View Full Version : Tredrea Beats Rutten
NikkiNoo
26 Feb 2006, 16:11
for the toss of the coin, the rest of the game was a different matter ;)
more on the match later. Time to watch the replay now.
topjars
26 Feb 2006, 16:15
Lets hope Tredders builds on the tradition as kapitain:)
Tredders66
26 Feb 2006, 16:17
I'm sure he is absolutely shattered and he may aswell give up his captaincy after that effort in a PRACTICE game.
At least Tredera outscored Rutten this time ...
Cove Cobra
26 Feb 2006, 16:36
at eating pies.
Rutten >>>>> daylight >>>>> Tredrea
maccas_no1
26 Feb 2006, 16:39
What a win gezz Im pretty impressed with that, didnt see any of it soa good report from someone would be good:thumbsu: Going to look at airfares to Launceston for next week right now:thumbsu:
Stephen2
26 Feb 2006, 16:41
I'm sure he is absolutely shattered and he may aswell give up his captaincy after that effort in a PRACTICE game.
I've been a bit more politic on the non-Crows boards, but if you come here and talk trash, expect it back.
What were you PRACTICING to do? Play like garbage? If that was your goal, you were very successful.
Crows > Everyone Else > Port
Tredders66
26 Feb 2006, 16:52
I've been a bit more politic on the non-Crows boards, but if you come here and talk trash, expect it back.
What were you PRACTICING to do? Play like garbage? If that was your goal, you were very successful.
Dont tell me you dont talk trash.... how old are you? What are you saying...?? If we fail in a practice game we are going to all season? We got smashed in every practice game in 2004 against teams like Carlton and Fremantle at home and im sure you remember what happened at the end of the year.. therefore thats why im not taking much out of today. The fact it was against you lot doesn't go down to easy though.
AJ_No.4
26 Feb 2006, 17:14
Hmmm ever heard of a bit of banter?????? :rolleyes:
MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
26 Feb 2006, 19:35
One word.....bitch :D
k
xx
PAFC2004
26 Feb 2006, 19:36
Pre season guys...
PAFC2004
26 Feb 2006, 19:38
And you are criticising people about talking garbage? Take a look at yourself mate!
It's pre season. If you think the crows are the best team, and Port are the worst, you have much to learn about footy.
Kane McGoodwin
26 Feb 2006, 19:53
Sure it was only a practice game, but Tredders must be just a little concerned that Rutten has the wood on him.
PAFC2004
26 Feb 2006, 19:55
Sure it was only a practice game, but Tredders must be just a little concerned that Rutten has the wood on him.
I doubt that.
Crow-mo
26 Feb 2006, 19:58
yeah, it was almost as good as that effort in the DREAM FINAL :D
PAFC2004
26 Feb 2006, 19:58
yeah, it was almost as good as that effort in the DREAM FINAL :D
What happened the next week? :eek:
macca23
26 Feb 2006, 20:00
Port didn't play.
SpringChoke
26 Feb 2006, 20:00
It doesn't look like things will get better for him either. White looks terrible as the second forward. Based on todays game, the C Cornes to the midfield experiemtn will die a quick death.
PAFC2004
26 Feb 2006, 20:04
Port didn't play.
At least that means we didn't lose ;)
Yes you did by 80 points:confused:
Stiffy_18
26 Feb 2006, 20:06
Port didn't play.
:D :D
Stiffy_18
26 Feb 2006, 20:07
83 ;)
PAFC2004
26 Feb 2006, 20:07
Um, the week after that buddy. How can we lose by 80 points if we didn't play? :confused:
Why didn't you play though?:confused:
It's not like you got walloped by 83 points in an elimination final or anything isn't it? I thought the Port Adelaide Football Club was famous for how good it was when finals came aroud, or again am I thinking about the clearly separate entity of the Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club?
PAFC2004
26 Feb 2006, 20:11
It's not like you got walloped by 83 points in an elimination final or anything isn't it? I thought the Port Adelaide Football Club was famous for how good it was when finals came aroud, or again am I thinking about the clearly separate entity of the Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club?
Mate, going off on another track to prove a completely different point is silly.
I made a joke (yes, me), regarding the loss you guys suffered the next week.
Next.
Crow-mo
26 Feb 2006, 20:21
you walked the streets with your head down, not making eye contact with anyone :D
deadset, when you get spanked in the most important game, and then you get spanked in a preseason game, only a right plonker would say it didn't matter it was only preseason.
