View Full Version : Sunraysia Football league
Wallygrout
21 May 2007, 22:03
Not sure if he signed there but he was bloody close to going there. Ash played with T'buc, then went up to Wentworth and coached them to a flag i think, then came back and coached Swan Hill to 2 losing GF's and then Tbuc/Manang also to a losin GFWE TALKING ABOUT MINI BUS HERE
ROOTA#6
21 May 2007, 22:05
WE TALKING ABOUT MINI BUS HERE
Sure are Wally :D
Dirty Jamahl
22 May 2007, 09:27
B-Gonzo Rigby Woolford
HB-Spivey Carn Cumming
C-Eaton Jackson Doherty
HF-Alvey J Clay Mathews
FF-Oconner Eagle B.Hards
R-Atkinson B.Rigby Falvo
INT-Deckert,Anstey,Jenkins,Curran,Catta,Willison
Very good side that, Falvo and Alvey to swap on ball a highlight.
For what its worth, here is my side.
B Spivey Carn Woolford
HB Cumming A Rigby Jenkins
C Alvey Eaton Doherty
HF O'Connor Clay Jackson
F B Hards Matthews Eagle
R Atkinson B Rigby Falvo
I O'Callaghan, Anstey, Faulkhead, Deckert.
Just from what I've seen. I dont know a lot about the other league but this side looks very good.
Dirty Jamahl
22 May 2007, 09:30
What are peoples thoughts on the interleague. Is it still a worthwhile exercise? Should it be compulsory?
Russ from what i've heard deano may be right. I was told by a pretty reliable person connick signed with tyntynder years back but never played there.
Maybe he did. Was unaware of that though.
Further to my investigation it seems that Ouyen and Woorinen are in a battle for the ruckman. Money is on Ouyen at this stage.
Fox is it????
Yaaablett
22 May 2007, 09:53
Russ from what i've heard deano may be right. I was told by a pretty reliable person connick signed with tyntynder years back but never played there.
Just as much crap written on here as ever. Glad to see my footy past is so interesting to you that you would ask someone. Not to give the story more credit than it deserves as it was 11 years ago but I had a deal where they needed to get me a job before Christmas or I would play back at Deniliquin. They didnt I played at Deni.
Yaaablett
22 May 2007, 09:56
What are peoples thoughts on the interleague. Is it still a worthwhile exercise? Should it be compulsory?
I believe that for players over a certain age it should be optional- Maybe 28 or 30. It's fantastic for young players and I would love our youngsters like Matt Vining, Josh Martin etc to play. For Deckert, Cardew and Anstey they are desperate for a break.
Rabbito
22 May 2007, 10:03
I believe that for players over a certain age it should be optional- Maybe 28 or 30. It's fantastic for young players and I would love our youngsters like Matt Vining, Josh Martin etc to play. For Deckert, Cardew and Anstey they are desperate for a break.
It took a bit to get you on here again, fair bit of poking first!!
I agree interleague should aim at the u28's, over that by choice.
The clubs are bigger than the league in my book.
Yaaablett
22 May 2007, 10:22
It took a bit to get you on here again, fair bit of poking first!!
I agree interleague should aim at the u28's, over that by choice.
The clubs are bigger than the league in my book.
Week off mate! I agree with you. So much effort goes into club footy that an injury would be a disaster this weekend. Hopefully we win and no-one gets injured.
Gladstone Small
22 May 2007, 15:08
My interleague side, The Fanta's
B: Garraway, Prott, Farley
HB: Wethers, Keatch, Farnsworth
C: Shelfhout, Reid, Livio
HF:Warburton, Eagle, N. Manczel
F:McManus, Healy, Vera Hickey
Atkinson
Anstey
M. Hahnel (Permit)
tommo daisy
22 May 2007, 15:12
Just a shame Eagle is blonde at the moment.
Mobbenfuhrer
23 May 2007, 14:40
Here is a list of the blokes (or birds) representing your forum in the Bigfooty Rregional Leagues Fantasy Football League (BRLFFFL) (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=322536)
The four teams competing are the the Central Sharks (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320213&page=6), Donkey Floggers (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320211&page=8), the North-Eastern Wolves (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320215&page=6) and the Western Wallabies (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320214&page=13).
