View Full Version : Intra-Club Report

FIGJAM
18 Feb 2006, 12:07
Just back from the Lexus Centre. Great to have a fix of footy again!

Was threatening to rain with the odd drop and whilst the wind was light, I can say after having a kick, it was very flukey. Skills were erratic, but intensity was high. The boys look very fit.

No numbers on the players made it hard to identify our lads. A few Willi boys must have also been interspersed, as I had no idea who they were. I may have missed a few, and no doubt probably have got a few terribly wrong, but I'll share my thoughts anyway.

1. Leon: Will never ever be an AFL midfielder. I think he wants to be consciously, but subconsciously he does eveything to ruin his aspirations. In the era of the perpetual flood, at least Leon tries to break this trend, steering clear of this action by positioning himself exactly a kick and a half away from the play.

3. Lones: Played in defence and was OK I spose. Nothing inneresting to report.

4. Didak: Played half forward flank which will upset the "Daks 4 Midfield" Action Faction. Did OK and got a couple of sausages, but clearly didn't change out of second gear.

6. Brodes: Good, but another established senior player with cruise control on.

8. Jimmay: So professional he makes Ernst & Young look like HIH.

10. Carrots: Typical Carrots (suitably in the orange top). Did a few very nice things. 2 or 3 goals.

11. O'Bree: A lot of guys look the same without numbers, and Obes fits in that group. He got a few touches when I could identify him.

12. Walker: Played on Cam for the most part. Did nothing of note. probably never will.

13. Daisy: Love him! Runs all day and is always amongst it. Started off shakey with his field kicking to leading options. Seemeed a bit tight. But relaxed into the game and showed why we rate him. Provided the highlight of the day with a burst of speed along the opposite pocket to me, for a couple of bounces and a goal from the boundary line. Was fantastic! The just a minute later, he contested the ball accross half forward and managed to trap it on the ground with a hand and quickly offload the ball to Carrots for a goal. Hard to explain, but it was all class! No real reason why he'll need to spend much time at Willi.

14. Wakes: Professional and very good. Only a matter of time before he starts going backwards, but we should enjoy watching his game at the minute, as he's a class defender.

15. Eags: Was in amongst it off the wing. Seems bigger physically and a bit fitter. Drifts in and out, but that's his quirk. Kicked an interesting goal at the end. Not sure he meant it!

18. Lica: Not the player to whack it in cruise control, he was very good. Kicking's ordinary, but you just gotta put up with it.

19. Davies: No matter the lack of polish in the kid, no one can deny his ability to get involved. And to be fair, that he isn't silky didn't mean that he used it poorly. In fact, I thought he got heaps of it and used it well. Looked at home in the midfield.

20. Taz: He's almost off comic value at these sorts of games. Struggled early against our better defenders and then started to step up against some Williamstown (?) opposition. Is fit as a fiddle and when he starts playing in anger, he may be back at 2003 form (touch wood!).

21. Stretch: Good to actually see him play footy and not get injured. Played ruck to begin with, with the forward line as his other home. Needs to work on his kicking. Probably broke even with Flaps in the ruck, but I'd prefer Richards around the ground.

23. Pebbbles: Musta kicked four or so. Looks like he'll be playing full-forwardish. Too strong for anyone and a welcome return (touch wood)!

24. Tarks: Was Tarks.

25. Fraser: BOG for mine. Is fit and stronger in the upper body, and his ability to get involved is fantastic. Kicking is rusty as a year old razor, but he'll tighten this up over time. Looks like he's back (touch wood)!

26. Johnno: Played defence and did pretty well. Kicking still makes some unmentionable muscles contract, but effective outcomes. He looks in better nick than last year.

27. Max: A young Jimmy-C & Lica in terms of professionalism. Calm as a coma and uses it well. If I have any criticism, is that his ability to hold onto the ball for a long period, sometimes leads him to hold onto it for too long, thereby missing an option.

