View Full Version : Sunraysia Football league

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

Delray
21 Aug 2006, 18:36
Well Badds one of the better games of football this season. Great hard footy, not the result we were hopping for but still worth the gate money.

And u would get some support from me Re: J Clay and the SFL medal, if his form has been like that all year i cant see him being to far from the top. Looks as though the finals are gunna be very HOT!!

badds
22 Aug 2006, 13:27
Well Badds one of the better games of football this season. Great hard footy, not the result we were hopping for but still worth the gate money.

And u would get some support from me Re: J Clay and the SFL medal, if his form has been like that all year i cant see him being to far from the top. Looks as though the finals are gunna be very HOT!!

yes agree danny.. justo clays form has been like that all year... was a great game on the weekend... still team to beat though you blokes danny with donato, morris,calvi and harris all available.. will be interesting to see who gets dropped...

Rabbito
22 Aug 2006, 14:20
yes agree danny.. justo clays form has been like that all year... was a great game on the weekend... still team to beat though you blokes danny with donato, morris,calvi and harris all available.. will be interesting to see who gets dropped...

didn't harris and calvi play in the 2's on saturday?

GAblett
22 Aug 2006, 15:35
didn't harris and calvi play in the 2's on saturday?

yeah they did rabbito along with morris. hey badds you must go home with a sore voice on saturday nights cause you dont shut up all day long.........

badds
22 Aug 2006, 15:46
yeah they did rabbito along with morris. hey badds you must go home with a sore voice on saturday nights cause you dont shut up all day long.........

strong voice box stumpy....

HiPerformance
22 Aug 2006, 20:42

Sorry badds have to disagree with that i think the team to beat now would have to be robinvale are in great form at the moment and will be hard to stop :thumbsu: . Badds who is your pick for the League medal?

badds
22 Aug 2006, 22:07
Sorry badds have to disagree with that i think the team to beat now would have to be robinvale are in great form at the moment and will be hard to stop :thumbsu: . Badds who is your pick for the League medal?

falvo from chris lee with big chances to john jackson and justin clay...

HiPerformance
23 Aug 2006, 08:53
Malleeboy how did Gathercole end up going with his knee? Did he need the operation?

Yaaablett
23 Aug 2006, 10:20
Malleeboy how did Gathercole end up going with his knee? Did he need the operation?

While malleeboy is in the solarium I'll answer that. I spoke to Ibis this morning. Gathers has been told he needs a reco. He is getting a second opinion today and if that confirms it he will miss next year. Big blow for South and the league.

badds
23 Aug 2006, 15:15

spoke to gathers b4 he needs a reco which is a real shame hes a terrific fella!! its also a massive blow for the competition as well, hope the op goes well and he will be back mid way through next season.....
word is on the street that south re-signed spivey last night for further year...

badds
23 Aug 2006, 22:31
slectors met tonight to pick there team of the year heres mine

B. HARLEY A.RIGBY R.OCALLAGHAN
HB.A.CUMMING DONATO SPIVEY
C.DOHERTY GATHERCOLE LEE
HF.SIMMS CARDEW DOWDY
FF.P.ZAPPIA EAGLE HAASE

RUCKS-J.CLAY
D.FALVO
J.JACKSON

INTER-EATON
B.RIGBY
B.HARDS
J.ROMEO

COACH-EATON/KEAM
CAPTAIN-FALVO

interested on thoughts went with only one ruckman as j.clay a standout and other than maybe a deckert no one else really pushes for selection deckert missed alot of games as well... no-one from merbein should even be close... vining,m.cameron,denaro perhaps not far away...

franklin
23 Aug 2006, 22:57
what ever happen to the comp the paper run a few years back. Gave you a list of players and you had to select the correct team of the year and won a prize. those the good old days

Skeeterman
24 Aug 2006, 14:25
B. R.Kee A.Rigby R.O'callaghan
HB. J.Harley DeAngelis J.Spivey
C. W.Crisera Falvo G.Cumming
HF. R.Simms T.Cardew P.Zappia
FF. J.Eagle B.Haas R.Dowdy

Rucks - J.Clay J.Jackson L.Gathercole

Inter - B.Eaton C.Deckert B.Rigby R.Doherty

Chest Rockwell
24 Aug 2006, 14:56
KEATCH(MER), M. WETHERS(R/C), R. O'CALLAGHAN (MDA)
JOHNS (W/W), HERBERTE (STH), SMYTHE (MDA)
DAVIS (MER), S. KEAM (ROB), CURRAN (IRY)
MALONEY (IMPS), CARDEW (MDA), THOMAS(STH)
LONGERI (MER), HAASE (STH), EAGLE (IRY)

