View Full Version : Sunraysia Football league
Ibis100
18 Jul 2006, 14:18
You represented the Doutta Stars in the EDFL?
I wouldn't think so JexJex. Not sure who he is, but it aint Gathers. I am guessing someone who is retired from footy now.
Badds, you seem to have it for me lately. First you claim I am Gutsy now you state on Radio that I will be sacked at end of year. Now you question me about something I stated publicly at the start of the year.
yes, if south don't make finals I will consider a failed year. We have a list that could go all the way and I stated IN THE PAPER what my thoughts were on the matter.
I personally think if we defeat Mildura this weekend we will make the finals, if not, it will be very difficult, but not out of the question. 3 out of 5 should get us in.
Sun Tzu
18 Jul 2006, 14:18
Didnt nominate a team however have played against the Doutta Stars
You represented the Doutta Stars in the EDFL?
I wouldn't think so JexJex. Not sure who he is, but it aint Gathers. I am guessing someone who is retired from footy now.
Badds, you seem to have it for me lately. First you claim I am Gutsy now you state on Radio that I will be sacked at end of year. Now you question me about something I stated publicly at the start of the year.
yes, if south don't make finals I will consider a failed year. We have a list that could go all the way and I stated IN THE PAPER what my thoughts were on the matter.
I personally think if we defeat Mildura this weekend we will make the finals, if not, it will be very difficult, but not out of the question. 3 out of 5 should get us in.
ibis i dont know who has fed u that rubbish but i never said on radio that you would be sacked, we had a segment which coach would be under the pump at seasons end i said keenan from merbein and patty said if south dont make finals that you will be... so get you facts rite there b4 you accuse me of that... and as for the gutsy thing half mildura thinks it was you... you yourself said last week that i had it in for you an accused me of making that joint coach rumour about you and again you were wrong cause it wasnt about you... so i dont have it in for you im wary of the fact that you were gutsy cause a hell of alot of people think it was you.. thats all.....
ECHUCABOY
18 Jul 2006, 14:33
Well as a matter of a fact Yaaablet, I do watch the game but have no allegiances to any particular side, I always prefer to go and get the ball myself, at least that way I know that the disposal will be good, I don't mind in and under styles, this is why I have taken a liking to Spivey, and no Badds he is not a product of my loins. my resume is as follows
Represented my region on six occassions
Had a run with the Amateurs
Played in the EDFL
Trained with Richmond:thumbsu:
Here's my resume'
Pooed my pants three times this year.
headbutted a cow
Milked a bull
Drank my own pee
As if you would actually put on this forum what you have done on a football field. Your a tool buddy, pretty sure nobody cares.
On another note, I feel extremley sorry for you Mildura boys. I had the pleasure of catching up with Larry Anstey last weekend, i doubt there is a biger serial pest on this earth, Peter Hore is nothing compared to this man.
Ibis100
18 Jul 2006, 14:50
ibis i dont know who has fed u that rubbish but i never said on radio that you would be sacked, we had a segment which coach would be under the pump at seasons end i said keenan from merbein and patty said if south dont make finals that you will be... so get you facts rite there b4 you accuse me of that... and as for the gutsy thing half mildura thinks it was you... you yourself said last week that i had it in for you an accused me of making that joint coach rumour about you and again you were wrong cause it wasnt about you... so i dont have it in for you im wary of the fact that you were gutsy cause a hell of alot of people think it was you.. thats all.....
Just goes to show doesn't badds that you can't believe everything you hear, even when half the people who approached me on the weekend said it was you. So perhaps we can both get our facts right before accusations are thrown about. I am wary of hte fact that you said I would get sacked at end of season if South didn't make finals cause a hell of alot of people on the weekend siad they heard you say it.
Sun Tzu
18 Jul 2006, 14:50
Quite a resume Boy, but you left out what you did with the sheep and your gumboots, could explain the scratch marks on your shin, and the correct pronunciation is "you're as in you are, not your which is talking about my tool". Obviously wasted on a trogladite like yourself:cool:
Here's my resume'
headbutted a cow
Milked a bull
Drank my own pee
As if you would actually put on this forum what you have done on a football field. Your a tool buddy, pretty sure nobody cares.
On another note, I feel extremley sorry for you Mildura boys. I had the pleasure of catching up with Larry Anstey last weekend, i doubt there is a biger serial pest on this earth, Peter Hore is nothing compared to this man.
Sun Tzu
18 Jul 2006, 14:54
Perhaps a bit of jealously or envy there, are you an underachiever are you???:o
Here's my resume'
headbutted a cow
Milked a bull
Drank my own pee
[/b]
Just goes to show doesn't badds that you can't believe everything you hear, even when half the people who approached me on the weekend said it was you. So perhaps we can both get our facts right before accusations are thrown about. I am wary of hte fact that you said I would get sacked at end of season if South didn't make finals cause a hell of alot of people on the weekend siad they heard you say it.
feel free to go into the radio station and ask kat for the recordings of that hour you can have a listen for yourself.....
Ibis100
18 Jul 2006, 15:13
feel free to go into the radio station and ask kat for the recordings of that hour you can have a listen for yourself.....
I think you missed my point badds. I will take your word for it that it was said by Pat and honestly it doesn't bother me in the slightest. People are entitled to thier opinion mate. If they weren't we wouldn't be living in a democracy would we. As I stated once before, if the club makes the decision to employ another coach then they are doing what they see as best for the team. I don't make excuses for our performances, I take full responsibility as coach. If that means I don't get reappointed then so be it.
Yaaablett
18 Jul 2006, 15:24
Anyone noticed that Nakriel and Sun Tzu are the only ones that have the quotes below their post? Similar writing styles too. Both carry on about in and under players and hard ball gets. Both love South and Spives. Gotta be you Nakkers?
