View Full Version : Sunraysia Football league
Nakriel
15 May 2008, 00:42
Dont you like sonny Spivey, bet you wish you had him at south while you were coaching?
He won us a flag and would be one of the most gifted players I have seen, just a loose cannon off the field.
Next subject, who at this stage is premiership favourites? My tip is wenty with our boys runners up again
Takes more than one player to win a flag, if I was palying reserves at sth I would be looking for a clearance, hiring mercenaries is a bit of de javu. Just a loose cannon off the field, the bloke is an absolute maniac, plenty of ability shame about the roos in the top paddock
Hillite
15 May 2008, 17:54
Is that Crocker at Red Cliffs the same one that used to play at Irymple in the u18s???
Whats going on up there thought mildura were teh team to beat??
Ibis100
16 May 2008, 12:19
Dont you like sonny Spivey, bet you wish you had him at south while you were coaching?
He won us a flag and would be one of the most gifted players I have seen, just a loose cannon off the field.
Next subject, who at this stage is premiership favourites? My tip is wenty with our boys runners up again
I like the footy he plays but no as a person he isn't high on my list.
In fact for you info, the South Footy club wanted Sonny when I was coaching and I told them no. They apparently wanted to change the way the club did thier business off the field and wanted to change the drinking and party culture about the place and took some steps toward that but then they wanted to bring a person like Sonny in to the club. It well known about his antics off the field and I don't think having a person around the club like that promotes a great environment for kids which is what the club was suppose to be about at the time.
I find it quite funny that he gets in the paper and says he tries to be role model for the kids, if that's the role model they want at the club then good luck to them. There is more to having a good club than having a good individual player.
He has played one game at south and already generated some very bad publicity whether what he did was right or not, so I think my decision at the time is vindicated.
Lad of the Manor
16 May 2008, 12:23
Is that Crocker at Red Cliffs the same one that used to play at Irymple in the u18s???
Yes it is
Well at 2 and 5 i reckon its gunna be hard but not immpossible for the Dees to make the finals.
Well it looks like R/Vale have firmed at this stage, with in my opinion Imps to finish second. Wentworh 3rd and No comment for 4th at this stage i reckon its just a little to tight to call.
What are your thoughts on the mcleod medal 7 rnds in are the paper votes a good indicator. Currans best on were clear for the swallows and moncur has had a great start to the year. Any other smokeys at this stage.
Ibis100
19 May 2008, 13:53
Top four taking shape after 7 rounds. Was interesting to watch Mildura on the weekend. They seem to be a shade of last years premiership side. Understandable they have a few out but the playing list they put on the field on Saturday I would have expected to perform better. Thier skills under pressure were suspect and without the clean disposal from O'Bree (Didn't Play) and others that did, their forwards really struggled. Oldham did a great job on Matthews with plenty of help from the guys surrounding him and the pressure up the ground.
Robinvale paid the best of tributes to Donny with a great win over Wenty.
South as expected flogged Merbein who can't seem to get this happening at the moment and Imps showed they are going to be right there come september with a strong performance against Irymple.
Perusing the Ladder and the next two weeks draw, it is possible the top 4 will take on a more permanent look.
Red Cliffs are a great chance to go two games clear in the four if they can defeat Merbein and with a bit of luck and some results from other games going their way. EG: If Mildura Hit back with a win over Irymple this weekend and Robinvale defeating South, (Both highly possible) that puts them two clear of the nearest team behind them.
With Imps and Wenty going head to head in what will definately be a big match with second spot up for grabs, Red Cliffs could end up in fourth only on percentage and two games clear. Who would have thought.
My final four as of Round 7
Imperials
Robinvale
Wentworth
Red Cliffs
With Just two wins, Mildura will need to win 85-90 percent of their remaining games to make the four and on current form I can't see them turning it around. Especially playing Imps, Robinvale and Irymple 3 times. They will certainly get up another 6 or 7 but I think 10-11 wins will be needed to make the finals.
Robinvale cruising along nicely under thier coach and Imps, well we always know they are their abouts and they have Maloney and Hards to step back in.
Wenty should make it as long as they aren't hit by injuries. Belly will need to keep his body going as he is thier focal point and they don't have much in the two's to bring in. They play a good brand of footy but they also have the ability to throw matches they are expected to win. If Alves gets on top of that they will finish top 3.
Red Cliffs are the biggest improvers and you may say I am biased but I think most will agree. They have defeated Imps, Mildura, South and Merbein and should have defeated Irymple. They need to get over Robinvale and Wenty to prove they are genuine contenders and seeing they play Robinvale, Imps and Wenty three times they will need defeat each of these once at least to hold on to fourth spot.
South have started to win a couple of games but more will be known about thier real state over the next few weeks. They have Imps, Wenty, Robinvale and Irymple three times which will make near impossible to make finals as I can't see them having another win against any of those four who have more depth.
Irymple could sneak in but are very young and very up and down this year. They got over Red Cliffs and Mildura but have lost to South and all other teams above them. They will improve but I think finals might be just out of reach.
3inarow
19 May 2008, 15:21
I tend to agree with you ibis, think the final 4 is set. Cant believe Mildura has slipped so far back, what a shame.
Only think 3 sides can win it through. Wenty, robinvale and imps all seem about even at this stage. Wenty cant afford any injury's as they have no reserve players so I guess time will tell.
I believe Moncur would be way ahead in the Mcleod at the moment as he is a stand out in all their games. Dark horses are Clohesy if he continues his great form or Fox if south win enough games
3inarow
20 May 2008, 10:30
Here is my interleague team so far-
Woolford Rigby Handreck
Oldham Simms Eaton
R Hards Curren Alvey
Clohesy O'Connor Petrie
Fox Bell O'Bree
Moncur
Denaro
B Hards
INTER- Cumming
Anstey
Matthews
Walder
Em- Cook (back)
Atkinson (ruck)
Spenser
What do people think?
clifton3
21 May 2008, 08:53
I tend to agree with you ibis, think the final 4 is set. Cant believe Mildura has slipped so far back, what a shame.
Only think 3 sides can win it through. Wenty, robinvale and imps all seem about even at this stage. Wenty cant afford any injury's as they have no reserve players so I guess time will tell.
I believe Moncur would be way ahead in the Mcleod at the moment as he is a stand out in all their games. Dark horses are Clohesy if he continues his great form or Fox if south win enough games
Wouldnt have thought so, Moncur and fox would be a fair way in front.
recliffs number 5
22 May 2008, 00:14
I like the footy he plays but no as a person he isn't high on my list.
In fact for you info, the South Footy club wanted Sonny when I was coaching and I told them no. They apparently wanted to change the way the club did thier business off the field and wanted to change the drinking and party culture about the place and took some steps toward that but then they wanted to bring a person like Sonny in to the club. It well known about his antics off the field and I don't think having a person around the club like that promotes a great environment for kids which is what the club was suppose to be about at the time.
I find it quite funny that he gets in the paper and says he tries to be role model for the kids, if that's the role model they want at the club then good luck to them. There is more to having a good club than having a good individual player.
