View Full Version : Sunraysia Football league

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 [50] 51 52 53 54 55 56 57

3inarow
7 Jan 2008, 11:39
Gee mate, you are up on all the news.

Lets see,

Spivey will never play footy again so wrong there.

What regaining do South have. Have lost TJ there B&F winner from last year and key juniors including Carmelo Lando who has gone to Port Adelaide. Hasse not getting any younger and his talk of last year was he wanted to take a step back and relax. Thats your leading goal kicker, your B&F winner and your best kid U18 that won't be there this season.

Falvo will not play at Irymple that was discussed at length previously on this Forum.

Imperials may not have attracted a NEW coach but have retained there previous coach who took them to a Grand Final last year. Haven't heard of too many players departing there other than Ridley and they are jsut about always there abouts come September. Won every other grade in 2007 so I imagine the future is bright at the green and whites.

Prymke has signed in Geelong to play so won't be in Mildura next year.

If the weather stays as it is, there will be a good chance the SFL will cut the season short or make huge changes to the season to accomodate ovals. That will have an effect on every team training etc and the quality of footy here. If the season is cut short then Percentage is all that will separate the top 6 sides from a top 2 or 3 finish.

You been too busy training for Nam and not reading the papers lately Ibis?
The league picked up 40 megs to keep no1 and no3 alive and there has been huge rains up north that will flood the darling river system which means shit loads of water for us.

I like your faith in the mighty imps but we will be 4 quality players down and so far no recruits. Hopefully Petrie loses his passport and stays around after March

South boys seem happy with numbers, they say thay have had more at training so far than you got there all last year:D

Wenty will struggle to get two teams on the park this year.

Any news on Euston? have they poached any Robinvale players which normally happens when Robinvale look down and out?

Dogwatcher
7 Jan 2008, 12:30
David Byrnes from Irymple to coach Loxton in the Riverland.

What can you guys tell me about him?

Hillite
7 Jan 2008, 12:48
David Byrnes from Irymple to coach Loxton in the Riverland.

What can you guys tell me about him?

Good player in his day. A back injury kept him out of a lot of games last year. So best days well and truly behind him.

deposit
7 Jan 2008, 15:55
Gee mate, you are up on all the news.

Lets see,

Spivey will never play footy again so wrong there.

What regaining do South have. Have lost TJ there B&F winner from last year and key juniors including Carmelo Lando who has gone to Port Adelaide. Hasse not getting any younger and his talk of last year was he wanted to take a step back and relax. Thats your leading goal kicker, your B&F winner and your best kid U18 that won't be there this season.

We have all heard that before......

play4jumper
7 Jan 2008, 19:09
With that statement teh demons mustn't be lossing to many who have the demons added to their list?? I heard last year that Dawso was concidering the move back to Mildura with Danny Luke any chance of him this year??
herd on grapevine that 2 imps seniors players went to sonnys bar on friday b4 xmas and wanted to fight him because he didnt sign at imps,one came back the next day to apologise.weak pricks like they are!whack them sonny:thumbsu:

Dogwatcher
7 Jan 2008, 19:31
Good player in his day. A back injury kept him out of a lot of games last year. So best days well and truly behind him.

Is he likely to bring anyone with him?

Delray
8 Jan 2008, 08:05
Is he likely to bring anyone with him?

NO!!!, but i do wish him all the best has been a great player for Irymple and in the SANFL plays the game extremly hard and thats why he has missed so many with injury.

Loxton Boys be prepared for some extremly funny drinking games david is the king of those ;).

Rabbito
8 Jan 2008, 08:08
NO!!!, but i do wish him all the best has been a great player for Irymple and in the SANFL plays the game extremly hard and thats why he has missed so many with injury.

Loxton Boys be prepared for some extremly funny drinking games david is the king of those ;).

You know NO!! or you hope NO!!
I'm suggesting he may have 1 or 2 in the pipeline, surely he would have sold that to Loxton when applying for the job??

Dogwatcher
8 Jan 2008, 13:18
You would think so.

wayne23
9 Jan 2008, 05:40

Whats Brad Morris up to? I heard a while back that he was staying at Manang
and trying to recruit a couple of swallows. Any truth?

Delray
9 Jan 2008, 07:49
Whats Brad Morris up to? I heard a while back that he was staying at Manang
and trying to recruit a couple of swallows. Any truth?

Brad Wouldnt do that ha ha ha. Well he is living back here now so i supose he will play for either the swallows or manang. I have spoken to him and he seems pretty happy after the flag so my money would be staying at manag. As for Players 1st ive heard of it. Manag have plenty anyway why would they wnat ours.

3inarow
9 Jan 2008, 12:33
Brad Wouldnt do that ha ha ha. Well he is living back here now so i supose he will play for either the swallows or manang. I have spoken to him and he seems pretty happy after the flag so my money would be staying at manag. As for Players 1st ive heard of it. Manag have plenty anyway why would they wnat ours.

Hey Dalray, any truth that Lehman is going back to Beulah and taking Carn and Turnball with him?

I also hear you have lost your greatest asset! I hear your trainer has moved on, she is welcome to give us a rub down before and after every game:p

Delray
9 Jan 2008, 12:57
Hey Dalray, any truth that Lehman is going back to Beulah and taking Carn and Turnball with him?

I also hear you have lost your greatest asset! I hear your trainer has moved on, she is welcome to give us a rub down before and after every game:p

Carn - Not playing knee issues. Turnbull i was told he was contimplating the move no decision as yet. Lehmann not sure havent spoken to.

Trainier?? u know more then me i thought it was business as usally on the rub down bench. will do some investigating and let u know :cool:.

play4jumper
9 Jan 2008, 17:29
Sounds like wenty have lost quite a few, jackson, ough, tim vandy, shaun Mcglynn, Ben Clay, Belly is still unsure and they expect to loose alot of border line players to Gol Gol.

At this stage we are down Ryan D, Ridley who have moved away and Mills and andrews with knee reco's. So far no recruits.

Mildura will win 2008 easy, all the other time will be very even
j roberts and c mills were the 2 players who wanted 2 fight sunny,mills

went back next morning to say sorry.Any more recruits 2 hit town yet?who would want to play with alvey,golly should have good team

QLDFOOTY
10 Jan 2008, 09:08
COME TO WILSTON GRANGE!! - POSITIONS VACANT for
Local, QLD or Interstate Players!! - Move to sunny Brisbane!!! Jobs, housing assistance and $$$ available!!!!!!!!!
Just send me a private message with your contact details

usedtobethin
10 Jan 2008, 10:28
j roberts and c mills were the 2 players who wanted 2 fight sunny,mills

went back next morning to say sorry.Any more recruits 2 hit town yet?who would want to play with alvey,golly should have good team

just what is wrong with alvey, everyone seems to think wenty are losing a heap. does anyone know what retired mildura dynamo adam shitfish is doing with himself this year.

Delray
10 Jan 2008, 10:48
just what is wrong with alvey, everyone seems to think wenty are losing a heap. does anyone know what retired mildura dynamo adam shitfish is doing with himself this year.

Well looking into my crystle ball id say it starts with d and ends in rinking. Just like all retired blokes do. ;)

Nakriel
10 Jan 2008, 12:46
would imagine that he will be using your name and thinking geez I used to be thin:D

bombersbackwards06
10 Jan 2008, 15:29
COME TO WILSTON GRANGE!! - POSITIONS VACANT for
Local, QLD or Interstate Players!! - Move to sunny Brisbane!!! Jobs, housing assistance and $$$ available!!!!!!!!!
Just send me a private message with your contact details

Can vouch for this club if anyone was thinking of moving up to Brissy - awesome club - (no I'm not a player or member there - have played against them though!) just know of the club and how they treat people and players and facilities etc...

http://www.gorillas.com.au (http://www.gorillas.com.au/)

:D

wayne23
11 Jan 2008, 05:43
Was speaking to a mate of mine who has been approached by South to play there this year, he was offered around $1000 a game. Big coin, especially when their non playing coach is getting paid so much.

Delray
11 Jan 2008, 08:09
Was speaking to a mate of mine who has been approached by South to play there this year, he was offered around $1000 a game. Big coin, especially when their non playing coach is getting paid so much.

1.) He must be a Gun a name would be sensational, 2.) these payments are starting to sound alot like what balranald have been offering and look at them now. Reading the CMFL site they are at risk of Folding!!!! Its pretty simple will know how true the rumors are by 2009 cus if the figures im hearing are true they will be in a spot of bother then. Unless they have 1 of them special wells that never drys up.

The problem with footy clubs is the money is so hard to make yet so easy to spend.

I mean most people enjoy playing footy on top of that good players get 400 and above for approxometly 6 hrs of work a week. Sometimes i just wish players wernt so greddy. I mean what other job pays between 60-120 per hour.

Yaaablett
11 Jan 2008, 09:02
1.) He must be a Gun a name would be sensational, 2.) these payments are starting to sound alot like what balranald have been offering and look at them now. Reading the CMFL site they are at risk of Folding!!!! Its pretty simple will know how true the rumors are by 2009 cus if the figures im hearing are true they will be in a spot of bother then. Unless they have 1 of them special wells that never drys up.

The problem with footy clubs is the money is so hard to make yet so easy to spend.

I mean most people enjoy playing footy on top of that good players get 400 and above for approxometly 6 hrs of work a week. Sometimes i just wish players wernt so greddy. I mean what other job pays between 60-120 per hour.

Accountants could take a pay cut and they would earn that!;)

deposit
11 Jan 2008, 09:31

They have done silly things with money before but I don't think they would be that silly. I would say your mate is talking it up a fari bit.

Delray
11 Jan 2008, 10:06
Accountants could take a pay cut and they would earn that!;)

Ha ha ha to good yabs, very similar to international school teachers sept us poor accountants actually have to work all year :eek:.

Well now that ur out of the coaching game surly u can give us your thoughts on the big improvers of 08. having been invovled in the CMFL what can u tell us of the players that are comming in from that league. R/C landed thier assistant coach from woorinine. And the Maggies have picked up a few from the sinking ship that was balranald. Are they gunna have a big impact in the SFL

Im thinking that mildura are at least 2 quality players ahead of the pack at this early stage. Any 1 else's thoughts

Harry29
11 Jan 2008, 10:30
Ha ha ha to good yabs, very similar to international school teachers sept us poor accountants actually have to work all year :eek:.

Well now that ur out of the coaching game surly u can give us your thoughts on the big improvers of 08. having been invovled in the CMFL what can u tell us of the players that are comming in from that league. R/C landed thier assistant coach from woorinine. And the Maggies have picked up a few from the sinking ship that was balranald. Are they gunna have a big impact in the SFL

Im thinking that mildura are at least 2 quality players ahead of the pack at this early stage. Any 1 else's thoughts

At this early stage always hard to tell but here goes:

Mildura will be the team to beat.

Imperials will be there abouts as they always are.

Irymple could struggle with quality losses to the club.

Wentworth see Irymple.

Robinvale no coach, may struggle to keep and entice players.

Red Cliffs should improve with new direction and younger players another year older.

South Mildura see Red Cliffs.

Merbein have recruited well and should improve, how far will depend on the points system.

The water issue looks good at this stage, lets hope it rains which could ensure a full season.

Yaaablett
11 Jan 2008, 12:51

No problems Leon. I dont think there is any doubt that South Mildura, Merbein and Red Cliffs will all be better than they were in 07. I also think that Mildura will be marginally better as well. Imperials will be just as good as they were. Eagle's loss hurts Irymple badly but I would expect they'll play finals. Still have too many good players and juniors not too. Wentworth if they can gain some consistency and have a good year with injury will make the 4. I have no doubt. They've lost some players but none of their top 10 except Vandy. Thats assuming Belly plays. Robinvale...who knows? I would expect the 4 to stay the same with 9 wins getting you in this year as Sth, RC and Merb will win their share against the top 4. I've heard the new RC assistant is handy, a mid size half forward. Merbeins Balranald boys are all senior players and will make a difference....... if they get cleared! There will be no easy wins to be had this year.

Delray
11 Jan 2008, 14:24
Not to bad at all yabbs and harry. Well i think thats great for the league 2008 seems to be very tight i reckon every1 has been begging for an even comp should make for intresting football.

Just a little note dont write eagle off for the swallows just yet.

Here is a little bit of information for yous. Over the last 11 years all SFL clubs have 1 a flag i think thats a pretty good effort for the league.

Any other intersting facts please share.:thumbsu:

Ibis100
14 Jan 2008, 13:44

South announced a $60,000 profit for the year of 2006 after all bills and players were paid. They did not increase thier spending in 2007 and sold another house which I imagine would give them plenty of cash in reserve. Their problem was that they wouldn't spend it in the right places but obviously they are now trying to lure some good players.

My thought and always has been is that they put that money toward their juniors who they seem to lose at that 18-20yr age group. Catta would never had left had they wanted to spend a little of the money they had in their coffers. Even putting on a function without having the players pay for it might go a long way to keeping people around the club.

Lets hope they spend wisely and for the betrement of the club.

woof woof
14 Jan 2008, 14:05
South announced a $60,000 profit for the year of 2006 after all bills and players were paid. They did not increase thier spending in 2007 and sold another house which I imagine would give them plenty of cash in reserve. Their problem was that they wouldn't spend it in the right places but obviously they are now trying to lure some good players.

My thought and always has been is that they put that money toward their juniors who they seem to lose at that 18-20yr age group. Catta would never had left had they wanted to spend a little of the money they had in their coffers. Even putting on a function without having the players pay for it might go a long way to keeping people around the club.

Lets hope they spend wisely and for the betrement of the club.

do they build the houses that they sell or do they buy an older house and renovate how does this work?

deposit
14 Jan 2008, 15:14
Reading on the Hume FL thread about Jarrod Arentz going to Jindera (Just out of Albury)

There is a fair bit of talk on it, has anybody else heard about this??

Delray
14 Jan 2008, 15:34
[quote=Ibis100;9865516]South announced a $60,000 profit for the year of 2006 after all bills and players were paid. They did not increase thier spending in 2007 and sold another house which I imagine would give them plenty of cash in reserve. Their problem was that they wouldn't spend it in the right places but obviously they are now trying to lure some good players.