These folks are representing you lot at the liest level, and you all should be proud of their efforts. Many big leagues (Ballarat, West Gippsland La Trobe, Eastern FL, THE WHOLE OF SOUTH AUSTRALIA!) aren't represented at all, so these guys are making a hefty imprint on the virtual footballing community!! Maybe a quick visit to their match threads to talk 'em up and can their opponents wouldn't be out of order?
(If you are on this list, and there is a x in front of your name, this means you are yet to even read the private message I sent about picking a guernsey number. It means you probably aren't aware of the season in progress, and your club needs you!)
Western Wallabies - Sunraysia FL - Bubbles DeVere
Question: Should players who are getting paid by their club and not get selected in the final interleague team have to forfeit some or all of their match payments for a period of time?
deano46
24 May 2007, 11:52
Question: Should players who are getting paid by their club and not get selected in the final interleague team have to forfeit some or all of their match payments for a period of time?
One of the more ridiculous posts that ive read.
Yeah Nudge im sure the players would be more than happy to give there money away.
Better still i might even try to get our players to pay the club for letting them play this great game:). Get with it man!!
smasher100
25 May 2007, 11:28
My interleague side, The Fanta's
Atkinson
Anstey
M. Hahnel (Permit)
No O'Bree?
You guys will thump NCFL, our side is an absolute joke!
Any major omissions for the interleague team? Was the basis of the team picked on form or reputation?
Chest Rockwell
25 May 2007, 15:10
I think that you always have to select some players on reputation and their ability to play at a higher level. Also on how committed they are to the set up.
What about the Spivey news? Anybody shed any light on this??
Nakriel
25 May 2007, 15:24
I think that you always have to select some players on reputation and their ability to play at a higher level. Also on how committed they are to the set up.
What about the Spivey news? Anybody shed any light on this??
What news chesty, bit like a mushroom mate
Hillite
25 May 2007, 16:37
I,m outa town for the weekend. Whats the Inter/l side. Any surprizes
Fellas just got a little look alike todays (friday 25th) herald sun page 97 bottom left is that Michael Harry Hickey. dead ringer i reckon
Peter Mac
25 May 2007, 18:17
Mail coming from the races today was that Spivey was sacked last night and former Gol Gol, Imps and South man Dick Garlick along with Denny Fox as his assistant will be taking over. Still waiting for that one to be confirmed.
keetarn
25 May 2007, 18:24
Could any-one tell me whether there is any Northern Territory boys playing in this comp it would be greatly appreciated..
Ibis100
25 May 2007, 21:12
Mail coming from the races today was that Spivey was sacked last night and former Gol Gol, Imps and South man Dick Garlick along with Denny Fox as his assistant will be taking over. Still waiting for that one to be confirmed.
Not sure where your mail comes from Peter Mac but I wasn't sacked. I in fact stood down. Get facts from the people involved rather than post crap and rumours.
Robo 123
25 May 2007, 21:13
Not sure where your mail comes from Peter Mac but I wasn't sacked. I in fact stood down. Get facts from the people involved rather than post crap and rumours.
why?
Mobbenfuhrer
26 May 2007, 10:47
why?
Because rumourmongering here will earn you a holiday.
Some news from the interleague, we won by 2 goals.
Robo 123
27 May 2007, 00:24
under 18's had a good win to by the sounds of it
Rabbito
27 May 2007, 00:32
Difference? Sack or Stood down? Paid out for sack, not paid out for stood down. Cause you'd be walk if u had someone on the comittee backing u?
Rabbito
27 May 2007, 00:33
Because rumourmongering here will earn you a holiday.
Do u have any idea what's being talked about?
Mobbenfuhrer
27 May 2007, 09:28
Do u have any idea what's being talked about?
Facts of situation? Nope. But Rules and Regulations of Bigfooty. Yep. Unbacked allegations are not permitted. "Prove or remove".
Rabbito
27 May 2007, 11:34
Facts of situation? Nope. But Rules and Regulations of Bigfooty. Yep. Unbacked allegations are not permitted. "Prove or remove".
Are you for real?? 99% of posts are crap, a s hitstir or someone having a shot at someone or something.
You're going to be busy removing everything that written and unproven.
