View Full Version : Sunraysia Football league

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

deposit
19 Mar 2007, 16:28
What are the chances of him tearing his hammys then????

Pretty good you would think

Chugga Chugga
20 Mar 2007, 11:11
Any results on any practice matches over the last week anyone?

TigerJR
21 Mar 2007, 10:41
Any results on any practice matches over the last week anyone?

Red Cliffs played against South last Sunday... Didnt c the game but Red Cliffs won by 10 points or so I beileve... Unsure of any other details.
Does anyone know if South's team was a strong one??

Skeeterman
23 Mar 2007, 09:51
A special post for Yaablett

To the tune of Ice Ice Baby

Ice Ice Benny

All right stop
Collaborate and listen
Bennys out of the Eagles connection
Something grabs a hold of him tightly
It's Woosha saying "**** Ben you're not so mighty
Come down for a drug test"
"Yo - I don't know
Turn off the lights at the moment I'll glow
To the extreme I run a mile from a scandal"
"That's enough Benny, its more than we can handle"

Ice Ice Benny, a Sniffer

Now that the party is jumpin'
With the ice kicked in, and Sam is dumpin'
Quick to the point, to the point no fakin'
Chicka's on the make and she's now for the takin'
Ben goes crazy when he hears a siren
And sees a booze bus with blue lights firin
Ben's on a roll - now it's time to go solo
Running - coz im over .5 and
Leaving the wheels coz i just gotta blow

The girlies on standby
At the Blue water grill
Hey are you Ben Cousins?
No but yeah but can i come in still?

Take heed - 'cause I'm a lyrical poet
Of the West Coast Scene just in case you didn't know it
My town that created all the Ben sound
Enough to shake and kick holes in the ground
'Cause Ben's style is like a chemical spill
Unfeasibly stupid with no vision or feel
Conducted and formed to his own downfall
We make it hype and you want to step wid it all

Woosha keepin composure when it's time to get tough
Giving benny the boot yo its not so rough
If there was a problem
Yo he'll solve it
Check out the door while Benny revolves it.

Ice Ice Benny, a sniffer
Ice Ice Benny .... to go?
Yo man get out of here
Word to your mother

thomo44
23 Mar 2007, 10:06
Can anyone give me some info on Jarrod Alderton from Mildura? Word is he is coming up this way (Qld). Good player? Position?

gosaints
23 Mar 2007, 12:01
Can anyone give me some info on Jarrod Alderton from Mildura? Word is he is coming up this way (Qld). Good player? Position?

Good player. big,strong and moves well. Can play a key position or flank. Does suffer a little with white line fever.

DOUGHNUTS
23 Mar 2007, 12:25
Good player. big,strong and moves well. Can play a key position or flank. Does suffer a little with white line fever.

Average Player,Is round 6ft 1 / 2 hasn't played for a year I reckon, he went overseas last year.

Santoz
23 Mar 2007, 18:07
Tips for the Park Douglas Pre Season Comp boys? I'll kick start it with ummmm ... Mildura :thumbsu:

rileysam
23 Mar 2007, 23:17
micks possibly havin a run in the magoos at the tiges.

Hillite
24 Mar 2007, 14:44
I reckon Mildura will drop out tonight but i dont believe irymple will win it
next weeks final will be a bit close to there Friday round one game theyd be likely to rest a number of there top players

Hillite
24 Mar 2007, 22:34
I reckon Mildura will drop out tonight but i dont believe irymple will win it
next weeks final will be a bit close to there Friday round one game theyd be likely to rest a number of there top players

Shows you what i know!!

boris becker
24 Mar 2007, 22:58
delray, rumour going around town is that your in love?. she must like hairy men:eek:

oorab
25 Mar 2007, 11:10
Just a heads up on the pre season comp, every team plays two games and the winner is decided on aggregate, so there is no final. which prob isn't the best way to decide a winner for a grand of cash.

As for a tip, the green machine will have to take it out with who they play. i believe they gave south a touch up yesterday and only have to play red cliffs or merbein after that.

As I said, don't really believe that is the best way to decide on the winner but we will take the money anyway!

Delray
25 Mar 2007, 18:07
delray, rumour going around town is that your in love?. she must like hairy men:eek:

Yer her name is Vodka and Lift and she never complains.

Delray
25 Mar 2007, 18:15
Just a heads up on the pre season comp, every team plays two games and the winner is decided on aggregate, so there is no final. which prob isn't the best way to decide a winner for a grand of cash.

As for a tip, the green machine will have to take it out with who they play. i believe they gave south a touch up yesterday and only have to play red cliffs or merbein after that.

As I said, don't really believe that is the best way to decide on the winner but we will take the money anyway!

Well oorab with only 2 weeks available for the preseason competition how else would u do it????

I think the SFL nearly has it spot on. My only suggestion would be to play a full 4 quaters, better for the supporters and better for the players. And it is only preseason the point of it is to try things and give players match practice. Winning it means nothing but the cash is good.

Well i think u can safely say imps will pocket a G. with a massive win already all they will have to do is role red cliffs and they will be as good as home.

Mildura looked very good from what i saw. missed Wenty and R/Vale how did they look??

Santoz
26 Mar 2007, 10:29
Mildura looked very good from what i saw. missed Wenty and R/Vale how did they look??

Who played well for the Dees?

SmokeyD82
26 Mar 2007, 11:21
Who played well for the Dees?

Danny O'Bree, Ash Spencer, Ryan O'Callaghan, Ash Connick to name a few

They looked pretty good and didn't any passengers.

oorab
26 Mar 2007, 12:13
Well oorab with only 2 weeks available for the preseason competition how else would u do it????

I think the SFL nearly has it spot on. My only suggestion would be to play a full 4 quaters, better for the supporters and better for the players. And it is only preseason the point of it is to try things and give players match practice. Winning it means nothing but the cash is good.

Well i think u can safely say imps will pocket a G. with a massive win already all they will have to do is role red cliffs and they will be as good as home.

I wasn't have a go at the SFL Delray, just that some feel cheated cause they got the tough draw and teams didn't!

Hillite
26 Mar 2007, 15:20
How could you arrange the draw to be fairer?
When its planned clubs and the SFL are not sure of their position regarding recruits and player stock generally.
I 'm not saying its the best way, but I've tried to come up with a different plan fitting into the same time frame and its pretty difficult . Perhaps someone here could come up with a better idea. The sfl will no doubt hear of it, if its a good one.

oorab
26 Mar 2007, 19:39
How could you arrange the draw to be fairer?
When its planned clubs and the SFL are not sure of their position regarding recruits and player stock generally.
I 'm not saying its the best way, but I've tried to come up with a different plan fitting into the same time frame and its pretty difficult . Perhaps someone here could come up with a better idea. The sfl will no doubt hear of it, if its a good one.

I never said that the SFL have rigged it so a certain team will win, just that some teams could feel cheated out of $1000 when they had to play harder teams than the winner! Mabye they should just not worry bout having a prize at the end of it all!

Hillite
26 Mar 2007, 19:53
"I never said that the SFL have rigged it so a certain team will win,"

I meant that as a question not an accusation.
I just like to see if we could come up with a better solution.
Imps may not be the best side they just had the easiest run.

Delray
26 Mar 2007, 21:24

Honestly who cares just ask south what the preseason carnival means. nothing!!!

QUESTION?? Will Mark Alvey make his return this week?? i think Wenty vs Mildura will be good to watch

Wells Train
26 Mar 2007, 22:03

Imps certaintly looked full of running. I think they normally perform well constantly and if they win the thousand is a fair result. In 2005 we lost to mildura in week 2 by a point and didn't win overall but counted it as a successful pre season (a win over imps by a point). We only won a game against mildura again but goes to show the money doesn't mean squat. We were up a goal with less than 5 mins left and had 3 or 4 players who are starters in our best side on the pine to give everyone a run. If you are coaching you would think having a look at every angle would be more importan than winning a weeks wages.

Russ74
27 Mar 2007, 13:51
Just saw the scores from the other night. On the surface a very impressive performance by Imperials. Are South considered a finals chance? Have they lost a few? Where is Gutsy?

Russ74
27 Mar 2007, 13:57

In my opinion having to play the week before the season is crazy. At our night series its all over so the last weekend before the season is left vacant for clubs to decide what they want to do. I think you'll find that clubs are reluctant to play their stars especially the older ones on the last weekend. On another note did Alvey play? Big boost if he did and his legs ok. Can someone give me some reports on the matches. I watched Woorinen last week and I would think that the Red Cliffs boys that decided not to come would be happy with their decision along with Alvey who knocked back the coaching job. The tige's are battling and will be a long way off balranald, tyntynder and tooley manang.

sssm05
28 Mar 2007, 11:09
It will be very interesting how mr.alvey goes...i would not be surprised if it takes another good 12months for alvey to be hitting top stride personally as a football fan i hope his at his best as soon as possible...ive also heard he is a very capable coach and has the respect of the main playing group

Dirty Jamahl
28 Mar 2007, 11:09
watched all the games saturday. imps- looked good as usual, seem more forward than they usually are at this time of year. sth- gunna be a long year. went- looked rusty but their kids showed a bit. rob- seemed undermanned but will be thereabouts. reddy- looked quicker than last year, doubt they'll trouble the top few though. merb- they will improve on last year but still will battle. mild- looked well drilled and quick, something they lacked last year. irymple- looked in first gear, up there again.

imalive
29 Mar 2007, 03:29
Can anyone tell me how jake smythe and jo cavallo go. They've both signed for hdfl club elmore for quite a bit of cash. Any info would be good

Dirty Jamahl
29 Mar 2007, 09:15
Can anyone tell me how jake smythe and jo cavallo go. They've both signed for hdfl club elmore for quite a bit of cash. Any info would be good

Smythe is a steady half back flanker and Cavallo is a good young billy lid who could play on the Lauren Bacall. I think Smythe missed most of last year with an internal injury. Both wouldn't have been on any johnny here so good on them.

I see that the league in the night series adopted the new kick in rule where you dont have to wait for the red rags. I reckon it was good. I also thought the umpires did alright! DJ out.

Mobbenfuhrer
30 Mar 2007, 15:10
Just wandering around looking at threads with a club hidden behind my back. :)

Everything here seems to be in order ... <embed rhymingslangcounter.js>

Carry on ... :thumbsu:

Delray
30 Mar 2007, 18:32

What ever your paying him your better off jumping on a train and going to golden fingers and find the ugliest stripper in the joint and get a lap dance far far better return ha ha ha.

And if u are in there long enough u may see jo working he doubles as a stripper for man power. :eek:

oorab
30 Mar 2007, 18:43
What ever your paying him your better off jumping on a train and going to golden fingers and find the ugliest stripper in the joint and get a lap dance far far better return ha ha ha.

And if u are in there long enough u may see jo working he doubles as a stripper for man power. :eek:

thats a pretty harsh quote delray, he may not be the best footy player but is he really that bad?????

Delray
31 Mar 2007, 17:12
thats a pretty harsh quote delray, he may not be the best footy player but is he really that bad?????

A little tounge and cheek oorb :thumbsu:

dukes
1 Apr 2007, 23:03
how does young andrew richardson go from imperials? apparently made pioneers list...

Grimhawka
2 Apr 2007, 13:16
Anyone have any words on Danny O'Bree? Is he a good pickup for the club?

GAblett
2 Apr 2007, 13:18
What are peoples thoughts on this weekends first round of games???
Do people believe that Good Friday football should be played??

Dirty Jamahl
2 Apr 2007, 15:52

I have watched both his games in the night series. Played very well in the first 1 and was just ok in the 2nd. Didn't hear him speak but it seemed he got stuck into his men at half time. They deserved it too. In my opinion anyone who can play in the midfield is a good pickup for Mildura as they lacked in that department last year. I liked wenty last sat night. Had a dip as usual and will be one of the hardest to beat come september.

Dirty Jamahl
2 Apr 2007, 15:53
What are peoples thoughts on this weekends first round of games???
Do people believe that Good Friday football should be played??

Great idea. Stops the dirtster and most others sitting around smashing stems all day.

Grimhawka
2 Apr 2007, 16:12
Cheers thanks for the info. Maybe Mildura's season may be better this year then.

Dirty Jamahl
3 Apr 2007, 09:21
Cheers thanks for the info. Maybe Mildura's season may be better this year then.

I'm no demons fan but last year they had a good year. Finished 3rd after a long finals absence. O'Bree will help though! I still believe that Irymple are the team to beat with Wentworth, Mildura, Robinvale and Imps not far behind. Should be a great season.

Dirty Jamahl
3 Apr 2007, 10:13
What's the story with Shaun Smith? Is he playing at the vale? Big loss if he isn't and with Ficcarra and Harley gone who will play key back?

Delray
3 Apr 2007, 13:27
What's the story with Shaun Smith? Is he playing at the vale? Big loss if he isn't and with Ficcarra and Harley gone who will play key back?

Where has Harley Gone ???????????

Dirty Jamahl
4 Apr 2007, 12:20
Where has Harley Gone ???????????

Not sure, heard he got transferred. Interesting this week will Bath go near Bell? I hear Belly is still filthy about Bath dobbing him in at the tribunal.

deposit
4 Apr 2007, 14:20
Not sure, heard he got transferred. Interesting this week will Bath go near Bell? I hear Belly is still filthy about Bath dobbing him in at the tribunal.

Wont bother Bathy at all, he can hold his own.

Dirty Jamahl
4 Apr 2007, 15:06

Fair enough then. I'll be there and take great interest in the happenings. Alvey back and hear young Nunan as well. Set for a good year the roos.

Rabbito
4 Apr 2007, 15:27
Just saw on the transfer list that Skeet has one in for Cardy and Irymple have knocked back the D trains to Donvale??

Rabbito
4 Apr 2007, 15:29

If he could hold his own why would he dob him in to the tribunal, why not just crack him back??
I bet Bath goes no where near him.

GAblett
4 Apr 2007, 15:50
Fair enough then. I'll be there and take great interest in the happenings. Alvey back and hear young Nunan as well. Set for a good year the roos.

If you word on Nunan is true then he will mostly likely miss the week as no clearances have come through on his behalf. Wenty are leaving it a bit late

Dirty Jamahl
4 Apr 2007, 15:59
If you word on Nunan is true then he will mostly likely miss the week as no clearances have come through on his behalf. Wenty are leaving it a bit late

That was just the banter at training the other night. He will be very handy for the roos and give Austy a hand.

deposit
4 Apr 2007, 16:07
If he could hold his own why would he dob him in to the tribunal, why not just crack him back??

Maybe he wanted to get at the Club. Bath will not take a backward step.

I will be more interested to see how Merbein have gone after signing up just about every bloke who can stand up over the summer (I wonder if any of these recruits from far flung destinations will be any good).

Rabbito
4 Apr 2007, 16:21
Maybe he wanted to get at the Club. Bath will not take a backward step.

I will be more interested to see how Merbein have gone after signing up just about every bloke who can stand up over the summer (I wonder if any of these recruits from far flung destinations will be any good).

Why would he want to get back at the club??

Rabbito
4 Apr 2007, 16:22

On permit I would image.

deposit
4 Apr 2007, 17:25
Why would he want to get back at the club??

I said get AT the club not back at the club.

All I am saying is that Bath would be a good match for Belly and I personally don't think Bath could give a Flying **** about Belly and what may or may not happen if he goes near him.

Wells Train
4 Apr 2007, 17:37
Bathy will not be worried about snipe'em belly. Don't worry about that. Bell has at least given a cheap hit to at least 3 or 4 of our guys over the last few years. I think bathy will at some stage line up on him so it will be interesting viewing.

Wells Train
4 Apr 2007, 17:38
I said get AT the club not back at the club.

All I am saying is that Bath would be a good match for Belly and I personally don't think Bath could give a Flying **** about Belly and what may or may not happen if he goes near him.
True that!

Rabbito
4 Apr 2007, 20:26
Bathy will not be worried about snipe'em belly. Don't worry about that. Bell has at least given a cheap hit to at least 3 or 4 of our guys over the last few years. I think bathy will at some stage line up on him so it will be interesting viewing.

Belt him back then, why would you let him "snipe you" or "cheap shot you"?

If my memory is correct the only reason Travis when to Merbein is that WW had no money for him. Yes he'd get a game at WW but I bet they'd still have no money for him!

Roar38
4 Apr 2007, 23:42

if you could recruit only player in country footy to any club, that short bald fella they call breeza would be the best man for the job played under him a wyche an followed him at south bendigo, great leader, great player, an better yet a great bloke, spoke well at wyche when he coached the 2's and from what i heard from him at south bendigo spoke very well. couldnt speak highly enough of some one of his height. just waiting to hear the news he is comin back to wyche. if any ones talking to him tell him his favorite house sitter says "g'day you bald little fcuk". i

The Nest
5 Apr 2007, 10:13
Just saw on the transfer list that Skeet has one in for Cardy and Irymple have knocked back the D trains to Donvale??

Donvale dont start until the 28th of April, doesnt really need to be cleared until then........;)

Dirty Jamahl
5 Apr 2007, 11:48
Donvale dont start until the 28th of April, doesnt really need to be cleared until then........;)

Good I think that's when we play you (3 times again this year). Is he any chance to play in the first 2-3 rounds Nest?

Rabbito
5 Apr 2007, 12:30

Why put it in then??
Will we see him having a kick tomorrow??

Nakriel
5 Apr 2007, 13:42
Welcome back Nesty, I see you have decided to put your own photo in, good look:D

Delray
5 Apr 2007, 15:55
Why put it in then??
Will we see him having a kick tomorrow??

Well he is still a registered swallow so i spose u will just have to get down to the irymple tomoz and see if the big number 49 takes his place. I honestly dont know :cool:

Wells Train
5 Apr 2007, 17:00
Belt him back then, why would you let him "snipe you" or "cheap shot you"?

If my memory is correct the only reason Travis when to Merbein is that WW had no money for him. Yes he'd get a game at WW but I bet they'd still have no money for him!
I don't think he picks out the guys who would hit him back, its not his style, he seems more like he wants to stand over blokes but is jelly really when an all in occurs because of his hit behind the play style.
As far as money goes i'm not sure what Travis would be on but he is a good coach in the way that he takes no sh7t what so ever. Expects a lot from you and hopefully with some good numbers we will show that. I don't know much of his history did he play much at wenty?

deposit
5 Apr 2007, 17:38
. I don't know much of his history did he play much at wenty?

Played there until he moved to Adelaide, Juniors then into the Seniors before he left.

Played U/17 Prem. (might have been Capt). not sure.

tom alvin
5 Apr 2007, 21:28
Welcome back Nesty, I see you have decided to put your own photo in, good look:D

hi everyone ! get purple...

Peter Mac
5 Apr 2007, 22:29
Heard at Redcliffs last Friday night that Harley was O/S currently and would be returning home soon. May miss the first two or three.
Looks like a big season ahead boys and there is plenty of rumours doing the rounds. It will be very interesting to see whether the big D or Sonny Lindsay run out over the weekend. Could prove trouble for a very small Eagle defence. Also heard during the week that South were looking to bring in 4 players from Darwin in time for Round 2. Anyone???

oorab
6 Apr 2007, 14:41
A little birdy told me today that some SFL clubs might be struggling with the points system on players and haven't read the rules properly!!!!
Anyone know which clubs this might be?????

3inarow
7 Apr 2007, 11:30
A little birdy told me today that some SFL clubs might be struggling with the points system on players and haven't read the rules properly!!!!
Anyone know which clubs this might be?????

Merbien has recruited every man and his dog so there is no way they could stay under the points system

Hillite
7 Apr 2007, 14:54
Merbien has recruited every man and his dog so there is no way they could stay under the points system
I believe clubs can nominate a player as "not a senior player" and he then carries no points. They haven't recruited any from the SFL so their point allocation should be ok I would imagine. Plus they were on the bottom of the ladder so they pick up a couple of extra points.
I missed the Good friday game What are the prospects of the 2 sides. Any handy recruits. Obviously D didn't play.

oorab
7 Apr 2007, 18:20
I believe clubs can nominate a player as "not a senior player" and he then carries no points. They haven't recruited any from the SFL so their point allocation should be ok I would imagine. Plus they were on the bottom of the ladder so they pick up a couple of extra points.
I missed the Good friday game What are the prospects of the 2 sides. Any handy recruits. Obviously D didn't play.

Why would you recruited a player and nominate them a non senior player!!!!!
And players from outside the district add to your points as well, depending on what standard of footy they have played is how many points you get!!

Wayne Weideman
7 Apr 2007, 22:08
just wondering how danny obree is going after being clipped driving a harness racing horse. word on the street is that he lost some hair at the front.:p

Rabbito
7 Apr 2007, 23:02

I don't think it would be hard to pick out some "not a senior player" among some of the duds they had running around today.
For a laugh we could go back through all the bullsh#t posts pumping Merbein and their "senior playing recruit" but then who really cares!!