Nakriel
18 Jul 2006, 15:30
Very perceptive Yaabs, but i hate to disappoint you but no i'm not Sun Tzu, had never heard of him till he showed up. Didnt even know about the book, thought it was a reference to Kostya, so you playing saturday or are the legs getting to old:D
Anyone noticed that Nakriel and Sun Tzu are the only ones that have the quotes below their post? Similar writing styles too. Both carry on about in and under players and hard ball gets. Is it you Nakkers?
Nakriel
18 Jul 2006, 15:37
And Yaabs are we two the only people on this forum who like the hard olayers, I think not and the quotes that I put under my posts are to show my mood at the time of writing, I am just a dumb old public servant
Anyone noticed that Nakriel and Sun Tzu are the only ones that have the quotes below their post? Similar writing styles too. Both carry on about in and under players and hard ball gets. Both love South and Spives. Gotta be you Nakkers?
Nakriel
18 Jul 2006, 15:39
I think the same situation occurred when Badds thought that Ibis had a second identity he got it wrong as well, I like Spives because I have known him for a long time, that long ago his nose was still straight:D
Ibis100
18 Jul 2006, 15:42
And Yaabs are we two the only people on this forum who like the hard olayers, I think not and the quotes that I put under my posts are to show my mood at the time of writing, I am just a dumb old public servant
Not for much longer Nakkers.
Ibis100
18 Jul 2006, 15:44
I think the same situation occurred when Badds thought that Ibis had a second identity he got it wrong as well, I like Spives because I have known him for a long time, that long ago his nose was still straight:D
Well straighter than it is now. I think you had a pet dinosaur when I first met you it was that long ago.
Nakriel
18 Jul 2006, 15:46
Yes you are right about that mate my final game is coming up and I used to call him Dino:D
Well straighter than it is now. I think you had a pet dinosaur when I first met you it was that long ago.
Yaaablett
18 Jul 2006, 16:00
Very perceptive Yaabs, but i hate to disappoint you but no i'm not Sun Tzu, had never heard of him till he showed up. Didnt even know about the book, thought it was a reference to Kostya, so you playing saturday or are the legs getting to old:D
I'll take your word for it. I thought it was fair detective work though! Should be a good game this week. for the loser its adds some pressure to make it. Ibis, i would like you to wash the shop windows at 2.30 this Saturday. Should take 2 hours if you do it properly. A bet is a bet and this is the only time available.:thumbsu:
Nakriel
18 Jul 2006, 16:04
Perhaps he could take Gathers, Haasie, Jmac Shagga and a few others to give him a hand Yaabs:thumbsu:
I'll take your word for it. I thought it was fair detective work though! Should be a good game this week. for the loser its adds some pressure to make it. Ibis, i would like you to wash the shop windows at 2.30 this Saturday. Should take 2 hours if you do it properly. A bet is a bet and this is the only time available.:thumbsu:
Yaaablett
18 Jul 2006, 16:27
Perhaps he could take Gathers, Haasie, Jmac Shagga and a few others to give him a hand Yaabs:thumbsu:
That would be nice.
Nakriel
18 Jul 2006, 16:31
Perhaps a working bee for the senior trip away and we will field our thirds give you a sniff of a chance:D
That would be nice.
Nakriel
18 Jul 2006, 16:40
It was fair detective work mate perhaps missed your vocation, I hear on the grapevine there will be a spot to fill coming up soon. Pretty big shoes to fill though:D
ECHUCABOY
18 Jul 2006, 17:55
Quite a resume Boy, but you left out what you did with the sheep and your gumboots, could explain the scratch marks on your shin, and the correct pronunciation is "you're as in you are, not your which is talking about my tool". Obviously wasted on a trogladite like yourself:cool:
You obviously are incapable of a descent comeback, resorting to grammar use is pretty imaginative........;)
And yes I am very envious of you, what kind of superstar has to tell everyone his achievements! If you think your that good surely you would just share your name with us BigFooty subscribers and we would have known who you were straight away, oh great one!
Your football resume' doesn't automatically mean that you know what you are talking about, it doesn't give you the kind of status you are obviously after.
And mate Please don't use big words I am incompatible with them.
Peter Mac
18 Jul 2006, 18:46
I think you missed my point badds. I will take your word for it that it was said by Pat and honestly it doesn't bother me in the slightest. People are entitled to thier opinion mate. If they weren't we wouldn't be living in a democracy would we. As I stated once before, if the club makes the decision to employ another coach then they are doing what they see as best for the team. I don't make excuses for our performances, I take full responsibility as coach. If that means I don't get reappointed then so be it.
Ibis, I too heard this conversation go down on the radio on Saturday morning. I got the impression that the boys were making the point that you would be under pressure from the media and within if you missed out on the top 4. There is still a long way to go before the final two spots are locked up.
A win this weekend will make everyone stand up and take notice!
Didnt nominate a team however have played against the Doutta Stars
Even I can claim that.
Pronunciation is correct, its the spelling that is incorrect, but nicely picked up.
PUBLIC SERVANT? There was a time a man could find himself upended for insinuating that.
I expect an invitation to the beginning of the rest of your life.
Sun Tzu
18 Jul 2006, 21:08
should I be flattered by being compared to Nakkers or Nakriel I dont think so, I will say what I want on this forum and if I offend tough S**t, I will only speak what I beleive in
Nakriel
18 Jul 2006, 21:33
I wait with baited breath obviously struck a sweet spot Gusty, or is it a large hot wind??;)
PUBLIC SERVANT? There was a time a man could find himself upended for insinuating that.
