View Full Version : Sunraysia Football league
The Couch
2 Apr 2006, 20:52
You didn't just give an opinion, you also started a new thread on the poor bloke. Give him a break start attacking someone else.:thumbsd:Gutsy, I know you obviously havent played AFL? You still didnt answer my question. Who are you and what have you done in your football career, if anything??? For someone who's constantly bagging Alvey I just hope you've done something in your career??? Please reply.
The Couch
2 Apr 2006, 21:03
I think you mean Sumo11 here Kelvin. If you read my previous post I've got nothing but praise for the way Alvey plays. I think you're being a bit harsh on gutsy though. Just voicing his opinion.
Congrats to South on winning the pre-season carnival. With 6 more scoring shots though they should have blown Mildura away. With Mildura having a near full strength side and South having at least 6 players out and playing a heap of juniors, I reckon South would have to nearly start as flag favourites with respects to Iry/Imps. Yes congratulations to South. And well done to Mildura for getting there. I think Mildura are this years flag favourites from what I've seen so far. They look awesome, then Irymple and South.
The Nest
3 Apr 2006, 10:06
Can anyone confirm that the League is seeking each clubs current situation on the player points system? They must have suspicions of a couple of clubs.. I know the swallows are ok.
Yaaablett
3 Apr 2006, 10:51
[quote=gutsy]
Yes Wenty have great kids but sorry, King is not a hard player and nor is Cumming. You just had to see King in the last game last year against South. He spent more time that day on the bench than he did on the ground cause he couldn't handle the physical stuff.
quote]
I cant let that one slide guts. From what I've seen close at hand for about 70 games Dale King is as tough as they come. Maybe you have something personal against him but don't post that crap.
Gutsy, I know you obviously havent played AFL? You still didnt answer my question. Who are you and what have you done in your football career, if anything??? For someone who's constantly bagging Alvey I just hope you've done something in your career??? Please reply.
Read my posts, I do not bag Alvey. I have consistently said he is a highly skilled player that has a brilliant running game. I simply stated that I believe and I repeat this is IN MY OPINION, that he is not an in and under player. We all have or have had flaws in our game that people will pick up on.
With regard to me, Well my career starts and finishes in the SFL. Haven't done much at all but an avid fan of the game. Still entitled to an opinion though.
[quote=gutsy]
quote]
I cant let that one slide guts. From what I've seen close at hand for about 70 games Dale King is as tough as they come. Maybe you have something personal against him but don't post that crap.
I have seen King play since he was at Mildura and he has never been hard. I have nothing personal against him, just an opinion. Last year in the Semi Final against South, he was lined up on Spivey who crunched him about 3 times and within 5 minutes was off the ground cause he couldn't handle it. He came back on in another position and wasn't seen for the rest of the day. Tpugh players give it back or at least don't dissapear for the game when the going gets tough. Just an opinion Yaaablett, you don't have to agree.
[quote=Yaaablett]
I have seen King play since he was at Mildura and he has never been hard. I have nothing personal against him, just an opinion. Last year in the Semi Final against South, he was lined up on Spivey who crunched him about 3 times and within 5 minutes was off the ground cause he couldn't handle it. He came back on in another position and wasn't seen for the rest of the day. Tpugh players give it back or at least don't dissapear for the game when the going gets tough. Just an opinion Yaaablett, you don't have to agree.
He wasn't on Spivey he was tagging Guy Booker I think you will find Gutsy.
Can anyone confirm that the League is seeking each clubs current situation on the player points system? They must have suspicions of a couple of clubs.. I know the swallows are ok.
Its a requirement that each clubs points are done by March so they are chasing up the clubs that haven't handed them in yet. I know the doggies are good with a few up their sleeve. Two more big recruits to come into the lineup I hear.
Yaaablett
3 Apr 2006, 14:21
[quote=Yaaablett]
You are entitled to an opinion guts, even if its blatantly wrong! Did you ever think something may have been wrong injury wise with him in that 1 game you base your opinion on. You probably see him twice, three times a year, you have to play with someone to make a statement like that. Starting to think that you and Ibis might be one and the same. Any truth?
Skeeterman
3 Apr 2006, 14:25
I think you mean Sumo11 here Kelvin. If you read my previous post I've got nothing but praise for the way Alvey plays. I think you're being a bit harsh on gutsy though. Just voicing his opinion.
Congrats to South on winning the pre-season carnival. With 6 more scoring shots though they should have blown Mildura away. With Mildura having a near full strength side and South having at least 6 players out and playing a heap of juniors, I reckon South would have to nearly start as flag favourites with respects to Iry/Imps.
Not sure about the near full strength side of Mildura on Friday night Santoz.
Maybe you forgot about a few battlers by the names of Deckert, Connick and Leng, would be first picked in any SFL side. Caredew and Alderton off injured early and a few others underdone.
As I am only a rookie on Bigfooty could someone please let me know what all this talk is of south having heaps missing. I know of Fox but what other starters have they had out.
Yes congratulations to South. And well done to Mildura for getting there. I think Mildura are this years flag favourites from what I've seen so far. They look awesome, then Irymple and South.
