View Full Version : Sunraysia Football league

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 [46] 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

ROOTA#6
2 Oct 2007, 20:38
Any word if Simon Prymke is heading back up Mildura way???

wayne23
3 Oct 2007, 07:52
Any word if Simon Prymke is heading back up Mildura way???

Yeah he is. i know he's spoken to 2 clubs who are both very keen.

jd smurf
3 Oct 2007, 19:42
Yeah he is. i know he's spoken to 2 clubs who are both very keen.

which are ?

harry the bad man
3 Oct 2007, 20:53
which are ?
fruit flys little boys club?

ROOTA#6
3 Oct 2007, 21:33
which are ?

I reckon Trev Ryan would have spoken to him and Merv will try to and Ash Connick would as well all being coaches that have seen him play recently down Swan Hill way

Hillite
4 Oct 2007, 00:05
So would have Eato.
They didn't play together did they? Before eato went to Irymple.

ROOTA#6
4 Oct 2007, 09:58
So would have Eato.

Yep you are right. Played in a flag together at Kerang

Rabbito
4 Oct 2007, 23:19
So would have Eato.

has Eato signed on yet??

Hillite
5 Oct 2007, 00:08
Done deal I reckon.

delricho12
5 Oct 2007, 19:12
Done deal I reckon.
Maybe tey dont want to sign him dont forget Matt walder is back in town coming off coaching a premiership at Wagga. So who knows?

Rabbito
5 Oct 2007, 21:36
Done deal I reckon.

you missed my question, yes or no?

bigrig
6 Oct 2007, 10:30
Jason Eagle has signed at Airlie Beach for big dollars!! Huge loss and with Eato's uncertainy they could be in a bit of trouble next year.
If Eato does not get the job he will be offered another coaching role in the RFL!!:eek: (Not Wagga Tigers)

wayne23
9 Oct 2007, 07:47
whats the latest gossip recruiting wise? i hear imps have got sonny, petrie and a pretty handy player from ballarat. is the d-train coming back to town?

Delray
10 Oct 2007, 10:01
Jason Eagle has signed at Airlie Beach for big dollars!! Huge loss and with Eato's uncertainy they could be in a bit of trouble next year.
If Eato does not get the job he will be offered another coaching role in the RFL!!:eek: (Not Wagga Tigers)

Ha ha ha bigrig now i know for a fact that ur lying on both counts. The silly season has been abit slow for the SFL. Has any1 actually signed any players of yet??????

Chest Rockwell
10 Oct 2007, 14:25
- Petrie, Sonny & Ballarat bloke to Imps plus I heard that Mark Cross and Phil Nash are coming back to play as well. Also heard that Robbie Smith will take over the Imps Reserves coaching job.
- Eaton has signed to coach Meringur with Eagle as an assistant, both looking to further they're footy careers.
- Matty Walder to be considered for the coaching job of the Australian International Rules Side if and when it is re-instated in the future.
- Adam Houlihan, Josh Houlihan, Damian Houlihan & Ryan Houlihan all playing for Merbein this year. Carlton considering a trade deal for Ryan with Roger Bath in the calculations.

How much dribble gets spun on here?

bigrig
10 Oct 2007, 14:42
Ha ha ha bigrig now i know for a fact that ur lying on both counts. The silly season has been abit slow for the SFL. Has any1 actually signed any players of yet??????

Spoke to Griffith (RFL) the club who was trying to recruit both Eagle & Eaton during the week. :eek:
Eagle told them he has signed up for a side up in Nth QLD which i thought they said Airlie Beach. Griffith offered him good dollars and a job to start this Monday with a vehicle but he reniged for QLD.
Eaton is waiting on Irymple to see if he gets the job as he wants it for another 12mths before he broadens his horizons!!
Delray i have know reason to lie as i got this from the horses mouth sorry!!:thumbsu:

harry the bad man
10 Oct 2007, 22:27
balranald woodchoppers son to play for merbein, and dad to tip in truck loads of cashola

ROOTA#6
10 Oct 2007, 22:31
balranald woodchoppers son to play for merbein, and dad to tip in truck loads of cashola

Which son???

hardball get
10 Oct 2007, 22:35
Which son???
his name is warrick... shit ppl, all of a sudden merbein are starting to look alright 4 next yr.... hope you ready 4 it rabbito as you are the one that said they have to improve 15 to 20 goals just to be competitive:eek::eek::eek::p

The Prawn
10 Oct 2007, 23:09
Which son???
campbell

Rabbito
11 Oct 2007, 09:59
his name is warrick... shit ppl, all of a sudden merbein are starting to look alright 4 next yr.... hope you ready 4 it rabbito as you are the one that said they have to improve 15 to 20 goals just to be competitive:eek::eek::eek::p

Mate, I'm happy to wear it if I'm wrong. If you remember back earlier in the year Merbein people were spouting the same stuff, fitter than ever! some good recruits! Bennet Deale kicked more goals than Arentz in the under 16's! do I need to go on? As I said, I'd be happy to eat more words if I'm wrong.

Delray
11 Oct 2007, 11:03
Spoke to Griffith (RFL) the club who was trying to recruit both Eagle & Eaton during the week. :eek:
Eagle told them he has signed up for a side up in Nth QLD which i thought they said Airlie Beach. Griffith offered him good dollars and a job to start this Monday with a vehicle but he reniged for QLD.
Eaton is waiting on Irymple to see if he gets the job as he wants it for another 12mths before he broadens his horizons!!
Delray i have know reason to lie as i got this from the horses mouth sorry!!:thumbsu:

Nor do i.

Now what do u think it means when a club rings up offers the world and the player still says no???? I reckon it may mean the player is happy with there current side. As u will find is the case for the players mentioned above.

Wells Train
11 Oct 2007, 11:16
Mate, I'm happy to wear it if I'm wrong. If you remember back earlier in the year Merbein people were spouting the same stuff, fitter than ever! some good recruits! Bennet Deale kicked more goals than Arentz in the under 16's! do I need to go on? As I said, I'd be happy to eat more words if I'm wrong.

we are going to improve a hell of a lot next year... thts all im going to say... any players we do get except for a couple are all born n bred merbein.. will be a very interesting year. where in alot different shape than this time last year when we were saying stuff..

Rabbito
11 Oct 2007, 14:45
we are going to improve a hell of a lot next year... thts all im going to say... any players we do get except for a couple are all born n bred merbein.. will be a very interesting year. where in alot different shape than this time last year when we were saying stuff..

good luck, i believe it's important to keep the even/there abouts to be healthy.

Santoz
11 Oct 2007, 22:11
Can someone shed some light on the 5 or so youngsters from the SFL that have been asked to try out at North Adelaide U/17's next year?

godsofrichmond
11 Oct 2007, 23:08

Rabbito im not sure who you are but you need to get something clear. Dealo isnt even a has been, he is a never was. That talk was brought up by some humourous imps folk who decided to have some fun. Yes that arentz stuff maybe true, but lets put it in perspective. It was U16s with walpy having the dream team and manang getting flogged each week. Not to metion it was around 14 years ago.
Yes he tried to have a run this year, but after tearing his achilles early in the season, he didnt really participate for the year.
For those who know me for who i really am, they could agree that he doesnt like his name getting dragged through this site. espicially in the contect that isnt true.

Skeeterman
12 Oct 2007, 12:16
Rabbito im not sure who you are but you need to get something clear. Dealo isnt even a has been, he is a never was. That talk was brought up by some humourous imps folk who decided to have some fun. Yes that arentz stuff maybe true, but lets put it in perspective. It was U16s with walpy having the dream team and manang getting flogged each week. Not to metion it was around 14 years ago.
Yes he tried to have a run this year, but after tearing his achilles early in the season, he didnt really participate for the year.
For those who know me for who i really am, they could agree that he doesnt like his name getting dragged through this site. espicially in the contect that isnt true.

You sound a little confused as to who you/he actually is let alone anyone else knowing you/he for who you/he really is!! ;)

Horse6
12 Oct 2007, 14:48

Im sure Dealo is big enough to to defend himself...anyway who really cares what gets said on here, its all in good fun banter anyway, and its country footy for F&*@ sake not like we are playing AFL......

bigrig
12 Oct 2007, 17:20
Nor do i.

Now what do u think it means when a club rings up offers the world and the player still says no???? I reckon it may mean the player is happy with there current side. As u will find is the case for the players mentioned above.

Delray why dont these players in question just say no instead of leading clubs on by saying they are interested but really they are not!!:thumbsd:

The problem here is a club has an interest in theses players but the players in question just play them like a fiddle for there own gain!!:eek:

Like your club these other clubs are actively looking for quality key position players or coaches and they do not need to be led on as there window of opportunity is only small to recruit.

This a common happening and will happen more than it wont.

Please dont call me a liar again.................:mad: as both players were contacted and conversations were had but the players in question declined for reasons as stated and not made up!!

Hillite
16 Oct 2007, 16:58
Well the Eato saga has been finalised at long last.
Now who knows whats happening at Red Cliffs. Mick F could be a hot property he is no pointer at Mildura. But I reckon a few others would be interested.
Robinavle will be searching far and wide for a new coach as well. Any ideas? Imps too.
Are the finances up to scratch at Wenty can they afford to keep Alvey on the list??

Just a bit to stir up some action.

Delray
16 Oct 2007, 17:44
Please dont call me a liar again.................:mad: as both players were contacted and conversations were had but the players in question declined for reasons as stated and not made up!![/quote]

Sorry Rig i just went back and read 1 of ur posts u were only miss informed on the Airle Beach 1 that was 100% not true. Eaton thing may have been true, i just knew that it wasnt going to happen.

Hill no offical annoucment has come from the nest has it??????? Who is ur informant?????

Hillite
16 Oct 2007, 18:53
Please dont call me a liar again.................:mad: as both players were contacted and conversations were had but the players in question declined for reasons as stated and not made up!!

Sorry Rig i just went back and read 1 of ur posts u were only miss informed on the Airle Beach 1 that was 100% not true. Eaton thing may have been true, i just knew that it wasnt going to happen.

Hill no offical annoucment has come from the nest has it??????? Who is ur informant?????[/quote]

Delray

Aren't you involved at Irymple?
It was in todays Sunraysia daily.

Whose going to be the assistant coach??

ROOTA#6
16 Oct 2007, 20:21
I am hearing whispers that Damian Lock is heading up Sunraysia way from HDFL club Colbinabbin. Anyone up there hearing this or know of which clubs may secure his services???

Rabbito
16 Oct 2007, 22:14
I am hearing whispers that Damian Lock is heading up Sunraysia way from HDFL club Colbinabbin. Anyone up there hearing this or know of which clubs may secure his services???

He coached them? What makes you think he's heading this way? employment? coaching job?

harry the bad man
16 Oct 2007, 22:55
walder and spivey 2 coach red cliffs 08

ROOTA#6
16 Oct 2007, 23:12
He coached them? What makes you think he's heading this way? employment? coaching job?

Yeah he coached them to the grand final. Fantastic player. Not sure if he is heading up there definitely or not i am just hearing talk of it and was wondering if any of you guys had heard anything. If he is heading up there every club should chase him. Absolute jet this bloke

Delray
17 Oct 2007, 10:19
Delray

Aren't you involved at Irymple?
It was in todays Sunraysia daily.

Whose going to be the assistant coach??[/quote]

Sorry Hill i hadent seen the paper As for the AC have had no word at the moment now that the coach is sorted expect a good group of signings this week sometime.

Santoz
17 Oct 2007, 13:32
Yeah he coached them to the grand final. Fantastic player. Not sure if he is heading up there definitely or not i am just hearing talk of it and was wondering if any of you guys had heard anything. If he is heading up there every club should chase him. Absolute jet this bloke.

Calling him an absolute jet is a bit of a stretch. Has a good fitness base and finds plenty of the ball.

Jason Spivey v2.0

ROOTA#6
17 Oct 2007, 13:37
Calling him an absolute jet is a bit of a stretch. Has a good fitness base and finds plenty of the ball.

Jason Spivey v2.0

Having played against this bloke on 4 occassions this year i and having him carve us up on 3 of those occassions i think it is fair of me to call him an absolute jet. Get him up there in the good weather and the firm tracks and he will be one of, if not the premier on baller in the league. That's if he is heading up there

Santoz
17 Oct 2007, 17:47
Having played against this bloke on 4 occassions this year i and having him carve us up on 3 of those occassions i think it is fair of me to call him an absolute jet. Get him up there in the good weather and the firm tracks and he will be one of, if not the premier on baller in the league. That's if he is heading up there

That is a bit of a stretch as well. He wouldn't be the premier on baller in the league he's in, let alone the SFL. I agree with you that he'd be more than handy if he heads up there ...

ROOTA#6
17 Oct 2007, 18:18
That is a bit of a stretch as well. He wouldn't be the premier on baller in the league he's in, let alone the SFL. I agree with you that he'd be more than handy if he heads up there ...

He is the Premier on baller down here mate

Skeeterman
17 Oct 2007, 19:54
He is the Premier on baller down here mate
I watched Elmore vs someone this year and plenty of SFL games and there is a big difference in standard. But if as you say he is THE premier onballer in the Heathcote league then he will go well but good luck in trying to be better then Eato, O'Callaghan, O'Bree, Hards etc.

ROOTA#6
17 Oct 2007, 20:11
I watched Elmore vs someone this year and plenty of SFL games and there is a big difference in standard. But if as you say he is THE premier onballer in the Heathcote league then he will go well but good luck in trying to be better then Eato, O'Callaghan, O'Bree, Hards etc.

Have played against all three of the blokes you have mentioned and he is the equal of them all. The only blokes that i would rank as better that i have seen would be Lance Brown and Sean Charles. Anyway I am interested to see where he ends up

crabbman_69
18 Oct 2007, 21:24
Any more news as to what Eagle from irymple is up to next year

Ibis100
19 Oct 2007, 18:36

Jason Spivey v2.0

Hey Santoz, whats my name doing on this post.

And no, Spivey is not coaching anywhere in 08. And definately not playing at this stage.

Expect an announcement on Walder soon. 3 clubs in the running.

Hillite
19 Oct 2007, 19:28

And no, Spivey is not coaching anywhere in 08. And definately not playing at this stage.

Expect an announcement on Walder soon. 3 clubs in the running.

Well locally thats got to be RC, Robinvale and Imps.
Imps ...don't think so
Robinvale...again dont think so
Red Cliffs ....I wouldn't of thought so but maybe. I expected RC to appoint an ex AFL player in the mould of Danny Hughes. Largely because I expected them to be cashed up seeing as if they haven't spent much for a while. At least their results suggest they haven't. If they have then it was a poor return on their investment.

But then maybe all the clubs aren't in the SFL or maybe they're not all senior coaching roles????

Santoz
19 Oct 2007, 22:55

Just saying that yourself and Lock have very similar playing styles ...

Ibis100
20 Oct 2007, 21:07
Well locally thats got to be RC, Robinvale and Imps.
Imps ...don't think so
Robinvale...again dont think so
Red Cliffs ....I wouldn't of thought so but maybe. I expected RC to appoint an ex AFL player in the mould of Danny Hughes. Largely because I expected them to be cashed up seeing as if they haven't spent much for a while. At least their results suggest they haven't. If they have then it was a poor return on their investment.

But then maybe all the clubs aren't in the SFL or maybe they're not all senior coaching roles????

Walder is the most successful player/coach to come in to this league in years. Yes he will be 38 at start of next year but lets look at his honors in the past 6 years

2 Premeirships as coach 2004/2007
Level 2 State Level Coach in ACTAFL 2006
All Australian Player in 2006
Vice Captain of New South Wales 2006
Runner Up in club B&F 2006 and 2007 missing by 3 votes on both occassions.
Top 5 in League B&F 2007
Not to forget past McLeod Medallist and League Medal in the Wimmera in Premiership year.

Surely all 3 clubs would be interested in a player with those credentials.

Oh yeah, and did a full pre season at AFL level when he was much younger. Just cause you play AFL doesn't make you a good coach.

I know he has signed to coach a club which will be announced early this week.

Rabbito
21 Oct 2007, 00:40
Walder is the most successful player/coach to come in to this league in years. Yes he will be 38 at start of next year but lets look at his honors in the past 6 years

2 Premeirships as coach 2004/2007
Level 2 State Level Coach in ACTAFL 2006
All Australian Player in 2006
Vice Captain of New South Wales 2006
Runner Up in club B&F 2006 and 2007 missing by 3 votes on both occassions.
Top 5 in League B&F 2007
Not to forget past McLeod Medallist and League Medal in the Wimmera in Premiership year.

Surely all 3 clubs would be interested in a player with those credentials.

Oh yeah, and did a full pre season at AFL level when he was much younger. Just cause you play AFL doesn't make you a good coach.

I know he has signed to coach a club which will be announced early this week.

joint coaches with harry at meringur i heard

Chest Rockwell
23 Oct 2007, 21:58
Walder has signed on to coach Red Cliffs.

Delray
24 Oct 2007, 11:17
Walder has signed on to coach Red Cliffs.

Will u be following him Ibis???????????????

Ibis100
24 Oct 2007, 15:29
Will u be following him Ibis???????????????

Won't play under any else.

Good chance I wont play at all though. My arm isn't too good and might force me to stop. Still having operations, Had number 5 yesterday.

Delray
25 Oct 2007, 12:13
Won't play under any else.

Good chance I wont play at all though. My arm isn't too good and might force me to stop. Still having operations, Had number 5 yesterday.

How the F....k did u play in the grand final??????? Did that do any more damage??

Ibis100
25 Oct 2007, 13:35
How the F....k did u play in the grand final??????? Did that do any more damage??

Wasn't painful at the time and the arm seemed to be on the mend. It was infected the week before the Granny and the scar split open on the morning of the GF so i figured there wasn't much I could about it then. I had a guard made up to protect the bone and it did its job well.

The infection spread after the GF and now they are trying to get rid of it. Have removed the plate and screws and removed the infected bone leaving a nice gap there.

Possible bone graft once the infection has been cleared.

All the operations are trying to clean out the bone and the wound of the infection. Its a pain in the butt.

harry the bad man
25 Oct 2007, 17:29
Wasn't painful at the time and the arm seemed to be on the mend. It was infected the week before the Granny and the scar split open on the morning of the GF so i figured there wasn't much I could about it then. I had a guard made up to protect the bone and it did its job well.

The infection spread after the GF and now they are trying to get rid of it. Have removed the plate and screws and removed the infected bone leaving a nice gap there.

Possible bone graft once the infection has been cleared.

All the operations are trying to clean out the bone and the wound of the infection. Its a pain in the butt.

dont worry dude, red cliffs players turn into superman when they don their guernseys, so u should be right there

Horse6
26 Oct 2007, 14:36
dont worry dude, red cliffs players turn into superman when they don their guernseys, so u should be right there

Ha not from what ive seen....

fatgutz
28 Oct 2007, 11:03
G'day new guy on this thing! I know of some of you! I follow Merbeinfc pretty closely and was hoping Walder and Spivey would go back and play a couple of years there, but i reckon Merve's going to get a crap load of players and Merbein i don't reckon will say no to anyone he wants, so having said that! Merbein Football Club Premiers 2008 and 2009. While Merve is there who cares how they win a premiership!:thumbsu:

fatgutz
28 Oct 2007, 11:10
:cool:Go the Bombers and go the Pies! Best draw for the bombers in years! Local guy coaching them and Merve Neagle coaching Merbein! what a year of premierships next year woah!!!!!!!!

Hillite
28 Oct 2007, 18:01
No comment.

jd smurf
28 Oct 2007, 18:32
:cool:Go the Bombers and go the Pies! Best draw for the bombers in years! Local guy coaching them and Merve Neagle coaching Merbein! what a year of premierships next year woah!!!!!!!!

i think you would be stoked if either got close to the finals :)

deposit
29 Oct 2007, 09:22
i think you would be stoked if either got close to the finals :)

What is it with all the Merbein people on here and their warped perception of reality? We heard all the same dribble last year........ you would be better off waiting to see how you go rather than talking it up and then look very foolish.

Wells Train
29 Oct 2007, 11:21
What is it with all the Merbein people on here and their warped perception of reality? We heard all the same dribble last year........ you would be better off waiting to see how you go rather than talking it up and then look very foolish.
I agree, there is no doubt with the quality of players coming in we will be huge improvers, hard to say how far we can go at this stage

Rabbito
29 Oct 2007, 12:52
I agree, there is no doubt with the quality of players coming in we will be huge improvers, hard to say how far we can go at this stage

Anyone comfirmed yet

Delray
29 Oct 2007, 16:01
Anyone comfirmed yet

Guys from out Black and White Land please understand that the points system is pretty simple 5 quality players = minimum of 20 points. I think merbein will have about 26 or 27 to play with. Add free locals mark Duscher, maybe ben (my info is he is staying in bendigo) Whiterod (???) + 1 extra player. That would be an injection of 9 players.

To play good finals footy the quality of 6 non locals would need to be in the vacintiy of Matt carn, Jason Eagle, Brad eaton, Brad Hards, Ryan Hards, Bull Atkinson, Mick Faulkhead, Steve Denaro, Danny Obree, Ant Matthews, Jake Ansty, Mark Alvey B & A Rigby just to name a few.

So please guys unless u land some serious guns and actully get the real good locals back just a solid improvement on last year would be accetable in my opinion.

Ibis100
29 Oct 2007, 18:05
Guys from out Black and White Land please understand that the points system is pretty simple 5 quality players = minimum of 20 points. I think merbein will have about 26 or 27 to play with. Add free locals mark Duscher, maybe ben (my info is he is staying in bendigo) Whiterod (???) + 1 extra player. That would be an injection of 9 players.

To play good finals footy the quality of 6 non locals would need to be in the vacintiy of Matt carn, Jason Eagle, Brad eaton, Brad Hards, Ryan Hards, Bull Atkinson, Mick Faulkhead, Steve Denaro, Danny Obree, Ant Matthews, Jake Ansty, Mark Alvey B & A Rigby just to name a few.

So please guys unless u land some serious guns and actully get the real good locals back just a solid improvement on last year would be accetable in my opinion.

I will name a few players that may return to Magpie land along with swervin mervin. I haven't heard anything other than a few of the balranald boys and ex locals are returning.

Here goes - and some good inclusions that would make them very much in the mix for fourth spot.

Chooka Byrnes
Matty Chilton - Possibly heading overseas with his misses.
Leigh Riordon - Made a comeback last year at Balranald
Mark Ducher
Luke Gane

Points = 4 as past SFL club for all except Riordo is Merbein.

Like I said, I haven't heard anything just my thoughts on those that would definately consider returning under Neagle that I know of.

Rabbito
29 Oct 2007, 18:44
I will name a few players that may return to Magpie land along with swervin mervin. I haven't heard anything other than a few of the balranald boys and ex locals are returning.

Here goes - and some good inclusions that would make them very much in the mix for fourth spot.

Chooka Byrnes
Matty Chilton - Possibly heading overseas with his misses.
Leigh Riordon - Made a comeback last year at Balranald
Mark Ducher
Luke Gane

Points = 4 as past SFL club for all except Riordo is Merbein.

Like I said, I haven't heard anything just my thoughts on those that would definately consider returning under Neagle that I know of.

Luke Gane didn't play this year? while coaching Cardy.
Frog Keatch gone?
Bath?
Jason Hunt?

Would have Merbein known Matt Walder maybe available when they appointed Merv?

Ibis100
30 Oct 2007, 18:24
[quote=Rabbito;9355656]

Luke Gane didn't play this year? while coaching Cardy.

Frog Keatch gone?

Bath?

Jason Hunt?

Would have Merbein known Matt Walder maybe available when they appointed Merv?
Bath is not a big loss if he leaves and Jase Hunt had a good year in millewa but might struggle to step up a level after his injury a couple of years back. [quote]

Merbein knew Matty was available cause I told the president. He most probably wouldn't have gone their anyway cause of what happened last time he was there.

Wells Train
30 Oct 2007, 21:02
[quote=Rabbito;9355656]

Luke Gane didn't play this year? while coaching Cardy.Frog Keatch gone?Bath?Jason Hunt?

Would have Merbein known Matt Walder maybe available when they appointed Merv?Bath is not a big loss if he leaves and Jase Hunt had a good year in millewa but might struggle to step up a level after his injury a couple of years back. [quote]

Merbein knew Matty was available cause I told the president. He most probably wouldn't have gone their anyway cause of what happened last time he was there.
With the guys you mentioned earlier Ibis, plus other handy recruits who i won't mention just yet we will improve. Benny Duscher is a freak these days and my mail is usually pretty good, he will be playing with us next year

Horse6
31 Oct 2007, 08:54
[quote=Ibis100;9365972][quote=Rabbito;9355656]

Luke Gane didn't play this year? while coaching Cardy.Frog Keatch gone?Bath?Jason Hunt?Would have Merbein known Matt Walder maybe available when they appointed Merv?Bath is not a big loss if he leaves and Jase Hunt had a good year in millewa but might struggle to step up a level after his injury a couple of years back.
With the guys you mentioned earlier Ibis, plus other handy recruits who i won't mention just yet we will improve. Benny Duscher is a freak these days and my mail is usually pretty good, he will be playing with us next year

Correct me if im wrong but even if you bring 9 or 10 players in, the other 12-20 players still arent up to getting team going..i cant think of many that would walk into a spot at the top sides???

Ibis100
1 Nov 2007, 00:16
[quote=Wells Train;9367604][quote=Ibis100;9365972]

Correct me if im wrong but even if you bring 9 or 10 players in, the other 12-20 players still arent up to getting team going..i cant think of many that would walk into a spot at the top sides???

It doesn't take 21 great footballers to improve the club. If you bring in some quality players (Which is about all you can do under the points system anyway) along with a decent coach who can utilise and improve the current players better then they will definatley improve alot on last year. I don't think they will get close to challenging for a grand final but with some good inclusions and a good game plan then there is no reason why they can't contend for fourth spot which would be a realistic but difficult goal for them.

Robinvale South and Red Cliffs are in the same boat. Wentworth did no better than the year before and without any handy inclusions they will be battling for fourth as well.

Imps and Mildura should still be up in the top three with Irymple possibly slipping and fighting for fourth if they lose Eagle. Jess is gone and I have heard Carn may be leaving as well although I can't confirm that rumour. Big battle for fourth spot this year.

Delray
1 Nov 2007, 10:03
Robinvale South and Red Cliffs are in the same boat. Wentworth did no better than the year before and without any handy inclusions they will be battling for fourth as well.

Imps and Mildura should still be up in the top three with Irymple possibly slipping and fighting for fourth if they lose Eagle. Jess is gone and I have heard Carn may be leaving as well although I can't confirm that rumour. Big battle for fourth spot this year.[/quote]

Ibis i would say thats a fair assesment of the season to come. Mildura are definitly the front runners at the moment the only club currenty to get pen to paper with some quality new guys. other than that the sfl has been super quite to date.

Im expecting some big announcments soon. Imps & R/vale havent even appointed coaches yet. something must be brewing.........

Delray
1 Nov 2007, 10:05
Rumor i have is Sth are currenetly in conversations with 2 players from Melb of VCFL standards. Filghts each week. They would have to be guns if that rumor was true. can any 1 from the Kennal confirm.

Yaaablett
1 Nov 2007, 13:54
The much publicised "we will focus on developing our talented juniors for next year" of a couple of clubs lasted all of about 8 weeks. Ego always wins out.

Skeeterman
1 Nov 2007, 14:09
The much publicised "we will focus on developing our talented juniors for next year" of a couple of clubs lasted all of about 8 weeks. Ego always wins out.
Good to hear from you Yaablett. Can we expect a few more insightful posts this year now you have stepped down? You left a fair void on this site when coaching duties began.

AC Rocket
1 Nov 2007, 16:06
See former Red Cliffs premiership coach Jeff Brennan is the new general manager of the Bendigo Bombers in the VFL.

Must have been a good coach and switched on business wise. Anyone expand?

Ibis100
1 Nov 2007, 17:04
Rumor i have is Sth are currenetly in conversations with 2 players from Melb of VCFL standards. Filghts each week. They would have to be guns if that rumor was true. can any 1 from the Kennal confirm.

If this is true it just adds that bit more substance to my reasons for stepping down. They went on and on about developing Juniors and then they go and look to fly people in. Exactly why they ousted the committee in '99'.

As I keep saying, perhaps its the committee that needs to look at itself instead of passing the buck on to the players.

Peter The Legend
4 Nov 2007, 08:53

Imps and Mildura should still be up in the top three with Irymple possibly slipping and fighting for fourth if they lose Eagle. Jess is gone and I have heard Carn may be leaving as well although I can't confirm that rumour. Big battle for fourth spot this year.

Ibis i would say thats a fair assesment of the season to come. Mildura are definitly the front runners at the moment the only club currenty to get pen to paper with some quality new guys. other than that the sfl has been super quite to date.

Im expecting some big announcments soon. Imps & R/vale havent even appointed coaches yet. something must be brewing.........[/quote]

Not a criticism, but a lot of threads in the last week talk about sides pushing for fourth place. I know it takes time to build up a side, buy ins or not, but fourth is not really an aim is it. With eight sides you want better than average if you are going to put the work in.

fatgutz
4 Nov 2007, 15:04
g'day all! i heard that simon minton conell who has been kicking bags of goals still is gonna go and play at merbein next season along with ty zantuck? merve knows them pretty well! i've been reading your threads interestong points you bring up!

fatgutz
4 Nov 2007, 15:05
interesting not interestong sorry!!

Truck
4 Nov 2007, 15:07
g'day all! i heard that simon minton conell who has been kicking bags of goals still is gonna go and play at merbein next season along with ty zantuck? merve knows them pretty well! i've been reading your threads interestong points you bring up!

Hope zantuck has a better year up there then he did in the bendigo league

fatgutz
4 Nov 2007, 15:11
i don't know alot about zantuck pretty useless at the bombers! but minton-conel was a name that was thrown up about playing for Merbein!or coaching at one stage!

wayne23
6 Nov 2007, 15:49
Heard today that a mildura premiership player was interviewed for the imps job

Hillite
6 Nov 2007, 16:01
I've heard that an ex SFL player has not endeared himself to the league and a number of clubs after ringing a number of young sfl players re their intentions for 2008.

Wells Train
6 Nov 2007, 16:13
I've heard that an ex SFL player has not endeared himself to the league and a number of clubs after ringing a number of young sfl players re their intentions for 2008.
Are you sure this guy isn't a priest?:D

Yaaablett
7 Nov 2007, 07:51
Heard today that a mildura premiership player was interviewed for the imps job

Someone from the 82 side perhaps? To my knowledge all contracted players have signed on again for 08. If you're fair dinkum give us a name.

fatgutz
7 Nov 2007, 10:19
i reckon it could have been dean slorach? coach of imps next season!

fatgutz
7 Nov 2007, 10:21
good player slorach pitty he didn't stay at magpie land now merve is back! but he at least beat imps in the gf and now has 3 flags to his name! would be a good coach at imps i reckon !

Wooderson
7 Nov 2007, 11:49
good player slorach pitty he didn't stay at magpie land now merve is back! but he at least beat imps in the gf and now has 3 flags to his name! would be a good coach at imps i reckon !
Just wondering what sort of year Dave Picket had at Merbien?

3inarow
7 Nov 2007, 12:53
i reckon it could have been dean slorach? coach of imps next season!

Great man but would never be the coach of the green and whites.
Glad Bull decided not to take on the coaching roll, not a leader.

Our 3 great recruits cost us the granny, Andrews should of never played(will miss the 08 season now), Bull cant jump or ruck against quality ruckman and catta should piss off over the fence as he has no heart.

I hear sam morris is heading back to Irymple

Hillite
7 Nov 2007, 15:28
I'd love to se Slorach coaching imps especially after the serve he got from that particular group of Imps ladies during the second semi.
It may be Brad Morriss heading back to irymple.

crabbman_69
7 Nov 2007, 16:08
I'd love to se Slorach coaching imps especially after the serve he got from that particular group of Imps ladies during the second semi.
It may be Brad Morriss heading back to irymple.

Patrick Bowden to coach imps next year. Anouncement will be made shortly.

fatgutz
7 Nov 2007, 17:50
catta should piss off he sounds like a south man! full of shit! any dunno pat bowden? ex afl aint he? wouldn't imps have to fork out more money! cos they don't pay any one right?

fatgutz
7 Nov 2007, 17:53
i reckon ibis100 should coach imps wouldn't they all love that?

fatgutz
7 Nov 2007, 17:55
Just wondering what sort of year Dave Picket had at Merbien?
dave pickett shoulda stayed behind the picketts!!!!

fatgutz
8 Nov 2007, 20:22
what no more "i heards?" every 1must be getting a root or somethin!!!!!

Horse6
9 Nov 2007, 10:42
Great man but would never be the coach of the green and whites.
Glad Bull decided not to take on the coaching roll, not a leader.

Our 3 great recruits cost us the granny, Andrews should of never played(will miss the 08 season now), Bull cant jump or ruck against quality ruckman and catta should piss off over the fence as he has no heart.

I hear sam morris is heading back to Irymple

Still a little disharmony over at the Green and Whites???

fatgutz
9 Nov 2007, 12:57
green and whites just need a priest to look after them. aren't they a good catholic club?

wayne23
9 Nov 2007, 16:05
green and whites just need a priest to look after them. aren't they a good catholic club?

You are a massive tool.

Hillite
9 Nov 2007, 16:48
You are a massive tool.
Agree

fatgutz
9 Nov 2007, 21:23
r well imps don't pay anyone so they probaly won't get a coach and players cos who would wanna play for a club that doesn't pay any one?