View Full Version : Sunraysia Football league

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56

ringo1
5 Feb 2006, 10:46
Just wondering what some of the news is with the Sunraysia Football League. As to date, have not heard a lot. Who are the main threats for the flag and what gun players run around in that League?

Weapo
6 Feb 2006, 10:46
Just wondering what some of the news is with the Sunraysia Football League. As to date, have not heard a lot. Who are the main threats for the flag and what gun players run around in that League?

Imps, Irymple and South will be the contenders i believe with Wenty very close.

Eaton deangeles and hocking from Irymple
Gathercole, Spivey, Rhiordon, Fox, Keyte from South
Hickey, Petrie from Imps
Cardew and coach from Mildura
Cumming, Connick (returned) and Bell from Wenty
just to name a few...

ringo1
6 Feb 2006, 10:53
Tanks Weapo. Is Tony Hickey not playing? What about Ash Connick?

Weapo
6 Feb 2006, 13:27
Tanks Weapo. Is Tony Hickey not playing? What about Ash Connick?

Im not sure whether Tony is still playing but no doubt he will do preseason and still be the fittest there. He would obviously still hold his own.
Ash Connick is returning to the area to run a business and is playing for Wentworth. He is a very good player when fit and can dominate a game when he is switched on. Coached the club to a flag in '01 and coached Swan Hill and Tooleybuc to three consecutive gf's in 02, 03, 04. Key position at either end and could kick 100 if fit.

football365
6 Feb 2006, 18:06
connick is at mildura not wenny

charlie_mcw
6 Feb 2006, 18:51
Are Michael Bilucaglia & Don Falvo still playing up there?

Grimmett
6 Feb 2006, 21:06
From the Wimmera Mail-Times of February 1.

Former Dimboola coach Shannon Keam, 26, has signed with Sunraysia Football League club Robinvale.
Keam who stood down as the Roos coach after leading the side into last year’s Wimmera League grand final, told the Mail-Times he would be playing coach of the Eagles.
“I’m pretty happy about it, I wasn’t looking to coach again but this came up, it’s something new and should be a good challenge for me,” he said.
Keam said he contemplated offers from across the state including Shepparton and Hamilton.
“We went and had a look at Robinvale and decided we wanted to be by the river. Employment was always going to be a factor in where I went as well,” he said. “Plus my partner Brooke and I are expecting our second child in March and we’ve got our young son Raphael to consider. Robinvale seemed right for us.”
Keam is playing footy with St Marys in the Northern Territory League in Darwin until March.
His brother and wingman Jade, who also played with Dimboola last year, is on an overseas trip but will play for the Roos in 2006.

ringo1
7 Feb 2006, 11:26
I actualy got down to see a game last year in Mildura and I was impressed with the standard of the game. The big ground seemed to allow the running players to come into their own. The coach for Mildura (I cannot remember his name) had the ball on a string for the whole game and was equally impressive with his half time address. The blond haired (white boots also) showed glimpses of class up forward also. Can anyone help out with the names of these guys and a little info on the two of them?

BIGANT
7 Feb 2006, 14:05
Imps, Irymple and South will be the contenders i believe with Wenty very close.

Eaton deangeles and hocking from Irymple
Gathercole, Spivey, Rhiordon, Fox, Keyte from South
Hickey, Petrie from Imps
Cardew and coach from Mildura
Cumming, Connick (returned) and Bell from Wenty
just to name a few... What about Leroy Brown,has he slowed over the last few years,saw him a few years back when he was w Nightcliff in the aflnt comp & saw footage of him @ mebein,was handy on his day.How does keetch & kelly rate from merbein ??

deano1
7 Feb 2006, 17:55
I actualy got down to see a game last year in Mildura and I was impressed with the standard of the game. The big ground seemed to allow the running players to come into their own. The coach for Mildura (I cannot remember his name) had the ball on a string for the whole game and was equally impressive with his half time address. The blond haired (white boots also) showed glimpses of class up forward also. Can anyone help out with the names of these guys and a little info on the two of them?

The Mildura coaches name is Ryan O'callaghan. Originaly from Ouyen played with Bendigo pioneers then St kilda reserves for a couple of years then Bendigo VFL before coaching Mildura. I believe he his coaching Mildura again this year.

Don't know who the other bloke is though.

Sonny
7 Feb 2006, 22:10
Good to see a Sunraysia discussion. Some news. Tony Hickey was an absolute gun. I have seen Bendigo & GV footy for a long time and in his prime he was would be up there. In 2004 as a 39 year old played in the centre in a premiership side. Last year moved to HBF and read the play and killed the kids. However has retired. Imps are also missing Petrie who is overseas this year. A big loss! Sth Mildura is spending plenty. Leroy Brown was a gun but needs a reconstruction and has retired. Perhaps the recruit of the year may be at Wentworth- Mark Alvey ex Essendon. He was supposed to go to Port Adelaide Magpie but they don't like him playing cricket and missing practice games !!

ringo1
8 Feb 2006, 11:16
Mark Alvey would be a huge pick up. My thoughts are that he was a bit stiff to get the axe, thought he still had something to offer.

Travelling back from Adelaide he obviously goes well with the bat and ball and is keen.

If you had to list the top 10 players in the comp who do you think they would be, and in order?

Weapo
8 Feb 2006, 14:10
Mark Alvey would be a huge pick up. My thoughts are that he was a bit stiff to get the axe, thought he still had something to offer.

Travelling back from Adelaide he obviously goes well with the bat and ball and is keen.

If you had to list the top 10 players in the comp who do you think they would be, and in order?

Alvey
Eaton
Gathercole
Deangeles
Fox
Falvo
Cumming
O'Callaghan
Cardew
Rhiordon

Dogwatcher
8 Feb 2006, 14:17
Ash Connick is returning to the area to run a business and is playing for Wentworth.

Nice bloke, but a big scary man if things aint goin well.

