View Full Version : Sunraysia Football league

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

chalkie
28 Mar 2006, 15:41
I see on the Wimmera FL site that Jade Keam has been cleared to Robinvale. This bloke is the younger brother of coach Shannon Keam and can play.

The report on Shannon Keam is he doesn't look much of a footy player, however is good in heavy traffic and is what the eagles are looking for. Someone to get the hard ball and feed their runners. One of his brothers has signed and being training with robinvale, however I don't think it's the one that meant to be a gun. Pretty certain he played on the weekend and is meant to be a terrible kick.

If robinvale can get Brad O'Connor to stay then they will cause a few upsets as this kid is an absolute gun. However think he's heading back to melb, hard to understand why:)

bugsy
28 Mar 2006, 15:42
Just wondering the latest on Ben Matthews from Wentworth. Ive been following his progress over the last few years and reckon he has got a bit of talent. He will definetly be an enforcer in the league this year and could take some controlling. What do you blokes think?

Hi Trev,

your place needs spraying!:thumbsu:

gutsy
28 Mar 2006, 15:45
Well who the hell are you buddy???? All I will say is keep your eyes and ears open. He's going to be a big part in Wentworth's premiership aspirations.

I am gutsy, it says so at the top of the post, you should read it.

Wentworth will not win the premiership this year. They do not have the depth and have lost thier only ruckman in Ough. As much as you wish Alvey could win the flag for you, even your friend Ben (THE ENFORCER) Matthews (perhaps we will hear the catch cry throughout the year) wont be of any assistance. Again you will fight for fourth spot but i picture you dropping to fifth this year. Bell to kick 70 goals at most.

chalkie
28 Mar 2006, 15:49
Kneebone was very handy on Friday night at CHB. Very good defensively. Didn't notice him on Saturday. Unsure if he played actually. Quite a few observers were impressed with him though. Remember he does run into burning buildings so he must be a little crazy.

How did Stafford pull up, he looks half the man (literally) than he was at this time last year. hopefully for Imps and the League he can get back to the footy we know he can play. Remember this bloke once played a game of AFL reserves when he was 17 or 18.

Yes, Kneebone did play on Saturday night and wasn't as effective as the night before. Great to see that Staf make an effort to get himsefl reasonably fit to play senior footy as the bloke can play. He and Matt Sharman were 2 gun juniors for a very strong imps team in the 90's

The Nest
28 Mar 2006, 15:51
Gutsy u can tip Irymple to finish were ever u want!! cus guess what it means nothing were u think any team will finish up till about 24 weeks from now. And Gutsy u have to give some people a chance before u can them. There is such a thing as improvment and that is what Ty has done. And as for Sam Not being that good i know a few sore and sorry players that have played on him that would think otherwise.

Good Friday At No. 3 should be a cracker!!

I agree with the boys Delray. You will have to excuse him fella's a bit passionate about the game & his favourite club.

I do recall imps being beaten by merbein in last years lightning prem's though and they seemed to end the season ok. Will be a good final this weekend with both teams on a high. Liked your tips for the medal to Gutsy, you really are coming up with some good stuff at the moment.
This thread is gaining momentum keep it up men!:thumbsu:

chalkie
28 Mar 2006, 15:52
Is it true that the league is considering playing the finals at Red Cliffs now after the success of the AFL game and the fantastic condition of the ground?

gutsy
28 Mar 2006, 15:54
Yes, Kneebone did play on Saturday night and wasn't as effective as the night before. Great to see that Staf make an effort to get himsefl reasonably fit to play senior footy as the bloke can play. He and Matt Sharman were 2 gun juniors for a very strong imps team in the 90's
My sources tell me Kneebone hasn't played for a couple of years so he must be a good player and will only get better as he gets back into it. Might have to start a fire or two on a Saturday to keep away.

Yaaablett
28 Mar 2006, 15:54
I am gutsy, it says so at the top of the post, you should read it.

Wentworth will not win the premiership this year. They do not have the depth and have lost thier only ruckman in Ough. As much as you wish Alvey could win the flag for you, even your friend Ben (THE ENFORCER) Matthews (perhaps we will hear the catch cry throughout the year) wont be of any assistance. Again you will fight for fourth spot but i picture you dropping to fifth this year. Bell to kick 70 goals at most.

Will play.

Santoz
28 Mar 2006, 15:56
If robinvale can get Brad O'Connor to stay then they will cause a few upsets as this kid is an absolute gun. However think he's heading back to melb, hard to understand why:)

I'm assuming when you speak of upsets you mean of the teams that are supposed to be the top sides in the comp, ie. Imps, Iry, South, Mild and Wenty.

He's a good player in his own right but I wouldn't go so far as to say gun. With the likes of Hooker and McMasters gone he'd pick up the best backman for sure that would make his job a lot harder. I'll agree he's only really played seniors footy as a kid but he still hasn't done enough for mine to be labelled a gun.

As a Robinvale gun forward he's no Evans that's for sure ...

Nifty78
28 Mar 2006, 16:16
I'm assuming when you speak of upsets you mean of the teams that are supposed to be the top sides in the comp, ie. Imps, Iry, South, Mild and Wenty.

He's a good player in his own right but I wouldn't go so far as to say gun. With the likes of Hooker and McMasters gone he'd pick up the best backman for sure that would make his job a lot harder. I'll agree he's only really played seniors footy as a kid but he still hasn't done enough for mine to be labelled a gun.

As a Robinvale gun forward he's no Evans that's for sure ...

O'Conner no chance to play for the Eagles. Definatly will be at Donvale.

