View Full Version : Jason Porplyzia is fitter, faster, stronger

Crowked
16 Feb 2006, 07:01
From the Advertiser

http://www.theadvertiser.news.com.au/footy/story_page/0,8747,18161811%255E25397,00.html

Jason is fitter, faster, stronger
By ZAC MILBANK
16feb06

IF it wasn't for the name, Crows fans could be forgiven for thinking they had never seen Jason Porplyzia before.

Porplyzia has added three key dimensions - weight, fitness and confidence - to his game and it appears that everyone at West Lakes is taking notice.
"He's really a totally different player in my eyes," Adelaide captain Mark Ricciuto said.

"He's certainly developed his body enormously. He was pretty unfit and a little bit chubby when he was here two years ago. But now he's very well built, quite strong and running good times in the time-trials."

And just three months into his second-coming at Adelaide, Porplyzia is already having some lofty comparisons drawn about him. "He's very similar to Tyson Edwards," Ricciuto said. "Probably the most important thing is the cleaness of his hands and his skills.

"He won the best-and-fairest at Westies last year and with all of the stuff he's improved on over the summer, he could be around the mark for a game in the pre-season."

Coach Neil Craig has been another to be impressed, flagging Porplyzia's debut in next month's NAB Cup.

"He's been very good. I couldn't have asked any more from Jason," Craig said. "His application to the task has been outstanding. He's addressed some issues which we had with him two or three years ago in terms of his conditioning.

"He's given himself every chance and we'll certainly get a look at him in the pre-season Cup."

Not one to take praise for granted, Porplyzia knows the time is fast approaching to prove himself under match-day pressure. "They're obviously nice little compliments," Porplyzia, who spent 2003 on the Crows rookie list, said.

"Just knowing they can see the improvement and that they can see a spot for me in the side is a big thing I can take on board and keep working at."

To put himself in the running to make his AFL debut this year, Porplyzia now weighs 81kg, seven more than during his first stint with the club.

But that's not the only aspect of his game the West Adelaide midfielder has improved.

"I definitely think I've improved a lot from when I was here before and I do have a feeling I belong at this sort of level," Porplyzia said. "The big thing has been my fitness. That's the one I've really worked on and I've obviously got a bit stronger and faster as well."

He is confident he could step straight into the rigors of AFL if required.

Thats half a dozen times Ive heard this guy compared to Tyson Edwards. Lets hope he's the real deal.

All of a sudden we seem to have quite a few young midfield options giving us pretty good depth. With Thompson, Reilly, Skipworth already getting time and with Knights, Hinge, Porps, Vince, Douglas or Pfeiffer who could become regular on ballers down the track, we're looking in pretty good shape.

SpringChoke
16 Feb 2006, 07:18
From the Advertiser

http://www.theadvertiser.news.com.au/footy/story_page/0,8747,18161811%255E25397,00.html

By ZAC MILBANK
16feb06

IF it wasn't for the name, Crows fans could be forgiven for thinking they had never seen Jason Porplyzia before.

Porplyzia has added three key dimensions - weight, fitness and confidence - to his game and it appears that everyone at West Lakes is taking notice.
"He's really a totally different player in my eyes," Adelaide captain Mark Ricciuto said.

"He's certainly developed his body enormously. He was pretty unfit and a little bit chubby when he was here two years ago. But now he's very well built, quite strong and running good times in the time-trials."

And just three months into his second-coming at Adelaide, Porplyzia is already having some lofty comparisons drawn about him. "He's very similar to Tyson Edwards," Ricciuto said. "Probably the most important thing is the cleaness of his hands and his skills.

"He won the best-and-fairest at Westies last year and with all of the stuff he's improved on over the summer, he could be around the mark for a game in the pre-season."

Coach Neil Craig has been another to be impressed, flagging Porplyzia's debut in next month's NAB Cup.

"He's been very good. I couldn't have asked any more from Jason," Craig said. "His application to the task has been outstanding. He's addressed some issues which we had with him two or three years ago in terms of his conditioning.

"He's given himself every chance and we'll certainly get a look at him in the pre-season Cup."

Not one to take praise for granted, Porplyzia knows the time is fast approaching to prove himself under match-day pressure. "They're obviously nice little compliments," Porplyzia, who spent 2003 on the Crows rookie list, said.

"Just knowing they can see the improvement and that they can see a spot for me in the side is a big thing I can take on board and keep working at."

