View Full Version : NAB Cup Round 2 : Adelaide V Hawthorn, Launceston Saturday Night

Pages : 1 [2]

Kane McGoodwin
5 Mar 2006, 14:44
agree with your thoughts Macca - I only listened on the radio and after coming back from seeing the dark sky we watched the last two quarters.

I got the impression that Craigy, to an extent, manufactured a close game. He played the younger ones alot more than last week and saved our older players until the last quarter when we needed their assistance to win it.

Hawks had some good young players there and will trouble a few sides this year.

Will watch the full game tomorrow, but definetly impressed with Bernie, looked like he belonged out there. Again great touches from Knights and Maric won't take crap from no one. :D

Still can't believe how four umpires can miss blatant frees though :o
Good post NN.

I also got the impression Craig was keen to play the younger players / rest the older guys (& was probably restricted by the injuries) .... but also need to give the Hawks credit for having a real dip, particularly after the Crows jumped them early. They have got some very likely talls coming through.

I really liked Maric's clean hands & not afraid to get involved at ground level. He is already a better mark than Biglands & Clarke.

Kane McGoodwin
5 Mar 2006, 14:45
I can't see how Knights and VB can't make the side on form. They are the future and they're both playing well.

I reckon there will be room for Knights & given injuries are likely, VB should get plenty of games this year too. Both are progressing very nicely.

cschreuder61
5 Mar 2006, 18:05
You guys played well, look like a solid drilled outfit, and was a good hitout for us to see where we were at.

You jumped us early when we couldn't get a touch so AC had to drop players back for a while, which turned it into a low scoring affair, but I thought it was the right tactic, with Cambell getting beaten easily in the ruck early, and you guys moving the ball forward so well.

Our young blokes made some sillly errors, and you guys stepped up the key moments of the game, but considering you guys are genuine contenders this year, pretty happy with our effort.

Good game,

mattyc2422
5 Mar 2006, 21:35
Appreciate the kind words gents. I really like you guys for the flag. Your mix of solid contributors like Rutten, Hentschel, and Kenny; your stars like McLeod and Roo; and your youth who really impress me like Knights, Van Berlo, Vince, Hinge, and co. You guys are going places.

As for us, I don't think we were too bad. We didn't show up early on and guys like Hodge, Lewis and Smith looked in first gear. The performance of Ricky Ladson had me stoked though - what was your view on his game? He was drafted pick 16 in the 2001 superdraft and was actually considered on a par with Hodge by a few people within the club. Had a horrid run with injuries and is 100% fit for the first time in ages.

Roughead proved he has the ability to take games over which was good.

Anyhoo, well done.

Markthirtytwo
6 Mar 2006, 13:13
Appreciate the kind words gents. I really like you guys for the flag. Your mix of solid contributors like Rutten, Hentschel, and Kenny; your stars like McLeod and Roo; and your youth who really impress me like Knights, Van Berlo, Vince, Hinge, and co. You guys are going places.

As for us, I don't think we were too bad. We didn't show up early on and guys like Hodge, Lewis and Smith looked in first gear. The performance of Ricky Ladson had me stoked though - what was your view on his game? He was drafted pick 16 in the 2001 superdraft and was actually considered on a par with Hodge by a few people within the club. Had a horrid run with injuries and is 100% fit for the first time in ages.

Roughead proved he has the ability to take games over which was good.

Anyhoo, well done.

Ladson probably got under our radar a bit, but wouldnt take one game as if it's going to happen for him. Like the look of some of your youngsters and along with the Bulldogs I tip your teams to go places in the next couple of years.

Just with Franklin and Roughhead, all they need is to hold their marks more consistantly, and they should be the real deal for you guys.

Good luck.

Parko
6 Mar 2006, 16:39
Still haven't seen the full game. A mate that follows Adelaide said (before the game) that Massie was a weak link down back - especially if dragged back to the goal line. Did Clarkson identify this or is my mate just wrong & Massie goes ok. Interested in some feedback.
Congrats on the win I thought you would spank us. I have unofficially adopted the Crows this year - I like your coach and the way you play - Corridor footy.

Blue Red and Gold
6 Mar 2006, 16:45
I think Massie gets unfairly maligned (sp?) on here. He is never going to be a world beater but he is a capable defender and I think thats where he plays his best footy.

I think what holds him back is his lack of pace, he may not be slow but he just appears to struggle against a quicker opponent. I think he played on Williams on saturday, and although Williams didnt have a great game , he seemed to always have that crucial couple of metres on Massie. I was actually suprised Massie played the entire game on him. It was the same against Port playing On Motlop, he was lucky Motlop only kicked 2 goals.

It will be interesting how Massie goes this year, I think he is a capable player if matched up accordingly.

Nightwolf
6 Mar 2006, 16:53
I think Massie gets unfairly maligned (sp?) on here. He is never going to be a world beater but he is a capable defender and I think thats where he plays his best footy.

I think what holds him back is his lack of pace, he may not be slow but he just appears to struggle against a quicker opponent. I think he played on Williams on saturday, and although Williams didnt have a great game , he seemed to always have that crucial couple of metres on Massie. I was actually suprised Massie played the entire game on him. It was the same against Port playing On Motlop, he was lucky Motlop only kicked 2 goals.

It will be interesting how Massie goes this year, I think he is a capable player if matched up accordingly.

I thought Williams was quite good. Unselfish in a few plays, and probably could have ended up with 4-5 goals...(This includes the high tackle that was a no decision)...
Massie has had it to be brutally honest. Used to be a solid contributor, but not anymore..

Blue Red and Gold
6 Mar 2006, 17:00
He was good dont get me wrong but I dont think he was dominant in his position.