View Full Version : McGrath won't go easily
demon_dave
2 Feb 2006, 04:44
It seems to me that McGrath is going to be one of those blokes who will go kicking and screaming unable to see the signs that he is finished.
I'm with Thommo, Alderman and Berry plus a few others and think McGrath was finished a year ago and should be pushed because his arrogance will not let him retire gracefully. Someone should get in his shell like and tell him to rack off...............
DynamoUltra
2 Feb 2006, 06:13
And who is his replacement?
Wicked Lester
2 Feb 2006, 06:56
He'll probably be like Steve Waugh.
He'll kick and scream and push his case in the media ("Age shouldn't come into it....rah. rah. rah."), then every time he picks up a few wickets he'll let everyone know that he's back in town and feeling better than ever.
Then he'll clean up against Bangladesh and as per Tugga declare "I've never bowled better in my life, in fact I feel 21 again and reckon I can play on til I'm 40".
Then within 6 months, or when he feels the critics have backed off a little, he'll suddenly announce his retirement.
I know I sound a little cynical here, but fair dinkum, some of these blokes should just be open about the fact you are not the same at 36 as you are at 26. That's not to say McGrath (and Tugga and others before him) are not worthy of being in the team, far from it. But spare us the ultra defensive media positions. McGrath is not the same player he was even 5 years ago, blind Freddy can see that. He relies on different nuances and skills now than he did a few years back. Doesn't make him a bad bowler suddenly, but it does make him a different type of bowler.
When i saw him bowl in Perth i thought he was gone.
He didn't really improve a lot as the Summer went on but just of late in the last couple of one dayers his line and length has been very good again, a yard down on pace but economical.
Still a useful bowler, deserves his spot in the side but probably needs to be rested every few games until the World Cup (i think that would be a good time to hang up the boots).
peternorth
2 Feb 2006, 08:53
a few points:
1. hes still economical
2. but no longer the go to man in ODI
3. lacks pace, always has but hes a smart bowler
4. he will whinge and moan about critics calling for his head a la steve waugh. i mean its his bread and butter, so of course he and anyone else approaching retirement age will act in such a way. acutally, maybe gilly will go with minimum fanfare.
mcgrath? i think succss has gotten to his head a bit, i mean all of this bunny talk prior to any series, then the sledging.
i would like to see him give u his media committments to concentrate on his twightlight years. current cricketers in general give me the shivers when writing etc. anyone remember years ago when mcgrath and healy were both working as interviewers for 7 and 9 i think....then mcgrath interviews healy. its was totally cringeworthy.
mcgrath has been more than serviceable in 2005. he won't take as many wickets if lee and warne(in the test arena) are flying. it makes sense that all 4 bowlers in the test team aren't gonna get the same amount of wickets etc.
mcgrath plays a different role in te odi side now as lee is the "go to" man.
its no secret mcgrath has said he wants 600 test and 400 odi wickets and to play in the ashes and world cup.
he's got 542 test and 331 odi wickets and will struggle to get to his massive targets, especially now the tour to zimbabwe is off in august and next years west indies test series is off as well.
i just hope mcgrath walks away at the right time, and i'm hoping someone will put there hand up in domestic cricket to come through.
a few points:
1. hes still economical
2. but no longer the go to man in ODI
3. lacks pace, always has but hes a smart bowler
4. he will whinge and moan about critics calling for his head a la steve waugh. i mean its his bread and butter, so of course he and anyone else approaching retirement age will act in such a way. acutally, maybe gilly will go with minimum fanfare.
mcgrath? i think succss has gotten to his head a bit, i mean all of this bunny talk prior to any series, then the sledging.
i would like to see him give u his media committments to concentrate on his twightlight years. current cricketers in general give me the shivers when writing etc. anyone remember years ago when mcgrath and healy were both working as interviewers for 7 and 9 i think....then mcgrath interviews healy. its was totally cringeworthy.
* I don't think Steve Waugh is calling for his head.
* Has his bunny talk/targetting key batsmen ever not worked? no.
correct me if i'm wrong but isn't he the number 1 ranked bowler in the world in both forms of the game at the moment ??
Antonius
2 Feb 2006, 12:12
Get off his back. He's still a very effective, accurate bowler. If he can bowl like that at 36, why can't, say, Dorey bowl well at 28?
correct me if i'm wrong but isn't he the number 1 ranked bowler in the world in both forms of the game at the moment ??
Correct
And even allowing for the fact that these ratings take a while to reflect changes, any talk of giving him the heave-ho is premature IMO
This raises the question what is more important in test cricket. Wickets or runs Mcgrath is bowling economically enough, but is his job a wickettaker?
I actually hate this ''i will play till the world cup'' what happens a week after when we have no players left due to retirement.
peternorth
2 Feb 2006, 13:21
* I don't think Steve Waugh is calling for his head.
