View Full Version : Sunraysia Football league

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

Delray
15 Mar 2006, 16:16
Its great to see the local blokes chipping in. But spogs u havent answered my question how much cash??? cus trust me red cliffs isnt the only club that has missed out on some council handouts. And there is on 1 game, Red Cliffs will receive the benifits for years. Do u think thats 100 % fair??? All the council (or AFL) needs to do is match its donations to all remaining SFL clubs and there will be no problem. But what are the Changes of that!!!

Nifty78
15 Mar 2006, 16:34
Its great to see the local blokes chipping in. But spogs u havent answered my question how much cash??? cus trust me red cliffs isnt the only club that has missed out on some council handouts. And there is on 1 game, Red Cliffs will receive the benifits for years. Do u think thats 100 % fair??? All the council (or AFL) needs to do is match its donations to all remaining SFL clubs and there will be no problem. But what are the Changes of that!!!

Couldn't agree with you more Delray, why should one club benefit from such a tragedy. All the work has been done by council contractors and it has only been done to the Red Cliffs change rooms, so no other SFL club will benefit. They will still be out in the back change rooms.

Kelvin 69
15 Mar 2006, 17:10
I will be up in Mildura on weekend having a look at the preseason comp. can anyone tell me the players to watch, and who you think may win the comp?

Spogs
15 Mar 2006, 18:34
Sorry I'm not close enough to know even estimate a dollar value. Just as a guess I think the biggest expense would've been for the roll out lawn on the new hill would have been close to $20,000. The inequity in hand outs from the council are well known.

But there was no assistance from the council for the lights apart from them providing a guarantee. The social club worth over $200,000 is built on council dirt but fully paid for by the footy club. I reckon the club has done a lot to make Quandong Park a good place to play and watch football off its own back.

chief wiggum
15 Mar 2006, 21:51
Correct Santoz a few of the boys had a fair crack. Curran: no teeth lost just a split lip. Pre season at irymple is over thank god!! into full ball work now so therefore egale will be training from now on only has a problem with long distance stuff (looking Bigger than ever 2).I think he has made himself avaliable for Sat's game against Mildura At No 3 Oval so i think he must be feeling better.

Delray, Word is on the street, Curran sighted in Bendigo yesterday @ BE HAppy Orthodontics. Mouth full of bashed pearlys, and needs a set of falseys, but Word has it that on return to Bendigo signed 3 year deal with the Grasshoppers, moving back to the Burra. Irymple could have gone a bit harder in GF, 1 point no excuse, Who is accountable, who didn't make that tackle in the dying moments

Santoz
16 Mar 2006, 09:34
So Delray, you're telling me that Curran split his lip in the first quarter and didn't return after that ??? Must have been a bad lip split! How many weeks is that? Also you mention a facility upgrade would be welcomed at your club. Irymple has the best facilities in the league by a mile. What, you boys want a bigger spa bath? The new club room renovations not big enough? The plasma tv's too small? ... I also heard on the grapevine that Mildura's renovating their change rooms this year? Can this be confirmed? Also, how can they afford to make these changes, pay "Larry" Anstey AND pay for Timmy Lengs braces ???

VERA HICKEY
16 Mar 2006, 10:50
Nesty
Any truth in the rumour Dave Byrnes is in Melbourne at the moment seeing the specialist about his Back? I heard he is expecting bad news and will need an operation that will rule him out for the season.
Anyone else heard anything on Mark"Always wears white singlets "Alvey. It was interesting to see his clearance he put in yesterday was knocked back straight away from Port Adelaide. My mail is Port have a contract with his name on it and they intend on making him honour it..

Delray
16 Mar 2006, 10:53
No doubt at all sprogs Red Cliffs would be the best venue to watch and play footy. And dont get me wrong i am not having a dig at Red Cliffs. Its the council that ******** me of. And just like yourself's our club rooms and facilities were fully paid for by members and suporters without a cracker from council also. So when they are hand in it out the clubs that miss out have the right to be a little bit ********ed of!!!

Delray
16 Mar 2006, 11:49
So Delray, you're telling me that Curran split his lip in the first quarter and didn't return after that ??? Must have been a bad lip split! How many weeks is that? Also you mention a facility upgrade would be welcomed at your club. Irymple has the best facilities in the league by a mile. What, you boys want a bigger spa bath? The new club room renovations not big enough? The plasma tv's too small? ... I also heard on the grapevine that Mildura's renovating their change rooms this year? Can this be confirmed? Also, how can they afford to make these changes, pay "Larry" Anstey AND pay for Timmy Lengs braces ???

Santoz we may have the best facilities now thats after the club raised 85000 cash, donated labour and built a house to pay it off. As well as operating from a sub standard club house for the last 20 years. The club received no money from council at all. So If the council is handing it out i wont say no cus im sure the payers at the club would love a bigger Plasma and spa!!

Delray
16 Mar 2006, 11:54
Nesty
Any truth in the rumour Dave Byrnes is in Melbourne at the moment seeing the specialist about his Back? I heard he is expecting bad news and will need an operation that will rule him out for the season.
Anyone else heard anything on Mark"Always wears white singlets "Alvey. It was interesting to see his clearance he put in yesterday was knocked back straight away from Port Adelaide. My mail is Port have a contract with his name on it and they intend on making him honour it..

Vera i can answer that for u. Spoke to him last night. Was in melbourne Re: back but got good news no op at this stage will take his spot in the pre season cup. So the Plot thickens with Alvey hey. If it is true they wont clear him if he was paid a sign on fee. Hope W/Worths Coffers are full!!