Had brief contact with him when I was at uni in Adelaide - through his then girlfriend.

Now, could anyone tell me how Hayden Cook goes in the Sunraysia league?

Weapo
8 Feb 2006, 14:21
Nice bloke, but a big scary man if things aint goin well.

Had brief contact with him when I was at uni in Adelaide - through his then girlfriend.

Now, could anyone tell me how Hayden Cook goes in the Sunraysia league?

The 'Monster is doing very well in Mildura playing for South Mildura. He has actually proposed to his lovely girlfriend too so all is going well with him. He played interleague a couple of years ago. Big guy who can play at either end and in the middle.

Weapo
8 Feb 2006, 14:24
[quote=Dogwatcher]Nice bloke, but a big scary man if things aint goin well.

Has been going pretty well too. Married with a kid and now taking on a sport shop in Mildura. Settled down since his wild younger days. Great coaching record and will be interesting to see how he goes now just being a player!

ringo1
9 Feb 2006, 10:16
Thanks Weapo, I Have seen Gathercole play for the Diggers and he goes well. He does not seem to have the hight or speed to dominate like he does, he just seems to find space and the ball as well.

O'Callaghan is obviously in the top 10 after the one game I saw him play. I would have loved to have seen his stats at the end of the game.

What is the latest with Alvey?

Sonny
9 Feb 2006, 21:13
Great idea to post top 10 but think you have missed the boat a bit!!
Alvey ( if he plays in the top 2 but probably won't play)
Eaton
Fox
O' Callaghan
Petrie ( not playing)
Ryan Hards( this 17yo kid is a gun)
Danny Thornton
Bell ( not a big thinker but always will kick 100)
Cumming
Riordan ( knees are gone)

Yours

Deangeles ( he should be but his team shift him to plugs holes and so isn't a star)
Falvo( great heart but has a sick child & played very little in 2005
Cardew( kicks goals against weak teams. Also a poin kicker)

ringo1
10 Feb 2006, 05:50
When I compare weapo's top 10 ans sonny's top 10 (of course it opinion only) there seems to be 2 players that stand out. Sonny does not have gathercole in the top 10 while weapo has him three, and the other is Petrie.

Petrie must have improved over the past couple of years. When he played in Bendigo he was ok (however kicked a few big bags) as he spent a fair bit of time on the gas and at the big golden arches!!!

Grimmett
10 Feb 2006, 06:40
I'm more than a bit wary of you ringo. You imply being on the gas is a bad thing. Worries me. ;)

ringo1
10 Feb 2006, 06:57
Grimmet, I was on the gas last night!-Wild Turkey-good stuff. Perhaps I could take the 6 hr drive to Mildura and we can get on the gas at the footy one day. Might get on the gas again 2mrow-beer and bet day at the local.

Dogwatcher
10 Feb 2006, 12:12
Any of you guys going to The Lock music festival?

(I know totally off topic....but...)

ringo1
10 Feb 2006, 12:33
No mate! Might save coin for Port Fairy festival. more my area. Thanks for the invite anyhow.

Weapo
10 Feb 2006, 12:53
Is Trevour Larkins still coaching Irymle this year? What are some thoughts on Larks?

Sonny
10 Feb 2006, 20:54
In 2003 or 4 Petrie was expected to play a key roll in a big game but played a terrible game. Why? Because he was on the gas at O' Malley's until 3. In 2005 a new coach Seamus Moloney ex Imps but played 200 games & captained Sturt. Petrie asistant coach and got very serious and started to dominate.
Trevor Larkins coached Irymple last year. In the grand final Lead Imps by 1 point with 30 seconds to go and the ball in the centre. Irymple took it to their CHF, with 10 seconds to go, lost it and went down Imps end and kicked a goal. Brad Eaton league medallist is new coach. Very interesting as inexperienced coach while Larkin very experienced. However may start premiership favourite.

BIGANT
11 Feb 2006, 08:08
In 2003 or 4 Petrie was expected to play a key roll in a big game but played a terrible game. Why? Because he was on the gas at O' Malley's until 3. In 2005 a new coach Seamus Moloney ex Imps but played 200 games & captained Sturt. Petrie asistant coach and got very serious and started to dominate.
Trevor Larkins coached Irymple last year. In the grand final Lead Imps by 1 point with 30 seconds to go and the ball in the centre. Irymple took it to their CHF, with 10 seconds to go, lost it and went down Imps end and kicked a goal. Brad Eaton league medallist is new coach. Very interesting as inexperienced coach while Larkin very experienced. However may start premiership favourite. Whats larkins doing now,got a job else where or having a spell...

Rhan
11 Feb 2006, 11:02
Just wondering if any of you's were around when young Robbie Tarrant was playing in the league?? What was he like? Is he still commited? and is he any good?
Also wondering if Matt Tarrant is still playing with Balranald.

Sonny
12 Feb 2006, 19:58
Just wondering if any of you's were around when young Robbie Tarrant was playing in the league?? What was he like? Is he still commited? and is he any good?
Also wondering if Matt Tarrant is still playing with Balranald.

Larkins was going to retire at the end of 2004 but stayed on one more year to give Brad Eaton a year as assistant coach. Larkins is a great bloke off the field but has white line fever. Has had success in a few places and I am sure will come back. Also was Sunraysia coach in 2005.

Robbie Tarrant only played juniors at Sth Mildura with his Dad Paul as coach. Now at Xavier on a scholarship. Great skills on both sides of the body. Rumour has that Collingwood are trying to hide him at Xavier. Fat chance !!! However he may not play TAC so if another club recruit him they are taking a big risk. Has also trained briefly at Collingwood. Not permitted but has happened. At Xavier plays with Neil Balme's son and his quote " Tarrant can play". Collingwood will definitely draft in 2007 but they will say they are not interested. Matt Tarrant haven't seen him play but I am told that he only struggles. Could be a bit hard as only hearsay.

deano1
12 Feb 2006, 20:05
What relation to Chris are these Tarrants?

ringo1
13 Feb 2006, 11:16
Sonny what is the history of Brad Eaton. Do not know anything about him however the name is familiar.

A big bloke by the name of Tim Smith cam from the Mildura area and I saw him play a game in Bendigo one week and he seemed a fair player. Do you know anything about him?

Rhan
13 Feb 2006, 14:18
What relation to Chris are these Tarrants?
Robbie & Matt are Chris's brothers. Yeh i've heard mixed things about Robbies talent, i've heard he goes alright though

Sonny
13 Feb 2006, 20:05
Sonny what is the history of Brad Eaton. Do not know anything about him however the name is familiar.

A big bloke by the name of Tim Smith cam from the Mildura area and I saw him play a game in Bendigo one week and he seemed a fair player. Do you know anything about him?

Tim Smith must have left Mildura before 2003. I don't know him. Brad Eaton is originally a Mildura boy- Irymple junior??. I think he played for the pioneers and may have played in Bendigo. In 2003 played in a permiership with Kerang along with many other paid players. He is a gun. Would be very handy in any strong country league.

Robbie Tarrant is Chris' youngest brother. Dad Paul has spent 10 years coaching the kid. With Chris his Dad let him go to Bendigo where he & Nathan Brown played merry hell. The same mistake was not made with Robbie. Will be better than Chris.

Sonny
13 Feb 2006, 20:46
Interesting reading. Sunraysia clearances
http://www.sunraysiafl.vcfl.com.au/memdb_transfers.asp
Imps looks like that have 2 former players back from Uni blues & blacks. Apparently can play.

Weapo
14 Feb 2006, 13:14
Interesting reading. Sunraysia clearances
http://www.sunraysiafl.vcfl.com.au/memdb_transfers.asp
Imps looks like that have 2 former players back from Uni blues & blacks. Apparently can play.

Interesting to read on the transfers that Troy Hosking is looking to go Mildura? Is this bloke just wanting to up his $ every year he plays? Overrated bloke and player!!

Sonny
14 Feb 2006, 20:33
Interesting to read on the transfers that Troy Hosking is looking to go Mildura? Is this bloke just wanting to up his $ every year he plays? Overrated bloke and player!!

Troy originally played at Mildura. Didn't have a great year at irymple as he had injury worries with a bad finger injury. Good players play well in the finals. In the GF was nearly BOG. Will star at Mildura, They always tag O'Callaghan so Troy will run & run. Mildura play kick to kick when against the wind and Troy will enjoy. He is in the top 6 midfieldersin the league. So if gets the dollars then he earns it!!!

bigblackalsation
15 Feb 2006, 12:42

Donnie is at Robinvale as far as i know

Dogwatcher
15 Feb 2006, 14:47
No mate! Might save coin for Port Fairy festival. more my area. Thanks for the invite anyhow.

I suppose if you don't like The Lock, you won't like the Riverland's Hand Picked (www.handpicked.org.au)? Features Living End....

ringo1
16 Feb 2006, 05:51
Thanks Dogwatcher-love the living end just have to catch a plane to get there from the lovely coast that I live on. Will stay and watch Shane Howard-Goanna and that great Irish band The Ploughboys. Thanks for the site.:thumbsu:

Russ74
17 Feb 2006, 15:17
Just a quick thought provoker boys. Who do you think has been the best premiership side over the last 10-15 years in the SFL. A mate of mine in Mildura reckons Wenty in 2001 were the best by a fair way. Any thoughts?

Russ74
17 Feb 2006, 15:54
Some more news Mildura have signed Jake Anstey who I believe played a few games at St Kilda and or Carlton. He is A/Coach there to O'Callaghan. Good midfield with Hosking and some good kids. My mates top ten in no order.

Eaton
O'Callaghan
Gathercole
B Hards
Anstey
DeAngeles
Thornton
A Rigby
Connick
Bell

bugsy
17 Feb 2006, 16:10
Im more of a Millewa League follower myself.

Cardross is set for a big year.:thumbsu:

Sonny
17 Feb 2006, 20:42
Some more news Mildura have signed Jake Anstey who I believe played a few games at St Kilda and or Carlton. He is A/Coach there to O'Callaghan. Good midfield with Hosking and some good kids. My mates top ten in no order.

Eaton
O'Callaghan
Gathercole
B Hards
Anstey
DeAngeles
Thornton
A Rigby
Connick
Bell
Interesting top 10. Submitted one recently and knew nothing about Gathercole & Anstey in the league. Obviously they are quality players. I still think Ryan Hards is better than his brother!! Two others that should be on the list are Alvey and the medallist last year Fox. Saw Fox training two weeks ago on a hot night doing extra training so he must be keen. Some good recruits to Sth, Mildura & Wenty.
Cardross will have a big year if they recruit 18 quality players. Gol Gol would then need to lose 10 players.

bugsy
18 Feb 2006, 15:20
I dont think being one kick away from a grand final was too bad of a season for Cardy and with all the players retained plus recruits, i dont see any problem in stating they are setting themselves for a big year.

Unlike most teams in MFL, Cardross has no "paid to play " players.

Dogwatcher
20 Feb 2006, 08:30
Cardross will probly have another reason to make this a good season now.

And on a brighter note - it's good to see Denny Fox is still playing at Souths and burning up the track.

Russ74
20 Feb 2006, 11:21
yeah Dogwatcher, very sad. 6 young lives were taken away.

ECHUCABOY
20 Feb 2006, 13:12
Gday guys,

Played with Jake "Larry" Anstey last year at Donvale in EFL 1st Divvy and he will be a great inclusion for the Mildura boys. Not quite sure of the standard up there, but obviously will be a pretty big drop and should have a great year.