HALL (MDA)
FALVO (ROB)
SPIVEY (STH)

INT: KEENAN (MER), LEE (R/C), JACKSON (W/W), O'SHANNESSY (STH)

COACH: BATH/KEAM

THIS IS FROM WHAT I HAVE SEEN THIS YEAR. I THINK THAT IT WILL BE PRETTY CLOSE TO THE PROPER ONE.:thumbsu:

buddy buddy
24 Aug 2006, 15:20
Just been having a look at the teams some of you are doing and its interesting with many names popping up for most positions down the spine FB, CHB, CHF, FF and even in the ruck. Is it that there is no stand out in these positions and its a toss of a coin job or a lot of blokes in these positions that are guns and having great years all in the same year?

Gusty
24 Aug 2006, 15:38
KEATCH(MER), M. WETHERS(R/C), R. O'CALLAGHAN (MDA)
JOHNS (W/W), HERBERTE (STH), SMYTHE (MDA)
DAVIS (MER), S. KEAM (ROB), CURRAN (IRY)
MALONEY (IMPS), CARDEW (MDA), THOMAS(STH)
LONGERI (MER), HAASE (STH), EAGLE (IRY)

HALL (MDA)
FALVO (ROB)
SPIVEY (STH)

INT: KEENAN (MER), LEE (R/C), JACKSON (W/W), O'SHANNESSY (STH)

COACH: BATH/KEAM

THIS IS FROM WHAT I HAVE SEEN THIS YEAR. I THINK THAT IT WILL BE PRETTY CLOSE TO THE PROPER ONE.:thumbsu:

Obviously a Merbienite.

Santoz
24 Aug 2006, 15:52
B. Harley(Rob) A.Rigby(W/W) J.McDonald (Sth)
HB. Carn(Iry) DeAngelis(Iry) Matthews(W/W)
C. Cumming(W/W) Vining(Mda) Lee(R/Cliffs)
HF. Simms(Iry) Cardew(Mda) Eaton(Iry)
FF. Haase(Sth) Eagle(Iry) Anstey(Mda)
R. Clay(W/W) Falvo(Rob) Gathercole(Sth)

Int. Deckert(Mda) Zappia(Rob) Dowdy(R/Cliffs) Jackson(W/W)

And Franklin, I agree with you that the paper should still run the competition where you try and pick the team of the year, it'd be great to have that back ...

HiPerformance
24 Aug 2006, 17:01

And Franklin, I agree with you that the paper should still run the competition where you try and pick the team of the year, it'd be great to have that back ...

Santoz.... its not about the players ability. It is how the player performs throughout the season. Anstey has had an average year only kicking 16 goals and you have named him in the forward pocket???????????. And Haase is the leading goalkicker and you named him on the forward pocket????

badds
24 Aug 2006, 17:21

carn,ben mathews,vining and anstey shouldnt be in the side... and peter zappia 50 goals shouldnt be on the bench, an john jackson is in the best 4-5 players in the comp on form..other than that not 2 bad

Santoz
24 Aug 2006, 19:26
carn,ben mathews,vining and anstey shouldnt be in the side... and peter zappia 50 goals shouldnt be on the bench, an john jackson is in the best 4-5 players in the comp on form..other than that not 2 bad

O'Connor has kicked nearly twice as many goals as Simms, so why doesn't he rate a mention in anyone's side on the forward flank instead of Simms? I understand they play different positions but he nearly won the goal kicking this year in a side where he'd probably get the best key defender. Simms might get the 2nd best because of Eagle.

I think Vining has had a pretty good year. Can't comment on Jackson because I've only seen him 3 times (for 1 mention in the best).

I dunno how Spivey and Cumming's backline form is but I doubt they've played in defense in a while, although I'm probably wrong. Ryan hasn't played in defense since the beginning of the year so I don't see why you named them there ...

Santoz
24 Aug 2006, 19:28
Santoz.... its not about the players ability. It is how the player performs throughout the season. Anstey has had an average year only kicking 16 goals and you have named him in the forward pocket???????????. And Haase is the leading goalkicker and you named him on the forward pocket????

Lets see your side then ...

