View Full Version : Sunraysia Football league
Nick played in the Amateurs in Adelaide and moved here a month ago with his partner. He has been in our best in all of his 3 games and did well against Simmsy as well as Haase.
Its been a while Yaabeleett : ) but i could not let that 1 slip. U say your star recruit came over? my mail is he was brought over some Mild $big$ men$ pulled some strings. Seems as though he is worth it.
Yaaablett
24 Jul 2006, 18:21
Its been a while Yaabeleett : ) but i could not let that 1 slip. U say your star recruit came over? my mail is he was brought over some Mild $big$ men$ pulled some strings. Seems as though he is worth it.
Nice try Danny. No he followed his partner over and actually spoke to Imps and South but as he is a friend of Jarrod Aldertons he gave us the nod. Costs nothing but incentives which he is cleaning up on.
Could we be seing the importance of winning the early games ie Mildura. R/vale's slow start may just cost them who do they play in the last 3???
Seems as though Mildura are right back on track. My question is how the f..... did they loose to merbein. Footy is a funny game i guess
Nice try Danny. No he followed his partner over and actually spoke to Imps and South but as he is a friend of Jarrod Aldertons he gave us the nod. Costs nothing but incentives which he is cleaning up on.
Ill take ur word then yabbleet! but i thought i had it on good authority.:)
The Gala Ball was massive 385 in attendence and im tipping a few saw heads the next morning.
only a month of footy to go can any see the final four changing???
I know where he got his facial injury from because I spoke to him about it at half time buddy.
Funny you should say that about players putting their body on the line knowing that injury is inevitable ...
Fact of life, if you put yourself in because youwish to be accountable in your style of play you will be injured. People who play with courage know that and wear it as a consequence of the game ..... ask any rugby union player.
Hillite
24 Jul 2006, 18:54
Good to see the thread change it was getting boring.
Some input from other clubs and individuals would be interesting.
Hillite
24 Jul 2006, 19:05
As i mentioned earlier Robinvale would be on equal points to the rest of the contenders if beaten by Irymple. If imps could knock of Mildura and South get over Red Cliffs all the contenders will be 34 except Wenty who with a big win over Merbein will likely go into second spot on 36 points.
The following weeks are very interesting i think a change to the four is likely and a change of positions very likely. Positions in the four are likely to change even after the last round.
GoBears
24 Jul 2006, 19:11
The top four will stay as is now with South & Imperials missing out, isn't it a shame to see the green & whites struggling this season, just proves how much Petrie was carrying that side & how lucky some very ordinary players where to play in a premiership side, goodluck to them being in right place at right time... Robinvale will always struggle against sides with a tall forward line thats why they wont win a finals game.. Irymple certainties to play in the last day of September with Mildura & Wentworth the other challenger, slighty leaning towards to Mildura & expect big finals series from Hosking & Deckert..
Skeeterman
24 Jul 2006, 21:11
BREAKING NEWS!!!!!!
Spivey pleads guilty and still only recieves a 1 week suspension.
Question: What is the purpose of the 1 week option if a player can go to the tribunal and still only recieve 1 week?
If anyone can shed some light on why the rule was brought in please let me know.
BREAKING NEWS!!!!!!
Question: What is the purpose of the 1 week option if a player can go to the tribunal and still only recieve 1 week?
If anyone can shed some light on why the rule was brought in please let me know.
If that is the case the only reason to plead guilty in the circumstances explained in this forum, is probably reliance on circumstances of the case not warranting suspension. Throw youself on the mercy of the "court" and hope for a reprimand. If he got one week then the incident obviously did not warrant a heavier penalty than the option declined.
It worked for me me a few years back....reprimand only.
Nifty78
24 Jul 2006, 22:33
If that is the case the only reason to plead guilty in the circumstances explained in this forum, is probably reliance on circumstances of the case not warranting suspension. Throw youself on the mercy of the "court" and hope for a reprimand. If he got one week then the incident obviously did not warrant a heavier penalty than the option declined.
It worked for me me a few years back....reprimand only.
If the Umpire thinks the reportable offence is worth more than the 1 week set penalty, he will not give it as an option, the report will be directed straight to the tribunal.
