View Full Version : Sunraysia Football league
Gladstone Small
12 Feb 2008, 08:44
Worrying signs out your way Delray. Big losses and no mention of any recruits yet.
Very hard to replace Carn, Jess, Turnball, Crisera, Byrnes and maybe Eagle. Think there might be a couple of others I have missed so I guess you will have a very young side all year
You missed Simms, Vadjla & Crossling. They are some big losses. You would think Rudd and Pavilach will fill a couple of holes but still a fair bit of ground lost.
Worrying signs out your way Delray. Big losses and no mention of any recruits yet.
Very hard to replace Carn, Jess, Turnball, Crisera, Byrnes and maybe Eagle. Think there might be a couple of others I have missed so I guess you will have a very young side all year
Yep u are correct we have lost a group of quaility players. But not panicing yet the group of kids comming up will add alot of pace and depth. Crisera could be back. Carn might play just playing the waiting game on them two.
We still have Eaton, Curran, Simms, Crossling, Hammence & Eagle. which is a fairly solid foundation. Add Arron Baynes in and we will be looking ok.
But i Suppose our losses are no bigger then Ridley, Dartsy, Mills, Andrews and Thomas.
Rabbito
12 Feb 2008, 11:28
You missed Simms, Vadjla & Crossling. They are some big losses. You would think Rudd and Pavilach will fill a couple of holes but still a fair bit of ground lost.
Where are Simms and Crossling off to?
Rudd and Pavilach? Are u being sure?
Roberts and Mason aswell?
malleeboy
12 Feb 2008, 12:22
Yep u are correct we have lost a group of quaility players. But not panicing yet the group of kids comming up will add alot of pace and depth. Crisera could be back. Carn might play just playing the waiting game on them two.
We still have Eaton, Curran, Simms, Crossling, Hammence & Eagle. which is a fairly solid foundation. Add Arron Baynes in and we will be looking ok.
But i Suppose our losses are no bigger then Ridley, Dartsy, Mills, Andrews and Thomas.
Hope Thomas is coming back to doggy land!!!!!
You can add to Irymple losses, Minton and Calvi
Hillite
12 Feb 2008, 14:41
You can add to Irymple losses, Minton and Calvi[/quote]
Who's Minton?
Calvi didn't play much last year did he Delray.
Mason and Roberts haven't got through to the final pioneers side yet. Could well do though.
If the swallows can remain competitive then they'd be happy with that i reckon considering the losses.
A lot of good kids on the way up i hear.
U end up getting paid for your entertainment Fri night Delray?
Gladstone Small
12 Feb 2008, 16:09
You can add to Irymple losses, Minton and Calvi
Who's Minton?
Mason and Roberts haven't got through to the final pioneers side yet. Could well do though.
If the swallows can remain competitive then they'd be happy with that i reckon considering the losses.
A lot of good kids on the way up i hear.[/quote]
I think he means Minton Connell. Calvi will play for Irymple if he does play, but probably wont.
What about the exodus of players to the shit Millewa League!!!
U end up getting paid for your entertainment Fri night Delray?
Ha ha ha ha banking the CHQS today as me headace finally settels down. What a night!!!!!!
Harry29
13 Feb 2008, 09:26
Who's Minton?
A lot of good kids on the way up i hear.
I think he means Minton Connell. Calvi will play for Irymple if he does play, but probably wont.
What about the exodus of players to the shit Millewa League!!![/quote]
Obviously not that shit! Todays lifestyle may have a lot to do with this, but money (which is ruining the game) is the main offender.
Congo in the paper today expressing concern, both leagues need to get together and look to the future. But this won't happen as clubs only look after themselves (which is their right).
deposit
13 Feb 2008, 10:47
WW in big trouble you would think
All those blokes leaving and not one name to come in yet.
Is there any good news out there??? Bads???
Rabbito
13 Feb 2008, 12:08
WW in big trouble you would think
All those blokes leaving and not one name to come in yet.
Is there any good news out there??? Bads???
Ummy and Wilks weren't playing 1's at the start of last year (the little bit of depth the club did have), Vandy's a big lose, Ryan McGlynn and Russell Andrew's look likely to be retained at the club, James Watt would be a shoe in for the Pio's, Jacko too will be missed, all's not lost quite yet, plenty of young bloke who'd kill to play 1's.
PantheraLeo
13 Feb 2008, 13:58
What about the exodus of players to the shit Millewa League!!!
Obviously not that shit! Todays lifestyle may have a lot to do with this, but money (which is ruining the game) is the main offender.
Congo in the paper today expressing concern, both leagues need to get together and look to the future. But this won't happen as clubs only look after themselves (which is their right).[/quote]
It's not time for the leagues to get together - It's time for the MFL to get with the program of most other leagues it the state and introduce system to regulate how players come into the league. The points system in the SFL works!!! Any one of five teams could have won the flag last year. Don't just talk about a points system in the paper, get togther and fix the problem. At the minute, the more cash you have depicts your success.
The main issue in the MFL is that the club delagates still run the league. While this continues they will only think about the next flag they are paying for and nothing will change.
Rabbito
13 Feb 2008, 14:20
Congo in the paper today expressing concern, both leagues need to get together and look to the future. But this won't happen as clubs only look after themselves (which is their right).
It's not time for the leagues to get together - It's time for the MFL to get with the program of most other leagues it the state and introduce system to regulate how players come into the league. The points system in the SFL works!!! Any one of five teams could have won the flag last year. Don't just talk about a points system in the paper, get togther and fix the problem. At the minute, the more cash you have depicts your success.
The main issue in the MFL is that the club delagates still run the league. While this continues they will only think about the next flag they are paying for and nothing will change.
[/quote]
Disagree,(how could points help?) point system won't work. Everyone is someway or another recruited? No jnrs, where do the players come from, clubs that have $$ recruit sfl/fringe sfl players (who may not attract $$ in the sfl), clubs with no $$ recruit mates of mates who want to have a kick (fat old dudes who'd be more suited in running the booth).
Harry29
13 Feb 2008, 15:06
[/quote]
This (the points system) has certainly been tabled at meetings, it is now a matter of following through with what Macca had started last year. But this does not solve the underlying problem of lack of players in this district for reserves football, so until both leagues get together and look at football as a whole then nothing will change.
deposit
13 Feb 2008, 21:31
Ummy and Wilks weren't playing 1's at the start of last year (the little bit of depth the club did have), Vandy's a big lose, Ryan McGlynn and Russell Andrew's look likely to be retained at the club, James Watt would be a shoe in for the Pio's, Jacko too will be missed, all's not lost quite yet, plenty of young bloke who'd kill to play 1's.
There is NO DEPTH @ WW, Reserves have been a joke out there for the last few years. There may be a number of young blokes who would kill to play 1's, but are any of them any good, not too many that I can think of.
From what I hear they treat the reserves like a bunch of lepers and that is why a number of them are keen to move on.
Rabbito
14 Feb 2008, 08:04
There is NO DEPTH @ WW, Reserves have been a joke out there for the last few years. There may be a number of young blokes who would kill to play 1's, but are any of them any good, not too many that I can think of.
From what I hear they treat the reserves like a bunch of lepers and that is why a number of them are keen to move on.
Agree in point. Although WW has been up against it for the last 15-20 years with the shift in local population, no new houses or employment in WW or Dareton during this period, less child in the schools primary and secondary, no money in the blocks(last few years), overall not much progression. Gol Gol and Mildura on the other hand have experienced hugh increases in population and growth in this time, hopefully for WW sake the Millewa falls over before WW does (should be fine!!).
I'd think some 90% of players would live and/or work in Mildura. (including the blokes who played jnrs there.
To say the club treats another like a leper is a big (and not very useful) call!! I'd interested why that would have been said??
I too, can't see WW winning a flag this year, but strongly believe they will be competitive.
Guys News update:
May have jumped the gun with the Thomas Rumor Seems to be Remaining at Imps which keeps the goal scoring power up.
Some1 from the kennel!!!! please confirm sonnys playing status, my mail is he is heading back to oyuen Please advise.
Well the count down is on to the start of the any1 game enough for some predictions????
PS: What about the Mighty Blue Baggers. Without the million dollar man as well things are looking up id imagaine.
3inarow
18 Feb 2008, 15:58
Guys News update:
May have jumped the gun with the Thomas Rumor Seems to be Remaining at Imps which keeps the goal scoring power up.
Some1 from the kennel!!!! please confirm sonnys playing status, my mail is he is heading back to oyuen Please advise.
Well the count down is on to the start of the any1 game enough for some predictions????
PS: What about the Mighty Blue Baggers. Without the million dollar man as well things are looking up id imagaine.
On too good of money with us to leave
3inarow
18 Feb 2008, 16:04
Who are the good juniors coming through at each club this year?
Richardson was a fantastic for us last year and i wish him all the best at the pioneers this year.
Hopefully we have some good kids coming through to fill his shoes
Come on Guys ive never seen this site so dead. With the football season only 6-8 weeks away surely there is some goss to report on.
Who has had a cracking pre season??? Who is the fittest at each club???
Irymple: Brad Eaton and Timmy Roberts have been setting blistering times. Sam Curran also as fit as ive seen him in a while But thats not from footy thats just from chasing around all his little 1s ;).
Abit quite from the kennal come on mallee boy give us some info re sonny i know ur the man the know out at doggie land. Jas Mac heading to SA will leave a mighty hole to fill in the back line im tipping.
Wells Train
22 Feb 2008, 12:25
Come on Guys ive never seen this site so dead. With the football season only 6-8 weeks away surely there is some goss to report on.
Irymple: Brad Eaton and Timmy Roberts have been setting blistering times. Sam Curran also as fit as ive seen him in a while But thats not from footy thats just from chasing around all his little 1s ;).
Abit quite from the kennal come on mallee boy give us some info re sonny i know ur the man the know out at doggie land. Jas Mac heading to SA will leave a mighty hole to fill in the back line im tipping.
As you hear people say every year this is the best preseason until the next one. At Merbein everybody seems to be a lot fitter than the last few years with Merv running things. A few blokes looking good a lot of young fellas, Jenkins and Davis are flying at the moment as is meggsy duscher. Riordo is right in the thick of it at an early stage. I think we will be fitter across the board.
Any word on more recruits for anyone? Surely lists must be getting finalised getting so close to round 1. Hows the big man department looking at the swallows delray?
wayne23
22 Feb 2008, 22:12
Wenty looking good. James Watt staying another year and is flying. Belly is in good condition, look for another good year, J.Clay, Alvey, A.Rigby, Lipetri, R & Z MGlynn all very fit. Expect the usual from B.Rigby, Cumming, King, Johns, Bath. If Ough plays again, the boys look alot better on paper.
Wacky Tiger
25 Feb 2008, 13:16
So is there going to be a pre-season comp this year. Havent heard much lately it seems really quiet round here
PantheraLeo
25 Feb 2008, 13:49
Hey Delray, heard over the vines that you blokes might have a BIG recruit? Local boy, returning home. Will be D-lightful if it's true! ;)
News to me but ill keep yous informed as the information comes to hand.
Yep there is a preseason comp, friday and saturday after Easter. all clubs will play 1 game of 2 * 20 minute halfs. Best % wins
Will be Ok i would have rathered the exact same format but with a full four 1/4's would have encouraged more supporters to show up in my opinion. Should be still good to see how the clubs a going.
Wacky Tiger
25 Feb 2008, 16:30
Thanks Delray
Wooderson
25 Feb 2008, 18:49
So is there going to be a pre-season comp this year. Havent heard much lately it seems really quiet round here
What date does the actual season start??
Season starts on the 5th of April with with irymple and mildura playing on the 6th.
wizard_9
26 Feb 2008, 12:24
Anyone know where i can get a fixture from?
Yaaablett
26 Feb 2008, 13:21
fixture- p 332
wizard_9
26 Feb 2008, 15:18
fixture- p 332
Where??
Can you provide a link or something??
Wacky Tiger
27 Feb 2008, 08:23
Here ya go Wiz
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=222895&page=332
can someone confirm whether jackson from wentworth has left wenty or still out there heard he was training there last week??
Peter Mac
27 Feb 2008, 13:13
Greetings gentleman, any mail on the boy Merbein are trying to bring in from Sorrento (Mornington Peninsula Nepean FL)? Kicked 25 goals in a team that played finals footy last year.
I heard also heard a rumor that MaxFM is looking to replace Billy and Patty in the commentary box this season with Tony McCarthy & Sammy Smythe!!
Greetings gentleman, any mail on the boy Merbein are trying to bring in from Sorrento (Mornington Peninsula Nepean FL)? Kicked 25 goals in a team that played finals footy last year.
I heard also heard a rumor that MaxFM is looking to replace Billy and Patty in the commentary box this season with Tony McCarthy & Sammy Smythe!!
Mac daddy did he kick them in 1 game or what???
