View Full Version : Sunraysia Football league

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

Russ74
5 May 2006, 13:21
I will be making the trip next weekend for the Mildura v Irymple match. Surely by then both will remain unbeaten. I'm sure that the official line from both sides will be that they are concentrating on this week, but surely there is a hint of looking ahead. My mail is that both clubs may be resting a couple this week so they are cherry ripe for the big clash. I hear that Irymple have some major injury worries while the Demons seem to be travelling well. Travelled to Kerang last week and from previous threads it may surprise a few but Cole Hedwards played quite well, kicked a couple of important goals. Swan Hill won by about ten points so Cole's contribution was important. I see you're kicking a couple Yaabs- few handballs over the top no doubt! Anyone got an updated market for the flag, league medal and goalkicking?

Ibis100
5 May 2006, 14:21
I am writing this out of frustration and anger as my name is being dragged through the mud. I will speak to Badds personally today to sort this out but I am NOT and I repeat I am NOT this Gutsy character.

I know several people believe I am including Badds who I consider a good friend. The fact that Gutsy posted items when I was in Qld with my daughter doesn't stop people thinking I am him. As the coach of South Mildura I would lose all credibility and respect of my own players if I were to put anything on here about my players that puts them in bad light. Respect is one thing I hope to keep amongst my players.

If I was Gutsy I would honestly admit to it just to stop all the bull:D:D:D:D. I managed to survive being shot at in Iraq so facing up to people who have been criticised by Gutsy wouldn't bother me in the slightest. But the fact is I am not him and I will not admit to anything I am not. Like I said, I will talk to Badds about it personally as I know he strongly believes it is me.

Skeeterman
5 May 2006, 14:34
Some disturbing news for everyone out there wondering were Hotdogs has gone.
I can report that the dog is extremely sick.........LOVE SICK that is!!!!!!
It have it on good authority that he is too busy day dreaming of ways to propose to his new girlfriend then catch the latest postings on big footy.
A sad loss to the females of mildura whom many have become quite attached.
Best of luck hotdogs.

ECHUCABOY
5 May 2006, 14:41
Could any Mildura folk give me an update on Ronald McDonalds cousin Jake Anstey how has he been going??

Yaaablett
5 May 2006, 15:08
Could any Mildura folk give me an update on Ronald McDonalds cousin Jake Anstey how has he been going??

Ronald McDonald. I like it. He is starting to warm up Echuca Boy. Had about 40 touches v Merbein (3 goals 6!)and maybe 25 last week. He runs the fines committee at Mildura and has taken to that job with never before seen enthusiasm and dedication.

On another note surely Ibis cant be Gutsy after that. If the real Gutsy had any feelings for the South Footy club or for Ibis- Come clean!

ECHUCABOY
5 May 2006, 16:38
Ronald McDonald. I like it. He is starting to warm up Echuca Boy. Had about 40 touches v Merbein (3 goals 6!)and maybe 25 last week. He runs the fines committee at Mildura and has taken to that job with never before seen enthusiasm and dedication.

On another note surely Ibis cant be Gutsy after that. If the real Gutsy had any feelings for the South Footy club or for Ibis- Come clean!

Good to hear yaaablett, it is probably a good thing he runs the fines, half of them are probably being fired his way! Haha starting to warm up, what are you expecting of the fair skinned one, I'd say 40 touches and 25 would give a fair indication his warmed up....

ECHUCABOY
5 May 2006, 16:42
I am writing this out of frustration and anger as my name is being dragged through the mud. I will speak to Badds personally today to sort this out but I am NOT and I repeat I am NOT this Gutsy character.

I know several people believe I am including Badds who I consider a good friend. The fact that Gutsy posted items when I was in Qld with my daughter doesn't stop people thinking I am him. As the coach of South Mildura I would lose all credibility and respect of my own players if I were to put anything on here about my players that puts them in bad light. Respect is one thing I hope to keep amongst my players.

If I was Gutsy I would honestly admit to it just to stop all the bull:D:D:D:D. I managed to survive being shot at in Iraq so facing up to people who have been criticised by Gutsy wouldn't bother me in the slightest. But the fact is I am not him and I will not admit to anything I am not. Like I said, I will talk to Badds about it personally as I know he strongly believes it is me.

WOAH.....slowdown egghead, this is a footy forum not a parliamentary inquiry maybe taking it bit easier and just writing about some footy stuff could be of order instead of caring about some peasent (like me) typing meaningless words on a forum.

Skeeterman
5 May 2006, 20:09
Surley there's kids going around at Wenty with better form than Lawson. The 5 goals he's kicked are probably from the only 5 kicks he's had all year! The same with Calvi too, he hasn't done much. Young Mentiplay has been playing alright footy by the sounds of it out at Irymple, why shouldn't he get a go? Thomas and O'Shannessy have hardly been in South's best all year. Dowdy is in the same boat.

It's good though to see Treloar get a go. He always gives his best no matter what. I think it's only his 2nd or 3rd year of footy.

To me it looks a fairly strong list this year and I hope all of those who are named are serious on competing and we don't have a mass pull-out like we have in the last few years ... :thumbsd::thumbsd:

Santoz I agree with the promotion of younger players to th squad and from what i've seen of Treloar I beleve his time will come but surely not yet. I reckon that can belittle the squad.
On the topic HUnt from Merbein is a good player although would have struggled to get a game a few years ago let alone after the terrible injury he suffered. I think he has played 2 or 3 games only this year.

Santoz
5 May 2006, 20:27

Geez Yabby you're pumping the man up a bit aren't ya? He didn't even manage to get in the best players against Robinvale with 25 kicks but that Connick bloke did. I hear he even robbed GS Cardew of one of GS's hard earned goals.

Should be interesting tomorrow. Might be worth a few bob to get down to the South and Wenty game. I know I've said this before but there's a fair bit riding on this game for both clubs. The game I reckon will rely on Bell playing. If he does, Wenty may get up. If he doesn't I reckon South are a chance. Could be a few fireworks too with Bell on Jason Macca. I hear they don't mind the fisticuffs those two. Not to mention the fisticuffs on the sideline they may break out between Gutsy and Badds. If Badds ever finds him that is ... :confused:

cheeseburger
5 May 2006, 21:42
Some disturbing news for everyone out there wondering were Hotdogs has gone.
I can report that the dog is extremely sick.........LOVE SICK that is!!!!!!
It have it on good authority that he is too busy day dreaming of ways to propose to his new girlfriend then catch the latest postings on big footy.
A sad loss to the females of mildura whom many have become quite attached.
Best of luck hotdogs.

yes i have heard this too skeeter. hotdogs is racking up his frequent flyer points flying to melb and back A LOT:D Even though she is a fair bit younger, she has captured his heart and i think wedding bells are being heard in the distance.:thumbsu:

badds
6 May 2006, 00:59
Geez Yabby you're pumping the man up a bit aren't ya? He didn't even manage to get in the best players against Robinvale with 25 kicks but that Connick bloke did. I hear he even robbed GS Cardew of one of GS's hard earned goals.

Should be interesting tomorrow. Might be worth a few bob to get down to the South and Wenty game. I know I've said this before but there's a fair bit riding on this game for both clubs. The game I reckon will rely on Bell playing. If he does, Wenty may get up. If he doesn't I reckon South are a chance. Could be a few fireworks too with Bell on Jason Macca. I hear they don't mind the fisticuffs those two. Not to mention the fisticuffs on the sideline they may break out between Gutsy and Badds. If Badds ever finds him that is ... :confused:

badds knows that gutsy will be there..(so will the real gutsy please stand up) and come and approach me face to face thats all i ask... will let the issue rest in peace then... just walk up and say im gutsy and walk of if u please.. come on show some GUTS...................

gutsy
6 May 2006, 17:55
This is the only way I can show that I'm not a player or committee member of the South Footy Club. As you can see all players and committee members would be at the ground at the moment. Continue guessing who I am, but leave the south players and committee alone.