Action Jackson
24 Jul 2006, 22:34
If the Umpire thinks the reportable offence is worth more than the 1 week set penalty, he will not give it as an option, the report will be directed straight to the tribunal.
You tell it how it is nifty
Skeeterman
24 Jul 2006, 22:46
Thanks. What I'm saying though is if a player doesn't take that option and is found guilty they should then have 1 extra game as a loading.
Not sure why we would give the umpires that power anyway, who are they to say what warrants a 1 game penalty and what doesn't.
Nakriel
24 Jul 2006, 23:04
Dunno where you got your info from but it is wrong, the plea was not guilty, and due to conflicting evidence given by the umpires to the tribuneral they were hesitant to increase the penalty
BREAKING NEWS!!!!!!
Skeeterman
24 Jul 2006, 23:13
I'll have to confirm with my source on the plea. I hope I haven't been wrongly informed, are you sure Nakkers?
Anyway from all reports he deserved to go and considering he didn't do any damage, one week for striking is fair enough in my book.
Skeeterman
24 Jul 2006, 23:26
And who would that be. Not one Mildura player had a go at me all day. Alderton spoke to me like I was an old mate asking about my tattoos and what it said (and was the first player to come and shake my hand at the end of the game) C. O'Callaghan ran around calling me Gutsy all day and then almost orgasmed when the final siren went screaming out at the top of his voice, "Shove that up ya Gutsy". I think he has a problem. Its called being a **** head. Funny he never came within 5 metres of me throughout the day thought. As I said to him. Perhaps he needs to find out who Gutsy actually is, it may have more effect calling the right person by that name. I was reported for allegedly striking one of their younger players yet not a single player came over and remonstrated with me. Perhaps thats cause I should never have been reported but I guess the tribunal will decide that tonight. So whatever scores they were going to settle, there wasn't one player in that side thats prepared to a do a thing. Deckert and Shelfourt would be the only ones.
I would have thought there was 21 players that managed to do a fair bit. Not much point wasting time on you when they have 17.2 to kick!!!!!!
Nakriel
24 Jul 2006, 23:44
Yes I am sure, had one umpire from behind the incident and one probably about80 metres and the one controlling the play at that time didnt see the necessity from the incident to report, Go figure
I'll have to confirm with my source on the plea. I hope I haven't been wrongly informed, are you sure Nakkers?
Anyway from all reports he deserved to go and considering he didn't do any damage, one week for striking is fair enough in my book.
Nakriel
24 Jul 2006, 23:45
And the one controlling the play was about 20 metres from the incident with a clear view
Yes I am sure, had one umpire from behind the incident and one probably about80 metres and the one controlling the play at that time didnt see the necessity from the incident to report, Go figure
Nakriel
24 Jul 2006, 23:51
Both umpires stated that the player went to the ground from the force of the contact,,,,,,,,however the player stated that he did not go down,took his kick and continued playing,
sort of begs the question doesnt it????
Skeeterman
24 Jul 2006, 23:54
Both umpires stated that the player went to the ground from the force of the contact,,,,,,,,however the player stated that he did not go down,took his kick and continued playing,
sort of begs the question doesnt it????
If you can figure the umpires out you are a genius.
We give them a hard time but gee they bring alot on themselves don't they.
Nakriel
25 Jul 2006, 00:00
That they do mate, that they do. still if you havent got them you havent got a game
If you can figure the umpires out you are a genius.
We give them a hard time but gee they bring alot on themselves don't they.
Nakriel
25 Jul 2006, 00:05
I think women may be a bit easy to understand than them
It really didn't matter that the evidence given by the umpires conflicted with the facts and would indicate that they did not tell it as it was.
In an attempt to "appear fair" and not contradict the umpires and still impose a penalty for an offence which was unclear the tribunal took the easy way out and made a decision that Mildura F.C. could smile about.
malleeboy
25 Jul 2006, 15:05
Here are my thougths for the team of the year so far -
B Harley McDonald R O'Callaghan
HB DeAngelis A Rigby Stafford
C A Ridley Gathercole Cummings
HF R Hards Simms Eaton+
F Zappia# Cardew Eagle
R Deckett> Jackson+ Falvo#
B Lee Spivey Haase Fox>
Em Romeo D Hickey
Coach S Keam
Ass Coach Badds (got to get him away from his girlfriend first)
Any one like to add to this or think someone isn't worthy?