ITCHY GOOCH
28 Mar 2006, 16:53
Will play.
Hey Yaaablett, is it true that the Ball Magnet is quite keen on the president of Swan Hill's wife? Just what i heard while i was at Paul MCallister's place for tea last night.:eek: :eek: :eek:

Kelvin 69
28 Mar 2006, 21:47
Hey Yaaablett, is it true that the Ball Magnet is quite keen on the president of Swan Hill's wife? Just what i heard while i was at Paul MCallister's place for tea last night.:eek: :eek: :eek:

Hey Ichy I hear you actually are in love.. With one, two or both????:thumbsu::D

eat&sleep footy
28 Mar 2006, 22:33
Any news on how Ash Connick is going over there? I'm from the Golden Rivers and i just can't believe why a club would waste there time with him. He plays for whichever club will stupidly give him the most money within a 500 km radius. Mostly his Mrs doing i hear. Would apparently play for the "Bagdad Bombers" in the Iraqi Football League if the price was right. His track record speaks for itself. I watched him "coach" 3 losing GF sides in the Central Murray and i have never seen a worse performance by a coach in 45 years of football. He actually put himself out of the play. If he had of been any further away from the action he would have been drinking cans with me. :thumbsd:

mullethead
29 Mar 2006, 07:23
Has anyone heard any news on the Millewa apart from the fact that Nangiloc have folded.... Has anyone of significance gone out there????? or is the cup going to Gol Gol again

mullethead
29 Mar 2006, 07:27
Yaaaablet, you are correct on two fronts. Firstly, Alvey is the most credentialled player to enter this League since Egan and he will be a great player at interleague level. You are wrong about several things though. 1.He had a good year with bulldogs not a sensational year. He was very unfortunate to suffer the knee injury when he did cause I thought he was really going to take that next step and be a regular player.
2.You don't need to be a hard player at AFL level just as any team has recievers. You would be hard pressed Yaaablett to find a video reel with Alvey in or near a pack. He was sensational at running and using the ball and being on the end of someones handball and kick. He has never been a hard ball get type player.

I don't think he will win a Mcleod medal because so much is expected of him and if he doesn't get 30-40 touches per game it will be said he has played badly, very unfair on Alvey but true. (The umpires have stated this themselves).

I totally agree that he will find it difficult at this level cause the players he is with will not be what he is used to and don't know their roles anywhere near as well an AFL team. If you could hear him screaming at them on Friday night to get into positions during the game you would see he gets frustrated with it. Will have a good year but will finish equal second in the McLeod. Anstey and Gathercole are my front runners for the medal. Gathercole by 1 vote with 19 over Anstey and Alvey on 18.Gutsy you are very astute judge agree with everything you say. But give me Matt Carn to be a smokey in the medal and Matt Vining as a top 3

Yaaablett
29 Mar 2006, 08:32
Any news on how Ash Connick is going over there? I'm from the Golden Rivers and i just can't believe why a club would waste there time with him. He plays for whichever club will stupidly give him the most money within a 500 km radius. Mostly his Mrs doing i hear. Would apparently play for the "Bagdad Bombers" in the Iraqi Football League if the price was right. His track record speaks for itself. I watched him "coach" 3 losing GF sides in the Central Murray and i have never seen a worse performance by a coach in 45 years of football. He actually put himself out of the play. If he had of been any further away from the action he would have been drinking cans with me. :thumbsd:

He is going terribly. Up to his old tricks again. The highest paid player in the league by a mile at mildura and hasnt even trained yet. His track record is ordinary has coached for 6 years and finished no lower than 3rd. Has entered into negotiations with Al Qaida All Stars for next season. He was out of the play in those 3 GF's- CHF, CHB and CHF.

Yaaablett
29 Mar 2006, 08:49
Regarding the draw and the final 4. I reckon Imperials, Irymple and South are certs, which leaves Wentworth and Mildura to fight for 4th. With the draw Mildura play Imps, Wenty, Merbein and Robinvale 3 times while Wenty play Merbein, Mildura, Red Cliffs and Irymple. It may all come down to who beats each other out of Mildura and Wenty and who can maybe pinch one over the top couple of teams. Imps probably have the toughest draw playing South, Irymple and Mildura 3 times. Imps still flag favourites for me with Irymple and South not far away and Mildura and Wenty following. I rate Red Cliffs next with some good young kids and then Robinvale and Merbein. I reckon Robinvale will scare a few especially at home. Gathercole for the McLeod as i reckon the umpires will expect too much of Alvey. Bell, Haase, Eagle, Cardew to all kick over 60

jimmyboy
29 Mar 2006, 09:13
He is going terribly. Up to his old tricks again. The highest paid player in the league by a mile at mildura and hasnt even trained yet. His track record is ordinary has coached for 6 years and finished no lower than 3rd. Has entered into negotiations with Al Qaida All Stars for next season. He was out of the play in those 3 GF's- CHF, CHB and CHF.
Sounds like you have a soft spot for him Gary. Ive played with him, against him, had a few beers with him. would love him on my team.

Ibis100
29 Mar 2006, 09:38
Saw The Nest and Delray having lunch at Doms yesterday, must have been talking Tactics I reckon. That hand doesn't look much good Nest.

Ibis100
29 Mar 2006, 09:41

I have been to Iraq Yaaablet and the league is quite good. You would certainly stand out cause of your skin colour and there would be no hiding in any of those possies mate. The footy is made of unlucky hostage heads but other than that its all good over there.

gutsy
29 Mar 2006, 09:58
Chalkie,

I reckon I am on to you. You obviously have ties with Robinvale and South and with a nickname of chalkie I reckon you are a teacher. Does your old man run the Robinvale Abbatoir?

chalkie
29 Mar 2006, 10:26
Did anyone read the story on Falvo in the Sunraysia Daily? Gee if a half fit Falvo can't at least sit in the forward pocket and kick a couple of goals, then their selectors are still on the sauce since last Saturday.

You also have to admire the guy for his priorites in life and loyality to the club. Rumours were he was offered some big $$$ in the CM league.

Santoz, not sure if you're aware that Brad O'Connor actually kicked 80 goals in the Donvale league last year which by anyone standards is a great effort. As a 16-17 year old he was outplaying some very good backmen in this league, so I still think he's a gun:thumbsu:

The Nest
29 Mar 2006, 10:29
Saw The Nest and Delray having lunch at Doms yesterday, must have been talking Tactics I reckon. That hand doesn't look much good Nest.

How was the pasta Ibis? If i was talking team tactics with Delray I would be clutching at straws a bit. We arent struggling that much yet. Only kidding Danny.

The hand is no good at all. We had a new guy down at training last night that has a past in the SFL, would be a handy inclusion, hasnt played for a couple of years and still might not but was on the track......

bugsy
29 Mar 2006, 10:42
Has anyone heard any news on the Millewa apart from the fact that Nangiloc have folded.... Has anyone of significance gone out there????? or is the cup going to Gol Gol again

Are you are talking about paid players?
I dont think most clubs in the Millewa would have alot of money to spend.
those that do, can spend as much as they want.
So it depends on how much you are willing to pay for that cup.;)

Even Nangiloc was paying some players last year, look at them now.
I still find it hard to believe they couldnt find at least 20 players.
Another club is in abit of strife as well.

trev riordan
29 Mar 2006, 11:54
Chalkie,

I reckon I am on to you. You obviously have ties with Robinvale and South and with a nickname of chalkie I reckon you are a teacher. Does your old man run the Robinvale Abbatoir?

