View Full Version : NAB Cup: Adelaide 2.16.13 (127) d. Port 0.8.7 (55)

Pages : [1] 2

Stiffy_18
20 Feb 2006, 21:19
Craigy was on CH 7 and said that Roo left the training track early and that he is not quite right. Judging by those comments, I very much doubt Roo will be risked.

Article on the Club's (http://afc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=246636) website suggests that McLeod, Johncock, Torney and Edwards are ready to play. I assume that all those players will be selected to play.

What line up do you think we shoudl go into the game with and what are your expecations from the game?

My team:
F: 37. Trent Hentschel 22. Ian Perrie 23. Andrew McLeod
HF: 10. Matthew Bode 16. Ken McGregor 21. Chris Knight
C: 24. Brett Burton 5. Scott Thompson 39. Martin Mattner
HB: 7. Nathan Van Berlo 44. Nathan Bock 36. Simon Goodwin
B: 15. Jason Torney 25. Ben Rutten 18. Graham Johncock
1R: 35. Rhett Biglands 33. Brent Reilly 14. Hayden Skipworth

INT: 2. John Meesen 9. Tyson Edwards 12. Robert Shirley
20. Ivan Maric 26. Richard Douglas 40. Jason Porplyzia

EMG: 28. Bernie Vince 30. Luke Jericho 38. John Hinge

Toss of the coin between Vince and Porplyzia. If any of the players are not 100% then I wouldn't play them. I want us to give plenty of game time to our youngsters in prominent roles. That means Hentschel at FF, Knights to play a fair bit in the midfield. Reilly to be one of the primary midfielder and Douglas, Maric and Meesen to all get a fair bit of playing time. VB to be played as a HBF. End result doesn't really matter to me. All I want us to do is hone our skills and structure for the season proper. Next 4 weeks is all about preparing for round 1 against Collingwood.

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
20 Feb 2006, 21:21
Well, we don't want to push the Roo too early. Let him recover fully so we have him for the ENTIRE season when we need him.

k
xx

macca23
20 Feb 2006, 22:22
As you've got it for the 24 starters Stiffy, with the real toss up being between Porplyzia and Vince.

Who gets the nod there will depend on who Craig & crew want to have a good look at under more pressure.

I'll go with Porplyzia as well.

dyertribe
20 Feb 2006, 22:26
Has Jericho been surpassed now, or does he still have a future?

macca23
20 Feb 2006, 22:32
Has Jericho been surpassed now, or does he still have a future?

Well and truly DT IMO. He was our most ordinary player against Norwood.

He's a fine athlete but not a natural footballer.

- PC -
20 Feb 2006, 23:22
[CODE]

22. Ian Perrie
16. Ken McGregor
5. Scott Thompson
44. Nathan Bock
25. Ben Rutten .
Have a look at that spine... imagine a year ago we were all crying for just 2 out of 5 now I reckon we have 5/5

And yes I do include Perrie in that list , for all my bagging of him he stood up in 2005

- PC -
20 Feb 2006, 23:25
I would play only those who are 95% fit and above

I dont care if we win or lose... yes it would be nice to gloat but overall this is the year our focus must be on the season proper and more importantly round 1

Crow-mo
20 Feb 2006, 23:42
Have a look at that spine... imagine a year ago we were all crying for just 2 out of 5 now I reckon we have 5/5

And yes I do include Perrie in that list , for all my bagging of him he stood up in 2005

I think Bock is clearly the weakest of that 5 at the moment, and at times he's looked pretty good too!

maccas_no1
21 Feb 2006, 05:18
I like your line up Stiffy, Crows by 15pts for me:)

Markthirtytwo
21 Feb 2006, 07:30
I seriously doubt if Tourney will play, he was been layed low with a virus of some kind and has taken the wind out of his sails. He had an interview on with dumb and bumber :p last week and said as much. He is nearly there but not quite yet from what I could gather.

The Porp for mine to take his spot in the side.

noddy
21 Feb 2006, 09:58
These pre-season comps are still only practice games although against the Paps a practice game with a bit of spice.

As per-usual i shall be keeping a close eye on last years intake that manage to get a game as well as seeing how much the Marics & Knights etc have improved with another full pre-season under their belts. ( gotta love the fox footy channel )

Great time of the year this & the juices are already flowing in anticipation of another great season. :thumbsu:

Oh by the way Crows by 29 points.:)

Capitalist
21 Feb 2006, 10:34
Well and truly DT IMO. He was our most ordinary player against Norwood.

He's a fine athlete but not a natural footballer.

Maric is a Basketballer – the guy looked as natural a footballer as I am a bikini model :eek: – yet he get all the laurels for being able to tap the ball at ruck contests – well funny about that considering he played basketball !

This board sometimes makes no sense – on one hand “its only a practice match” but on the other hand a player can lose his whole career over it ? that god the selectors don’t listen here !

I realise Jericho is not going to be a superstar but at 20 he has a lot to offer the AFC if Brett Burton can make it Luke Jericho can as well:cool:

topjars
21 Feb 2006, 11:23
Heh heh great post Capii.

Id like to win any match against the Porkers including this one.
Play the rookies though and all those that are 100% fit.

Crows by plenty:D

Spunky Surfer Sandy Cohen
21 Feb 2006, 11:44
Don't know what sort of crowd we'll get.

The Cricket and Soccer should both attract large audiences.

dyertribe
21 Feb 2006, 14:14
This board sometimes makes no sense – on one hand “its only a practice match” but on the other hand a player can lose his whole career over it ? that god the selectors don’t listen here !

Come on Cap, let's not sensationalise Macca's comments.

Clearly he wasn't basing Jericho's entire career prospects simply on his performance in the recent trial, but as the result of what he's shown to date and where he is now compared to the influx of exciting young midfielder/flankers that are competing with him for a spot.

At the beginning of 2005 Jericho would've been level with the likes of Reilly, Shirley, Skipworth and Mattner in that second tier of midfielders who had every chance to step up and seal a place in the team coming off what was an appalling year with what looked like a very thin list.

At the beginning of 2006 Jericho looks as far away as he's ever been - especially with the likes of Thompson, Mattner, Skipworth and Shirley having all laid the foundations for solid careers, while Van Berlo, Knights, Porplyzia, Vince and even a fit Bode are well and truly putting their names forward to assist the fab four.

All that considered, Macca's reference to Jericho's lacklustre performance against Norwood is simply an exclaimation point.

Mad Dog
21 Feb 2006, 14:16
why wouldn't Ben Hart get a run ?

:(

- PC -
21 Feb 2006, 14:26

Why?

He knows he will be playing round 1. Ease him into it and get 22+ rounds out of him when it means something

Capitalist
21 Feb 2006, 15:36
Come on Cap, let's not sensationalise Macca's comments.

Clearly he wasn't basing Jericho's entire career prospects simply on his performance in the recent trial, but as the result of what he's shown to date and where he is now compared to the influx of exciting young midfielder/flankers that are competing with him for a spot.

At the beginning of 2005 Jericho would've been level with the likes of Reilly, Shirley, Skipworth and Mattner in that second tier of midfielders who had every chance to step up and seal a place in the team coming off what was an appalling year with what looked like a very thin list.

At the beginning of 2006 Jericho looks as far away as he's ever been - especially with the likes of Thompson, Mattner, Skipworth and Shirley having all laid the foundations for solid careers, while Van Berlo, Knights, Porplyzia, Vince and even a fit Bode are well and truly putting their names forward to assist the fab four.

All that considered, Macca's reference to Jericho's lacklustre performance against Norwood is simply an exclaimation point.

your points still miss the mark completly - Thompson 22, Skipworth 23, Shirly 25 and Rielly also 22 and Mattner 23

so your telling me that these guys have moved ahead of Jericho at 21 (22 late this year) - well that really doesn't suprise me - and remember Porplyzia is also 21 Vince is 20 so all these guys have had time to develop or in the case of Porplyzia were told where to develop !

Look its not just Jericho that I am sticking up for the same stupid arguements went on about Mattner before this season (at age 22 last season) and Bock(21 last year). it probably goes on for other players - you cannot write a player off at 21

I am pretty sure at this time last year Bock wouldn't have been considered for drinks runner let alone out No.1 CHB

Mad Dog
21 Feb 2006, 15:42
Why?

He knows he will be playing round 1. Ease him into it and get 22+ rounds out of him when it means something
or....get him into the backline and get it settled before round 1....we need some experience down there particularly with Bass out...

but I take your point.....

dyertribe
21 Feb 2006, 15:46
your points still miss the mark completly

it probably goes on for other players - you cannot write a player off at 21

They don't actually. They make perfect sense, regardless of age.

It's all about progress, development and competition for places. Right now Jericho seems to be a long way down the list.

Players get delisted at 21, they get delisted at 25, they get delisted at 31.

I am pretty sure at this time last year Bock wouldn't have been considered for drinks runner let alone out No.1 CHB

You can count me out there, I've been on Bocky's bandwagon for a long long time.

Capitalist
21 Feb 2006, 16:04
They don't actually. They make perfect sense, regardless of age.

It's all about progress, development and competition for places. Right now Jericho seems to be a long way down the list.

Players get delisted at 21, they get delisted at 25, they get delisted at 31.

You can count me out there, I've been on Bocky's bandwagon for a long long time.

your right players get delisted at any time - but Jericho hasn't been delisted (ok maybe saved by the two year clause ?).
Also players generally don;t get delisted by playing 20 games in two yrs at age 19-20, unless they are the damien cupidos of the world or play for a ********e team like carlton.

The same can be said for Vince or Porplyzia when they start to struggle abit - the knives will be out from the supporters who expect every player to be a walk up start to a side in their first year ! (only a player like VB is that good :thumbsu: - how did he go at 24 in the draft)

dyertribe
21 Feb 2006, 16:16
also players generally don;t get delisted by playing 20 games in two yrs at age 19-20, unless they are the damien cupidos of the world or play for a ********e team like carlton.

I was hoping you'd mention the number of games Jericho has played ;)

Yes he's played 20 in the past two years, but it is worth noting that he played 15 in the trainwreck that was 2004, but could only manage 5 last year in what was infinitely superior side with many second tier players of his ilk standing up to be counted - and Jericho didn't.

Now back to my original point, with the fierce competition for places only hotting up further, it is fair to say that Jericho has to really pull his finger out in a bid to make it.

From the bulk of what we've seen of him so far (perceived low work ethic, lack of second effort, non-existant pace) and the challenge he faces from the gaggle of quality youngsters we have he will be up against it, regardless of his age.

The same can be said for Vince or Porplyzia when they start to struggle abit - the knives will be out from the supporters who expect every player to be a walk up start to a side in their first year ! (only a player like VB is that good :thumbsu: - how did he go at 24 in the draft)

First year players should be teflon-coated and free from unfair expectations or criticism I agree.

But someone like Jericho who is now entering his third or fourth year on the list should be expected to push hard for a berth in the 22 - and questions should be asked if and when he doesn't succeed.

It's a ruthless business these days - we may not like it at times, but if you're not good enough or don't have the will to succeed there will always be someone out there who is ready, willing and able to take your place.

Capitalist
21 Feb 2006, 16:29
From the bulk of what we've seen of him so far (perceived low work ethic, lack of second effort, non-existant pace) and the challenge he faces from the gaggle of quality youngsters we have he will be up against it, regardless of his age.

First year players should be teflon-coated and free from unfair expectations or criticism I agree.

But someone like Jericho who is now entering his third or fourth year on the list should be expected to push hard for a berth in the 22 - and questions should be asked if and when he doesn't succeed.

this leads back to my original point - Macca23 based his perception that others were in front of Jericho due to the trial match at Norwood. which the basis of my original post is that not much can really be taken a trial game.

It is most likely Jerichos make or break season, but from what I have seen I think he has alot more potential than people give him credit, out of all the guys 21 and below at the Crows he is still the only guy I have seen turn a game in the SANFL, probably knights would be another.

It will be interesting to see what he does in the NAB cup without Welsh

it will be also interesting to see if Meeson gets the nod over Maric

Stiffy_18
21 Feb 2006, 16:41

I thought he was injured (according to that article on club's website) :confused:

crows98
21 Feb 2006, 16:42
your points still miss the mark completly - Thompson 22, Skipworth 23, Shirly 25 and Rielly also 22 and Mattner 23

so your telling me that these guys have moved ahead of Jericho at 21 (22 late this year) - well that really doesn't suprise me - and remember Porplyzia is also 21 Vince is 20 so all these guys have had time to develop or in the case of Porplyzia were told where to develop !