Santoz
7 May 2006, 11:18
I will tell you again Kelvin, Alvey will not win the McLeod medal. He will be expected and I repeated EXPECTED to get between 30-40 touches per week and if he doesn't he will be seen to have a bad game. You yourself are saying he will CARVE sides up and that is putting more pressure on him than anyone saying he will not do well. Let people say as they please cause the more they say he won't do well, the less pressure for him to go out and put on a good performance which will mean he WILL be better than all believe.

It seems Gutsy speaks the truth! :eek:
On a technicality though ... ;)

VERA HICKEY
7 May 2006, 13:52
This is the only way I can show that I'm not a player or committee member of the South Footy Club. As you can see all players and committee members would be at the ground at the moment. Continue guessing who I am, but leave the south players and committee alone.
It's not The DA VINCI CODE you clown!

Hillite
7 May 2006, 16:49
Yaaablett it must be time to reveal Irymples supposed new recruit. He obviously hasn't arrived or has the two weeks stretched to six.
Perhaps it was just a stir on your part.

Kelvin 69
7 May 2006, 16:53

You could have played 2's and gone home or possibly back to work (maybe a clothes shop) to write this post, so your not out of the woods yet old mate.;)

Will_Denis
7 May 2006, 19:48
Whats the verdict on round 5, i see Imps defeated Robinvale and Pete Zappia manage 8 goals which is a fair effort. what is the verdict on the other games played?

The Nest
8 May 2006, 10:06
[quote=RIFLEMAN][left]

You were going alright until the low blow on Brad Eaton gutsy

Take a joke people for gods sake. (I know Eatons hand is stuffed, I was having a joke Rifleman) I am beggining to think of going into retirement cause you people have no sense of humour or the ability to allow others to have an opionion, Right or wrong. Guessing no-one will be at my send off though and no chance of being carried from the ground. Like my football career, my time in Bigfooty began and finished on a bit of a sour note.

Good luck to you all this year in your conquest to take out the GF. Go doggies, i will be there holding up the bar as you deteat your opponents with ease. Before I go, I will leave you all with the following words,

1. Jason Bell to be injured within 5 rounds and kick just 60 goals for the year.

2. Alvey will become the hardest player in the SFL by knocking out everyone in all the packs he runs through.

3. Don Falvo will take out the League Reserves Best and Fairest having played just 6 games then come 4th in the McLeod after playing the final 12 games of the year in the ones. (How great would it be if he won both.)

4. Eagle will be the dissapointment of the year and be injured for 50% of the games.

5. Eaton will return within 6 weeks

6. Sam Smythe will take out an award for best reporting.

7. Bill Saywer will lose 80kg on cohens diet after lengthy discussions with Dale Stafford.

8. Kevin Bradmore will return to commentate on channel 9 with Geoff Lucas as special guests.

9. Red Cliffs oval will return to its original condition (But still the best in the League.)

10. Mick Faulkhead will be sacked at the end of the year.

MY TOP TEN FOR THE YEAR TO COME. Ceeyornara People, don't take this site too serious as some of you seem to.

GUTSY.

Not bad Gutsy.... i dont think you could call Eagle such a disappointment at this stage.

How have you seen the year so far Gutsy? Any surprises?

Ibis100
8 May 2006, 12:36
no worries nest its a squad of 47 as follows

mildura-anstey,hosking,cardew,deckert, rossitor,ryan.o,carmichael
imps-hards 2,d.hickey,r.doherty,thornton,ridley,b.clohesy,m.hickey
irymple-simms,eagle,donato,carn,curran,eaton,calvi,morris
rob-p.zappia,denaro,smith,harley,falvo
south-haase,gathers,spivey,cook,thomas,mcdonald,fox,oshannesy
-red cliffs-lee,dowdy,treloar
wenty-rigby 2,jackson,cumming,lawson
mer-keatch,hunt,congress..........

NESTY,

You asked for my interleague squad but I don't think I could give you one. I think there will be several changes in each game as there are a number of players that should be in the team but wouldn't mix well or for team balance couldn't be included in the same games. I will give you my squad of 28 that I think should go away going on current form and injury free.

Anstey, Cardew, Deckert, Carmichaeld, O'Callaghan, Vining
Brad Hards, D. Hickey, M. Hickey, Thornton (Ridley not included as injured on weekend)
Simms, Eagle, Eaton, Deangilis, Calvi
Zappia, Harley, Falvo, Keam (Added to the squad I think)
Haase, Gathercole, Spivey, Thomas, McDonald, Cook (If available)
Rigby x 2, Jackson, Cumming

I think this squad has a good mix of old and young and majority of these guys are in the best players week in week out or near top of the goal kicking lists.
I agree in principle with most people that younger guys should get a go but tell me how many of the younger guys are honestly up to interleage standard? The league has an obligation to promote us as best they can and the only way to do that is to put the best side on the field and win the championships, no matter how old or young the players are. Last year, I believe Hasse missed selection because he was seen as too old, the same reason given for him missing the Team of the year even though he was the second highest goal scorer in the League. If he is playing football better than anyone else then why shouldn't he be given the opportunity to play the highest level of footy that he can. The young guys that are ready will be selected, but don't punish guys because of their age. The league is better than Pool D and we need to show that by playing our best side.

chalkie
8 May 2006, 13:31
You could have played 2's and gone home or possibly back to work (maybe a clothes shop) to write this post, so your not out of the woods yet old mate.;)

Kelvin 69, as you would be aware, to prove someone is guilty (or innocent) you need to have some accurate facts, so I encourage you make sure yours are correct before naming someone on the post (owning a clothes shop isn't very subtle).
To the defence of the 2 blokes being accussed for being Gutsy, both ibis and the 'Wide Winger' (owns the clothes shop) were both at the footy game and in the rooms till 7:30pm.

I spoke to badds on saturday and I can understand why he's :D:D:D:Ded off, however he did mention that he intends to move on (however I image not forget):thumbsu:
Can I suggest that we also do the same and use this forum to to post topics related to football only and if people have a personal issue keep it off the post!

Ibis100
8 May 2006, 14:34
Some information has come to hand that Robinvale are in a bit of trouble. Having a meeting with the League over their current situation? Is it true they are on the brink of folding cause they have no committee and no support from the town????

I hope this is incorrect cause they could be a real show in the second half of the season. They aren't too far off the top sides and with a bit of luck they could be pushing for fourth spot. Does anyone know anything?????

mullethead
8 May 2006, 14:43
Just a thought to ponder on interleague.....There is a guy who is in fair touch for the green and whites, been in the best just about every week, was an exceptional talent as a youngster and is just starting to get back to a reasonable playing weight, and is one smart footballer......wears Daics' old number

mullethead
8 May 2006, 14:48
just on the poor boys at roo land....I do sincerely feel sorry for them, two keys to there side, Bell and Alvey injured...you wouldnt read about it....Lets hope they can hang around to these two get back cause im sure there are a few clubs a bit worried if they scrape into 4th spot with Alvey having a few games under his belt!!!!

Ibis100
8 May 2006, 14:49
Just a thought to ponder on interleague.....There is a guy who is in fair touch for the green and whites, been in the best just about every week, was an exceptional talent as a youngster and is just starting to get back to a reasonable playing weight, and is one smart footballer......wears Daics' old number

Staff is in good touch but if you look at the position he plays and the other players in the squad fighting for the same positions he unfortunately just misses out in my eyes. Having a good year though and its great to see. He should be added to the squad though cause his form definately warrants it.

Yaaablett
8 May 2006, 15:37
Staff is in good touch but if you look at the position he plays and the other players in the squad fighting for the same positions he unfortunately just misses out in my eyes. Having a good year though and its great to see. He should be added to the squad though cause his form definately warrants it.

His current form on the sauce is also sensational. Celebrated his 30th birthday last week for about 3 days and comes out on Saturday and gets in the best.

Pangu
8 May 2006, 17:50
Some information has come to hand that Robinvale are in a bit of trouble. Having a meeting with the League over their current situation? Is it true they are on the brink of folding cause they have no committee and no support from the town????

I hope this is incorrect cause they could be a real show in the second half of the season. They aren't too far off the top sides and with a bit of luck they could be pushing for fourth spot. Does anyone know anything?????

This is an extremely big call Ibis, I couldnt imagine Robinvale would fold, they have been one of the more successful clubs throughout the 90's and early 00's. It is true there is not as much support as the did say fives years ago, but i guess this happends when clubs are winning games of football.
It will be interesting to hear what the meeting is all about and the outcome.

Russ74
8 May 2006, 18:28
Looking forward to the biggest game so far this year this weekend. Any early predictions? I'd like Mildura to win but Irymple seem to be in great form.

Delray
8 May 2006, 19:33
Looking forward to the biggest game so far this year this weekend. Any early predictions? I'd like Mildura to win but Irymple seem to be in great form.

Russ i can tell u that this week will be an absoulute cracker. a couple a big names will return for the swallows in Carn & Curran which will help no end. And after the sturn words that were exchanged with ex Irymple on baller T. Hosking on Saturday night u can expect an extremely hard contest. Key Match ups: DeAngelis V Cardew, Carn V Connick, Eagle V Leng, Simms V Anderson, Eaton V Gonzo and the list could go on. Big day at No1 u would suspect.

Santoz
8 May 2006, 21:47

I agree with Pangu that this an extremely big call. There would be too much pride to see them fold and though they might be going through a lean patch at the moment both on and off the field, I'm sure it'll turn around fairly quickly. Unless you've heard more that you're not willing to indulge that is.

In the case of youngsters coming through I was in Robinvale on Sunday and they can only field the 3 sides (U/11,U/13,U/15) with not enough players for colts games. This may be an issue in the future for them.

It was good to see my youngsters get off the mark for season 2006. Sammy Smythe, you wrote my boys off. You didn't give us a chance heading up the highway. Sammy ... You Were Wrong! ;) Keep up the good work though mate if you read this. There's a lot of people that read your article and it is very enjoyable. :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Santoz
8 May 2006, 22:00
Russ i can tell u that this week will be an absoulute cracker. a couple a big names will return for the swallows in Carn & Curran which will help no end. And after the sturn words that were exchanged with ex Irymple on baller T. Hosking on Saturday night u can expect an extremely hard contest. Key Match ups: DeAngelis V Cardew, Carn V Connick, Eagle V Leng, Simms V Anderson, Eaton V Gonzo and the list could go on. Big day at No1 u would suspect.

What were these stern words Delray?

I also very highly doubt Simms will get Anderson purely on a fitness level. The Dees might rotate him onto Simms at some stage but I whether he goes with him the whole day is another thing. Would be good to see Connick play on his old Wenty mate though. Who's going to match up on the third big man Hall? Or the little big man "Motor" Russell? You also left out "Bluey" Anstey. You are right that it should be a cracker ...

Kelvin 69
8 May 2006, 22:12
Kelvin 69, as you would be aware, to prove someone is guilty (or innocent) you need to have some accurate facts, so I encourage you make sure yours are correct before naming someone on the post (owning a clothes shop isn't very subtle).
To the defence of the 2 blokes being accussed for being Gutsy, both ibis and the 'Wide Winger' (owns the clothes shop) were both at the footy game and in the rooms till 7:30pm.

I spoke to badds on saturday and I can understand why he's :D:D:D:Ded off, however he did mention that he intends to move on (however I image not forget):thumbsu:
Can I suggest that we also do the same and use this forum to to post topics related to football only and if people have a personal issue keep it off the post!

Chill out Chalkie and get back to your correction.:thumbsu:

VERA HICKEY
9 May 2006, 10:40
Heard a story that Sonny Lindsay may have celebrated his 11 goals a bit to hard down in Ouyen on Sat. Smashed a few windows in the main street and wanted to take on everyone. Just your regulation Sonny stuff.

Hillite
9 May 2006, 12:14
Tommy V. may not have kicked the goals that Sonny has but I bet he wasn't the hassle that Sonny 's going to be.
I see that Tom V has been cleared back to Irymple. He will kick a bag if plays in the twos against Mildura this week.

Ibis100
9 May 2006, 12:47
I agree with Pangu that this an extremely big call. There would be too much pride to see them fold and though they might be going through a lean patch at the moment both on and off the field, I'm sure it'll turn around fairly quickly. Unless you've heard more that you're not willing to indulge that is.

My understanding is that the league were going there last night for a meeting to discuss their future and how they could assist them. Chalkie might be able to assist a little futher here, he would have more info about Robinvale than myself. But my understanding is that they are close to folding. I hope not cause this League needs them.

The Nest
9 May 2006, 12:50
What were these stern words Delray?

I also very highly doubt Simms will get Anderson purely on a fitness level. The Dees might rotate him onto Simms at some stage but I whether he goes with him the whole day is another thing. Would be good to see Connick play on his old Wenty mate though. Who's going to match up on the third big man Hall? Or the little big man "Motor" Russell? You also left out "Bluey" Anstey. You are right that it should be a cracker ...

Surely Mildura wouldnt play all four talls in the forward line at the same time? Once the ball hit the deck there would be a lot of reliance on the 2 smalls. But I suppose they are getting the job done at the moment.
Forget the big name players, what about the kids. Thats where the game will be won. Vining, Carmichael, Russell, Spencer, Heley, Dawson, Martin vs Calvi, Hammence, Condodorio, Turnbull, Mentiplay, Dowdy, Ransome, Pappagorgiou.

What about the Wenty Roos, big game against Imps this week, a loss could see them 2 games out of the four with a trip to Robinvale to come. I think they are a good side that have some unfortunate injuries.

Yaaablett
9 May 2006, 13:50
Surely Mildura wouldnt play all four talls in the forward line at the same time? Once the ball hit the deck there would be a lot of reliance on the 2 smalls. But I suppose they are getting the job done at the moment.
Forget the big name players, what about the kids. Thats where the game will be won. Vining, Carmichael, Russell, Spencer, Heley, Dawson, Martin vs Calvi, Hammence, Condodorio, Turnbull, Mentiplay, Dowdy, Ransome, Pappagorgiou.

What about the Wenty Roos, big game against Imps this week, a loss could see them 2 games out of the four with a trip to Robinvale to come. I think they are a good side that have some unfortunate injuries.

Rusty off Chevy Chases Vegas Vacation?

Yaaablett
9 May 2006, 13:52
My understanding is that the league were going there last night for a meeting to discuss their future and how they could assist them. Chalkie might be able to assist a little futher here, he would have more info about Robinvale than myself. But my understanding is that they are close to folding. I hope not cause this League needs them.

I heard that they have little help off the ground. Player registrations were/are a mess. The mail is that if they had won a game in the first few rounds the points would have been taken off them anyway. If they had 2 or 3 more talls they would be finals material.

VERA HICKEY
9 May 2006, 14:17
Anyone seen today's Herald Sun? On page 14 there is a picture of Mildura forward Ash Connick. The caption says -At the zoo:Noel sr. But they must have gotten mixed up because it's definetly him.

Yaaablett
9 May 2006, 15:09
Anyone seen today's Herald Sun? On page 14 there is a picture of Mildura forward Ash Connick. The caption says -At the zoo:Noel sr. But they must have gotten mixed up because it's definetly him.

That's actually not bad. I have no comeback........yet!

Skeeterman
9 May 2006, 19:22
Quote=Ibis100]NESTY,

You asked for my interleague squad but I don't think I could give you one. I think there will be several changes in each game as there are a number of players that should be in the team but wouldn't mix well or for team balance couldn't be included in the same games. I will give you my squad of 28 that I think should go away going on current form and injury free.

Anstey, Cardew, Deckert, Carmichaeld, O'Callaghan, Vining
Brad Hards, D. Hickey, M. Hickey, Thornton (Ridley not included as injured on weekend)
Simms, Eagle, Eaton, Deangilis, Calvi
Zappia, Harley, Falvo, Keam (Added to the squad I think)
Haase, Gathercole, Spivey, Thomas, McDonald, Cook (If available)
Rigby x 2, Jackson, Cumming

I think this squad has a good mix of old and young and majority of these guys are in the best players week in week out or near top of the goal kicking lists.
I agree in principle with most people that younger guys should get a go but tell me how many of the younger guys are honestly up to interleage standard? The league has an obligation to promote us as best they can and the only way to do that is to put the best side on the field and win the championships, no matter how old or young the players are. Last year, I believe Hasse missed selection because he was seen as too old, the same reason given for him missing the Team of the year even though he was the second highest goal scorer in the League. If he is playing football better than anyone else then why shouldn't he be given the opportunity to play the highest level of footy that he can. The young guys that are ready will be selected, but don't punish guys because of their age. The league is better than Pool D and we need to show that by playing our best side.[/quote]

Ibis100 you have a slighlty valid point on Haas. It is a very tough job (picking team of the Year) as you would understand and easy to say he should get in. I would be interested to hear who's spot you think he should take?? Wouldn't be surprised if you dodged that one though.

Speaking of controversial Team of the Year candidates I understand Joffa Bosworth played magoo's on the weekend. Fantastic inclusion for the green and white midfield when he gets a few games under his belt, one of those players that seems to have all the time in the world and makes the right decisions.

Congratulations to Jake Smythe on winning the Gallagher Hollcroft nomination for round 5. Good to see new faces taking the next step.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

uncle
9 May 2006, 21:21
Gold Vera Hickey ,Gold,dont worry John certainly looks like he swallowed the canary too, noel snr must have just sold a pair of $300 gels

Santoz
9 May 2006, 22:01
Tommy V. may not have kicked the goals that Sonny has but I bet he wasn't the hassle that Sonny 's going to be.
I see that Tom V has been cleared back to Irymple. He will kick a bag if plays in the twos against Mildura this week.

The checkbook must be thin down Ouyen way this year if Vadjla is returning. How much are you boys paying him Delray, Nesty? Everyone knows he doesn't play for the love of the jumper. He shat all over Irymple when he left the footy club for coin then quit the cricket club. I bet you boys are welcoming him back with open arms though ... :thumbsd: :thumbsd:

You know what I'm on about Delray

Peter Mac
9 May 2006, 22:21
Heard a story that Sonny Lindsay may have celebrated his 11 goals a bit to hard down in Ouyen on Sat. Smashed a few windows in the main street and wanted to take on everyone. Just your regulation Sonny stuff.
Any more news about the new gun Ouyen forward? The pain is all worth if he can deliver 8+ goals a week. From all reports the club is on a high after a big start to the season. Long time between drinks for Devils fans.

jimmyboy
9 May 2006, 22:28
Love it VERA, post of the month.:thumbsu:

Uncanny
9 May 2006, 22:35
Just a word on this weeks match between mildura and irymple. I really cant see mildura getting to close to the swallows having played both teams. Eagle is too strong and will probly kick another bag. Irymple also have too much strength in the midfield. I reckon irymple by at least 5 goals.

Peter Mac
9 May 2006, 22:46
Just a word on this weeks match between mildura and irymple. I really cant see mildura getting to close to the swallows having played both teams. Eagle is too strong and will probly kick another bag. Irymple also have too much strength in the midfield. I reckon irymple by at least 5 goals.
Don't be suprised if Connick heads down back if it's all going pear shaped early. Midfield battle pretty even I reckon with Eaton and Curran only recently returning from time on the sidelines. Should be a beauty on Saturday, get down to No.1 and have a look.

On The Money
9 May 2006, 22:50

Can someone please tell me how many goals Toby Cardew has kicked to date and Mildura's win/loss record

Peter Mac
9 May 2006, 22:57
Big Tobe has slotted thru 20 majors so far this season steering the Dees to a four and blot record.

Santoz
9 May 2006, 23:22

You underestimate Toby "GS" Cardews roving ability Nesty ;)

If that's where the game will be won I'd be very surprised. They'll no doubt help the cause but the game will be won off either Eagle's boot or Cardew/Connick's I reckon.

Santoz
9 May 2006, 23:24
Big Tobe has slotted thru 20 majors so far this season steering the Dees to a four and blot record.

Umm, I think you'll find it's 24 goals and a 5-0 record.

Kelvin 69
9 May 2006, 23:38

Ha Ha, he is a dead ringer :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

badds
10 May 2006, 00:05

well boys theres some terrific stuff being written ive just got bk from melb and was reading over the last few days threads.. yes chalkie i did say id move on but only after gutsy or gutsys have got the balls to have a crack at me face to face that post on sat was pathetic why u in hiding gutsy?
mildura irymple looks like being a great game although the loser shouldnt get to stressed its only very early... lets hope the league and robinvale can sort out there :D:D:D:D we dont need a team folding thats 4 sure..
yes nest it certainly is a big game 4 us out at dareton this weekend a loss spells real trouble.. belly and ben clay will both miss.. we need e real lift from some blokes its also a big game cause weve got our 10 year reunion on from when we beat imps in 96.. so im tipping our best game for the year so far on sat.. if we can hang with the pack until we get our tall players back im very confident we can cause some real trouble for sides in the second half of the year....

The Nest
10 May 2006, 10:10
The checkbook must be thin down Ouyen way this year if Vadjla is returning. How much are you boys paying him Delray, Nesty? Everyone knows he doesn't play for the love of the jumper. He shat all over Irymple when he left the footy club for coin then quit the cricket club. I bet you boys are welcoming him back with open arms though ... :thumbsd: :thumbsd:

He would of left around the time that you were at the swallows wouldnt he Santoz? He has trained, and the Reserves selectors will consider him this week maybe. There are still a lot of people around the club that havent forgiven yet.

Vera Hickey, I thought it was an old family portrait. That is a cracker!! I was almost in tears....

Ibis100
10 May 2006, 10:18
Quote=Ibis100]NESTY,

quote]

Ibis100 you have a slighlty valid point on Haas. It is a very tough job (picking team of the Year) as you would understand and easy to say he should get in. I would be interested to hear who's spot you think he should take?? Wouldn't be surprised if you dodged that one though.

No dodging here Skeeterman.

Conversation with TOTY Selector went a little like this.

Ibis - You said the players were selected in the positions they play, when did Cardew play in the forward pocket.

Selector - You have to put the two highest goal scoreres in the side, Belly at full forward and Cardew obviously in the pocket.

Ibis - Did you even look at the goal kicking list this year, Haase was clearly the second highest goal scorer for the year so that is a load of crap.

Selector - Yeah, but Haase is too old.

Ibis - Thats Bull:D:D:D:D and a cop out.

Happy with that Skeeterman, looks like the selectors don't take much notice of anything.

Lie no.1 - Players are selected in the position they play
Lie no.2 - The two leading goalkickers have to be included.

Skeeterman
10 May 2006, 14:42
Thanks Ibis, he was unlucky and I surely if his form continues being as good as it is he couldn't possibly be overlooked again.
However to miss out to Toby is probably fair enough last year as amount of goals kicked (second highest) doesn't mean you had a better year.
It seems selectors certainly have their favorites and it is very hard to change peoples opinions and perceptions of players.

Santoz
10 May 2006, 17:09
He would of left around the time that you were at the swallows wouldnt he Santoz? He has trained, and the Reserves selectors will consider him this week maybe. There are still a lot of people around the club that havent forgiven yet.

I know he left while I was at the Swallows but what are you getting at by mentioning "around the time that you were at the swallows wouldnt he Santoz?" :confused: I hope it's not what I think you're hinting at. But anyway, what's stopping him from being picked in the two's this week? The fact he'll be playing one's for example?

BTW Skeeterman, stop kissing Haase's backside! :D

You're not wrong about selectors having their favourites alright! Just take a gander at this years squad ... :)

Ibis100
10 May 2006, 17:26
However to miss out to Toby is probably fair enough last year as amount of goals kicked (second highest) doesn't mean you had a better year.
It seems selectors certainly have their favorites and it is very hard to change peoples opinions and perceptions of players.

I think he was very stiff to miss out from Toby and I am a big fan of Toby, he is a very very good footballer, but Haasey kicked 10 more goals than Toby and probably 50 more behinds, he was inaccurate in front of goals last year. Not just that, but the SELECTOR himself gave the criteria for Toby's selection and he was quite obviously wrong.

Yes, selectors do have their favourites and it is hard to sway them but when you have a cut and dry selection criteria, (1. Position played (Several players never played in the positions they were selected in last year) and 2. The top two goalkickers taking FF and a FP), how then hell can you put your favourites in. Just makes them (The selectors) look stupid I think.

Santoz, I believe you are referring to the Interleague squad. Tell me who in the squad does not deserve their spot. I understand their are several players who have not had a great season yet, but remember the squad is made up of 47 players and can be added or taken from. I am sure Tony Hickey won't take his favourites, he will take a team he believes will win the championships for the Sunraysia Football League. The SFL has taken a huge step forward with interleague this year, so having a go at them for the squad they have selected to TRAIN is unwarranted and unfair. There is three weeks to interleague and I am sure they will identify the players that should be added and subtracted from the list.

Tony Hickey is no DILL Satoz, (Not that you said that) but he is the one who has the final say on the final 28 to represent the League. People that aren't playing good footy, won't go.

Yaaablett
10 May 2006, 17:51
Santoz, I believe you are referring to the Interleague squad. Tell me who in the squad does not deserve their spot. I understand their are several players who have not had a great season yet, but remember the squad is made up of 47 players and can be added or taken from. I am sure Tony Hickey won't take his favourites, he will take a team he believes will win the championships for the Sunraysia Football League. The SFL has taken a huge step forward with interleague this year, so having a go at them for the squad they have selected to TRAIN is unwarranted and unfair. There is three weeks to interleague and I am sure they will identify the players that should be added and subtracted from the list.

Tony Hickey is no DILL Satoz, (Not that you said that) but he is the one who has the final say on the final 28 to represent the League. People that aren't playing good footy, won't go.

Don't entirely agree Ibis. I think form depends on who you are. If Jason Eagle kicks none between now and the Interleague carnival he would (quite rightly so) still be in the team. However if someone who is not established as a star in the league has a bad patch they would not make the team. Some people out there think coaches should treat everyone the same at the selection table- Not true - Doesn't happen. No matter how badly Gathercole, Anstey, Simms, and Cumming for example play at their respective clubs they won't (and should not) be dropped. I reckon Tony will pick a side based on who he reckons will win it. Form will only decide the last 6-10 players in the squad. The rest pick themselves. Remember that where it is likely to be played may be wet, heavy ground footy. I doubt whether Simms, Eagle, Hall, Cook, Fox, Cardew and Haase will all be in the final squad.

The Nest
10 May 2006, 18:18
I know he left while I was at the Swallows but what are you getting at by mentioning "around the time that you were at the swallows wouldnt he Santoz?" :confused: I hope it's not what I think you're hinting at. But anyway, what's stopping him from being picked in the two's this week? The fact he'll be playing one's for example?

BTW Skeeterman, stop kissing Haase's backside! :D

You're not wrong about selectors having their favourites alright! Just take a gander at this years squad ... :)

Sorry Santoz, didnt mean anything by that statement. Im not hinting that you left for the same reasons or anything, I think you have better morals than that. I can say with confidence that he wont be playing Seniors this week, but I wont rule out that he wont play at all this year. Injuries may have taken their toll at Henshilwood Oval but you still need to put some runs on the board before you make the grade.

I wouldnt say the selectors have favourites. Its more about picking guys that you know can play at the higher level. Sometimes you dont need to be in the Sunny Daily's best to be playing good footy. I do agree with your points though Noel Snr. Some players will still remain in the squad soley on the fact that they have the talent.

Yaaablett
10 May 2006, 18:22
Sorry Santoz, didnt mean anything by that statement. Im not hinting that you left for the same reasons or anything, I think you have better morals than that. I can say with confidence that he wont be playing Seniors this week, but I wont rule out that he wont play at all this year. Injuries may have taken their toll at Henshilwood Oval but you still need to put some runs on the board before you make the grade.

I wouldnt say the selectors have favourites. Its more about picking guys that you know can play at the higher level. Sometimes you dont need to be in the Sunny Daily's best to be playing good footy. I do agree with your points though Noel Snr. Some players will still remain in the squad soley on the fact that they have the talent.

Noel Snr. That might just stick.

mullethead
10 May 2006, 20:31
Noel Snr. That might just stick.Might stick, that was pure gold!!!!! and as for Tom playin footy at Irymple, how many times can a bloke leave and come back to a club????? Although in saying that clubs out there are offering up these big dollars and he is not the only guy that has chased the green back.....and Nest slowly getting better each week I see, cream rising to the top!!!!

Delray
10 May 2006, 20:31

Santoz No money will change hands between Vadjla and Irymple and in his defence he has not asked for a cent. He is currently injured and wont be starting for another 3 weeks. Santoz you cant live in the past the club has moved on and so should you.

mullethead
10 May 2006, 20:39
Santoz No money will change hands between Vadjla and Irymple and in his defence he has not asked for a cent. He is currently injured and wont be starting for another 3 weeks. Santoz you cant live in the past the club has moved on and so should you. Well said Delray!!!! But am still not convinced NO money will exchange hands at some stage this year....

Delray
10 May 2006, 20:51
Well said Delray!!!! But am still not convinced NO money will exchange hands at some stage this year....

Well mullethead looks like ill have to come clean. At Irymple all uncontracted Players are paid on a games played basis. So providing Tom does Play seniors and the team wins he will be entitled to some financial incentives. Tom is not a contracted player at IRYMPLE. And mullethead u can trust me on this issue.

Hillite
10 May 2006, 22:04
Who are some blokes who left a club chasing a quid and returned whether for a quid or not. Travis Byrne eventually got back to Mildura only to be zapped of to Balranald by Merv.
Riodan is back at South.
Any more?
Where is Adam Milne these days??

Santoz
10 May 2006, 23:09

What I said was a light hearted remark after what Skeeterman said but now you've made me really think about the issue, I will tell you who I think shouldn't be in the squad ...

Brad Congress - Maybe been in Merbein's best once this year and has hardly touched the ball. Named as a backman yet has played mostly up forward all year. Fair enough the ball might not get down to him that often but there's other blokes at Merbein who have a crack when the goings been tough and deserve a shot.

Jason Hunt - Also maybe been in Merbein's best once and hasn't nearly been as good as before his shocking injury. Has tried alright but is just not getting kicks. Co-coach Bath has rarely been out of the best and tried his heart out, why does Hunt get a go in the midfield list over him?

Nathan Lawson - Was in the best against Irymple but that's about it. If he has been injured lately then i'll take this back because when he's fit I know he can play. I played on him a few weeks back and for the entire day he barely seemed interested, even when it got close. His form of late and the fact there's plenty of others to play in his position makes me wonder why he's in there?

I know the selectors have a tough job but I personally don't see how these three can be named in the squad while others in better form from their respective clubs miss out. I'm fairly happy with the squad though but these three are my only real queries.

As for the SFL taking a huge step forward, we'll see in three weeks. It's up to the big name players selected in the squad to make an effort this year. It's no good if the people behind the scenes at the SFL work their backsides off, only to have players pull the pin at the last minute like years in the past!

Ibis100
11 May 2006, 01:44
Don't entirely agree Ibis. I think form depends on who you are. If Jason Eagle kicks none between now and the Interleague carnival he would (quite rightly so) still be in the team. However if someone who is not established as a star in the league has a bad patch they would not make the team. Some people out there think coaches should treat everyone the same at the selection table- Not true - Doesn't happen. No matter how badly Gathercole, Anstey, Simms, and Cumming for example play at their respective clubs they won't (and should not) be dropped. I reckon Tony will pick a side based on who he reckons will win it. Form will only decide the last 6-10 players in the squad. The rest pick themselves. Remember that where it is likely to be played may be wet, heavy ground footy. I doubt whether Simms, Eagle, Hall, Cook, Fox, Cardew and Haase will all be in the final squad.

I agree with you Yaablett, it does depend on who you are. Quite obviously there are players who we know can play at the higher levels like Eagle who spent last year playing VFL footy and nesty himself who has been injured, but these sort of players are known to perform at the higher levels and shouldn't be left out. I totally agree. But as both of us have said, Tony will pick a side based on who he thinks will win the carnival and I have no doubt there will be players like those you have mentioned that will miss out for team balance or form. Tony won't pick favourites, he will pick proven players, even if their form is a little suspect. My point is that some youngsters that are playing good footy, still aren't up to interleague level and the League has an obligation to put the best INTERLEAGUE team on the track which unfortunately doesn't always meen the most in form players. I can aslo tell you that Fox and Cook are very unlikely to travel. Fox due to work commitments and Cook cause his wife is due to have a baby in the next 5-6 weeks. Bad luck for Cooky cause he is playing great footy at the moment.

Ibis100
11 May 2006, 01:52
As for the SFL taking a huge step forward, we'll see in three weeks. It's up to the big name players selected in the squad to make an effort this year. It's no good if the people behind the scenes at the SFL work their backsides off, only to have players pull the pin at the last minute like years in the past!

Don't take any notice of that forwards, back and on ballers crap from the paper, Reece makes that stuff up himself, not in conjunction with the selectors. Just take the lot as the squad, I agree that many of the players haven't played in the position Reece named them in.

I agree with our assessment of the players you named but honestly I don't think any players from Merbein or Red Cliffs will make the actual squad. Trav Bath has been in the best every week and is stiff for not being included and should be above a couple of those blokes but again, I don't think there is a player in Merbein or Red Cliffs up to Interleague standard. Not even Faulkhead is playing good enough footy. Lee would have been a chance if he wasn't injured.

In answer the section I have quoted above, remember the league has taken the huge step of stating they WILL suspend players who do not make themselves available for unsatisfactory reasons. I know the South boys back the interleague game as they all want to play at the highest level they possibly can. We had 11 Players last year in the U18 and Senior Squads and this year we have 12 of my senior players and 2 U18 players in the U18 and Senior Squads. This shows that south really are right behind the Interleague concept. I just hope that the other clubs are as forthcoming.

badds
11 May 2006, 02:22

Don't take any notice of that forwards, back and on ballers crap from the paper, Reece makes that stuff up himself, not in conjunction with the selectors. Just take the lot as the squad, I agree that many of the players haven't played in the position Reece named them in.

I agree with our assessment of the players you named but honestly I don't think any players from Merbein or Red Cliffs will make the actual squad. Trav Bath has been in the best every week and is stiff for not being included and should be above a couple of those blokes but again, I don't think there is a player in Merbein or Red Cliffs up to Interleague standard. Not even Faulkhead is playing good enough footy. Lee would have been a chance if he wasn't injured.

In answer the section I have quoted above, remember the league has taken the huge step of stating they WILL suspend players who do not make themselves available for unsatisfactory reasons. I know the South boys back the interleague game as they all want to play at the highest level they possibly can. We had 11 Players last year in the U18 and Senior Squads and this year we have 12 of my senior players and 2 U18 players in the U18 and Senior Squads. This shows that south really are right behind the Interleague concept. I just hope that the other clubs are as forthcoming.

trav bath gets named second or first best every week because his old man puts him there regardless of how he has played this used to happen in the juniors at wentworth.. in round one against wenty he had 7-8 kicked on him and hardly touched it and i looked in the paper on monday and he was second best forget him....
i agree lawsons form aint good enough neither is calvis yet with the concept the way it is we need speed thats why these two are a chance to play..........

chalkie
11 May 2006, 09:54
[quote=Ibis100]

trav bath gets named second or first best every week because his old man puts him there regardless of how he has played this used to happen in the juniors at wentworth.. in round one against wenty he had 7-8 kicked on him and hardly touched it and i looked in the paper on monday and he was second best forget him....
i agree lawsons form aint good enough neither is calvis yet with the concept the way it is we need speed thats why these two are a chance to play..........

Badds, if you're looking to ensure that there is some leg speed in the team, can I suggest that the selectors have a look at Leyland (Squid Jnr) Brougham at South. He has regularly been in souths best 3 players over the last 3 weeks. The kid has a big future in the league and will become a regular interleague player.

Yaaablett
11 May 2006, 17:44
[quote=Ibis100]

Surely he didnt gets votes off you Badds

badds
11 May 2006, 18:25
[quote=badds]

Surely he didnt gets votes off you Badds

nah not of me yabs... his old man got caught though changing a few will leave it at that.. will take that on board chalkie, will ask hick what he thinks..

becktus
12 May 2006, 14:22
Here's something to think about, if robinvale do fold, which would be unfortunate, and i don't wish it upon any1. would any1 consider gol gol being included in the sfl? they have plenty of talent in their side, and would be more competitive than a few of the senior sides around at the moment.

gofootygo
12 May 2006, 14:45
Who are some blokes who left a club chasing a quid and returned whether for a quid or not. Travis Byrne eventually got back to Mildura only to be zapped of to Balranald by Merv.
Riodan is back at South.
Any more?
Where is Adam Milne these days??
adam milme was playing for balranald last year in the cmfl, by far is he worst player in football history,over paid over weight, u name it, :D:D:D:D bloke to only thing going for him he can throw a punch and take one, was hired for a hit man, no doubt n he also struggled to pull that off as he was sent of probally once a week and then bal were left with 17 players and would get beaten often,lost alot of games due to big tough d i c k head milme

Ibis100
12 May 2006, 15:34
adam milme was playing for balranald last year in the cmfl, by far is he worst player in football history,over paid over weight, u name it, :D:D:D:D bloke to only thing going for him he can throw a punch and take one, was hired for a hit man, no doubt n he also struggled to pull that off as he was sent of probally once a week and then bal were left with 17 players and would get beaten often,lost alot of games due to big tough d i c k head milme

1. His last name is MILNE, not Milme you moron.
2. Balranald didn't lose too many games, they played in but they lost the Grand Final.
3. Just Confirmed on the phone by another Balranald player they lost a total of 4 or 5 games and finished second on the ladder. (Not sure what often losing means in your language but 4 or 5 for a year is pretty good in my books.
4. I have passed this info on to Adam, I hope he doesn't know you cause he didn't appreciate your comments too much.
5. If he was hired as a hitman and was sent off every week, that to me would mean he has done his job as requested in the terms of his contract.
6. Milne is a top bloke, you should really get to know people before you pass comment on them. Suffers a small case of white line fever, but one of the most genuine blokes off the ground I have known and anyone who knows Milney will agree.

7. And most importantly, Good luck if he finds you. You just might be on the end of one of those punches you talked about.

mullethead
12 May 2006, 16:04
Here's something to think about, if robinvale do fold, which would be unfortunate, and i don't wish it upon any1. would any1 consider gol gol being included in the sfl? they have plenty of talent in their side, and would be more competitive than a few of the senior sides around at the moment.They dont have the juniour structure or numbers to field 3 sides.....No way they would push any of the top 5 sides in town.....I know they have a lot of blokes who have played a lot of footy in town but many of them are past it and thats why they play there, obviously Vandenberg is an exception to this rule

badds
12 May 2006, 17:45
Here's something to think about, if robinvale do fold, which would be unfortunate, and i don't wish it upon any1. would any1 consider gol gol being included in the sfl? they have plenty of talent in their side, and would be more competitive than a few of the senior sides around at the moment.

please becktus more than competitive u must be joking with merbein and red cliffs maybe but thats it every other side would smash them...

Hillite
12 May 2006, 18:08
I reckon both Red Cliffs and Merbein would both knock them off. Most too old, too slow, too busy to make it in the SFL. South and Irymple Ressies and maybe Imps (with a full list) would knock them too.

Santoz
12 May 2006, 18:12
2. Balranald didn't lose too many games, they played in but they lost the Grand Final.
3. Just Confirmed on the phone by another Balranald player they lost a total of 4 or 5 games and finished second on the ladder. (Not sure what often losing means in your language but 4 or 5 for a year is pretty good in my books.
4. I have passed this info on to Adam, I hope he doesn't know you cause he didn't appreciate your comments too much.
5. If he was hired as a hitman and was sent off every week, that to me would mean he has done his job as requested in the terms of his contract.
6. Milne is a top bloke, you should really get to know people before you pass comment on them. Suffers a small case of white line fever, but one of the most genuine blokes off the ground I have known and anyone who knows Milney will agree.

7. And most importantly, Good luck if he finds you. You just might be on the end of one of those punches you talked about.

Hahahahaha, nice one Ibis. I agree that Milne does have a case of the white line fever but he is always approachable after the game for a beer and is a good bloke. You might wanna lay low for a while gofootygo ...

:D:D:D:D poor effort from Irymple for not naming a team in todays paper may I add. Are clubs fined for not getting their teams in to the paper on time? If not they should be ...:thumbsu:

Hillite
12 May 2006, 18:15
Didn't Imps miss the 7.30 deadline last week.

Delray
12 May 2006, 20:03
:D:D:D:D poor effort from Irymple for not naming a team in todays paper may I add. Are clubs fined for not getting their teams in to the paper on time? If not they should be ...:thumbsu:[/quote]

Santoz Please jump off your high horse mate. Its not the clubs fault all sides have to sent through before they are picked. Not really practical in my book but i know due to the printing problems it cant be helped. Unlike Mildura most teams train and select there sides on thursday night not Wednesday. Dont worry Santoz u will see the Irymple side 4 key players down in a big way a saturday mate.

Santoz
12 May 2006, 20:27
Santoz Please jump off your high horse mate. Its not the clubs fault all sides have to sent through before they are picked. Not really practical in my book but i know due to the printing problems it cant be helped. Unlike Mildura most teams train and select there sides on thursday night not Wednesday. Dont worry Santoz u will see the Irymple side 4 key players down in a big way a saturday mate.

Mate, it would be nice to be able to look at a side in the paper on Friday because the game has been pumped up so much, even if the side doesn't line up that way or with a few players swapped on game day.

High horse? I dunno where you've pulled that from but ok, whatever. You boys need knocking off your perch too don't forget. I'll get there bright and early to cheer the boys on, should be a hard fought contest.

sporny
12 May 2006, 22:31
Vera you tossa, I don't know where you got that crap from, he has been as good off the field as on.
You must be a Mildura follower with a name like Vera

gofootygo
13 May 2006, 00:14

yeh good work w a n k e r, but i have actually meet milne and yes i will admitt yeah not a bad bloke off the ground thas is true, probally shouldn't of wrote what i worte, but in terms o been a :D:D:D:D player, no doubting that, a little bit of white line fever, i dont think so, a big case, i know for a fact that bal were more than unhappy with him last year, i am actually one of milnes victims of last year mate. have heard alot of bad things about him from this league not very liked man. weather that is his on or off feild attidude or not. sorry if i offended you or adam,but he is no football player, and i stand by that.

johno_07
13 May 2006, 00:26

I agree Milne has a screw loose. If i were a coach i wouldn't want him in my side, to unpredictable, not rational and destructive to both teams! I seen him one time trying to bash down Mildura's room door at half time-never seen anything like it. Then he buys everyone a drink after the game......

Ibis100
13 May 2006, 09:56
yeh good work w a n k e r, but i have actually meet milne and yes i will admitt yeah not a bad bloke off the ground thas is true, probally shouldn't of wrote what i worte, but in terms o been a sh it player, no doubting that, a little bit of white line fever, i dont think so, a big case, i know for a fact that bal were more than unhappy with him last year, i am actually one of milnes victims of last year mate. have heard alot of bad things about him from this league not very liked man. weather that is his on or off feild attidude or not. sorry if i offended you or adam,but he is no football player, and i stand by that.

You actually called him a sh it bloke and a tough di c k he ad. Thats not saying he was a :D:D:D:D footballer.

As a past coach of Adam I will say that he could be difficult to handle, but if managed correctly he can be a very valuable member to the team. He was playing very good footy in the late 90's and was a member of the sunraysia interleague team so he can play a bit. I remember the Mildura Game and I also remember a day in Wentworth that I had to physically drag him into the rooms at half time because he wanted to go inside the Wentworth Rooms, but I understood why he did and if someone had said to me what they did to him, I would have tried to as well.

He is one of the funniest blokes you could meet and his enthusiasm on the training track is infectious and makes training enjoyable for everyone there.

The thing is, everyone knows how he will react and some coaches use that incorrectly.

deano1
13 May 2006, 11:21
Anstey adds to Mildura stocks
13 May 2006 Herald Sun
David Hastie

MILDURA and Irymple football clubs square off today at No. 1 Oval in a top-of-the-table clash of the Sunraysia League senior division.

Both sides are yet to drop a game after the first five rounds and only 1 per cent separates them.
Mildura playing-coach Ryan O'Callaghan is expecting a fierce contest when the teams do battle.
"Both sides are five-zip at the moment so it's a pretty big game," O'Callaghan said.
"The winner will go one game clear at the top of the ladder so it's important. Very important."
The talented onballer said the club had benefited from the addition of several recruits this season including former Carlton player Jacob Anstey.
Anstey, who was recruited by Carlton from Tuggeranong ACT, played 16 senior games as a small forward with the Blues between 1995-97.
He has kicked eight goals for Mildura this season.
"Jake's been one of our recruits and he's been really good," O'Callaghan said.
Full-forward Toby Cardew, who has kicked 24 goals this season, along with youngsters Daniel Carmichael and Ash Spencer, have also been valuable contributors this season.
But O'Callaghan said the most pleasing aspect of his side's flying start was that everyone was contributing.
"The best part about the season so far is the way we've carried the load," he said.
"Everyone's been pulling their weight."
Despite missing a coveted finals berth last season, Mildura has benefited from its decision to blood several younger players last season.
"We introduced a lot of young kids into our side last year and they've really come on well," he said. "We probably added three really good quality players to our side so they've obviously helped out a fair bit and we've just sort of continued on with our improvement from last year."
After finishing outside the top four last year O'Callaghan said the team would treat today's clash as a mini-final.
Irymple will also be keen to avenge the disappointment of last season after losing the grand final to Imperials by one point and a big crowd is expected today.
"With both sides being undefeated there should be a lot of interest in the game," O'Callaghan said. "It's early in the year and we're playing one of last year's finalists so I think the boys will be pretty keen to do well." Activities on the day will include a jumping castle for the kids, an Auskick match at halftime and afternoon refreshments available in a marquee for Mothers Day.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,19113381%255E19897,00.html

Hillite
13 May 2006, 18:46
A good crowd at the irymple v Mildura game . But a dissapointing performance by Mildura who started the game without Hosking.
The dees were not inthe hunt all day and if the swallows had of kicked straight the game would have been over at quarter time.
I'd pencil a great final series for the irymple considering they await the return of Jess, Morris, Carn and Curran plus a few other lesser lights tha tplayed in the ones most of last season In fact I'd pencil them in for flags in all grades

Uncanny
14 May 2006, 13:33
looks like the wenty roos are back in town after a great team win yesterday.

oorab
15 May 2006, 08:23
looks like the wenty roos are back in town after a great team win yesterday.
I don't think so uncanny, I will admit it was a good win. but the roos just arn'y up to the standard of the top 2 teams, on the weekend they shouldn't have won by 4 points it should have been more like 10 goals. i believe that can't consider themselves a contender for the flag!!!!!!

oorab
15 May 2006, 11:04
Once again Irymple are getting the premiership shirts made up in May, i have never seen any team win a premiership in the Home and away season in any league! You would have thought they would have learnt from last year, alot of things can happen between now and that last day in september that can influence what happens on that day!!!!!
Like the old saying "don't count your chickens before they hatch!"

The Nest
15 May 2006, 11:19
Once again Irymple are getting the premiership shirts made up in May, i have never seen any team win a premiership in the Home and away season in any league! You would have thought they would have learnt from last year, alot of things can happen between now and that last day in september that can influence what happens on that day!!!!!
Like the old saying "don't count your chickens before they hatch!"

C'mon Oorab, we all know your boys will be thereabouts come September. I can tell you that the players arent getting ahead of themselves, we have been playing down all the hype. As you have stated we know too well that the Home & Away games dont count come finals time. Its easy to see that there are 5 teams that have broken away and anyone can beat anyone on their day. I wouldnt be counting out Robinvale either, if they get their :D:D:D:D together off the field they could do some damage.

If Imps were undefeated after 6 games with the injuries you guys have had wouldnt you be happy? To be honest we might need to start getting shirts made up to say "We made it to the Grand Final vs Imperials" even if you dont win because you blokes just keep winning the damn things.

oorab
15 May 2006, 11:47
dunno bout us being their come this september though, the loss on the weekend will hurt us and make things hard, with the run home we've got, not going to be easy!!!!

badds
15 May 2006, 12:00
I don't think so uncanny, I will admit it was a good win. but the roos just arn'y up to the standard of the top 2 teams, on the weekend they shouldn't have won by 4 points it should have been more like 10 goals. i believe that can't can't consider themselves a contender for the flag!!!!!!

time will tell oorab long way to go yet mate, our win on the weekend will givethem some real confidence going forward.. we should have won by alot more yes but with the amount of times we went inside 50 and not having belly or ben clay there to still get the win was a terrific effort... with belly being back this week or the next i can tell you sides wont want to be playing us we are well and truly on the up.....
irymple are clearly the side to beat as i see there depth as there real strength as they still win even with 4-5 of there best side out no other side in the comp can afford to have 4-5 of there best out
so from here on in its up to th rest of the sides to work out a way to beat irymple......

oorab
15 May 2006, 13:15
time will tell oorab long way to go yet mate, our win on the weekend will givethem some real confidence going forward.. we should have won by alot more yes but with the amount of times we went inside 50 and not having belly or ben clay there to still get the win was a terrific effort... with belly being back this week or the next i can tell you sides wont want to be playing us we are well and truly on the up.....
irymple are clearly the side to beat as i see there depth as there real strength as they still win even with 4-5 of there best side out no other side in the comp can afford to have 4-5 of there best out
so from here on in its up to th rest of the sides to work out a way to beat irymple......
I agree that irymple are the team to beat, they are a much better side then they were last year and they were the best team in the league last year, but i believe the only reason we beat them in the GF was because they got too far ahead of themselves!
And I just don't see wenty as a threat for the flag, at the same time i don't see us as a threat either, but stranger things have happened and wenty could make me eat my own words!

Delray
15 May 2006, 18:21
Oorab im not to sure were you get your information from but i know for a fact that the players at Irymple are not gloating at all. As for hillite comments im not even sure if he is an Irymple bloke. And if my memory serves me correctly Imps did go directly to last years G&F and started favorites in my book. Yous boys had an amazing team so i wouldnt say u went in as under dogs and toppled a team that thought they were to good.

Hillite
15 May 2006, 18:37
Delray I'm not an Irymple man just a recent (not this year) arrival to your fine city. I've been an keen supporter of country footy for a long time. My last post was simply my thoughts after watching a couple of irymple games and looking at their depth and performance. I'm not always right of course.

Santoz
15 May 2006, 22:37
Oorab im not to sure were you get your information from but i know for a fact that the players at Irymple are not gloating at all. As for hillite comments im not even sure if he is an Irymple bloke. And if my memory serves me correctly Imps did go directly to last years G&F and started favorites in my book. Yous boys had an amazing team so i wouldnt say u went in as under dogs and toppled a team that thought they were to good.

C'mon Delray, I spotted you strutting around the shoe shop on Sunday with a grin from ear to ear. Thank christ you blokes weren't accurate, especially in the first quarter. I guess you can afford to be inaccurate when you're winning every contest on the ground. I'm very dissapointed in the way we played on the weekend. Enough said on that.

It seems there's gunna be few hard calls to be made come finals time Nesty. A few of those kids can play and they might be the ones to miss out when blokes come back in. Do you dread having to make those calls already or will you put it out of your mind until the time comes?

The Nest
16 May 2006, 12:39
C'mon Delray, I spotted you strutting around the shoe shop on Sunday with a grin from ear to ear. Thank christ you blokes weren't accurate, especially in the first quarter. I guess you can afford to be inaccurate when you're winning every contest on the ground. I'm very dissapointed in the way we played on the weekend. Enough said on that.

It seems there's gunna be few hard calls to be made come finals time Nesty. A few of those kids can play and they might be the ones to miss out when blokes come back in. Do you dread having to make those calls already or will you put it out of your mind until the time comes?

I think Delray may have been strutting because of his fortunes with the 'ladies' the previous night.

There will be some hard calls, but all you can do is pick the best side available each week, you cant always please everyone. Part of the job i guess. If we do get a full squad on the park it will create a dynamite reserves side either way. I think some of our injured blokes might find themselves coming back through the two's.

Nifty78
16 May 2006, 13:05
Just thought I would post the 1000th Post. Nice milestone boys. Would be a near unbeatable ressies side Nest, when you have a full side on the Park.