Hey loser, if he wanted people to know who he was then he'd write his name.

chalkie
29 Mar 2006, 13:03
There has been a lot of discussion about the top 4 or 5 teams (Imps, Irymple, South, Mildura and Wenty)and how it's pretty much going to be between these 5 teams. I believe that the team/s that manager or has some luck with injuries will perform best this year. So who do you believe is the most important player to these teams? The people that I have choosen aren't necessarily the best player, more that they would be very difficult for that team to replace and keeping performing at a high standard

Imps- Daniel Hickey. At the moment they don't appear to have a back up ruck and he is also handy up forward when switched on
South - Jason McDonald. Very underrated backman and it's one area south haven't covered in their recruiting. Would have to cover him with someone like gathercole or spivey, which then takes away from a strong onball division
Irymple- Carn, as he enables them to keep Deangeles on the ball and push forward.
Wenty- Belly as they don't have anyone else beside Ossie to kick numerous goals. They would of been quiet difficult to match if Simms and Connick had of gone there as many expected.
Mildura- Cardew. Is their many go to man in the forward line, and not sure if they have anyone else that kick a bag of goals. I've never seen Ash C play in the forward line so not aware of his record there.
I'm sure Yaablett will let us know:p

Ibis100
29 Mar 2006, 13:11
How was the pasta Ibis? If i was talking team tactics with Delray I would be clutching at straws a bit. We arent struggling that much yet. Only kidding Danny.

The hand is no good at all. We had a new guy down at training last night that has a past in the SFL, would be a handy inclusion, hasnt played for a couple of years and still might not but was on the track......

Pasta was a treat Nesty.

Is this fella an ex swallow or from another club. Like South, Irymple must be mighty close to those 22 points.

gutsy
29 Mar 2006, 13:20
Hey loser, if he wanted people to know who he was then he'd write his name.

Geez Trev,

Strange reaction from you. I was talking to chalkie but somehow you got offended. Well you are on my radar and I will hunt you down like a wild pig and tell the whole of Big Footy who you are. Will you then curl up in a ball cry.

Cheer up Trev, most blokes on here know each other and who is who in the zoo. If chalkie doesn't want us to know, he won't tell us and by the fact that he has posted since I asked, that is what he has chosen to do.
So Trev, when I know your name, so will the others that are on this fantastic forum. :D

Yaaablett
29 Mar 2006, 14:18
Ibis, the player The Nest is referring to is an ex AFL player that the Irymple coach got onto from a bendigo bomber friend. If he plays would be huge news and would mean that Irymple would start red hot favourites for the flag. I'll let The Nest make the announcement in due course.

chalkie
29 Mar 2006, 14:28
Ibis, the player The Nest is referring to is an ex AFL player that the Irymple coach got onto from a bendigo bomber friend. If he plays would be huge news and would mean that Irymple would start red hot favourites for the flag. I'll let The Nest make the announcement in due course.

Come on Yaaablett at least provide us with some info, such as the position this guy would play

chalkie
29 Mar 2006, 14:37

Just wondering Nest, if this new bloke at training is a 'Queensland Bear' who has one of the best backhanders in the business? :confused:

The Nest
29 Mar 2006, 14:46
Pasta was a treat Nesty.

Is this fella an ex swallow or from another club. Like South, Irymple must be mighty close to those 22 points.

He hasnt played in a couple of years so it doesnt matter where he had played, does it?? Im not sure of any other players that will attract points, apart from Dedini if we get him. Im sure you blokes have your points under control. If not im sure you could argue a point with the 39 year old porn star lookalike that leads out from the goalsquare.

Dont know who your talking about Tablet, im pretty sure this guy hasnt played in the big league, he has a pretty handy cv though...

The Nest
29 Mar 2006, 14:48
Just wondering Nest, if this new bloke at training is a 'Queensland Bear' who has one of the best backhanders in the business? :confused:

I dont think so.... Unless he has a different past than i know of.....

trev riordan
29 Mar 2006, 14:50
Geez Trev,

Strange reaction from you. I was talking to chalkie but somehow you got offended. Well you are on my radar and I will hunt you down like a wild pig and tell the whole of Big Footy who you are. Will you then curl up in a ball cry.

Cheer up Trev, most blokes on here know each other and who is who in the zoo. If chalkie doesn't want us to know, he won't tell us and by the fact that he has posted since I asked, that is what he has chosen to do.
So Trev, when I know your name, so will the others that are on this fantastic forum. :D

Yawn

gutsy
29 Mar 2006, 15:01
He hasnt played in a couple of years so it doesnt matter where he had played, does it?? Im not sure of any other players that will attract points, apart from Dedini if we get him. Im sure you blokes have your points under control. If not im sure you could argue a point with the 39 year old porn star lookalike that leads out from the goalsquare.

Dont know who your talking about Tablet, im pretty sure this guy hasnt played in the big league, he has a pretty handy cv though...

I've heard the Vadj is coming back. Was wondering how long it would take to get out. Heard he was only keen to play with his mates in the two but yes Irymple would be silly not to have him in the ones. Bryans might find it hard to get a game this year. With Vadj and Eagle up forward, you would be the favourites for sure.

wozza
29 Mar 2006, 15:14
Mate i'm full of love, you know that. I hear Chris Wescombe is your new brother in-law! That won't leave much for your big thigh's come Sunday Roast.

wozza
29 Mar 2006, 15:17
Kelvin :)

Yaaablett
29 Mar 2006, 15:22
Come on Yaaablett at least provide us with some info, such as the position this guy would play

On ball. Its not the one Nest is talking about and he would hate me saying anything, but they are having a crack! They are close too.

Lego Head
29 Mar 2006, 15:30
hey every1, who we all recon will win this friday night? South or Mildura. and why.

gutsy
29 Mar 2006, 15:38
hey every1, who we all recon will win this friday night? South or Mildura. and why.

