17 Feb 2006, 21:18
Coming back soon with the report :)
Adam BK
17 Feb 2006, 21:24
Looking forward to it stiffy :) :thumbsu:
The Crows Truth
17 Feb 2006, 21:32
Coming back soon with the report :)
the juices are flow'en in anticpiatantion. nothen to do with the date with the norwegian blonde bird tonight either :D
RoosterWedgie
17 Feb 2006, 21:42
Scores on www.safooty.net
Only 9 goals in it this year, that's very damn impressive by Norwood. Not so impressive by the Crows.
ok.crows
17 Feb 2006, 21:49
Scores on www.safooty.net
Only 9 goals in it this year, that's very damn impressive by Norwood. Not so impressive by the Crows.
Crows looked pretty ordinary. Ver ordinary indeed. Dropped marks, missed handballs, clumsy tackles.
Good job it is only Feburary.
pjcrows
17 Feb 2006, 21:59
mate at the game told me that we should have won by more but we fumbled like girls and our forward movement was strange. a few good signs, and still too early to make any calls or predictions, just didnt play very well.
First hit out of the year - to be expected.
Hentschel was awesome up forward and I reckon Chris Knights had about 35 touches and also snapped a good goal.
BOG for sure.
Also caught up with Sammy Eliott which was good, good bloke.
MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
17 Feb 2006, 22:25
Have to agree we where pretty ordinary. However the the fact we had Roo, McLeod, Hart, Bassett, Edwards, Welsh, Torney and Dogga sitting in the stands says a lot. Add the fact that Thommo was in horrible form...I don't think it was so bad.
k
xx
beagle2
17 Feb 2006, 22:28
Very ordinary game Infact the highlight was probably OBJs girls handing out his Jack lives here stickers in his favorite black and white colours
macca23
17 Feb 2006, 22:28
Actual scores quarter by quarter were as follows
1/4 time Crows 4-1 Norwood 2-2
1/2 time Crows 9-4 Norwood 2-3
3/4 time Crows 13-6 Norwood 4-6
Full time Crows 19-7 Norwood 8-7
Crows won by 66 points
Goalscorers: McGregor (5), Hentschel (4), Perrie (3), Meesen Bode Skipworth Knights Burton Vince Bock (1)
I'll write a report as well.
Stiffy_18
17 Feb 2006, 22:30
Once again it was a great night at Norwood Oval.
I got there half way through the 3rd quarter. Bryce Gibbs was there but he didn't play for the time that I was watching. He was sitting on the interchange. He is definetly a midfielder. Too short of KPP. Build wise, he could play AFL straight away. He still needs a bit more beef but as far as build is concerned he could play straight away.
The skill level from both sides was pretty ordinary. A couple of players from the state squad caught my eye a bit. Linsey Thomas and Daniel Stanley (PAFC) James Boyd (SAFC). All did a couple of things that showed great football brain and awareness. James Boys is tiny though. He is shorter than Skippy.
Now onto the Crows players
Adrian Bonaddio - Big lump of a lad. Very strong. Not a bad lead. Decent pair of hands. Does attack the ball very well. He has a little bit of an unusual kicking style from set shots but he did convert his one and only opportunity he had in the time I was watching. Stuggles a bit below the knees though.
Tom Redden - Din't notice him.
Sam Elliott - Reads the ball off the hands pretty well. He is a bit on the smallish side. Played as a forward pocket and kicked a goal.
Alan Obst - Not really noticable apart from a couple of times he broke a tackle to dish of a handball to a running team mate.
Brad Sugars - Now this boy impressed me. Has a bit of pace (by no means speedster), reasonable in the air and just gets to the contest. He is an in-between height but he has a nice frame that will fill out really nicely. Kicked some really good goals. Showed some class and goal sense. Struggled a bit on the wing but he is a dead set HFF. Easily the best of our players from the first game.
State U18s beat Norwood reserves quite convincingly. I don't remember the score but it was a pretty reasonable win (around 40 odd points)
Now onto the main one. A LOT of players didn't play tonight. Clarke, Griffin, Bassett, Edwards, Doughty, Hudson, Torney, Welsh, Johncock, McLeod, Stevens, Gibson, Ricciuto, and Hart are the players that didn't play tonight. As a result the game wasn't as fluent as you would expect and the final margin (11 goals) not as convincing as the one last year.
Structually, there is not a hell of a lot different than to last year. We do try to set up the zone on opposition kick ins quicker and we do set it inside 50. Topjars will be pleased that we converted well in front of goals (19.7 121 - a conversion of 73%)
We started off with the following line up
B: Massie Rutten Van Berlo
HB: Mattner Bock Hinge
C: Jerocho Thompson Burton
HF: Knights McGregor Goodwin
F: Bode Perrie Hentschel
1R: Biglands Reilly Skipworth
INT: Meesen, Shirley, Pfeiffer, Maric, Douglas, Vince, Porplyzia
John Meesen - Didn't play a great deal. His first stint was as a forward coming on for McGregor and immidiatly he kicked a goal. A pretty impressive snap shot over the shoulder even for a little fella let alone a 200 cm ruckman. He did a bit of rucking after that and really was all over the joint. Mis-timed his leaps and didn't do a great deal in the ruck. Still a fair way of being really AFL ready.
Kris Massie - As always tried his heart out. Courge and all but he just made some really dumb decisions. Held on to the ball for too long too many times. He didn't get caught holding the ball but he just waited too long and had to ruch his disposal that ofter went everywhere else but where it shoudl have.
Scott Thompson - Lairised too often. Butchered it a hell of a lot. Just didn't take it seriously enough. Did a couple of good things that we expect from him but he just lairised too much for my liking
Nathan Van Berlo - He has beefed up a bit and he played a good game accross HB. Continued to show some great courage and got his fair share of the footy. Certainly put his hand up for selection next week.
Matthew Bode - The little tiger. Fought for every thing, kept getting the hard footy and even managed to sneak a goal or two. Really liked his game. Didn't kick it around the body and his kicks hit the target. Makes the 22 surely.
Robert Shirley - Played a solid, Shirley like game. Criagy rotated him with Thommo. I assume to maintain the hardness factor around the stoppages.
Hayden Skipworth - For all of you that thinkhe will be pushed out of the team. Well think again. Certainly in the top 3-4 players tonight for us. He kept getting the footy. Kept getting the clearences and kept making an impact when he was on the field. He even kicked a goal when he went forward. If thats how he has performed during the pre-season, his spot is well and truly his and it will take a hell of a lot to take it off him.
Ken McGregor - Your typical Kenny McGregor game. Kicked his 4-5 goals. Contested everything. Took a couple of really strong marks. Send a scare through the Crows fiathful when he landed akwardly on his back or hip in the 4th quarter but got up and kicked the goal.
Darren Pfeiffer - Didn't play until the 4th quarter. Still pretty raw. He will need time. In one play he did really well to out-body his opponent in one on one contest to take a mark but stuffed it up by playing on and getting caught. Not enough game time to draw any real conclusions.
Ivan Maric - His ruckwork is OK and he took a nice mark in the defensive 50 but he is too indecisive when he gets the ball. Too slow to get rid off it. He got caught a couple of times. He is suffering from Massie syndrome. He got more time than Maric and performed a bit better but for our sake lets hope that Biglands and Clarke can stay healthy and in form for the whole year because if we are to rely on Meesen or Maric to be back up ruckman, I think we are in trouble. They show some promise but they are both a fair way off being AFL ready.
Chris Knights - Started off between HFF and wing and spent most of the game playing as a wingman. Started off a bit slow but then just went nuts. Kept getting the footy and his kicking seems to have improved. A typical Chris Knights game. Got plenty of footy, used it pretty well and managed to sneak forward and crumb himself a goal. Shoudl play most games this year.
Ian Perrie - He left off where he finished last year. Contested everything. Split packs, took marks and kicked goals. Hell he even kicked a snap shot goal. He finished with 3 or 4 if I recall correctly.
Brett Burton - EASILY the best player in the first half. He was EVERYWHERE. One minute he is taking a mark on HBF and the next he is kicking a goal at the other end. His defensive work was superb. I lost the number of times he got back and saved our backsides with defensive spoils. Mr 1%ers tonight. Really deserves a big pat on the back for his defensive work tonight. Got a fair bit of the footy, marked well and used it well.
Ben Rutten - A rock in the back line. Didn't give his opponent a sniff. Provided a bit of run out of defence a couple of times. I particularly like one play. There were 3 norwood players in a pack going for the ball. Truck comes running in, splits the pack, picks up the ball and delivers a pin point pass to Knights on the wing.
Richard Douglas - built like a tooth pick but I can see why those at West Lakes rave about his work around stoppages. He just keeps getting it. He does get pushed off the ball easily but thats understandable. With a bot more muscle and strength he will be fine. A classy little player. I like him. Very footy smart. Showed a bit of leadership by yelling instructions at players while setting up the zone. He will be good down the track no doubt
Bernie Vince - Played mainly on the wing and one thing you notice is his desperation. He just went in a couple of times without fear. He also did a couple of things that had pure class written all over them. I think he also will take a bit of time but he does have that bit of something about him.
Luke Jericho - Very quiet game from Jezza. I was hoping he would do more. Started on the wing then played a bit forward. He did have limited PS so maybe he is still to catch up with the rest of the squad.
Brent Reilly - Played as an onballer and did a pretty good job. He got a bit of the footy but what was pribably most impressive was his despersation. He just kept throwing himself at the footy and quite often he was the player at the bottom of the pack. He had a more dominant game this time last year but he was more in and under this time around.