Delray
16 Mar 2006, 12:18
Delray, Word is on the street, Curran sighted in Bendigo yesterday @ BE HAppy Orthodontics. Mouth full of bashed pearlys, and needs a set of falseys, but Word has it that on return to Bendigo signed 3 year deal with the Grasshoppers, moving back to the Burra. Irymple could have gone a bit harder in GF, 1 point no excuse, Who is accountable, who didn't make that tackle in the dying moments

Now Chief Wiggum i notice you are a new listing but come on mate im sure u can come up with a bit better than that garbage. Curran is building a house in Mildura so i think the grasshoppers are out of luck. and as for the GF No exuses just imps 18 were better than our 21 and a very poor first half by us dident help the course.

lizard29
16 Mar 2006, 14:24
Delray, do you ever do any work round at Allford Jones?

Heard a whisper that South have another recruit in the pipeline, will keep you posted....:confused:

Yaaablett
16 Mar 2006, 15:20
Did anyone catch a glimpse of the 3 posers on the back page of the daily today? Morello, De Rosa and Bower. These blokes are the brains trust at Mildura! Heaven help the dees.

Nifty78
16 Mar 2006, 15:31
Did anyone catch a glimpse of the 3 posers on the back page of the daily today? Morello, De Rosa and Bower. These blokes are the brains trust at Mildura! Heaven help the dees.

Has Joe Morello eaten a small country, looking very much like a little round ball !!:)

The Nest
16 Mar 2006, 15:41

"They were responsible for the recruitment of former Carlton footballer Jake Anstey and the poaching of Irymple Grand Final player Troy Hosking over summer."

Did they forget to mention their biggest coup Connick!;)

jimmyboy
16 Mar 2006, 19:55
"They were responsible for the recruitment of former Carlton footballer Jake Anstey and the poaching of Irymple Grand Final player Troy Hosking over summer."

Did they forget to mention their biggest coup Connick!;)

nesty, what does the ;) mean after "biggest coup Connick"

Fletcher
16 Mar 2006, 20:09
Ash Connick has the greatest sense of humour in town. He cracks me up all the time.

I have met and spoke to Ash Connick on numerous occasions about football related issues. I have certainly not found him to be a humerous fellow, he always seems very serious and proffessional to me and I have spoke to friends of mine who know him on a more personal level and they have told me away from football he does not have much else to talk about and is quite boring!:confused:

Yaaablett
17 Mar 2006, 08:15
Anyone heard how Bernard Leslie Rigby is travelling out at Wenty? I heard he was in peak fitness and will play on the ball with his his mate Alvey this year. Just bought a house too. He must be on plenty of coin at the Roos.

budwinkle
17 Mar 2006, 14:15
Hi all,
I know it's not part of your league, but does anyone know anything about Ouyen United, are the any good ? Have they recruited well? Steve Bell from up your way is coaching them, Sonny Lindsay is good mate's with him..........it could explain him being in the area ?
Also has anyone heard of a player called Matthew Buck ??

Yaaablett
17 Mar 2006, 15:29
Breaking news/rumour. Irymple's attempt to lure Mick Dedini back is gaining momentum. Apparantly the boys have been asked to take a pay cut to accomodate Mighty Mick. Word has it they are not too keen and in any case the little matter of a sign on already paid at Woomelang to Mick may prove a problem. Delray', Nest ????? Whats the word.

mullethead
17 Mar 2006, 20:09
if Deckert goes in then i think Shane Crossling needs to go in as he is young and fit and in my opinion is the best ruckman in the league Are you srious Delray!!!! Are you just taking the ********....I saw this a while ago and has taken me this long to reply....Shane Crossling has never dominated a game like Deckert has for 15 years or Fox does and you have a short memory as my man Daniel Hickey smashed him in the 2 finals games they played last year and that is where you bread is buttered my friend..... He is a good young player but best ruckman in the league.....please give me a break

mullethead
17 Mar 2006, 20:12
Anyone heard how Bernard Leslie Rigby is travelling out at Wenty? I heard he was in peak fitness and will play on the ball with his his mate Alvey this year. Just bought a house too. He must be on plenty of coin at the Roos.If he plays on ball it will leave a big hole down back they do not have a decent chb to free him up, they lack a good back up after Connick shafted them.. Good player and is mighty fit but will have to hold down chb as they dont have a replacement

Delray
17 Mar 2006, 21:13
Breaking news/rumour. Irymple's attempt to lure Mick Dedini back is gaining momentum. Apparantly the boys have been asked to take a pay cut to accomodate Mighty Mick. Word has it they are not too keen and in any case the little matter of a sign on already paid at Woomelang to Mick may prove a problem. Delray', Nest ????? Whats the word.

Well Yaaablett u must have a very good informant who is it?? that is some highly confidential info u have come across. my word is no sign on fee has been received and no pay cut is required as the club has secured him full time work. i guess only time will tell

Delray
17 Mar 2006, 21:21
Are you srious Delray!!!! Are you just taking the ********....I saw this a while ago and has taken me this long to reply....Shane Crossling has never dominated a game like Deckert has for 15 years or Fox does and you have a short memory as my man Daniel Hickey smashed him in the 2 finals games they played last year and that is where you bread is buttered my friend..... He is a good young player but best ruckman in the league.....please give me a break

Well mullethead i can understand your point of view u dont rate crossling at all. well i hope in about 22 or so weeks we will have the answer to question.

mullethead
17 Mar 2006, 22:05
Well mullethead i can understand your point of view u dont rate crossling at all. well i hope in about 22 or so weeks we will have the answer to question. Did i say i didnt rate him, he is a good kid but best in the league, come on delray, as i said Hickey chopped him up last year and has about 4 p/ship medallions, fox has one medallion and constantly gets votes in the macleod, Deckert likewise and has a flag down in Warnabool, and what has Crossling won.....I never said i didnt rate him delray i said he is far from the best ruckman in the league.....

Kelvin 69
17 Mar 2006, 22:56
Are you srious Delray!!!! Are you just taking the ********....I saw this a while ago and has taken me this long to reply....Shane Crossling has never dominated a game like Deckert has for 15 years or Fox does and you have a short memory as my man Daniel Hickey smashed him in the 2 finals games they played last year and that is where you bread is buttered my friend..... He is a good young player but best ruckman in the league.....please give me a break

I agree with u Mullet, I am a neutral supporter, I watched all of Irymples finals last year and Crossling is no where near a premiership ruckman let alone in Deckets, Foxs or Hickeys league. He struggled during the finals series and was one of the main reasons the swallows capitulated in the GRAND FINAL, along with a couple of on ballers that were too worried about their own performances.......

Fletcher
18 Mar 2006, 20:49
Can anyone tell me how the Mildura Irymple practice match went? Who were the stars? How many meat pies did Joe Morello eat i think his record during a game is five did he beat that? Apparently he is in pretty good form at the moment.

Yaaablett
19 Mar 2006, 11:01
If he plays on ball it will leave a big hole down back they do not have a decent chb to free him up, they lack a good back up after Connick shafted them.. Good player and is mighty fit but will have to hold down chb as they dont have a replacement

Joe Dirt, i think you're getting Bernard and Austin mixed up. Maybe before you comment you could know a little bit about the players in question.

cheeseburger
19 Mar 2006, 13:13
watched the game yesterday and was solid hitout by both teams. think mildura got up.

gutsy
20 Mar 2006, 08:08
I heard Alvey had a $10,000 sign on fee with Port Adelaide with payment of $5000 up front. I would imagine the Wentworth guys will fork out the $5K to ensure he stays at Wentworth, but it will be interesting to see if Port try to make him honour his contract.

Yaaablett
20 Mar 2006, 08:10
I heard Alvey had a $10,000 sign on fee with Port Adelaide with payment of $5000 up front. I would imagine the Wentworth guys will fork out the $5K to ensure he stays at Wentworth, but it will be interesting to see if Port try to make him honour his contract.

Apparantly the SANFL knocked the first clearance back before it even got to Port.

gutsy
20 Mar 2006, 08:10
Also heard Fox at South as dropped all his match payments and that Spivey took half as much as Books was on to accomodate their recruits. South aren't spending as big as everyone thinks, they are recruiting past players who are happy to play for the club and not for the big bucks like everyone seems to think.

gutsy
20 Mar 2006, 08:13
On the money side of things, Bell is on a reported $25,000 a year. Wentworth had advertised the coaching job at that amount on another Website the year he was appointed. Along with Alvey they must be well and truly forking out the big bucks. Perhaps the Wenty and Coomy clubs have given Alvey a betting card to cover costs.

gutsy
20 Mar 2006, 08:14
Can anyone tell me if Eaton broke his finger on the weekend. Heard he did something to it and didn't return to the field during the practice match.

gutsy
20 Mar 2006, 08:21
My Top ten from 2005 in no particular order

What do you all think

1. Brad Eaton (Raining McLeod Medallist)
2. Craig Deckert (Best Ruckman - Previous McLeod Medallist)
3. Jason Bell (99 Goals - Nothing else to be said)
4. Jason Spivey (Most intimidating - 1998 & 2005 Jason Hosking medallist and 2 X McLeod medalist)
5. Ryan Hards (Most explosive and most talented youngter in the League)
6. Denato Deangilis (Classy, hard and skillfull - Hasn't shown his true ability in this league yet)
7. David Burns (Highly skilled, quick, classy footballer)
8. Denny Fox (No big man can match him around the ground - 5 time Sth Mildura B&F)
9. Glen Cumming (Booming Left footer very hard to match up on)
10. Peter Zappia (Mr Consistant - Why didn't Robinvale name him coach this year)

The Nest
20 Mar 2006, 10:06
I agree with u Mullet, I am a neutral supporter, I watched all of Irymples finals last year and Crossling is no where near a premiership ruckman let alone in Deckets, Foxs or Hickeys league. He struggled during the finals series and was one of the main reasons the swallows capitulated in the GRAND FINAL, along with a couple of on ballers that were too worried about their own performances.......

Spot on Kelv.

The Nest
20 Mar 2006, 10:12
Also heard Fox at South as dropped all his match payments and that Spivey took half as much as Books was on to accomodate their recruits. South aren't spending as big as everyone thinks, they are recruiting past players who are happy to play for the club and not for the big bucks like everyone seems to think.

Gutsy, how did your boys go on the weekend? There would have been a few bruises on the knees from the ground at Hay wouldnt there?

IMPSTAR
20 Mar 2006, 12:54
I watched the end of the pracky match between irymple and mildura on the weekend, knowing that these two teams will be contenders to knock of the green machine some time this year but from what i saw i still feel fairly confordant that we will be making it number 3 this year, i know it's early but mildura were still reaching in and irymple looked as though they had been partying way to hard over summer and not training, they were no way near a fit as they should be by this time of year.

lizard29
20 Mar 2006, 13:50
I watched the end of the pracky match between irymple and mildura on the weekend, knowing that these two teams will be contenders to knock of the green machine some time this year but from what i saw i still feel fairly confordant that we will be making it number 3 this year, i know it's early but mildura were still reaching in and irymple looked as though they had been partying way to hard over summer and not training, they were no way near a fit as they should be by this time of year.

I watched the whole game IMPSTAR and I thought both teams looked pretty good, if you only saw the end it wouldn't be much to go on because in the last two qtrs most of the better players had gone off and the reserves and U/18's were running around.... By the way dipsh_t I like your spelling of "confident", are you abit like most of the players at Imps ILLITERATE!!!! :D

Yaaablett
20 Mar 2006, 14:05
Impstar- You are a wordsmith. Beautifully written mate, I imagine you with no teeth, ugg boots, flanny, acid wash jeans and the marlboro reds in the back pocket. Oh, and the green and white scarf of course.

gutsy
20 Mar 2006, 15:46
Gutsy, how did your boys go on the weekend? There would have been a few bruises on the knees from the ground at Hay wouldnt there?

They took over a very inexperienced line up. Had a 14 yr old running around and several 16 and 17 year olds. The new recruits played quite well I have been told with Gathercole picked up touches everywhere. Hamdorf was right up there with him and Riordon apparently showed his still one of the best ruckman around. O'Shannessy looks the goods and several of the younger brigade will be better for the hit out. The players on the periphery struggled with the level of the opposition who by the way was coached by ex south player and merbein coach Matty Walder.

I heard they caused some major injuries to two of the Wagga boys with one getting broken ribs and the other a broken jaw.

They were missing Fox, Fitzgerald, Dalla Santa, Morgan, Cook and several others. Not sure of the score but was not flattering apparently. Will be interesting to watch the game Friday night against Irymple and Sth.

mullethead
20 Mar 2006, 16:57
I watched the whole game IMPSTAR and I thought both teams looked pretty good, if you only saw the end it wouldn't be much to go on because in the last two qtrs most of the better players had gone off and the reserves and U/18's were running around.... By the way dipsh_t I like your spelling of "confident", are you abit like most of the players at Imps ILLITERATE!!!! :Dpity that being the rocket scientist that you maybe lizard, doesnt get you the sound of jingle jingle in your top cupboard everytime that I get, when I open mine with the medals that we keep winning at our beloved green and whites!!!!! Its not easy being the most succesful club for a long time up here:p

IMPSTAR
20 Mar 2006, 21:00
pity that being the rocket scientist that you maybe lizard, doesnt get you the sound of jingle jingle in your top cupboard everytime that I get, when I open mine with the medals that we keep winning at our beloved green and whites!!!!! Its not easy being the most succesful club for a long time up here:p

Thats correct mullet, these other clubs can just keep turning up each year so we can go out there and ruin there hopes and dreams once again.

Kelvin 69
20 Mar 2006, 21:30
Thats correct mullet, these other clubs can just keep turning up each year so we can go out there and ruin there hopes and dreams once again.

Hey Impstar can u tell me how Gareth Arentz has fitted in at the club. I hear he showers in his jocks?

Ibis100
20 Mar 2006, 22:24
Imps are a very good side but don't get ahead of yourself. You have dominated over the past 10-15 years and you manage to do it even when you lose several players. You have again recruited well but it will be interesting to see who fills the void of Petrie.

I am a fan of young Ryan Hards but my question is, why wouldn't the club encourage a player with that much talent to pursue his career at a higher level instead of having him waste his talent in this league.

My tip for this years grand final is South Mildura though. They have recruited well and added much needed speed around the ball and with so many good juniors coming through, they should be good enough to win.

mullethead
21 Mar 2006, 08:08
Imps are a very good side but don't get ahead of yourself. You have dominated over the past 10-15 years and you manage to do it even when you lose several players. You have again recruited well but it will be interesting to see who fills the void of Petrie.

I am a fan of young Ryan Hards but my question is, why wouldn't the club encourage a player with that much talent to pursue his career at a higher level instead of having him waste his talent in this league.

My tip for this years grand final is South Mildura though. They have recruited well and added much needed speed around the ball and with so many good juniors coming through, they should be good enough to win.I agree Ibis, petrie has been very good for the last few years, and Hardsy is as good as younster as there is going around at the moment but if he doesnt want to go elsewhere i am sure we wont push him.

Ibis unfortunately they dont give out any silverwear in March, there are five very even contenders this year and should be the best year for competition in a long while.

Yaaablett
21 Mar 2006, 08:27
Well Yaaablett u must have a very good informant who is it?? that is some highly confidential info u have come across. my word is no sign on fee has been received and no pay cut is required as the club has secured him full time work. i guess only time will tell

I'll keep my sources to myself Danny. I will however tell you that it was an Irymple senior player who wasn't happy and certainly wouldn't have taken the cut in wages. There was a post yesterday that seemed certian Mick would stay at Woomelang. Surely he is getting sick of travelling. Open the chequebook one more time Delray. What's another 20K??????

Yaaablett
21 Mar 2006, 08:35
Brad Morris to go with Mick to Woomelang? Mentioned on the Mallee thread.

Delray
21 Mar 2006, 10:48
Brad Morris to go with Mick to Woomelang? Mentioned on the Mallee thread.

That is total crap about Morris. and you will have your answer on Mick sometime this week. And as for 20 K we are not that loaded its just lucky we have found him a job i guess. But i would really like to know who your informant is. Cus i dont no any1 at irymple that doesnt want to see Mick in the Blue and Gold in 06.

Delray
21 Mar 2006, 10:55
Gutsy that was the most informative top 10's i have read and could not agree with you more. Would like to your thoughts of the top 4. As most people know it is fast shaping as a 5 horse race. who is gunna the unlucky team to miss out.

mullethead
21 Mar 2006, 11:05
Gutsy that was the most informative top 10's i have read and could not agree with you more. Would like to your thoughts of the top 4. As most people know it is fast shaping as a 5 horse race. who is gunna the unlucky team to miss out.the team with the least amount of injuries, that will play a big toll.....top 10 not too bad but what about Maloney and Matt Carn(most underrated player in league). Not sure about Byrnes, he has too many injuries for mine, Carn in for Byrnes

Delray
21 Mar 2006, 11:10
Impstar- You are a wordsmith. Beautifully written mate, I imagine you with no teeth, ugg boots, flanny, acid wash jeans and the marlboro reds in the back pocket. Oh, and the green and white scarf of course.

Yaaablett that quote brought a tear to my eye :) and good on ya for not taken any crap. Impstar u must be a real gun and so is your club there is no doubt about it but unfortunately all good things must come to an end. And i think u may be forgetting 1 thing the constant in all your glory the great man T.Hickey. OUT. How u gunna fill that void.

Delray
21 Mar 2006, 11:22
the team with the least amount of injuries, that will play a big toll.....top 10 not too bad but what about Maloney and Matt Carn(most underrated player in league). Not sure about Byrnes, he has too many injuries for mine, Carn in for Byrnes

Mullethead its hard to pick the top 10 some1 always misses out. U can through DT in that list he is a GUN and rarely if ever gets beaten. and i agree with your call on Carn. Hade a great battle with Cardew on the weekend. In for a big season at CHB

Santoz
21 Mar 2006, 11:52
Word doing the rounds at the footy on Friday night was that Sonny Lindsay had signed with Red Cliffs earlier that day. Anyone out at Reddy know much on this story? Surely he's good for 100 but would you take the risk ???

The boys out there also reckon it's gunna be a big year for young Ryan Dowdy. With his flashy style they reckon the umps can't go past him.

gutsy
21 Mar 2006, 12:25
Gutsy that was the most informative top 10's i have read and could not agree with you more. Would like to your thoughts of the top 4. As most people know it is fast shaping as a 5 horse race. who is gunna the unlucky team to miss out.

The ladder I think will look something like this

1. Irymple (Have filled CHF and FF with Simms and Eagle which will allow them to use DeAngilis on the ball where he belongs. If they manage to sign up Didini it would mean Eaton has failed as coach if they finish any lower.)
2. Imperials (Have picked up a couple of handy footballers and may have filled the whole left by Petrie. Hards brothers will be hard to match on any day and Brad has managed a full pre season. Always around the mark and are the reigning premiers.)
3. South (Have injected much needed pace with Gathercole and Hamdorf. Picked up Riordon and with Fox clearly have the best two big men in the League. (sorry Crossling, just not up to their standard yet). Will have a sound onball section that can rip sides apart if they work together.
4. Mildura (Have some excellent key position players at the club this year and a hard on baller which they lacked last year. Anstey will add class to the midfield which will compare to South if they are used properly.)
5. Wentworth (All not well at this club. Rumours are that Bell is not that well liked but when a guy kicks 100 goals why would you get rid of him. Have lost Ough and I hear King isn't playing. Alvey owes large sum of money and may not be cleared. Crothers moving away apparently. Ough is big loss and won't have a ruckmen to take his place and therefore Alvey won't get easy touches which is how he gets his kicks.
6. Robinvale (Mass exodus from this club but the new Coach and Ass Coach are very handy. Possibly bring a couple of players from NT with him. Will Donny play? Would have lost his edge being out for a year and too busy looking after very ill daughter.)
7. Red Cliffs (Could be further up depending on how their recruits play. Little is known of them but if you harrass Faulkhead enough on the field he will worry about himself and forget how to coach the others.
8. Merbein (Watched them train 3 weeks ago and they had 10 players on the track and even less the night before. Thier new coach looks like a slob and can't see the winning more than 0 games.)

There you go, the final ladder for 2006.

gutsy
21 Mar 2006, 12:32
[quote=Santoz]Word doing the rounds at the footy on Friday night was that Sonny Lindsay had signed with Red Cliffs earlier that day. Anyone out at Reddy know much on this story? Surely he's good for 100 but would you take the risk ???

Any club that signs Lindsay is looking for disaster. This is a bloke who ripped that club apart last time he was here with his off field antics. He has played in the Wimmera League for the past couple of yeards and word is he hasn't changed. His signing history for the season of 2006 is as follows

Had Signed with Dimboola as coach and then gave them the Ass and
Has Signed with Ouyen as a player (Possibly Ass coach to Jason Bell)
Played in Practice match against Wentworth with Bell and Tasyin for Cardross on the weekend. He is a money hungry footballer who only cares for himself and will ruin any club he plays for. If it wasn't for the professionalism of the Imps footy club, he no doubt would have done the same to them.

