View Full Version : D GRADE: Give me something...

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22

Toohas
9 Aug 2006, 21:04
Old Geelong vs Old Carey: Old Geelong seem to have hit their straps and there are questions over the health of some Panthers. It would have been disappointing for the OGs to have 14 more scoring shots than Therry and fail to put them away by more than 19 points. Old Carey are a bit of an unknown quantity, due to the injury rumors (may or may not be true) and the Como factor. I'm torn, but I'll go with what I know and stick with Old Carey to continue their march.

Yarra Valley vs Prahran: A great effort for Prahran to have come back from an 0-9 beginning to be a real show to stick in D1 for 2007. If they can win and St. Leo's lose, it sets up a make or break contest between the two for relegation next week. I think Yarra Valley will be good enough to win and hold on to fourth spot for another week.

Banyule vs Old Mentonians: How 'bout those crazy OMs? They certainly know how to screw up us tipsters! There's no doubt, when they come to play, they can mix it with anyone in the comp. It has been well documented how they dislike travelling and their only away win all season is against the Bullants. How does this make sense? It doesn't. Banyule look completely shot for the season and although it's dangerous, I'm going with the recent history between these teams and Old Mentonians smashed the Bears last time they clashed. That will have to do, because I obviously can't read the Panthers.

Rupertswood vs Emmaus St. Leo's: I'd like to think if we do the Animals a favour and get over Prahran, then they will do the same by us and beat Rupo. The corresponding fixture at ESL resulted in the Animals first win and they are a different unit compared to what the were at the start of the year. Emmaus St. Leo's will win this one.

Bulleen-Templestowe vs Therry Penola: Interesting stat about Therry over the past few weeks: twelve goals in the two first halves, one goal in the two second halves. A statistic like that has to call their fitness into question and coming up away against a pumped up Bullants outfit that is coming off a disappointing loss is not the formula for success. Bulleen Templestowe to defeat Therry comfortably

Conduct Unbecoming
10 Aug 2006, 09:39
didnt BT pull YV's pants down at Domeney only 2 weeks ago?
YV are no good - forget them- I hear Prahan are very keen on that rematch after a certain YV player king hit the non playing Prahran coach FROM BEHIND during a heated malee on 3qtr time.
"Stone the CROWS"......

A King hit would suprise me...we didn't hear much about it if its true. Ugly - is that an exaggeration or was the story relayed to you as such? Might pop out to have a look-see...would back the Prahran boys every day of the week if they were seeking some retribution but think YV will be too good on the day (in football terms anyway).

Still think Yarra might sneak over the line into 4th spot but would love to see Rupo to get the chance to play one final.

DG-Man
10 Aug 2006, 09:49
DG is back. Firstly the tipping ladder:

MJS2 (3) 36
Is Taht So (4) 36

UglyDermie (4) 35
DG-Man (4) 35

Hansie (4) 34
Bullant (4) 34
Bede Me Up (4) 34

Henry (4) 33

Toohas (4) 32

Moss Rocket (3) 31

Midas (4) 30
St.Kevs Cowboy (1) 30

SideShowBob (2) 29

OC37 (3) 26
Magic Mickey (3) 26
Archangel17 (3) 26
Blue Boys88 (2) 26
KingBrown (2) 26

Knackers (2) 24
Half back (2) 24

OM28 (1) 23

ILSS (1) 21

Things are getting tight at the top. MJS2 went for Therry, with Is That So tipping the Oggers. Tied at the top. The next 7 (down to Toohas, all tipped OGS and scored 4/5)
Next weeks games on paper look fairly difficult. I think OGS vs OC will be split, Many will fancy banyule in an upset as the OM's travel very badly! Most will lean Rupo's way over Leos. Whilst YV and BT will be favoured at home.

Intersting results at the weekend. From these i have altered the DG market:

OC / BT 2.90 Joint Fav's
OGS 5.00
YV 15.00
Rupo 45.00

Despite earlier suggestions otherwise, BT will finish in the top 2. A minor slip on the weekend, however they will have little trouble defeating both Therry and Rupo at home. A loss by BT against the OC will not allow the Oggers to sneak into this position even if the OGS win their final 3 games (tough ones against Carey and also Rupo at Rupo)

So i have the OC and BT joint favourites. Interesting posts re OC sustaining 6 or so injuries including Parton broken hand. This would be massive news!! Hansie, OC37, Moss Rocket (or anyone else with OC info) please fill the forum in on what happened! Despite this, they have great depth and would be able to cover half a dozen injuries. Parton would be a concern.
BT also have some great depth, with Ressies starting to turn it on. BT will make sure they finish top 2 with a couple of clinical home wins. And come finals time they will be very hard to stop.

The OGS are firming. Talk at Como is that the side is beginning to peak. Huge list, great depth, V-W slowly gathering fitness for finals. I believe the OGS will be far to explosive and talented for Yarra in the first semi, so i have them shortening right in. Preliminary final day will be an interesting game!

YV will finish fourth, however i am not sure they will progress past that. Have not been impressed with YV's last month or so.

Will be back later on. 100's of emails to check!

DG

XFiles
10 Aug 2006, 10:43
Gentlemen it seems King Brown keeps a very close eye on what's happening around the place. It appears Parton from OC was in a hurry after the game not to attend a wedding but to get his broken hand looked at. With this news and BT loss to OM last week what does this now do to the odds for the flag in D1?

DG-Man
10 Aug 2006, 11:05
Gentlemen it seems King Brown keeps a very close eye on what's happening around the place. It appears Parton from OC was in a hurry after the game not to attend a wedding but to get his broken hand looked at. With this news and BT loss to OM last week what does this now do to the odds for the flag in D1?

Odds remain the same. Not many sides win a flag in Ammos from position 3 or 4. You have to win 3 cut-throat finals in a row. And there is usually a good reason why you are in position 3 or 4 in the first place. That is...the teams above you are better.
BT's loss against OM's will mean little come finals time. BT are a strong, talented unit. Well coached. Hardened and experienced. I did not see them play on Saturday against OM's, however i guess any side can have a bad one. It was not a loss that will cause any damage! They have plenty of youth and experience pressing for selection from the resurgent two's.
Parton has had a bung hand for quite a while. It has been broken before. Whether it is a new break, or just complications with his ongoing "bad hand", only the OC boys can tell us. Be interesting to see if he plays on the weekend. If it is just a complication with his ongoing injury, then i guess he will be rested, and "jabbed" come finals time. Like BT, the OC have depth and other forward options.

BT/OC - $2.90
OGS - $5.00
YV - $15.00
Rupo - $45.00

Toohas
10 Aug 2006, 14:06
A King hit would suprise me...we didn't hear much about it if its true. Ugly - is that an exaggeration or was the story relayed to you as such?

It is a very inaccurate and revisionist version of events...

uglydermie
10 Aug 2006, 14:12
Could not agree more DG. Parton is one tuff dude and a sore hand wont stop him come finals time. OC are in a great position to rest him up if they wanted to - Although I reckon Dolly would tell them to shove that idea where it fits.

DG- You seemed to have eased back on your love for the Oggers - Or are you holding out on us? Or has the low cloud the last few weeks effected your view from como hill? pehaps get Grieves to clean the windows for you.