Santoz
24 Aug 2006, 19:37

Actually, just having a look at Matthews season, he's only been in the best a couple of times. He plays as probably the 2nd tall defender doesn't he? From what I've seen he plays some good footy. Has he been injured at all? Not playing good footy? Or overlooked every time it comes to handing out the best players ???

boris becker
24 Aug 2006, 23:32
santoz,badds,skeeterman honestly how can you justify selecting cardew at chf before rod simms? cardew would not blow wind up chingas arse when it came to playing that position.i have watched both play about 4-5 times each this year and simms is the top chf in this comp then daylight and maybe toby after that.......

badds
25 Aug 2006, 00:46
O'Connor has kicked nearly twice as many goals as Simms, so why doesn't he rate a mention in anyone's side on the forward flank instead of Simms? I understand they play different positions but he nearly won the goal kicking this year in a side where he'd probably get the best key defender. Simms might get the 2nd best because of Eagle.

I think Vining has had a pretty good year. Can't comment on Jackson because I've only seen him 3 times (for 1 mention in the best).

I dunno how Spivey and Cumming's backline form is but I doubt they've played in defense in a while, although I'm probably wrong. Ryan hasn't played in defense since the beginning of the year so I don't see why you named them there ...

vining has had a good year yes but not good enough to be in the team let alone in the centre....aussie cumming has spent alot of the year at half back as he did on the weekend you have fair point on spivey and gonzo i guess but to be honest there arent many other defenders who are worthy...wether you have simmsy at chf or hf who really cares... santoz trust me on jacko hes a gun and hes had a great year ask anyone from other clubs they will tell you... and a tip dont take to much notice of best player lists they are very misleading at times....

badds
25 Aug 2006, 00:48
Actually, just having a look at Matthews season, he's only been in the best a couple of times. He plays as probably the 2nd tall defender doesn't he? From what I've seen he plays some good footy. Has he been injured at all? Not playing good footy? Or overlooked every time it comes to handing out the best players ???

ben mathews last 6 weeks have been really good, but before that he was close to getting dropped hes an important player for us as most times he takes the second tall....

badds
25 Aug 2006, 00:53
santoz,badds,skeeterman honestly how can you justify selecting cardew at chf before rod simms? cardew would not blow wind up chingas arse when it came to playing that position.i have watched both play about 4-5 times each this year and simms is the top chf in this comp then daylight and maybe toby after that.......

simmsy is a great player and has been for a long period of time, both he and toby have had big years.. up until interleague toby was the best performed forward in the comp, dont forget early season form.... you could make arguements for both being named at chf...

mullethead
25 Aug 2006, 10:22
simmsy is a great player and has been for a long period of time, both he and toby have had big years.. up until interleague toby was the best performed forward in the comp, dont forget early season form.... you could make arguements for both being named at chf...Sorry Badds must agree with Boom Boom, chinga is a far more accomplished chf than Toby and that is a bit unfair on Toby cause he simply spends most his time at full forward hence would be a better full forward than chinga

badds
25 Aug 2006, 11:22
Sorry Badds must agree with Boom Boom, chinga is a far more accomplished chf than Toby and that is a bit unfair on Toby cause he simply spends most his time at full forward hence would be a better full forward than chinga

fair enough... what are peoples thoughts on 2morows clash between wenty and mildy???

3inarow
25 Aug 2006, 13:38
fair enough... what are peoples thoughts on 2morows clash between wenty and mildy???

Sorry badds but I think you will go down. I don't really rate Wenty as you are too one dementional in your foward line. If Bell doesn't kick 7, you wont win and it is as simple as that.
Mildura are very soft but their older players have more finals experience than your young team.
At the end of the day, tomorrows game doesn't mean much because Irymple and Robinvale will play off in the Grand Final

chalkie
25 Aug 2006, 14:04
Sorry badds but I think you will go down. I don't really rate Wenty as you are too one dementional in your foward line. If Bell doesn't kick 7, you wont win and it is as simple as that.
Mildura are very soft but their older players have more finals experience than your young team.
At the end of the day, tomorrows game doesn't mean much because Irymple and Robinvale will play off in the Grand Final

I agree with you 3inaronw, that the eagles and irymple will most likely play each other in the GF.

However some advice for you. When your team hasn't made the finals, you really don't have much right in criticising teams that have.

Just curious 3inarow, are you a senior or seconds player for Imps?

badds
25 Aug 2006, 14:31

i asked for peoples thoughts not from a racist such as yourself...

Skeeterman
25 Aug 2006, 15:45

71 goals playing half the season their is a fantastic effort boris that's why!
Surely he deserves some recognition as does Simms whom I believe is a great player also.Tall Poppy syndrome alive and well.
As for 3inarow you don't rate Wentworth and think Mildura are soft yet both touched up your side a couple of times.
Tomorrows game doesn't mean much to you because your team didn't even make the finals but I believe the game should be one of the best for the season with both teams having a red hot crack. Oh yeah also, probably time to consider a name change as your team won't be contesting the finals this year.

HiPerformance
25 Aug 2006, 15:53

badds... I think your team wenty will get up on the weekend. Mildura are extremely soft....:D You never see soft players winning much of the ball when finals are on. And wenty are in some great form at the moment beating the ladder leaders Irymple last week. So your boys will be hard to beat. :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

franklin
25 Aug 2006, 17:47
wenty for me. in good form and oval is like the roos one. should play it well.

the 2's game
Iry by 6 goals or more (Tom V to kick 5)

3'rds
Iry again just under a kick

tips for all grades

Robinvale
Imps
Imps

Santoz
25 Aug 2006, 19:04

They smashed Mildura without Bell last time.

I hear Lawson is back from his time off and playing tomorrow aswell badds. Any truth in that?

Hillite
27 Aug 2006, 18:45
Did Wenty play their finals footy the week before against Irymple.
Did Mildura get any injuries?
I thought the venue was fine but no cars around the ground, horns beeping etc lacked a bit of atmosphere. Would be interested in knowing what the gate was.
Hasn't the forum gone quiet lately?

3inarow
28 Aug 2006, 11:54
What a crap game of footy on Saturday. Apart for being close up to three quarter game, the game on a skill level was very poor.

I believe Wentworths lack of discipline cost them the game. They kept attacking the man and not the ball which I believe they didn't have to do. If you attack the ball against Mildura they will soon back out.

But well done to Mildura for making it this far, they are a chance against Robinvale but I believe have no chance against a more physical and mature side in Irymlpe.

zinger
28 Aug 2006, 12:29
What a crap game of footy on Saturday. Apart for being close up to three quarter game, the game on a skill level was very poor.

I believe Wentworths lack of discipline cost them the game. They kept attacking the man and not the ball which I believe they didn't have to do. If you attack the ball against Mildura they will soon back out.

But well done to Mildura for making it this far, they are a chance against Robinvale but I believe have no chance against a more physical and mature side in Irymlpe.

Wow........you sure know your footy, mate. Impressive stuff.

Whereas me, I thought it was a ripper game of footy, had the lot !! Tough, hard, committed, competitive, great skills...!! Perhaps the best game I've seen all year.

3inarow
28 Aug 2006, 13:05
Wow........you sure know your footy, mate. Impressive stuff.

Whereas me, I thought it was a ripper game of footy, had the lot !! Tough, hard, committed, competitive, great skills...!! Perhaps the best game I've seen all year.

I think badds would agree with me at saying it would of been close to wenty's worse performance for the year. There skill level and decision making was poor.
If Austin wasn't playing they would of lost by 100pts plus.

Santoz
28 Aug 2006, 14:09
I think badds would agree with me at saying it would of been close to wenty's worse performance for the year. There skill level and decision making was poor.

That's a big call ...

How did you find the match before hand? That's the real reason you were there wasn't it? Scoping out your opposition for when you play them in a fortnights time ...

Yaaablett
28 Aug 2006, 15:54

Careful 3inarow you dont want to accidently give Mildura any praise. Before it was because Wenty attacked the man. Now its their skill level and decision making. Then the Austin comment. Stick to making racist comments and leave the footy talk to the grown ups.

Dr Russel
28 Aug 2006, 16:00
Careful 3inarow you dont want to accidently give Mildura any praise. Before it was because Wenty attacked the man. Now its their skill level and decision making. Then the Austin comment. Stick to making racist comments and leave the footy talk to the grown ups.

A few injuries came out of Saturdays game, I hear Ash Connick did a fair impression of Garry Lyon whilst leaving the ground. :)

Santoz
28 Aug 2006, 16:12
A few injuries came out of Saturdays game, I hear Ash Connick did a fair impression of Garry Lyon whilst leaving the ground. :)

Nah, the only real injury concern for the Demons is the quad injury sustained by Nathan Murphy :D

GAblett
28 Aug 2006, 16:26
That's a big call ...

How did you find the match before hand? That's the real reason you were there wasn't it? Scoping out your opposition for when you play them in a fortnights time ...

Santoz, what was your opion of the game beforehand. from reports pretty one sided? minter and vadj must have been in great form?

who do you think will win the twos this year?

malleeboy
28 Aug 2006, 16:45
Santoz, what was your opion of the game beforehand. from reports pretty one sided? minter and vadj must have been in great form?

GAblett, I saw you running around in that game. Did you have concussion and not notice how your team mates were going? :eek:

Santoz
28 Aug 2006, 17:08

My opinion of the game beforehand? It went for way too long. I must admit I missed a fair part of it listening to the seniors team talk, and then spending the last half in the rooms with the boys before they went out.