Crow-mo
26 Feb 2006, 20:22
you exist not to play next week so at least you don't lose? :rolleyes:
Macca19
26 Feb 2006, 20:29
I actually thought Tredrea at least broke even with Rutten today. Kicked two goals and gave off one other which should have been three others if White and Motlop didnt stuff up gimme chances. 2 goals and 3 goal assists would have been a more than reasonable game.
PAFC2004
26 Feb 2006, 20:35
you walked the streets with your head down, not making eye contact with anyone :D
deadset, when you get spanked in the most important game, and then you get spanked in a preseason game, only a right plonker would say it didn't matter it was only preseason.
Are you stalking me?
Actually no, I just go out there and face it. I even wear my teams gear after a loss, doesn't bother me. And no, most people would say it didn't matter. It's pre season mate. You would be saying it didn't matter if you had lost.
I don't look into the pre season comp too much myself.
Crow-mo
26 Feb 2006, 20:45
Are you stalking me?
yep on the crows board, I am stalking you. :rolleyes:
Actually no, I just go out there and face it. I even wear my teams gear after a loss, doesn't bother me. And no, most people would say it didn't matter. It's pre season mate. You would be saying it didn't matter if you had lost.
well just another bandwagonner who isn't really very passionate about his team? most people hurt after a big loss, seems it doesn't bother you.
PAFC2004
26 Feb 2006, 20:47
yep on the crows board, I am stalking you. :rolleyes:
well just another bandwagonner who isn't really very passionate about his team? most people hurt after a big loss, seems it doesn't bother you.
Bandwagoner? ROFL!! Of course it bothered me! I'm just passionate enough to wear my gear out after a loss, and not hide in a corner like some do!
Questioning my loyalty and passion is the last thing you can do, and many can tell you that.
Toots Hibbert
26 Feb 2006, 20:51
Tredders had the better of Rutten I think. He should have had 4 goals today. He got two and dished off two that he would have kicked after marks inside thirty metres but he chose to give one to Motlop and the other to White, both of whom stuffed up the chances he gave them. Four goals playing to a losing midfield and he's won his position IMO. He played a stay at home role while White roamed the ground.
Stiffy_18
26 Feb 2006, 20:53
Tredders had the better of Rutten I think. He should have had 4 goals today. He got two and dished off two that he would have kicked after marks inside thirty metres but he chose to give one to Motlop and the other to White, both of whom stuffed up the chances he gave them. Four goals playing to a losing midfield and he's won his position IMO. He played a stay at home role while White roamed the ground.
http://img240.imageshack.us/img240/3966/roflmfao7rm.gifhttp://img240.imageshack.us/img240/3966/roflmfao7rm.gifhttp://img240.imageshack.us/img240/3966/roflmfao7rm.gif
Toots Hibbert
26 Feb 2006, 21:58
Had Tredrea been the slightest bit selfish he'd have finished with four goals. In a side well beaten that amounts to a forward who has won his position.
macca23
26 Feb 2006, 22:06
Had Tredrea been the slightest bit selfish he'd have finished with four goals. In a side well beaten that amounts to a forward who has won his position.
Yeah, and if my auntie had balls ......
Tredrea did beat Rutten to the Crows bench though Tootsie. :)
ok so tredrea beat rutten?
now when a forward of tredreas ability wins his postion he generally has a huge impact on a game and when he is captain he has more of a impact.
so was tredrea beaten? or did he win his postion but none of the other port forwards bothered trying because they didnt vote for him?
think about it :rolleyes: your captain,your best forward, according to you won his postion in front of goal and you scored how many points today?
concerning
maccas_no1
26 Feb 2006, 22:17
I bet it the result had been reversed you would be *Marty dances on PAFC2004's head*
Tredders66
26 Feb 2006, 22:22
Who gives a sh*t mate get over it. You go on about us not moving on from our premiership. When was your last premiership anyway...??
Tredders66
26 Feb 2006, 22:25
Yeah, and if my auntie had balls ......
Tredrea did beat Rutten to the Crows bench though Tootsie. :)
Tredrea was mostly rested half the game anyway.. i think it was pretty even i think tredders actually could of got a few more then he did. Its not like his going to go all out in a practice game anyway its not worth him getting injured..
Tredders66
26 Feb 2006, 22:28
ok so tredrea beat rutten?
now when a forward of tredreas ability wins his postion he generally has a huge impact on a game and when he is captain he has more of a impact.
so was tredrea beaten? or did he win his postion but none of the other port forwards bothered trying because they didnt vote for him?
think about it :rolleyes: your captain,your best forward, according to you won his postion in front of goal and you scored how many points today?
concerning
Please get over it already its a practice game we didn't harp on half as much as you guys do after beating you in the NAB cup.. whocares.. Looks like it means alot when West Coast with a pretty much full strength team got beaten by around the same margin as we did..
