FAVOURITES- heidelberg
ONE TO WATCH- lalor
ON THE IMPROVE- west preston
ON THE SLIDE- epping
WILL STRUGGLE- diamond creek
mitch_fc
2 Feb 2006, 20:02
FAVOURITES- Lower Plenty
ONE TO WATCH- Lower Vs Greensy Round 1:)
ON THE IMPROVE- Wallan
ON THE SLIDE- Panton Hill
WILL STRUGGLE- Fawkner Park
matchwinner
5 Feb 2006, 07:34
FAVOURITES- Lower Plenty
ONE TO WATCH- Lower Vs Greensy Round 1:)
ON THE IMPROVE- Wallan
ON THE SLIDE- Panton Hill
WILL STRUGGLE- Fawkner Park
That Round 1 match should give a great indication as to where both clubs are at. I would still rate Greensborough as favourites until Lower's young line up can prove that they can consistently stand up to senior footy. The potential is apparently there. They will just need to produce on a regular basis. Some of those older players who have apparently returned should help.
nesko_25
12 Feb 2006, 13:28
I was just wonerin if u fella's could tell me how big fireman Sam Jones goes?
blackjack44
13 Feb 2006, 08:30
Monty will be much stronger this year so I've been told. They have picked up Luke Ottens and Ben Gill from Lower Plenty. Matt Neil and Brent Gutterson from the Northern Bullants and Jarryd Brigham from Coburg Tigers. Sounds pretty impressive to me.
cream will fix it
14 Feb 2006, 15:22
i've heard hes as fit as he ever was and northcote are going along quite nicely and will be the suprise packet this year.
Look out for the Bloods this year, last year there was no discipline this year with an older and more experienced coach the boys will be better equiped and have a good blend of young and experiece players. Soppa Marshall the captainand 3 time premiership player missed last year and will be the recruit of the year. Dasha sinclair not far away from his 300th game. Look out
Monty will be much stronger this year so I've been told. They have picked up Luke Ottens and Ben Gill from Lower Plenty. Matt Neil and Brent Gutterson from the Northern Bullants and Jarryd Brigham from Coburg Tigers. Sounds pretty impressive to me.
Monty are just the pain in the butt club that just make up the numbers in division 1. When was there last flag?
Giveyathemail
15 Feb 2006, 11:35
Lalor are the ones to watch, dont you worry about that....
Giveyathemail
15 Feb 2006, 11:47
I 100% agree with you 5 flags... What has the Monts, the Eppings and to a certain extent the Bundooras ever done???
2 flags between em in a combined 30 years of footy... Cmon. Are these clubs basing their success on final appearances or what? Lets be realistic.
Giveyathemail
15 Feb 2006, 12:00
Lower Plenty vs Greensborough... That will be a LOCK IN. Lower Plenty are back where they deserve to be.
What goes around comes around.
Everyone thought that going down and winning a divvy 2 flag was easy. Lalor won the 3 in 2001, but thats funny.... I havent seen Greensborough for a few years, and I doubt I will be seeing Lower for a few more...
mitch_fc
15 Feb 2006, 19:38
Lower Plenty vs Greensborough... That will be a LOCK IN. Lower Plenty are back where they deserve to be.
What goes around comes around.
Everyone thought that going down and winning a divvy 2 flag was easy. Lalor won the 3 in 2001, but thats funny.... I havent seen Greensborough for a few years, and I doubt I will be seeing Lower for a few more...
you'll see either Greensy or Lower in 2007
Dont be to sure that Lower will go stright back up Mitch. Its not that easy. Who was the last team to go down and then stright back up. Keep thinking like G'Bourgh did last year and you will be in Div 2 for a long time.
Creeker
16 Feb 2006, 10:00
Agree with you there, it will be a long hard season down in Divy 2, longer travels, Kinglake, Wallan, Mernda, Whittlesea, Panton Hill.
Don't worry to hard Mitch I am sure you and your team are up to the challange?! See if you can break someones nose this year as well?
Giveyathemail
16 Feb 2006, 10:06
Thomastown will be your most improved side this year in div 2, Wallan could surprise.... but Mernda will be primed after last years collapse....
Giveyathemail
16 Feb 2006, 10:09
Oh and OX, Lalor was the last team to do that... Went down in 2000, cleaned house in 2001 and back up in 2002....
blackjack44
16 Feb 2006, 11:10
Oh and OX, Lalor was the last team to do that... Went down in 2000, cleaned house in 2001 and back up in 2002....
they sure did clean the house. as a club (19s included), in 2000 they had 16 wins. when back down in div 2, overall they had 50 home and away wins.
is there a big gap between div one and two of the standard of footy ?
Giveyathemail
16 Feb 2006, 11:22
The gap is as big as a porn stars box...
Any division one reserve top 4 side would play off in the Div 2 Granny... no doubt.
The gap is as big as a porn stars box...
Any division one reserve top 4 side would play off in the Div 2 Granny... no doubt.
I wouldnt go that far but there is a big gap
Giveyathemail
16 Feb 2006, 11:51
Its 1000 times faster, division 2 have 5, maybe 6 quality sides every year...
You will find alot of players that play well in division 2 will go missing come crunch time in division 1.
Allears
16 Feb 2006, 12:06
Its 1000 times faster, division 2 have 5, maybe 6 quality sides every year...
You will find alot of players that play well in division 2 will go missing come crunch time in division 1.
2nd divison always find it hard to attract goog players, whittlesea tried a
couple of years ago and spent up big, apparently its a different world
down there! They look after there own!
mitch_fc
16 Feb 2006, 12:07
i havent played div 2 yet (but will this year), but i used to boundary umpire the seniors when i was 17 and theres a huge difference in the quality of player. div 1 is bigger, stronger and faster. top sides in div 2 allways struggle in div 1, unless they get a few quality players when they go up.
Allears
16 Feb 2006, 12:14
i havent played div 2 yet (but will this year), but i used to boundary umpire the seniors when i was 17 and theres a huge difference in the quality of player. div 1 is bigger, stronger and faster. top sides in div 2 allways struggle in div 1, unless they get a few quality players when they go up.
Who are you playing for this year Mitch_fc?
mitch_fc
16 Feb 2006, 13:04
i play for lower
Giveyathemail
17 Feb 2006, 10:43
I agree with you mitch.... Unfortunatly I just dont think the young lower side will have the experience and you may just fall short this year. One bloke that impressed me in both games against us last year was Cam Elmore...
I just think that a hungry Mernda, a well developed Sth Morang and a new and improved Thomastown will be the sides to watch out for.
Id love to see you guys PUMP greensborough first up though.
manmountain
17 Feb 2006, 11:27
I agree with you mitch.... Unfortunatly I just dont think the young lower side will have the experience and you may just fall short this year. One bloke that impressed me in both games against us last year was Cam Elmore...
I just think that a hungry Mernda, a well developed Sth Morang and a new and improved Thomastown will be the sides to watch out for.
Who have Thomastown picked up to be so improved? They finished fourth last in 2005 and got smashed most weeks. They would want to have picked up a fair few players.
Giveyathemail
17 Feb 2006, 11:42
I agree with you... However Thomastown have taken a few quality players from Lalor that are capable division 1 senior footballers. Quality KEY POSITION players.
They are still in discussions with more from other division 1 clubs.
Dean Sinclair is an awesome coach, and word has it Thomastown are as fit now as they were at the peak of their season last year.
Thomastown wont finish lower than 6th.:thumbsu:
matchwinner
18 Feb 2006, 08:12
Your connections with ex-Lalor people seem to be giving you a biased view of Mernda and Thomastown's chances. Mernda should be up there, but Thomastown will take a bit more time!!
matchwinner
18 Feb 2006, 08:13
I agree with you... However Thomastown have taken a few quality players from Lalor that are capable division 1 senior footballers. Quality KEY POSITION players.
Dean Sinclair is an awesome coach, and word has it Thomastown are as fit now as they were at the peak of their season last year.
There is no way known Thomastown will finish in the top 6!!!
kingfooty
18 Feb 2006, 10:10
There is no way known Thomastown will finish in the top 6!!!I agree with you matchwinner. they will need to pick up 18 good footballers to be in with a chance of making finals.
FirstBounce
19 Feb 2006, 02:10
I've heard there's a massive gap in standard between the top 6 sides in div 2 and the rest? Is this true? Playing my first year back in dvfl after a 2 year stint playing aflq. I expect the footy to be a lot different???
we will see first game what thomastown are made of when they play wallan in the first round. seeing that last year wallan beat thommo twice first game by about 12 goals 2nd time around by about 25 goals. I agree they will be inproved but I wouldnt be looking at a finals birth in deano's first season as coach. It would be a massive turn around if they do make finals seeing last year they would fold like deck chairs under the first sign of pressure.
captain boyd
19 Feb 2006, 09:00
as i understand it last year div 2 was a seeded draw.whilst i do not follow div 2 very closely it looked to me like the seeded draw worked really well.
is this agian the case in 06?
jock555
19 Feb 2006, 15:44
as i understand it last year div 2 was a seeded draw.whilst i do not follow div 2 very closely it looked to me like the seeded draw worked really well.
is this agian the case in 06?
Yeah mate. The draw is the same again this year. What they do is break the div 2 draw into 2 groups of 8. This is based on the ladder positions from the previous year. The premiers that go up to div 1 are swapped for the side that comes back down.
