View Full Version : Andrew Krakouer

Matty Knights
7 Feb 2006, 20:47
Iv'e only been on the site a while but have noticed that plenty around here don't rate young Andrew. I for one do and think he has a fantastic football brain. His tackling is tops and often pins defenders caught deep in their own half, resulting in free kicks and goals.
Anyone thinks he's gonna be the endurance type and run all day has got rocks in their head. He will be a cream on the cake player and his true worth will become apparent as the Tigers move further up the ladder.

Players with sixth sense don't come around very often.

My advice enjoy the ride..

jackson_rules
7 Feb 2006, 20:59
Iv'e only been on the site a while but have noticed than plenty around here don't rate young Andrew. I for one do and think he has a fantastic football brain. His tackling is tops and often pins defenders caught deep in their own half, resulting in free kicks and goals.
Anyone thinks he's gonna be the endurance type and run all day has got rocks in their head. He will be a cream on the cake player and his true worth will become apparent as the Tigers move further up the ladder.

Players with sixth sense don't come around very often.

My advice enjoy the ride..
great post, i couldnt agree more.. i think to expect 30 goals from him this year isnt too much though:thumbsu:

Weaver
7 Feb 2006, 21:24
He will be a cream on the cake player and his true worth will become apparent as the Tigers move further up the ladder.

Cream of the cake players are a luxury comes final time. You need 22 players able to play 120 minutes. It is not as though we aren't already carrying a few players with major flaws. We can't carry a guy who has 40 minutes of good footy in him.

Andy on and off the bench as an intense tackling machine will be handy, but he won't survive to play in a good team on the scraps he has shown far.

0-xXx-0
8 Feb 2006, 06:09
andy is a very underrated player, just because he makes things look easy , ppl assume he is lazy. he is by far our best tackler, by far got the cleanest hands in out team, and is a pure football brain.

dont worry he will shut a few mouths this yr

Harvey Leadpipe
8 Feb 2006, 08:19
Cream of the cake players are a luxury comes final time. You need 22 players able to play 120 minutes. It is not as though we aren't already carrying a few players with major flaws. We can't carry a guy who has 40 minutes of good footy in him.

Andy on and off the bench as an intense tackling machine will be handy, but he won't survive to play in a good team on the scraps he has shown far.

My sentiments exactly. Give me a workhorse like a Tucky or Cogs anyday.

Bentleigh
8 Feb 2006, 08:22
Best hands in the league.

Bentleigh
8 Feb 2006, 08:27
My sentiments exactly. Give me a workhorse like a Tucky or Cogs anyday.

22 Flemings, Chaffeys & Tivendales would be a good team eh? They all put their head over the pill, work and run hard.

Fact is you need the like of;

O'Loughlin
Davis
Schneider
---
Embley
Matera
Wirrpunda

to be a good side. To give polish to the work horses.

I don't know if we could carrey Krakouer as we are atm (club seems to think so, 3 year contract) but in a good side he'd be a class forward pocket.

0-xXx-0
8 Feb 2006, 10:46
22 Flemings, Chaffeys & Tivendales would be a good team eh? They all put their head over the pill, work and run hard.

tivendale is not a workhorse and never puts his head over the pill, but im with ya , krak is vital in our team

IDGAF
8 Feb 2006, 11:46

Fact is you need the like of;

O'Loughlin
Davis
Schneider
---
Embley
Matera
Wirrpunda

The day AK is anywhere near in the league of those guys named i`ll be happy .

Polish you say ...? All Krakouer does is harass and tackle the bulk of the time .... that is when he could be @rsed . Hardly providing polish

And no .... 22 Flemings , Chaffeys and Tivendales won`t win you a flag ..... but then again that is not what Harvey said was it .

Darth_Tiger
8 Feb 2006, 12:02
i still say he is an icing on the cake player. as the rest of the team lifts he will add polish.

peejay
8 Feb 2006, 12:12
Personally I am a big fan but agree he is at make or break stage.

C'mon Andy shut the detractors up.

