View Full Version : D GRADE: Give me something...

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22

can't mark can't kick
21 Aug 2006, 19:05
DG - completely agree with you - Leo's will be releagted. Another ***** poor effort on the weekend - in a winning position and through it away - again. Not mentally tough enough - pure and simple. That makes YV, Rupo and Prahran. We only needed to win one of them to be safe - and I would suggest we are in a lot of trouble. More injury woes for the animals - with a further depleted side against OG next week.

Prahran also had three injuries - all looked like hammies - but not sure how bad - or even who they were!!!

As you can all see from this post - I am genuinely *****ed off this Monday morning!!! We have far too much talent, and are far to proud to be getting relegated, however I fear this is the case - and my money is on us in D2 next year. If we can't win the close ones - then we don't deserve to stay up - pure and simple.

Fair call Kibe. Leos are a great club as they showed after the game on Saturday. Sorry we won't be playing you next year which ever way things go this week. but I also know the Animals will bounce back quickly if they do drop.

can't mark can't kick
21 Aug 2006, 19:09
Arch's team

B: Battle (OC) Hare (BT) Malpas (Og)
HB: D.Collins (Rupo) Walford (Pr) Burridge (BT)
C: Chivers (BT) West (Ru) Bayles OG
HF: Casboult (OGS) Keem (YV)Matthews (BT)
F: O'Brien (OGS) Parton (OC) J Bannister (TP)
R: Basell (OC) S. Collins (OC) A Drew (YV)
Int: Basile (OM) R Drew (YV) Monzell (Rupo)Unkles (OC)

Co Captains - Parton, Chivers
Coach - Premiership Coach
Runner/Butler - Geeves

don't know about naming Walford CHB.
it is his natural position, played there or FB for the last 500 years or so, but only about 6-7 quarters this year.
mostly used at full or CH fwd this year.
my noms for possible Two Blues in TOTY would be Harrison, L Northway, Scicluna, Hodgson & Thwaites.

kingbrown
21 Aug 2006, 21:25
Kibe, i agree the close ones have cost you, but it was your 0-6 start that really hurt. From Rupo's perspective i thought we played really well to beat you last week and were lucky, without Ballard and D'Amico. It may seem the impossible but lift another cog, get the adrenaline flowing and who knows what can happen against OG. The threat of relegation has got to be a huge factor in motivation.

OG are an excellent side, there huge wins show they are a side that on a roll are unstoppable, if you can stifle there dominance they are susceptible.

I feel the site is even going to be quieter this week, I'm sure BT, OC and Therry have put bans on this thread. Midas and CU are required for some spice, and the dollop to continue the inciteful look at D1. Perhaps the new thinking man of D1. By the sounds of it definitely not the quill.

DG-Man
22 Aug 2006, 08:03
This forum is definately in shutdown mode. Certainly has been a ban, plus a drop off of contributors who's side has basically finished up for the year. I respect the fact that some teams have perhaps seen this forum as a little distracting, or allowing some ammunition to opposition teams.
Anyway, keep the tips rolling in. Only 9 more games left to tip on until we find out our winning tippster! Geeves....morning latte please!
Cheers - DG

Archangel17
22 Aug 2006, 08:54
Saw the YV v OM game and have heard reports of all others and taken into account CMCK comments and others comments and have only made a few changes . Think Walford should stay on the bench as he adds so much flexibility. Keem was less silky than Basile, but was so big, aggressive, and took the game by the scruff. C Bannisters goal average is impressive and lack of games no longer count against him. So

B: Battle (OC) Hare (BT) P Baranello(ESL)
HB: D.Collins (Rupo) Munro (OG) Burridge (BT)
C: Chivers (BT) West (Ru) Bayles (OC)
HF: Casboult (OGS) Keem (YV) Parton (OC)
F: O'Brien (OGS) C Bannister (TP) J Bannister (TP)
Int: Basile (OM) Walford (Pr) Monzell (Rupo)Unkles (OC)

Emergencies Matthews (BT) Pietryk (BT) Barton (OC) Scicko (BY)
Runner/Butler - Geeves

I still think Parton is the better players between he and Bannister, however Parton can play up the ground equally well, or even better, with the ability to impose himself on the game, wheras Bannister C is a pure FF.

I have weighted the team heavily in favour of the top sides, and strongly believe in this. I think it is crap when scribes name teams with even numbers from each side as this does not reflect the season. How do two players from the weakest teams deserve a spot ahead of the 3rd an 4th players from the strongest based on performance for the year. I cannot see anyone from BY deserving and only Baranello P from ESL. Prahran is borderline. Ballard (ESL ) has been very disappointing in each of the games i have seen, and agree on Scicko's pure talent, will be a star but is too inconsistent and cannot maintain his cool.

DG-Man
22 Aug 2006, 09:21
Archangel 17 Team of the Year

B: Battle (OC) Hare (BT) P Baranello(ESL)
HB: D.Collins (Rupo) Munro (OG) Burridge (BT)
C: Chivers (BT) West (Ru) Bayles (OC)
HF: Casboult (OGS) Keem (YV) Parton (OC)
F: O'Brien (OGS) C Bannister (TP) J Bannister (TP)
Int: Basile (OM) Walford (Pr) Monzell (Rupo)Unkles (OC)

Emergencies Matthews (BT) Pietryk (BT) Barton (OC) Scicko (BY)
Runner/Butler - Geeves

DG-Man's Team Of The Year

B: Battle (OC) Hare (BT) Trumbell (OC)
HB: D.Collins (Rupo) Munro (OGS) Burridge (BT)
C: A.Drew (YV) Chivers (BT) Crotty (TP)
HF: Casboult (OGS) Basile (OM) Keem (YV)
F: O'Brien (OGS) Parton (OC) Skicko (BY)
R: Ballard (ESL) S. Collins (OC) Wise (BT)
Int: Pietryk (BT) Monzell (Rupo) West (Rupo) J. Bannister (TP)
Captains - Parton, Chivers
Runner/Butler - Geeves

2 Pretty decent teams! Archangel has Barenello, Bayles, C.Bannister, Walford, Basell and Unkles in his starting 22

DG has gone for Wise, Ballard, Skicko, Crotty, Trumbell and Pietryk.

6 differences, 16 players in both sides.

Cheers - DG

Midas
22 Aug 2006, 11:17
BP: David Collins - Provided brilliant run down back, been a consistent contributor and epitomises what Rupos season has been about.

FB: Michael Scicluna - Been in the best 7 times from 9 games, only towelled by Keem from all accounts and taken on the best of the them and beaten them. Big reason for the Two Blue resurgence.

BP: Mark Zander - One of the most improved players in the comp, a little loose but has taken some good small forwards out and has provided run. Tough, a little over the top at times, but the guy you'd pick to shut out a small forward.

HB: Munro (OG) - Consistent all year and provides support and run. Held together what I would suggest it a somewhat brittle OG's defence.