As previously stated, Mildura to win on the fact that they will field a full team against a very depleted South team (Although they defeated imps and irymple with the same group of players). South have up to 7 or 8 players unavailable whereas Mildura have their full team available for selection. Sth will certainly push them hard though. Mildura by a very small margin. But go the doggies.

The Nest
29 Mar 2006, 16:01
As previously stated, Mildura to win on the fact that they will field a full team against a very depleted South team (Although they defeated imps and irymple with the same group of players). South have up to 7 or 8 players unavailable whereas Mildura have their full team available for selection. Sth will certainly push them hard though. Mildura by a very small margin. But go the doggies.

Who do they have out gutsy? And, will they all be back for round uno?

Lego Head
29 Mar 2006, 16:15
What do you recon about the young players in the league? And how strong will Mildura's forward be with the likes of Toby 'GS' Cardew, Chris 'Motor' Russel and Ash Connick?

gutsy
29 Mar 2006, 16:19
Who do they have out gutsy? And, will they all be back for round uno?

Fox, Tristan and Nathan Johns, Youngsters Avery and Polkinghorn from last year.

Brown, Fitzgerald of the new recruits as well as a couple of others they are keeping quiet about. These seven are all senior players and the injection of Fox, Tristan Johns, Polkinghorn and Fitzgerald would inject some fair players into the mould.

I believe all but Nathan Johns and maybe Avery (Pioneers) will be available for round 1.

Hillite
29 Mar 2006, 16:24
Irymple 's point score would be very low.
Last years' gf side would not have reached double figures. This years point score (seeing that Eaton is coach, Simms and Eagle are returning players) could be zero. Thats just on my understanding of the system. But you never know rumours suggest a big pointer on the radar probably just March crap.

Ibis100
29 Mar 2006, 16:25
Fox, Tristan and Nathan Johns, Youngsters Avery and Polkinghorn from last year.

Brown, Fitzgerald of the new recruits as well as a couple of others they are keeping quiet about. These seven are all senior players and the injection of Fox, Tristan Johns, Polkinghorn and Fitzgerald would inject some fair players into the mould.

I believe all but Nathan Johns and maybe Avery (Pioneers) will be available for round 1.

You going to post the South team each week Gutsy. If you love the South boys so much perhaps you could do the courtesy of keeping some info to yourself and that of the club.

The Nest
29 Mar 2006, 16:36
You going to post the South team each week Gutsy. If you love the South boys so much perhaps you could do the courtesy of keeping some info to yourself and that of the club.

Haha, gonna have to get a muzzle for this bloke Ibis. There are some handy inclusions gutsy. Will be good to see the Toaster back on the back flank for the dogs.

Ibis100
29 Mar 2006, 16:48
Haha, gonna have to get a muzzle for this bloke Ibis. There are some handy inclusions gutsy. Will be good to see the Toaster back on the back flank for the dogs.

When i find out who it is I'll shorten his leash enough to choke him. Great to have the Toaster back. And they are some handy inclusions Nesty. But who is this mystery man. Is gutsy right about Tommy?

The Nest
29 Mar 2006, 16:59
When i find out who it is I'll shorten his leash enough to choke him. Great to have the Toaster back. And they are some handy inclusions Nesty. But who is this mystery man. Is gutsy right about Tommy?

Nah, Johnny Vadj isnt the man in question. Yaablett may have let the cat out of the bag. We will wait till it develops further before we name names..

Ibis100
29 Mar 2006, 17:08
Nah, Johnny Vadj isnt the man in question. Yaablett may have let the cat out of the bag. We will wait till it develops further before we name names..

Only ex AFL with previous SFL history I know that plays on the ball is an ex doggie who won 2 club B&F awards there and is a fella by the name of Dominic Fotia???????? Hasn't played for a couple years either. Played at Carlton and then in SANFL.

The Nest
29 Mar 2006, 17:15
Only ex AFL with previous SFL history I know that plays on the ball is an ex doggie who won 2 club B&F awards there and is a fella by the name of Dominic Fotia???????? Hasn't played for a couple years either. Played at Carlton and then in SANFL.

The one we are chasing he doesnt have an SFL History.

The guy I was talking about earlier was another guy who wont be pulling the boots on anyway. Found out just before he is going overseas 4 a year now. dammit!

Ibis100
29 Mar 2006, 17:21
The one we are chasing he doesnt have an SFL History.

The guy I was talking about earlier was another guy who wont be pulling the boots on anyway. Found out just before he is going overseas 4 a year now. dammit!

Well good luck with it Nesty, any player with AFL experience coming into the League can only make the League better.

Kelvin 69
29 Mar 2006, 20:00
Mate i'm full of love, you know that. I hear Chris Wescombe is your new brother in-law! That won't leave much for your big thigh's come Sunday Roast.

Speaking of Thighs guys. Who would have the largest thighs in the SFL.. One of the Rigby boys for me, I cannot remember his first name, can somebody help me with that? :confused: :confused:

sumo 111
29 Mar 2006, 21:52
:thumbsu: Great stuff guys. I'm really enjoying both the informed and ill informed discussions.
What's the go out the Millewa? I hear that Craig Fowlers coaching Werrimul. If this is right they've picked up an absolute gun - He'll give them 110 %. How could South let him go?
Also, why are dudes like Sean McInerney playing over at Gol Gol. If he's fair dinkum you would think that he would still have a crack at SFL.
I've also heard that South have lost a few boys out to Werrimul with Fowler. Is this true and what's the story with the McClelland boys? (unhappy at South)?

I like the story in the paper about Falvo playing in the 2nds. A great SFL player and a nice bloke. With what I saw of Robinvale on Saturday night, Falvo doesn't have to train to walk into that team.

eat&sleep footy
29 Mar 2006, 23:39
"I like the story in the paper about Falvo playing in the 2nds. A great SFL player and a nice bloke. With what I saw of Robinvale on Saturday night, Falvo doesn't have to train to walk into that team."

Falvo could not train all year and still be in the top 10 players in the SFL. It would probably help his body if anything, be fresh and firing every week. Respect the bloke though. Obviously knocked back big $$$ to stay at Robinvale.

pie&sauce
30 Mar 2006, 08:57
Let's get fair dinkum boy's, this is a great site and it's good to see a few boys from various clubs sharing some humour. Get's quite boring down here and not being there to see it first hand. Ash Connick up forward, surely you would play him down back wouldn't you!!
Was possibly the best CHB in the league before going to CML.
Alvey, let's be honest, this kid is only playing with us, when the real stuff starts l'm tipping he will sort a few sides out pretty quck and the talk of him 'hanging out' will soon dissapear.
I've heard from someone 'in the know' (travel agency background), Andrew Petrie will be returning Round 12 and heading back straight after the season. Shane Garner may bob up at some stage during the year also.
Demons for the flag at this early stage if they can keep there heads out of the clouds.....So who is the March Premiers this year, theres always one up there?:rolleyes:

pecker69
30 Mar 2006, 10:45
Yes he was in Swan Hill at Fletcher's wedding. He told me Corey O'Callaghan must have a crook hand or something as Chris "Hooter" Wescombe cut his lunch.:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

That would have hurt O'Callaghan, fancies himself as a ladies man, hope its not the hand he holds his whistle with, they tell me he runs wide enough to do that job as well.

chalkie
30 Mar 2006, 10:59
I've heard from someone 'in the know' (travel agency background), Andrew Petrie will be returning Round 12 and heading back straight after the season. Shane Garner may bob up at some stage during the year also.
Demons for the flag at this early stage if they can keep there heads out of the clouds.....So who is the March Premiers this year, theres always one up there?:rolleyes:[/quote]

Gee it would be interesting to see what sort of condition Petrie would be in if he does come back mid year, as many guys in this group are aware he does enjoy a pint or 10!!

When we talk of top players coming into the league, Garner would have to be right up there in the last 10 years. Played here when he was pasted his best, however still dominated. Would of liked to see him play when in his prime. Staf, do you have any knowledge of why he never played in the AFL?

hotdogs17
30 Mar 2006, 11:08
Heard a rumor that Ash Connick may not be able to play every game for Mildura this year, he will be away at very stages due the the fact that Channel 9 want to use him as Ray Martins stunt double :)

Yaaablett
30 Mar 2006, 11:32
That's true dogs. Also further adding to Mildura's woes is the news that Corey O'Callaghan will be the stunt double for Roland Roccachelli. Uncanny likeness!

Lego Head
30 Mar 2006, 11:34
Heard a rumor that Ash Connick may not be able to play every game for Mildura this year, he will be away at very stages due the the fact that Channel 9 want to use him as Ray Martins stunt double :)

Lovely photo in todays paper of the big boy and his tips, hope to see him do Sports Co proud

Back Pocket Assassin
30 Mar 2006, 11:54
What do you recon about the young players in the league? And how strong will Mildura's forward be with the likes of Toby 'GS' Cardew, Chris 'Motor' Russel and Ash Connick?During the practice match a couple of weeks ago against Irymple Connick looked very comfortable propped up in the square. Kicked a couple and didn't have to run too far. Cardew looked pretty good af CHF and Motoe took a couple of strong grabs against R'vale. Should be interesting to see how they set up Friday with a full squad.:confused:

Santoz
30 Mar 2006, 12:01
Alvey, let's be honest, this kid is only playing with us, when the real stuff starts l'm tipping he will sort a few sides out pretty quck and the talk of him 'hanging out' will soon dissapear.

Totally agree. Everyone speaks of how Alvey hangs out and isn't a pack player but why should he go into every pack and try and get the ball? He'd have the best skills by a fair margin i'd say out at Wenty and if he can hit Belly only 2 times a quarter, laces out, Jason's gunna kick 6 or 8 a game just from the standard of delivery from Mark Alvey.

I'm predicting Alvey to win the McLeod fairly easily and Jason Bell if he can keep fit to top the goal kicking table with 90+

Also, it's been a while since someones kicked 20 in a game in this league. (Arentz vs. South, forget the year). With the state that Merbeins in, surely there'd be a few forwards out there licking their lips ...

The Couch
30 Mar 2006, 15:41
Totally agree. Everyone speaks of how Alvey hangs out and isn't a pack player but why should he go into every pack and try and get the ball? He'd have the best skills by a fair margin i'd say out at Wenty and if he can hit Belly only 2 times a quarter, laces out, Jason's gunna kick 6 or 8 a game just from the standard of delivery from Mark Alvey.

I'm predicting Alvey to win the McLeod fairly easily and Jason Bell if he can keep fit to top the goal kicking table with 90+

Also, it's been a while since someones kicked 20 in a game in this league. (Arentz vs. South, forget the year). With the state that Merbeins in, surely there'd be a few forwards out there licking their lips ...

Congratulations to Stephen Gribble on his engagement last weekend. Anyone know who he's marrying? A few girls' hearts have been broken.

ITCHY GOOCH
30 Mar 2006, 15:52
Speaking of Thighs guys. Who would have the largest thighs in the SFL.. One of the Rigby boys for me, I cannot remember his first name, can somebody help me with that? :confused: :confused:

Agree totally kelvin. Not austin, his brother Ben i think it is? massive thighs. Joe Morello use to hold the title but has since blown way out. But Ash Connick would be up there, he has an enormous lower half. He reminds me of a young Elliot Bowen.:thumbsu:

The Couch
30 Mar 2006, 15:55
Agree totally kelvin. Not austin, his brother Ben i think it is? massive thighs. Joe Morello use to hold the title but has since blown way out. But Ash Connick would be up there, he has an enormous lower half. He reminds me of a young Elliot Bowen.:thumbsu: Agree ITCHY GOOCH. There huge, and he even has a massive vegemite stain on the back of his leg.

Nifty78
30 Mar 2006, 16:21
Agree totally kelvin. Not austin, his brother Ben i think it is? massive thighs. Joe Morello use to hold the title but has since blown way out. But Ash Connick would be up there, he has an enormous lower half. He reminds me of a young Elliot Bowen.:thumbsu:

Bernard "Love Triangle" Rigby from Dale "Flabulous" Stafford with Ryan "Big Fish" Baddock a close Third in the Thigh Stakes !:D :D

sumo 111
30 Mar 2006, 20:22

Santoz, I think you've got a point about some big goal hauls being kicked this year. Belly will obviously hose a few full backs down this year but Cardew, Eagle (if he gets on the track) and Haase could all kick 70+ this year. Haase could be the wildcard this year because the delivery from a pretty good on ball group should be much better than last year and I think he kicked about 70goals last year.
I'm not sure about Alvey though. The juries still out on him until the fair dinkum slog is on in the middle of winter.
Should be a good game tomorrow night. If Mildura can't beat South who from all reports have a heap of players not available, it will raise some questions about just how far Mildura have come. The way I see it, the team under the most pressure to win on friday night is Mildura. The recruits seem to be good but the big question is, how much progress have the Mildura young players and fringe players made? "Depth" could be the key to this season for all of the fancied sides.

mullethead
30 Mar 2006, 21:14
had a spy at the swallows training tonight and the way that delray moved he could be a suprise selection for the first game tomorrow night, silky skills, moved well, good voice....lookout

Kelvin 69
31 Mar 2006, 07:39
Santoz, I think you've got a point about some big goal hauls being kicked this year. Belly will obviously hose a few full backs down this year but Cardew, Eagle (if he gets on the track) and Haase could all kick 70+ this year. Haase could be the wildcard this year because the delivery from a pretty good on ball group should be much better than last year and I think he kicked about 70goals last year.
I'm not sure about Alvey though. The juries still out on him until the fair dinkum slog is on in the middle of winter.
Should be a good game tomorrow night. If Mildura can't beat South who from all reports have a heap of players not available, it will raise some questions about just how far Mildura have come. The way I see it, the team under the most pressure to win on friday night is Mildura. The recruits seem to be good but the big question is, how much progress have the Mildura young players and fringe players made? "Depth" could be the key to this season for all of the fancied sides.

Hey Santoz, just touching on the Alvey subject again, do you think that he has never played in the middle of winter. He has played in both Melbourne and Bendigo and they are the 2 coldest and wettest places in Australia, and was still good enough to play AFL. Do you think he will struggle in a mild and dry winter that is usually the case in Mildura? I don't think so, he will draw a good crowd to games and he will definitely not disapoint. Will you blokes on here please respect this guy, he could play on one leg and still s**t the Mcleod in..:thumbsd: :thumbsd:

gutsy
31 Mar 2006, 07:50
:thumbsu: Great stuff guys. I'm really enjoying both the informed and ill informed discussions.
What's the go out the Millewa? I hear that Craig Fowlers coaching Werrimul. If this is right they've picked up an absolute gun - He'll give them 110 %. How could South let him go?
I've also heard that South have lost a few boys out to Werrimul with Fowler. Is this true and what's the story with the McClelland boys? (unhappy at South)?

Fowler was a very good player and yes he will be excellent for werrimul. If you look at last year, he struggled with a bad back and missed a couple of games because of it. He is certainly past his prime but will be very good in the Millewa and has always given as much as he could.

South could let Fowler go because he has been a fantastic servant for the club who wanted to coach before he stopped playing. He thinks this could be his last year before he stops and it is only fair that he be given to the opportunity to progress as he wants to.

With regard to the players that are leaving south to go to werrimul, one is Fowlers best mate Ruyg who won't play senior football, and a couple of other reserves grade players. Jason Holt is the only player that would concern South. He is a definate Senior Player.

The McLellands, lets see, Aaron needs an op on his knee apparently but didn't stop him from playing netball in the off season. Maybe when the speed of the game is like the AFL and less contact, Aaron might return. (Suppose to return around April) Has shown his face at training several times but hasn't been on the field yet. Best mates with Booker who by the way everyone thinks is chopping his missus.

Ryan has put in for clearance to the Millewa but I have heard it will be knocked back. Have heard he wants someone to contact him but no-one has as yet and that is why he wants to leave.

gutsy
31 Mar 2006, 07:57
Hey Santoz, just touching on the Alvey subject again, do you think that he has never played in the middle of winter. He has played in both Melbourne and Bendigo and they are the 2 coldest and wettest places in Australia, and was still good enough to play AFL. Do you think he will struggle in a mild and dry winter that is usually the case in Mildura? I don't think so, he will draw a good crowd to games and he will definitely not disapoint. Will you blokes on here please respect this guy, he could play on one leg and still s**t the Mcleod in..:thumbsd: :thumbsd:

I will tell you again Kelvin, Alvey will not win the McLeod medal. He will be expected and I repeated EXPECTED to get between 30-40 touches per week and if he doesn't he will be seen to have a bad game. You yourself are saying he will CARVE sides up and that is putting more pressure on him than anyone saying he will not do well. Let people say as they please cause the more they say he won't do well, the less pressure for him to go out and put on a good performance which will mean he WILL be better than all believe.

If you read most posts Kelvin you will see that we all think Alvey is a fantastic player with probably the best skills and running game in the League. The problem Alvey has is that he will lack support around the packs this year and this is honestly an area that Alvey is not his strongest. If he was a ball getter, so many people wouldn't make comment. Perhaps to clear it up Kelvin we could post that question as a seperate forum and see what the entire footy world thinks.

Yaaablett
31 Mar 2006, 09:02

Gee the south boys are keen to deflate any expectation. Mildura will be far from from full strength tonight. Mildura beat red cliffs and robinvale and south beat last years g.finalists. C'mon boys, who do you think is favourite tonight? It would be a massive blow if south got rolled tonight. Mildura have their sights set firmly for round 1.

The Nest
31 Mar 2006, 09:27
Bernard "Love Triangle" Rigby from Dale "Flabulous" Stafford with Ryan "Big Fish" Baddock a close Third in the Thigh Stakes !:D :D

Toby Cardew held the title in the Bendigo FL, and would definitely go close. Robbie Morgan from the doggies has some powerful pins aswell. But, i think that 'Vegemite' Rigby takes the cake.

Good to see you back Nifty.

The Nest
31 Mar 2006, 09:36
Congratulations to Stephen Gribble on his engagement last weekend. Anyone know who he's marrying? A few girls' hearts have been broken.

Spoke to the man himself and he informed me that he popped the question but didnt get the answer he was looking for! Tamara Handy and Steven are still very much in love though..:)

The Couch
31 Mar 2006, 10:01
Toby Cardew held the title in the Bendigo FL, and would definitely go close. Robbie Morgan from the doggies has some powerful pins aswell. But, i think that 'Vegemite' Rigby takes the cake.

Good to see you back Nifty. Gareth 'Bert Newton' Arentz wouldn't be too far away. Bert's sending Imps broke with the amount of Vaseline he uses to stop his 'Chaffe'.

The Couch
31 Mar 2006, 10:03
Spoke to the man himself and he informed me that he popped the question but didnt get the answer he was looking for! Tamara Handy and Steven are still very much in love though..:)Thanks for letting me Know 'The Nest'. Whats your opinion of Stephen Gribble anyway?

Delray
31 Mar 2006, 10:38
had a spy at the swallows training tonight and the way that delray moved he could be a suprise selection for the first game tomorrow night, silky skills, moved well, good voice....lookout

You are right mullethead i have been selected But only as the H20 Distributor. Eaton reckons im better value to the team carring the drinks. I couldent imagine why?? I think he has a problem with Spag Bol eaters. U no what they say Turks (eaton) and italians never get along. :thumbsu:

Bowser
31 Mar 2006, 10:59
Spoke to the man himself and he informed me that he popped the question but didnt get the answer he was looking for! Tamara Handy and Steven are still very much in love though..:)

Congratulations Stephen, Lets hope it doesn't effect his footy...:p

chalkie
31 Mar 2006, 11:05
Gee the south boys are keen to deflate any expectation. Mildura will be far from from full strength tonight. Mildura beat red cliffs and robinvale and south beat last years g.finalists. C'mon boys, who do you think is favourite tonight? It would be a massive blow if south got rolled tonight. Mildura have their sights set firmly for round 1.

Just interested Yaaablett why it would be a massive blow to which ever side that looses tonight? I'm sure that both sides would like to win ( $$ for their footy trip ), however there are several players in both sides that on a normal saturday would be starting at 12:3o. Also not too much can be taken from the preseason comp. Gee, west coast did alright last night, for a team that performed ******** during the NAB comp.

By the way does anyone know who the 3 AFL players are regarding the recreational drugs?

The Nest
31 Mar 2006, 11:11
Just interested Yaaablett why it would be a massive blow to which ever side that looses tonight? I'm sure that both sides would like to win ( $$ for their footy trip ), however there are several players in both sides that on a normal saturday would be starting at 12:3o. Also not too much can be taken from the preseason comp. Gee, west coast did alright last night, for a team that performed ******** during the NAB comp.

By the way does anyone know who the 3 AFL players are regarding the recreational drugs?

Dan Milecki, Lou Reed & Wesley Snipes apparently..:eek:

Yaaablett
31 Mar 2006, 11:47

From what I've heard South have set themselves to win it and good on them. But, please don't compare the NAB cup to our night series. Your point doesn't work anyway cause St.Kilda went s**thouse in the NAB too. The point I am making is that the pre season comp only means something to those who want it to.

Re the drugs, they are premiership players from either Port or Adelaide aren't they? We can only speculate. Anyway Dermott and Dale Lewis are spot on. From the AFL players that I have spoken to, drugs is a huge problem. The players can feel like they're drunk and have a night out, but still train the next day and don't put on weight by popping pills. It's a problem in country footy too.

Ibis100
31 Mar 2006, 14:44

South also have sights on Round 1 Yaaaablett. With 8 players in the side that played mostly reserves last year, four 17 yr olds and a 16 year old running around, do you really think we will be expecting to win. Its about development and strengthening the club for the home and away season as you know.

Bigger blow to you guys if you lose as you have played the majority of your senior squad over two nights last week and I would be very surprised if you don't go into the game as full strength as you can in preparation for Imperials next week. I know all the senior playing South boys would be playing in preparation for Round 1 if the rules allowed for it.

I look forward to running around out there with you tonight Yaaablett, it should be a close fought encounter and I am sure niether club will be too upset if they lose and not overly excited if they win. Just happy to go into round 1 with a full list to choose from. Good luck and may the umpires do a good job.

Ibis100
31 Mar 2006, 14:50
its my understanding that the three players involved in the drug scandal are from three different interstate clubs, not from the same ones. I also know for fact that if they are South Australian, they can legally grow and use thier own pot without fear of breaking the law. Powders are different stories but no-one knows what drugs they were taking. I heard on the TV that a SA paper has named two of the players. Not sure if this is correct or not.

Mr Robert Dobalina
31 Mar 2006, 14:57

Good to see you back Nifty.

Your debate on this topic is very intriguing. I have come to the conclusion however that 2 good pins would be better than 1 sore finger 'Nest'.

The Nest
31 Mar 2006, 15:06
Your debate on this topic is very intriguing. I have come to the conclusion however that 2 good pins would be better than 1 sore finger 'Nest'.

So True. Good luck in the Prelim for A Res BBall next week to Mr Bob Dobalina!:D

ITCHY GOOCH
31 Mar 2006, 15:56
Gareth 'Bert Newton' Arentz wouldn't be too far away. Bert's sending Imps broke with the amount of Vaseline he uses to stop his 'Chaffe'.

Agree Couchy, Gaz would be right up there. I hear when he was at Wentworth they had to keep oil and vaseline next to the dance floor at all social functions just in case the big big guy was up for a dance!:D

Sonny
31 Mar 2006, 21:26
If you read most posts Kelvin you will see that we all think Alvey is a fantastic player with probably the best skills and running game in the League. The problem Alvey has is that he will lack support around the packs this year and this is honestly an area that Alvey is not his strongest. If he was a ball getter, so many people wouldn't make comment. Perhaps to clear it up Kelvin we could post that question as a seperate forum and see what the entire footy world thinks.[/quote]

Did you watch any Wenty games last year?? I saw them play about 5 games. Their midfield of Cumming, King, Brynes, Lawson & a couple of kids was very good. They got the ball and pumped it long to Bell. Alvey will kill them. Look at the McLeod medallists. O'Callaghan, Eaton, Booker. How many AFL games did they play!!! 59 games was a great effort, particularly at essendon where Sheedy only plays his favourites. Wenty missed the GF by one kick!!! Their problem was a lack of depth in the forward & back lines. Most of their kids have good skills & are gusty but have very light builds that will improve with time.

cheeseburger
1 Apr 2006, 12:49
u blokes need to give alvey a break. you cant be a ******** player to play afl. who here on this thread can say they have played afl. lets just see how he goes and give him a break.

Kelvin 69
1 Apr 2006, 14:30
I will tell you again Kelvin, Alvey will not win the McLeod medal. He will be expected and I repeated EXPECTED to get between 30-40 touches per week and if he doesn't he will be seen to have a bad game. You yourself are saying he will CARVE sides up and that is putting more pressure on him than anyone saying he will not do well. Let people say as they please cause the more they say he won't do well, the less pressure for him to go out and put on a good performance which will mean he WILL be better than all believe.

If you read most posts Kelvin you will see that we all think Alvey is a fantastic player with probably the best skills and running game in the League. The problem Alvey has is that he will lack support around the packs this year and this is honestly an area that Alvey is not his strongest. If he was a ball getter, so many people wouldn't make comment. Perhaps to clear it up Kelvin we could post that question as a seperate forum and see what the entire footy world thinks.

Come on Guts this bloke has played AFL in front of 10s of thousands of people I think he knows how to handle pressure, this is only Sunraysia country footy. I will say it again and only time will tell, he will win the Mcleod blind folded. Getting 30 -40 possies will be easy for him in this league, who will stop him?

Kelvin 69
1 Apr 2006, 14:32
Did you Fart?

iggypop
1 Apr 2006, 15:50

Did you watch any Wenty games last year?? I saw them play about 5 games. Their midfield of Cumming, King, Brynes, Lawson & a couple of kids was very good. They got the ball and pumped it long to Bell. Alvey will kill them. Look at the McLeod medallists. O'Callaghan, Eaton, Booker. How many AFL games did they play!!! 59 games was a great effort, particularly at essendon where Sheedy only plays his favourites. Wenty missed the GF by one kick!!! Their problem was a lack of depth in the forward & back lines. Most of their kids have good skills & are gusty but have very light builds that will improve with time.[/quote] If Alvey is such a gun why has he gone back to play in a division 3 competition. Is he a bit nervy of playing in a better comp e.g sanfl, wafl. who knows ?????

iggypop
1 Apr 2006, 15:59
I think ash connick can win the medal this year

Kelvin 69
1 Apr 2006, 17:10
Did you watch any Wenty games last year?? I saw them play about 5 games. Their midfield of Cumming, King, Brynes, Lawson & a couple of kids was very good. They got the ball and pumped it long to Bell. Alvey will kill them. Look at the McLeod medallists. O'Callaghan, Eaton, Booker. How many AFL games did they play!!! 59 games was a great effort, particularly at essendon where Sheedy only plays his favourites. Wenty missed the GF by one kick!!! Their problem was a lack of depth in the forward & back lines. Most of their kids have good skills & are gusty but have very light builds that will improve with time. If Alvey is such a gun why has he gone back to play in a division 3 competition. Is he a bit nervy of playing in a better comp e.g sanfl, wafl. who knows ?????[/quote

He has gone back to play with his same sex lover, Bernard Leslie Rigby. Also playing for the same club he played his junior footy, giving a bit back, don't bag him for being loyal.

gutsy
1 Apr 2006, 17:57
People People People, Am I not entitled to an opinion. I have never said Alvey is not a good player. All I have said is that he is not an in and under player. I tipped him to finish equal second in the McLeod, I believe he will not win cause of the expectations on his shoulders.

Someone asked what have I done in football, well I will give you the answer you wanted and NO I have not played AFL like so many others on here but I have watched the fella from under age at Wenty right through his career and I believe the only flaw in his game is his hardness in tight situations.

Yes Wenty have great kids but sorry, King is not a hard player and nor is Cumming. You just had to see King in the last game last year against South. He spent more time that day on the bench than he did on the ground cause he couldn't handle the physical stuff.

I hope Alvey has a great year for himself, the Wenty club and the League, but he will not win the McLeod due to the heavy expectations on his shoulders and lack of support players at the club.

Thats it, all over no more discussions on Alvey.

Talk about blowing things out of the water people. An opinion is all I gave.

iggypop
1 Apr 2006, 20:20
If Alvey is such a gun why has he gone back to play in a division 3 competition. Is he a bit nervy of playing in a better comp e.g sanfl, wafl. who knows ?????[/quote

He has gone back to play with his same sex lover, Bernard Leslie Rigby. Also playing for the same club he played his junior footy, giving a bit back, don't bag him for being loyal. Giving a bit back good on him. Hope he doesn't break there bank 2 much then:thumbsu:

Kelvin 69
1 Apr 2006, 21:35
People People People, Am I not entitled to an opinion. I have never said Alvey is not a good player. All I have said is that he is not an in and under player. I tipped him to finish equal second in the McLeod, I believe he will not win cause of the expectations on his shoulders.

Someone asked what have I done in football, well I will give you the answer you wanted and NO I have not played AFL like so many others on here but I have watched the fella from under age at Wenty right through his career and I believe the only flaw in his game is his hardness in tight situations.

Yes Wenty have great kids but sorry, King is not a hard player and nor is Cumming. You just had to see King in the last game last year against South. He spent more time that day on the bench than he did on the ground cause he couldn't handle the physical stuff.

I hope Alvey has a great year for himself, the Wenty club and the League, but he will not win the McLeod due to the heavy expectations on his shoulders and lack of support players at the club.

Talk about blowing things out of the water people. An opinion is all I gave.

You didn't just give an opinion, you also started a new thread on the poor bloke. Give him a break start attacking someone else.:thumbsd:

LBJ23
2 Apr 2006, 10:55
Can anyone tell me anything about Cele Unwin?? Think he played in the Sunraysia league last year???

Nifty78
2 Apr 2006, 17:07

Talk about blowing things out of the water people. An opinion is all I gave.[/quote]

How many hard ball gets did you have in your career Gutsy. My mail tells me none ! You ran wider then Makybe Diva did in The Cox Plate. Therefore your no expert on this topic.:eek: :eek:

Santoz
2 Apr 2006, 20:17

I think you mean Sumo11 here Kelvin. If you read my previous post I've got nothing but praise for the way Alvey plays. I think you're being a bit harsh on gutsy though. Just voicing his opinion.

Congrats to South on winning the pre-season carnival. With 6 more scoring shots though they should have blown Mildura away. With Mildura having a near full strength side and South having at least 6 players out and playing a heap of juniors, I reckon South would have to nearly start as flag favourites with respects to Iry/Imps.

The Couch
2 Apr 2006, 20:50
You didn't just give an opinion, you also started a new thread on the poor bloke. Give him a break start attacking someone else.:thumbsd:Gutsy, I know you obviously havent played AFL? You still didnt answer my question. Who are you and what have you done in your football career, if anything??? For someone who's constantly bagging Alvey I just hope you've done something in your career??? Please reply.