Well thats an amazing effort i take my hat off to the sth boys. Knowing cata fairly well and now knowing the cash situation Sth are in, i really cannot beleive that they cut a tiny contract and lost possibly 1 of there best local telents. for the sake of around

Well i suppose it all boils down to spending it wisely and in the right areas.

wayne23
15 Jan 2008, 05:46
Reading on the Hume FL thread about Jarrod Arentz going to Jindera (Just out of Albury)

As long as Jarrod is living and working in Swan Hill he will be playing for TooleyManang.

Ibis100
15 Jan 2008, 05:49
do they build the houses that they sell or do they buy an older house and renovate how does this work?

Im not sure how long they have been doing it but certainly the last three years I was at the club they would build a new house and then sell it. Good cash earner and a very smart way to make it.

Yes Delray, you can possibly start to see my gripe about losing players they never needed to and not paying other players more money when they clearly warranted it (No matter what age they are).

The $60,000 profit was made publically in the paper so it wasn't just an in house thing. Its a credit to the club and committee to think outside the square and raise that money but they need to spend it where it counts on the field rather than on plans to extend thier bar and social rooms.

Delray
15 Jan 2008, 07:30
The $60,000 profit was made publically in the paper so it wasn't just an in house thing. Its a credit to the club and committee to think outside the square and raise that money but they need to spend it where it counts on the field rather than on plans to extend thier bar and social rooms.[/quote]

Ibis i do Aggree with what u are saying its pointless having all the facilities in the world if its not backed by a good football team.

However Capital works secures the long term future of the the club take irymple cost us 150K to build the rooms but without them i dont think we would have ever dragged ourselves out of the hole we were in.

Finding the right mix is extremly hard but from the outside it seems as though sth will certainly pick up on the field and if they can extend there social rooms and bar it should turn out to be a great year for the doggies.

deposit
15 Jan 2008, 07:59
Im not sure how long they have been doing it but certainly the last three years I was at the club they would build a new house and then sell it. Good cash earner and a very smart way to make it.

Yes Delray, you can possibly start to see my gripe about losing players they never needed to and not paying other players more money when they clearly warranted it (No matter what age they are).

The $60,000 profit was made publically in the paper so it wasn't just an in house thing. Its a credit to the club and committee to think outside the square and raise that money but they need to spend it where it counts on the field rather than on plans to extend thier bar and social rooms.

The extensions and improvements off the ground will help attract the quality people. I know if I was new to the area and tossing up offers between Sth & WW (poor facilities) I would be looking to south for sure and I am sure that is how it will work in the future. Good Lights, good rooms and a good social club will all lead to a stronger club. I think they are heading in the right direction.

Yaaablett
15 Jan 2008, 09:05

You have to wonder how this garbage starts. One of the posts actually said he had already moved and was training with a club there! No truth at all. Staying where he is.

Heard yesterday Eagle is staying at Irymple. Good news for the league if true.

Mildura's first run last night. About 30-35 trained including Hosking and Tierney who both looked fit.

Tubby1
16 Jan 2008, 10:50
can anyone tell me why the lake clubs in the millewa are not considered when players are looking at making the move from in town?

`kURupT
16 Jan 2008, 17:26
r/vales coach will be announced within days, hes not a local either. Tansley Hill is assistent coach

chris vorweek
16 Jan 2008, 18:13
r/vales coach will be announced within days, hes not a local either. Tansley Hill is assistent coach

hes coming home from qld...former mildura player.. think hes a ruck man last name is monkerr

`kURupT
17 Jan 2008, 09:51
How does he go?

Ibis100
17 Jan 2008, 15:53
The extensions and improvements off the ground will help attract the quality people. I know if I was new to the area and tossing up offers between Sth & WW (poor facilities) I would be looking to south for sure and I am sure that is how it will work in the future. Good Lights, good rooms and a good social club will all lead to a stronger club. I think they are heading in the right direction.

I agree. Good facilities is a good drawing card to players and I have commended the committee for what they have done off the field. I was simply saying they didn't have the balance of off field and on field finances right. They haven't been prepared to pay the locals and this has shown by the number of players that have left. Of course that isn't the sole reason why people have left but it has cost them some of their better players and other players coming to the region in the last couple of years.

I hope they do get the balance right cause I love the club and played the majority of my life there. I just don't want to see another bought premiership like 98 and have the club sink back down cause they have brought in more players form outside than stick with and look after the locals.

Fatman Returns
18 Jan 2008, 08:16
Which players have Euston "poached" from Robinvale

Truth Hurts
18 Jan 2008, 09:13
Mildura would be pretty happy with obtaining the services of Josh Dawson this year, He has been a star in Bendigo the past few years.... huge motor and finds the footy at will!

