View Full Version : Sunraysia Football league

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 [44] 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

Rabbito
4 Jul 2007, 16:25
What sacking Rabbito, It was my decision to Stand Down. Post facts, not crap. And I think playing for $0 is a pretty good price and I'm not sure what you are talking about when you say MY PRICE. I haven't put any price on my head and I never will. My self esteem is as good as ever. Absolutely loving it over in Wagga. Dont have to put up with fools like yourself that think they know things but in fact know nothing.

So naming Guy was only working with the FACTS??? When it suits?

Rabbito
4 Jul 2007, 16:28
Have another read of the post and then........take a minute and see if you can understand what Rabbit is talking about:p. He has not said that you put a price on your head.

However he makes a good point as you seem pretty happy with yourself.

Thank u deposit, the price thing didn't mean what you are worth to play?
Along with the self esteem, I think people jump on too quick!!

bench1
4 Jul 2007, 17:38
Thank u deposit, the price thing didn't mean what you are worth to play?
Along with the self esteem, I think people jump on too quick!!

What shares then you clown, shares is what you are worth isnt that cash, how else do you read that? Atleast he has the guts to go to the source then to apologise. You blokes are unreal, let it go, the Sunraysia BigFooty is simply a way for you blokes to post personal attacks without any substance, this story was over a while ago and Ibis is at a better place where he is back to his best with total support around him.

deposit
4 Jul 2007, 18:11
What shares then you clown, shares is what you are worth isnt that cash, how else do you read that? Atleast he has the guts to go to the source then to apologise. You blokes are unreal, let it go, the Sunraysia BigFooty is simply a way for you blokes to post personal attacks without any substance, this story was over a while ago and Ibis is at a better place where he is back to his best with total support around him.

You are really demonstrating your distinct lack of intelligence. Rabbito, you may have to help the boys out.

Ibis100
4 Jul 2007, 18:24
You are really demonstrating your distinct lack of intelligence. Rabbito, you may have to help the boys out.

Maybe you could explain it seeing you understand and the fact you are online now. With regard to naming Guy,, I immediately acknowledged my mistake and apologised not just by phone but publicly as well. Is Rabbito going to do the same.

I simply answered the question I was asked but seeing you people like to have a crack at everyone and anyone for anything I will stick to reading your crap instead of getting involved in it. No doubt you will have another go after this one, its all you know how to do.

deposit
4 Jul 2007, 18:54
i wouldn't mind buying shares in you at my price and selling them at your price. i think this sacking has really put a hole in your self esteem.

Regarding the first sentence:
What it means is that he doesn't think as much of you as you think of yourself. I will type slowly so that you can all work it out.... If he was to buy shares in you at what he thinks you are worth and sell them at what you think you are worth then he would make a profit... Hypothetically speaking.

Regarding the second sentence:
He was being sarcastic.... You seem to be telling us that you would walk into any club you felt like and play next year (which you probably would, however it read to me that you were pretty happy with yourself.... rather than being a bit unsure given the events of the past month with your previous club). Now I know that will draw more comment from some one who hasn't read this properly and taken time to understand it before posting a reply.......so let it rip.

Rabbito
4 Jul 2007, 19:16
What it means is that he doesn't think as much of you as you think of yourself. I will type slowly so that you can all work it out.... If he was to buy shares in you at what he thinks you are worth and sell them at what you think you are work then he would make a profit... Hypothetically speaking.

He was being sarcastic.... You seem to be telling us that you would walk into any club you felt like and play next year (which you probably would, however it read to me that you were pretty happy with yourself.... rather than being a bit unsure given the events of the past month with your previous club). Now I know that will draw more comment from some one who hasn't read this properly and taken time to understand it before posting a reply.......so let it rip.

Do I still need to say sorry??
I don't believe I've personally attacked you at all, simply adding what I think after you've posted what you think.

bench1
4 Jul 2007, 19:29
What it means is that he doesn't think as much of you as you think of yourself. I will type slowly so that you can all work it out.... If he was to buy shares in you at what he thinks you are worth and sell them at what you think you are work then he would make a profit... Hypothetically speaking.

And maybe you need to read more carefully, he is happier with himself thats the whole point. You have no idea what went on at South so why should he worry about the past. no mention of walking into another club simply thanking the clubs he has training with for allowing him to do so

dishy bale
4 Jul 2007, 19:43
Dishy its only a big job when a person who backs the club finacially has no idea about football dynamics. And thinks the more players u pay and the more u pay them the better the team will be. That is not Always the case, i reckon half the team wouldnt even know the club song!!!

Give any club down hear the budget they have and i could almost garuntee u the next 10 flags. What Balranald do is joke. The coach quitting might be the only way to pull the club into line.
your spot on but i dont know if a coach quitting will change things up there

dishy bale
4 Jul 2007, 19:46
no disrespect to the bloke but when you have a lose player for most of the day sitting in the hole it makes your job at full back a lot easier then if it was a one on one contest all day.
thats modern day footy mate and i would think eagle would have to contend with that most weeks. i guess with sims not playing it makes it harder

dishy bale
4 Jul 2007, 19:57
Spoke to Booker yesterday and it would appear I am wrong. Sorry Guy. With regard to this Irymple stuff I heard this on Saturday at the South game and at the pool by a couple of Irymple boys on Tuesday.

At this point in time, Yes I will be back in SFL. No, I have not spoken with anyone. I have trained at Merbein, Irymple and South since stepping down, they have all been great in allowing me to have a run so I can keep up my fitness etc for in Wagga and I thank them for that. Where I end up I don't know I am committed to playing at Wagga for this season. So no truth to the Irymple rumour although I would certainly consider it if asked as they have been welcoming of me at training and a good bunch of guys.
ibis it would be great if you jogged up to training next year. we will ensure you get home safely from billys on thursday nights mate haha. good to hear your enjoying playing up there with matty. hows the big fella going

GAblett
5 Jul 2007, 12:17
thats modern day footy mate and i would think eagle would have to contend with that most weeks. i guess with sims not playing it makes it harder

i understand that totally mate but what annoys me and probably most people that play or watch the game is the fact that the bloke had help all day long still had four goals kicked on him and everyone said he did a good job.

if he was to do a good job why not back his own talent in and go one on one with him all day?

dishy bale
5 Jul 2007, 18:44
i understand that totally mate but what annoys me and probably most people that play or watch the game is the fact that the bloke had help all day long still had four goals kicked on him and everyone said he did a good job.

if he was to do a good job why not back his own talent in and go one on one with him all day?
why didnt irymples brains trust make merbeins loose man accountable therefore making it a one on one or two on two contest in the goal square. the amount of times the ball went down there i reckon bath or merbein did a good job in restricting eagle to 4 goals. lets be honest most would have had him penciled in for at least 8 in that game. it was a real good duel in a one sided game

Steele
5 Jul 2007, 18:46
At this point in time, Yes I will be back in SFL. No, I have not spoken with anyone. I have trained at Merbein, Irymple and South since stepping down, they have all been great in allowing me to have a run so I can keep up my fitness etc for in Wagga and I thank them for that. Where I end up I don't know I am committed to playing at Wagga for this season. So no truth to the Irymple rumour although I would certainly consider it if asked as they have been welcoming of me at training and a good bunch of guys.[/quote]

Hey Ibis100, Wagga must be pretty happy with a couple of mid season pickups of yourself & Tom Power from the QAFL. When you see him next tell him that all his mates back at Sherwood think that "This was the best smoke bomb he has have ever thrown".:D He will be a great asset for Wagga, just hope he comes back up to brissy again soon!!

bruno3
5 Jul 2007, 21:27
At this point in time, Yes I will be back in SFL. No, I have not spoken with anyone. I have trained at Merbein, Irymple and South since stepping down, they have all been great in allowing me to have a run so I can keep up my fitness etc for in Wagga and I thank them for that. Where I end up I don't know I am committed to playing at Wagga for this season. So no truth to the Irymple rumour although I would certainly consider it if asked as they have been welcoming of me at training and a good bunch of guys.

Hey Ibis100, Wagga must be pretty happy with a couple of mid season pickups of yourself & Tom Power from the QAFL. When you see him next tell him that all his mates back at Sherwood think that "This was the best smoke bomb he has have ever thrown".:D He will be a great asset for Wagga, just hope he comes back up to brissy again soon!![/quote]

Can someone tell me whether a bloke called stephen belleville is any good. He is being cleared to a town in our league and i am wondering if he is any good. can someone fill me in please...

Ibis100
5 Jul 2007, 22:00
ibis it would be great if you jogged up to training next year. we will ensure you get home safely from billys on thursday nights mate haha. good to hear your enjoying playing up there with matty. hows the big fella going

Ah yes, the Billy days, weren't they great. Miss the old cards nights with a few Crownies after training. Been trying to organise a night with the big fella but haven't got much time at the moment.

Matty doing great. Still moves well for a 38 year old. Should be at his finest this weekend, Ms Wagga Tiger Pageant. He thinks he scrubs up OK in a Bikini.

Ibis100
5 Jul 2007, 22:02
Hey Ibis100, Wagga must be pretty happy with a couple of mid season pickups of yourself & Tom Power from the QAFL. When you see him next tell him that all his mates back at Sherwood think that "This was the best smoke bomb he has have ever thrown".:D He will be a great asset for Wagga, just hope he comes back up to brissy again soon!![/quote]

I'll mention it to him Saturday when i see him. Was very handy last weekend in his first game back in the ones.

Hillite
8 Jul 2007, 18:30
To Mildura and Irymple. How did your respective Balls go last Saturday night?
A goodtime had by all?

deposit
8 Jul 2007, 21:52
How many mate? I think Red Cliffs are traveling worse than South :rolleyes:

Do you still think the same way Donkey?:D

Delray
9 Jul 2007, 11:15
A goodtime had by all?

Well Irymples Was great we had 360 there and had a bit to celebrate after a great day.

Credit to Both Irymple And Mildura One of the Hardest Games Of Football ive seen in a long time.

Nakriel
9 Jul 2007, 13:40
Well Irymples Was great we had 360 there and had a bit to celebrate after a great day.

Credit to Both Irymple And Mildura One of the Hardest Games Of Football ive seen in a long time.

Great clash between Spencer and Eagle

Hillite
10 Jul 2007, 15:33
Time for a bit of B^%%$&8t...

Which coaches will stay on?
Who'll definately go?
What club would like a new coach but will likely keep who they've got?
Which club will be recruiting hard for 2008?
What are the recruiting needs of each club?

Peter The Legend
10 Jul 2007, 17:42
A goodtime had by all?

Yes, the Dees had a good night. Not as many as the Swallows but it is good to go to a function where the bulk of the work is being done by the staff at a venue and the committee and supporters can all relax and have fun.

Probably finished a bit early, but I suppose the young and the restless or the bold and the beautiful can move on to O'Malleys and DOMs before dining on Souvlaki later.:thumbsu:

roaring tiger
10 Jul 2007, 22:19
Time for a bit of B^%%$&8t...

Which coaches will stay on?
Who'll definately go?
What club would like a new coach but will likely keep who they've got?
Which club will be recruiting hard for 2008?
What are the recruiting needs of each club?

Is Steve Bell any chance of taking on a coaching Job next year and has he been getting a kick for red ciffs this year?

deposit
12 Jul 2007, 14:21
I think it is great that the SFL has moved the GF as number one is a Sh*t ground to watch footy at.

On the point of moving things, wouldn't it be better if the footy clubs moved from number one (with MRCC support). I would think they could set up a much better footy ground somewhere and leave the trots and the show how they are.

Bush Legend
12 Jul 2007, 15:32
Will Darren Atkinson coach Imperials next season? That's the word around the traps...