Rhett Biglands - His ruckwork was good. He got a bit of the footy early, playing a kick behind the play BUT he just kept messing up the disposal. He typically takes a month ot get into form as he is not a natural footballer. Ifhe doesn't get injured, he will play himsefl into form by round 1.
Simon Goodwin - Played most of the game as a HFF. He presented well but dropped some marks that you expect Goody to take. He had a hitout, didn't get injured and that all that really matter.
Trent Hentschel - What a ********ing freak. I recall him kicking 4 freakish goals. 2 in particular that let you scratching your head thinking how the hell did he do that. First goal was a piece of magic. A congested pack 25 meters out in front of goal. Hentschel comes it, ducks and weaves, gets a foot to the ball, kicks it through the eye of the needle and it dribbles through for a goal. A couple of minutes later, he charges out of the goal square, gets the footy and has a snap over his shoulder without even looking at the goals and its straight through the middle. In the second QTR he marks about 30 meters from goal hugging the boundary line. He doesn't run around to kick it. He has a srtaight kick at it. Straight through. He kicked another one from the boundary line this one some 50 meters from goal. Dropped a couple of overhead marks that he shoudl have taken but overall its was a pretty good game from Rowdy. Played the 4th quarter at CHB.
John Hinge - not prominent but he just keeps putting his head over the ball. He gets knocked off and he is straight on his feet going for the ball. He gets crunched between 2 norwood players, he gets up, picks up the ball and fires a handball to a running Douglas. Decent game from Hinge.
Martin Mattner - Played as a HBF. Took a couple of strong overhead marks, showed us a bit of Marty evasive magic and did his bit. Had a hitout, din't get hurt and its all good.
Jason Porplyzia - He is short but he is very nuggety. GREAT disposal by foot under pressure. Played mainly in the midfield and got some quality touches there.
Nathan Bock - Played 3 QTRS at CHB and played the 4th at CHF, managing to kick a goal. Provided a lot of run from defence. Had his head almost taken off twice in one play. Got a fair bit of it. Ran from defence. Had some good plays mixed with a couple of mistakes. Overall a pretty good game from Bocky,
Final Score
Adelaide 19.7. 121
Norwood 8.7. 55
maccas_no1
17 Feb 2006, 22:37
Thanks for the report stiffy very well done as per usual, it is only early Feb, so nothing to be worried about at this stage I wouldnt think, just need to make sure we contiune our good conversion in front of goal and make sure we hit our targets, from the sounds of things that is what will be worked on this week on the track.
MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
17 Feb 2006, 22:39
Great post Stiffy. Would pretty much agree with everything you said. Burton was terrific, Goody was good (no pun intended) and I thought Knights was fabulous.
k
xx
I got there half way through the 3rd quarter. Bryce Gibbs was there but he didn't play for the time that I was watching. He was sitting on the interchange. He is definetly a midfielder. Too short of KPP. Build wise, he could play AFL straight away. He still needs a bit more beef but as far as build is concerned he could play straight away.
The skill level from both sides was pretty ordinary. A couple of players from the state squad caught my eye a bit. Linsey Thomas and Daniel Stanley (PAFC) James Boyd (SAFC). All did a couple of things that showed great football brain and awareness. James Boys is tiny though. He is shorter than Skippy.
Adrian Bonaddio - Big lump of a lad. Very strong. Not a bad lead. Decent pair of hands. Does attack the ball very well. He has a little bit of an unusual kicking style from set shots but he did convert his one and only opportunity he had in the time I was watching. Stuggles a bit below the knees though.
Sam Elliott - Reads the ball off the hands pretty well. He is a bit on the smallish side. Played as a forward pocket and kicked a goal.
Alan Obst - Not really noticable apart from a couple of times he broke a tackle to dish of a handball to a running team mate.
Brad Sugars - Now this boy impressed me. Has a bit of pace (by no means speedster), reasonable in the air and just gets to the contest. He is an in-between height but he has a nice frame that will fill out really nicely. Kicked some really good goals. Showed some class and goal sense. Struggled a bit on the wing but he is a dead set HFF. Easily the best of our players from the first game.
State U18s beat Norwood reserves quite convincingly. I don't remember the score but it was a pretty reasonable win (around 40 odd points)
Now onto the main one. A LOT of players didn't play tonight. Clarke, Griffin, Bassett, Edwards, Doughty, Hudson, Torney, Welsh, Johncock, McLeod, Stevens, Gibson, Ricciuto, and Hart are the players that didn't play tonight. As a result the game wasn't as fluent as you would expect and the final margin (11 goals) not as convincing as the one last year.
Structually, there is not a hell of a lot different than to last year. We do try to set up the zone on opposition kick ins quicker and we do set it inside 50. Topjars will be pleased that we converted well in front of goals (19.7 121 - a conversion of 73%)
We started off with the following line up
B: Massie Rutten Van Berlo
HB: Mattner Bock Hinge
C: Jerocho Thompson Burton
HF: Knights McGregor Goodwin
F: Bode Perrie Hentschel
1R: Biglands Reilly Skipworth
INT: Meesen, Shirley, Pfeiffer, Maric, Douglas, Vince, Porplyzia
John Meesen - Didn't play a great deal. His first stint was as a forward coming on for McGregor and immidiatly he kicked a goal. A pretty impressive snap shot over the shoulder even for a little fella let alone a 200 cm ruckman. He did a bit of rucking after that and really was all over the joint. Mis-timed his leaps and didn't do a great deal in the ruck. Still a fair way of being really AFL ready.
Kris Massie - As always tried his heart out. Courge and all but he just made some really dumb decisions. Held on to the ball for too long too many times. He didn't get caught holding the ball but he just waited too long and had to ruch his disposal that ofter went everywhere else but where it shoudl have.
Scott Thompson - Lairised too often. Butchered it a hell of a lot. Just didn't take it seriously enough. Did a couple of good things that we expect from him but he just lairised too much for my liking
Nathan Van Berlo - He has beefed up a bit and he played a good game accross HB. Continued to show some great courage and got his fair share of the footy. Certainly put his hand up for selection next week.
Matthew Bode - The little tiger. Fought for every thing, kept getting the hard footy and even managed to sneak a goal or two. Really liked his game. Didn't kick it around the body and his kicks hit the target. Makes the 22 surely.
Robert Shirley - Played a solid, Shirley like game. Criagy rotated him with Thommo. I assume to maintain the hardness factor around the stoppages.
Hayden Skipworth - For all of you that thinkhe will be pushed out of the team. Well think again. Certainly in the top 3-4 players tonight for us. He kept getting the footy. Kept getting the clearences and kept making an impact when he was on the field. He even kicked a goal when he went forward. If thats how he has performed during the pre-season, his spot is well and truly his and it will take a hell of a lot to take it off him.
Ken McGregor - Your typical Kenny McGregor game. Kicked his 4-5 goals. Contested everything. Took a couple of really strong marks. Send a scare through the Crows fiathful when he landed akwardly on his back or hip in the 4th quarter but got up and kicked the goal.
Darren Pfeiffer - Didn't play until the 4th quarter. Still pretty raw. He will need time. In one play he did really well to out-body his opponent in one on one contest to take a mark but stuffed it up by playing on and getting caught. Not enough game time to draw any real conclusions.
Ivan Maric - His ruckwork is OK and he took a nice mark in the defensive 50 but he is too indecisive when he gets the ball. Too slow to get rid off it. He got caught a couple of times. He is suffering from Massie syndrome. He got more time than Maric and performed a bit better but for our sake lets hope that Biglands and Clarke can stay healthy and in form for the whole year because if we are to rely on Meesen or Maric to be back up ruckman, I think we are in trouble. They show some promise but they are both a fair way off being AFL ready.
Chris Knights - Started off between HFF and wing and spent most of the game playing as a wingman. Started off a bit slow but then just went nuts. Kept getting the footy and his kicking seems to have improved. A typical Chris Knights game. Got plenty of footy, used it pretty well and managed to sneak forward and crumb himself a goal. Shoudl play most games this year.
Ian Perrie - He left off where he finished last year. Contested everything. Split packs, took marks and kicked goals. Hell he even kicked a snap shot goal. He finished with 3 or 4 if I recall correctly.
Brett Burton - EASILY the best player in the first half. He was EVERYWHERE. One minute he is taking a mark on HBF and the next he is kicking a goal at the other end. His defensive work was superb. I lost the number of times he got back and saved our backsides with defensive spoils. Mr 1%ers tonight. Really deserves a big pat on the back for his defensive work tonight. Got a fair bit of the footy, marked well and used it well.
Ben Rutten - A rock in the back line. Didn't give his opponent a sniff. Provided a bit of run out of defence a couple of times. I particularly like one play. There were 3 norwood players in a pack going for the ball. Truck comes running in, splits the pack, picks up the ball and delivers a pin point pass to Knights on the wing.
Richard Douglas - built like a tooth pick but I can see why those at West Lakes rave about his work around stoppages. He just keeps getting it. He does get pushed off the ball easily but thats understandable. With a bot more muscle and strength he will be fine. A classy little player. I like him. Very footy smart. Showed a bit of leadership by yelling instructions at players while setting up the zone. He will be good down the track no doubt
Bernie Vince - Played mainly on the wing and one thing you notice is his desperation. He just went in a couple of times without fear. He also did a couple of things that had pure class written all over them. I think he also will take a bit of time but he does have that bit of something about him.
Luke Jericho - Very quiet game from Jezza. I was hoping he would do more. Started on the wing then played a bit forward. He did have limited PS so maybe he is still to catch up with the rest of the squad.
Brent Reilly - Played as an onballer and did a pretty good job. He got a bit of the footy but what was pribably most impressive was his despersation. He just kept throwing himself at the footy and quite often he was the player at the bottom of the pack. He had a more dominant game this time last year but he was more in and under this time around.
Rhett Biglands - His ruckwork was good. He got a bit of the footy early, playing a kick behind the play BUT he just kept messing up the disposal. He typically takes a month ot get into form as he is not a natural footballer. Ifhe doesn't get injured, he will play himsefl into form by round 1.
Simon Goodwin - Played most of the game as a HFF. He presented well but dropped some marks that you expect Goody to take. He had a hitout, didn't get injured and that all that really matter.
Trent Hentschel - What a ********ing freak. I recall him kicking 4 freakish goals. 2 in particular that let you scratching your head thinking how the hell did he do that. First goal was a piece of magic. A congested pack 25 meters out in front of goal. Hentschel comes it, ducks and weaves, gets a foot to the ball, kicks it through the eye of the needle and it dribbles through for a goal. A couple of minutes later, he charges out of the goal square, gets the footy and has a snap over his shoulder without even looking at the goals and its straight through the middle. In the second QTR he marks about 30 meters from goal hugging the boundary line. He doesn't run around to kick it. He has a srtaight kick at it. Straight through. He kicked another one from the boundary line this one some 50 meters from goal. Dropped a couple of overhead marks that he shoudl have taken but overall its was a pretty good game from Rowdy. Played the 4th quarter at CHB.
John Hinge - not prominent but he just keeps putting his head over the ball. He gets knocked off and he is straight on his feet going for the ball. He gets crunched between 2 norwood players, he gets up, picks up the ball and fires a handball to a running Douglas. Decent game from Hinge.
Martin Mattner - Played as a HBF. Took a couple of strong overhead marks, showed us a bit of Marty evasive magic and did his bit. Had a hitout, din't get hurt and its all good.
Jason Porplyzia - He is short but he is very nuggety. GREAT disposal by foot under pressure. Played mainly in the midfield and got some quality touches there.
Nathan Bock - Played 3 QTRS at CHB and played the 4th at CHF, managing to kick a goal. Provided a lot of run from defence. Had his head almost taken off twice in one play. Got a fair bit of it. Ran from defence. Had some good plays mixed with a couple of mistakes. Overall a pretty good game from Bocky,
Final Score
Adelaide 19.7. 121
Norwood 8.7. 55
McLeodMagic
17 Feb 2006, 22:49
EXCELLENT report Stiffy, enjoyed reading it. :thumbsu:
Drummond
17 Feb 2006, 23:03
Also caught up with Sammy Eliott which was good, good bloke.
Yeh, he's an all-round star.
I hear the Hall of Fame are vacating a seat for him. :thumbsu:
AJ_No.4
17 Feb 2006, 23:06
Thanks for the report Stiffy, good to see everyone came through unscathed.
macca23
17 Feb 2006, 23:38
Crows 19-7 defeated Norwood 8-7 by 66 points
An interesting game that never rose to particularly great heights. It was a scrappy game riddled with errors and lairising, punctuated by occasional moments of brilliance.
It started that way in the first quarter - very disjointed with no system at all - and while the game had its moments, the absence of around 9 first choice players certainly had an effect on the overall standard of our game.
In a way that was good as it highlighted the individual performances, both good and bad.
The rucks were rotated basically three ways, Biglands on first, followed by Maric, followed by Meesen, and it's fair to say that was the order in which they performed.
Just a word to those who don't want Clarke to play in ruck this year, neither Maric or Meesen are AFL ready on tonight's performance. Biglands provided the most drive when rucking, coupled with some useful things around the ground, marred of course by his usual brain fades. He is certainly not the sharpest tool in the shed, but was by far the best ruckman for the Crows.
Maric was pretty good with his ruckwork, and probably broke even in this department, but certainly provided less drive than Biglands, while his work around the ground is not yet up to par.
Meesen was a huge disappointment when rucking IMO. In fact he barely got hand to ball at all, and Norwood always took control when he was rucking. He had a nice little patch from a forward pocket in the second quarter kicking a lovely left foot snapped goal, and setting Bernie Vince up for anothet with a slick handball. but as a ruckman he was a complete failure tonight and would have to improve dramatically on that effort to be a chance this year.
The on-ballers were rotated in two batches of 3. The premier trio were undoubtedly Riley, Thompson and Skippy who generated a ton of drive when in the centre and on the ball. The second trio of Douglas, Porplyzia and Shirley all had their moments, but not to the degree of the big boys.
All KPP's did well with Hentschel snapping 2 freak goals plus kicking his other 2 from very acute set shots. Mcgregor had a seemingly quiet night yet kicked 5 goals, while Perrie played pretty well roaming far and wide and snaffling 3 goals.
Down back Bock dominated the CHB position and Rutten looked pretty good at FB.
The game itself certainly offered no clue as to what Adelaide's new forward methods might be - certainly one would hope that it didn't involve the massive over-use of handball, indirect play, and poor decisions that were often on display tonight.
However it did answer some questions IMO in respect of young players and those on the fringe.
Knights - played HFF and wing, plus appeared to sneak onto the ball at times. Would love to know his stats as he just kept racking them up. He's a gun in the making - a real gun. Must be in the starting 22.
Van Berlo - played HBF all night. Good game and has really beefed up. Will be a long term quality player. Must be in the 22.
Richard Douglas. All I can say is, well done AFC - he's a beauty. Very light at this stage but he is the best genuine roving package prospect that we have had IMO. A true rover, with all the skills of great vision, pace, courage, tackling, evasive skills and disposal. Could be too light for this year, but gee, what a long-term prospect.
Maric and Meesen - not there yet. Ruckmen take longer and these boys need longer.
Porplyzia - or should I say Manos. He has no neck!! :p He did pretty well really and would be around the fringe of selection. Went in hard, tackled hard and uses the ball well. He doesn't have that classy touch to his game that Douglas does though, so I'll reserve judgement.
I like Vince. He had short stints on the ground and always did something pretty useful when he was there. He could well make it. He does seem to have a touch of class at times.
Pfeiffer only played the last quarter. did a couple of neat things but didn't see enough of him to draw conclusions.
Skipworth played a bottler. Got caught a couple of times through lack of pace, but he will retain his spot on that effort. He was Mr pepper and salt - in everything.
I loved Reilly's game. He has stepped up, based on that game. Got a ton of the ball, used it well, tackled ferociously and was very high in our best players.
Not sure about Bodey. He played pretty well without being dominant. Usage of the ball was good, but can we fit him in?
Hinge played HBF and was pretty handy without being spectacular.
The two biggest negatives were as follows:
Jericho - the invisible man. Started on a wing, eventually went up forwrad and did sweet fk-all in both positions. Must lift his game or he's a certain delistee at year-end.
Massie the stuffer-upper. Got the ball a bit, but dear oh dear, his decision making screamed "delist me"!!
My Best Players
Burton. Terrific game and looked a classs above most players on the ground
Knights. Just keeps on keeping on getting the ball. He's a machine.
Reilly. Really liked his game tonight. See above.
Skippy. Great game - once again see above
Bock. Dominated his CHB oposition.
Thompson. got a ton of the ball but lairised badly.
Others that could well have been there were Hentschel and McGregor.
Douglas to get my Rising Star nom for the night!! ;)
TopsyWaldron
17 Feb 2006, 23:43
Actually the report of the game is a fairly average one as it doesn't mention the opposition once. If you want to kid yourself that that performance, by wildly overpaid and over peroxided show ponies, was anything to write home about then you deserve another season like last year.
Credit Norwood at least with exposing some of your players as being reactive, slow of thought and selfish. And this from an SANFL team whose total wage bill wouldn't cover Mark Riccuto's annual beard maintenance.
This thread doesn't alter my opinion of Crows fans one iota.
McLeodMagic
17 Feb 2006, 23:48
Another fantastic report macca23, thanks! :thumbsu:
You and Stiffy could pursue a career in journalism. :D
macca23
17 Feb 2006, 23:56
Actually the report of the game is a fairly average one as it doesn't mention the opposition once. If you want to kid yourself that that performance, by wildly overpaid and over peroxided show ponies, was anything to write home about then you deserve another season like last year.
Credit Norwood at least with exposing some of your players as being reactive, slow of thought and selfish. And this from an SANFL team whose total wage bill wouldn't cover Mark Riccuto's annual beard maintenance.
Mate, articles are written for an audience, and on the Adelaide Crows Board, the articles are written about the Crows for the benefit of the Crows supporters. They don't give a fling fk who played well for Norwood, and neither did I, other than what weaknesses it exposed in the Crows.
If you want to write your review of the game with a Norwood slant, you're entitled to do so and post it on the SANFL board.
O
Adrian Bonaddio - Big lump of a lad. Very strong. Not a bad lead. Decent pair of hands. Does attack the ball very well. .
Kris Massie - As always tried his heart out. Courge and all but he just made some really dumb decisions.
Nathan Van Berlo - He has beefed up a bit and he played a good game accross HB. Continued to show some great courage and got his fair share of the footy.
Matthew Bode - The little tiger. Fought for every thing, kept getting the hard footy and even managed to sneak a goal or two.
Ian Perrie - He left off where he finished last year. Contested everything. Split packs, took marks and kicked goals.