Yaaablett
25 Jul 2006, 15:31
HF R Hards Simms Eaton+
F Zappia# Cardew Eagle
B Lee Spivey Haase Fox>
Em Romeo D Hickey
Coach S Keam
Not bad malleeboy. Fox has hardly played though. D Hickey as the 2nd ruck for mine. Everything else though looks pretty spot on.
Lazy Dave
25 Jul 2006, 15:35
HF R Hards Simms Eaton+
F Zappia# Cardew Eagle
B Lee Spivey Haase Fox>
Em Romeo D Hickey
Coach S Keam
Looks pretty close to me Malleeboy although I would have Brad Hards in there instead of Ryan. Is as hard at it as anyone in the league, and Ryan struggled a little bit with injury this year
malleeboy
25 Jul 2006, 15:38
Not bad malleeboy. Fox has hardly played though. D Hickey as the 2nd ruck for mine. Everything else though looks pretty spot on.
Yeah, both have missed games so that is why I had Hickey as emergency just in case Fox was away.
Fox is a class above everyone else and if available you want him in your side.
malleeboy
25 Jul 2006, 15:50
Looks pretty close to me Malleeboy although I would have Brad Hards in there instead of Ryan. Is as hard at it as anyone in the league, and Ryan struggled a little bit with injury this year
Fair call, it was one or the other. Went for Ryan because of his performance at the interleague carnival. Maybe they can play half a game each?
woof woof
25 Jul 2006, 15:57
Who respective clubs do deckett and hickey play for?
malleeboy
25 Jul 2006, 16:23
Who respective clubs do deckett and hickey play for?
Deckett is at Mildura and Hickey is at Imperials
Ibis100
25 Jul 2006, 17:22
Time to clear it all up for you Skeeterman.
The umpires offered me a set penalty of one week which I declined as I believed it was not a reportable incident.
As I took a set penalty last year I am in fact inelligable for the set penalty this year which the umpires obviously didn't know anyway.
I pleaded NOT GUILTY as I stated I would yesterday. Why would I go to the trouble of not taking a set penalty of one week when offered and have to go to the tribunal on Monday night in my own time and then plead guilty.
The umpires gave different versions of what occurred. Gill came along as a witness and stated he saw the incident from the opposite end of the ground some 80 metres away and surprisingly, not one player was between himself and the incident but did not report me even though he said he clearly saw it. Mind you, he has an obligation under the rules to do so if he believes it constituted a strike. And he didn't.
Opie was in charge of the play and was no more than 20 metres away and did not do anything. No free kick, no report, nothing.
Breewel was behind and to the left of the incident, stated that the player went to ground after a round house right hand to the head. Considering his position of 40 metres away on the opposite side of the supposed contact, (And he even drew a picture of where he was) his glasses must have x-ray vision.
Not only that but he stated in contradiction to Gill and Josh Martin that the ball was some 50 metres away down the field.
Josh Martin and Gill both stated the ball had just been handballed and still within a few metres of the incident.
Josh stated he felt contact to the left side of his jaw, I must be elastic man to connect there with the inside of my right arm as the umpires had stated. He also stated he didn't go to ground like Breewel had stated but had just gotten on with the game and taken his kick.
In the end, they found me guilty but stated due to inconsistencies in the evidence and the lack of any injury other than a headache to Josh, they did not see any need to extend the one week that they must impose. (As that is the minimum set penalty whether you plead guilty or not) The tribunal then can add on any amount of time above that set amount that they feel the incident deserves.
I had requested a suspended sentence which they would have contemplated had the required one week minimum not been a requirement.
Hope that clears it up for you Skeeterman.
classic
25 Jul 2006, 18:16
Escaped from which primary school Classic?
ur mum!!!
ur mum!!!
Mate if somehow, someday, someone could possibly squeeze another brain into your skull there would only be one brain in there.
By the way you don't rate in the comeback stakes.... you should not refer to someone's mum. Not cool.
smasher100
25 Jul 2006, 18:44
Mate if somehow, someday, someone could possibly squeeze another brain into your skull there would only be one brain in there.
By the way you don't rate in the comeback stakes.... you should not refer to someone's mum. Not cool.
yes it is.....its an absolute CLASSIC!!!
Your dad must be alone also.....I'm sure you must have hatched in the sun after a premature ejeculation.
Peter Mac
25 Jul 2006, 20:13
HF R Hards Simms Eaton+
F Zappia# Cardew Eagle
B Lee Spivey Haase Fox>
Em Romeo D Hickey
Coach S Keam
Here's one for you boys. Should we be picking players in the Team of the Year
in their set possies, or should we just pick the best 21 players in the comp on current form?
Nakriel
25 Jul 2006, 21:49
One should not get personal although I see you are a Newbie changed your name have we.
3inarow
26 Jul 2006, 14:30
Just confirming the exact qualifying rules for reserves finals this yaer.
If you play 6 or more reserve games you can play as many senior games as you like and still qualify for the reseves finals?
If you dont play any senior games how many reserve games do you need to play to qualify?
I might have to start looking at our reserves as Wenty and Mildura are blocking our run home.
Gladstone Small
26 Jul 2006, 15:28
Here's one for you boys. Should we be picking players in the Team of the Year
in their set possies, or should we just pick the best 21 players in the comp on current form?
i think you should be picking the best players available. Sometimes you might find an onballer in the back pocket because you cant squeeze him in anywhere else. I'll have a go at the team of the year to this stage;
Carn A. Rigby Harley
Spivey DeAngelis Stafford
Lee Gathercole Cumming
Zappia Simms O'Callaghan
Eagle Cardew Haase
Deckert Jackson Falvo
D. Hickey Eaton Anstey Ridley
?? O'Connor, Romeo, Dowdy, Curran, B. Hards, Clay, Treloar, T. White, Doherty, Thornton.
i think you should be picking the best players available. Sometimes you might find an onballer in the back pocket because you cant squeeze him in anywhere else. I'll have a go at the team of the year to this stage;
Carn A. Rigby Harley
Spivey DeAngelis Stafford
Lee Gathercole Cumming
Zappia Simms O'Callaghan
Eagle Cardew Haase
Deckert Jackson Falvo
D. Hickey Eaton Anstey Ridley
?? O'Connor, Romeo, Dowdy, Curran, B. Hards, Clay, Treloar, T. White, Doherty, Thornton.
not bad gladstone... justin clay would be a certainty.. as he has been the best if not equal ruckman in the comp all year... i think we need to be careful as well at not picking blokes on reputation just cause they are proven players in the past... i would have b. rigby also ahead of a few in that list...
also been away a few days and just been catching up on the posts good prediction yaablett the roo boys are coming home hard as i have said all along if we can get our structure rite we are up there in the best 2-3 sides...
im also amazed at the amount of sooking that comes out of south.. excuses galore, blaming this blaming that.. at the end of the day in a big game you failed and got beat by 10 goals.. enough said.. anyway im sure everyone will agree we are all sick and tired of talking bout south.. lets talk bout sides who will be in the finals instead..... if mildura beat imps this week then the four wont change a win from imps makes it interesting should be a cracker that.. so should irymple robinvale as the swallows will be keen to let the vale know who is boss after they were hammered last time they met....
Fair call, it was one or the other. Went for Ryan because of his performance at the interleague carnival. Maybe they can play half a game each?
malleeboy perhaps you should stick 2 your dance moves you have been impressing all the ladies with at omalleys on thursday nights recently.........
Yaaablett
26 Jul 2006, 18:10
I have it on very good authority that largest amount of money ever wagered on a game of SFL footy will happen this week between Irymple and Robinvale. Apparantly 10K plus will change hands this Saturday at about 5.30pm. Any of yours Delray?
Hillite
26 Jul 2006, 18:53
To qualify for the reserves finals you must have played one game.
If you have played six or more senior games you must have played at least six reserves games.