Chest Rockwell
12 Jul 2007, 18:36
Will Darren Atkinson coach Imperials next season? That's the word around the traps...

A mere formality you would think.

Truck
13 Jul 2007, 11:46

lets see if he is as loved at imperials as he was at st arnaud.....prob not a real fav in st arnaud.........then again it is st arnaud they are a touch strange

Bush Legend
15 Jul 2007, 15:27
lets see if he is as loved at imperials as he was at st arnaud.....prob not a real fav in st arnaud.........then again it is st arnaud they are a touch strange
My mail is that the list and the club at St. Arnaud were lazy and cultivated a generally poor culture at the footy club. I know Atkinson is highly regarded at his previous clubs (Tocumwal in Murray FL, Leeton in Riverina FL and Robinvale).

Go Cohuna
17 Jul 2007, 21:25
My mail is that the list and the club at St. Arnaud were lazy and cultivated a generally poor culture at the footy club. I know Atkinson is highly regarded at his previous clubs (Tocumwal in Murray FL, Leeton in Riverina FL and Robinvale).
has chris bounias been playing for red cliffs?

Rabbito
18 Jul 2007, 10:44
has chris bounias been playing for red cliffs?

In the 2's I believe, why did he leave Cohuna? was he living over there or travelling?

Cash Man
19 Jul 2007, 08:51
your mail is no good you wanka.:mad: Have a good hard look at the North Central results and you will see St.Arnaud playing for second spot this saturday. Atkinson maybe highly regarded at other clubs, but the lazy and poor culture at the footy club could just maybe Atkinsons words. Compare Atkinsons list at St.Arnaud and the list now, very little change! The only major change would be the bank balance at the end of the year!:D

tommo daisy
20 Jul 2007, 19:50
good to see your still alive harry, missed out a game this weekend i hear have to be pissed off bout that.

i have been told the same thing be a source as well, from all reports already signed on to coach next year.

That news is old as, as for Merbein having enough money, all sources say they had it this year just didnt want to recuit yet, had a few guys in the pipelines they just didnt commit when push came to shove.

Good luck to them if they do.

MasterOfRoc
21 Jul 2007, 02:02
your mail is no good you wanka.:mad: Have a good hard look at the North Central results and you will see St.Arnaud playing for second spot this saturday. Atkinson maybe highly regarded at other clubs, but the lazy and poor culture at the footy club could just maybe Atkinsons words. Compare Atkinsons list at St.Arnaud and the list now, very little change! The only major change would be the bank balance at the end of the year!:D

Ahh Yes Cash Man... my mail says that the Coach, and all his assistants... are on less than Darren wanted total!

Darren is a quality ruckman, and an asset on the field, however, St Arnaud have won more games, in the last 8 rounds, than we did total in 2 years under "Bull"...

Under Darren, we were fighting week in and week out to stay off the bottom of the ladder... However, this year, paying out much less ;) We are this week playing for outright 2nd!

its the Coaches/Leadership groups job to implement a positive and good club culture, and hype.... Darren simply didn't do it... whereas our current coach has...and as a Club, we are 10 fold better :thumbsu::thumbsu:

(oh, add to this that one of the leagues top 2 ruckmen can this year actually play in the ruck!! Darren simply wouldn't change!!)

Anyway, best of luck to him up at Imperials... if he's style works up there, good on it!!

Change of topic - haven't kept much of an eye on SFL this year, hows Danny O'Bree going?

More Than a Game
21 Jul 2007, 21:46
Fella's just a quick question regarding a former Coach from your league. Geoff Brennan. can anyone tell me whether or not he is a good, great or otherwise coach?

Martin Mattner
22 Jul 2007, 16:56
loys of talk about mildura not been able to keep up their top of the table form, a few losses in recent weeks may prove it... will the dees slip??

dunstall
25 Jul 2007, 19:58
hey boys dropping in from SA is ruckman Robert Price playing for Merbein? how is he travelling??

jd smurf
1 Aug 2007, 20:28
it has gone quite all of a sudden, whats news, what are peoples predictions for the rest of the year"?

Hillite
1 Aug 2007, 23:35
No much action at all.
What will the teams from 5th. to 8th. need to do next year.Will they resist the temptation to spend up big.
Which coaches are safe?
Any on shakey ground?
Will Ouyen join the league next year or maybe 2009?
How will they go?

deano46
3 Aug 2007, 18:26
No much action at all.
What will the teams from 5th. to 8th. need to do next year.Will they resist the temptation to spend up big.
Which coaches are safe?
Any on shakey ground?
How will they go?

Hope Ouyen dont join, should be a ripper finals series any of the four teams can win it. Eaton,Alvey,Obree,Connick all safe, word out of Imps is Maloney to retire, not sure what Red Cliffs will do with Mick, Keam to stay also. Bath will leave Merbein alltogether.

Hotdog Vendor
11 Aug 2007, 15:42
Hi guys,
Got a mate over playing in your league and just want to know how he is going and how he rates in the competition. His name is Luke Kneebone.
Thanks

oorab
13 Aug 2007, 11:37
Hi guys,
Got a mate over playing in your league and just want to know how he is going and how he rates in the competition. His name is Luke Kneebone.
Thanks

Bones hit the packs hard and takes some great grabs, got into trouble with the tribunal earlier this year for going a little bit to hard but that hasn't stopped him, will definatley need him on the track if we a re to be GF contenders!

Delray
13 Aug 2007, 15:43
Bones hit the packs hard and takes some great grabs, got into trouble with the tribunal earlier this year for going a little bit to hard but that hasn't stopped him, will definatley need him on the track if we a re to be GF contenders!

With or with out him after saturdays performance id say Imps will be heading into the finals extremly confident.

One of the better team performances i have seen in a long time.

Hotdog Vendor
13 Aug 2007, 20:41

Thanks. Yeah he has always been one to go in hard, even in under 16's where he was pretty small. When do your finals start? Might try to come over for a visit and give him some heckling.
Great to see his team going well. He would've played in a G/F at his previous club Yarrawonga last year if he was still there.