You would hope Red Cliffs have learnt from their mistakes.

gutsy
21 Mar 2006, 12:38
the team with the least amount of injuries, that will play a big toll.....top 10 not too bad but what about Maloney and Matt Carn(most underrated player in league). Not sure about Byrnes, he has too many injuries for mine, Carn in for Byrnes

Mullethead

i agree with Carn, he was stiff not to get in, he is probably a player that doesn't get the Accolades he deserves because of the other players in the side. He played with injuries as did Burns last year but I think Burns had a little more impact as a player. I think Carny can have an excellent year if he stays injury free. As for Maloney, he doens't really impress me. He is a great coach, that is unquestioned, and was a good player, but for someone who has played and captained a team at State Level, he didn't do enough consisitently last year to warrant being in the top ten PLAYERS of 2005.

Yaaablett
21 Mar 2006, 12:39
You put a lot of thought into that gutsy. I reckon you're fairly close with that ladder. I think Lindsay has signed with Ouyen under mate Stephen Bell. And Delray my source said he wanted Mick, he just wasn't taking a pay cut.

Russ74
21 Mar 2006, 16:12
My Sunraysia mole told me that Red Cliffs are making a late play for Sunny Lindsay. Wants 10K up front! My boys Sea Lake might have to get involved, we seem to like trouble makers!

Yaaablett
21 Mar 2006, 16:16
Russ, aka Clint Russell, haven't you blokes spent enough, with Prymke last year, Wall, Lewis, and half of Tyntynder this year?

Russ74
21 Mar 2006, 16:21
Russ, aka Clint Russell, haven't you blokes spent enough, with Prymke last year, Wall, Lewis, and half of Tyntynder this year?

We're spending about half of what Mildura are paying you! And about 5% of what Tooleytang paid ya

VERA HICKEY
21 Mar 2006, 18:00
Fellas
Heard a bit of a whisper that the South Mildura boys and Wagga boys may have taken their game a little too far on the weekend and decided to settle a few scores at the pub afterwards. Anyone else heard anything.
I don't know about you blokes but I just can't wait for the Lightning Premiership to start this weekend just to see how much oil Jason Spivey can get on his body. He will be absolutely glistening under those Red Cliffs lights.

Kelvin 69
21 Mar 2006, 20:45
We're spending about half of what Mildura are paying you! And about 5% of what Tooleytang paid ya

Russ, it sounds like your talking about my old mate bonox... :D

harry the bad man
22 Mar 2006, 10:00
:D Gutsy that was the most informative top 10's i have read and could not agree with you more. Would like to your thoughts of the top 4. As most people know it is fast shaping as a 5 horse race. who is gunna the unlucky team to miss out.
Delray, one person who you forgot from your top ten list, is a player who used to tear up the wing at hernshilwood oval in one way or another. Im speaking of the infamous Michael Fotheringham. Easily fit in at 7 or 8

Delray
22 Mar 2006, 10:20
Gutsy another very informative post. But are the problems out W/W Way really That bad?? They will find it very hard on the back pocket if they have to repay the sign on fee. and if they dont make the 4 that will compound there problems. Is Andy Ough Really not playing?? that will leave a massive hole.

harry the bad man
22 Mar 2006, 14:20
i think that the only area that irymple will struggle this year is its full back line. mildura and w/w could cause real headaches

jd smurf
22 Mar 2006, 16:12
:D
Delray, one person who you forgot from your top ten list, is a player who used to tear up the wing at hernshilwood oval in one way or another. Im speaking of the infamous Michael Fotheringham. Easily fit in at 7 or 8

harry how right you are, the fang is a legend at the nest and surely a all time great in this league :)

Yaaablett
22 Mar 2006, 16:14
Fellas
Heard a bit of a whisper that the South Mildura boys and Wagga boys may have taken their game a little too far on the weekend and decided to settle a few scores at the pub afterwards. Anyone else heard anything.
I don't know about you blokes but I just can't wait for the Lightning Premiership to start this weekend just to see how much oil Jason Spivey can get on his body. He will be absolutely glistening under those Red Cliffs lights.

gee thats been kept quiet. Might be a broken jaw out of the incident too. Gutsy you'd know- What happened and to who?

gutsy
22 Mar 2006, 17:20
Gutsy another very informative post. But are the problems out W/W Way really That bad?? They will find it very hard on the back pocket if they have to repay the sign on fee. and if they dont make the 4 that will compound there problems. Is Andy Ough Really not playing?? that will leave a massive hole.

Ough has stated he is not playing this year. Has gotten a promotion at work and won't have time apparently. Have it on good source he will not be playing. Looking at the photo in the paper today, not too many at training at Wenty.

gutsy
22 Mar 2006, 17:24
gee thats been kept quiet. Might be a broken jaw out of the incident too. Gutsy you'd know- What happened and to who?

Wagga boys wern't involved in anything, they were tucked up in bed for a big day Sunday. Some local lads were looking for trouble and managed to find it.

Only broken bones were a Wagga player got some broken ribs and another a broken jaw. Both during the game and both fair.

gutsy
22 Mar 2006, 17:27
Fellas

He might look like a carrot when he gets that fake tan but Gathercole is the oil man. Looks very slick.

VERA HICKEY
22 Mar 2006, 18:15
One of the young boys I hear has the broken jaw Yaaablett. My mail is it was Nathan Johns.

nipper
22 Mar 2006, 18:34
Just wondering if any of you's were around when young Robbie Tarrant was playing in the league?? What was he like? Is he still commited? and is he any good?
Also wondering if Matt Tarrant is still playing with Balranald.

Robbie won a two league best & fairest awards in the juniors and also captained Sunraysia schoolboys. He currenlty plays with Xavier and will also be playing with the Bendigo Pioneers when he is not committed to play for Xavier. Matt Tarrant is a skilled and an agressive player but he chose not to take his career to a higher level. He was runner up in the Millewa League best & fairest, won his club award then transfered to Balranald and got 3rd in the best & fairest before injurying his knee & being out of footy for season 2005. I have not heard of any-one referring to Matt as struggles...

Delray
22 Mar 2006, 19:05
Some Late news on couple of players that may be up for grabs! Joel (Bull) Cullen and the bald man Brad Ryan. Back from There overseas holiday. any1 Know where they are linning up this year. I heard Bull Callen is building a house up here.

mullethead
22 Mar 2006, 19:47
Robbie won a two league best & fairest awards in the juniors and also captained Sunraysia schoolboys. He currenlty plays with Xavier and will also be playing with the Bendigo Pioneers when he is not committed to play for Xavier. Matt Tarrant is a skilled and an agressive player but he chose not to take his career to a higher level. He was runner up in the Millewa League best & fairest, won his club award then transfered to Balranald and got 3rd in the best & fairest before injurying his knee & being out of footy for season 2005. I have not heard of any-one referring to Matt as struggles...I dont know about struggles Nipper, but really he never played any good snr footy at South, played reasonable reserves footy and runner up in the millewa, well Simon Kelly won that this year didnt he, need I say anymore!!!!!! But on the otherhand he is no hack but lets be honest he is a bit behind the other 2

mullethead
22 Mar 2006, 19:54
Delray any late mail on Mick dedini, that could nearly be the cream on the cake.....My watchdog thought on Satdy that the Mildura boys carried on a bit much for just winning a practice match, might want to tell them delray that there are no cups handed out in March.....

Fletcher
22 Mar 2006, 20:58
Delray any late mail on Mick dedini, that could nearly be the cream on the cake.....My watchdog thought on Satdy that the Mildura boys carried on a bit much for just winning a practice match, might want to tell them delray that there are no cups handed out in March.....

Mullethead you have mentioned to tell mildura there are no cups handed out in march but you are talking about Mick Dedini being the cream on the cake at Irymple!! Every year you Irymple blokes talk yourselves up during the pre season and during the year. In my opinion you should maybe try and keep a lid on things until you actually achieve something! When was your last premiership?:confused:

Ibis100
22 Mar 2006, 22:18
One of the young boys I hear has the broken jaw Yaaablett. My mail is it was Nathan Johns.

You could be right VERA. Some good mail there mate. Poor bugger was standing back doing nothing and was king hit.

Ibis100
22 Mar 2006, 22:21
Fellas

He doesn't wear oil. And what exactly are you inferring. Sounds like you are gay and perving on other players. Bit scary Vera.

mullethead
23 Mar 2006, 06:01
Mullethead you have mentioned to tell mildura there are no cups handed out in march but you are talking about Mick Dedini being the cream on the cake at Irymple!! Every year you Irymple blokes talk yourselves up during the pre season and during the year. In my opinion you should maybe try and keep a lid on things until you actually achieve something! When was your last premiership?:confused:My last premiership was about 5months ago fletch, you may read my previous parts to find out i am with the green and whites and I am quite happy to talk cups with you fletch, any day of the week, I was just commenting to Delray that I heard the Mildura boys may have carried on a bit much for just a win in a practice match thats all......all be it it came second hand to me I was just clarifying with delray if that is right

Delray
23 Mar 2006, 08:14
My last premiership was about 5months ago fletch, you may read my previous parts to find out i am with the green and whites and I am quite happy to talk cups with you fletch, any day of the week, I was just commenting to Delray that I heard the Mildura boys may have carried on a bit much for just a win in a practice match thats all......all be it it came second hand to me I was just clarifying with delray if that is right

Thank u for your opinion Fletch and we will take it on board. But do yourself a favor and get your facts right before u offer such crap. If u read the posts there has not been alot said about Irymple by Irymple people at all. (we learnt that lesson last year).

And Mullethead Mick Didini will play on permit throughout the pre season cup. We will be trying to secure the real deal next week. Its 50/50 at the moment. Will help our structure dramaticlly if we can get him.

Yaaablett
23 Mar 2006, 08:23

You've got to be joking. If you rocked up at the end of the game you wouldn't have been able to tell who won or lost, it was that low key. All anyone took out of the game was just the hit out.

harry the bad man
23 Mar 2006, 09:43
with the new faces out wenty way, be best if blokes keep their missuses under lock and key!!!

Santoz
23 Mar 2006, 09:57
My last premiership was about 5months ago fletch, you may read my previous parts to find out i am with the green and whites and I am quite happy to talk cups with you fletch, any day of the week, I was just commenting to Delray that I heard the Mildura boys may have carried on a bit much for just a win in a practice match thats all......all be it it came second hand to me I was just clarifying with delray if that is right

The only carrying on the Mildura boys did was at the Workers afterwards. Like Yaaablett said, all that was taken away from the game was the hit out. By the way Yaaablett, hows the back? I heard you got dropped pretty hard in a wrestling drill at the end of training last night by a bloke half your size ;)

Also mullethead, are the Imps magoos gunna be strong this year? Gunna be taking home the cup again? Certainly would be good to hear about it if they do. Don't forget to shout it out from the top of the T&G Clock ok mate ...

harry the bad man
23 Mar 2006, 10:17
magoos team of the year 06 - GUNS

R.Schelfourt T.Mitchell N.Faulkhead
K.Livio M.Prott Lawson (one of the cousins)
M.James F.Dichiera H.Middleton
L.Crisera M.Touhey N.Wilkie ( out of retirment )
B.Alford P.Mckenzie N.Murphy

P.Gourlay
K.Farnsworth
Sup mario

Coach: Robbie Smith
Team Manager: Bill Cook
Runner: Rick Gane

Fletcher
23 Mar 2006, 10:22

sorry mullethead i did not want to know when your last premiership was I was curious to know when irymples last one was?

