View Full Version : D GRADE: Give me something...

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22

DG-Man
23 Jul 2006, 00:00
Sorry it has taken me so long to join party this evening. My driver was late picking me up, and then when i got home, the internal lift was broken. Had to walk up 4 sets of stairs to reach the upper study. A little chilly up here, so i have just put on a creme turtle-neck. "Can you organise my pipe and slippers Geeves."
Now down to business.
OGS have taken a wrong turn and are heading 180 degrees in the wrong direction, down struggle street. A fearsome unit in D2, but perhaps they lack the top up in personnel to give D1 a real shake this year. Extremely disappointing last month. The only thing that they can be happy about this weekend is that BT did them a favour by denting the YV's finals hopes.
Great effort by Prahran. Can't see them staying in D1, but top win none the less! Leos are on fire. They have been excellent over the last month and will be difficult opponents for finals aspirants in the lead up to September!
On paper, a good win by the OC. Therry, with names back and D2 starting to look like a real possibility, were always likely to be tough opposition. The OC were obvioulsy very good.
Fantastic win by Rupo. OM's are difficult to beat at home, but i suspect they have packed it in for the year. Taking nothing away from Rupo (as i did not see the game) but last weeks form against the OC where they had only 4 scoring shots, and then a home loss today, suggests that the OM's will finish around 7th this year which is an average result for a side that looked strong towards the end of last year.
Rupo move into 3rd spot with a games break to OGS, and another gap to YV. ILSS will be a happy boy tonight!

DG weekly new market:

BT - 7/4
OC - 2/1
Rupo - 12/1
OGS - 15-1
YV - 25/1

The BT and the OC are starting to really stamp their authority. Both teams have disposed of the YV in recent weeks with ease, and the YV have been a form side with great recent wins over other top sides.
Would be interesting to hear from someone at YV about how they found both BT and OC. Whether they can give an indication as to who they think is the stronger side.

Tipping Ladder will be done tomorrow or Monday. Geeves has just rolled down my sheets. "I hope there is a little chocolate on the pillow tonight Geeves!"

Will sleep on the idea of opening up the DG Palace at years end. It has been many years since anyone not wearing boat shoes has visited my house. Will talk to the misses about lowering the dress standard for an evening. Stay tuned!

Archangel17
23 Jul 2006, 10:24
Two Blues got a well-deserved win, although they tried to hand it to OGs in the last quarter. Great contributions from James, L Northway and a couple of other who I won't mention( WHY NOT, IT IS NOT AS IF THEIR NAMES WILL NOT APPEAR ON THE TEAM SHEET?).
the fat kid coaching the Blues did pretty good too.
all in all it was a very entertaining game but the training track will cop a pounding at Como this week.

CMCK Did Bevan play? Rumour is he is playing the last four rounds. McCudden?Sleight? Excuse me if i am unfair, but i cannot see the side Prahran has put on the field the past two months troubling OGS at home, even at two blues absolute best and even with Stafford and Scicluna back.

FAT KID.. not sure which is more insulting?.Stafford is a bit heavy but still a very clever player, strong on the lead; and kid?? Well i actually start to wonder if you are Leigh himself; maybe Fat Kid is an in-joke .??:D

KB- any players back? How did Monzell(nicknaming him Diesel) and Collins play? very good footballers IMO and keys to Rupo, 'in and under' and 'linebreakers' .- and on another note is ILSS a ones player or does he just talk *&(^? I dont need a name.. just this info.

Decent win by Rupo though i still think Yarra will play finals.. prob only one more tough game to go - Leos, think the loser of OGs v Rupo will probably drop out..

UGLY or one of the many BT people- any new ins for BT ?Did Bain play or young ruckman from Port- will he qualify for finals?. that was a very impressive result.. BT and OC similar results at Domeney this year.. - good formline.

One of the many OC people- Thoughts on OC? How did Trav Bull go? Very important pickup IMO- one thing OC has lacked is a CHF.. Nick Bull? also very handy- is he close to a ones game? There seem to be a lot of new names playing in the ones - any thoughts on any of them. Where do they come from? Where do they play? Ratcliffe,Jessup,Barton etc.

EVERYONE - Can Leos make a last minute charge to finals? Can they knock of OC this week? Will take a huge effort but Buckle is firing, if so how will they do it . It will take more than just Buckle, and Ballard is very good but OC have good ruckmen in Unkles and Basell .I know Leos finals seems remote with 14pts to make up, however.. OGS - Rupo away, OC home, Leos ahome, Therry away, OM home- you would only pencil in OM- they should win more than this but stranger things have happened.

can't mark can't kick
23 Jul 2006, 10:31
haven't seen BT for a couple of months, but I think they'd have a slight edge on the OC. One thing I can say for sure is that there is no Fitzroy Reds or Uni Blacks this year. I thought OGs were going to dominate like that, but they're probably 3-4 players short at the moment. any side that makes the four are a good show of winning the flag.

can't mark can't kick
23 Jul 2006, 10:53
Arch
first off - I'll quash the rumours. I'm not the cockroach, not even a player, just a long time Prahran supporter. yes he is still a clever player and he had probably his best game for the year y/day. starting to pick up a bit of fitness after not planning to play this year. he's mostly there out of sheer necessity filling one of the many holes caused by Flight Centre.
secondly, I wasn't holding back info, just didn't have time to give it all.
Scicluna played a blinder at the back, showed the class that made him a top VFA player in the early 90s. Walford was very good at both ends. A Pitts played his best game for 2 years. Prahran had a good team effort.
no Beven - still on a beach somewhere. spoke to Sleight's dad & brother at Rupo last week, back early next year. McCudden could be anywhere, probably with a cricket bat in hand. also 4-5 others from last year's Prelim final side o/s who could slot in to the squad. Two Blues should be in the mix for promotion next year, just a matter of whether they play D1 or D2.

Archangel17
23 Jul 2006, 10:54
CMCK- no probs.. just flabbergasted as most are , by result.. but full credit to TWO BLUES.

Toohas
23 Jul 2006, 11:43
We were just out-everythinged by Bulleen-Templestowe, they are a very impressive unit. Chivers played the best game of anyone I've seen this year, he was on fire. Burridge looked at times like he was going to tear the game apart, very quick mover and uses the ball well. Keem was our best by a mile, if he wasn't in such superb touch, the margin could have been a lot more. Our boys had a real dip though, apart from an insipid second quarter, just weren't up to it on the day.

OC vs Bulleen would be very interesting I think. If anything I reckon I'd just give Bulleen Temp the edge, because I think we had a real crack yesterday, more so than the last time we played against Old Carey. Line ball though. But since I only got one tip right, it probably doesn't really matter what I think. You should probably go the other way.

uglydermie
23 Jul 2006, 12:13
AA17. Both Bains played yesterday and did well. Ryan working his way nicely into pretty good touch. Look to his later games this year to be something special. younger M Bain is a class act.

Tommy Walters was not released this week BUT has qualified for us re finals on the condition that he is not required at Port. Given that they are unlikely to play finals we are hopeful that he will play for us. Can play and the best bit is he is a proud junior from our club and wants to be a part of it.

kingbrown
23 Jul 2006, 17:19
Ugly, i,m just a passionate Rupo supporter. Too old.

Responding to the queries on Rupo
Collins and Monzell did play and are always pivotal in our games as key players. IMO were in our best again.
Like most sides we still have 5 players who did not play this week who would start in our 18. I won't name them,(i am not the coach) but if your keen to work it out look at our team list against OM. All will be back within 1-3 weeks. No injuries Saturday, (first time this year).
Our confidence is growing again.

ILSS the D1 genius is a man/woman? of the highest integrity. Every thing he has said is truthful, inciteful and riveting. Does he play? i suppose it depends how you define playing? I have yet to see him bull S--t on this site yet!

I vote we make sure we catch up at the Grand Final as well. A couple after the match for sure.

