View Full Version : Sunraysia Football league
harry the bad man
27 Apr 2006, 17:20
wot odds will the punters out there give harry for merbein to knock off reddy this week? the badman can feel an upset on the cards
Robbie Smith
27 Apr 2006, 17:26
wot odds will the punters out there give harry for merbein to knock off reddy this week? the badman can feel an upset on the cards
Red Cliffs $1.15
Merbein $1.05
It won't be a high quality game
Red Cliffs $1.15
Merbein $1.05
It won't be a high quality game
it could be a nill all draw that game:thumbsd: :thumbsd: :thumbsd:
Will_Denis
27 Apr 2006, 19:33
ok its that time of the week, i havent checked the inns and outs put i will put my odds on the table, I would of lost alot of money last week with irypmple paying around $2 to beat imps, for some other unknown reason i went for an upset with red cliffs over wentworth, i dont know what i was thinking.
Wentworth $1.50 v Irymple $1.15
probably shaping up to be the match of the round, wentworth coming off a 100 point lashing against and young tigers outfit, aussie cummings appears in good form but it is Irymple who should come away with the points, a few injury worries but a more potent line up with monter Deangelis firing.Irymple by 4 goals.
Merbin $1.05 v Red Cliffs $1.04
This game is what looks what will be the bottom two sides for 2006, both teams filled with a number of talented youngsters espeicially Red Cliffs, all three goal scorers for red cliffs were no older than 19 or so. I just feel that Red cliffs have more potential then merbin and it is good to see Ash Pullman still playing senior sfl footy. Red cliffs by 2 points in a very spirited and hard slogged battle.
Robinvale $2.00 v Mildura $1.80
This is a real danger game for mildura, Robinvale preformed considerably well last week against the doggies, Falvo and Hooker should be likely inclusions for the vale and spell danger for the Dee's. Mark Farnsworth is in rare form along with recruit Jade Keem.The demon's must shut down Robinvales running game in order to win this, they should win by exposing robinvales lack of genuine talls. Connick and Cardew kicked 11 goals between them last week(I think Connick left his neck whilst at tooleybuc) and Anstey is a the real deal. Mildura in a close one.
Imperials $1.30 v South Mildura $2.50
This game could also be argued as match of the week also, all just depends who you follow.
Imperials will be eager to bounce back after losing to Irymple last week. Doherty and Ridely in fine form will cause alot of headaches for South. South must prove themselfs this year if they are going to be "contenders" by winning these sort of games, they heavily relied on a number of players to shake robinvale off last week, Brett Haase is currantly leading the goal scoring comp(usually kicks bags against the "lesser" ranked sides). But unlike south, Imperials can expect their goals to come a number of different players. Imperials would have to be one of the best offensive teams in the league and should win this game but i wont be easy against the likes of Fox, Gathercole and Spivey,
Sorry Santoz, don't agree with any of your write up mate.
I never expected you to agree Ibis nor should you, I hope. Notice at the top, at the very heading, i wrote ...
How and why South Mildura may finish Fourth, not Robinvale
They're a good team down there at the Bulldogs don't get me wrong but they might just finish fourth, here's why ...
It was only mere supposition most of it, full of "what if's" like players going down with injuries and the like and the draw playing against them. I never actually said you will finish fourth. I could do a "How and why ....... may finish fourth, third or whatever".
It was my point of view on how the four may turn out. At this stage I reckon South might just finish fourth but then again, it's only round 3 ...
I never expected you to agree Ibis nor should you, I hope. Notice at the top, at the very heading, i wrote ...
How and why South Mildura may finish Fourth, not Robinvale
They're a good team down there at the Bulldogs don't get me wrong but they might just finish fourth, here's why ...
It was only mere supposition most of it, full of "what if's" like players going down with injuries and the like and the draw playing against them. I never actually said you will finish fourth. I could do a "How and why ....... may finish fourth, third or whatever".
It was my point of view on how the four may turn out. At this stage I reckon South might just finish fourth but then again, it's only round 3 ...
Santoz I think Ibis was just giving his opinion, which is the hole point of this forum,thread whatever you like to call it, personally i really enjoyed your view on why south might finish fourth what can you say about Wentworth and Robinvale ???
Yeah I know he was just giving his point of view but I already knew what his point of view would be on it when I wrote the post. I was just clarifying with thim that it was mostly supposition (I still think Thomas is hot n cold) however and not an out and out prediction of where South will finish on the ladder.
Wentworth: Have got probably the most underrated on-ball division going around in the league and probably the best full forward. They absolutely smashed Mildura in the guts when they played them and I dare say they will give any midfield a shake in the competition. I would love to see their full side run around and if they had Alvey running around I would say they're a chance at making the four. If Bell misses the next few weeks I reckong they'll struggle as I said before and I reckon they'll slip off the pack with games against Irymple, South, Imps the Robinvale at home ...
Robinvale: I don't know much about this Robinvale side but from all reports they've got some more than handy recruits in the Keems and having the likes of Falvo and Hooker back playing will undoubtedly give them a lift in class and smarts. Their younger brigade is as good as any going around in the likes of Denaro, Romeo, O'Connor, Farnsworth and Healy but I still think they're a decent key forward short of making the four. I'm unsure also of the quality of their backline aside from Smith ...
This weekends predictions:
Wentworth vs Irymple: If Bell plays they go close, if he doesn't, they'll find the going tough. Cumming will have to push forward as much as he can in Bell's absence to provide the scoring power Wenty need to win the game as I can't see Umback kicking a bag. Lawson has been quiet and I reckon their backline will need to stand up aswell. Irymple have been smashed with injuries but if they can win the ball forward, Simms and Eagle will kick enough goals to win them the game. If Irymple are to be a top 2 side they need to win them regardless of injuries. Irymple by 30 points. Best on ground is Eagle with 7 goals.
