View Full Version : Sunraysia Football league
VERA HICKEY
6 Apr 2006, 15:14
Gutsy
I thought you might have been Terry Ryan or Peter Barbary but then I thought about it and realised neither of those two would have enough brains to be able to type.
The Nest
6 Apr 2006, 15:16
As u might see Nest this thread was started by myself and whilst it is great to hear opinions I reckon it is pretty poor for guys to bag quality footballers such as O'Callaghan etc for softness.If i was after comedy I'd be on another site.
Well drummer from the Beatles, I myself play in the SFL, and I have been bagged on this site but do you think it really worries me.......
I know that Gonzo wouldnt be worried about some guy he doesnt know calling him soft. Everyone that knows him and has watched him play closely knows he is very much a tough player.
Because you started the thread does that mean you get to boss us around?;)
The Nest
6 Apr 2006, 15:21
hey nest peter barbs barbury said that he had the biggest influence on u as a pup and that u still go roun and see him today about yur proppy leg
Peter Ollis Barbary did have a major influence on my junior development, great club man. Unfortunately, I dont get to see Barbs as often as I used due to "Petecrete" and myself playing for the opposition. He still would be the best ankle strapper that I have come across.
I'm no boss man Nesty but you did back up my original argument; Gutsy writes rubbish!
Yaaablett
6 Apr 2006, 16:34
Well drummer from the Beatles, I myself play in the SFL, and I have been bagged on this site but do you think it really worries me.......
I know that Gonzo wouldnt be worried about some guy he doesnt know calling him soft. Everyone that knows him and has watched him play closely knows he is very much a tough player.
Because you started the thread does that mean you get to boss us around?;)
Yes place where birds reside, this is a place where the guys that would never say something to a guys face can have an anonomous crack. I dont think the players take it too seriously. More footy topics though would be nice, but we need to keep some of the fun, surely.
The Couch
6 Apr 2006, 17:59
Gutsy
I thought you might have been Terry Ryan or Peter Barbary but then I thought about it and realised neither of those two would have enough brains to be able to type.Vera, how are those 'rooster pubes' of yours going? And I hope your chickens are being fed and are well?
ITCHY GOOCH
6 Apr 2006, 18:08
[quote=gutsy]
Rod Simms?
Clint Andrews?:thumbsu:
mullethead
6 Apr 2006, 18:16
[quote=gutsy]
Rod Simms?I am a massive rapt for him as a player Yabbie, his work rate is second to none and gets smashed every week and still gets up and going...great player but not that great of bloke as you would know
Never Heard of a guy called Cele Unwin, do you mean Cale Urwin??
Could be him played for red cliffs i think, not sure but i think he is playing down at the bay this year, haven't seen him though, is he any good???
Kelvin 69
7 Apr 2006, 09:10
Nice attempt Kelvin. Imps train tonight mate.
Told you they trained Yabs, I was there:thumbsu: :thumbsu:
Kelvin 69
7 Apr 2006, 09:33
As I said to you in the private message I was only leaving as I believe it is unfair for Spivey and Terry Ryan and others at the South Club to be labelled or accused of being me. If Hotdogs wishes to persist with his crap then perhaps he could do it on the public forum where all can see.
In answer to your question, that could make Spivey soft in some eyes yes, but you said yourself, he does the hard stuff.
Come on Gutsy don't get all sooky on us. Please don't leave. How about you give us the top 5 hardest players in the league?
Rodman24
7 Apr 2006, 09:34
Could be him played for red cliffs i think, not sure but i think he is playing down at the bay this year, haven't seen him though, is he any good???
He did play for Red Cliffs all reports he is over in Adelaide at boarding school,a young gun who could take it all the way to the big league, was also a handy basketballer who played in the local A Grade comp for Irymple
Yaaablett
7 Apr 2006, 09:54
[quote=Yaaablett]I am a massive rapt for him as a player Yabbie, his work rate is second to none and gets smashed every week and still gets up and going...great player but not that great of bloke as you would know
I do know mate and he is a great bloke. Smashed you a couple of times has he?
Yaaablett
7 Apr 2006, 09:55
Told you they trained Yabs, I was there:thumbsu: :thumbsu:
Thanks for coming to see me old mate.:(
VERA HICKEY
7 Apr 2006, 12:37
I've got a bombshell boys. I reckon this is the biggest story to hit Big Footy Sunraysia Thread.
A bloke at the trots told me last night he had been to South training and the word from their was that Denny Fox has retired from SFL footy. Maybe a few of the South boys on here may be able to confirm this???
I've got a bombshell boys. I reckon this is the biggest story to hit Big Footy Sunraysia Thread.
A bloke at the trots told me last night he had been to South training and the word from their was that Denny Fox has retired from SFL footy. Maybe a few of the South boys on here may be able to confirm this???
Hasn't hung the boots up yet. Unavailable due to heavy work committments. Should be something in the paper tomorrow about it.
Peter Ollis Barbary did have a major influence on my junior development, great club man. Unfortunately, I dont get to see Barbs as often as I used due to "Petecrete" and myself playing for the opposition. He still would be the best ankle strapper that I have come across.
Hey Nesty, Barbs is well hell of an ankle strapper I have to agree. He will tell you he is too. Keeps the bar ticking over on match days and a bloke that loves his South boys. Needs to do something about that mullet though.
What are peoples thoughts on the Bendigo Pioneers system? I have been through it and I think it is a great stepping stone for the kids but it is obvious the system is allowing some great kids to slip through.
ie: Ryan Hards, Lawso, Calvi.
Surely there needs to be something in place to allow these kids the opportunity of being drafted without having to uproot and move to Bendigo. Is Sunraysia good enough to have its own team in the VCFL U18 comp. I don't think we have the depth unfortunately but something needs to be done to give our top Juniors more opportunity without leaving the district.