I think....
With thirds players if they play in seniors and thirds on the same day only the senior game counts. But does this apply to reserves? Could a player be named on the bench in the twos and play seniors. Or does a similiar rule apply to the reserves.
I have it on very good authority that largest amount of money ever wagered on a game of SFL footy will happen this week between Irymple and Robinvale. Apparantly 10K plus will change hands this Saturday at about 5.30pm. Any of yours Delray?
Well well well Yabblett that is news to me and i hope it is true as long as we dont loose ha ha. As for my money come on yabblett u know i dont own a sports store :)
to many vodka and oranges perhaps delray... was at the dogs cats game last sunday delray and at quarter time realised that the man himself danny delray was the dogs runner provided me with some great humour couldnt believe how alike you both really are....
Grimmett
28 Jul 2006, 00:07
Could we be seing the importance of winning the early games ie Mildura. R/vale's slow start may just cost them who do they play in the last 3???
Seems as though Mildura are right back on track. My question is how the f..... did they loose to merbein. Footy is a funny game i guess
Shannon Keam doing a good job then?
Is his brother Jade playing at the moment?
Shannon Keam doing a good job then?
Is his brother Jade playing at the moment?
as a coach shannon has done great job as a player the jury is still out....
my tips for the round are-irymple by 7 goals
-mildura by 4 goals
-red cliffs by 5 goals
-wenty by 15 goals
so malleeboy how did you go at omalleys thurs nite
Rodman24
28 Jul 2006, 12:48
Hey Badds what are the odds of you being on TV again in the next couple of days???Win TV must be struggling for news. I will give you $1.05;) :thumbsu: :)
yes agree rodman they must be struggling for news...
Rodman24
28 Jul 2006, 14:04
Very interesting that you said on the news the other night that you wanted to coach Wentworth next season, what will happen if Belly wants to coach again?? Will you take up the other offers you have received from several other clubs outside the sunraysia league.:thumbsu:
Lazy Dave
28 Jul 2006, 14:42
Hey Badds, me think you have a good head for radio! Maybe stick to that medium and stop scaring the small kids out there!:o
Gladstone Small
28 Jul 2006, 14:48
Massive game for the green machine this week. If we can get over the line against the dees with Red Cliffs, Irymple and South to come we are a great chance to make the four. Redcliffs to end South's season this weekend. Wenty comfortably and irymple just.
malleeboy
28 Jul 2006, 14:51
After Mattman nicely dobbing me in last time I'm still building up browny points.
Heard your new love has fallen head over heals with you and she can't go a day without seeing you, have you found true love?
Badds, your getting worse than 'Day's of our lives':D
Very interesting that you said on the news the other night that you wanted to coach Wentworth next season, what will happen if Belly wants to coach again?? Will you take up the other offers you have received from several other clubs outside the sunraysia league.:thumbsu:
said that one day id like to coach wenty wasnt referring neccecerily to next year... belly has done a great job.. where i am next year who knows theres 2 months of footy left yet will make a decision after that....
Hey Badds, me think you have a good head for radio! Maybe stick to that medium and stop scaring the small kids out there!:o
word has it lazy that with vas neckmeat saris form for imps twos that you will struggle to get your goalsquare position back???
Lazy Dave
28 Jul 2006, 16:39
word has it lazy that with vas neckmeat saris form for imps twos that you will struggle to get your goalsquare position back???
Yeh probably right. I kicked a few in a short 20 minutes then hurt shoulder again. Fortuneately neckmeat didn't have sticky fingers like he did the week before, although most players with some ability would have kicked a fewagainst your guys, they were very ordinary, obviously running short on players. But the pressure is on...:o
Hillite
29 Jul 2006, 23:30
Things are getting too quiet around here. Posts for the last few weeks have been declining steadily. No rumours, no recruits.
Any sackings in the wind.
What will Merbein need to do to climb the ladder. Surely not
..."Get the cheque book out."
Will Balranald be able to maintain the above approach. If not there will be a few blokes after a quid.
Who's going to retire at the end of the season.
Things are getting too quiet around here. Posts for the last few weeks have been declining steadily. No rumours, no recruits.
Any sackings in the wind.
What will Merbein need to do to climb the ladder. Surely not
..."Get the cheque book out."
Will Balranald be able to maintain the above approach. If not there will be a few blokes after a quid.
Who's going to retire at the end of the season.
I heard a little story from out Merbein way that they may have the services of Guy Booker as coach next year if the coin dries up at Balranald. They are pretty confident of gaining/regaining the services of a few players from that club aswell ...
Hillite
30 Jul 2006, 18:58
J. Bell reported by three umpires for striking ???
Couldn't take the one week tick the box option because the Merbein coach (the other one reported) opted to go to the tribunal.
Will be interesting.
Could be costly next week against the Dees when a possible double chance spot is on offer. Although Robinvale should retain it next week with a big win against Merbein.
chalkie
31 Jul 2006, 15:05
Delray or Nest,
Just wondering if Tom V is close to getting a senior spot, seeing he has kicked 17 goals in 3 games?
A mate of mine, who regularly gets down to your training, mentioned that Tom had been training well and is keen to break into the senior team.
A handy problem to have if Simms or Eagle break down!
franklin
31 Jul 2006, 18:16
what a surprise to see tom v back since the swallows look like going one better then last year
Nakriel
31 Jul 2006, 19:55
Not there yet Franklin old son
what a surprise to see tom v back since the swallows look like going one better then last year
Kelvin 69
31 Jul 2006, 20:23
Ibis and Nakkers what are your excuses this week after a fright from Red Cliffs?? I would have thought South being as good as u two blokes talk them up to be would have thumped a young undermanned team like Red Cliffs.
Waverley73
31 Jul 2006, 20:59
Deckett is at Mildura and Hickey is at Imperials
How old is Hickey? Man, he was a veteran when I was up there and that was nearly 15 years ago..
chalkie
31 Jul 2006, 21:42
Ibis and Nakkers what are your excuses this week after a fright from Red Cliffs?? I would have thought South being as good as u two blokes talk them up to be would have thumped a young undermanned team like Red Cliffs.
Kelvin, what do you mean by an undermanned team? I can't think of anyone out of their best 21 who didn't play. Red Cliffs have a very impressive group you young blokes.They showed last week against Irymple that when they have a real dip, they're are very competitive.
Personally I saw this as a real danger game as South were without Gathers and Spivey.
Nakriel
31 Jul 2006, 22:00
Good point Kel, however the doggies were a tad undermanned as well so gave the young bullies a chance to put their hands up, as they did, so now when we are a full side againn we will be a little bit more potent
Nakriel
31 Jul 2006, 22:04
Which one are you talking about, Mick,Michael, Daniel,Vera, Tony?? mate a good catholic family
How old is Hickey? Man, he was a veteran when I was up there and that was nearly 15 years ago..
Waverley73
31 Jul 2006, 22:27
Which one are you talking about, Mick,Michael, Daniel,Vera, Tony?? mate a good catholic family
Tony (and Michael I think) were playing during the 80's and early 90's (not sure if they played after that).
Nakriel
31 Jul 2006, 22:33
Tony played a senior game against South the other week, young michael is still playing, but old Michael (Mick) has long retired, who did you play with??
Tony (and Michael I think) were playing during the 80's and early 90's (not sure if they played after that).
Did you see the game Nakkers or were you out of town? My mate Max reckons he spotted you amongst the Richmond faithfull at the MCG on Saturday...
I suppose your mob aren't going so well at the moment down along the coast...
Kelvin 69
31 Jul 2006, 22:58
Kelvin, what do you mean by an undermanned team? I can't think of anyone out of their best 21 who didn't play. Red Cliffs have a very impressive group you young blokes.They showed last week against Irymple that when they have a real dip, they're are very competitive.
Personally I saw this as a real danger game as South were without Gathers and Spivey.
Undermanned meaning lightly built, young, inexperienced, raw etc. Ibis and Nakkers have been talking South up all year and now it is getting to the business end of the season and South seem to be playing like a team that doesn't warrant a top 4 position. How is your depth??
Nakriel
31 Jul 2006, 23:00
Max was probably still getting over the Wednesday night, so he wouldnt have seen anything plus at the end of the game he would have been looking through tear stained eyes, and the cattas are just lying doggo at the moment trying to get a good price for the big one in Sep:Dtember
Did you see the game Nakkers or were you out of town? My mate Max reckons he spotted you amongst the Richmond faithfull at the MCG on Saturday...
Nakriel
31 Jul 2006, 23:04
What a load of crap, have a look at half the South players, they are lightly built but they have a dip, if they are young and inexperienced then perhaps they should be playin twos to get a bit of experience, Spives and Gathers out at the same time is a huge loss so the boys did theselves proud, give credit where it is due
Undermanned meaning lightly built, young, inexperienced, raw etc. Ibis and Nakkers have been talking South up all year and now it is getting to the business end of the season and South seem to be playing like a team that doesn't warrant a top 4 position. How is your depth??
Kelvin 69
31 Jul 2006, 23:12
What a load of crap, have a look at half the South players, they are lightly built but they have a dip, if they are young and inexperienced then perhaps they should be playin twos to get a bit of experience, Spives and Gathers out at the same time is a huge loss so the boys did theselves proud, give credit where it is due
I hear you blokes are one of the most expensive teams to put on the park in the SFL, therefore only just scraping into the 4 will be an underacheivment. I agree that Spivey and Gathercole are big losses but isn't it about time a few other well paid players lifted to even the work load???
Nakriel
31 Jul 2006, 23:27
Perhaps you need to wear a hearing aide or your informer is having a lend of you mate, there are a lot of other sides that are being played heaps, so what you have heard mate is just that........Crap
I hear you blokes are one of the most expensive teams to put on the park in the SFL, therefore only just scraping into the 4 will be an underacheivment. I agree that Spivey and Gathercole are big losses but isn't it about time a few other well paid players lifted to even the work load???
Nakriel
31 Jul 2006, 23:39
I think that the biggest underchievement woud be that Irymple fail to take the last one out, after their Stellar year, who would be blamed. South have only just got back on their feet after paying for a premiership so playing top dollar for mercenaries is not an option, Thomas was offered good money to go to Balranald but stayed, Spivey could have got big money else where but chose the team that he played Juniors with, Gathercole could have gone anywhere but chose South again the team he played with in juniors, have a look at the list most of the players have been at South for quite a while, which shows club loyalty, which in several clubs is severely lacking
Waverley73
1 Aug 2006, 09:42
Tony played a senior game against South the other week, young michael is still playing, but old Michael (Mick) has long retired, who did you play with??
I didn't play seniors with anyone but used to run around for the U/15's for the Tigers back in the day.
Sunraysia well represented at the Australian country championships at the Gold Coast.
Leigh Gathercole played in the winning Victorian side in division 1.
An old war horse currently playing coach for Wagga Wagga, who was overlooked by ACT the competition in which he plays, was picked up by NSW and ran out as vice captain. Matt Walder 36/37 yrs of age was selected in the All Australian Squad at the completion of the carnival. Walder was one of three NSW players to receive the honour.
Brian Weightmans grand-son Leigh Colbert was named All Australian Coach.
Gladstone Small
1 Aug 2006, 12:43
I think that the biggest underchievement woud be that Irymple fail to take the last one out, after their Stellar year, who would be blamed. South have only just got back on their feet after paying for a premiership so playing top dollar for mercenaries is not an option, Thomas was offered good money to go to Balranald but stayed, Spivey could have got big money else where but chose the team that he played Juniors with, Gathercole could have gone anywhere but chose South again the team he played with in juniors, have a look at the list most of the players have been at South for quite a while, which shows club loyalty, which in several clubs is severely lacking
Interested to see which clubs are lacking loyalty in this league Nakriel?? I think the league is heading down the right path with all the juniors coming through the ranks. I think you would have to agree with Kelvin that it would be a disappointing year if South were to miss finals. If we miss out I will be disappointed as will majority of the club. Injuries or not we still expected to be part of the action in September.
Yes Gladstone I do agree that it would be disappointing if South miss out, after all that is why the game is played to be the premier side in the competition, and at this stage I don't think that the four is settled, anyone hear the tribuneral results?? re Hards and Bell
Interested to see which clubs are lacking loyalty in this league Nakriel?? I think the league is heading down the right path with all the juniors coming through the ranks. I think you would have to agree with Kelvin that it would be a disappointing year if South were to miss finals. If we miss out I will be disappointed as will majority of the club. Injuries or not we still expected to be part of the action in September.
Yes Gladstone I do agree that it would be disappointing if South miss out, after all that is why the game is played to be the premier side in the competition, and at this stage I don't think that the four is settled, anyone hear the tribuneral results?? re Hards and Bell
Bell goes up tomorrow night. Hardsie got off.
But in saying that one wouldnt have to lock the knife drawer or call for the coaches head on a plate, it would just mean that we have go over this season and look to improve next year. And I think with the young group at the moment we should do well
Hardsie would be pleased,the Hards boys all have long memories, dong one and they will catch up with you, like their old man Boyo
Bell goes up tomorrow night. Hardsie got off.
Hardsie would be pleased,the Hards boys all have long memories, dong one and they will catch up with you, like their old man Boyo
speaking from experience Nakriel?????:)
Fortunately on the same side mate, from the same pedigree though
speaking from experience Nakriel?????:)
Gritty06
1 Aug 2006, 13:51
Come on Nackers, clubs lacking loyalty? Who would you say?
There are a couple of blokes running around in the ressies and Nathan John & Rati in the 3rd's that have played senior footy over the last 2 years.
Two teams that have proven they have some depth is Irymple and Imps.
So to answer you question the depth at South is ok
malleeboy
1 Aug 2006, 14:31
Looks like Badd's radio career is about to take off.
Talk is Mattman is about to take annual leave and Star fm are looking for a morning co host during this period. Scott Brimley has prior engagements and Badds seems to fit in the chair nicely.
Badds is weighing it up because it means he wont get the extra 3 hours to cuddle up with his future wife in the mornings.
malleeboy
1 Aug 2006, 14:47
Hey Kelvin, I dont think this league is spending half as much as your team(toolymanang) put together. How much is Malcolm Polhner getting to drive back each week from adelaide?
Looking at Souths team there are only a couple of players who didn't play juniors there. There doen't seem to be much money splashed around at all this year in our league.
Hey Kelvin, I dont think this league is spending half as much as your team(toolymanang) put together. How much is Malcolm Polhner getting to drive back each week from adelaide?
Looking at Souths team there are only a couple of players who didn't play juniors there. There doen't seem to be much money splashed around at all this year in our league.
Probably not as much as you'd think. Pohlner is an ex-local returning home to play so you would assume he would not be getting as much as a blow in traveller might. Who would be spending the most in your league (SFL). I hear Robinvale and Irymple are handy with player payments. They would be nothing to compare with Balranald, Tooleybuc and Kerang here though.
Irymple hey Russ? Care to elaborate on who at Irymple would be there on big money?:cool:
I said thats what I'd heard. Have another read of my post, it says handy with player payments, nothing about big money. My sources tell me that Irymple would pay more than any other team in the league except perhaps Robinvale. Bit sensitive GA? Hit a nerve have I?
Nah mate was just looking at the team from saturday and there is a couple that didnt play juniors there but seem to have been long time servants of the club. Could it be that your club is struggling this year and shifting the attention to a more successful side?
Well, yes you are right about that. One joint coach has a cracked vertebre and the other a wrecked ankle. We spent a sh it load ourselves and probably wont even make finals. No attention shifting mate just saying you'd spend your share. Am I wrong?
The_KNIFE
1 Aug 2006, 17:24
brad Morris would be on a $$$$ figure.
If you're referring to David Brynes he isn't a joint coach neither is Morris, not officially at least but from what i can gather they both contibute as all senior players should.
Seeing they have both missed a lot of games this season they probably wouldn't have cost the club much at all.
Anyway what is "big money". Minor leagues closer to Melbourne and large regional centres would pay more than the SFL.
What attracts me to Irymple is what they have accomplished over the last five years. Pity there were not a few flags in there to reward their effort.