CHB: David Gayfer (BY) - Absolutely monty here, has been the key to them, and sides that plan around him and can shut him out might just breakdown the Bears. Been brilliant all year.

HB: Mark Pietryk (BT) - Is such an important player to the Bullants, runs all day, strong overhead, can take a tall. Important player.

Wing: Ash Drew (YV) - Ball magnet who is the heart and soul of the Bushrangers, just keeps on running, and keeps on getting the footy.

C: Simon Collins (OC) - Deadly around goals, penetrating kick, knocks up getting the footy, perhaps the best player in the comp. The Rolls Royce, will have a big say in OC's premiership chances.

Wing: Jarrod Bannister (Therry) - Has been brilliant all year. A goalscorer as well as being capable of pushing into defence and providing some real headaches as a loose man, shutting down attacks. Great player

HF: Greg Chivers (BT) Turns games on its head, unbelievable work rate, dynamic around goals and has the ability to kick the crucial ones.

CHF: Chad Twentyman (OM) - Has kicked more goals than any other CHF, has provided an option for OM's all year, and in my opinion deserves his spot given consistent output.

HF: Simon Sweeney (Rupo) - Unbelievably well balanced player, and another that seems to bob up at the right times. Gets a lot of it, uses it well, clever.

FP: Colby O'Brien (OG) - Certainty, second on the goalkicking table at his height, exceptionally dangerous, plays the wil o the wisp fp/hf role with aplomb

FF: Al McQueen-Parton (OC) - Certainty, most goals, dominant force, spends time on the ball. Anyone else you're kidding yourselves.

FP: James Keem (YV) - If he could kick straight, would be a superstar, but holds the key to YV's premiership hopes. Volatile, enigmatic, can do the unbelievable - is there a more atypical forward in the comp???

Ruck: ANthony Ballard (Leos) - Work rate is massive, took on the best in the comp and has beaten them at various stages, pushes forward as well. Standout as does most of it on his own, without the backup eg OC.

Ruck Rover: Casboult (OG) - Solid in and under, gets ont he end of it as well, and delivery is exceptional. Thought he was a standout to ruck rove.

Rover: Rob Drew (YV) Didn't see a lot of genuine rover types maybe except for West, but from all reports his year has been outstanding. Ability to break open packs, create clearances.

Int: Burridge (BT) - Gives them some much needed zip, good reader of the play and can break a line.

Carroll (OM) - Tough & hard, one of the most consistent contributors in the comp. ALmost has to be in.

West (Rupo) - Despite his apparent defection, consistently driving the Rupo midfield, and based on his contribution to that point has to be in.

Matthews (BT) - Just kicks goals when they are required, and without him they may not even be in the battle for 2nd spot, in fact they may even be out of the finals race.

Archangel17
22 Aug 2006, 11:36
Midas.. nice side.. a few i hadnt considered.I particularly like Sweeney and Zander.

On the other side, as a player from another club, i cannot see only 3 OC making the side, considering they are two games clear on top of the ladder, and still stand by my claim that Ballard is overrated(mind you i am clearly in the minority). if i had not had the two OC ruckmen i would have had two others ahead of Ballard. Banyule ruck. rate him more highly than Gayfer, and think there can be only one BY at most, and Waters though dont think Waters has played enough.Collins from OC is Steve. Scicluna i rate.. but only half a season? If you use this rule for him you would have to have C Bannister(highest goal kicking average-over 4 per game), Crotty(state team- hard as nails - genuine rover/centreman), maybe Waters(very strong ruck),Cleeve(athletic ruck forward), Maslin(averaging 3 goals a game-onballer), McWhinney( big marking CHF- very physically strong), a few others. I dont believe Scicluna has played enough football.

At the same time , great side, and with many of the same players again

Burridge
West
A Drew
Chivers
Keem
Casboult
S Collins
D Collins
Parton
Munro
J Bannister
O'Brien

12 players have been nominated in the three sides nominated so far

Midas
22 Aug 2006, 11:58
[quote=Archangel17]
On the other side, as a player from another side, i cannot see only 3 OC making the side, considering they are two games clear on top of the ladder,

Disagree, as it is their depth that sees them sit where they are - they're bottom 10 are better than most others in my opinion, not relying on stars, and we are picking the best players in each position.

and still stand by my claim that Ballard is overrated(mind you i am clearly in the minority). if i had not had the two OC ruckmen i would have had two others ahead of Ballard. Banyule ruck. rate him more highly than Gayfer, and think there can be only one BY at most, and Waters though dont think Waters has played enough.

Waters hasn't played anywhere near enough and his impact is limited although he has played very well - not dominant. Still think Ballard has shouldered the burden and the Banyule guy, really didn't think much of him. Re: Gayfer, don't think who they play for is relevant, about impact, and Gayfer is easily the best CHB I've seen this year and by a stretch. 10-15 marks a week, does zone off but gee he does it well.

Collins from OC is Steve

Stand corrected, know who he is though!!! Stand by the best player in comp call.

Scicluna i rate.. but only half a season?

More than half a season, scalp after scalp plus provides plenty of run and uses the ball brilliantly, think he is a standout. Compared to Hare, his offensive work and run makes him far superior.

If you use this rule for him you would have to have C Bannister(highest goal kicking average-over 4 per game), Crotty(state team- hard as nails - genuine rover/centreman), maybe Waters(very strong ruck),Cleeve(athletic ruck forward), Maslin(averaging 3 goals a game-onballer), McWhinney( big marking CHF- very physically strong), a few others.

Disagree, as there is a lot more competition for the spots these guys play, and the players I selected in these positions have had similar impact but over a longer period. Just my opinion.

Archangel17
22 Aug 2006, 12:05
[quote=Archangel17]
On the other side, as a player from another side, i cannot see only 3 OC making the side, considering they are two games clear on top of the ladder,

Disagree, as it is their depth that sees them sit where they are - they're bottom 10 are better than most others in my opinion, not relying on stars, and we are picking the best players in each position. Fair enough though agree to disagree, think they have a couple more stars, Battle and Barton shut down our forward line, whilst Maslin and Basell tore us apart in the second half

and still stand by my claim that Ballard is overrated(mind you i am clearly in the minority). if i had not had the two OC ruckmen i would have had two others ahead of Ballard. Banyule ruck. rate him more highly than Gayfer, and think there can be only one BY at most, and Waters though dont think Waters has played enough.

Waters hasn;t played anywhere near enough and his impact is limited although he has played very well - not dominant. Still think Ballard has shouldered the burden and the Banyule guy, really didn;t think much of him. again fair enough

Collins from OC is Steve

Stand corrected, know who he is though!!! Stand by the best player in comp call.Totally agree

More than half a season(9 games), scalp after scalp plus provides plenty of run and uses the ball brilliantly, think he is a standout. Compared to Hare, his offensive work and run makes him far superior. Might agree here actually, though think he is more a flanker and only pinch hits in key position. Think there are a couple more flankers who have been equally good and played more games

If you use this rule for him you would have to have C Bannister(highest goal kicking average-over 4 per game), Crotty(state team- hard as nails - genuine rover/centreman), maybe Waters(very strong ruck),Cleeve(athletic ruck forward), Maslin(averaging 3 goals a game-onballer), McWhinney( big marking CHF- very physically strong), a few others.

Disagree, as there is a lot more competition for the spots these guys play, and the players I selected in these positions have had similar impact but over a longer period. Just my opinion.

Think you have some compelling arguments, disagree with some others.. as you disagree with mine. The great thing here is that all of us have seen different games this season so have our own views. If we could get say 3-4 more teams we could put together a composite side.

Midas
22 Aug 2006, 12:15

More than half a season(9 games), scalp after scalp plus provides plenty of run and uses the ball brilliantly, think he is a standout. Compared to Hare, his offensive work and run makes him far superior. Might agree here actually, though think he is more a flanker and only pinch hits in key position. Think there are a couple more flankers who have been equally good and played more games

Mate, he can't run out of sight on a dark night except when he is dashing Dench like from Full Back, particularly with an ageing body and no pre-season. Has definitely played exclusively at FB from my info. Perhaps CMCK could confirm.

DG-Man
22 Aug 2006, 14:10
Nice work gents. DG can confirm Midas' comments re the ageing Scicluna. Certainly not a flanker. FB definately. DG did not consider him for a role due mainly to games played, however i think their are a few better! DG loves his Munro, Trumbell, Hare and Battle combo down back.

Have already told Geeves we will be heading back to Bulleen this week to watch BT vs Rupo. Will watch Sweeney closely. I have not seen enough of Rupo this year. Looking to run into KingBrown and SandraSully. This game should be a ripper. Massive respect for Rupo after last weeks comeback, whilst i expect BT to be very tough to beat at home, with position 2 riding on this result.

If the game looks over at halftime, might see whether Geeves is interested in a trek through the wine regions to see if YV will indeed be playing finals this year.

Massive week of D1 Footy!

Midas
22 Aug 2006, 14:48
DG loves his Munro, Trumbell, Hare and Battle combo down back.

Have to disagree massively, really think Trumbull is seriously overrated, Hare has been the pick but is purely a defensive player, Battle is a good player but has had only an ok season, has been beaten on a number of occasions but agree on Munro.

As stated, strongly disagree on the inclusion of Trumbull and Battle despite my admiration for them as players, just think Gayfer is far superior to Trumbull and Pietryk is an out and out superstar compared to Battle, and ZAnder can take the small.

can't mark can't kick
22 Aug 2006, 15:09

Mate, he can't run out of sight on a dark night except when he is dashing Dench like from Full Back, particularly with an ageing body and no pre-season. Has definitely played exclusively at FB from my info. Perhaps CMCK could confirm.

you're spot on Midas. Scicluna has played FB in all games, rarely beaten, although heavily towelled in one game, but even Moses would struggle to stem the tide he faced that day. I've watched him play for 14 years and never cease to be amazed at his cool and calm play. he has a strong dislike for conceding a battle and its rare that he'll rush a behind.
has been outstanding on a very limited preparation and will leave a massive hole in the Prahran backline if he hangs them up after Saturday's game.

btw Midas are you a player or on the coaching staff of a club?
if you aren't already a coach I think you should give it a burl, you show a lot of insight into the game.

DG-Man
22 Aug 2006, 15:18
Have to disagree massively, really think Trumbull is seriously overrated, Hare has been the pick but is purely a defensive player, Battle is a good player but has had only an ok season, has been beaten on a number of occasions but agree on Munro.

As stated, strongly disagree on the inclusion of Trumbull and Battle despite my admiration for them as players, just think Gayfer is far superior to Trumbull and Pietryk is an out and out superstar compared to Battle, and ZAnder can take the small.

Happy to disagree Midas. Fortunately we are not the two people left to finalise D1 side. Otherwise Geeves may have to break us up!!
Battle was in my first dozen picked. He will make team of the year. Very couragous, great spoiler, rarely beaten one on one. Absolute gun!
Perhaps Trumbull will miss out. Just noticed he has missed a few this year. I have seen him play over a few seasons and he is a great player. Again, you always go with the player you have watched and seen perform well. I have seen him play maybe 6-7 games over the years and he has always been rock solid. Seen Gayfer once!
Glad we agree on Munro.
Re Pietryk, i have him in my side and always did! Great player. But i would choose Battle ahead of him in my side every day of the week. And perhaps twice on Sundays.
Cheers,
DG

Half Back
22 Aug 2006, 16:12
ILSS, Kingbrown and Oldmelburnian28,

Boy's, you've bagged Therry all year and now you need us to win. You might want to send 6 kegs down to Therry, or you can just join us Monday for a drink.....

Cheers

Half Back

Half Back
22 Aug 2006, 16:15
Foster-Knight is the best Full back In D Grade by the Flemington Straight!!

DG-Man
22 Aug 2006, 16:38
HB, who would you have from Therry in the side? Very interested to know from guys who actually play at a team who are the best?? I have only seen Therry once this year! On form they will probably only get 1 or 2, as OC, BT, OGS, Rupo and YV with records stretching from 15-3 to 11-7 by seasons end will probably have the lions share!
Names like Crotty, J.Bannister (both in my side), Harmes C.Bannister, McWhinney, Foster-Knight have been thrown up. Thoughts??
Cheers - DG

untapped
22 Aug 2006, 16:46

If anyone was at the Carey Bulleen game on the weekend they would have seen Zander get beaten well and truely. Had two goals kicked on him in the first 4 minutes by an under 19 in his 2nd game. Then later got dragged after he started wrestling his 4th oppoent by the 2nd quarter. Hardy touched the thing. Except for the one he kicked straight to a bulleen player at a kick out which cost a goal. I've only seen him a few time this year but he has been disappointing in my eyes. What good is run from the backline if you give up 5 to direct oppoents. Battle is the better defender for mine

Half Back
22 Aug 2006, 17:26
HB, who would you have from Therry in the side? Very interested to know from guys who actually play at a team who are the best?? I have only seen Therry once this year! On form they will probably only get 1 or 2, as OC, BT, OGS, Rupo and YV with records stretching from 15-3 to 11-7 by seasons end will probably have the lions share!
Names like Crotty, J.Bannister (both in my side), Harmes C.Bannister, McWhinney, Foster-Knight have been thrown up. Thoughts??
Cheers - DG

DG-Man,

Foster-Knight will win our B&F. I'd have Foster-Knight and J Bannister. Bannister was picked in the Under 23 State Team untill he injured himself at there last training session. He would of been the only player out side of A-B section to play. Crotty's first half until injury was very impressive. I think those three will get in.

