View Full Version : Sunraysia Football league

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 [48] 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

Ibis100
20 Nov 2007, 21:06
Heard Merbein had Simon Minton-Connell and another Ex AFL player coming. Not sure of the truth to this or where I even heard it but I heard it on the Merbein Grapevine somewhere.

Can anyone shed some light?

buddyroughead
20 Nov 2007, 22:03
is richie vandenberg playing in your league next yr,is alvey still at wentworth ?. also curious on a few guys i played juniors against craig chapple,glen aldterton and benny daymon are those guy's still in your comp.any info would be great cheers.

deposit
21 Nov 2007, 07:57
is richie vandenberg playing in your league next yr,is alvey still at wentworth ?. also curious on a few guys i played juniors against craig chapple,glen aldterton and benny daymon are those guy's still in your comp.any info would be great cheers.

Pretty sure Richie is not playing, but my train in part of pre season. Alvey still coaching WDFC this year. Chapple was last seen playing in the Millewa, Aldy playing Ressies at WDFC, not sure what Ben is up to.

Yaaablett
21 Nov 2007, 08:11
Yaaaablett, being an ex cmfl coach, do u know much about Trevor Ryan, coaching style and what he'll bring to South?

Decks older than Walder, too? Could go on for every!!

Always a pleasure to answer your questions Rabbito. Trevor has coached something like 8 premierships which probably speaks for itself. All of those he was a playing coach though. Interesting to see how he goes as a non playing coach. I would put my money on him being an very good non playing coach. You have rate a coach by where they finish compared to their list and I think he would improve a side 1-3 places. What I mean is that if he had say the 7th best list they'd finish 4-6. Some coaches can have the 4th best list and finish 5-8!

I would imagine that 2008 will be Decks' last year. Although you never know. He was B.O.G in the grand final by a mile. O'Bree was outstanding as well but Deckert's game was massive. Walder will be just as good as ever I imagine. Didn't Craig Bradley play in the AFL at 39?

Yaaablett
21 Nov 2007, 08:15
Last I heard Ben "Tojo" Daymond was in Perth still playing good footy. An absolute gun at wenty. I reckon when Wenty won the flag in 01 he was in the top 10 players in the league.

ted bullpit
21 Nov 2007, 08:50
Last I heard Ben "Tojo" Daymond was in Perth still playing good footy. An absolute gun at wenty. I reckon when Wenty won the flag in 01 he was in the top 10 players in the league.

Post 2001 he was definitely in the top 3 of 'fried' players in the comp

buddyroughead
21 Nov 2007, 09:20
Pretty sure Richie is not playing, but my train in part of pre season. Alvey still coaching WDFC this year. Chapple was last seen playing in the Millewa, Aldy playing Ressies at WDFC, not sure what Ben is up to.
thank's mate played rep footy against them here in broken hill,mildura and in chapple's case comealla.

Rabbito
21 Nov 2007, 09:39
Always a pleasure to answer your questions Rabbito. Trevor has coached something like 8 premierships which probably speaks for itself. All of those he was a playing coach though. Interesting to see how he goes as a non playing coach. I would put my money on him being an very good non playing coach. You have rate a coach by where they finish compared to their list and I think he would improve a side 1-3 places. What I mean is that if he had say the 7th best list they'd finish 4-6. Some coaches can have the 4th best list and finish 5-8!

I would imagine that 2008 will be Decks' last year. Although you never know. He was B.O.G in the grand final by a mile. O'Bree was outstanding as well but Deckert's game was massive. Walder will be just as good as ever I imagine. Didn't Craig Bradley play in the AFL at 39?

What are you saying? Aren't all of our question up to srcatch??
Have you ever played with him along the way?;)

aussie_rules
21 Nov 2007, 10:02
jeez ibis100 how much money does merbein have shit where do we all sign up? Minton-Conell i have heard of how damaging would that be to all oppostion teams since he is still bagging goals! and another ex- afl player, well i hope it be a james hird or mark johnson but that would be unfair for the rest of the SFL. ! Looks like Merbein are gonna be back big time!!:thumbsu:

wayne23
21 Nov 2007, 17:20

Have to agree with you there Yab's, Tojo was one of the most naturally talented players I have come across, even when his mind wasn't fully on the job! Was very important to that wenty side. That wenty side the best side you've been a part of?