Santoz
14 Aug 2007, 09:02
No much action at all.
Which coaches are safe?
Any on shakey ground?
How will they go?

Any guesses as to what Souths new coach is on a year fellas?

deposit
14 Aug 2007, 17:51
Any guesses as to what Souths new coach is on a year fellas?

I will start the bidding at $12,500

The Prawn
14 Aug 2007, 21:27
I will start the bidding at $12,500
Who is he? Where is he from?

the gloved 1
14 Aug 2007, 21:54
Obviously Merv Neagle is not on enough coin up your way if his missus has to go on 1 VS 100 to try and get some money to finish off their house renovation. If he was still coaching Balranald he could just go and ask Jock to prop him up for a while.
All this aside she has shown she is way to smart for him by being 1 VS 8 next week with 80k in her pocket.

3inarow
15 Aug 2007, 10:57
Obviously Merv Neagle is not on enough coin up your way if his missus has to go on 1 VS 100 to try and get some money to finish off their house renovation. If he was still coaching Balranald he could just go and ask Jock to prop him up for a while.
All this aside she has shown she is way to smart for him by being 1 VS 8 next week with 80k in her pocket.

Very strong rumour is he has already brought a house back here in Mildura with the money his wife won as this show was taped 3 months ago.
Wisper is he has signed back on with Merbein as Senior coach and is bringing some handy Balranald footballers back with him.

Delray
15 Aug 2007, 10:59

Trevor Ryan - A few clubs. But most footballers would know him coached 8 - 10 flags. Great pick up for the doggies should go along way to sorting out some of there issues.

3inarow
15 Aug 2007, 11:04

I think every club in Sunraysia has spoken to Trevor.
Is south did pay $12500 for him then I think they got a bargain. He is a legend is country victoria and my mates who played under him still talk about his professionalism and ability to get the best out of his players.

Very supprised with his boys playing juniors for us that we didn't nab him. Surely we wont have Atkinson coaching us next year?

island breeze
15 Aug 2007, 13:48
Is south did pay $12500 for him then I think they got a bargain. He is a legend is country victoria and my mates who played under him still talk about his professionalism and ability to get the best out of his players.

Very supprised with his boys playing juniors for us that we didn't nab him. Surely we wont have Atkinson coaching us next year?

$75,000 over 3 years was what i heard. Alot for a non playing coach but probably what South need at the moment. Will bring and attract good players.

Russ74
15 Aug 2007, 16:40
So between 12,500 and 25,000. Good to see the rumour mill alive and well!

I have some mates who know him and they all say he'll take less for himself so he can splash a bit more around on players.

Horse6
16 Aug 2007, 00:32
Time for season wrap....predictions for team of the year....much change from interleague team? Flag favourites? Mcleod Medal?

Chest Rockwell
16 Aug 2007, 17:01
Team Of The Year

B, B. Rhodes(Imps), A. Rigby(WW), A. Price(Iry)
HB, J. Harley(Rob), N. Woolford(Mda), Jenkins(Mer)
C, A. Ridley(Imps), D. Falvo(Rob), T. Vandenberg(WW)
HF, Jackson(WW), J. Eagle(Iry), J. Anstey(Mda)
FF, J. Bell(WW), A. Matthews(Mda), R. O'Callaghan(Mda)

R, Atkinson(Imps), B. Hards(Imps), Eaton(Iry)

Int, B O'Connor(Rob), Ough(WW), Clay(WW), Vining(Mda), Thomas(Imps), Simms(Iry)

Flag - Imps

McLeod - Falvo/Hards/Eagle

Holcroft - T Anderson(Mda)

Casey - Skinner(Mda)/Douglass(RC)

ohwhenthesaints
17 Aug 2007, 11:00

Why is that? Not happy??

Delray
17 Aug 2007, 11:19
Team Of The Year

Flag - Imps

Chest peolpe get paid alot of money to do what u have just done. Very very good side and i think all ur predictions could be proven correct. Except for the Imps Flag i hope but i am a little bias towards 1 club ha ha.

My only change to ur side would be Thomas (Imps) starting FP best small faward in SFL proven by the amount of goals he has kicked and leading Imps tally in the same area.

Horse6
17 Aug 2007, 11:49
Team Of The Year

Flag - Imps

Well done...couldnt really argue with anyone in that side....
Agree Imps or Mildura if can get full team playing best chances for flag.
Be great to see T Anderson take out ressies medal...deserves it

Robo 123
19 Aug 2007, 01:23
great picks so far. would also consider Love from imps for the under 18's medal. Kicked a mountain of goals and been in the best most weeks. What has happened to ant matthews? He was the hot favourite for the mcleod a few weeks back.
Also any thoughts on who will win the rising star this year, there have been lots of good young blokes making a name for themselves this year.

deposit
21 Aug 2007, 18:51
What is Merbein talking about in the paper today, I heard it was a done deal with Merv.

bigrig
22 Aug 2007, 13:49
Quote:
Originally Posted by head67 http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=8481351#post8481351)
Sorry to hear about the extent of the injury ibis. No one like's to finish that way. Hopefully with some rehab you may play again. Hope you can take some thing pos back home about our league. Talking to the pres the other day and the league is only to aware of some of the probs out at gumly. To all others who tend to brand the squawks based on a 4 or 5 remember our league will go backwards if they are not in it. we need 10 sides for our league to go forwards.

QUOTE FROM Ibis100
Thanks for that. Unfortunate but them the breaks. It broke in to six pieces over a 6 inch area and needed a plate the length of my arm with 9 screws to hold it together. I've got 28 staples in the cut the doctor had to make. Also broke my wrist which apparently is unavoidable when you break one of those bones in your arm. The damage was caused by the the arm rotating and flexing at the same time making it basically explode.