Cheers
Half Back:thumbsu:

kingbrown
22 Aug 2006, 18:34
Great to have you back, Half back. Where are all your mates. I distinctly recall that beers were for free the day you kicked our butts, in a show of our respect of the Therry Penola Football Club. How beautiful is it, yes we are relying on you this week to a fair degree, we still have to win. Therry, i think enjoyed there win against us very much, and he we are in this situation. I think both clubs have a healthier respect for each other given our games this year , i certainly hope so! Half Back i am sure Therry will want to send a message to all sides for 2007 with a solid finish Saturday. If we win and you win i will let you come and barrack for us!!!!
Or maybe a couple of kingbrowns (big bottles) as we enjoy the finals series.

kingbrown
22 Aug 2006, 18:38
I do agree Bannister is a must in the forward line, along with Keem, Le Clerc, Parton and Sweeney on a HFF, possibly the most creative player in D1.

MC Extra Dollop
22 Aug 2006, 22:22
Here's some more snippets. I've put in how each team has gone in the past nine rounds (ie their most recent game against everyone else in the division) as well as their records at home and away:

OC (8-1 last nine) (9-0 home, 5-3 away)
BT (6-3 last nine) (5-3 home, 7-2 away)
OG (5-4 last nine) (6-2 home, 5-4 away)
YV (7-2 last nine) (5-3 home, 6-3 away)
RUP (5-4 last nine) (7-2 home, 4-4 away)
OM (4-4-1 last nine) (5-4 home, 2-5-1 away)
TP (3-6 last nine) (3-6 home, 4-4 away)
ESL (2-6-1 last nine) (2-6-1 home, 2-6 away)
PRA (4-5 last nine) (2-6 home, 2-7 away)
BAN (0-9 last nine) (1-7 home, 2-7 away)

Don't know a heap about Ballard's form this year, so as a team of the year option, yeah, maybe not. I do know that if I was picking a D1 team to play for my life he would be one of the first names selected, way ahead of the competition at his position as far as ability goes. Archangel, don't know how you can have guys like Bassell and Unkles in the team: they only play half a game each! Both can only play in the ruck from what I've seen they rest on the bench. I really don't think there are many top flight ruckmen in this comp, seems to be some raps on Cleeve from OM? Another option as the backup big man would be Hancock from Yarra Valley, as he is also an asset in the forward line. I agree with Forster-Knight in the side. Think there are better options than Scicluna. Too old and slow. Shouldn't Palmer be getting a bit more recognition as a top flight backman as well? Just my opinion.

Also, DG, I think you are overestimating your Old Geelong boys a bit in the market, would have thought they would have to be back with the pack, just ahead of Yarra and Rupo and only ahead of those two because they are more likely to get the double chance. Second spot was theirs for the taking playing the Washington Generals to their Harlem Globetrotters...that had to be a pretty demoralising loss. Old Carey should be way out in front in the betting now. Be interesting to see if there is any fallout if the Bullants lose four on the trot... think those boys would be feeling a bit of pressure this week?

With only first spot on the ladder set in stone, what about some odds for the two grand final participants?

DG-Man
23 Aug 2006, 09:42
Nice work dollop. Mentions of Palmer and Cleeve suggests to me that dollop is an OM boy. Nice to have you on board. Has not been much contribution from the Keysborough quarter this year.
Your stats seem to show that the OC, followed by YV are in the hottest form. As finals are at a neutral ground, not sure how much wins at home vs wins away matter. Recent form between competing sides in the finals is important!

DG's new market (After pressure from the dollop)

OC - $2.20
BT - $4.00
OGS - $6.50
YV - $13.00
Rupo -$35.00

OC are the favs. Recent form, assured top position, depth etc. Concerns: Injuries, playing BT in finals (remember 04), recent loss to OGS.

BT, drifting to 4's. Only have to win at home to play OC in a 2nd Semi. (DG thinks the BT will win this week!) From 2nd Semi, will be hard to hold out. Finals tough! Experienced campaigners. Concerns: Recent form below par. A loss on Saturday would see them go out to 20/1 in the DG Market. Comprehensively beaten by OC last week when at full strength. Are old legs slowing???

OGS - Had hit form with a big win over OC, only to stumble at Rupo. Have a few to come back in and look likely to be full strength come finals. Amazing depth to cover any injuries. Will beat Leos and if Rupo win, will tackle OC in a second semi after beating them only 2 weeks prior. If play in first semi, will start favourites on a neutral ground against Rupo or YV.

YV - Likely to finish 4th, but not guaranteed. Therry will be tough. Even if they lose, will be favoured to make finals as BT will be favourites to win at home. Great recent form, however have not troubled OC or BT this year, even during purple patch.

Rupo. Love the Rupo (Kingbrown!) However, think this weeks task may be beyond them. Stirring recent wins, however this Saturday they come up against a side playing at home, and playing for 2nd spot. If they win (Go Kingbrown) will only be a 25% chance of playing finals as YV at home will be favourites against Therry who have not a lot to play for!

Cheers - DG

Archangel17
23 Aug 2006, 09:45
Tips

Therry to throw the cat amongst the pigeons
OGS who will be phoning Adjani nervously
BT to save their own skins and Yarra's
Prahran ditto
Old Carey

on another topic- keep those teams rolling in. It would be nice to put together a composite side from 5-10 teams rather than from 3

C'mon Kingbrown see if you can put in one not filled with Rupo players( so yes- sober again) ;)
Toohas
BT10
MOSS
OC37
Half Back
ILSS
CMCK
Dee Snider
Silky
Hansie
Kibe
and everyone else
I am sure many of you have shut up shop for finals or have been told to shut up shop, however a team of the year nomination is giving away nothing. I am sure some of you have put in nominations to the qwill, what is the difference? Maybe those teams didnt include Chivers, Collins, Collins,Casboult and other stars, but hey.. everyone knows they are stars even if the Qwill is being misled.

GET THEM IN

ALSO

LETS GET THE END OF YEAR TRIP VENUES AND DATES IN TOO.. are any of us going to run into each other??

BT- Sydney or Gold Coast- make up your mind
OGS - Paris Hilton( the venue not the s***)- because they can
YV - Gold Coast
Rupo- Whittlesea
OC- Ibiza- because they can
Therry- Rio-just to p*** off Rupo
Banyule- Albury
OM- Sydney
ESL- Hobart
Prahran- where else but the city of churches?

ok some of these are far fetched, however i am certain OGS and OC are correct- get those nominations in

Conduct Unbecoming
23 Aug 2006, 13:52
LETS GET THE END OF YEAR TRIP VENUES AND DATES IN TOO.. are any of us going to run into each other??

YV - Gold Coast
Rupo- Whittlesea
Banyule- Albury
OM- Sydney
ESL- Hobart

ok some of these are far fetched, however i am certain OGS and OC are correct- get those nominations in

Rupo to Whittlesea..ha, ha..very good! I heard they were going overnight to Mentone and the Mentone boys were going overnight to Sunbury.

Given their respective ages (ie very young) I suspect Albury is off the cards for the Banyule boys, as most of them would be saving up for schoolies week.

knackers29
23 Aug 2006, 17:02
Cheers - DG
G'day All...

Forster-Knight easily the best FB in the Comp, (and the best leap!)

J.Bannister definitely, and C.Bannister would be the best FF in the comp as well. If not for missing too many games through injury, he would have Kicked the most goals for the year comfortably (much higher Ave goals per game than anyone else.) Harmes has been very good since moving to the Half back Line over the last several weeks. McWhinney at his best is unstoppable, but is probably too inconsistent to make the Best in Comp.

Interesting weekend coming up, King Brown, OM, ILSS...Just make sure you win and we'll make sure we do the rest!!

Cheers :thumbsu:

I Love Sandra Sully
23 Aug 2006, 17:13
All you melon heads from the Eastern suburbs take note.....us out West stick together when things come to the crunch.... we have an understanding..... we hate each other.... but hate Posh Eastern toss bags way more.

Knackers and Half Back... give it to those Yarra Valley bumpkins...

kingbrown
23 Aug 2006, 17:58
It's good to see we're back having fun. I gotta say at Rupo basically everyone knows who's who on this thread now, that is the way it has developed. Our coach whilst early days was concerned with the thread, now sees it for what it is, a bit of fun. While saying he is not an avid follower of the thread, he just keeps an eye on it. I wonder how many coaches read the thread regularly. I'd say plenty going by the apparent bans going on. I don't think any information about players, injuries or new recruits has effected one result this year. If i pick a team of the year it would be based purely on what i have seen, not who has been in the best, so if a gun had a bad day against Rupo i would not include that player. Some of the players mentioned i have never heard of. I might give it a crack, But only on a Saturday night after 6 beers on Saturday.

kingbrown
23 Aug 2006, 18:20
Oh stuff it here it is
B: Savage (YV) Forster Knight (TP) Cleeve (OM)
HB: Collins (R) Gayfer (B) White (OG)
C: West (R) Parton (OC) Maslin (OC)
HF: Chivers (BT) Le Clerc (EM) Tourigarnis (BT)
F: Bannister TP Keem (YV) Clarke (OC)
Rucks; Ballard (EM) O,Brien (OG) Tiras (OC)
Int: Vick (OM) Monzell (R) Buckle (EM) Casboult (OG)

Apologies to Sweeney and Brennan and 10 others from Rupo
Huge aplogies to Prahran, did not see the first game and the second game was a mud wrestle. Scicluna was excellent though

hansie
23 Aug 2006, 18:25
Oh stuff it here it is
C: West (R) Parton (OC) Maslin (OC)
HF: Chivers (BT) Le Clerc (EM) Tourigarnis (BT)
F: Bannister TP Keem (YV) Clarke (OC)
Rucks; Ballard (EM) O,Brien (OG) Tiras (OC)

Huge aplogies to Prahran, did not see the first game and the second game was a mud wrestle. Scicluna was excellent though

KB mate, we don't have a Clarke down at Carey! Not sure who you mean there? Got a number for us?

kingbrown
23 Aug 2006, 18:28
The FP might be James White, anyway he wore 17 for OC and played forward

kingbrown
23 Aug 2006, 18:34
Left footer is that right Hansie.

Are you still alive, Didn't you die in that plane crash!!!

kingbrown
23 Aug 2006, 18:41
I cannot leave S. Collins out i,m sorry he is straight in the middle, what a stuff up!!!! Parton to a HFF (49) from BT to the bench, and i,ll leave Buckle out!!!!
Apologies to BT only seen you once!!!!

kingbrown
23 Aug 2006, 19:01
I have just been informed by a person whom i respect more than anyone says R Drew is the premier midfielder in the competition, the bloke who told me this actually plays and pending DNA results from Maury Pouvich i'm related, so in spite of my 10 minute effort at picking a side i may have missed a few.

I do remember one of the Drew boys got a bad corky against us i think he means the other one. I probably have made a bit of a mess of this but i was only going from my instinct and no one elses thoughts.

kingbrown
23 Aug 2006, 19:08
I have been informed it was the one with the corky.

kingbrown
23 Aug 2006, 19:16
I'm going for the record 8 posts on one page, equalling my VB consumption.

Tips for Round 18
Emmaus in a shock over OG
Therry by 34pts over YV
Rupo by 3pts over BT
OC in a walkover
OM to spoil Prahrans chance of staying in D1

Archangel17
23 Aug 2006, 20:55
R Drew is a very good onballer but the premier midfielder?? Not close. IMO> I can name five better. Well i have said it now- here goes.

A Drew, S Collins, West, Casboult, Maslin, Buckle, James, Wise, Chivers,Parton- in no order. Was that Five??

and Kingbrown. a good effort. some good players there, and a good team.

kingbrown
23 Aug 2006, 21:20
As i said i picked the side with what i had seen. The Drew brothers are a bit confusing, it was not my selection, but my DNA mate suggested it was the player who got the corky which i think was A Drew as you have suggested he maybe just ahead of his brother, however on what i seen i could not include either, it was more of an apology as i was made aware of how good this A Drew was, and to me they look the same.

I threw it together pretty quick based on who stood out in my tainted and damaged memory!!!

St.Kev's Cowboy
23 Aug 2006, 21:43
Good to see not all the humor was taken out of amateur footy when the money was...
D1 sides posted thus far have been fairly interesting, interesting that players are being suggested through their suited position not just how good they are.
Anyway, tips for this week:

OC
OGs
Rupo
Therry
OM

Ride hard...Yee Hah!!!

MC Extra Dollop
23 Aug 2006, 21:48
My team is based partly on the best possible team, as well as partly based on great form in 2006. And I'm not changing it.

Backs: Battle, Palmer, Foster-Knight,
Half Backs: D Collins, Munro, Burridge
Centres: West, S Collins, R Drew
Half Forwards: Keem, Chivers, White
Forwards: O'Brien, C Bannister, Basile
Rucks: Ballard, Parton, A Drew
I/C: Casboult, Costello, Wise, Hancock

untapped
23 Aug 2006, 23:05
My team is based partly on the best possible team, as well as partly based on great form in 2006. And I'm not changing it.

Backs: Battle, Palmer, Foster-Knight,
Half Backs: D Collins, Munro, Burridge
Centres: Chivers, S Collins, R Drew
Half Forwards: Keem, Chivers, White
Forwards: O'Brien, C Bannister, Basile
Rucks: Ballard, Parton, A Drew
I/C: Casboult, Costello, Wise, Hancock

Can you please just make 1 change MC. Drop one of the Chivers.

MC Extra Dollop
23 Aug 2006, 23:31
Sorry, untapped, I stand by my decision...see above

You know, you could have PMd me or something. Thanks for making me look like an idiot!

untapped
24 Aug 2006, 00:26
Sorry, untapped, I stand by my decision...see above

You know, you could have PMd me or something. Thanks for making me look like an idiot!

Sorry mate i consided it but then i just could thought Mike Sheahan might pop up and write another article on an interstate team getting extra help. Swans will do well again this year anyway, like the team you've done, i would love Pietryk to be in the backline, maybe he is the 4th on your bench.