I think the South reserves will go close as they will in the unders.

Yaaablett
28 Aug 2006, 17:23

Nice one Doc. Actually didn't leave the ground. Played the rest of the quarter then stayed in the rooms at half time. Extremely humourous post though.

malleeboy
28 Aug 2006, 17:31
Nice one Doc. Actually didn't leave the ground. Played the rest of the quarter then stayed in the rooms at half time. Extremely humourous post though.

I saw the collision and thought you were is serious trouble and you done well to stay on. Can you tell us what you have injured and will one week off will be enough?

Yaaablett
28 Aug 2006, 17:38
I saw the collision and thought you were is serious trouble and you done well to stay on. Can you tell us what you have injured and will one week off will be enough?

One week should be ok.

Hillite
28 Aug 2006, 19:07
A water boy endeared himself to the ladies from a number if clubs when he stood in front of them on the boundary (15th st. side) when asked could he move aside he told them (more than once) that they could go F%@# themselves. He may be reported there were apparently a number of witnesses.
But then his services are no longer required cause his side lost didn't they.Not a good add for the club and he wasn't a kid either.

The_KNIFE
28 Aug 2006, 19:53
One week should be ok.

Not the ribs again.

Rabbito
28 Aug 2006, 21:28
A water boy endeared himself to the ladies from a number if clubs when he stood in front of them on the boundary (15th st. side) when asked could he move aside he told them (more than once) that they could go F%@# themselves. He may be reported there were apparently a number of witnesses.
But then his services are no longer required cause his side lost didn't they.Not a good add for the club and he wasn't a kid either.

BS!! I guess you're talking about Mark Lemon? Do you know the bloke??

Hillite
28 Aug 2006, 21:35
Wuoldn't know if it was Mark Lemon or not. (don't know Mark Lemon) I do know that it was said it to a mum of one of the opposition players. Maybe she dobbed him in and it fired him up for the rest of the game.
There were a few adult water boys about on Saturday. Why would you think it was him?

Rabbito
28 Aug 2006, 22:14
Wuoldn't know if it was Mark Lemon or not. (don't know Mark Lemon) I do know that it was said it to a mum of one of the opposition players. Maybe she dobbed him in and it fired him up for the rest of the game.
There were a few adult water boys about on Saturday. Why would you think it was him?

WW had 2 waterboys on Saturday Mark "Citta" Lemon 96 pemiership player club committeeman and a young bloke about 12-13 years old, your dreaming!!

Hillite
28 Aug 2006, 22:23
I didn't say it was in the seniors game did I?
Maybe you know more than me.

Rabbito
28 Aug 2006, 22:26
I didn't say it was in the seniors game did I?
Maybe you know more than me.

Which game?? who??

HiPerformance
28 Aug 2006, 22:40
WW had 2 waterboys on Saturday Mark "Citta" Lemon 96 pemiership player club committeeman and a young bloke about 12-13 years old, your dreaming!!

Mildura had 2 waterboys on Saturday ( Collins who was dropped from the side.... and a 18 year old)

GAblett
29 Aug 2006, 08:44
GAblett, I saw you running around in that game. Did you have concussion and not notice how your team mates were going? :eek:

yeah malleeboy you are correct i did have a run around on saturday but was more interested in other peoples opinions of the games as it is pretty hard to judge how people are going while you playing yourself.

so you going to get a game this weekend?;)

Yaaablett
29 Aug 2006, 10:15
BS!! I guess you're talking about Mark Lemon? Do you know the bloke??

I'd be surprised if it was Mark Lemon. One of the best blokes I've met in footy.

malleeboy
29 Aug 2006, 13:39
yeah malleeboy you are correct i did have a run around on saturday but was more interested in other peoples opinions of the games as it is pretty hard to judge how people are going while you playing yourself.

so you going to get a game this weekend?;)

Already got too many tough in and under players in our side so looks like I will be running water.:D

The Nest
29 Aug 2006, 15:53
Heard a bit of a whisper that Tony Hickey has qualified for the Imperials Reserves side and may run out this weekend at Henshilwood Oval. If this were true, their chances of victory would increase substantially.

Also, can anyone shed any light on the action that occured out at the Georgie G on Sunday?

The Nest
29 Aug 2006, 15:54
3inarow, How are you?

You havent bumped into Peter Arking from the Quaffle Wine Superstore lately have you?

badds
29 Aug 2006, 16:39
Did Wenty play their finals footy the week before against Irymple.
Did Mildura get any injuries?
I thought the venue was fine but no cars around the ground, horns beeping etc lacked a bit of atmosphere. Would be interested in knowing what the gate was.
Hasn't the forum gone quiet lately?

give mildura credit they were far to good for us on the day..... no excuses, i thought gonzo was bog 2 halftime, hosko played well in another big game as he seems to do a fair bit, austin gave cardew another touch up other than he and lipeteri we didnt have many winners....
i must say i think its a joke that the prelim will now be played at irymple as well shocking decision that....

chalkie
29 Aug 2006, 16:51
[quote=The Nest]Heard a bit of a whisper that Tony Hickey has qualified for the Imperials Reserves side and may run out this weekend at Henshilwood Oval. If this were true, their chances of victory would increase substantially.

Hi Nest, not sure if Tony has played any ressie games this year. Hopefully some of the Imps boys might enlighten us? There maybe some confusion between Tony and Peter, who played a very good game against south 2 weeks ago.

Should be a very close and interesting game this Saturday with both teams having several inclusions returning from injury or seniors.

The Nest
29 Aug 2006, 17:16
Hi Nest, not sure if Tony has played any ressie games this year. Hopefully some of the Imps boys might enlighten us? There maybe some confusion between Tony and Peter, who played a very good game against south 2 weeks ago.

Should be a very close and interesting game this Saturday with both teams having several inclusions returning from injury or seniors.[/quote]

Tony was named on the team sheet for the Round 18 clash due to a lack of numbers which would qualify him to play finals.

badds
29 Aug 2006, 17:45
what are everyones thoughts on who will win the mcleod next monday night?? give your top three???

The Nest
29 Aug 2006, 17:53
Fred, did you hear who won the Sports Trivia this morning on StarFM??? None other than our very own Harry the Bad Man!!:thumbsu:

Horse6
29 Aug 2006, 19:41
give mildura credit they were far to good for us on the day..... no excuses, i thought gonzo was bog 2 halftime, hosko played well in another big game as he seems to do a fair bit, austin gave cardew another touch up other than he and lipeteri we didnt have many winners....
i must say i think its a joke that the prelim will now be played at irymple as well shocking decision that....

Didnt actually mind playing at the Irymple on Sat....at last an oval that doesnt resemble a WACA wicket....

Santoz
29 Aug 2006, 19:42

I agree. It should be played at number 1. If it's not fit to play finals on then it's not fit to play regular games on in my opinion.

HiPerformance
29 Aug 2006, 20:38
what are everyones thoughts on who will win the mcleod next monday night?? give your top three???

1. Don Falvo
2. Leigh Gathercole
3. Chris Lee

chalkie
29 Aug 2006, 21:04

Should be a very close and interesting game this Saturday with both teams having several inclusions returning from injury or seniors.
Tony was named on the team sheet for the Round 18 clash due to a lack of numbers which would qualify him to play finals.[/quote]

Wasn't aware that he was named on the team sheet, however I think the ruling is you must actually play on the ground at sometime during the game to qualify which he didn't.
Can anyone verfiy this rule?:confused:

mullethead
29 Aug 2006, 22:22
Tony was named on the team sheet for the Round 18 clash due to a lack of numbers which would qualify him to play finals.

Wasn't aware that he was named on the team sheet, however I think the ruling is you must actually play on the ground at sometime during the game to qualify which he didn't.
Can anyone verfiy this rule?:confused:[/quote]Pretty sure that he only has to be named on sheet, doesn't matter that he doesn't get a run but I could be wrong.

GAblett
30 Aug 2006, 09:28

tend to disagree badds. if the afl wont play games on number one oval then why should we be forced to play finals football on the ground?

have you had a look at number 1 lately? i had a look on monday and it really is pretty ordinary and will struggle to be in a good condition for the grand final.

dont forget that the last two - three years the prelim was played at sarah oval, which one out of irymple or sarah ovals would you rather play on?

GAblett
30 Aug 2006, 09:30
Already got too many tough in and under players in our side so looks like I will be running water.:D

those words wouldnt normally be ones that the generall football veiwing public would use to describe your games, would they?

Yaaablett
30 Aug 2006, 10:22
[/b]

tend to disagree badds. if the afl wont play games on number one oval then why should we be forced to play finals football on the ground?

have you had a look at number 1 lately? i had a look on monday and it really is pretty ordinary and will struggle to be in a good condition for the grand final.

dont forget that the last two - three years the prelim was played at sarah oval, which one out of irymple or sarah ovals would you rather play on?

I agree with you gaz. I would prefer to play the
PF at Irymple as No1 is battling a bit. It will take a miracle to get that ground up to scratch for the GF. For the team that wins the prelim having the game at Irymple means you dont have to play 2 in a row (PF & GF) at No1. I know players pull up worse after games at No1.