Matthew Pillios
19 Feb 2006, 16:15
we will see first game what thomastown are made of when they play wallan in the first round. seeing that last year wallan beat thommo twice first game by about 12 goals 2nd time around by about 25 goals. I agree they will be inproved but I wouldnt be looking at a finals birth in deano's first season as coach. It would be a massive turn around if they do make finals seeing last year they would fold like deck chairs under the first sign of pressure.
Hey mate,
Interestingly enough Maribyrnong play both sides in Prakky games.
I know Prakky games don't give a GREAT indication, but it gives it a SMALL indication.
One is at Wallan and the other at Marby.
kingfooty
19 Feb 2006, 16:24
Hey mate,
Interestingly enough Maribyrnong play both sides in Prakky games.
I know Prakky games don't give a GREAT indication, but it gives it a SMALL indication.
One is at Wallan and the other at Marby.matty you will get nothing out of a 30 to 40 goal win in both games. maybe you should organise games against divvy 1 clubs.
Bombers 2003
20 Feb 2006, 08:48
ON THE IMPROVE- Wallan
The only way wallan could improve would be if they got a new footy ground instead of the mud heap they call "home".
Giveyathemail
20 Feb 2006, 10:08
No1 said they would beat you 1st up Mox, I spoke to briggsy the other week and he told me the situation...
But Thomo wont be the pushover they were last year, you know what Deano is like, he just wont let that happen.
If you knew who I was, you would laugh your head off...:)
Giveyathemail
20 Feb 2006, 11:34
Your connections with ex-Lalor people seem to be giving you a biased view of Mernda and Thomastown's chances. Mernda should be up there, but Thomastown will take a bit more time!!
Thomastown maybe, but there are no Lalor boys playing for Mernda...
I just think Mernda are due. To have the season they had last year and fall at the post wouldve been devastating. You dont forget that feeling, and if that doesnt motivate them to go one better then nothing will.
touch of class
20 Feb 2006, 13:45
northcote park last night officially lost kane cooper and lionel proctor both are meant to be going up the bush but knowing kane really well he told me he dont want to travel and might end up with north heidleberg or lalor where he has been training sam jones not going so well knee trouble will see him have a quiet year expect the parkers to stuggle under new coach whos theories are older than tommy haffy
No1 said they would beat you 1st up Mox, I spoke to briggsy the other week and he told me the situation...
But Thomo wont be the pushover they were last year, you know what Deano is like, he just wont let that happen.
If you knew who I was, you would laugh your head off...:)
I know you didnt say that , but im sure the match will really see if deano has installed them with the confidence to actually win games. After some really lean seasons down at bear land, do they actually have what it takes to actually control a game from go to o. Time will tell but they do have the right man in charge.
Giveyathemail
21 Feb 2006, 10:24
I know you didnt say that , but im sure the match will really see if deano has installed them with the confidence to actually win games. After some really lean seasons down at bear land, do they actually have what it takes to actually control a game from go to o. Time will tell but they do have the right man in charge.
Deano is happy with their progress so far mate... but time will tell. On page 1 of this thread, I stated that Thomo would be the most improved side of divvy 2 this year, but I rate yourselves and Mernda as the biggest threats.
I dont rate Lower or G'Boro... I hate em both. :cool:
Deano is happy with their progress so far mate... but time will tell. On page 1 of this thread, I stated that Thomo would be the most improved side of divvy 2 this year, but I rate yourselves and Mernda as the biggest threats.
Love them or hate em theyre both going to feature in the finals. They will pump Thommo by fifteen goals minimum. Sinclair should stick to umpiring.
Giveyathemail
21 Feb 2006, 11:50
Love them or hate em theyre both going to feature in the finals. They will pump Thommo by fifteen goals minimum. Sinclair should stick to umpiring.
Yeah no worries stooge... He hasnt umpired in 14 years. Won flags as coach, captain, president, won best and fairests, best in comps...
I bet you still live at home with ya mum, dont ya mate....
Yeah no worries stooge... He hasnt umpired in 14 years. Won flags as coach, captain, president, won best and fairests, best in comps...
Touched a nerve did I. I don't remember him winning a Frank Smith, what year was it again? Two's premierships bla bla bla.
I bet your a typical Lalor supporter mate...:D
kanga fan man
21 Feb 2006, 12:46
Touched a nerve did I. I don't remember him winning a Frank Smith, what year was it again? Two's premierships bla bla bla.
AJ ZUB what is a typical Lalor supporter ?
Who do you follow ?
kanga fan man
21 Feb 2006, 12:53
Heard from a few that watched the Richmond practice match last friday that Jake King from Nth who has been at coburg doing pre-season dominated. And he impressed the coaching staff. he played off the half back flank and on the ball, was anyone down there ?
Yep Kingy played on Richard Tambling and beat him hands down. Richmond very impressed and think that he will play ones at Coburg. No surprise really he ia jet, super quick, poised, great skills and makes the right choices when the ball is in his hands.
touch of class
21 Feb 2006, 14:09
hopefully jakie can keep that form up and prove essendon wrong by getting a full vfl season under him and move on to even bigger things even with richmond
matchwinner
21 Feb 2006, 19:56
The reason you hate Lower is that you're probably still dirty about a number of Lalor's players leaving to play there a few years back!!!
cream will fix it
21 Feb 2006, 20:53
hey give ya the mail, thats you curly for sure
Giveyathemail
22 Feb 2006, 10:53
No you didnt touch a nerve, I just cant stand people who pretend to know what they are talking about... which you obviously dont. ;)
Giveyathemail
22 Feb 2006, 10:57
The reason you hate Lower is that you're probably still dirty about a number of Lalor's players leaving to play there a few years back!!!
No ive always remained mates with blokes who have gone to play elsewhere... its only a game.
I dont like Lower because of the behind the scenes stuff that went on to get Lalor down to division 2 in 2000. Lower and Heidelberg lost alot of people from alot of clubs because of that. And WE KNOW it happened.
But we are over that now. We just wont ever forget it.
Giveyathemail
22 Feb 2006, 10:58
hey give ya the mail, thats you curly for sure
Sorry mate, im not Curl... Lucky for him hey :)
Kick It To Me!!
22 Feb 2006, 11:08
No ive always remained mates with blokes who have gone to play elsewhere... its only a game.
I dont like Lower because of the behind the scenes stuff that went on to get Lalor down to division 2 in 2000. Lower and Heidelberg lost alot of people from alot of clubs because of that. And WE KNOW it happened.
Get A life,you went down to div. 2 for ONE reason.Didnt win enough games to stay up in 2000. Not to say EVERYONE in divvy 1 wasnt glad about it(not due to footy prowess).Take responsibility for your poor year.
Just continue to speak your garbage and convince yourself that you are correct. You have no idea.
What happened?
Giveyathemail
22 Feb 2006, 11:29
Just continue to speak your garbage and convince yourself that you are correct. You have no idea.
Unfortunatly Stooge, I do have an idea... But as I said thats all dead and buried. I love the fact that I can get on here and bait all you pea hearts...
There are stacks of us on here that just rip shreads outta you soft targets and you fall into it sooooo easy:)
Ive got heaps of good mates at clubs in both divisions, and its skirts like you that we love to have a laugh at. We can help it your soft. Sorry babe.
Why take a rod, when the fish jump in your boat????:p
Unfortunatly Stooge, I do have an idea... But as I said thats all dead and buried. I love the fact that I can get on here and bait all you pea hearts...
There are stacks of us on here that just rip shreads outta you soft targets and you fall into it sooooo easy:)
Ive got heaps of good mates at clubs in both divisions, and its skirts like you that we love to have a laugh at. We can help it your soft. Sorry babe.
I bet you've never pulled a boot on in your short sheltered life ya stooge.;)
mitch_fc
22 Feb 2006, 12:41
What happened?
according to craig hutchinson the burg threw the game for a keg.
load of ********....
The President called a meeting on the Thursday and ripped into the Lower boys telling them they will not give any clearances and be real tight if they lost and went to div 2 etc.... mark fridge roberts came out and kicked a bag on the satday and never played for the club again
GYM, you should change your name to Samboy becasue you have the biggest chip on your shoulder.
I agree people bite on things so easy.
And do you really think that Lalor would have stayed up in Divi 1 without going out and paying for Benny Kinnear, Scotty Cummings, Brad Fuller, Brad Obourne, Curly and a couple of others? And this year the boys rom Weirbee and maybe Rupt B. There is some cash at Lalor no doubt about it. Of course not, you have to pay to win so be carefull about slagging off every one else.
PS Lalor canteen has best Hot dogs in the Valley.
mitch_fc
22 Feb 2006, 12:51
couldnt agree more,
does the standard of dog deteriorate in Div 2/?? i bloody hope not.
touch of class
22 Feb 2006, 13:33
obourne only played a handful of games cummings the same the others have been asked to take a paycut on what they were on last year curly was there when they won div2 flag and doesnt get much money now they have signed marty mcgrath and he isnt getting as much as i thought so they are not spending as much as some cause of the homegrown talent they have
Does anyone know if Daryl taylor is still playing at the burgers?
this bloke is unreal value.
No you didnt touch a nerve, I just cant stand people who pretend to know what they are talking about... which you obviously dont. ;)
Just give us the facts, no one wants to read the **** you're going with. Stop getting reports off those quality humans that stand in front of your rooms every Saturday. Opposition clubs will know who I'm talking about.:p
Giveyathemail
22 Feb 2006, 15:14
I bet you've never pulled a boot on in your short sheltered life ya stooge.;)
Oh here he is, the man that still lives with his mum.... How are ya mate?:thumbsu:
Come down to the club mate, come and have a pot with me (you do know what that is dont ya) and I will walk you around and show you my history, which is plastered all over our wall and is proudly displayed in the cabinets.
When is that netball club open, I will come down and look at yours ya peasant...:D
Giveyathemail
22 Feb 2006, 15:22
GYM, you should change your name to Samboy becasue you have the biggest chip on your shoulder.
I agree people bite on things so easy.
And do you really think that Lalor would have stayed up in Divi 1 without going out and paying for Benny Kinnear, Scotty Cummings, Brad Fuller, Brad Obourne, Curly and a couple of others? And this year the boys rom Weirbee and maybe Rupt B. There is some cash at Lalor no doubt about it. Of course not, you have to pay to win so be carefull about slagging off every one else.
I agree about the hot dogs mate...:thumbsu:
Cummings was no value so forget him. Bobby Obourne played 2 and a half games, Benny Kinnear and Sniper (Fuller) were fantastic, and Curl did his job. Our young players stood up and made a huge difference, as did our 2nd and 3rd year players.
I dont have a chip either... I just dont like when gooses get on and pretend to know what they are talking about when its obvious they dont. I tell it how it is, simple... Everyone that I know on here(friends, ex team-mates, clubmen and opposition mates) know who I am, and know what the go is... ;)
Giveyathemail
22 Feb 2006, 15:27
Just give us the facts, no one wants to read the **** you're going with. Stop getting reports off those quality humans that stand in front of your rooms every Saturday. Opposition clubs will know who I'm talking about.:p
How would anyone else know what your talking about, when you dont even know yourself.
And who do you follow??? You would be one of those weirdos that just hang around arent ya... are you a member of your club weirdo????:p
" Giveyathemail "
there was a guy who goes to my gym, said that he played at Lalor a few years ago. just seeing if you know anything about him, his name is Boony? he is thinking of coming down for a kick well he said he migh,t has had knee probs in the past can u tell e anythign about him?
cream will fix it
22 Feb 2006, 20:58
roast beef rolls westgarth street, lets get back to the footy. epping eltham npark west prest have they picked anyone up
cream will fix it
22 Feb 2006, 20:59
couldnt agree more,
does the standard of dog deteriorate in Div 2/?? i bloody hope not.
roast beef rolls westgarth street, lets get back to the footy. epping eltham npark west prest have they picked anyone up
Giveyathemail
23 Feb 2006, 10:09
" Giveyathemail "
there was a guy who goes to my gym, said that he played at Lalor a few years ago. just seeing if you know anything about him, his name is Boony? he is thinking of coming down for a kick well he said he migh,t has had knee probs in the past can u tell e anythign about him?
Yeah mate, before he done his knee he was a gun. The last time i heard, he still had it too, keep him close to goals, he is a very good reader of the play and uses the ball well. Loves a goal and is capable of kicking a few on his day. Good bloke too Booney, always welcome at Lalor.:thumbsu:
Jewelsandbullet
23 Feb 2006, 10:26
Also Mick Watson comes back after a year out (adds a bit of hardness and pace to the back line - which was missed last year) more significantly Tim Watson is back from a season in exile at Kyabram (has to be pound for pound one of the best in the comp)
Question for Giveyathemail:
There is a young skinny kid that plays on the wing for you blokes (number 17 I think) has a trendy hair cut. He cut us up both times we played you, great skills and super quick. Can't remember his name, he a local product?
Giveyathemail
23 Feb 2006, 10:32
Also Mick Watson comes back after a year out (adds a bit of hardness and pace to the back line - which was missed last year) more significantly Tim Watson is back from a season in exile at Kyabram (has to be pound for pound one of the best in the comp)
Question for Giveyathemail:
There is a young skinny kid that plays on the wing for you blokes (number 17 I think) has a trendy hair cut. He cut us up both times we played you, great skills and super quick. Can't remember his name, he a local product?
A young kid by the name of Terence Upoko was NO 17 for us last year. He is a local product, one of those kids that is just good at everything he does. Super quick, hard at it and his 1%s are impeccible. Huge future.:thumbsu:
matchwinner
23 Feb 2006, 10:44
I agree about the hot dogs mate...:thumbsu:
Cummings was no value so forget him. Bobby Obourne played 2 and a half games, Benny Kinnear and Sniper (Fuller) were fantastic, and Curl did his job. Our young players stood up and made a huge difference, as did our 2nd and 3rd year players.
I dont have a chip either... I just dont like when gooses get on and pretend to know what they are talking about when its obvious they dont. I tell it how it is, simple... Everyone that I know on here(friends, ex team-mates, clubmen and opposition mates) know who I am, and know what the go is... ;)
I understand the importance of club loyalty and sticking up for your mates, but this website is about people offering opinions, and you don't need to lose your cool and go slagging people off everytime they say something about Lalor that you disagree with. Not everyone down there is a superstar!!
Giveyathemail
23 Feb 2006, 11:02
I understand the importance of club loyalty and sticking up for your mates, but this website is about people offering opinions, and you don't need to lose your cool and go slagging people off everytime they say something about Lalor that you disagree with. Not everyone down there is a superstar!!
Couldnt agree with you more. However I will stick up for my mates at other clubs as well. I am the most critical Lalor person you will meet, but what I wont cop anywhere, is people that make false and ridiculous statements about things. I will tell it how it is, regardless. Most of the convos I have on this site are PMs, with mates and players from other clubs... :thumbsu:
Oh here he is, the man that still lives with his mum.... How are ya mate?:thumbsu:
Come down to the club mate, come and have a pot with me (you do know what that is dont ya) and I will walk you around and show you my history, which is plastered all over our wall and is proudly displayed in the cabinets.
When is that netball club open, I will come down and look at yours ya peasant...:D
everyone 3 cheers for giveyathemail. Hip hip.:eek:
Giveyathemail
23 Feb 2006, 11:18
everyone 3 cheers for giveyathemail. Hip hip.:eek:
Thanks guys, it was a pleasure :D
melbdocker
23 Feb 2006, 15:18
didnt the rumor(and i choose my words wisely) go heid "rested" 4 blokes who had niggles and they still got paid and a keg was switched hands of course all rumor and never proved
FOOTYBOSS
23 Feb 2006, 17:28
Couldnt agree with you more. However I will stick up for my mates at other clubs as well. I am the most critical Lalor person you will meet, but what I wont cop anywhere, is people that make false and ridiculous statements about things. I will tell it how it is, regardless. Most of the convos I have on this site are PMs, with mates and players from other clubs... :thumbsu:
Giveyathemail, its about time you and the lalor blokes stop living in the past glories. Yes we all know that the club was very successful during the 90s, but recent records show they havent been to flash. It is good though that you boys are on the way back as there is some great blokes around the club and some great players. Every club has spent money at some stage and say that Kinnear, Fuller and co. are next to nothing is bull s h i t.
Keep up the good posts though. That fishing line must be getting worn out with some of these other people.:D
Giveyathemail
24 Feb 2006, 10:36
Giveyathemail, its about time you and the lalor blokes stop living in the past glories. Yes we all know that the club was very successful during the 90s, but recent records show they havent been to flash. It is good though that you boys are on the way back as there is some great blokes around the club and some great players. Every club has spent money at some stage and say that Kinnear, Fuller and co. are next to nothing is bull s h i t.
Keep up the good posts though. That fishing line must be getting worn out with some of these other people.:D
Can do mate:thumbsu: Im not going to say they are not well paid, because its obvious that isnt the case. But what I am saying Footyboss, is that they are not getting as much as what people would think, or as much as what other clubs would be willing to pay. Lalor is a good club, and they contributed to our club, both on and off the ground just as much as anyone last year. Benny, Sniper, Bob, and all great blokes and are worth every dollar they receive. They have earnt it. :thumbsu:
As with the past glorys... Sorry mate but history doesnt lie, and Im proud of the fact that I can walk into the club and admire what we have done as a club. What we have acheived, and what is yet to come...
Its an exciting time at the club.
What club do you support mate?
Look out for the Bloods this year, last year there was no discipline this year with an older and more experienced coach the boys will be better equiped and have a good blend of young and experiece players. Soppa Marshall the captainand 3 time premiership player missed last year and will be the recruit of the year. Dasha sinclair not far away from his 300th game. Look out
what about the loss lalor has sufferd, losing adam dennis?
touch of class
24 Feb 2006, 21:59
just to let everyone know kane cooper has officially hung up the boots for the year due to stress fractures in the feet which has been with him now for about 4 years and now has finally got the better of him and he will under go surgery to fix them which will see him off his feet for at least 6 months
MarkJohnson#1
24 Feb 2006, 22:40
I 100% agree with you 5 flags... What has the Monts, the Eppings and to a certain extent the Bundooras ever done???
2 flags between em in a combined 30 years of footy... Cmon. Are these clubs basing their success on final appearances or what? Lets be realistic.
Pretty harsh call bout Bundoora, very consistent performers year in, year out...
