View Full Version : NAB Cup Round 2 : Adelaide V Hawthorn, Launceston Saturday Night
Saturday night is the strongly rumoured time for this game.
Do we play the same or do we introduce some veterans for a hitout and run in the legs ?
I would like to see most of todays squad play just to see if they can sustain it.
Should be a 4pm start here in Perth... liking it :)
FCAGJAT
26 Feb 2006, 15:37
Would like to see a similar team take on the Hawks next week as it would be good to see some consistency from the younger performers. However it would be nice to also see how some of the veterans return to form
Cove Cobra
26 Feb 2006, 15:41
I would like them to stick with the younger players. Get some flying and interstate footy experience into them.
Or maybe rotate the older, more experienced players. Roo for Goody, Hart for Macca etc.
I like both of your ideas but this one is fantastic :thumbsu:
macca23
26 Feb 2006, 17:24
I would like them to stick with the younger players. Get some flying and interstate footy experience into them.
That's my pick too.
Our senior players were in fine fettle today - no form problems there, and if they all miss one of the 4 games, it gives a couple of young un's more game time.
I thought our young blokes were excellent today!! :thumbsu:
As long as it's not a Saturday afternoon game i'm happy!:thumbsu:
Cove Cobra
26 Feb 2006, 17:39
That's my pick too.
Our senior players were in fine fettle today - no form problems there, and if they all miss one of the 4 games, it gives a couple of young un's more game time.
I thought our young blokes were excellent today!! :thumbsu:
Yep, the young fellas turned it on today; VERY impressed with Knights and Porplyzia.
Just how good is Hentchel? Perhaps we may find out this season.
I'd like to see the younger fellas have a crack at an interstate team that, IMO will have a harder crack at us other than what the opposition dished up today.:)
Stiffy_18
26 Feb 2006, 21:26
Thats the way I would go as well. We need to use these games to give our youngsters some real game time. If Reilly doesn't recover from the injury he sustained today, I would bring in Douglas and maybe rest Goody next week and bring in Roo.
Should be a good game against a very young Hawthorn side that is showing some real promise.
maccas_no1
26 Feb 2006, 22:19
Should easily account for Hawthorn, Crows by 25pts for me:thumbsu:
SpringChoke
27 Feb 2006, 09:35
OUTS:
Jericho - Why continue to play him we know what too expect, not much.
Massie - See Jericho.
Skippy - I like Skippy but I still beieve/hope the likes of VB, Knights, Bode and to a lesser extent Porp will be ahead of him in 2006.
INS:
Meeson - Let's have another look at him.
Douglas - I want to see what all the hype is about.
If one of the older guys is fit bring them in. If not, bring in Vince.
I just hope we don't drop one of the youngsters like Maric or Hinge. While they didn't have VB or Knights type game, they don't deserve to have their confidence knocked by being dropped.
Yeah I agree, out goes Massie and Jericho, in comes Vince and Douglas.
Should be a good game, the Crows will probably get up, but it's a good oppurtunity for both sides to showcase their young talent.
I can see this panning out in a similar fashion to the Hawk Crows game last season, where the Hawks came out hard early and took an early led on into the quarter time break only for the Crows class to come to the fore and stem away to a comfortable 10-15 point win with a little resistance by the Hawks at the end.
For those wanting to go to the match;
http://www.examiner.com.au/story.asp?id=331574
Hawthorn to play the Crows at Aurora
By PHIL EDWARDS , Monday, 27 February 2006
WHAT: NAB Cup quarter-final Hawthorn v Adelaide.
WHERE: Launceston's Aurora Stadium.
WHEN: Saturday, March 4 at 6.40pm.
Hawthorn will travel to its second home at Aurora Stadium to play Adelaide in an NAB Cup quarter-final this Saturday after both teams recorded first-round victories at the weekend.
A three-goal, match- winning performance by Hawks full-forward Mark Williams helped his side over the line against a determined Richmond outfit, the Hawks holding on for a 10-point win 1.11.10 (85) to 0.11.9 (75).
Hawks coach Alastair Clarkson was happy with his team's ability to hold off the fast-finishing Tigers.
Adelaide was far more impressive in its 72-point demolition of cross-town rivals Port Adelaide.
The Crows kicked 2.16.13 (127) to completely dominate the Power 0.8.7 (55) and send a warning to the Hawks.
But Tasmania's strong Hawthorn supporter base will relish the opportunity to see the club's new recruits in action at Aurora Stadium against the Crows for the first time in 2006 on Saturday.