I hadnt enjoyed my footy for some time but I really did enjoy it there. The comp is pretty good other than eastern hawks very fair. I think you are right and I have said previously that they only need to get rid of those fools and the team not just the league would be better for it. There are some good footballers that get tarred with the same brush at that club that dont deserve it. Hence why I name or put the number of the player I talk about.

I am the first to enjoy a good donny brook, but their pack mentaility and inability to do it one on one shows how pathetic and gutless they are.

Riverina is a good league, just needs some ironing out as all leagues do in some area's. Perhaps the president could sit down and have a look at the video and take action rather than make ridiculous comments over a whole quarter of footy that he watched. Perhaps I should follow Braun and sue for defamation after seeing his comments in the paper. (Wouldn't that be interesting.)

Does not look like ibis100 will be seen on the track again in any league by the sounds of this.

If you go into Riverina site which is on the NSW & ACT footy thread there is more on the incident which has caused some headlines not on the injury but the game between Wagga Tigers & Eastern Hawks.

Apparently ibis was meant to have donged a few players and an offical has come out and said he should of been reported etc.

Ibis has defended his actions in another post but this does little to fix his arm or career in football.

Maybe a chance to be a non playing coach at SFL level or another league??

Good luck with the recovery ibis as no one wants to see any player go out like that and no doubt you still have something to offer the game.:thumbsu:

Ibis100
22 Aug 2007, 18:06
Quote:
Originally Posted by head67 http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=8481351#post8481351)
Sorry to hear about the extent of the injury ibis. No one like's to finish that way. Hopefully with some rehab you may play again. Hope you can take some thing pos back home about our league. Talking to the pres the other day and the league is only to aware of some of the probs out at gumly. To all others who tend to brand the squawks based on a 4 or 5 remember our league will go backwards if they are not in it. we need 10 sides for our league to go forwards.

QUOTE FROM Ibis100
Thanks for that. Unfortunate but them the breaks. It broke in to six pieces over a 6 inch area and needed a plate the length of my arm with 9 screws to hold it together. I've got 28 staples in the cut the doctor had to make. Also broke my wrist which apparently is unavoidable when you break one of those bones in your arm. The damage was caused by the the arm rotating and flexing at the same time making it basically explode.

I hadnt enjoyed my footy for some time but I really did enjoy it there. The comp is pretty good other than eastern hawks very fair. I think you are right and I have said previously that they only need to get rid of those fools and the team not just the league would be better for it. There are some good footballers that get tarred with the same brush at that club that dont deserve it. Hence why I name or put the number of the player I talk about.

I am the first to enjoy a good donny brook, but their pack mentaility and inability to do it one on one shows how pathetic and gutless they are.

Riverina is a good league, just needs some ironing out as all leagues do in some area's. Perhaps the president could sit down and have a look at the video and take action rather than make ridiculous comments over a whole quarter of footy that he watched. Perhaps I should follow Braun and sue for defamation after seeing his comments in the paper. (Wouldn't that be interesting.)

Does not look like ibis100 will be seen on the track again in any league by the sounds of this.

If you go into Riverina site which is on the NSW & ACT footy thread there is more on the incident which has caused some headlines not on the injury but the game between Wagga Tigers & Eastern Hawks.

Apparently ibis was meant to have donged a few players and an offical has come out and said he should of been reported etc.

Ibis has defended his actions in another post but this does little to fix his arm or career in football.

Maybe a chance to be a non playing coach at SFL level or another league??

Good luck with the recovery ibis as no one wants to see any player go out like that and no doubt you still have something to offer the game.:thumbsu:

Cheers big Rig. I have nothing to offer footy on any level mate. Had a gutfull of it really. South or should I say particular people at South took away my passion and although I found it again, I'm really not interested in playing and definately not coaching. And unless my arm is guarateed to be 100% when it heals I won't risk my work or quality of life by playing again. I'm 32 and want to try other things before I get too old. Will know definately in 3 mnths when the arm is about right.

Golf and Poker sound like good options though.:thumbsu:
I have asked Sammy if I can be on his show a bit more to.:D

Truck
22 Aug 2007, 19:34
How did Danny O'Bree go in his come back game see he kicked a few goals, did he spend any time on the ball or did he sit in the forward line. hope he found a bit of form an can get back to playing his good quality of footy

usedtobethin
23 Aug 2007, 10:27
what is it with spivey. seems to leave different clubs in controversy a bit. personally think hes a pretty good bloke but he sure stirs em up

Horse6
23 Aug 2007, 10:47
How did Danny O'Bree go in his come back game see he kicked a few goals, did he spend any time on the ball or did he sit in the forward line. hope he found a bit of form an can get back to playing his good quality of footy

The little forehead got through well...played mostly up forward, just getting touch back...showed his usual class, and the run will do him good with finals next week

Santoz
23 Aug 2007, 11:05
What is Merbein talking about in the paper today, I heard it was a done deal with Merv.

I heard Merbein are also talking to a former VFL/AFL full forward. Played at a heap of clubs. I think he was at the Bulldogs the year Alvey was drafted to em ...

Truck
23 Aug 2007, 11:06
The little forehead got through well...played mostly up forward, just getting touch back...showed his usual class, and the run will do him good with finals next week

seen him saturday night looks liek he could lose a little in the middle, cant lose much more off the top tho hehehe.

bigrig
23 Aug 2007, 13:04
I heard Merbein are also talking to a former VFL/AFL full forward. Played at a heap of clubs. I think he was at the Bulldogs the year Alvey was drafted to em ...

Was mentioned in the paper Santoz that they are talking or going to talk to Simon Minton-Connell which would be a huge coup for Merbein and the league. Don't know what he has done in SA league this year but the last few years he has been kicking 100+ for Aberfeldie FC in the Essendon District League.
I think a better road to take as he would i think be a playing coach and if you are going to spend the money you are better to have a coach on the field leading by example.
But on the other side of the coin Neagle will bring a shit load of players with him which Merbein need badly.

3inarow
23 Aug 2007, 13:55
Was mentioned in the paper Santoz that they are talking or going to talk to Simon Minton-Connell which would be a huge coup for Merbein and the league. Don't know what he has done in SA league this year but the last few years he has been kicking 100+ for Aberfeldie FC in the Essendon District League.
I think a better road to take as he would i think be a playing coach and if you are going to spend the money you are better to have a coach on the field leading by example.
But on the other side of the coin Neagle will bring a shit load of players with him which Merbein need badly.

It has taken the club 3 years to get out of debt so i ask the question why would they want to go down that path again?

bigrig
23 Aug 2007, 14:52
[/b]

It has taken the club 3 years to get out of debt so i ask the question why would they want to go down that path again?

The question answers itself!!
To get off the bottom of the ladder.
To bolster playing stocks because at the moment they are playing a lot of 2nds footballers & Juniors that are not ready.
To avoid being the laughing stock and easy beats of the SFL.
Neagle might have robbed the joint blind a few years ago but he did get them a flag.
If there isn't anybody of his calibre available to coach the club you would think he would have to be considered.
All clubs are measured on a win/loss ratio and all supporters like to be spectating their club come september.
Clubs are proud and i am sure Merbein is no different.
Potenial players to the club would be Matt Chilton/Matt Hooker/Matt Harndoff/Leigh Riordan just to name a few that could come back if Merv was appointed.
And i am sure you can add quite a few more to this list with the contacts he has.
To get another coach from say SA or Melb you will be paying bigger bucks just to get them here without other players.
Merv is already a proven premiership coach in the SFL & CMFL so its a no brainer in my opinion.
Don't know the guy or his style or past history just an interested onlooker who wants to see the league & merbein improve!!:thumbsu:

Hillite
23 Aug 2007, 17:41
The question answers itself!!
To get off the bottom of the ladder.
To bolster playing stocks because at the moment they are playing a lot of 2nds footballers & Juniors that are not ready.
To avoid being the laughing stock and easy beats of the SFL.
Neagle might have robbed the joint blind a few years ago but he did get them a flag.
If there isn't anybody of his calibre available to coach the club you would think he would have to be considered.
All clubs are measured on a win/loss ratio and all supporters like to be spectating their club come september.
Clubs are proud and i am sure Merbein is no different.
Potenial players to the club would be Matt Chilton/Matt Hooker/Matt Harndoff/Leigh Riordan just to name a few that could come back if Merv was appointed.
And i am sure you can add quite a few more to this list with the contacts he has.
To get another coach from say SA or Melb you will be paying bigger bucks just to get them here without other players.
Merv is already a proven premiership coach in the SFL & CMFL so its a no brainer in my opinion.
Don't know the guy or his style or past history just an interested onlooker who wants to see the league & merbein improve!!:thumbsu:

What can they do to avoid a repeat of recent years, a bit of success and then a tremendous crash followed by a few years on the bottom. Yet again

bigrig
23 Aug 2007, 18:08
What can they do to avoid a repeat of recent years, a bit of success and then a tremendous crash followed by a few years on the bottom. Yet again

Manage it a bit better like have contracts/sponsorship in place so that they are not caught with a huge debt at the end of it.

Surely the people/committee at the football club have learnt a fair bit about the mistakes they have made previously and will put in the measures for it not to happen again??

Things like working out your budget before the season starts not at the end and putting a business plan in place so each of the members/committee/players know which direction they are headed and have a 2/3/4 or 5yr window for success not just a quick fix it flag.

Take Souths as an example they suffered badly after 98 but with the right people in the key posts they are out of debt. Yes there footy has gone backwards in the last year or so but they do have good kids coming through and have signed a proven coach to take them places.

Maybe if they sign Merv he will have to go through 2 or 3 years of development and only recruit a handful of players each year.
Remembering the club has the power to direct its coach to what it wants from the playing group and that might mean limited funds for the 1st couple of years to further develop juniors and what they currently have.

Anythings possible with the right people and surroundings in place and maybe Merv might be up for a challenge instead of a star studded side ready to win a flag next year.:confused:

Ibis100
23 Aug 2007, 20:07
Manage it a bit better like have contracts/sponsorship in place so that they are not caught with a huge debt at the end of it.

Surely the people/committee at the football club have learnt a fair bit about the mistakes they have made previously and will put in the measures for it not to happen again??

Things like working out your budget before the season starts not at the end and putting a business plan in place so each of the members/committee/players know which direction they are headed and have a 2/3/4 or 5yr window for success not just a quick fix it flag.

Take Souths as an example they suffered badly after 98 but with the right people in the key posts they are out of debt. Yes there footy has gone backwards in the last year or so but they do have good kids coming through and have signed a proven coach to take them places.

Maybe if they sign Merv he will have to go through 2 or 3 years of development and only recruit a handful of players each year.
Remembering the club has the power to direct its coach to what it wants from the playing group and that might mean limited funds for the 1st couple of years to further develop juniors and what they currently have.

Anythings possible with the right people and surroundings in place and maybe Merv might be up for a challenge instead of a star studded side ready to win a flag next year.:confused:

At least they seem to be allowing Trevor Ryan the opportunity and time to develop the players by signing him for 3 yrs. That has been a problem at the club for a long time. The most any coach has been there is 2 yrs in the past 15. I was only ever signed for a year at a time so didn't have the opportunity to set an extended development program which Trevor has got. Many clubs expect immediate results when a new coach arrives but I really think you need to give a new coach at least 2-3 yrs to see how his overall plan can work. There is no hope of a premiership from a new coach at a low club unless

a)You buy players that can help or
b) Like Mildura/Irymple have done, build on what the previous coach achieved. Red Cliffs will try to do that this year.