How are Robinvale travelling? We seem to have there hole side at Donvale, some quality players amongst that lot.

Cramp, O'Connor, Schewzuk, Hogg, Handreck are all very handy players.

ringo1
21 Feb 2006, 07:13
It obviously seems that Mildura have picked up some players. I remember seeing them down the ladder and winless a few years back. Can anyone give me an idea on the ladder positions for 2006. Grand final and medal predictions?
Cheers

Spogs
21 Feb 2006, 15:10
I think Wenty should do pretty well if Jason Bell plays up forward with Alvey in the middle. Their problem is that Belly's got a problem with his foot and wants to get it operated on, and if he does he'll miss most of the season.

Michael Bilucaglia retired year before last.

And being a Tigers fan I'd rank Mick Faulkhead up there on the best players list as well. Our CHF Brett Oldham played for NT against North Adelaide the other week and had a great year last year winning the club B&F.

Russ74
22 Feb 2006, 07:42
Spogs, How good is that mail on Jason Bell's foot? If that is correct they wont make the four. With him they'd be a great chance of top 2. Is that a fair call? Why aren't Simms and Connick playing at Wenty? The rumour is that the club still owes them money from 3-4 years ago.

Spogs
22 Feb 2006, 13:01
I agree if Bell doesn't play that will hurt Wenty badly. The news on his foot is from a very very good source. He's apparently trying to tee up a surgeon from Adelaide to do the job and if it can he's getting it done.

Don't know about Simms and Connick. I thought Simms was still playing there this year. Love to either of them at Red Cliffs. Also not sure about the club owing players money but South are said to still owe some players from a few years ago.

Russ74
22 Feb 2006, 14:32
Simms is at Irymple after Wenty stuffed up.

Sonny
22 Feb 2006, 20:43
Gday guys,

Played with Jake "Larry" Anstey last year at Donvale in EFL 1st Divvy and he will be a great inclusion for the Mildura boys. Not quite sure of the standard up there, but obviously will be a pretty big drop and should have a great year.

How are Robinvale travelling? We seem to have there hole side at Donvale, some quality players amongst that lot.

Cramp, O'Connor, Schewzuk, Hogg, Handreck are all very handy players.

Thanks for the comments but a big drop!! Over the last twenty years have seen lots of Bendigo, GV, Murray and Sunraysia players. Sunraysia has as good players as any in country footy. Have a look at the best 10 player lists. The only difference is the last six players in some sides. Anstey will be a gun but Alvey, Eaton, Hards will let him know he has been playing. Hope he is fit because when you play footy in march & Sept when it 37 its bloody hot. Imperials would have given the best sides in country footy a run for their money. EDFL is a good league with some big names. However, country leagues e.g GV & O & M are certainly better.

monkey33
23 Feb 2006, 08:54
How are Merbein looking this year?
Who is coaching them?
thanks

Russ74
23 Feb 2006, 08:58
Merbein are looking terrible. Should finish last. Not sure who is coaching them. The mail is Neagle has continued to pillage them. Not bad, coach them to a couple of flags, leave them broke and then take all their players.

monkey33
23 Feb 2006, 09:09
Anyone know how Timmy Leng is travelling? Is he back from injury? Will he play this year?

Russ74
23 Feb 2006, 09:16
Apparantly Leng is over the knee injury. has been training and looks like he will slot back into CHB in the ones easily. Looking quite fit I'm told.

Sonny
23 Feb 2006, 19:51
Merbein are looking terrible. Should finish last. Not sure who is coaching them. The mail is Neagle has continued to pillage them. Not bad, coach them to a couple of flags, leave them broke and then take all their players.
Merebin have joint coaches- a local - Travis? & Jamie Keenan from Riverina, They will struggle but some kids last year played really well e.g Zach Robertson. Maybe you can blame Neagle but they seemed to buy money players and when the money runs out so do the players. Last year lots of Merebin players went to lots of other clubs Balranald, Robinvale, Irymple etc. Interesting that Balranald have lost a fair few players back to Sth Mildura & other clubs. Balranald must win this year as their biggest source of money comes from selling wood from a big station that the NSW govt have brought.
Saw Tim Leng mid year on the gate at the footy in a suit. Sells real estate. Came back to play some 2's footy & then a few in the 1's. Mildura need him to have a big year as their back line is small & their weakness.

BIGANT
24 Feb 2006, 13:43
Merebin have joint coaches- a local - Travis? & Jamie Keenan from Riverina, They will struggle but some kids last year played really well e.g Zach Robertson. Maybe you can blame Neagle but they seemed to buy money players and when the money runs out so do the players. Last year lots of Merebin players went to lots of other clubs Balranald, Robinvale, Irymple etc. Interesting that Balranald have lost a fair few players back to Sth Mildura & other clubs. Balranald must win this year as their biggest source of money comes from selling wood from a big station that the NSW govt have brought.
Saw Tim Leng mid year on the gate at the footy in a suit. Sells real estate. Came back to play some 2's footy & then a few in the 1's. Mildura need him to have a big year as their back line is small & their weakness. Was'nt leroy Brown doing it :confused: did'nt he do it jointly last season.

Sonny
25 Feb 2006, 20:06
Was'nt leroy Brown doing it :confused: did'nt he do it jointly last season.
Leroy did coach them last year. Very good player. Tired very hard in a struggling team. 2004 played at Irymple and very creative in a good side. Did a knee late in 2005 and needs a reco and so retired. Told me also very busy with work.

Russ74
27 Feb 2006, 15:19
Ladder 2006

Irymple
Imperials
South Mildura
Mildura
Wentworth
Robinvale
Red Cliffs
Merbein

How'd I go?

Leading Goalkicker- J.Bell
Medallist- Tie- L. Gathercole/ M.Alvey

Any rumours floating around boys?

ringo1
28 Feb 2006, 08:48
Thanks Russ, I cannot accurately comment on your predictions as I do not know too much about the comp. I like the predictions for the medal, both are quality players. O'Callaghan would also have to be up there for the amount of ball he gets. In a better team should poll more votes.

Is Alvey a certainty to play this year?

Russ74
28 Feb 2006, 09:22
Yes, Alvey has signed with Wentworth and is training with them. There is whispers that he was paid a large sign on at Port Adelaide and they might try and make it hard for him to get cleared if they can. Other medal chances amongst many would be Brad Eaton, Mick Faulkhead, Ryan O'Callaghan (all past winners). Pretty open comp this year.

The Nest
28 Feb 2006, 10:01
I reckon you are pretty spot on with your predictions Russ. Be interesting to see how Mildura go. As I understand they have lashed out a bit of cash this year and will be looking for a strong result. The Interleague Side should be the strongest for many years this year if all available play. Is there any truth to the rumour of Danny Southern coming to town and playing/coaching Merbein??

Russ74
28 Feb 2006, 11:37
The Danny Southern rumour is one I haven't heard a thing about. Mildura haven't picked up as many as rumoured only Jake Anstey, Ash Connick and Troy Hosking. They have got some very promising youngsters and have a couple of late recruits in the pipeline apparantly. I'm not sure if they'll challenge irymple and Imps but you never know if they remain injury free they might go close.

Weapo
28 Feb 2006, 12:30
I reckon you are pretty spot on with your predictions Russ. Be interesting to see how Mildura go. As I understand they have lashed out a bit of cash this year and will be looking for a strong result. The Interleague Side should be the strongest for many years this year if all available play. Is there any truth to the rumour of Danny Southern coming to town and playing/coaching Merbein??

As all leagues would love to have everyone available and i agree if they were avail then it would be good for leagues to field their strongest sides. But it seems players dont think it is valuable to play interleague or they don't get incentive for it. This is why it is so hard to compare leagues because many players make weak excuses of why they can't play for the league. Then they seem to play the next week for their team to get their payments!

Russ74
28 Feb 2006, 15:23
Pretty sure this year SFL players have to play or will be ineligble to play the following week at their home club. I know we here this all the time but I've heard this year they're fair dinkum. They've had enough of players not puuting their hand up. The SFL should be better than Div 4.

localfootyguru
28 Feb 2006, 20:35
Have to agree that the SFL should definitely be better than Division 4 in the VCFL Championships. The standard of footy in the league is good and more than favorably compares with other major leagues. Having big and good grounds, combined with milder Winters than down South makes the league a very attractive place to play. Thought the guys missed their opportunity in 2005 in the VCFL Championships as they had the home ground advantage.

Have to agree that its about time the league took some action against guys that pull out of interleague with some pretty questionable excuses.

Think this year they may struggle though by having to travel to the YVMDFL as it is a completely different world, especially the weather and conditions.

Jake Anstey is playing at Mildura this year? How did he end up there? Think he has played at 4 clubs in 5 years - Edithvale Aspendale, Yarra Glen, Donvale and now Mildura. Certainly all these movements don't reflect too well on him?

Sonny
28 Feb 2006, 21:08
[quote=Russ74]Ladder 2006

Irymple
Imperials
South Mildura
Mildura
Wentworth
Robinvale
Red Cliffs
Merbein

How'd I go?

Leading Goalkicker- J.Bell
Medallist- Tie- L. Gathercole/ M.Alvey
Good to see the board really starting to fire. Russ you always have some good ideas. I like you ladder but here is mine
South Mildura ( big spenders)
Imperials ( 12 flags in 15 years)
Irymple ( great mid fielders but will never win a flag with ******** Bryans at FF)
Wentworth ( will improve but don't think Bell can coach)
Mildura ( some great players but lack depth)
Robinvale ( no. missed Falvo. Many paid players very unfit)
Red Cliffs( will improve)
Merbein( no)

Leading Goalkicker- D. De angelis would kick 120 but will they play him at ff
Medallist- Tie- D. Fox/ M.Alvey/ R.Hards

Russ74
1 Mar 2006, 07:48
Imps record is great but not that good! Is it? I know that Robinvale, Wentworth (2), Merbein (2), Red Cliffs and South Mildura have won flags in the last 15 years. Anyway your ladder might be right, mine was a little unadventurous. With South, I know of Gathercole and Fox. Who are their other top level players? How old is Fox? 35? How much do you think South are spending? Surely they're not going back to the late 90's when guys didn't get paid. They got a flag but suffered for the next 7-8 years. South in the early 2000's were the worst team to take the field in SFL history. Regularly beaten by 20-30 goals.

ECHUCABOY
1 Mar 2006, 08:09
Have to agree that the SFL should definitely be better than Division 4 in the VCFL Championships. The standard of footy in the league is good and more than favorably compares with other major leagues. Having big and good grounds, combined with milder Winters than down South makes the league a very attractive place to play. Thought the guys missed their opportunity in 2005 in the VCFL Championships as they had the home ground advantage.

Have to agree that its about time the league took some action against guys that pull out of interleague with some pretty questionable excuses.

Think this year they may struggle though by having to travel to the YVMDFL as it is a completely different world, especially the weather and conditions.

Jake Anstey is playing at Mildura this year? How did he end up there? Think he has played at 4 clubs in 5 years - Edithvale Aspendale, Yarra Glen, Donvale and now Mildura. Certainly all these movements don't reflect too well on him?

Jake is a great bloke, pretty sure he was at the first to Clubs with a few mates, who then left after one season when they left. Had two years at Donvale and was great as an Assistant Coach. After the birth of his Daughter he is moving back with the wife to where she grew up, so expect him to finish out his career at Mildura.

The Nest
1 Mar 2006, 09:24
Im not so sure of South finishing on Top. Fox and Gathercole will be their standouts. Spivey, Riordan are good but will need to play with injuries. Hamdorf and O'Shannessy are both good players but wont make a huge difference. They still dont have a full forward and need their talented crop of youngsters to step up. Will be an improved side on last year because they will respect their coach. But how much have the other sides in the league improved???

Imps will be strong again. As I understand Irymple have regained Jason Eagle and Rod Simms which should help out their forward line. (Dicka Bryans is coaching reserves???)
Wentworth will need some support for Alvey, will be a lot of pressure on the ex AFL player.
Mildura are flying from all reports and expect them to start the season well. As for the rest..... wont trouble too many.

Kick It To Me!!
1 Mar 2006, 11:21
The talk of high priced recruits often causes angst among club followers,some say its the only path to success.Thats correct,but too many of these "blow ins" know that theyre only in town for a season or two so they absolutely rape the clubs.Generalising they also;

Dont train in melb
Play ,shower,pay envelope, home.
When they stay overnight,they either muck up or cheat on their teammates missuses as they have no respect for the local culture
Paypacket is generally same size as ego
Have many bad debts towards the end of the season
Bring unruly "drinking buddies" up in the car with them
Big mouth about their wages,causing player unrest amongst club doyens.

These are some negatives,i know the positives,how bout some comment or examples of this type of side effect of the "gun recruit"[/quote]
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/statusicon/user_online.gif

Weapo
1 Mar 2006, 11:32
The talk of high priced recruits often causes angst among club followers,some say its the only path to success.Thats correct,but too many of these "blow ins" know that theyre only in town for a season or two so they absolutely rape the clubs.Generalising they also;

Dont train in melb
When they stay overnight,they either muck up or cheat on their teammates missuses as they have no respect for the local culture

These are some negatives,i know the positives,how bout some comment or examples of this type of side effect of the "gun recruit"
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/statusicon/user_online.gif[/quote]

I totally agree and has been the case for years but probably getting worse. This is why clubs like Imps have been so consistent for many years. They don't attract these guys and don't pay huge money.

ECHUCABOY
1 Mar 2006, 12:14

Dont train in melb

These are some negatives,i know the positives,how bout some comment or examples of this type of side effect of the "gun recruit"
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/statusicon/user_online.gif[/QUOTE]

You nuffy, have u posted this on every country footy thread?

ringo1
1 Mar 2006, 12:40
Echucaboy,it appears kick it to me is after world domination!

Sonny
1 Mar 2006, 20:40
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/statusicon/user_online.gif

You nuffy, have u posted this on every country footy thread?[/quote]

Echucaboy you normally have good mail but the other day you put down Sunraysia. We have as good players as G.V & O.M but some sides lack depth. Any comments?? Also I don't want to upset you as Echuca had great players & was a very tough side in the 80's and 90's. Sholl a couple of years ago was a treat to watch.
Back to Sunraysia- South is my tip but time will tell!!!
Good players-Fox- Medallist, Cam Leehane CHF ex Ballarat. Tough but injured last year, Spivey. Haase 75 goals in 2005 at full forward. Johnson ex WAFL, Cook tall winger. Good kids- won thirds flag- Ghaddad, Polkinghorne & others
Recruits see below. Money spent- heaps & heaps

CLARKE, Aaron Ballarat FL > Sebastopol FNC2005 >
HAMDORF, Matthew Central Murray FL > Balranald2004 >
RIORDAN, Leigh Central Murray FL > Balranald2004 >
BIDDLE, Bradley From EXT.: Great Southern Football League > Yankalilla
FITZGERALD, Brock Central Murray FL > Balranald2003 >
WINTLE, Rodney From EXT.: Essendon DFL > Glenroy
O'SHANNESSY, Kieran Western Border FL > Casterton FC2004 >
GATHERCOLE, Leigh From EXT.: Essendon DFL > Duotta Stars

hotdogs17
3 Mar 2006, 08:37
Anyone know how Timmy Leng is travelling? Is he back from injury? Will he play this year?

Was down at Mildura training on Wednesday nite, where they had a full on intraclub match. Lengy looked to be moving pretty well and played the whole game. Young bloke called Daniel Carmicheal was the standout, Jake Anstey looked pretty good also and Ash Connick kicked a few goals up forward. Toby Cardew didn't play, I asked him whether he was injured he just said he had abit of General Soreness

The Nest
3 Mar 2006, 08:42
I hope it isnt gonna be another season where South talk themselves up early. From those recruits Sonny it looks as though you will definitely be stronger than last year. What about Dalla Santa? he is underrated if you ask me, and you have the best crop of juniors in the league.

Do you have any mail on Robinvale, havent heard much from down that way?

monkey33
3 Mar 2006, 11:12
Are all the O'callaghans playing for Mildura this year? I heard that 2 of the brothers could possibly be heading to the magpies. Any truth in this?

hotdogs17
3 Mar 2006, 13:12
Don't think so, they all played in intraclub on Wednesday nite.

I did hear Merbein were chasing Troy Moncur, ruckman who played with Mildura a couple of seasons ago, burnt mildura and shifted back to QLD i think, not sure where he is playing now. Played against his old man a few times, toughest bloke in the league back then.

BIGANT
3 Mar 2006, 13:45
You nuffy, have u posted this on every country footy thread?

Echucaboy you normally have good mail but the other day you put down Sunraysia. We have as good players as G.V & O.M but some sides lack depth. Any comments?? Also I don't want to upset you as Echuca had great players & was a very tough side in the 80's and 90's. Sholl a couple of years ago was a treat to watch.
Back to Sunraysia- South is my tip but time will tell!!!
Good players-Fox- Medallist, Cam Leehane CHF ex Ballarat. Tough but injured last year, Spivey. Haase 75 goals in 2005 at full forward. Johnson ex WAFL, Cook tall winger. Good kids- won thirds flag- Ghaddad, Polkinghorne & others
Recruits see below. Money spent- heaps & heaps

CLARKE, Aaron Ballarat FL > Sebastopol FNC2005 >
HAMDORF, Matthew Central Murray FL > Balranald2004 >
RIORDAN, Leigh Central Murray FL > Balranald2004 >
BIDDLE, Bradley From EXT.: Great Southern Football League > Yankalilla
FITZGERALD, Brock Central Murray FL > Balranald2003 >
WINTLE, Rodney From EXT.: Essendon DFL > Glenroy
O'SHANNESSY, Kieran Western Border FL > Casterton FC2004 >
GATHERCOLE, Leigh From EXT.: Essendon DFL > Duotta Stars[/quote]

O'shannessy won't be much....a battler at best,struggled mostly when he was at casterton in the wbfl last 2 seasons (and he was senior p/coach) don't rate him at all !!

deano1
3 Mar 2006, 16:55
Are all the O'callaghans playing for Mildura this year? I heard that 2 of the brothers could possibly be heading to the magpies. Any truth in this?

How many O'callaghans play there?

I know Ryan and Corey do, are there more?

monkey33
3 Mar 2006, 17:36
How many O'callaghans play there?

I know Ryan and Corey do, are there more?

Yeah Ryan, Corey and Adam.

Sonny
3 Mar 2006, 18:40
I hope it isnt gonna be another season where South talk themselves up early. From those recruits Sonny it looks as though you will definitely be stronger than last year. What about Dalla Santa? he is underrated if you ask me, and you have the best crop of juniors in the league.

Do you have any mail on Robinvale, havent heard much from down that way?
Dalla Santa & John Brothers will provide play flanks & provide depth. Spivey better manage injuries better & get them fit.
Robinvale no named recruits except coach Shannon Keams from Horsham. Koorie boys not fit & would not train. May lose 6 or 7 to Euston including Jackson & Beriman.
Ryan O' callaghan very fit. Saw him train last night with triathletes.

deano1
3 Mar 2006, 18:54
Yeah Ryan, Corey and Adam.

Oh right, he's their younger brother I did'nt realise he was there as well.

Thanks Monkey.

Sly Dog
3 Mar 2006, 19:03
I saw Ryan O'Callaghan play a game for the Bendigo Diggers and was amazed how fit he was. He played a great game against a much stronger opposition. How things may have been different with his carrer if he was not so small. I was later told that he was with St Kilda at some stage. Can anyone back this up?

deano1
3 Mar 2006, 19:11
I saw Ryan O'Callaghan play a game for the Bendigo Diggers and was amazed how fit he was. He played a great game against a much stronger opposition. How things may have been different with his carrer if he was not so small. I was later told that he was with St Kilda at some stage. Can anyone back this up?

Yes I can, 2 seasons with St Kilda reserves as a suplementry list player. Never made it onto the senior list.

1 game I saw him play at VFL park against North Melb he was going pretty good playing in the forward pocket, he had kicked a couple of goals and was going well until the Roo's put a young Aboriginal by the name of Byron Pickett on him.

I don't think he got a kick after that, Pickett made his senior debut the following week for the Roo's against Geelong and as you know O'callagahan went onto play for Bendigo, then Mildura.

Sonny
3 Mar 2006, 20:09
Yes I can, 2 seasons with St Kilda reserves as a suplementry list player. Never made it onto the senior list.

1 game I saw him play at VFL park against North Melb he was going pretty good playing in the forward pocket, he had kicked a couple of goals and was going well until the Roo's put a young Aboriginal by the name of Byron Pickett on him.

I don't think he got a kick after that, Pickett made his senior debut the following week for the Roo's against Geelong and as you know O'callagahan went onto play for Bendigo, then Mildura.

O'Callaghan is a gun. Always give 150% even when side is getting beaten. Last year when Mildura had 6-7 good players missing, a mate said undefeated Irymple would win by 100 points. Mildura won as O'Callaghan is one of the smartest coaches I have seen in Bendido & G.V in the last 30 years. People talk about David Williams record at Rochester. I would not have played in his side. Always putting down his own players on the ground and mouthing off to the opposition. O'Callaghan is all class. Last year tagged every week. This year with Anstey & Carmichael will not be tagged as much.

Grimmett
3 Mar 2006, 21:15
Dalla Santa & John Brothers will provide play flanks & provide depth. Spivey better manage injuries better & get them fit.
Robinvale no named recruits except coach Shannon Keams from Horsham. Koorie boys not fit & would not train. May lose 6 or 7 to Euston including Jackson & Beriman.
Ryan O' callaghan very fit. Saw him train last night with triathletes.

Shannon Keam coached Dimboola last year in the Wimmera FL. He led them into their first Grand Final since 1985 where they were beaten by the powerful Horsham side that has won three flags in a row.
Coincidentally, Dimboola today announced the loss of their new coach, Robert 'Sonny' Lindsey, who is moving to Melbourne to try and alleviate some family issues. Sonny was recruited to the Wimmera by Nhill from Red Cliffs in the Sunraysia FL. He also had a brief stint with Horsham United before ending up at Dimmy.
There is a story posted in the Wimmera FL thread from the paper today about Sonny's departure.
I'd be interested in hearing if anybody in the Sunraysia area remembers him being at Red Cliffs.

Sonny
5 Mar 2006, 19:54
Shannon Keam coached Dimboola last year in the Wimmera FL. He led them into their first Grand Final since 1985 where they were beaten by the powerful Horsham side that has won three flags in a row.
Coincidentally, Dimboola today announced the loss of their new coach, Robert 'Sonny' Lindsey, who is moving to Melbourne to try and alleviate some family issues. Sonny was recruited to the Wimmera by Nhill from Red Cliffs in the Sunraysia FL. He also had a brief stint with Horsham United before ending up at Dimmy.
There is a story posted in the Wimmera FL thread from the paper today about Sonny's departure.
I'd be interested in hearing if anybody in the Sunraysia area remembers him being at Red Cliffs.