Hey there Couch, you don't really make sense here mate. Mildura were beaten by South and South had 6 more scoring shots. The only goal and only scoring shot Mildura got in the 2nd half was from a 50 metre penalty at the 12 minute mark that Souths coach gave away. They struggled to put any score on the board in the second half while south had 5 shots, all behinds and held the ball inside thier forward zone for the majority of the half.
Yes, Mildura were missing at least 3 of their big names but Sth were down 7 players as well. Mildura do look the goods but not sure that Mildura would be favourite to win the flag. Imps still look good to me. they are preparing themselves to be up and going by Round 4 or 5 like they do every year and look like they have secured another ex SANFL player from Glenelg. Its only pre season but I think the top four will be fiercly contested by Imps, Irymple, South, Mildura and Wentworth. I think Wenty and Mildura will fight for 4th spot.
Skeeterman
3 Apr 2006, 14:31
Sth were down 7 players????? Who?
[quote=gutsy]
You are entitled to an opinion guts, even if its blatantly wrong! Did you ever think something may have been wrong injury wise with him in that 1 game you base your opinion on. You probably see him twice, three times a year, you have to play with someone to make a statement like that. Starting to think that you and Ibis might be one and the same. Any truth?
Definately not Yaaaablett. I have been away all weekend in Brisbane mate and if you have a look gutsy posted over the weekend.
There are a few of us out there trying to find out who he is though.
And Yaaablett, I know Kingy wasn't on me during that game last year and I wouldn't say Kingy wasn't a hard footballer, I have played on him enough to know he gives as good as he gets. I think you know me better than that Yaaablett.
[quote=gutsy]
Definately not Yaaablett. I have played on and against Kingy enough to know he gives as good as he gets mate. You might notice that gutsy posted over the weekend. I was in Brisbane mate with my daughter, so no, no truth to that one mate, thought you would know me better than that.
Sth were down 7 players????? Who?
Fox
Fitzgerald
N Johns
Brown
Morgan
Polkinghorn
Total of six who could be in top 21
Yaaablett
3 Apr 2006, 15:36
[quote=Yaaablett]
Definately not Yaaablett. I have played on and against Kingy enough to know he gives as good as he gets mate. You might notice that gutsy posted over the weekend. I was in Brisbane mate with my daughter, so no, no truth to that one mate, thought you would know me better than that.
Just stirring you up mate! I know it's not you but, is there no internet in Brissy yet? You helped me out though with Kingy, you've played on him, I've played with him. he is hard and tough.
[quote=Ibis100]
Just stirring you up mate! I know it's not you but, is there no internet in Brissy yet? You helped me out though with Kingy, you've played on him, I've played with him. he is hard and tough.
Much rather spend time with my daughter that i see once a month than sit in front of a computer. I was actually sunning myself on the beach both days. Was a great weekend.
Is Kingy playing this year, didn't see him play in the pre season comp. Word on Ough is that he can't play this year mate. Has a family now and with work time is tight. Said he has trained a couple of times but unless he plays in a position other than ruck he says it will be too hard to pull up after games. I imagine his feet are getting itchy though.
Fox, Johns, Morgan, Polkinghorne, Toaster and i think there was a couple of others.. From what i seen ryan o'callaghan couldn't have run any wider or he would have been on the highway.
Yaaablett
3 Apr 2006, 16:14
[quote=Yaaablett]
Much rather spend time with my daughter that i see once a month than sit in front of a computer. I was actually sunning myself on the beach both days. Was a great weekend.
Is Kingy playing this year, didn't see him play in the pre season comp. Word on Ough is that he can't play this year mate. Has a family now and with work time is tight. Said he has trained a couple of times but unless he plays in a position other than ruck he says it will be too hard to pull up after games. I imagine his feet are getting itchy though.
Fair call, the beach sounds alright. Kingy is having trouble with his quad again, he told me he may not line up, but knowing him he'll be right. Wenty are confidant about Oughy playing.
Good onya Morton, you must go alright.
Had a look on Friday night. The game seemed a bit scrappy to me and South flooded a bit in a second half which didn't add to the spectacle. Both sides I think would need to improve somewhat to beat the Irymple and Imperials sides of last year, which I've heard are similar to what they were. Both had some promising kids in though.
The Nest
3 Apr 2006, 16:59
Fox
Fitzgerald
N Johns
Brown
Morgan
Polkinghorn
Has Simon Robertson had a run with the dogs yet? I hear that his brother might be heading back to Ouyen and leaving the Magpies.....
Skeeterman
3 Apr 2006, 17:03
Fox
Fitzgerald
N Johns
Brown
Morgan
Polkinghorn
Fox awesome ruckmen top 2 in league.
Fitzgerald goes well very handy inclusion.
Johns goes alright nothing special.
Morgan was a passenger last year surely not improving with age.
Polkinghorn is just a kid not a huge contributor just yet. Although will be something in a couple of years.
Any info on Brown never heard of him.
ECHUCABOY
3 Apr 2006, 17:47
Hows jake Anstey goin boys?? Sunburnt yet? Been gettin much of it?
cheeseburger
3 Apr 2006, 17:52
welcome echucaboy. he got a few touches in the pre season series but nothing too special. also heard he has been doing a bit of work on his tan at Bronze Sensations lately.
Morgan was not a passanger last year. Everytime i saw south play he was always on the bottom getting the ball out, more then i could say for booker. he may well be getting on but still think he could be used on and off the bench.
sumo 111
3 Apr 2006, 19:47
Has Simon Robertson had a run with the dogs yet? I hear that his brother might be heading back to Ouyen and leaving the Magpies.....
If the number guide was accurate on Friday night, Simon Robertson did have a run for south (34). He seemed to get a fair bit of the ball although his disposal let him down a bit. (if it was him)
One thing, both the boys have got a darn sight more hair than their old man and he could play footy.
Not that it counts for much but I reckon that Imps have to be flag favourites. I've also heard that there is still a recruit or two to appear and they don't recruit too many duds. Two basic rules in football, only ever back Freo at home and always back Imps to win the flag. You'll collect more often than not.
Kelvin 69
3 Apr 2006, 21:08
Morgan was not a passanger last year. Everytime i saw south play he was always on the bottom getting the ball out, more then i could say for booker. he may well be getting on but still think he could be used on and off the bench.
Speaking of Booker who is he playing for this year? I heard he was going to Balranald, and has already been sacked, is this true?:confused: :confused:
If the number guide was accurate on Friday night, Simon Robertson did have a run for south (34). He seemed to get a fair bit of the ball although his disposal let him down a bit. (if it was him)
One thing, both the boys have got a darn sight more hair than their old man and he could play footy.
Nesty, Simon Robertson has signed with south and played very well on Friday night. He has a good turn of pace and seems to put himself in the right spot at the right time. He is working on his disposal as suggested by sumo 111
If Imp do recruit a couple of handy forwards then they will be the team to beat. At the moment that's all they seem to lack. Their mid field and backline are the most consistent in the league.
What is everyones predictions for wins and margins this SFL round?
trev riordan
3 Apr 2006, 21:28
Speaking of Booker who is he playing for this year? I heard he was going to Balranald, and has already been sacked, is this true?:confused: :confused:
Heard its true kelv they wernt real impressed with his attitude and ability, arround the club.. Carried on a bit in the balranald pub a while ago they said it was a disgrace the way they acted..:thumbsd: Is that what u have heard..:confused:
sumo 111
3 Apr 2006, 21:54
Nesty, Simon Robertson has signed with south and played very well on Friday night. He has a good turn of pace and seems to put himself in the right spot at the right time. He is working on his disposal as suggested by sumo 111
If Imp do recruit a couple of handy forwards then they will be the team to beat. At the moment that's all they seem to lack. Their mid field and backline are the most consistent in the league.
What do you reckon Chalkie, was Morgan a passenger for South last year or was he always on the bottom of the pack getting the hard ball out. I hope there's no bias in your answer??????
As for this weeks results, I'd love to have a go just for laughs but I haven't got a footy fixture. Who's playing who and where?
[quote=Ibis100]Hey there Couch, you don't really make sense here mate. Mildura were beaten by South and South had 6 more scoring shots. The only goal and only scoring shot Mildura got in the 2nd half was from a 50 metre penalty at the 12 minute mark that Souths coach gave away. They struggled to put any score on the board in the second half while south had 5 shots, all behinds and held the ball inside thier forward zone for the majority of the half.
My flag odds
Irymple $10 ( haven't won for 30 years. also first time coach. They even may be undefeated at grand final time but will they have the nouse & tactics on the big day. Very ordinary friday
Imperials $3
South Mildura $5-
Mildura $20 lack depth. Cardew will not kick goals in GF. Deckert was a good player but is too slow for the big day
Wentworth $50 Bell will never coach a flag
Robinvale $1000
Red Cliffs $500
Merbein $100000
Comments welcome but don't take the forum too seriously. It is just a bit of a laugh.
Kelvin 69
3 Apr 2006, 23:34
Heard its true kelv they wernt real impressed with his attitude and ability, arround the club.. Carried on a bit in the balranald pub a while ago they said it was a disgrace the way they acted..:thumbsd: Is that what u have heard..:confused:
Yeah thanks Trev, I did hear that, but I thought he would have fitted in quite well at Balranald behaving like that, a bit feral over that way. Do you know where he is now and who the lucky club he will play for?:p
The Nest
4 Apr 2006, 09:30
As for this weeks results, I'd love to have a go just for laughs but I haven't got a footy fixture. Who's playing who and where?
Here you go Sumo 111
Round 1
Irymple vs Robinvale
Merbein vs Wentworth
Red Cliffs vs South Mildura (N)
Mildura vs Imperials (Sunday) (Match of the Round)
Gutsy, I hav only been flicking through the Sunraysia thread, and i have already found that you have had a crack at two players about their toughness at the ball (Alvey & O'Callaghan).
Every person who looks a big footy I have no doubt have dreamed about playing with a AFL club at some stage in their life. The two players that you have mentioned have been a couple of the lucky few people to reach this achievement.
So unless your name is Byron Pickett, I think you need to have a look at who you are having a crack at. However I did forget something; it is usually the blokes who really lack in the area of what they are critical of!!!