FOOTYBOSS
25 Feb 2006, 08:51
Can do mate:thumbsu: Im not going to say they are not well paid, because its obvious that isnt the case. But what I am saying Footyboss, is that they are not getting as much as what people would think, or as much as what other clubs would be willing to pay. Lalor is a good club, and they contributed to our club, both on and off the ground just as much as anyone last year. Benny, Sniper, Bob, and all great blokes and are worth every dollar they receive. They have earnt it. :thumbsu:
As with the past glorys... Sorry mate but history doesnt lie, and Im proud of the fact that I can walk into the club and admire what we have done as a club. What we have acheived, and what is yet to come...
Its an exciting time at the club.
What club do you support mate?
Dont support any club mate. Just like to follow some mates that play in the league in both divisions and see how they and their team are travelling.
Mark Mercuri has been sighted training at Bundoora this pre season.
kingfooty
25 Feb 2006, 14:51
Pretty harsh call bout Bundoora, very consistent performers year in, year out...consistant but no flags
Giveyathemail
28 Feb 2006, 11:00
consistant but no flags
Im with you Kingfooty. No-one remembers 2nd, 3rd or 4th. No medals for them, no cup...
They have been beaten consistantly and convincingly in alot of big games at Epping in Septembers for a very long time. And unfortunatly, I cant really see that changing in the near future.:thumbsu:
MarkJohnson#1
28 Feb 2006, 17:09
Im with you Kingfooty. No-one remembers 2nd, 3rd or 4th. No medals for them, no cup...
They have been beaten consistantly and convincingly in alot of big games at Epping in Septembers for a very long time. And unfortunatly, I cant really see that changing in the near future.:thumbsu:
They also came back from around 10-11 goals at 3/4 time at epping to run over the top of WP a few years back which is quite an effort.
Giveyathemail
1 Mar 2006, 11:36
They also came back from around 10-11 goals at 3/4 time at epping to run over the top of WP a few years back which is quite an effort.
Almost... The over-ran North Heidelberg in the 2004 1st semi final with a 9 goal last term.
That is however, a great effort. But that game wasnt for a cup Johnno, they were 3 weeks to early. That is my point.:thumbsu:
Dont support any club mate. Just like to follow some mates that play in the league in both divisions and see how they and their team are travelling.
Mark Mercuri has been sighted training at Bundoora this pre season.yeah mark mecury has trained a couple of times but i believe silvan have offered quite a bit to play there...
joshooaa
4 Mar 2006, 18:15
For all of the leagues good points - The DVFL is not blessed with great football grounds.
Epping whilst usually a good level surface is ugly and un-atmospheric.
Shelly street has that "entering the bronx" feel and is unattractive
Northcote would be great if the club had any supporters and if they watered the center pitch area once in a while.
Monty is not too bad but suffers from that same "suffocation factor" that the Hurstbridge ground does.
Lalor is in Lalor so il say no more.
Bundoora is not even a football ground , just a park with some big white sticks and a clubroom.
West Preston is cold and hard and the supporters are as dull as the area itself
Heidelberg is pretty good if it wernt for the away rooms being located in Ivanoe
Infact of all the grounds, Eltham is the only one that has a really nice feel to it, pleanty of parking , and a good ( if not muddy) surface.
Any thoughts?
Also, who does everyone reckon has the biggest crowds in the league ( 1st div) have to be between Heidelberg, Eltham or Monty id think.
Giveyathemail
6 Mar 2006, 11:21
For all of the leagues good points - The DVFL is not blessed with great football grounds.
Epping whilst usually a good level surface is ugly and un-atmospheric.
Shelly street has that "entering the bronx" feel and is unattractive
Northcote would be great if the club had any supporters and if they watered the center pitch area once in a while.
Monty is not too bad but suffers from that same "suffocation factor" that the Hurstbridge ground does.
Lalor is in Lalor so il say no more.
Bundoora is not even a football ground , just a park with some big white sticks and a clubroom.
West Preston is cold and hard and the supporters are as dull as the area itself
Heidelberg is pretty good if it wernt for the away rooms being located in Ivanoe
Infact of all the grounds, Eltham is the only one that has a really nice feel to it, pleanty of parking , and a good ( if not muddy) surface.
Any thoughts?
Also, who does everyone reckon has the biggest crowds in the league ( 1st div) have to be between Heidelberg, Eltham or Monty id think.
ELTHAM.... Maybe on a nice day mate. And those feral rooms... Ive seen bigger eskis. On a rainy day, the ground chops up like a $10 choof, you cant get from your car to the canteen without going AOT down the 115 steps that it takes you to get there.
I could understand the local derby over there would get some heads through the gates. But traditional rivals (like ones who have played in bloody, gut wrenching finals and grand finals) have always been the pick
of the bunch. Our last game against North at Lalor last year was the biggest crowd ive seen in a long time for a home and away game. And on our bye weekend last year, the lalor boys went and watched a great game between North and Heidelberg at the Kennel and it was awesome. :thumbsu:
mitch_fc
6 Mar 2006, 11:59
Northcote park is a no go due to a lack of parking.