Please get over it already its a practice game we didn't harp on half as much as you guys do after beating you in the NAB cup.. whocares
your board members for one :rolleyes: stated on tv last night they did that you guys were out to make amends for last year :eek:
PAFC2004
26 Feb 2006, 22:38
your board members for one :rolleyes: stated on tv last night they did that you guys were out to make amends for last year :eek:
I didn't hear that... did you hear what Mark Williams said?
Mr Magoo
26 Feb 2006, 22:41
for the toss of the coin, the rest of the game was a different matter ;)
more on the match later. Time to watch the replay now.
Now i know that you would've watched the tape of the 98 grand final when one of the greatest centre half forwards of all time (Wayne Carey) to have ever played AFL football was soundly beaten. You have watched it yes????
The reason he was beaten was because the ball was rarely in the forward line because the other team's midfield dominated play. If the ball rarely comes down into the forward line how are you supposed to kick goals much less beat your opponent?
Doesn't that sound very familiar as to how today's game went regarding the Rutten/Tredrea match up?
Now i know that you would've watched the tape of the 98 grand final when one of the greatest centre half forwards of all time (Wayne Carey) to have ever played AFL football was soundly beaten. You have watched it yes????
The reason he was beaten was because the ball was rarely in the forward line because the other team's midfield dominated play. If the ball rarely comes down into the forward line how are you supposed to kick goals much less beat your opponent?
Doesn't that sound very familiar as to how today's game went regarding the Rutten/Tredrea match up?
did you watch that game?:confused:
obviously not:thumbsd:
did you hear what rucci had to say this arvo on fox footy? kinda said you guys would be drawing a line in the sand today
Tredders66
26 Feb 2006, 22:56
Hmm yeah i did.. Like he said the ball hardly got up there and if it did it wasn't delieverd to tredders at all well enough to have a chance maybe due to the fact we played alot of young guys that still need alot of practice time, our skill errors hurt us the most today.
PAFC2004
26 Feb 2006, 22:57
did you hear what rucci had to say this arvo on fox footy? kinda said you guys would be drawing a line in the sand today
Oh please, thats rucci! Who cares what he thinks! He isn't affiliated with the club. I feel sorry for you if you actually take in anything he is.
cro_Magnum
26 Feb 2006, 23:03
Please get over it already its a practice game we didn't harp on half as much as you guys do after beating you in the NAB cup.. whocares.. Looks like it means alot when West Coast with a pretty much full strength team got beaten by around the same margin as we did..
Your'e right it was a practice match but if you don't think there are some worrying signs, then you must be blind.
Things like:
The new promised game plan was either not used or is utter crap.
Most of your youngsters were disappointing, such as Thomson, the great hope to replace Francou, and Chaplin, the new central defender.
The lack of fight (again) in what Port itself said would be a payback match.
The soft effort from your 'gun' recruit Lonie, who everyone rightly predicted would do exactly this.
I'm sure there are other concerns that Choco must have but I was more interested in the Crows than Port. And if your coaches were not upset by today's effort, that in itself is a bigger worry.
Hmm yeah i did.. Like he said the ball hardly got up there and if it did it wasn't delieverd to tredders at all well enough to have a chance maybe due to the fact we played alot of young guys that still need alot of practice time, our skill errors hurt us the most today.
you watched the 98 grand final in which adelaide dominated and thats why carey got beaten and this was used as a example on why tredrea got beaten?
correct?
Oh please, thats rucci! Who cares what he thinks! He isn't affiliated with the club. I feel sorry for you if you actually take in anything he is.
okay what about bruce abernathy? he is on your board correct?, a former premiership player correct?
No but I saw him running (or should I say waddling) up the stands with that humongous tub of lard jiggling around. Disgusting!
Isn't Rucci Port's 'Official Historian'?
SpringChoke
27 Feb 2006, 07:39
No but I saw him running (or should I say waddling) up the stands with that humongous tub of lard jiggling around. Disgusting!
So Dew was in the stands with him?
Mark Williams is twice the size of Dew now.
SpringChoke
27 Feb 2006, 09:13
Blo*dy hell Toots, wishful thinking or what.
SpringChoke
27 Feb 2006, 09:15
You're joking aren't you Magoo. If they had have kicked straight they would have been up by 8 goals at half time. Hardly the scoreline you would expect from a team who, as you say, were getting smashed in the midfield.
Mr Magoo
27 Feb 2006, 09:27
Yes i was at the game & did watch the first half before retiring to the bar as i was getting cooked by the sun, sitting in the members.
The point i was making is that if you don't have a dominate midfield*, then you could have the best forwards that have ever played the game & they still wouldn't get a kick.
* = You need a midfield that will at least brake even to be at least a 50/50 chance of winning these days.
afc9798
27 Feb 2006, 09:36
I actually thought Tredrea at least broke even with Rutten today. Kicked two goals and gave off one other which should have been three others if White and Motlop didnt stuff up gimme chances. 2 goals and 3 goal assists would have been a more than reasonable game.
Are you serious, that all you expect from your franchise player and captain of a young side is 2 goals and 3 assists. I would have thought that Tredrea's performance yesterday was far from convincing, when you also consider that Rutten was doubtful to play until Friday. I think Rutten has Tredrea worked out beautifully and Tredrea continues to play into his hands by using the same one dimensional style, even when the game is out of reach.
Also worth noting that one of his goals was from a free kick that should have gone to another player, but the umpire erred and gave it to Tredrea instead. True it's very early days, but we are constantly having it shoved down our throats about how professional and well prepared Tredrae is, to my way of thinking, no professional well prepared player would think that his performance was acceptable yesterday.
As for the game itself, very early days for both teams. Encouraging start for Hentschel, Knights and Porplyzia in particular. A good hitout for us, with the real tests yet to come when we play against a side that can apply pressure to our disposal.
Yes i was at the game & did watch the first half before retiring to the bar as i was getting cooked by the sun, sitting in the members.
The point i was making is that if you don't have a dominate midfield*, then you could have the best forwards that have ever played the game & they still wouldn't get a kick.
* = You need a midfield that will at least brake even to be at least a 50/50 chance of winning these days.
well you do have a point about dominant midfields restricting the oppisition forwards, except if the oppisition forwards are called ablett,dunstall, modra or lockett.
but unfortunatly the game you used as an example was far from a rational one.
you see in the 98 grand final both teams had equal scoring shots, which does not point to nth melbourne's forwards being starved of oppotunity.
at half time in that game nth melbourne were all over adelaide and should of been further in front than 4 goals.again this does not point to carey being beaten that day through "lack of oppotunities"
You have to understand that Tredrea can do no wrong in the eyes of Port Power supporters.
They probably think he broke even with Rutten in that semi-final massacre since they both had one shot at goal.
I'll tell you one thing, I am EXTREMELY glad we didn't end up giving Pick 17 for Damon White.
Absolute HACK.
crows98
27 Feb 2006, 12:22
I'll tell you one thing, I am EXTREMELY glad we didn't end up giving Pick 17 for Damon White.
Absolute HACK.
Cannot say that, when we needed to trade for Damon White the coaching predicament the AFC found itself in wasn’t developing any key players and his potential and improvement rate were equal to Nathan Bock, Ben Rutten and Trent Hentschel (all 3 important key position players now).
Nathan Bock, Brent Reilly, Trent Hentschel and Ben Rutten were extremely stagnant with their playing improvement under Gary Ayres and all were virtually treading water in the SANFL, in the last 18 months (coincidentally since Ayres departure) all 4 have stepped up and shown that they are going to become important cogs in the future of the AFC, had we traded for Damon White I believe that his improvement rate would have been the same as the others mentioned.
Damon White under Williams and co has stagnated, where the AFC three key position player are all on the verge of AA selection (maybe not automatic selection but around the mark), the next 12 months in his football career will tell how he develops or if he is traded or even delisted.
White is not a hack, Williams is simply not a development coach of key position players, Mark Williams need a side that can play the game already and not in constant need of supervision.
Allefgib
27 Feb 2006, 13:11
Cannot say that, when we needed to trade for Damon White the coaching predicament the AFC found itself in wasn’t developing any key players and his potential and improvement rate were equal to Nathan Bock, Ben Rutten and Trent Hentschel (all 3 important key position players now).
Nathan Bock, Brent Reilly, Trent Hentschel and Ben Rutten were extremely stagnant with their playing improvement under Gary Ayres and all were virtually treading water in the SANFL, in the last 18 months (coincidentally since Ayres departure) all 4 have stepped up and shown that they are going to become important cogs in the future of the AFC, had we traded for Damon White I believe that his improvement rate would have been the same as the others mentioned.
Damon White under Williams and co has stagnated, where the AFC three key position player are all on the verge of AA selection (maybe not automatic selection but around the mark), the next 12 months in his football career will tell how he develops or if he is traded or even delisted.
White is not a hack, Williams is simply not a development coach of key position players, Mark Williams need a side that can play the game already and not in constant need of supervision.
Thats a big call mate to say they are all around the mark for AA selection. I didnt see a ton of footy last year being overseas, and am again this season but what I kept up to date with and read and the little I saw.. Rutten fits that bill for sure but Bock and Hentschel? I asked on a few other threads for more info on Bock as he seems to have made a huge difference to the side in allowing Kenny to go forward with losing nothing in defense.. but just how good is he? I was asking for comparisons to Caveman as they seem a similar type of running CHB but no one has really filled me in yet.
On Hentschel.. from what I have seen and read he looks to be looming as a great forward for us for years to come with something special about him, but enough to knock off a Barry Hall, Matt Lloyd, Fraser Gehrig from AA selection as a KP player? I hope so and wouldnt disagree he looks like he might in a few years but thats a big call for right now :)
I just want us to keep a lid on things a little as Craigy has done which has made ALL the difference to the side in developing people as players not their ego's :) (as you rightly pointed out)
crows98
27 Feb 2006, 15:32
Double post.....take one
crows98
27 Feb 2006, 15:33
Double post sorry
crows98
27 Feb 2006, 15:34
Thats a big call mate to say they are all around the mark for AA selection. I didnt see a ton of footy last year being overseas, and am again this season but what I kept up to date with and read and the little I saw.. Rutten fits that bill for sure but Bock and Hentschel? I asked on a few other threads for more info on Bock as he seems to have made a huge difference to the side in allowing Kenny to go forward with losing nothing in defense.. but just how good is he? I was asking for comparisons to Caveman as they seem a similar type of running CHB but no one has really filled me in yet.
On Hentschel.. from what I have seen and read he looks to be looming as a great forward for us for years to come with something special about him, but enough to knock off a Barry Hall, Matt Lloyd, Fraser Gehrig from AA selection as a KP player? I hope so and wouldnt disagree he looks like he might in a few years but thats a big call for right now :)
I just want us to keep a lid on things a little as Craigy has done which has made ALL the difference to the side in developing people as players not their ego's :) (as you rightly pointed out)
That’s pacifically why I said (round the mark), with a huge amount of luck and a few other player having a bad year they (Bock and Hentschel) could gain AA selection but 2007 would be the first legitimate change they would be in contention, to be honest.
Shaun Tait and Mark Cosgrove are around the mark for a Australian Test and One Day International call up and it could be as soon as the South African tour if a few things go there way, by no mean are they certainties but it’s not a ridicules statement either.
Pre season guys...
I agree. There's only so much you can take out of a pre-season knock-out match.
Which makes it all the more sad that the person currently topping the post count for this thread is an opposition supporter seeking to desperately defend his team's performance.
BIG DADDY
27 Feb 2006, 15:55
I thought this site was for sensible discussion not this childish rubbish !
How about some logical points of view
Tredders did not have his usual influence on the game and several of our key players were certainly disappointing
Well done Crow Boys....I for one am not a fan of the pre-season comp...it means nuttin...counts for nuttin...and more often than not is a reverse indicator of the season ahead
Oh and thanks Birdbrain for your clumsy over-enthusiastic attack on Kingsley....one day I just hope this evens up
SpringChoke
27 Feb 2006, 15:55
I disgaree with you that Bock and Trent are on the verge of AA. IMO they are both yet to fully prove themselves at this level. However, the signs look good. I agree with you on your White comment. I don't believe he is a hack but also don't believe he is a forward. With Bishop and Wakelin both the wrong side of 30 I reckon he would slot in nicely at FB or CHB. The guys looks lost when he's played in the forward line. Whereever he plays though, he wasn't worth pick 17.
Handyandy
27 Feb 2006, 16:15
Treadrea wasnt great on the day but wasnt beaten either. If the ball was directed to his advantage he won it everytime. Rutten is a good player but his job is made very easy when the supply is so dismal.
It will be interesting to see how the two go if port ever manages to give treadrea reasonable supply out of the centre.
crows98
27 Feb 2006, 16:20
I disgaree with you that Bock and Trent are on the verge of AA. IMO they are both yet to fully prove themselves at this level. However, the signs look good.
That’s a fair enough comment and I accept that as more prone to being the case, hopefully this season they go from sometime being a game breaker to fulfilling that prophecy given to them.
I agree with you on your White comment. I don't believe he is a hack but also don't believe he is a forward. With Bishop and Wakelin both the wrong side of 30 I reckon he would slot in nicely at FB or CHB. The guys looks lost when he's played in the forward line.
Again good call, I can also see him becoming a successful defender, but it very easy to turn a forward into a defender, the heat has to be put on him to become that young up and coming forward they need.
This time least season Neil Craig and the assistant coaches could quite easily have decided that Trent Hentschel was better suited as a defender and left him there. He would have had an exceptional year but in the best interest of the side made him develop the mental skills to utilize his natural ability to play the game and become a key forward and now we are reaping the rewards.
History tells us that Port Adelaide will give up on him as a forward (see Chad Cornes) and play him at FB or CHB (as you said) or trade him.
Whereever he plays though, he wasn't worth pick 17.
You have to trade on potential and that is very dangerous, you have to give up more than what he is worth at the time.
Melbourne would be kicking themselves for only getting pick 12 for Scott Thompson as we are still regretting giving away pick 12 for Mathew Bode.
Trading is a gamble
PAFC2004
27 Feb 2006, 16:53
I agree. There's only so much you can take out of a pre-season knock-out match.
Which makes it all the more sad that the person currently topping the post count for this thread is an opposition supporter seeking to desperately defend his team's performance.
Dave, please tell me where I have defended my team's performance. We were quite pathetic. I have said that. So I am NOT defending the Power. What I am saying is people are getting a little too carried away with the result; take the advertiser for example.
Well done on the win, but don't get too over excited is all I am saying.
macca23
27 Feb 2006, 18:53
Oh and thanks Birdbrain for your clumsy over-enthusiastic attack on Kingsley....one day I just hope this evens up
Ever heard of Karma?
Port supporters always thought it so clever when Montgomery knuckled Burton game after game - usually from behind in the back of the head.
Ironically Burton unintentionally puts one of your senior players out of action for 10 weeks while not trying to do so.
Karma.
Macca19
27 Feb 2006, 19:56
White in defence is an interesting one. Had some very good form there for North in early 2004. I still think he is a forward. His problem is squandering good chances at getting goals. He either drops marks after getting in great position (eg. yesterday) or he takes the marks and misses the goals.
I still hold out hope for him to start taking those chances. If he doesnt, he will be out of the AFL system for good in my opinion
Malibu#27
27 Feb 2006, 20:20
Ever heard of Karma?
Port supporters always thought it so clever when Montgomery knuckled Burton game after game - usually from behind in the back of the head.
Ironically Burton unintentionally puts one of your senior players out of action for 10 weeks while not trying to do so.
Karma.
Karma would be Burton being reported on video evidence after Kingsley dumped him in it.
(not that it was reportable) ... but its what Burton deserves.
MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
27 Feb 2006, 20:27
Karma would be Burton being reported on video evidence after Kingsley dumped him in it.
(not that it was reportable) ... but its what Burton deserves.
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA I don't think so.
k
xx
Mr Magoo
28 Feb 2006, 00:41
Absolute HACK.
Very hard call on a guy who's only played 18 AFL games according to the portadelaidefc website. He has shown potential in a few of those games as well, & not too many key position players will dominate games so early in their career especially someone who spends so much time on the bench. I remember calls from our supporters to drop Francou when he first started playing for port on the half forward flank as well, & look how at what sort of player he turned out to be because we persisted with him in those early years, the same can be said for players like Tredrea & Cornes.
Allefgib
28 Feb 2006, 12:36
I finally got around to seeing the game. My thoughts on Tredrea vs Rutten are that if I saw either in a dark alley I would run (and im 6 3 with decent frame myself).
Seriously though, Tredrea did alot of his 'good' work late when the games pace had dropped off alot, more space was available etc.
The telling thing for is the contests. Tredrea did break away a few times when the delivery was good to win a few balls but the body on body contests... Rutten nearly won them all from what I saw.
I would back Rutten tomorrow in a serious game over Tredrea unless the Power midfield had far more pace than Adelaides. As we all know you can't stop a gun forward when the midfield has time to deliver.
You should be thanking him. It was Adam Kingley for goodness sake.
Blue Red and Gold
28 Feb 2006, 18:12
Are you talking about, say for instance the multiple times Montgomery was reported for striking Burton?
Go away Muppet!
portentous
28 Feb 2006, 20:44
Nothing in it IMO. Move along, nothing to see here.