View Full Version : D GRADE: Give me something...

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22

DG-Man
27 Jul 2006, 20:33
Nice changes AA17. Leaving out Collins from the OC is just bewildering. He has been in the OC's best every game, racking up 30 possessions and scoring goals. He would be my equal favourite with the Chiv for D-Grade B & F honours. Agree also with Ballard for Legoe. Battle is not a FB. Great defender, but i would have Trumbell in for him. Perhaps Bone deserved a gig? Hare has been solid as well. I'm a bit of a Bayles fan, so i would have him in rather than Monzell. Parton definately FF. Agree that old Man Dean Matthews gets a gig (as long as walking sticks are allowed out on the ground!) No room for Corey B in my side. Not sure about Carr either!
Very tough to do, and hats off to the quill for the effort. But no Collins... this just shows that you use the "bests" listed in the website rather than going to games. He is leading the OC B&F by the length of the Flemington straight!

kingbrown
27 Jul 2006, 22:39
Tom West should be a certainty for the wing spot. He is the quickest player in D1 and is highly skilled. Watching him is like watching Coyote up against the Road Runner. Beep Beep!!!!

knackers29
28 Jul 2006, 12:47
Huge weekend in D1 !!

And the winners will be:

OC (In a close one)
OG (Because they have to)
YV
BT
TP (in a beauty!!!)

Think I can easily find a spot in that D! All Stars side for Jarrod Bannister, probably Therry's best this year.

In true northern Suburbs style, can't wait to smash into the Rupi all day tomorrow, then have a few thousand Beers with them after the game!

Good Luck to all on the weekend!!

Cheers:thumbsu:

Thorpedo69
28 Jul 2006, 13:17
Anyone know if VW is back this week for OGs? Any other handy inclusions for any D1 sides?

Thorpedo69
28 Jul 2006, 13:20
By the way, how the f#%^ did Ballard for Leos not get in as starting ruckman in the team of half year? Even if the qwill was going solely on how many times people had been the best (which it seems he had!), Ballard still should have been there. Anyone know if the qwill has actually watched a D1 game yet?!

sideshowbob
28 Jul 2006, 13:22
oc
bt
rupo
ogs
bears.

Bede me up
28 Jul 2006, 13:30
Oc
Ogs
Bt
Yv
Rupo

can't mark can't kick
28 Jul 2006, 13:39
Just browsing through the clearance list on the VAFA website when i saw this:

Club departed, Club Arrived, Player name, Result, Application date, Finalisation date.
WAAFL (Wesley Curtain FC) PRAHRAN AFC Michael, Brett Approved 30/06/06 10/07/06

WAAFL (Wongan FC) PRAHRAN AFC Michael, Mark Approved 30/06/06 10/07/06
Anyone know anything of these two players? Perhaps the reason for Prahrahns recent change in form??
There's also a couple others with around the same application date.

well spotted Henry
Brett played a couple of weeks back, got injured in the first quarter, hasn't played since. should be back in 1-2 wks. Mark is yet to play.
The change in form has been due to a complete change in attitude from the group. the round 10 game against Leo's was the worst performance I can remember by a Prahran side. the following week at Mentone we lost by what should have been 1 point - the umpire disallowing a goal right on the final siren because an OM player tripped over his own feet. with a couple of other 50-50 decisions that went against us we could have won.
kept up with Carey for the first half, outplayed in the second. had the momentum at Sunbury in the last, just couldn't score. This week will give a true indication of Prahran's chances of staying in D1. if we can take it up to the best side in the comp, we can stay up.
anyways good luck all
CMCK

Conduct Unbecoming
28 Jul 2006, 13:50
Anyone know if the qwill has actually watched a D1 game yet?!

Yes, he has.

silky_skills
28 Jul 2006, 14:29
Yes, he has.

Which game? Did stick round for a beer?

I Love Sandra Sully
28 Jul 2006, 14:55
Carn The Rupi !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:) ;) Yellow And Blue........ Oh We're From Rupertswood!!!!!!

Therry Lads.... Feel Free To Come In And Join In Our Song Tomorrow Arvo.... I Know It's Been A While Since You Gave Your Vocal Cords A Work Out.

Conduct Unbecoming
28 Jul 2006, 15:06
Which game? Did stick round for a beer?

Silky, I believe he had 2 x musk sticks and a Diet Coke.

Magic Micky
28 Jul 2006, 15:10
Tips

BT in a close one
OC easily
OG to hit back
YV finals looming?
Rupo at home, just

Have been told that BT have 4 to 5 out this week. Weren't told their names but will test their depth.

Any other pre round news?

Half Back
28 Jul 2006, 15:21
Carn The Rupi !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:) ;) Yellow And Blue........ Oh We're From Rupertswood!!!!!!

Therry Lads.... Feel Free To Come In And Join In Our Song Tomorrow Arvo.... I Know It's Been A While Since You Gave Your Vocal Cords A Work Out.

Sandra,

Any truth to the Rumor that T West has walked out on the club this week???

Cheers

Half Back....

Dudley Hamstrung
28 Jul 2006, 15:25
Ballard from StLeos is the best ruckman I have seen this year. He was fantastic (and the catalyst) in their snapping of our winning streak in rd7 this year. He seems like a fairly young bloke. Is he one that has come up through under 19s?
Looking forward to a very even/hard/fair footy contest at Rupo tomorrow. By NO means are the boys taking this game lightly. Therry have the potential to do some damage in this division, which has me stumped as to why there form hasn't matched that potential this year. It is a given that they have lost a few close ones but I think they have had chances to win all of those. Anyway...
There has definately been some very consistent footy played by Drew, Casboult, Monzell and Collins (OC) this year. Very much looking forward to the bnf result.
Upset of the week for me is Banyule over YV. I may have said the opposite earlier in the week but I reckon Saturday will be their day.
|Looking forward to a beer with Knackers at 5pm tomorrow, win/lose or draw.;)
Dudley O-U-T

AJPAJP
28 Jul 2006, 15:25
Tips

BT in a close one
OC easily
OG to hit back
YV finals looming?
Rupo at home, just

Have been told that BT have 4 to 5 out this week. Weren't told their names but will test their depth.

Any other pre round news?

yeah, 5 major outs this week

Dudley Hamstrung
28 Jul 2006, 15:26
PS: Half Back, Westy did in fact walk out on the club last night.
He is going to play for 'under the table' coin for the Eltham Turtles. We wish him all the best.

DG-Man
28 Jul 2006, 17:07
Anyone know if VW is back this week for OGs? Any other handy inclusions for any D1 sides?

The man is back. The Hyphen. The large unit from Como. The facial haired forward. Starting on the bench, but ready to make a solid impact during the afternoon.
There has been a line drawn in the sand. The OGS expect to be playing C-Grade footy next year. From today forth, let no man jib in a contest, and let no man disrespect the hooped jumper.
Lets just see if they can turn their form around starting this weekend.

Still witing on a few tips. Ugly and IS that So, both poised in second place behind MJS2 are sitting back and carefully looking at the form.

Just who are the 5 outs at BT land? Personally i think they are strong enough to win this week missing a few stars. But hopefully for them they are only out for a week or two, as you cannot afford to head into the finals with a big injury list.

Good Luck all teams!

DG

sideshowbob
28 Jul 2006, 17:23
did t.west leave beacuse he was dropped from last weeks team after not getting his weekly 33kicks, 12 handballs and kicked his two goals ?

bullant10
28 Jul 2006, 17:37
The man is back. The Hyphen. The large unit from Como. The facial haired forward. Starting on the bench, but ready to make a solid impact during the afternoon.
There has been a line drawn in the sand. The OGS expect to be playing C-Grade footy next year. From today forth, let no man jib in a contest, and let no man disrespect the hooped jumper.
Lets just see if they can turn their form around starting this weekend.

Still witing on a few tips. Ugly and IS that So, both poised in second place behind MJS2 are sitting back and carefully looking at the form.

Just who are the 5 outs at BT land? Personally i think they are strong enough to win this week missing a few stars. But hopefully for them they are only out for a week or two, as you cannot afford to head into the finals with a big injury list.

Good Luck all teams!

DG

the five outs include:
Wise, Buridge, Barker, M.Bain, and R.Bain

Still will have the depth to get across the lilne. Big oppurtunity for others to stand up!

Archangel17
28 Jul 2006, 20:10
he wont be able to play for turtles this year, and what will he do when they dont get promoted?? Puts paid to team of the year wishes..

Is that so
28 Jul 2006, 22:23
Ballard of ELS is a good ruckman , smith Banyule OK, Radywonik Prahran good, Waters BT is best in comp, in fairness only played 4 games (so far) but none yet to beaten, closest Ballard, but close 2nd.

Is that so
28 Jul 2006, 22:43
the five outs include:
Wise, Buridge, Barker, M.Bain, and R.Bain

Still will have the depth to get across the lilne. Big oppurtunity for others to stand up!
===
Bullant10 why 5 outs in 1 week, injured, resting, or just stirring the pot?

Also players you name all play around the ball, how can BT cover 5 onballers out in 1 game?

If BT win this with the outs you suggest and Prahans recent improvment then IMO BT will be oddson to win the flag (if not already)

Tips:
OC to win by 5 goals in crap conditions, showing the difference between the competitive sides ESL, YV, OG RUP and the top 2.

TP to beat Rupo because they are stronger and in the wet Rup pace no factor and if west did leave mid season - **** Bloke.

OG to salvage the season and beat OM by 3 goals.

YV to punish banyule (again seems to be a weekly occurence) and keep their chances alive. if they win all games and suspect they might will go into finals with momentum and belief, loss this week and finals is a waste of team Banyule are just no good.

BT do they really have those outs? -suspect its a fishing expedition and if not really big test of character, they have shown plenty so far this year BT just?

BTv Prahran

Thorpedo69
28 Jul 2006, 23:44
The claim that Bullants will have five players out is clearly a massive bluff. What benefit could there be for someone within a club to give away that sort of information if it's true? On the other hand, there's plenty of benefits to saying it if it isn't true.

Is that so
29 Jul 2006, 00:29
The claim that Bullants will have five players out is clearly a massive bluff. What benefit could there be for someone within a club to give away that sort of information if it's true? On the other hand, there's plenty of benefits to saying it if it isn't true.

Couldn't agree more Thorpedo why somone would mention outs let alone name them before a game is pretty naive.

Doesn't chnage my tip just increases the margin, then again could back fire a give Prahran hope or belief before in their chances? It will be interesting to read all about it tomoorow night.

MJS2
29 Jul 2006, 00:40
It is true there are 5 outs for BT and they are due to injury and unavailabilty. It will be a test but the bullants should still get over the line, no excuses. They have the depth to fill the void. Good luck to all teams

uglydermie
29 Jul 2006, 09:27
Weather report and tips: Note I have added a UV warning for the red nuts...

Melbourne Forecast
Issued at 4:50 am EST on Saturday 29 July 2006

Warning Summary
Nil.

Forecast for Saturday
Partly cloudy with a few brief showers with possible hail. Fresh northerly wind
shifting west to northwesterly by early afternoon then easing tonight.

Precis: Few showers. Windy.
City: Max 14

Laverton: Max 13 Yarra Glen: Max 13
Tullamarine: Max 13 Mt Dandenong: Max 9
Watsonia: Max 13 Scoresby: Max 13
Frankston: Max 13 Geelong: Max 13

UV Index: 1-2 [low]

Ugly reckons:

BT easily over Prahran
OC easily over the animals
OGs
Rupo to demolish Therry
YV to beat Banyule

Midas
29 Jul 2006, 09:48
This weeks tips:

OC
Yarra
Two Blues backing up their upset
Rupo (I'm actually rating them now)
OG's

Out

Is that so
29 Jul 2006, 19:12
rang through heard results:
Bt over Prahran by 2 must have had the outs.
OC smash ESL as predicted.
OG woke up and win by 20 goals.
TP to strong for rupo whi will no longer make finals.
YV easiily if banyule and will make finals.
Is that so gets 5 so its all good.

Is that so
29 Jul 2006, 19:17
For those looking for a blueprint of how to beat OC - watch Leo's this week. Leo's will win, and comfortably. My first big statement on this thread!
Kibe 1st big statement and let it be your last terrible call, OC and BT and well ahead of others in the division as seen by recent results.
ESL relegation is still a possibility.

kingbrown
29 Jul 2006, 19:29
Before i say anything i am a saints supporter. Unfortunately i only seen the last quarter at Rupo today. What i can say it was 12 goals to 2 at 1/2 time in favour of Therry, with Rupo kicking 8 goals to nothing in the second half. Can't comment other than the boys said Therry's first quarter was very similar to ours against the OC. Well done to Therry and i'm sure there will be a healthy growing respect in our future rivalry.

DG-Man
29 Jul 2006, 19:47
Got to be quick. Heading out!
Kibe.....big statements can bite people on the butt! What happened? OC that good?
OGS are back. B.I.T! Rupo are gone.
May as well play the second semi final - BT vs OC, and the first semi OGS vs YV next week!
Cannot see Rupo, who have to play OC and BT away, making the finals this year. Great effort by Therry. No demotion for them this year.
That is all. Will post tipping later on!
DG

Thorpedo69
29 Jul 2006, 20:17
rang through heard results:
Bt over Prahran by 2 must have had the outs.
OC smash ESL as predicted.
OG woke up and win by 20 goals.
TP to strong for rupo whi will no longer make finals.
YV easiily if banyule and will make finals.
Is that so gets 5 so its all good.

I have to say I thought Banyule were a chance of beating YV.

Interesting result in the northern derby too. TP give themselves a chance of avoiding relegation!

The word is that Two Blues had as many key injuries for the game as BT, so I wouldn't attribute the close result to BT having their five players out.

uglydermie
29 Jul 2006, 21:50
fair call that. BT where very ordinary today - but in saying that the two blues are a much moe committed team than when we met them 10 weeks ago.

huge win by Old Geelong- Have the wheels fallen off at Keysborough?

Well done TP. Big few weeks to come!

DG-Man
30 Jul 2006, 11:10
[quote=Is that so]Couldn't agree more Thorpedo why somone would mention outs let alone name them before a game is pretty naive.

I'm not sure i agree with this. Firstly, as a keen watcher of amatuer football, i rate the coaches of at least half a dozen D1 teams as pathetic. Both senoir coach and coaching staff. Knowledge of oppostion players, team plans, as well as their own team plans border on non existent. Don't get me wrong, i love D-Grade footy, and think we have some quality footballers, however i doubt any early information on ins and outs from opposition teams would make even the slightest difference to the match come game day.
I would love to see an improved Ammos website, where teams were listed by lunchtime Friday. All changes, team sheets. I would love to be able to read through these (All Grades). It would certainly give supporters of amatuer football greater awareness of happenings within clubs, and a greater feel for all the players.
There are clubs that do put their sides on their own website on fridays for their fans sake, and the team named is the team that runs out. I think this is the way to go! I certainly don't think this disadvantages the club in any way!

DG-Man
30 Jul 2006, 11:27
Is that So is starting to pressure MJS2 at the top after a 5/5 this week.
5 tippsters scored the card!
ILSS.....only had 1/5 this week to slip 2 behind second last position!
Things are tight at the top!

Tipping Ladder

MJS2 (4) 33

Is That So (5) 32

UglyDermie (4) 31
DG-Man (4) 31

Hansie (4) 30
Bullant (4) 30
Bede Me Up (4) 30

Henry (4) 29
St.Kevs Cowboy (4) 29

Moss Rocket (4) 28
Toohas (5) 28

Side Show Bob (3) 27

Midas (3) 26

King Brown (2) 24
Blue Boys 88 (4) 24

Archangel 17 (3) 23
Magic Mickey (4) 23
OC37 (5) 23

Knackers (5) 22
Half back (5) 22
OM28 (2) 22

ILSS (1) 20

* Please note: As DG likes to improve the weekly tipping ladder (received many PM's and general plaudits for the introduction of the weekly score in brackets!) This week we have the leader in bold and underlined, and all tipsters who tipped the card are in bold.

Not many weeks left. Finals are included.

Cheers - DG

Archangel17
30 Jul 2006, 11:41
Did a bit of spying out at ESL v OC this week. 2nd and 3rd quarters. Interesting stuff. OC very impressive. Ratcliffe very strong nuggety onballer.Barton unlikely looking, but very effective flanker.Unkles/Basell dominated ruck. Ballard hardly seen, and rarely in ruck, seemed to be tagging Parton which was ineffective and a waste IMO.Buckle hardly seen. Baranello(1) very impressive, but a lone hand.No T Bull who was one i specifically went to watch, no Tiras. Parton played onball/HF. Maslin lightening quick onballer- goalkicker. Jessup athletic tall flanker.Collins awesome- ESL apparently thought he stank as they werent within 30 of him the entire two quarters.
In summary. OC very good. ESL not close to them

Toohas
30 Jul 2006, 12:08
After a pretty tight first half, Yarra got on top of Banyule in the second half for a comfortable win. A lack of discipline from Banyule directly led to goals (free kicks in the forward line after we had kicked a goal, abusing umpires etc.) which gave us our handy lead which we extended on. Tim Hancock was our best player and Andrew Stone kicked five, I think. I thought Skicko and Gayfer were good for Banyule.

We have a new leader for the best clubrooms in D1, Banyule are the best easily.

Toohas
30 Jul 2006, 13:36
[quote=Is that so]Couldn't agree more Thorpedo why somone would mention outs let alone name them before a game is pretty naive.
I'm not sure i agree with this. Firstly, as a keen watcher of amatuer football, i rate the coaches of at least half a dozen D1 teams as pathetic. Both senoir coach and coaching staff. Knowledge of oppostion players, team plans, as well as their own team plans border on non existent. I would love to be able to read through these (All Grades). It would certainly give supporters of amatuer football greater awareness of happenings within clubs, and a greater feel for all the players.
There are clubs that do put their sides on their own website on fridays for their fans sake, and the team named is the team that runs out. I think this is the way to go! I certainly don't think this disadvantages the club in any way!

I disagree. Our team meetings with Tim Killworth (an OG life member BTW) last year were something else with regards to how much research he did on the other teams and their players etc. There are also coaches in the grade who are familiar and friendly with each other and they will give each other input on their upcoming opposition. I don't know your connection with Old Geelong, but I think you would be surprised at how seriously most coaches in this division take their role. Maybe it doesn't disadvantage the club too much, but it certainly isn't beneficial for the club to divulge this information either. I don't think any club would be too happy for supporters to come on here and let the world know that players of the caliber of Burridge, Wise and the Bains were missing.

What i can say it was 12 goals to 2 at 1/2 time in favour of Therry, with Rupo kicking 8 goals to nothing in the second half.

Is this true? Not letting a side kick a goal for an entire half, you would think that you'd put more than eight through down the other end. For them to not even score a goal, wouldn't the ball have spent most of it's time in your forward line?

DG-Man
30 Jul 2006, 16:53
[quote=Toohas][quote=DG-Man]

I disagree. Our team meetings with Tim Killworth (an OG life member BTW) last year were something else with regards to how much research he did on the other teams and their players etc. There are also coaches in the grade who are familiar and friendly with each other and they will give each other input on their upcoming opposition. I don't know your connection with Old Geelong, but I think you would be surprised at how seriously most coaches in this division take their role. Maybe it doesn't disadvantage the club too much, but it certainly isn't beneficial for the club to divulge this information either. I don't think any club would be too happy for supporters to come on here and let the world know that players of the caliber of Burridge, Wise and the Bains were missing.

Hey Toohas, nice to see the thinking man score a 5/5 and put himself back in contention!
I guess i am not saying that i don't think coaches take their role seriously, i just don't think from observing games this year, that many are very good at it. I have played ammos footy in a couple of grades, and am aware of how even F and G grade teams still take it all very seriously.
What has suprised me this year has been how poorly some teams are coached. This is a personal opinion from someone who has watched 14 games this year. I guess when you have been involved/played ammos footy for 17 years, you can have an opinion. Some may disagrere. That's cool. Hey, i'm sure if i had to coach next year i'd be pretty crappy!

And i also don't think it is beneficial for someone on this site to divulge info like the BT guy did. But i also don't think it does much, if any damage.
As i said earlier, it would be great if we could be reading all sides on a Friday afternoon. The more info available, the more interest generated, the better for the comp.

If i looked up on the website the Therry team, as an example, and saw that Crotty, Bannisters, Foster-Knights, Goodwin etc, etc were all available, i would go watch them next week. I've heard about this Crotty guy, sounds like he can play, i love my footy, i'd be there!

I realise some clubs would always like to keep things a little in-house, as a supposed advantage, however i just wonder if there really is any advantage in it. No side reliant on info regarding ins and outs of oppostion teams to play good, solid footy, is going to go far anyway. Can't imagine that the Old Xavs have given 2 hoots about oppositon teams over the last decade.

Cheers - DG

bullant10
30 Jul 2006, 17:12
Boys,
We are not in the AFL, D1 footy, most people on this thread are, like me, supporters and spectators. It would have made less than 5% diiference to the way prahran prepared for the game vs BT. Maybe got them thinking a little bit but that is it.
My mail wasn't that far off, 4 out of the 5 didn't play, burridge did.
It was good to watch a few of the border line players put their hand up and have a crack at cementing a spot for themselves in the BT jumper.
Very ordinary game at Ajani - Prahran were well on top early and just dropped off in the later stages of the game. Only had a limited interchange which didn't help.
Very windy conditions which kept the scoring low and the skills scrappy.
OMs result looks a bit worryiong for them being in no danger of relegation and ca't make the finals the boys might become a little complacent.
Rupo = gone!
YV to take forth spot. I picked it nice and early!!:D
Carey looking very good their form is comingtogether at the right time of the year. Very different side to the one that lost to BT earlier on. Definately the team to beat at the moment.

Would like some updated odds on flag and B&F thanks DG!

kingbrown
30 Jul 2006, 17:13
Toohas, i got there right on th 3/4 siren and it was 12 to 4 with Rupo kicking one after the siren. I was told Therry were 12-2 at half time. The last quarter i seen us kick 5 unanswered goals. We had more opportunities, but Therry shut down the play a fair bit and were successful with some telling marks in the last 10 mins. The feedback was Therry's guns especially no.5 was on absolute fire in the first half, Therry looked unstoppable. Harmes was impassable at Full Back. Well done to YV i only tipped against them in hope, not my head. We do have a very hard road ahead and will get a few back in the tipping stakes if Rupo have a few wins!!!! So will ILSS.

MJS2
30 Jul 2006, 19:04
I thought it was a great win by the bullants. They were undermanned and with the two blues having a decent side in with Bevan playing who clearly wasn't fit, got over the line in a good old fashioned scrap. The two blues will win more games then they lose in the next four weeks. It was a game where the bullants could have easily lost but good sides win the close ones even when their not firing and this was the case with a come from behind victory. I think it will be OC V BT and OGS V YV in the 1st week of finals. Ruppo have to play play BT and OC away and i cant see them winning either of these games.
The tipping is getting very interesting!:thumbsu:

MJS2
30 Jul 2006, 19:19
Boys just had a quick look at the fixtures for next four games and i think Yarra Valley are definitely gonna play finals footy. I think everyone has missed the fact that OGS play Therry (away), Carey and Ruppo (away) the St leos. They could potenially lose 3 of these games!!! I might have to change my prediction and say Yarra Valley will play either Ruppo or Ogs and it will come down till the last game where ruppo may have to beat Bullants to play finals footy. Ogs are very vunerable aswell, but have very good percentage. There are only 2 sides who are 100% sure in saying they are playing finals footy. I have a funny feeling that the OGS once premiership favourites wont be playing finals footy!
Any thoughts....?

bullant10
30 Jul 2006, 19:40
:)Boys just had a quick look at the fixtures for next four games and i think Yarra Valley are definitely gonna play finals footy. I think everyone has missed the fact that OGS play Therry (away), Carey and Ruppo (away) the St leos. They could potenially lose 3 of these games!!! I might have to change my prediction and say Yarra Valley will play either Ruppo or Ogs and it will come down till the last game where ruppo may have to beat Bullants to play finals footy. Ogs are very vunerable aswell, but have very good percentage. There are only 2 sides who are 100% sure in saying they are playing finals footy. I have a funny feeling that the OGS once premiership favourites wont be playing finals footy!
Any thoughts....?

Looks like you have done your research MJS2!
I agree that YV will be there, was unaware of OGs tough draw. Rupo would have to pull something special out of the bag to play finals, although it has been a good effort to come up a grade and still be in the mix.
Look at therry and banyule!
MJS2 you seem to know a bit about D1 footy, also leading the tipping - Could you be up for taking the Qwills position next year?:)

MJS2
30 Jul 2006, 20:42
Yeah bullant10, going ok with the tipping but its getting very close. I reckon i couldnt be any worse then the "Quil". When is going to rate the bullants! Maybe when where holding the premiership cup up in September he just might!!:p

Thorpedo69
30 Jul 2006, 21:55
I agree that a come-from-behind win by BT shows good spirit- good teams manage to win those types of scrappy and tough contests. But I think it's concerning for BT that people like MJS2 are referring to them as having been "undermanned" when they had four players (albeit good players) out. Old Carey would not have been at full strength for many games this year, and apparently on Saturday Prahran far from had its best team out on the field against BT.

Carey really do seem like the team to beat. I think BT are a very disciplined and well-coached side, but IMO Old Carey have more weapons all over the ground. Then again, the grand final result in the AFL last year demonstrated that the solid, disciplined side can beat the team of champions.

DG-Man
30 Jul 2006, 22:59
Boys,
Would like some updated odds on flag and B&F thanks DG!

No problem bullant10,

Flag prices

OC / BT $2.50 Equal favourites.
YV/Rupo/OGS $12.00

There has been solid support for OC all week. 3 or 4 contributors have jumped on the OC bandwagon, and now we have none other than bullant10 calling them favourites! Is this a Wise thing to say?
BT still have plenty of support, as some seasoned judges believe the great team ethic at the club, plus their wood over the OC may win out come finals time.
No money for any of the others. ILSS is expected to take the juicy odds at sometime during the week. While Toohas is expected to have a nibble on the Valley before finals time.

B & F

Chivers / S.Collins 3/1
No one else in single figures!
DG still believes it is a two horse race. They are my 2 favourite players at the moment. Toohas is asking for odds on A. Drew. There has been interest in a Bannister, Casboult and O'Brien have had specking. Dolly Parton and Basile have had a little interest, while T.West has gone for a bath!

Checking out the draw, it seems that the Rupo vs Ogs game may be the big one. At Rupo, it will be a real toss of the coin. I personally believe that the OGS have a better side man for man, but with a final 4 spot up for grabs, at home, Rupo will be hard to beat.
YV seem to have the easier run home, but with relegation and pride at stake, no games are easy.
I still think there will be some suprises, and in the end OGS big % will prove very important.

Next weeks games have a few rippers. The tipping comp my tighten right up.

Prahran vs Banyule is hard to split, BT should beat a disappointing OM's, however they do play better at home. OC vs Rupo will be an intersting one. OC will be looking for revenge and should be too strong. Both OGS and YV will certainly be hoping the OC are on the ball. Therry vs OGS at Therry is hard to split, while YV will have to have there A-Grade game against a rebounding Leos at Leos!

Looking forward to seeing the tips come rolling in!

Who will be first up to show their hand......MJS2?? Come on...be brave!

Cheers,

DG

uglydermie
30 Jul 2006, 23:00
I reckon I know who you are Thorpedo!

Love your work big fella!

Archangel17
31 Jul 2006, 08:19
Here we go DG. Early tips.
PR in a canter
BT by 8 goals( would triple this if it was anywhere else, also not sure on availability of Bains)
OC by 80pts( no idea why i tipped ESL last week- going for upset- just wrong one)
Therry(won last week with top players back, and an extra week under their belt- will be too physical for the College/Grammar boys ) by 6 goals
YV after a close first half will pull away by 28 pts with Keem kicking 6

DG i wouldnt mind some coin on A Drew and Monzell.. You may have to bring their odds in a bit, remember Chivers and Collins have many other very good players to pull votes. Bain,Hare, Burridge, Old Man Matthews, Wise, Parton,Kent/Ratcliffe,Howgate to name a few , and both sides have many faces who can bob up for one or two weeks and pull 3 voters , then disappear back in to the rank and file. A Drew has a few supporting guns, however very few would have taken that 3 vote performance in a winning side, or the one or two vote in a losing side that Drew would have.He also has a brother who is a very handy player, and though this may hurt at times, i feel it could actually work in Drewy's favour as ,(No offence Robin), he is the Drew the umpires know. so often it may appear to them that he is all over the field. Monzell is a very good player,and not taking anything away from that, but remember the glasses and the hair. He is easily remembered and stands out on the field. When the umpires sit down to vote , particularly in an even team performance, things like this make it easier. A couple of weeks ago i overheard the umpires voting on the game. I did not hear their final decision, as i did not want to however the conversation went something like this.
" Who do you think played well ?" "Not sure. *** was pretty good, hey that kid with the spiky black hair was good. What was his number?" " Dont know, was it 26? no maybe 29" " Yeah 29 i think"" Oh there was no number 29, hold on i will pop out and have a quick look in their rooms"
Remember the umpires are human. It is not easy to remember 44 players on the field and their numbers . Other things can stand out too.

Midas
31 Jul 2006, 08:56
Well interesting weekend of results, with Leos falling heavily to Carey after some solid spruiking, Therry really tightening the screws on the Two Blues & Banyule with an impressive win, the Two Blues themselves almost pulling off a massive upset to split the relegation battle wide open, OG's getting back on track (just), and the Valley Boys keeping the finals door ajar.

Whispers have it the Animals may have been getting a little ahead of themselves. Some solid wins in recent weeks had them confident of an upset against a side that I think will be very tough to beat at the business end. All is not sweet for the Animals just yet, as they play 3 of the 4 in the mix for top spot, plus the Two Blues. Conceivably they could lose all four and if that is the case, the relegation game may not be over.

The Two Blues need to win all four, at the outside three, to avoid the drop, but interestingly play Banyule, Leos, the Valley and OM's at home. Could they start favorites in three of those given their recent form, and they only just fell to the Bushrangers first time around? Might be interesting if they can beat Banyule this week. Their effort against BT was full of merit with apparently 1 interchange only from halfway through the second and four key players out themselves. BT boys might be underestimating the quality of its victory on the weekend.

Rupo did what I had been predicting they would do for a long time and let themselves down after a cracking win last week. Disappointing but wasn't it an important win for the Therry boys, staring down relegation but now looking reasonably safe. What a first half from all accounts with the young gun Bannister (Jarrod i think) all over it. There's a guy I wouldn;t discount from B&F calculations because his marking and poise is certainly memorable.

OG's well, how good that win. The OM boys continue the saga of away game disappointments, and obviously now it's another four games of treading water. WIll be interesting to see how Russo's boys play out the season, I'm sure a disappointing performance like that will see them have a crack next week, but their motivation might be waning a touch. As for Old Geelong, they might just be back. Their two losses to Prahran and YV were by less than a kick and the form of those two sides has been reasonable. Maybe we've been prematurely harsh on the boys from Como. They'll still have an impact of some description come finals time.

Yarra kept the dream alive with a not unexpected victory over Banyule. Would be interested to hear about the discipline of the Bears Toohas, because the strong mail has been it has been v ordinary over the last four weeks and they may be severely on the slide. The margins in recent weeks would suggest that, and this week is a hige game v Two Blues. Lose it and the wooden spoon and relegation look likely, win it and they are back in with a serious chance of avoiding the drop. As for the Bushrangers, they have a couple of winnable games coming up v Leos & Prahran, but history shows these are th ones they sometimes drop. If they stay up, a finals berth beckons, its first in D1. Will they make history?

Loving D1 footy boys.

Thorpedo69
31 Jul 2006, 10:52
[quote=Is that so]

I'm not sure i agree with this. Firstly, as a keen watcher of amatuer football, i rate the coaches of at least half a dozen D1 teams as pathetic. Both senoir coach and coaching staff. Knowledge of oppostion players, team plans, as well as their own team plans border on non existent. Don't get me wrong, i love D-Grade footy, and think we have some quality footballers, however i doubt any early information on ins and outs from opposition teams would make even the slightest difference to the match come game day.

Is That So,

Which teams are poorly coached D1 in your opinion? Are they sides that have performed well or those that are struggling? Interested to know your thoughts...

Thorpedo69
31 Jul 2006, 10:54
Ugly,

Glad to hear you have suspicions about who I am. I'll give you a clue- my feet aren't as big as the real Thorpedo's....... I'll officially reveal my identity at the end of the season. Maybe during some sort of ceremony.

Moss Rocket
31 Jul 2006, 11:17
Tips for next week:

OC over Rupo
Prahran over Banyule
BT over OM's
Therry over OGS (this is a tough one)
YV over Leos

If Geelong can beat Therry, i think Rupo may end up missing out on finals.

Great posts recently. Very interesting reading.

Toohas
31 Jul 2006, 11:24
Yarra kept the dream alive with a not unexpected victory over Banyule. Would be interested to hear about the discipline of the Bears Toohas, because the strong mail has been it has been v ordinary over the last four weeks and they may be severely on the slide.

It was ordinary. Giving away double goals by whacking the goalkicker in front of the umpire before play has even re-started, free kick for abusing our boundary umpire when the ball was in our forward 45m (goal), downfield free kick that resulted in a goal on the third quarter siren, giving away two 25m penalties in a row that put us inside our forward arc, but we missed the goal...that was just the third quarter too. Their kicking has been letting them down (26 goals 51 behinds in the last four weeks) They must win this week to keep their season alive, in my opinion, but so do Prahran. Should be a cracking battle.

How big is Round 17 shaping up to be?

Emmaus St. Leo's vs Prahran
Old Carey vs Bulleen-Templestowe
Therry Penola vs Banyule
Old Mentonians vs Yarra Valley
Rupertswood vs Old Geelong

Conduct Unbecoming
31 Jul 2006, 11:37
[quote=Conduct Unbecoming]I would be as happy as anyone should Rupo make it. However, my decision was based on 3 key factors vital from this point onwards - the draw, respective form of both sides and player availability. For example:

1. After this week, YV play the bottom 6 sides in the run home , Rupo play a few inside the four;
2. Rupo have hardly won a game in the last month - YV have not lost, and
3. YV appear to be getting players back from injury etc at the right time, Rupo don't seem to experiencing that (I may be wrong) from what I see on this post.quote]

Interesting to see that many are realising that YV will make the four!! Think I predicted this a month ago...anyway, I have seen them 3 times this year:

1st time - got in front early and were awesome for a quarter, then got pumped - didn't know how to stop the BT run-on,
2nd time - even early then ran away with it once they got their noses in front,
3rd time - totally on the back foot from the start, didn't know how to stop the BT tidal wave (noticed a little bit of disrespect from the Bullants towards YV that day!).

Seems to me (and maybe OG might be listening here for the 1st final) that once they fall behind they struggle. Certainly both times they were up and running they were very good...but put under pressure, they might struggle to work back against a side that gets a run on?

I think whoever plays them in the 1st final (think it will be my early tip for the flag - OG!!) should focus on hitting the ground running and working at kicking 3-4 quick ones in a row..

And YV may want to work on a containment strategy for this type of scenario....they need to learn what to do when a top team puts them on the back foot. Only get one shot at finals.

Half Back
31 Jul 2006, 12:09
ILSS,

Show me the mooooooonnnnneeeeeeyyyyyyy.

Cheers

Dee Snider
31 Jul 2006, 12:18
All sides will need to be on their game against Prahran. What would have been penciled in a month ago as a certain win - not any longer from what I saw on the weekend. Prahran did not look like a bottom side to me - not in the quality of the poeple they had playing nor in the system they adopted to thwart a seriously flat BT.

Anyone playing Prahran for the remainder of the year will underestimate the 2Blues at their own peril.

OldMelburnian28
31 Jul 2006, 14:11
After saturday's disappointing loss the OM man relaxed with a quiet beer amongst his teammates and opponents down at the rupi. Whilst engaging in a general conversation it was revealed that the OM man was talking to non other than the 'mystery dog'. Thus starts the trade of big footy personalities "ill trade you kingbrown for halfback" MD demanded and OM man obliged. However it was agreed that all big footy contributions must be exposed and introduced, and thats exactly what happened. Whilst conversation flowed a crack of the whip silenced proceedings, and the cowboy himself entered the room whilst others watched on with eyes agaze. The man of many great posts was more than happy to have his great alias revealed. However, there was a man missing, a man in demand, a man who goes by the name of a great newslady. Turns out as St Kevs Cowboy entered the room ILSS had slipped out through a trap door and rode his ass home. But the cowboy and OM man had no problems revealing his true identity. Keep your eyes peeled as ILSS has still been riding the cowboy's great filly around melbourne apparently.

Was great entertainment saturday arvo down the rupi meeting fellow contributors to bigfooty, although i am sworn to secrecy the OM is in favour of everyone revealing themselves come season's end. It's a real ****a to find out who these alias belong too.

OM man out!!!

Is that so
31 Jul 2006, 14:41
[quote=DG-Man]
Is That So,

Which teams are poorly coached D1 in your opinion? Are they sides that have performed well or those that are struggling? Interested to know your thoughts...

Thorpedo asking the wrong guy it was not my statement - thinkl it was DG man.

MJS2
31 Jul 2006, 15:03
OK DG,

Here are this weeks specials

BT wont lose twice to Old Mentonians for the year
OC to strong at home for Ruppo
Prahan will smash Banyule- they are not a bottom side
Yarra Valley to much to play for over Leos
Therry will beat OGS mark my words! 0GS are in trouble!

MJS2 :cool:

I Love Sandra Sully
31 Jul 2006, 15:05
OM are you telling me the great ladies identity is out???? oh dear god!
To the bunker!!!!!

It is true i had to take off straight after the game as was busy moving into a new pad over the weekend.... too bad i didn't get to meet Half wit....I mean half Back.. and the rest of the motley crew that get on here from Therry.....would have been good putting a face to the names....i am sure you can fill me in OM tomorrow night at training on who's shocking onion belongs to who.

All i know is we got trounced in the first half..... terrible effort..... although we came home well the damage had already been done.
Must switch on for the next couple of weeks to insure a finals birth.

Is that so
31 Jul 2006, 15:15
OK DG,

Here are this weeks specials

BT wont lose twice to Old Mentonians for the year
OC to strong at home for Ruppo
Prahan will smash Banyule- they are not a bottom side
Yarra Valley to much to play for over Leos
Therry will beat OGS mark my words! 0GS are in trouble!

MJS2 :cool:
Very Good MJS2 now that you are in I can spot the game that gets me level at the top of the table this week:

Here are my tips:

Agree - BT
Agree - OC
Agree - Prahan
Agree - YV
disagerre - OG for mine.

Is that so
31 Jul 2006, 15:27
It was ordinary. Giving away double goals by whacking the goalkicker in front of the umpire before play has even re-started, free kick for abusing our boundary umpire when the ball was in our forward 45m (goal), downfield free kick that resulted in a goal on the third quarter siren, giving away two 25m penalties in a row that put us inside our forward arc, but we missed the goal...that was just the third quarter too. Their kicking has been letting them down (26 goals 51 behinds in the last four weeks) They must win this week to keep their season alive, in my opinion, but so do Prahran. Should be a cracking battle.

How big is Round 17 shaping up to be?

Emmaus St. Leo's vs Prahran
Old Carey vs Bulleen-Templestowe
Therry Penola vs Banyule
Old Mentonians vs Yarra Valley
Rupertswood vs Old Geelong

Any reports from the game?
These are the 2 least disciplined sides in our Divsion IMO (for different reasons)
YV push the boundaries of sportsmanship at any opportunity they can (in play , behind play whatever)

Banyule say and do whatever they like - has a banyule player been seen to have been brought from the ground for an undisciplined act this year, or is the behaviour that we are hearing about these past few weeks considered acceptable by the club?

Obvioulsy would not take much to get some cheap goals from them or so it seems.

silky_skills
31 Jul 2006, 15:48
No problem bullant10,

Flag prices

OC / BT $2.50 Equal favourites.
YV/Rupo/OGS $12.00

DG

Good call DG-Man. Agree that the OC probably deserve 'equal favourite' billing on the TOTE (top of ladder, good %). OC thrashing average sides seems to be something they're very good at. For mine the BT are a better team - especially when it counts. The OC/BT rematch will be a cracker - can we get some more odds on this particular game?

DG-Man
31 Jul 2006, 17:07
[. The OC/BT rematch will be a cracker - can we get some more odds on this particular game?[/quote]

Let me see.....at Old Carey, so this does help the Panthers. BT have the wood over them....a very difficult one.

OC - $1.80
BT - $1.90

(If it were at BT, i would have BT - $1.72, OC - $2.00)

Injuries and availabilities will be important for this clash. As both teams will be playing each other in a second semi final a few weeks later, any opportunity to gain some advantage must be taken. It will be a tough, rugged affair.
Personally i think the OC need the win more than BT do. Going into another finals series against the mighty bullants with an 0-2 record, and a history of a relatively poor finals performances will not be what the OC need.

If the OC win and win well, they will be flag favourites.
If the OC win in a close one (under 2-3 goals) or BT win, BT will go in as favourites IMO (Assuming both teams are full strength at finals time)

Cheers,
DG

Dudley Hamstrung
31 Jul 2006, 18:04
Good afternoon all. Watched my beloved yellow and blue on Saturday come up against a very determined and attacking Therry outfit and come up short. Therrys first half was exceptional, played at finals like intensity. The big names were standing up and standing up well. The 65 or so half time margain was an accurate reflection on how the game had gone.
The second half was kind of like the first half, but in reverse. Rupo got a couple of goals (it appeared still that they had to work harder than TP to get them) to go about 50 points down at 3/4 time. The last quarter was fantastic viewing, I honestly thought they could win but Therry were composed as KB said, taking a couple of key grabs deep in defence. Harmes nabbed the 6 pack for Therry but Bannister (5), number 14 i think, 25 and a couple of others were strong contributers for the boys from Oak Park. Half Back, Knackers and Mysterydog I'd like to hear your thoughts on what was certainly a 'game of two halves.' I hope the Therry lads can knock of the OGs this week, would be very handy. Cheers.

kingbrown
31 Jul 2006, 18:08
I think the BT and OC debate is boring. What fascinates me is the OG. Clearly there performance relates back to the stockmarket and their pure bred dogs.

I definitely agree these two sides are the ones to beat, however whoever loses the second semi will be in for a crackerjack prelim final no matter which team gets through. There is nothing like a side unexpected to win in a prelim. Underdogs are to Aussies as patriotic as the DG Man. Don't write off the OG if BHP Billiton and AMP have a ripper month and PAL bring out a new improved canine menu. Don't write off the Rupi if they can pull off a finals spot due to BT and OC tanking to make sure they make it. Don't write off the YV as Toohas is suddenly appointed coach and the old bloke is appointed to all there finals.

In all seriousness though it is good to be in a position where relegation is not possible and a possible finals spot is there in a comp i would consider 10-15 goals better than D2.

Go D1!!!!

kingbrown
31 Jul 2006, 18:24
Kibe, how good was the OC? Your statement was not unwarranted as your form has been equal to any other than OC and BT. As we all have to improve our knowledge of the opposition, could you give us a description of Collins. Size, weight, where he positions. If you are 30mtrs from any player it sounds like he is an outside player, i know nothing about him.

DG-Man
31 Jul 2006, 18:58
Hi Kingbrown, I agree, the prelim final will be a genuine 65/35 game. Whoever loses the 2nd semi will be a very nervous club. OGS, when on form are totally hoopalicious! YV's recent form is very good, while the Rupologists certainly enjoyed the fast and firm early season conditions, and their pace (even minus the roadrunner) would be very difficult to counter on a warm September afternoon.

Re Collins, i have seen him play and he is an onballer. Medium height, medium weight, very skillful. Getting 30 metres clear of opposition tells more about ordinary opposition, rather than outside player. He won a B&F when playing for Old Scotch in A-Grade, so he is obviously a very good ball winner.

Just receiving an email from my broker as i type.......Billiton is on the move. Looks like Rover and Yablett will be fine dining this weekend. What do you think about that boys.......woof woof!

kingbrown
31 Jul 2006, 19:17
DG Man, love your work, however i need more specifics.

Rupo,s average height 170 cm
Rupo's average weight 59 kg
Rupo's average age 14.3 yrs
(still we are very hard nuts at Rupo) Equivalent to at least the Macadamia, not quite as hard as the salted almond!

Collins might be average in the scheme of D1, but to Rupo he might be a giant. To win an "A" Grade B&F is incredible, he must be a gun.

I still have a soft spot for Parton as the best player in D1, only seen him once, but is special, no doubt. Chivers is awesome, just Dolly's presence seems like no other in D1. I know we have flogged this subject so i will shutup.

DG-Man
31 Jul 2006, 19:45
Think it was just a Scotch B&F. But yes, still impressive. I really have no other useful data on him. I would guess 82 kilos and 181cm. No giant. Perhaps a wallnut. Will drive you up the wall if he wins plenty of the nut!

Henry24
31 Jul 2006, 20:14
Perhaps to put a new twist on the OC vs BT debate...

To people from non BT/OC clubs... who would you rather be playing come finals time?

kingbrown
31 Jul 2006, 20:17
Sounds like he might be as classy as a cashew!!!

kingbrown
31 Jul 2006, 20:33
Perhaps to put a new twist on the OC vs BT debate...

To people from non BT/OC clubs... who would you rather be playing come finals time?

Can't split them Henry. Given that our best performance for the year was over OC, i am obviously inclined to prefer OC, however even this day you could sense how good they could be. BT are a different cattle, nearly had the game spent at 3/4 time but found something that not many sides would or could. You must never think you have it won against this side.

OG are still the best side on a given day we have played, there recent form does not warrant my response and have been surprised by their up and down form. I'll try not to go down the stockmarket, pure bred line as i crack my 6th can.

BlueBoys88
31 Jul 2006, 20:53
Collins is a highly talented player, and an A grade B&F at old scotch only backs my claim. He has now been likened for the D1 B&F which now poses the question, how can such a gun only be mentioned in the best once for Old Carey all year?

Stephen Collins (OLD CAREY GRAMMARIANS)
13 29/07/2006 17 1.31 4 - 1

http://www.vafa.asn.au/default.aspx?s=results

These inconsistencies week in week out make it very hard for a coach to monitor opposing sides. As well as giving the sides who have posted correct information a huge disadvantage.

DG-Man
31 Jul 2006, 21:29
These inconsistencies week in week out make it very hard for a coach to monitor opposing sides. As well as giving the sides who have posted correct information a huge disadvantage.

Hi Blue Boys,

Disagree with this. We are talking D1 footy here. Clubs should firstly concentrate on their own team and gameplan, and then secondly if it is advantagous - check out opposition teams during the year. Not rely on who clubs nominate as best players. Easy for a club to send someone to check out the opposition play, if that is something they think will be advantagous. If someone like Chivers takes 7 marks and has 12 touches in the first quarter, i would hope an opposition coach would react on what he see's, not look up the amatuer record or website to see if he has been playing well recently. Most clubs know the better players from oppostion teams. No coach wouldn't know Chivers, Dean Matthews, Bannisters, Harmes, Vickers-W, me (only joking), ILSSully, Keem, Basile, Parton etc.

Dudley Hamstrung
31 Jul 2006, 21:30
Blueboy you are spot on the money IMO. Incorrect info given to the VAFA only hurts us as fans really. As DG said, how good would it be for us to see possible line ups on the Friday, there would certainly be some more intrigued supporters of a Saturday arvo.
It wouldn't hurt either side becuase the players know who is dangerous in the opposition from previous games anyway.
I like Monzell for the league medal DG and I'll also take BT over OC by under 39 points.
Looking forward to having another viewing of Old Carey as Rupo ventures over there this weekend. Should be an entertaining contest. Carn the Rupi!

kingbrown
31 Jul 2006, 21:52
I think every side should divulge their stats on
beep test
vertical jump
20mtr sprint
3km time trial
bench press

Stats should be presented weekly on
contested possessions
uncontested possessions
inside 50's
centre clearances
marks inside 50
contested marks
vb's consumed over week
vb's consumed on Saturday night
vb's consumed on Friday night

BlueBoys88
31 Jul 2006, 21:54
Some good points there DG man, but remember rupo is out in the sticks and sending somebody to go watch a game in Mentone is unlikely. Added to this we have come up from D2 so with no prior knowledge it is hard for a coach to prepare at training in the week leading up to a game.

In closing, yes we are talking D1 footy here, not AFL, so is it necessary to conceal this information?

On another note, just a hypothetical for you DG man, if everyone posted incorrect information to the VAFA about best players, how wrong could "The Qwill" possibly get his D1 of the year lol.

St.Kev's Cowboy
31 Jul 2006, 21:57
BT will beat Old Mentonians by 30 points
OC and Rupo will be interesting. The sharks won fairly comfortably last time, it won't be so comfortable this time, but I'll go the upset to make or break my tipping charge. Rupo by 18 points.
Prahran will beat the increasingly undisciplined Banyule. Expect some "I don't want to play D2 next year fireworks"
Leos in a bit of an upset over Yarra. If they leave Ballard in the ruck instead of chasing forwards around.
Finally getting back on the winners list, Therry will stay there with a 2 point win over OG.
Cowboy over and out.
P.S: Sandra, please return my great philly ASAP, hitchhiking to round up my cattle is not an easy task.

DG-Man
31 Jul 2006, 22:00
Look, i do get out to games. I'm sick of people doubting me and my committment to D-Grade footy.
DG-Quill Man

BomberCam
31 Jul 2006, 23:20
I've been around the inside of B, C and D1 grade footy this year. OGS must have put something in the cordial at half time at Como....kicked 13 goals to one in the 3rd, and slowed down a tad in the last to only boot through 9 from memory. Awesome stuff.

Magic Micky
1 Aug 2006, 00:02
I think that if teams are giving incorrect info it can be annoying for fans and supporters, but i think that as far as teams and coaches go with preparing for games you need to focus on your own club and make sure that your own team is fit, mentally switched on and willing to go those extra yards come saturday. When you come up against players like Parton, Collins, Chivers, etc. who can turn games, if your group is fit enough and committed enough you can overcome one great player. So if teams don't put their best in to mislead the opposition, who cares? The only people who miss out are the fans and supporters which can be disappointing.

Magic Micky
1 Aug 2006, 00:09
With league B & F, i think that the spread of good players in OC and BT will count against Parton, Collins and Chivers. Less likely to poll 3 votes that regularly. Will be up there, but IMO players like Drew for YV, Bayles for OG and one or two for Rupi might be getting a better deal of the votes. Still, Parton and Chivers are great players and the umpires don't forget what number they wear!

Kibe
1 Aug 2006, 10:28
Quite simple really on Sat, OC far, far, far too good. I definitely got ahead of myself with how our boys were travelling. While our form has been good, we still haven't beaten anyone fighting for a finals spot - with the exception of Rupo. While it is an even year, there is a big difference between the top 2 and the rest.

Kingbrown, Collins was terrific, but so were a dozen other OC players - while the 5 or 6 we rely on, with the exception of Barranello, were ordinary. Bucksy didn't get near it, Macca was only avergae etc. Agreed - Ballard up forward was stupid, as was the time they persevered with this. He is fit, there is nothing wrong with him (that I know of!).

In the battle b/w OC and BT, OC definitely have more star power, but BT a better "team". Having seen both recently against us, OC have the ability to blow anyone out of the water, but BT just keep fighting, and going, even when not playing well. Will be a ripper of a game that.

Definitely disspapointing. It was Bucksy's 200th, and to put out a performance like that wasn't good enough - but that sums up our year.

Conduct Unbecoming
1 Aug 2006, 12:14
[. Injuries and availabilities will be important for this clash. As both teams will be playing each other in a second semi final a few weeks later, any opportunity to gain some advantage must be taken. It will be a tough, rugged affair.

If the OC win and win well, they will be flag favourites.
If the OC win in a close one (under 2-3 goals) or BT win, BT will go in as favourites IMO (Assuming both teams are full strength at finals time)

Cheers,
DG

Interesting perspective DG-Man...heres another one:

Noticed that P Robertson kicked 6 goals in the twos for BT on the weekend; that former senior captain S Driver has been flying under the radar in the twos in the last few weeks (not 'named' on Saturday's teamsheet?); and that somehow Chris Darby played v YV (again, not 'named' on last weekend's teamsheet - playing under another name? - remember you only have to be recorded with 1 game to qualify for finals!!) without so much as a mention anywhere...

Could it be that BT are quietly returning some physical strength and finals experience very quietly via the reserves?? Perhaps playing guys into fitness and form hoping no-one will notice (unless of course you kick 6 goals and actually get mentioned in the match report and named on the teamsheet ....oops, someone might get their butt kicked for that one!!).:cool: :cool:

Magic Micky
1 Aug 2006, 12:25
BT over OM's by 24pts
OC over Rupo by 42pts
Prahran over Banyule by 19pts
YV over St Leo's by 13pts
Therry over OG's by 11 pts

BT and OC to continue there winning ways, Prahran will be too good for Banyule, YV to jump into the four and Therry to make 3rd and 4th spot alot more interesting by keeping OG's with Rupo and YV!

DG-Man
1 Aug 2006, 12:58
Noticed that P Robertson kicked 6 goals in the twos for BT on the weekend; that former senior captain S Driver has been flying under the radar in the twos in the last few weeks (not 'named' on Saturday's teamsheet?); and that somehow Chris Darby played v YV (again, not 'named' on last weekend's teamsheet - playing under another name? - remember you only have to be recorded with 1 game to qualify for finals!!) without so much as a mention anywhere...

Could it be that BT are quietly returning some physical strength and finals experience very quietly via the reserves?? Perhaps playing guys into fitness and form hoping no-one will notice (unless of course you kick 6 goals and actually get mentioned in the match report and named on the teamsheet ....oops, someone might get their butt kicked for that one!!).:cool: :cool:

Those dastardly, deceptive and deceitful ANTS!
That is sneakier than getting caught sneaking into a sneaker show.
Good luck to them. Am not familiar with all players (CU you are a man who knows quite a bit about ammos!) but it sounds good for BT and ominous for the rest.
Down at Como, i have heard a whisper around the traps that the solid list of 50/60 players is being carefully moulded for a successful finals fling. With the depth of talent (undefeated in 2's) the OGS are still expecting to have a big say come finals time. They will be assured of having at least 1 team play on GF day, but have not given up on having both teams there. The hyphen is ready to peak. He loves September action.
Any Bullants out there, Ugly, Silky, Snider, Bullant10, MJS2, AJPAJP (Something like that) any comments to make re the conducts recent conduct??

Dee Snider
1 Aug 2006, 13:01
Prahran over Banyule by 19pts

BT and OC to continue there winning ways, Prahran will be too good for Banyule, YV to jump into the four and Therry to make 3rd and 4th spot alot more interesting by keeping OG's with Rupo and YV!

From previous posts re Banyule and Prahran's effort on Saturday, I would suspect Banyule should take 19 point loss and run. Beautifully re-developed club rooms or not - they will get flogged by the 2Blues. F-L-O-G-G-E-D.

On another topic, interesting to take a look at the possible relgations from C Grade for 2007. On face value, the following four are the only chances to come down to D1.

Fitzroy Reds - 5 wins
NOBS - 5 wins
Hapton Rovers - 4 wins
Old Parade - 4 wins

All four have been pretty competetive this year and all could lay claim to being unfortunate to be relegated in what is a very even year in C Grade. Would suspect both relegated teams will cause some havoc for the ramaining D1 sides next year (fortunately BT & OC need not concern themselves with this). Almost impossible to believe that Fitzroy Reds could be in danger....

DG-Man
1 Aug 2006, 13:12
Nice little C-Grade relegation post there Dee-Snider. It would be a surprise to see a team like Reds drop back to D-Grade. From all reports, they were untouchable in D1 last year. Does this make anyone from the BT, or OC camps think that C-Grade may be a pretty difficult jump?

DG Tips:

BT easily
OC easily
YV easily
Prahran easily
OGS just, in a thriller.

Conduct Unbecoming
1 Aug 2006, 13:17
Good luck to them. Am not familiar with all players (CU you are a man who knows quite a bit about ammos!) but it sounds good for BT and ominous for the rest.
Down at Como, i have heard a whisper around the traps that the solid list of 50/60 players is being carefully moulded for a successful finals fling. With the depth of talent (undefeated in 2's) the OGS are still expecting to have a big say come finals time. They will be assured of having at least 1 team play on GF day, but have not given up on having both teams there. The hyphen is ready to peak. He loves September action.
Any Bullants out there, Ugly, Silky, Snider, Bullant10, MJS2, AJPAJP (Something like that) any comments to make re the conducts recent conduct??

Great work DG-Man - The Old Geelong are primed and ready to purrrrrr!!!

silky_skills
1 Aug 2006, 13:28

I think Conduct Unbecoming is having a joke. Not really that silky at all.

Dee Snider
1 Aug 2006, 13:35
[quote=DG-Man]Nice little C-Grade relegation post there Dee-Snider. It would be a surprise to see a team like Reds drop back to D-Grade. From all reports, they were untouchable in D1 last year. Does this make anyone from the BT, or OC camps think that C-Grade may be a pretty difficult jump?quote]

'Untouchable' is probably a little gratuitous, but I think its safe to say most teams were glad to see the back of them at the conclusion of last year's season. Used to live across from their ground in Nth Fitzroy - over the past 6-8 years there has been a massive increase in juniors through the club (think they enter junior teams from u10s through to u17s nowdays). Go past Brunswick Street on a Sunday and the ground is chockers full of kids.

I think they have a big future...but all we really care about on this thread right now is D1.:thumbsu:

....and Conduct, you just love to get in amongst it don't you??? Go back to eating hot-dogs on the hill with your A Grade team-mates (who are soon to become B Grade team-mates)..:D - BT are playing those guys but they are not hiding anything. You are a suspicious little man who needs a shave and a bath.

Thorpedo69
1 Aug 2006, 13:50
I know we don't want to go off on a red herring, but Fitzroy Reds were not untouchable last year. I believe BT went down by 1 point to them and Prahran beat them during home and away season. They were very good though.

DG Man, are you really the Qwill?

DG-Man
1 Aug 2006, 14:09
DG Man, are you really the Qwill?[/quote]

No. Of course not. As i have S.Collins equal favourite with The "Chiv" for player of the year status, how could i be the Qwill? He couldn't even find a spot in the best 22.

Or maybe that was just a little ruse.....hang on, did i just think that out loud or type it........

Got to go!

silky_skills
1 Aug 2006, 14:24
DG Man, are you really the Qwill?

No. Of course not. As i have S.Collins equal favourite with The "Chiv" for player of the year status, how could i be the Qwill? He couldn't even find a spot in the best 22.

Or maybe that was just a little ruse.....hang on, did i just think that out loud or type it........

Got to go![/quote]

There is only one person that articulate.... the qwill!

Conduct Unbecoming
1 Aug 2006, 14:44
There is only one person that articulate.... the qwill!

He is not the Qwill.

I Love Sandra Sully
1 Aug 2006, 15:08
Maybe I'm the qwill???

OldMelburnian28
1 Aug 2006, 16:04
Qwill here, hope you guys have been enjoying the reads every week in the VAFA book. Has been a great year thus far, although i have copped a bit of abuse for apparently not attending any D1 games. Really looking forward to this weekend, i have a feeling that richmond may just outplay the bulldogs...oooops i mean ahh old carey should win (The qwill joins ILSS in the bunker.