I am a big fan of Eltham, except the surface. they have just built new home rooms and exteneded and renovated the away rooms. nice feel to it with the trees and creek etc. Heidelburg is one of my favourite grounds to play on.
Giveyathemail
6 Mar 2006, 15:37
Northcote park is a no go due to a lack of parking.
I am a big fan of Eltham, except the surface. they have just built new home rooms and exteneded and renovated the away rooms. nice feel to it with the trees and creek etc. Heidelburg is one of my favourite grounds to play on.
I always loved playing at Lalor, obviously being the home ground. I never minded Eltham, loved playing in big games against Bundoora and North (home or away), liked the surface at Epping and Northcote Park. Every ground has its merits. Heidelberg do have a great ground... plenty of space, parking and good canteen.:thumbsu:
joshooaa
6 Mar 2006, 19:02
Probably fair enough about the ELtham surface, but from what ive seen in the past few years it hasnt been nearly as bad. I was a little harsh on most other grounds probably but i guess i just love nice surroundings and i think eltham has the nicest.
Montys good for spectators, and sitting in the stand at Northcoate is nice. Epping just dosnt do it for me ( good to play on ) just not for spectators. Same as north.
Greensy's not a bad old ground in div 2. South mornag is a joke but kind of a novelty and i dont mind it for some reason. Whittlesea is nice but 2 damn far away! Wallan is pretty average. Havnt seen parkside. Hurstbridge is pretty but ridiculous size. Good to watch close up though.never watched a games at Heid west but it looks a nice ground.
joshooaa
6 Mar 2006, 19:05
ELTHAM.... Maybe on a nice day mate. And those feral rooms... Ive seen bigger eskis. On a rainy day, the ground chops up like a $10 choof, you cant get from your car to the canteen without going AOT down the 115 steps that it takes you to get there.
I could understand the local derby over there would get some heads through the gates. But traditional rivals (like ones who have played in bloody, gut wrenching finals and grand finals) have always been the pick
of the bunch. Our last game against North at Lalor last year was the biggest crowd ive seen in a long time for a home and away game. And on our bye weekend last year, the lalor boys went and watched a great game between North and Heidelberg at the Kennel and it was awesome. :thumbsu:
Those games do get big crowds but I havnt seen many bigger than Monty Versus Eltham at Eltham a couple of years ago, also when eltham play heidelberg there seems to be a crowd. The biggest ive seen was about 4 or 5 years ago, a sunday game at Monty when they played greensy and killed them. Must have been close to 5 thousand there.
Giveyathemail
7 Mar 2006, 10:40
Probably fair enough about the ELtham surface, but from what ive seen in the past few years it hasnt been nearly as bad. I was a little harsh on most other grounds probably but i guess i just love nice surroundings and i think eltham has the nicest.
Montys good for spectators, and sitting in the stand at Northcoate is nice. Epping just dosnt do it for me ( good to play on ) just not for spectators. Same as north.
Greensy's not a bad old ground in div 2. South mornag is a joke but kind of a novelty and i dont mind it for some reason. Whittlesea is nice but 2 damn far away! Wallan is pretty average. Havnt seen parkside. Hurstbridge is pretty but ridiculous size. Good to watch close up though.never watched a games at Heid west but it looks a nice ground.
Nah thats a fair call, Eltham is alot better than it used to be no doubt. And your right, it does have a "bygone era" feel to it as well... Alot of grounds do lose that feel after being modernised with renovations. Beautiful area Eltham though, as is Diamond Creek...:thumbsu:
This time next year South Morang will be pushing for the rights to have the best ground in the comp. Absolutly perfect surface...
melbdocker
7 Mar 2006, 15:13
Husrtbridge are playing at the old high school ground this yr as they are redoing their main ground and making it longer so blokes like Simon Cox cant kick goals from the wing.
having played on creeks ground and now watch every 2nd week there i can say its prob the worst surface going around by about round 10 just no grass and on hot days playing on dust isn't great
mitch_fc
7 Mar 2006, 15:31
anyone who has played on lower plenty in recent years must admit that it has one of the best surfaces in the league. water drains better than any other groudn, but is almost too hard sometimes, causing soreness.
if whitlesea was in Victoria I'd rate it much higher... too flippen far away, but a grerat place to play. West Heid is a groudn i look forward to playing on, looks nice.
beerbandit
7 Mar 2006, 17:21
i hear ppl talking bout the grounds in the dvfl, i have played on all the grounds playin both div 1 & div 2.. i can tell you that northcote park is the best div 1 playing surface, and a tie between whittlesea and heidelberg west in div 2... some good grounds in dvfl, but a lot of shockers too..