To put himself in the running to make his AFL debut this year, Porplyzia now weighs 81kg, seven more than during his first stint with the club.

But that's not the only aspect of his game the West Adelaide midfielder has improved.

"I definitely think I've improved a lot from when I was here before and I do have a feeling I belong at this sort of level," Porplyzia said. "The big thing has been my fitness. That's the one I've really worked on and I've obviously got a bit stronger and faster as well."

He is confident he could step straight into the rigors of AFL if required.

Thats half a dozen times Ive heard this guy compared to Tyson Edwards. Lets hope he's the real deal.
All of a sudden we seem to have quite a few young midfield options giving us pretty good depth. With Thompson, Reilly, Skipworth already getting time and with Knights, Hinge, Porps, Vince, Douglas or Pfeiffer who could become regular on ballers down the track, we're looking in pretty good shape.

Mate, take it with a pinch a salt until the comparison comes from outside West Lakes. I must admit though, he's bloody massive. Looks like he has really got stuck into the weights.

Crowked
16 Feb 2006, 07:32
Mate, take it with a pinch a salt until the comparison comes from outside West Lakes. I must admit though, he's bloody massive. Looks like he has really got stuck into the weights.

Its been Westies guys pumping up his tyres the most. They reakon he's a silky smooth mover, has great balance and is highly skilled on both sides.

They have produced some great players for us, so lets hope this guys another one.

Markthirtytwo
16 Feb 2006, 07:37
Are we walkin down that path again?

SpringChoke
16 Feb 2006, 07:50
Are we walkin down that path again?

It seems to be that time of the year. It's all good fun. But you take it all with a pinch of salt. If yu take Stiffy's 40% rule into account only 4-5 of Maric, Meeson, Knights, VB, Gibson, Hinge, Griffen, Pfeiffer, Vince, Douglas, Obst will actually play 100 + games. I expect that to be higher but then again i'm biased.

Markthirtytwo
16 Feb 2006, 07:54
It seems to be that time of the year. It's all good fun. But you take it all with a pinch of salt. If yu take Stiffy's 40% rule into account only 4-5 of Maric, Meeson, Knights, VB, Gibson, Hinge, Griffen, Pfeiffer, Vince, Douglas, Obst will actually play 100 + games. I expect that to be higher but then again i'm biased.

Lets hope he's wrong for the first time and they all make it.;)

dyertribe
16 Feb 2006, 14:50

... and respected by his foes.

sworc36
16 Feb 2006, 15:28
Geez!! are our boys getting bigger or what? Throw in Hentchel, Bock, Van Berlo and Porplyzia and we're starting go get a team of gladiators. Not that Im getting too excited but they look StRonG, which means hopefully they wont get pushed around too much. Bring on 2006, and make it quick. cheers guys

outback jack
16 Feb 2006, 15:29
i dont like the sound of it when they compare all these players to tyson edwards, theres only one of him and not many players in the whole AFL similar to him. Its almost an admission that they are too small to be a goodwin/roo type player or better in the future. '05 was tysons first full yr in the middle for us too. He is the type of player that would struggle alot more without the big guns there.

Gets!
16 Feb 2006, 16:11
I dont think so Jack, tyson is an absolute tank.

Crows - the fittest and stongest team in the AFL.

Thunderstruck
16 Feb 2006, 16:27
Yer he is a quality player and has made a big effort to make it at AFL which i have no doubt he can do. Cahill praised him and he aint stupid. Love way he attacks footy tho, and is polished in finishing and versatile, play forward back or midfield.

He'd be great across the HFF I'd say.

Knights also has really bulked up, he is looking mighty fine. In 5 years he will be killing them.

Stiffy_18
16 Feb 2006, 18:30
I really don't like these fluff pieces that we get pretty much every year on the verge of new footy season. Why do these bogans who write this stuff feel the urge to pump up everyone's tyres and label them next so and so.

Last week Vince was labeled as the next McLeod. With all due respect to young Bernie, he isn't even good enough to be mentioned in the same breath as McLeod let alone be named as the next McLeod. Not his fault but these fluff pieces are ********ing me off.

Porplyzia is a VERY good SANFL player who is good at everything but not great at any one particular thing. He can develop into equally good AFL player but for ********s sake lets wait until he shows something at AFL level before we start labeling him as the next Edwards.

The Crows Truth
16 Feb 2006, 19:20
I really don't like these fluff pieces that we get pretty much every year on the verge of new footy season. Why do these bogans who write this stuff feel the urge to pump up everyone's tyres and label them next so and so.

