View Full Version : Expectations
topjars
20 Feb 2006, 18:20
Has there ever been a bigger expectation on our chances then going into the 2006 season?
I doubt whether 1998 had the same buzz about it as this one has:eek:
Im talking from a Crow supporter point of view; not a vic journos uninformed opinion:mad:
Get the shades out :cool: :cool: :cool: AND pray the injury count is minimal.
MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
20 Feb 2006, 20:47
Obviously last year was better than any of us could have ever expected. Therefore I'd be disapointed if we slumped this year. However, if we make the finals, top 4 preferred, i'd be happy.
k
xx
Has there ever been a bigger expectation on our chances then going into the 2006 season?
Im talking from a Crow supporter point of view; not a vic journos uninformed opinion:mad:
well last years consistency and our failure to get blown away in any game, the further devolopment of some promising inexperienced players, the workload being shared and another year to embrace what our coaching staff is about, has me wondering if we can really do something special this year.
however a week is a long time in footy and theres 5 months qualification and if you do theres one month to turn it into glory, anything could happen
oh and there is no stand out powerhouse either
Wayne's-World
20 Feb 2006, 20:57
Frankly based in the Eastern states the expectations are quite modest - the way it should be.
I just want us to be competitive, injury free, unearth some quality youngsters - and let the ladder position take care of itself.
Stiffy_18
20 Feb 2006, 20:59
Frankly based in the Eastern states the expectations are quite modest - the way it should be.
I just want us to be competitive, injury free, unearth some quality youngsters - and let the ladder position take care of itself.
How are Crows being rated in Melbourne??????
Top 4????? Sliders out of the 8???????
Wayne's-World
20 Feb 2006, 21:05
Not really talked about
Last year pretty difinitive that we would be cellar dwellars.
This year they're not sure whether we'll go up or down ...A lot are pushing Geelongs barrow, have Collingwood between 7 and 10, Sydney and West Coast in the top 4.
No real definitive views for Essendon, Richmond, & North Melbourne. Hawthorn and Carlton to again be at the bottom.
But Adelaide teams always get very little discussion here.
While you have your top line midfielders top 4 is an achievable thing, that hasn't changed in years.
This year you need to keep improving your younger talls as well as blood more midfielders that will replace the others once they are gone.
What you still lack is a rebounding short defender that can play tall and a specialist forward crumber. Yes I know you have Thompson and yes I do rate him, but he's not the type I am thinking of.
The rest of the "blocks" are at the very least good enough.
It will be interesting to see where Craig thinks you need improvements. IMO lack of goals in tight situations and given your emphasis on defense means he will try and change the way you rebound out of defense.
Anything from a flag to 6th.
Anything lower would mean that players went backwards and or we had a lot of injuries .
Last year I thought I knew , this year I am not so sure.
Cove Cobra
21 Feb 2006, 03:44
I want 12 wins to ensure we play finals.
AFTER we have those on the board, we can then re-evaluate our position.
maccas_no1
21 Feb 2006, 05:11
They did a review of all clubs in the Sunday Herald Sun, and it started off with the line: Put your hand up this time last year those of you who wrote the AFC off?? The Victorians are taking the AFC pretty serious in 2006. $8.50 for the Flag, which at this time of the year are pretty good odds.
If we can keep the same blokes on the park week in week out, be committed and hungry and really contiune to develope everything that Craig has put in place no doubt top 4, really need to makes sure a our disposal is good and we nail set shots in front of goal:thumbsu:
drakeyv2
21 Feb 2006, 08:14
From what I have read on the net the Vic's seem to be pumping up the Bulldogs as a finals team this year, based on their finish last year.
I'm not so sure about them. It seems to me that when they made their run last year most teams had either shut up shop & were planning for next year or like us, were being flogged on the track in preparation for the finals.
There is also a lot of pressure on the Saints (pitty that), lots of last chance now or never stuff.
As for us; We should make the 8. After that, who knows.
relapse
21 Feb 2006, 09:40
I agree with the general consensus here that Adelaide will finish in the top 8, as to where it comes down to how consistant we are and the rest will depend on injuries and a bit of luck. A top four finish isnt out of the question, but I think a finish of between 5-7 at the end of the minor round is more reasonable.
topjars
21 Feb 2006, 11:06
well last years consistency and our failure to get blown away in any game, the further devolopment of some promising inexperienced players, the workload being shared and another year to embrace what our coaching staff is about, has me wondering if we can really do something special this year.
however a week is a long time in footy and theres 5 months qualification and if you do theres one month to turn it into glory, anything could happen
oh and there is no stand out powerhouse either
Well summed up, particularly the point about not being blown away. I think we won a great % of our third quarters toward the end of the year too which says our focus when the premiership quarter is happening is A.OK:thumbsu:
topjars
21 Feb 2006, 11:15
If we can....