28. Stanners: Pretty much what I expected from reports and his highlights video. Good footy nous with an ability to get involved, and is already AFL ready physically, but his kicking is ordinary. Not that he can't kick it straight and long to a target, it's just most times he stuffs it up. This is already a concern. Hope he can turn it around.

30. Flaps: Surprised me early on with some good ruck efforts against Stretch and some good aroudn the ground play. Looked like he had improved which is good. Lost him a bit latter in the day. May have had some bench time or something.

31. JA: Good pick up! Should be a key defensive option in the future. Clement-ish ability to ensure a contest whilst keeping balance to clear the ball effectively. Good kicking generally. Good height and athleticism.

32. Trav: Good game. I've said he might be a key defensive prospect, but his natural forward instinct was evident today and will be better off playing alongside Taz & Rock. All three played together after the half-time break, with the likes of Thomas and Didak floating about and a stream of goals ensued. Salivating at this prospect.

33. Cam: Ordinary. Fit as a fiddle, but he just does things which send you nuts. The best summation of Cam is his before the game plays. He literally kicked the ball from just inside the halfway mark on the ground and it bounced through for a goal. About 30 seconds later, he went for another torp, only to slug it straight into an umpire! Unfortunately his riddiculous far outweighs any sublime!

34. J-Clo: Played wing on Egan (yes really!). If very fit and running pretty well. Dunno if that's sufficient to make up for his faults though which were still evident.

35. Presti: Was Presti.

36. Swan: I'd expect him to show a bit more at a diluted AFL level, so was a bit disappointing. Don't think he'll be anything but a battler.

37. Iles: Was quite impressive! Good pace, finds space pretty well and spotted up and hit some good options by foot. Played half back and did pretty well I thought. Got caught by Stanners at the end trying to do too much.

39. Heaff: Played in defence and provided some good run. Has trimmed down and is moving quicker (although not prettier!).

40. Hall: Does some good things, but counter balances this with some really dumb things. Kicking is shocking! I reckon he should play against the Aints, as we need a serious look and the Aints ruck division is ordinary.

43. Harry: OK, but nothing special. Does the odd good thing. I reckon his potential/current ability is overrated by many of our supporters.

45. Coxy: Did some really good things early on, before drifiting out. Will need to see him a bit more at Willi.

Again, I probably left out players I couldn't identify and probably stuffed some opinions up. They should give players jumpers with numbers!

Pie 4 Life
18 Feb 2006, 12:14
Good report FIGJAM! Well done :) :thumbsu:

However I still rate Harry even if you don't! :p

dids4
18 Feb 2006, 12:16
ill keep it short.

my top 5 from today (in order);

1. A.Rocca - best on for mine. showed he has gained even more strength in his time out of the game. he is a brute and is moving nicely.

2. J.Fraser - still a query over his overhead marking, but looked very good.

3. S.Iles - looked brilliant. one passage of play from him running direct out of defence and nailing fraser on the chest, recieving the hands from josh and then nailing rocca on the chest was just awesome. a real find.

4. B.Johnson - good run out of defence. played like he was prior to 2005.

5. C.Egan - looks like he is having more influence. has gained a lot more confidence (is that possible?) and looks great on a wing.

Rozza44
18 Feb 2006, 12:22
No sign of R.Shaw yet??

FIGJAM
18 Feb 2006, 12:27
No Rhyce yet.

No Bucks, no Crab, no Burns, no Rowe, no Toovey.

I'm pretty sure Yakka didn't play, but I could be wrong about that. There were two guys there with black hair with blonde patches. Dunno who they were.

loki04
18 Feb 2006, 12:37
did u spot pendles and cook?

JAJH
18 Feb 2006, 12:40
I have posted up some pics of the game HERE (http://www.flickr.com/photos/macrocomp/)

wez10000
18 Feb 2006, 12:48
COLLINGWOOD INTRACLUB 18/2/2006

Q1
Orange - 3.3.21
Black & White - 1.3.0.27
Q2
Orange - 7.7.49
Black & White - 1.4.4.37
Q3
Orange - 15.8.98
Black & White - 1.7.5.56
Q4
Orange - 18.9.117
Black & White - 1.10.8.77

loki04
18 Feb 2006, 13:03
I have posted up some pics of the game HERE (http://www.flickr.com/photos/macrocomp/)

cheers mate

loki04
18 Feb 2006, 13:04
COLLINGWOOD INTRACLUB 18/2/2006

Q1
Orange - 3.3.21
Black & White - 1.3.0.27
Q2
Orange - 7.7.49
Black & White - 1.4.4.37
Q3
Orange - 15.8.98
Black & White - 1.7.5.56
Q4
Orange - 18.9.117
Black & White - 1.10.8.77

Wouldn't happen to know who the goal kickers were?

jimmy_c8
18 Feb 2006, 13:06
Just got back from the game and as people have already stated i thought Josh was the big standout, he is looking alot bigger than last year and his ability to win the ball was very good. I also thought Tarrant was a standout in the second half when he started to get more of the ball up the ground and then send it down to big Anthony Rocca who also looked in great touch.

Am looking forward to seeing some of the new guys play this year as some of them were really impressive today, mainly Iiles.

jimmy_c8
18 Feb 2006, 13:08
Few nice pics there, managed to spot myself on one of them as well :thumbsu: :p

wez10000
18 Feb 2006, 13:22
Wouldn't happen to know who the goal kickers were?

Sorry Didnt know half the players and they didnt have numbers on so i didnt write those down.

bucksisbest
18 Feb 2006, 13:38
division is ordinary.

43. Harry: OK, but nothing special. Does the odd good thing. I reckon his potential/current ability is overrated by many of our supporters.

How is it overrated , can play on talls and smalls , terrific closing speed great ability to spoil with those long limbs and he runs hard and fast to create play off half back , the only negative I have about him is that he occasionally stuffs up when he gets it because he tries to do too much and he isn't a crisp field kick.

Jabso
18 Feb 2006, 13:54
Yakka was definately there as was Cook and the Crab.

I only caught the 2nd half and could only really see one side of the ground:
Good Stuff
- Daisy's ability to be in the action. His goal along the boundary was the highlight of the game
- Davies absolute dominance of the 2nd half in the midfield, he was everwhere. Incosistant disposal by foot, sometimes it's great, sometimes it's bad. Has great intensity and should be in our First XXII. Looks to have bulked up and perhaps gained a burst of speed (or just has the confidence to use it).
- The Rocca/Trav/Taz combination. Working very well together creating space for each other and rotating through CHF/FF. The best set up saw Rocca at full forward, Trav and Taz effectively as dual CHF's, one leading up one side while the other would fill the space to create an option.
- Tarrant's tricks. He was ducking and weaving around alot and kicked a great goal. Didn't get to see him take a set shot but his passing and kicking for goal in the general play looked good. Had one great piece of play where he somehow grabbed the ball behind his back and spun around out of trouble.
- Harry and Heath providing run off half back. Heath especially who is very confident and is pretty vocal.
- C1's fitness, intensity and vocalness.

Bad Stuff:
- Fraser's dropped marks in the second half. He would do the best to get in the best position, grab the ball and look to be in control but wouldn't hold on for that extra nano second. However apparently he was BOG from his 1st half performance.
- Trav's kicking. His ability to swing around onto the left and put in to the general area is pretty good, but sometimes does it without assesing things.
- General sloppy disposal. This could be forgiven though in the conditions of the windy oval and it is only an intraclub match.
- Swanny was pretty quiet. Harry was dissapointing with his choice of disposal and his execution by both hand and foot.

My tip for the NAB Cup team I think we will give Thomas, Iles, Anthony and maybe Stanley a go. IMO Heath and Harry are going to be given a fair amount of time in the backline too.

Oh Furious One
18 Feb 2006, 14:15
Dasiy = ?

Jabso
18 Feb 2006, 14:22
Daisy = Dale Thomas

Limbach_19
18 Feb 2006, 14:43
How was Daniel Nicholls

FIGJAM
18 Feb 2006, 14:55
Nicholls ma have played, but if I couldn't identify Yakka and Crab Morrison, then I'm no hope of picking Nicho & Cook!

Coin_Toss
18 Feb 2006, 15:05
I was there too, boy did Anthony Rocca look a million bucks! He is in for a huge year if he stays injury free.

Who heard what Eddie said about Hawthorn's crappy president at the Family Day afterwards? Trying to copy Joffa, how dare he!

bucksisbest
18 Feb 2006, 15:17
Who heard what Eddie said about Hawthorn's crappy president at the Family Day afterwards? Trying to copy Joffa, how dare he!
More detail please.

Coin_Toss
18 Feb 2006, 15:31
More detail please.

IF Hawthorn have a win over Collingwood in Round 2, Jeff will wear a brown and gold jacket.

Jabso
18 Feb 2006, 16:08
I have a feeling he'll be wearing brown and gold pants.

yeah-nah
18 Feb 2006, 16:25
Agree with most of the comments.

Just to add I didnt recognise Cloke -1 at first. Really changed his body shape. Its a pity about his skills but at least he is giving it his all.

Thought Fanning did well til he went off pretty early. (copped a hit to the head I heard).

Out of interest I saw Carlton yesterday. Im glad we didnt have pick 1 because there would have been some pressure to take Murphy and I prefer Thomas. Murphy looked ok, and will probably be a good player but he is tiny. Its got to cap the level he reaches. I think Thomas has more x factor anyway.

Johnson#26
18 Feb 2006, 17:27
Thanks heaps guys. :) :thumbsu:

I have a report on the Family Day (wasn't able to get to the intra-club match) in a new thread.

Johnson#26
18 Feb 2006, 17:31
Nicholls ma have played, but if I couldn't identify Yakka and Crab Morrison, then I'm no hope of picking Nicho & Cook!

Nicholls is very small with blond curly hair.

Cookey has spikey black hair - he remembered me from training! Top guy. :)

morgoth
18 Feb 2006, 21:46
Also went along.

Oneo fthemost promising signs was Guy Richards, good game and he got through it all. Made Fanning look second rate IMO.

I hope Rocca plays FF, he is a beast. Stanley has poor disposal and this will hold him back. Thomas at times is breath-taking and at others odrinady but that is normal for a kid and he looks the goods. John Anthony is probably the best of the new bous so far but will be limited to playing on leading forwards in his first year (if he plays) as he does not have the bulk to go with the big units like Rocca.

Josh was realy good in the first half and was taking one grab marks on the lead. Taz hardly got out of second but when he did he chpped them up. Midfield was still a worry and we tended to go round the boundry line too much but got a lot better in the second half.

Lonie_from_50
19 Feb 2006, 01:00
My top 5 - no need to comment, it is ********ing late/early and just got back walking 2-3km back to my house in the sticks, and nobody is in the house, so I said ******** going to sleep, need to have some bigfooty time.

1. A.Rocca
2. J.Fraser
3. D.Thomas
4. B.Johnson
5. H.Shaw/S.Cox

OMG - I am in love with Shannon Cox. I am sure I missed someone.

dids4
19 Feb 2006, 01:08
are you boozed LF50? :)

Lonie_from_50
19 Feb 2006, 01:43
Man, I sweated out all my alcohol on the way :D

Lonie_from_50
19 Feb 2006, 01:44
Oh, but the top 5 posted above are serious

BTW - I thought Brodie Holland wasn't that great on his skills to be honest. I was actually disappointed.

Coin_Toss
19 Feb 2006, 07:49
My BOGS:

5. Anthony Rocca
4. Josh Fraser
3. Dale Thomas
2. Sam Iles
1. Heath Shaw

Johnson#26
19 Feb 2006, 08:55
Good news re Sam Iles. He has put in plenty of effort over the course of the pre-season, and deserve a shot. May well play in the NAB Cup. Has been likened to Nathan Brown (of the Melbourne varitety).