Last week Vince was labeled as the next McLeod. With all due respect to young Bernie, he isn't even good enough to be mentioned in the same breath as McLeod let alone be named as the next McLeod. Not his fault but these fluff pieces are ********ing me off.

Porplyzia is a VERY good SANFL player who is good at everything but not great at any one particular thing. He can develop into equally good AFL player but for ********s sake lets wait until he shows something at AFL level before we start labeling him as the next Edwards.

:confused: Youre getting confused mate. Roo said And "He's very similar to Tyson Edwards," Ricciuto said. Not the jornas - they are just messengers. Dont shoot em

Macca19
16 Feb 2006, 19:37

Yeah talk about going overboard. Ridiculous amount of pressure to put on someone thats played 3 SANFL games and is considered a bit of a punt.

Porplyzia is a good SANFL player. Has built himself up very well since he was last at the Crows and is one of Wests best players. I think at best he could become a solid spare parts player that could do a job anywhere on the ground but wont be in the Crows best 4-5 midfielders. Could play 15+ games this year and wouldnt be surprised if hes in the Crows side for Round 1.

RoosterLad
16 Feb 2006, 19:55
You have to feel for these young blokes, a lot of pressure being applied to them considering they havent even played a game yet, i really ********ing hate the media. Porplyzia was very impressive when I saw him against us last year, definately deserved his b+f.

The Crows Truth
16 Feb 2006, 20:05
You have to feel for these young blokes, a lot of pressure being applied to them considering they havent even played a game yet, i really ********ing hate the media. Porplyzia was very impressive when I saw him against us last year, definately deserved his b+f.

FFS, Roo said it - the media reported it

Crow-mo
16 Feb 2006, 20:18

lol :D

ok.crows
16 Feb 2006, 21:21
Yeah talk about going overboard. Ridiculous amount of pressure to put on someone thats played 3 SANFL games and is considered a bit of a punt.

Porplyzia is a good SANFL player. Has built himself up very well since he was last at the Crows and is one of Wests best players. I think at best he could become a solid spare parts player that could do a job anywhere on the ground but wont be in the Crows best 4-5 midfielders. Could play 15+ games this year and wouldnt be surprised if hes in the Crows side for Round 1.

Macca19, I'm having a whole lot of trouble fitting Porplyzia in the side.

fb: Hart, Rutten, Torney,
hb: McLeod, Bock, Bassett
c: Mattner, Thompson, Burton
hf: Hentschel, Perrie, Ricciuto
ff: Johncock, Welsh, McGregor

r: Biglands, Goodwin, Edwards

i/c: Meesen, Shirley, Douglas, Van Berlo

backup: Maric, Knights, Skipworth, Doughty, Reilly, Porplyzia, Vince, Hinge, Pfeiffer and Griffin.

I don't know how I'm going to fit Hudson in when he becomes available again.

I think there has to be half a dozen injuries before Porplyzia even makes it on to the bench in 2006.

Macca19
16 Feb 2006, 21:30
Not knowing much about the training form of the Crows, I'd have him ahead of Douglas and Van Berlo, and a backup ahead of Skipworth and Doughty too.

ok.crows
16 Feb 2006, 21:50
Not knowing much about the training form of the Crows, I'd have him ahead of Douglas and Van Berlo, and a backup ahead of Skipworth and Doughty too.
Douglas is possibly ahead of even Van Berlo - lots of promise there.

Van Berlo, Knights, Skipworth, Doughty & Reilly all have AFL experience that Porplyzia lacks. IMO you would need to really show some huge promise (like Douglas does) to start ahead of players with AFL experience in round 1.

Having said that, if Porplyzia is starring in the SANFL and Van Berlo, Knights, Skipworth, Doughty & Reilly are struggling, then by all means give Porplyzia a game.

I can't see Porplyzia playing round 1 though. There are a lot of fairly reasonable players pushing for the last few places in the Crows side of 2006. I can't see Porplyzia getting past that much competition (this year) for as many as 15 games ... but good luck to him if he does. He will have to be doing really well, and it is all good if he is.

Markthirtytwo
17 Feb 2006, 08:13
Douglas is possibly ahead of even Van Berlo - lots of promise there.

Really? :eek:

Markthirtytwo
17 Feb 2006, 08:14

I agree. I think the Skip and young Dou would be looking over their respectives. ;)

Markthirtytwo
17 Feb 2006, 08:15

Up, up and awayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy, :rolleyes: