View Full Version : Brisbane Lions vs. Essendon Bombers

Pages : [1] 2

McLeod23
24 Feb 2006, 19:16
Lets get ready to rumble.

Should be a good game, both teams looking to hit back after last year.

Both teams will do a hell of a lot better this season than in 2005, IMHO.

Great to have footy back.

roostersgal4eva
24 Feb 2006, 19:17
absolutly!!!!

GO LIONS!!!!

Smokin_Joe
24 Feb 2006, 19:29
Glad to have the footy back :D

Lets hope for a great game and no injuries to both sides.

GO DONS !

gandaal
24 Feb 2006, 19:41
Wonderful kick that Campo...

BATTERY
24 Feb 2006, 19:48
Brisbane Lions 0.6.3.1 10
Essendon Bombers 0.0.0.1

BATTERY
24 Feb 2006, 19:49
Brisbane Lions 0.6.3.1 10
Essendon Bombers 0.6.0.7

mcphee_is_a_gun
24 Feb 2006, 19:50
Bradley looks awesome 2 great marks!

Syd Kennets
24 Feb 2006, 19:52
bah not paying our super goal.

CammoAU
24 Feb 2006, 19:56
I like the look of Mitch Clark. Nothing pretty in how he goes about it, but the 2nd and 3rd efforts, and the tank to get to a contest is very impressive.

This rookie listed bloke in Harding isn't too bad either. Bradley is looking very ominious too.

Lovely first touch for Campo too :D :D :D

mantis
24 Feb 2006, 20:03
Bombers 4.1.25
Lions 2.4.16

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 20:04
Bombers 31
Lions 16

roostersgal4eva
24 Feb 2006, 20:10
feck!!!!

mantis
24 Feb 2006, 20:11
NAB Cup Round 1 2006
ESSENDON v. BRISBANE LIONS

Current Scores

ESSENDON 0. 5.1 31
BRISBANE LIONS 0. 2.5 17

Quarter Time
Score: Essendon lead by 14 points.
Venue: Carrara

ESSENDON:
Stanton, Lloyd, M Johnson, Lucas, Monfries

BRISBANE LIONS:
Clarke, Wood

roostersgal4eva
24 Feb 2006, 20:12
thats shocking kicking....:(

leigh wont care about the result as much i dont think...

but we r playing effendon so I do care :p

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 20:13
Qtr Time

Bombers - 31
Lions - 17

Brennan hit the post in the dying seconds roostersgal.

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 20:13
thats shocking kicking....:(

leigh wont care about the result as much i dont think...

but we r playing effendon so I do care :p

Nah not that bad - 3 points were from a rushed behind.

roostersgal4eva
24 Feb 2006, 20:15
Nah not that bad - 3 points were from a rushed behind.
ahh ok - its 8.45atmo and we havent bounced the ball on the telly yet

Chezwick
24 Feb 2006, 20:15
Interesting seeing Mal in the centre. Might be interesting to see how he goes.

Vossys off to a good start :D

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 20:16
Bombers supergoal now being paid!!

Bombers now 34 Lions 17

Adelaide Hawk
24 Feb 2006, 20:17
Good to see Essendon experimenting with alternative jumpers :)

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 20:17
ahh ok - its 8.45atmo and we havent bounced the ball on the telly yet

Hell we don't get to 'bounce the ball' on tv till 10.30pm tonight!! And it's not as if Ch9 are showing RL on tv tonight - AND it's on at 8.30 (or maybe even live) into the Gold Coast on WIN TV. But no, not in Brisbane :mad:

I'm listening on ABC Radio. It's killing me! Thankfully bubby has finally gone to bed - so she's not yelling at me over the radio anymore!

Chezwick
24 Feb 2006, 20:18
Hell we don't get to 'bounce the ball' on tv till 10.30pm tonight!! And it's not as if Ch9 are showing RL on tv tonight - AND it's on at 8.30 (or maybe even live) into the Gold Coast on WIN TV. But no, not in Brisbane :mad:

I hear ya.

Channel 9 are showin some crap movie aren't they?

roostersgal4eva
24 Feb 2006, 20:19

I'm listening on ABC Radio. It's killing me! Thankfully bubby has finally gone to bed - so she's not yelling at me over the radio anymore!
the fecking sux - shame 9/fox shame!!!

hope that 7&10 do better than that

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 20:20
I hear ya.

Channel 9 are showin some crap movie aren't they?

They're showing "my big fat greek wedding" I think. I was speaking to someone at the Lions today who was telling me they petitioned ch9 to show it into Brisbane seeing as it was 'live against the gate' on the Gold Coast - but 9 wouldn't have a bar of it.

mantis
24 Feb 2006, 20:20
Bombers supergoal now being paid!!

Bombers now 34 Lions 17

I saw that, good stuff.

roostersgal4eva
24 Feb 2006, 20:21
riska knows how to put his body in doesnt he!!!!

mitch clarke looks very impressive

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 20:22
riska knows how to put his body in doesnt he!!!!

Great kid Rischitelli. I'm following as best I can on radio and afl.com.au stats - but I'm itching to see it on tv!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

roostersgal4eva
24 Feb 2006, 20:23
Great kid Rischitelli. I'm following as best I can on radio and afl.com.au stats - but I'm itching to see it on tv!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
hope he gets more of a go in the seniors

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 20:25
Lions 'super goal' - kicked from 5 meters out LOL

Was from a free kick & 50m penalty awarded outside 50 - so it's counted as a supergoal!

Oops was kicked by Merrett I think.

Chezwick
24 Feb 2006, 20:25
They're showing "my big fat greek wedding" I think. I was speaking to someone at the Lions today who was telling me they petitioned ch9 to show it into Brisbane seeing as it was 'live against the gate' on the Gold Coast - but 9 wouldn't have a bar of it.

Blame Eddie, I say :D

Adcocks doing well early. Mitch Clark off to a flyer :thumbsu:

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 20:26
And Lucas replies with a goal for the Bombers

Scores now

Bombers 41
Lions 27

roostersgal4eva
OMG seeing shermo in the 11 gurnesy is gonna take time getting use to :p

Chezwick
Nice Supergoal.... who kicked it in from outside?

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 20:27
OMFG Radio feed just went dead!

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 20:28
Phew............it's back

There would have been some bloodshed in this household if it didn't come back on!

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 20:29
Nice Supergoal.... who kicked it in from outside?

It wasn't. Free kick with 50m penalty awarded to Merrett from outside 50. He only kicked it from 5m out - but counted as goal kicked from where free was first awarded.

Chezwick
Where you getting the radio feed from?

matty_saints
whats the url for stats? mine isnt working

BATTERY
24 Feb 2006, 20:30
Bombers 41
Lions 34

LoneStar
24 Feb 2006, 20:31
whats the url for stats? mine isnt workingTry disabling norton

Homer Jnr
Whats with all the 50m penalties?

*Danni*
Where you getting the radio feed from?

I'm listening on the radio. 612 4QR in Brisbane.

roostersgal4eva
24 Feb 2006, 20:32
Try disabling norton
or Zone Alarm if you got it

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 20:33
whats the url for stats? mine isnt working

Go to Afl.com.au
Select link from the top left side of screen where there are 4 rotating stories - one of them is about live stats - click on the 'live now' bold words.

roostersgal4eva
24 Feb 2006, 20:35
arnt the umpires a bunch of punces - i wouldnt give 1/2 of the 50 penalties given in a school carnival!!!!!

roostersgal4eva
24 Feb 2006, 20:36
oh looking at how we are winning the ball in the midde ive think we have got the recurit of the year....

shaun rehn :p

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 20:37
3rd Goal to Mitch Clark

41 points a piece!!

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 20:38
oh looking at the game.............

Shaddup.....:mad:

roostersgal4eva
24 Feb 2006, 20:38
Shaddup.....:mad:
im sorry :(

Chezwick
24 Feb 2006, 20:39
Judging by the nice little thing AFL.com.au, that was one hell of a goal. Good work Clarkey!!!!

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 20:41
im sorry :(

Don't be!! It's my grouchy nature tonight I think. After spending so much time with them all, now not seeing anyone for 2 weeks and trying to adjust to 'life after footy' I'm really struggling tonight. Like everytime the radio commentators say 'Rog' to Roger Merrett in the box, I keep thinking they're about to say something about Daniel Merrett. I'm just really really really struggling!!

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 20:43
Half Time

Bombers - 49
Lions - 41

roostersgal4eva
24 Feb 2006, 20:43
try meditating during half time...see if that works

TheBrownDog
24 Feb 2006, 20:44
Snuck a quick look at the scores (I'm at work).

3 goals to Mitch Clark in a half :D :D :D :D

Chezwick
24 Feb 2006, 20:45
Fairly decent half for both teams, just judging from the stat sheets.

Lions outscored Bombers in that last quater. Hope the momentum keeps up in the second half :thumbsu:

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 20:45
try meditating during half time...see if that works

Hehe not going to work! For someone who is feeling 'footyed out' in general, I've certainly got my spark back tonight! Funnily enough if it was on tv I probably wouldn't be as anxious to see it as I am now that it isn't on!!

mantis
24 Feb 2006, 20:48
NAB Cup Round 1 2006

Current Scores

ESSENDON 1. 4.1 1. 6.4 49
BRISBANE LIONS 0. 2.5 1. 4.8 41

Half Time
Score: Essendon lead by 8 points.

ESSENDON:
Stanton (9 point), Lucas 2, Lloyd, M Johnson, Monfries, Lovett

BRISBANE LIONS:
Merrett (9 point), Clark 3, Wood

Live report - quarter 2
The Bombers went forward first after Stanton received a free kick in the centre, but Voss was given a free kick off half back and they rebounded.
The Bombers then had a chance to kick for goal, with Lovett receiving the ball inside 50. But he was tackled as he kicked and a free kick was paid against him for holding the ball.

Brisbane had the next shot on goal with Brennan kicking across his body, but Fletcher was able to spoil and the ball went over for a behind.

Lovett-Murray then combined with Bolton to kick the Bombers inside 50, but Michael was able to spoil over Lloyd for a throw in.

Lovett-Murray was again involved in the action as he passed to Lloyd, who marked this time at half forward. He passed to Peverill who kicked inside 50 to McVeigh, who marked 40m out. His kick went across the face of goals for a behind.

Brisbane then went forward and received a 50m penalty for late contact in the marking contest, bringing him to only a few metres out from goal. Merrett kicked the goal which was awarded as a super goal because the original mark was taken outside 50.

Then some great hard work by McVeigh set up Lucas for his second goal of the night. It was kicked off by Monfries in the pocket, who got the ball across to McVeigh in the centre. He in turn got the ball to Lucas who snapped from only 15m out.

The Lions then went forward with Merrett kicking for goal from outside 50m. But his kick went across the face for one behind.

Brisbane then went forward again and marked through Clark. He kicked his second goal from only metres out to bring Brisbane back within 7 points.

The game then tightened up considerably, with both sides unable to break free.

But it was Brisbane who lined up for goal next, after Slattery was caught holding the ball only 30m out from goal. Thankfully the shot for goal was a poor one, and Brisbane only scored one behind.

Brisbane were getting on top, as they again went forward and marked through Clark. He went back and kicked his third goal of the game.

Brisbane went forward once more, but Fletcher was able to win the ball back for the Bombers. Watson then won a free kick in the centre and kicked to Welsh at half forward. He in turn went long to Lloyd in the goal square who was able to handball quickly to Lovett, who then kicked his first goal. It was a steadier the Bombers needed.

The Bombers appeared to have lifted after that goal, and followed it up with another shot on goal through Lloyd. He picked up the ball 40m out and snapped a quick shot over his shoulder, but it bounced through for a behind.

The Dons had one more shot on goal for the quarter with Lovett-Murray getting a quick shot away before the siren sounded for half time.

mcphee_is_a_gun
24 Feb 2006, 20:49
Poor 2nd quarter from the Dons.

roostersgal4eva
24 Feb 2006, 20:49
Hehe not going to work! For someone who is feeling 'footyed out' in general, I've certainly got my spark back tonight! Funnily enough if it was on tv I probably wouldn't be as anxious to see it as I am now that it isn't on!!

fair enough...

i hope i can answer some questions that u cant get answered on the radio

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 20:50
Thanks Mantis!

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 20:50
fair enough...

i hope i can answer some questions that u cant get answered on the radio

1 hr 40 mins till I can watch it on tv - don't worry darl I'll be watching!!

I was gonna do a Jonathan Brown/Superbowl and hold out till I could watch it on tv or a tape of it before getting any sort of score or info - but I didn't have the will power!:D

mantis
24 Feb 2006, 20:53
Thanks Mantis!

No probs, here's the 1st qtr report.

Live report - quarter 1
The Bombers were the first to go into attack, but Lucas gave away a handball to the Lions and they rebounded.
They went into attack and the Bombers rushed through the first behind of the night, which under the new rules was three points to Brisbane.

The Bombers then ran the ball out of defence to half forward, but Heffernan was unable to find a target and the Lions went back into attack. They had a long shot for goal through Keating, but he could only score a behind.

The Bombers then got some play going with Camporeale finding Lovett at half forward. He kicked to Stanton in the goal square but he couldn’t mark. Camporeale then picked up the ball and had a banana shot for goal, which went through for a behind.

A good mark by Bradley at half back kicked off some good play by the Bombers. But the Lions were winning at half back as well, and they went back inside 50. Brennan passed to Clark who kicked the first goal to the Lions.

The Bombers went forward from the next centre bounce and responded immediately with a great goal to Stanton. He ran to about 60m our and booted a terrific goal on the run. It was clearly a super goal, but not paid by the umpires.

Another great mark to Bradley off half back was also followed up with a 50m penalty for interference in the marking contest. But his kick to Lloyd at half forward was a poor one, and the Lions rebounded.

Then the new recruit Camporeale was able to get a quick kick inside 50 and found Lloyd on the long lead. He kicked for goal from 40m out and booted his first of the match.

The Bombers were full of running as Heffernan bounced his way around the wing, and then passed perfectly to Mark Johnson in the forward pocket. He went back and kicked the goal to give the Bombers the early lead.

Essendon again pressed forward from the centre bounce, and it was followed up with McVeigh kicking inside 50 to Lucas. He marked on the lead, and Lucas was pushed after the mark and so received a 50m penalty under the new rules. He proceeded to kick the goal from directly in front and extend the Bombers lead.

Brisbane then went into attack and received a free kick for a push against Lovett-Murray, and Wood kicked his first goal for Brisbane.

The Bombers then put together a great passage of play, kicked off by a very good second effort by Lucas on the wing. He got the ball to McVeigh, who in turn kicked long inside 50 to Lloyd. Lloyd tapped the ball on to Monfries who then kicked his first goal of the night.

Brisbane then had the next shot on goal with a long kick from Brennan outside 50. His kick was a good one, but it hit the post for one behind.

The siren then sounded for quarter time, with the Bombers taking the honours in the first term.

Pre-match report: The Bombers have finalised their team, with Andrew Lee, Richard Cole, Dean Rioli and Tristan Cartledge out of the squad. Brisbane will also be without Ashley McGrath and Daniel Bradshaw. It is a warm night tonight, but not as hot as it can get up here in Brisbane.

roostersgal4eva
24 Feb 2006, 20:55
1 hr 40 mins till I can watch it on tv - don't worry darl I'll be watching!!

I was gonna do a Jonathan Brown/Superbowl and hold out till I could watch it on tv or a tape of it before getting any sort of score or info - but I didn't have the will power!:D
lol - i couldnt wait to here the scores...

hey dan - i cant believe its ten years of the Brissie Lions already :eek:

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 20:56
lol - i couldnt wait to here the scores...

hey dan - i cant believe its ten years of the Brissie Lions already :eek:

I know! I'm really looking forward to the Ball in June - amazing how much there is to be celebrated from a 10 year period! Mind you it's on a Thursday night - me and Lions Balls/formal functions have a habit of ending as the sun comes up the next day - so I'll have to remember to book that friday as a day 'not at work'!!

roostersgal4eva
24 Feb 2006, 20:58
I know! I'm really looking forward to the Ball in June - amazing how much there is to be celebrated from a 10 year period! Mind you it's on a Thursday night - me and Lions Balls/formal functions have a habit of ending as the sun comes up the next day - so I'll have to remember to book that friday as a day 'not at work'!!

OMG I really wish i could go :( there is no way I could save enough if im still stuck as a casual by then :(

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 20:59
Ohh come on - Start the 2nd half already!!!!!!!!

Chezwick
24 Feb 2006, 21:02
Scott Harding is travelling nicely. He's leading in Contested Possessions, Uncontested, Effective kicks and Inside 50s. Second overall in the ratings behind Mark McVeigh

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 21:05
and a Goal to Brennan!

Bombers - 49
Lions - 47

roostersgal4eva
24 Feb 2006, 21:06
a mate im talking to on msn said that riska took a good mark....anyone see it

Chezwick
24 Feb 2006, 21:06
Must of just been inside the 50 for that one. Go Brennan :D

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 21:09
I've missed a Lions behind somewhere!

Goal to Essendon

Bombers 55
Lions 48

Chezwick
24 Feb 2006, 21:09
Beautiful switch play there for that Scott Lucas goal

Alkaline
24 Feb 2006, 21:10
Lloyd getting a bit of a grab there on the boundary line, if you know what i mean ;)

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 21:10
Pask apparently laid a ripper of a tackle on Lloyd - Go Marty!!

Alkaline
24 Feb 2006, 21:12
Pask apparently laid a ripper of a tackle on Lloyd - Go Marty!!
Lloyd grabbed him in the you know whats as well. Well, thats what it looked like.

Chezwick
24 Feb 2006, 21:14
Stanton scores a behind.

Come on Lions

roostersgal4eva
24 Feb 2006, 21:14
the inclusion of browny braddles and aker would make a huge difference

roostersgal4eva
24 Feb 2006, 21:15
OMG i just saw somthing id though id never see

lloyd being unselfish :p

Chezwick
24 Feb 2006, 21:16
OMG i just saw somthing id though id never see

lloyd being unselfish :p

:eek:

Staton has had 8 disposals in 15 minutes. Impressive

*Danni*
Lions behind to Power

*Danni*
Goal to Camporeale

Crikey it's weird using that name with Essendon - don't know how I'll get used to that one!

Chezwick
24 Feb 2006, 21:18
Camporele goals :(

mcphee_is_a_gun
24 Feb 2006, 21:19
the inclusion of browny braddles and aker would make a huge difference
We're missing good players too. Its only a pre-sean match so why play them.

roostersgal4eva
24 Feb 2006, 21:19
yep - we kick beinds and they end up with a goal....

roostersgal4eva
24 Feb 2006, 21:20
We're missing good players too. Its only a pre-sean match so why play them.
exactly - but we still would win even if both teams were full strenth :p ;)

Alkaline
24 Feb 2006, 21:21
Lions behind to Power
Bombers behind.

Alkaline
24 Feb 2006, 21:22
3 Minutes Remaining.

Bris - 49
Ess - 65

Alkaline
24 Feb 2006, 21:23
Bombers behind

Bris - 49
Ess - 66

Johnson#26
24 Feb 2006, 21:26
Dons going along quite nicely. Should end up comfortatble victors.

3/4 time - 49 plays 66 - Ess favor.

eddiesmith
24 Feb 2006, 21:26
Is the fat pig playing today? Or has he moved from Willy to Bendigo? :p

mcphee_is_a_gun
24 Feb 2006, 21:27
Is the fat pig playing today? Or has he moved from Willy to Bendigo? :p
not playing.

roostersgal4eva
24 Feb 2006, 21:29
great - another thread ruined by eddiesmuth

eddiesmith
24 Feb 2006, 21:30
not playing.

Oh, whats wrong, no KFC in Brisbane? :p

What a pickup for the Dons, cant even get on the ground :D

Johnson#26
24 Feb 2006, 21:31
Hird talking now on Ch9.

That Scott Harding has been impressive.

Chezwick
Lions kicked 1 goal 2 behinds, Essendon 2 goals 5. McVeigh is going good tonight. Harding is the best of the Lions so far.

mantis
NAB Cup Round 1 2006

Current Scores

ESSENDON 1. 4.1 1. 6.4 1. 8.9 66
BRISBANE LIONS 0. 2.5 1. 4.8 1. 5.10 49

Three Quarter Time
Score: Essendon lead by 17 points.

ESSENDON:
Stanton (9 point), Lucas 3, Lloyd, M Johnson, Monfries, Lovett, Camporeale

BRISBANE LIONS:
Merrett (9 point), Clark 3, Wood, Brennan

Live report - quarter 3
Watson put the Bombers into attack first up, and Camporeale booted the ball long to the pocket where it went out of bounds. Brisbane then went into attack where Brennan kicked long for goals and slotted it through for his first goal.
Brisbane again went forward put a big punch from Fletcher forced the ball through just for one behind.

New recruit Paddy Ryder then found Lucas on the long lead, who marked just inside 50m. He went back and kicked his third goal of the game to answer the Lions first goal of the second half.

Brisbane were the next to attack, but it was short-lived as the Bombers streamed out of defence. McVeigh then kicked inside 50 towards Lloyd, but the ball was forced out for a throw in.

Hille then passed inside 50 to Stanton, who marked 35m out on a 45 degree angle. He could only manage one behind with his kick.

The Bombers then moved the ball well into attack, but Brisbane were able to spoil at the right time and rebound. But the Dons kept coming, as Lloyd and Lovett-Murray did well to get the ball going forward.

After Brisbane briefly went forward through Power, it was the Bombers who scored the next goal through Camporeale. He received the ball from Lucas just inside 50, and he calmly slotted through his first goal for Essendon.

The Dons kept the momentum going, as Stanton lined up for goal next after receiving the ball from Camporeale. But his kick was away to the right for one behind.

The Bombers were full of running, with Slattery kicking inside 50 toward Lloyd. He couldn’t mark, but Camporeale was there to pick up the crumbs and snap a quick shot on goal. It was just off target for one behind.

McVeigh then marked from the kick in and passed inside 50 to Lloyd in the pocket. He marked and kicked for goal from a very tight angle, and his kick was picked up by Lovett. He kicked over his shoulder for goal, but it missed for one behind.

Essendon kept up the forward pressure with another foray forward, but this time the ball was rushed through for a behind.

The Dons had some late opportunities to score, but eventually the siren sounded with Essendon taking a 17 point lead into the final quarter.

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 21:32
Oh, whats wrong, no KFC in Brisbane? :p

What a pickup for the Dons, cant even get on the ground :D

Crikey Eddie - poor effort. You could have at the very least got the location right. Gold Coast.

Now run along and annoy somewhere else like a good little chap hey?

eddiesmith
24 Feb 2006, 21:33
Brisbane, Gold Coast who cares?

Trying to work out which game is better, I mean the 2 better teams are playing on Fox while the 2 ******** teams are fun to laugh at

eddiesmith
24 Feb 2006, 21:40
How embarrasing for Brisbane, sure its only the NAB cup but with that side to lose to Essendon is embarrassing :o

*Danni*
24 Feb 2006, 21:41
Haha!!

"This is radio Roger, not tv, you do need to say something" to Roger Merrett on the ABC broadcast

Poor Rog!