More than 3000 tickets had been sold for the game before the two quarter-final teams were known and Hawthorn and Adelaide supporters are sure to snap up remaining seats during the week.
Bookings for the game can be made online at www.aflataurorastadium.com.au or through the Princess Theatre 63233666, the Silverdome 63449988, Hobart 62345998, Burnie 64515033 and Devonport 64202900.
Here is hoping for an exciting game with little to no injuries for both sides.
Kane McGoodwin
27 Feb 2006, 13:12
I reckon Torney will be an in, given he only missed yesterday's game due to the birth of his child. Seems a logical swap for Massie.
Allefgib
27 Feb 2006, 13:37
When do we all think Craigy needs to bring back the vets?
Sure, I want to see the young blokes given a run but I also want us at our peak come round 1, the best possible side on the park. Do we want to make sure everyone has a run before then or just play the youngsters to death in the pre-season and bring back some of the vets unplayed in pre-season to start round 1 without a run?
I think as mentioned above a rotation policy will bring in some vets and leave the kids in
ie Roo for Goodwin, Torney for Massie and Douglas for Jericho
Someone suggested that we rotate them.
Last week Goody, Macca & Edwards all played. Next week it might be Roo, Hart & Torney.
Sounds like a good idea to me. That way they all get a bit of gametime, but the youngsters get the experience they need.
crows98
27 Feb 2006, 15:09
The first choice players whom did not play yesterday were:
Mathew Clark
Nathan Bassett
Michael Doughty – more than likely will come back via the SANFL
Ben Hudson *(long term injury)
Jason Torney
Scott Welsh
Mark Ricciuto
Ben Hart
Gradually over the next 3 weeks I would like to see these player slotted into the side and the best side picked ready for round 1.
The last 2 NAB or trial games before round 1 the best side the club can put on the park should be selected and then allow the side to settle down and get ready for round 1, it is very dangerous to mess with a player’s form and confidence.
From the side that played yesterday or at Norwood, I very much doubt that Hinge, Douglas, Jericho, Maric, Vince, Meesen and Porplyzia are going to play AFL in round 1 (good luck to them if they do) but over the next 3 games they should only keep a player in the side if they are winning there spot and are a legitimate change at playing round 1.
So far the only younger player I would keep in the side would be Van Berlo, Knights and possibility Maric, the longer Mathew Clark doesn’t player the larger the odd are that Maric will get a game round 1 as Clark* will have to come back via the Bays
My side for this week’s game
FF:Hentschel McGregor Bode
HF:Burton Perrie McLeod
C: Knights Thompson Mattner
HB:Van Berlo Bock Reilly
FB:Porplyzia Rutten Johncock
Ruck:Biglands Goodwin Edwards
Interchange: Maric, Shirley, Torney, Ricciuto, Skipworth, Massie
In: Mark Ricciuto and Jason Torney
Out: John Hinge and Luke Jericho
(Did Mathew Clark get his clearance from South Adelaide to the Glenelg Football Club)?
crows98
27 Feb 2006, 15:19
Someone suggested that we rotate them.
Last week Goody, Macca & Edwards all played. Next week it might be Roo, Hart & Torney.
Sounds like a good idea to me. That way they all get a bit of gametime, but the youngsters get the experience they need.
The rotation policy the Australian Cricket side used during the summer, ********ed :mad: me off as I want to see the best available side play, not some bit and pieces side play in the jumper they have not earned. Same principals must apply to every side including the Adelaide Football Club. .
I want to see the best available side play, and when a player is good enough and shown good enough form to warrant selection in that side they should get a game, no one should get a game simply because they are on the list.
We are not good enough to be screwing around with the side form and still believe that we will win whenever we want. Round 1 is no certainty, Collingwood looked very good yesterday Vs. St Kilda and Week 2 is West Coast who we lost to last season at home, Melbourne had a good win as well. A 0 – 3 starts to the season is not out of the question if we start ********ing around with player form and selection. :thumbsd:
I want to see the best available side play, and when a player is good enough and shown good enough form to warrant selection in that side they should get a game, no one should get a game simply because they are on the list.
We are not good enough to be screwing around with the side form and still believe that we will win whenever we want. Round 1 is no certainty, Collingwood looked very good yesterday Vs. St Kilda and Week 2 is West Coast who we lost to last season at home, Melbourne had a good win as well. A 0 – 3 starts to the season is not out of the question if we start ********ing around with player form and selection. :thumbsd:
When it comes to the H&A season, I agree with you.