Look its not just Jericho that I am sticking up for the same stupid arguements went on about Mattner before this season (at age 22 last season) and Bock(21 last year). it probably goes on for other players - you cannot write a player off at 21

I am with Caps on this one, it simply way to early to write Luke Jericho of just yet. If he can force his way into the side he can potentially keep a place on the half back line or as a forward.

How many wrote Nathan Bock off as well as Ben Rutten, plenty that who.

Give the lad a few weeks to get his fitness and if he can work his way into the side I would put money on it he keep his spot in the side.

jo172
21 Feb 2006, 16:43
My Team

FF: Andrew McLeod 23. Ken McGregor 16. Luke Jericho 30.
HF: Ian Perrie 22. Trent Hentsehl 37. Hadyn Skipworth 14.
C: Brett Burton 24. Scott Thompson 5. Martin Mattner 39.
HB: Nathan Van Berlo 7. Nathan Bock 44. Simon Goodwin 36.
FB: Graham Johncock 18. Ben Rutten 25. Jason Porplyzia 40.
1R: Rhett Biglands 35. Brent Reilly 33. Chris Knights 21.

INT: John Meesen 2. Ivan Maric 20. Robert Shirley 12.
Richard Douglas 26. Bernie Vince 28. Mathew Bode 10.

EMG: Tyson Edwards 9. John Hinge 38. Kris Massie 3.

I'll be at Adelaide Oval but I trust the bots to win in my absence!

Stiffy_18
21 Feb 2006, 16:46
I thought he was injured (according to that article on club's website) :confused:
I think we can't read too much into Jericho early this year. He had a groin surgery that robbed him of the pre-season. He only started training (modified footy training) when I went to the training session in mid-januray. He is not the most aerobically gifted player out there (he is athletically gifted no doubt) so he will take time to get to the required level of fitness.

Give the kid a chance.

Bockchoy67
21 Feb 2006, 16:54
My team:

FF: McLeod McGregor Knights
HF: Perrie Hentschel Skipworth
_C: Burton Thompson Mattner
HB: Van Berlo Bock Goodwin
FB: Johncock Rutten Torney
1R: Biglands Reilly Shirley
IN: Meesen Maric Douglas Bode Jericho Porplyzia

crows98
21 Feb 2006, 17:01
My team:

FF: McLeod McGregor Knights
HF: Perrie Hentschel Skipworth
HB: Van Berlo Bock Goodwin
1R: Biglands Reilly Shirley
IN: Meesen Maric Douglas Bode Jericho Porplyzia

my side

FF: Bode McGregor Skipworth
HF: Hentschel Perrie Shirley
HB: Reilly Bock McLeod
1R: Biglands Goodwin Knights
IN: Meesen Maric Van Berlo Douglas Jericho Vince

macca23
21 Feb 2006, 17:18
this leads back to my original point - Macca23 based his perception that others were in front of Jericho due to the trial match at Norwood. which the basis of my original post is that not much can really be taken a trial game.
It is most likely Jerichos make or break season, but from what I have seen I think he has alot more potential than people give him credit, out of all the guys 21 and below at the Crows he is still the only guy I have seen turn a game in the SANFL, probably knights would be another.

No Cappy, that's not what I did at all.

Firstly, let's clear up one point. I don't want Jericho or any other Crows player to fail. I'd rather that every one of them was an outstanding success, so that we were embarrassed by riches.

However, I'm not liking what I'm seeing with Jericho in respect of his development over the 3 years or so that he has been on our list. When we first drafted him, I thought that he had all the attributes in terms of pace kicking, athletic ability to be a very good player. If you check my past posts on Jericho, you'll find that he has gradually disappointed me with his lack of development, particularly in respect of a lack of hardness in his attck on the ball and the opposition with the ball.

Back to Friday night. my comments with Jericho, which I stand by, is that he played a very ineffectual game, and on that ONE game would have done his stocks for the season no good at all. Many other seemingly less talented or experienced players played far better than he did on the night and would have advanced their cause. However history has shown that can change for any player both positively and negatively in a matter of weeks, and let's hope that it does for Jericho. I won't be disappointed to be wrong, I'll be delighted.

By the way, I don't think that I'm the only one who thinks that Jericho has been passed by a lot of players in the last 3 years - DT summed it up beautifully.

As always time will tell.

macca23
21 Feb 2006, 17:21
I think we can't read too much into Jericho early this year. He had a groin surgery that robbed him of the pre-season. He only started training (modified footy training) when I went to the training session in mid-januray. He is not the most aerobically gifted player out there (he is athletically gifted no doubt) so he will take time to get to the required level of fitness.

Give the kid a chance.

You didn't have him in your 24 for this week Stiffy. :p

Stiffy_18
21 Feb 2006, 18:19
You didn't have him in your 24 for this week Stiffy. :p
Nope I didn't.

I think he needs time to work himself into shape. He has been training for only a month. Others have a bloody big start on him.

I think Jericho can develop into a very damaging AFL player. Sure he hasn't come on as many expected but he is still only a kid that clearly has some upside.

I am not ready to write him off. I think he has plenty to offer. Even last year he played a couple of good games. I thought he was very good against Essendon.

I do agree with Cap on the point that people here are a bit fickle. He would sing someone's praises from the day they are drafted and if they don't cement their spot within 3 years then all of a sudden they are the worst player on the list. Remember the flak that Bock copped this time last year after having a stinker of a SANFL Final (he wasn't the only one). That one game all of a sudden undid all of his good work during the year. The work where he dominated against Melbourne and Westerns Bulldogs. And the spanking he gave to a Brownlow Medallist Goodes on the SCG.

Lets not write the kid off yet. His game against Norwood wouldn't have changed much with regards to his standing within the AFC. They know more than either of us what they want from him, what his work ethic on the track is like or whether or not he has improved.

I had Jericho as a one of the standouts of the training session I went to. He didn't lose that ability after 1 trial game ;)

crowsarethebest
21 Feb 2006, 18:42
Hey Guys looking forward to a lob-sided match in favour of the crows:D.
My Side:
FB: Torney Rutten Johncock
CHB: Macca Bock Van Berlo
C: Reilly Thompson Mattner
CHF: Hentschell McGregor Burton
FF: Knights Perrie Skipworth
1R: Biglands Goodwin Shirley
IN: Maric, Meeson, Bode, Douglas, Vince, Porplyzia
I want Skipworth to get more game time in the middle. Give him a chance to prove himself. Pretty inexperienced line up but we need to start giving the youth a bit more of a go. This season I want every player to be 100%, if otherwise give the young kids a go. Perrie, McGregor, Hentschell and maybe Bock to rotate around.

Stiffy_18
21 Feb 2006, 19:39
I am very surprised that punters have us as the favourites to win the NAB Cup.

They get the impression that we are going all out to win it which, judging by everything thats been going on, is clearly not the case. Players that are not 100% will not be played even though if it was minor round games or finals, they would play.

I guess we are rated a lot higher outside of SA than we (or I) realise :confused:

lincsPJ
21 Feb 2006, 22:15
for the good of SA sport... why cant this match be brought forward to saturday night??!

adelaide oval will have my attendance this sunday... is anyone else favouring the redbacks first chance of silverware for 11yrs over the mickey mouse cup?

- PC -
21 Feb 2006, 22:35
or....get him into the backline and get it settled before round 1....we need some experience down there particularly with Bass out...

but I take your point.....
How long is Bassett out for?

The backline would be similar to round 15-22 last year I would suggest

Reilly Bock Johncock

Hart Rutten Bassett

I think they are experienced enough to be ''settled''

I see the nab cup as a development comp.. a bit different to bush and trial matches ... nab cup is just that step up so lets see how the new breed go

Sheeds
21 Feb 2006, 22:43
adelaide oval will have my attendance this sunday... is anyone else favouring the redbacks first chance of silverware for 11yrs over the mickey mouse cup?

I'll be certainly attending the Preliminary Final at Hindmarsh on sunday. Unfortunately I know of 4 or 5 people doing the same who certainly would have gone to the NAB if there were no clash.

Is the NAB crowd all that important? It is a pretty insignificant game in the scheme of things.

snakebite01
22 Feb 2006, 08:13
I'll be certainly attending the Preliminary Final at Hindmarsh on sunday. Unfortunately I know of 4 or 5 people doing the same who certainly would have gone to the NAB if there were no clash.

Is the NAB crowd all that important? It is a pretty insignificant game in the scheme of things.

I don't care what crowd the NAB Cup game gets, I just want the soccer and cricket to get a decent amount going.

Seeing as I want to watch all 3 matches, I'm taking the opportunity to spend this Sunday on the couch with the remote control getting a severe workout. The unfortunate thing is, I think a lot of people who have Foxtel will be like me and won't attend any games, preferring to see all 3 games live.

macca23
22 Feb 2006, 08:50
I don't care what crowd the NAB Cup game gets, I just want the soccer and cricket to get a decent amount going.

Seeing as I want to watch all 3 matches, I'm taking the opportunity to spend this Sunday on the couch with the remote control getting a severe workout. The unfortunate thing is, I think a lot of people who have Foxtel will be like me and won't attend any games, preferring to see all 3 games live.

Snap.

I do want to see all 3 and the only way I can do that is by sitting at home and channel surfing.

I'll record the footy onto the HDD though so that I can watch it in detail at leisure, so that I won't miss any thing.

crows98
22 Feb 2006, 09:10
Snap.

I do want to see all 3 and the only way I can do that is by sitting at home and channel surfing.

I'll record the footy onto the HDD though so that I can watch it in detail at leisure, so that I won't miss any thing.

Make that 3

NAB cup
A League (with a bit of the NAB cup during half time)
and then back to the NAB cup for the Coasters Vs Shockers rom 6:30pm

Wayne's-World
22 Feb 2006, 09:12

Cap for what its worth I agree 100% - there's a certain "romance" with new draftees that's created from these boards and media hype - and if the player doesn't live up to those expectations we set upom him.

Case is sample is Meesen & Maric - talked up over PS in the media as having made giant strides - yet in the space of one insignificant trial alot here have wiped them both off.

With regard to Jericho Iam on the record as saying he is my dark horse for an outstanding year - trouble with him is the AFC haven't really found his position yet his best footy so far has been in the midfield - does he have the endurance...who kmows?... but I certainly haven't written this kid off at 21:cool:

noddy
22 Feb 2006, 10:57

You are not alone. :thumbsu:

Mad Dog
22 Feb 2006, 11:29
your right players get delisted at any time - but Jericho hasn't been delisted (ok maybe saved by the two year clause ?).
)
In fairness I think the jury is still out on Jericho.....although deliberations are possibly at the point of stalemate as the jurors are starting to miss their families !..........but I think the only thing that saved Jericho from being cut last year was that Stevens Begley Ladhams and Watts jumped while at the same time we still had the calibre of Shuback Krueger and Smith to deal with. Possibly without these more obvious choices, Jericho might have been in the gun. No question the boy has natural athletic ability, but there has always been a query over his football ability and the occassional flinch.

I definately think there is still some time for him to show something but a few others have jumped over him in the queue in recent months.

Mad Dog
22 Feb 2006, 11:37
I am with Caps on this one, it simply way to early to write Luke Jericho of just yet. If he can force his way into the side he can potentially keep a place on the half back line or as a forward.

How many wrote Nathan Bock off as well as Ben Rutten, plenty that who.

Give the lad a few weeks to get his fitness and if he can work his way into the side I would put money on it he keep his spot in the side.
Interesting that Jericho, Bock, and Rutten have all been on the list the same period of time (this is their 4th year)....

Rutten played 2 games, 9, and then 25 for AA selection
Bock played 0, 18, and 16...and has effectively released Kenny to the fwd line

while Jericho has played 0, 15, and backed up with 5.

Rutten and Bock increased or maintained their presence in a much stronger and more successful year while Jericho went backwards (albiet after a limited prep for '05 granted)......but the point is that Jericho is well and truly due to start putting runs on the board

Mad Dog
22 Feb 2006, 11:49
How long is Bassett out for?

The backline would be similar to round 15-22 last year I would suggest

Reilly Bock Johncock

Hart Rutten Bassett

I think they are experienced enough to be ''settled''

I see the nab cup as a development comp.. a bit different to bush and trial matches ... nab cup is just that step up so lets see how the new breed go
Bass is around the mark but shouldn't come into calculations for the NAB cup IMO

crows98
22 Feb 2006, 15:48
Ben Rutten* will miss Sunday’s NAB game Vs Port Adelaide with a groin injury; hopefully it’s not a serious groin injury like OP or something to do with his hernia.

*Source: 5AA 4 o’clock news bulletin

Andrew McLeod, Tyson Edwards and Graham Johncock will play but Mark Ricciuto and Mathew Clark will miss another week.

Stiffy_18
22 Feb 2006, 15:54
Its a bummer. He didn't train today and has been sent for scans on his groin.

Lets hope he is ready by round 1.

What happens now? Do we play McGregor at FB and Bock at CHB. Get Meesen to play as a tall forward instead of McGregor or do we go down some other path??????

Interesting times ahead.

crows98
22 Feb 2006, 16:04
Its a bummer. He didn't train today and has been sent for scans on his groin.

Lets hope he is ready by round 1.

What happens now? Do we play McGregor at FB and Bock at CHB. Get Meesen to play as a tall forward instead of McGregor or do we go down some other path??????

Interesting times ahead.

I don’t mind that (stiffy’s option) as it still keep that structure in both attack and defence as allow someone else (possibly Maric in ruck and Meesen as a forward) to have that needed opportunity to shine.

Anyway remember it’s only a pre season game and it doesn’t matter if we win or lose, it about developing that team structure and system.

Stiffy_18
22 Feb 2006, 16:10
I don’t mind that (stiffy’s option) as it still keep that structure in both attack and defence as allow someone else (possibly Maric in ruck and Meesen as a forward) to have that needed opportunity to shine.

Anyway remember it’s only a pre season game and it doesn’t matter if we win or lose, it about developing that team structure and system.
True.

I just can't see anyone other than McGregor and Hentschel being capable of playing in key defensive positions. I would rather leave Trent in attack and make him our #1 target. It gives us a chace to see how he goes and we all know Kanny can do a very good job at the back.

Moving Kenny back also gives us the opportunity to play Meesen or Bonaddio as a key forward.

Stiffy_18
22 Feb 2006, 17:10
Nathan Bock was on 5AA (http://s4.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=0O7CTY9WMF2833EL5ZADRNDYDZ) today talking about the game against Port and about the prospects of a couple of other youngsters.

Tas
22 Feb 2006, 17:23
Who do you think will line up on Motlop? I am interested to see how well he plays. He was in good touch against the Port defenders but that is not really saying a lot, this should be a good test for him.

Stiffy_18
22 Feb 2006, 17:25
Who do you think will line up on Motlop? I am interested to see how well he plays. He was in good touch against the Port defenders but that is not really saying a lot, this should be a good test for him.
I reckon Van Berlo could get a crack at him. Maybe Torney if he plays.

Tas
22 Feb 2006, 17:40
I reckon Van Berlo could get a crack at him. Maybe Torney if he plays.

Cool, I was impressed with VB last year, and not just because they are great initials to have. ;)

SpringChoke
23 Feb 2006, 07:37
I obviously hope we win but at the moment i'm more concerned with the number of injuries we currently have.

Mad Dog
23 Feb 2006, 08:29
Nathan Bock was on 5AA (http://s4.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=0O7CTY9WMF2833EL5ZADRNDYDZ) today talking about the game against Port and about the prospects of a couple of other youngsters.
was a good interview....he put on 5 or 6 kilos last year....:eek: ....and another 2.5 over this summer

marvin
23 Feb 2006, 09:57
was a good interview....he put on 5 or 6 kilos last year....:eek: ....and another 2.5 over this summer

So did I........ :o

dyertribe
23 Feb 2006, 10:05

A few years ago we wanted all our stick insects in the gym, but geez, you'd hope they're not overdoing it and getting top heavy.

Last thing we'd want is another rash of knee injuries like 96.

Crowked
23 Feb 2006, 13:27
http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=247238

Adelaide squad: John Meesen, Kris Massie, Scott Thompson, Nathan Van Berlo, Tyson Edwards, Matthew Bode, Robert Shirley, Hayden Skipworth, Jason Torney, Ken McGregor, Graham Johncock, Ivan Maric, Chris Knight, Ian Perrie, Andrew McLeod, Brett Burton, Ben Rutten, Richard Douglas, Bernie Vince, Luke Jericho, Brent Reilly, Rhett Biglands, Simon Goodwin, Trent Hentschel, John Hinge, Martin Mattner, Jason Porplyzia, Nathan Bock

Port Adelaide squad: Warren Tredrea, Steven Salopek, Brendon Lade, Adam Thomson, Peter Burgoyne, Shaun Burgoyne, James Ezard, Ben Eckermann, Daniel Motlop, Danyle Pearce, Stuart Dew, Kane Cornes, Matthew Bishop, Dean Brogan, Michael Wilson, Josh Mahoney, Brad Symes, Damon White, Domenic Cassisi, Adam Kingsley, Troy Chaplin, Brett Ebert, Nathan Lonie, Michael Pettigrew, Fabian DeLuca, Jacob Surjan, Peter Walsh, Tim Logan

Stephen2
23 Feb 2006, 13:47
Crows by 10 goals.

Vader
23 Feb 2006, 13:55
What a difference 12 months makes.

Last year, the only youngster to play in the Wok was Van Berlo (feel free to correct me here).

In 2006, we have the following youngsters (1st or 2nd year recruits) playing:
Meesen
Van Berlo
Maric
Knights
Douglas
Vince
Hinge
Porplyzia

That's a great sign that the club is finally moving forward with the plans for life without Hart, Roo, Macca, Goody, Edwards & co.

crowsarethebest
23 Feb 2006, 14:45
Port have named a good side there. Expect a close one..

crows98
23 Feb 2006, 14:54
My side

FF: Bode McGregor Skipworth
HF: Hentschel Perrie Edwards
C: Burton Thompson Mattner
HB: Reilly Bock McLeod
FB: Johncock Rutten* Torney
1R: Biglands Goodwin Knights
IN: Meesen, Maric, Van Berlo, Shirley, Douglas, Jericho

To miss out: Massie, Hinge* (if Rutten doesn’t play) and Porplyzia

Doona2
23 Feb 2006, 15:53
http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=247238

Adelaide squad: John Meesen, Kris Massie, Scott Thompson, Nathan Van Berlo, Tyson Edwards, Matthew Bode, Robert Shirley, Hayden Skipworth, Jason Torney, Ken McGregor, Graham Johncock, Ivan Maric, Chris Knight, Ian Perrie, Andrew McLeod, Brett Burton, Ben Rutten, Richard Douglas, Bernie Vince, Luke Jericho, Brent Reilly, Rhett Biglands, Simon Goodwin, Trent Hentschel, John Hinge, Martin Mattner, Jason Porplyzia, Nathan Bock

Port Adelaide squad: Warren Tredrea, Steven Salopek, Brendon Lade, Adam Thomson, Peter Burgoyne, Shaun Burgoyne, James Ezard, Ben Eckermann, Daniel Motlop, Danyle Pearce, Stuart Dew, Kane Cornes, Matthew Bishop, Dean Brogan, Michael Wilson, Josh Mahoney, Brad Symes, Damon White, Domenic Cassisi, Adam Kingsley, Troy Chaplin, Brett Ebert, Nathan Lonie, Michael Pettigrew, Fabian DeLuca, Jacob Surjan, Peter Walsh, Tim Logan

From a Broadford point of view Im looking forward to watching both Richie Douglas and Jimmy Ezard on the park together, two former Calder team mates and ripper young blokes who are a credit to themselves.

Bockchoy67
23 Feb 2006, 16:20
From a Broadford point of view Im looking forward to watching both Richie Douglas and Jimmy Ezard on the park together, two former Calder team mates and ripper young blokes who are a credit to themselves.

Yet another positive report on young Richard. Thanks mate.

By the way, is it just me or has he built up a fair bit?

http://afc.com.au/cp2/c2/webi/article/247224ai.jpg

McLeodMagic
23 Feb 2006, 16:45

You can be the judge. :D

http://img113.imageshack.us/img113/1083/531507090kc.jpg

*PAF
23 Feb 2006, 17:19

Even the footy looks bulked up somewhat in that photo. :p

Gets!
23 Feb 2006, 17:34
His guns are huge.

Definetely bulked up :)

topjars
23 Feb 2006, 19:31
Expect Torney to miss which opens the door for Massies last game;)

Scott Van Persett
23 Feb 2006, 20:08
With Bassett, Torney, Hart and possibly Rutten missing from our backline as well as Roo, Welsh, Clarke, Doughty and half games for McLeod and Edwards, I think we will struggle to win this one, especially as the PAPS are almost at full strength-only Chad Cornes and Wakelin out of any value-and we know they will be all out to win.

Actually a match in Whyalla the following week, where we can further reward and mix with our supporters up there, is more alluring than a visit to Launceston.

However, I'll still be hoping we win.

Wayne's-World
23 Feb 2006, 20:27
A squad of 28 plus 7 injured leaves 35 out of a list of 38.

Bloody hard to miss out on a game if you ask me

Wayne's-World
23 Feb 2006, 20:29
]A few years ago we wanted all our stick insects in the gym[/B], but geez, you'd hope they're not overdoing it and getting top heavy.

Last thing we'd want is another rash of knee injuries like 96.
Can you make up your mind do you or don't you:confused: ;)

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
23 Feb 2006, 20:46
With Bassett, Torney, Hart and possibly Rutten missing from our backline as well as Roo, Welsh, Clarke, Doughty and half games for McLeod and Edwards, I think we will struggle to win this one, especially as the PAPS are almost at full strength-only Chad Cornes and Wakelin out of any value-and we know they will be all out to win.

Actually a match in Whyalla the following week, where we can further reward and mix with our supporters up there, is more alluring than a visit to Launceston.

Some good points. It will be interesting to see how we go.

Christ Tasmania. Its rubbish isn't it?

k
xx

maccas_no1
23 Feb 2006, 21:46
Some good points. It will be interesting to see how we go.

Christ Tasmania. Its rubbish isn't it?

k
xx

Nah Tassie is alright, noddy will be praying for a loss now though:p Bennett Oval will be rocking, the many Saturdays we used to spend there as kids.

Stiffy_18
23 Feb 2006, 21:47
I am actually thinking that Port will win this one.

We are just too depleted. No Roo, Hart, Bassett, Clarke and Doughty. Rutten and Torney unlikely to play and McLeod and Edwards only expected to play half a game. The game is won and lost in the center and I feel that Port will absolutely MOLEST us in the ruck and their onball brigade matches up pretty well against our depleted unit.

I just want us to give some youngsters a decent hitout and hone our skills and the game plan for round 1. This chap is not expecting a win.

Stiffy_18
23 Feb 2006, 21:48

That whole picture is out of proportion.

Anyone who was at Norwood last fiday night will tell you that the kid is build like a pink panther.

Stiffy_18
23 Feb 2006, 21:50
I obviously hope we win but at the moment i'm more concerned with the number of injuries we currently have.
I share your concern.

We have had a shorter PS than ususal but we have packed up a lot of stuff in that limited time. That appears to be taking its toll.

Lets hope come round 1 we will be in reasonable shape because right now we are pretty depleted. Its a PS comp after all and its a good chance to play youngsters as you are not losing a hell of a lot if you bomb out of the PS cup.

spice18
23 Feb 2006, 21:57
Port have named a good side there. Expect a close one..

You are right. I think the teams compare well on paper and Port seems a bit more balanced should the doubts on Torney etc remain. Certainly promises to be a close contest with the future of both sides on show for all to see.

The Crows Truth
23 Feb 2006, 21:58
fair dinkem logic says we cant possibly win this. why?

- injuries
- 'revenge' factor
- poor clubs need to win preseason more for liquidity reasons

Truck Rutten
23 Feb 2006, 22:09
Who is Wazza going to tag if Rutten doesn't play???

I think Port will get over the line in this one. We're undermanned in ruck, and our backline without Hart, Basset or Torney looks suspect, not to mention the possible/probable loss of the Truck. Will be interesting to see how the midfield performs without Roo.

Stiffy_18
23 Feb 2006, 22:11
Who is Wazza going to tag if Rutten doesn't play???
Bock or McGregor.

I reckon Bock

Doona2
23 Feb 2006, 22:31

I play cricket at Broadford with Richie's brother and used to play with Richie also until you buggers pinched him and railroaded our finals chances!!! Word has it at last visit back home he had already added 6kgs from the time he arrived at the Crows.

macca23
23 Feb 2006, 22:38

It's almost a reward for losing isn't it.

The result will mean nothing IMO as I'm sure both coaches will be experimenting.

Winning or losing for either side therefore is irrelevant. What will be important is how they play the game and how the youngsters of each team play.

I'm really looking forward to see how Knights, VB, Maric, Douglas and crew shape up against good opposition.

- PC -
23 Feb 2006, 23:10
Cant fkn wait!!!!! Told my gf not to make plans Sunday or the next 30 weekends :D she came back with ''dont make plans late at night '' :eek: :o

*PAF
23 Feb 2006, 23:28
... This chap is not expecting a win.
I actually think Port would be a fair bet to win the Wiz.
Does anyone have the odds for that?

- PC -
24 Feb 2006, 00:08
I actually think Port would be a fair bet to win the Wiz.
Does anyone have the odds for that?
$21

Found it here ;) (http://www.bigfooty.com/)

Allefgib
24 Feb 2006, 01:15
Cant fkn wait!!!!! Told my gf not to make plans Sunday or the next 30 weekends :D she came back with ''dont make plans late at night '' :eek: :o

awww.. she's offering to spend every night with you keeping you umm 'company'. Isnt that a lovely reward for your dedication to your club :)

rayven
24 Feb 2006, 02:19

looking at both squads i wouldnt be surprised if we got done easily:eek:

but then again a few of the new boys might get under ports gaurd

No 1 Draft Pick
24 Feb 2006, 05:32
I am actually thinking that Port will win this one.

We are just too depleted. No Roo, Hart, Bassett, Clarke and Doughty. Rutten and Torney unlikely to play and McLeod and Edwards only expected to play half a game. The game is won and lost in the center and I feel that Port will absolutely MOLEST us in the ruck and their onball brigade matches up pretty well against our depleted unit.

I just want us to give some youngsters a decent hitout and hone our skills and the game plan for round 1. This chap is not expecting a win.

i agree. cant see the crowies winning this one. i cant believe the crows are paying 8-1 to win the nab cub. would be very dumb money following that imo.

as paf said port power paying 21-1 actually looks like a decent bet. if they beat us (which i think they will do by 4-6 goals) then they have either hawks or tigers in tassie - hardly sleepless nights stuff. then possibly a semi and final (depending on goal difference iirc) in adelaide could make this a good valued proposition. why would they be 14th favourite and the crows 3rd considering our major agenda is trying out youth??

Mr Magoo
24 Feb 2006, 05:56
So i guess, that i'll be needing one of these this week...

http://www.sherryscamping.com.au/images/lifejacket%20small.jpg

The flood is on :D

An interesting piece in today's paper (advertiser)....

http://www.theadvertiser.news.com.au/footy/story_page/0,8747,18253834%255E25397,00.html

Arch rivals Adelaide and Port Adelaide yesterday showed their hand for the NAB Cup pre-season opener by naming 20 players - the Crows nine and Power 11 - aged 21 and under in their 28-man squads. Development became the buzz word with neither Adelaide nor Port prepared to risk any player carrying a niggling injury.

Adelaide's youth brigade is led by No. 1 draft pick Richard Douglas, a highly-skilled but lightweight midfielder, second-year ruckmen Ivan Maric and John Meesen, rookies Bernie Vince, John Hinge and Jason Porplyzia - all who have yet to play an AFL game - Nathan van Berlo, Chris Knights and Luke Jericho.

Port, which did not pick any of last year's national draft picks, still went down the youth line. Its 21 and unders include Steven Salopek, Adam Thomson, James Ezard, Ben Eckermann, Danyle Pearce, Brad Symes, Troy Chaplin, Michael Pettigrew, Fabian Deluca, Jacob Surjan and rookie-listed former Lion Tom Logan. Pettigrew, still struggling for fitness after a knee injury, is likely to be among the four omissions. Key off-season recruits Daniel Motlop (ex-Kangaroos) and Nathan Lonie (Hawthorn) will debut for their new club.

Some very promising young talent among that group of players. :thumbsu:

SpringChoke
24 Feb 2006, 07:46
So i guess, that i'll be needing one of these this week...

http://www.sherryscamping.com.au/images/lifejacket%20small.jpg

The flood is on :D

An interesting piece in today's paper (advertiser)....

http://www.theadvertiser.news.com.au/footy/story_page/0,8747,18253834%255E25397,00.html

Arch rivals Adelaide and Port Adelaide yesterday showed their hand for the NAB Cup pre-season opener by naming 20 players - the Crows nine and Power 11 - aged 21 and under in their 28-man squads. Development became the buzz word with neither Adelaide nor Port prepared to risk any player carrying a niggling injury.

Adelaide's youth brigade is led by No. 1 draft pick Richard Douglas, a highly-skilled but lightweight midfielder, second-year ruckmen Ivan Maric and John Meesen, rookies Bernie Vince, John Hinge and Jason Porplyzia - all who have yet to play an AFL game - Nathan van Berlo, Chris Knights and Luke Jericho.

Port, which did not pick any of last year's national draft picks, still went down the youth line. Its 21 and unders include Steven Salopek, Adam Thomson, James Ezard, Ben Eckermann, Danyle Pearce, Brad Symes, Troy Chaplin, Michael Pettigrew, Fabian Deluca, Jacob Surjan and rookie-listed former Lion Tom Logan. Pettigrew, still struggling for fitness after a knee injury, is likely to be among the four omissions. Key off-season recruits Daniel Motlop (ex-Kangaroos) and Nathan Lonie (Hawthorn) will debut for their new club.

Some very promising young talent among that group of players. :thumbsu:

I bet the other 14 clubs are saying exactly the same thing about their UNTRIED youngsters. I reckon you guys should win this one and win it well.

Crows by 15pts.

SpringChoke
24 Feb 2006, 07:52
fair dinkem logic says we cant possibly win this. why?

- injuries
- 'revenge' factor
- poor clubs need to win preseason more for liquidity reasons

That should give us added incentive. One of our goals should be to ensure Port Power remains cash poor.

noddy
24 Feb 2006, 08:05
Well what ever happens the loser will not be coming up to Whyalla the week after due to the Bennett oval not being up to AFL standard. :mad:

So there goes my chance (if we manage to lose to the Paps on sunday that is ) of giving you guys a full game summary of the Crows v Hawks/Tigers game.

Was even going to watch the other mob play with a couple of Pap mates if they were coming up but that's what happens when the local league takes for ever in it's preparation of the playing surface.

*PAF
24 Feb 2006, 08:38
i agree. cant see the crowies winning this one. i cant believe the crows are paying 8-1 to win the nab cub. would be very dumb money following that imo.

as paf said port power paying 21-1 actually looks like a decent bet. if they beat us (which i think they will do by 4-6 goals) then they have either hawks or tigers in tassie - hardly sleepless nights stuff. then possibly a semi and final (depending on goal difference iirc) in adelaide could make this a good valued proposition. why would they be 14th favourite and the crows 3rd considering our major agenda is trying out youth??
The Wiz cup is more predictable than most people say. The teams that are fielded depend on what stage the Club is at.
If a team is trying to change its game plan, then they will field mostly players from their 22 since they are the ones that need to practice it, and thus be very competitive.
If a team needs to start rebuilding or their squad and game plan is settled then they will use the opportunity to give youngsters a run and thus be the opposite of competitive, and so on.

Port this year needs to "integrate" a few youngsters into the 22 BUT the youngsters in question already have games under their belt, thus IF they "slot in" the team will be very competitive in the Wiz.
Obviously we could lose straight away, but given the circumstances the odds on offer are very attractive.

If a team makes the finals then of course they go almost all out to win it. Anyone that says otherwise is fooling themselves. Not only is the money on offer at that stage too good to say no to, but once you get so close to round one winning form is good form.

Not too different to 2001 for us in some ways.

Mad Dog
24 Feb 2006, 08:58
The Wiz cup is more predictable than most people say. The teams that are fielded depend on what stage the Club is at.
If a team is trying to change its game plan, then they will field mostly players from their 22 since they are the ones that need to practice it, and thus be very competitive.
If a team needs to start rebuilding or their squad and game plan is settled then they will use the opportunity to give youngsters a run and thus be the opposite of competitive, and so on.

Port this year needs to "integrate" a few youngsters into the 22 BUT the youngsters in question already have games under their belt, thus IF they "slot in" the team will be very competitive in the Wiz.
Obviously we could lose straight away, but given the circumstances the odds on offer are very attractive.
If a team makes the finals then of course they go almost all out to win it. Anyone that says otherwise is fooling themselves.

You left 1 catagory out......those clubs that need the cash.....so I'm expecting you boys to give it a RHG given that a successful preseason campaign might just help pay the bills.....;)

SpringChoke
24 Feb 2006, 09:12

If a team makes the finals then of course they go almost all out to win it. Anyone that says otherwise is fooling themselves. Not only is the money on offer at that stage too good to say no to, but once you get so close to round one winning form is good form.

A question for you PAF. Provided you are at full strength and your youngsters are all showing signs, how would you like your 22 to look come rnd 1?

Crow-mo
24 Feb 2006, 09:13
A squad of 28 plus 7 injured leaves 35 out of a list of 38.

Bloody hard to miss out on a game if you ask me

you and your pesky facts ;)

crows98
24 Feb 2006, 09:14
You left 1 catagory out......those clubs that need the cash.....so I'm expecting you boys to give it a RHG given that a successful preseason campaign might just help pay the bills.....;)

And transform that into 5000 extra members

- PC -
24 Feb 2006, 09:54
I bet the other 14 clubs are saying exactly the same thing about their UNTRIED youngsters. I reckon you guys should win this one and win it well.

Crows by 15pts.
The truth is revealed Springy is a Power man after all :thumbsu: :D :eek:

SpringChoke
24 Feb 2006, 12:49
The truth is revealed Springy is a Power man after all :thumbsu: :D :eek:

Bugger..I've been outed.

*PAF
24 Feb 2006, 13:10
A question for you PAF. Provided you are at full strength and your youngsters are all showing signs, how would you like your 22 to look come rnd 1?
That is not such an easy question.
The best team will always be the one that has the most experienced players in it, but for us to go forward fielding such a team will be a silly move. the end of the year must always be the focus.

I would like to see Lonie, Motlop, Salopek, Ebert (in midfield), Pearce, Chaplin and Pettigrew in the team starting 18. I would also like to see Thomson and White in the 22 with all players mentioned persevered with for a good 10 or so rounds. That is 9 players.
In case someone asks, with Lade rotating to the forward line, then Pettigrew on the HFF is the best option IMO. With Lade not in the forward line, then IMO White is the better option at FF or Tredrea FF and White CHF.
I'd also like to see White tried out at FB or near there at some stage.

Sounds like a lot of fresh blood, but none of them will be playing their first game so it's not so bad.
Like I said the focus should be the end of the year, thus give them a good solid start, perhaps rest them somewhat in the middle of the year since they are not battle hardened so to speak, and then unleash them again before the end.
Every team should always aim at winning the premiership, and IMO if that is to happen the above players need to be a major part of that.
Can these players make the grade? Who knows, but I'd like to find out. Our most experienced 22 will not win the premiership, with some new blood perhaps we will have a chance.

EDIT: Just to clarify the not so called rookies bit, we have:
Lonie, 67 games but new to the club.
Motlop 47 games and new to the club.
So neither of them is exactly inexperienced.

Ebert 33 games but no midfield time
Salopek 26 games but no continuity in games so far.
White 18
Pettigrew 15
Chaplin 9
Pearce 7
Thomson 2

IMO they all must be played as much as possible in the first 10 or so games at least.
Eckerman and Ezard I have no idea about since I have not seen enough of them, but 9 new faces is plenty.