Fletcher
23 Mar 2006, 10:44
Thank u for your opinion Fletch and we will take it on board. But do yourself a favor and get your facts right before u offer such crap. If u read the posts there has not been alot said about Irymple by Irymple people at all. (we learnt that lesson last year).

And Mullethead Mick Didini will play on permit throughout the pre season cup. We will be trying to secure the real deal next week. Its 50/50 at the moment. Will help our structure dramaticlly if we can get him.

Delray you have got to be joking not alot said about Irymple by Irymple people!!! Thats great if you have learnt from last year, because I love nothing better than so see a club that has struggled for a long period of time achieve the ultimate, it would be better than watching imps win it every year:thumbsu:

Yaaablett
23 Mar 2006, 10:49
with the new faces out wenty way, be best if blokes keep their missuses under lock and key!!!

You can't make a statement like that and not give us more!

Yaaablett
23 Mar 2006, 10:51
The only carrying on the Mildura boys did was at the Workers afterwards. Like Yaaablett said, all that was taken away from the game was the hit out. By the way Yaaablett, hows the back? I heard you got dropped pretty hard in a wrestling drill at the end of training last night by a bloke half your size ;)

Also mullethead, are the Imps magoos gunna be strong this year? Gunna be taking home the cup again? Certainly would be good to hear about it if they do. Don't forget to shout it out from the top of the T&G Clock ok mate ...

I've just about worked out who you are Santoz.

The Nest
23 Mar 2006, 11:35

P.Gourlay
K.Farnsworth
Sup mario

That team would be a great representative for the league. not just quality players but also would attract plenty of attention from the netballers...
Harry, love the choice of support staff. cracker!

Ibis100
23 Mar 2006, 13:15

P.Gourlay
K.Farnsworth
Sup mario

I am sure Hugh Middleton could slip into the middle and I am amazed Warrick Stephens didn't get a run. You could almost replace this team with Merbein in 2006 and get better competition

harry the bad man
23 Mar 2006, 13:25
I am sure Hugh Middleton could slip into the middle and I am amazed Warrick Stephens didn't get a run. You could almost replace this team with Merbein in 2006 and get better competition
i must apologise for overlooking wazza stevens, could of slotted him into any possie. Experienced, He has played for more loacl clubs than troy hosking

Ibis100
23 Mar 2006, 13:42
i must apologise for overlooking wazza stevens, could of slotted him into any possie. Experienced, He has played for more loacl clubs than troy hosking

And heres the corka. He has transferred to merbein this year and they have offered him money. How good are merbein going.

harry the bad man
23 Mar 2006, 14:04
And heres the corka. He has transferred to merbein this year and they have offered him money. How good are merbein going.
faark good on ya merbein. yeh hes getting a packet of ciggies and a cuppla long necks per game - way over paid, mite have to post him onto the most overpaid players in vic list

chalkie
23 Mar 2006, 14:48
Seeing that I'm new to the conversation, thought I better answer a question regarding the mayor of r'vale (Donny Falvo). He has decided to stay with the eagles instead of chasing money in the central murray leag. Seeing that the footy club looked after his block while he was in Melb, it's the decent thing he could do. It' s great news to hear that his little girl is on the mend. Reports are Donny has got himself quiet fit. Will need to be, seeing that the eagles are going to be very light on and they will spend more time chasing then being chased. They are also on the search for a ruckman as James Mac is heading to Melb.

mullethead
23 Mar 2006, 15:38

Also mullethead, are the Imps magoos gunna be strong this year? Gunna be taking home the cup again? Certainly would be good to hear about it if they do. Don't forget to shout it out from the top of the T&G Clock ok mate ...SANTOZ as i said i only got it second hand and was just trying to confirm it. And when arent our magoos strong......

mullethead
23 Mar 2006, 15:39
You can't make a statement like that and not give us more!Why Mark Tasiyan isnt playing out there is he?????

Santoz
23 Mar 2006, 16:06
I've just about worked out who you are Santoz.

Only coz I practically told you, super sleuth. Don't blow my cover though!;)

Santoz
23 Mar 2006, 16:21

P.Gourlay
K.Farnsworth
Sup mario

I've heard a story that Robbie Smith has played a quarter or two in the twos, years and years ago. Does anyone remember how he went? It's great to see someone that's been around a club given a go after years and years of service. It's a real spirit lifter, a laugh and a good bit of fun. Bit like Mildura giving that Nathan Murphy a go last year. Just the excitement on his face spoke volumes. He didn't get a kick but boy he was mighty proud of himself ... ;)

Kick_it_2_me
24 Mar 2006, 03:22
who is this brads eaton? everyone talks about him but i think his nothing but big balls who couldn't get a kick in a ******** fight. what do u think 'the nest'?