Gee now that sonny has gone and maggies have lost there financial backer the hype around town has reduced dramaticly. Whats the news guys any 1 got praccy matches lined up?
Wells Train
27 Feb 2008, 17:37
Gee now that sonny has gone and maggies have lost there financial backer the hype around town has reduced dramaticly. Whats the news guys any 1 got praccy matches lined up?
Yeah merbein play south on a sunday i think the 16th. Should be good to have a hitout before easter. Won't say anything on our new blokes just yet....
Hows Bald O'Bree shaping up this year, Mildura still favorites
Peter Mac
28 Feb 2008, 10:55
No, no Delboy 25 snag rolls for the season.
Mate there hasn't been a lot of news from the Swallows camp,
perhaps our good friend "T-bag" could fill us in with the lastest from
Menschilwood Oval.
dunkarob
28 Feb 2008, 20:22
Sonny has gone? please elabirate a bit.
rocksolidlee
29 Feb 2008, 08:53
Peter Mac
What position is this player that is playing for the pies? Is he a top line player??
Cheers mate
Good to see FEV is still keeping up his good form!
Sonny has gone? please elabirate a bit.
Well i was told he has signed for Ouyen. i thought it may have been a rumor was just hopping to get some kind of comformation.
Well with pracky games lined up this week and next we should know a little bit more on how the swallows will be looking.
Wells Train
3 Mar 2008, 17:05
Well i was told he has signed for Ouyen. i thought it may have been a rumor was just hopping to get some kind of comformation.
Well with pracky games lined up this week and next we should know a little bit more on how the swallows will be looking.
It will be difficult to say on some sides. You wouldn't think that everybody would field their strongest sides in praccy matches. I would say look a little more to the pre season comp or the first few games of the season. Will be get to get a run or two under the belt though.....
Peter Mac
4 Mar 2008, 12:54
An on-baller I believe Rock.
rocksolidlee
5 Mar 2008, 10:41
An on-baller I believe Rock.
Cheers Mate!
Yaaablett
5 Mar 2008, 11:14
Anyone got anything to say? This is a very sad thread at the minute.
Peter Mac
5 Mar 2008, 13:16
Anyone got anything to say? This is a very sad thread at the minute.
What does Season 2008 hold for you Yabbs?
Are you likely to hold down a key position down back,
or can we see you joining forces with Nobby, Bowser
and Schelfie at the beer van?
How will the young fellow Dawson shape up on return
from Bendigo?
Heard reports about a dodgy shoulder.
I noticed that Red Cliffs lost a player to Nangiloc via the time limit on clearances. Is this the club taking an easy way out on clearances or did they stuff it up. Nangiloc would be pleased. Hope the player hadnt changes his mind.
whats the go with wenty how are the likes of lipetri, rigby's, clay's and bell shaping up are they fit or any injuries?
Yaaablett
6 Mar 2008, 09:18
What does Season 2008 hold for you Yabbs?
Are you likely to hold down a key position down back,
or can we see you joining forces with Nobby, Bowser
and Schelfie at the beer van?
How will the young fellow Dawson shape up on return
from Bendigo?
Heard reports about a dodgy shoulder.
Josh had a pretty standard clean out at the end of last season on a sore shoulder and is now doing all the competitive stuff and did all of the 300 or so push ups Breeza made us do last night while running 18 holes at Riverside. Looks very fit and should slot into the midfield rotations somewhere. I'll switch between back and fwd and see what happens.
Skeeterman
6 Mar 2008, 10:49
Josh had a pretty standard clean out at the end of last season on a sore shoulder and is now doing all the competitive stuff and did all of the 300 or so push ups Breeza made us do last night while running 18 holes at Riverside. Looks very fit and should slot into the midfield rotations somewhere. I'll switch between back and fwd and see what happens.
I thought you had your eyes set on a midfield spot this year also??
Didn't see too many there that have a career in golf after their footy careers are overtho Yaabs
kicktheballlong
13 Mar 2008, 11:03
Can anyone tell me about a couple of boys heading to Cairns. Jason Eagle, Adam Couch & Mark Robertson. I think they played for Irymple.
rocksolidlee
13 Mar 2008, 15:40
Can anyone tell me about a couple of boys heading to Cairns. Jason Eagle, Adam Couch & Mark Robertson. I think they played for Irymple.
Mate Jason Eagle is a gun. He was the best full forward in the comp here last year and will leave a very big hole in Irymples side. Nearly could play AFL with the right coach I feel. Not sure on the other 2 boys.
Yeah eagle will help your side out no end. the other 2 didnt play for irymple.
I have heard it from a reliable source that sth have picked up a gun player. CHF. Is this true????? come on some 1 from sth get on here and let us know whats happening. Will Trevor Ryan play?????
usedtobethin
13 Mar 2008, 20:27
Mate Jason Eagle is a gun. He was the best full forward in the comp here last year and will leave a very big hole in Irymples side. Nearly could play AFL with the right coach I feel. Not sure on the other 2 boys.
best in comp? you ever seen a bloke called ant matthews play?
Ha ha ha bigrig now i know for a fact that ur lying on both counts. The silly season has been abit slow for the SFL. Has any1 actually signed any players of yet??????
Well delray i was not far off the mark, not Airley Beach but up nth where i was told he was going back in Oct 07.:thumbsu:
Now another story which will happen is Sonny iluvmoney will play at Ouyen in 08' and will play enough to qualify to play finals but wait their is more Kieran O'Shannessy will also be wearing the Ouyen guernsey!!:eek:
What is Sth going to have to get them off the bottom?? They will need more than the gun CHF they have apparently signed.:thumbsd:
Well rig the oshanassy thing was news to me. yeah at this stage it seems as though there losses may just be a little infront of there gains.
As for eagle i think u may have stated that he had signed which i new was untrue. he has been linked to about 10 different clubs till he finally made his decision to head up to carins.
Irymple Vs wentworth in a practice match at darton tomorrow at 10.
any other teams lined up praccy games.
3inarow
14 Mar 2008, 13:25
I hear Merbein have lost another Ass coach, can anyone confirm Gane has left town.
All this talk of Merbein being premiers in 08 must surely now be a dream, all they have picked up is has beens and milliwa players. The merbein boys on here have gone quiet:p
3inarow
14 Mar 2008, 13:29
Can the south boys let me know if Fox has resigned
GAblett
14 Mar 2008, 15:21
I hear Merbein have lost another Ass coach, can anyone confirm Gane has left town.
All this talk of Merbein being premiers in 08 must surely now be a dream, all they have picked up is has beens and milliwa players. The merbein boys on here have gone quiet:p
i have heard a rumor that he may be in a little bit of hot water and has to leave the area for sometime not to sure on the what the go is, i know he was keen to head to adelaide and been seen over the last few weeks but thats all i know.
yer talked to gane sat night, seems to be true! also heard that merbeins ruckman signed with Loxton!! All these blokes coming 'back' to merbein wont help them much... would any SFL seinor club pay Meggzie Duscher $400 a game???
Wells Train
14 Mar 2008, 19:29
yer talked to gane sat night, seems to be true! also heard that merbeins ruckman signed with Loxton!! All these blokes coming 'back' to merbein wont help them much... would any SFL seinor club pay Meggzie Duscher $400 a game???
I can't believe the drivel you come out with. I know for a fact there is no merbein footballer getting paid that much. You are dillusional, J Wright is contracted and Riordo is assistant coach so i don't think out rucks are going anywhere. Ganey has been at training the last 2 weeks and taking some sessions so wake up. You are having your leg pulled, anyway we play south at golly on sunday morning. Ha you are funny........
deposit
15 Mar 2008, 16:06
I can't believe the drivel you come out with. I know for a fact there is no merbein footballer getting paid that much. You are dillusional, J Wright is contracted and Riordo is assistant coach so i don't think out rucks are going anywhere. Ganey has been at training the last 2 weeks and taking some sessions so wake up. You are having your leg pulled, anyway we play south at golly on sunday morning. Ha you are funny........
I heard you will be paying Frog Keach that much this year
wayne23
16 Mar 2008, 17:15
I heard you will be paying Frog Keach that much this year
i wouldn't pay Frog Keatch any more than $50 a game. He is one of the most over rated hacks in the league. All he does is try to take hangers, he is loose, and his skills are shite.:thumbsd:
I hear Gane has had to leave town and is in a bit of trouble.
deposit
16 Mar 2008, 18:38
i wouldn't pay Frog Keatch any more than $50 a game. He is one of the most over rated hacks in the league. All he does is try to take hangers, he is loose, and his skills are shite.:thumbsd:
I hear Gane has had to leave town and is in a bit of trouble.
Agree, but they like him at Merbein and I heard they are going to pay big bucks for him
chris vorweek
16 Mar 2008, 20:14
Went out to merbein and sth practice match today...both sides shown some good signs... merbein i though wouldve played better but obviously still have to get used to some unfamilure faces...sths young kids held them in it a standout in young nathen johns and a new face brian fentin i think hes name is..lets hope they look after him and dont let what happend with brad thomas :) . . . .big riordo went ok as with simon robertson...
well wentworth rolled us both with very undermaned sides.
there CHF played real well.
Well it seems as though the bottom 4 sides will certainly pick up and the top four sides apart from mildura may be on par or a little worse off then 07.
Should make for an extremly interesting 2008 season.
Rabbito
17 Mar 2008, 10:31
well wentworth rolled us both with very undermaned sides.
there CHF played real well.
Well it seems as though the bottom 4 sides will certainly pick up and the top four sides apart from mildura may be on par or a little worse off then 07.
Should make for an extremly interesting 2008 season.
Who played at CHF? Dawes?
Not sure they said he was a young kid. took some strong grabs and kicked some really long goals
magpie graham
17 Mar 2008, 15:48
Wake up to yourself **** head, merbein isn't paying any player that much money bar maybe the coaches. The crap you blokes come up with is absolute shit and u have far too much time on your hands to worry about what our club is paying players get a life scum.
magpie graham
17 Mar 2008, 16:01
The only people talking up merbein to be premiers in 08 are all you wankers, merbein will be more than happy to be competitive every week and win 4 or 5 games.
deposit
17 Mar 2008, 16:24
The only people talking up merbein to be premiers in 08 are all you wankers, merbein will be more than happy to be competitive every week and win 4 or 5 games.
I suggest you go back through the posts on here and you will see pages of crap from your two headed mates talking them up.
magpie graham
17 Mar 2008, 17:49
I suggest you go back through the posts on here and you will see pages of crap from your two headed mates talking them up.
I was always told two heads are better than one, the fact is merbein is rebuilding with some experiance (riordo, chooka, hooker) and the kids we already had and bobby griffith who played very well against south on sunday.
[quote=Delray;10321859]Well rig the oshanassy thing was news to me. yeah at this stage it seems as though there losses may just be a little infront of there gains.
I see the clearance has been put through for O'Shannessy for Ouyen.
I would say sths will make it difficult to leave like every other clearance so far. :thumbsd:
His brother Danny O'Shannessy is the Ouyen coach so cant blame him for wanting to leave as both are not getting any younger and probably last chance to have a run together.
I hear that Andrew Ryan is going to lace up with Souths this year is this right Delray or anyone
that might know??:confused:
Apparently he is mates with or has played under Trevor Ryan at Birchip.
Lots of talk about Merbein/Sths etc but Red Cliffs seem to be sneeking under the radar.
Maybe Ibis might be able to fill us in with whats happening unless his brother has given him strict instructions not to comment??:thumbsu:
wayne23
19 Mar 2008, 06:50
I hear that Andrew Ryan is going to lace up with Souths this year is this right Delray or anyone
Lots of talk about Merbein/Sths etc but Red Cliffs seem to be sneeking under the radar.
Maybe Ibis might be able to fill us in with whats happening unless his brother has given him strict instructions not to comment??:thumbsu:[/quote]
Andy is part of the Ryan clan, they have played alot of footy together including quite a few flags. They are cousins or something i believe.
enforcer7
19 Mar 2008, 21:40
rik22 u r toss how would u no how much people get paid u r a bum jabber. do u no he won 2 bak 2 bak club b&f at werrimull runner up in the leauge and leeding goal kicker wake up 2 ur self
woopie doo!! i wonder how hard that would of been?? jesus im 38 and i could of done that!!! we'll just wait and see if the 2 years playing at werrimull has made him a better footballer?
enforcer7
20 Mar 2008, 10:38
woopie doo!! i wonder how hard that would of been?? jesus im 38 and i could of done that!!! we'll just wait and see if the 2 years playing at werrimull has made him a better footballer?
ok then super star c wat happens hey! its not hard to tell you dnt watch many local games but u just keep pretending you no evrythn bout the sfl and mfl
ROOTA#6
20 Mar 2008, 16:38
Maybe Ibis might be able to fill us in with whats happening unless his brother has given him strict instructions not to comment??:thumbsu:
Andy is part of the Ryan clan, they have played alot of footy together including quite a few flags. They are cousins or something i believe.[/quote]
Andy and Trevor are cousins. They along with Andy's twin brother Brad have played together at a few clubs around the traps that Trevor has coached
TAJAMANIA
20 Mar 2008, 23:51
Anyone tell me who is coaching the 2's out at red cliffs?
Peter Mac
24 Mar 2008, 14:08
Any mail boys on the new signings at South???
Scott Day (Hamilton Imperials)
Michael Otto (Maroochydore)
Brett Beswick (Unley)
madness666
24 Mar 2008, 21:52
they look alright, two are key position players, sth also have gained piggy Hamdorf's brothers, both very handy players.
enforcer7
25 Mar 2008, 10:20
they look alright, two are key position players, sth also have gained piggy Hamdorf's brothers, both very handy players.
i hear that piggy is not happy there and off to balranald and his brother is at bambil any truth in that?
Piggy is easily the best player of those brothers. Aaron goes ok or used to at imps and the younger brother couldn't outrun Bill Sauer. Sad to say but it looks like a spoon this year for the doggies:(
`kURupT
25 Mar 2008, 21:59
Lightning Prems this Friday, I know its not everybody's full team but who plays who and what are our tips?
mildone
25 Mar 2008, 22:48
i hear that piggy is not happy there and off to balranald and his brother is at bambil any truth in that?
no truth in that
mildone
25 Mar 2008, 22:51
Piggy is easily the best player of those brothers. Aaron goes ok or used to at imps and the younger brother couldn't outrun Bill Sauer. Sad to say but it looks like a spoon this year for the doggies:(
so piggy should he has spent most of his life in footy where the other two have taken diffrent paths
enforcer7
26 Mar 2008, 10:13
so piggy should he has spent most of his life in footy where the other two have taken diffrent paths
yeh he is pritty soft dnt think i hav ever cn him get a hard ball. was a good receiver in his day.
TAJAMANIA
26 Mar 2008, 11:36
Ben Ridley and Simon Prymkie signed with Red Cliffs?? any truth to this!!??
Also heard Mark Tasiyan is back...
Peter Mac
26 Mar 2008, 13:37
Lightning Prems this Friday, I know its not everybody's full team but who plays who and what are our tips?
Friday's opener may tell us a lot about what to expect
from the Dogs and the Pies in 2008.
Robinvale v Wenty and the Swallows and Imps should both prove to be competitive
encounters, while you would expect the Dees to get the job done against
the home side under lights on Saturday night.
Peter Mac
26 Mar 2008, 13:40
Here's a bit of mail on South's recruit from the Western Border Footy League:
"can play when he puts his mind to it......played as a third tall forward scott could very dangerous......leads up well and is a reasonably strong mark.......left footer who can spray his shots at goal a bit.
Alternatively playing him on a wing could be a good spot for him too......not that he is scared but likes to move about to the ball a bit.
His biggest problem is himself......gets down on himself a lot and sulks a bit......but all in all should play some good footy for you.
Young, strong and fit!"
clifton's lookalike
26 Mar 2008, 17:53
Ben Ridley and Simon Prymkie signed with Red Cliffs?? any truth to this!!??
Also heard Mark Tasiyan is back...
prymke has been cleared to east geelong so there is no truth to that
JohnGastev
28 Mar 2008, 14:58
Delray, rumor is there's going to be a few players running around come round 7 that are going to have you in their sights. Can you shed any light on this situation?
I'm hearing there's going to be a big red target right on the end of your schnoz that they're going to aim at.
JohnGastev
28 Mar 2008, 15:00
Has the footy world gone mad? Josh Dawson was fined 50% of his match fee and slapped with a one-match ban after being seen urinating in a potplant in Langtree Mall. Look for an article from slammin' Sam Smythe in the coming weeks about SFL players behaving badly
Ha ha ha things must be quite up in melbourne.
Well rnd 7 Irymple play Imps, i have heard a rumor that Imps are flying in a couple of no hopers to finish something the great man Goat Richardson started way back on his 21st when he had hair ha ha ha.
Ill just wait and see what comes of it ;)
Friday night Football.
Attendence seemed to be good and i think the clubs benifited from the full four 1/4s. What are the big footy thoughts?? I reckon the SFL might be on a winner here. The super goals are a great idea.
Sth lack some big bodies and Merbeins experiance proved to be valuable in the second half. Fenton and Day will olny get better as the season goes. Merbein seem to have a list that heve been together for a while all of the good players played well. Byrnes looks to be a fantastic pick up for the maggies.
Who will stop Jason Bell????? compared to Sth both Robinvale and W/Worth had a far bigger framed side. I was expecting the result to be alot closer. Wentworth done real well and landded a couple of super goals. I do like the Eagles list i just reckon cus the coach is very new it will take him a couple more weeks to get them all firing.
Will be very intresting to see how tonights games go. Just looking at our list we have 2 players over 25 years old and thats it.
Looks like all clubs seem to be in the same boat its gunna be a tight season im tipping.
Ha ha ha things must be quite up in melbourne.
Well rnd 7 Irymple play Imps, i have heard a rumor that Imps are flying in a couple of no hopers to finish something the great man Goat Richardson started way back on his 21st when he had hair ha ha ha.
Ill just wait and see what comes of it ;)
Friday night Football.
Attendence seemed to be good and i think the clubs benifited from the full four 1/4s. What are the big footy thoughts?? I reckon the SFL might be on a winner here. The super goals are a great idea.
Sth lack some big bodies and Merbeins experiance proved to be valuable in the second half. Fenton and Day will olny get better as the season goes. Merbein seem to have a list that heve been together for a while all of the good players played well. Byrnes looks to be a fantastic pick up for the maggies.
Who will stop Jason Bell????? compared to Sth both Robinvale and W/Worth had a far bigger framed side. I was expecting the result to be alot closer. Wentworth done real well and landded a couple of super goals. I do like the Eagles list i just reckon cus the coach is very new it will take him a couple more weeks to get them all firing.
Will be very intresting to see how tonights games go. Just looking at our list we have 2 players over 25 years old and thats it.
Looks like all clubs seem to be in the same boat its gunna be a tight season im tipping.
well here is hoping the comp will be a bit closer this year
Nakriel
31 Mar 2008, 14:03
I think the weekend got to show off a lot of great young talent that is coming through, which will be only good for the league in general
well here is hoping the comp will be a bit closer this year
Ibis100
31 Mar 2008, 14:32
Well it was great to see the very very young side of Red Cliffs get up over Mildura. I am surprised more hasn't been said about this on here. South look to be struggling to be competitive and it will only be worse against the top clubs.
Robinvale are always an unknown and it was a surprise that Wentworth who I think (And still do) will struggle throughout the year win by so much. Merbein can take heart that they will be competitive this year.
Irymple obviously are travelling alright and with a good win over Imps may have shown that IMps are finally going to struggle and with news that they are struggling to field a two's team it might spell the end of an era. (But you can never write the green and whites off).
Mildura will have been brought down to earth with the loss knowing they did field almost all thier senior players. This year could be close right from second last to top. (Sorry South, you aren't going to be anywhere near it.)
Good luck to all this weekend and lets hope us Tigers (Yep I have jumped on board as the runner so I can claim to be one now) come away with a good win over the much improved Maggies.
3inarow
31 Mar 2008, 15:20
Well it was great to see the very very young side of Red Cliffs get up over Mildura. I am surprised more hasn't been said about this on here. South look to be struggling to be competitive and it will only be worse against the top clubs.
Robinvale are always an unknown and it was a surprise that Wentworth who I think (And still do) will struggle throughout the year win by so much. Merbein can take heart that they will be competitive this year.
Irymple obviously are travelling alright and with a good win over Imps may have shown that IMps are finally going to struggle and with news that they are struggling to field a two's team it might spell the end of an era. (But you can never write the green and whites off).
Mildura will have been brought down to earth with the loss knowing they did field almost all thier senior players. This year could be close right from second last to top. (Sorry South, you aren't going to be anywhere near it.)
Good luck to all this weekend and lets hope us Tigers (Yep I have jumped on board as the runner so I can claim to be one now) come away with a good win over the much improved Maggies.
Red Cliffs must be estatic that you have jumped on board, the committee out there will love you talking them up.
No one will get within 10 goals of Mildura this year and if you think Red Cliffs will go close then you better get your hand off it.
My ladder at end of year is- Mildura
Wenty
Imps
Robinvale
Irymple
Red cliffs
South
Merbein
Top 2 positions wont change and next 4 could go any way. South and Merbein might beat each other but thats about it.
Nakriel
31 Mar 2008, 15:32
Deckert, Cardew both aldertons Vining, Dean Slorach, all not playing, would have made a difference in the outcome on Saturday night I beleive