Ben Rutten - Truck comes running in, splits the pack, picks up the ball and delivers a pin point pass to Knights on the wing.
Bernie Vince - Played mainly on the wing and one thing you notice is his desperation. He just went in a couple of times without fear.
Brent Reilly - Played as an onballer and did a pretty good job. He got a bit of the footy but what was pribably most impressive was his despersation. He just kept throwing himself at the footy and quite often he was the player at the bottom of the pack.
i find what i quoted as very promising as it would appear we have some hard nuts wanting to play
i quoted the hentshell bit as this guy could be the difference in 06 if this is a sign of things to come
The Crows Truth
18 Feb 2006, 00:05
well pi$$ off from the board then losewr
Does anyone want to have a guess at the 22 this year, from what I read here there's a few entries but who's out? I'm assuming (desperatley hoping) young Doughty will be forced out of the side but who else is going to step aside for Knights and or anyone else? It's not like we can drop Edwards or Macca for Douglas.
we might never know until the last trial game before rnd 1
macca23
18 Feb 2006, 00:14
Very difficult, as it looked like Skippy and Doughty out, and Knights and Van Berlo in.
Skippy complicated that tonight by playing a real ripper. thank goodness there is another 4 pre-season games to help with these selections.
Douglas will probably not be this year. At best, probably later in the year in the event of injury. He's a next year starter IMO and a beauty at that.
In summary, too early to tell.
RoosterWedgie
18 Feb 2006, 00:27
Did the Crows play anyone?
No offence but surely someone should mention Norwood's effort. Some of us are interested in a club with over 100 years history and over 30 premiersips as opposed to a group of people that theatre goers enjoy watching every 2nd or 3rd week in an artificial contrived competition.
Just another reason why REAL football fans in SA dislike the Cows.
No offence but surely someone should mention Norwood's effort. Some of us are interested in a club with over 100 years history and over 30 premiersips as opposed to a group of people that theatre goers enjoy watching every 2nd or 3rd week in an artificial contrived competition.
Didn't we already mention this, nobody here cares about Norwoods effort. I wouldn't expect reviews on the Fremantle players if we played Freo, just the Crows. The opposition was inconsequential tonight.
Kristof
18 Feb 2006, 00:53
Didn't we already mention this, nobody here cares about Norwoods effort. I wouldn't expect reviews on the Fremantle players if we played Freo, just the Crows. The opposition was inconsequential tonight.
Isn't there an SANFL board? Why should folks on the Crows board be talking about their opposition in a trial match??
RoosterWedgie
18 Feb 2006, 00:58
Sorry, my mistake, I thought there might be a few Crows or AFL supporters that still enjoyed/followed footy as it should be played or god forbid didn't just jump at the newest team in town because they are controlled by the publicity of the media.
You keep on enjoying your contrived competition with no heart. My fault for overestimating you chaps.
I look forward to your reviews of when the Crows lads go watch a movie.
No wonder I didn't see any of you at the last few South Australia games.
(Your fathers/mothers/grandmothers/friends who appreicate real footy will be rolling over in their graves)
Come talk to me when you win another 25 premierships and catch up to a great club with real history like Norwood.
Play on....
No offence
the next seven words are ok
but surely someone should mention Norwood's effort.
good opinion actually if you were in the right forum,but your not
Some of us are interested in a club with over 100 years history and over 30 premiersips as opposed to a group of people that theatre goers enjoy watching every 2nd or 3rd week in an artificial contrived competition.
okay smarty what is a REAL football fan, one who abuses a club and her supporters who have never done nothing to them?
RoosterWedgie
18 Feb 2006, 01:04
the next seven words are ok
good opinion actually if you were in the right forum,but your not
okay smarty what is a REAL football fan, one who abuses a club and her supporters who have never done nothing to them?
NO a real football fan is someone that has the brains to know how to use the Quote button correctly while knowing the difference between "you're" and "your" and "they're" and "their", QUICK, hit the edit button before you look too silly.
Good work, I excpected it! Oh so predictable. lmao.
Which pocket were you in at the last South Australia v Victoria game?
Some Cows fans almost make Port supporters look intelligent, almost. ;)
As always an excellent review
Kris Massie - As always tried his heart out. Courge and all but he just made some really dumb decisions. Held on to the ball for too long too many times. He didn't get caught holding the ball but he just waited too long and had to ruch his disposal that ofter went everywhere else but where it shoudl have. Was this fumbling due to a new year or ( and this is my concern) is even a sanfl hitout getting too much? Or is he trying to impress too much
Scott Thompson - Lairised too often. Butchered it a hell of a lot. Just didn't take it seriously enough. Did a couple of good things that we expect from him but he just lairised too much for my liking:mad: if you aint serious now then dont expect to be captain
Did they play like players who know their time is now?
Ivan Maric - His ruckwork is OK and he took a nice mark in the defensive 50 but he is too indecisive when he gets the ball. Too slow to get rid off it. He got caught a couple of times. He is suffering from Massie syndrome. He got more time than Maric and performed a bit better but for our sake lets hope that Biglands and Clarke can stay healthy and in form for the whole year because if we are to rely on Meesen or Maric to be back up ruckman, I think we are in trouble. They show some promise but they are both a fair way off being AFL ready.Just a point , he is still raw in terms of years played, and you accused Biglands of the same yet brushed it off.... is this due to experience?. If they can have a McGuinness type player running past him every time he gets the ball, and he is instructed to give off EVERY time , then his indecision will be eliminated.
Ian Perrie - He left off where he finished last year. Contested everything. Split packs, took marks and kicked goals. Hell he even kicked a snap shot goal. He finished with 3 or 4 if I recall correctly.:thumbsu:
Might seem like a silly question, but can he get away with not building up this year? Or playing now while building up?
Bernie Vince - Played mainly on the wing and one thing you notice is his desperation. He just went in a couple of times without fear. He also did a couple of things that had pure class written all over them. I think he also will take a bit of time but he does have that bit of something about him
Desperation is a word I like to see in these reports
Good to read
Jason Porplyzia - He is short but he is very nuggety. GREAT disposal by foot under pressure. Played mainly in the midfield and got some quality touches there. Ohhh you took the manos quote out. I hadnt heard that in so long
Once again great report
congratulations your way to rational for me, maybe you could pm with the key to you obvious intelligence and rational nature?
RoosterWedgie
18 Feb 2006, 01:20
congratulations your way to rational for me, maybe you could pm with the key to you obvious intelligence and rational nature?
Congratulations you're way too rational for me, maybe you could pm me with the key to you're obvious intelligence and rational nature?
That's my community work for the night done.
Hey rayven knock knock
i dont wanna say whos there roosterwedgie
You already did you ********ing idiot
(That'll go flying over your head)
Sorry, my mistake, I thought there might be a few Crows or AFL supporters that still enjoyed/followed footy as it should be played or god forbid didn't just jump at the newest team in town because they are controlled by the publicity of the media. I dont follow them because the media tells me to, I follow them because they are the team I follow in the Premier competition in Australia. Just as I follow Sturt in the second best comp, and Wingfield in the 33rd best comp
You keep on enjoying your contrived competition with no heart. My fault for overestimating you chaps.And you keep enjoying the Roosters in the competition financially supported by the 2 ''contrived'' sides.
Now if the game was against Sturt , I would do the polite thing and ask '' how did player number 23 go'' etc. Not start a lambast at how the Sturt players were ignored. Read the paper tomorrow and see how much a mention Norwood get.
We are , on this board, interested in how the Crows players went and the reviews of the game reflect this . If you are so horned up over the sanfl, please provide a report of the game from the Norwood perspective....... or werent you there?
RoosterWedgie
18 Feb 2006, 01:30
And you keep enjoying the Roosters in the competition financially supported by the 2 ''contrived'' sides.
That just goes to show out of touch and how you have no idea in the one sentence.
Sturt might rely on AFL kickbacks but North sure as hell don't, we make more money than a lot of AFL sides with our 3 businesses.
Do some study and get back to me.
It's all irrelevent to this conversation though, nice inappropriate clutch at straws that went backwards though.
The fact that you even brought North even into the discussion when we're talking about Norwood and the Crows shows you were struggling but your misinformation about what keeps North going ties it up very nicely.
Sigh, do you have any idea?
Obviouly not.
I have North's financial statements from the last 20 years if you wish to disagree. Also it would be more appropriate to raise your stupidity in another forum as this dicsussion had nothing to do with North.
I will educate you in the appropriate forum if you feel you need to raise the issue further.
The fact that that you even brought North even into the discussion when we're talking about Norwood and the Crows Err I brought North into it the same as I brought Sturt into it. To highlight the team you barrack for enjoys the support of the 2 clubs in the AFL
Sturt might rely on AFL kickbacks but North sure as hell don't, we make more money than a lot of AFL sides with our 3 businesses.
I have North's financial statements from the last 20 years if you wish to disagree. .
Ok in those 20 years of statements , especially from 1992 onwards. Did/do North Adelaide receive a dividend from the SANFL directly related to the Crows and latterly Port Adelaides ongoing profit contribution to the SANFL?
Maybe not to them, but the AFC have certainly done a lot for them including a huge chunk of change each year for them and the comp they play in.
That just goes to show out of touch and how you have no idea in the one sentence.
It's all irrelevent to this conversation though, nice inappropriate clutch at straws that went backwards though.
The fact that you even brought North even into the discussion when we're talking about Norwood and the Crows shows you were struggling but your misinformation about what keeps North going ties it up very nicely.
Sigh, do you have any idea?
Obviouly not.
I have North's financial statements from the last 20 years if you wish to disagree. Also it would be more appropriate to raise your stupidity in another forum as this dicsussion had nothing to do with North.
I will educate you in the appropriate forum if you feel you need to raise the issue further.
You make a lot of spelling, punctuation and grammatical mistakes (not to mention your ghastly formatting) for someone who liberally berates others for their typos.
Other Crows supporters might like to check out RoosterWedgie's Profile (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=3872). Apparently, he's a 'Business Analysist'. Yes that's right, a 'Business Analysist'. Maybe someone could tell me what exactly an 'analysist' is. :D
You make a lot of spelling, punctuation and grammatical mistakes (not to mention your ghastly formatting) for someone who liberally berates others for their typos.
Other Crows supporters might like to check out RoosterWedgie's Profile (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/member.php?u=3872). Apparently, he's a 'Business Analysist'. Yes that's right, a 'Business Analysist'. Maybe someone could tell me what exactly an 'analysist' is. :D
Obviously a sad person with a superiority complex........
Honestly, it is great that someone is so enthusiastic about the SANFL, it is a great competition and deserves support. But why come on the Crows board with the obvious intention of trying to 'bait' legitimate posters by maligning the Crows and their supporters?
And as for his wife's judgement - well she married him didn't she? QED.
Kristof
18 Feb 2006, 05:01
Sorry, my mistake, I thought there might be a few Crows or AFL supporters that still enjoyed/followed footy as it should be played or god forbid didn't just jump at the newest team in town because they are controlled by the publicity of the media.
You keep on enjoying your contrived competition with no heart. My fault for overestimating you chaps.
(Your fathers/mothers/grandmothers/friends who appreicate real footy will be rolling over in their graves)
Come talk to me when you win another 25 premierships and catch up to a great club with real history like Norwood.
Play on....
I won't enter into the discussion of punctuation and spelling, because that is about the most pointless waste of any board's time. Especially considering you managed to balls up quite a few things in yours.
But I have to point out how incredibly rude it is to come onto a board for Crows supporters and berate us for focussing on OUR players not the players of a club we don't support. All your rubbish about "footy how it should be played" - please, I have been a supporter of Centrals my whole life and I wouldn't dare suggest the SANFL is anything other than a good, honest second tier competition. We haven't had a South Australia game for years now - representative sides that can only choose players that aren't playing in the premier competition is hardly a state side. It is a side representing a state competition.
It is ludicrous comparing any SANFL side with any AFL side. One is the elite competition, and is a secondary league. Both have their place and are worth supporting, but are like apples and oranges in comparison.
maccas_no1
18 Feb 2006, 05:11
Your a Tool stick to the topic:mad:
I got there about half way through the first quarter of the ressies. It was hard to pick out the AFC players due to the fact I hardly recognised them and the players wore red jumpers with dark blue numbers. Very hard to read.
It was a tight contest for both sides early, fairly scrappy with players not hitting targets, etc. We started to win it in the middle more than the woods. They made a strong start to the second quarter, with number of battles in the Norwood half forward line but faded away. At times the woods side did look better than the reserves side I saw last year, cerainly more attacking in a real norwood style.
For the SANFL/AFC Elliot took a good mark and kicked a good goal up forward in the first. Redden certainly went well and put on some good tackles.
The stand out for me for AFC - not just because you could'nt miss him - was Bonaddio. Started at CHF and went back to FF in the last. He did everything that you expect a guy with state league experience would do - he was the go to man. He lead hard, got away from his man and provided a good direction to goal. He was very competitive, liked the physical stuff. His tap ruck work was good. I was impressed with his team work. he took some good marks but didnt try to kick a bag of goals himself. Quite often he would hand pass off to a running player and he set up several goals. He did take a good mark low to the ground in the last and kicked a goal. It was a respectable start to the year.
He's not the quickest of cats, but I'll be keen to see him once he is a bit more match fit.
Can Port fans tell me a bit more about Lindsay Thomas? Now he was a smooth mover.
For the seniors, it was a boring game all round. It's only early days but I could not see anything different from last year - except maybe that we were a bit more handball mad in the first half and there was more run from defence. We put the hand ball away in the third and went to a short kicking game, which sent us out wide.
I thought Rutten was our best by a fair margin. Burton and Mattner took some good marks. VB and Hinge at half back went alright. Hentschell kicked some freaky goals. I liked Douglas. There is not much of him, but I liked his mark on the south east side with two woods players going at him and he stood his ground and marked. well done.
Maric takes another step towards
By ZAC MILBANK
18feb06
IVAN Maric took another important step towards his AFL debut last night after an impressive display of ruckwork against Norwood at The Parade.
With Adelaide in desperate need of a backup ruckman for senior pair Matthew Clarke and Rhett Biglands, Maric put his hand up to be the third man in line during the first half against the Redlegs.
After coming onto the ground 10 minutes into the first term, Maric had four hit-outs within five minutes as he controlled the stoppages in the middle and around the ground.
But, more importantly, all of his knocks put his team-mates into a position of advantage, proving how much the untried bigman has worked on his game with ruck coach Mick Redden during summer.
With the Crows gaining momentum from the centre square, largely due to Maric's prowess, half-forward duo Brett Burton and Matthew Bode were dominant early, showing off their skill in the immaculate conditions.
With much scrutiny surrounding the Crows forward structure, it appeared to work cohesively during the first term as Ian Perrie made space behind him by continually leading to his midfielders further down the ground. This allowed the high-flying Trent Hentschel to take some strong marks and kick two majors - both snapped over his left shoulder - in the opening term.
In the first game at The Parade last night Adelaide's four rookies, in particular Glenelg duo Brad Sugars and Tom Redden, were significant contributors in the SANFL under-18 team's convincing 67-point victory against Norwood's reserves.
If half-forward Sugars wasn't kicking goals he was setting them up, while Redden and fellow Crows debutant Sam Elliott won plenty of the ball in the middle.
Despite towering over most of his opponents, Adrian Bonaddio only came into the game in the second half when shifted further up the field from full forward.
For the Redlegs, son of Magarey Medallist Michael Aish - Jessie - caught the eye of supporters by kicking a goal and providing a consistent scoring avenue up forward.
SCORES: Adelaide 4.1 (25) d Norwood 2.2. (14). State U/18: 15.12 (102) d Norwood 4.11 (35)
Knights stars for Crows
10:46:20 PM Fri 17 February, 2006
Alan Shiell
Sportal for afl.com.au
Chris Knights was the stand-out performer among Adelaide's newer players as the depleted Crows beat Norwood by 66 points - 19.7 (121) to 8.7 (55) - in a physical practice match at Norwood Oval on Friday night.
Classy left-footer Knights, 19, was a prolific ball-winner with Woodville-West Torrens in the SANFL last season - and played two AFL matches with the Crows - after being drafted from Eastern Ranges.
His prominent display across half-forward, through the midfield and across half-back drew qualified praise from Adelaide coach Neil Craig, who said: "Chris, in conjunction with all the first and second-year players … we will be really strong on the defensive side of their games, and I thought after half-time Chris picked it up to the standard we're looking for.
"Certainly, in the first half, (he was) offensively very good, defensively nothing, so we've got to make sure our first and second-year players really need to understand the defensive side of football."
And Craig made a similar observation about versatile Richard Douglas, 19, the Crows' first pick in the 2005 NAB AFL Draft (from Calder Cannons) and already being mentioned at West Lakes as 'special'.
"His pre-season has been exceptional," Craig said. "He's been able to handle the workloads. This is probably the first time he's played against men. He's come out of the under-18 competition.
"He did some good stuff, but, as I spoke earlier about the first and second-year players, the defensive side is really important they pick up on. They've all got very offensive skills but it's the defensive side that we need to develop."
Of Jason Porplyzia, 21, from West Adelaide, Craig said: "I like Jason's hardness around the ball. He looked like he could certainly handle the physical side of AFL football. It's yet to be determined whether he'd handle the pace and speed of the game, but certainly there were very good signs from Jason - very good."
Craig said young ruckmen John Meesen, 19 (ex-Geelong Falcons), and Ivan Maric, 20 (Calder Cannons), still had 'a long way to go', and added: "But John has improved enormously over the summer break, so he needs to be complimented there, and Ivan has had a huge improvement, but, in reality, a lot more is going to be required for those guys to step up and be able to play in that position to create winning footy."
Adelaide was without many experienced players - Mark Ricciuto (groin surgery), Andrew McLeod (hamstring/glute), Ben Hart, Matthew Clarke and Tyson Edwards (all with leg soreness), Jason Torney (ill), Scott Welsh (leg stress fracture), Michael Doughty (knee), Graham Johncock (gastric upset), Nathan Bassett and Scott Stevens (shoulder surgery) and Ben Hudson (knee surgery) - the only player on the long-term injury list - although he moved freely as a runner in the Norwood match, watched by a crowd of more than 6000.
Craig said the Crows were 'streets ahead' of where they were this time last year - 'in terms of developing some youth and giving them a real opportunity'.
And he described the practice match as 'much better than an internal trial … and while the game didn't reach any great heights, it was really positive and fitted in really well with what we wanted to do'.
"I thought out handball, in particular, was really shabby," he said. "In the last quarter when we did put some plays together, we had a better chance to assess what was happening down forward.
"But when it's shabby coming from half-back through the midfield, it's really hard to assess what's happening down there. So we just need to tidy that up on the training track and do that a lot better because it's nowhere near the standard we're looking for."