Must have been 2002 or before. Can Keams play and can he pull people into line because he will need to play a few in the 2's until they get the message about training and it being a team game.

A bit of information about Keams from Dimboola

Former Dimboola coach Shannon Keam, 26, has signed with Sunraysia Football League club Robinvale.
Keam who stood down as the Roos coach after leading the side into last year’s Wimmera League grand final, told the Mail-Times he would be playing coach of the Eagles.
“I’m pretty happy about it, I wasn’t looking to coach again but this came up, it’s something new and should be a good challenge for me,” he said.
Keam said he contemplated offers from across the state including Shepparton and Hamilton.
“We went and had a look at Robinvale and decided we wanted to be by the river. Employment was always going to be a factor in where I went as well,” he said. “Plus my partner Brooke and I are expecting our second child in March and we’ve got our young son Raphael to consider. Robinvale seemed right for us.”
Keam is playing footy with St Marys in the Northern Territory League in Darwin until March.
His brother and wingman Jade, who also played with Dimboola last year, is on an overseas trip but will play for the Roos in 2006.

Spogs
6 Mar 2006, 10:34
Sonny Lindsay is a brilliant footballer but an absolute idiot. Played a couple seasons with Red Cliffs and should have won a Mcleod medal. (SFL equivalent of the Brownlow). Somehow Richmond gave him a chance and picked him up I think in a rookie draft a few years back, but after about 2 weeks couldn't be bothered going to training and they rightly dumped him.

He could have been anything if he had any sort of dedication. Around 6 foot 2-3, with a great leap and mark and strong thumping kick. Extremely mobile and courageous. Won plenty of games off his own boot. He came to Red Cliffs with Adrian Newman and Mark Tasyan in 2000. All three magnificent footballers but none of them could stay out of trouble.

No surprise at all that he's let down another club.

Grimmett
6 Mar 2006, 11:37
Sonny Lindsay is a brilliant footballer but an absolute idiot. Played a couple seasons with Red Cliffs and should have won a Mcleod medal. (SFL equivalent of the Brownlow). Somehow Richmond gave him a chance and picked him up I think in a rookie draft a few years back, but after about 2 weeks couldn't be bothered going to training and they rightly dumped him.

He could have been anything if he had any sort of dedication. Around 6 foot 2-3, with a great leap and mark and strong thumping kick. Extremely mobile and courageous. Won plenty of games off his own boot. He came to Red Cliffs with Adrian Newman and Mark Tasyan in 2000. All three magnificent footballers but none of them could stay out of trouble.

No surprise at all that he's let down another club.

Nothing's changed much then. Nhill ran him out of town when he couldn't attend training sober after a few years of other misdemeanours. Horsham United put up with him for half a season before shipping him out. Dimboola were happy to keep him but have been burnt by th einstability that envelopes his whole life.
Pity though, cos as you mention he is a brilliant footballer when switched on.
Just nobody knows where the on/off button is I'm afraid.

The Nest
6 Mar 2006, 13:06
Gee, how many of you blokes are rooting Ryan O'Callaghan. He's a good bloke and good footballer but surely there are some other good players in the SFL! It doesnt matter how fit you are, you still need to find the footy. I do think that Mildura will go well this year under O'Callaghan though!

Weapo
6 Mar 2006, 13:07
Nothing's changed much then. Nhill ran him out of town when he couldn't attend training sober after a few years of other misdemeanours. Horsham United put up with him for half a season before shipping him out. Dimboola were happy to keep him but have been burnt by th einstability that envelopes his whole life.
Pity though, cos as you mention he is a brilliant footballer when switched on.
Just nobody knows where the on/off button is I'm afraid.

My young bloke played against him a few years back and said that the guy would absolutely destroy opposition regularly. He would come from 5 meters behind a pack, sit on it and then take the bit of leather between his troubled hands. Good footballer with no brains! Dont see many of them!

ringo1
6 Mar 2006, 13:09
:) I reckon fitness is a huge thing-outrun taggers,get to more contests,create play etc etc. Fitness is a must if you want to be a very good player although the odd full forward may get away with it.

The Nest
6 Mar 2006, 13:14
;) You are right Ringo. But the difference between blokes running 15's in a beep test and 13's is irrelevant if they wont put their head over it and get the pill. That is why you still see blokes that dont burn up the track but go out and rack up the possy's whether they have been on the gas the night before or not.

Delray
6 Mar 2006, 15:03

Don falvo took almost the whole year off last year his new born baby was very ill. so depending on the babys wealth he might be forced to hang up the boots. if she recovers he will play.

as for Bilucaglia whispers that he will play a few games for the gol gol hawkes this season. dont really need him considering they won the flag by over 100 points

Delray
6 Mar 2006, 15:07
From the Wimmera Mail-Times of February 1.

Is he any good???

Grimmett
6 Mar 2006, 16:13
Shannon goes OK. Not a flashy type, good driver in heavy traffic to use a popular phrase. Doesn't present as a great footballer which helps him get under the guard of many who judge mainly on appearance. Usually plays in long sleeves although the temp may beat him up there.
His brother Jade has all the flash and dash in the family. He can play and should be a Robinvale recruiting target IMO.

Sonny
6 Mar 2006, 19:55
Gee, how many of you blokes are rooting Ryan O'Callaghan. He's a good bloke and good footballer but surely there are some other good players in the SFL! It doesnt matter how fit you are, you still need to find the footy. I do think that Mildura will go well this year under O'Callaghan though!

Plenty of other good players- Alvey,Fox, Gathercole,Riordan, Anstey, Eaton, Maloney, R Hards, Bell. Faulkhead if he plays in the centre and concentrates on playing and forgets opposition players. Chris Lee, Red Cliffs- very handy left footer- Former pioneers, Peter Zappia, Mal Miller when fit.
Name your top and upset my top 10. Cheers