Merbein vs Red Cliffs: Both sides went down by considerable margins last week and this makes for a close game. Merbein were missing key personel in Hunt, Keatch and their leading goal kicker Cavallo whereas the Tigers lost their leader in Faulkhead. Will be goal for goal the whole journey with Red Cliffs just getting over the line by 10 points. Best on ground is Keatch.
Robinvale vs Mildura: Robinvale on their home turf are at least a few goals a better side than away. Mildura have had their "demons" (boom boom) playing at Robinvale and club stalwart Tim Leng can't remember the last time he sang the club song at Robinvale. The Demons have the forwards to kick a winning score but the question is whether or not they'll see the ball often enough to do so. Robinvale have got the pluck to take the game away from Mildura through the guts and if they get their running game going will be likely to get the four points. This will be another goal for goal encounter with the Demons getting up by 20 points. Jake Anstey will pick up the best on ground, kicking four goals straight off his left boot (everyone says he's that good).
Imps vs South Mildura: This is my match of the round with Imperials needing the win to kickstart their season whereas South can go to second if Wentworth/Mildura both lose. Both sides have exciting midfields and this is where I believe the match will be won. Both sides have forwards that can kick a bag in Haase and M.Hickey but it's the overall delivery I think that will count on the day. They say you can't win Superbowls without defense and this is where Imps have the slight edge for mine. In what should be a ripper game i'll go with Imps by 15 points. I'm expecting "Shagger" Maloney to have a big say in he game with a best on ground performance and a couple of goals as he hasn't been in Imps best so far this season.
It will be interesting to read the team selections tomorrow as they'll obviously reveal a few clues as to which way some games may swing ...
Here are the Ins & Out down at swallow Land to help with your tips.
Some big outs which will test the there Depth.
OUT: M.Carn, S. Curran, D. Byrnes, G. Hancock & G. Szentplay
IN: L. Dowdy (first game from U 18's) B.Morris, T.White, O. Lehman & B. Harris
Some other teams Ins and Outs would be greatly appreciated.
hey delray can confirm bell will miss 2-4 wks big loss with a tough month coming up, alvey will be touch and go due back just b4 finals... also any truth in the rumour that spivey has a broken hand but intends on playing on with it....??[/quote]
Badds as good as your word may be i would not be suprised if Jason runs out there on Sat. Does any1 actually no what he has done??? i have heard Back, H String & Cramp can some1 give me the truth.
hey delray can confirm bell will miss 2-4 wks big loss with a tough month coming up, alvey will be touch and go due back just b4 finals... also any truth in the rumour that spivey has a broken hand but intends on playing on with it....??
Badds as good as your word may be i would not be suprised if Jason runs out there on Sat. Does any1 actually no what he has done??? i have heard Back, H String & Cramp can some1 give me the truth.[/quote]
delray i give u my word he wont and i repeat bell wont be playing on saturday.. u will learn to trust me after this.........:thumbsu:
geoffhopkinsburra
28 Apr 2006, 01:06
can anyone tell me how my old mate john harley is travelling for robinvale??? moved up there for work and took on the assistant coach role at the eagles. gutsy straight lines defender built like a rake but fearless and now wears a helmet cause he gets KO'd all the time. also can anyone tell me when swallows Ass/coach patty jess is back from his latest hammy strain???
ok its that time of the week, i havent checked the inns and outs put i will put my odds on the table, I would of lost alot of money last week with irypmple paying around $2 to beat imps, for some other unknown reason i went for an upset with red cliffs over wentworth, i dont know what i was thinking.
Wentworth $1.50 v Irymple $1.15
probably shaping up to be the match of the round, wentworth coming off a 100 point lashing against and young tigers outfit, aussie cummings appears in good form but it is Irymple who should come away with the points, a few injury worries but a more potent line up with monter Deangelis firing.Irymple by 4 goals.
Merbin $1.05 v Red Cliffs $1.04
This game is what looks what will be the bottom two sides for 2006, both teams filled with a number of talented youngsters espeicially Red Cliffs, all three goal scorers for red cliffs were no older than 19 or so. I just feel that Red cliffs have more potential then merbin and it is good to see Ash Pullman still playing senior sfl footy. Red cliffs by 2 points in a very spirited and hard slogged battle.
Robinvale $2.00 v Mildura $1.80
This is a real danger game for mildura, Robinvale preformed considerably well last week against the doggies, Falvo and Hooker should be likely inclusions for the vale and spell danger for the Dee's. Mark Farnsworth is in rare form along with recruit Jade Keem.The demon's must shut down Robinvales running game in order to win this, they should win by exposing robinvales lack of genuine talls. Connick and Cardew kicked 11 goals between them last week(I think Connick left his neck whilst at tooleybuc) and Anstey is a the real deal. Mildura in a close one.
Imperials $1.30 v South Mildura $2.50
This game could also be argued as match of the week also, all just depends who you follow.
Imperials will be eager to bounce back after losing to Irymple last week. Doherty and Ridely in fine form will cause alot of headaches for South. South must prove themselfs this year if they are going to be "contenders" by winning these sort of games, they heavily relied on a number of players to shake robinvale off last week, Brett Haase is currantly leading the goal scoring comp(usually kicks bags against the "lesser" ranked sides). But unlike south, Imperials can expect their goals to come a number of different players. Imperials would have to be one of the best offensive teams in the league and should win this game but i wont be easy against the likes of Fox, Gathercole and Spivey,
well will the fact u offered wenty at$3.00 last week against redy and $2 for irymple sugests to me that perhaps u shouldnt take up being a bookmaker in the near future as it may be a very short profession for you.....
Ibis100
28 Apr 2006, 09:44
I appreciate your views Santoz, I much enjoyed reading it and I understand you said May and Might finish 4th, I was just saying that we won't finish 4th. As I should. If Thomas kicks 3 this week, will you change your view on his consistency. He was inconsistant last year but was still the second highest goal scorer for the team with 37 for the year and this year he seems to have found a new lease on life and is playing good footy, already kicking 8.
Souths ins - Simon Robertson, Dean Brown, Brad Herberte
Souths Outs - Nathan Johns, Robert Morgan, Damian Arthur.
Lets hope the rain goes away, its cold out there and I will get goose bumps.
burntoshine
28 Apr 2006, 11:20
don't tell me harry that you would be willing to back the worst team in country footy simply because you are a loyal supporter of the black and white! but hey if you want to waste your hard earned thats fine by me, i will give you $5, i will even give you six goals in hows that sound.
remember harry, you have to punt with your head, not your heart!
I appreciate your views Santoz, I much enjoyed reading it and I understand you said May and Might finish 4th, I was just saying that we won't finish 4th. As I should. If Thomas kicks 3 this week, will you change your view on his consistency. He was inconsistant last year but was still the second highest goal scorer for the team with 37 for the year and this year he seems to have found a new lease on life and is playing good footy, already kicking 8.
hows the hand ibis....???
Ibis100
28 Apr 2006, 15:43
hows the hand ibis....???
The hand is fine. Why is that badds?
The Nest
28 Apr 2006, 16:01
Anyone out there prepared to give Super Tony a hand and try and name an interleague squad for the SFL? Would like yours Santoz, badds, Ibis, Nifty, Impstar, mullethead, Yaaablett.
You Beauty!!
28 Apr 2006, 16:03
Can you tell me why Robert Morgan is out this week?
Yaaablett
28 Apr 2006, 16:11
If all fit at the time.
B Carn A Rigby Hosking
HB B Rigby DeAngeles Gathercole
C R Hards B Hards S Keam
HF Anstey Cardew Simms
F Bell Eagle P Zappia
R Crossling Eaton R O'Callaghan
I M Hickey, Cumming, Spivey, Deckert, Maloney, A Ridley.
I reckon I've missed a few. Let me know.
Yaaablett
28 Apr 2006, 16:11
C'mon Ibis. The reason?
Ibis100
28 Apr 2006, 16:14
Unavailable due to going away for work
Ibis100
28 Apr 2006, 16:31
Anyone out there prepared to give Super Tony a hand and try and name an interleague squad for the SFL? Would like yours Santoz, badds, Ibis, Nifty, Impstar, mullethead, Yaaablett.
Can't make comment here Nesty. I need to see everyone before I can make a sound decision. What I will say is that the team should be made of quick, smart and well skilled players. Instead of picking as per a normal game they need to look at the fact that they are only 20 minute halves which would suit a fast moving team.
Maybe I can add mine after we have played everyone. Sorry Nesty.
The Nest
28 Apr 2006, 17:37
Can't make comment here Nesty. I need to see everyone before I can make a sound decision. What I will say is that the team should be made of quick, smart and well skilled players. Instead of picking as per a normal game they need to look at the fact that they are only 20 minute halves which would suit a fast moving team.
Maybe I can add mine after we have played everyone. Sorry Nesty.
I agree Ibis, players that are durable and can play in different positions and back up for the next days game.
Could you give us 4-5 players from the teams you have played?
I like Yaaablett's team, but more likely to be a team of the year rather than interleague side. Would include more young, fast players. John Jackson, Ryan Doherty, Frank Calvi, Stephen Denaro, etc.
B. R.O'Callaghan D.Thornton A.Rigby
HB. M.Carn D.DeAngelis J.Spivey
C. S.Curran L.Gathercole R.Hards
HF. M.Hickey T.Cardew R.Simms
F. B.Haase J.Bell D.Falvo
R. C.Deckert B.Eaton J.Anstey
INT. D.Fox J.Eagle B.Rigby T.Hosking
As I'm yet to witness Robinvale this year I can't comment on their coach but as I have seen Falvo play, he's in. I still reckon this side would go alright against most others. The man born without a neck or calf muscles, Ash Connick deserves an apology too as I just couldn't squeeze him in anywhere. Sorry mate.
Will_Denis
28 Apr 2006, 19:29
can anyone tell me how my old mate john harley is travelling for robinvale??? moved up there for work and took on the assistant coach role at the eagles. gutsy straight lines defender built like a rake but fearless and now wears a helmet cause he gets KO'd all the time. also can anyone tell me when swallows Ass/coach patty jess is back from his latest hammy strain???
Harley has slotted in well across the half backline for the eagles. I understand he has played well in the first couple of games didnt play last weekend against south im not sure why, he is a valuble player at robinvale and I will be able to tell you were he is at after this weekend, because i am watching Mildura v Robinvale on sat.
Will_Denis
28 Apr 2006, 19:43
well will the fact u offered wenty at$3.00 last week against redy and $2 for irymple sugests to me that perhaps u shouldnt take up being a bookmaker in the near future as it may be a very short profession for you.....
Well luckly i am not a bookie or els i would have fled the country by now, it is just an interesting way to give my predictions on the fixture, hopefully I can redeem my self this weekend, also just quitely I hear that robinvale are in the process of signing a extremly high profile player for this year, thats all i can say at this stage.
Just like the ex AFL Irymple recruit Yablet and Nest were going on about?;)
The hand is fine. Why is that badds?
just a rumour throughout the week that u had treatment on your hand and that it is broken but u intend on playing on with it....
Hillite
29 Apr 2006, 19:48
Which SFL Club wants the points system stretched so that they can fit in some more recruits??.
Who has the most points and why would they need more?
sumo 111
30 Apr 2006, 11:58
Had a look at the South v Imperials game yesterday. You would have to be happy if you support Imps, a great 2nd half (8 goals in the third quarter) and even Stafford must wonder what the hell he was doing playing resies last year when without any pace at all he can clear the ball off the half back line and break tackles at will. This game certainly raised some questions about South though. Their skill level was terrible. missing targets by foot and by hand all day. I lost count of the number of times South players handballed backwards and simply missed the intended player. Even Gathercole had the yips. The only South blokes who went alright yesterday were Young Leyland Brougham (an absolute little gun and I assume the son of Squid), Haase (with no help from the umpires), Herberte and you can probably give yourself a tick Ibis. O'Shannessy certainly doesn't shirk the issue although he made a few strange decisions yesterday as well. However, on what I saw of South's skill level yesterday I think Santos might have a point. The best that South might be doing is fighting for 4th or 5th place. What do you think Ibis? How are you going to address what appears to be a skills issue when it counts (under pressure from the better teams)?????
Will_Denis
30 Apr 2006, 16:22
Just a report on yeterdays Mildura v Robinvale game, It was a hard fought slog for the demons and robinvale played reasonably well. I dont beleive Mildura are capable of winning a grand final. there has been much talk about the dees as the big improvers and what not, but from what i saw yesterday the played only played 2 and 1/2 quaters of football. they started the game off idealy scoring ten goals, the next quater they went into their shells and only kicked 1 goal allowing robinvale to back into the game. then after half time they came out and scored around another 8 goals. in the last quarter I felt as though robinvale deserved to win. but mildura stayed discipline and some robinvale players lost there cool (surely not sean "stinky" smith) by this stage Midlura were basically out of puff. they looked extremely tired and robinvale had 80% of the play that quarter but didnt make the most of their opportunities, where as every time the ball went into mildura's goals they scored and made the most of their oppurtunitys. John Harley was instrumental for Robinvale across the half backline also Josh Healy (son of the great pat healy i think) proved too much of a handful for mildura defenders. Mildura were extremely accurate in their kicking for goals (no neck man Connick especially) and deserves to be congratulated but if they are too be finals contenders for 06 they need to learn to play a full game off football. they had opportunities to burry robinvale into the ground but they let robinvale back in it. Deckert was good for three quarters for mildura, also young carmicheal looks like a player for the future for the dees.also whats the extent of mad man roberstsons injury that guy is mad i have seen him headbut players you name it, good for footy.
Any low downs on any of the other games.
Will_Denis
30 Apr 2006, 16:25
Which SFL Club wants the points system stretched so that they can fit in some more recruits??.
Who has the most points and why would they need more?
I think places like Merbin and Robinvale would have the most points. Robinvale the most distance club and Magpies finished bottom last year, i think thats how it works. I would say Mildura would have the least points to spare as they have signed a couple of bigger named players.
VERA HICKEY
1 May 2006, 10:49
Nesty
What's the story with Crossling?? Are you and Delray holding out on us. Out for the season is the mail this morning.
Yaaablett
1 May 2006, 10:54
Fantastic butchering of the English language there Willy. Keep going with the crap you are writing and your neck may end up broken.
agree yaablet willy boy is still to write anything that has any meaningful purpose or for that matter make any sense......
pecker69
1 May 2006, 14:00
hot dogs 17 long time no hear. Finding any leather on a saturday.:)
Yaaablett
1 May 2006, 15:15
Nesty
What's the story with Crossling?? Are you and Delray holding out on us. Out for the season is the mail this morning.
My mail is he had his spleen removed on Saturday night and has been told that he should not play again- ever. If true this is terrible news for a young guy who was playing some great footy and realising his potential. I would say that Hollingsworth will take over ruck duties as they would want to leave the big D at CHB where in his current form is a McLeod certainty.
hotdogs17
1 May 2006, 15:23
hot dogs 17 long time no hear. Finding any leather on a saturday.:)
You having a slow day at the office mate? Findy plenty of it, mostly in the warm up drills though... Yourself? See you started off the year like a house on fire, didn't see your name in the best on sat though:confused:
I think places like Merbin and Robinvale would have the most points. Robinvale the most distance club and Magpies finished bottom last year, i think thats how it works. I would say Mildura would have the least points to spare as they have signed a couple of bigger named players.
Is distance really an issue? If it is, then a club like Balranald would be getting a few extra points. I also heard from the mouth of Delray himself in Doms that Crossling was out for the season. Speaking of Doms, the dress up night seemed to be a huge hit for the IFC with coach Brad Eaton leading the way in his tight fox skin jacket. A very bold move indeed but it seemed to pay off as he rarely went without the company of a female companion for the evening ...
Ball_Magnet
1 May 2006, 17:19
Great call noxy..:thumbsu: :thumbsu: Hey can anyone tell me how many goals Sir Ash Connick kicked on the weekend??? And did troy hosking play if he didnt whats the story is he injured?
Yaaablett
1 May 2006, 18:08
Great call noxy..:thumbsu: :thumbsu: Hey can anyone tell me how many goals Sir Ash Connick kicked on the weekend??? And did troy hosking play if he didnt whats the story is he injured?
Yes, Troy is injured at the moment. Should hopefully be back for the Irymple game in a fortnight. I see you got in the best again Magnet. That styled hair must be doing good things for you!
now where are u gutsy...? got a little scared have we.. or just maybe u r still on here but just as one now.....
Kelvin 69
1 May 2006, 22:38
now where are u gutsy...? got a little scared have we.. or just maybe u r still on here but just as one now.....
Hey Badds, can you let me know how your old mate Alveys leg is going and will he play again this year?
I've done some investigating.
The points sydtem in the sfl doesnt have anything to do with distance.
each club has a certain number of points that it can accumulate.
The points are based on the origin of the players they wish to recruit.
So if merbein wish to get for eg Fox from south he is going to cost them 4 points. if they wish to recruit a similiar player from say swan hill he would cost them 4 points too.
There are lots of variations going down to no points at all. Players returning to a club are zero. The points reduce by a point for each year they play with the club.
On this system I reckon if Irymple had of gone into this season with the same side they had last year they would have had a points score of zero.
As it is simms and eagle would be zero there returning players. Turnbull would cost them maybe three points.
So it s not them that want to get further points given to them so they can fit in more recruits. Which club would be stretched at the moment.
Hey Badds, can you let me know how your old mate Alveys leg is going and will he play again this year?
spoke 2 him bout that on sat kelv said he aint to sure one specialist told him no way the other said hed be back with in a months time of finals so hes just gunna do all his rehab and see where hes at later in the season, depends on wenty with where there at in regards to finals a bit to....
well nest heres my interleague side... havent seen robinvale play so thats why ive got no one from there....
b- R. OCALLAGHAN A.RIGBY CARN
HB-SPIVEY DENATO J,JACKSON
C-A.RIDLEY B.RIGBY B.HARDS
HF-A.CUMMING CARDEW GATHERCOLE
FF-BELL EAGLE HOSKING
R-FOX EATON ANSTEY
B-CONNICK,R.HARDS,CURRAN,SIMMS,GUTSY(maybe he could run some water or tie the boys boots up b4 the game,)
what u think nesty...???
mullethead
2 May 2006, 09:25
well nest heres my interleague side... havent seen robinvale play so thats why ive got no one from there....
FF-BELL EAGLE HOSKING
R-FOX EATON ANSTEY
B-CONNICK,R.HARDS,CURRAN,SIMMS,GUTSY(maybe he could run some water or tie the boys boots up b4 the game,)
what u think nesty...??? Badds you have some injury worries in your side, Carn out for a few with his ankle, Hards just returning from a shoulder, Hosking with a bad back and ankle, Bell with groin/hamstring, Fox limited preparartion, Eaton likewise, R.Hards ditto, Curran a shoulder...... But mostly agree with your side but I would have Ryan Doherty in there somewhere..... And Nest I agree with you, lets play some kids like Chris Lee, Matt Vining, Frank Calvi, as it will be taxing on the players
FF-BELL EAGLE HOSKING
R-FOX EATON ANSTEY
what u think nesty...???
Gathercole on the flank and Rigby in the Middle might be a mix up? :confused:
harry the bad man
2 May 2006, 11:31
Badds you have some injury worries in your side, Carn out for a few with his ankle, Hards just returning from a shoulder, Hosking with a bad back and ankle, Bell with groin/hamstring, Fox limited preparartion, Eaton likewise, R.Hards ditto, Curran a shoulder...... But mostly agree with your side but I would have Ryan Doherty in there somewhere..... And Nest I agree with you, lets play some kids like Chris Lee, Matt Vining, Frank Calvi, as it will be taxing on the players
hey u blokes wot about micky forkhaeds omission from the rep team. shame on u. the poor bugger was player of the carnival a few years back! hope he doesnt have another attack of the sulks. sh%t how come there are no sooky icons:mad:
Just a topic to talk about, what are everyone thoughts on the south v imps game?
mullethead
2 May 2006, 14:15
Just a topic to talk about, what are everyone thoughts on the south v imps game?I thought it was a great result, we needed a win!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
pecker69
2 May 2006, 14:23
You having a slow day at the office mate? Findy plenty of it, mostly in the warm up drills though... Yourself? See you started off the year like a house on fire, didn't see your name in the best on sat though:confused:
Not my best day on sat. I went one way, the ball went the other. Might be a sign of old age. Hurt my good shoulder, went and had a sook on the bench for last 1 1/2 qtrs. Seems your forms been sensational early, can't believe these so called experts haven't got you in the interleague side. Obviously got over that severe hand injury, dating back to the lunch cutting incident.
Badds you have some injury worries in your side, Carn out for a few with his ankle, Hards just returning from a shoulder, Hosking with a bad back and ankle, Bell with groin/hamstring, Fox limited preparartion, Eaton likewise, R.Hards ditto, Curran a shoulder...... But mostly agree with your side but I would have Ryan Doherty in there somewhere..... And Nest I agree with you, lets play some kids like Chris Lee, Matt Vining, Frank Calvi, as it will be taxing on the players
yeah agree with your point on injuries mullet... still 4-5 wks b4 they play yet though so that gives some blokes time to get match hardened... dont totally agree with the theory on kids u still have to earn the right through good form and calvi wouldnt even be close ive watched him the last 2 wks an hes hardly touched it vining would be a chance hes a good player.. lee is ok but there arent any spots 4 him....
Gathercole on the flank and Rigby in the Middle might be a mix up? :confused:
rigby has develloped into one the best stoppage clearance players in the comp... id have him swapping with cumming and eaton and gathercole swapping...
The Nest
2 May 2006, 15:22
Here is my squad:
Imperials:A. Ridley, R. Doherty, D. Thornton, M. Hickey, Stafford, R. Hards, B. Hards
Irymple: DeAngelis, Eagle, Simms, Curran, Carn, Ransome.
Merbein: Keatch
Mildura: Deckert, Anstey, R. O'Callaghan, Connick, Cardew, Hosking, Leng.
Red Cliffs: Faulkhead, Lee
Robinvale: Harley, Healy, Keam.
South Mildura: Spivey, Gathercole, Fox, Haase, Cook, McDonald.
Wentworth: B. Rigby, A. Rigby, Bell, Lipetri, Jackson, Cumming.
Remembering the carnival is on the 3rd of June. You would expect the players in this list that are injured to be firing by then.
Grimmett
2 May 2006, 15:35
Here is my squad:
Imperials:A. Ridley, R. Doherty, D. Thornton, M. Hickey, Stafford, R. Hards, B. Hards
Irymple: DeAngelis, Eagle, Simms, Curran, Carn, Ransome.
Merbein: Keatch
Wentworth: B. Rigby, A. Rigby, Bell, Lipetri, Jackson, Cumming.
Remembering the carnival is on the 3rd of June. You would expect the players in this list that are injured to be firing by then.
No reigning McLeod Medallist?
Irymple: DeAngelis, Eagle, Simms, Curran, Carn, Eaton.
Wentworth: B. Rigby, A. Rigby, Bell, Lipetri, Jackson, Cumming, M.Cameron.
Grimmett
2 May 2006, 17:00
Keam? Jade I assume. Shannon past interleague I would have thought.
Imperials:A. Ridley, R. Doherty, D. Thornton, M. Hickey,D. Stafford, R. Hards, B. Hards, D Hickey.
Mildura: Deckert, Anstey, R. O'Callaghan, Connick, Cardew.
Red Cliffs: Faulkhead, Lee, R.Dowdy
South Mildura: Spivey, Gathercole, Fox, Haase, McDonald.
I believe that their is a few injuries in this side too! not sure bout Keam haven't seen him play just going on the grapevine!
Will_Denis
2 May 2006, 19:18
seens everyone is on the topic of interleague squads i have compiled my 37 man squad. Regardless of any injured players.
Merbine- Keatch
Red Cliffs - Lee, Cox?
Mildura - Anstey, O'Callaghan, Cardew, Hosking
Irymple - Eagle, Eaton, Deagnalis, Curran, Jess, Carn,
South - Spivey, Gathercole, Fox, McDonald, Cook, Dalla Santa
Imperials - Ridley,M Hickey, Hards x2, Thornton, Clohesy,Roberts,
D Hickey ?
Robinvale - Denaro, P Zappia, J Keam, Farnsworth, Harley, Falvo?
Wentworth - Bell, B + A Rigby, Cumming,
Emergancies - Hall(mild) Garreffa (rvale) Dowdy (rcliffs)
The reason for the ? is that that player is only just in the squad, for reasons being inexperience or to slow. Gone for a younger team with the likes of Denaro, Hards boys, Farnsworth, Eagle with a combo of some great experienced senior players,I couldnt find places for the likes of Connick, Haase, Deckert and Stafford great players mind you, i just feel they are not really suited to this squad. as it is often a fast paced comp.
Feel free to comment.
seens everyone is on the topic of interleague squads i have compiled my 37 man squad. Regardless of any injured players.
Merbine- Keatch
Red Cliffs - Lee, Cox?
D Hickey ?
The reason for the ? is that that player is only just in the squad, for reasons being inexperience or to slow. Gone for a younger team with the likes of Denaro, Hards boys, Farnsworth, Eagle with a combo of some great experienced senior players,I couldnt find places for the likes of Connick, Haase, Deckert and Stafford great players mind you, i just feel they are not really suited to this squad. as it is often a fast paced comp.
Feel free to comment.
you have left out john jackson who will not only make the squad but will definately play... other than that pretty close
Have just heard some news, from a very reilable source that Jason Bells injury is in fact his Back. Its the same injury that threatned his career about 3 or 4 years ago. Has been in Melbourne having a MRI which is not very good for Roo supporters ! Can Badds or Itchy Gooch confirm this ?
Merbine- Keatch
Red Cliffs - Lee, Cox?
D Hickey ?
Feel free to comment.
Which is Falvo? Inexperienced or slow? I venture a guess as to slow. In that case, you may aswell have a question mark alongside three quarters of that squad. There are only a handful there who can really get moving "as it is often a fast paced comp".
I find it querying too that you left Haase and of your squad for the reason of being too slow. I'd say he could beat most full backs off the line for pace and would generally say that's how he has kicked the majority of his goals, from what I have seen.
The fact that you have so many youngsters in your squad though is great for mine ... :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
Also, here's a side topic on the interleague squads. I've read nearly everyone's and can't seem to find the Imperials coach in any of them. He didn't make my side but he'd certainly be in my squad. The two Merbein coaches never get a mention and Faulkhead/Keem have a mention or 2 but not Maloney. How does a guy that has played good footy at a good level not that long ago slip under the radar? Is he out of his natural position because of injuries at Imps and sacrifising his own game for the team or just poor form that he hasn't been included? Can someone shed some light please ...
Have just heard some news, from a very reilable source that Jason Bells injury is in fact his Back. Its the same injury that threatned his career about 3 or 4 years ago. Has been in Melbourne having a MRI which is not very good for Roo supporters ! Can Badds or Itchy Gooch confirm this ?
Well he was at training tonight, didnt train but took training looked to be walking alright.
Can't you read, has been in Melbourne, not is in Melbourne.
Which is Falvo? Inexperienced or slow? I venture a guess as to slow. In that case, you may aswell have a question mark alongside three quarters of that squad. There are only a handful there who can really get moving "as it is often a fast paced comp".
I find it querying too that you left Haase and of your squad for the reason of being too slow. I'd say he could beat most full backs off the line for pace and would generally say that's how he has kicked the majority of his goals, from what I have seen.
The fact that you have so many youngsters in your squad though is great for mine ... :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
Also, here's a side topic on the interleague squads. I've read nearly everyone's and can't seem to find the Imperials coach in any of them. He didn't make my side but he'd certainly be in my squad. The two Merbein coaches never get a mention and Faulkhead/Keem have a mention or 2 but not Maloney. How does a guy that has played good footy at a good level not that long ago slip under the radar? Is he out of his natural position because of injuries at Imps and sacrifising his own game for the team or just poor form that he hasn't been included? Can someone shed some light please ...
just a bit down on form maloney.. maybe someone from imps can add to that further... both merbein coaches arent good enough 2 play interleague simple as that....
ok everybody has had a go at picking a side/squad who should be captain and vice...???
well gutsy ive finally worked out who u are it took me a while and a bit by surprise actually cause i thought i got along pretty well with you... and u are on here as another thread name.. although i notice after the loss on the weekend u have quietioned down a fair bit.... im keen to have a chat with u face to face thats if u have the (guts) that is, nothing fiery just wanted to clarify a few things with u seeing i copped a fair shellacking from you... you obviously know who i am i will be at the footy on sat.. i know you will be busy in the ones but im interested in seeing if u will come up and have a chat......
Yaaablett
3 May 2006, 10:40
well gutsy ive finally worked out who u are it took me a while and a bit by surprise actually cause i thought i got along pretty well with you... and u are on here as another thread name.. although i notice after the loss on the weekend u have quietioned down a fair bit.... im keen to have a chat with u face to face thats if u have the (guts) that is, nothing fiery just wanted to clarify a few things with u seeing i copped a fair shellacking from you... you obviously know who i am i will be at the footy on sat.. i know you will be busy in the ones but im interested in seeing if u will come up and have a chat......
Interesting Aaron, obviously a South player.
Finally someone has worked it out, please tell us all. Many of us at South would love to know.
Can confirm the following players from South are in the interleague squad
Haase
Cook
Gathercole
Spivey
O'Shannessy
Thomas
Fox
McDonald
Interesting Aaron, obviously a South player.
yep sure is yaablett... really slyly done to.. letting everyone know who he was under one name and then bagging everyone under the name of gutsy...
I thought I had worked it out also, however my investigation lead me to an identity in the earlier games, not the seniors. Hopefully all will revealed by the weekend:D:D
Badds, what's the news on belly, will he be up and running this weekend or doing his best work from the bench? Which would be nice as he's kicked 24 goals in his last 2 games againist the doggies:(. Just remind him that at his age (over 30) it's always best to take an extra week when you think your right :p
Badds what odds will you give me for your workmate kicking 4 goals this weekend against you guys. I reckon he is for a biggun. You must be putting him on that treadmill at work cause he seems to be getting better and better every week.
Imps and robinvale this week. If Michael hickey kicks straight is he a chance of kicking a 10+ bag.
Skeeterman
3 May 2006, 14:52
What are peoples thoughts on Mick Faulkhead as a coach to take Red Cliffs into the future?
He has the playing credentials although I feel he may not be the man for a young side like the one out Reddy way. He doesn't seem like a natural leader to me, he actually seems selfish to be honest.
They look to have some good kids coming through but I think they would be better suited to someone that leads from the front.
Any thoughts?
Hickey can kick a bag of 10+, but as you said IF he kicks straight, and seeing him at training last night their is no way! 1 goal 10 is more like it!
The Nest
3 May 2006, 15:16
Irymple Interleague Squad Members:
DeAngelis
Eagle
Simms
Curran
Carn
Eaton
Calvi
Badds, can you maybe reveal the rest of the squad for us. I recall seeing the Red Cliffs guys; Treloar, Dowdy, Lee.
Interesting the see your squad Willy D. 4 guys from the undefeated Mildura and 6 from Robinvale. Thoughts behind that? Any alliances there??
Irymple Interleague Squad Members:
DeAngelis
Eagle
Simms
Curran
Carn
Eaton
Calvi
Badds, can you maybe reveal the rest of the squad for us. I recall seeing the Red Cliffs guys; Treloar, Dowdy, Lee.
Interesting the see your squad Willy D. 4 guys from the undefeated Mildura and 6 from Robinvale. Thoughts behind that? Any alliances there n
no worries nest its a squad of 47 as follows
mildura-anstey,hosking,cardew,deckert, rossitor,ryan.o,carmichael
imps-hards 2,d.hickey,r.doherty,thornton,ridley,b.clohesy,m.hickey
irymple-simms,eagle,donato,carn,curran,eaton,calvi,morris
rob-p.zappia,denaro,smith,harley,falvo
south-haase,gathers,spivey,cook,thomas,mcdonald,fox,oshannesy
-red cliffs-lee,dowdy,treloar
wenty-rigby 2,jackson,cumming,lawson
mer-keatch,hunt,congress..........
I thought I had worked it out also, however my investigation lead me to an identity in the earlier games, not the seniors. Hopefully all will revealed by the weekend:D:D
Badds, what's the news on belly, will he be up and running this weekend or doing his best work from the bench? Which would be nice as he's kicked 24 goals in his last 2 games againist the doggies:(. Just remind him that at his age (over 30) it's always best to take an extra week when you think your right :p
belly wont be rite this week chalkie... big game 4 both clubs we will have 2-3 quality players back should be a good game.. i also intend on telling cumming and king who will be back this week bout gutsy and how he labbelled them both to be soft a while back... and chalkie gutsy doesnt play twos...
The Nest
3 May 2006, 17:59
belly wont be rite this week chalkie... big game 4 both clubs we will have 2-3 quality players back should be a good game.. i also intend on telling cumming and king who will be back this week bout gutsy and how he labbelled them both to be soft a while back... and chalkie gutsy doesnt play twos...
Forgot about Morris, he didnt train last night so slipped my mind. You wouldnt expect Fox to play, so will be interesting to see whether both Daniel Hickey & Deckert play if not could be a lack of height there.
You seem pretty certain about the identity of our mate Gutsy. He wouldnt happen to be in the rep squad aswell would he??
Who picks the interleague squad and how do the pick the players?? Do they just go on the name or who is playing good footy up until now?? i think a few of the players in the squad r a bit lucky as there form might not warrant selection!
Forgot about Morris, he didnt train last night so slipped my mind. You wouldnt expect Fox to play, so will be interesting to see whether both Daniel Hickey & Deckert play if not could be a lack of height there.
You seem pretty certain about the identity of our mate Gutsy. He wouldnt happen to be in the rep squad aswell would he??
yeah the ruck is a slight concern nest... as 4 our mate gutsy yeah hes in the squad and look he aint going to admit its him because hes had a crack at a few people and the best thing he can do is deny deny deny... but the powers to be and administration of this site can land the knockout punch which im rite onto nest........
Who picks the interleague squad and how do the pick the players?? Do they just go on the name or who is playing good footy up until now?? i think a few of the players in the squad r a bit lucky as there form might not warrant selection!
coaching commitee picks squad morton... who shouldnt be in??
Badds what odds will you give me for your workmate kicking 4 goals this weekend against you guys. I reckon he is for a biggun. You must be putting him on that treadmill at work cause he seems to be getting better and better every week.
hope th big fella stays quiet.. maybe still hungova from last weekend had a massive weekend on the sauce in adelaide i hear.....
im not going to name people but if u went through the list there would be players who have not even been in there club best.. coaching commitee of who?
The Nest
3 May 2006, 18:35
yeah the ruck is a slight concern nest... as 4 our mate gutsy yeah hes in the squad and look he aint going to admit its him because hes had a crack at a few people and the best thing he can do is deny deny deny... but the powers to be and administration of this site can land the knockout punch which im rite onto nest........
i thought you might have been sniffing in that direction. They do hold the power and the key to everyones identity.
Morton, the criteria for the squad selection will be fully explained in this Friday's Sunny Daily through an article from the Coach of the Squad. But, as you say there are some players who havent performed yet and some that have. I know I havent had a kick yet and Im in it.
i thought you might have been sniffing in that direction. They do hold the power and the key to everyones identity.
Morton, the criteria for the squad selection will be fully explained in this Friday's Sunny Daily through an article from the Coach of the Squad. But, as you say there are some players who havent performed yet and some that have. I know I havent had a kick yet and Im in it.
It would be great to think that the guys who are selected in the final squad are playing good footy. However with several weeks to the carnival I'm sure some of the guys that have had an interrupted start to the season will be firing. I know foxy quiet often played very well in the interleague matches after being ok by his standards early in the year. So there's nothing wrong with guys who have proven themself at this level to be an automatic selection.
Badd's i suggest that the selecting group learns from last year where several old players found it hard to back up on the sunday and play their best footy. To be asked to play 3 games in 1 half days is a big ask, so I think this structure suits the younger players (early-mid 20's) and not blokes in their 30's
Kelvin 69
3 May 2006, 22:43
Who is in the selection commitee?
It would be great to think that the guys who are selected in the final squad are playing good footy. However with several weeks to the carnival I'm sure some of the guys that have had an interrupted start to the season will be firing. I know foxy quiet often played very well in the interleague matches after being ok by his standards early in the year. So there's nothing wrong with guys who have proven themself at this level to be an automatic selection.
Badd's i suggest that the selecting group learns from last year where several old players found it hard to back up on the sunday and play their best footy. To be asked to play 3 games in 1 half days is a big ask, so I think this structure suits the younger players (early-mid 20's) and not blokes in their 30's
agree chalkie thats a good point u make and is something that has been spoken about at selection already, certainly have 2 have a good mix....
experience,youth and leg speed.....
Who is in the selection commitee?
tony hickey, david swain,scott anderson,mark alvey..........
no worries nest its a squad of 47 as follows
mildura-anstey,hosking,cardew,deckert, rossitor,ryan.o,carmichael
imps-hards 2,d.hickey,r.doherty,thornton,ridley,b.clohesy,m.hickey
irymple-simms,eagle,donato,carn,curran,eaton,calvi,morris
rob-p.zappia,denaro,smith,harley,falvo
south-haase,gathers,spivey,cook,thomas,mcdonald,fox,oshannesy
-red cliffs-lee,dowdy,treloar
wenty-rigby 2,jackson,cumming,lawson
mer-keatch,hunt,congress..........
Surley there's kids going around at Wenty with better form than Lawson. The 5 goals he's kicked are probably from the only 5 kicks he's had all year! The same with Calvi too, he hasn't done much. Young Mentiplay has been playing alright footy by the sounds of it out at Irymple, why shouldn't he get a go? Thomas and O'Shannessy have hardly been in South's best all year. Dowdy is in the same boat.
It's good though to see Treloar get a go. He always gives his best no matter what. I think it's only his 2nd or 3rd year of footy.
To me it looks a fairly strong list this year and I hope all of those who are named are serious on competing and we don't have a mass pull-out like we have in the last few years ... :thumbsd::thumbsd:
The reason for so many players pulling out of the inter-league side is that their is no incentives to play! You get to keep a pair of socks and a jumper that you wear out camping! The league needs to get rid of the freeloaders that tag along to inter-league competition and the money they save on these people, back to the players, like giving them thier playing jumper for starters!
Totally agree that the players should be allowed to keep the jumper after representing the league, as most leagues do. In the past the league would allow the interleague guys keep their jumper, which was something they would wear to their club's training nights with pride.
However I think you're being a bit harsh on the guys that support the players by making sure that the only thing the players have to do is play. Remember that these guys don't get paid and is done for the love of the game ( there might be some ego involved). So they do deserve some reward for their efforts.
Anyway I reckon this year, the league will be represented by one of it's strongest teams since 99, and this is no disrespect to past interleague teams. Just that the new players into the comp are high quality and by reports are keen to play interleague. Hopefully all coaches will encourage their players to play.
Yaaablett
4 May 2006, 16:44
Badds, Have you guys decided to include a promising youngster from each club? if so, good idea.
Yes there are some extra people "officials" that need to be involved with the side i.e team managers, trainers and water boys. But looking around last year their were mabye 10-15 extras that i don't think did anything but stand around and look good on the sat night, who all got one of the jumpers the same as the players! admittedly alot more people had to be involved last year due to the fact it was held in Mildura, but they were also there the year before!
Yaaablett
4 May 2006, 17:32
Yes there are some extra people "officials" that need to be involved with the side i.e team managers, trainers and water boys. But looking around last year their were mabye 10-15 extras that i don't think did anything but stand around and look good on the sat night, who all got one of the jumpers the same as the players! admittedly alot more people had to be involved last year due to the fact it was held in Mildura, but they were also there the year before!
Yes, the old jacket and dandruff brigade! They're involved with most leagues interleague teams. The Central Murray is probably the worst. The SFL would be the worst I have come across in giving gear to the players. Surely a jumper for those representing the league for the first time is not out of the question.
Badds, Have you guys decided to include a promising youngster from each club? if so, good idea.
Terrific idea yaaaablett, what about playing older players on alternate days to allow for team balance and experience and let the young blokes get a real taste of it
yeah we looked at that and decided it was a good idea.. we will take about 28 away so some of those promising youngsters will make the team it will be a really good learning curve 4 them.. even if a couple of those youngsters miss out just being in the squad and being at the training sessions will be good 4 them... with the format the way it is we will try and play most blokes in 2 out of the 3 games.. will be very hectic running the bench id say....
Yaaablett
5 May 2006, 10:15
Yeah, I meant including youngsters in the training squad. I reckon the league still must pick the side that they believe can win their division. If that includes Calvi, Carmichael and Lawson so be it.