Thorpedo69
24 Aug 2006, 01:29
If we ignore games not played in the first half of season, which is obviously an issue in itself, I can't imagine that there are many full backs in the comp who have been beaten less than Scicluna this year. I've seen every game he has played.

Defensively, he has been extremely solid, having had very few goals kicked on him despite playing on the best forwards in the comp each week. The only forward who has beaten him has been Keem, and even then Keem only kicked four on him from memory. He beat Parton when he played on him in my opinion.

As Midas has observed, Scicluna has an attacking side to his game which is very rarely seen in a good defensive full back. Despite not having incredible pace, his ability to break and avoid tackles is very rare. He also uses the ball very well and protects those around him.

Archangel17
24 Aug 2006, 09:09
UPDATES

T.O.Y- Keep those nominations rolling in, There are now only 7 unanimous selections D Collins, S Collins, West, O'Brien, Chivers, Parton, Burridge, however there are several others with only one nomination off the full complement. Munro Battle A Drew Keem J Bannister Casboult.

End of year trips

YV - Gold Coast
Rupo- Whittlesea or Mentone
Banyule- Albury or Schoolies
OM- Sydney or Sunbury
ESL- Hobart

Happy to include serious or tongue in cheek suggestions, but please indicate if it is a serious location.

dooza
24 Aug 2006, 11:27
apparently half the BT reserves are going to Norfolk Island

knackers29
24 Aug 2006, 11:56
Oh stuff it here it is
C: West (R) Bannister R. (TP) Maslin (OC)
HF: Chivers (BT) Parton (OC) Tourigarnis (BT)
F: Bannister J. (TP) Bannister C. (TP) Bannister S. (TP)
Rucks; Goodwin S. (TP) Goodwin T. (TP) Goodwin D. (TP)

Just a few quick changes to your team of the year KB..!!

Now the side looks much more balanced!

How many King Browns do you intend to knock off Saturday Arvo?? tipping there will be plenty if you make the finals, and probably plenty more if you don't...............

Cheers!:thumbsu:

Moss Rocket
24 Aug 2006, 12:16
Tips for last game

YV
BT
OGS
OC
Prahran

FWIW Moss Rockets team of the year:

Gayfer Foster-Knight Battle
D.Collins Munro Burridge
West Chivers A.Drew
White Keem O'Brien
Matthews Parton C.Bannister
Unkles S.Collins Wise
Int: Casboult Ballard Maslin Monzell
Capt: Chivers (BT) Parton (OC)
Coach: Matthews (OC)
Runner - I guess Geeves...if he exists

Conduct Unbecoming
24 Aug 2006, 13:27
apparently half the BT reserves are going to Norfolk Island

Where are the other half going?

dooza
24 Aug 2006, 14:02
Where are the other half going?

the other half are under 30 years of age ... they will probably go where ever young blokes go

hansie
24 Aug 2006, 14:43
Left footer is that right Hansie.

Are you still alive, Didn't you die in that plane crash!!!

KB, that is indeed "Jogger", James White, that you speak of.

And yes, I am still around - plane crash was all a scam to help get me off match fixing charges!!!!:thumbsu:

Akiko
24 Aug 2006, 15:30
KB, that is indeed "Jogger", James White, that you speak of.

And yes, I am still around - plane crash was all a scam to help get me off match fixing charges!!!!:thumbsu:

Good player that Jogger - rate him pretty highly from the couple of times that I have seen him.

oc37
24 Aug 2006, 15:32
Tips
YV
Rupo
OGS
PR

Thorpedo69
24 Aug 2006, 15:54
Hey Mossrocket, why Unkles as your ruck option for team of year? He's a handy player, but there are plenty of others who I think deserve to go ahead of him based on form and ability... Ballard's overall form would have to make him favourite. He's been out for last few weeks. Anyone know what with and whether he's back this week?

Archangel17
24 Aug 2006, 16:12
Hey Mossrocket, why Unkles as your ruck option for team of year? He's a handy player, but there are plenty of others who I think deserve to go ahead of him based on form and ability... Ballard's overall form would have to make him favourite. He's been out for last few weeks. Anyone know what with and whether he's back this week?
I agree with Moss, and i am non-carey. I think there are some OC players who are greatly overrated, however the ruck duo has been a dominant force-They killed us. Whilst out injured i watched a couple of other matches, and watched them smash Ballard. The only difference i would have is Basell instead of Unkles. It seems like the rucks and FB , CHB are the most contentious positions, and this has a lot to do with different people seeing different games. keep those nominations coming. Do you have a side of the year Chunkythorpe ??

Kibe
24 Aug 2006, 16:32

Ballard won't play this saturday - out with an ankle.

hansie
24 Aug 2006, 16:36
Tips:

YV
BT
OGS
Prahran

Good luck to you all this week

Cheers,

OldMelburnian28
24 Aug 2006, 16:55
Ballard won't play this saturday - out with an ankle.

Interesting date.

Conduct Unbecoming
24 Aug 2006, 16:59
Interesting date.

Does she have a sister?

Conduct Unbecoming
24 Aug 2006, 17:22
Don't suppose anyone from BT is on this thread anymore, but would be interesting to get a feeling from the group as to this weekends
U17 Colts Grand Final given the almighty blue that went on at Bulleen Park in the preliminary final last week?

From all reports the BT Colts are an absolute sure thing for the GF... still, there will be so many officals and police around the place things should be ok. Just wonder what the talk around the club is (if any) re the prospect of more violence? Might be good if the Seniors get down there to lend support for their juniors regardless (who they would hope will feed into the U19s next year).

kingbrown
24 Aug 2006, 18:55
Knackers i think we could come up with the D1 team of the year with the criteria being red hair. I'm pretty sure Therry would be very prominent and may dominate if this criteria was set. By the way where is Mystery Dog , he hasn't graced this thread for ages.

Kingbrowns on Saturday, not sure. Definitely a few VB's, however some of the old bas tards at Rupo have started on the Pure Blondes, i think they may be defecting, perhaps to the OG.

Moss Rocket
24 Aug 2006, 19:09

Maybe there are Thorpy! I put Ballard on the bench. As i follow OC, i guess i am a combination of biased, have seen him a lot and don't really know too many others. He is a great player. Huge unit, much fitter than he looks, great hands, very strong in ball-ups, especially throw ins. From consensus, i think it is between Ballard and the OC rucks. Waters has not played enough. Legoe is not good enough. So i guess we will have to wait and see whether it is Ballard, or as AA17 says, the two OC boys.
Moss Out!

Is that so
25 Aug 2006, 01:36
Not sure of criteria being used but if it is best players available to play
The order would be:
Waters - BT just ahead of Ballard - ESL
Cleeve - OM
then - Basell - OC ahead of injury prone -Radywonik - Pra
and then Unkles - OC

OC may have best ruck rotation but do not have an individual ruckman that could be in Team of the year - IMO.