He has played one game at south and already generated some very bad publicity whether what he did was right or not, so I think my decision at the time is vindicated.
are you jason spivey? i play footy for red cliffs in under 16s and under 18s.. i went through all the pre season with the senior boys and they are great bunch of blokes and have plenty of skill. i think they will make the top 4 if they keep up there form. i thought you were playing for them this year? and was ment to be captain or something like that? matty walder has done a brilliant job so far.
Ibis100
22 May 2008, 00:38
are you jason spivey? i play footy for red cliffs in under 16s and under 18s.. i went through all the pre season with the senior boys and they are great bunch of blokes and have plenty of skill. i think they will make the top 4 if they keep up there form. i thought you were playing for them this year? and was ment to be captain or something like that? matty walder has done a brilliant job so far.
You are correct big fella. I was going to play and do an Ass Coach thing but can't as you know cause of my arm. Matty always does the captaincy so that was never going to happen. He has a good plan for the next couple of years and if the boys can stick to it they will be very good come the next couple of years. No overnight miracles, just hard work and discipline and hopefully the long term plans will come together. Amazing what you can do with the support of the committee and the right people around you. Been good thus far but still a long way to go.:thumbsu:
recliffs number 5
22 May 2008, 23:00
You are correct big fella. I was going to play and do an Ass Coach thing but can't as you know cause of my arm. Matty always does the captaincy so that was never going to happen. He has a good plan for the next couple of years and if the boys can stick to it they will be very good come the next couple of years. No overnight miracles, just hard work and discipline and hopefully the long term plans will come together. Amazing what you can do with the support of the committee and the right people around you. Been good thus far but still a long way to go.:thumbsu:
yeh i thought i heard that! would of been good to have you play, i heard you go in pretty hard and are a good player! yeh red cliffs are a great club and have a good comittee and matty has made that senior side very discplined and fit. Hopefully i get a game up there in a year or two :) arnt you and matty related? nice to meet you mate :thumbsu:
3inarow
23 May 2008, 13:34
this weeks predictions
IMPS v's wenty-35pts- We won easy last time and with Petrie on fire he should kick a bag. Wenty will struggle with no Ough and forced to move Clay into the ruck away from CHF
RED CLIFFS V's Merbein-85pts-Red cliffs playing good football at the moment and Merbein are worse than what they were last year
ROBINVALE v's South-41pts- Robinvale seem to be the team to beat as they have beaten both us and wenty in first round. South struggle against quality teams
MILDURA v's Irymple-5pts- If Mildura drop this game, their season is over so they have to win but they are slow and unfit so I expect a close game. Irymple's young guns hold the key, if they get on top early Mildura wont catch them.
3inarow
23 May 2008, 16:09
Whats going on at Merbien? Noticed that there has been 6 players putting in clearances to leave the club in the last 6 days.
One players was or is their ass coach in Mark East who is wanting to go back to Cardross.
Something must be seriously wrong with Merbein if a player wants to go to a team who never kicked a goal on Saturday?
Harry29
23 May 2008, 16:14
Whats going on at Merbien? Noticed that there has been 6 players putting in clearances to leave the club in the last 6 days.
One players was or is their ass coach in Mark East who is wanting to go back to Cardross.
Something must be seriously wrong with Merbein if a player wants to go to a team who never kicked a goal on Saturday?
A very unhappy camp from all reports, not entirely sure why? At the end of the day lets hope they get it together and become more competitive because the rest of the competition is very even.
Harry29
23 May 2008, 16:21
Imps v Wenty 12 points. Could go either way will be a very even contest.
Red Cliffs v Merbein 60 points. Merbein are in disarray at present.
Robinvale v South 30 points. South have been up, but Robinvale look to strong all over the ground.
Mildura v Irymple 18 points. Mildura are misfiring at the moment, Irymple to pounce and just about finish their season.
Nakriel
23 May 2008, 20:49
yeh i thought i heard that! would of been good to have you play, i heard you go in pretty hard and are a good player! yeh red cliffs are a great club and have a good comittee and matty has made that senior side very discplined and fit. Hopefully i get a game up there in a year or two :) arnt you and matty related? nice to meet you mate :thumbsu:
Hey Ibis I can't believe that you have got your mum writing stuff:D
Ibis100
23 May 2008, 20:57
Hey Ibis I can't believe that you have got your mum writing stuff:D
I needed to cause noone else on here is saying anything.:D:D
My tips
IMPS -3 points
Red Cliffs - 122 points
Robinvale 45 points
Mildura 9 points
TAJAMANIA
28 May 2008, 14:24
Woolford Rigby Handreck
Oldham Simms Eaton
R Hards Curren Alvey
Clohesy O'Connor Petrie
Fox Bell O'Bree
Moncur
Denaro
B Hards
INTER- Cumming
Anstey
Matthews
Walder
Em- Cook (back)
Atkinson (ruck)
Spenser
What do people think?
Good team... what you's think of this team??:
B: D.Thornton C.Keatch R.Handreck
HB: P.Jenkins A.Rigby B.Eaton
C: M.Hahnel S.Curran A.Davis
HF: R.Malic A.Matthews B.O'Connor
F: M.Walder J.McManus D.Fox
R: T.Moncur
RR: B.Hards
Rover: D.Spicer
Int: J.Bell D.Atkinson R.Hards D.Falvo
Em: M.Faulkhead A.McClelland J.Wright B.Oldham S.Mason
Coach: T.Ryan & T.Moncur
trainer: Fred Fields
Runner: D.O'Bree
Waterboy: M.Alvey, R.Tierney & J.Spivey
I reckon there is room in that side for 1 Brad Duscher!!! he is carving up the 2nd's ATM... Go Boy Go:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Rabbito
28 May 2008, 16:01
Where has your weekly tipping post gone?
Will Merbein win a game this year? If so who?
6th and 7th spots on the ladder are abit stronger than years past.
Skeeterman
29 May 2008, 10:01
Gee surely you could fit a few more Merbein players in there somewhere!
Woolford Rigby Handreck
Oldham Simms Eaton
R Hards Curren Alvey
Clohesy O'Connor Petrie
Fox Bell O'Bree
Moncur
Denaro
B Hards
INTER- Cumming
Anstey
Matthews
Walder
Em- Cook (back)
Atkinson (ruck)
Spenser
What do people think?
Eaton on the ball I would have thought:D
3inarow
30 May 2008, 13:14
Eaton on the ball I would have thought:D
He has been playing a more defensive role this year and he would be very handy running off the back flank.
Notice on sunraysia web site Sonny has been cleared to South. I expect he would line up against us to replace Haase at full foward
Ibis100
30 May 2008, 17:27
Anyone else notice that Sunraysia is the only major league not represented at Interleague level. A decision made before the end of last year could cost us our standing amongst other leagues.
All these other leagues are in the same situation regarding water and the competition was never going to be here in Mildura anyway so I don't see why we didn't participate.
We fought our guts out to get our interleague back to a high standard and had even worked our way up to Pool C after dominating in Pool D.
I think the League will find it hard to impose any penalties on players in future games if players don't wish to play. They themselves have undone all the good work done over the past three or four years. They don't take it serious enough to be the only Major Leage not playing this year. I'm surprised the media hasn't made more out of this.
Ibis100
30 May 2008, 17:28
He has been playing a more defensive role this year and he would be very handy running off the back flank.
Notice on sunraysia web site Sonny has been cleared to South. I expect he would line up against us to replace Haase at full foward
I wonder what young local kid that has spent his life playing at the club is going to miss a game because of that inclusion. :thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:
BIGRICKY
31 May 2008, 11:42
Instead of interleague they should have all the premership teams play each other in the same Pools.
Lad of the Manor
31 May 2008, 12:46
I wonder what young local kid that has spent his life playing at the club is going to miss a game because of that inclusion. :thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:
What a ridiculous comment to make. He was recruited to the club because he is a star full forward who has the ablility to win games of his own boot. South's 22nd selected player is obviously no star and if he his not good enough to get pick than too bad. You see at an AFL team the drop old players who have served the club for a decade to be replaced by a player from another team. So why is the SFL different. You want to win games with your best 22 and Souths chances of winning increase big time with Sonny in the team
sonny is big risk considering he has burnt 3 clubs already this year and has a history of trouble following him. i could easily see how some players would be disappointed but at the end of the day the club wants to win games.
Comparing an aging AFL player who has most likely made hundreds of thousands out of the game to a young kid in country footy who has played for nothing for the club since he was in the U10s and has fought his way up to get a crack at senior footy only to be denied it by Sonny. A bit rich.
Lets stay tuned for the next Sonny saga.
Then agian it may not be a young kid that gets the chop. It maybe another player after a quid that ends up in the two.
Someones going to miss out, they'll probably get disgruntled and end up at Irymple or even worse at Imps.
Caught with the ball
1 Jun 2008, 22:57
Anyone else notice that Sunraysia is the only major league not represented at Interleague level. A decision made before the end of last year could cost us our standing amongst other leagues.
All these other leagues are in the same situation regarding water and the competition was never going to be here in Mildura anyway so I don't see why we didn't participate.
We fought our guts out to get our interleague back to a high standard and had even worked our way up to Pool C after dominating in Pool D.
I think the League will find it hard to impose any penalties on players in future games if players don't wish to play. They themselves have undone all the good work done over the past three or four years. They don't take it serious enough to be the only Major Leage not playing this year. I'm surprised the media hasn't made more out of this.
Central Murray didn't participate in the interleague set-up either. I would like to see an interleague match every year between Sunraysia & Central Murray. The 2 leagues have had several entertaining games between each other over the past 10 years. I think a 1 off full game is a much better way to go compared to the 2x20 minute halves (kids set-up) games that go on now. A 1 off game would be much better represented by players also. In time this could create a real rivalry between 2 leagues that both think they are better than each other!
Lad of the Manor
2 Jun 2008, 00:33
Comparing an aging AFL player who has most likely made hundreds of thousands out of the game to a young kid in country footy who has played for nothing for the club since he was in the U10s and has fought his way up to get a crack at senior footy only to be denied it by Sonny. A bit rich.
Lets stay tuned for the next Sonny saga.
Then agian it may not be a young kid that gets the chop. It maybe another player after a quid that ends up in the two.
Someones going to miss out, they'll probably get disgruntled and end up at Irymple or even worse at Imps.
Sorry thats what i was trying more to angle it at or some old player who has been at the club a long time but can no longer cut it at senior level but is still trying to hold on for a game
A bit quiet on here. The Irymple coach is very lucky to be playing this week after a pretty ordinary cheap shot on the weekend against wenty, with the roo player having to receive 6 stitches to his head. Very out of character for Eato.
Well i would say it was 100% out of character. So much so to suggest it may have been in retaliation?????
Even super fair players have boiling points.
Ibis u do make a good point and from what ive heard from players talking about they to are dissapointed about missing the carnival.
But in defence of the SFL all clubs were told at the start of the year that due to the uncertanity until June 30 decisions are extremly hard to make.
June 30 if no more rain water restrictions will raise and then there will be not much more football. SFL make the right decison
June 30 alot more rain comes we restrictions will remain the same and an 18 rnd season will be completed. Its just real hard to make these decisions when your trying to predict the futre its a tuff gig. But i reckon theyve got it right at this stage.
June 30 gunna be a big day for SFL footy
Well i would say it was 100% out of character. So much so to suggest it may have been in retaliation?????
Even super fair players have boiling points.
Ibis u do make a good point and from what ive heard from players talking about they to are dissapointed about missing the carnival.
But in defence of the SFL all clubs were told at the start of the year that due to the uncertanity until June 30 decisions are extremly hard to make.
June 30 if no more rain water restrictions will raise and then there will be not much more football. SFL make the right decison
June 30 alot more rain comes we restrictions will remain the same and an 18 rnd season will be completed. Its just real hard to make these decisions when your trying to predict the futre its a tuff gig. But i reckon theyve got it right at this stage.
June 30 gunna be a big day for SFL footy
I don't think they have Delray. If the games were being played here in Sunraysia then you could understand the decision.
Let me put this to you.
They don't want the grounds overused for fear they will deteriorate to a level that will not allow for the completion of 18 rounds and therefore having training for a representative team once a week would attribute to that.
Why couldn't the Rep side train on a different ground each week. ie - once at No.3, Irympe and Red Cliffs. One extra one hour session on each oval will not effect the overall standard of the grounds. That would ensure our attendance in the carnival and still allow the team to train together. Having been involved with Sunraysia Training under Tony Hickey I can tell you that the sessions are very light and quite short so I don't agree with thier decision.
I believe they have made two major contradictions to thier stand on the use of the ovals.
1. Each side has already been told they can only train once a week for 2.5hrs on their home ground. Who trains for 2.5hrs in one night. Why can't clubs spread this over two nights. This would be less destructive than running around for a solid 2.5 hrs (Which nobody in their right mind would do anyway).
2. Just this week Red Cliffs oval have had a Primary school comp on it all day and this weekend are having the underage interleague comp. Suddenly Underage Interleague is more important than Senior Interleague. Where did these kids train????
So tell me Delray, do you still agree with the decision they made???????
Yeah all good points Ibis. I just wish it would rain!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I know other leagues have to do it also but only being able to train on your oval 1 night a week is a nightmare to manage. Drought sucks i give the tip.
An irymple man tells me that Merve from Merbein was off on a recruiting mission on Saturday. Merve was runner for a mate coaching the VCFL district rep side (??).
I hope he doesnt think hes going to pick these blokes up for a song. Most of them are probably ex major league guys who have left strong leagues and are already getting a very good quid. Then there's always the battle to raise the funds to pay these blokes.
The whisper is that Merbein are struggling to pay their current crop.
An irymple man tells me that Merve from Merbein was off on a recruiting mission on Saturday. Merve was runner for a mate coaching the VCFL district rep side (??).
I hope he doesnt think hes going to pick these blokes up for a song. Most of them are probably ex major league guys who have left strong leagues and are already getting a very good quid. Then there's always the battle to raise the funds to pay these blokes.
The whisper is that Merbein are struggling to pay their current crop.
Yer got told today he has a CHB, FB and a very good FF from that VCFL district rep side on the way next season, dont know if there's truth in that though!? good to see the merbein boys take it to irymple last weekend!! good signs that a win is not that far away!!:thumbsu::thumbsu: dont be surprized if they knock off Robinvale next weekend:eek:...
:thumbsu::thumbsu:Brad Duscher is a legend:thumbsu::thumbsu:
enforcer7
10 Jun 2008, 09:50
I reckon there is room in that side for 1 Brad Duscher!!! he is carving up the 2nd's ATM... Go Boy Go:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
think you might have the wrong brother brad is fat and slow cart even get a game in the merbein 1ns who r geting pumped every week.
Hey guys stuck in melbourne at the moment can some1 give me the G & H votes for the weekend just past.
TAJAMANIA
10 Jun 2008, 17:54
think you might have the wrong brother brad is fat and slow cart even get a game in the merbein 1ns who r geting pumped every week.
He was once a star and still could be!!
enforcer7
10 Jun 2008, 20:03
He was once a star and still could be!!
i think the mfl is were he belongs and dont be supprised if he heads back out there this year . . . .
TAJAMANIA
10 Jun 2008, 20:28
i think the mfl is were he belongs and dont be supprised if he heads back out there this year . . . .
I think i know a few boys that would head out there too!!
Rabbito
11 Jun 2008, 11:35
2008 season outlook IMPERIALS ( Pos:4) Have had an upside down pre-season with maloney being re-appointed as they couldnt attract a coach and have lost a couple of players but will regain a couple or brign up some good talent.
Wentworth:( Pos:7) will struggle with a lot of speculation that players r headed for gol gol in the millewa n big belly retiring!! also tim watson reportedly heading to south. will be a long season
Mildura: ( Pos:1) mildura not losing to many players and gaining ryan tierney from cmfl. good inclusion if he can bring Prympke but 2 very loose cannons iv heard..im sure obree will handle them n shuld go back to back at this stage ...
Red Cliffs ( POs:3) Red cliffs have also had a big rumourd pre season but have signed some handy players in Walder,Spivey,Sherwell(cmfl), Mentiplay (iry) etc: some real tallent there shuld be a good yr forr the tiges..
Robinvale (Pos: 8) still not sure wether they have got a coach as yet..still talkin bout tansley hill arent they..without falvo will struggle and no reports of recruits.. also harley is a big loss..still some good players in brad oconnor n brent etc: tough year ahead
Irymple (Pos: 2) regained most of side with falvo a good pick up...lost mentiplay but should be replaced by youngster!!! good yr ahead
Sth Mildura (Pos: 5) great coach good inclusions and good regaining of team shuld be a good yr for the dogs. lots of improvement...
Merbein (pos: 6) merv back for another stint at merb. recruited a handfull of balranald players and have signed mark duscher former coach of werrimull... shuld be a better season for the pies but not sure if merv is ther key to survival
Found this post from January, interesting read. What do people think?
I'm not shit canning the post, just trying to provoke conversation.
football_legends
15 Jun 2008, 16:54
Yer got told today he has a CHB, FB and a very good FF from that VCFL district rep side on the way next season, dont know if there's truth in that though!? good to see the merbein boys take it to irymple last weekend!! good signs that a win is not that far away!!:thumbsu::thumbsu: dont be surprized if they knock off Robinvale next weekend:eek:...
:thumbsu::thumbsu:Brad Duscher is a legend:thumbsu::thumbsu:
Maggies are back taken it up to robinvale! suck raw eggs knockers of the magpies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
They still lost pal get with it.
Is Milduras season over?????? i know theres still plenty of footy to go but surely it will be alot harder to make the finals after the weekends loss.
They still lost pal get with it.
Is Milduras season over?????? i know theres still plenty of footy to go but surely it will be alot harder to make the finals after the weekends loss.
Whats going on there??? Thought they were favorites at the start of the year they havn't lost that many players have they
DOUGHNUTS
16 Jun 2008, 09:42
Whats going on there??? Thought they were favorites at the start of the year they havn't lost that many players have they
They will still make it, they are only one game out dont forget and have a far better percentage than Red Cliffs & Irymple...
mildura will get in after there sh!t start to the season
wot about the mildura under 18s undefeted until sat they play imps again in 2 weeks on a wednesday niteto make up 4 not playing anzac day will be a awsome game 2 watch
football_legends
16 Jun 2008, 19:25
Mervbein boys are making a come back! watch this space!!!!!!!!!!!!!carn the maggies!:thumbsu:
elohssa
16 Jun 2008, 22:06
the only cum back the maggies r makeing is if u roll in it after another flogging!!!
Ha ha ha piss funny.
Come on boys this site has gone to s hit. Lets get yapping. Some 1 from the Dees camp...... with a pending clearance out for 1 recruit whats going on/ happened!!!!!
Seems as though Badds may have proven a few big footy critics 1 with a spot in the final and maybe further looking good for the Roos.
Curran to firm as favorite for the Mcleod medal with moncur to miss the next 6.
Imps for the flag.
Some1 add some meaningful chat on this site please!!!!!!!
Ha ha ha piss funny.
Come on boys this site has gone to s hit. Lets get yapping. Some 1 from the Dees camp...... with a pending clearance out for 1 recruit whats going on/ happened!!!!!
Seems as though Badds may have proven a few big footy critics 1 with a spot in the final and maybe further looking good for the Roos.
Imps for the flag.
Dees starting to find some form...should slip back into the 4 come seasons end. Id say Imps and Eagles top 2, then Wenty safe in 3rd.
I agree Curran to run away with it now...rarely doesnt feature in the best players, or for that matter in top 2, only problem they dont win enough games.
i would say flag wide open now with Monkey down...Wentworth with full team on park is as good as any other side...
Delray, do you know if finals will be back at No. 1 this year, seeing the oval is as good as its been for many a year...or plans already in place to hold somewhere else?
elohssa
17 Jun 2008, 13:25
mildura to go B2B if they can deflate thier heads back to 69kpa !! eaton to poll more than curran hows that for meaningfull!!
Rabbito
17 Jun 2008, 14:55
Ha ha ha piss funny.
Imps for the flag.
Just checked the transfer list, no clearance lodged there? who is?
mildura to go B2B if they can deflate thier heads back to 69kpa !! eaton to poll more than curran hows that for meaningfull!!
Well in past years Eaton has proven to be a prolific vote getter. And his form this year has been as good as any just dosnt seem to be getting a look in for the paper votes.
Your prediction could happen but i would suggest that eaton is definitly playing catch up footy. Curran would have a minimum of 9 votes. 3 games i can recall he was easily best on ground.
Well stay tunned for the clearance shouldent be to far away if my mail is correct.
Rockman
17 Jun 2008, 21:18
G'day boys, how's my old fishin 'n' drinkn' partner Col "gumby"Rossiter going,is he gettin' a kick ? A good mate of both him and myself buggered off from down here in dreary old Seymour up to sunny Cairns to live,fish ,drink and have kick with Seymour's 2 time p/ship winning coach Steve Daniels and the last i heard is that "gumby" was supposed to be heading up as well with family in tow ? :confused:
samthemanlonergan
18 Jun 2008, 11:46
G'day lads.
Just wondering where you think the SFL would rank as a competion within the VAFA?
Which section would most teams within the SFL be competitive with?
wayne23
19 Jun 2008, 21:36
Is it true Ryan Tierney has quit Mildura and lodged a clearance to Irymple?
u may have cracked the code Wayne that was my mail early. But no clearance comming i dont think. Mildura arnt budging.
wayne23
20 Jun 2008, 10:36
u may have cracked the code Wayne that was my mail early. But no clearance comming i dont think. Mildura arnt budging.
apparently the big fella doesn't really get along with the coach or any of the players at mildura. yeah from what i've heard they won't clear him. big game tomorrow out at the George G Oval. a must win for mildura to keep their season alive and for wenty to keep their top 2 aspirations alive. some great midfield matchups and Rigby v Matthews should be another good one.
ROOTA#6
20 Jun 2008, 11:08
Why does my old mate struggle to settle in at clubs so much. He has moved around a fair bit over recent years
discoduck
20 Jun 2008, 13:12
G'day lads.
Just wondering where you think the SFL would rank as a competion within the VAFA?
Which section would most teams within the SFL be competitive with?
c or d1 i would reckon, but i haven't seen sfl for a few years now.
Get off this thread and do some work discocat!! :eek: How would you know..:confused:
Thanks for coming around and visiting me the other week tooly.:thumbsu:
apparently the big fella doesn't really get along with the coach or any of the players at mildura. yeah from what i've heard they won't clear him. big game tomorrow out at the George G Oval. a must win for mildura to keep their season alive and for wenty to keep their top 2 aspirations alive. some great midfield matchups and Rigby v Matthews should be another good one.
so wenty seems to be travelling alrite again this year, are they a chance for the flag or they just gona bundle out like they have for the last 3-4 yrs?
hows my little midget mate on hellium:D mark alvey going still yapping around is he, who is the stand out player out there this year? or better yet who is the stand out player from each club?
Rabbito
20 Jun 2008, 14:52
so wenty seems to be travelling alrite again this year, are they a chance for the flag or they just gona bundle out like they have for the last 3-4 yrs?
hows my little midget mate on hellium:D mark alvey going still yapping around is he, who is the stand out player out there this year? or better yet who is the stand out player from each club?
Mark will always have his knockers, given. This year started as a big unknown, and the club lacked depth (still does), I don't think anyone expected such a good return (so far), as far as getting bundle out (heres alot pressure on no doubt) WW are in a better place than they were in over the last couple of years. Nobody has really stood out, Wazza Brady, Zac McGlynn and James Watt have provided penty for the supports to enjoy. WW have play 9 young bloke from the u/18's this year (couple are now carving it up). Imps for the flag, WW Robinvale to give it a shake, the rest to far behind for mine.
Are you still getting a kick?
Mark will always have his knockers, given. This year started as a big unknown, and the club lacked depth (still does), I don't think anyone expected such a good return (so far), as far as getting bundle out (heres alot pressure on no doubt) WW are in a better place than they were in over the last couple of years. Nobody has really stood out, Wazza Brady, Zac McGlynn and James Watt have provided penty for the supports to enjoy. WW have play 9 young bloke from the u/18's this year (couple are now carving it up). Imps for the flag, WW Robinvale to give it a shake, the rest to far behind for mine.
Are you still getting a kick?
thanks for the update well all the best to the boys, what bout my little cuzo josh smith has he been getting a kick.
as for me yah been getting a kick or 2 were sitting 3rd only by percentage got a few outs atm but in few weeks we'll be right?
Yep W/Worth have done real well in 2008 so far, full credit to the roo boys. Is belly playing???? i havent heard much if he and austin hold up they could win it.
I really like R/vale but the loss of the coach will be massive and with Falvo out this it week could pan out to be a very intresting round of footy.
Imps are just travelling along very very nicely at this stage and with the inclusion of a couple of injured players i reckon they will be in better state this year then last.
I will go out on a lim here and say if Mildura make the 4 they will win it. Have bearly fired a shot this year i just reckon there is alot more to give out that way. However if they loose this week there chances will take another hit.
Best 1st year player for 2008??????????
Brad Eagle, Mick Tsivoglou for the swallows.
who are the other stand kids at each team???
Lad of the Manor
20 Jun 2008, 23:42
Best 1st year player for 2008??????????
Brad Eagle, Mick Tsivoglou for the swallows.
who are the other stand kids at each team???
From the Doggies Luke Teasdale,
Imps Dylan Kelly, Alex Douglas
Robinvale Justin Neyland
Ibis100
21 Jun 2008, 11:45
Well here goes.
Seven rounds left and lets look at the draw and hopes of each side leading up to finals.
Current Ladder
Robinvale 10 1
Imps 9 2
Wenty 8 3
Irymple 5 6
Red Cliffs 5 6
Mildura 4 7
South 3 8
Merbein 0 11
Robinvale
Sitting nicely at the top of the ladder with just one loss. Without Moncur they lose alot of drive but they have South, Red Cliffs, Mildura and Merbein in their last four games so almost a certaintly to finish top and go in favourites for the flag. This weekend could be the difference between top and second but have a solid few weeks with Irymple, Imps and Wenty
Finish 1 15w 3L
Imps
Travelling better than this time last year and have a very strong core of experienced players mixed with some excellent youngsters. Like I said at the start of the year, never write off the green and whites. Have a fairly good run home and with the round 13 game against Robinvale which will decide one and two at Robinvale, I am tipping them to finish second
Finish 2 14w 4L
Wenty
Have surprised everyone with their consistency this year. They are well placed to battle it out for a spot in the GF but still very susceptible if they get an injury or two to thier top players. They have had an excellent run with injury this year compared to past years and will need to nurse Belly through the rest of the year to make sure he is up and firing come finals. Rounds 14-16 will be thier test with Robinvale, Imps and Mildura. Should finish in third without any problems but can't see them pushing top two unless they win at least 2 of those three games. If they lose all three, they will be bundled out of finals in first round with lack of confidence.
Finish 3 11w 7L
Irymple
Irymple have slipped down the ladder as everyone would have imagined with the loss of key personell at the start of the year. Thier old and trusted players and holding them up but need more consistency. They need to beat all the sides above them to hold Fourth spot but with South and Merbein in thier last two games, they could manage to hold fourth spot.
Finish 5 8w 10L
Red Cliffs
Red Cliffs have certainly improved and become more competitive this year which is great for the competition. The last month has been one to forget and they need to start beating teams above them like Wenty and Imps who both defeated them comfortably. If all goes well this weekend with a win over South and Wenty defeating Mildura and Irymple getting done by Robinvale they will slip back in to the four. They have a very hard run home with Mildura, Imps and Wenty for their last three and if they can get up over two of these sides can guarantee a spot in the four. They could be a game clear after today and two clear of Mildura. Irymple and Red Cliffs to battle it out over fourth spot and the game against Wentworth will be the decider. A hard choice but I think they can slip in to Fourth.
Finish 4 9w 9L
Mildura
The big dissapointment of 2008. They lost very few of the all dominating team of 2007 and recruited well to cover where they believe they lacked last year. Struggled to get a win on the board early and have been inconsistent of late. Can only see them winning 3 of their last 7 rounds so won't have enough wins to even scrape in. They will need to turn things around very quickly to make it in to the top four and from here it wouldn't seem possible.
Finish 6 7w 11L
South
Have struggled to put things together on the field again this year. Again they have thier off field looking good but cant produce come game day. They have pushed sides but continually fallen away at the end. Probably surprised a few with playing players on permit to the detriment of the other juniors and players at the club but seem to be looking for a quick fix to thier problems. Will continue to push teams but will struggle to win against anyone else other than Merbein if they don't defeat Red Cliffs today. Extemely difficult run home with all the top 6 teams to play. Can't make finals.
Finish 7 4w 14L
Merbein
With the return of Neagle and past players, the pies thought things would turn around quickly. Unfortunately they haven't had the success they wanted and were only competitive for four quarters for the first time last week. Neagle has show his intentions of staying the term of his contract and hopefully with some smart recruiting can plan for next year. They will push a couple of sides and possible pull out thier first win of the year but it wouldn't be surprising to see them go winless for the year. I will tip them to get up one win toward the end of year. (Probably against Mildura)
Finish 8 1w 17L
I will do finals tips when final 4 has been decided.
TAJAMANIA
22 Jun 2008, 12:58
Gee Ibis i reckon u should start writing 4 the paper's:thumbsu:... u would be better than them other wacker's!! Also i think Merb's will win 4 out of there last 6 games!!!
Lad of the Manor
22 Jun 2008, 13:35
Gee Ibis i reckon u should start writing 4 the paper's:thumbsu:... u would be better than them other wacker's!! Also i think Merb's will win 4 out of there last 6 games!!!
Was it necessary to quote the whole write up because now it takes like half an hour to scroll to the newest comment
Redcliffs V Mildura round 14 will decide who makes top 4 id say...
Yaaablett
23 Jun 2008, 14:05
Spives. Your bias is a little too obvious. Anyway you're entitled to your opinions, whether they're aimed at stirring or not.
One thing you may want to do in the near future is pop into the local library and borrow an introductory maths text book. In the modern world of football the number of wins all teams have combined should probably match the number of losses all teams have combined.
Not sure how there can be 69 winners and 75 losers.
Rabbito
23 Jun 2008, 14:42
Redcliffs V Mildura round 14 will decide who makes top 4 id say...
Mildura in 4th spot.
Mildura has already got over WW, Red Cliffs won't.
Ibis100
23 Jun 2008, 17:40
Spives. Your bias is a little too obvious. Anyway you're entitled to your opinions, whether they're aimed at stirring or not.
One thing you may want to do in the near future is pop into the local library and borrow an introductory maths text book. In the modern world of football the number of wins all teams have combined should probably match the number of losses all teams have combined.
Not sure how there can be 69 winners and 75 losers.
I know that Yaabs but I have put the maximum wins and losses for the sides. I thought some of the games were a 50/50 so I have given each team a win or a loss for those. Hence, the uneven number. I'm unsure what you mean by being bias, if you mean cause I put Red Cliffs in the Four then that is a bit short sighted of you. They sit a game clear in the four now and you have to admit you guys have not played consistant footy all year. You had a good win over Wenty on the weekend but you need to do that consistently to get enough wins on the board. It will be a battle for fourth between Irymple and Red Cliffs and you guys if you can get more consistant. I can't see you making it at this point. Perhaps there in lies the challenge to prove people wrong. You have probably the best list in the league and in alot of peoples opinions you guys have underachieved this year.
I couldn't care less who makes it in the four and I haven't tried to provoke any responses. I simply put forward my view of the rest of the season.
Ibis100
23 Jun 2008, 17:50
Mildura in 4th spot.
Mildura has already got over WW, Red Cliffs won't.
Disagree with you there Rabbito. Red Cliffs are a game clear and play Irymple this weekend. They must win this game and can push two games clear of Irymple. In a sense this game is worth two games to Red Cliffs.
Mildura you would imagine shoud defeat South and go ahead of Irymple on the ladder. The following week will then be crucial for Red Cliffs but if they defeat Irymple they will still be on the same points as Mildura if they are defeated. They each have a solid run home and I think the game between Wenty and Red Cliffs being the decider.
I will stay with Red Cliffs because I know what is happening internally and what the guys are doing and I don't with Mildura. From the outside it looks like Mildura are having some problems on the field and this has swayed my decision.
It will be close and it is fantastic to see more competitiveness on the field this year. When was the last time we had 3 teams battling it out for a spot in the finals with the result hinging on the last couple of rounds.
Rabbito
24 Jun 2008, 09:32
Disagree with you there Rabbito. Red Cliffs are a game clear and play Irymple this weekend. They must win this game and can push two games clear of Irymple. In a sense this game is worth two games to Red Cliffs.
Mildura you would imagine shoud defeat South and go ahead of Irymple on the ladder. The following week will then be crucial for Red Cliffs but if they defeat Irymple they will still be on the same points as Mildura if they are defeated. They each have a solid run home and I think the game between Wenty and Red Cliffs being the decider.
I will stay with Red Cliffs because I know what is happening internally and what the guys are doing and I don't with Mildura. From the outside it looks like Mildura are having some problems on the field and this has swayed my decision.
It will be close and it is fantastic to see more competitiveness on the field this year. When was the last time we had 3 teams battling it out for a spot in the finals with the result hinging on the last couple of rounds.
Either way, I think local footy is better for it! (the eveness of the league)
Alot of people are quick to jump on and knock local footy, I personally believe footy hasn't been as interesting (good to watch) for years.
I rather go to the footy and watch a game with WW lose by a kick or two than watch them pump another side by 20+ goals.
Yaaablett
24 Jun 2008, 09:37
Your bias is that you obviously don't like the Mildura Footy Club. Read through your past comments if you need proof. If you're going to have a crack at the ladder at the end of the home and away, have a real go, dont sit on the fence.
Pretty well documented we have had more than our share of injury worries, some guys down on form and confidence suffered due to that. All of that is now behind us. 3 point loss at Robinvale, 8 point loss to Imps and an 13 point win at Dareton is evidence of that and all with considerable improvement to come. I'm fairly certain the top few sides hope we dont make it.
Gladstone Small
24 Jun 2008, 11:08
Mildura will make the four. Strong percentage.
They are a real chance to make the big one too.
I would say Imps vs Mildura GF. Richardson best on.
Irymple vs Imps in the reserves. Gribble best on.
Mildura vs Imps in the unders. Doering best on.
Atkinson/Curran - McLeod Medal
Gribble - Holcroft Medal
Fenton - Casey Medal
Ibis100
25 Jun 2008, 11:18
Your bias is that you obviously don't like the Mildura Footy Club. Read through your past comments if you need proof. If you're going to have a crack at the ladder at the end of the home and away, have a real go, dont sit on the fence.
Pretty well documented we have had more than our share of injury worries, some guys down on form and confidence suffered due to that. All of that is now behind us. 3 point loss at Robinvale, 8 point loss to Imps and an 13 point win at Dareton is evidence of that and all with considerable improvement to come. I'm fairly certain the top few sides hope we dont make it.
You are well off the mark there big fella. I have no grudge against the Mildura Footy club or anyone at the footy club. I picked you guys to finish top of the ladder before the season started and have even praised you guys for the way in which you developed the club under Ryan O'Callaghan for a number of years to get your success instead of just buying a Premiership. Your recruitment over the past 3-4 years is second to none and your improvement was seen over a number of years. Other clubs should look and take a leaf out of your book.
I have made comments about individual players or their playing styles but I don't believe I have ever stated I don't like the Mildura Footy Club. But I have also made comments on other clubs and players and I would say my bias shows I am extremely dissapointed with the South Footy Club more than anyone.
I find it quite perplexing you take such offence to me picking Mildura to finish low on the ladder considering I don't even play the game anymore. You of all people are one that I wouldn't have thought would take comments on this forum so personal.
Anyway I hope I have cleared up your incorrect perception of my thoughts on your club.
And I haven't sat on the fence with regard to the ladder. I have put them in the order I think they will finish. If I sat on the ladder I would have put each team finishing in a number of places. I think stating where each team will finish is pretty cut and dry. Win/Loss means nothing in the end so you can disregard the win/loss ration if that makes you feel a bit better.
Ibis100
25 Jun 2008, 11:23
Either way, I think local footy is better for it! (the eveness of the league)
Alot of people are quick to jump on and knock local footy, I personally believe footy hasn't been as interesting (good to watch) for years.
I rather go to the footy and watch a game with WW lose by a kick or two than watch them pump another side by 20+ goals.
Totally agree with you Rabitto, here's hoping the two bottom clubs can lift thier game next season to make it even better again.
Yaaablett
25 Jun 2008, 11:55
You are well off the mark there big fella. I have no grudge against the Mildura Footy club or anyone at the footy club. I picked you guys to finish top of the ladder before the season started and have even praised you guys for the way in which you developed the club under Ryan O'Callaghan for a number of years to get your success instead of just buying a Premiership. Your recruitment over the past 3-4 years is second to none and your improvement was seen over a number of years. Other clubs should look and take a leaf out of your book.
I have made comments about individual players or their playing styles but I don't believe I have ever stated I don't like the Mildura Footy Club. But I have also made comments on other clubs and players and I would say my bias shows I am extremely dissapointed with the South Footy Club more than anyone.
I find it quite perplexing you take such offence to me picking Mildura to finish low on the ladder considering I don't even play the game anymore. You of all people are one that I wouldn't have thought would take comments on this forum so personal.
Anyway I hope I have cleared up your incorrect perception of my thoughts on your club.
And I haven't sat on the fence with regard to the ladder. I have put them in the order I think they will finish. If I sat on the ladder I would have put each team finishing in a number of places. I think stating where each team will finish is pretty cut and dry. Win/Loss means nothing in the end so you can disregard the win/loss ration if that makes you feel a bit better.
Not sure that me saying you obviously dont like Mildura leads you to believe that I have taken any offence at all. What others think has no bearing on us or me at all. I think you'll find we were written off many times last year and not given much chance pre finals at all. And as you know if the crap we all put up with from nobodies over the fence doesnt affect us nothing will! Heard a ripper at Wenty last saturday!
Rabbito
25 Jun 2008, 13:03
Not sure that me saying you obviously dont like Mildura leads you to believe that I have taken any offence at all. What others think has no bearing on us or me at all. I think you'll find we were written off many times last year and not given much chance pre finals at all. And as you know if the crap we all put up with from nobodies over the fence doesnt affect us nothing will! Heard a ripper at Wenty last saturday!
Apart from Hocko, who will always get sucked in by the crowd, I agree.
What was said?
Ibis100
25 Jun 2008, 20:46
Yes, I have certainly been on the recieving end of a few good verbal sprays from the crowd. Adds a bit of humour to your day most of the time.
fishalenko
26 Jun 2008, 15:49
couldnt agree more ibis...
Well here goes.
Seven rounds left and lets look at the draw and hopes of each side leading up to finals.
Current Ladder
Robinvale 10 1
Imps 9 2
Wenty 8 3
Irymple 5 6
Red Cliffs 5 6
Mildura 4 7
South 3 8
Merbein 0 11
Robinvale
Sitting nicely at the top of the ladder with just one loss. Without Moncur they lose alot of drive but they have South, Red Cliffs, Mildura and Merbein in their last four games so almost a certaintly to finish top and go in favourites for the flag. This weekend could be the difference between top and second but have a solid few weeks with Irymple, Imps and Wenty
Finish 1 15w 3L
Imps
Travelling better than this time last year and have a very strong core of experienced players mixed with some excellent youngsters. Like I said at the start of the year, never write off the green and whites. Have a fairly good run home and with the round 13 game against Robinvale which will decide one and two at Robinvale, I am tipping them to finish second
Finish 2 14w 4L
Wenty
Have surprised everyone with their consistency this year. They are well placed to battle it out for a spot in the GF but still very susceptible if they get an injury or two to thier top players. They have had an excellent run with injury this year compared to past years and will need to nurse Belly through the rest of the year to make sure he is up and firing come finals. Rounds 14-16 will be thier test with Robinvale, Imps and Mildura. Should finish in third without any problems but can't see them pushing top two unless they win at least 2 of those three games. If they lose all three, they will be bundled out of finals in first round with lack of confidence.
Finish 3 11w 7L
Irymple
Irymple have slipped down the ladder as everyone would have imagined with the loss of key personell at the start of the year. Thier old and trusted players and holding them up but need more consistency. They need to beat all the sides above them to hold Fourth spot but with South and Merbein in thier last two games, they could manage to hold fourth spot.
Finish 5 8w 10L
Red Cliffs
Red Cliffs have certainly improved and become more competitive this year which is great for the competition. The last month has been one to forget and they need to start beating teams above them like Wenty and Imps who both defeated them comfortably. If all goes well this weekend with a win over South and Wenty defeating Mildura and Irymple getting done by Robinvale they will slip back in to the four. They have a very hard run home with Mildura, Imps and Wenty for their last three and if they can get up over two of these sides can guarantee a spot in the four. They could be a game clear after today and two clear of Mildura. Irymple and Red Cliffs to battle it out over fourth spot and the game against Wentworth will be the decider. A hard choice but I think they can slip in to Fourth.
Finish 4 9w 9L
Mildura
The big dissapointment of 2008. They lost very few of the all dominating team of 2007 and recruited well to cover where they believe they lacked last year. Struggled to get a win on the board early and have been inconsistent of late. Can only see them winning 3 of their last 7 rounds so won't have enough wins to even scrape in. They will need to turn things around very quickly to make it in to the top four and from here it wouldn't seem possible.
Finish 6 7w 11L
South
Have struggled to put things together on the field again this year. Again they have thier off field looking good but cant produce come game day. They have pushed sides but continually fallen away at the end. Probably surprised a few with playing players on permit to the detriment of the other juniors and players at the club but seem to be looking for a quick fix to thier problems. Will continue to push teams but will struggle to win against anyone else other than Merbein if they don't defeat Red Cliffs today. Extemely difficult run home with all the top 6 teams to play. Can't make finals.
Finish 7 4w 14L
Merbein
With the return of Neagle and past players, the pies thought things would turn around quickly. Unfortunately they haven't had the success they wanted and were only competitive for four quarters for the first time last week. Neagle has show his intentions of staying the term of his contract and hopefully with some smart recruiting can plan for next year. They will push a couple of sides and possible pull out thier first win of the year but it wouldn't be surprising to see them go winless for the year. I will tip them to get up one win toward the end of year. (Probably against Mildura)
Finish 8 1w 17L
I will do finals tips when final 4 has been decided.
deposit
26 Jun 2008, 18:15
couldnt agree more ibis...
Was that realy worth adding and quoting the whole post????:thumbsd:
Hitman20
28 Jun 2008, 11:22
Just wondering if anyone can give me some information on Brad Morris as a coach and a player. Thanks
Ibis100
28 Jun 2008, 22:01
Will there be an investigation in to the week as piss king hit from Sam Ransom on Chris Lee? Should be front, back and middle pages I imagine come Monday.
clifton3
28 Jun 2008, 23:44
Will there be an investigation in to the week as piss king hit from Sam Ransom on Chris Lee? Should be front, back and middle pages I imagine come Monday.
And thats coming from the biggest pathetic snipper of them all in you spivey cheap shots galore should have been your middle name, lets hope Red Cliffs are paying you to be runner so that the high school are getting some of there money back cause you are a dead set w..ker...
Well its pretty simple if red cliffs are willing to lose there coach and chris lee for 2 weeks as 1. it was Walder who started the the biff with eaton and 2. Chris Lee who managed to stand over eaton and punch him in the head i think they have alot more to lose from an investigation. Especially with the probablility that red cliffs could be in the finals.
Ibis i didnt see u running were u at the game??????????? if not maybe get the all the facts before passing comment
Ibis100
29 Jun 2008, 16:07
Well its pretty simple if red cliffs are willing to lose there coach and chris lee for 2 weeks as 1. it was Walder who started the the biff with eaton and 2. Chris Lee who managed to stand over eaton and punch him in the head i think they have alot more to lose from an investigation. Especially with the probablility that red cliffs could be in the finals.
Ibis i didnt see u running were u at the game??????????? if not maybe get the all the facts before passing comment
Didn't that finally stir things up. :D:D Not there too busy working. I'm all for a good fight but not in to King Hits. If you want to get in to fight and come from behind then grab the bloke and get him in a head lock, not belt him to the head hard enough to knock him out. If he turns and grabs you, then fine, throw a good one, at least he should see it coming.
I simply asked the question if there would be an investigation and made a comment that I believe a KING hit is weak as piss. If that means others get roped in to any investigation then so be it. Im just so sick of the League blowing hot air. They give blokes four weeks for abusing an umpire yet the umpires turn a blind eye to what is obvioulsy a pretty good Donny brook with one player being completely KO'd from a king hit and two others belting each other. They send one of them off with the blood rule but do nothing about the incident. If this league was serious then they would do something about it. Doesn't bother me who gets what, I don't play the game anymore.
I was hit in the back of the head two year ago by a player in retaliation to a slap on his face. I didn't give any evidence that would have kept him out of th GF but I along with everyone in the tribunal that night knew otherwise. I can tell you he was sweating on it. Put simply, the league does nothing to kerb such incidents and we all know it. With the reigns being tightened on abusing the umpire, surely these incidents should be looked at in more depth. Its a joke that they don't even look at any video evidence that could prove or disprove a persons guilt.
harry the bad man
29 Jun 2008, 21:32
READ RULE 4 of bigfooty ____
Keep it truthful. You're responsible for material you post. If you value your posessions don't make up rubbish rumours about people.*
Well Ibis the Balls with redcliffs at the moment if they wish wish to take matters futher all 3 players would get a minimum of 2 weeks. What Lee did to Eaton was exactly the same as what Ransome did to Lee. Sams landed on the chin Lees landed around the ear. Hence the difference in the end result.
In defensive of the umps the atercation happened right near the benches when the pack formed the Umps were blind sighted. Both coaching staff had clear sight of it as did i. So taking that all into account i would seriously doubt that redcliffs would kick up a stink as they would practicley be handing there 2 best players 2 weeks. Sitting a game clear in the four losing them 2 would impact there chances greatly.
Just have to wait and there movements i guess.
Ibis100
30 Jun 2008, 14:38
READ RULE 4 of bigfooty ____
Keep it truthful. You're responsible for material you post. If you value your posessions don't make up rubbish rumours about people.*
No-one, including Delray who saw the incident has denied it was a King Hit. Therefore what was written would appear to be the truth. So what was written is neither rubbish, nor rumour.
Ibis100
30 Jun 2008, 14:51
Well Ibis the Balls with redcliffs at the moment if they wish wish to take matters futher all 3 players would get a minimum of 2 weeks. What Lee did to Eaton was exactly the same as what Ransome did to Lee. Sams landed on the chin Lees landed around the ear. Hence the difference in the end result.
In defensive of the umps the atercation happened right near the benches when the pack formed the Umps were blind sighted. Both coaching staff had clear sight of it as did i. So taking that all into account i would seriously doubt that redcliffs would kick up a stink as they would practicley be handing there 2 best players 2 weeks. Sitting a game clear in the four losing them 2 would impact there chances greatly.
Just have to wait and there movements i guess.
I am guessing like Interleague footy this year, nothing will happen. Red Cliffs players won't winge cause they take it on the chin as most players do which is what you would expect.
The league needs to get consistent and start treating these incidents seriously, whoever is involved. Mildura copped it over the Alvey incident, I don't see how this is any different with a player being KO'd and taken to hospital.
This is of course only my opinion which accounts for nothing. Hopefully it might stir some responses from others about these matters rather than personal attacks on me and my OPINION. If others have an opinion, say what it is, if its different to mine then say so rather than make a personal attack on me. This is what forums are about isn't it, people with differing views being able to put them down and then discuss them in a civil manner. We all have different views, perhaps others could put thiers down instead of verbally attacking the views of others.
I concur Ibis... Fellas Start speaking up.
Well with Mildura to Meet Redcliffs the final four could just about be set my tip is Mildura to take the place of redcliffs top 3 to remain the same.
On the weekend's footy ive never seen such an open game it was very free flowing. I reckon Milduras skills will be better the reddy thats whats gunna get them in.
R/Vale, Imps 2nd semi. Imps will go straight through.
Ibis100
30 Jun 2008, 17:50
I concur Ibis... Fellas Start speaking up.
Well with Mildura to Meet Redcliffs the final four could just about be set my tip is Mildura to take the place of redcliffs top 3 to remain the same.
On the weekend's footy ive never seen such an open game it was very free flowing. I reckon Milduras skills will be better the reddy thats whats gunna get them in.
R/Vale, Imps 2nd semi. Imps will go straight through.
I'm tipping Red Cliffs in a close one at home. I reckon by between 5 and 10 points. It looks to be a beauty with Mildura beating south by 60+ and Red Cliffs having defeated them by 90. If Red Cliffs gets up, the top four would almost be finalised with them being two clear of the 5th positioned side. Red Cliffs should go in confident having defeated them the only two times they have met this year, (Including Pre Season). Mildura are now up and going and have had good firepower up forward over the past two weeks. If Connick and Matthews are held to under 5 goals between them, Red Cliffs will get up.
godsofrichmond
30 Jun 2008, 22:10
will be interesting to see how jarrod arrentz goes in the legends game tommorow night. hope he does the mallee proud and kicks some goals. I wonder if some of you stat buffs can find out how many senior goals he has kicked in his career. personally i would think he would of cracked the 1000 mark by now.
The question is, is he the best fullforward to come from northern victoria. and not go AFL. I understand he got his spot in the legends game via a comp, but as country footballers go, i dont think he will be too far out of place down there.
Hope you kick butt down there jarrad....even if you are from two headedville :p