BT's losing to OM at Keysborough is/was no great surprise to me. Having played out there myself in the early 90's when Patterson, Stroud, Ackerman, Bournen, Solly and co used to reek havic on all comers, the Panthers are always a tuff nut to crack out there - and interestingly, the talk at Panther land was that although they got hammered in the second half by OGS (panthers were a couple of goals in front at half time) - They firmly believe that BT and OC are heads and shoulders above the rest.

Not long now till we find out!

St.Kev's Cowboy
10 Aug 2006, 14:31
Yee Hah. Another big week of D1 footy coming up.
Good to have the 'Mecca' of this thread DG back in time for some round 16 discussion.
I'll crack the whip and get on with it. Old Carey and Old Geelong at Como will be a beauty if their first encounter was anything to go by. A 3 goal or so win from the Panthers but OGs kicked themselves out of the contest from reports. I like the OGs at home, but I also like OC anywhere. I'll go with Old Carey by a whisker.
Prahran have hit some form and one can only wonder where they'd be sitting if that form was hit in earlier passages of the year. I think they are too proud a club to just go through the motions for the remainder of the year and will cause a couple more upsets. This will be one of them. Prahran at dommeney by less than a kick.
Old Mentonians should bounce back against Banyule by roughly 6 goals. To potent a forward line to not get over this struggling Yulers mob.
I'll take Rupo at home by 4 points against Leos. They need to win big to leap Yarra on percentage and will need (for mine) some results to go their way to make finals. I'll agree with Conduct, would like to see them get there as I think the youth and leg speed would well suit the large open spaces of a sunny finals afternoon.
BT won't have an issue beating Therry. BT by 30 points. Cheers folks, have a good one. Good luck to whoever plays on Saturday.

DG-Man
10 Aug 2006, 15:09
[quote=uglydermie]
DG- You seemed to have eased back on your love for the Oggers - Or are you holding out on us? Or has the low cloud the last few weeks effected your view from como hill? pehaps get Grieves to clean the windows for you.

Windows are sparkling Ugly! Geeves runs a very tight ship. On the contrary, i feel i may be starting to pump the hoops right up.
I have eased both BT and OC from $2.50 out to $2.90, and have brought in the Oggers from $12.00 into $6.00

The DG see's it as officially a 3 horse race. OGS will be playing either the OC or BT on Preliminary final day. Rupo are gone! Whilst YV (and yes i do know that they triumphed not long ago at Como) will be no match for the highly skilled and rampant running Como lads come finals.

YV's form against BT and OC recently showed that they are no match for either team, however i truly believe the OGS will be very dangerous come finals time. The list is almost injury free, and confidence is back within the playing group.

This weeks game between the OC and OGS should be a ripper. I will be tipping the OGS as i suspect the OC may rest a few.

I may as well tip.

OGS to defeat the OC in a possible Prelim final preview! (Shades of 2004)
As previous contributors have stated, the OGS have a solid record over Carey at home. Full strength, plenty to play for. I think they may be a little more desperate than the OC. OGS by 20 pts.

BT to ensure a second semi berth does not slip away from them with an impressive win against Therry. Therry, having avoided any possible relegation with a solid month of footy, may just run out of steam as the season closes. BT will want to right last weeks wrong. BT by 35pts.

YV will be too good at home for Prahran. We have seen some much improved performances from the 2 blues over the last few weeks, however with much more to play for YV by 4 goals in a good contest.

Rupo, still clinging to a fading finals dream to be a little quick for the Animals at home. Rupo by 32 points.

I am tempted to tip Banyule in an upset, as OM's are useless away. Assuming they put out a similar side that fronted BT, they should have a little too much power up forward for the undisciplined and struggling Bears. OM's just by 14 points.

Cheers - DG

Half Back
10 Aug 2006, 15:18
Half Back's Tips

OC By 45 points
Yarra Valley By 60+
OM's by 24 points
Rupos by 16points
Therry by 10 Points

Cheers

Chip & Gravy
10 Aug 2006, 15:44
DG (and anyone else who wants to have a crack) what do you think the exact order of the top 4 will be at seasons end?? Considering there are a few top of the table clashes. Also If things fall their way this weekend, are your boys, Old Geelong any chance of grabbing a spot in the top 2? how would the odds look then? It will be an interesting 3 weeks, with suggestion that OC may rest a few, and your inside information that OGS are starting to get a full list of players to select from, and BT who are sure to bounce back this week.

Interesting to note Ugly, that the word you heard from OM's was that BT and OC are clearly the better sides after OM's recently rolled BT, and that they rated them higher than a team which kicked 22 goals to none in a half of football against them. Not shooting the messenger, it's just contrary to whispers that i've heard from down that way. Apparently they rate OC very highly, and were very respectful of the OGS performance when they finally hit tope gear and broke free. Although i think OM's pushed OGS right to the line down there earlier in the year, so they might feel like they could have beaten them.

DG, if Parton Plays, who will go to him?

Who will BT play on the Bannisters?

DG-Man
10 Aug 2006, 17:17
Nice post C&G,

Ladder:

OC 13-2 (L, W, W) will see them 15-3

BT 12-3 (W, L, W) will see them 14-4

OGS 10-5 (W, W, W) will see them 13-5

YV 9-6 (W, W, W) will see them 12-6

Rupo 9-6 (W, L, L) will see them 10-8

The OGS are not without a chance of finishing second, however they need 2 things to happen for this to occur.

1. They must win all 3 games. This is likely, but certainly no pushover (OC at home, Rupo away)
2. BT must lose two of the next 3. Again, this is a possibilty as they travel away to face OC. However their other two games are at home against Therry and Rupo. They will be fired up for these and will not let a top 2 position slip IMO.

Is that so
10 Aug 2006, 17:26
Tips this week:
OG OC had a tough game and despite what they claim will not like the space very heavy side for mine.
Prahran - in a good contest but playing better for mine.
OM - Banyule finished weeks ago (discipline on field etc)
Rupo - need to win and will the space will give them revenge over animals.
BT - because they must and Unlike Therry they do finish games well.

Chip & Gravy
10 Aug 2006, 17:41
Great review DG, and from the look of it very accurate IMO. Maybe momentum, rather than ladder position will play a bigger role in this years flag than in previous years. I agree almost too hard to win from 3rd or 4th, but if any team out of the top 3 are up and going, full of confidence, anything could happen. It may prove important for one of the top 2 to win there first game, to get the week off, and get all of their top players right for the GF. I'm going to wait and see what happens this weekend between OGS and OC, but from what I'm reading I might be starting to lean toward an upset with OG for the flag. Could be worth a look at Como this weekend. DG will be lurking there somewhere!

Dudley Hamstrung
10 Aug 2006, 17:49
DG & chips + gravy I agree and disagree with your points.
I think OC will go (W, L, W) 13/2 = 15/3
BT (W, W, L - go Rupo) 12/3 = 14/4
OG (L, L, W) 10/5 = 11/7
YV (L, W, W) 9/6 = 11/7
Rupo (W, W, W) (Gee I hope so) 9/6 = 12/6
This is of course what the heart and guts want, not the noggin'. But having watched the boys all year, I reckon they can just get over the line. This I think will leave the ladder as:
OC
BT
Rupo
OG
YV
I don't think it will matter where a side finishes in the top 4. All 5 of the teams currently in contention could have a big impact on their given day. It will be very interesting if some of these results pan out.

kingbrown
10 Aug 2006, 19:48
I have noticed the stockmarket has been improving the last couple of weeks. Not sure about any new K9 dishes, but these two factors seem to follow OG. Watch the stockmarket and the OC boys have a close look at the K9 variety. See if there noses are healthy and pointy. Look to see if their rumps are not too shabby. Watch their walk, look for balance and athleticism. This should give an indication of the OG performance to come.

smudger57
10 Aug 2006, 22:20
Nice post C&G,

The OGS are not without a chance of finishing second, however they need 2 things to happen for this to occur.

1. They must win all 3 games. This is likely, but certainly no pushover (OC at home, Rupo away)
2. BT must lose two of the next 3. Again, this is a possibilty as they travel away to face OC. However their other two games are at home against Therry and Rupo. They will be fired up for these and will not let a top 2 position slip IMO.

Very interesting considering Carey playing fields are no more than 5 mins down the road. Not enough time for the engine to get warm! Prob more bullants living closer than OC boys. And both grounds (Ted Ajani and Dunshea) are very similar in size.

DG-Man
11 Aug 2006, 07:59
Fair call that one Smudge. It is not a long drive. However from the times i have ventured out to both grounds, the OC ground looks bigger and seems to have a better surface. I think all teams like playing at home. The OC are undefeated at home this year. Would not suprise me to see the OC/BT result go either way. And i really don't think the result of this game will do much to the ladder. They will finish 1 and 2. A thumping one way or the other, would certainly give the victor confidence going into the 2nd Semi, but i also don't see that occuring. Things are tight in D1...and likely to stay that way.
Geeves.....morning latte please!
Cheers - DG

kingbrown
11 Aug 2006, 09:55
My tips for this week.
Toss of the coin OC and OG. I will go with what suits Rupo OC
BT to run over what seems an unfit Therry, (very talented though).
I feel like tipping against Rupo because sometimes i think i'm mozzing them Rupo by 15pts
Go again with the results for us Prahran by 3pts over YV.
OM by 5 goals, a very dangerous forward line.
Clearly i am a very confused tipping machine.

Good luck to all!!!!

knackers29
11 Aug 2006, 10:10
Knackers Tips:

OC
Therry
Rupo
YV
OM

Good luck to all!!!!

hansie
11 Aug 2006, 11:26
Tips

BT over Therry
Yarra over Prahran in a close one
Rupo to beat Leos out there
OM's just, over Banyule
Us over Ogs

Cheers,

Bede me up
11 Aug 2006, 11:36
Oggery
BT
YV
Rupo
OM

DG-Man
11 Aug 2006, 12:23
Still waiting on 10 tips. Send them in. Make or break time Henry and Ugly if you are looking for that winning date with Sandra Sully!

Massive game tomorrow gents at the Como. I hear rumours that there will be a bumper crowd. The 1956 and 1966 premiership sides are having a reunion. It will be a polo jumper and roll neck bonanza.

My spies tell me that the OGS are full strength and ready to rumble. The OC are a hard team to beat, but this is the OGS chance to be taken seriously with the big boys of the comp and press for C-Grade promotion.

Looking forward to this evenings weather report Ugly. I'm thinking it may be raining goals in a classic showdown at Como tomorrow afternoon.

Best of luck to all!

DG

Chip & Gravy
11 Aug 2006, 12:35
Still waiting on 10 tips. Send them in. Make or break time Henry and Ugly if you are looking for that winning date with Sandra Sully!

Massive game tomorrow gents at the Como. I hear rumours that there will be a bumper crowd. The 1956 and 1966 premiership sides are having a reunion. It will be a polo jumper and roll neck bonanza.

My spies tell me that the OGS are full strength and ready to rumble. The OC are a hard team to beat, but this is the OGS chance to be taken seriously with the big boys of the comp and press for C-Grade promotion.

Looking forward to this evenings weather report Ugly. I'm thinking it may be raining goals in a classic showdown at Como tomorrow afternoon.

Best of luck to all!

DG

Sounds like a big day day at Como. There is sure to be some quality skirt floating around also. It's been impressive every time I've ventured to South Yarra.

DG, lets not forget the 2005 premiership reunion on Saturday, except there won't be a lunch for that one.

Great week in D1 footy, what a comp!

orange whip
11 Aug 2006, 13:00
Hey Linger is God,
Who is your bookmaker,
I want a piece of those juicy juicy odds.

Magic Micky
11 Aug 2006, 13:07
Tips

OG v OC
BT v Therry
Rupo v St Leo's
YV v Prahran
Banyule v OM

Big week in D1 footy. OG's should get up over OC, just to put the cat amongst the pigeons. BT must win and win well to keep that Top 2 spot. Rupo, YV must win. Banyule, just over OM at home. Should be a cracker!

bullant10
11 Aug 2006, 13:17
tips;
BT
OC
YV
OM
Rupo

orange whip
11 Aug 2006, 13:19
Smudger and DG,

The close drive to the ground, how does that affect ones game?????
Soon your gonna tell me that the middle east had an effect on the D1 ladder due to increased petrol prices that put a strain on teams travelling to away games with serious budgetry concerns that took the away teams minds off the game at hand.

Mind you it would cost a few bob to travel to Rupo from Mentone and back come to think of it.
Then if you car pool, you might be forced to ride with another player whose choice in music might put you off your game. Tensions could easily be strained at the team meeting if your a rock fan and you've got a crappy Puff Daddy song in your head.

So many different situations do with in the life of a D1 footballer.

silky_skills
11 Aug 2006, 13:45
Couldn't agree more orange whip. Earlier in the year I car pooled with a teammate to Rupertswood. I felt very nauseus from the smell of his unwashed socks drying on the dashboard of his beaten-up Kingswood. Moral of the story is be careful with the people you carpool with.

Does anyone think there are big home ground advantages in D1?

Chip & Gravy
11 Aug 2006, 14:00
I think that if you had 2 similar ground 20 metres apart, you are always going to play better on your home ground. Mainly because you train, play, and live on or around that ground. therefore when you run out to play you feel at home, and comfortable with your external environment, which just leaves you having to win the ball. Also you know where to run on your own ground.

However biggest homeground advantages for teams in D1 ould be YV small ground suits a top heavy team, and there style of play. Also Careys back up oval is a thin ground restricting the oppositions space, leaving Careys bigger playeres to win clearances and just move the ball forwrad restricting teams like Rupo and OGS run..

On the other hand OGS and Rupo's grounds suit there styles of play, with space to run, and link up well.

Qustion though, do these home grounds suit these teams, or like darwinism have these teams been changed over time by their environment??

After that we need some important news, DG, and other indulgers, who has the best canteen??

Archangel17
11 Aug 2006, 14:12
I rate any canteen that sells two things poles apart
a good salad ( with or without meat) sandwich
hot chips well cooked

anywhere i can get these?

TOMBETTSOGS
11 Aug 2006, 14:14
Ogs are on fire with 4 boys from last year coming back to help them in the last few weeks, no injuries should see them get up over OC this week. Also the magoos have won their last 35 games, including last year, and come in at full strength. So a couple of big wins should see both teams secured for the finals.

Archangel17
11 Aug 2006, 14:16
Mr Betts. Who are the 4 boys back from last year? My mail is that all four were little but bit players, and they didnt help you much last week or three weeks ago against two struggling sides. In fact all your recent "impressive form" comes down to one half against a struggling OMS. Regardless that is last year in D2.Last year wont cut the mustard in D1, as you have discovered regularly this year.

Thorpedo69
11 Aug 2006, 14:26
Therry do a good hot dog from what I remember. It's all in the roll if you ask me- crispy on outside but not too crispy, and then nice and fluffy on the inside. Not sure who does best chips or salad sandwiches though. Rupo's aren't bad from memory.

I Love Sandra Sully
11 Aug 2006, 14:50
BT
OC
YV
OM
Rupo

Moss Rocket
11 Aug 2006, 15:06
OGS at home
BT
Rupo
Banyule
YV

Dudley Hamstrung
11 Aug 2006, 15:14
Old Carey had a nice little Pizza thing going on last week. As an avid meat-lovers...er...lover I appreciated the 2 pieces for 3 bucks.
Any club that offers hot dogs with the option of grated cheese is ok in my book.
OGs had the best looking canteen staff. Hopefully some of their philly pulling power rubs off next week.
King Brown, sometimes I wonder just how many beers are in your '6 pack' every now and then a post pops up from you that I just don't get. :D

kingbrown
11 Aug 2006, 15:57
Dudley, if Geeves (DG's butler) would get on this thread he would explain all. I'm not even sure myself.
What about the Roast Beef rolls at rupo's after match. A D1 delight.

oc37
11 Aug 2006, 16:46
Anyone know the Numbers R Bain and M Bain wear.. the teamlists of course for every club are way out of date.

OldMelburnian28
11 Aug 2006, 16:47
Old Geelong would have to be a shoe in! Went to get a hotdog and returned with stars in my eyes..."OH THE HUMANITY"
However, i found it perplexing that a football club would sell caviar, camembert and have red wine on tap labelled "hunter valley's finest". But the eye candy was magnificent, and a free issue of business daily hit the spot.

OldMelburnian28
11 Aug 2006, 17:00
The OM man's tips.

Match of the round: OG vs OC
Geeeez any excuse to get down to como would do, and this shapes to be a close tussle. I stated earlier in the year that OG would not loose at home, and was willing to bet the house on it. Thankfully the big footy (DG man) tote cannot bind me to this legally or the OM man would be in a spot of bother. OC by 2 points.

YV vs Prahran: The 2 blues are in superb form and will give it a crack, but Yv too good in the mud pit. YV by 27

Banyule vs OM: OM will continue their form from last week by hammering Banyule back to d2.

Rupo vs Emmaus: Rupo have got plenty to prove after their shock loss last time these sides met. Too many runners, too smart, too good. Rupo by 34

Bulleen vs Therry: The therry boys will have a red hot dip but fall way short. BT by 44

DG-Man
11 Aug 2006, 17:00
Anyone know the Numbers R Bain and M Bain wear.. the teamlists of course for every club are way out of date.

As soon as you tell us about the 6 injuries from last week and whether Parton has broken his hand and is out for the season. Come on OC37...time to spill some of your beans!

AJPAJP
11 Aug 2006, 17:26
Anyone know the Numbers R Bain and M Bain wear..

I do

Kibe
11 Aug 2006, 17:27
Hello all - dissapointing last week against YV - a game we should have won. Hopefully we put up a good show this week, but I think injuries will stop any serious chance of us winning the game. We are putting arguably the worst team on the park this week - but we will have a crack!

kingbrown
11 Aug 2006, 17:29
The OG canteen would have to have the biggest turnover, i bought a diet coke there and on leaving i was already planning my next visit. Geeves tried to get a job there i believe but missed out and has since stayed loyal to the DG Man.

It's about time i talked a little footy. The OG and OC game will be a cracker. I think the OC would have come off a bit in shock last week with the intensity of the young Rupi boys who will give everything over the next 3 weeks. OG were awesome against us, and was the best performance we have seen from an opposition. I suppose there are 2 main questions. Will OC have the running power to stay with OG on a big ground? Do OG crack under pressure from bigger sides such as YV,BT and OC?
Going on that view OG have alot to prove tomorrow, possibly have more to play for. I'm going for OC just. I am a great tipper.

Conduct Unbecoming
11 Aug 2006, 17:42
It's about time i talked a little footy. The OG and OC game will be a cracker. I think the OC would have come off a bit in shock last week with the intensity of the young Rupi boys who will give everything over the next 3 weeks. OG were awesome against us, and was the best performance we have seen from an opposition. I suppose there are 2 main questions. Will OC have the running power to stay with OG on a big ground? Do OG crack under pressure from bigger sides such as YV,BT and OC?
Going on that view OG have alot to prove tomorrow, possibly have more to play for. I'm going for OC just. I am a great tipper.

Bit of a potato cake fan myself....

OG v OC is the talk of the D1 town...might pop out to Como tomorrow to have a look at what promises to be magnificent viewing - possibly the best of the season.

And while I am there, might grab a look at the footy.

King Woodie
11 Aug 2006, 17:56
Toohas, your boys game against the two blues will be huge - any significant changes from either side?

Thorpedo69
11 Aug 2006, 18:07
Kibe,

Are you foxing or are you genuinely saying that Leos will have an ordinary side out there on Saturday due to injuries? Who is injured?

OldMelburnian28
11 Aug 2006, 18:08
Love your work conduct!!!

Thorpedo69
11 Aug 2006, 18:24
Hey OldMelburnian,

Not sure if you've revealed your identity or not on this thread, but what's the go? Have you played for Old melburnian's in the past? Which team, if any, are you following in D1 section?

oc37
11 Aug 2006, 20:11
I do
i would hope you do.So what are the numbers? this is not secret information. they tend to run around with them on their back each week

Henry24
11 Aug 2006, 20:43
OC
YV
BT
OM
Rupo

kingbrown
11 Aug 2006, 20:46
Kibe,

Are you foxing or are you genuinely saying that Leos will have an ordinary side out there on Saturday due to injuries? Who is injured?

Agree Thorpey, they have a young kid playing from the Box Hill Hawks as they have the bye this week. We have our unfortunate injuries as well, as most sides do.

Kibe has been known to throw in the odd furfy!!!!!

Midas
12 Aug 2006, 09:48
Quiet from me and I ain't finished what I started with the review - apologies but bigger fish to fry believe it or not given the gravity of this week's games:

OG's v OC has ramifications long and lasting. OG's going into their last two having to win to stay in if they lose can have an impact at both ends of the ladder, both for finals and for relegation. OC cruising at the moment, although depth may be tested and I'll make the call, No Parton, they will not win the flag. I'll run with the OC

Rupo v Leos, big big game, the Sunbury boys to stay alive, the Leos boys to move toward shoring up their spot in this comp. The question is, if there are injuries, could they be tanking for the relegation battle the week after, providing Rupo with an even greater chance of tightening the battle for 4th. Even at full stength, given a fine day and the ground coming good out at Rupo, it's got to be the boys in yellow!!!

YV v Prahran. The Domeney factor will play a massive part in this one, despite the talk up of the Two Blues, they are still only 3-3 in the last 6, although 2-1 with a narrow loss to BT and wins over OG's and Banyule read ok. Yarra has a narrow win over Leos, a comfortable win over Banyule and a touch up from BT going in, so it's no fait accompli. The guns of Yarra up forward and the promise of some fireworks would make this worth the trek, but the question remains just how far have Prahran come? Need to catch up, aiming for a top quartile tipping finish now! Two Blues in a cracker

Banyule v OM. Easy this. OM's by a bit. Banyule are battling, OM's poleaxed them last time, Banyule were sitting 3-3 at the time, and have not got near winning (save for Rupo) since. Despite its lousy away record, OM's and I'm prepared to call it a cert.

BT v Therry is interesting as well. Therry are just about safe, so there is still that doubt and motivation re: relegation. BT have been faltering a little in the last couple, but a lot will depend on its ins. Going with BT here but not with a lot of confidence.

Have a good day out there boys.

kingbrown
12 Aug 2006, 11:37
Where is the great man- Ugly?

uglydermie
12 Aug 2006, 12:54
sorry to hold you up KB.

Been a touch busy-

Ugly reckons.

BT easily
OG easily as parton ou for a couple
Prahran to win and give Rupo a bit of hope
OM to win away from home by 60 point plus
Rupo to beat depleted Animals by 35 point at Sunbury

Good luck to all. Ugly heading to Como this afternoon to check at DG's ranch. I sent him a private messag eand he has kindly agreed to have Greeves meet me and escort me onto his property.

2 reports to come:

1) Match report
2) DG-Man asset report

Ugly-out

kingbrown
12 Aug 2006, 19:24
Ugly, the words out Geeves told DG Man to sell his billabong shares a couple of months ago when they were at their peak. Seems he is well entrenched as possibly winning butler of the year.

Back to the footy, we seen 39 goals today between 2 sides both desperate for a win. To Kibe, no furfy's the ruckman was out, NO.12 (who killed us last time) was out, and i don't know who else, however Bucks who coincidentally wears NO.5 did not play us last time. Not a bad player just quietely. If they are 8th this is an absolute testament to the quality of D1. They were fantastic, in saying that i know they would be disappointed as they lead all day and we kicked 7 unanswered goals in the last quarter as they had reached a 28pt lead early in the last quarter with some inspirational skill from Buckle 4 unanswered in 5 minutes.

We'll take the win and our hopes are still alive with YV having to take on a rampging Therry and OM at home. Well done to OG and all winners

kingbrown
12 Aug 2006, 19:28
I think Le Clerc kicked about 8, the danger of him has been well presented on this thread. We lost Monzell and Burrowes this week who are prime midfielders so perhaps the losses evened up.

banno36
13 Aug 2006, 00:50
Well done Therry

Stuck it up em boys!!!

Thorpedo69
13 Aug 2006, 10:19
Hey Kingbrown, Who's "Furfy's the ruckman"?!

Anyone who was at the Carey v OGs game- what was the go? I thought OGs would get up, but anyone got ideas on how the game unfolded?

And anyone who was at the Yarra v Prahran game, were there any fireworks as predicted? Did any of the players from Prahran's twos who I thought looked alright end up playing? - eg: Jones, Wilson?

DG-Man
13 Aug 2006, 18:53
Hello all! Great weekend of football. Massive day at Como. As a couple of flags were unfurled from the grandstand, a bunch of old timers were able to reminisce about golden times and mateship on the field during the roaring 50's and 60's. It was a sea of blue and white hooped scarves. I spotted at least a dozen couples, hoop scarved, roll necked, leash in hand...enjoying the occasion. The OGS are back in town.
What a magnificent performance. After watching the ressies allow Carey just 1 goal, DG then settled in to watch the seniors dispose of the thier highly credentialled opponents. It was a great game. DG had to leave late in the 3rd, however from what i saw the OGS controlled the ball for most of the day. A little too quick, a touch more desperate and committed and certainly with a lot more to play for.
I read the Amatuer record on arrival and noted the the qwils comments on dangerous forwards Parton and Bull. However neither took to the park. I heard the OC had a few others out, but this should not take away from the OGS performance. Even at full strength, i think the OC will now respect that the OGS are a genuine premiership threat.

DG's new premiership market. (remembering it was OC/BT $2.90 and OGS $6.00 previously)

OC - $2.70
OGS - $3.40
BT - $3.70
YV - $25.00
Rupo - $50.00

This may seem a little strange with the OC being outright favourite and coming in 20 cents after a loss, but the DG has his reasons.

DG believes that the premiership will be won by a team that contests the 2nd Semi. Winning 3 finals in a row (with no week off) from position 3 or 4 will be just to demanding.

Despite OC losing, i have decided that the second semi final has a 50% chance of being OC vs OGS, a 45% chance being OC vs BT, and a 5% chance of being OGS vs BT. Therefore my market indicates this.

Interesting results from around the grounds. BT are starting to look shaky. Down 7 goals to 3 against Prahran 3 weeks ago at half-time, (then just got up), followed by losses to OM's and Therry. Makes next weeks game against OC a must win affair. Ther OGS are breathing down their necks, and have the form to pinch position 2 if the BT stumble.

In saying this, OGS will have to be careful against a desperate Rupo next week. Rupo have struggled with the OGS in recent times, however it is a grand final for them, and at home they will certainly put up a big fight.

Geeves has just rung the dinner bell. Sunday roast is always a strict 6.00pm affair. Best head to the dining room and see whom my company is this evening.

Cheers - DG

DG-Man
14 Aug 2006, 09:33
Tipping Ladder

DG-Man (4) 39
MJS2 (3) 39
Is That So (3) 39

Bede Me Up (4) 38
UglyDermie (3) 38

Hansie (3) 37
Bullant (3) 37

Henry (3) 36

Moss Rocket (3) 34
Toohas (2) 34

Midas (2) 32
St.Kevs Cowboy (3) 32

SSBob (2) 31

Magic Mickey (3) 29

Knackers (4) 28
Half Back (4) 28
OC37 (2) 28
Archangel17 (2) 28
Blue Boys 88 (2) 28
KingBrown (2) 28

OM28 (3) 26

ILSSully (3) 24

It looks to be an 8 horse race. Nobody further back looks likely to be winning the date with Sandra Sully (ILSS, i am still yet to receive the ok that you have this organised!)
Bede Me Up and yours truly both scored 4/5, missing with BT. Very tight at the top.

DG is going to throw in the tips early. Just to get the ball rolling. Things have been a little quiet lately!!

Massive games. 4 of the matches look extremely hard to call. With only the Therry v Banyule game looking one sided.

So i'll start with that.

Therry at home by 10 goals plus over Banyule, ensuring that Banyule play D2 football next year!
The Bulleen Derby will be a ripper. OGS need OC to do them a big favour this week. Can they. My head says no, as not everything is fair in Amatuer footy. BT by 3 points.
Rupo host the OGS in what will be an absolute beauty. Two speedy teams with so much to play for. Think the OGS fantastic record over the Rupo will continue. OGS by 3 goals.
Leos host Prahran in a very tough game to pick. If Prahran can win, then they are a very good chance to stay up (Would need to beat OM's at home in rd 18, while OGS host Leos and would need to win)
Am leaning towards the home side, who were obviously pretty good against Rupo on Saturday. Leos by 12 points.
The OM's host YV. A win by YV would almost certainly ensure finals footy. However i think Rupo may be still in with a finals chance after this game, as OM's do them a nice little favour. OM's at home by 3 goals.

DG

Kibe
14 Aug 2006, 10:33
Sorry all, first time I have logged on since my comment on Friday! Ballard was out - as has been mentioned, D'Amico out, and a number of others. The Box Hill player was never going to play, he played twos in Bendigo for Box Hill.

Having said all that - a terrific effort, although fell away at the end by the sounds of it (again)! I wasn't there, I watched our U/19's notch up their first win of the season - by a solitary point.

Another injury concern to come out of the game by all accounts - Krebs went down late. He has been our best backman all year IMO, so he is a huge loss.

We are limping to the line - not as confident of avoiding relegation as I was a month ago! Will be a very interesting game against Prahran this week.

orange whip
14 Aug 2006, 11:06
Metallica, Rage against the Machine, Led Zeppelin's Immigrant Song, Foo Fighters Monkey Wrench and something Sentimental (like James Reynes' Fall of Rome) would be the best medicine to help overcoming the travel bug on the way to the oppositions ground.
Old School works best, not these jonny come lately wanna be rock twits (eg creed)

interesting results on the weekend, probably need to sit back and digest it all for a minute....

Midas
14 Aug 2006, 11:36
Well D1 keep turning on the surprises, with two rounds to go the issues that seemed to be lay down mizerres (ie top two and relegation) have come alive.

OC & BT's destiny of playing off for a spot in the GF is now not so certain, with the OG's season having turned around completely.

And even at the other end of the table, both Banyule and Prahran are still mathematical chances of avoiding the drop at the expense of Leos, even more realistic if the Two Blues beat the Animals this week, although that may be a tough ask!!!!

Makes for a cracking Round 17 - tough ask for Rupo now though, with the cocky YV bunch looking destined for finals footy - wouldn't surprise to see them get ahead of themselves once more though!!!!

It's all on now, the sun's out, the smell of freshly cut lawn in the air, bring on some exceptionally meaningful games of footy.!

Dee Snider
14 Aug 2006, 12:04
[quote=orange whip]Metallica, Rage against the Machine, Led Zeppelin's Immigrant Song, Foo Fighters Monkey Wrench and something Sentimental (like James Reynes' Fall of Rome) would be the best medicine to help overcoming the travel bug on the way to the oppositions ground.
Old School works best, not these jonny come lately wanna be rock twits (eg creed)quote]

Would just like to point out that Metallica have not made a good album since Master of Puppets. Their old school fans dropped them years ago.:thumbsd:

Oh, and some interesting results this week...!!

orange whip
14 Aug 2006, 14:55
Agreed with the Metallica call actually, (overrated band in my opinion)
I just thought that I might be impressing the Bogans on this thread... (they know who they are)

Back to the Footy, I'll back Leos to beat Prahran (easily)

Monkeyboy
14 Aug 2006, 15:14
I see Wise from Bulleen was reported. Anyone see what happened?

Dee Snider
14 Aug 2006, 16:04
Agreed with the Metallica call actually, (overrated band in my opinion)
I just thought that I might be impressing the Bogans on this thread... (they know who they are)
Back to the Footy, I'll back Leos to beat Prahran (easily)

Ha, very good...best thrash band of all time.

Back to the footy - from what I saw v BT, I would have to back Prahran to beat Leos (easily). :)

Red Gum
14 Aug 2006, 16:28
Metallica, Rage against the Machine, Led Zeppelin's Immigrant Song, Foo Fighters Monkey Wrench and something Sentimental (like James Reynes' Fall of Rome) would be the best medicine to help overcoming the travel bug on the way to the oppositions ground.
Old School works best, not these jonny come lately wanna be rock twits (eg creed)

interesting results on the weekend, probably need to sit back and digest it all for a minute....

Definately Rage against the machine. Anything heavy and a little aggro.

Creed is a Christian Rock group. Probably fine if you're revving yourself up for a Sunday mass. Not so much for a footy game I would have thought.

XFiles
14 Aug 2006, 16:40
DG Man,

Things seem to have gone very quiet on this thread from the BT faithful. Have the wheels fallen off at the business end of the year? From all reports they are playing with a full list which you would have to believe based on the form of their 2's side. They have won 6 on the trot including the scalps of OM & TP in the last 2 weeks. Maybe to much premature talk of Grand Finals has tired some of the veteran's on their ageing list.

OldMelburnian28
14 Aug 2006, 16:45
Is there a possibility of bulleen dropping out of the top 4?

They play OC this week, who will be fired up and looking to bounce back after their loss to old geelong. Followed by rupo, who beat them 3 out of 4 quarters last time!!!

This thread has gone very quiet from the BT faithful.

Conduct Unbecoming
14 Aug 2006, 16:50

They are in a slump of Collingwood proportions. OC hit by injuries...Cats licking their collective lips:eek:

DG-Man
14 Aug 2006, 16:55
Duchovny,
Correct you are. The silence is deafening. BT are on the ropes. The last month has been very disappointing. It seems that the list is full strength, so i guess they must just be in a form slump. Confidence is a funny thing. As quickly as you lose it, you can gain it again. I suspect that BT will come out breathing fire next week. The OC will have a battle on their hands!

DG-Man
14 Aug 2006, 16:58

They play OC this week, who will be fired up and looking to bounce back after their loss to old geelong. Followed by rupo, who beat them 3 out of 4 quarters last time!!!

Vey unlikely OM28. The % gap between BT and Rupo is the equivelant of 30 goals. BT would have to be smashed by the OC and by Rupo (at BT) for BT to miss out.

OldMelburnian28
14 Aug 2006, 17:00
Seems very unlikely DG man, although stranger things have happened in D1 this year.

DG-Man
14 Aug 2006, 17:05
They are in a slump of Collingwood proportions. OC hit by injuries...Cats licking their collective lips:eek:

OGS are certainly right back in the hunt. 2 more wins against Rupo and Leos, with a little help from other results and a top 2 spot may be available. Fortunately the side looks relatively injury free and seems to be peaking at the right time.
Hoop Up!

Conduct Unbecoming
14 Aug 2006, 17:47
Duchovny, Correct you are. The silence is deafening. BT are on the ropes. The last month has been very disappointing. It seems that the list is full strength, so i guess they must just be in a form slump. Confidence is a funny thing. As quickly as you lose it, you can gain it again. I suspect that BT will come out breathing fire next week. The OC will have a battle on their hands!

C'Mon Ugly, Bullant, MJS2, Silky et al - whats the story with the Ants? Smashed Yarra and have since fallen in a heap. Where have the 2 x Bains, Waters etc gone? Chris Frost came from A-Grade via Nunawading - whats happened to him?

Dropping too many guys back to the twos to help them qualify?

orange whip
14 Aug 2006, 18:13
If you had to compare all the D1 teams to bands:

Old Carey - Led Zeppelin
Bullen Temp - Duran Duran
Old Geelong - REM
Yarra Valley - Bros
RUPO - Lynard Skynyrd
Mentone - Aerosmith
Therry - Uncanny X -Men
St Leos - Pearl Jam
Banyule - WASP
Prahran - Van Halen

19th Hole
14 Aug 2006, 18:31
[quote=DG-Man]Hello all! Great weekend of football. Massive day at Como. As a couple of flags were unfurled from the grandstand, a bunch of old timers were able to reminisce about golden times and mateship on the field during the roaring 50's and 60's. It was a sea of blue and white hooped scarves. I spotted at least a dozen couples, hoop scarved, roll necked, leash in hand...enjoying the occasion. The OGS are back in town.
What a magnificent performance. After watching the ressies allow Carey just 1 goal, DG then settled in to watch the seniors dispose of the thier highly credentialled opponents. It was a great game. DG had to leave late in the 3rd, however from what i saw the OGS controlled the ball for most of the day. A little too quick, a touch more desperate and committed and certainly with a lot more to play for.
I read the Amatuer record on arrival and noted the the qwils comments on dangerous forwards Parton and Bull. However neither took to the park. I heard the OC had a few others out, but this should not take away from the OGS performance. Even at full strength, i think the OC will now respect that the OGS are a genuine premiership threat.

DG's new premiership market. (remembering it was OC/BT $2.90 and OGS $6.00 previously)

OC - $2.70
OGS - $3.40
BT - $3.70
YV - $25.00
Rupo - $50.00

This may seem a little strange with the OC being outright favourite and coming in 20 cents after a loss, but the DG has his reasons.

DG believes that the premiership will be won by a team that contests the 2nd Semi. Winning 3 finals in a row (with no week off) from position 3 or 4 will be just to demanding.

Despite OC losing, i have decided that the second semi final has a 50% chance of being OC vs OGS, a 45% chance being OC vs BT, and a 5% chance of being OGS vs BT. Therefore my market indicates this.

Interesting results from around the grounds. BT are starting to look shaky. Down 7 goals to 3 against Prahran 3 weeks ago at half-time, (then just got up), followed by losses to OM's and Therry. Makes next weeks game against OC a must win affair. Ther OGS are breathing down their necks, and have the form to pinch position 2 if the BT stumble.

In saying this, OGS will have to be careful against a desperate Rupo next week. Rupo have struggled with the OGS in recent times, however it is a grand final for them, and at home they will certainly put up a big fight.

Geeves has just rung the dinner bell. Sunday roast is always a strict 6.00pm affair. Best head to the dining room and see whom my company is this evening.

Cheers - DG[

Great report the only thing you got wrong is that you can't win from 3/4 The OGS are up and about and with players to come back including the previously mentioned sandy makin and a couple of others then they are a good chance to beat whoever loses the 2nd Semi. Their 2nd's were awesome and have a couple of there best still out along with some seniors to come back so they will take some stopping as well ]

DG-Man
14 Aug 2006, 19:07
Great report the only thing you got wrong is that you can't win from 3/4 The OGS are up and about and with players to come back including the previously mentioned sandy makin and a couple of others then they are a good chance to beat whoever loses the 2nd Semi. Their 2nd's were awesome and have a couple of there best still out along with some seniors to come back so they will take some stopping as well ][/quote]

Hello 19th. You have always been my favourite golf hole. Sitting back, drinking a pint for every birdie during the day. Would have to call Geeves to come pick me up if the putter had been on fire! DG could become quite sozzled!

I am going to stand by my "cannot win flag" from position 3 or 4 call. It is a bold suggestion, i know. However i like to stand by bold calls.

You see, finals time can be one where injuries are even more prevelant than during the regular season. The games are at a high tempo. Strange things can occur. A full strength list can quickly turn sour.

I am aware of the 3-4 players ready to slip into the hoops and help endeavour to lead the OGS to further premiership fame. However, from a 1st semi final, i fear this will be difficult to achieve.

The OGS certainly have the arsenal to win a preliminary final, however DG favours the rested 2nd Semi final winners in the big match showdown.

Hopefully for all OGGERS, a second semi final berth, win, rest and GF win....will be the upcoming order of events.

Cheers - DG

XFiles
14 Aug 2006, 19:14
Conduct,

Impossible. BT are injury free and it looks like the only player missing is Waters from their best side. If you look at the 2's ladder and fixture it would take and absolute miracle for BT to scrape into the finals. With Rupo's 1's out of finals contention i reckon they'll play all their guns in the 2's RD18 against BT to ensure they get in.

XFiles
14 Aug 2006, 19:16
Maybe Ugly is still at the canteen down at Como?

DG-Man
14 Aug 2006, 19:30
Conduct,

Impossible. BT are injury free and it looks like the only player missing is Waters from their best side. If you look at the 2's ladder and fixture it would take and absolute miracle for BT to scrape into the finals. With Rupo's 1's out of finals contention i reckon they'll play all their guns in the 2's RD18 against BT to ensure they get in.

Duchovny,

I disagree. The Rupo vs BT game will determine who finishes 4th in ressies (round 18) Hardly an absolute miracle for BT to defeat Rupo in the ressies playing at home.

And secondly, nobody at Rupo will assume they are out of the finals race in the seniors. At present they are level with YV (10-6) with only 4% seperating them. It certainly is a hard draw playing the OGS and BT, however YV also have a difficult run home. OM's at OM's will be a cracker. A real toss of the coin game. Infact DG leans towards the OM's. And a final game for YV against the resergent Therry is no stroll in the park. I'm sure some of the talented Bannister boys would love playing party pooper to the YV finals dreams.

Ah...who knows. But BT can certainly make ressies finals by knocking over Rupo in rd 18.

Cheers - DG

Thorpedo69
15 Aug 2006, 08:46
Wise called before tribunal this week. Anyone know about this?

Half Back
15 Aug 2006, 10:00
Wise called before tribunal this week. Anyone know about this?

He picked on the wrong bloke and came off second best. BT are gone.:thumbsu:

XFiles
15 Aug 2006, 10:07
DG-Man,

My appoligies. I think your right about Rupo. I may have written them off to early. After this weekends games we'll have a much better picture of the top four. BT 2's would have to knock off the second placed OC to have a chance of getting into the September action.
Where has Ugly Dermie got to? This is BT hour of need and they've all gone missing. Come on boys give us something!

XFiles
15 Aug 2006, 12:12
Thorpedo,

Our spy's at the game reckon he was given a fairly cheap shot to the mouth while standing on the mark. Apparently this woke him up then he played some pretty good footy. He must be up tonight to give evidence.

Toohas
15 Aug 2006, 14:37
Congratulations to Yarra's reserves, breaking through for their first win of the year! Well done, boys!

I'll get my tips out of the way quickly, as pretty much every game could go either way:

Old Carey vs Bulleen-Templestowe: All of a sudden, Bulleen-Templestowe are in danger of losing the double chance after unexpected losses to Old Mentonians and Therry Penola. Combine that with the fact that Old Carey have a couple of players out and I think Bulleen-Templestowe will rise to the occasion and win this one.

Rupertswood vs Old Geelong: Now that Old Geelong have claimed the scalp of Old Carey, they have the league's undivided attention. A game that, not so long ago, looked like it would just be the third place playoff in the finals race now has much bigger implications. An Oggers win would possibly see them reclaim a spot in the top two, while a Rupertswood victory could see them rejoin the top four after a win against St. Leo's. The stakes couldn't be much higher. I'm going for Old Geelong as they really seem to have lifted after the Prahran loss.

Old Mentonians vs Yarra Valley: Rupertswood have kept the pressure on the Bushrangers, who must keep winning to keep their place in the four. Won't be easy against a Panthers team that has now won a couple in a row. Yarra Valley to win.

Therry Penola vs Banyule: After a big win against the Bullants, Therry Penola have cemented their spot in D1 and they look keen to put two more wins on the board to finish off their year. Banyule put up probably their best effort in recent times against Old Mentonians and they can still avoid relegation if they win both their last games and other results fall their way. I don't see it happening though, they have lost ten in a row and Therry Penola are going to make it eleven.

Emmaus St. Leo's vs Prahran: All five games have huge implications on either the finals race or the relegation zone and this may be the biggest of the lot. An Animals win would ensure Prahran and Banyule go down, whereas a Prahran win keeps the race wide open. The game is at Deakin and St Leo's are never easy there. Having played against these two teams in the past fortnight, I think Emmaus St. Leo's can get on top of Prahran and have a comfortable win.

Monkeyboy
15 Aug 2006, 15:31
This thread is losing its oomph and appeal. 2 weeks out b4 finals and everyone goes quiet. Has there been a ban by clubs? No Bull Temp people, Rupo, Carey etc. I hardly think this site breaks any amazing news that clubs are trying to keep quiet on. what is happening. It was a good read up until now.

BlueBoys88
15 Aug 2006, 16:00
This thread is losing its oomph and appeal. 2 weeks out b4 finals and everyone goes quiet. Has there been a ban by clubs? No Bull Temp people, Rupo, Carey etc. I hardly think this site breaks any amazing news that clubs are trying to keep quiet on. what is happening. It was a good read up until now.

Agree entirely although i have been very quiet of late. Not that i'm worried about exposing or giving away secrets, merely just enjoying the read. All games this weekend have some sort of appeal, the oc v bt match is going to be a thriller, but i'll be watching the rupo v old geelong clash! Where will everyone else be? :thumbsu:

kingbrown
15 Aug 2006, 17:05
I think the thread misses the Therry boys spruiking. They've finally won a few and have shut up, not good enough. The BT boys on fire like Rupo, have kept quiet. Kingbrown not drinking as much. Ugly too busy at work, trying to earn a living.

The OG's are very welcome this week providing they bring those poo pick up gloves and leave our arena in pristine condition. Mind you a bit of fertilising might not go astray. I hope they didn't have shares in Vision Systems that went up 21.6% yesterday. I'm sure Geeves would have been onto that one. It's about time the OG's went a bit easy on the boys from Rupi. The boys still say they were the most impressive, so we will need a big effort Saturday.

Chip & Gravy
15 Aug 2006, 17:10
I think the thread is going ok, there are probably just a few people out there getting a touch nervous leading up to the business end of the season, so are reluctant to make any bold statements. Also might be some readers losing interest as there team is out of the contention for finals.

The form of the top sides is becoming difficult to gauge with different sides faultering at some point nearing the end of the home and away season. It seems as though the OGS might be getting the right players back at the right time of the year. But who is to say that clubs such as BT, or Carey aren't just resting some blokes now to get them cherry ripe for finals, and maybe dropping a game or 2 as a result?

The way it sits now I think all teams will have all available players out on the park this weekend, making all games an intriguing spectacle.

Interested to know who people think will take 4th spot, can Rupo get over an inform OGS, or will Yarra continue on there winning way to claim that 4th spot?

Toohas
15 Aug 2006, 17:29
I think the thread misses the Therry boys spruiking. They've finally won a few and have shut up, not good enough. The BT boys on fire like Rupo, have kept quiet. Kingbrown not drinking as much.

Having never met you, kingbrown, I always find it enjoyable to read your posts on a Saturday evening and trying to guess what your BAC was at the time. Love your work, kb.

St.Kev's Cowboy
15 Aug 2006, 17:35
Yes Chip & Gravy, this thread is cruising along, ready for a big push come finals time. I would also like to say, you go down very well as a 4-5am snack post-night-out-on-the-turps. Haven't seen many chip shops open but by golly are they good after hitting the sauce.
R17 has huge ramafications depending on certain outcomes.
OC should maintain top spot over BT who could end up playing Rupo two weeks in a row if they sneak in.
I think the OGs will finish top two but Rupo will finally shake the monkey this week by a couple of como sausage rolls. From what I have heard all female Old Geelong supporters would be welcome.
Therry will beat Banyule, Prahran will push but fall short v St.Leos andI reckon the panthers 2 will push the rangers all the way but big Keem up forward and the brothers Drew will be too hard to stop. Yarra just. Although, OM have played some belters at home this year so wouldn't be suprised to see it go the other way.
A few closing questions. Can we take anything from the OG v OC match last week? Are BT foxing us all before making a moccery of the finals? Can Yarra hold 4th spot? Can Rupo complete a bit of a fairy tail and contest the finals? I guess we'll find out in 18 short holes.
Cheerio lads.

Midas
15 Aug 2006, 17:43
I am sure with the gravity of the matches being played that many are biting their tongues.

The issue I believe surrounds the identity of many posters, and exactly where their allegiances lay. Are people foxing, are people who they say they are, could they say something to give others ammunition. There is sensible silence from many, and media gagging appears rife!!!!

I will say this, there is a spray building somewhere in the list of regular posters that might be worthy of top billing for post of the year - from an impact persepctive anyway. It might just hit the screens later this week, or failing that probably pre-finals.

There is a side in the competition that has won no favours or respect amongst many of its opponents, and the reasons for this will be revealed I believe fairly soon. I can say no more!

Stay tuned characters, some entertaining controversy may be just around the corner!!!!

DG-Man
15 Aug 2006, 18:01
Ripping post Midas. Love it. Have no idea what you mean, but sounds jucier than one of Geeves's T-Bones!
The spray/impact perspective call?? If i had to guess i would lean towards the posts relating to BT players in ressies, names on team lists etc. That was about the most interesting of recent posts. Or maybe the umpire posting on here?!?! I am intrigued.
The side winning no favours/respect from opposition. This is a difficult one. A few people have had a few nasty things to say about YV. Banyule have been labelled undisciplined on the field. Again very interesting.
Are you sure you don't want to give us just a little more????

Cheers - DG

Midas
15 Aug 2006, 18:13
All pertaining to the one poster's one post. From what I gather it will have strong opinions and have an impact in the strength with which it discusses a number of issues.

All in good time!!!

Dee Snider
15 Aug 2006, 18:15
The spray/impact perspective call?? If i had to guess i would lean towards the posts relating to BT players in ressies, names on team lists etc. That was about the most interesting of recent posts. Or maybe the umpire posting on here?!?! I am intrigued.
cheers - DG

S h i t Midas - you got us all worried about we may/may not have said!!

BT is not dropping players or secretly bringing ex-players back via the twos. As one of those named in earlier posts, I can asure you our friend Conduct was throwing out a line he knew would get some people thinking (and talking). Would not expect too many inclusions from here in - although if the twos make the finals they will have some experienced senior players 'making up the numbers' in the earlier game.

That leaves Yarra valley as the club in question (or is there a dark horse who has been secretley paying players?), and after playing against them a few weeks back, I am a little mystified where/why/how they would get a bad name. No better or worse than anyone else I would have thought.

Midas
15 Aug 2006, 18:26
No. It's just one poster's opinion, based on factual evidence from football incidents throughout the season. Won't be slanderous, and doesn't directly pertain to anyone on these boards or what they have posted!

Nothing to be too concerned about for anyone posting on here!!!