Craig said the Crows were 'developing more versatility', and he added: "Hopefully in the next four weeks we'll see a bit more because, as the senior players start to play - and I'm talking about Edwards, McLeod, Ricciuto and Goodwin - we need to have a look at those guys up forward and, if they can fit into that structure and do it really well, that will give us enormous flexibility all over the ground."
ADELAIDE 4.0, 9.4, 13.6, 19.7 (121)
NORWOOD 2.2, 2.3, 4.6, 8.7 (55)
GOALS - Adelaide: McGregor 5, Hentschel 4, Perrie 3, Burton, Bode, Meesen, Vince, Knights, Skipworth, Bock. Norwood: Vidic 2, Hill 2, Bartemucci 2, Sandery, Aish
Stiffy_18
18 Feb 2006, 08:30
This is an ADELAIDE board. Its about the ADELAIDE FOOTBALL CLUB. What part of that don't you two inbeciles don't understand??????
No one here gives a flying ******** about how Norwood played. If you want to find out about that go to safooty.com. This is about Adelaide and what Adelaide did or didn't do.
Play on....Cry me a ********ing river. So because we don't give a flying ******** about the team that we don't support we are not real football supporters. What a ********ing imbecile.
And no you didn't see me at the last few South Australia games. Not because I wasn't there but because I wouldn't be caught dead hanging out with a **************** like you.
Stiffy_18
18 Feb 2006, 09:26
Was this fumbling due to a new year or ( and this is my concern) is even a sanfl hitout getting too much? Or is he trying to impress too muchI am not sure. I think its probably a combination of all those things. He can still find the footy pretty well but he is just too slow in decision making process. As I said he didn't get caught. Its just that he holds on it for too long and the option that was available got covered and he had to get rid off it under pressure. He was great on the training track when I saw him but he just messed it up last night.
:mad: if you aint serious now then dont expect to be captainThat was my reaction. He was the clanger king last night. He just kept taking it easy and butchering it. At times he took on 4 or 5 Norwood players on by himself rather than to pass it off to a team mate. He needs to lift his game no doubt
Did they play like players who know their time is now?IMHO, they did. Both played their games. Both found a lot of it and used it well. Skippy played most of the night as an onballer while Bode was used mainly as a HFF and was moved onball later on. As a result, Skippy had a bit bigger impact than Bode. As I said, it will take a hell of a lot of work from someone to take away his spot in the 22.
Just a point , he is still raw in terms of years played, and you accused Biglands of the same yet brushed it off.... is this due to experience?. If they can have a McGuinness type player running past him every time he gets the ball, and he is instructed to give off EVERY time , then his indecision will be eliminated.No that was due to the fact that Biglands still had a much bigger impact on the game as whole. Biglands didn't ******** up by waiting too long to move the ball on. He stuffed up by mis-kicking the ball and not hitting targets. His ruckwork was still excellent. Maric on the other hand just didn't do anything. Ruckwork was OK (he just broke even) and his field play was below average. He had Knights running last hi expecting a handball but Maric tried to do too much. He tried to break away from the stoppage himself and he got cuaght a few times. He wanted to play like Huddo but he needs to smarten up and improve his awareness if he is to play that style.
Both Maric and Meesen are a fair way away from being AFL ready. They need time.
Might seem like a silly question, but can he get away with not building up this year? Or playing now while building up?
Probably not. He got pushed off the ball by Norwood players that are not as physically strong as those he would come accross in the AFL. Unless we are really crap (read 2004), I would keep him in the SANFL for a year. Get him to beef up and get used to playing against man. When he beefs up, he will be a beauty.
crows98
18 Feb 2006, 09:27
Very good read Stiffy_18 and I will try and simply add bits I noticed and not comment on player that didn’t need any more
In the first half Bonaddio lead strong and marked impressively, had 2 majors at half time finished the game with 3. He will be a very good pick up for the West Adelaide Football club and if a huge unit. The comparison between him and Sav Rocca is no joke and could kick 60 plus goals in the SANFL this season.
During the second quarter he set up a nice one Two Three with Bonaddio and Elliot and kicked a long goal on the run from the 50 meter line. Finished with 2 goals IIRC
Only other thing I will add from the first game was that Jessie Aish (number 38) played in the senior game, came on after half time (replaced Chad Gibson) and was very impressive (can I say a potential Father son pick up or is that taboo ATM:D ). Not sure of his age but was informed that he was only 17.
Very good set of hands and didn’t back out of any contest that I noticed, good size if he is 17 and potentially a KKP with speed, evidence of that was the gaol he kicked when he was side by side with Perrie and ended up 2 meter in front over 8 meters to run into an open goal.
I had to keep reminding my self-2 things, 1st that it was a trial vs. Norwood and Norwood did finished second to bottom last year in the SANFL and 2nd that the players Stiffy_18 mentioned above are all virtually first choice players and that simply was always going to keep the standard to a minimum.
As a supporter I wasn’t getting excited about anything I observed in any player last night as it was to be expected that they dominate and look impressive with skills. It was against a different standard of competition that what we will get next Sunday vs. Port.
I will suggest he looks like a forward who can ruck around the grounds rather than a ruckman who can go forward ATM, simply because his leap was none existent or as said by stiffy he mis-timed his leap but I was not impressed with his ruck work however his ground work (hands, Marking, disposal) were all find and you could see why they rate him highly, also a big unit as well. Should spend the first ¾ of the season at Norwood unless we need a forward replacement, not ready for AFL just yet, well not as a ruckman.
It appears that Kris Massie has taken the challenge to become that second (or first) tagger in the side set out to him at the end of last season by the coaches. He looked super fit and motivated, his decision making skills were a bit of a let down but that could have a lot to do with who was in the midfield group at the time and who he was going to dispose of it to (lack of confidence or simply they were a step out of place).
agree
Will play on a half back flank (or as a defender) for the majority of the season and I was very impressed with his courage and attack on the ball, especially when he was running back into the pack. I don’t see him as an on ball midfield player just yet but he will be very hand on a half back flank like how Simon Goodwin started in 1997.
Agree, and welcome back Mathew Bode
Should make the 22 but so should 30 others at this stage.
Pass, didnt notice him at all
Agree, nothing more to add
See Skippy
Only a plethora of injuries will see him play a AFL in 06, should spend all year at Norwood and have a big pre season next year before he is ready to make a serious challenge to the side.
Ivan Maric - His ruckwork is OK and he took a nice mark in the defensive 50 but he is too indecisive when he gets the ball. Too slow to get rid off it. He got caught a couple of times. He is suffering from Massie syndrome. He got more time than Maric (Meesen) and performed a bit better but for our sake lets hope that Biglands and Clarke can stay healthy and in form for the whole year because if we are to rely on Meesen or Maric to be back up ruckman, I think we are in trouble. They show some promise but they are both a fair way off being AFL ready.
Was impressed with his leap and how big he is as well. If Clark is not ready next Sunday he should get the second ruck spot behind Rhett Biglands (unless they are going to play both again)
See Van Berlo, should be lost to the SANFL from now on and could give the NAB rising star award a good shake. Impressed but saying that I always have been with this kid, even from the first game at WWT.
Nothing more to add
I can see why he was demoted from the leadership group, early in the game Scott Thompson had 3 Norwood players try and tackle him and consequently kicked it out on the full, Brett Burton gave him a dirty look and yelled out “Scott Thompson” with his hand in the air as if to say “I was hear and ready for the ball”. He may have played a good game but has to work on his respect for him teammates as well. Overall a good game.
Ben Rutten was Ben Rutten last night, a very stingy bastard in the nicest possible way. :D
Was very apprehensive about drafting this kid but already shown he was a good pick up and worth persevering with. He has silky smooth skills and very good hands around the stoppages, see Chris Knights 2005 SANFL season and Douglas should do the samebut still 12 months away from playing.
Hard nut with John Hinge and look like he could be a very good addition to the squad, potentially could play 5-10 game in 2006, looks like he was worth the high pick after all.
He looks like he has found that courage to back into a pack and get crunched (he did it 4 or 5 time out on the eastern wing in the first half) and his fitness had him fall out of the game in the second half. He showed courage last night.
Wait and see next week before passing judgement on him pre season improvement and have him keep the consistency. Overall he was good and tackled solid.
Pre season can get you fitter and stronger and allow a player to increase on field confidence but it’s still very hard to develop a football brain, Sorry Rhett but you still don’t have a football brain. Good over all game
Pass
BOG and will become the Crows number 1 forward, going on last night performance he is ready to deliver on that potential. .
See Vince another hard nut who will spend the season at the bay
get him back onto the wing and keep him there, ASAP. Overall good but he not a half back flanker or back pocket.
Didn’t see enough to make a good judgement jury is still out but like a few other will add to the depth of the squad and will not look lost if and when he gets a game.
Nothing to worry about with Bock looks like he is in for a solid year, and the swap with TH at ¾ was a good move as well
Final Score
Adelaide 19.7. 121
Norwood 8.7. 55
Scott Van Persett
18 Feb 2006, 11:01
[QUOTE=Stiffy_18]
Stiffy, with his fitness etc, could Van Berlo be a run with/tagger type player eg trying to negate Ben Cousins, Chris Judd etc ?
Scott
Just on VB:
I think his disposal needs a bit of work.
Rarely hits a target.
Wayne's-World
18 Feb 2006, 11:17
Thanks all the guys who have taken the effort to post some match and training reviews.
Amazing how many opinions of our players have been strongly pushed over summer - FFS 90% of the posters haven't even seen the new players in the flesh - yet they still have an opinion on their futures:rolleyes:
Fact is unless we have drafted an absolute belter (usually in top 4 players) most of our new recruits will develop gradually over time.
To expect these players to be recuited in Dec and suddenly have star quality branded on their forehead 8 weeks later is folks not going to happen - if it was.....they would have been drafted a lot higher than where they were taken in the draft.
We've all been "romanced" by the press reports on players.....but 20 year old ruckmen dominating AFL or even the mainstay of the AFC ........it ain't going to happen - it didn't with Rehn and it won't be with Maric and Meesen.
If we can have Van Berlo and Knights consolidate this year and another 2 new players step up thru the year that will be a fantastic result.
It would be nice though if one of those 2 players to step up could be a bigman but thats me "romancing"
Wayne's-World
18 Feb 2006, 11:18
Just on VB:
I think his disposal needs a bit of work.
Rarely hits a target.
And that opinion is based on what?....one PS trial?
That and the 10 or so games he played last year.
Wayne's-World
18 Feb 2006, 11:23
That and the 10 or so games he played last year.
Can I suggest that he's actually a very good kick but under the pressure of AFL (remember he basically jumped fro U18 to AFL) he rushed his disposal last year.
As he adjusts to the speed of the game and what's going on around him he'll be much more relaxed in his disposals.
No problem on what I saw last year.
Yeah probably was the pressure...
Also, anyone reckon Hingey could get a game this year?
Had about 12 touches, 10 of which were handballs!
macca23
18 Feb 2006, 11:36
Thanks all the guys who have taken the effort to post some match and training reviews.
Amazing how many opinions of our players have been strongly pushed over summer - FFS 90% of the posters haven't even seen the new players in the flesh - yet they still have an opinion on their futures:rolleyes:
Fact is unless we have drafted an absolute belter (usually in top 4 players) most of our new recruits will develop gradually over time.
To expect these players to be recuited in Dec and suddenly have star quality branded on their forehead 8 weeks later is folks not going to happen - if it was.....they would have been drafted a lot higher than where they were taken in the draft.
We've all been "romanced" by the press reports on players.....but 20 year old ruckmen dominating AFL or even the mainstay of the AFC ........it ain't going to happen - it didn't with Rehn and it won't be with Maric and Meesen.
If we can have Van Berlo and Knights consolidate this year and another 2 new players step up thru the year that will be a fantastic result.
It would be nice though if one of those 2 players to step up could be a bigman but thats me "romancing"
Right on the money WW.
No worries about Knights and Van Berlo though. Knights was terrific and had a heap of disposals, while Van Berlo played very well as a HBF. Those 2 will consolidate spots this year, and I'll repeat it for the umpteenth time, I'll be amazed if Knights doesn't get a Rising Star nom this year.
Your point about the ruckmen could not be more correct. They take plenty of time to develop, and at this stage Maric is developing more quickly in his ruckwork than Meesen - but still a mile from Clarke's level. Maric's work around the ground is not up to scratch at this stage either. IMO 2007 will see Maric taking Clarke's place, but only iin the event of injury before that.
As said elsewhere in this thread - by Crows98 I think - Meesen looked more like a FP who can ruck a bit rather than a ruckman pure. I have to say that his confidence level seems way below last year, a few months after he was drafted. Last year Meesen played the early game and prompted me to say that he reminded me of a young Shaun Rhen. He was nowhere near that level last night and he's a long way away from AFL level at this stage if that's all he has to offer.
Of the 2005 draftees, Douglas is very exciting. He will be a quality rover, and it's good to see him wearing #26 as long term he will carry on the tradition IMO. But body wise he's very light and immature and we shouldn't expect him to be there before 2007. He's a good 'un though.
I liked the look of Vince. He was quietly impressive for all the right reasons, but like Porplyzia he's of a more mature age, and while neither will be first 22 starters IMO if we are at full strength, they won't embarrass themselves if they do get a game during the year
macca23
18 Feb 2006, 11:41
Can I suggest that he's actually a very good kick but under the pressure of AFL (remember he basically jumped fro U18 to AFL) he rushed his disposal last year.
As he adjusts to the speed of the game and what's going on around him he'll be much more relaxed in his disposals.
No problem on what I saw last year.
I see VB's disposal the same as you. He actually has excellent disposaal and as the increased tempo at AFL level becomes something he adapts to, we'll reap the benefit of that.
Gets asked the question re Hinge. He was useful last night and is as tough as old boot leather. Not in the first 22 at this stage, but could get the odd game during the year, and IMO wouldn't embarrass himself if he did.
Wayne's-World
18 Feb 2006, 11:45
I liked the look of Vince. He was quietly impressive for all the right reasons, but like Porplyzia he's of a more mature age, and while neither will be first 22 starters IMO if we are at full strength, they won't embarrass themselves if they do get a game during the year
What we see at this stage of the season and how the players mature and develop thru the season will be interesting.
In my experience it's the bigmen that take the longest to warm up to the new season.
I've seen quite a few PS trial games and ruckmen, & KPP always look rusty where the midfielder/flanker group always hit the ground running.
I'd say lets wait till the last game of the PS to accurately judge Meesen and Maric;)
Wayne's-World
18 Feb 2006, 11:48
I would think everyone would agree we need a tagging backup to Shirley.
I think Van Berlo is a great option but how does everyone think about Hinge and Massie?
Do those two have the aerobic capacity?...Is Hinge purely a forward?
Massies only future IMO is as a tagger - I can't see another role for him otherwise
Truck Rutten
18 Feb 2006, 11:53
That's my community work for the night done.
Originally Posted by rayven if he had a brain
Congratulations you're way too rational for me, maybe you could pm me with the key to you're obvious intelligence and rational nature?
Making your own mistake while patronisingly correcting somebody elses, really makes a person look like a total bell-end.
macca23
18 Feb 2006, 12:01
I think Van Berlo is a great option but how does everyone think about Hinge and Massie?
Massies only future IMO is as a tagger - I can't see another role for him otherwise
VB will become that tagger in time IMO but probably not this year. Hinge is too inexperienced to be labelled a back-up as this stage, but Porplyzia might be able to do it at a pinch. He would have better aerobic capacity than Massie who gets caught out for pace at AFL level. Personally I think Massie will be delisted at the end of this year, as I can't see any particular role for him other than an occasional fill-in
Hinge is certainly not just a forward - in fact I would say he's more of a HBF/on-baller from what I've seen.
Macca19
18 Feb 2006, 12:06
Can Port fans tell me a bit more about Lindsay Thomas? Now he was a smooth mover.
Won the McCallum Medal (U17s Magarey) and U17s club best and fairest last year. By all accounts has a big future ahead of him
Macca19
18 Feb 2006, 12:12
That was my reaction. He was the clanger king last night. He just kept taking it easy and butchering it. At times he took on 4 or 5 Norwood players on by himself rather than to pass it off to a team mate. He needs to lift his game no doubt
Although he was excellent last year, one thing I did notice was his disposal was completely hit or miss. It was either outstanding or horrid.
Macca19
18 Feb 2006, 12:17
Now a real question about Norwood. Did they end up playing their close to full strength side like they said? Or did they put out the usual reserves & U19s like other years?
LukeHodge15
18 Feb 2006, 12:19
looks like chris knights just keeps getting better and better.:eek: :eek:
ur midfield structure would look something like
Rucks biglands
RRover riccuito
Rover goodwin
with these guys rotating through the middle
Wing rielly
Wing Burton
HFF knights
HBF mattner (or maybe wing)
HBF stiffy
????????? mcleod
Bench
Skipworth
Bode
Shirley
is this close??????????
LukeHodge15 - did you play against Knights or something dude?
Truck Rutten
18 Feb 2006, 12:28
What we see at this stage of the season and how the players mature and develop thru the season will be interesting.
In my experience it's the bigmen that take the longest to warm up to the new season.
I've seen quite a few PS trial games and ruckmen, & KPP always look rusty where the midfielder/flanker group always hit the ground running.
I'd say lets wait till the last game of the PS to accurately judge Meesen and Maric;)
And let's not forget that many young ruckmen take 3-4 seasons to develop. These 2 are only at the beginning of their 2nd seasons in the AFL, so it could be quite some time before we know their true worth. Hopefully at least one can step up as the year unfolds, otherwise we could be in a bit of strife next year.
Cove Cobra
18 Feb 2006, 12:50
Massie is an honest toiler who gives 100% every moment he is on the field.
He deserves a HB possie IMO. He isn't a tagger.
Wayne's-World
18 Feb 2006, 13:03
Not saying your wrong ......but he's a bit like Stengleinin that he can play tall and small - Shirley and Stebglein are definately no quicker than Massie - Its just massies running action that makes him look .....well I'm not sure what he looks like:p
LukeHodge15
18 Feb 2006, 13:06
LukeHodge15 - did you play against Knights or something dude?
nah just vested interest in wether my mate has hit the nail on the head by saying knights will be a GEM.
i reckon i woulda given knights a towelling if i played against him when i was under 18. knights woulda been still at primary school:D :D
Ahh No worries...he is my hot tip for the AFL Dream Team...;)
Stiffy_18
18 Feb 2006, 13:56
True but sometimes thats not enough.