aussie_rules
21 Nov 2007, 18:46
is ty zantuck and minton-conell going to merbein?:confused: bloody merbein must have alot of cash !:eek:

show me the money$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$:D

The_KNIFE
21 Nov 2007, 18:49
The boys in the robinvale pub arent a happy lot tonight .Donnys told prez Bluey that he is heading of to Irymple to play footy.Long time supporters thes blokes and they are pissed of with Donnys antics.They reckon he has pulled big $$$$ ot of the club since he was sixteen.They have had to sit down with him every year because he was talking to another club.They recon he whiteanted their best ever footballer in Evans when he was coach and also last years coach. The boys are going to get to clearances signed for him and get them delivered with armour gaurd just incase he loses one.When I left they were passing the hat around for petrol money just to make sure he gets there,one bar wag said we are usually doing this to keep the little p?###.
Good luck Eagle boys Iam sure you will still enjoy you footy in front of the bar still even without little Donny.
PS How come Tooleybuc Manang,Balranald,Nyah and Woorinen missed he normaly talks to one or all off them:):):)

aussie_rules
21 Nov 2007, 18:54
The boys in the robinvale pub arent a happy lot tonight .Donnys told prez Bluey that he is heading of to Irymple to play footy.Long time supporters thes blokes and they are pissed of with Donnys antics.They reckon he has pulled big $$$$ ot of the club since he was sixteen.They have had to sit down with him every year because he was talking to another club.They recon he whiteanted their best ever footballer in Evans when he was coach and also last years coach. The boys are going to get to clearances signed for him and get them delivered with armour gaurd just incase he loses one.When I left they were passing the hat around for petrol money just to make sure he gets there,one bar wag said we are usually doing this to keep the little p?###.
Good luck Eagle boys Iam sure you will still enjoy you footy in front of the bar still even without little Donny.
PS How come Tooleybuc Manang,Balranald,Nyah and Woorinen missed he normaly talks to one or all off them:):):)

i thought robinvale had all the money? old donny wants new cash hey? isn't he like nearly 40 years old fart now?

jd smurf
21 Nov 2007, 19:05
i thought robinvale had all the money? old donny wants new cash hey? isn't he like nearly 40 years old fart now?

i cant see the swallows paying him big bux. but any player of his quality is is more than welcome at the nest. Isnt he allowed a change after more or less being at the same club playing seniors for over 15 years.

aussie_rules
21 Nov 2007, 19:20
i cant see the swallows paying him big bux. but any player of his quality is is more than welcome at the nest. Isnt he allowed a change after more or less being at the same club playing seniors for over 15 years.
yeah man 4 sure! he's nothing like a Riordo or chooka burnes who haveplayed at a number of clubs even matty walder has been to 8 clubs they said, so yeah good luck to him.He can go to the magpies if he wanted to! i'm sure even imps woulda had him there~:thumbsu:

aussie_rules
21 Nov 2007, 19:22
would'a liked to have seen tony hickey and falvo playing together!:thumbsu:

Nakriel
21 Nov 2007, 22:53
Mate lets be serious Riordo and Byrne may bw good but not in the class of Falvo

yeah man 4 sure! he's nothing like a Riordo or chooka burnes who haveplayed at a number of clubs even matty walder has been to 8 clubs they said, so yeah good luck to him.He can go to the magpies if he wanted to! i'm sure even imps woulda had him there~:thumbsu:

Nakriel
21 Nov 2007, 22:55
Mate lets be serious Riordo and Byrne may be good but not in the class of Falvo

Ibis100
21 Nov 2007, 22:58
is ty zantuck and minton-conell going to merbein?:confused: bloody merbein must have alot of cash !:eek:

show me the money$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$:D

Yes Zantuck was the other that I heard. YOu obvioulsy working the same row of vines as me Aussie rules.

Walder has been to two clubs in SFL and 2 Outside SFL. Was coach at three clubs and took two clubs to Premierships with very young sides. Not a money chaser.

wayne23
22 Nov 2007, 05:36

Seriously, are you retarted?

Delray
22 Nov 2007, 08:30
PS How come Tooleybuc Manang,Balranald,Nyah and Woorinen missed he normaly talks to one or all off them:):):)[/quote]

Well knife i hope ur information is correct. Don would be a tremendous inclusion for the Irymple F.C. our young list would benifit greatly from his experiance.

Im just sick of people saying the player has drained the club that is total crap. The player only takes what the club offers. If the club is not happy or cant afford it then dont offer it its as simple as that.

Its not the Players fault if the club doesnt have the balls to say NO!!! and i dont think r/vale has struggled to much with the 15/16 years of service Don has provided them.

Rabbito
22 Nov 2007, 09:27

Well knife i hope ur information is correct. Don would be a tremendous inclusion for the Irymple F.C. our young list would benifit greatly from his experiance.

Im just sick of people saying the player has drained the club that is total crap. The player only takes what the club offers. If the club is not happy or cant afford it then dont offer it its as simple as that.

Its not the Players fault if the club doesnt have the balls to say NO!!! and i dont think r/vale has struggled to much with the 15/16 years of service Don has provided them.[/quote]

Just the benifit of his experience passed on to young blokes would be worth gold, interesting to hear knife say the footy club/supporters in the pub (who could be wankers who never even get down to the footy) were shit canning him. Probably one of the nicest blokes you'll every meet, the only thing that stop this bloke from playing AFL was his size, every country footy club would give their eye teeth from him.

aussie_rules
22 Nov 2007, 09:49
Yes Zantuck was the other that I heard. YOu obvioulsy working the same row of vines as me Aussie rules.

Walder has been to two clubs in SFL and 2 Outside SFL. Was coach at three clubs and took two clubs to Premierships with very young sides. Not a money chaser.
yeah mate ! no probs what i have heard mr walder is a very fit fella and i am sure he wasn't chasing the big dollars like byrnes and riordo! so good luck to matty and is his brother gonna follow him out to redcliffs?:confused:

aussie_rules
22 Nov 2007, 09:53
apparently someone said zantuck just came off a shit year in the bendigo league! but he was like that at my bombers, bit like cupido! although cupido would be good in this league! anyway ! if that is true merbein might be hard to beat this year, and sounds like they are just recruiting bucket laods!:thumbsu:
good luck to them!

The_KNIFE
22 Nov 2007, 10:48

Its not the Players fault if the club doesnt have the balls to say NO!!! and i dont think r/vale has struggled to much with the 15/16 years of service Don has provided them.

Just the benifit of his experience passed on to young blokes would be worth gold, interesting to hear knife say the footy club/supporters in the pub (who could be wankers who never even get down to the footy) were shit canning him. Probably one of the nicest blokes you'll every meet, the only thing that stop this bloke from playing AFL was his size, every country footy club would give their eye teeth from him.[/quote]

Rabbit these blokes were serious supporters hard workers and money men not just you average bar fly >notice i used the term eagle boys.Without supporters rabbit you dont have footy clubs .:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Rabbito
22 Nov 2007, 11:20
Rabbit these blokes were serious supporters hard workers and money men not just you average bar fly >notice i used the term eagle boys.Without supporters rabbit you dont have footy clubs .:thumbsu::thumbsu:[/quote]

I see your point, I agree without supporters we'd have no footy clubs, I guess the questions are, why is he leaving? do they believe thet have paid him enough in the past that they own him? Has he really got that must money out of them over the years? I'd image he would have knocked back some hugh offers over the last 10 years.
You mentioned earlier about whiteanting this years coach and Evans when he was there, whats up with that?
Love to be there the first time he lines up against R'vale down at Riverside Park.

usedtobethin
22 Nov 2007, 12:29
ask someone from kangaroo flat about zantuck. should be interesting if he gets to merbein.

3inarow
22 Nov 2007, 12:37
With merbein being the new powerhouse of SFL, I would like to know how many that got at training Friday night? Was half the town there watching as all the new recruit ran around?

Horse6
22 Nov 2007, 12:40
With merbein being the new powerhouse of SFL, I would like to know how many that got at training Friday night? Was half the town there watching as all the new recruit ran around?

I believe there were shuttle buses running from Mildura every 5 mins to convoy the supporters out there as well....apparantly 14 ex AFL boys running around out there...autograph hunters delight...

aussie_rules
22 Nov 2007, 13:00
I believe there were shuttle buses running from Mildura every 5 mins to convoy the supporters out there as well....apparantly 14 ex AFL boys running around out there...autograph hunters delight...

how the hell are merbein going to pay these jokers? and although i would buy a member ship to see this team play, you may as wellm give merbein the next 3 premierships ! whilst swervin mervin is in town!

what happens to their young kids?:(:thumbsd:

aussie_rules
22 Nov 2007, 13:04
if 14 ex afl players were at traning, surley it would have been just a practise drill before they went back their own clubs?:confused:

probaly just a thing to get the supporters back!hey? other wise no-one can beat merbein for about 3 -5 years if merve stays!

Hillite
22 Nov 2007, 13:36
if 14 ex afl players were at traning, surley it would have been just a practise drill before they went back their own clubs?:confused:

probaly just a thing to get the supporters back!hey? other wise no-one can beat merbein for about 3 -5 years if merve stays!

Aussie do reckon this might not be quite true??

The_KNIFE
22 Nov 2007, 13:49
Rabbit these blokes were serious supporters hard workers and money men not just you average bar fly >notice i used the term eagle boys.Without supporters rabbit you dont have footy clubs .:thumbsu::thumbsu:

I see your point, I agree without supporters we'd have no footy clubs, I guess the questions are, why is he leaving? do they believe thet have paid him enough in the past that they own him? Has he really got that must money out of them over the years? I'd image he would have knocked back some hugh offers over the last 10 years.
You mentioned earlier about whiteanting this years coach and Evans when he was there, whats up with that?
Love to be there the first time he lines up against R'vale down at Riverside Park.[/quote]
The problem the supporters have is he has been fairly high to maintain and has always played the leaving game.One very disgruntled sponsor an ex oversized butcher from Robinvale quality meats Is pretty pissed off because he used to donate Donnys T Bones every thursday night and cook it for him while his fellow players used to get lamb chops and sausages.He is demanding answers of the club on how a well looked after player would want to leave.:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

aussie_rules
22 Nov 2007, 14:00
Aussie do reckon this might not be quite true??
yes mate i do! but with swervin mervin back you never know what is possible! :thumbsu:

Merbein premiers 3 in a row! whilst mervy boy is back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D:thumbsu::)

Yaaablett
22 Nov 2007, 16:10
The way this site's traveling I expect Lloyd and Harry are going to post next. Nothing wrong with spruiking your team, but can we here some facts for a change? Who has signed where?

wayne23
22 Nov 2007, 16:11
[quote=aussie_rules;9524041]if 14 ex afl players were at traning, surley it would have been just a practise drill before they went back their own clubs?:confused:

Seriously are you retarted? You are so frustrating to read.

aussie_rules
22 Nov 2007, 16:19
[quote=aussie_rules;9524041]if 14 ex afl players were at traning, surley it would have been just a practise drill before they went back their own clubs?:confused:

Seriously are you retarted? You are so frustrating to read.

well read with your eye's closed moron! i suppose you are not completly retarted? but you have jeff the "wanker" kennett in charge of your club! so alittle retarted i guess!:D:D

wayne23
22 Nov 2007, 16:28
The way this site's traveling I expect Lloyd and Harry are going to post next. Nothing wrong with spruiking your team, but can we here some facts for a change? Who has signed where?

Yabs you haven't answered my question on the previous page or so.
I've heard no solid news footy-wise lately, other than wenty losing Jacko.

aussie_rules
22 Nov 2007, 17:14
your last name wouldn't be kerr? would it wayne?- waynekerr:D

wayne23
22 Nov 2007, 17:48

You are stupid, your team is terrible, your town is shit. You will be useless next year. Go away, No one likes you.

aussie_rules
22 Nov 2007, 18:07
You are stupid, your team is terrible, your town is shit. You will be useless next year. Go away, No one likes you.

you aren't crying mate are you? probaly too many waynekerr jokes as a kid has finally got to you!
but hey! my bombers will kick you poofy hawthorn "crawfords" ass and merbein will win the flag! cya later dudeless!:D:p:eek:

jd smurf
22 Nov 2007, 18:09
Love to be there the first time he lines up against R'vale down at Riverside Park.
The problem the supporters have is he has been fairly high to maintain and has always played the leaving game.One very disgruntled sponsor an ex oversized butcher from Robinvale quality meats Is pretty pissed off because he used to donate Donnys T Bones every thursday night and cook it for him while his fellow players used to get lamb chops and sausages.He is demanding answers of the club on how a well looked after player would want to leave.:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:[/quote]

is that the same butcher thats son left robinvale to play in mildura?:cool:

aussie_rules
22 Nov 2007, 18:11
The problem the supporters have is he has been fairly high to maintain and has always played the leaving game.One very disgruntled sponsor an ex oversized butcher from Robinvale quality meats Is pretty pissed off because he used to donate Donnys T Bones every thursday night and cook it for him while his fellow players used to get lamb chops and sausages.He is demanding answers of the club on how a well looked after player would want to leave.:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

is that the same butcher thats son left robinvale to play in mildura?:cool:[/quote]

prob thought the t-bones were shit!!!!!!! and irymples tasted better! little stumpy pork chop of a man!:D

well 'ard
22 Nov 2007, 18:17

Champagne comedy

Hillite
22 Nov 2007, 18:18
Aussie and Wayne its "retarded" unless you're mean a piece of pastry.
You blokes will have to get some spelling lessons from Delray.
I wouldn't be getting too excited about Donny going to Iyrmple yet.
At least wait until clearances open or a contract is signed.

aussie_rules
22 Nov 2007, 18:21

sorry about wayne he just lost his BRAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!:thumbsu:

deposit
22 Nov 2007, 19:53

Agree, now piss off aussie

Horse6
23 Nov 2007, 08:06

hahaha come on Aussie....your smarter than that...

Delray
23 Nov 2007, 08:26
I wouldn't be getting too excited about Donny going to Iyrmple yet.
At least wait until clearances open or a contract is signed.

Hill my friend where theres a will theres a way!!! Im just hopping all roads lead to the swallows nest ha ha ha.

And spelling lessons i truely think id would be the last person youd want giving im a numbers man and without the good old spell checker id be lost.

Yaaablett
23 Nov 2007, 08:35
Yabs you haven't answered my question on the previous page or so.
I've heard no solid news footy-wise lately, other than wenty losing Jacko.

Sorry wayne, missed it before. Wenty 2001? Probably. Won 21 of 22 including the night series and the game we lost was by 3 points with a late goal kicked by Irymple with about 1 second left. The side had no real gaps. Mildura 07 may have obtained a similar record with a mid season run of luck with injury. On consistency and record it would be 01. Playing personnel pretty close.

I spoke to Jacko about a fortnight ago. Is he heading to Rumbalara? Big loss to Wenty.

godsofrichmond
23 Nov 2007, 09:58
i am currious on people thoughts on the pros and cons of buying a premiership.
And im asking this on the assumption on merbein doing just that.
If a bus load of players do turn up in round one. Then what happens to the players that were trying their guts out while we were shit. The senior players of last season become seconds players and the seconds players become supporters. I spose that yes you get a premiership out of it. But at what costs. If everyone knows that its a bought flag, then i cant see to much respect being won over it. I feel for the guys in the twos who are going to miss out when they kept the team on the field

The_KNIFE
23 Nov 2007, 10:56
is that the same butcher thats son left robinvale to play in mildura?:cool:

prob thought the t-bones were shit!!!!!!! and irymples tasted better! little stumpy pork chop of a man!:D[/quote]

I think you will find the son of the butcher left for work reasons.I guarentee Robinvale Quality meats T Bones are better than anything you can buy In Mildura .Maybe the Butcher was not coocking them to Donnys liking.The latest news is that Woorineen is still in the running with the Woorineen Godfathers making a late$$$$ charge.
PS Some of the Eagle boys reckon the Quality of the BBQ cooking went down hill when Big Strawb left .:):)

Delray
23 Nov 2007, 11:04
I think you will find the son of the butcher left for work reasons.I guarentee Robinvale Quality meats T Bones are better than anything you can buy In Mildura .Maybe the Butcher was not coocking them to Donnys liking.The latest news is that Woorineen is still in the running with the Woorineen Godfathers making a late$$$$ charge.
PS Some of the Eagle boys reckon the Quality of the BBQ cooking went down hill when Big Strawb left .:):)[/quote]

Very very intresting knife well we will soon know weather it is a financial issue. Woorineens offer would be far bigger then the swallows. Intresting to see how it pans out.

Nakriel
23 Nov 2007, 12:35
Valid point, if you look at sth mildura and merbein they bothbought a premiership and in doing so self destructed shortly after

i am currious on people thoughts on the pros and cons of buying a premiership.
And im asking this on the assumption on merbein doing just that.
If a bus load of players do turn up in round one. Then what happens to the players that were trying their guts out while we were shit. The senior players of last season become seconds players and the seconds players become supporters. I spose that yes you get a premiership out of it. But at what costs. If everyone knows that its a bought flag, then i cant see to much respect being won over it. I feel for the guys in the twos who are going to miss out when they kept the team on the field

Wanderer13
23 Nov 2007, 13:04
Interesting to read Godsofrichmond asking about clubs buying premierships. People who are part of footy clubs, including players, supporters and sponsors all want what is best for the footy club. It happens in every league, but the one thing people at footy clubs want is success!
If you are talking directly about Merbein there is still a long time before Round 1. Clearances haven't even opened yet and there is heaps of crap talked about this time of year. Merbein obviously weren't up to scratch last year. The players that are good enough to play senior football, will still play senior football. Unfortunately they didn't have enough of these "senior" players last year, which is why they finished down the bottom. I have the utmost respect for those players that stick around in tough and unsuccessful times, but I still believe if the incoming players mix with the locals and do their part to help the club, those players from last year will still enjoy the successes that may come too!
I agree that buying a flag comes with it's problems, especially if they spend beyond there means, but my guess is, they probably have a bit of cash saved up. I think it's better for the league as a whole if all the clubs are at least competitive.
At the minute, the Millewa is the most boring footy to watch as the gap between top and bottom is too great, would be worse if the SFL was like that. Then there would be less supporters, sponsors or incoming money to "buy" quality players.

sidelines
23 Nov 2007, 13:12
Aussie, for the sake of the Merbein FC would you stop with the consistant dribble and personal slander. There are a lot of people working hard to bring success back to the club on the field and build respect back in the footy community. The crap that you say on the site does nothing to supprot these people. when you can base your comments on fact then speak up, otherwise tone it down a bit.

wayne23
23 Nov 2007, 16:25
Sorry wayne, missed it before. Wenty 2001? Probably. Won 21 of 22 including the night series and the game we lost was by 3 points with a late goal kicked by Irymple with about 1 second left. The side had no real gaps. Mildura 07 may have obtained a similar record with a mid season run of luck with injury. On consistency and record it would be 01. Playing personnel pretty close.

I spoke to Jacko about a fortnight ago. Is he heading to Rumbalara? Big loss to Wenty.

Rumbalara? is that in Shepparton? thats where he's off to. big loss for the roo's but some of the younger players should step up and become consistent senior players. eg Zac McGlynn, Matt Cameron, James Watt. Tom Lipetri has the ability to become one of the elite onballers in the comp.

ted bullpit
24 Nov 2007, 08:37
Aussie, for the sake of the Merbein FC would you stop with the consistant dribble and personal slander. There are a lot of people working hard to bring success back to the club on the field and build respect back in the footy community. The crap that you say on the site does nothing to supprot these people. when you can base your comments on fact then speak up, otherwise tone it down a bit.

For the sake of the MERVein F.C, my son has yet to be spoken to, along with a number of others who played senior footy last year. They are by no means superstars of the competition, but they do warrant respect. So i pose the question, is Mervein ( the community club ) more concerned about Mervs army, or their local stock?

Hillite
24 Nov 2007, 09:45
For the sake of the MERVein F.C, my son has yet to be spoken to, along with a number of others who played senior footy last year. They are by no means superstars of the competition, but they do warrant respect. So i pose the question, is Mervein ( the community club ) more concerned about Mervs army, or their local stock?

This sounds familiar.
Are Merbein on the way to a brief glimmer of success (and I don't mean a flag) and then another few years in the wilderness. While the locals look elsewhere in the SFL or Millewa.

wayne23
27 Nov 2007, 05:43
Trav Bath is playing for Wenworth.

deposit
27 Nov 2007, 08:28
I have heard on the Grapevine that SFL is going to drop the Reserves for the year and just run U/18's & seniors. In an attempt to reduce the pressure on the grounds (and not just because reserves players are generally heavier). Has anyone else heard of this or similar?

Delray
27 Nov 2007, 09:05
I have heard on the Grapevine that SFL is going to drop the Reserves for the year and just run U/18's & seniors. In an attempt to reduce the pressure on the grounds (and not just because reserves players are generally heavier). Has anyone else heard of this or similar?

Well i hope that doesnt happen that would be alot worse for the league then people may think. I reckon the SFL Reserves hasnt been of to bad a standard and alot of kids have had and extra season or two to develop.

Well that would ruin my weekend anyway the SFL agm is tonight so i suppose a little more will be known then.

deposit
27 Nov 2007, 12:09
Well i hope that doesnt happen that would be alot worse for the league then people may think. I reckon the SFL Reserves hasnt been of to bad a standard and alot of kids have had and extra season or two to develop.

Well that would ruin my weekend anyway the SFL agm is tonight so i suppose a little more will be known then.

It would not be a good thing, but if the water situation stays as bad as it is then this is some thing they may have to look at.

Would do wonders for numbers in the MFL.

Rabbito
27 Nov 2007, 14:16

your grapevine?? very unlikely.

harry the bad man
27 Nov 2007, 15:50
Trav Bath is playing for Wenworth.
Will Crackers Keenan be joining him too? what a dynamite duo lol:D

the-rumour-mill
27 Nov 2007, 16:39

sounds very like the Balranald footy club also. they are still losing local players after the way Merve convinced the committee buying his troop of players would benefit the club. and how did he do this convinced the man with the $$$ mr.campbell who is now the major funds supplier to the Merbein FC

chalkie
28 Nov 2007, 13:40

Does anyone know some of the outcomes from the AGM last night? I heard that clubs have been told by council, they won't be able to train on the ovals during the year. Is there any truth to this:confused:

Delray
28 Nov 2007, 14:53
Does anyone know some of the outcomes from the AGM last night? I heard that clubs have been told by council, they won't be able to train on the ovals during the year. Is there any truth to this:confused:

I can help out a little hear Chalk,

yep the agm went fairly well last night but there are still plenty of unknowns.

