View Full Version : OT: Nathan Lonie, Softest Ever PAPS player?
Did anyone see the incident with Nathan Lonie closing his eyes and hoping not to be hit while someone (not sure who) was running back for the mark?
May of been the most p1ss weak thing i've ever seen from a Port player (for all their foibles they generally play tough footy)
So he's definitely lived up to his reputation as an outside reciever today!
Cove Cobra
26 Feb 2006, 17:33
I didn't notice it while watching it on Fox.
If that is the case he will fit in very well then with the PAPS, won't he?;)
PAFC2004
26 Feb 2006, 18:01
How about you get out there and do better. Grow up, seriously.
At least i'd keep my eyes open!:rolleyes:
PAFC2004
26 Feb 2006, 19:00
Of course you would jo... It's instinct. If you are going to pick on something so trivial, you mustn't have much to do with your time.
SpringChoke
26 Feb 2006, 19:36
Did anyone see the incident with Nathan Lonie closing his eyes and hoping not to be hit while someone (not sure who) was running back for the mark?
May of been the most p1ss weak thing i've ever seen from a Port player (for all their foibles they generally play tough footy)
Edwards.
Kane McGoodwin
26 Feb 2006, 19:43
Lonie wasn't on his opponent for most of the day (& vice versa). Didn't do much damage & yes, looked soft in rare contests. Not a great start, but I will judge him on more than 1 game.
GERVAIS
26 Feb 2006, 19:48
Port supporters (such as myself) when assessing a new recruit, will often make our judgement based on one specific incident focussing on an unselfish act or fearless physcial committment.
Many of us made our assessment on Nathan Lonie today in the 3rd quarter.
Myself and other Port fans around me cringed at his effort - he has a lot of work to do to win back some respect.
If Fos was watching, Lonie's card would be permanently marked.
Crow-mo
26 Feb 2006, 19:53
whaaaaaah!!
Crow-mo
26 Feb 2006, 19:55
Port supporters (such as myself) when assessing a new recruit, will often make our judgement based on one specific incident focussing on an unselfish act or fearless physcial committment.
Myself and other Port fans around me cringed at his effort - he has a lot of work to do to win back some respect.
it's not just port supporters, I think most supporters do the same. when you have a new guy, you're always hoping you got a gem. keeping an eye an out for a sign of what is to come.
Blue Red and Gold
26 Feb 2006, 19:55
saw the incident as it was right in front of me. Wasnt sure who the player was but couldnt believe how much he ******** himself especially considering he was the one running at the ball. Edwards did not sherk the contest at all whilst running back with the flight of the ball. Great play Edwards, Lonie, well I might just leave it at that.
PAFC2004
26 Feb 2006, 19:57
Seriously guys, you are trying to make something out of nothing. Maybe he could have put a little more effort in, but writing him off (as many of you are doing) is slightly over the top.
SpringChoke
26 Feb 2006, 20:04
Its amazing how quickly the tables turn. You guys look like you have very few players who are willing to go in and hunt the ball, whereas we, for some reason, have an abundance - Goody, Thommo, Shirley, Porp, Bode VB, Knights...
I think the perfect example of this was in the thrid quarter when 2 Port onballers hesiated going for a contested ball and VB came barrelling in without fear and took possession.
Ahhhh things are looking up.
Seriously guys, you are trying to make something out of nothing. Maybe he could have put a little more effort in, but writing him off (as many of you are doing) is slightly over the top.
Not writing him off, plenty of soft players are servicable AFL football players, I'm just saying he's weak as dishwater and I don't think traditionally the Port Adelaide Football Club accepts that, or maybe thats the Port Adelaide Magpies!:D
PAFC2004
26 Feb 2006, 20:05
Not writing him off, plenty of soft players are servicable AFL football players, I'm just saying he's weak as dishwater and I don't think traditionally the Port Adelaide Football Club accepts that, or maybe thats the Port Adelaide Magpies!:D
True in some respects. But from what Iv'e seen him do in the past, he isn't that soft. Players do stupid things sometimes, oh well.
Stiffy_18
26 Feb 2006, 20:09
I think Nathan Lonie and Luke Jericho make a pretty good combination in that aspect of the game :(
Oh if only Jericho would pull on a Port jumper!:D
Macca19
26 Feb 2006, 21:01
Its amazing how quickly the tables turn. You guys look like you have very few players who are willing to go in and hunt the ball,
I was impressed with the way Salopek, Thomson and Logan hunted the ball today. The latter twos disposals were well below average though. Symes as well I thought attacked pretty hard. The Crows have bigger bodied midfielders and are much tougher at this point.
PAFC2004 - You are fighting a lost battle. It was absoultely weak and had an opposition player done the same we would be giving them hell for being soft. Pulling out like that (did it a couple of other times today as well) is not the best way to win over your new clubs supporters.
PAFC2004
26 Feb 2006, 21:02
I was impressed with the way Salopek, Thomson and Logan hunted the ball today. The latter twos disposals were well below average though. Symes as well I thought attacked pretty hard. The Crows have bigger bodied midfielders and are much tougher at this point.
PAFC2004 - You are fighting a lost battle. It was absoultely weak and had an opposition player done the same we would be giving them hell for being soft. Pulling out like that (did it a couple of other times today as well) is not the best way to win over your new clubs supporters.
I understand that Macca... im more concerned with the fact that certain opposition supporters really have nothing better to do.
Toots Hibbert
26 Feb 2006, 21:08
It's not like Lonie was in any danger. He had all the advantages in that situation to at least knock the ball away from Edwards. Absolutely bewildering.
I understand that Macca... im more concerned with the fact that certain opposition supporters really have nothing better to do.
Yeah like Port Power supporters who have nothing better to do than to come on the Crows board to have a good cry about what a rabble their side is.
Stiffy_18
26 Feb 2006, 21:18
Lonie
http://img123.imageshack.us/img123/9543/cantbelieveitsnotbutter4pf.jpg
mattyc2422
27 Feb 2006, 01:05
True in some respects. But from what Iv'e seen him do in the past, he isn't that soft. Players do stupid things sometimes, oh well.
Bollocks. Nat the cat Lonie is one of the softest players I have ever seen in any standard of football. I should know, I had the displeasure of seeing him play for Box Hill and Hawthorn for far too long.
His long kicking and running ability is impressive, but he is a fairy of the highest order.
Crowked
27 Feb 2006, 06:56
:D
Cruel stiffy cruel
but funny, very funny!
:D :D :D
SpringChoke
27 Feb 2006, 07:21
It's not like Lonie was in any danger. He had all the advantages in that situation to at least knock the ball away from Edwards. Absolutely bewildering.
The replay is even mpore damning on him. Not only does he NOT take Edwards out, he ducks his head himself. Aas for Jericho, pffft tey another wasted top 35 pick.
SpringChoke
27 Feb 2006, 07:25
Logan does attack the contest pretty hard but he doesn't have the polish of let's say Porplysia. As for Thomson, I was quite suprised with how small he looked. He looks much bigger against SANFL bodies. I think he is at least 2-3 years away from being a top line midfielder. When you take into account Sal and Ebert are 21 and 22 and they are just starting to show something it makes the perfomances of a 19 yo Chris Knights even that more special.
As an aside when it looks like Stewie Dew has been assigned the role of Intimidator, you know things are lookins bad.
cro_Magnum
27 Feb 2006, 07:43
:D
Cruel stiffy cruel
but fair
I think most Port supporters knew Lonie was soft when we picked him up. What you see is what you get, a reciever. I watched most the game yesterday, I thought he was solid enough as far as output goes.
Everybody loves tough, hard players but there is room for receivers in the side. As soft as Lonie is, he has good skills and delivers the ball well.
Porthos
27 Feb 2006, 08:48
Why is everyone surprised?
afc9798
27 Feb 2006, 10:04
You, yourself said it was instinct and you're correct. Instinct is what makes a great player and Lonie's instinct was clearly to protect himself at the cost of his team. I'm not writing him off, but if that is his instinst, it would explain why Hawthorn had no qualms about releasing him and why he has made no impact at AFL level. The last thing a young Port side needs is a bad example like the one set by Lonie yesterday. Much in the same way as Salopek got 30 classy posessions, but most were uncontested and he simply waited for someone else to do the work. I hear you Port guys criticise Stevens for being an outside player, yet Salopek is different-why? Couldn't be because Stevens plays for Carlton could it?
Port's big problem this year is that it will really need the hardness of Francou and Kingsley. Given that Francou is injury prone and Kingsley will now have the worst possible start to a season, where will the intensity at the ball come from other than Kane Cornes and maybe Cassisi?
Wasn't it ironic that Port's favourite Crows player, Brett Burton, was the one involved when Kingsley's shoulder popped. He just always seems to be involved where you guys are concerned......:)
Since when has Kingsley been known for his 'hardness'?
topjars
27 Feb 2006, 12:02
Perhaps you'd better ask Mrs Kingsley that one:eek:
Markthirtytwo
27 Feb 2006, 12:05
Perhaps you'd better ask Mrs Kingsley that one:eek:
Wouldnt have been last night. :p
Mr Magoo
27 Feb 2006, 13:25
You just have to love the irony of this don't you?
If Lonie would've cleaned up the AFc player you guys would be screaming for picke.. er i mean blood with calls of dirty dog, sniper etc.
Lonie does the right thing by your fans & yet you still find fault with him ... i give up. :)
SpringChoke
27 Feb 2006, 15:51
I think its more of a sign of where their midfield is that when Chooco says it is big loss. Even a fully fit Kinglsey wouldn't be in the top 100 midfielders in the comp.
Handyandy
27 Feb 2006, 15:57
Yes. that was one of the softest efforts ive ever seen from an afl (let alone a port) player. It happened right in front of me and all the port people groaned.
Edwards should be grateful it wasnt walsh or wilson who challenged for that ball or it might have been ambulance time.
Also I watched lonie closely and i thought his kicking was actually quite poor.
Blue Red and Gold
27 Feb 2006, 16:31
You just have to love the irony of this don't you?
If Lonie would've cleaned up the AFc player you guys would be screaming for picke.. er i mean blood with calls of dirty dog, sniper etc.
Lonie does the right thing by your fans & yet you still find fault with him ... i give up. :)
So your happy with his effort?
nivek48
27 Feb 2006, 16:36
umm ... whats a PAPS?
I thought Lonie played for PAFC?
:rolleyes:
Spare us please. The only thing that concerns you is that one of your precious Port players is coming in for some criticism.
You dismiss Lonie's detractors as having "nothing better to do". By contrast I suppose your blind defence of him is of major importance?
Do us all a favour PAFC2004, and heed your own advice. "Grow up, seriously."
If you can't sustain the negative comments even when it is most deserved then it's time to stop visiting the board of your team's major rival. (Note: this especially applies following a game against them.) I'm sure I'm not the only one who finds your dreary sookiness utterly tedious.
PAFC2004
27 Feb 2006, 16:47
Spare us please. The only thing that concerns you is that one of your precious Port players is coming in for some criticism.
You dismiss Lonie's detractors as having "nothing better to do". By contrast I suppose your blind defence of him is of major importance?
If you can't sustain the negative comments even when it is most deserved then it's time to stop visiting the board of your team's major rival. (Note: this especially applies following a game against them.) I'm sure I'm not the only one who finds your dreary sookiness utterly tedious.
Likewise. I said previously he could have done better. But as usual, rather than praise your teams efforts which you are more than welcome to do, you criticise the Power (not you personally). I'm sure you know that this happens all too often.
I'm not thrilled about the incident, because I know that we were lacking a certain amount of 'toughness' last year. I don't want to see anything like that. But I was simply stating that minor incidents like that really don't need to be brought up and so forth.
crows98
27 Feb 2006, 16:48
Does anyone get the feeling that dad has put his foot down and his word is the law?
PAFC2004
27 Feb 2006, 16:49
Does anyone get the feeling that dad has put his foot down and his word is the law?
No, it's a discussion board.
Likewise. I said previously he could have done better. But as usual, rather than praise your teams efforts which you are more than welcome to do, you criticise the Power (not you personally). I'm sure you know that this happens all too often.
There has been plenty of excitement over the win. Being a discussion board, we are capable of engaging in multiple conversations (otherwise known as 'threads').
I'm not thrilled about the incident, because I know that we were lacking a certain amount of 'toughness' last year. I don't want to see anything like that. But I was simply stating that minor incidents like that really don't need to be brought up and so forth.
Lonie is far from the first player on BigFooty to be derided as 'soft'. It's long been part of the BigFooty culture to get stuck into such players. The fact that this offends you, despite the length of time you've been here, on an opposition board no less, shows, I think, some immaturity on your part.
crows98
27 Feb 2006, 17:26
No, it's a discussion board.
Thanks for the heads up:thumbsu: , I am just about to E-Mail the editor at the advertiser because us Crows fans have that much influence and ask them to have this as tomorrow headline on the front page.:)
Big Footy “Discussion board or futile idiot meeting ground”. :eek:
I think its more of a sign of where their midfield is that when Chooco says it is big loss. Even a fully fit Kinglsey wouldn't be in the top 100 midfielders in the comp.
I am a fan of Kingsley.
creature-beast
27 Feb 2006, 23:51
I am a fan of Kingsley.
thanks for the heads up.
Markthirtytwo
28 Feb 2006, 07:55
I am a fan of Kingsley.
So it's agreed then. Your heads up.
His clacker. :p
dyertribe
28 Feb 2006, 13:45
Just saw the moment in question on replay.
If you're going to shirk the issue that badly in the face of an oncoming small in a practice game, what hope you do have when the real stuff starts and it comes your turn in front of a KPP?
afc9798
28 Feb 2006, 14:25
Just saw the moment in question on replay.
If you're going to shirk the issue that badly in the face of an oncoming small in a practice game, what hope you do have when the real stuff starts and it comes your turn in front of a KPP?
Couldn't agree more. Lonie squibbed out of an everyday contest for most AFL footballers, no wonder Clarkson was happy to trade him. Maybe Williams should show the video at practice over and over or maybe he should show some footage of Jason Torney's match when he came back from a disc injury and the first thing he did was back into the pack and got crunched. Courage is a non-negotiable trait for a footballer and needs to be instinctive, or he will never have an impact on the game.
Speaking of Port players, thank goodness for Port's own incompetence that the trade with Damon White for our pick 17 didn't go through. They wanted pick 16, we offered pick 17, so they called it off (such a huge difference between picks 16 and 17 :D ).
Blue Red and Gold
28 Feb 2006, 15:49
I rate Damon White, but he just seems to be continually going backwards, he was horrible on sunday. I am not going to write him off yet but he better do something soon before he has blown his chance.
I agree though Mong, so glad we didnt get him, especially with Perrie and Hentschel firing early.
Cheeseman
28 Feb 2006, 18:37
Hello my adelaide counterparts, good luck for the weekend against my boys "yes, im serious" As a hawk man, i was rapt to see the last of lonie at the hawks. For those port supporters that want to argue that it was an isolated incident, let me tell you with great enthusiasm, that you better get used to it. On the upside, at least you dont also have that squib Bowden on your list, he heard footsteps on saturday, and im still chuckling at his lame attempt at justification for it whislt roughy and buddy let him know about it.
Be Good
Cheers :thumbsu:
macca23
28 Feb 2006, 18:44
Hello my adelaide counterparts, good luck for the weekend against my boys "yes, im serious" As a hawk man, i was rapt to see the last of lonie at the hawks. For those port supporters that want to argue that it was an isolated incident, let me tell you with great enthusiasm, that you better get used to it. On the upside, at least you dont also have that squib Bowden on your list, he heard footsteps on saturday, and im still chuckling at his lame attempt at justification for it whislt roughy and buddy let him know about it.
Be Good
Ch 7 showed it in their sports news tonight with very unfavourable comments from Chris McDermott.
The more I've seen it the worse it looks. I can't remember seeing a softer incident from a grown man on a footy field!! To run out of harm's way with his fkg eyes shut!!
I can see why Hawthorn unloaded this guy. You can't take players like Lonie into the trenches with you.
topjars
28 Feb 2006, 19:27
Be Good
Good luck to you to Cheeseman.
On the Bowden incident...I saw this and thought what a softc---ck!
Didnt he get paid out!!:D
portentous
28 Feb 2006, 20:46
FWIW, Ian Downsborough was EASILY the "softest" player ever on Port's list, poound for pound.
Truck Rutten
28 Feb 2006, 20:46
He must have been talking about Ben Kingsley the actor. It certainly can't be Adam.
If anyone has seen Sexy Beast then you'll know what he is on about! Talk about hard! And scary for that matter.
I'm not thrilled about the incident, because I know that we were lacking a certain amount of 'toughness' last year. I don't want to see anything like that. But I was simply stating that minor incidents like that really don't need to be brought up and so forth.Pull the other one.
SpringChoke
1 Mar 2006, 07:49
I reckon people are being a bit harsh on Lonie. Go watch the game again. He's wasn't the only Port player that had second thoughts about throwing his body into a contest.
LukeHodge15
1 Mar 2006, 10:45
tell me something i dont know about lonie......:D
he is a squib, glad to see the back of him at hawthorn. very glad to see some other sucker paying his wages.;)
I'd like to see him play a few more games before commenting on his abilities, value to the side or lack of such things.
tell me something i dont know about lonie......:D
he is a squib, glad to see the back of him at hawthorn. very glad to see some other sucker paying his wages.;)
My brother (a Hawthorn supporter) holds a similar view.
To quote him (who is himself paraphrasing Kerry Packer): "You only get one Port Adelaide in your life".
Hawk Dork
1 Mar 2006, 16:13
I'd like to see him play a few more games before commenting on his abilities, value to the side or lack of such things.
Watch a few old Hawthorn tapes that will help make up your mind.
That would be the same as watching Schofield before he came to Port.
No thanks I'll wait and see how things develop here with Choco as the coach. Once he decides a player has something the team needs he is very loyal and backs them more than most coaches, but then he can also burn them quick smart if he thinks they do not fit.
Hueskes, Cummings and Donald Dickie are just some examples.
The Crows Truth
1 Mar 2006, 18:56
My brother (a Hawthorn supporter) holds a similar view.
To quote him (who is himself paraphrasing Kerry Packer): "You only get one Port Adelaide in your life".
:thumbsu: :D
The Crows Truth
1 Mar 2006, 18:59
That would be the same as watching Schofield before he came to Port.
No thanks I'll wait and see how things develop here with Choco as the coach. Once he decides a player has something the team needs he is very loyal and backs them more than most coaches, but then he can also burn them quick smart if he thinks they do not fit.
Hueskes, Cummings and Donald Dickie are just some examples.
mate face facts lonie is soft. listen to what the hawks suporters are saying. your problem now :thumbsu:
SpringChoke
1 Mar 2006, 19:47
Gee Lonie seems to be a big hit with Hawk supporters. Whta was it again, Lonie and Motlop for Pick 14 and Byron Pickett.
If Motlop cuts the Peter Burgoyne stuff out of his game he'll be woth Pickett + pick 14 on his own.
LukeHodge15
1 Mar 2006, 20:05
could believe the deal that pelchem pulled off.
hawks wanted 2 first rounders for hay :eek: :eek: thought they were just aiming high when they said that, but they were actually serious.:eek:
deal ended up
hay and lonie
for
picks 14 & 18 (birchall and bailey)
getting rid of lonie was just a bonus. laidley keeps talking up hay and what a superstar he is. but wait till north fans now have to put up with his brain fades on the last line of defence and his kicking rates up their with james manson of the old collingwood days.
lonie does some things good, "runs the wide open spaces very well."
is a "good kick when wide open." and "recieves the ball very well." if port need one of these players then he will be alright ..... i reckon ports problems lie in the midfield and lonie wont be fixing those problems.
... lonie does some things good, "runs the wide open spaces very well."
is a "good kick when wide open." and "recieves the ball very well." if port need one of these players then he will be alright ..... i reckon ports problems lie in the midfield and lonie wont be fixing those problems.
We have had a need for one of those ever since Schofield started slowing down. If Lonie will be the one or not to take over that spot I have no idea as it will take more than just one pre season game to find out.
SpringChoke
1 Mar 2006, 20:27
could believe the deal that pelchem pulled off.
hawks wanted 2 first rounders for hay :eek: :eek: thought they were just aiming high when they said that, but they were actually serious.:eek:
deal ended up
hay and lonie
for
picks 14 & 18 (birchall and bailey)
getting rid of lonie was just a bonus. laidley keeps talking up hay and what a superstar he is. but wait till north fans now have to put up with his brain fades on the last line of defence and his kicking rates up their with james manson of the old collingwood days.
lonie does some things good, "runs the wide open spaces very well."
I thought the Hawks did the best deal at the trade table. Just what Laidley sees in Hay is beyond me. Good honest footballer who has one exceptional year in 2002 ( see Richmonds Gasper )but 2 first rounders. Mate, you must have been jumping out of your skin.
Springy,
you're selling Gaspar short. a lot
SpringChoke
1 Mar 2006, 21:15
Springy,
you're selling Gaspar short. a lot
gee ya reckon. I think he's overrated. He swings from good to deplorable.
His good can be very good though.
Agreed.
But Springy is also right when he says that his worse is deplorable. Always tries his arse off but sometimes gets exposed by a certain type of player IMO.
The Crows Truth
1 Mar 2006, 22:31
Agreed.
But Springy is also right when he says that his worse is deplorable. Always tries his arse off but sometimes gets exposed by a certain type of player IMO.
he was good till he did his knee
Nige_Bix
1 Mar 2006, 22:32
I reckon people are being a bit harsh on Lonie. Go watch the game again. He's wasn't the only Port player that had second thoughts about throwing his body into a contest.Just saw the replay tonight - reckon someone looking a lot like Lonie [no. 34?] - pulled out of a contest early inthe 2nd 1/4 in the centre square - Brogan got a free, handballed to the left - ball bounces in front of the running Port player who baulks when Biglands come into the contest and wins the ball.
FWIW, Ian Downsborough was EASILY the "softest" player ever on Port's list, poound for pound.
From a Crows perspective he would have come close to that also, except we did have Darren 'Footsteps' Smith for a while. Smithy was a courageous and great SANFL player, but turned to water in the AFL comp. Could never understand it.:confused:
Malibu#27
2 Mar 2006, 13:45
I prefer to reserve judgement on Lonie until I see him in the season proper. He wouldnt be the first person to pull out of a contest .... and he wont be the last. As said already - if he had gone through with it he may well be getting called a thug :)
Maybe Ports recruiters have just shown they are visionary and league leading - picking Lonie as the perfect player for 5 years down the track when Vlad vision of a no-contact AFL comes to be reality :) :)
Was it last year when A Jarman got stuck into Brent Reilly for being soft in a contest?
I think that Lonie's was much worse, yet it is only here that anything has really been said about it. The media got really stuck into Reilly IIRC.
portentous
3 Mar 2006, 19:36
From a Crows perspective he would have come close to that also, except we did have Darren 'Footsteps' Smith for a while. Smithy was a courageous and great SANFL player, but turned to water in the AFL comp. Could never understand it.:confused:
His heart was never in it at the Crows. He played his best footy for the Magpies in finals though-and John Cahill still raves about how fantastic he was for the Pies.
Ian Downsborough simply had NO heart IMO. Not sure why he played footy at all. :confused:
His heart was never in it at the Crows. He played his best footy for the Magpies in finals though-and John Cahill still raves about how fantastic he was for the Pies.
I think you're right. which is amazing that someone would have so little pride and ambition for themselves. As Malcolm blight said in one his infamous sprays "you have to realise you don't get it back. you're retired a long time".
cro_Magnum
3 Mar 2006, 21:25
I think you're right. which is amazing that someone would have so little pride and ambition for themselves. As Malcolm blight said in one his infamous sprays "you have to realise you don't get it back. you're retired a long time".
Smith was so soft he would come off the ground for dandruff.
I think I was at that game :D
I think I have to defend Doreen Smith here.
Rumour has it that he once played a full half of a quarter with a splinter in his finger, before the pain finally drove him off.
Even his skirts were made of tough material!!
Fair go fellas!!
meh. He was always in the best players in just about every premiership win weve had since ive been alive.
Soft? Maybe. Definately no intimidating toughman but when Port Adelaide needed him to stand up he always did. Especially in finals and you'd never see him back out of a contest in important games.
People can have a go at him all they like....but im sure there are thousands upon thousands of footballers out there that wish they had a career like he did.
I think you're right. which is amazing that someone would have so little pride and ambition for themselves.
So deciding to play for the club you've spent all your life is a terrible thing? Do you think the same of Gary McIntosh?
Im sure he is more than happy how his career panned out. 340 games, 500 goals, 7 premiership medals, state player, AFL player, Port Adelaide hall of fame member.
cro_Magnum
4 Mar 2006, 13:14
So deciding to play for the club you've spent all your life is a terrible thing? Do you think the same of Gary McIntosh?
Im sure he is more than happy how his career panned out. 340 games, 500 goals, 7 premiership medals, state player, AFL player, Port Adelaide hall of fame member.
No-one's questioning his obviously distinguished career with the Magpies, but you have to concede he wasn't a great success at AFL. He was either not good enough, past his prime or didn't try hard enough. If he didn't try because he didn't like the Crows, as has been hinted, how stupid is that when you only get one crack at it.
Which one was it?
I dont think he was good enough to ever be a very good option at AFL level but I also dont believe his heart was 100% in it. That does not equate to purposely not trying because he didnt like the club.
for one Garry McIntosh never gave half hearted efforts.
secondly I am sure he is thrilled he never proved himself up to the highest level. bet he has a cake every year to celebrate.
I dont think he was good enough to ever be a very good option at AFL level but I also dont believe his heart was 100% in it. That does not equate to purposely not trying because he didnt like the club.
it equates to a lack of pride in his efforts.
for one Garry McIntosh never gave half hearted efforts.
secondly I am sure he is thrilled he never proved himself up to the highest level. bet he has a cake every year to celebrate.
I was originally going to let the McIntosh thing go through to the keeper, but now you've raised it, I'm in the same camp as you on this one.
We all know McIntosh was a great SANFL footballer. He chose not to prove himself at the most elite level and therefore can't be remembered with the elite.
He called it loyalty. IMO he was happy to be a big fish in a little pond.
Coming back to Doreen Smith (a name the Port supporters gave him, not me) he was a first class individual as a man, who generally performed for Port when the chips were down. Port supporters gave him a lot of shyte though.
A hard man he was not, and he was found drastically wanting at AFL level.
Port supporters gave him a lot of shyte though.
Correct, our own supporters gave him a very hard time which I always found disgraceful. Was a bloody good player for us and considering his finals efforts I dont think he ever got the respect from his supporters that he deserved
Ford Fairlane
5 Mar 2006, 16:59
Poor Darren Smith ... didn't have the courage and intensity to be included in the pantheon of crow greats like Rouvray, Robbie Thompson, Schwerdt, Lamb, Tongerie, Saliba, Hocking, Bartlett, Mail ... he must have been really bad.
The simple fact is the crows had a swag of CHF try outs in the first few years ... McIntyre, Klug, Bartlett, Murphy, Smith pretty much in the first squad alone ... none of them ever made it, some due to injury, others due to just not being up to it. But also partly because Cornes, the media and by extension the public, wanted one of them to be the impossible - the next Stephen Kernahan. The prodigal son, the one that got away. So it could never be accepted to play one of them in the position full time and accept they weren't always going to dominate all the time ... not even Smithy managed that at Port Adelaide. Trouble was first sign of an ordinary game and in came one of the others, and round and round the whirly gig went. And this went on post-Smith too ... I'd say Standfield, Wigney, McCartney and Matty Robran all had their goes there (heck, Cornesy even tried to get Jim West back into the possie. And Allan Schwartz would have been a chance in his knee had been up to it. Ditto Jonno Ross). In the end it took Blight to put an end to the madness, stick Matty Robran there, leave him there, accept that not every game was going to be a match winner and build a structure around his strengths.
I don't buy that Smithy's heart wasn't in it ... he put his hand up when he was asked and he slogged his guts out thru a couple of pre-seasons ... a few walked away but he didn't. But in the end players do get demoralised by their treatment, but he still would have fronted up.
for one Garry McIntosh never gave half hearted efforts. ... well in the SANFL anyway seeing as that's the only measure we have for him, and the same can be said for Darren Smith. But at least he put his hand up for the crows when he was asked.
SpringChoke
5 Mar 2006, 18:19
It's not hard to guess who the softest AFC player is.
The simple fact is the crows had a swag of CHF try outs in the first few years ... McIntyre, Klug, Bartlett, Murphy, Smith pretty much in the first squad alone ... none of them ever made it,
Johnny Klug made it, he was great for us in the early years. BUT he wasn't 16 when we got him.
Mcintyre & Murphy were thugs, though both could play. :)
Bartlett may be the worst player I've seen in a crows guernsay.
I was originally going to let the McIntosh thing go through to the keeper, but now you've raised it, I'm in the same camp as you on this one.
We all know McIntosh was a great SANFL footballer. He chose not to prove himself at the most elite level and therefore can't be remembered with the elite.
He called it loyalty. IMO he was happy to be a big fish in a little pond.
Coming back to Doreen Smith (a name the Port supporters gave him, not me) he was a first class individual as a man, who generally performed for Port when the chips were down. Port supporters gave him a lot of shyte though.
A hard man he was not, and he was found drastically wanting at AFL level.
a bit of confusion, my second point (though not made clear) was directed at Darren Smith. In my mind I rate McIntosh's position higher - he didn't try to have his cake and eat it too - but as you say the fact remains he chose to be a big fish. As a result he sold himself short.
I also think he could've done just fine if he gave it a go, but I wonder if all the discipline and rigour would have suited him.
It's not hard to guess who the softest AFC player is.
so many to chose from :p
Ford Fairlane
6 Mar 2006, 11:29
Johnny Klug made it, he was great for us in the early years. BUT he wasn't 16 when we got him.
Mcintyre & Murphy were thugs, though both could play. :)
Bartlett may be the worst player I've seen in a crows guernsay.
Interestingly Klug is the same age as Darren Smith and both only lasted a couple of years on the Crows list. But yeah Klug was a freaky talent, saw him play a few games for Woodville prior to joining the crows and saw he could do amazing things then. Pity his knees didn't hold up.