I wonder how many speed boats he's getting??;)

Harry29
18 Jan 2008, 15:09
Heard a rumour that the Balranald recruits at Merbein are going back. Can you confirm this Wellsy?

Nakriel
18 Jan 2008, 15:11
I heard that the Treefella spat chips and left taking his money with along with some Balranald recruits

Heard a rumour that the Balranald recruits at Merbein are going back. Can you confirm this Wellsy?

Beep Test
18 Jan 2008, 22:56
I heard that the Treefella spat chips and left taking his money with along with some Balranald recruits

Hi all

Need some info about a player at Irymple - Sam Curran
looking to recruit for season 08

Hard running midfielder I believe.

Rik22
18 Jan 2008, 23:08

Yer heard that to off a merbein committee member... Also heard a few of the boys at merbz are playing at Meringur this year!!

Delray
19 Jan 2008, 10:01
Hi all

Need some info about a player at Irymple - Sam Curran
looking to recruit for season 08

Hard running midfielder I believe.

Beep, Sam has signed with Irymple a long time ago so i reckon u may have to start looking somewhere else for recruits. :thumbsu:

But ur mail on his playing ability is pretty spot on,

Well the demons move from strength to strength. Dawson will be an extremly handy pick up both on and off the field.

Top six teams will be tight with mildura being the stand out blanket finish for the remainding 5. and i cant see 7 or 8 being easy beats. gunna be a good comp im tipping.

Nakriel
19 Jan 2008, 13:11
Hey Ibis apart from you being Human Natures biggest fan, there is a rumour going around that you have gone over to the "Dark Side". Any truth???

I agree. Good facilities is a good drawing card to players and I have commended the committee for what they have done off the field. I was simply saying they didn't have the balance of off field and on field finances right. They haven't been prepared to pay the locals and this has shown by the number of players that have left. Of course that isn't the sole reason why people have left but it has cost them some of their better players and other players coming to the region in the last couple of years.

I hope they do get the balance right cause I love the club and played the majority of my life there. I just don't want to see another bought premiership like 98 and have the club sink back down cause they have brought in more players form outside than stick with and look after the locals.

dunkarob
19 Jan 2008, 21:04
does anyone one have the names of the new players heading south bulldogs way and there ability at this level.

Beep Test
19 Jan 2008, 23:52
Beep, Sam has signed with Irymple a long time ago so i reckon u may have to start looking somewhere else for recruits. :thumbsu:

But ur mail on his playing ability is pretty spot on,

Well the demons move from strength to strength. Dawson will be an extremly handy pick up both on and off the field.

Top six teams will be tight with mildura being the stand out blanket finish for the remainding 5. and i cant see 7 or 8 being easy beats. gunna be a good comp im tipping.

Thanks, yep thats is what I thought

Is Ryan O Callaghan still in league or is he riding trackwork at Flemington

Wells Train
20 Jan 2008, 09:23
Yes harry i've been told this is true, i won't elaborate on it as i don't know anything about it. A few other players will fill their places i'd say. Who or when i'm not sure yet....

football_legends
20 Jan 2008, 13:16
sounds like the wheels are falling off at Mervein already? why does this happen out there? when things seem to be going really well? i hope for the sake at Merbein it doesn't happen and things can be patched up, dam money! it's always about the Money!!!!!!!!!:thumbsd::eek:

dishy bale
20 Jan 2008, 15:06
sounds like the wheels are falling off at Mervein already? why does this happen out there? when things seem to be going really well? i hope for the sake at Merbein it doesn't happen and things can be patched up, dam money! it's always about the Money!!!!!!!!!:thumbsd::eek:
wouldnt say the wheels are falling off just yet legends. there is several other recruits and young local talent out there that will ensure the pies will improve their position on the ladder. it had nothing to do with money that the couple of balranald boys decided to stay home, it had to do with the survival of balranald i believe(lack of players). its great to see that there is still some loyalty in footy

football_legends
20 Jan 2008, 16:19
that's good then, hate to see the pies go backwards! should be a good year with merve at the helm! he'll know what to do!!!!!:thumbsu:

Ibis100
21 Jan 2008, 21:59
Hey Ibis apart from you being Human Natures biggest fan, there is a rumour going around that you have gone over to the "Dark Side". Any truth???

What is the Dark Side you are talking about Nakers.

Ibis100
21 Jan 2008, 22:05
Had a bit of a look at the Pies train last week. Skills still need plenty of work but Merv had em running around a bit. Only four new faces I could pick out, Riordo, Chooka and the two Duscher Boys. Good numbers there but pretty much the same faces as last year. My sources in Melbourne tell me they were in negotiation with one of the best running wingmen I have seen and played with. Will cost a penny plus flights every week.

Will wait and see on this one. I'm not sure the guy will travel but if he does then he is my tip for the McLeod. More to come as I hear more about it...........Sorry guys, no names just yet. I want to confirm the rumour first.