Pre season comp - no rain no comp. But no decision has been made yet.

At this stage council beleive they can get either 4 or 5 ovals right for training and football. providing we share. ie no club will have exclusive rights to any ground and training maybe limited to an hour so that more then 1 club can train on any night.

They are hopping that the season will start on time but more will be known in a fortnight when the council get back to the league with what ovals have been given the go ahead.

June 30 2008 will be a massive day as new restrictions could be enforced if so then the season will have to shortend and massive changes will have to be made.

whatever happens the 2008 season will be hard for every1 to manage unless it pisses rain for a couple of weeks. And there is no easy solution so we will just have to wait and see how it all pans out.

There will be football in 2007 just how many games no 1 is exactly sure as yet.

Harry29
28 Nov 2007, 15:05

Training will be very restricted, but training on ovals will be allowed for a certain period of time and probably once a week. The biggest headache will be where games will be played, as not all grounds will be available. A shortened season is definately on the way!

aussie_rules
28 Nov 2007, 16:53
shit! no footy in 2008! that will stop merve neagle's team! better have some rain real quick! might be nothing left of merbeinfc the way they are recruiiting!!!!!!!

just hope the locals will find something else to do as Merbein will be a big import team! :thumbsu:

PLEASE GOD SOME RAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Wells Train
29 Nov 2007, 06:48
shit! no footy in 2008! that will stop merve neagle's team! better have some rain real quick! might be nothing left of merbeinfc the way they are recruiiting!!!!!!!

just hope the locals will find something else to do as Merbein will be a big import team! :thumbsu:

PLEASE GOD SOME RAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
You are a tool

deposit
29 Nov 2007, 07:53
You are a tool

It must be getting frustrating Wellsy...... why dont you find out who he is and have a quiet word to him.

aussie_rules
29 Nov 2007, 16:21
i am sorry fella's just hangin the dick! i am all for merbein i am a supporter and also i am for the struggling clubs, eg south mildura , redcliffs and robinvale! so let's just have fun and hope we all get rain so that there can be a shit load footy played next year!

cheers! and i won't crap on so much!

SUPPORTER OF STRUGGLING TEAMS!!!!!!!!!!!!:thumbsu::D

jd smurf
1 Dec 2007, 09:23
any truth that, after months of telling everyone around town that he was playing for imps next year, that sonny lindsey has signed with south?

aussie_rules
1 Dec 2007, 16:41
would sonny know what day it was?:confused:

Ibis100
1 Dec 2007, 20:33
any truth that, after months of telling everyone around town that he was playing for imps next year, that sonny lindsey has signed with south?

Just remember, two years ago Sonny signed with three different clubs including one as coach before settling at Ouyen. He could sign with all eight clubs and you wouldn't know until he ran on the ground, and even then he could move before the close of registration in June.

aussie_rules
2 Dec 2007, 08:52
how's his business going? hope that goes well for him then!:eek:

aussie_rules
2 Dec 2007, 08:56
I'd still like him at Merbein great forward and all!:thumbsu: hope merve talks too him!

chris vorweek
2 Dec 2007, 09:04
south starting to look like a big outfit next year! any truth to the " 2 melb boys that wanna come to the bush play for south" have signed? also heard the other night trever johsons got a little bloke down with him fromm QLD that is supposibly pretty handy. donno bout lindsey?

Hillite
2 Dec 2007, 16:33
I heard johnson signed with a broken hill Club

aussie_rules
2 Dec 2007, 16:53
i think sonny is going to play for himself!
he has agood VIBE about it all!:thumbsu:

chalkie
2 Dec 2007, 21:12
I heard johnson signed with a broken hill Club

I'm sure TJ signed a two year contract with South:confused:

3inarow
3 Dec 2007, 08:13
Will Tony Hickey be coach of imps in 2008?

SmokeyD82
3 Dec 2007, 10:09
Will Tony Hickey be coach of imps in 2008?

I am sure he would make a great coach, but I know that he is pretty busy with work. Not sure that he would be able to give the amount of time required to be a senior coach.

chris vorweek
3 Dec 2007, 15:19
dean slorach is still being talked to from what ive herd...work with a few imps boys n they tell me hell get it

wayne23
3 Dec 2007, 15:33
i think sonny is going to play for himself!
he has agood VIBE about it all!:thumbsu:

By the looks of Sonny at the moment, the only good vibe he's getting is from McDonalds.

chris vorweek
3 Dec 2007, 16:39
By the looks of Sonny at the moment, the only good vibe he's getting is from McDonalds.

why isn't sonny returning to ouyen

jd smurf
3 Dec 2007, 17:20
why isn't sonny returning to ouyen

maybe as hes missuz has just had a kid and he doesnt want to travel every weekend. pfft doubt it money money money! $$

aussie_rules
3 Dec 2007, 18:51
Soney and Money!

Sounds like the old team of cher and what'shis face?

well he has a new business and good luck to him! this new place has a liquor license? perfect for sonny to wind down after a hard trainning session at south mildura! or was it merbein? or imps?:eek:

he may yet even be coach of imps!:thumbsd:
but hey he is havin a go!

The_KNIFE
3 Dec 2007, 19:40
Soney and Money!

Sounds like the old team of cher and what'shis face?

well he has a new business and good luck to him! this new place has a liquor license? perfect for sonny to wind down after a hard trainning session at south mildura! or was it merbein? or imps?:eek:

he may yet even be coach of imps!:thumbsd:
but hey he is havin a go!

Donny F gone to Irymple for sure Robinvales counter offer was $40 its all up to him now lets see if he leaves the backyard now like he has threatened to do for 15 years.The experience will probaly do him good but iam not so sure this late in his career

chris vorweek
3 Dec 2007, 20:29
Donny F gone to Irymple for sure Robinvales counter offer was $40 its all up to him now lets see if he leaves the backyard now like he has threatened to do for 15 years.The experience will probaly do him good but iam not so sure this late in his career

Dont ya think donny should be playin for near nothin at the vale these days! hes been on good coin for years n it shulda been time to give somethin back instead of jumpin camps...from what i belive the vale boys r gunna give it to him ??

Hillite
4 Dec 2007, 06:38
Dont ya think donny should be playin for near nothin at the vale these days! hes been on good coin for years n it shulda been time to give somethin back instead of jumpin camps...from what i belive the vale boys r gunna give it to him ??

Its still only December. I reckon you'll have to wait until April to guarantee anyones appearance in a different jumper.

aussie_rules
4 Dec 2007, 06:56
anyone know of any more signings at Merbein? i reckon they will be the biggest recruiters for next season!:confused:

Rabbito
4 Dec 2007, 07:56
anyone know of any more signings at Merbein? i reckon they will be the biggest recruiters for next season!:confused:

Your posts are crap, u have no clue!!
Your on here talking up Merbein, then asking who their signed!!
Clearances can't be lodged until the new year, it would be dumb for clubs to play their hands so early, wouldn't you think Aussie??
If Merbein go on to recruit 10-12 blokes more fool them.
Some advice, read Well's posts and take note, he is all things Merbein and is usually about the mark.

aussie_rules
4 Dec 2007, 14:13
Your posts are crap, u have no clue!!
Your on here talking up Merbein, then asking who their signed!!
Clearances can't be lodged until the new year, it would be dumb for clubs to play their hands so early, wouldn't you think Aussie??
If Merbein go on to recruit 10-12 blokes more fool them.
Some advice, read Well's posts and take note, he is all things Merbein and is usually about the mark.

ok dickless calm down!
sonny has signed with south for 2 years!:thumbsu:

Rabbito
4 Dec 2007, 15:06
ok dickless calm down!
sonny has signed with south for 2 years!:thumbsu:

signed what? is he cleared? I think your missing the point!

aussie_rules
4 Dec 2007, 15:45
signed what? is he cleared? I think your missing the point!

Nar mr dickless rabbit, signed as assistant coach for 2 years with south mildura!:eek:

Rabbito
4 Dec 2007, 15:52
Nar mr dickless rabbit, signed as assistant coach for 2 years with south mildura!:eek:

I guess we could trade insults (you'd only have to read some of the posts you've written to find a place to start) or we can talk football?
I must admit, it looks funny when you're on here with Merv this and Merv that ( and on other threads, might I add) when you're asking who have Merbein signed??
Are you a member of the club?
Are you a player out there?
Do you go to the games?

Wells Train
4 Dec 2007, 18:58
I guess we could trade insults (you'd only have to read some of the posts you've written to find a place to start) or we can talk football?
I must admit, it looks funny when you're on here with Merv this and Merv that ( and on other threads, might I add) when you're asking who have Merbein signed??
Are you a member of the club?
Are you a player out there?
Do you go to the games?
I wouldn't think so

football_legends
4 Dec 2007, 20:20
g'day just new to this thing! yahoo chat is a waste of time!

i follow merbein and i am a member, so i hope they go well this year under merve! i reckon young matt walder would've been a great man for the job as he like tony hickey fit, fast and never gives up type of player! and all his achievements should of got him automatic selection at merbein. any way just own thoughts! what does everyone else think?