1.keep the same blokes on the park week in week out.
2.be committed and hungry.
3.continue to develope everything that Craig has put in place.
4.make sure a our disposal is good.
5.nail set shots in front of goal:thumbsu:
Anything else;)
Yes. 2003, when Carey was about to enter his first season with us, we were just about favourites for the flag. If we weren't already, by the time we won the Wizard Cup we definately were considered a front runner for the Title.
This year doesn't really compare with that at all, I don't think. But, we are still a fair way away from the start of the season so we are yet to know which teams will have the biggest hype about them.
The Saints and Eagles will no doubt have higher expectations than us, and probably the Swans aswell.
maccas_no1
21 Feb 2006, 16:18
Anything else;)
All key elements to a successful 2006:thumbsu:
Stiffy_18
21 Feb 2006, 16:27
They did a review of all clubs in the Sunday Herald Sun, and it started off with the line: Put your hand up this time last year those of you who wrote the AFC off?? The Victorians are taking the AFC pretty serious in 2006. $8.50 for the Flag, which at this time of the year are pretty good odds.
If we can keep the same blokes on the park week in week out, be committed and hungry and really contiune to develope everything that Craig has put in place no doubt top 4, really need to makes sure a our disposal is good and we nail set shots in front of goal:thumbsu:
Cheers mate :)
What you still lack is a rebounding short defender that can play tall and a specialist forward crumber..
fully agree with the crumber, but not the defender bit, ben hart and jason torney come to mind and to a lesser extent basset
Stiffy_18
21 Feb 2006, 18:07
fully agree with the crumber, but not the defender bit, ben hart and jason torney come to mind and to a lesser extent basset
Bassett, Hart and Torney are hardly short.
Johncock is the one that can fill that role to perfection. He was in AA form before he broke his leg. I think sometimes people forget that.
crowsarethebest
21 Feb 2006, 18:47
Yeah the victorians down here are alot more cautious about us. I don't think we will have as a great year as last year. Alot of teams are improving and it will be a lot tougher this year. I think we'll be around 6-10.
Johncock is the one that can fill that role to perfection. He was in AA form before he broke his leg. I think sometimes people forget that.
Yeah, by short I mean not a quasi tall.
I do rate Johncock big time Stiffy and no I have not forgotten about him, but a Johncock type of player that can play taller is what I meant. A Montgomery type instead of a Wilson type I suppose. A six foot max third short that can double up as the fourth tall if that makes sense.
Torney is more your six foot two type that Williams has been searching for over the last couple of years. There is a need for them too, that's why Cochrane got so many games.
Hart is a tall that can play short. We need one of them if Chad Cornes goes in the midfield like has been mentioned.
ExpectToWin
22 Feb 2006, 08:50
This is the key to success for all of the clubs with strong lists. The Crows success last year was largely due to a low injury count. A few more injuries to certain players this season and you will struggle like any other club would to reach the same level of success.
The Crows will be right up there but I doubt you can match last years Win/Loss ratio over the whole season. As for the premiership, well who knows.
did anyone see we are favourites to win this NAB competition? :confused:
Is that a good thing or a bad thing ??
Personally i dislike being labeled as favorites for anything by the so-called experts & prefer to be somewhere on the 2nd or 3rd line of betting. :thumbsu:
Or as last year the despised roughie of the field :D
Most of the "experts" haven't released a pre-season ladder, but I suspect we'll be tagged as being in the bottom half of the top 8 by the majority.
David Schwarz has us pegged for 15th. That's reason alone to get some money on us having a good year :p
yes but they do play tall or small very well and torney and hart are rebounding defenders and to a lesser extent bassett.
SpringChoke
23 Feb 2006, 07:35
Is anyone else concerned by our unusually high number of injuries? No wonder Rucci says Craigy looks **********ed off. Along with a late start to PS, I wouldn't have thought having so many injuries at this time of the year is an ideal way to start the year.
NikkiNoo
23 Feb 2006, 08:56
Is anyone else concerned by our unusually high number of injuries? No wonder Rucci says Craigy looks **********ed off. Along with a late start to PS, I wouldn't have thought having so many injuries at this time of the year is an ideal way to start the year.
or looked at from a different angle - get the little niggles sorted out before the season proper starts? Would be interesting to compare the number and type of injuries to previous preseasons. Does anyone have this information?
Crow-mo
23 Feb 2006, 09:03
the point is, it isn't unusual. last year was unusual, we've been killed by injuries in recent years.
You're right "fellow man about the world" :) last year in regards to injuries we should look at as a one off & count our blessings, would be nice for a repeat but even with the improved player management at the club these days we should always expect the unexpected.
The injuries so far that have happened we should just take on the chin & move on to the next player in line.
Mad Dog
23 Feb 2006, 10:27
Expectations ?
Top 4 would be nice but of course finals participation is always the first goal.
Given that you need 12 or 13 wins to make the 8....and 14 or 15 wins will usually get you into the Top 4......the difference between scraping into the 8 and Top 4 is only 2ish wins.....and in a 22 Round comp thats very little margin for error.
My point is that good footy will get you into the 8....a little luck with injuries and the fall of the ball on top of that will get you into the Top 4.
Let's not deem the season a failure if we don't get those 2ish wins and end up 7th/8th instead of 3rd/4th because there is very little separating the 2 scenarios.
I'm confident we will have a good solid year. With an "A Grade" midfield in Roo, Goody, Thommo, Edwards.....supported/joined by Macca, Stiffy, Matttner, Reilly, Skippy, Shirley and VB, Knights, Douglas & co. on the horizon - that makes for a lot of depth. The defense will go from strength to strength....while the forwards are diverse enough in their attributes and abilities that a couple will get under a sides guard at least. Perrie, Kenny, Welsh, Trentschell and assorted smalls should be able to do the job particularly if the midfield keep chipping in with goals.
Ruck is still my concern, Rock is a huge loss, Clarkey while a proven warrior is another year older and the body seems to become less willing to play football at an exponentially increasing rate at that age so alot will be resting with the Dirty Dancer. Is he up to the challenge ???...man or mouse ???.....hopefully the Big man can pull out a blinder but it wouldn't concern me if Meese & Maric formed the greatest duo since Mario Milano and Killer Karl Krup.
from the backline considering everyone except Huddo...
Hart - Rutten - Torney
Bass - Bock - Stiffy
Mattner - Roo - Burton
Edwards - Kenny - Pez
Trent - Welsh - Macca
Biglands - Thommo - Goody
Shirley - Reilly - Maric - Knights
.....I just can't wait for the real stuff !....:o
SpringChoke
23 Feb 2006, 13:13
.....I just can't wait for the real stuff !....:o
Yeah same here.
Question for you MD, how many more years do you think we have left to win our 3rd flag with the current squad?
Allefgib
23 Feb 2006, 13:18
You're right "fellow man about the world" :) last year in regards to injuries we should look at as a one off & count our blessings, would be nice for a repeat but even with the improved player management at the club these days we should always expect the unexpected.
The injuries so far that have happened we should just take on the chin & move on to the next player in line.
where you blokes at right now? I'm in South Korea and last year was in Canada so missed the development of the team in 2005. I was always super keen to see NC's influence as I had little time for Ayres (too negative like most coaches who used to play downback in their own careers) so was kinda dissappointed I missed a key year for us. Used to have brother and father sms me score updates every game during the games :) Currently spending a bit of time going through match replays on afl.com.au to get pumped properly for the season...
Mad Dog
23 Feb 2006, 13:55
Yeah same here.
Question for you MD, how many more years do you think we have left to win our 3rd flag with the current squad?
I would say this year and next will be our best opportunities from our squad's perspective. 2008 will see Hart and Clarke gone - and Edwards, Roo, Macca, Goody, Bass, Biglands, Torney, and Burton all the wrong side of 30 (if they all remain on the list).
I don't think there will be a dramatic dip given that without the above players we could still hypothetically field a team that looks like this...
Stevens - Truck - Stiff
Massie - Bock - The Count
Mattner - Shirley - Reilly
Thommo - Ken - Pez
Trent - Welsh - Bode
Huddo - Knights - Skippy
Vince - Douglas - Doughty - Maric
Also our relative strength to the other teams is important with many of the "rebuilders" probably back to full strength in the next couple of years
SpringChoke
23 Feb 2006, 14:31
I would say this year and next will be our best opportunities from our squad's perspective. 2008 will see Hart and Clarke gone - and Edwards, Roo, Macca, Goody, Bass, Biglands, Torney, and Burton all the wrong side of 30 (if they all remain on the list).
I don't think there will be a dramatic dip given that without the above players we could still hypothetically field a team that looks like this...
Stevens - Truck - Stiff
Massie - Bock - The Count
Mattner - Shirley - Reilly
Thommo - Ken - Pez
Trent - Welsh - Bode
Huddo - Knights - Skippy
Vince - Douglas - Doughty - Maric
Also our relative strength to the other teams is important with many of the "rebuilders" probably back to full strength in the next couple of years
Cheers.
SpringChoke
23 Feb 2006, 14:34
or looked at from a different angle - get the little niggles sorted out before the season proper starts? Would be interesting to compare the number and type of injuries to previous preseasons. Does anyone have this information?
Another positive you could take out of it is it will give our youngsters a real feel of AFL match pressure.