Footytripper
22 Jan 2008, 16:31
Whatever happened to Robert Bowden who was drafted by Hawthorn in 1990. Does he still play up in the Sunraysia League??

Ibis100
23 Jan 2008, 10:32
Whatever happened to Robert Bowden who was drafted by Hawthorn in 1990. Does he still play up in the Sunraysia League??

Not sure if he is running around this year or even if he did last year but he was playing reserves footy in Robinvale. Delray might have better knowledge than me but he could have even gone over to Euston in the Minor League here.

Navy2005
23 Jan 2008, 15:44
Guys how did Adam Hooper of Imperials go last season?

Delray
24 Jan 2008, 08:33
Guys how did Adam Hooper of Imperials go last season?

Hoops hasnt played for imps in about 3 years but he was a gun when he did.

Ibis Ur info on bowden was pretty spot on.

So Now that R/vale have a coach all looks set for the 08 season.

How is the preseason training going for every1???? Who is fit and who should we be watching out for come round 1 2008.

Hillite
25 Jan 2008, 17:07
What about the swallows Delray??
Whats falvo doing or have you given up on him??

`kURupT
27 Jan 2008, 16:55
Falvo is training with robinvale at preseason atm

jd smurf
27 Jan 2008, 19:21
is there any truth that sonnys ankles no good and he has to sit out the year? i hope for the comps sake this is only a rumour ?

the-rumour-mill
27 Jan 2008, 19:28
is there any truth that sonnys ankles no good and he has to sit out the year? i hope for the comps sake this is only a rumour ?

that might be the excuse he or others are using for him but the mail is he may have to go away for a tax payer funded holiday

jd smurf
27 Jan 2008, 19:44
ahhh

Ibis100
27 Jan 2008, 22:26
that might be the excuse he or others are using for him but the mail is he may have to go away for a tax payer funded holiday

Please elaborate for us all.

football_legends
28 Jan 2008, 16:17
sonny going away? far far away?:thumbsu::D

colonelklink
28 Jan 2008, 22:39
whats the word on atkinson at imps? is he or is he still not playing at all? and whats with falvo, next thing we will here is he is playing at euston, money hungry that boy

Wacky Tiger
29 Jan 2008, 16:41
Any news on when the 2008 fixture is due to come out?

Hillite
29 Jan 2008, 17:07

It's out. I don't know where you would get a copy unless you have a club connection.

GAblett
30 Jan 2008, 11:14
2008 SFL Draw
1 05.04.08
N Red Cliffs v Merbein
Sth Mildura v Robinvale
Wentworth v Imperials
Mildura v Irymple

2 12.04.08
Merbein v Mildura
Robinvale v Red Cliffs
Imperials v Sth Mildura
Irymple v Wentworth

3 19.04.08
Mildura v Robinvale
N Red Cliffs v Imperials
Sth Mildurav Wentworth
Merbein v Irymple

4 25.04.08 (Anzac Day)
Imperials v Mildura
Wentworth v Red Cliffs
Irymple v Sth Mildura
Robinvale v Merbein

5 03.05.08
Mildura v Wentworth
N Red Cliffs v Sth Mildura
Robinvale v Irymple
Merbein v Imperials

6 10.05.08
Sth Mildura v Mildura
Red Cliffs v Irymple
Wentworth v Merbein
Imperials v Robinvale

7 17.05.08
Mildura v Red Cliffs
Merbein v Sth Mildura
Robinvale v Wentworth
Irymple v Imperials

8 24.05.08
Irymple v Mildura
Merbein v Red Cliffs
Robinvale v Sth Mildura
Imperials v Wentworth

9 31.05.08
Mildura v Merbein
Red Cliffs v Robinvale
Sth Mildura v Imperials
Wentworth v Irymple

10 07.06.08
Robinvale v Mildura
Imperials v Red Cliffs
Wentworth v Sth Mildura
Irymple v Merbein

11 14.06.08
Mildura v Imperials
Red Cliffs v Wentworth
Sth Mildura v Irymple
Merbein v Robinvale

12 21.06.08
Wentworth v Mildura
Sth Mildura v Red Cliffs
Irymple v Robinvale
Imperials v Merbein

13 28.06.08 (Split Round)
Mildura v Sth Mildura
Irymple v Red Cliffs
13 05.07.08 (Split Round)

Merbein v Wentworth
Robinvale v Imperials

14 12.07.08
Red Cliffs v Mildura
Sth Mildura v Merbein
Wentworth v Robinvale
Imperials v Irymple

15 19.07.08
Mildura v Irymple
Red Cliffs v Merbein
Sth Mildura v Robinvale
Wentworth v Imperials

16 26.07.08
Merbein v Mildura
Robinvale v Red Cliffs
Imperials v Sth Mildura
Irymple v Wentworth