For everyones info, South Mildura have lost Dane Avery to Bendigo (BOG on the weekend). He is 17 yrs old and had to move to Bendigo to give himself the best opportunity to play. South have claimed 3 points in the controversial points system for him leaving but the down side is that he CANNOT play Seniors Football in the SFL if he were to miss selection in the Pioneers. This to me is ridiculous. How is any club to know if thier kids will or will not make the Pioneers team from week to week. It penalises the player who is doing his best to represent the SFL at the highest level. I think the point system needs to be readressed.
Yaaablett
7 Apr 2006, 14:47
Is that because Avery has moved to Bendigo? Does he have to play for a Bendigo club or thirds for south? i think Mildura are planning on playing Jono Lee when available.
Cause we claimed the bonus 3 points for him going to Bendigo. If Mildura claim points for Lee then he is ineligable to play for Mildura Seniors. They can play Reserves or U18 only. Confirmed this with Peter Congress and Neil Hurley. Irymple will be the same with Calvi.
If you haven't claimed the points then you can play them.
Gday champ ! how the Danny Fox are ya, tell me , is the great A.BERRY. making a come back to the SFL and if so , what are his motives . Do you think he'd be planing to bring back the biff . Good on him i say, its good for footy
The Nest
7 Apr 2006, 16:10
Gday champ ! how the Danny Fox are ya, tell me , is the great A.BERRY. making a come back to the SFL and if so , what are his motives . Do you think he'd be planing to bring back the biff . Good on him i say, its good for footy
Is this the real M Corrie?? Tony is still in semi-retirement as i understand Coz. He has been busy with family and work committments, i have heard a whisper that he is doing a bit on his own to get his fitness up, whether he will play again is still a mystery.
VERA HICKEY
7 Apr 2006, 16:44
My understanding is that South needed those extra three points to fit all their recruits into the Salary Cap. If South hadn't been close they could have played Avery when he comes back in the seniors. You get an extra three points( if you want them) if you lose a player to the under 18 system. I hear that South are the only ones that are close to breaking point and therefore needed the extra points. South certainly aren't doing the boy Avery any favours
Is this the real M Corrie?? Tony is still in semi-retirement as i understand Coz. He has been busy with family and work committments, i have heard a whisper that he is doing a bit on his own to get his fitness up, whether he will play again is still a mystery.
Ill tell you one thing nesty !! the Oies A ******** hole , !!! Cant get any more real than that brother !! I am a fool for exposing myself but i thought ********it im a risktaker, and a caketake , Nety there are some dumb ********ing people out there, but mate i take the cake. The Whisper down here is he is casing the joint ready to make a move . Hes an insperation to all with great leg speed , what do you recon about that uncle !!! Can he get a gig with you blokes and if does, can ya bring him back through the colts !!!
The Nest
7 Apr 2006, 18:18
Ill tell you one thing nesty !! the Oies A ******** hole , !!! Cant get any more real than that brother !! I am a fool for exposing myself but i thought ********it im a risktaker, and a caketake , Nety there are some dumb ********ing people out there, but mate i take the cake. The Whisper down here is he is casing the joint ready to make a move . Hes an insperation to all with great leg speed , what do you recon about that uncle !!! Can he get a gig with you blokes and if does, can ya bring him back through the colts !!!
On fire... He is more than welcome at the nest and he knows that. Not sure if he would need to come through the colts. Are you boys still flag favourites this year? How is Clicka going, massive honka!
Kelvin 69
7 Apr 2006, 19:31
[quote=Yaaablett]
Clint Andrews?:thumbsu:
Benard Leslie Rigby:thumbsu: :thumbsu:
On fire... He is more than welcome at the nest and he knows that. Not sure if he would need to come through the colts. Are you boys still flag favourites this year? How is Clicka going, massive honka! Hes me mate so here i go !! massive snout, if he was racing in the mildura cup against pollyester boy , 50 to go he'll get up by a noise, its a flat out ripper !! . Footy wise hes going great guns , can't catch for ******** ! .I remember a certian game which he took the best screamer in . if ya gets a chance, ask tone about it. Flag wise i gess you dont know until you get there brother !! bull******** , we'll kill em killem all . IS that bookem or whatever his name who coached south last year back there ? Cos i heard he got the ass form the woodcutters running to much of a muck in the local . Can he fight or box , maybe boxing ********ing apples that might be it . :rolleyes:
Yaaablett
7 Apr 2006, 21:07
Ibis, the player The Nest is referring to is an ex AFL player that the Irymple coach got onto from a bendigo bomber friend. If he plays would be huge news and would mean that Irymple would start red hot favourites for the flag. I'll let The Nest make the announcement in due course.
I know it's unusual to quote yourself, but guys, how The Nest and the swallow heirarchy have kept this quiet is beyond me. If Eaton doesn't come clean I have no option. I know the guy they are talking to and have sworn secrecy until the deal is done, i havent even told the Mildura recruiters. If you guys guess though I will give you an answer. Irymple hope to have him signed within a fortnight.
Skeeterman
7 Apr 2006, 21:09
To those of you out there that think I am Jason Spivey, I am NOT. As previously stated I am entitled to an opinion on any player I like, good or bad. So no more private messages about this crap about me being Spivey. I know Spivey is on here and I am sure there are quite a few south players who can confirm who Spivey is on here and it isn't me.
So HOTDOGS, Brad Thomas probably wouldn't give a toss that I put him in my top 5 softest players and as for my No.1 choice, there are plenty on here that agree. And lastly, I put my opinion forward on the softest players as I was asked to. READ THE POSTS HOTDOGS BEFORE YOU SEND PRIVATE MESSAGES TELLING ME TO PULL MY HEAD IN.
I am leaving this forum. I apologise to Spivey and Terry Ryan and any other person that may have been mistaken for me and my opinions.
Gutsy I have enjoyed your postings because they have created debate although I have come to the conclusion you must have been smoking far to mucht South Mildura bat and the money shot must have ruptured something in your tiny cranium because I'm sure you swallow.
Surely calling Ryan O'callaghan soft and having a crack at one of your better young blokes in Catta Thomas you must either be stirring or a absolute footy nuff nuff.
Hope you stay around and offer CONSIDERED opinions in the future although I sense you are one of those soft c**** that wouldn't dare mention any of this to a players face.
You told Hotdogs to read the posts before telling you to pull your head in, mate, I've read them and I reckon Hotdogs is being diplomatic you deserve more with the way you constantly slay people.
gives da hands
7 Apr 2006, 22:42
I know it's unusual to quote yourself, but guys, how The Nest and the swallow heirarchy have kept this quiet is beyond me. If Eaton doesn't come clean I have no option. I know the guy they are talking to and have sworn secrecy until the deal is done, i havent even told the Mildura recruiters. If you guys guess though I will give you an answer. Irymple hope to have him signed within a fortnight.
I think it's warren crisera's real dad Tommy Alvin???
Yaaablett I don't think Irymple will be recruiting anyone as interesting as your post implies. It would be good if they could i've got soft spot for the swallows they've worked hard to make themselves a very competitive outfit Maybe another gun recruit would do the trick but I reckon the purse strings are a bit to tight.
Warren Crisera Tom Alvins son who would of guessed.
Lego Head
8 Apr 2006, 19:24
just wounderin if anyone has heard more information about Mark Alvey. Apparently in his game today he injuried his leg
Yeah, got stretchered off didn't he? That's huge for Wenty. He'll be undoubtedly sorely missed if it's serious.
Interesting to read Red Cliffs' captain and vice captain. Lee and Dowdy. Dowdy is a fantastic player but do you give someone the vice captaincy who tried to get a clearance in the preseason to Nangiloc? Just how loyal is he? Maybe they're trying to buy his loyalty? Anyone out Reddy way have an opinion?
I also noticed the Dees training when i went past this morning. Nearly drove into a power pole when I saw Timmy Leng AND GS Cardew on the track ...
gives da hands
9 Apr 2006, 15:49
The burning question on everyones lips is, where is Ash Connicks neck???? He reminds me of a cartoon character.
gives da hands
9 Apr 2006, 15:54
Rumour has it that there is a $2 coin about 50km outside of ouyen and troy hosking drove out there to look for it?
Footy wise what does it prove when a club eg Balranald spends a fortune on "big name players" in an effort to win a flag? (unsuccessfully recently)
It doesn't prove that your town has the best footy talent either bred or skilled up by a strong junior setup.
It simply says that someone a dumb but wealthy supporter is putting in a quid.
What do they get out of it?
It could be that your town has a footy club committee that are doing a power of work to raise a quid in the so called struggling rural communities.
Commendable but how should it be spent on Joe (show me the money) Bloggs who played two games in the vfl ( Diggers ) three years ago and three of his mates that drive up Saturday morning charm the local girls and ******** of Sunday morning (if they stay that long)
It ********es me of but I dont know what you can do about.
Maybe a points system would work
Maybe spending your hard earned on your facilities and perhaps a topline coach. By that I dont mean one that insists that you buy every player he thinks you need. But one that can teach kids the skills required and how the game is played. Perhaps that means that your best coach is not fronting your senior side but you under 18's or even lower.
If you've got that much cash get topline coaches in all grades.
Enough!!
Have heard that the three afl drug users come from West Coast
and Port. Surprise surprise Michael Gardiner is one and there is one
other Eagle whose name escapes me. The third is Toby Thurstans who actually
was back in the side today and played ok.
Kelvin 69
9 Apr 2006, 21:57
Rumour has it that there is a $2 coin about 50km outside of ouyen and troy hosking drove out there to look for it?
Is'nt he an ex team mate of yours?
Grima I'd delete that post if you want to keep posting here if I was you.;)
Rumour has it that there is a friend about 50km outside of Ouyen and Brad Morris drove out there to look for it.
Ibis100
10 Apr 2006, 12:15
GUTSY,
Your comments about current and past players at the South Mildura Football Club have cause some problems. Least of all the implication that myself and others on the coaching panel are in fact you.
I have just this morning recieved phone calls about comments you previously posted that have upset several people.
There are many of us at the club attempting to find out your real name but so far we have not been successful. My suggestion to you Gutsy or should we say gutless, is to either give up on this crap you write or put your name to it. People do not deserve to suffer as a result of your OPINIONS as you put it. If they are your OPINIONS, keep them to yourself.
Yaaablett
10 Apr 2006, 12:40
Yes, and you play for the love of it? I think we all know Troys motivation to return to Mildura. Why be a ******** about it?
The Nest
10 Apr 2006, 12:52
Good to see some of the recruits to the league getting amongst the best players. Some interesting injuries to come out of the weekend to some of the Contenders for this year. Alvey, Riordan, Bryans. South & Mildura have continued their pre-season form. The other games went as expected. South vs Irymple should be a cracker this Friday.
What are some peoples thoughts on some of the recruits from opposing sides from the weekend?
Robinvale's coach (Keam) and his brother will be good players in the league. Assistant Coach John Harley, very good, courageous, hard at it. McCrae new ruckman battled well.
chalkie
10 Apr 2006, 14:03
Yes, and you play for the love of it? I think we all know Troys motivation to return to Mildura. Why be a ******** about it?
Troy's move to Mild I'm sure is something very sepcial for his family and he can't be criticised for that. However, there have been strong rumours (I know, don't believe everything you hear) he is on a very handy package at Mildura. You have to agree Yaaablett, that for a guy who has played at 4 clubs in this league and also played in another league in between , people are going to suspect that money is a very motivating factor in who he plays for.
But in the end if he can make some $$$ out of footy and mates, have a good time and win a prem'ship, then good on him. He isn't the first bloke to do this and sure won't be the last.:)
Just wondering what the standard of the umpiring was like at the other games? At the south and RC game, they struggled with being consistent in the calling of decisions and were red hot on holding the ball and over the shoulder calls. I'm not aiming to start a discussion where we bag the umps, just wondering how they went too, considering the situation they are in, being a bit short of numbers
Rumour has it that there is a friend about 50km outside of Ouyen and Brad Morris drove out there to look for it.
Just to clear the Air, Brad Morris was not give the hands on the last 2 quotes. And the person that did Quote may have been extremly drunk and over 6 foot tall. Ill let u boys figure it out.
Yaablet how me footys comming alone u got them yet???
harry the bad man
10 Apr 2006, 16:51
drove past hockos house last week, interesting to see a lot of smoke coming from the backyard glasshouse
Yaaablett
10 Apr 2006, 18:14
Just to clear the Air, Brad Morris was not give the hands on the last 2 quotes. And the person that did Quote may have been extremly drunk and over 6 foot tall. Ill let u boys figure it out.
Yaablet how me footys comming alone u got them yet???
Not yet mate. Hopefully this week. I'll let you know.
Hillite
10 Apr 2006, 19:45
Did irymple have John Harley training with them before Robinvale knew he was in town. Would have been a good pick up for the swallows.
Can anyone confirm or deny that Leigh Riordans thumb injury
was a dislocation and not a break??
Can also confirm that Andrew Petrie will definately NOT be running out
at any stage with the green and whites this year.
Peaches is having far too much fun carving up the UK ladies!
And considering he had drank the well dry here he is a long way from
returning to his old stomping ground.
Can anyone confirm or deny that Leigh Riordans thumb injury
was a dislocation and not a break??
Can also confirm that Andrew Petrie will definately NOT be running out
at any stage with the green and whites this year.
Peaches is having far too much fun carving up the UK ladies!
And considering he had drank the well dry here he is a long way from
returning to his old stomping ground.
his thumb is gone mate.. won't play for 6-8.. extremly big loss
i believe peaches will be back for the last 6 games
sumo 111
11 Apr 2006, 00:13
If it's true that Riordan's thumb is stuffed it will be a big loss for South, especially as they are without Fox at the moment. I'm sure Fox will be back later on. Should be a great game on good friday - some rough and tough football with no shortage of skills either. If Riordan is out, it should give the edge to Irymple in a close one.
Had a look at South v Red Cliffs on saturday night and was mighty impressed by the kids on both teams. The Red Cliffs kids in particular never gave up and if as expected they hold onto some of these kids they should reap the benefits over the next few years. Lando from South is also very impressive. Great skills and awareness for a 16 year old.
I can't believe that the Sunraysia Daily reporter didn't put Gathefcole in his votes. Spivey and Haase deserved to get votes but Gathercole was dominant and clearly the best player on the park. Really tragic to hear the news about Alvey. It would be great to see both Alvey and Gathercole in the same game. Let's hope that Alvey can get back for the last part of the season. His loss also puts quite a hole in the "must see" Sunraysia team. It's great that this League is attracting some class players back to it.
his thumb is gone mate.. won't play for 6-8.. extremly big loss
i believe peaches will be back for the last 6 games
That will put a massive dent in the dogs campaign if thats correct,
especially if Fox isnt playing, as has been reported. They really dont
have a specialist ruckman outside those two.
If it's true that Riordan's thumb is stuffed it will be a big loss for South, especially as they are without Fox at the moment. I'm sure Fox will be back later on. Should be a great game on good friday - some rough and tough football with no shortage of skills either. If Riordan is out, it should give the edge to Irymple in a close one.
Had a look at South v Red Cliffs on saturday night and was mighty impressed by the kids on both teams. The Red Cliffs kids in particular never gave up and if as expected they hold onto some of these kids they should reap the benefits over the next few years. Lando from South is also very impressive. Great skills and awareness for a 16 year old.
I can't believe that the Sunraysia Daily reporter didn't put Gathefcole in his votes. Spivey and Haase deserved to get votes but Gathercole was dominant and clearly the best player on the park. Really tragic to hear the news about Alvey. It would be great to see both Alvey and Gathercole in the same game. Let's hope that Alvey can get back for the last part of the season. His loss also puts quite a hole in the "must see" Sunraysia team. It's great that this League is attracting some class players back to it.
Didnt see the game personally but have spoken to a few south people and
they all stated that Gathercole was BOG by a street. Dont really think
the Gallagher Holcroft award in the local rag holds much credence mate.
I may be wrong but apart from Tony McCarthy (who i think reviewed that game) none of the other writers would have much if any football experience. Be interested to hear what others think on this.
It is sad to see "Ernie" go down so early. Would've been great for him to have a really big year. He deserves more than to go down injured again.
Clean break and no surgery required so he may be back later in the year.
johno_07
11 Apr 2006, 09:50
What is OCallaghan's contract at Mildura? As in, how much longer will he coach there? What do others think? Has he improved Mildura in the time he has been there?
mullethead
11 Apr 2006, 10:05
no doubt he has been worth every cent, mcleods arent given out in weeties packets!!!!
mullethead
11 Apr 2006, 10:07
not a great week for a few of the more fancied clubs, Imps losing Hardsy, Irymple losing Bryans (good player sad to see him go that way), Alvey is devasting, no matter what anyone thinks he is fantastic for this league and gets bums on seats, lets hope its not the season!!!
mullethead
11 Apr 2006, 10:08
just on an entirely different thread, how good are those doggies going in the big league
Yaaablett
11 Apr 2006, 10:13
not a great week for a few of the more fancied clubs, Imps losing Hardsy, Irymple losing Bryans (good player sad to see him go that way), Alvey is devasting, no matter what anyone thinks he is fantastic for this league and gets bums on seats, lets hope its not the season!!!
Very dangerous around goals. Great trash talker too. He has obviously had a great career. Anyone know how many flags?
mullethead
11 Apr 2006, 10:30
Very dangerous around goals. Great trash talker too. He has obviously had a great career. Anyone know how many flags?He won at least two with the green and whites.....none obviously with the swallows...I think he kicked a bag in one grand final he won at the mighty green and whites
mullethead
11 Apr 2006, 10:35
yaablett i am not sure did the reporting on our game but I would be a tad disappointed if I was Ash Cnnick in not getting in the best, I thought he hurt us all day and we never quite had the right match up...what do u think...
Yaaablett
11 Apr 2006, 11:53
Gutsy, how did you assess the weekends footy round?
What is OCallaghan's contract at Mildura? As in, how much longer will he coach there? What do others think? Has he improved Mildura in the time he has been there?
As much as evey1 likes to bag him When he got to mildura they had finished last by a mile and in the four years he has been there they have improved considerable and he has 1 a SFL B&F so i think his impact at mildura has been huge. Now that club has secured him a great side. It will be intresting to see how far he can take them.
Did irymple have John Harley training with them before Robinvale knew he was in town. Would have been a good pick up for the swallows.
Correct John Trained 1 night with Irymple and would have played if we were able to get Pat Jess's Brother in law but when he fell through we lost John Also. after watching the game i Rate him very highly. Very thin and where's a helmet and flys into packs at will. played on Simms for most the day and although Simms got plenty of it Was a great battle between him & John.
Anyone have different thoughts after the weekend? I heard South were very good as were Irymple and Wenty but the opposition may be questionable. The wash up from Sunday's game is that both Mildura and Imps can both be pretty happy. Imps had no bench after 1/4 time and Mildura ran over the top as they should have. A bit of talk about him but I heard Hosking was excellent. I saw him play a couple at Tooleytang. Good player. The talk here in Swan Hill is that Booker (ex Sth coach?) has been given the sack already. Also that Balranald haven't finished their offers for Sunraysia players.
chalkie
11 Apr 2006, 15:13
Correct John Trained 1 night with Irymple and would have played if we were able to get Pat Jess's Brother in law but when he fell through we lost John Also. after watching the game i Rate him very highly. Very thin and where's a helmet and flys into packs at will. played on Simms for most the day and although Simms got plenty of it Was a great battle between him & John.
Being a new copper to R'vale ,I now that if John had of signed with the swallows ,that he wouldn't of played to many games due to been rostered on Saturday afternoons:cool:
harry the bad man
11 Apr 2006, 15:38
delray, what was wrong wif playin stinky smith on simms. would of been a great battle of the evergreens. harley is suited to a flank only ( actually reminded the bad man a bit, of sparra kennedy )
johno_07
11 Apr 2006, 15:41
no doubt he has been worth every cent, mcleods arent given out in weeties packets!!!!
I think he is over rated. Good player, stands out in our league but has anyone really actually watched him play? I find that he loves racking up the stats with the run off blokes, but his delivery is questionable. I wouldn't put him under the catorgary as "game breaker". Gets a lot of the footy, but not a match winner in my book. What do others think?
Being a new copper to R'vale ,I now that if John had of signed with the swallows ,that he wouldn't of played to many games due to been rostered on Saturday afternoons:cool:
Ha ha Very true Chalkie i reckon we were cluthcing at straws anyway. However u can pencil him into the SFL Squad. T Hickey was at the game and the fact that he played alright will do his chances no harm.
delray, what was wrong wif playin stinky smith on simms. would of been a great battle of the evergreens. harley is suited to a flank only ( actually reminded the bad man a bit, of sparra kennedy )
Were U at the game Harry?? or were u playing??:)
I think he is over rated. Good player, stands out in our league but has anyone really actually watched him play? I find that he loves racking up the stats with the run off blokes, but his delivery is questionable. I wouldn't put him under the catorgary as "game breaker". Gets a lot of the footy, but not a match winner in my book. What do others think?
Johno im sure a few people will agree and a few will disagree with your comments but Who are the match winners in the SFL. i will get the ball rolling with 1 in the blue & Gold D. Deangelis had a great game at CHB. What are yours and others thoughts on the matter.
Leigh Gathercole would have to be given the title as a match winner? How did he fair on the weekend does anybody know? :D
Ibis100
11 Apr 2006, 16:38
Leigh Gathercole would have to be given the title as a match winner? How did he fair on the weekend does anybody know? :D
Gathers was exceptional.
Ibis100
11 Apr 2006, 16:43
Didnt see the game personally but have spoken to a few south people and
they all stated that Gathercole was BOG by a street. Dont really think
the Gallagher Holcroft award in the local rag holds much credence mate.
I may be wrong but apart from Tony McCarthy (who i think reviewed that game) none of the other writers would have much if any football experience. Be interested to hear what others think on this.
It is sad to see "Ernie" go down so early. Would've been great for him to have a really big year. He deserves more than to go down injured again.
Clean break and no surgery required so he may be back later in the year.
Dont agree with your comment about the Gallagher Holcroft. The winner of that award has won the McLeod medal basically every year. I can't recall a year that the winner didn't win it. (Maybe one recently, not sure) I do agree that Gathercole was BOG though.
Ibis100
11 Apr 2006, 17:10
As much as evey1 likes to bag him When he got to mildura they had finished last by a mile and in the four years he has been there they have improved considerable and he has 1 a SFL B&F so i think his impact at mildura has been huge. Now that club has secured him a great side. It will be intresting to see how far he can take them.
I think with the list of players he has this year he will be expected to finish top 3. This is the year that will say how good a coach he is. With 4 years at the helm and having recruited smartly the committee will be expecting him to deliver a finals series at least. Knowing him he will be setting his sights high. Looking at the reserves results though, the depth he is trying to get still isn't there and I hope for him that they don't get hit by injuries like some of us other last weekend. What I would do for a couple of his bigs.
Delray, he obviously has the respect of the club and they think he is the man for th job or they would have got rid of him last year after dropping back to 6th on the ladder after making finals in 2004.
I think we will know in the next 4 weeks.
There are several coaches this year expected to do well with the recruiting they have done. No different to any other year. I think Eato is under the most pressure especially with Imps losing a couple of their key players last weekend. Irymple would be flag favourite now.
Would it be a fair comment to say that the outcome of the South and Irymple match this week will decide premiership favourites? I know other factors will come into it but if a side wins this game comfortably their price will tumble.
Just wondering what the standard of the umpiring was like at the other games? At the south and RC game, they struggled with being consistent in the calling of decisions and were red hot on holding the ball and over the shoulder calls. I'm not aiming to start a discussion where we bag the umps, just wondering how they went too, considering the situation they are in, being a bit short of numbers
At the Mildura v. Imps game the standard was absolutley terrible. Soft free kicks had the umps blowing their whistle every 10 seconds. The game had no real flow and I don't know how many goals were kicked due to frees but it seemed like heaps. Not the umps best day ... :thumbsd:
I don't mean to bag them but it seemed like they came out with orders and were gunna pay anything that half resembled a free kick. In future they should let the game flow ... :thumbsu:
Hillite
11 Apr 2006, 17:37
No one would discount Imps even with a few players down. In recent years their early form has not been great yet they manage to get it right at the right time.
Depth or lack of it could well be Milduras undoing. Their goal to goal line is good but can they replace any loss in the key positions.
Irymple looks good too, a fair bit of experience and with Dicka gone the average age drops a few years. Could do with another tall ( what are the rumours about)
South, a new set up looks good on paper and last weeks win got them going. Time will tell.
Wenty will be rocked by Alveys injury but if they can keep up with the field until he returns they may make it.
The others???..... team building.
The final four will be Imps, Irymple. South and the Dees but not in that order.Too early to make such judgements.
I was just curious as to who played well for Robinvale on the weekend, I have been hearing good things about Harley for a while, and while people have been talking about robinvales new recruits lets no forget the players who have departed including high flying james mcntosh, mark jury,There are plent of others i havent mentioned, also how did up and coming superstar brendan o'haire play for robinvale ??
Robinvale have to count themselves unlucky on the weekend. The match should have been closer than it was. Although they were led by a new coach (Robinvale), Irymple kicked out of their skin when it came to accuracy. 24.13 (157) When was the last time Irymple kicked this straight? It sure as hell wasn't last year!
Maybe DeAngelis in defense has something to do with it. That man kicks for goal about as straight as those machines spit out the clay targets in the shooting. One goes flying out the left, another flying out the right. PUUUUUUUULL!
Whaddya reckon Nesty? Last year Irymple had the worst goals kicked vs. points kicked % in the league. Costly come finals time. Something you guys have been working on down there Delray?
Robinvale have to count themselves unlucky on the weekend. The match should have been closer than it was. Although they were led by a new coach (Robinvale), Irymple kicked out of their skin when it came to accuracy. 24.13 (157) When was the last time Irymple kicked this straight? It sure as hell wasn't last year!
Maybe DeAngelis in defense has something to do with it. That man kicks for goal about as straight as those machines spit out the clay targets in the shooting. One goes flying out the left, another flying out the right. PUUUUUUUULL!
Whaddya reckon Nesty? Last year Irymple had the worst goals kicked vs. points kicked % in the league. Costly come finals time. Something you guys have been working on down there Delray?
100% correct Santoz. The inclusion of Simms and Eagle has helped our accuracy dramaticly last year we had a lot of running forced goals & Behinds. this year we are gitting alot more set shots. DeAngelis at CHB is great, were he played all his VFL Footy. The inclusion of Brodie Harris within the next couple weeks should help out our tall timber also.:thumbsu:
The Nest
12 Apr 2006, 16:01
Our kicking for goal was terrible last year. I think that came down to the forward structure. A large amount of our goals came from midfielders because of our lack of key targets, and therefore the scoring shots werent coming from high % areas. This year we have at least two big forwards to kick it to and now have more structure. Nothing different just being smarter about where you kick the goals from. Big D is better suited to the backline with his kicking. Although he was still the best CHF in the league last year.
Flag Favourites, Schmag Favourites, its Easter this weekend guys and we all know it is a long year of footy. Injuries and momentum in August will give you the clear favourites come that time.
Im pretty sure Denny Fox won the Gallagher Holcroft last year and thoroughly deserved it. Pity the umpires couldnt see all of his goodwork in 05. Bit like Sonny Lindsay back in........ What year was it Santoz??
harry the bad man
12 Apr 2006, 16:03
Harrys memo to irymples onball brigade:
If you want to beat IMPS:
Play as a TEAM - Stop ********farting/showboating when in possession of the pill and pump it long and direct to utilise yur tall timber up forward
I think with the list of players he has this year he will be expected to finish top 3. This is the year that will say how good a coach he is. With 4 years at the helm and having recruited smartly the committee will be expecting him to deliver a finals series at least. Knowing him he will be setting his sights high. Looking at the reserves results though, the depth he is trying to get still isn't there and I hope for him that they don't get hit by injuries like some of us other last weekend. What I would do for a couple of his bigs.
Delray, he obviously has the respect of the club and they think he is the man for th job or they would have got rid of him last year after dropping back to 6th on the ladder after making finals in 2004.
I think we will know in the next 4 weeks.
There are several coaches this year expected to do well with the recruiting they have done. No different to any other year. I think Eato is under the most pressure especially with Imps losing a couple of their key players last weekend. Irymple would be flag favourite now.
Dont Throw all the expectation on Eaton Ibis100. U yourself must felling it abit with the team you have on paper. and as for talls what Fox, Riordan & Cook is not enough??
But What i really wanna no is. Is it true That a meeting was called down at STH Re:Gutsy and who it might be??? what was the verdict.:D Are u any closer to finding out the mole???
harry the bad man
12 Apr 2006, 16:32
afternoon nesty, sunraysia should have a better rep team this year than in previous years, are you willing to let the irymple boys play if selected? You would almost be risking half a team!
Also any truth in the rumour that you will be pulling the boots on good friday?
afternoon nesty, sunraysia should have a better rep team this year than in previous years, are you willing to let the irymple boys play if selected? You would almost be risking half a team!
Also any truth in the rumour that you will be pulling the boots on good friday?
Absolutely correct, will be like the good old days when the leagues elite would play such as the likes of, Sonny Lindsey, Falvo, Billa, P Zap, T Hickey, Brennan. On the provider that the leagues best actually play for once.
The league is stronger then ever and is at a much higher standard then the ranking sudgests (pool d) Sunraysia should be competing against the likes of Bendigo ,Ballarat, Wimera instead of places like Diamond Valley and North Central Mallee. :thumbsd: of which are at a much lower standard
footy02
12 Apr 2006, 22:07
dedicated cmfl supporter.. just wanted to say your thread is the best thread ut of them all at moment.. decent footy conversation. get in to the cmfl and goldern rivers and have a look.. absolute discrace.. pleasure to read peope of sunraysia..
Im pretty sure Denny Fox won the Gallagher Holcroft last year and thoroughly deserved it. Pity the umpires couldnt see all of his goodwork in 05. Bit like Sonny Lindsay back in........ What year was it Santoz??
Must have been the year Deckert won the McCleod. He killed em that year didn't he? Was that the year he kicked 110 or something?
I'm keen to hear too Nesty if you are gunna make all your stars play Rep footy. Irymple are notorious for their boys pulling the pin at the last minute. Surely this year things will be different ...
The Nest
13 Apr 2006, 09:40
Must have been the year Deckert won the McCleod. He killed em that year didn't he? Was that the year he kicked 110 or something?
I'm keen to hear too Nesty if you are gunna make all your stars play Rep footy. Irymple are notorious for their boys pulling the pin at the last minute. Surely this year things will be different ...
I will be encouraging the Irymple guys to represent the League. With the split round this year at least the players get a break. It will be interesting who misses out if a full squad is available, there will be some handy players, and from all reports the league are trying to make it easier for the players to get away and play well.ie. flying down to Melb, staying at accommodation close to the grounds etc.
(harry the bad man) Also any truth in the rumour that you will be pulling the boots on good friday?
Gee Harold, you are putting the pressure on! It hasnt been that long. Although I do want to try out my new boots...
PS. Where is Gutsy??? We miss your comments, come back, just dont speak about your beloved Dogs, all that does is cause trouble.
Yaaablett
13 Apr 2006, 10:02
I will be encouraging the Irymple guys to represent the League. With the split round this year at least the players get a break. It will be interesting who misses out if a full squad is available, there will be some handy players, and from all reports the league are trying to make it easier for the players to get away and play well.ie. flying down to Melb, staying at accommodation close to the grounds etc.
(harry the bad man) Also any truth in the rumour that you will be pulling the boots on good friday?
Gee Harold, you are putting the pressure on! It hasnt been that long. Although I do want to try out my new boots...
PS. Where is Gutsy??? We miss your comments, come back, just dont speak about your beloved Dogs, all that does is cause trouble.
Where did you get them from????:mad:
The Nest
13 Apr 2006, 10:14
Where did you get them from????:mad:
Sorry mate, internet purchase. They are a brand that you dont stock. You know I would of bought them from you if I could. You will understand why you dont stock them once you see them.
Grimmett
13 Apr 2006, 10:56
The Nest in Nomis in 2006?
Ibis100
13 Apr 2006, 11:03
No meeting was called at South about Gutsy but it was mentioned to the playing group about the consequences of posting things on here.
Big News I heard last night The NEST, Deangilis hurt himself at work yesterday and unavailable for Friday. Came straight from his old man apparently. Any truth to that one. Better be, I got a call at 1030 last night to let me know and interupted my beauty sleep.
Ibis100
13 Apr 2006, 11:09
Dont Throw all the expectation on Eaton Ibis100. U yourself must felling it abit with the team you have on paper. and as for talls what Fox, Riordan & Cook is not enough??
But What i really wanna no is. Is it true That a meeting was called down at STH Re:Gutsy and who it might be??? what was the verdict.:D Are u any closer to finding out the mole???
Yes Delray I have the pressure on me to perform. I have publicly stated that I will accept nothing less than finals footy or it is considered a failed year for the club. Being a first year coach as is Eato, we probably don't have the pressure that Ryan does so I will retract my comment about Eato being under the most pressure and replace that with Ryan OCallaghan.
As for my talls Delray, Fox and Riordon both unavailable for a good part of the season.
Yaaablett
13 Apr 2006, 11:59
No meeting was called at South about Gutsy but it was mentioned to the playing group about the consequences of posting things on here.
Big News I heard last night The NEST, Deangilis hurt himself at work yesterday and unavailable for Friday. Came straight from his old man apparently. Any truth to that one. Better be, I got a call at 1030 last night to let me know and interupted my beauty sleep.
Where has the Guts gone?
Back Pocket Assassin
13 Apr 2006, 13:45
Where has the Guts gone?Who cares where the Guts is? All he seemed to do was slag off on anyone and everyone. The forum has been far more footy related since hie retirement! RIP THE GUTS
Lets move on!:thumbsu:
C. OCallghan the weekly GH Nominee. I thought "Thighs" Cardew had a good go and the general consensus from the Dee's faithful was that he was BOG. Any Comment???????
Skeeterman
13 Apr 2006, 14:23
Who cares where the Guts is? All he seemed to do was slag off on anyone and everyone. The forum has been far more footy related since hie retirement! RIP THE GUTS
Lets move on!:thumbsu:
C. OCallghan the weekly GH Nominee. I thought "Thighs" Cardew had a good go and the general consensus from the Dee's faithful was that he was BOG. Any Comment???????
C. OCallaghan was very good and a deserved winner.I thought Hocko was a little stiff
Being a first year coach as is Eato, we probably don't have the pressure that Ryan does so I will retract my comment about Eato being under the most pressure and replace that with Ryan OCallaghan.
Not for one second do i believe Ibis that yourself and Eato would just be happy to play finals footy this year with the sides you've got. Eato has said it himself that Irymple's biggest let down last year was their inaccurate kicking for goal and that they've got the stock this year to make amends for it. It's been too long for the Swallows faithful in between premierships and another let down this year (no flag) would be seen as unacceptable. South arguably has the best list in the league with the people they've added and they weren't too far off the mark last year. Surely these blokes who've come to South aren't playing for the love of the game only. What I've heard is that there's been a bit of splash thrown about this year but that's only speculation, you'd know the real figures no doubt. Even though you're both new coaches that still gives you both no excuses in my book. Your footballing records speak for themselves, it's not as if you're both new to the idea of coaching. You would have had a say last year when Booker was on the way out. The very reason Eato went to the Swallows when he came back was to eventually coach. So using the "first year" excuse is absolute crap as far as I'm concerned.:thumbsd: That's my 2 cents on that matter for anyone who cares to listen ...
By the way. Heard a little rumor that a South official has planned an overseas holiday about the same time as the grand final is to be played. It's been a while since South tasted premiership success. He obviously doesn't think it will be this year then ...;)
chalkie
13 Apr 2006, 15:04
C. OCallaghan was very good and a deserved winner.I thought Hocko was a little stiff
Was suprised that Corey received the player of the week ( he did play well), as I felt there wasn't a stand out player for Mildura, instead they had a very even contribution from their top line players.
Gathercole was sensational for south on Saturday night and really stood out, as he racked up 30 plus possessions, used the ball well and was a good inside and linkage player.
From reports Simms would have to be unlucky as it seems he was back to his best footy,covering losts of ground for his many possessions and any CHF that kicks 5 goals has had an awesome game.
Just wondering if Gutsy and Jason Akermanis are related in anyway. They both sure know how to upset some people.
Gutsy you are a legend! It's quiet hard to be active on this discussion forum and not be found out, as many of us have!!
Make sure you stay involved as I'm sure many of us are keen to work out who the hell you are!!
Ibis100
13 Apr 2006, 15:19
Not for one second do i believe Ibis that yourself and Eato would just be happy to play finals footy this year with the sides you've got. Eato has said it himself that Irymple's biggest let down last year was their inaccurate kicking for goal and that they've got the stock this year to make amends for it. It's been too long for the Swallows faithful in between premierships and another let down this year (no flag) would be seen as unacceptable. South arguably has the best list in the league with the people they've added and they weren't too far off the mark last year. Surely these blokes who've come to South aren't playing for the love of the game only. What I've heard is that there's been a bit of splash thrown about this year but that's only speculation, you'd know the real figures no doubt. Even though you're both new coaches that still gives you both no excuses in my book. Your footballing records speak for themselves, it's not as if you're both new to the idea of coaching. You would have had a say last year when Booker was on the way out. The very reason Eato went to the Swallows when he came back was to eventually coach. So using the "first year" excuse is absolute crap as far as I'm concerned.:thumbsd: That's my 2 cents on that matter for anyone who cares to listen ...
By the way. Heard a little rumor that a South official has planned an overseas holiday about the same time as the grand final is to be played. It's been a while since South tasted premiership success. He obviously doesn't think it will be this year then ...;)
I didn't say I would be happy with JUST making the finals big fella. I said I would accept nothing LESS than finals or I would consider it a failing of the club this year. Yes our recruits are very good but unfortunately we have lost Riordo and Foxy is unavailable so that is two huge losses. We have played a 15 yr old and 16 yr old in Rd 1 and there have been 4 players that played mostly reserves last year represent the club at senior level already. I think that shows that we aren't relying on these new recruits to play well but have increased the depth of players that can step up.
With regard to when Booksy was on his way out last year I will not make comment, that remains between the club and Booksy. What I will say is that I didn't have alot of input at all last year, I learnt all I have from Matthew Walder when I was assistant at Merbein in 1998-2000.
I agree that being a first year coach is no excuse, but I believe people have more tollerance of first year coaches therefore lightening the burden of performing exceptionally each week just slightly.
As my partner says to me Santoz, there is more to life than footy, (But I am still trying to find out what exactly) That Official can perhaps take my partner with him.
johno_07
13 Apr 2006, 15:27
Word is Jarrod Alderton from Mildura maybe moving north. Heard from a mate of his old mans yesterday. Would be a moderate loss for Mildura's defence....