But this is the NAB cup. It's a mickey mouse competition, the main purpose of which is to allow you to expose your kids to AFL level competition.
I'd say rotate the players for the next two weeks, then go into the final week with our strongest team in preparation for Round 1.
Cove Cobra
27 Feb 2006, 16:58
But this is the NAB cup. It's a mickey mouse competition, the main purpose of which is to allow you to expose your kids to AFL level competition.
I'd say rotate the players for the next two weeks, then go into the final week with our strongest team in preparation for Round 1.
Yep, I agree.
Changes for this week I would make :
Goodwin for Riccuito
Massie for Torney (harsh, I know - Massies game was good)
Clarke for Biglands
Jericho for Douglas
Johncock for Hart
Allefgib
27 Feb 2006, 17:37
I'm agreeing with crowie98... make it the last two weeks of the NAB go with the best side so they can settle and build together. One more week for hte youngsters to prove they deserve time when someone goes out injured etc.
Best side to play should get played barring a 1 or 2 positions if the old guys are on the way out and the young guys are pushing for selection (e.g. Clarke out if Maric is going to good enough)
The Iron Sock
27 Feb 2006, 23:20
FF:Bode - Hentschel - Kenny
HF:Burton - Perrie - Johncock
C: Mattner - Thompson - Knights
HB:Van berlo - Bock - Edwards
FB:Torney - Rutten - Mcleod
Ruck: Biglands - Goodwin - Roo
Interchange: Massie,Maric,Skippy,Reilly,Shirley,Porplyzia
In: Mark Ricciuto and Jason Torney
Out: John Hinge and Luke Jericho
The rotation policy the Australian Cricket side used during the summer, ********ed :mad: me off as I want to see the best available side play, not some bit and pieces side play in the jumper they have not earned. Same principals must apply to every side including the Adelaide Football Club. .
Pre-season is pre-season. Resting a player for a game, or trying out some of the kids, is no problem in my book. Official AFL games tallies, Brownlow voting, AA selection, etc. do not include pre-season for a reason.
At the end of the day, the goal is to win a premiership. If you do that by saving Roo, Goody, et al a few pre-season runs, that's great. It's really no different than Leigh Matthews choosing not to take Alastair Lynch to Perth.
Also, I'd urge you to think back to our premiership years. If Malcolm Blight hadn't used pre-season 1997 to blood Goodwin, Keating, Rintoul, Williams, to work Barry Standfield into the forward line mix and Brett James into the midfield, and to continue the development of Kane Johnson and Peter Vardy, I doubt we would have won 1 premiership, let alone 2.
Lastly, a fast start to the minor round is not that critical in the big scheme of things. Sydney won a premiership from 2-4 last year, we won 2 from the same situation and a minor premiership after a discouraging home loss in round 1, and Port won 2 minor premierships from 0-2 starts.
Roo is gonna be out for another two weeks with a hammy!
Porpylzia will also miss the Hawthorn game with a quad strain.
from www.afc.com.au
You are damned if you do, damned if you don't.
If a couple of seniors drop during the season and you are foced to put in guys that haven't seen much of the footy for some time then you can say why didn't Craigy play them in the worthless NAB cup and see which are up to speed this year rather than have to test during the H&A when premiership points are on the line.
This is the perfect opportunity to find out which guys are going to stick their hand up and say I demand a spot in the senior side and I am going to throw everything into any crappy game I get the opportunity to play in to prove it.
NC wants to see hunger, wants to see who is going to put the body on the line, who has what it takes. He wants to know going into round 1 not only who is going to be in the best side but if players go down, who are the ones showing that they will get the nod if and when the opportunity presents itself and who is so far off the radar that they can at least address their issues over the course of the season.
Blue Red and Gold
1 Mar 2006, 16:34
Disappointed that Porps is going to miss. I think it was critical for him to have a good showing in the NAB cup. An up to this I can see is that Bode may be given some more time to find his feet again.
I would like to see Douglas play, I have not seen him play so one reason is out of just curiosity but from what I have heard he could step up straight away.
Does anyone know if this game will be telecast on free to air? I bloody hope so.
Youd think it would on free to air :thumbsu:
It's the games at Footy Park theyre worried about.
Blue Red and Gold
1 Mar 2006, 16:48
I hope so, I have got nothing to do on saturday night as I have an Internal trial match on sunday so any good reason to keep me away from the Pub would be great.