Mobbenfuhrer
27 May 2007, 14:14
Are you for real?? 99% of posts are crap, a s hitstir or someone having a shot at someone or something.
You're going to be busy removing everything that written and unproven.
Yep. For real.
lucky_7
27 May 2007, 18:40
[quote=Gladstone Small;7605106]My interleague side, The Fanta's
Atkinson
Anstey
M. Hahnel (Permit)
i was just looking at this side you thought should be selected for interleague...NO FALVO???? NO OCONNOR??? AND josh healy is a great player but is a ff for the interleague side??? and you have farnsworth who has only played 2 senior games this season due to injury have you been waching the season???
Wells Train
27 May 2007, 20:43
Atkinson
Anstey
M. Hahnel (Permit)
i was just looking at this side you thought should be selected for interleague...NO FALVO???? NO OCONNOR??? AND josh healy is a great player but is a ff for the interleague side??? and you have farnsworth who has only played 2 senior games this season due to injury have you been waching the season???
Man you really are that stupid.......
V.Cattogio
27 May 2007, 22:02
Atkinson
Anstey
M. Hahnel (Permit)
i was just looking at this side you thought should be selected for interleague...NO FALVO???? NO OCONNOR??? AND josh healy is a great player but is a ff for the interleague side??? and you have farnsworth who has only played 2 senior games this season due to injury have you been waching the season???im not sure if your playing dumb lucky 7,,but i think the fantas maybe all redheads,,,get it ,;)
deposit
28 May 2007, 18:39
Atkinson
Anstey
M. Hahnel (Permit)
I wonder which team you follow:rolleyes:
You couldn't have seen too many games yourself if you were happy with this center line: Shelfhout, Reid, Livio.
Tinman44
28 May 2007, 18:44
just wondering whether there has been any team or player thats produce a cracker performance? you know "best game i've seen in a long time" kinder stuff
island breeze
29 May 2007, 11:33
just heard that bernard rigby broke his hand in the interleague game on saturday. bad news for wentworth. its unfortunate as the players have no choice but to play these games and risk injuries like this happening. any other injuries to come out of the weekend?
Cockle doodle doo
29 May 2007, 15:15
I heard that Jake (milky) Anstey got 3rd degree burns from forgetting to re-apply zinc cream all over his entire body at 3 1/4 time. :)
deano46
29 May 2007, 17:31
First of all im rapt that Spivey is staying with the club and playing on as he has been a fantastic player. But thank god he aint coaching anymore we had no game-plan or structure and there was no team spirit lets hope we can improve from here as we have some very good juniors who just need some guidance.
just heard that bernard rigby broke his hand in the interleague game on saturday. bad news for wentworth. its unfortunate as the players have no choice but to play these games and risk injuries like this happening. any other injuries to come out of the weekend?
It shouln't be a matter of players choosing to play interleague, every player should want to play it. It is the highest standard of footy that you may get to play your career. It is a privileged to play and that is the way it should be seen. Unfortunatley in the past players have chosen not to play and made the SFL the laughing stock of VCFL.
Could anyone provide a rundown on Daniel Byrne and Kallum Cooke, they have just signed with Balranald from South Mildura.
Byrnesy and Cookie are only there for a week and dont expect anything special because the dont stand out for south under 18s and they are 2nd last. In the best case scenario you might have an ok back pocket and a poor forward pocket, 7 games in and yet to trouble the scorers playing all of them for FP.
Robo 123
30 May 2007, 20:44
Byrnesy and Cookie are only there for a week and dont expect anything special because the dont stand out for south under 18s and they are 2nd last. In the best case scenario you might have an ok back pocket and a poor forward pocket, 7 games in and yet to trouble the scorers playing all of them for FP.
why are they playing for Balranald in the first place?
First of all im rapt that Spivey is staying with the club and playing on as he has been a fantastic player. But thank god he aint coaching anymore we had no game-plan or structure and there was no team spirit lets hope we can improve from here as we have some very good juniors who just need some guidance.
Unfortunately there are always going to be ppl like yourself who think they know whats gone/going on, but generally have more opinions than facts.
Opinions are like aholes, everyones else has got one and everyone elses stinks...
Nakriel
31 May 2007, 11:36
Seems a bit harsh when you have a look at the clearances from them at the start of the year, if you havent got the cattle it makes it very difficult, can't make silk from a sows ear, perhaps the team spirit thing has been going for a while, you can't blame the coach for that, I don't think that you will improve, it's going to a long year for the doggies
Still sitting, looking, sucking on a stubby in your ute trying to pretend to be useful and dreaming about the eighties when you could run past a ballgetter and become the mover?
Nakriel
31 May 2007, 22:39
Still sitting, looking, sucking on a stubby in your ute trying to pretend to be useful and dreaming about the eighties when you could run past a ballgetter and become the mover?
Welcome back mate, good to see the fresh air again
play4jumper
2 Jun 2007, 10:59
as if spivey will stay after being told he was no longer required,heard yesterday that jason has been cleared to play 4 wagga tigers and we know who coaches them!thats right matty walder
Any thought on Robinvales coach (Shannon Keam) being reported? Isn't the coach suppose to set an example?
Didn't see it, was there much in it?
Seems a bit harsh when you have a look at the clearances from them at the start of the year, if you havent got the cattle it makes it very difficult, can't make silk from a sows ear, perhaps the team spirit thing has been going for a while, you can't blame the coach for that, I don't think that you will improve, it's going to a long year for the doggies
Well guess what Nakriel we have already improved, while we didnt get the win it was great to see the Bulldog spirit back, At least we had spirit when booker coached even if he wasnt well liked he did get results and took us to finals. Spivey will go down as one of the worst coaches ever to coach South Mildura, When the going got tough he got out.
Camel Tow
4 Jun 2007, 23:16
Who are the top 5 ruckmen at the moment??
1. Atkinson
2. Wright
3. Deckert
4. Ough
5. Crossling
DOUGHNUTS
5 Jun 2007, 11:01
Who are the top 5 ruckmen at the moment??
1. Atkinson
2. Wright
3. Deckert
4. Ough
5. Crossling
Wright??????????????????? Stop talking your self up.
1.Atkinson
2.Ough
3.Deckert
4.Mason
5.Clay
Wright??????????????????? Stop talking your self up.
1.Atkinson
2.Ough
3.Deckert
4.Mason
5.Clay
what about Danny Luke O'Bree????????????????? Bald man Can Jump
Cam Penny
Well guess what Nakriel we have already improved, while we didnt get the win it was great to see the Bulldog spirit back, At least we had spirit when booker coached even if he wasnt well liked he did get results and took us to finals. Spivey will go down as one of the worst coaches ever to coach South Mildura, When the going got tough he got out.
Like some other people who will allow to remain nameless Deano, you are too spineless to approach me about any problems you have but are more than happy to air them to others behind my back. Even when given the opportunity.
I look forward to the day I know who you are cause I will tell you exactly what i think of you without fear of reprisal.
DOUGHNUTS
5 Jun 2007, 14:49
Like some other people who will allow to remain nameless Deano, you are too spineless to approach me about any problems you have but are more than happy to air them to others behind my back. Even when given the opportunity.
I look forward to the day I know who you are cause I will tell you exactly what i think of you without fear of reprisal.
Ibis when you do find out who it is can you let us all know?????I d love to know his playing career.....
I think it's reflection of the whole South thing. Snipers, ****ers and whingers, nothing will change, years and years of the same sh#t.
Have a look at the number of players turned over in the last 6-7 years, someone really should address that perhaps, rather than recruit more to do the same??
By answer these type post our only give someone a cheap laugh, thinking their getting at you.
Entitled to my opinion Ibis and trust me there are alot of people at South who share my thoughts.
usedtobethin
5 Jun 2007, 16:28
Just go and enjoy playing footy ibis. tell em all to go and .....................
Yaaablett
5 Jun 2007, 17:03
There is hundreds of people like that around mate. Part of the territory.
Entitled to my opinion Ibis and trust me there are alot of people at South who share my thoughts.
maybe its time you told ppl who u are. maybe its time you found out what is really going on up top at south . opinions are one thing find out the facts then make judgements.
Ibis, you should have the resources available to you to work out who it is..........:D
Robinvale coach suspended!
Didn't see it, was there much in it?
I didn't see it either - just read about it in the Sunday star. He got 2 weeks for a head high tackle.
Anyone see it happen?
Join the committee or as ibis says tell him, his not a mind reader!!! otherwise keep your opinions/thoughts to yourself. White antting gets football clubs no where. Just makes the people lives that run the club so much harder.
I think it's reflection of the whole South thing. Snipers, ****ers and whingers, nothing will change, years and years of the same sh#t.
Have a look at the number of players turned over in the last 6-7 years, someone really should address that perhaps, rather than recruit more to do the same??
By answer these type post our only give someone a cheap laugh, thinking their getting at you.
From experience there are more reasons when a club fails than just the coach,it goes a lot deeper than that
Is it true that Nathan Manczal is headed back to Ouyen???
From experience there are more reasons when a club fails than just the coach,it goes a lot deeper than that
Thats my point, South has great support from their own in clowns like Deano!! I'm sure Deano plays a major roll in the week in week out running of the club!!
Irymple Vs Robivale called off.
Match to be played in the second week of the split RND.
Condolences to all affected by the train tragedy.
Irymple Vs Robivale called off.
Match to be played in the second week of the split RND.
Condolences to all affected by the train tragedy.
My deepest condolences as well
Boys Boys Boys. I almost forgot all about it Mildura Vs Wentworth what a cracker its gunna be. And let me tell u the rumors and flying whos tagging who?? whos getting targeted. Should be a tremendous game of football with a bit of u no what as well.
Ive been told Hosking is making his come back just to add a bit more bite around the packs. Dees is my informant correct???????
Yes Mildura VS Wentworth wat a massive game probly one of the biggest of the year. After wat happened last time i think the roos will definetly be out to get back at them mainly on the scoreboard and show how good they can be.
I agree that it is a huge game for both sides but also hope that it not a game marred by cheap shots, sniping and efforts at retribution after what was adjudged by an independent arbitrator as accidental contact. What do you mean bu mainly uncanny. I think it is the responsibility of the coaches to stress to their respective sides to exercise physical but disciplined football, hardness at the ball and not at the man
What does it tell you when the committee calls a meeting , ultimately deciding on the future of the coach, in the absence of the president and other members of the coaching panel?
Who's running the show and what decisions were made prior to the meeting and by who?
What does it tell you when the committee calls a meeting , ultimately deciding on the future of the coach, in the absence of the president and other members of the coaching panel?
Who's running the show and what decisions were made prior to the meeting and by who?
Perhaps to many chiefs and not enough indians
[/b]Perhaps to many chiefs and not enough indians
Coaches are an easy target for non performance, perhaps name players and recruiting personell should also be looked at
Boys Boys Boys. I almost forgot all about it Mildura Vs Wentworth what a cracker its gunna be. And let me tell u the rumors and flying whos tagging who?? whos getting targeted. Should be a tremendous game of football with a bit of u no what as well.
Ive been told Hosking is making his come back just to add a bit more bite around the packs. Dees is my informant correct???????
Of course there will be abit of biff, there is not a wenty game I've seen that John Jackson doesn't get into a biff. Problem is it usually makes him a better player after the dust up, so push him at your will.
Big Jimmy
8 Jun 2007, 20:44
Got a bit of depth at Mildura.....seen a few magoo games this year and impressed with Mildura's Nathan Murphy up forward. Leads well, great kick, gets in and under....get a game most everywhere else in the ones. A mini Jason Bell. Belly leading from the pocket and Murphy from the square.....................!
Coaches are an easy target for non performance, perhaps name players and recruiting personell should also be looked at
What recruiting staff? At the end of last season 3 or 4 key position players required and they turn up with a group of players who are handy on the wings and flanks and let go a player who was snapped up by Imps and is performing exceptionally well.
Must be nice travelling around "recruiting".
The young bloods are performing very well but the lack of recruiting leaves them without the necessary big bods and old heads in the key positions. And I would agree that some of the older players could be doing much more.
The way I see it the up and coming youth are doing are very well but they need more progressive thinking in the administrative area of the club and the recruiting staff may as well be running the club bar.
Or maybe the club is saving bikkies to buy another flag next year.
Rumour has it next years coach was selected before this season started and it did not include extending this years contract.
SmokeyD82
9 Jun 2007, 23:22
I am happy that Merbein had a win today. It only makes to competition better when we have 8 competitive teams.