Hillite
7 Apr 2007, 23:46
A number of players a never going to be senior players. Many will be great clubmen and contribute loads to their clubs. Five of these guys could set a club back 5 plus points enough to recruit a proven senior player. Its up to the club i guess.
Which club would be on the lowest points??

oorab
8 Apr 2007, 12:24
A number of players a never going to be senior players. Many will be great clubmen and contribute loads to their clubs. Five of these guys could set a club back 5 plus points enough to recruit a proven senior player. Its up to the club i guess.
Which club would be on the lowest points??

I would give red cliffs or wenty that title, they seem to have alot of their juniors playing.

lucky_7
9 Apr 2007, 19:46

Both harley and smith are playing at robinvale Ficcarra... haha i dont think vale where too upset losing him

Delray
9 Apr 2007, 22:26
Both harley and smith are playing at robinvale Ficcarra... haha i dont think vale where too upset losing him

And where not to upset that he has come accross. Done a very good on hasse on the weekend. And he did play in the grand final side last year so i am assuming he was in your best 21 last season. solid defenders dont grow on trees.

Robo 123
10 Apr 2007, 04:12
why is that?

deano46
10 Apr 2007, 12:24
Where R you Wells Train? Bit quiet i see after you talked Merbein up all summer only to get FLOGGED at the weekend. I Didnt see the game but i got told that you were very ordinary and perhaps u will be lucky to keep your spot?:thumbsd:

Wells Train
11 Apr 2007, 08:03
Where R you Wells Train? Bit quiet i see after you talked Merbein up all summer only to get FLOGGED at the weekend. I Didnt see the game but i got told that you were very ordinary and perhaps u will be lucky to keep your spot?:thumbsd:
A lot of us were ordinary so can't say much there. Definately played against one of the top 2 sides this year. Nice try on baiting me there mate but i was happy enough with my game. Have a winnable game this week so hope we can turn it around.

GeeBruz
11 Apr 2007, 08:51
A lot of us were ordinary so can't say much there. Definately played against one of the top 2 sides this year. Nice try on baiting me there mate but i was happy enough with my game. Have a winnable game this week so hope we can turn it around.

Wellsy, just wondering how your recruits went mate? How'd Frog go aswell, considering he hasn't really trained?

Santoz
11 Apr 2007, 08:58

Bit early to be saying that isn't it? You might find yourself saying it a fair bit this year me thinks ...

BPS9
11 Apr 2007, 12:34
Can anyone tell me if Gary " The Hammer" Hammence is playing this year and who with.

Willhe play ones or twos.

Cheers

Dirty Jamahl
11 Apr 2007, 13:28

Despite the massive win I felt that Merbein didnt and weren't allowed to play well as opposed to not having the ability or talent to play well -if that makes sense? You could seee there is improvement to be made. The roos played really well but will see how things pan out over the next month before top 2 talk is mentioned. Top 4 is an absolute aim and will be achieved if injuries are at a minimum. The Clays and Belly worked well together and everyone did their job. Big one this week v Mildura.

harry the bad man
11 Apr 2007, 21:15
Can anyone tell me if Gary " The Hammer" Hammence is playing this year and who with.

Willhe play ones or twos.

Cheers

nope, hes movin 2 nimbin 2 play 4 the nimbin numbats:D

Uber Donkey
11 Apr 2007, 21:32

Weren't we all mate.. Your a sure starter this week one would think after that performance :thumbsu:

godsofrichmond
11 Apr 2007, 22:49
well i played in the pies twos on the weekend and as a newbie to the league which is supposed to be a "better" league, i was really disapointed.

Our game had no boundry umpires. For most of the game the players themselves were throwing the ball back in. I saw on more than one instance, blaintant cheating with those throw ins. If the ball went out on the full, it had to damn near land in the croud for it to be called out. It wasnt the centrals fault as they simply wernt in a good eneogh postion to call those sort of decisions. And they shouldnt have to be.

In this day and age with the speed of the game, the money that goes around it, you would think that someone...(any bloody one)...could organise some boundry umpires. Espicially in a league that rates itself pretty highly, you would think we could have some boundry umpires.

What a joke it was.:thumbsd:

Skeeterman
12 Apr 2007, 00:19
well i played in the pies twos on the weekend and as a newbie to the league which is supposed to be a "better" league, i was really disapointed.

Our game had no boundry umpires. For most of the game the players themselves were throwing the ball back in. I saw on more than one instance, blaintant cheating with those throw ins. If the ball went out on the full, it had to damn near land in the croud for it to be called out. It wasnt the centrals fault as they simply wernt in a good eneogh postion to call those sort of decisions. And they shouldnt have to be.

In this day and age with the speed of the game, the money that goes around it, you would think that someone...(any bloody one)...could organise some boundry umpires. Espicially in a league that rates itself pretty highly, you would think we could have some boundry umpires.

What a joke it was.:thumbsd:

I think their is a thread for the 2nds you might want to check it out!!

godsofrichmond
12 Apr 2007, 09:44
yeah i knew that was there, but i figured this wasnt a post about the two's as such, it was about the lack of umpires in a league. And what was done about it in games day. The fact that it was a seconds match shouldnt have anything to do with the fact that we are supposed to have boundry umpires.

Or Skeeterman are you saying that it is just the seconds so it doesnt really matter?

Skeeterman
12 Apr 2007, 10:06
yeah i knew that was there, but i figured this wasnt a post about the two's as such, it was about the lack of umpires in a league. And what was done about it in games day. The fact that it was a seconds match shouldnt have anything to do with the fact that we are supposed to have boundry umpires.

Or Skeeterman are you saying that it is just the seconds so it doesnt really matter?

Not at all I've played my fair share of 2nds games so I realise the importance. I was basically being a smart arse.

Seriously though, it has been a problem for years, I think clubs just need to have some juniors doing it (boundary), give them a pie and coke and they would be happy.
I don't think Mildura reserves had a proper central umpire at all last year so your probably fortunate to have had even that. Doesn't seem like umpire numbers will ever be adequate.

godsofrichmond
12 Apr 2007, 12:03
i think its a pretty big issue. As much as we hate the umpires, we have to have them. And its simply pathetic that a game of football in a league like this, has the players themselves working out when the ball is out or not and throwing in the ball. Its simply not on.
And if the league cant organise it, the clubs should be able to. By half time of my game someone from the club should of did what Skeeter said and round up some kids and give em a pie and a coke afterwards. It should not be allowed to go for a whole game.
If the "umpires association" up here dont have the numbers, then they should ask the clubs to organise some. Well before the game starts. Not just leave it with nothing

Chest Rockwell
12 Apr 2007, 12:58
i think its a pretty big issue. As much as we hate the umpires, we have to have them. And its simply pathetic that a game of football in a league like this, has the players themselves working out when the ball is out or not and throwing in the ball. Its simply not on.
And if the league cant organise it, the clubs should be able to. By half time of my game someone from the club should of did what Skeeter said and round up some kids and give em a pie and a coke afterwards. It should not be allowed to go for a whole game.
If the "umpires association" up here dont have the numbers, then they should ask the clubs to organise some. Well before the game starts. Not just leave it with nothing

The home side is supposed to organise the boundary umpires. Each club is also required to provide a list of 3 representatives from each club to be able to officiate in the reserves if need be, as the Seniors get first preference with umpires, then the thirds, then the millewa, then the Reserves. Each club was notified of the shortage of umpires this season and these measures have been implemented. Each club has a responsibility, so I think you should direct your comments at the Merbein FC buddy.:thumbsu:

Mobbenfuhrer
12 Apr 2007, 13:42
Any of you Rufus Rivermen interested in fielding a team? :p

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=314342

Regional Leagues Fantasy Footy League?

Seeking interest in players for a Regional Leagues fantasy footy comp.

This is a) not real footy and b) not pick-a-team-of-AFL-players footy. Its even lazier!

All you do is express interest, I'll do the rest via QOOTY, a crappy random aussie rules simulator I created years ago and have been trying to bring up to speed. FAQs here : http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=75728

I'll try to collate a league of teams that are representative of the more popular local leagues here, so I need raised hands from the posters. I won't make up any names, I won't allow any sudden new arrivals.

So either post here or PM me if you want your Bigfooty alter-ego registered for a team.

Hopefully we can turn some rivalries into some even more potent partnerships!

I'll probably aim for starting the season, say, end of next week. I MAY have to be an inflexible prick with okaying a team and treating latecomers.

For this season, hopefully the inaugural season of an ongoing league, all we need are 20 players per team. There is already a Fantasy league, more closely based on the AFL clubs, at Bigfooty, here : http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=30 - its into its 7th season and has developed a bit of history! There is also another league at another footy forum site, this year with only 3 teams but had been as strong as 5 clubs in its 3 year tenure.

So get in touch if you're interested. Remember you don't have to do anything apart from dob your Bigfooty nickname in for a spot. Please tell me which club/league of regional footy you would prefer to be aligned with (please state both).

We'll see how we go. If it doesn't happen, ah well, if it happens later than I hope ... I'll still give it a burl.

Onward lads! ...

Nakriel
12 Apr 2007, 14:58
Not at all I've played my fair share of 2nds games so I realise the importance. I was basically being a smart arse.

Seriously though, it has been a problem for years, I think clubs just need to have some juniors doing it (boundary), give them a pie and coke and they would be happy.
I don't think Mildura reserves had a proper central umpire at all last year so your probably fortunate to have had even that. Doesn't seem like umpire numbers will ever be adequate.
was talking to an umpire before the season and he said that numbers were very low this year, apparently difficult to recruit numbers, but then again why would you want to do it and cop a tirade of abuse each week,and a lot of this abuse comes from sideline experts

Wells Train
12 Apr 2007, 16:29
was talking to an umpire before the season and he said that numbers were very low this year, apparently difficult to recruit numbers, but then again why would you want to do it and cop a tirade of abuse each week,and a lot of this abuse comes from sideline experts
Yeah we had a gilly and one other down at training tuesday going through interpretations on the new rules. They said unless it was a split round you won't see many if any umpires for twos games. Club umpires for centrals and kids for the boundary.

Rabbito
12 Apr 2007, 16:47

why not take it upon yourself to do something about it, I see someone else has jumped me by pointing out it was Merbein FC's responsibilty to arrange the umpires, they would have been made aware Thursday evening, maybe you need to look in your own backyard.

Uber Donkey
12 Apr 2007, 21:40
The home side is supposed to organise the boundary umpires. Each club is also required to provide a list of 3 representatives from each club to be able to officiate in the reserves if need be, as the Seniors get first preference with umpires, then the thirds, then the millewa, then the Reserves. Each club was notified of the shortage of umpires this season and these measures have been implemented. Each club has a responsibility, so I think you should direct your comments at the Merbein FC buddy.:thumbsu:

If this is a fact then why is it that at Merbein last week, the 2s had the real centrals and the 3rds had the club umpires in the middle? :confused:

And I'm not to sure about the effort being put in for more umpires.. I'm quite sure you could put up notices in so many places for little or no cost. You say you want kids to do it then put notices in school newsletters to get kids to come down. Just a little effort is all this matter needs.

Peter Mac
12 Apr 2007, 22:14
Any mail on South's Darwin recruits that are apparently hitting town in the next couple of weeks??

Nakriel
12 Apr 2007, 23:36
If this is a fact then why is it that at Merbein last week, the 2s had the real centrals and the 3rds had the club umpires in the middle? :confused:

And I'm not to sure about the effort being put in for more umpires.. I'm quite sure you could put up notices in so many places for little or no cost. You say you want kids to do it then put notices in school newsletters to get kids to come down. Just a little effort is all this matter needs.
As I said before the umpire I was speaking to said that they offered to buy uniforms for them, plus what they get paid for but who wants to run around copping abuse from drunken idiots, and remember if you havent got umpires you havent got a game, perhaps clubs should start looking at some of their supporters

Rabbito
13 Apr 2007, 05:24
As I said before the umpire I was speaking to said that they offered to buy uniforms for them, plus what they get paid for but who wants to run around copping abuse from drunken idiots, and remember if you havent got umpires you havent got a game, perhaps clubs should start looking at some of their supporters

I think your on thr money!!
I think taking responsibility rather than blaming might be the go.

Dirty Jamahl
13 Apr 2007, 09:36
On the sauce last night Rabbito? 4.24 post! Not like you.