FIGJAM
19 Feb 2006, 09:53
Here's hoping Sammy can prove Wiz horribly wrong. I was also hoping Nixon would prove Wiz wrong, but unfortunately not. But right now, it's Iles in the lead!

We looked OK in terms of rebounding from defence yesterday (from both sides).

Heater, Sammy & Johnno (and to a lesser extent Hertier) combining with the cool heads of the like of Presti, Max, Jimmay & Wakes made for some very good clearances. None of them silky, bu all with good foot pace and importantly, an ability to gather and find space.

JA's first half was encouraging with respect to clearing the ball efficiently. He has a bit of Jason Cloke's ability to leave his man at the right time to mark or spoil...only he can kick and is athletic.

The older players like Swan, Lonie and Lockyer should be under serious pressure to earn a spot. Add Davies into the mix if he can't crack a midfield berth and there is serious pressure for the small defender's roles.

Johnson#26
19 Feb 2006, 10:00
Swan isn't actually all that old. Was drafted to the club at the end of 2001.

Lonie_from_50
19 Feb 2006, 10:27
BTW - Which guy was Sam Iles??? Was he the smallish player with bleach blonde tips playing on the ball (or was that Stanley???)

FIGJAM
19 Feb 2006, 10:35
BTW - Which guy was Sam Iles??? Was he the smallish player with bleach blonde tips playing on the ball (or was that Stanley???)
No. Normal curly blondy-brown hair.

He he is next to Taz's guns:

http://www.zeke.com.au/stuff/tarrant.jpg

Lonie_from_50
19 Feb 2006, 10:38
Ah OK, Cheers, I can actually say, I didn't see too much of him. So, who was the guy I was asking about FIG, If you know?

Lonie_from_50
19 Feb 2006, 10:40
I think this is the bloke:

http://static.flickr.com/34/101000232_8d50e92aca.jpg?v=0

FIGJAM
19 Feb 2006, 10:42
There was a little bloke with that ********ed up hair do and a medium tall who ended up copping a bath from Tarrant with the same hair cut.

Both non-Collingwood players.

Coin_Toss
19 Feb 2006, 10:42
A couple Williamstown players joined in yesterday.

Lonie_from_50
19 Feb 2006, 10:43
Yeah, Thought so, I remember my mate making exactly the same comment on the defender on the hair :p

Coin_Toss
19 Feb 2006, 10:47
Yeah, Thought so, I remember my mate making exactly the same comment on the defender on the hair :p

And I saw an overweight Williamstown trainer walking the boundary line.

MM must of asked Brad Gotch, becuause Collingwood were short on players (injuries, rookies not getting a game, etc).

Jabso
19 Feb 2006, 15:36
There was a little bloke with that ********ed up hair do and a medium tall who ended up copping a bath from Tarrant with the same hair cut.

Both non-Collingwood players.
Yeah that skinny guy playing on Tarrant in the 2nd half also laid a fantastic shephard on Licuria that knocked him to the turf.

Swanny is the sort of character who would cruise in an intra club match. His preseason has also been hampered somewhat by his trouble with the law. Although he has never been a dynamic performer on the track.

foxychick
19 Feb 2006, 16:47
I thought the BOG out of the youngster players who impressed were:

1. Daisy
2. Iles
3. Heater
4. Anthony
5. Stanley

the lemon wedge
19 Feb 2006, 20:13
What position did josh play? Did he take any strong marks? Hitouts?

Lonie_from_50
19 Feb 2006, 20:17
Guess you can say CHF, but roaming HFF/W in 2nd and 3rd terms, whilst playing FF/FP for the first, and bits of the last.

correct me if i'm wrong, but that's what i thought.

Johnson#26
20 Feb 2006, 05:47
Which guy was Sam Iles??? Was he the smallish player with bleach blonde tips playing on the ball (or was that Stanley???)

Danny Nicholls? Curly hair?

Coin_Toss
20 Feb 2006, 07:19
Did anyone else see Andrew Williams at the intra-club match on Saturday?

He is a top bloke, with a heart of genuine gold. :) :thumbsu: