View Full Version : Everything you love about – Matthew Robbins
Aquamarinejewel
12 Feb 2006, 16:31
You have got to love everything about Matthew Robbins, he is tenacious, hardworking and has no fear. Many might remember that huge collision he had with Jakovich when he broke his collarbone he went in very hard in that contest.
His most recent display of courage was on Brad Johnson’s 250th game against Brisbane, when he kicked five goals for the game and the other highlight on that night was when he also took that spectacular one handed mark using Chris Johnson as a step ladder to meet the ball mid air, mighty unlucky not to win the Mark of The Year.
Thoughts?
The_Bulldogs_Bite
12 Feb 2006, 16:45
Robbins is extremely important to our team. Sides really underrate him. He's got a lot of pace, he's got a big body, he's got a an impressive leap, strong hands and a reliable kick. Not to mention, he's very hard working, and is always doing the 1%ers which can turn a game around. Type of player coaches love to have. Can play in most positions and will fly the flag. If he's not having a great game, doesn't put his head down. Keeps working hard. Probably applys more pressure on the opposition than any other player in our team, yet is extremely dangerous and is capable of kicking bags of 6 at the same time.
He's one of my favourite players because I think he's the complete player, minus the height. I remember Eade saying after one game where he played brillantly, might have been against Colling Round 22, or perhaps West Coast, but what Eade said was that although Robbins wasn't kicking bags of goals or racking up the possessions, he was applying great pressure in the forward line which is why he's important at all times.
I'm looking forward to seeing Robbins cope with the finals atmosphere in 2006, assuming we make it, I think he's one to rise to the occassion and really get the team going through either a big mark, a freaky goal, an inspiring bump or laying a hard tackle. He's vital to the teams success IMO because teams usually focus on Murphy, Johnson and Giansiracusa or a resting midfielder.
How many times have we converted goals due to Robbins applying immense pressure? Surely near 10 times. Never gives up with his running and tackling, and it paid off big time on quite a few occassions last year. One that springs to mind was against Melbourne, Round 21. Took a very, very good mark deep in the forward pocket. 'Twas a hell of a standing leap. Then he played on and tried to chip it to Murphy, but mucked it up. Melbourne got the ball and were running it out of defense. Next thing you know, Robbins has run 50 meters to bring down (Godfrey?) for holding the ball. We get the ball back into our forward line and score a goal. Great to watch.
Anja_Nees
12 Feb 2006, 16:46
He's a gun. Was very unlucky not to play early in the season and averaged about 2 goals a game after his return. As a small forward, his only flaw is his turning circle. He's not as agile as Davey or Milne and gets more of his goals on the run or from marks than from crumbing packs. That said, his tackling and chasing more than make up for it and he never stops presenting.
firstdogonthemoon
12 Feb 2006, 17:12
There are two things I would like to say - firstly I thought it was the mark of the year and was dissapointed when the Mark of the Year people didnt agree. Secondly, I would like to congratulate myself on my first post here at big footy.
Well done to everyone concerned!
Year of the Dog
12 Feb 2006, 19:03
There are two things I would like to say - firstly I thought it was the mark of the year and was dissapointed when the Mark of the Year people didnt agree. Secondly, I would like to congratulate myself on my first post here at big footy.
Well done to everyone concerned!
Greetings. Agree, Robbo was definately err... robbed re mark of the year. Reckon he was nearly first dog on the moon he got that high :D
OldSchool
12 Feb 2006, 20:11
He is a better than good player who has made the transition from a decent defender to a very effective forward. His defensive workrate in the forward line is oustanding and he has improved his kicking for goal. I see in the paper today he is a recent father and at age 28 still has plenty to offer the club.
There is a fair bit to admire about this bloke.
One of my favourite players in the team - gives 110% whether we're 50 points up or 50 points down.
Just love the way he tackles and chases.
OldSchool
12 Feb 2006, 20:57
One of my favourite players in the team - gives 110% whether we're 50 points up or 50 points down.
Just love the way he tackles and chases.
Eade often mentions his work ethic on the forward line.
Aquamarinejewel
12 Feb 2006, 21:46
He is great to watch...he works tirelessly, something about him reminds me of Terry Wheeler for some reason.
King of the Mountain
13 Feb 2006, 10:11
Robbins is extremely important to our team. Sides really underrate him. He's got a lot of pace, he's got a big body, he's got a an impressive leap, strong hands and a reliable kick. Not to mention, he's very hard working, and is always doing the 1%ers which can turn a game around. Type of player coaches love to have. Can play in most positions and will fly the flag. If he's not having a great game, doesn't put his head down. Keeps working hard. Probably applys more pressure on the opposition than any other player in our team, yet is extremely dangerous and is capable of kicking bags of 6 at the same time.
He's one of my favourite players because I think he's the complete player, minus the height. I remember Eade saying after one game where he played brillantly, might have been against Colling Round 22, or perhaps West Coast, but what Eade said was that although Robbins wasn't kicking bags of goals or racking up the possessions, he was applying great pressure in the forward line which is why he's important at all times.
I'm looking forward to seeing Robbins cope with the finals atmosphere in 2006, assuming we make it, I think he's one to rise to the occassion and really get the team going through either a big mark, a freaky goal, an inspiring bump or laying a hard tackle. He's vital to the teams success IMO because teams usually focus on Murphy, Johnson and Giansiracusa or a resting midfielder.
How many times have we converted goals due to Robbins applying immense pressure? Surely near 10 times. Never gives up with his running and tackling, and it paid off big time on quite a few occassions last year. One that springs to mind was against Melbourne, Round 21. Took a very, very good mark deep in the forward pocket. 'Twas a hell of a standing leap. Then he played on and tried to chip it to Murphy, but mucked it up. Melbourne got the ball and were running it out of defense. Next thing you know, Robbins has run 50 meters to bring down (Godfrey?) for holding the ball. We get the ball back into our forward line and score a goal. Great to watch.
Mate that is a top read.The way Robbins put pressure on people is amazing and we often get a goal out of a Robbins bone crunching tackle.
Benno From Berwick
13 Feb 2006, 10:13
The BIG SEXY!!!
Fossie 32
13 Feb 2006, 14:50
ROCKIN' ROBBINS
Tweedily deedily dee, Tweedily deedily dee, Tweedily deedily dee, Tweedily deedily dee, Tweedily deedily dee, Tweedily deedily dee, Tweedily deedily dee, Tweedily deedily dee, Tweet, tweet, tweet tweet
He plays forward pocket all day long,
But his backline form is just as strong.
Roves to Big Willy and Peter Street,
The way he kicks goals is sweet, sweet, sweet.
CHORUS:
Rockin' Robbins (tweet, tweet, tweet);
Rock, rock, rockin' Robbins (tweet, tweedle-dee);
Go rockin' Robbins, Dogs’re really gonna rock tonight.
Every halfback flanker, every CHB,
Every single player on the MCG,
The opposition coaches, our mate Rocket,
Are all in awe of our forward pocket.
CHORUS:
All the girlie fans want him to take off his top,
Flex his sexy pecs and never ever stop
When he took that speccy we said "bless my soul”
It was mark of the year, and another great goal
CHORUS:
OldSchool
13 Feb 2006, 15:07
Well done Fossie :D
Benno From Berwick
13 Feb 2006, 15:19
The BIG SEXY!!!
The Big Sexy was at some Picnic Races near you Fossie on Saturday drinking Southern cans like they were going out of fashion.
So I am told. Reliable source. It was a bucks day!!!!!!
Matty Robbins is a prime example of a player who constantly plays above what you expect of him. He is the one that applies that impossible tackle, takes that unbelievable mark and can be relied on to kick the goal. He has made (and is making) the most of what he can be.
It's been said he's our Phil Matera. That's not a bad comparison.
Welcome firstdogonthemoon. Come back often! :thumbsu:
Aquamarinejewel
13 Feb 2006, 20:50
Fossie32, great lyrics for the Matthew Robbins song, wonder if he reads here, he would have a good laugh over that. :)
doggiesgal06
13 Feb 2006, 20:56
great job fossie 32 :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
King of the Mountain
14 Feb 2006, 12:13
I enjoyed that Fossie :thumbsu: