic stuff.

Oh Furious One
19 May 2006, 00:44
Wow. Did anyone see the reply to Hoppa's challenge on the FS just then?

Alexis Logan
20 May 2006, 02:27
Some guy got killed over here last night, 13 pubs had brawls. Pretty pathetic stuff.

yep i agree. there is a line with sports fans and putting there heart on there sleaves, but some times people need to have a good hard look at themselves because sport, believe it or not is not the price for death.

m.diddy
20 May 2006, 11:37
Yeah, got absolutely rolled.

red+black
20 May 2006, 12:34
In the words of a former fish 'n chip shop owner, "Please explain."