King Woodie
23 Jul 2006, 18:47
Toohas is it true that your boys lost a few players form the week before and lost your fullback that morning. What was the strength of the side that you boys put agsinst the future D1 premiers.

Toohas
23 Jul 2006, 19:11
Toohas is it true that your boys lost a few players form the week before and lost your fullback that morning. What was the strength of the side that you boys put agsinst the future D1 premiers.

Strong enough that we thought getting the four points was a realistic ambition...

On another note, I think that there has been a bit of rivalry built between the two sides over the past few years, with quite a few reports etc. in our games. However, it was good to see two teams having a fair dinkum crack at each other all day and then being able to have a chat and a laugh after the game in the rooms. The Bullants were noticeable in how many stuck around and it was very much appreciated.

Thorpedo69
23 Jul 2006, 20:15
The Bullants were noticeable in how many stuck around and it was very much appreciated.
Can I just say that the lack of OGs players and supporters at the after-match at Toorak Part on Saturday was extremely embarrassing. Apart from coach, not many others from OGs were present. It was certainly a disappointing loss, but it's important that players and supporters band together for their own sake and also as a sign of respect to fellow D1 competitors.

DG-Man
23 Jul 2006, 20:21
Hi all. Tips will be done tomorrow. My info is at work, while as you can imagine, i am in the upper study at the Como Hill Lodge.
With BT and OC two games plus % clear, with only 5 to go, it is safe to assume both these teams need only 1 win in their first two finals to be playing in C-Grade next year. Exciting times for both camps...however, you would not want to lose that 2nd semi and have to deal with either Rupo, OGS or YV on preliminary final day! With so much to lose, against the first semi winner, it would be nervous times for one of our competition giants.
So it will be a big game down at "Dunshea Oval" when these two battle for a little psychological advantage in a few weeks time. I wouldn't be suprised if a dozen or so contributors on this thread will be down there that week (With nobody knowing who is who of course!) watching this mouth watering duel.
Hopefully, my early Sunday night speil proves to be incorrect, and a few upsets ensure that positions 1 and 2 are not yet safe for BT and OC, however going on form, and recent inclusions in both camps, it seems likely that at Bulleen in a few weeks time, we may be watching the D-Grade premier in action! But who that will be....who knows?

Re earlier post wondering about OC recent ins - Barton, Sutcliffe, Jessup and a few others, plus Bull. Can someone at the OC share a little info on these guys?

DG

kingbrown
23 Jul 2006, 21:55
Just a theory, the OG boys might have had a tough week on the stockmarket, or those pure bred dogs have started barking all night.

100% take nothing away fom the Blues though.

DG-Man
24 Jul 2006, 08:35
Tipping Ladder:

MJS2 (4) - 29

Ugly (3) - 27
DG-Man (3) - 27
Is That So (3) - 27

Hansie (3) - 26
Bullant (4) - 26
Bede me Up (4) - 26

Henry (4) - 25
St.Kevs Cowboy (3) - 25

Side Show Bob (3) - 24
Moss Rocket (2) - 24

Midas (3) - 23
Toohas (1) - 23

King Brown (4) - 22

Blue Boys 88 (3) - 20
OM28 (3) - 20
Archangel17 (3) - 20

ILSSully (3) - 19
Magic Mickey (3) 19

OC37 (3) - 18

Knackers (1) - 17
HalfBack (1) - 17

* MJS2 extends lead to 2, with a solid 4. Nobody went for Prahran. Everyone entered tips this week. Those down the bottom scoring 1, obviously went for the upsets, but have bombed out even further by tipping against the OC and BT.

Kibe
24 Jul 2006, 10:44
Gentleman, Leo's look to be out of relegation danger - and given the footy their playing, will scare a few teams in the run home. No injuries to speak of. Interestingly, a few of the lads were talking "what if's" on Saturday night over a few beers. If they had of started better, and didn't drop their first 6. Just selfish football, and blokes not working together - for the first 6 games. It took the threat of relegation for us to play the footy we are capable of. Anyways, I'm sure we can help shape the 4 on the run home.

Conduct Unbecoming
24 Jul 2006, 11:15
Can any BT or YV blokes please give me a report on the game today? The ammo web site said that Bt won by about 50 points. Is this a fair representation of the game? How was the ground?

Ugly, saw most of the game after 1/4 time. Ground very heavy but wings ok..great new cricket nets!! 50 points an accurate margin - think it was 13 goals to 6 at half time (all over). Some general observations:

BT a very slick unit on the day. A class above YV - 8 goals 2nd quater into the wind blew the game away..BT cruised after half time. Forwards too big and too good, mid field too hard running, backline (flankers #5 & #8) lead their fowards to the ball all day. #9 had a special day, #18 too good and Chivers best on ground by the length of the straight. I didn't realise how good he was!!! 2 x 50 meter goals icing on his BOG cake.
YV good key forward (Keem?) and ruckman (maybe #10?) but mid size players out-muscled, out tackled and generally out played. Looked like they were overwhelmed a bit - particularly in the 2nd quater avalanche. Got hurt by BT mid-fielders kicking goals - looked like front runners a little, would not do the hard stuff when they didn't have the ball.
Toohas - YV looked undermanned in backilne (a bit small for BT's 3 x tall forwards). YV #7 copped a wack and went off for blood rule and then lobbed at FB on Matthews..is he a regular backman? Also #26 got caught out playing on a guy 1 foot taller...
Umpires consistently frustrated both sides, 2 x BT players sent off and looked like BT Coach got a warning or reported by umpires at 3/4 time?Nice wins by Rupo (almost impossible to win down there!!) & 2Blues!!!

Midas
24 Jul 2006, 12:26
Wandered out to Toorak Park on Saturday, and saw a brilliant game of footy between the Two Blues & OG's.

OG's got away to a flyer but 7 unanswered goals in the first term from Prahran saw them establish a lead they only gave up again once for the day, and that was early in the third term.

Agree with the thoughts of the other posters, the experience of Pitts, Walford and Stafford up forward showed up a fairly brittle OG's defence, while Bell with four or five goals in the last was a standout for OG's.

Thought the game was a really high standard actually, and having also seen the Two Blues against OM's when beaten by a kick down there in another high quality game, I'm surprised they have just the two wins to their name.

Radywonik was running water for them and thought I saw Gerard Beven down there - longer hair, but was talking to the coach down my end during the third quarter - can anyone confirm he is back because if he;s not he has a double. Would be a couple of handy additions with three - four wins required in the home straight to avoid relegation.

AS for OG's, thought they were exposed as a little one dimensional with their movement in packs. They shuffle the ball pack and Prahran exposed them for most of the day by pressuring the ball carrier and forcing them backwards. Might be a tactic employed to beat them in finals, although the bigger ground may assist with their running style of play. Note they were missing Vickers-Willis as well, which is significant.

Anyway, other results were probably as expectecd, except the OM boys going down to Rupo - that was a really good win and I might be choking on humble pie after predicting their demise. Almost certs now to play finals footy I'd suggest.

AS I said though, great game to watch and Ugly Dermie, a few frosties once hostilities are over sounds like a brilliant idea - particularly if they/re overlooking Como!!!!

MJS2
24 Jul 2006, 12:53
Yarra Valley ground in disgraceful condition, couldnt believe it when i rocked up and saw mud covering 75% of ground. Would hate to see the ground if we had rain the previous four days. Bullants to good for Yarra Valley who tried hard, Keem was the only reason why the margin didn't blow out to near 100 points. Very good player who would be very welcome at the bullants!! Can't wait for the showdown between the big boys in a few weeks time, shound be a cracker to see who will take top spot!

sideshowbob
24 Jul 2006, 14:12
interesting run home with IMO, only the three teams fighting for 3rd / 4th possie. OC / BT will finish one two,

how many wins will get you third and fouth spot ? 11, 12 ?

Will YV manage to win all 5 games ?

Can Ogs/ Rupo hold on ?

OldMelburnian28
24 Jul 2006, 14:14
Great round of footy, with important wins, unexpected victory's and embarrassing defeats.

Bulleen have put on a football clinic down at the Domeney swamp to remain undefeated this season away from home. This has hampered YV's chase for the finals but they should consolidate this week against Banyule, who are firming as favourites to round out the bottom on the ladder.

Therry Penola have dropped their fifth game in a row, i guess the "gun inclusions" made no difference. OC remain in 1st position with a nice little victory away from home, although BT are still grand final favourites amongst this thread IMO.

Brilliant effort by rupo to knock off the OM's. Are they regaining the momentum they displayed early in the season? Safe to say the OM's are now very unlikely to make finals.

Emmaus flog Banyule as expected. Very impressive unit but come finals will be left thinking "what if".

D1 footy can provide us with some remarkable upsets! Prahran have pulled off the 2nd biggest upset this season. (2nd behind Emmaus vs rupo)

Great post midas, maybe the wheels are falling off the OG train? Or perhaps a case of complacency?

It's safe to say only BT and OC are guaranteed to play finals this year, will be an interesting couple of weeks at both ends of the table.

OM man out.

Dee Snider
24 Jul 2006, 16:14
[quote=Toohas]We were just out-everythinged by Bulleen-Templestowe, they are a very impressive unit. Our boys had a real dip though, apart from an insipid second quarter, just weren't up to it on the day.

Agreed Toohas.

Bullants too strong. Expected more from Yarra given their previous month of football. Blown away in a half of football...appeared like you were not expecting to be dominated like that (particularly the 2nd quater); and struggled to know what to do to stop what really was an onslaught.

smudger57
24 Jul 2006, 18:21
Umpires consistently frustrated both sides, 2 x BT players sent off and looked like BT Coach got a warning or reported by umpires at 3/4 time?Nice wins by Rupo (almost impossible to win down there!!) & 2Blues!!!

Umpiring was disgusting both ways. BT team manager was warned at 3/4 time to settle BT supporters otherwise free kick would be paid against them. Seen free kick paid against the crowd last year at a u19's match and it made matters worse. Surely this can't be allowed, free kicks against supporters, otherwise it could be manipulated, i.e. BT supporters pretending to barrack for YV to get BT free kicks.

mysterydog
24 Jul 2006, 19:44
therry still were very much underman on the weekend, clearly oc are the best side that we have played against......
big inclusions this week with therry almost back to full strength, with the return of 4 to 5 gun players.
Everyone is pumping them selves up for the big game this week against the sunbury boys.
Two things are going to happen on saturday and that is rupo will help therry avoid relegation and therry will save rupo the embarrasment of playing finals football with yv to get that 4th spot i think......
Match of the round coming up this week.
Dog out.......

Toohas
24 Jul 2006, 20:44
Is the bet still on between ILSS and Half Back?

Rust_bucket
24 Jul 2006, 23:07
[quote=Conduct Unbecoming]

YV good key forward (Keem?) and ruckman (maybe #10?) but mid size players out-muscled, out tackled and generally out played. Looked like they were overwhelmed a bit - particularly in the 2nd quater avalanche. Got hurt by BT mid-fielders kicking goals - looked like front runners a little, would not do the hard stuff when they didn't have the ball.
Toohas - YV looked undermanned in backilne (a bit small for BT's 3 x tall forwards). YV #7 copped a wack and went off for blood rule and then lobbed at FB on Matthews..is he a regular backman? Also #26 got caught out playing on a guy 1 foot taller...

Hi gang,

Great thread, enjoyed reading immensely, however until now, i have not found the need to respond. I find it hard to believe that #26 for YV found himself a foot shorter than his opponent CU. From what i know of this young man, he is not the shortest bloke on earth, i am 190cm and he is taller than me!!!

Conduct Unbecoming
25 Jul 2006, 10:06
Hi gang,

Great thread, enjoyed reading immensely, however until now, i have not found the need to respond. I find it hard to believe that #26 for YV found himself a foot shorter than his opponent CU. From what i know of this young man, he is not the shortest bloke on earth, i am 190cm and he is taller than me!!![/quote]

The point is, he was standing alongside a guy who was bigger and taller than him.

Is that right?? BT team manager received a warning against the BT supporters? Thats unreal and highlights for all and sundry how poor both umpires were. Incredible.

Half Back
25 Jul 2006, 10:10
Is the bet still on between ILSS and Half Back?

I hope so Toohas. Seeing as Therry will just about field a Full strength team this week. J Crotty, C Bannister and Foster Knight back this week!!!

Cheers!!! :thumbsu:

I Love Sandra Sully
25 Jul 2006, 11:00
I will be addressing the player group about it tonight.
Will let you know Half Back.

P.S. To all those dills that tipped OM last week......silly silly silly silly!!
You should have all learnt that the power house that is Rupo are coming good at the right time.....and everything is starting to swing our way!! Even our bogey side from last year (OG's) are struggling to hold onto 4th!!
Admittedly BT and OC are going to be hard to catch..... although our sites are still focused on a top two spot, and looking at the fixture it can be done! i don't think those two teams are as entrenched as everyone thinks.

bullant10
25 Jul 2006, 11:09
focused on the top two you should just worry about hanging on to that 4th spot!

Dee Snider
25 Jul 2006, 11:27
focused on the top two you should just worry about hanging on to that 4th spot!

Agreed Bullant!

ILSS - save yourselves the embarassement of a preliminary belting at the hands of OC or BT; and hope you only make the elimination final ;)

DG-Man
25 Jul 2006, 11:32
I think Rupo's run home is very hard! They play Therry (back to full strength) this week, then have to play Leos who are in form, OGS (nemisis) and OC and BT, both away games at Bulleen!

2 wins i think!

I have also had a look at the respective runs home of the other 4 finals chasers.

I think OC and BT will go 4 wins / 1 loss on the way home, to both finish 15-3. Obviously one of the teams have to lose when the play at carey, while the winner will lose one just to keep it even at the top!:rolleyes:

YV on paper have a nice run home. I'm thinking a 4/1 split for them.

OGS play Rupo and the OC, and have a few other winnable games as long as they can recapture some form. 3/2 split for OGS

This will leave:

OC - 15-3
BT - 15-3
OGS - 11-7
Rupo - 11-7
YV - 11-7

At present Rupo have a small % gap over YV. But if they only win 2 games coming home and YV win 4.......it will be very, very close at seasons end.

OGS % is far superior, so if they can just win 3 of the remaining 5 games, they should fall in on %.

Interesting times!

Conduct Unbecoming
25 Jul 2006, 11:54
I think Rupo's run home is very hard! They play Therry (back to full strength) this week, then have to play Leos who are in form, OGS (nemisis) and OC and BT, both away games at Bulleen!

2 wins i think!

I have also had a look at the respective runs home of the other 4 finals chasers.

I think OC and BT will go 4 wins / 1 loss on the way home, to both finish 15-3. Obviously one of the teams have to lose when the play at carey, while the winner will lose one just to keep it even at the top!:rolleyes:

YV on paper have a nice run home. I'm thinking a 4/1 split for them.

OGS play Rupo and the OC, and have a few other winnable games as long as they can recapture some form. 3/2 split for OGS

This will leave:

OC - 15-3
BT - 15-3
OGS - 11-7
Rupo - 11-7
YV - 11-7

At present Rupo have a small % gap over YV. But if they only win 2 games coming home and YV win 4.......it will be very, very close at seasons end.
OGS % is far superior, so if they can just win 3 of the remaining 5 games, they should fall in on %.
Interesting times!

I agree with you DG-Man. Spot on with Rupo's hard run home. I doubt they can beat BT or Carey (which they will need to do to make the four). And should they beat either, I doubt they could do it again in a final where the intensity goes up just a notch.

Still, it would be good for the club - and their efforts to attract and retain top players - for them (Rupo) to make it.

I Love Sandra Sully
25 Jul 2006, 12:03
Your right Conduct!! making the finals will help us to keep our players.... and maybe even help us to attract a few more....maybe from say a side just down the freeway in Oak Park.... I am sure some of Therrys quality troops aren't looking forward to playing D2 next year?!!
Crotty, bannister's, Halmes, Nance (when he gets back) you lads are more than welcome to join the Rupi next season.....good bunch of lads down at the Rupy... and we win more games in a season than we lose :thumbsu: . No point you quality lads get pulled down with the rest of them down at the Parkers.... why not pull on the yellow and blue??

Dee Snider
25 Jul 2006, 12:44
Your right Conduct!! making the finals will help us to keep our players.... and maybe even help us to attract a few more....maybe from say a side just down the freeway in Oak Park.... I am sure some of Therrys quality troops aren't looking forward to playing D2 next year?!!
Crotty, bannister's, Halmes, Nance (when he gets back) you lads are more than welcome to join the Rupi next season.....good bunch of lads down at the Rupy... and we win more games in a season than we lose :thumbsu: . No point you quality lads get pulled down with the rest of them down at the Parkers.... why not pull on the yellow and blue??

Nice try Sandra! ...thinking that for messers Crotty, Bannister, Harmes, Nance etc, perhaps popping over to the oval 20 metres to the East (as in Oak Park FC) might appeal just a little more than the drive to Sunbury?

Or maybe staying loyal to your own club and building for a move up the grades (something Rupo have done so well) would be more appealing to those guys mentioned than either!!

As I say, nice try though :)

hansie
25 Jul 2006, 13:25
Nice try Sandra! ...thinking that for messers Crotty, Bannister, Harmes, Nance etc, perhaps popping over to the oval 20 metres to the East (as in Oak Park FC) might appeal just a little more than the drive to Sunbury?

Or maybe staying loyal to your own club and building for a move up the grades (something Rupo have done so well) would be more appealing to those guys mentioned than either!!

As I say, nice try though :)

Dee, you beat me to that thought! As last Saturday was my first trip to Therry, I wasn't aware of the near neighbours, however I reckon it's safe to say that if certain Therry players were to move, it would be to there I would think....

Half Back
25 Jul 2006, 13:42
Dee, you beat me to that thought! As last Saturday was my first trip to Therry, I wasn't aware of the near neighbours, however I reckon it's safe to say that if certain Therry players were to move, it would be to there I would think....

There has never been a player go from Therry to Oak Park. Therry has a proud history in the Ammo's. As the BT people would know. Therry is a great club and most players remain loyal to Therry. We are going through a rough patch but we will bounce back. Some time shortly i hope!! :thumbsu:

Moss Rocket
25 Jul 2006, 14:02
Hansie / Half back. Missed the game on Saturday. What were your thoughts? Are OC looking ok? Were there any injuries or reports?
Cheers - Moss

I Love Sandra Sully
25 Jul 2006, 14:02
Any Therry players wanting to play Finals sometime in the future please contact our team manager after the game on Sat and leave your details, he will then come to the great lady and i will weed out the pretenders....I will then hold interviews after the seasons end to see if you fit the mold of a Rupo Player: A great man... if not you can return to the creek in oak Park and dwell with the frogs until your D2 season starts again next year.

Moss Rocket
25 Jul 2006, 14:17
Moss Rocket Tips

OC to beat Leos by 6 goals
OGS to thump OM's by 10 goals
YV...just, in a big danger game at Banyule - 1/2 goals
Rupo over Therry by 5 goals (Love to tip Therry, as ILSS is getting cocky again, but at home Rupo should win)
BT to thump Prahran

I have a feeling 90% of people will tip these 5 results. A few may go for Banyule at home, and a few may go for Therry to annoy ILSS.

On paper an easy week of tipping. But with d1 this year...who knows!

Moss

Dudley Hamstrung
25 Jul 2006, 14:24
To quote the man that used to be in everything, but now just runs everything, "what a big week it has been in footy" and what a big week it is about to be.
Just had an optic at the draw for round 14 and my word it is going to be a belter! All five games could go either way I think.
Emmaus travel to the OC which will be no easy one for the Panthers 1. OGs host OMs and after seeing them last week against Rupo I think they will still play a part in shaping the top 4, Panthers 2 are no easy beats.
BT host the rejuvinated Prahran (or is it a Prahran that beat a waining OG outfit?) a game that they should still comfortably win but we have all been suprised by results in D1 this year. YV should beat the Yulers but they did get done at home by them earlier in the year. Rupo play host to Therry with some big ins which is going to be a tough game as well.
Therry have done well to not lose anyone to Oak Park. No doubt there would have been offers made as there are some very good players at TP and the lure of the mighty dollar is a big temptation.
Rupo do have a tough run home, but we are still confident of playing finals footy. A young developing side we are yes, but also a very experienced side with most of the boys having played a fair bit of senior footy. Exciting times having watched a large chunk of the players come through 19s together and now playing a big part in what has so far been a successful year. Cheers all.:thumbsu:

Half Back
25 Jul 2006, 14:24
Hansie / Half back. Missed the game on Saturday. What were your thoughts? Are OC looking ok? Were there any injuries or reports?
Cheers - Moss

Moss,

I think OC are the team to beat!! There skilled, big and hard running!! I don't think Therry played that bad, they were just beaten by a Very good team!! There are only two teams in it!! BT and OC. BT may be found out by a big hard running team in September!!! 19 was a good player as was 7. Young kid in the forward line looked good!! Backline was very good in the air!! My tip for the Flag. :thumbsu:

Dudley Hamstrung
25 Jul 2006, 14:37
BT have been impressive of late, but I'll agree with you on that one HB. Old Carey are for mine the team to beat. Very potent up forward and a strong defence with VC Trumball and Parker very good footballers. They are both a very big and physical team.
In regards to Mentonians, haven't heard much about number 37 - Vick. He started down back for them on Dutchy then was moved up forward where he kicked 6! Anyone know how his for has been this year? Could definately be a wildcard for the Panthers towards the end of the year.

linger_isgod
25 Jul 2006, 14:39
Anyone know if, hypothetically speaking, an Under 19 player who hasn't played in the Seniors all year can be picked for finals?

hansie
25 Jul 2006, 15:33
Cheers - Moss

Moss,

We looked alright in a workmanlike win against a fairly determined Therry side. Keen for a big result to take into the ball Saturday night! No reports or majorly concerning injuries. Leos this week at home will be no pushover, they have come into some form of late!

Cheers,

hansie
25 Jul 2006, 15:36
There has never been a player go from Therry to Oak Park. Therry has a proud history in the Ammo's. As the BT people would know. Therry is a great club and most players remain loyal to Therry. We are going through a rough patch but we will bounce back. Some time shortly i hope!! :thumbsu:

That's not a bad effort at all HB - to maintain your players even when a club with plenty of kanga is so close! I certainly liked seeing all your Clubbies guys still hanging around in the Oak Park social rooms well after their match - certainly proves your point!

Since I'm from Carey, not BT I wouldn't have known that before!

Cheers,

Dee Snider
25 Jul 2006, 15:47
That's not a bad effort at all HB - to maintain your players even when a club with plenty of kanga is so close! I certainly liked seeing all your Clubbies guys still hanging around in the Oak Park social rooms well after their match - certainly proves your point!

Since I'm from Carey, not BT I wouldn't have known that before!

Cheers,

It is pretty good considering that the first time I played against Therry (for BT) we were both in B Grade and Therry had some very handy types running round back then...at times we have had trouble keeping players when sides like Templestowe, East Doncaster, Doncaster, Donvale, Heidelberg etc pay some handy money...thats why its great when guys like D Matthews & S James (who played 80 senior AFL games between them!) and recently R Bain come and play for nothing but commaraderie and mateship. The other clubs turn over 50% of their playing list a year.

DG-Man
25 Jul 2006, 17:39
Anyone know if, hypothetically speaking, an Under 19 player who hasn't played in the Seniors all year can be picked for finals?

Not sure Linger. At a guess i would say they would have to have played a minimum number of games (2 or 3 perhaps). I assume you are talking about the OC, as from earlier posts you seem to support them. I notice they are on top of ladder in U19 Div 2. Are there some handy players?? I notice the captain has the same surname as the senior captain (McQueen-Parton), and that there is a Bull kicking goals.
Perhaps the OC can slot a few of these youngsters in to help strengthen the side come finals time.
I guess the problem here would be that they will also be playing finals.

Interesting to see that a few punters are starting to lean towards the OC!! Half Back and Dudley have tipped them for the flag today.

The big squeeze is on for positions 3 and 4. When will the hyphen be back in the blue and white hoops??

Might lob my tips in early this week:

OC, BT, Rupo, OGS and YV to all win.

The 5 top teams tackle the 5 bottom teams this week. Can't see any surprises.

mysterydog
25 Jul 2006, 18:29
old carey best side that therry have played this year......alot of respect for the side, think they will win the flag.....
Have to much depth in there side not too.
Big game this week for therry against the rival rupo. its becoming like our own little derby, with not many sides being on this side of the city.
Got one thing to say to you i love sandra sully and that is that rupo will help therry avoid relegation, when therry beat use on the weekend, but dont worry buddy we will save use from embarrasing urself in the finals.
Should appreciate my arrogance and cockyness with thats all you have been all year. Good luck hope u play ones so i will be playing against u.

kangaman06
25 Jul 2006, 19:29
Can anyone down from the Rupi tell me how Simon Sweeney has fitted in? Heard that he can play - is he a chance for the B and F?
Also can anyone confirm the rumour that he looks quite "nice" in his footy shorts? Some people have also noted he had quite a big night down at the Attic earlier in the year too.

DG-Man
25 Jul 2006, 19:37
Can anyone down from the Rupi tell me how Simon Sweeney has fitted in? Heard that he can play - is he a chance for the B and F?
Also can anyone confirm the rumour that he looks quite "nice" in his footy shorts? Some people have also noted he had quite a big night down at the Attic earlier in the year too.

HAVE STOLEN THIS INFO OF THE AMMO SITE. THESE GUYS HAVE BEEN MENTIONED IN THEIR TEAMS BEST NO LESS THAN 8 TIME OUT OF THE FIRST 12 GAMES.

SPECIAL MENTION TO ASH DREW- GREAT PLAYER AND MODEL OF CONSISTENCY.

(is it significant that the top 2 teams are not mentioned here?)

Ashley Drew (YARRA VALLEY OB) 11
Anthony Mckenzie (EMMAUS ST LEOS OC) 10
Samuel Savage (YARRA VALLEY OB) 8
Robin Drew (YARRA VALLEY OB) 8
Nicholas Casboult (OLD GEELONG FC) 8
Blake Carroll (OLD MENTONIANS) 8
Philip D'Amico (EMMAUS ST LEOS OC) 8
Simon Sweeney (RUPERTSWOOD AFC) 8
Ryan Monzell (RUPERTSWOOD AFC) 8
Thomas West (RUPERTSWOOD AFC) 8
Paul Baranello (EMMAUS ST LEOS OC) 8
Kyle Shepard-Mueller (BANYULE AFC) 8

(is it significant that the top 2 teams are not mentioned here?)

Also made the best players last week. So it seems he is having a ripper!
Re Shorts......ILSS may be able to help you with that!

kingbrown
25 Jul 2006, 20:02
Sweeney has been consistent, good team player who brings others into the game. Will finish top 5 in B&F however IMO there are at least 3 ahead at this point.

Will not be saying alot this week and i feel ILSS needs to tone it down as well. I know he listens to me. This is a huge game for us this week as will every game be from here on in. I have always regarded Therry, however there performance against potential has been abysmal to this point. They have had big inclusions for the last 3 weeks. Most players who come back from injury are usually "underdone". This being said all at Rupo are fully aware of dropping your guard in D1, do it for your own demise. Therry will be fired and the first quarter should be a ripper. The ground is hopeless at this point, hugely disappointing from our point of view.

MJS2
25 Jul 2006, 21:17
Very interesting to see most still consider Carey flag favourites...
I have no doubt that id back the bullants anytime over carey come finals time, more experienced, hard at it players and the skill from the youngsters to top it off. Bullants have big game players who stand up when it counts and Box Hill City Oval will suit them despite what others think. Bullants play their best footy on big grounds just ask OGS and Old carey in a few weeks.....

Tips: easy round should be 5 from 5

Bullants
OC
Yarra Valley
Ogs
Rupertswood

Archangel17
25 Jul 2006, 23:19
Definitely.. dont think they have to have played any seniors during the year.- i am guessing you are talking Rupo as they seem to marginally have the best unders side ahead of OC.

On another note still looking for info on new OC players, Jessup, Ratcliffe, Barton, _ i think from record early in year that Maslin is ex-VFL.. is this correct??.. also from BT people .. i hear a lot about the Bains, what is their background, and where do they playon the field?

Archangel17
25 Jul 2006, 23:23
Very interesting to see most still consider Carey flag favourites...
I have no doubt that id back the bullants anytime over carey come finals time, more experienced, hard at it players and the skill from the youngsters to top it off. Bullants have big game players who stand up when it counts and Box Hill City Oval will suit them despite what others think. Bullants play their best footy on big grounds just ask OGS and Old carey in a few weeks.....

Would have to agree.. Bullants seem bigger and tougher, however, i notice Bull is back for OC, which will make a huge difference, and would differ on skill level which i think is higher at OC. I find it interesting that people who have played OC in the past few weeks are making these predictions and am wondering how much is to do with new players i mentioned above who have only appeared recently. I also noticed Tiras is back.

Henry24
25 Jul 2006, 23:24
Bullants, OC, OG's, Rupo and YV

Henry24
25 Jul 2006, 23:33

I'm pretty sure they only have to play one game, unless from a VFL/TAC Cup team then it is 5 games, of which at least two have to be after June 30.

On another note, the OC V BT debate continues, surely we all know from some of the results this year that D grade is unpredictable. Both OC & BT are similar sides, both have superstar players (D grade superstars), a strong forward line and a decent backline. It will most likely come down to players available (It seems that OC have got their list picture perfect at the right time) and a bit of luck! It is very hard to separate the two sides, i have no idea how anyone impartial can confirm a flag favourite.

uglydermie
26 Jul 2006, 08:40
BT currectly have 9 players in the senior team from the 2004 premieship with another 5 playing in the reserves last weekend.

How many OC guys playing seniors at them moment played in the grand final in 2004?

linger_isgod
26 Jul 2006, 09:43
Not sure Linger. At a guess i would say they would have to have played a minimum number of games (2 or 3 perhaps). I assume you are talking about the OC, as from earlier posts you seem to support them. I notice they are on top of ladder in U19 Div 2. Are there some handy players?? I notice the captain has the same surname as the senior captain (McQueen-Parton), and that there is a Bull kicking goals.
Perhaps the OC can slot a few of these youngsters in to help strengthen the side come finals time.
I guess the problem here would be that they will also be playing finals. Soft spot for the OC's, know a few players, despite not being Ex-Carey myself. But, as Archangel alluded to above, I was more thinking Rupertswood, who have a few really good players in their U/19s who might be able to make the step up.

Luke Maslin (OC) was down at the Northern Bullants for a couple of seasons, I'd guess he played about 1/2 dozen games in their 1sts. Midfielder.

Ryan Bain (BT) played juniors at Bullen-Temp, and pretty much did as he liked when he played for them. Was part of the Oakleigh TAC side that did really well (Prelim/Grand Final??) yet didn't have anyone taken in the draft, just a few rookies. I'd have thought mid 180's tall, and not the biggest frame (but 2/3 years might change that). Big enough motor to play midfield, maybe a KP too?

Feel free to correct me, anyone in the know. :thumbsu:

juDDa
26 Jul 2006, 11:40
watching the game at yarra valley at the mighty dmoeney reserve on satrurday i saw that all the bain's do is pass to each other when they have the ball!! quite funny actually.. one stage one of them was runnning into an almost open goal #9?? then passed it to his brother!
on another topic, there was rumours that bullants have got more to come into their line-up come finals..
will florance, waters or frost play in the finals series????

Toohas
26 Jul 2006, 11:53
Don't know if they would be eligible or not, however I have two other questions:
1) If they are good enough to play at senior level, why aren't they doing so already (assuming you're not talking about TAC Cup players)?
2) What do you think the backlash would be from a player who loses his spot in a senior final side to a player who hasn't played a game for the side all season? I think any player put in that position would be seriously considering changing clubs the next season.

Dee Snider
26 Jul 2006, 11:57
Ryan Bain (BT) played juniors at Bullen-Temp, and pretty much did as he liked when he played for them. Was part of the Oakleigh TAC side that did really well (Prelim/Grand Final??) yet didn't have anyone taken in the draft, just a few rookies. I'd have thought mid 180's tall, and not the biggest frame (but 2/3 years might change that). Big enough motor to play midfield, maybe a KP too?

Feel free to correct me, anyone in the know. :thumbsu:

Think you will find Ryan was one of those, and was on Essendon's rookie list last year. Matt Bain (the younger one) is also at Oakleigh TAC this year and plays with the Ants when available. No doubt someone at the club will know a bit more than me.....

BlueBoys88
26 Jul 2006, 13:34
Sweeny has been a great pick up for rupo, couldn't have slotted any better into an onballing role. Can't wait for the derby this weekend, i will guarentee therry lift a few notches to give us a tight game. A fiery first quarter, as well as an ubundane of spot fires throughout the day will make for some good watching. KB is correct, our ground is terrible at the moment despite preventative measures. Will be a tight physical game of footy.

What is the current status of the ILSS and halfback bet?

BlueBoys88
26 Jul 2006, 13:36
My tips
OC, OG, YV, Rupo, BT

Archangel17
26 Jul 2006, 13:40
Tips
OG
YV
RU
BT
ESL- in an upset

I Love Sandra Sully
26 Jul 2006, 14:01
Don't think the bet is on.........I am going to get my people to speak to Half Backs people after the game to organise something next season.

My Tips for this week are:

OC to beat StLeos by 10 goals
OM to beat OG's by 25 points
Banyule to beat YV by 10 points
Rupo to beat therry
Pharan to beat BT by 10 points

I Love Sandra Sully
26 Jul 2006, 14:02
That is if Therry are in D1 next season of course.

silky_skills
26 Jul 2006, 14:20
[quote=I Love Sandra Sully]Don't think the bet is on.........I am going to get my people to speak to Half Backs people after the game to organise something next season.

Smells like chicken ILSS!

Archangel17
26 Jul 2006, 14:21
ILSS sounds like you are counting on being in D1- lost some of your bravado??

I Love Sandra Sully
26 Jul 2006, 15:01
I meant C Grade.

St.Kev's Cowboy
26 Jul 2006, 15:48
The Cowboys tips for rd 14 action:
Emmaus will give OC a bit of a scare but I don't think they can beat them away. OC by 4 goals.
Bulleen should still beat Prahran comfortably regardless of their victory of OGs last week. BT by 40 points. (Have to agree with Henry in that D grade is unpredictable but BT would be just a nose in front of the rest for mine at this stage.)
Old Mentonians travel to DGs home ground to face the OGs who really need to bounce back after a couple of losses. Im going OGs but wouldn't be suprised if the Mentonians pull off an upset. OGs by 10 points.
The 'battle of the banter' at Rupo as they host Therry. Therry have been unlucky and a little disappointing this year. Will be a good game but I think Rupo will come out on top. Rupo by 25 points.
Finally, Banyule invite Yarra Valley down for a kick and will find themselves on the end of a 7 goal drubbing. Yarra in good form (running into a good BT unit last week however) and will look to use this game as their big tilt towards finals. Yarra by 45 points.
Not sure if its been discussed already but anyone have any tips for respective club bnfs? If you go off the VAFA site, A.Drew (yarra) N.Casboult (OGs) S.Sweeney/R.Monzell (Rupo) The Emmaus ruckman, Twentyman (OM) I know Trumbell (OC) started well and one of the 12 hundred brother combinations at Therry would be a show. Anyone have any thoughts on Prahran, Banyule or any others.
Cheers all, good luck to those lads running out on Saturday.

Henry24
26 Jul 2006, 17:03
Just browsing through the clearance list on the VAFA website when i saw this:

Club departed, Club Arrived, Player name, Result, Application date, Finalisation date.
WAAFL (Wesley Curtain FC) PRAHRAN AFC Michael, Brett Approved 30/06/06 10/07/06

WAAFL (Wongan FC) PRAHRAN AFC Michael, Mark Approved 30/06/06 10/07/06
Anyone know anything of these two players? Perhaps the reason for Prahrahns recent change in form??
There's also a couple others with around the same application date.

bullant10
26 Jul 2006, 17:15
Just browsing through the clearance list on the VAFA website when i saw this:

Club departed, Club Arrived, Player name, Result, Application date, Finalisation date.
WAAFL (Wesley Curtain FC) PRAHRAN AFC Michael, Brett Approved 30/06/06 10/07/06

WAAFL (Wongan FC) PRAHRAN AFC Michael, Mark Approved 30/06/06 10/07/06
Anyone know anything of these two players? Perhaps the reason for Prahrahns recent change in form??
There's also a couple others with around the same application date.

You have to try anything to avoid relegation but too little too late.

Pressure is right back on therry and banylue, they are in real danger of dropping two grades in two years. If this happens then it could only get worse as it is hard enough to attract good players to a d grade side let alone a side that is on the way down.

Frost is no chance to play for the bullants this year. Waters will play finals, florance is a maybe. Couple of good u19s might snatch a spot in the finals as well! Bit of depth at bulleen, much more than people give them credit for.
My tips this week:
BT will get over Prahran in a tough one. Only about 3-4 goals the margin.
Carey will win.
Rupo will just pip therry (if therry don't belt the living suitcase out of them).
YV will beat banyule easily. Keem to kick a bag.
Old Geelong over OMs by 6 goals.

Thorpedo69
26 Jul 2006, 18:39
Regarding those two Prahran players, I don't think they have been the reason behind Prahran's improved recent form, as neither player has played a game yet? Am I correct? Is this talk about Beven being back true? Someone said they saw him at last week's game, but surely if he was there he would have played for the Two Blues, given the importance of their relegation battle?! I reckon someone's pulling our legs....

King Woodie
26 Jul 2006, 18:57
Can someone give me a run down on this Bevan character? Position, strengths, etc?

Surely he alone couldn't pull the Two Blues over the line a few times?

Archangel17
26 Jul 2006, 19:04
he didnt play last week,but he is a freak onballer.. fromer B@f in a Northcote Park premiership team amongst other things

uglydermie
26 Jul 2006, 19:53
Bevo is back and was at the game on saturday. Is likely to play in a couple of weeks. Not sure if he would make himself available this week, given he only arrived back into the country on Friday.

Monkeyboy
26 Jul 2006, 20:42
Hi all. Long time reader, first time poster. Have just read the last 2 weeks of the thread and it is all very interesting.
I know a few people down at Carey and they have definately strengthened their side. Not sure if they can beat BT, as they are a strong unit both physically and mentally.
The OC line-up when they play BT in a few weeks will be nothing like a. the one that played the 04 GF, or b. Like the side that played BT earlier in the year.
My guess is that only 6 players max will have played in the 04 GF (Not sure if Ugly Dermie thinks this is good or bad) And they have also had a heap of inclusions from earlier in the year. There whole onballers have changed with Maslin, Ratcliffe, Carpenter and Barton. While they also have Jogger White, Busse and Jessop back in. I think the Carey side is a heap stronger than the one that lost to Bulleen earlier this year. But i also think Bulleen are heaps better. Earlier in the year they were scratchy and lost a few and won a few close ones. More recently they are winning by a lot more. Perhaps the Bains and co have made a difference.
If i had to tip, i would tip Carey to win the game at their home ground, but i will wait until finals and team lineups to predict the premiers.

Keep up all the great posts!

Toohas
26 Jul 2006, 21:41
While the consensus here seems to be that the five favourites are all going to win comfortably, this time of year always throws up some surprises. With probably only one team treading water at the moment (not likely to make finals or be relegated) all teams will be coming out hard and desperate for a win.

Old Carey vs Emmaus St. Leo's: St. Leo's form over the past month and a half is definitely going to worry the teams above them on the ladder. However impressive their change in form has been, it has been against lower teams (wins against Banyule, Therry and Prahran, draw against Old Mentonians) and they have been found lacking a bit against the cream of the crop. They have had one big win against a finals contender, Saturday is the chance to make it two. It will be a cracking battle and the winner of the midfield battle will go a long way to winning the game. I believe the ruck tandem that Carey employs will be enough to wear out Ballard, who seems to shoulder the workload himself. I'm tipping Collins to match up on Buckle and that would be a ripper to watch. I just think Old Carey will have too many winners around the ground and they are a more physically imposing unit than St. Leo's. They won't drop this one, especially not at Dunshea.

Old Geelong vs Old Mentonians: Old Geelong have to quickly find the answer to what has gone wrong in recent times. Two losses in a row by less than a goal and losing three out of four isn't good form heading into a finals campaign. In an intriguing match up, they face an Old Mentonians side who haven't been in the best form themselves in recent times. They would have expected to have beaten Rupertswood and kept the finals flame flickering and they would be bitterly disappointed with their past fortnight. Both teams have enough stars to tear a game apart, but I'm going with Old Geelong. They simply can't afford to lose this one.

Banyule vs Yarra Valley: After an eight goal loss against Bulleen-Templestowe, Yarra Valley need to get back on the winners list and will be desperate to do so to keep the pressure on Rupertswood and Old Geelong. Banyule on the other hand have continued their losing streak, however they snatched a huge away victory against the Bushrangers last time these two teams met. Yarra Valley will be fired up for this one and should be good enough to win.

Rupertswood vs Therry Penola: For the neutral observer and the casual follower of this forum, this will be the match of the round. There is a fair rivalry between the Therry and Rupo people on the forum and a bit of banter back and forth. A $500 bet was hastily made then reneged on, which means ILSS probably doesn't have the cash to back up his mouth (I doubt Bill Gates would have enough to back up ILSS's mouth, actually). A lot depends on whether Therry's galaxy of stars return for this one, as they've been waiting on them for a while and need them back in a hurry if they're to pull themselves out of the danger zone. The wet weather conditions should suit the Therry defence as Rupertswood probably won't be able to move the footy as quickly as they would like. I just believe that Therry Penola have been priming themselves for this one and a win can really start them concentrating on consolodation in D1 for next year. That, and I have to pick an upset.

Bulleen-Templestowe vs Prahran: Here is another chance for the league to observe the gap between the top two and the rest. Prahran got over the line against third placed Old Geelong (now fourth), so it will be interesting to see if they can back up that result with a huge win away against the Bullants. Bulleen-Temp are in impeccable form and, especially at home they look to have too many guns for Prahran. The Bullants have the cattle to cut off Stafford and Walford's supply and their on ball division should have the edge. I don't know who will match up on Chivers, but in his current form the man with that job is in for a rough day. Bulleen-Templestowe too good for mine.

Big John
26 Jul 2006, 22:09
watching the game at yarra valley at the mighty dmoeney reserve on satrurday i saw that all the bain's do is pass to each other when they have the ball!! quite funny actually.. one stage one of them was runnning into an almost open goal #9?? then passed it to his brother!
on another topic, there was rumours that bullants have got more to come into their line-up come finals..
will florance, waters or frost play in the finals series????

Hey JuDDa, do you know if the Bain boys are still little idols and wearing the Chris Judd wrist tape?

I think Matt's pretty overrated, soft as butter, the sort of player who never has a dirty jumper. He'l never be Ryan.

Waters is a quality ruckman, the problem with the giraffe is he can't kick.

uglydermie
26 Jul 2006, 22:36
BIG JOHN.

Let me guess: You are a little fella, last ever picked when teams where selected, probably a tad over weight, pimple faced, still living at mum and dads, and I could go on.

Leave personal insults (unless you are brave enough to put a real name to it) to yourself. Absolutely gutless....

NOW #%*& OFF!

DG-Man
26 Jul 2006, 22:52
Big John sounds a bit like a dikchead! This forum is just way too classy for poor contributors like him. Well said Ugly!
Loving todays posts. The OC vs BT who is flag favourite argument is rivetting. Seems like both teams are peaking and have very solid lists. The showdown in a few weeks time should reveal who will be favourite come 2nd Semi final time. Neither team would fancy facing an OGS/Rupo/YV on Preliminary final day however! Exciting times ahead in D-Grade.
Keep the tips coming in. It seems like most are going for the obvious. Top 5 to beat bottom 5. Intersting to see one punter go for Leos against the OC and another Therry against Rupo. Either result would certainly throw the cat amongst the pigeons.
DG-Out

oc37
26 Jul 2006, 22:57
Yeah with you on that.. no need to use personal abuse.

anyway
tips
Therry
YV
OG
BT(even if Bevo plays)

Conduct Unbecoming
27 Jul 2006, 08:56
Big John sounds a bit like a dikchead! This forum is just way too classy for poor contributors like him. Well said Ugly!
Loving todays posts. The OC vs BT who is flag favourite argument is rivetting. Seems like both teams are peaking and have very solid lists. The showdown in a few weeks time should reveal who will be favourite come 2nd Semi final time. Neither team would fancy facing an OGS/Rupo/YV on Preliminary final day however! Exciting times ahead in D-Grade.
Keep the tips coming in. It seems like most are going for the obvious. Top 5 to beat bottom 5. Intersting to see one punter go for Leos against the OC and another Therry against Rupo. Either result would certainly throw the cat amongst the pigeons.
DG-Out

Think BT will have a real fight on their hands this Saturday. Could suffer a let down after pumping Yarra at Yarra. Will need to be switched on.....a real danger game here.

Man for man, OC a better list than BT. Unfortunatley for OC, BT a better team which could be important in finals (sound like 2004??) when you need to let nothing stand in you way to win. Either way, will be a great finals series..if OG make it you never know. Don't think it matters who slots into 4th.

King Woodie
27 Jul 2006, 09:48
I agree with that assessment. It seems a two-horse race at the present, with OG a stark outsider should the conditions be completely to their liking. Fourth place (Rupo or YV) unlikely to have an real impact - although Yarra Valley have beaten OGs twice from two this year. Could pinch a qualifiying final birth, but OC and BT seem to have them covered.

I Love Sandra Sully
27 Jul 2006, 10:15
Ok lads... here is how the finals are going to go down!!!!

Ladder finish:

1: OC
2: BT
3: Rupo
4: OG's

BT will lose to OC in the first final = OC to the Granny!
Rupo to beat Og's = Rupo advance to play BT
Rupo to beat BT = Rupo into the granny

2006 Grandfinal:
OC v Rupo

i will let you know the result once we get closer to the big day.

Archangel17
27 Jul 2006, 10:53
Hate to say it, though i hope you are right for your sake, however i think, reasonably quietly that BT and OC are putting together units that resemble somwhere between Fitzroy and Ormond of last year. Mixtures of size,speed, experience, hardness, skill, and youth. Looking at last week's impressive results, both sides were still between 3-6 players off full strength which is scary. Bt sidesthat could be run of off their feet, are things of the past with the additions of the fleetfooted Bains and Burridge, and OC teams that could be intimidated have gone with Ratcliffe, Barton, Bull, Zander(nutcase but good footballer) giving OC a menacing edge. Looks bad for the rest of us.

I Love Sandra Sully
27 Jul 2006, 11:15
Is anyone else sick of hearing every single week how many freaking players OC and BT are getting back???
Every week they seem to be getting back 6-8 quality players and have been playing with only 4-6 of there top 18...... It is really starting to make me want to vomit....there is no way in the world they are getting all these players back all the time. It is like they are all backing themselves just incase they lose in the coming weeks.

note to all these people telling I Love Sandra Sully fairy tails:

PUT A CORK IN IT.

Kibe
27 Jul 2006, 11:18
For those looking for a blueprint of how to beat OC - watch Leo's this week. Leo's will win, and comfortably. My first big statement on this thread!

AJPAJP
27 Jul 2006, 11:21
Is anyone else sick of hearing every single week how many freaking players OC and BT are getting back???
Every week they seem to be getting back 6-8 quality players and have been playing with only 4-6 of there top 18...... It is really starting to make me want to vomit....there is no way in the world they are getting all these players back all the time. It is like they are all backing themselves just incase they lose in the coming weeks.

note to all these people telling I Love Sandra Sully fairy tails:

PUT A CORK IN IT.

The BT list has no more inclusions, its just a matter of who is available from week to week

Moss Rocket
27 Jul 2006, 11:40
Don't think it is BT or OC people doing the pumping up. Like AJPAJP, the Carey side will be picked from the 35 or so guys who have played this year. Injuries and availability determine this.

Nice "big call" Kibe. Leos have certainly been pretty good. They have had some large wins. Last time you played OC, it was pretty even after OC kicked away early.

I think Leos are probably the 3rd or 4th best side ATM. Should be agreat game. Have gone for the OC (of course) but it will be a solid contest.

Leos form means that they are very unlikely to go down, but because of their poor start to the season, threy have to keep winning, so will come out very hard and strong.

Can't see BT not maiking GF this year ILSS. But your enthusiasm is certainly entertaining!

Moss

Half Back
27 Jul 2006, 11:43
Half Back's tips this week.

OC V St Leos ( OC by plenty)
OG V Mentonians ( To get back on track)
Banyule V YV ( YV just)
BT V Prahran (BT by plenty)

Match of the day

Rupo V Therry

Are the guns back??? Is the ground going to be wet? Can ILSS put he's head over the Footy??? Is the bet on ILSS???? No Rick Bannister after a OC player kept picking on the wrong bloke!!! Who will have the northern suburb's D1 bragging right's?? Therry by six goals!!! and to end Rupo's final dreams..

Tiges Alive
27 Jul 2006, 12:06
Hey Little John, Don't know what drugs you are on but I ventured down from interstate to watch the boys at BT early in the year and it was young M Bain who stood out. For a kid build like a stick he showed plenty.

So as others have mentioned do yourself a favour and ship off.

kingbrown
27 Jul 2006, 13:25
Tips
Rupo 14pts (looking forward to a hard fair contest)
The Animals in an upset (hopefully with a let down the following week.
OG to bounce back
BT by 12pts
Banyule to have one last crack at relegation. (YV's confidence will be down).

Need a couple of upsets!!!

Good luck to all on the weekend.

I Love Sandra Sully
27 Jul 2006, 14:10
Half Back and CU maybe you could fill the great lady in on some things for the big game this weekend:

Corey Bannister: Beleive he has been AWOL for the last 3 weeks with a hammy, I have it on good accord that he has been told this weekend is a no go... as you will need him if you are to beat Banyule and avoid relegation later in the year.

Justin crotty: Chance of playing, but 5 weeks out with a calf??? he can't be to match fit?!?!?!

Chickie: missed 4 weeks.....will return.... and maybe found out with not much fitness.

Am i on the money???
Just remember The Great newsreader knows all.

Archangel17
27 Jul 2006, 14:12
ILSS- only stating on the basis of names i saw missing from both line-ups on the VAFA website, and as per Moss Rocket, i have nothing to do with OC or BT and would love to see one of these two teams fall as it is always good to see an underdog get up, though i honestly dont think Rupo are good enough, nor Geelong.. only YV IMO full strength have the weapons to beat either of these sides, or maybe Leos.. but Leos wont make finals

Archangel17
27 Jul 2006, 14:15
and ILSS think you are putting words in my mouth. My statement was 3-6 players. I did not mention quality of said players, nor that either side was only playing 4-6 of best 22. Mind you, a good newsreader always knows how to put a spin on things.

hansie
27 Jul 2006, 15:06
Tips for the week lads...

OC
OGS
BT
Yarra
Rupo - just (home ground). Will be a cracker!

Cheers

Half Back
27 Jul 2006, 15:28
Half Back and CU maybe you could fill the great lady in on some things for the big game this weekend:

Corey Bannister: Beleive he has been AWOL for the last 3 weeks with a hammy, I have it on good accord that he has been told this weekend is a no go... as you will need him if you are to beat Banyule and avoid relegation later in the year.

Justin crotty: Chance of playing, but 5 weeks out with a calf??? he can't be to match fit?!?!?!

Chickie: missed 4 weeks.....will return.... and maybe found out with not much fitness.

Am i on the money???
Just remember The Great newsreader knows all.

ILSS,

Crotty is a chance.

C Bannister trained strongly on Tuesday.

Chicken!!!Wont play.

Foster-knight will play this week.

We are setting ourselves for this one!!....

Cheers:thumbsu:

AJPAJP
27 Jul 2006, 17:10
Its finally in, team of the half year. As far as BT goes none of the three have played in any of those positions all year, doesnt really matter i suppose

D1 SECTION
Backs: Simon Sweeney (Ruperts) Chris Battle (Old Carey) Alistair Munro (Old Geel)

Half Backs: Blake Carroll (Old Ment) Andrew Foster-Knight (Therry Penola) Jordan Wise (Bulleen Temp)

Centres: Justin Crotty (Therry Penola) Greg Chivers (Bulleen Temp) Tom West (Ruperts)

Half Forwards: Dean Matthews (Bulleen Temp) Michael Basile (Old Ment) Nick Casboult (Old Geel)

Forward: Colby O’Brien (Old Geel) Corey Bannister (Therry Penola) Josh Carr (Old Carey)

Rucks: Henry Legoe (Old Geel) Allister Parton (Old Carey) Ashley Drew (Yarra Valley OB)

Inter: Anthony Ballard (St. Leos Emmaus) Leigh Brennan (Ruperts) Robin Drew (Yarra Valley OB) David Gayfer (Banyule)

Archangel17
27 Jul 2006, 17:35
Its finally in, team of the half year. As far as BT goes none of the three have played in any of those positions all year, doesnt really matter i suppose

D1 SECTION
Backs: Simon Sweeney (Ruperts) Chris Battle (Old Carey) Alistair Munro (Old Geel)

Half Backs: Baranello(ESL) Andrew Foster-Knight (Therry Penola) Jordan Wise (Bulleen Temp)

Centres: Justin Crotty (Therry Penola) Greg Chivers (Bulleen Temp) Monzell(Ruperts)

Half Forwards: Dean Matthews (Bulleen Temp) Michael Basile (Old Ment) Nick Casboult (Old Geel)

Forward: Colby O’Brien (Old Geel) Allister Parton(Old Carey) Josh Carr (Old Carey)

Rucks: Anthony Ballard (St. Leos Emmaus) Steve Collins (Old Carey) Ashley Drew (Yarra Valley OB)

Inter: Laurence Basell(Old Carey) Dave Collins(Ruperts) James Keem (Yarra Valley OB) David Gayfer (Banyule)

a few changes you will notice.. totally disagree on OGs Ruckman IMO not in the top 5. Also not sure how you can include four Rupo,3 YV, 3 OGs and leave out Steve Collins, however it is all subjective, and this was a really good effort, is not an easy thing to do.