Stiffy_18
1 Mar 2006, 20:25
Yep its televised by Channel 9. I think its delayed telecast that starts at 7:30
If it's delayed I will actually be stoked, be able to get home in time from work to watch it :)
Blue Red and Gold
1 Mar 2006, 21:18
sweet, my saturday night is complete now, My body will thank me mid way during the 3rd qtr on sunday that I didnt go to the pub.
Hawthorn squad: Jarryd Roughead, Jordan Lewis, Rick Ladson, Sam Mitchell, Mark Williams, Danny Jacobs, Chance Bateman, Joel Smith, Brad Sewell, Simon Taylor, Harry Miller, Luke Hodge, Nick Ries, Brent Guerra, Ben Dixon, Tim Boyle, Richard Vandenberg (C), Ben Kane, Lance Franklin, Trent Croad, Tim Clarke, Tom Murphy, Campbell Brown, Grant Birchall, Max Bailey, Robert Campbell, Zac Dawson, Clinton Young.
Adelaide squad: John Meesen, Kris Massie, Scott Thompson, Nathan Van Berlo, Tyson Edwards, Matthew Bode, Robert Shirley, Hayden Skipworth, Jason Torney, Ken McGregor, Graham Johncock, Ivan Maric, Chris Knights, Ian Perrie, Andrew McLeod, Brett Burton, Ben Rutten, Richard Douglas, Bernie Vince, Luke Jericho, Brent Reilly, Ben Hart, Rhett Biglands, Simon Goodwin, Trent Hentschel, John Hinge, Martin Mattner, Nathan Bock.
http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=248860
Everitt, Osbourne, Crawford all to miss for Hawthorn.
Porplyzia out
Torney, Meesen, Douglas, Vince in
My team (24 for NAB games isnt it?)
B: Torney, Rutten, Johncock
HB: Van Berlo, Bock, McLeod
C: Mattner, Thompson, Burton
HF: Vince, Perrie, Edwards
F: Hentschel, McGregor, Bode
Foll:Biglands, Goodwin, Knights
Int: Skipworth, Shirley, Hart, Douglas, Reilly, Meesen
I really want to see Vince, Meesen and Douglas get a game this week.
I'm with Crowked.
You would think Douglas, Vince and Meesen would all get a game this week as there is no point in having them in the squad, especially as it's just the NAB cup.
I think if Dougie is going to play some games this year it's crucial he gets a run in the NAB cup.
If Van Berlo can play 11 games in his first year, so can Dougie!
http://tvguide.ninemsn.com.au/guide/04032006_81.asp?channel=free&day=4/3/2006
Looks like the game will start on TV at 7.30
Now I am faced with a dilemma though...do I listen to the live coverage on the way home in the car, or try and ignore the fact that the game is on and wait until I get home and pretend it's live.
Arghh.
Blue Red and Gold
2 Mar 2006, 14:21
Pretend its live, otherwise you will get stuck in no mans land.
i firmly believe we should be giving john meesen a go.
SpringChoke
2 Mar 2006, 16:33
My team (24 for NAB games isnt it?)
B: Torney, Rutten, Johncock
HB: Van Berlo, Bock, McLeod
C: Mattner, Thompson, Burton
HF: Vince, Perrie, Edwards
F: Hentschel, McGregor, Bode
Foll:Biglands, Goodwin, Knights
Int: Skipworth, Shirley, Hart, Douglas, Reilly, Meesen
I really want to see Vince, Meesen and Douglas get a game this week.
yeah same here.
Capitalist
2 Mar 2006, 16:35
i firmly believe we should be giving john meesen a go.
I agree - Meeson needs to be given a chance to show why he was our first pick
we all now Brent Rielly was !
McLeodMagic
2 Mar 2006, 16:42
Anyone know what is wrong with Porps?
Scott Van Persett
2 Mar 2006, 16:55
Strained quadriceps muscle according to Steven Schwerdt. Will be out for 2 weeks.
Hope Roo will be ok for the season. Staff seemed to have the injuries under control last year so should be same this year:p
Quadricep strain according to the article linked above.
My guess is straight swap Porplyzia out, Torney in.
McLeodMagic
2 Mar 2006, 17:17
Cheers guys, my bad for not clicking the link.
would it be fair to say that hawthorn squad is rather average? and in the real season we would expect to account for it?
yeah same here.
springy. clean out your inbox so i can PM you.
SpringChoke
2 Mar 2006, 19:58
springy. clean out your inbox so i can PM you.
Done.
It appears that Craigy deliberatley went with the older second year payers last week as you would expect.
Very impressed with VB's improvment and hardness at the aggatt. He looks like he could challenge the likes of "young" Michael Doughty (although I am one of his few fans), Torney, Skippy etc. for a regular place in the 22.
He is also giving players like Massie and Bode an opportunity to show what they have to offer at the star of the year. If they do not make the most of their opportunities this year their time at the club is likely to be limited, as younger players will take their spots.
I would suggest this is why the first year players missed out.
Meeson's form is obviously not good enough at this stage for him ot be considered.
I do hope Douglas and Vince get an opportunity in the NAB cup, because it did Rutten and Bock a wonderful fiilip to their careers a few years ago when they played at Telstra Dome.
Stiffy_18
2 Mar 2006, 21:28
Very impressed with VB's improvment and hardness at the aggatt. He looks like he could challenge the likes of "young" Michael Doughty (although I am one of his few fans), Torney, Skippy etc. for a regular place in the 22.
Keep dreaming ;)
This is the game I would bring in Meesen. I would definetly bring in Meesen because Hawks are thin in the ruck. No Spider means they are vulnerable there. Perfect opportunity to give both Maric and Meesen an fair crack at it in the ruck.
As for Douglas, he is too skinny to play now. He is unlikely to play any AFL this year (unless we are in desperate need) so why play him for the sake of playing him. He will get his shot down the track. Knights didn't play in the Wizard Cup last year but he is a certainty to play AFL footy this year. Douglas with more meat on his bones will get his chance.
Having said all that, I think there will be 1 change, OUT Porplyzia and IN Torney.
Keep dreaming ;)
This is the game I would bring in Meesen. I would definetly bring in Meesen because Hawks are thin in the ruck. No Spider means they are vulnerable there. Perfect opportunity to give both Maric and Meesen an fair crack at it in the ruck.
As for Douglas, he is too skinny to play now. He is unlikely to play any AFL this year (unless we are in desperate need) so why play him for the sake of playing him. He will get his shot down the track. Knights didn't play in the Wizard Cup last year but he is a certainty to play AFL footy this year. Douglas with more meat on his bones will get his chance.
Having said all that, I think there will be 1 change, OUT Porplyzia and IN Torney.
Stiffy I did not see Meesons name in the squad, but I agree he would be a good choice to see in the NAB cup. In time I thinnk he will be as good if not better than Maric. You dont kick goals like he did at Norwood without some innate ability!!!
Cannot agree with you on Douglas however. i remember seeing a very skinny boy play for the Swans in the 1990's. His turned out to be the Captain of the side four or five years later and one of the most courageous players we have ever seen. I am of course talking about Paul Kelly.
If his form is good enough he should be playing. I have seen nothing so far to tell me that he cannot mix it with the big boys. VB was given similar chances last year.
Torney has been a good solid player for us and a quality, courageous one too. At times however he has been found out by quicker opponents. All I am saying is that his place will come under more challenge and scrutiny this year.
We have much more depth and challenge for spots in the team. This can only be good for the side.
Stiffy_18
2 Mar 2006, 21:48
Stiffy I did not see Meesons name in the squad, but I agree he would be a good choice to see in the NAB cup. In time I thinnk he will be as good if not better than Maric. You dont kick goals like he did at Norwood without some innate ability!!!
Cannot agree with you on Douglas however. i remember seeing a very skinny boy play for the Swans in the 1990's. His turned out to be the Captain of the side four or five years later and one of the most courageous players we have ever seen. I am of course talking about Paul Kelly.
If his form is good enough he should be playing. I have seen nothing so far to tell me that he cannot mix it with the big boys. VB was given similar chances last year.
Torney has been a good solid player for us and a quality, courageous one too. At times however he has been found out by quicker opponents. All I am saying is that his place will come under more challenge and scrutiny this year.
We have much more depth and challenge for spots in the team. This can only be good for the side.
http://afc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=248936Adelaide squad: John Meesen, Kris Massie, Scott Thompson, Nathan Van Berlo, Tyson Edwards, Matthew Bode, Robert Shirley, Hayden Skipworth, Jason Torney, Ken McGregor, Graham Johncock, Ivan Maric, Chris Knights, Ian Perrie, Andrew McLeod, Brett Burton, Ben Rutten, Richard Douglas, Bernie Vince, Luke Jericho, Brent Reilly, Ben Hart, Rhett Biglands, Simon Goodwin, Trent Hentschel, John Hinge, Martin Mattner, Nathan Bock.
Torney might get found out by quicker players but so do quite a few fo our key players. Torney is very much a vital part of the back 6. He would be one of the first ones picked each week.
Van Berlo and Douglas are 2 totally different players. The only similarity between then is that both were skinny in their 1st year of AFL footy. Van Berlo is more of a flanker than a midfielder where Douglas is the opposite. Douglas will not see a lot of time in the midfield against AFL bodies in his first year. You can bookmark that. The club will not rush with him. Next year is his year. He might get a game or 2 in the NAB Cup but he is highly unlikely to be given a game during the year unless we are a bit desperate. Too many players ahead of him in the pecking order.
outback jack
2 Mar 2006, 21:59
it would be good to play our genuine youngsters against the hawks to see how we stack up talent wise. Drop macca and one of edwards or goodwin and play our kids against theirs. Even someone like c gibson who seems to have gone right off the radar would be good to put against someone like roughead who should prove no problems for bock or rutten at all.
Will do hombre.
Also note that we will be wearing our new red clash guernsey against Hawthorn this saturday night. :thumbsu:
Nightwolf
3 Mar 2006, 14:30
Beware of Big Max Bailey...
Maybe in 3 or 4 years :)
From www.afc.com.au
IN: Vince
OUT: Porpylzia
Meese and Douglas have been left out...
Nightwolf
3 Mar 2006, 14:47
Maybe in 3 or 4 years :)
Tommorow ;)
Youll be shocked at how well he moves..
From www.afc.com.au
IN: Vince
OUT: Porpylzia
Meese and Douglas have been left out...
Is John Meesen or Chad Gibson going to line up for Norwood in their trial game against the Port Adelaide Magpies?
SANFL trial games for anyone interested
Saturday march 4th (tomorrow afternoon)
Port Adelaide vs. Norwood, Albertson oval 2:20pm
Friday March 10th
North Adelaide vs. Sturt at, Cooper Stadium (Norwood Oval) 8pm
Saturday march 11th
Port Adelaide vs. Glenelg, Albertson 2:20pm
South Adelaide Vs. Eagles, Noarlungar oval 2:20pm
Norwood Vs. Centrals Kersbrook Oval 4pm
Saturday March 18th
West Adelaide vs. North Adelaide, broadspectrum Oval 1:50pm
Centrals Vs. Eagles, Hamra Homes Park 2:20pm
Sturt Vs. Glenelg, Le Messurier Oval Murray bridge 2:20pm
Norwood Vs. South Adelaide, Coopers Stadium 7:10pm
Saturday march 25th
South Adelaide vs. Port Adelaide, Noarlungar Oval 2:20pm
Eagles Vs. Glenelg, Thebarton Oval 2:20pm
West Adelaide Vs. Sturt, Broadspectrum Oval 2:20pm
Centrals Vs. North Adelaide, Hamra Homes Park 7:30pm
A few local name changes, Coopers Stadium is formally known as Norwood Oval Hamra Homes Park may have formally be known as NAB oval (Elizabeth Oval) but I have not heard anything, maybe a few doggies supporters could enlighten us. :thumbsu:
Capitalist
3 Mar 2006, 15:18
Meese
:thumbsd: not happy with that at all
SpringChoke
3 Mar 2006, 15:45
:thumbsd: not happy with that at all
Same here. I thought they were going to manage the kids better this year after Craigy agreed last year they weren't really given a go. Alternatively, maybe he's just not good enough to warrant giving him a game. I hope not, becuase that would mean yet another 1st rounder wasted.:(
Blue Red and Gold
3 Mar 2006, 16:09
bit early to be coming to that conclusion, we all knew it was going to take time for him to develop so why rush it? We have Maric playing good footy, its a bit much to play two rookie ruckman when in all likely hood only one could possibly play regular game time this year.
Markthirtytwo
3 Mar 2006, 16:11
Tommorow ;)
Youll be shocked at how well he moves..
What walking, on the dance floor. Who the frig is he anyway? :confused:
Capitalist
3 Mar 2006, 16:35
bit early to be coming to that conclusion, we all knew it was going to take time for him to develop so why rush it? We have Maric playing good footy, its a bit much to play two rookie ruckman when in all likely hood only one could possibly play regular game time this year.
don;t worry I am not saying that he is a waste just yet
I just would have thought it was almost perfect timing to give the guy a go at this level - but maybe he isn;t ready
Allefgib
3 Mar 2006, 16:44
I concur.
Maric looked like he had a bit to offer last week. Maybe Meese isnt as far along yet so lets give Maric more game time through the NAB.
Either way.. I back Craigy.. the guys a legend.
Drummond
3 Mar 2006, 16:52
Is John Meesen or Chad Gibson going to line up for Norwood in their trial game against the Port Adelaide Magpies?
Yes, both Meesen and Gibson are playing for Norwood tomorrow. :)
Cove Cobra
3 Mar 2006, 17:50
Yes, both Meesen and Gibson are playing for Norwood tomorrow. :)
Where is the game at? I'd like to have a look/see.
Free I take it?
Drummond
3 Mar 2006, 18:17
Where is the game at? I'd like to have a look/see.
Free I take it?
crows98 provided all the details about this weekend's SANFL matches. :)
Port Adelaide vs. Norwood, Alberton Oval 2:20pm.
If it's not free, it will probably be $2.
Cove Cobra
3 Mar 2006, 18:26
crows98 provided all the details about this weekend's SANFL matches. :)
Port Adelaide vs. Norwood, Alberton Oval 2:20pm.
If it's not free, it will probably be $2.
Cheers for that. :thumbsu:
SpringChoke
4 Mar 2006, 09:10
don;t worry I am not saying that he is a waste just yet
I just would have thought it was almost perfect timing to give the guy a go at this level - but maybe he isn;t ready
That could be the thrid option. Woops
Very good to see Gibson playing. Albeit in the SANFL> :)
That could be the thrid option. Woops
Springy, Meesen is nowhere near ready - nowhere.
When Meesen and Maric both came to the Crows, Meesen unarguably was rated well above Maric.
For a whole variety of reasons related to opportunity, position played, home-sickness etc, Maric has leap-frogged Meesen, after developing at a fantastic rate last year.
Having said that, Maric himself is still not ready to perform to AFL standard, but is well on the way.
Now it's up to Meesen to have a good year at SANFL and develop at a much faster rate than he did last year to get back in the running for next year.
Cheeseman
4 Mar 2006, 11:23
What walking, on the dance floor. Who the frig is he anyway? :confused:
He's a 206cm recruit from last years draft, the talk is that he is quite capable below his waist "with a football you sickos :p " and when head to head with spida in an intra club match, performed beyond expectations.
That said, he's a first gamer, so dont expect any world beating performances, but a few indications as to his potential would be nice to see from my hawk loving perspective.
Good luck crowboys, may we all walk away from this one injury free :thumbsu:
ICanDressMyself
4 Mar 2006, 12:24
Dammit! I'm working 5 till 10. Will that give me enough time to get home and see the last 5 minutes of the match? :(
ICanDressMyself
4 Mar 2006, 12:27
Where do you work ICDM?
Norwood Hotel.
Cant u watch it there dude?
ICanDressMyself
4 Mar 2006, 12:35
Cant u watch it there dude?
No TV in the kitchen.. :mad:
showdownhero
4 Mar 2006, 18:05
anyone listening to it?
Cove Cobra
4 Mar 2006, 18:07
1/4 time
Crows 3.3
Hawks 1.3
maccas_no1
4 Mar 2006, 20:00
Crows win by 13pts nice win, worked hard all night and to Hawthorn's credit it was a competive hitout.
I love Knight's what a player he is going to be:thumbsu:
Good effort to get a 13pt win. I thought Hawthorn played really well tonight - they have so much speed. They probably should have been ahead at half time, but as always our defence stood strong.
I was really impressed with Bernie Vince tonight...definately a player to watch.
What about Jericho's SuperGoal!!:D NICE!!!
Good effort to get a 13pt win. I thought Hawthorn played really well tonight - they have so much speed. They probably should have been ahead at half time, but as always our defence stood strong.
I was really impressed with Bernie Vince tonight...definately a player to watch.
What about Jericho's SuperGoal!!:D NICE!!!
Bernie Vince was great on debut, Jehricho stood up when the game was in the balance, you talk about the supergoal he kicked, i loved that whole passage, the pick up that he did, when the ball was low on the ground, he took it superbly, then with his speed, turned around two players and had the poise to turn around a kick a 51 metre super goal of 2 steps, very well done by Jericho, maybe a season to look out for
Demon Errol
4 Mar 2006, 20:32
Well done Crows. You played really well. Guess we have to play you over your way but will be a good contest. Your young ruckman Maric looked pretty good. Best of luck guys.
philhawk
4 Mar 2006, 20:55
Well done Crows, good game and the better team won. :thumbsu:
Hopefully you guys can go on and win the cup without any injuries hopefully. :)
crowsarethebest
4 Mar 2006, 21:00
Well apreciated mate. Thought you guys could take alot out of this game, with roughhead, ladson etc... I thought we played alright, bode did well, Birdman was Birdman and VB and Knights played great games.
I agree CAB..Ladson shows some promise
And Clarkson can coach
What an outstanding debut from Bernie Vince.
15 Touches and 8 of those were contested. Looks to have very good disposal.
Nice to see Knighta kick 2 goals.
Blue Red and Gold
4 Mar 2006, 21:37
Tough game and not overly pretty to watch, after our start I thought it was going to be a question of how much.
I agree Vince played great, I have never seen him before but he really impressed me. I was a bit critical of Maric last week but I also felt he played very well.
Glad to get through it, Tyson Edwards and McLeod, all class really stood up when it mattered.
ICanDressMyself
4 Mar 2006, 22:14
Top effort boys (from what I heard anyway!)
Demons next week here we come.
Also well done to the young Hawks, didn't expect them to get that close.
Southerntakeover
4 Mar 2006, 22:26
Much respect for the good sportsmanship. I thought it was a well fought out game... we really won it in two bursts at the start of the first and fourth quarters.
As a game it was just what we needed.
Hawthorn were a terrific opposition that had a red hot dip. The difference between this week and last was that we were up against a good tough hard-running mid-field tonight that gave us plenty of curry.
Clarkson made it difficult for us to score after our initial burst and it was a good coaching efffort from him.
In the end it was just the quality of McLeod, Edwards plus good efforts from new boys such as Knights and Van Berlo that got us over the line.
All of the new lads could hold their head up high.
Nice debut by Vince.
NikkiNoo
4 Mar 2006, 23:41
agree with your thoughts Macca - I only listened on the radio and after coming back from seeing the dark sky we watched the last two quarters.
I got the impression that Craigy, to an extent, manufactured a close game. He played the younger ones alot more than last week and saved our older players until the last quarter when we needed their assistance to win it.
Hawks had some good young players there and will trouble a few sides this year.
Will watch the full game tomorrow, but definetly impressed with Bernie, looked like he belonged out there. Again great touches from Knights and Maric won't take crap from no one. :D
Still can't believe how four umpires can miss blatant frees though :o
Should be a good game, the Crows will probably get up, but it's a good oppurtunity for both sides to showcase their young talent.
I can see this panning out in a similar fashion to the Hawk Crows game last season, where the Hawks came out hard early and took an early led on into the quarter time break only for the Crows class to come to the fore and stem away to a comfortable 10-15 point win with a little resistance by the Hawks at the end.
Alright I was a little off with the quarter time prediction but hey....
I'm selling tickets all week! :p
Leigh Roy
5 Mar 2006, 01:19
This is going to sound like whingeing, but if the titles of the threads can be changed to the final margins straight after the match (like Stiffy's Showdown thread, I think) that'd be great.
Anyway enough of that. That was very very nice work by the boys tonight, which positions were the new kids put in/showed promise in?
I am just learning their names from the website, I haven't yet found out what their main traits are.
Next match is Friday @ AAMI v Dees right?
RoosterLad
5 Mar 2006, 10:53
i hope Knights plays Round 1
McLeodMagic
5 Mar 2006, 11:38
If he continues with his fromm the last 2 weeks, he should definitely be a shoe in. :thumbsu:
SpringChoke
5 Mar 2006, 12:32
Knights and VB should definately play in round1. I would expect Porp will also come into strong consideration if he plays another game like he did against Port.
I can't see how Knights and VB can't make the side on form. They are the future and they're both playing well.
Let's hope Porplyzia is right for another couple of pre-season games to strut his stuff, as he really has to be around the mark on that one display against Port.
SpringChoke
5 Mar 2006, 12:45
I can't see how Knights and VB can't make the side on form. They are the future and they're both playing well.
Let's hope Porplyzia is right for another couple of pre-season games to strut his stuff, as he really has to be around the mark on that one display against Port.
You would have to think Bode will also be a chance.
Kane McGoodwin
5 Mar 2006, 14:39
Bernie Vince was great on debut, Jehricho stood up when the game was in the balance, you talk about the supergoal he kicked, i loved that whole passage, the pick up that he did, when the ball was low on the ground, he took it superbly, then with his speed, turned around two players and had the poise to turn around a kick a 51 metre super goal of 2 steps, very well done by Jericho, maybe a season to look out for
Hopefully that supergoal will give Jericho some confidence that he can play at AFL level.
Vince looked at home in his debut game. Very promising, though need to judge a player on more than 1 game.