Then watch them say - "always thought he had it in him"

CoggaRules
8 Feb 2006, 14:37
The day AK is anywhere near in the league of those guys named i`ll be happy .

just think when you will be happiest ID, and then look at the players that he is likened to and you might understand the deal.

By the way, Davis was a workhorse forever and a day up until this year, wasnt he? ;)

Darth_Tiger
8 Feb 2006, 14:43
i just think that you dont throw away players that are capable of kicking a bag of goals. we dont have too many of them, and although he hasnt done it too often yet, he has done it. hopefully he does it more.

IDGAF
8 Feb 2006, 16:15
hopefully he does it more.I hear what you are saying Sith Lord but you are part of the "older school" as i am .

Mate , i have learnt some lessons from following this club for 30 years and one of the biggest ones is the old RFC "Gunna" mentality .

How many players have we had in the last 20 years that have "gunna" be stars ?

Genuine question ... to all really ...

What do people see (other than the boys definate , undisputed ability ), in Andrew Krakouer, with regards to physique - fitness - consistency - body language - work ethic etc. that suggests that he is going to deliver on all this promise ?

I see his ability but that is all ... and as all the strong clubs do you give them three or so years to show it and if it aint happening , you move them on to a cellar dweller who will take the punt on him finally delivering on this "ability" ....... sound familiar boys and girls ? ;)

CoggaRules
8 Feb 2006, 16:18

I see his ability but that is all ;)

ID, i would suggest the last statement wasnt to forthcoming when your were making the top statement, over those 20 years. ;)

IDGAF
8 Feb 2006, 16:24
just think when you will be happiest ID, and then look at the players that he is likened to and you might understand the deal.

By the way, Davis was a workhorse forever and a day up until this year, wasnt he? ;)www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=221423&page=2

LMAO ...... Come again Coggsy ?

Post 27 is of particular interest

IDGAF
8 Feb 2006, 16:27
.... and no Cogga , Nick Davis never has , and never will be , a "workhorse"

Finisher ... pure and simple

And a f..kin good one at that

Darth_Tiger
8 Feb 2006, 16:51
I hear what you are saying Sith Lord but you are part of the "older school" as i am .

Mate , i have learnt some lessons from following this club for 30 years and one of the biggest ones is the old RFC "Gunna" mentality .

Genuine question ... to all really ...

What do people see (other than the boys definate , undisputed ability ), in Andrew Krakouer, with regards to physique - fitness - consistency - body language - work ethic etc. that suggests that he is going to deliver on all this promise ?

I see his ability but that is all ... and as all the strong clubs do you give them three or so years to show it and if it aint happening , you move them on to a cellar dweller who will take the punt on him finally delivering on this "ability" ....... sound familiar boys and girls ? ;)

yeah i see your point idgaf, but at the moment who would take his place? another kid? if he does nothing this year then maybe he does need to go. on the other hand we need players who are going to contribute 30 or so goals a year. he is not a star and may never be. if he can become a good solid player who puts in more consistently i will be happy. if he becomes more then even better. the list is starting to look very young, we need to give these 'older' blokes a chance to deliver before we completely gut our list.

GhostofJimJess
8 Feb 2006, 21:17

I'm with you on all that, Weav. His highlights package in each game is as good as anyone's, but he definitely needs to sustain his intensity for more than one quarter per game.

I suspect that this year is his last chance to do so.

tigerdan
8 Feb 2006, 21:36
A couple of years ago i said to my dad 'what was John Northey like as a player?' He said that 'on a good day he'd get five kicks - and all of them would be goals'.

If we're lucky AK will end up like that. If not, maybe another Chris Naish*.

If he doesn't improve he'll be on the scrapheap at the end of the year though.

* In that he promised a bit but never 'made it'

PLSC
8 Feb 2006, 23:18
one of the biggest waste of talents so far the club has had in 10 years.

if it wasnt for his dad and uncle he'd be nothing.

i agree his tackling is great but i dont buy this 10 pos 1 goal a game bull********. we needed a small forward to stand up when browny went down and he couldnt and i dont think he ever will.

not good enough for midfield not consistant enough to be small forward so i dont rate him at all and i wouldnt mind if he got dropped because he's had a cruisy ride so far in his career.

anyone who disagrees with me is the reason why we have only made the finals once in 10 years.

oxx
8 Feb 2006, 23:42
Needs to kick 3 a week.

Get him away from the midfield cos he'll never have the stamina.
U can diet and test all u want but some dudes are just that way and better left to do waht they can do, and what he can do is kick goals.

Bentleigh
9 Feb 2006, 08:21
Clearly he has talent, some games are outstanding ->

http://www.footywire.com/fw/web/ft_player_games?pid=333

He needs consistancy. Very hard to do when you play in a forward pocket, in an average side.

Needs to kick 3 a week.

:rolleyes:

3 x 22 = 66.

He'd be the best forward pocket in the league, by quite some way.

Only 5 players in the league averaged 3 goals a week last season...

Truetiger
9 Feb 2006, 08:34
Needs to kick 3 a week.

Lucky to get 3 kicks a week at times i feel.

CoggaRules
9 Feb 2006, 09:04
www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=221423&page=2

LMAO ...... Come again Coggsy ?

Post 27 is of particular interest

to true there ID, i know exactly what you are alluding to.
I am a fan of the kid, purely on his 6th sense type of ablity, which in my books puts him way ahead of the rest of the gunnas, which have the 1st, maybe the second and after 100 games are now learning the 3rd sense. ;)

IDGAF
9 Feb 2006, 09:15
to true there ID, i know exactly what you are alluding to.
I am a fan of the kid, purely on his 6th sense type of ablity, which in my books puts him way ahead of the rest of the gunnas, which have the 1st, maybe the second and after 100 games are now learning the 3rd sense. ;)Fair enough

At least most of us agree on one thing , if he dosn`t start stringing a few together this year enough is enough

CoggaRules
9 Feb 2006, 09:51
Fair enough

At least most of us agree on one thing , if he dosn`t start stringing a few together this year enough is enough

lets put it this way, I dont want to keep suggesting to give the kid a break forever and a day, this year is his do or die year for me and if he doesnt produce the goods, re. output, then I cant back him up against the baggers. ;)

Truetiger
9 Feb 2006, 09:58
lets put it this way, I dont want to keep suggesting to give the kid a break forever and a day, this year is his do or die year for me and if he doesnt produce the goods, re. output, then I cant back him up against the baggers. ;)

Die it is then. Farewell Krakouer. You will be missed :thumbsu:

JohnF
9 Feb 2006, 14:44
What you see is what you get with Krakouer. He will never improve.

The only question is can we find a player to replace him?

If we had a good team he would have got the A$$ years ago. Given the exorbitant amount of hacks we've had though he's been able to survive.

I look forward to the day when we can say he isn't in our top 25. We'll be going places.

Crumden
9 Feb 2006, 17:00
Cream of the cake players are a luxury comes final time. You need 22 players able to play 120 minutes.
Disagree completely with that point. A couple of freak goals by Davis got Sydney into the Grand Final. The absence of someone like Matera cost West Coast the premiership. In close finals you need someone who can pull a rabbit out of the hat to break the deadlock. If they can play a solid 120 minutes and still have that purple patch all the better, but very few teams, even premiership teams, have 22 players who can play a solid 120 minutes (not that its possible for all 22 to play 120 minutes :p).

Not saying that Krak is equal to Davis or Matera. But he is a 25-30 goal a year player and we have some other concerns to address before shipping off goalkickers.

Bentleigh
9 Feb 2006, 17:04
Disagree completely with that point. A couple of freak goals by Davis got Sydney into the Grand Final. The absence of someone like Matera cost West Coast the premiership. In close finals you need someone who can pull a rabbit out of the hat to break the deadlock. If they can play a solid 120 minutes and still have that purple patch all the better, but very few teams, even premiership teams, have 22 players who can play a solid 120 minutes (not that its possible for all 22 to play 120 minutes :p).

Not saying that Krak is equal to Davis or Matera. But he is a 25-30 goal a year player and we have some other concerns to address before shipping off goalkickers.

Well said.

Darth_Tiger
9 Feb 2006, 21:17
he played well in the midfield in the intra club by all reports so wait and see i reckon.

Matty Knights
1 May 2006, 12:52
Thought Andy did enough to hold his place in the side for round 6.

Listen I realise he cops a fair pasting on this board but I don't think he is ever gonna be the Andrew McCleod everyone wants him to be.
As I've said before he is gonna be a cream on the cake player or the guy that kicks that amazing goal that wins us the game by 5 points.

I think he should stay on regardless, we' ve kept dudder players in the past.

Forward pocket specialist please..

IDGAF
1 May 2006, 13:42
Forward pocket specialist please........,.ok , but that is all

CoggaRules
1 May 2006, 14:08
in the middle of a clanger fest, along with Lids and Cogs, looked a class above, in footy smarts. You can throw in the Fol as well, that kid, is also another that makes very limited errors and can see the best way out of a tight spot, before he actually gets into it. ;)

oxx
1 May 2006, 15:42
Best hands in the league.

Show us more of your football knowledge.:rolleyes:

Bentleigh
1 May 2006, 16:29
Krak has brillant hands.

Bojangles17
1 May 2006, 18:51
Thought Andy did enough to hold his place in the side for round 6.

he just did enough , and thats what he needs to be reminded of....any less than that and straight back to the seconds...kicked a ripper snap, steered it beautifully...Need more of it , not once a month kinda effort!

Truetiger
1 May 2006, 20:14
Thought

Listen I realise he cops a fair pasting on this board .

Sorry that would be my fault. When he strings 2 good games together. Then i might have something good to say about him.

CoggaRules
2 May 2006, 10:47
Sorry that would be my fault. When he strings 2 good games together. Then i might have something good to say about him.

so how about you give us your take on what a "good game" is?
Unfortunately for Krak, due to his apparent class and skill edge on others that ecape such scrutiny, i.e. Hyde, Petts, Tiv to an extent, where they only have to produce a somewhat servicable game to actually be classed a "good game", alot here are waiting for Krak to be a match winner, to actually suggest he had a good game. He might have missed a couple of targets, last friday night, but it didnt end up hiiting an opposition player on the chest. The one thing he didnt do, that others constantly do, is to deliver to an unmanned opposition player, who was that far away from a tiger, it was bloody laughable. ;)

roostertalk
2 May 2006, 11:26
so how about you give us your take on what a "good game" is?
Unfortunately for Krak, due to his apparent class and skill edge on others that ecape such scrutiny, i.e. Hyde, Petts, Tiv to an extent, where they only have to produce a somewhat servicable game to actually be classed a "good game", alot here are waiting for Krak to be a match winner, to actually suggest he had a good game. He might have missed a couple of targets, last friday night, but it didnt end up hiiting an opposition player on the chest. The one thing he didnt do, that others constantly do, is to deliver to an unmanned opposition player, who was that far away from a tiger, it was bloody laughable. ;)

this we'll always agree on cogga, Krak is a solid contributor even in the games he doesnt kick goals that lift the roof off stadiums. Unfortunately those that dont watch it all the closely dont notice him unless he gives us some of the freaky aboriginal stuff.... they should realize that the times he does give us a dose of magic, it is just a bonus on top of the efforts that he gives us in tackling and slick handballing. Easily in the best 22 and the stiffest man behind nathan demon brown to be dropped for apparent bad form. Honourable mentions to Goddard.

Matty Knights
2 Jul 2006, 17:10
He will be staying so all you detractors drop off!

Fantastic game so far..:p

tomthetiger
2 Jul 2006, 19:17
Ive been defending him all week, now I finally have some evidence to back it up. Krakouer has worked hard all year, and today showed what he can really do. Should keep his place in the side for good now.