Expect an invitation to the beginning of the rest of your life.
Well as a matter of a fact Yaaablet, I do watch the game but have no allegiances to any particular side, I always prefer to go and get the ball myself, at least that way I know that the disposal will be good, I don't mind in and under styles, this is why I have taken a liking to Spivey, and no Badds he is not a product of my loins.
Here is an idea Yaaablet
I beleive that you and south are playing this weekend
What if you get someone from your side and I will arrange someone from South and we will tally the hardball gets from the opposing coaches????????
What do you think?????????
No allegiances ??? Sure, I believe that. You obviously know people at South who take stats. I know that doesn't prove you have an allegiance with South but lets take a look at a few of the other things you have stated in this forum ...
Red Cliffs won't make it, South will, so the others Mildura and Wenty will decide between them who the final four will be made up of.
South should retain the services of Spivey because he doesnt just talk the talk he walks the walk
Leadership is a matter of intelligence,trustworthiness.humaneness.courage and sterness and Ibis 4 out of 5 aint that bad
Hrmm. You believe they're a certainty to make the four and can't speak highly enough of coach Spivey. Is there an allegiance there or not Sunny? C'mon, no more fibbing now ...
No allegiances ??? Sure, I believe that. You obviously know people at South who take stats. I know that doesn't prove you have an allegiance with South but lets take a look at a few of the other things you have stated in this forum ...
Hrmm. You believe they're a certainty to make the four and can't speak highly enough of coach Spivey. Is there an allegiance there or not Sunny? C'mon, no more fibbing now ...
You should apply for work in investigations young fella.
He states he has a liking for Spivey's playing style and has an awareness of some of his other capabilities.
He suggests gaining the assistance of someone from South to obtain stats on an opposition player and you assume he means the team stats man and therefore a close tie to the club.
Any one watching the game could do what he suggests even the ladies in the kiosk. Their commitment to onground observation would be minimal from all accounts.
You are starting to sound like some one in pain from a kidney shot...bleeding profusely.
Yaaablett
19 Jul 2006, 10:33
should I be flattered by being compared to Nakkers or Nakriel I dont think so, I will say what I want on this forum and if I offend tough S**t, I will only speak what I beleive in
You can offend all you like if it's based on fact. Tough words from an anonomous poster.
very interesting santoz very interesting perhaps sunny and gutsy are related maybe ibis to......
Yaaablett
19 Jul 2006, 11:59
Enough of all this. Footy talk time. Big games Rob v Roos and Mild v South. Who's gunna win, why and what match ups will we see.
Mine- Roos by 20 points. Smallish ground might close up the Eagles space. Also, may not be able to restrict Bell as Smith is the best match up but they like him out at CHB. Roos will win if hard and accountable in midfield. Simple as that. Cameron v Zappia, A Rigby v Hooker, Johns v Miller, Matthews v O'Conner, B Clay v Smith, Bell v Ficcarra, J Clay v Anson.
Other one if we play like we did v Irymple we have every chance.
You should apply for work in investigations young fella.
Are you close to someone who works in that field ??? :D
Rabbito
19 Jul 2006, 12:47
Enough of all this. Footy talk time. Big games Rob v Roos and Mild v South. Who's gunna win, why and what match ups will we see.
Mine- Roos by 20 points. Smallish ground might close up the Eagles space. Also, may not be able to restrict Bell as Smith is the best match up but they like him out at CHB. Roos will win if hard and accountable in midfield. Simple as that. Cameron v Zappia, A Rigby v Hooker, Johns v Miller, Matthews v O'Conner, B Clay v Smith, Bell v Ficcarra, J Clay v Anson.
Other one if we play like we did v Irymple we have every chance.
Wow Flogger!! You and badds should look at coaching the Roos next year! You can hardly get a word out about your mobbs game this week.
very interesting santoz very interesting perhaps sunny and gutsy are related maybe ibis to......
I dunno about that, draw your own conclusions there. I just thought I'd make mention that he seemed very South orientated for someone who has no allegiance to an SFL club. Anyhow ...
Mildura v South Mildura No 1 Oval
Merbein v Imperials Merbein
Red Cliffs vIrymple Red Cliffs
Wentworth v Robinvale FNC Dareton http://sunraysiafl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/space.gif
Mildura because: Played well last match against Irymple although South are on a roll at the moment knocking off Imps, Wenty and Merbein in a quagmire. Both sides look to be improving from mid season slumps. Shutting down Haase will help the Dees no end, same said for Cardew regarding South. Whichever midfield wins the ball will probably win the game. Mildura by 10 points.
Imperials because: A lot of people have written Imps off after dropping 4 on the trot but they should easily account for Merbein at Kenny Park. Not much been said by the Green & White faithfull lately but this could just be the game that gets them back into some form. Don't discount them for finals action. Imps by 12 goals.
Irymple because: They have got more wins than anyone else in the comp. Simple as that. Reddy came close last time, won't happen this time. Watch for Eagle to kick 10. Irymple by 15 goals.
Robinvale because: They're on a roll, to the tune of 8 in a row. They have Falvo and Zappia in sparkling form and a forward line that is getting the score on the board. Wentworth's midfield have their work cut out for them. Interesting to see who Cumming lines up on. Will he play on a Falvo/Zappia at some stage and push forward to make them accountable going the other way? If Wenty can get the ball to Bell enough times he might just kick them a score to win it, if not, they'll struggle. Eagles by 5 goals.
Wow Flogger!! You and badds should look at coaching the Roos next year! You can hardly get a word out about your mobbs game this week.
I did a search on your posts Rabbito. Out of the 10 posts you've put out, 9 are either about Alvey or Connick. Maybe you could be their assistant coach at Wentworth next year because you seem to have a fascination with them ...