Is that so
25 Aug 2006, 03:02
Tips this week:
TP
BT
OG
OM
OC

DG-Man
25 Aug 2006, 08:53
Not sure of criteria being used but if it is best players available to play
The order would be:
Waters - BT just ahead of Ballard - ESL
Cleeve - OM
then - Basell - OC ahead of injury prone -Radywonik - Pra
and then Unkles - OC

OC may have best ruck rotation but do not have an individual ruckman that could be in Team of the year - IMO.

Nice work Is That So. Waters who has played 5 of 17 will not make the side. May make the VFA side of the year, but not VAFA. I think Ballard is the stand-out, with one of the OC boys likely to sit on the pine.

Still waiting on a heap of tips. Roll them in fella's. This is going to be a big weekend of football.

Can the BT bounce back to form? OGS and Rupo certainly hope not!

Cheers-DG

Kibe
25 Aug 2006, 10:14
Some big ins at Bennetswood - I am a lot happier than I have been all week. We have a number of changes, 5 or 6 absolute quality players, that we have really missed over the last couple of weeks. While they might not be 100% match fit, they could be the difference. Go Animals!!!

Midas
25 Aug 2006, 11:49
Here it is, last round and time for a clean sweep from the man with the golden touch.

Will be a helluva weekend out and about, I'm sure some of the more classy night club establishments will be on the lookout for a lot of "birthdays" that involve many drunken men arguing with the exceptionally intelligent numbered Gestapo manning the front doors about missing all their mates on the inside, not to mention the phantom girlfriends inside whose mobiles aren't working.

"Can I just go in and find her mate, come on please, I'm fine, I've only had half a dozen", will be belted out ad nauseum from the Motel, to the Marquee, to Frostees, to Q-Bar, to Revolver, to 161.

All the best to the troopers that end up left taking on the High TER numbered biatches dressed in black. Just remember, be original!!!!

I just hope the fallen heroes are remembered fondly on Sunday and Monday and aren't subjected to too much ridicule for being home in bed at midnight!!! Good luck to those playing their last game of the year this week, and even better luck with the post match shenanigans.

On that note, here are Midas's tips:

OG's have a heap to play for, as do the Animals. Just think that Leo's last quarter fadeouts will hurt them again, and the OG's may open the door for the Two Blues to reload for 2007 in D1

Speaking of the Two Blues, them and OM's should be a cracker. The form of both sides has been that of middle of the road teams in the second half of the year, offering an even clash. Prahran might click and get over the line.

Carey & Banyule, well will be a nothing game for either team, the Bears might surprise but I seriously doubt it, they've had a disappointing second half and the OC are primed.

Down at Domeney, the dangerous Therry take on the Bushrangers primed for their first D1 finals appearance. Their form has been very good, with a strong midfield and forward line and despite having a lot of respect for Therry, I think Yarra will win and win well.

And finally, the cracker, Rupo & BT. The youth and pace of Rupo v the mix that BT have. God difficult to call but Rupo have grown in stature and BT seem to be stumbling. Can Big Easto turn it around? I'm not sure, but given I've rated BT higher than Rupo all year, can;t get off now, BT.

Looking forward to the finals series and even more so to the Big Footy booze up on Como. Midas out boys

knackers29
25 Aug 2006, 14:09
Big Weekend coming up should be very interesting out on the Turps Sat. night!!

Tips for the last round:

OG's
OM's
OC
TP
Rupo

Cheers!!::thumbsu:

Dee Snider
25 Aug 2006, 14:52
Don't suppose anyone from BT is on this thread anymore, but would be interesting to get a feeling from the group as to this weekendsU17 Colts Grand Final given the almighty blue that went on at Bulleen Park in the preliminary final last week?

From all reports the BT Colts are an absolute sure thing for the GF... still, there will be so many officals and police around the place things should be ok. Just wonder what the talk around the club is (if any) re the prospect of more violence? Might be good if the Seniors get down there to lend support for their juniors regardless (who they would hope will feed into the U19s next year).

Have not been down this week but would imagine it received a passing intrest only due to the fact that Bulleen-Temp Colts are raging hot favorites for the flag.

If its on Sunday, I would think there will be a few seniors down there at Bulleen Park as the links between the junior and senior clubs has really strengthend in the past 5 years. The Colts have provided some really good kids recently and the trend looks set to continue.

Bede me up
25 Aug 2006, 17:34
"OC have the class factor with numerous stars that have / could play at a far higher level. This will carry them to a premiership victory over OG's, with Rupo and BT to fill the 3rd and 4th positions"

Referring to my above comments from some months ago, I am going to enter this week's tips accordingly :

OGS
OC
Therry
Rupo
OM

MJS2
25 Aug 2006, 18:19
Tips

Bullants
Carey
Ogs
Yarra
OM

Half Back
25 Aug 2006, 18:34
Half Back's tips for the Last Round

OGS
OC
Therry
Rupo
OM

Cheers
Half back

DG-Man
25 Aug 2006, 18:54
The only "contender" we are waiting for is Ugly! Plus a nice weather report.
Geeves has just filled up the tank and decided we will be heading to Bulleen Temp tomorrow. Looking forward to sampling some of their fine hospitality and food. Will be intersting tomorrow. Probably up to a dozen forum regulars all standing within a hundred metres of each other. I might let rip with a few "Who's Kingbrown" calls during the day.
Will be also venturing tio YV during the day to check on scores.

Good luck all!

Cheers - DG

uglydermie
25 Aug 2006, 21:10
risking death by posting this:

bt
prahran (well done Staff and co)
therry
ogs
carey by 1000 (and resting half their list)

love your work.

torp
26 Aug 2006, 10:19
OG
OM
OC
TP
and lastly i think Rupo will get up, led by simon sweeny, who is apparently only in his early twenties, but when i saw him play last week he looked about 35 with has receeding hairline. He looks old enough to be the father of a few of the young rupo lads..

oc37
26 Aug 2006, 10:24
I have it on good authority that the team of the year will appear on the VAFA website around GF day , not in the record(as published). Also as a tip, i think you may find it is a far more concise team of the year, than the team of the half year was.

oc37
26 Aug 2006, 10:39
I am home sick.. so spewing that i will not get to game today. I was going to do combined team of year to keep myself interested , but note that DG man, Archangel, Midas or MC extra dollop all appear to have this in hand and they seem to know a lot more than me

Archangel17
26 Aug 2006, 18:48
No, no, no, Archangel, you're wrong.

If Rupertswood win by about 11-13 goals (depending on the total score) that should put their percentage around the same mark as the Bullants. With OG and Yarra losing that would catapault Rupo into second.
* Say Rupertswood win by 75 points (unlikely but stranger things have happened. BT haven't exactly set the world on fire in August) Assume the score is 150-75 (humor me).