By the way, just in case you have played league football, I apologise. If you are not, but are still playing, I hope for your sake your username does not get exposed as you may now become a bit of a target.
Good luck Gutsy, and remember to keep your head down!!!
An interesting read on the Sunraysia FL web site is the one on the SFL's top 4 since 1945. If my memory serves me correctly, i think the last time each respective side finished on top of the ladder they went on to win the flag except for Irymple in 78.
Imps - 2005
Merbein - 2003
Wentworth - 2001 ???
Red Cliffs - 2000 ???
South - 1998
Robinvale - 1997 ???
Mildura - 1982
Irymple - 1976
Not sure on Wenty, Reddy and Robinvale but I just thought it was an interesting stat with the other sides ...
Skeeterman
4 Apr 2006, 14:22
Sorry Morton guess i'll have to disagree with the Morgan call, if South are to be a premiership threat they will need to do better then him on the pine.
Correct me if i'm wrong but I think he is on the fat side of 35.
The only decent player going around that old at the moment is Deckert.
Yaaablett
4 Apr 2006, 14:32
An interesting read on the Sunraysia FL web site is the one on the SFL's top 4 since 1945. If my memory serves me correctly, i think the last time each respective side finished on top of the ladder they went on to win the flag except for Irymple in 78.
Imps - 2005
Merbein - 2003
Wentworth - 2001 ???
Red Cliffs - 2000 ???
South - 1998
Robinvale - 1997 ???
Mildura - 1982
Irymple - 1976
Not sure on Wenty, Reddy and Robinvale but I just thought it was an interesting stat with the other sides ...
Sants, didnt Irymple finish on top last year? Pretty right with the others although think Robinvale finished on top in 98.
Skeeterman
4 Apr 2006, 14:40
Sure did Leggo
JohnGastev
4 Apr 2006, 16:25
Is it true that Irymple reserves player and man about town Leon Crisera is missing the start of 2006 due to a delicate nose reduction operation???
JohnGastev
4 Apr 2006, 16:27
Heard Michael Richardson has been training the house down and has put on some much needed weight.
Rumor is that he is the man to take Tony Hickey's spot at Imps.
Sorry Morton guess i'll have to disagree with the Morgan call, if South are to be a premiership threat they will need to do better then him on the pine.
Correct me if i'm wrong but I think he is on the fat side of 35.
The only decent player going around that old at the moment is Deckert.
If you think that deckert is the only decent player to be old your wrong. i belive hasse from south is 39 and could out run nearly anyone over 20m and im sure there would be others.. age means nothing when it comes to footy. the older you get the smarter you get and can read the play better.
The Nest
4 Apr 2006, 16:42
Heard Michael Richardson has been training the house down and has put on some much needed weight.
Rumor is that he is the man to take Tony Hickey's spot at Imps.
He would need to get onto the same stuff as Brent Guerra to fix his wig for a start. No-one will ever replace the Great Man.
What about Sam Prendergast, i hear 'the Ox' is filling the void of Petrie quite well in more ways than one. Smashing the backs out of backpackers, drinking a sh*tload of grog, carving up Doms d-floor while searching for some 'angel dust'. mmmgerr
Yaaablett
4 Apr 2006, 16:47
Is it true that Petrie's nickname at Imps was Gatorade due to shape and size of his appendage? Others that spring to mind would be Ben Daymond, Bernard "Beautiful P***s" Rigby ,Pat Chapman, Nic Orr and Geoff Cole. This may make an interesting thread!
The Nest
4 Apr 2006, 16:53
Is it true that Petrie's nickname at Imps was Gatorade due to shape and size of his appendage? Others that spring to mind would be Ben Daymond, Bernard "Beautiful P***s" Rigby ,Pat Chapman, Nic Orr and Geoff Cole. This may make an interesting thread!
M. Carn...... Needs a licence for it.
only if your a fag!!!!!!!!!!!!
Skeeterman
4 Apr 2006, 17:09
Correct Morton, your obviously a Doggies man. Haas is also old and the little mexican does have a turn of pace although I wouldn't put him in Deckerts class.
He will be much better this year if South's midfield can give him the delivery he deserves as he works quite hard unlike some forwards in the league.
I feel I may have touched a nerve with the "old" line, creeping up there are we Morton?
Yaaablett
4 Apr 2006, 17:11
only if your a fag!!!!!!!!!!!!
Bit homophobic there Morto? You protested a bit quick there mate. Anything you want to get off your chest?
if looking at blokes turns you on great. it just does nothing for me. everyone to there own.
not a doggies man just think that it pays to have some wise heads around. im sure every club has players that are getting on. long as the arn't stopping a young kid and there contributing i dont see the problem. as for deckert i think you may be rating him a bit highly. good ruckman yes bit slow around the ground.
hotdogs17
4 Apr 2006, 17:24
Better keep an eye on you in the showers Yaablett... only jokin mate i don't think your gay, but by the sounds of it Morto might be trying to cover up the fact that he is:eek:
Throw 'Gang Bang' Leng into the equasion his slong has its own postcode
Skeeterman
4 Apr 2006, 20:04
Morton you don't rate Deckert and say O'callaghan couldn't run any wider.
They have both won Mcleod medals and are in most people's top 10.
As Yaaablett said you must go alright!
mullethead
5 Apr 2006, 07:32
not a doggies man just think that it pays to have some wise heads around. im sure every club has players that are getting on. long as the arn't stopping a young kid and there contributing i dont see the problem. as for deckert i think you may be rating him a bit highly. good ruckman yes bit slow around the ground.Bit slow but still knocks up getting the pill. At his age still to be getting it as regurlarly as he does, he is on par with any other ruckman going around. Not too many ruckman around need to break 10 seconds for the 100 Mort
mullethead
5 Apr 2006, 07:35
He would need to get onto the same stuff as Brent Guerra to fix his wig for a start. No-one will ever replace the Great Man.
What about Sam Prendergast, i hear 'the Ox' is filling the void of Petrie quite well in more ways than one. Smashing the backs out of backpackers, drinking a sh*tload of grog, carving up Doms d-floor while searching for some 'angel dust'. mmmgerrWell put nest, the man will never be replaced and will be sorely missed, and yes your informant is on the money with the ox....can go
Rodman24
5 Apr 2006, 09:06
Never heard of a guy called Cele Unwin, do you mean Cale Urwin???
Rodman24
5 Apr 2006, 09:08
Can anyone tell me anything about Cele Unwin?? Think he played in the Sunraysia league last year???
Never Heard of a guy called Cele Unwin, do you mean Cale Urwin??
Rodman24
5 Apr 2006, 09:14
What about Sam Prendergast, i hear 'the Ox' is filling the void of Petrie quite well in more ways than one. Smashing the backs out of backpackers, drinking a sh*tload of grog, carving up Doms d-floor while searching for some 'angel dust'. mmmgerr
As a former Imps player I wouldnt expect Michael Richardson is the man to take Tony Hickeys spot,if so Imps should close there doors.:cool:
Gutsy, I hav only been flicking through the Sunraysia thread, and i have already found that you have had a crack at two players about their toughness at the ball (Alvey & O'Callaghan).
Every person who looks a big footy I have no doubt have dreamed about playing with a AFL club at some stage in their life. The two players that you have mentioned have been a couple of the lucky few people to reach this achievement.
So unless your name is Byron Pickett, I think you need to have a look at who you are having a crack at. However I did forget something; it is usually the blokes who really lack in the area of what they are critical of!!!
By the way, just in case you have played league football, I apologise. If you are not, but are still playing, I hope for your sake your username does not get exposed as you may now become a bit of a target.
Thanks, I will keep my head up though cause they won't be running around at the same time as me.
Here some tips that will sure to fire you all up, (Cause it don't take much to do that)
Irymple to sneak home by 13 points to Robinvale
South to beat Red Cliffs comfortably by 32 points
Wentworth to have a scare from Merbein but just get home by 87 points.
Imps to beat Mildura in a close game. 5 points on the siren.
Oh yeah, another player that I think is soft (Cause I love the reactions I get) Brad Eaton cause he won't play with a sore hand. Sooky sooky la la.
harry the bad man
5 Apr 2006, 12:52
is reece 'the homma' homfrey pushin for senior selection this satdy, had a spy at swallow training last nite who said that the homma was movin like a gazelle
Rodman24
5 Apr 2006, 14:08
is reece 'the homma' homfrey pushin for senior selection this satdy, had a spy at swallow training last nite who said that the homma was movin like a gazelle
He was moving very swiftly last night,not sure if he has played for a while so I d say he d start in the 2's and move up to the 1's in the coming weeks.
RIFLEMAN
5 Apr 2006, 14:31
Here some tips that will sure to fire you all up, (Cause it don't take much to do that)
Irymple to sneak home by 13 points to Robinvale
South to beat Red Cliffs comfortably by 32 points
Wentworth to have a scare from Merbein but just get home by 87 points.
Imps to beat Mildura in a close game. 5 points on the siren.
Oh yeah, another player that I think is soft (Cause I love the reactions I get) Brad Eaton cause he won't play with a sore hand. Sooky sooky la la.
You were going alright until the low blow on Brad Eaton gutsy
Irymple by 60 points
South by 13 points
Wentworth by 100 points (Bell 15 goals)
Mildura by16 points
[quote=RIFLEMAN][left]
Take a joke people for gods sake. (I know Eatons hand is stuffed, I was having a joke Rifleman) I am beggining to think of going into retirement cause you people have no sense of humour or the ability to allow others to have an opionion, Right or wrong. Guessing no-one will be at my send off though and no chance of being carried from the ground. Like my football career, my time in Bigfooty began and finished on a bit of a sour note.
Good luck to you all this year in your conquest to take out the GF. Go doggies, i will be there holding up the bar as you deteat your opponents with ease. Before I go, I will leave you all with the following words,
1. Jason Bell to be injured within 5 rounds and kick just 60 goals for the year.
2. Alvey will become the hardest player in the SFL by knocking out everyone in all the packs he runs through.
3. Don Falvo will take out the League Reserves Best and Fairest having played just 6 games then come 4th in the McLeod after playing the final 12 games of the year in the ones. (How great would it be if he won both.)
4. Eagle will be the dissapointment of the year and be injured for 50% of the games.
5. Eaton will return within 6 weeks
6. Sam Smythe will take out an award for best reporting.
7. Bill Saywer will lose 80kg on cohens diet after lengthy discussions with Dale Stafford.
8. Kevin Bradmore will return to commentate on channel 9 with Geoff Lucas as special guests.
9. Red Cliffs oval will return to its original condition (But still the best in the League.)
10. Mick Faulkhead will be sacked at the end of the year.
MY TOP TEN FOR THE YEAR TO COME. Ceeyornara People, don't take this site too serious as some of you seem to.
GUTSY.
[quote=sumo 111]What do you reckon Chalkie, was Morgan a passenger for South last year or was he always on the bottom of the pack getting the hard ball out. I hope there's no bias in your answer??????
Very funny somu 111 :D I agree that Morgs is passes his best( which you would expect for a guy in his 20th year if senior footy) and he won't win the premeirship for south. That's why they have been quiet active in their recruiting and have promoted and spent time developing several talented juniors this preseason.
With regards to his performance last year, he was used as an impact player off the bench and played mainly thru the midfield. He must of performed ok as he finished 8th in their B&F and played every game. Not to bad considering the coach didn't rate him!!
Yaaablett
5 Apr 2006, 15:44
Not everything on this site is serious boys!
Yaaablett
5 Apr 2006, 15:44
Please stay Gutsy. You are the only bloke who has a real crack, even though I dont agree with you all the time.
mullethead
5 Apr 2006, 15:45
[quote=RIFLEMAN][left]
Take a joke people for gods sake. (I know Eatons hand is stuffed, I was having a joke Rifleman) I am beggining to think of going into retirement cause you people have no sense of humour or the ability to allow others to have an opionion, Right or wrong. Guessing no-one will be at my send off though and no chance of being carried from the ground. Like my football career, my time in Bigfooty began and finished on a bit of a sour note.
Good luck to you all this year in your conquest to take out the GF. Go doggies, i will be there holding up the bar as you deteat your opponents with ease. Before I go, I will leave you all with the following words,
1. Jason Bell to be injured within 5 rounds and kick just 60 goals for the year.
2. Alvey will become the hardest player in the SFL by knocking out everyone in all the packs he runs through.
3. Don Falvo will take out the League Reserves Best and Fairest having played just 6 games then come 4th in the McLeod after playing the final 12 games of the year in the ones. (How great would it be if he won both.)
4. Eagle will be the dissapointment of the year and be injured for 50% of the games.
7. Bill Saywer will lose 80kg on cohens diet after lengthy discussions with Dale Stafford.
8. Kevin Bradmore will return to commentate on channel 9 with Geoff Lucas as special guests.
9. Red Cliffs oval will return to its original condition (But still the best in the League.)
MY TOP TEN FOR THE YEAR TO COME. Ceeyornara People, don't take this site too serious as some of you seem to.
GUTSY.I like you gutsy, you say it how it is, and as for hardness, the hardest man in the league only just retired after a great career in the green and white number 11....he was hard
Yaaablett
5 Apr 2006, 15:49
[quote=gutsy]I like you gutsy, you say it how it is, and as for hardness, the hardest man in the league only just retired after a great career in the green and white number 11....he was hard
What is the go with Hick and ad with the umpires? He's not becoming one surely.
mullethead
5 Apr 2006, 15:50
[quote=mullethead]
What is the go with Hick and ad with the umpires? He's not becoming one surely.I hope not yaaablett, although im sure it wouldnt be hard to be better than most of them......
Yaaablett
5 Apr 2006, 15:54
An Imps legend told me that in his opinion Tony will come back half waythrough to help his brother in the 2's and end up in the ones again. I doubt this, anyone know anything?
mullethead
5 Apr 2006, 16:12
An Imps legend told me that in his opinion Tony will come back half waythrough to help his brother in the 2's and end up in the ones again. I doubt this, anyone know anything?one thing i will tell you, is that as everyone knows he is still fit. Dont reckon he will play ones but
Yes they have reached that lucky acheivement and I congratulate them, but again, playing AFL doesn't make you tough. And I did come close to playing AFL once. I represented Sunraysia in U11's. I reckon it was as hard as these two play footy.
Any comments on how the new coaches will go this year?? Eaton, Spivey ect
Yaaablett
5 Apr 2006, 17:38
Yes they have reached that lucky acheivement and I congratulate them, but again, playing AFL doesn't make you tough. And I did come close to playing AFL once. I represented Sunraysia in U11's. I reckon it was as hard as these two play footy.
Gutsy! Welcome back. A shorter retirement than John Farnham!
You're a hard man gutsy! Would hate to play against you by the sounds of it!
Is it true that Irymple reserves player and man about town Leon Crisera is missing the start of 2006 due to a delicate nose reduction operation???
Why would i wont to reduce it. Your sister can't get enough of it HA HA she says its like a sexual weapon. That is when shes not moaning :) :) :)
RIFLEMAN
5 Apr 2006, 18:55
[quote=RIFLEMAN][left]
GUTSY.
I know it was a joke but what you had been writing was of a good opinion and then you come out with that. I like how you operate but keep it real and i will keep reading your'e opinions eagerly another hard at the ball player to hold his head up Darren Wood ?
Kelvin 69
5 Apr 2006, 20:40
Good to see you back guts:thumbsu: :thumbsu: , Ive got a challenge for you...
Can you give me the top 10 softest players in SFL (seniors). This should cause good debate..
Kelvin 69
5 Apr 2006, 22:02
I was watching Imps training tonight and an extremely fit Tony Hickey trained, and was actually leading the boys in the run. Maybe a come back on the cards?
can anyone tell me if robert ''sonny'' lindsay is still playing in this league?/
theres a bloke with ability,pity he never applied himself at richmond preseason a few years ago,saw him stand on a guys head in the wet and take a screamer against dv league representing western region
trev riordan
5 Apr 2006, 23:25
Hey guys is it true that Connick has been offered a performance based contract this year? Smart move by the club in my opinion, i reckon he'll owe them money by the end of the year. Especially if he plays any finals football!! Any thoughts?
Rodman24
5 Apr 2006, 23:41
Kelvin69 is it true that former gun Jarrod Delahunty is training at Imps also???My informers tell me that he has lost a few kgs and moving quite well....Will be a very handy pickup if he can produce his form he showed when first played in the sunraysia area...
iamfooty
6 Apr 2006, 00:55
Yeah you'd be too ROCK SOLID for me champ
iamfooty
6 Apr 2006, 01:00
I watched is it Lee Gathcole?? the other day and he apparently has some big wraps on him form the Diggers. Will he be a standout this year with South Mildura? Also, Leigh Riordan would have to be one of the pickups of the year. Quality ruckman. Any thoughts?
trev riordan
6 Apr 2006, 01:06
I watched is it Lee Gathcole?? the other day and he apparently has some big wraps on him form the Diggers. Will he be a standout this year with South Mildura? Also, Leigh Riordan would have to be one of the pickups of the year. Quality ruckman. Any thoughts?
Yes I am footy, i have some mail on Leigh Gathercole, my mate played against gathers when was running around for Sandhurst in the BFL in a premiership year for the club, he is an absolute gun, will dominate the league with no shadow of doubt. Keep an eye on him very exciting type.
iamfooty
6 Apr 2006, 01:21
Good stuff Trev. Will keep an eye on him indeed. Who are the top 5 players in the Sunraysia league this year?
Yaaablett
6 Apr 2006, 11:27
I was watching Imps training tonight and an extremely fit Tony Hickey trained, and was actually leading the boys in the run. Maybe a come back on the cards?
Nice attempt Kelvin. Imps train tonight mate.
Yaaablett
6 Apr 2006, 11:28
Hey guys is it true that Connick has been offered a performance based contract this year? Smart move by the club in my opinion, i reckon he'll owe them money by the end of the year. Especially if he plays any finals football!! Any thoughts?
Humourous stuff Trev. I heard he has already taken out an overdraft in expectation!
Good to see you back guts:thumbsu: :thumbsu: , Ive got a challenge for you...
Can you give me the top 10 softest players in SFL (seniors). This should cause good debate..
OK Kelvin, here we go. Out of retirement I am due to popular demand.
Softest Players in SFL. I will give you my top 5.
1. No question here, Ryan O'Callaghan. As one person put it, if he ran any wider he would be on the highway. Has never been on the bottom of a pack and never will be.
2. Michael Faulkhead. Probably more the biggest sook than soft but to me he is soft. Doesn't do the hard stuff that would lift his team. When the going is tough he dissapears then blames his team mates.
3. Cory O'Callaghan. Just like Ryan, will run wide and not through packs but will take the accolades for the hard work of others.
4. Mark Alvey. Again, not the in and under type player as previously stated. (NO MORE SAID ON THIS ISSUE).
5. Brad Thomas. Again, an outside player who in a one on one contest will back out.
All of these playes are highly skilled and good players for their team with two of them being past McLeod Medallists and two ex AFL players. There is a place for these players quite obviously and they do stand out but for hardness, they would never win a trophy of any kind.
VERA HICKEY
6 Apr 2006, 12:03
Nice attempt Kelvin. Imps train tonight mate.
They actually did have a run last night Gary. They had a run at Number 3 because they can't train at City Oval till Friday night because the trots are on. So maybe the "Great Blond One" did have a run???
[quote=gutsy]
I know it was a joke but what you had been writing was of a good opinion and then you come out with that. I like how you operate but keep it real and i will keep reading your'e opinions eagerly another hard at the ball player to hold his head up Darren Wood ?
If you look at many playes in the early to mid 90's that were playing, there were alot of hard players.
Tony Hickey, Darren Wood, Peter Johns, John Brunyen, Darren Savickis, Mick Wood, Ross Pointon. They were blokes that could play good hard footy as well as give a bit and take a bit as well. I would go as far to say that there isn't a player in the League now that could match the hardness of these blokes.
They actually did have a run last night Gary. They had a run at Number 3 because they can't train at City Oval till Friday night because the trots are on. So maybe the "Great Blond One" did have a run???
As much as it would be great to have Tony back running around for the green and whites, I don't think Tony is the type of person to come out of retirement. He stated in the paper last year he didn't want to keep young kids out of the side and his influence last year was far from his best football. I imagine Tony will continue to be a part of the green machine in a big capacity, but to return to Senior Football as a Player after retiring would seem out of character for the great man.
To those of you out there that think I am Jason Spivey, I am NOT. As previously stated I am entitled to an opinion on any player I like, good or bad. So no more private messages about this crap about me being Spivey. I know Spivey is on here and I am sure there are quite a few south players who can confirm who Spivey is on here and it isn't me.
So HOTDOGS, Brad Thomas probably wouldn't give a toss that I put him in my top 5 softest players and as for my No.1 choice, there are plenty on here that agree. And lastly, I put my opinion forward on the softest players as I was asked to. READ THE POSTS HOTDOGS BEFORE YOU SEND PRIVATE MESSAGES TELLING ME TO PULL MY HEAD IN.
I am leaving this forum. I apologise to Spivey and Terry Ryan and any other person that may have been mistaken for me and my opinions.
All you are doing Gutsy is losing the respect of all readers. There was another bloke called kick it to me who went that way and was excommunicated due to stupid comments. Perhaps it is time to take stock before u go the same way.Most of us are only interested in real footy news-not dribble.:mad:
I am leaving this forum. I apologise to Spivey and Terry Ryan and any other person that may have been mistaken for me and my opinions.
Farewell Gutsy, when the going got tough, you packed your bags and got going. For someone with a massive perspective on soft players you've certainly done the soft thing by quitting the forum haven't you? Hypocrital? Hrmm. I know you were asked to post your softest 10 players, fair enough, but you were pretty savage on Alvey and O'Callaghan on previous pages beforehand.
To me it just looks like that for someone big on toughness like yourself, you're definately shirking the issue here mate by quitting. If you're a quitter, so be it.
Soft players still have a go ... Quitters don't!
PS. Jason Spivey, tough customer, does the hard things ... Will ALWAYS be found sitting on the defensive side of a pack. Does that make him soft?
Yaaablett
6 Apr 2006, 14:37
[quote=RIFLEMAN]
If you look at many playes in the early to mid 90's that were playing, there were alot of hard players.
Tony Hickey, Darren Wood, Peter Johns, John Brunyen, Darren Savickis, Mick Wood, Ross Pointon. They were blokes that could play good hard footy as well as give a bit and take a bit as well. I would go as far to say that there isn't a player in the League now that could match the hardness of these blokes.
Rod Simms?
The Nest
6 Apr 2006, 14:53
To those of you out there that think I am Jason Spivey, I am NOT. As previously stated I am entitled to an opinion on any player I like, good or bad. So no more private messages about this crap about me being Spivey. I know Spivey is on here and I am sure there are quite a few south players who can confirm who Spivey is on here and it isn't me.
So HOTDOGS, Brad Thomas probably wouldn't give a toss that I put him in my top 5 softest players and as for my No.1 choice, there are plenty on here that agree. And lastly, I put my opinion forward on the softest players as I was asked to. READ THE POSTS HOTDOGS BEFORE YOU SEND PRIVATE MESSAGES TELLING ME TO PULL MY HEAD IN.
Dont leave Gutsy, if anyone is taking what your saying too serious then that's their problem. It's Comedy! It's only your opinion and everyone else is entitled to post what they like aswell, its just that you have the "Guts" to do it. How about some of the people complaining start putting some of their thoughts on here so we have something decent to talk about!
Can anyone tell me if all SFL Senior Teams are still donating their Round 1 match payments to the Mildura Remembers Memorial Trust Fund??
Did anyone see Imperials goal sneak Brendan 'Hot Shots' Clohesy on the front page of the Sunny Daily today promoting his show on tomorrow night at the Setts??
harry the bad man
6 Apr 2006, 15:02
yeh some of the above were tough but wot bout knuckles loveridge:rolleyes:
As u might see Nest this thread was started by myself and whilst it is great to hear opinions I reckon it is pretty poor for guys to bag quality footballers such as O'Callaghan etc for softness.If i was after comedy I'd be on another site.
harry the bad man
6 Apr 2006, 15:10
hey nest peter barbs barbury said that he had the biggest influence on u as a pup and that u still go roun and see him today about yur proppy leg
Farewell Gutsy, when the going got tough, you packed your bags and got going. For someone with a massive perspective on soft players you've certainly done the soft thing by quitting the forum haven't you? Hypocrital? Hrmm. I know you were asked to post your softest 10 players, fair enough, but you were pretty savage on Alvey and O'Callaghan on previous pages beforehand.
To me it just looks like that for someone big on toughness like yourself, you're definately shirking the issue here mate by quitting. If you're a quitter, so be it.
Soft players still have a go ... Quitters don't!
PS. Jason Spivey, tough customer, does the hard things ... Will ALWAYS be found sitting on the defensive side of a pack. Does that make him soft?
As I said to you in the private message I was only leaving as I believe it is unfair for Spivey and Terry Ryan and others at the South Club to be labelled or accused of being me. If Hotdogs wishes to persist with his crap then perhaps he could do it on the public forum where all can see.
In answer to your question, that could make Spivey soft in some eyes yes, but you said yourself, he does the hard stuff.