View Full Version : Sunraysia Football league

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

Hillite
13 Dec 2006, 12:42
A source close to action at Irymple says... he came with a mate to training, unsolicited... hes going to Bendigo next year...
The club to be safe would have to put in an "Intent to Interview form"
It seems to be all Irymple and Mildura are the other clubs doing anything.

Rabbito
13 Dec 2006, 12:55
Too old to play with the pioneers?? 18 already? got his lience?

He is able to play as an over age ruckman, a relatively new rule to assist in the development of big men. You stalking him?[/quote]

Just interested, I was sure he was to old, but the new rule clears it up!
Not much had been said about him, someone was tring to tell me he'd had footy/job offers elsewhere.

Rabbito
13 Dec 2006, 12:58
Why would you think they were thinking of paying him? Don't recall anyone saying anything about money. Irymple aren't that stupid that they would throw money away. The kid has some talent but not worthy of being a payed player yet!

Not stupid!! (apart from last years success) Irymple has throw money away, burnt it, **********ed it up against the wall etc, for the last 20 years, how old are you?

Wells Train
13 Dec 2006, 13:53
Spoke to his uncle today and it is Joe, he is moving to bendigo for uni so is keeping fit since the pies aren't on the park yet (fu*k knows why).
Congo is disappointing me wanting to leave but i think there will be more water to pass under the bridge just yet on that one

If you knew the whole story then you might agree with his reasons and after talking to him i think merbein may have to find themselves another recruting committee( with the exception of Bathy). Very unproffessional.[/quote]
Look i've played for a few clubs in my time and merbein is by far the best team you can be around. People will do anything for you. As players we are there to play footy and thats it. All the politics and crap can be left to everyone else. Congo has my best wishes as we are mates and but it doesn't mean i can't be disappointed because he has taken the soft option.

GeeBruz
13 Dec 2006, 13:59
Not stupid!! (apart from last years success) Irymple has throw money away, burnt it, **********ed it up against the wall etc, for the last 20 years, how old are you?

It is a known fact that the committee changed out there a couple of years ago and the new one has put the club on the right track. Delray will back this up!!!! So there isn't any point in comparing it to the previous 18 years.

Santoz
13 Dec 2006, 16:35
It is a known fact that the committee changed out there a couple of years ago and the new one has put the club on the right track. Delray will back this up!!!! So there isn't any point in comparing it to the previous 18 years.

Well, no surprises there seeing as he is on the committee :rolleyes:

Delray
13 Dec 2006, 17:23
Boys please lets get the rumors somewhere in the ball park before we start spreading them.

1.) Ilario Cavallo has not been anywhere near the IFC. Yes it has been Joe that has trained with us. And he will be going to Bendigo to complete his schooling. Congo has trained with us both nights we did not approach him if he comes to Irymple it will be at his own discretion.

2.) C Lando has also been no where near the club and id say thats just a lie that he is coming accros. Yes his uncle does play for us but thats his only conection at this stage.......

GeeBruz
14 Dec 2006, 07:07
If you knew the whole story then you might agree with his reasons and after talking to him i think merbein may have to find themselves another recruting committee( with the exception of Bathy). Very unproffessional.
Look i've played for a few clubs in my time and merbein is by far the best team you can be around. People will do anything for you. As players we are there to play footy and thats it. All the politics and crap can be left to everyone else. Congo has my best wishes as we are mates and but it doesn't mean i can't be disappointed because he has taken the soft option.[/quote]

What planet do you come from? The club was good but it has gone backwards very quickly. How many local boys are at the club now? Where have all the 25-30 year olds, that stuck with the club before it's sucess,but have now been crapped on?

GAblett
14 Dec 2006, 07:11
A source close to action at Irymple says... he came with a mate to training, unsolicited... hes going to Bendigo next year...
The club to be safe would have to put in an "Intent to Interview form"
It seems to be all Irymple and Mildura are the other clubs doing anything.

Boys please lets get the rumors somewhere in the ball park before we start spreading them.

1.) Ilario Cavallo has not been anywhere near the IFC. Yes it has been Joe that has trained with us. And he will be going to Bendigo to complete his schooling. Congo has trained with us both nights we did not approach him if he comes to Irymple it will be at his own discretion.

2.) C Lando has also been no where near the club and id say thats just a lie that he is coming accros. Yes his uncle does play for us but thats his only conection at this stage.......

Isnt it only if the club approaches a player they have to put in an intent to interview form???

Seen they have gone to Irymple on their own accord the club should not be required to put one in????

Hillite
14 Dec 2006, 07:28
The form has a section for the club to fill in if the player has arrived of his own accord.
If a player is there with some intent to transfer it would be disrespectful of the club not to interview him, even in a casual way. Its no skin of their nose and it may prevent a substantial fine.

