View Full Version : The day I met Paul Licuria

CONS_SS
10 Feb 2006, 16:47
About two years ago I was at my mates house who lives a couple of streets away. He was washing his car while I was just sitting down in the driveway.

Then along comes this dark green Lotus Elise sports car, and it turns into the next door neighbours driveway, which was right next to my mates driveway. So we're about 3 metres from the car. We're both like "wow, awesome car" etc.

The door opens and out pops Paul Licuria. I couldnt believe it. My mate knows absolutely nothing about footy so he didnt know who he was. As he walked past I say "g'day Paul" and he replies "Hi mate, how you going?" Then he goes inside the house. My mate is drooling over the car (not literally) and I tell him "Forget about the car, that's Paul Licuria!".

15 minutes later he comes out again and I comment on how cool his car is. We start to talk about cars and it turns out it wasnt his car, and that he prefers 4WD's better. Then he offers to take me for a drive around the block. I swear this is true. I accept the offer and take my shoes off before I got in. We go for a short cruise and he gives it a bit of stick.

When we get back I said "Thanks for the ride, I really appreciate it". I didnt mention anything about footy because I'm sure he gets enough ****heads asking him the same old stuff like "hows Collingwood" and "hows your footy going" etc. Of course he would have been happy to talk about footy because he was a great bloke, but I didnt want to annoy him. Instead we just talked about cars and how he is friends with the family next door to my mates house.

Overall he seemed like a bl00dy good guy, and I wish he played for Essendon.

:cool:

dids4
10 Feb 2006, 16:57
yeah sounds like a typical licca story. possibly the best bloke ive ever come across at collingwood.

well actually ive never spoken to him as its not really my thing, but they way he treats fans at training / family days etc. is first class. :thumbsu:

also i thought that was his car? ive seen it at training a couple of times. whos car was it?

CONS_SS
10 Feb 2006, 17:17
When he said it wasnt his car I didnt ask whose it was, none of my business. He might of initially just said it because I was a complete stranger, and he didnt want me to know it was his, which is fair enough. Or it could be his partners car and he drives it, or another Pie players car, I dunno.

Lonie_from_50
10 Feb 2006, 17:23
When I met him, it was in the carpark of Vic Park. He had a Jeep Wrangler (there you go, 4WD's)...He is one of the nicest guys in footy off the field. We didn't want to keep him, yet, we are passionate supporters, so my mate (guess_who) and myself got a quick autograph, while my mate, was nice enough, to let him go and do his own thing...We joked about it, saying, Paul will never notice you in the crowd, so that favour means nothing. He won his second consecutive Copeland that year!

Muffo
10 Feb 2006, 18:16
He seems like a really top bloke. He does a bit of volunteer stuff at hospitals too, doesnt he...?

Hoggy
10 Feb 2006, 18:47
He is a top bloke, I've interviewed him before and he takes a genuine interest in how you are going.

I believe he has finally left his Keon Park home?

Coin_Toss
10 Feb 2006, 18:50
Yeah, Lica is a top bloke! He is the nicest Collingwood player in my opinion.

Nesian
10 Feb 2006, 20:09
Yeah when the pies came up to the sunny coast in qld in 2004, i went to their last training session there travelling from brisbane to get there, and yeah talked to licca after the session, such a champion and really nice, yeah definitly takes a genuine interest in how your going etc, since then he has been my favourite collingwood player, and it was the same last year at the after gamer breakfast in brisbane (after the shocking loss), he is a real legend and yeah definitly one of the nicest collingwood players.

jimmy35
10 Feb 2006, 20:16
Good to hear a poster from another team with good words to say , well done CONS.
I've heard before he is a nice bloke but he's still a bloke like you and me , some are dicks and some are nice.

Jabso
10 Feb 2006, 22:02
He does alot of stuff. He is working to get his commercial pilot's licence, I think he has some form of pilot's licence, he is a qualified electrician and puts ****loads of work into charities.

DidaksLeftFoot
10 Feb 2006, 23:29
Of course he's a nice guy - he plays for Collingwood :thumbsu:

FIGJAM
11 Feb 2006, 08:41
As Lf50 said he drives a Jeep Wrangler.

I'm slightly concerned that I know this! Just how much information can we know about these guys before we're stalkers?!

jimmy35
11 Feb 2006, 08:47

I'm slightly concerned that I know this! Just how much information can we know about these guys before we're stalkers?!

I think you have just about reached the limit. :D

Lonie_from_50
11 Feb 2006, 12:42
2 years ago Cam Cloke had a yellow SAAB convertable...is he still a woman? :p

Johnson#26
11 Feb 2006, 12:58
Licca is a top bloke. Very nice indeed.

Pie 4 Life
12 Feb 2006, 08:06
Yeah Licca's a great bloke. Always positive and smiling. :)

CONS_SS
12 Feb 2006, 10:28
2 years ago Cam Cloke had a yellow SAAB convertable...is he still a woman? :p
haha how funny.
Maybe the club forced him to drive it after his driving misdemeanour a while back......although that was less than 2 years ago wasnt it

Hoggy
12 Feb 2006, 11:04

Dutchy drives a Jeep with WA numberplates! :o

FIGJAM
12 Feb 2006, 14:20
Does Licuria have the number plates LICA69??