Yaaablett
19 Jul 2006, 15:21
Just dont want to give anything away Warren.
Rabbito
19 Jul 2006, 15:52
Very sharp! with the Warren
Hillite
19 Jul 2006, 16:10
Will Irymple feel obliged to supply the general public with any team selections this week.
With a few to come in the task may be beyond them.
Yaaablett
19 Jul 2006, 16:13
Very sharp! with the Warren
Had to be done didn't it? Anyway Wozz, will Ben Clay play this week? What about Grub and Oughy?
Rabbito
19 Jul 2006, 16:30
wouldn't have a clue!
I think you're fishing in the wrong hole!
Yaaablett
19 Jul 2006, 16:41
wouldn't have a clue!
I think you're fishing in the wrong hole!
Not a Roos man Woz? Thats all you've talked about.
Rabbito
19 Jul 2006, 16:56
not committed, just keep an eye on them
If you were coaching WW would you worry about playing grub? or look towards younger blokes there?
Are you close to someone who works in that field ??? :D
Just indicating how easy it is.....
I picked up on Ibis question some days ago and ran with it....your quicker than I thought.
I have a number of associates who work in that field but haven't mixed in those circles for some time.....try again.
Not a Roos man Woz? Thats all you've talked about.
You don't fish in a Rabbitole....use a ferret to get results but if theres a Roo in there don't expect to see the ferret again.
Yaaablett
19 Jul 2006, 17:17
not committed, just keep an eye on them
If you were coaching WW would you worry about playing grub? or look towards younger blokes there?
Dunno, you would have to know the circumstances. If there wasn't a good reason not to play him, I reckon you'd have to. I might be biased though. He was outstanding in my time there.
Yaaablett
19 Jul 2006, 17:18
You don't fish in a Rabbitole....use a ferret to get results but if theres a Roo in there don't expect to see the ferret again.
It'll be ok. Just have a bit of a lie down.
Nakriel
19 Jul 2006, 21:17
I think that your predictions are fair, however think that in the first selection I think as you do that the mid field will play a huge part in the game however the doggies are on a high and are a little bit more confident in their approach, I think it will be a close one with the doggies getting the four points
Second one don't write off Merbein, if no respect is paid to them they can hurt you as you are very well aware and imps are on a downward slide at the moment, word around is that they are imploding so I think it will be a lot closer
Third I think that you are on the money with that I dont think that Red cliffs will be Irymple, however saying that overconfidence can do more than a skillful opposition.
The fourth selection I agree Robinvale are the form team at the moment and I think that Wenty are too Bell conscious, I think Robinvale will beat the roos easily
I dunno about that, draw your own conclusions there. I just thought I'd make mention that he seemed very South orientated for someone who has no allegiance to an SFL club. Anyhow ...
Mildura v South Mildura No 1 Oval
Merbein v Imperials Merbein
Red Cliffs vIrymple Red Cliffs
Wentworth v Robinvale FNC Dareton http://sunraysiafl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/space.gif
Mildura because: Played well last match against Irymple although South are on a roll at the moment knocking off Imps, Wenty and Merbein in a quagmire. Both sides look to be improving from mid season slumps. Shutting down Haase will help the Dees no end, same said for Cardew regarding South. Whichever midfield wins the ball will probably win the game. Mildura by 10 points.
Imperials because: A lot of people have written Imps off after dropping 4 on the trot but they should easily account for Merbein at Kenny Park. Not much been said by the Green & White faithfull lately but this could just be the game that gets them back into some form. Don't discount them for finals action. Imps by 12 goals.
Irymple because: They have got more wins than anyone else in the comp. Simple as that. Reddy came close last time, won't happen this time. Watch for Eagle to kick 10. Irymple by 15 goals.
Robinvale because: They're on a roll, to the tune of 8 in a row. They have Falvo and Zappia in sparkling form and a forward line that is getting the score on the board. Wentworth's midfield have their work cut out for them. Interesting to see who Cumming lines up on. Will he play on a Falvo/Zappia at some stage and push forward to make them accountable going the other way? If Wenty can get the ball to Bell enough times he might just kick them a score to win it, if not, they'll struggle. Eagles by 5 goals.
It'll be ok. Just have a bit of a lie down.
It is. No need.
Lazy Dave
20 Jul 2006, 11:55
Hey Yaablett
Whats the go with Tim Anderson, is he going to get back into your team or what? I think its pretty ordinary the way the club has treated someone who was not only captain last year and got shafted but then gets dropped and no one has the guts to speak to him before he gets dropped. Surely the coaches and those in heirachy should have spoken to him previosuly to say your struggling and these are ways you may be able to improve?
Tim is one of the most loyal players to that club and seems to have been an easy scapegoat.
He may not have been playing that well but surely he is in your best 22, and has given his heart and soul to the club in the lean days yet the club treats him like s***t.
Pretty ordinary me think. what are your thoughts?
Lazy Dave.. seems to be following a common trend, loyalty has always been an issue for the wrong reasons at the dees. ive heard of players notching up milestone games without a whisper being made about it.
surely the player being mentioned has a rapport with the coaching staff, and is entitled to know when his time is coming. although, now that the team revolves around the coach following his selfish playing style built on statistics and handball receives, it doesnt surprise me that this has happened.
Lazy Dave.. seems to be following a common trend, loyalty has always been an issue for the wrong reasons at the dees. ive heard of players notching up milestone games without a whisper being made about it.
surely the player being mentioned has a rapport with the coaching staff, and is entitled to know when his time is coming. although, now that the team revolves around the coach following his selfish playing style built on statistics and handball receives, it doesnt surprise me that this has happened.
Jex, this year we celebrated "Cabbage" Kerr's 200th game and had a function in his honour in the Ray Hepworth Centre. I don't know of any other players notching milestones this year, so you may be correct. Give us 1 example please, of a milestone gone unnoticed.
LazyDave, I agree that Ando has been pretty stiff getting dropped to the 2's. He might be back this week in the 1's. I think ...
Yaaablett
20 Jul 2006, 13:07
Hey Yaablett
Whats the go with Tim Anderson, is he going to get back into your team or what? I think its pretty ordinary the way the club has treated someone who was not only captain last year and got shafted but then gets dropped and no one has the guts to speak to him before he gets dropped. Surely the coaches and those in heirachy should have spoken to him previosuly to say your struggling and these are ways you may be able to improve?
Tim is one of the most loyal players to that club and seems to have been an easy scapegoat.
He may not have been playing that well but surely he is in your best 22, and has given his heart and soul to the club in the lean days yet the club treats him like s***t.
Pretty ordinary me think. what are your thoughts?
How would you know if anyone spoke to him or not? You an Imps man Dave? Not trying to deflect attention are we?
Nakriel
20 Jul 2006, 13:11
I dont think there is any such thing as loyalty to a club anymore, have a lokk at most senior clubs, most of the locals have switched clubs, money perhaps?? Loyalty to the dollar
Yaaablett
20 Jul 2006, 13:11
Name some players who's milestones have not been recognised or dont write anything. Stick to the Mavs goose.
Action Jackson
20 Jul 2006, 13:31
Name some players who's milestones have not been recognised or dont write anything. Stick to the Mavs goose.
Thats it noxy into em
i only know of one and without being too specific.. it was a one club player, coming up through the junior ranks and playing one hundred games.
it seems a transient club, and i admit most clubs are in this position unfortunately. its healthy for clubs to seek help outside the box, but it seems only a couple of clubs are able to:
a: attract players and keep them
b: have a consistent group of juniors coming thru
eg Imperials and Robinvale
Yaaablett
20 Jul 2006, 13:54
i only know of one and without being too specific.. it was a one club player, coming up through the junior ranks and playing one hundred games.
it seems a transient club, and i admit most clubs are in this position unfortunately. its healthy for clubs to seek help outside the box, but it seems only a couple of clubs are able to:
I reckon Imps have been the best at attracting and keeping players. Robinvale????
So now its 1 player who's 100th game wasn't recognised. Every country club in Australia would have missed at least 1 milestone. If you dont like a footy club thats fine but dont make up garbage. Most footy clubs are the same.
The_KNIFE
20 Jul 2006, 14:00
Yeah like Donny Falvo flogs himself around the nieghboring clubs every year .Gets his price up then goes back to the eagles and his comfort zone.
every country club? i think we have both exagerated our points..
Yaaablett
20 Jul 2006, 14:36
every country club? i think we have both exagerated our points..
Well, name a club that has not missed any sort of player milestone then.
mullethead
20 Jul 2006, 14:36
Yeah like Donny Falvo flogs himself around the nieghboring clubs every year .Gets his price up then goes back to the eagles and his comfort zone.You have to be joking......gets in his comfort zone, if he hasnt been worth every cent that he gets paid I will go he.... Do you think he hasn't been offered twice what he is on to play at Balranald.... I just love blokes on here who bag out the better footballers that have played in this area.....
Ibis100
20 Jul 2006, 14:50
I think you will find South have done a damn good job of attracting and retaining players as well as have a consistant stream of juniors coming through.
Just to prove it to you jex jex
Seniors that have been Juniors at South
Spivey
Gathercole
Herberte
McDonald
Dalla Santa
T Johns
S Johns
N Johns
N Raiti
Lando
Thomas
Brougham
Polkinghorn
Casey
Tarrant
Riordon
Players brought into the club and either stayed or returned
Hasse
Fox Left and came back
Cook Left and came back
Fitzgerald Left and came back
That covers all senior players except those that arrived this year in
O'shannessy
Hamdorf
Robinson
With regard to our steady stream of good Juniors, We have won the U18 and U15 Grand finals last year and sit on top of the U18 Ladders currently. We have had between 4-8 players 18 yrs or under play in every game this year with up to 6 of them eligible to play U18 still this year.
I think South have done a good job seeing where they were 5 years ago.
Imps and Robinvale are very good at it though. Robinvale are probably forced as players can't be buggered travelling to Mildura every 2nd day to travel to training. Interesting that 19 players left robinvale at the start of the year though isn't it.
harry the bad man
20 Jul 2006, 14:58
The only loyal blokes at the dees are a small bunch of supporters. Rain, Hail, or Shine these blokes will be there - Training and Gameday. I speak of none other than the Boysey Gang and Fruit Fly! Keep drinking out of the water bottle boys:D
GAblett
20 Jul 2006, 15:07
badds found this on the cmfl thread "just reading the coaches 07 forum and looks like tooleytang are going to get rid of another successful coach at the end of the season? with Mark "TAB" Alvey sniffing around the bucs cash!!!!"
this was posted on the coaches changes for 2007 "Yes he was at the game on Saturday watching a few of his old Wentworth mates run around Jarrod and Drew Arentz. He came with Arentz boys brother Gareth, how does that mean he is coaching Tooleybuc Manang?? He told me himself he is likely to coach over Albury way, would be a good pick up for any club."
know you have strongly told us for the last couple of weeks you staying put but it seems that some people down there still feel your leaving
Well, name a club that has not missed any sort of player milestone then.
Tempy Goya Patchewollock Tigers before they folded. also, Yarrawonga Pigeons, Tocumwal Bloods, Wandin Bulldogs, Gol Gol Hawks, Manunda Hawks, Sun Coast Lions to name a few
Ibis100
20 Jul 2006, 16:04
badds found this on the cmfl thread "just reading the coaches 07 forum and looks like tooleytang are going to get rid of another successful coach at the end of the season? with Mark "TAB" Alvey sniffing around the bucs cash!!!!"
this was posted on the coaches changes for 2007 "Yes he was at the game on Saturday watching a few of his old Wentworth mates run around Jarrod and Drew Arentz. He came with Arentz boys brother Gareth, how does that mean he is coaching Tooleybuc Manang?? He told me himself he is likely to coach over Albury way, would be a good pick up for any club."
know you have strongly told us for the last couple of weeks you staying put but it seems that some people down there still feel your leaving
I think the most interesting line in that whole thing GAblett (and I read that thread yesterday to) is the highlighted one. Or perhaps Pat Simcox said it?????? (Bit of a lighthearted joke Badds, don't take it seriously mate.)
GAblett
20 Jul 2006, 16:14
I think the most interesting line in that whole thing GAblett (and I read that thread yesterday to) is the highlighted one. Or perhaps Pat Simcox said it?????? (Bit of a lighthearted joke Badds, don't take it seriously mate.)
it makes for very interesting reading which ever way and who ever said it.
are you looking forward to your hall of fame in a couple of weeks?
Lazy Dave
20 Jul 2006, 16:16
How would you know if anyone spoke to him or not? You an Imps man Dave? Not trying to deflect attention are we?
Yaablett, got it straight from the source himself. You and I know that he is pretty gutted and embarissed, I just think the club and coaching staff owe him a bit of respect for the support he has given to the club. He is one of the most liked players at the club, yet because he is an easy target this is how they treated him, very ordinary me think....:thumbsd:
Lazy Dave
20 Jul 2006, 16:20
I dont think there is any such thing as loyalty to a club anymore, have a lokk at most senior clubs, most of the locals have switched clubs, money perhaps?? Loyalty to the dollar
Nakriel, i think this might be the case for a lot of players and clubs but Tim is one player who did move from another SFL club just so he could play with his mates. He has never been worried about the $, he's not that sort of person.
Ibis100
20 Jul 2006, 16:21
it makes for very interesting reading which ever way and who ever said it.
are you looking forward to your hall of fame in a couple of weeks?
Should be a corker. Be interesting to see who gets inducted this year. I went to last years and it was the best social event i have been to involving any club. Very professionally run. We have Stan Alves as guest speaker this year and unfortunately I gotta get up and give one to.
Have to leave early though, travelling to Brisbane that night.
Any person wants to throw up some names as to who they think will be inducted this year.
Ibis100
20 Jul 2006, 16:23
Nakriel, i think this might be the case for a lot of players and clubs but Tim is one player who did move from another SFL club just so he could play with his mates. He has never been worried about the $, he's not that sort of person.
Tim is a great bloke and good footballer. If they don't want him, I will open the gate between No.1 and No.3 oval and he is more than welcome at South.
Yaaablett
20 Jul 2006, 16:24
Yaablett, got it straight from the source himself. You and I know that he is pretty gutted and embarissed, I just think the club and coaching staff owe him a bit of respect for the support he has given to the club. He is one of the most liked players at the club, yet because he is an easy target this is how they treated him, very ordinary me think....:thumbsd:
I actually wasnt there for the teams to be read out last night and have not spoken to Ando about the subject of him not being in the team. I am sure he is gutted as he loves playing for Mildura. I'm sure he'll fight back and get back in.
GAblett
20 Jul 2006, 16:28
Should be a corker. Be interesting to see who gets inducted this year. I went to last years and it was the best social event i have been to involving any club. Very professionally run. We have Stan Alves as guest speaker this year and unfortunately I gotta get up and give one to.
Have to leave early though, travelling to Brisbane that night.
Any person wants to throw up some names as to who they think will be inducted this year.
i will be heading along to see as your reliable gate keeper every week is being inducted (my grandfather) ernie
as for some others. mate have no idea. who was inducted last year?
Ibis100
20 Jul 2006, 16:38
i will be heading along to see as your reliable gate keeper every week is being inducted (my grandfather) ernie
as for some others. mate have no idea. who was inducted last year?
Good on Ern. Top bloke and well deserved.
Last year there were a few from the triple premiership years of 67 68 and 69.
Big Billacaglia
Andrew Banks
John Brunyen
Peter Hahn
Thats all I can recall. I wouldn't be surprised to see Terry Loveridge get added and perhaps Squid. Although I heard Squid won't be here on the night so they may not add him.
I imagine there will be six or so added and I am very interested to know if they will add a second Legend to sit alongside Kenny Mansell.
Not sure of the selection criteria but perhaps Darren Wood for coaching the 98 Premiership side.
The criteria I do know is that you must have played or coached but you can no longer be playing or coaching. I think someone said last year that all McLeod Medallists will be added.
GAblett
20 Jul 2006, 16:40
Good on Ern. Top bloke and well deserved.
Last year there were a few from the triple premiership years of 67 68 and 69.
Big Billacaglia
Andrew Banks
John Brunyen
Peter Hahn
Thats all I can recall. I wouldn't be surprised to see Terry Loveridge get added and perhaps Squid. Although I heard Squid won't be here on the night so they may not add him.
I imagine there will be six or so added and I am very interested to know if they will add a second Legend to sit alongside Kenny Mansell.
Not sure of the selection criteria but perhaps Darren Wood for coaching the 98 Premiership side.
The criteria I do know is that you must have played or coached but you can no longer be playing or coaching. I think someone said last year that all McLeod Medallists will be added.
would be a huge honour for them if that was the case.
how would someone like gordon casey go, any chance?
just looking at the draw mate, we play you on the day so it would
be great to see a good game of footy and have your older supporters
come down for a look.
and for the club/s to show some sort of recognition their way.
Ibis100
20 Jul 2006, 16:49
would be a huge honour for them if that was the case.
how would someone like gordon casey go, any chance?
just looking at the draw mate, we play you on the day so it would
be great to see a good game of footy and have your older supporters
come down for a look.
and for the club/s to show some sort of recognition their way.
Gordon has been inducted into the Hall of Fame, he would certainy be a worthy Legend for what he has done for the club over his life. He still gets down there every Saturday to watch and even gives me a few coaching tips now and again. He loves watching the 16-18 yr olds that he coached in U11's. He'll even tell you about the kids he put on the right path to AFL glory if you have the time.
The club will put on lunch for the past inductees and they are all invited to the night. I know Kenny Mansell makes the effort to come and he will certainly be watching the game along with many others.
Hopefully the boys can have a win to ensure it is a memorable day.
Lazy Dave
20 Jul 2006, 17:15
I actually wasnt there for the teams to be read out last night and have not spoken to Ando about the subject of him not being in the team. I am sure he is gutted as he loves playing for Mildura. I'm sure he'll fight back and get back in.
One hopes he can get back in, i'd hate to see Mildura go alright in the finals and not have someone like him in the team. Looking at your team on paper I still think he is worthy of making your 22. There are a couple of guys in there who I think might be getting a game because of there name.
Yaaablett
20 Jul 2006, 17:19
One hopes he can get back in, i'd hate to see Mildura go alright in the finals and not have someone like him in the team. Looking at your team on paper I still think he is worthy of making your 22. There are a couple of guys in there who I think might be getting a game because of there name.
Care to name them Lazy?
Yaaablett
20 Jul 2006, 17:20
Tim is a great bloke and good footballer. If they don't want him, I will open the gate between No.1 and No.3 oval and he is more than welcome at South.
As a coach I thought you might know better than to write that.
Know better than to write what Yabbs? Someone from Imps wrote exactly the same about Chalkie. he was just saying he thinks he is a good footballer and he would find a spot at South. Where was the harm in that big fella? I am sure all 7 other clubs would feel the same.
Yaaablett
20 Jul 2006, 17:34
Know better than to write what Yabbs? Someone from Imps wrote exactly the same about Chalkie. Just saying I think he is a good footballer and he would find a spot at South. Where was the harm in that big fella?
Wasn't Seamus Maloney though was it?
Care to name them Lazy?
O'Callaghan O'Callaghan O'Callaghan
Yaaablett
20 Jul 2006, 17:39
Have you just slipped up Ibis? That was a quick edit! But not quick enough to prevent me from quoting your post! Everyone can see the edit now from "Just saying I think" to "he was just saying he thinks" . Sprung;) Finally concrete evidence that Ibis is gutsy. Ordinary comment regarding the O'Callaghans- Nice little bit of ammo for this week.
Yaaablett
20 Jul 2006, 17:45
To those of you out there that think I am Jason Spivey, I am NOT. As previously stated I am entitled to an opinion on any player I like, good or bad. So no more private messages about this crap about me being Spivey. I know Spivey is on here and I am sure there are quite a few south players who can confirm who Spivey is on here and it isn't me.
So HOTDOGS, Brad Thomas probably wouldn't give a toss that I put him in my top 5 softest players and as for my No.1 choice, there are plenty on here that agree. And lastly, I put my opinion forward on the softest players as I was asked to. READ THE POSTS HOTDOGS BEFORE YOU SEND PRIVATE MESSAGES TELLING ME TO PULL MY HEAD IN.
I am leaving this forum. I apologise to Spivey and Terry Ryan and any other person that may have been mistaken for me and my opinions.
Interesting.
Ibis100
20 Jul 2006, 17:53
Interesting.
The debate will begin again, NO DOUBT. Doesn't it make it interesing though.
Ibis100
20 Jul 2006, 17:55
Interesting.
There are those that know the truth and those that just think they know the truth.
The Nest
20 Jul 2006, 18:25
Have you just slipped up Ibis? That was a quick edit! But not quick enough to prevent me from quoting your post! Everyone can see the edit now from "Just saying I think" to "he was just saying he thinks" . Sprung;) Finally concrete evidence that Ibis is gutsy. Ordinary comment regarding the O'Callaghans- Nice little bit of ammo for this week.
Great Work Yaaablett!
The_KNIFE
20 Jul 2006, 19:00
You have to be joking......gets in his comfort zone, if he hasnt been worth every cent that he gets paid I will go he.... Do you think he hasn't been offered twice what he is on to play at Balranald.... I just love blokes on here who bag out the better footballers that have played in this area.....
Certainly not bagging his ability but it is a fact Balranald probaly have offered more money but the Eagles chase up the price .And it is a comfort thing because if he went some were else he would have to prove himself all over again .Nice to know you love the critics!!!
Softest Players in SFL. I will give you my top 5.
1. No question here, Ryan O'Callaghan. As one person put it, if he ran any wider he would be on the highway. Has never been on the bottom of a pack and never will be.
2. Michael Faulkhead. Probably more the biggest sook than soft but to me he is soft. Doesn't do the hard stuff that would lift his team. When the going is tough he dissapears then blames his team mates.
3. Cory O'Callaghan. Just like Ryan, will run wide and not through packs but will take the accolades for the hard work of others.
4. Mark Alvey. Again, not the in and under type player as previously stated. (NO MORE SAID ON THIS ISSUE).
5. Brad Thomas. Again, an outside player who in a one on one contest will back out.
All of these playes are highly skilled and good players for their team with two of them being past McLeod Medallists and two ex AFL players. There is a place for these players quite obviously and they do stand out but for hardness, they would never win a trophy of any kind.
Interesting.
classic
20 Jul 2006, 21:32
Interesting.
yes very interesting!
well gutsy obvisoly u may need to play a bit like these footballers if u want to play afl...(ryan o,alvey) u cant bag these players out when they are better then u and played at a higher level then u eva will... r u jealous?? not every one can be a hard nut like u and play sfl for the rest of ur life... so make sure u bag players out who a crapper then u next time!!!!
classic
20 Jul 2006, 21:39
and y wuld u bag out one of ur teamates at the same time?? catta?
GoBears
20 Jul 2006, 22:33
Just a few queries on a few younger players in/from the league...
Ibis how is Alex Ghaddab going in Adelaide??
Nest how is Brodie Harris going this season, haven't heard much about him this year, prob best player in finals series for you blokes last year & thought he would kick on & dominate the league??
Yaablet, Matt Vinning? Was very good last year but again havent heard much about him this year, how has his year been?
yes very interesting!
well gutsy obvisoly u may need to play a bit like these footballers if u want to play afl...(ryan o,alvey) u cant bag these players out when they are better then u and played at a higher level then u eva will... r u jealous?? not every one can be a hard nut like u and play sfl for the rest of ur life... so make sure u bag players out who a crapper then u next time!!!!
well what can we say ibis-gutsy you have been sprung yabs was to smart for you... its proven you just gave yourself up.... there is no doubting spivey that you are very good country footballer and you are entitled to your opinion.. but i put you in the coward category because you went to town on me started a thread on me.. why?? my guess is because i played league footy and you didnt well chin up bud.. its not your opinion of me or what you said bout me that matters most its the fact that when i looked you in the eye and asked you wether you were gutsy u denied and blamed your old man- you would have thought with all those accusations against you you would have at least asked him if he was him but you told me you didnt.... ocallaghan is a very good player he played at a higher level than you so chin up again.. cat thomas is a very important player for you an i reckon he has proved you wrong... then thers your comments pumping yourself up on most feared opposition players you descibed yourself as a mean mother- well mean mother the least you can do is come clean and please dont try deny againas you have just been sprung red handed.....
its amazing all the rumours that are going around about myself, firstly that crap i have read on this site bout me asking for this and that is to be honest very funny, the fooz on cmfl and i will comment on there thread 2morow get a life and be very careful with leagal rammifications being involved what you put on here regarding dollars... i am not a person who is driven by money for example i knocked back potentially earning 45,000 for footy at port and 50,000 at another country league club this year to play at my local club for around 10,000 so to all you parrots who think you know about me you know nothing... as for my future that we will be decided at the end of the season, yes i have spoken to 4-5 other clubs they have rang me.. the least i can do is talk to them.. rumours are just that no body knows other than me..,all disscussions have been very informal.. and i stress not once yes thats rite not once has money been mentioned to be honest its all about getting a good job for me.., yes i want to coach at some stage and all clubs i have spoken to are in different leagues to this... it is a very big possibillity that i will stay at wenty as i love that club and always will.. and gablett watch very carefully what you quote me as saying as i have yet to comment once on here bout my movements next year.... so try and guess if you want but to be honest you know nothing......
Lazy Dave
21 Jul 2006, 09:56
Hey Badds, its great to here all these rumours about you coaching here and there so why don't you let things go to see what else they can come up with! Also were you on the p**S last night, if not why on earth would you be on the internet at 1 o'clock in the morning on a Thursday night. Surely the team selections at Wenty didn't go for that long OR did you have a friend around to give you some company that just left?:D
Yaaablett
21 Jul 2006, 09:59
Dave, after the posts that went on yesterday you'll be over the moon to find that one T Anderson is in the ones.
Yaaablett
21 Jul 2006, 10:01
Just a few queries on a few younger players in/from the league...
Ibis how is Alex Ghaddab going in Adelaide??
Nest how is Brodie Harris going this season, haven't heard much about him this year, prob best player in finals series for you blokes last year & thought he would kick on & dominate the league??
Yaablet, Matt Vinning? Was very good last year but again havent heard much about him this year, how has his year been?
Matt Vining has been outstanding for the past month after a reasonable start to the year. Was our best player against Irymple and hopefully can keep going. As good in and under with clean hands that I have seen for a kid his age in country footy.
Ibis100
21 Jul 2006, 11:32
I will tell you again Badds, I am not Gutsy. I told you I THOUGHT it was my old man by the fact that he knew alot about me.
I now know who Gutsy is and have done for a little while but who is it for me to unleash the biggest secret on this thread.
He is a very good mate of mine and tied to the South Footy Club and I speak to him daily. Chalkie was heading in the right direction with his guess but not sure exactly who he thought it was.
I was with him yesterday and I had logged out of this site. He had logged back in and when I answered Yaabs I thought it was me logged in. Noticed when the post came up so I edited it. (But too late obviously).
I would never make comment on my fellow players Badds or anyone that has played at the highest level. I had my opportunity and trained at Saint Kilda and was't good enough, simple as that. I know what is required to get there and admire any person that makes that level.
As for Catta, I spoke at length to Catta in the off season to keep him at South. He was offered huge bucks to go to Balranald and I can only speak highly of him. Nakkers will tell you this and so will he. He took another huge step this year with his defensive side and turned into one of our most valuable players.
So, as I said, there are those that know who Gutsy is, and those that think they do and those that have no idea at all. I will put you and most of the others on here in the catergory of no idea at all.
The funny thing is, no-body will ever guess who it is. But he does love a good joke and stirring the pot.