Last night he couldn't try harder than he did but he couldn't stuff up more if he tried. I have been a bit of a Massie fan because I LOVE his hardness at the footy and the man but these days you need more and I think all the injuries he suffered during his career are starting to catch up to him.
tredders16
18 Feb 2006, 13:57
Another fantastic report macca23, thanks! :thumbsu:
You and Stiffy could pursue a career in journalism. :D
Yes another great report from macca23 but I don't think they offer cadetships in journalism for 73 year olds. ;)
Well done macca23.
Stiffy_18
18 Feb 2006, 13:58
Stiffy, with his fitness etc, could Van Berlo be a run with/tagger type player eg trying to negate Ben Cousins, Chris Judd etc ?
ScottI'd like to see him tried in that role but I am not sure he will be. He looks really comfortable across HB. I wouldn't be expecting him to play major minutes in the midfield this year. He could possibly develop into one down the track but I am not sure he will develop into one this year.
Stiffy_18
18 Feb 2006, 14:02
Based on last night's game Massie certainly isn't that option (but again we can't base that one one single game)
Hinge is still a fair way off IMHO. He shows some nice promise but I am not sure that a) he is fit enough aerobically to be a tagger and b) that he is mature enough to be one either.
He hasn't played any AFL games. I would be surprised if he got many games this year (all things being equal)
I don't think he is primarily a forward. He played on HBF last night and did well. Last year he started off at HBF and made his biggest impact when he went into the midfield.
Month is a long time in footy and many things can change. Coupled with the fact that it was only one game.
macca23
18 Feb 2006, 14:18
Yes another great report from macca23 but I don't think they offer cadetships in journalism for 73 year olds. ;)
Well done macca23.
Ahhh tredders, I hope I live that long!! :D
You certainly won't help me to get there!! ;)
Life must be slow down the wharf today??
Truck Rutten
18 Feb 2006, 14:25
Thanks for the great analysis of last nights hit out. I can almost smell the linament, Cooper's beer and Vili's pies from here :)
McLeodMagic
18 Feb 2006, 14:33
Well done macca23.
Ooh I didn't know. :o
Can't wait to see the lads next week after reading all these reports.
tredders16
18 Feb 2006, 14:58
Ahhh tredders, I hope I live that long!! :D
You certainly won't help me to get there!! ;)
Life must be slow down the wharf today??
Nah, knocked off from the wharf at 7am this morning, had about 4 hours of interrupted sleep, when i got home, not at work, and decided to get back to my usual sarcastic self.
You definately have a linguistic(sp?) talent macca, too bad it only sees one team. Would have loved to hear how one of my mates at the Legs is going but he had the wrong jumper on for you to take any notice.
NikkiNoo
18 Feb 2006, 15:07
ok my two bits worth - won't do an essay like macca23 and stiffy but just my overall impressions (great work btw guys - agree with most disagree on others).
I got the impression with thommo watching him last night is that he appeared to look like the deer caught in the headlights whenever he got the ball, did a little pause which gave the norwood players time to close him down. Then his decision making was terrible, just terrible. Not impressed at all with his game last night.
I thought Marics ruckwork was very good to start off with but towards the end he tired and his judgment of his leap was a little off, but to start off with he was generally getting first hands on the ball and sending nice deft little taps down for our boys. Putting the 'younger' ones all together in the middle gave us, the fans a good inkling of what the future may bring.
Overall I was more interested in seeing who is the 'boss' of each area - Perrie in the forward line, Riley in the middle (he was the one calling the plays, not Thommo from what I could see) and Rutten was the boss down back. Like Stiffy I loved that play where he run between three norwood players and came out the other side with the ball - just such a class and his disposal is the best in the team. Noticed that each of the kick outs was always taken by him. Not sure if this will reflect what will happen in the main season as there was no McLeod or Johncock who has done the kick outs previously. Also noticed that he did not rush to kick the ball in, waited until it was all set up before he kicked out. Down the other end though, our forwards though were very quick to position themselves for a kick in. Bock seemed to have the angry pills last night at the start of the game, cause the norwood players were trying to rip his head off! And they didn't stop with those two trys.
Hentschel - well you guys have said it all - I swear he kicked the goal of the year last year in the preliminary final against WC but as it was in the last quarter most people have forgotten it. He seems to have turned the corner, but we will wait until he gets some better defenders on him. On a side note - Trent, what is up with those shorts?
Of the youngsters - Van Berlo impressed me most with his ability to judge the flight of the ball - his spoiling in that respect was great. Did appear to have increased his chest area ;) Knights I thought started quiet and then built into the game, class and you can keep drooling Macca. Douglas was impressive with his natural ability. Hinge impressed with his defensive work and his willingness to throw his body in everywhere. Looks like Bode that he kept confusing my mum no end. Was great to see Bodey back in the tri-colours.
Jericho - as my dad said he kept finding the space to lead into but was just always the wrong space. Does not seem to know where to run to the 'right' spot.
From the earlier game - will disagree with stiffy's comments about Bonnadido in respect to his work below his knees - did a great little bit that lead to a goal from Sugars I think in the last quarter, that involved work below his knees.
Final point - Bassett what on earth were you thinking wearing those sunglasses? :rolleyes:
Can't wait to see what happens next week when more of the jigsaw should fall into place.
Would have loved to hear how one of my mates at the Legs is going but he had the wrong jumper on for you to take any notice.
So why not ask?
Final point - Bassett what on earth were you thinking wearing those sunglasses? :rolleyes:
The futures so bright? :o
Maybe he was hiding from Nat ;)
macca23
18 Feb 2006, 15:14
So why not ask?
Because he knows I would have been too busy watching our blokes to worry about Norwood. :o
However somebody else who was at the game might be able to help him though.
NikkiNoo
18 Feb 2006, 15:16
The futures so bright? :o
Maybe he was hiding from Nat ;)
Ahh PC - he had on those silver aviator sunnys that just looked so funny on him - Kristie and I had to laugh when he walked past us. He's definetly a different cat that one!
MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
18 Feb 2006, 15:32
Ahh PC - he had on those silver aviator sunnys that just looked so funny on him - Kristie and I had to laugh when he walked past us. He's definetly a different cat that one!
He looked ridiculous - but purely Nathan at the same time. I want him to revert to the purple hair of a few years ago!
k
xx
crowsarethebest
18 Feb 2006, 16:40
Thanks for all the reports guys. Just one thing, we can't jump to conclusions just yet. This was the 1st real hit out our guys have had for a long time.
macca23
18 Feb 2006, 16:41
Jericho - as my dad said he kept finding the space to lead into but was just always the wrong space. Does not seem to know where to run to the 'right' spot.
From the earlier game - will disagree with stiffy's comments about Bonnadido in respect to his work below his knees - did a great little bit that lead to a goal from Sugars I think in the last quarter, that involved work below his knees.
Can't wait to see what happens next week when more of the jigsaw should fall into place.
As usual Nikki, well put and spot on overall. :)
In particular, your comments on Jericho and Bonaddio are worth taking on board.
Jericho had a shocker of a game IMO but did keep trying to lead all night - but as your dad said, always to the wrong space. Is this the classic case of the athlete who's not really a footballer?
Bonaddio kicked one goal himself and set up another with handballs after taking the ball well below his knees on both occasions with good takes. He's not overly quick, but he showed a bit IMO. He does look a FF or nothing though.
Your last point's a good one, and after next week we'll have a better idea of our player's true capabilities. Looking forward to it!!
topjars
18 Feb 2006, 16:48
Thanks for the reports StiffyMaccaNicky:thumbsu:
I started to bar up:D
Markthirtytwo
18 Feb 2006, 16:50
Thanks for the reports and updates people. Much appreciated.:thumbsu:
It's only early yet.
Capitalist
18 Feb 2006, 17:57
Maric to me looked more like a Clarke type of ruckman than anything – his tap work was great early on but his decision making was woeful
I honestly think that Meeson will play more games that Maric this year, alright his leap was rusty but he has football smarts (and quiet a few) his ability to play forward and to get his own ball were a highlight for me Maric is a tad stow and lacking in the football brain department just yet. So basically I disagree with Rooch and with most of this board on who will play more games
Porpylzia - was great in the middle – he has basically made bode redundant – he does exactly what bode can do except he is more accurate with the ball both hand and foot.
I’m sorry to all the bode fans but he should only be used when we are short on players.
Hinge, Vince and also did what bode can do, I have to say I though Hinge was great for what he got involved in.
The stand out of the younger guys was Knights for sure, his kicking was ordinary at times but once again the only guy to bomb it in long with crappy floaters was Bode so who has the more upside ?
I also liked the looks of Douglas once again another person who does the Bode thing but much better, tough little nugget but is going to need to put on some kilos.
Jericho was disappointing but hell he made plenty of space and put pressure, I;m not sure if he was running into the wrong spot it was the players coming forward weren’t looking for him, it seemed to be more of a decoy to try and get TH,KM and IP into the “danger zone”.
Apart from that it was all the same crows players doing well, probably should win the NAB game against the Power but truly I don’t think it is important, Playing the younger guys in the middle like they did was more important than winning by 20 goals
Crow-mo
18 Feb 2006, 18:39
This is an ADELAIDE board. Its about the ADELAIDE FOOTBALL CLUB. What part of that don't you two inbeciles don't understand??????
No one here gives a flying ******** about how Norwood played. If you want to find out about that go to safooty.com. This is about Adelaide and what Adelaide did or didn't do.
Cry me a ********ing river. So because we don't give a flying ******** about the team that we don't support we are not real football supporters. What a ********ing imbecile.
And no you didn't see me at the last few South Australia games. Not because I wasn't there but because I wouldn't be caught dead hanging out with a **************** like you.
ouch!
harsh but fair though.