Delray
14 Dec 2006, 09:43
Correct Hill: if any player rocks up from another SFL club on his own accord or not you need to get the intent in or else it will cost your club $2000. The SFLwere even trying to fine the clubs that spoke to players at doms when they were maggoted. Thank god that never really took off ha ha

Santoz
14 Dec 2006, 13:32
Correct Hill: if any player rocks up from another SFL club on his own accord or not you need to get the intent in or else it will cost your club $2000. The SFLwere even trying to fine the clubs that spoke to players at doms when they were maggoted. Thank god that never really took off ha ha

I've heard that's how you boys operate. Thanks for clarifying that ... :)

Wells Train
14 Dec 2006, 16:41
Look i've played for a few clubs in my time and merbein is by far the best team you can be around. People will do anything for you. As players we are there to play footy and thats it. All the politics and crap can be left to everyone else. Congo has my best wishes as we are mates and but it doesn't mean i can't be disappointed because he has taken the soft option.

What planet do you come from? The club was good but it has gone backwards very quickly. How many local boys are at the club now? Where have all the 25-30 year olds, that stuck with the club before it's sucess,but have now been crapped on?[/quote]
Where do u think mate. They have all been paid good dollars in the years we won the grannies and when we struggle on field they don't like it. Here is what most of them look at
1) Train your ars* off and play each week and get thumped, enjoy urself socially and take home a fair pay packet
2)Go to another club or a lesser league get your pockets filled even more and get success.
I know i prefer the former. I think it comes back to in juniors, i played in junior premierships and didn't like the club i was at so much, when it comes to the current day, getting out and enjoying a kick and a beer is what its about. Anyone who doesn't needs to wake up, we play SFL seniors FFS we are never getting anywhere cos we aren't good enough. This town isn't the same without footy but its the young fellas from merbein who have won what, 3 games in 7 years through juniors who are now in the 25-30 bracket and don't want to be belted week in week out. Its a case of you don't know what u have till its gone. Great club , great people, winning games is the only thing missing, it could never be as sweet when the victories come if u weren't here in these times.
Now what planet do u live on.....

GAblett
15 Dec 2006, 06:19
What planet do you come from? The club was good but it has gone backwards very quickly. How many local boys are at the club now? Where have all the 25-30 year olds, that stuck with the club before it's sucess,but have now been crapped on?
Where do u think mate. They have all been paid good dollars in the years we won the grannies and when we struggle on field they don't like it. Here is what most of them look at
1) Train your ars* off and play each week and get thumped, enjoy urself socially and take home a fair pay packet
2)Go to another club or a lesser league get your pockets filled even more and get success.
I know i prefer the former. I think it comes back to in juniors, i played in junior premierships and didn't like the club i was at so much, when it comes to the current day, getting out and enjoying a kick and a beer is what its about. Anyone who doesn't needs to wake up, we play SFL seniors FFS we are never getting anywhere cos we aren't good enough. This town isn't the same without footy but its the young fellas from merbein who have won what, 3 games in 7 years through juniors who are now in the 25-30 bracket and don't want to be belted week in week out. Its a case of you don't know what u have till its gone. Great club , great people, winning games is the only thing missing, it could never be as sweet when the victories come if u weren't here in these times.
Now what planet do u live on.....[/quote]

you may want to do some investigating before you go having a go at him mate. i think you will be surprised to see who it is

GeeBruz
15 Dec 2006, 07:33
Now what planet do u live on.....[/quote]

A better one than you do obviously! I suggest you do some research on your club before you start talking crap! By research i don't mean asking those blokes that are there now. In fact if you want i can give you the lesson. Just for your info, ask around your club and find out from them if they were around when the club went semi-am and only won 1 game in 2-3 years. I'll guarantee you'd be able to count them on 1 hand. Your so called recruiters used to come up to the club of a training night, sit in their cars drinking and bagging the ******** out of the players and club. Not once did they come to a function and actually support the club.
The shoe also fits on the other foot. After we won some games and had some success, then and only then, did they start putting their hands up to help.
The club was once the best club i'd ever known but those days are long gone and until things start changing out there its going to be a struggle. I hope that these young players(current) do stay at the club but everyone has a braking point.

Hillite
17 Dec 2006, 15:53
Too quiet in Sunraysia . Someone make something up.

DOUGHNUTS
18 Dec 2006, 12:20
Too quiet in Sunraysia . Someone make something up.

Any truth that Simon Prymke has returned home to Mildura and is speaking to Imps????

GeeBruz
18 Dec 2006, 12:57
Any truth that Simon Prymke has returned home to Mildura and is speaking to Imps????

None what so ever!!!!! Is staying at woorinen in the cmfl. Spoke to him this weekend.

DOUGHNUTS
18 Dec 2006, 16:09
None what so ever!!!!! Is staying at woorinen in the cmfl. Spoke to him this weekend.

He only decided yesterday, he got in touch with a few of his old school mates down at Imps.

Hillite
18 Dec 2006, 19:51
I believe Irymple were interested. He'd plug a gap in there '07 line-up.

Wells Train
19 Dec 2006, 13:38
We have our pre season bbq at the pies, tomorrow night, should be good to get some confirmation on some rumours. I will stay tight lipped ATM but could have some news of 3 decent recruits over the chrissy period. Fingers crossed....

GeeBruz
20 Dec 2006, 09:08
We have our pre season bbq at the pies, tomorrow night, should be good to get some confirmation on some rumours. I will stay tight lipped ATM but could have some news of 3 decent recruits over the chrissy period. Fingers crossed....

What, this crap again!!!!!! Every year Merbein say they've recruited but never do. Untill we actually see some then it's just p iss and wind. good to see Congo leaving (hopefully) to better his career.:thumbsu:

Rabbito
20 Dec 2006, 11:57
What, this crap again!!!!!! Every year Merbein say they've recruited but never do. Untill we actually see some then it's just p iss and wind. good to see Congo leaving (hopefully) to better his career.:thumbsu:

Over rated, will be lucky to get a run in the 1's anywhere than Merbein!!

DOUGHNUTS
20 Dec 2006, 12:58

Gee what a night that should be, It must cost the footy club alot of money to cover all the heads out there.:) :thumbsu: :mad: :p ;) :( :rolleyes:

GeeBruz
21 Dec 2006, 09:24
Over rated, will be lucky to get a run in the 1's anywhere than Merbein!!

Trust me the Kid can play footy! Given the chance and the right people to coach him, he'll prove it.

Santoz
21 Dec 2006, 10:26

If these recruits are anywhere near as good as 'Crackers' Keenan or Wazza Stephens then Merbein have a lot to look forward to in season 07 ... :thumbsu:

No Congress and no Cavallo's, the future looks bright for Merbein ... :thumbsu:

Congress is a pretty good player. Plays FF in an average side. He wouldn't have the greatest supply from their midfield. From all reports he played against Mildura with a broken cheekbone until he copped a whack in the face and had to go off the ground.

Rather interesting that they had a family day at Kenny Park last year to promote themselves as the family club and a few of their good juniors want out ...

mullethead
21 Dec 2006, 12:01
If these recruits are anywhere near as good as 'Crackers' Keenan or Wazza Stephens then Merbein have a lot to look forward to in season 07 ... :thumbsu:

No Congress and no Cavallo's, the future looks bright for Merbein ... :thumbsu:

Congress is a pretty good player. Plays FF in an average side. He wouldn't have the greatest supply from their midfield. From all reports he played against Mildura with a broken cheekbone until he copped a whack in the face and had to go off the ground.

Rather interesting that they had a family day at Kenny Park last year to promote themselves as the family club and a few of their good juniors want out ... You have a fair bit to say Santoz about the pies, but we may just pause for one minute and see what your club has won over recent years........hmmmm sweet f*** all. They maybe struggling now and may for years to come but at least they have something to hang there hat on in recent years. Wasn't all that long ago that your club was at amatuer status. Tide turns quickly....

Santoz
21 Dec 2006, 12:11
You have a fair bit to say Santoz about the pies, but we may just pause for one minute and see what your club has won over recent years........hmmmm sweet f*** all. They maybe struggling now and may for years to come but at least they have something to hang there hat on in recent years. Wasn't all that long ago that your club was at amatuer status. Tide turns quickly....

With the way things are looking at Merbein at the moment, maybe you boys should stop hanging your hat (so to speak) on previous glories and worry about the present and the exodus of talented youngsters from the club ... :thumbsu:

GeeBruz
21 Dec 2006, 12:15
With the way things are looking at Merbein at the moment, maybe you boys should stop hanging your hat (so to speak) on previous glories and worry about the present and the exodus of talented youngsters from the club ... :thumbsu:

Well said!:thumbsu:

But the exodus of young talent from there has been going on for years! Young Rohan Malic for example! Why would you let a talented kid like him slip through without even puting up a descent fight.

Rabbito
21 Dec 2006, 12:38
Well said!:thumbsu:

But the exodus of young talent from there has been going on for years! Young Rohan Malic for example! Why would you let a talented kid like him slip through without even puting up a descent fight.

Many thing contribute to this I believe, 1, with VCE only being offered in town, 16-17-18 yo young punters making new friends, wanting to play in sucessful sides? 2, how long since Merbein under 13's or under 15's even played in the finals. 3. the 2 premiership sides came and went not a great example to young blokes at the club.

harry the bad man
21 Dec 2006, 12:40
Merry Syphillis and a Happy Gonorrhoea to all local big footy pedderarses

luv Uncle Harry

mullethead
21 Dec 2006, 12:44
Least we have somewhere to hang the hat....Where about do you put yours, on the floor?????

mullethead
21 Dec 2006, 13:05
Funny thing is Santoz, I am not a Merbein man, but I just don't see the point in bagging clubs at their lowest expecially when you aren't from a successful club......

GeeBruz
21 Dec 2006, 13:48
Many thing contribute to this I believe, 1, with VCE only being offered in town, 16-17-18 yo young punters making new friends, wanting to play in sucessful sides? 2, how long since Merbein under 13's or under 15's even played in the finals. 3. the 2 premiership sides came and went not a great example to young blokes at the club.

Fair call, but again the exodus began a long time before the premierships.

Rabbito
21 Dec 2006, 14:31
Fair call, but again the exodus began a long time before the premierships.

GeeBruz can you give me your best 10 blokes who played under age footy for Merbien not to go on and pay the club back? I help, number #1 Matthew Knights pretends he never played there!!

Hillite
21 Dec 2006, 14:36
I don't reckon Merbein have lost too many young players via kids going to the Senior College. Irymple Sec Col only goes to year 10 and they're doing ok on the junior side of things.

GeeBruz
21 Dec 2006, 14:55
GeeBruz can you give me your best 10 blokes who played under age footy for Merbien not to go on and pay the club back? I help, number #1 Matthew Knights pretends he never played there!!

I'm not quite sure what your after or who you talk to but every time i see Matty, wether it be in mildura or melbourne, there is no doubt that he'll tell you he is from Merbein. It's not wether they payed them back or not , the fact is the club failed to look after it's juniors. I'll give you a list of players in recent times who have played juniors but have been burnt by the club in one way or another.

Scotty Phillips, Daniel Smith, Ashley Dannatt, Nigel Sylvia, Luke Gane and Joe Wright. These blokes were there when they struggled and have been through the hard times. Its just a shame that the club didn't look after these blokes. Only a small list but they all were talented juniors.

Santoz
21 Dec 2006, 14:57
Funny thing is Santoz, I am not a Merbein man, but I just don't see the point in bagging clubs at their lowest expecially when you aren't from a successful club......

By bagging them, you are talking about me making a point of how some of their talented juniors are leaving because of they way they've been treated. As the club is struggling as you say, wouldn't it be smart to try and keep the better juniors they've got, not turn them away? A club that does this has every right to be bagged as far as I'm concerned. Why do you feel sorry for them if they're ladder position is their own doing?

Least we have somewhere to hang the hat....Where about do you put yours, on the floor?????

Yep, on the floor. How original. Very clever ...

Fridge
21 Dec 2006, 19:42
I was another one of those blokes. Captained the U18s in 2002 and played reserves after every game. The seniors won the flag there that year. 2003 I had an interupted pre season and couldn't even get a game in the ressies! Not saying that I would of played seniors, but yeah. I'm at Bambill now, not paid, but enjoy it all the same.

behind_post
21 Dec 2006, 19:54
I was another one of those blokes. Captained the U18s in 2002 and played reserves after every game. The seniors won the flag there that year. 2003 I had an interupted pre season and couldn't even get a game in the ressies! Not saying that I would of played seniors, but yeah. I'm at Bambill now, not paid, but enjoy it all the same.
so what are you trying to say??? all your've said is u were capt. played rezzies after that..were u expecting to play seniors or wat?

Fridge
21 Dec 2006, 20:01
No never. It's the way they handled junior players. As a junior I watched the club give games to the young blokes for a couple of years. Then spent a whole lot of cash on back to back flags, where the only Merbein youngster to play in the flags was Colin Sylvia (straight from pioneers). Then everyone left and it was back to getting flogged and blooding the juniors again. I just didn't think it was a thing you'd see the Imperials or the Swallows doing. And they are strong sides with their juniors. Or am I just missing the whole point?

GeeBruz
22 Dec 2006, 06:42
No never. It's the way they handled junior players. As a junior I watched the club give games to the young blokes for a couple of years. Then spent a whole lot of cash on back to back flags, where the only Merbein youngster to play in the flags was Colin Sylvia (straight from pioneers). Then everyone left and it was back to getting flogged and blooding the juniors again. I just didn't think it was a thing you'd see the Imperials or the Swallows doing. And they are strong sides with their juniors. Or am I just missing the whole point?

No you aren't missing the whole point, but Phil Matotek, Darren Sedgmen, Luke Gane, Jason Hunt, Simon McCarthy and Damien Spicer all came up through the ranks at Merbein the same as Col.

Rabbito
22 Dec 2006, 08:45
No you aren't missing the whole point, but Phil Matotek, Darren Sedgmen, Luke Gane, Jason Hunt, Simon McCarthy and Damien Spicer all came up through the ranks at Merbein the same as Col.

I think every sfl club suffers the same fate, 90% of players in the Milleawa must have played junior footy at one or another of the sfl clubs?? I think it comes down to how the club manages it.
Has Jason Hunt headed off to Bambill?
Did Merbein simply reappointment the coaches because of the dollar factor? or do they believe these is a way forward?

The Nest
22 Dec 2006, 10:13
I heard woorinen were here on sunday and signed 3 Tigers including wethers, stephens but I forgot the third. They have a budget of $130,000 and are ringing any player in sunraysia who are unhappy with their current club.
This high profile recruit will be the one Irymple are offering a very large contract to. This shows how the point system in this league is not working.

Who is the high profile recruit Captain Tug Boat? And what contract have we offered? I think you might be getting taken for a ride......

Can anyone shed any light on the cricket match played out by the Mildura boys for training this week? I heard that Bower may have had his pants pulled down by 'the big quick'.:thumbsu:

DOUGHNUTS
22 Dec 2006, 10:56
I'm not quite sure what your after or who you talk to but every time i see Matty, wether it be in mildura or melbourne, there is no doubt that he'll tell you he is from Merbein. It's not wether they payed them back or not , the fact is the club failed to look after it's juniors. I'll give you a list of players in recent times who have played juniors but have been burnt by the club in one way or another.

Scotty Phillips, Daniel Smith, Ashley Dannatt, Nigel Sylvia, Luke Gane and Joe Wright. These blokes were there when they struggled and have been through the hard times. Its just a shame that the club didn't look after these blokes. Only a small list but they all were talented juniors.

Thats why they struggled, those players mentioned wouldnt even get a game in the Ressies at any other SFL club.:thumbsd:

Santoz
22 Dec 2006, 20:36
Who is the high profile recruit Captain Tug Boat? And what contract have we offered? I think you might be getting taken for a ride......

Can anyone shed any light on the cricket match played out by the Mildura boys for training this week? I heard that Bower may have had his pants pulled down by 'the big quick'.:thumbsu:

Shall you shed some light on the match or shall I Yabby? Loser ... :D

rocket3
23 Dec 2006, 09:46
Jason Eagle to Box Hill Hawks (Melbourne)

From my BH source, NO.
the medical staff couldnt handle that again.

oorab
23 Dec 2006, 11:24
Imps signed a another big man during this week, 6'3 CHF/CHB, played in Div 1 amatures, over in adelaide. Can play apparntly and looks good at training!

Wells Train
24 Dec 2006, 11:17
Mate this is what i mean. If u had of played for more clubs you would understand what a good club merbein is to be at. The list of merbein players who are leaving or have left over the last 3 years all have one thing in common.
Because they were at merbein and stuck with them in the hard times they seem to think the club owe them something! Call it lack of success or sooking, its weak to give up and go to greener pastures. You must have struggled if u couldn't get a game in our twos.

rocket3
24 Dec 2006, 11:33
You must have struggled if u couldn't get a game in our twos.

Thats why he isnt getting paid at Bambill :D :D :D

Hillite
24 Dec 2006, 14:04
It will probably take merbein 10 years to get over their current slump. To do that will take a lot of work by the current committee and subsequent committees. Unless they come into a lot of cash and are willing to buy another flag or two and then the cycle will start again.
To do it in ten will require a lot of work on their juniors, perhaps thats where the cash should go.
My sisters kids live in Mildura and went to a mildura primary school and yet are required to go to secondary school in merbein with a lot of other Mildura kids. These kids should provide merbein with a supply of players if they can convince them to play for the Pies. No clearance concerns just make Merbein J.F.C. more attractive,

Delray
26 Dec 2006, 09:45
100% correct Hill: But it just isnt that easy they need to find some really good people quick to get the club up and running again.The problem with the school kids are is as you said they still live in Mildura!! They may go to school out there but the parents are still based in Mildura and therefore thats where you will find most of the kids Still playing.

This is the tough question are the Flags worth it??? Would you rather have played for Merbein from 2000 and taken a pounding for a couple of years and have 2 P/Ship photos hanging up at home. Or played for Mildura/ Sth or even R/Vale wouldent have copped as many thumpings but you wouldent have the flags either. What do you guys choose???????

Dont get me wrong the future doesnt look great too me out there but it wasnt that great in 2000 and they picked up 2 flags so anything could happen.

If Flags = Sucsess then i would say that since 2000 they are the 2nd most sucsessful club in the SFL. They dont have 1 they have 2 P/Ships some1 must have done sumfin right. And im sure the community would have been happy.

mullethead
26 Dec 2006, 11:24
100% correct Hill: But it just isnt that easy they need to find some really good people quick to get the club up and running again.The problem with the school kids are is as you said they still live in Mildura!! They may go to school out there but the parents are still based in Mildura and therefore thats where you will find most of the kids Still playing.

This is the tough question are the Flags worth it??? Would you rather have played for Merbein from 2000 and taken a pounding for a couple of years and have 2 P/Ship photos hanging up at home. Or played for Mildura/ Sth or even R/Vale wouldent have copped as many thumpings but you wouldent have the flags either. What do you guys choose???????

Dont get me wrong the future doesnt look great too me out there but it wasnt that great in 2000 and they picked up 2 flags so anything could happen.

If Flags = Sucsess then i would say that since 2000 they are the 2nd most sucsessful club in the SFL. They dont have 1 they have 2 P/Ships some1 must have done sumfin right. And im sure the community would have been happy.No brainer Delray, give me 2 flags any day of the week, you of all people should know that by what the swallows have gone through and the success they had this year...

Delray
26 Dec 2006, 11:55
No brainer Delray, give me 2 flags any day of the week, you of all people should know that by what the swallows have gone through and the success they had this year...

That was an amazing feeling and i didnt even play!! So i couldnt even begin to imagine how the players would have felt. And i suppose your right you can always forget the drubbings but you will never forget the Flags!!

That maybe the reason why some people are so critical of Merbein. They may have never tasted true sucess themselves.:rolleyes:

It mighten be great to come last but if you dont come first who really gives a f...k. Not a great saying but how true??? I know i remember 2005 but i would like to forget it.:o

Bobby Rivers
26 Dec 2006, 13:08
I don't know a lot about the Sunrasia comp so could someone give a rough estimate on payments for say a top 5 player within a club and high paying clubs' budgets. I understand this will vary from club to club but as a matter of interest to compare with some of the crazy figures getting thrown about by CMFL clubs. I read Woorinen have been going hard at your blokes & we all know about Balranald.

Gladstone Small
29 Dec 2006, 09:41
I don't know a lot about the Sunrasia comp so could someone give a rough estimate on payments for say a top 5 player within a club and high paying clubs' budgets. I understand this will vary from club to club but as a matter of interest to compare with some of the crazy figures getting thrown about by CMFL clubs. I read Woorinen have been going hard at your blokes & we all know about Balranald.

I would say $350 - $400 would be good money for a good player. Some clubs may pay around $50K including coach not real sure though what would balranald be paying?

Rabbito
29 Dec 2006, 10:17
I would say $350 - $400 would be good money for a good player. Some clubs may pay around $50K including coach not real sure though what would balranald be paying?

simms and d trian on 350 - 400 yeah rite!!

Gladstone Small
29 Dec 2006, 10:27

What would they be on then? there would be players that would get more than this but not many.

Santoz
29 Dec 2006, 10:45
What would they be on then? there would be players that would get more than this but not many.

Eagle is on that sort of money. Eaton would be on more at a guess. Apparently Irymple offered Dedini this amount but were blown out of the running by a certain CMFL side (can't remember which, not Balranald). Apparently they offered double this amount. Does that answer your question Bobby?

DOUGHNUTS
30 Dec 2006, 04:18
Eagle is on that sort of money. Eaton would be on more at a guess. Apparently Irymple offered Dedini this amount but were blown out of the running by a certain CMFL side (can't remember which, not Balranald). Apparently they offered double this amount. Does that answer your question Bobby?

It was Woorineen,Todd Beasy. Great bloke, great teammate. HaHa, he is one of the biggest ****************s i have ever meet, ********er??????????

DOUGHNUTS
30 Dec 2006, 04:22

It was Woorineen,Todd Beasy. Great bloke, great teammate. HaHa, he is one of the biggest c o c k h e ad s i have ever meet, what a genuine f u c k wit.

Kelvin 69
30 Dec 2006, 04:40

both those blokes are more than worth it.

HavUEvaSeenTheRain
30 Dec 2006, 06:41

Bloody hell thats how much duds get paid down here (cmfl). As for Balranald about 3 or 4 times that but most teams would be way over that amount.

galloping gasometer
30 Dec 2006, 09:06
Bloody hell thats how much duds get paid down here (cmfl). As for Balranald about 3 or 4 times that but most teams would be way over that amount.

Paying big money runs in a cycle. While the CMFL can afford it at present it wont be long and it will dry up, the players chase coin somehere else and the standard never really improves.

Could CMFL sides match it with GVFL or O&M as the dollars you are talking about equate to these leagues and I would suggest some highly paid players in the CMFL would not make it in these leagues.

HavUEvaSeenTheRain
30 Dec 2006, 12:07
Paying big money runs in a cycle. While the CMFL can afford it at present it wont be long and it will dry up, the players chase coin somehere else and the standard never really improves.

Could CMFL sides match it with GVFL or O&M as the dollars you are talking about equate to these leagues and I would suggest some highly paid players in the CMFL would not make it in these leagues.

Alot of players on $200 or $300 wouldn't but most players who would be getting over $300 would make it easily.
Players on $500 hundred in the GRFL can hardly make it in the CMFL and that's half the reason CMFL clubs have to pay such big money for players; so really it's just a reaction to keep players from going down the road to that league that has driven the price up here.

Bobby Rivers
30 Dec 2006, 15:09

Great call gasman. We all know the drought is killing country footy but if nothing else what it might do is bring down prices if some leagues shut up shop. More good players looking for a game and you can't pay them all top dollar. Let's hope it doesn't get to that but something has to give, it's just madness down here. Rewarding mediocre players like kings just boosts their pockets and already substantial egos.

rocket3
30 Dec 2006, 20:55
yes, and where would Imps be without paying all their players?;)

Row5
30 Dec 2006, 21:07
Hey Sunraysia People

Who are the top 5 players at moment in the comp??

3inarow
31 Dec 2006, 10:06
Hey Sunraysia People

Who are the top 5 players at moment in the comp??

No order-
Don Falvo
Rob simms
lee Gathercole
Mark alvey
Brad Eaton

Hillite
1 Jan 2007, 10:12
No order-
Don Falvo
Rob simms
lee Gathercole
Mark alvey
Brad Eaton

Alvey and Gathercole suffered serious leg injuries last season. Their impact could be limited.

3inarow
2 Jan 2007, 08:43
Alvey and Gathercole suffered serious leg injuries last season. Their impact could be limited.

On one leg they would both be better than anyone else in this league. Class footballers and hopefully they will be running around this year

Delray
2 Jan 2007, 10:04
yes, and where would Imps be without paying all their players?;)

They Wouldnt have had Shane Ganer thats for sure he was on top $$$. Imps may not pay out as much accross the board but they do still pay out it just seems as though they have been alot smarter then all the other clubs to this point.

But any1 who thinks they dont pay out are kidding themselves.

3inarow
2 Jan 2007, 10:55
They Wouldnt have had Shane Ganer thats for sure he was on top $$$. Imps may not pay out as much accross the board but they do still pay out it just seems as though they have been alot smarter then all the other clubs to this point.

But any1 who thinks they dont pay out are kidding themselves.

Of coarse we pay players, Atkinson dosen't play for peanuts but we are lucky, our locals play for premierships and not money.

How is Irymple's recruiting going? not much talk from you guys on who you have picked up.

We have a couple of handy big men, Mildura has recruited anything with two legs and south seems to be doing well.

What about other teams, has anyone picked up any guns?

Yaaablett
2 Jan 2007, 11:57
Of coarse we pay players, Atkinson dosen't play for peanuts but we are lucky, our locals play for premierships and not money.

How is Irymple's recruiting going? not much talk from you guys on who you have picked up.

We have a couple of handy big men, Mildura has recruited anything with two legs and south seems to be doing well.

What about other teams, has anyone picked up any guns?

Mildura have recruited 3 players including the new coach. Hardly a spree.

3inarow
2 Jan 2007, 12:36
Mildura have recruited 3 players including the new coach. Hardly a spree.

Did I touch a nerve? You guys need more than 3 players to be a premierhip side this year so I would expect more to be signed.

Apart from O'Bree who are the other 2?

Have you heard of any other recruits coming into this league that has been kept quite?

galloping gasometer
2 Jan 2007, 12:52
Did I touch a nerve? You guys need more than 3 players to be a premierhip side this year so I would expect more to be signed.

Have you heard of any other recruits coming into this league that has been kept quite?

They had a couple of very handy players coming with O'Bree but could not get jobs organised quickly enough or help to find somewhere to live. Far to say Co Coach not overly impressed at present.

3inarow
2 Jan 2007, 13:08
They had a couple of very handy players coming with O'Bree but could not get jobs organised quickly enough or help to find somewhere to live. Far to say Co Coach not overly impressed at present.

Mildura is the fasted growing city in country Vic, ******** load of jobs up here and housing so Mildura coudn't of tried hard enough. Send me through these guys names and I'm sure we will find them work and somewhere to stay.

Yaaablett
2 Jan 2007, 13:51

Very poor mail mick nolan. Of the 2 coming with him 1 stayed at South and there was a job for him here. Decided to give them 1 more year, and the other decided to head back to his home club Rochy.

Yaaablett
2 Jan 2007, 13:52

No nerves touched mate just giving you the facts.

DOUGHNUTS
2 Jan 2007, 14:29
No nerves touched mate just giving you the facts.

Yaablett if you have Jamie Roberts running around for you this year in the one's then there is no chance of the Dees taking home the big one.....:D :D :thumbsu:

galloping gasometer
2 Jan 2007, 14:44
Very poor mail mick nolan. Of the 2 coming with him 1 stayed at South and there was a job for him here. Decided to give them 1 more year, and the other decided to head back to his home club Rochy.

My red hot mail tells me Knight and Dawson were both over the line in early November. They both can play and are qualified tradies so had other options which didnt include Mildura.

Yaaablett
2 Jan 2007, 15:03
My red hot mail tells me Knight and Dawson were both over the line in early November. They both can play and are qualified tradies so had other options which didnt include Mildura.

Unless you're one of them I suggest you know less than I do.

Santoz
2 Jan 2007, 15:06

Mildura is the fasted growing city in country Vic, ******** load of jobs up here and housing so Mildura coudn't of tried hard enough. Send me through these guys names and I'm sure we will find them work and somewhere to stay.

3inarow, if you believe what GG has said here then you are very easily led on. He is fair way off the mark ...

3inarow
2 Jan 2007, 15:27
3inarow, if you believe what GG has said here then you are very easily led on. He is fair way off the mark ...

What happened? after you guys spent all thast money on O'Bree you couldn't afford anyone else?

Should of stuck with the coach you had and then you would of been able to afford 3 or 4 good players to make up in the area's you lacked in last year:p

Navy2005
2 Jan 2007, 18:50
How did Adam Hooper go this season?

galloping gasometer
3 Jan 2007, 08:25

I absolutely stand by what I have posted.

Delray
3 Jan 2007, 10:32
Can some1 just confirm is Knight playing for Mildura?? I know Dawson Is not.

I think Ant M will be there prized recruit. He is young and athletic will have a solid season im tipping.

As for the swallows not much going on at all will see how we go now that the clearnces have opened.

Trevor Johnston back to Sth can any1 at the kennel shed some light??

Santoz
3 Jan 2007, 15:51
Can some1 just confirm is Knight playing for Mildura?? I know Dawson Is not.

I think Ant M will be there prized recruit. He is young and athletic will have a solid season im tipping.

As for the swallows not much going on at all will see how we go now that the clearnces have opened.

Trevor Johnston back to Sth can any1 at the kennel shed some light??

As was said before by Yablett, Knight is going back home to Rochy ...

As for the second few phrases highlighted, you are kidding aren't you? I hear from a reliable source that Trevor Johnston was going to go back and play at South until he received a fairly sizeable offer from your mob ...

Delray
4 Jan 2007, 08:11
As for the second few phrases highlighted, you are kidding aren't you? I hear from a reliable source that Trevor Johnston was going to go back and play at South until he received a fairly sizeable offer from your mob ...[/quote]

Thanks for that Santoz i did read that post but i was not sure which of the many recurits he was talking about:)

As for TJ ill think youll find its the exact oppisite we had him till sth through the kanga. But Clearances have opened so we will see were he ends up!!!! I have been told that he has signed for Sth.

Some conformation from out doggy land will be great!!

Hillite
4 Jan 2007, 09:01
Clearances open Ist of Feb.

Delray
4 Jan 2007, 09:08
Clearances open Ist of Feb.

Have an email from the SFL that Says Clearances Officially open on the 1/1/07 so unless its a missprint i would say that its good to go.

Hillite
4 Jan 2007, 11:27
VCFL handbook says Ist. Feb.

malleeboy
4 Jan 2007, 11:50
if anyone is driving past number 3 tonight it will be worth calling in.

Jason Akamanis is training with us from 5.30 to 6.30. The bar is open so drop in for a cold beer.

deposit
4 Jan 2007, 12:19

Jason Akamanis is training with us from 5.30 to 6.30. The bar is open so drop in for a cold beer.

Let us know what little gems of misinformation he comes out with:rolleyes:

Skeeterman
4 Jan 2007, 12:53
Yaablett if you have Jamie Roberts running around for you this year in the one's then there is no chance of the Dees taking home the big one.....:D :D :thumbsu:

Yeah you are probably right you tool, I wouldn't imagine it will be easy for me to get a game this coming season. However, I'm pretty comfortable with my ability or lack there of as you pointed out and have dealt with a long time ago, so you won't see me hiding behind a fabricated identity and bagging other people on a internet forum just to feel better about myself.

Would love to be part of it doughnuts but if I'm not good enough then so be it and good luck to the rest of the team.
I have been through some s h i t times with Mildura and am just happy to see them in the top half of the ladder.
Unfortunately not everyone is good enough and in your opinion that obviously that includes me, big deal not exactly the end of the world.

Chest Rockwell
4 Jan 2007, 13:42

Interesting, considering Council has banned football clubs from training on both No1 & No3 Ovals? Bit of indoor soccer? Poker maybe?

footyplayers
4 Jan 2007, 13:55
Any players interested in moving, looking, or changing clubs for 2007, register your details at http://www.footyplayers.com.au (http://www.footyplayers.com.au/)
We will match your remuneration, location, and club requirements with potential clubs. For more info please visit http://www.footyplayers.com.au (http://www.footyplayers.com.au/)

Yaaablett
4 Jan 2007, 14:15

I was going to ignore your obviously baited comment. Robbo is the fittest he's been according to long time Mildura people. If you don't like him that's fine but leave that stuff off here unless we know who you are. We hope there is more pressure on guys like Robbo this season as it will mean we've improved.

GeeBruz
4 Jan 2007, 14:20
Yaaabs, whats big Jarrod Alderton doing this year?

Yaaablett
4 Jan 2007, 14:34
Yaaabs, whats big Jarrod Alderton doing this year?

Touring Europe at the moment after being in the US for work. Due back at the end of this month and tells me he'll be right for footy for the whole year.