However....Thought it was a bit extreme to name the entire 21 in the best players!!!! http://www.sunraysiafl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=298907&comp=5497&orgid=96
They should have also named the committee, the strapper, the water boy, the gate keeper, the under 18s team and the town publican!!!
So much spirit with the new set up Deano46. I'm lovin it
Nakriel
10 Jun 2007, 22:17
Great spirit shown on the weekend Deano, and correct me if I am wrong but wasnt Booker shafted as well, be good to be a coach at south. As far as the going getting tough Spivey was one of very few that actually stood up to be counted and I dont think that he got out, I think he was whiteanted
Uber Donkey
11 Jun 2007, 12:31
I am happy that Merbein had a win today. It only makes to competition better when we have 8 competitive teams.
However....Thought it was a bit extreme to name the entire 21 in the best players!!!! http://www.sunraysiafl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=298907&comp=5497&orgid=96
They should have also named the committee, the strapper, the water boy, the gate keeper, the under 18s team and the town publican!!!
Well i dont even think that the best list is even this weekend's team.. correct me if i'm wrong but i'm sure danny auricht and robbie cruiz both played 2's..
WOO-HOO! WE WON UH YEAH! UP THE PIES!
deposit
11 Jun 2007, 13:15
There are only 6 competitive teams, Pies & South are no where near the mark.
[quote=deposit;7803432]There are only 6 competitive teams, Pies & South are no where near the mark.[/quote
Both those clubs have the wrong ppl up top and have done for years. Do all they can to buy a flag and do the dirty on those there for the right reasons. Never been an Imps fan, but credit to them for the way they run their business. Only have to look at the names, how long they have been there and how successful they are as a club.
G'day boys,
Tim Scott here from down in the Yarra Valley Mountain District Football League (Olinda Footy Club)
We've all watched the news over the last week in horror, the events of Kerang. We had the pleasure of playing you blokes in Interleague at Kerang a few years ago (you gave us a good touch up)
Just wanted to pass on the best wishes of all down this way. I come from a small country community and I know how small communities band together and do whatever it takes to get each other through !
Once again, very best of wishes and good luck to all for the rest of season 07
TS
Nakriel
11 Jun 2007, 23:45
[quote=TeeS;7810002]G'day boys,
Tim Scott here from down in the Yarra Valley Mountain District Football League (Olinda Footy Club)
We've all watched the news over the last week in horror, the events of Kerang. We had the pleasure of playing you blokes in Interleague at Kerang a few years ago (you gave us a good touch up)
Just wanted to pass on the best wishes of all down this way. I come from a small country community and I know how small communities band together and do whatever it takes to get each other through !
Once again, very best of wishes and good luck to all for the rest of season 07
Well said Tim and I am sure that your sentiments are greatfully accepted and you are right small communities do band together in times of adversity
Was good to see the league think and act quickly to rescedule the last weeks R/vale game to the split round. So when does Keam have to serve his suspension. Should it be the same game he was going to miss or just the ones that come up first.
Who were the 3 blokes selected to train with the VCFL squad lads?
B Hards
M Alvey
J Eagle
deposit
14 Jun 2007, 11:38
Alvey, Eagle & B Hards.
Hards
Alvey
Eagle
just though id chuck'm up for every one
Uber Donkey
14 Jun 2007, 16:58
i really dont care mate.. we won this round and i am happy!:thumbsu:
Uber Donkey
14 Jun 2007, 17:04
How many mate? I think Red Cliffs are traveling worse than South :rolleyes:
Appin Vet
15 Jun 2007, 16:26
Can someone tell me how the Robinvale Eagles are travelling at the moment.
deposit
18 Jun 2007, 15:45
Alvey mentioned on the news that he may not be playing in the VCFL team, depending on what WDFC thought.
Did he go down to training on the weekend or not?
How has my little friend Daniel Luke O'Bree been traveling at Mildura, heard he was tearing oppostion to bits and pieces. for a balding fella he can certainly play football.
Also has Mick Hawton Played any footy up there yet, seen him play his first season at wyche an was very good for a first year player, he was a fav going into the B/F but came fourth behind a young star an 2 older blokes that have a cabnet full of medals