GAblett
30 Aug 2006, 10:59
Can anyone verfiy this rule?:confused:Pretty sure that he only has to be named on sheet, doesn't matter that he doesn't get a run but I could be wrong.[/quote]

delray would be the man to answer that i thought you had to at least go onto the field.

remember a few years ago when the like of egale and price playing seniors and sitting on the bench for the under 18's they had to take the field to qualify. not sure if the rule has changed thoug?

jexjex
30 Aug 2006, 12:50
i saw him standing next to the bus shelter on main north road, i wasnt sure what he was up to but i asked him if he had put that new super sale sign up out the front with the neon lights. Peter plays his 199th this Saturday in the second semi, hopefully he can go on and notch up his 200th in the Grand Final. I spoke to Kable, he said the Hamley Bridge Bombers have been killing them.

3inarow
30 Aug 2006, 14:57
Pretty sure that he only has to be named on sheet, doesn't matter that he doesn't get a run but I could be wrong.

delray would be the man to answer that i thought you had to at least go onto the field.

remember a few years ago when the like of egale and price playing seniors and sitting on the bench for the under 18's they had to take the field to qualify. not sure if the rule has changed thoug?[/quote]

Tony can't play this week. You have to actually go through the interchange bench and be named on that sheet to qualify.

From all reports Chalkie, you are a centainty to win the B&F in the reserves next week. Don't expect to get too much of the ball this week as we have a surprise waiting for you:eek:

The Nest
30 Aug 2006, 17:23
i saw him standing next to the bus shelter on main north road, i wasnt sure what he was up to but i asked him if he had put that new super sale sign up out the front with the neon lights. Peter plays his 199th this Saturday in the second semi, hopefully he can go on and notch up his 200th in the Grand Final. I spoke to Kable, he said the Hamley Bridge Bombers have been killing them.

Arks should be a show to notch it up in the big one then. Good stuff.

Did you ever work out who the guy was that sent that picture of himself registered post via Buckingham Palace to you? I think it had something to do with the native marine life down at Sanctuary Cove.

Gladstone Small
30 Aug 2006, 17:56
Here is my Team of the year

FB: GAblett, Rabbito, Skeeterman
HBF: harry the bad man, Yaaablett, Santoz
C: badds, Sun Tzu, Gusty
HFF:V. Cattogio, Nifty78, Delray
FF: Chalkie, mullethead, malleeboy

R: Hillite, The Nest, Ibis100

Int: Gladstone Small, HiPerformance, Russ74, Gritty06.
Em: boris becker, zinger, weapo.

Coach: Nakriel
Ass. Coach: GoBears
Media Presenter: Peter Mac

Suspended: 3inarow, Gutsy.

Open to any other suggestions.

Skeeterman
30 Aug 2006, 18:25

Well I must say this comes as a surprise. What an honour, firstly i'd like to thank my team mates as without them this couldn't have happened and secondly my parents whom have sacrificed alot over the years. Mum, Dad, I hope this makes it all worth it.

sumo 111
30 Aug 2006, 18:45
Can anyone verfiy this rule?:confused:Pretty sure that he only has to be named on sheet, doesn't matter that he doesn't get a run but I could be wrong.[/QUOTE]
I don't think it was Tony Hickey who was named on the team sheet. I might be wrong but I think it might have been Michael Hickey Junior just to make up the numbers. I'm pretty sure the League have said that a player must have gone through interchange but having said that, I can't find it mentioned in any of the rules. There are specific rules about under 18's playing in two games etc. but nothing I can find about having to be on the ground if you are named in the side.

PS. Can you imagine the sledging that would go on out on the ground with Gladstone's team of the year. Obviously Phillip Oppey would be the umpire.

Hillite
30 Aug 2006, 18:55
The rovers will be in for a lean time in the centre bounces. I'm only 5' 8''. Proud of it though.

Rabbito
30 Aug 2006, 19:39

Some of your best work!!!

zinger
30 Aug 2006, 21:26
Some of your best work!!!

Geez thanks for the guernsey, Gladstone......matter of fact looking at that team I reckon I'd be a dead set starter. I don't think some of those blokes named can play in more than 2 or 3 positions at once !!

So, forward pocket please, Rabbito for me.....if it's not too crowded there !

roaring tiger
30 Aug 2006, 22:52
Any chance of Sonny Lindsey returning to the major league from Ouyen next year? He is a to good a player to be playing in the mallee league.

badds
30 Aug 2006, 23:13

good humour gladstone.... i would suggest malleeboy may be a very lucky inclusion though perhaps he could be water boy...

badds
30 Aug 2006, 23:18
Any chance of Sonny Lindsey returning to the major league from Ouyen next year? He is a to good a player to be playing in the mallee league.

agree he is way to good for the mallee league but im not sure anyone in this league could afford him lets look at the clubs- wenty couldnt afford him, irymple could but wouldnt take him with eagle at full forward, he wouldnt go to the eagles,merbein not enough money, mildura wouldnt take him, south havent got any room with points.. imps a chance... maybe back to red cliffs.. sonny is a gun no doubting that..

Hillite
31 Aug 2006, 00:26
I reckon there would still be a few barriers for Sonny to overcome at Red Cliffs. That would leave Imps . However South's points would drop for 2007 one for each player recruited this year.
Who would have been the big point players at South anyway . Gathers would have been a freebie.

Santoz
31 Aug 2006, 09:39
I reckon there would still be a few barriers for Sonny to overcome at Red Cliffs. That would leave Imps . However South's points would drop for 2007 one for each player recruited this year.
Who would have been the big point players at South anyway . Gathers would have been a freebie.

Chalkie or Ibis can fix me up here but I think ...

Hamdorf, Riordan, Fitzgerald, O'Shannessy.

No others spring to mind ...

jexjex
31 Aug 2006, 10:15
no i wasnt sure what happened there, but thanks for the leg-up.did you hear what eventuated with minkpop and mungming after what happened there last saturday night? Was that one for the heads out there, big footy people can you hear me clear? If you like it let me see your hands in the air, if you dont get the hell out of here.

V.Cattogio
31 Aug 2006, 11:01

Open to any other suggestions.you have really put your neck on the line with this side gladstone,,,,,it will be an honour pulling on the BIG FOOTY gurnsey with this mob,although there are a few duds named eg; malleeboy in the pocket will struggle if its a physical contest,,delray is sadly out of form and yaaablett went down in a screaming heap last week so the emergs might get called up.:thumbsu:

malleeboy
31 Aug 2006, 11:13
good humour gladstone.... i would suggest malleeboy may be a very lucky inclusion though perhaps he could be water boy...

With all that public affection you have been showing lately towards your girlfriend maybe I can use that water to cool you down:p

mullethead
31 Aug 2006, 11:38
you have really put your neck on the line with this side gladstone,,,,,it will be an honour pulling on the BIG FOOTY gurnsey with this mob,although there are a few duds named eg; malleeboy in the pocket will struggle if its a physical contest,,delray is sadly out of form and yaaablett went down in a screaming heap last week so the emergs might get called up.:thumbsu: Agree with the Delray comment, especially with his undisciplined effort on the weekend where he gave away fifty. Can't afford costly mistakes like that next weekend Danny

GAblett
31 Aug 2006, 12:36

You have obviously watched a bit of footy this year to come up with a team like mate.

Would be a very competitive side out the park i would have thought.

Narkerial as coach though is a bit of a concern, and how did badds get picked over borris becker when both played the same amount this year.

malleeboy
31 Aug 2006, 12:37

Badds, you will learn alot from playing next to Sun Tzu and Gusty. Every time you make a mistake they will soon tell you where and what you did wrong.

harry the bad man
31 Aug 2006, 13:45
harry would like a framed copy of the team of the year to stick in his pool room right next to his U/15 GF pen and his signed heffa horsfall guernsey

Nakriel
31 Aug 2006, 14:29
What do you mean Gablett, perhaps the discipline that I would use may be a bit tough for you to handle, and it is Nakriel not Narkerial. I am the Guard of the South Gate of Heaven

You have obviously watched a bit of footy this year to come up with a team like mate.

Would be a very competitive side out the park i would have thought.

Narkerial as coach though is a bit of a concern, and how did badds get picked over borris becker when both played the same amount this year.

Nakriel
31 Aug 2006, 14:31
Would have to treasure that jumper signed by the big fella, played a few against Heiffer, good bloke. Jumper I treasure is a signed Geelong jumper got Couch. Ablett Buddah Ben Graham when he was wearing number 36

harry would like a framed copy of the team of the year to stick in his pool room right next to his U/15 GF pen and his signed heffa horsfall guernsey

malleeboy
31 Aug 2006, 14:34
Would have to treasure that jumper signed by the big fella, played a few against Heiffer, good bloke. Jumper I treasure is a signed Geelong jumper got Couch. Ablett Buddah Ben Graham when he was wearing number 36

Hey Nakriel, I'll give you fifty cents for the jumper. Thats roughly what a roll of toilet paper costs these days:p