* Has his bunny talk/targetting key batsmen ever not worked? no.
no what i meant was when s waugh was playing and ppl were calling for his head.
Wicked Lester
2 Feb 2006, 13:31
Who's talking about giving him the heave ho?
I thought the real issue here is that various profesional (and amateurs) commentators have noted that McGrath does not seem to be quite the bowler her was. A drop off in pace, a little less bounce as a result - that type of thing.
As a result some have wondered aloud whether he'll still be up to it come the next World Cup, and that's a fair question?
Either way, whether he's in the team or not, its hard to imagine that he'll still be leading the attack. He's virtually lost that mantle already.
This raises the question what is more important in test cricket. Wickets or runs Mcgrath is bowling economically enough, but is his job a wickettaker?
I actually hate this ''i will play till the world cup'' what happens a week after when we have no players left due to retirement.
most countries will be in the same boat. the world cup is traditionally for retirements and big names such as murali and lara have expressed their desire to part cricket on the big stage.
Gunnar Longshanks
2 Feb 2006, 15:11
Either way, whether he's in the team or not, its hard to imagine that he'll still be leading the attack. He's virtually lost that mantle already.Brett Lee is the best ODI bowler in the world. Period.
If we can get to the WC with an attack of Lee, Bracken, McGrath and Warne, we'll do pretty well. Hogg, Clark and Tait waiting in the wings.
Never under-estimate the value of big-match experience.
Gunnar Longshanks
2 Feb 2006, 15:12
most countries will be in the same boat. the world cup is traditionally for retirements and big names such as murali and lara have expressed their desire to part cricket on the big stage.Will be very surprised if Murali calls it a day.
He's still pretty young.
Will be very surprised if Murali calls it a day.
He's still pretty young.
maybe he's considering retiring then as he won't have to make an excuse for not touring on their next TEST tour to australia:D
The Reaper
2 Feb 2006, 16:55
It seems to me that McGrath is going to be one of those blokes who will go kicking and screaming unable to see the signs that he is finished.
I'm with Thommo, Alderman and Berry plus a few others and think McGrath was finished a year ago and should be pushed because his arrogance will not let him retire gracefully. Someone should get in his shell like and tell him to rack off...............
Why? Since his return from resting McGrath has bowled very well. He hasn't got the wickets but is bowling ecnomically. People should stop comparing him to what he used to be. He is still a good ODI bowler if not the brilliant one he was a few years back. The Siri Lankan and South African bastmen repect him enough to go defensive when he bowls.
carntheroos4eva
2 Feb 2006, 17:30
I have to disagree with ya mate. I really have to here because Pidge would just tell you to rack off after you had posted a dumb thread. FFS stop writing him off. He doesn't need this at all.
I dare you to face him in the nets and then come back and criticise him.:rolleyes:
Cooldude
2 Feb 2006, 21:44
He hasn't been bowling badly at all, just coz he ain't getting as many wickets as he would like, he's supposedly "past it"
He's bowling well enough and certainly ain't getting spanked, so what's the problem? Some of the bull******** said by ex-players have been so far off the mark it ain't funny
War Nerve
3 Feb 2006, 00:40
So who do you genius's think will take Mcgrath's place!:rolleyes:
I'm glad none of you are the selectors.
Grimwood
3 Feb 2006, 01:57
most countries will be in the same boat. the world cup is traditionally for retirements and big names such as murali and lara have expressed their desire to part cricket on the big stage.
Gilo :(
demon_dave
3 Feb 2006, 04:02
Why? Since his return from resting McGrath has bowled very well. He hasn't got the wickets but is bowling ecnomically. People should stop comparing him to what he used to be. He is still a good ODI bowler if not the brilliant one he was a few years back. The Siri Lankan and South African bastmen repect him enough to go defensive when he bowls.
wickets please, economical??? who cares
Why are people mentioning his so called drop in pace?
The fact is Mcgrath was never a an out and out quick bowler anyway , I have dvds of him bowling 5-6 years ago and he was still around 130 kph then anyway . On the odd day yes he can bowl a bit quicker but that is the same with most bowlers .
I think the main difference is he has lost his zip and a bit of bounce , at his age he will likely never get these back . At the moment he is a walk up start in the side and will be until some of the younger guys coming through prove themselves at the top level .
So who do you genius's think will take Mcgrath's place!:rolleyes:
I'm glad none of you are the selectors.Lewis , Clark, Tait, Dorey, etc
Dont make the mistake of believing that any new bowler will be exactly the same as McGrath. Many said Lillee was unreplacable, many said McDermott was unreplacable . McGrath IS a special bowler but dont not replace him because you are scared you dont have any other options. I would like to see McGrath continue for 2 more years but his age and his output are down and this can be questioned