17 02.08.08
Mildura v Robinvale
Red Cliffs v Imperials
Sth Mildura v Wentworth
Merbein v Irymple

18 09.08.08
Imperials v Mildura
Wentworth v Red Cliffs
Irymple v Sth Mildura
Robinvale v Merbein

2008 1st Semi Final
TBA

2008 2nd Semi Final
TBA

2008 Preliminary Final
TBA

2008 SFL Grand Final
TBA

AFL G/F

Wacky Tiger
30 Jan 2008, 14:35
Cheers GAblett. Much appreciated.

football_legends
2 Feb 2008, 16:27
everyone support spivey's trip! here i have a dollar! as shown in the free Friday paper!wow what an article! i'd pack the backpack with carlton cold instead of all the cans of beak beans. What a football legend he is! :D
http;//www.supportspivey.com.au :thumbsu:

nudge
3 Feb 2008, 11:33
Looking at the transfers already posted on the VCFL site plus reading and hearing rumours around the traps it looks as though a mass exidous is happeing at the roos (or is it rats leaving a sinking ship). Guess their recruiters will be looking hard to find anyone with 2 legs and some degree of a heart beat to get 2 teams on the park in 2008.

football_legends
3 Feb 2008, 13:04
Looking at the transfers already posted on the VCFL site plus reading and hearing rumours around the traps it looks as though a mass exidous is happeing at the roos (or is it rats leaving a sinking ship). Guess their recruiters will be looking hard to find anyone with 2 legs and some degree of a heart beat to get 2 teams on the park in 2008.
what's happened at good old Roo land?Alvey must be trainning them too hard, they're all going to Gol Gol Hawkes! and Merbein are loosing a few! wonder if Harry will play back at Meringur,their all going there. Golly Hawkes and Meringur, looks top 2 teams next year!:eek: 2 teams in Merbein, not so good for the town!

Wells Train
3 Feb 2008, 19:14
what's happened at good old Roo land?Alvey must be trainning them too hard, they're all going to Gol Gol Hawkes! and Merbein are loosing a few! wonder if Harry will play back at Meringur,their all going there. Golly Hawkes and Meringur, looks top 2 teams next year!:eek: 2 teams in Merbein, not so good for the town!
Are u a merbein supporter or what legends? have u been down to training? I think not. The guys we have already recruited plus the others coming with the ones training who haven't committed officially, it looks like the only way is up. It might not be too far but to paint the picture it will be a struggle is absolute crap. The vibe around the place is good and i can't see us not improving. If u support the club like u claim get down and have a look and give some positive input rather than the jekkyl and hyde approach u have at the moment

wayne23
3 Feb 2008, 19:41

I don't think its as bad as being made out at wenty. i've been down to training and the senior squad will still be competitive. only major losses are Vandy, jacko.
Belly is going round again, James watt is staying another year and even Oughy was at training Wed so he may be a chance, Bath will be handy. With players such as alvey, cumming, bell, clay, rigby's, king, lipetri, watt, they are still going to be a force. there is still quite a bit of time before the season starts so anything can happen, we may have a ressies side yet. hopefully:thumbsu:

Rabbito
4 Feb 2008, 08:29
I don't think its as bad as being made out at wenty. i've been down to training and the senior squad will still be competitive. only major losses are Vandy, jacko.
Belly is going round again, James watt is staying another year and even Oughy was at training Wed so he may be a chance, Bath will be handy. With players such as alvey, cumming, bell, clay, rigby's, king, lipetri, watt, they are still going to be a force. there is still quite a bit of time before the season starts so anything can happen, we may have a ressies side yet. hopefully:thumbsu:

I'm disappointed that Russell Andrews has a clearance in to go to Bambill, real shame, does anyone know what the connection is there??
Has W/W named an ass coach??

the-rumour-mill
4 Feb 2008, 09:12
Are u a merbein supporter or what legends? have u been down to training? I think not. The guys we have already recruited plus the others coming with the ones training who haven't committed officially, it looks like the only way is up. It might not be too far but to paint the picture it will be a struggle is absolute crap. The vibe around the place is good and i can't see us not improving. If u support the club like u claim get down and have a look and give some positive input rather than the jekkyl and hyde approach u have at the moment

What about all the so called recruits that were coming from balranald that have now committed to keeping their club alive in CMFL? Does that mean that Merve has lost an open cheque book for recruiting as well?

deposit
4 Feb 2008, 09:57

Isn't Watt going to Adelaide? SANFL???

Wells Train
5 Feb 2008, 15:06
Luke Gane has signed last week actually as assistant coach at merbein.
With keatchy coming home next week it can only be good for the club. Any news on new signings anywhere else guys?

Lad of the Manor
5 Feb 2008, 16:13
Luke Gane has signed last week actually as assistant coach at merbein.
With keatchy coming home next week it can only be good for the club. Any news on new signings anywhere else guys?
I thought it said in the paper the other week that luke gane was going to be assistant coach at one of the millewa clubs. I think it was either werrimull or meringur

Wells Train
6 Feb 2008, 06:22
I thought it said in the paper the other week that luke gane was going to be assistant coach at one of the millewa clubs. I think it was either werrimull or meringur
He trained with us last night, i think the thing in the paper was done weeks ago with nothing official signed. The equivalent job in a better league is probably what swayed him.

NOT TELLIN U
6 Feb 2008, 08:50
hey there. jus wonderin if u no an aboriginal bloke that use to coach up that way years ago. jus wanted to no if neone nos where he mite b these days???

Delray
6 Feb 2008, 09:10
hey there. jus wonderin if u no an aboriginal bloke that use to coach up that way years ago. jus wanted to no if neone nos where he mite b these days???

Well a name would help. We are pretty good on this site but i dont think any1 is telepathic.

DOUGHNUTS
6 Feb 2008, 21:00

Stewey Carr is playen footy up in Darwin now Bro:eek::eek::mad:

Gladstone Small
7 Feb 2008, 16:26

Yep, he's playing for Collingwood.....:D

Wells Train
7 Feb 2008, 20:14
Stewey Carr is playen footy up in Darwin now Bro:eek::eek::mad:
Yeah he is but he has been past it for a while now. Interesting he has hasn't come back for a season must be settled up there now. I don't think he'd get a run for Imps this year anyhow. How are the green and white looking doughnuts?

rocksolidlee
7 Feb 2008, 20:29
Yeah he is but he has been past it for a while now. Interesting he has hasn't come back for a season must be settled up there now. I don't think he'd get a run for Imps this year anyhow. How are the green and white looking doughnuts?

Saw Stewy play on the TV late last year and he looked better than he ever has. Very fit and still hard at it. I have seen him in a lot worse shape and still playing seniors for IMPS!

Rabbito
8 Feb 2008, 07:38
Saw Stewy play on the TV late last year and he looked better than he ever has. Very fit and still hard at it. I have seen him in a lot worse shape and still playing seniors for IMPS!

He was in Mildura 7-8 weeks ago, looked fit!!

Rabbito
8 Feb 2008, 07:39

Phil Egan??

harry the bad man
8 Feb 2008, 09:38
Ricky Handy- asst coach loxton 08

Rabbito
8 Feb 2008, 10:39
Ricky Handy- asst coach loxton 08

he'd be looking after the fitness during the pre season I guess?

3inarow
8 Feb 2008, 12:31
Had a bit of a look at the Pies train last week. Skills still need plenty of work but Merv had em running around a bit. Only four new faces I could pick out, Riordo, Chooka and the two Duscher Boys. Good numbers there but pretty much the same faces as last year. My sources in Melbourne tell me they were in negotiation with one of the best running wingmen I have seen and played with. Will cost a penny plus flights every week.

Will wait and see on this one. I'm not sure the guy will travel but if he does then he is my tip for the McLeod. More to come as I hear more about it...........Sorry guys, no names just yet. I want to confirm the rumour first.

I hear the guy in question is Overland. I've been told they have offered him $1500 a game plus flights and accomodation. What a joke Merbein is trying to spend money like this, the $30,000? would be better off on say 6 good players at $5000 each.
Now the wood cutter has taken his money I think Merbein will struggle to buy any big recruits

Wells Train
8 Feb 2008, 14:16
I hear the guy in question is Overland. I've been told they have offered him $1500 a game plus flights and accomodation. What a joke Merbein is trying to spend money like this, the $30,000? would be better off on say 6 good players at $5000 each.
Now the wood cutter has taken his money I think Merbein will struggle to buy any big recruits
I don't know too much about the bloke in question, but so far we have riordo, chooka, chilton, duscher, gane and have retained keatchy. Jezza Weinert is back from overseas so all these blokes are handy some real handy. Plus another 2 blokes i won't mention as yet i think we should be well under budget. I don't think we would be silly enough to spend more money than what we have. Positive so far with training in full swing just can't wait to start the matches

ringo1
11 Feb 2008, 08:32
Any news on upcoming practice matches???

Delray
11 Feb 2008, 08:41
Irymple play Swan hill on the 9th of march in Swan hill. Expect a very young list to hit the park.

ringo1
11 Feb 2008, 09:51
Thanks mate:thumbsu::thumbsu:

3inarow
11 Feb 2008, 16:14
Irymple play Swan hill on the 9th of march in Swan hill. Expect a very young list to hit the park.

Worrying signs out your way Delray. Big losses and no mention of any recruits yet.
Very hard to replace Carn, Jess, Turnball, Crisera, Byrnes and maybe Eagle. Think there might be a couple of others I have missed so I guess you will have a very young side all year