I wish Trev the best, he has great kids to work with, just hope he gets the support he needs.

weLLa
23 Aug 2007, 20:56
hey who come 1st and 2nd in the 3rds league vote count? thanks

Hillite
23 Aug 2007, 22:43
hey who come 1st and 2nd in the 3rds league vote count? thanks
You wont know until the 27th of August.

Hillite
23 Aug 2007, 22:53

Thats the way it should be done.
But is Merv the man to do it. Is he prepared to take this approach? Does he the have the ability to develop juniors and be patient or is he going to demand the cash to buy the players.
Does his history suggest that he is capable of coaching young guys to success?
Maybe he is maybe he isnt.
East Devonport wasn't a roaring success (was that the Tassie side he coached)
Where was he before Merbein?
How did he go?

weLLa
23 Aug 2007, 22:54
You wont know until the 27th of August.

ok thanks for that mate

island breeze
26 Aug 2007, 02:59
ok thanks for that mate

good win by the swalllows. . ough's injury hurt wenty massively. good luck to them for the rest of the finals.

From50
26 Aug 2007, 16:37
Heard a juicy rumour that Trev "Rowdy" Ryan may have been speaking to Stinger Tierney.

ROOTA#6
27 Aug 2007, 21:55
Heard a juicy rumour that Trev "Rowdy" Ryan may have been speaking to Stinger Tierney.

Why not???

island breeze
29 Aug 2007, 09:57
Heard a little whisper that the mcleod medal is a tie this year.

Gladstone Small
29 Aug 2007, 11:05
So the invitations are out for the McLeod Medal, any surprises?? Im not sure if the great man got the Team of the Year right in today's paper, there are a few that I wouldnt have.

Anyone got a tip for the Rookie of the Year? Roberts (Iry), Watt(Wenty), Richardson (Imps), Arden (Mda), Mason (Iry)......

Horse6
29 Aug 2007, 11:28
So the invitations are out for the McLeod Medal, any surprises?? Im not sure if the great man got the Team of the Year right in today's paper, there are a few that I wouldnt have.

Anyone got a tip for the Rookie of the Year? Roberts (Iry), Watt(Wenty), Richardson (Imps), Arden (Mda), Mason (Iry)......

Yeah not bad team but few unlucky to miss out...Bell for one, but he did explain his choces. And maybe a few too many Imps but when thats the team you see every week, than probably fair enough...

If Mcleod is a tie...Matthews and Eaton my tip

Delray
29 Aug 2007, 12:52
Could some 1 post the side i havent got the or seen the paper.

Ill go Eagle before Eaton from the swallows Stable.

Overall winner is wide open, i reckon it will be a real tight count 16 could win it.

Ill go: A Ridley

Value Bet: Vandy.

Gladstone Small
29 Aug 2007, 15:33
Could some 1 post the side i havent got the or seen the paper.

Ill go Eagle before Eaton from the swallows Stable.

Overall winner is wide open, i reckon it will be a real tight count 16 could win it.

Ill go: A Ridley

Value Bet: Vandy.
Super Tony's Team

Woolford(Mda), Andrews(Imps), R. O'Callaghan(Mda)
Simms(Iry), A. Rigby(W), Harley(Rob)
A Ridley(Imps), vining(Mda), Eaton(Iry)
Brad O'Connor(Rob), Eagle(Iry), Alvey(W)
R. Hards(Imps), Matthews(Mda), Jackson(W)

Atkinson(Imps), B. Hards(Imps), Falvo(Rob)

Thomas(Imps), Clay(W), Vandenberg(W), Curran(Iry)

island breeze
29 Aug 2007, 16:49
Andy Ough will be very stiff if he misses out, has had as good if not a better year than Atkinson. Would have thought Thomas would an automatic starting selection.

Ibis100
29 Aug 2007, 20:35
Yeah not bad team but few unlucky to miss out...Bell for one, but he did explain his choces. And maybe a few too many Imps but when thats the team you see every week, than probably fair enough...

If Mcleod is a tie...Matthews and Eaton my tip

The team of the year causes problems every year. I like Tony's team if it were going to run out and play but it isn't. I believe the team of the year should basically be the best 22 for the League named. (Not in positions). That way the guys that have had great years don't miss out. Why go for a versitile full fwd in your team of the year over the guy who was 2 short of 100 when the TEAM will never run out on the field.

The team of the year in my opinion is there to recognise the best players, not the best in a particular position or their versatility. Even if you did go with Matthews at full fwd, I don't understand how you could leave Bell out of the side completely when he was the leading goal scorer for the league missing the big ton by just 2 goals. Surely if Matthews is that versatile he could slip in to the fwd pocket in Johny Jacksons spot. Even Tony acknowledged he didn't have a great year this year.

It reminds me when they put Cardew in the pocket and left Hasse out two years ago because (As a selector quoted) Hasse was too old even though he kicked more goals than Cardew.

When someone explains to me what he was too old for I will accept the decision, but like I said, he wasn't going to run out and play for that side. He was also left out of the Snraysia side for that reason which I do undersrtand considering there was an actual game to be played. (Although he should have been in anyway.)

Until they change the selection process it will continue to be flawed. They say they are selected in their positions they play, well I got on the HBF last year and didn't play a game there. Cardew certainly didn't play in the fwd pocket. Team of the year is basically who the selectors like (As shown by Tony's comments about Jackson) not just about recognising the best players in the League.

The TOTY is not going to represent the League that is what interleague is for. The TOTY is there to recognise the 22 best players in the League and that should be the deciding factor. You can't leave the best FF out of the side, it makes a joke of the team if he is.

pies007
29 Aug 2007, 21:54
The team of the year causes problems every year. I like Tony's team if it were going to run out and play but it isn't. I believe the team of the year should basically be the best 22 for the League named. (Not in positions). That way the guys that have had great years don't miss out. Why go for a versitile full fwd in your team of the year over the guy who was 2 short of 100 when the TEAM will never run out on the field.

The team of the year in my opinion is there to recognise the best players, not the best in a particular position or their versatility. Even if you did go with Matthews at full fwd, I don't understand how you could leave Bell out of the side completely when he was the leading goal scorer for the league missing the big ton by just 2 goals. Surely if Matthews is that versatile he could slip in to the fwd pocket in Johny Jacksons spot. Even Tony acknowledged he didn't have a great year this year.

It reminds me when they put Cardew in the pocket and left Hasse out two years ago because (As a selector quoted) Hasse was too old even though he kicked more goals than Cardew.

When someone explains to me what he was too old for I will accept the decision, but like I said, he wasn't going to run out and play for that side. He was also left out of the Snraysia side for that reason which I do undersrtand considering there was an actual game to be played. (Although he should have been in anyway.)

Until they change the selection process it will continue to be flawed. They say they are selected in their positions they play, well I got on the HBF last year and didn't play a game there. Cardew certainly didn't play in the fwd pocket. Team of the year is basically who the selectors like (As shown by Tony's comments about Jackson) not just about recognising the best players in the League.

The TOTY is not going to represent the League that is what interleague is for. The TOTY is there to recognise the 22 best players in the League and that should be the deciding factor. You can't leave the best FF out of the side, it makes a joke of the team if he is.
well explained spives and totally agree!!! how can you leave belly out of the team??? what a joke

Robo 123
29 Aug 2007, 22:22

when is it chosen?

bigrig
30 Aug 2007, 13:47
Just read on the Riverina site that Matt Walder has resigned as coach of the Wagga Tigers and is heading south west for family reasons.
Will he be coaching or assisting a SFL club??:confused:

Chest Rockwell
30 Aug 2007, 16:13
when is it chosen?

Its been chosen, presented at the mcleod medal night.

Anyone heard of a bloke called Gary Bamblett?? Supposed to have played VFL a few years back, has moved into the district, big dude.

bigrig
30 Aug 2007, 16:21
Going back to the Merv Neagle discussion, brother inlaw ran into him up nth while drivin trucks and told him he had signed with Merbein.

Is apparently bringing 8-10 players including whitecross, riordan & Ben Duscher and maybe Hooker.

Other possibles include Mark Duscher/Milney & Wayne Kelly.

Said contracted players will be on no more than $200 and he is only getting his rent paid!!:eek:

Wells Train
30 Aug 2007, 21:53
Not bad there bigrig. Although a few of those were coming back regardless.

jd smurf
2 Sep 2007, 10:53
gees didnt Mildura look impressive, smashed Imps all over the ground. Will be interesting to see if they can get another crack in the big one how the will counteract the 3 big fowards and the midfield that smashed them.

Truck
2 Sep 2007, 11:14
gees didnt Mildura look impressive, smashed Imps all over the ground. Will be interesting to see if they can get another crack in the big one how the will counteract the 3 big fowards and the midfield that smashed them.

Has breeza moved back to the mid field or still sitting in the forward pocket kicking goals

Ibis100
2 Sep 2007, 12:08
Going back to the Merv Neagle discussion, brother inlaw ran into him up nth while drivin trucks and told him he had signed with Merbein.

Is apparently bringing 8-10 players including whitecross, riordan & Ben Duscher and maybe Hooker.

Other possibles include Mark Duscher/Milney & Wayne Kelly.

Said contracted players will be on no more than $200 and he is only getting his rent paid!!:eek:

Spoke to two committee members (The decision makers) of the Merbein Footy Club on Saturday who advised Neagle has not been signed. They have spoken with him but definately not signed. I guess thats why the job was advertised on Saturday. And no, I'm not putting my hand up for the job. Just ran in to them and had a chat.

bigrig
3 Sep 2007, 15:19
Spoke to two committee members (The decision makers) of the Merbein Footy Club on Saturday who advised Neagle has not been signed. They have spoken with him but definately not signed. I guess thats why the job was advertised on Saturday. And no, I'm not putting my hand up for the job. Just ran in to them and had a chat.

Thanks Ibis. I read that you are looking to make a comeback for the GF if Wagga Tigers make it. Thought you were never going play again as the injury was that bad?

Just out of interest why are all the finals being played at Irymple when we have one of the best grounds in the district not being used in Red Cliffs?

We play an annual AFL pre-season match there but its not good enough for a GF or other finals in the SFL?

To me it is the perfect ground for this senario but can only guess that it might have something to do with water or security for why they are not hosting games there.

Please enlighten me................:confused:

Hillite
3 Sep 2007, 15:49
Thanks Ibis. I read that you are looking to make a comeback for the GF if Wagga Tigers make it. Thought you were never going play again as the injury was that bad?

Just out of interest why are all the finals being played at Irymple when we have one of the best grounds in the district not being used in Red Cliffs?

We play an annual AFL pre-season match there but its not good enough for a GF or other finals in the SFL?

To me it is the perfect ground for this senario but can only guess that it might have something to do with water or security for why they are not hosting games there.

Water and security.
Irymple is completly enclosed The fence used for the AFL game would be too expensive for the SFL.

Irymples watering system allows the SFL to pump recycled water through the system.

I reckon its Ok better than No 1. anyway.

Horse6
3 Sep 2007, 16:37
Water and security.
Irymple is completly enclosed The fence used for the AFL game would be too expensive for the SFL.

Irymples watering system allows the SFL to pump recycled water through the system.

I reckon its Ok better than No 1. anyway.

Yeah oval felt alright on the weekend..bit hard in areas, but 100 times better than the concrete slab on 11th street...

Bit dissapointing with Crowd numbers though...thought might be a few more for those 2 teams...should be good atmosphere for GF though if they can get 3 or 4 thousand there...

Ibis100
3 Sep 2007, 22:31

Mate the arm isn't too good. Just rousing a few of the boys up over there. Keep em guessing. Then again the allure of a premiership is hard to resist. If I do my arm again thiough I am in big trouble. 95% I wont play the game again. (Always prepared to risk it for a premiership, something I have never won.) BUT WILL MY COACH. I doubt it.