RUPERTSWOOD 1759 for/1620 against 108.58%
BULLEEN-TEMP 1757 for/1619 against 108.52%

If Rupertswood win by about five goals, Yarra can jump over B-T with a win of about 65+ and a Geelong loss. This scenario would see Geelong miss out.
*Say Rupertswood win 100-70 and Yarra win 135-70
YARRA VALLEY 1651 for/1477 against 111.78%
BULLEEN-TEMPLESTOWE 1752 for/1569 against 111.66%

Geelong just have to win and Bulleen to lose for the OGs to finish second. If Rupo smash Bulleen as in the first scenario and Yarra and Geelong also win, the Bullants could drop to fifth. Unlikely, but hey, it's not as impossible as you wrote.

MC Extra Dollop you are a genius

eddiesmith
26 Aug 2006, 19:09
How were Bulleen in 2nd:? That is one of the worst performances I have seen by any team this year, poor kicking didnt help but they were smashed all over the ground and thats the end of their season

Was interesting they were all going on the belief they had to win by 70 points but looking at the ladder they ended up 3% behind, obviously didnt have to win by so much after all

DG-Man
26 Aug 2006, 19:37
Amazing result. DG was there and saw it all. Geeves and i have just arrived home and i am looking forward to a large night of theories, tips, comments, reports ansd finals predictions.
Hats off to Rupo. As one exited Rupo supporter screamed at the end of the game..."there will be three very worried teams that would not be happy about this result!" And after watching the game, i tend to agree. Rupo smashed BT. I will talk a little about BT later. Falling from 2nd to 5th. Terribly disappointing for a club who had set themselves for C-Grade promotion all year. At the end of the day BT had just hit the wall over the last month or so. There will be half a dozen guys who just played their last game of football. A terrible way to exit! Let's hope they regroup and have another crack next year.
Apart from Rupo, the other big winner for the day are the OGS. Suddenly playing a team they comfortably beat only 3 weeks ago in a second semi final. YV have also very deservadly made the finals.
Need to take care of a little housekeeping. Will be back soon.
Enjoy those brewskies Kingbrown! We can't wait for your post 14 stubby report!
DG

eddiesmith
26 Aug 2006, 19:46
BTW what is RUpertswoods home jumper, I dont think I have ever umpired them before and obviously they had the weirdest clash strip I have ever seen today

Thorpedo69
26 Aug 2006, 19:47
Here come Prahran boys, here come the Blues! We won't be beaten, we hate to lose! We will be there, one and all. The bigger they are, the harder they fall! Whether the odds be great or be small, gallant Prahran will win overall. You will hear the crowd al roaring, come on the mighty Blues!

What an escape from jail. Who would have thought that we could get out of relegation zone after being 0-9 at halfway mark! Anyway, enough boasting. I should get ready for a few days of incessant celebrations.

Amazing news regarding BT today. What happened?! Rupo must have been good. Any news on that one?

And bad luck to St Leos too. You guys were in as much strife as us earlier in season and managed to nearly get yourselves out of it. Stick together and it'll turn around.

Anyway, might crack open a bottle of Minchinbury Brut to celebrate with the Mrs. You little ripper!

kingbrown
26 Aug 2006, 19:58
We have had a great day. On my 5th VB for all those interested. What a performance. At no stage did we ever consider this possibility. Football is a game about execution. BT kicked 4 or 5 points before we scored, then it was a procession in what was (unbiassed) some of the best footy i have seen this year. BT still wasted opportunity as the day wore on, but we were awesome. We went there to win, no consideraion of what by, so to make the finals is unbeleivable. I will say to all, we had 22 ripper players today, full of run, class and will. Some have written us off so i feel very humble at the minute.

Whilst our form today was outstanding, so were all of the finals teams, YV must have had a cracker of a game- Well done. Well done to Prahran, i do feel for St. Leos as they impressed me greatly in the games i seen.

I tried valiantly to look for Ugly today, and in my investigative pursuit i was only led to a lady working in the canteen who vehemently denied being the great man/woman. He will always remain a mystery to KB.

kingbrown
26 Aug 2006, 20:06
Eddie, we have a jumper very similar to BT Blue and Gold, we looked a little bit bigger and faster today in our alternate strip.

I probably would leave (49) out of the team of the year, his first game against us IMO was outstanding (had evidently been injured) but today whilst trying hard i am making a change, Simon Sweeney is now promoted!!!!!!!

Chivers is clearly carrying an injury, and i can't be bothered thinking about which player from BT should be in the team of the year. Today it should be the 22 from Rupo.

eddiesmith
26 Aug 2006, 20:07
I dont think I have ever seen a team play so succesfully such a fast paced, high risk play on and run, run, run all day gameplan

eddiesmith
26 Aug 2006, 20:12
Eddie, we have a jumper very similar to BT Blue and Gold, we looked a little bit bigger and faster today in our alternate strip.

I probably would leave (49) out of the team of the year, his first game against us IMO was outstanding (had evidently been injured) but today whilst trying hard i am making a change, Simon Sweeney is now promoted!!!!!!!

Chivers is clearly carrying an injury, and i can't be bothered thinking about which player from BT should be in the team of the year. Today it should be the 22 from Rupo.
Cheers, Its funny I asked the question but just remembered its there to look at on the VAFA website :p

Looking at the front, I see alot worse clashes that are not taken care of and funnily enough none of us had seen them before and were thinking why not wear a yellow jumper but it seems your normal jumper is yellow, I believe the navy blue teams in B grade have worse clashes

MJS2
26 Aug 2006, 20:13
Oh what a day... Rupo very impressive. If i could go back in time and put a lazy 1000 on the bullants to miss the finals four weeks ago everyone would have taken my cash and laughed. We just hit the wall for some reason. Its a shame we couldnt send out some club legends with a better result. Good luck to all in the finals, bullants will bounce back in 2007. I will be hoping ruppo take out the flag, good young side who play football the way it should be played, play on at all cost and use the football well.

:(

eddiesmith
26 Aug 2006, 20:15
Oh what a day... Rupo very impressive. If i could go back in time and put a lazy 1000 on the bullants to miss the finals four weeks ago everyone would have taken my cash and laughed. We just hit the wall for some reason. Its a shame we couldnt send out some club legends with a better result. Good luck to all in the finals, bullants will bounce back in 2007. I will be hoping ruppo take out the flag, good young side who play football the way it should be played, play on at all cost and use the football well.

:(
What numbers are the blokes retiring?

MJS2
26 Aug 2006, 20:23
Nothing is definite so not going to name numbers or names but there is a chance that a few older players might have had a enough.

DG-Man
26 Aug 2006, 22:17
Rupo are the flavour of the night. DG and Geeves left Bulleen today in awe of their performance. It was a tough and physical affair. With a well placed camera or two, there may have been a couple of players from both teams busy on Tuesday evening. Nothing too untoward, just a few late and high spoils. The odd stray elbow, and even a sliding knee that Geeves spotted in the last. Rupo certainly stood up to their strong bodied opponents and gave as good as they got. A hard, tough clash. Rupos far superior run and leg speed highlighted to both Geeves and I our poor early selection of BT. The signs of BT fading have been present for the last month, however today it stood out like dogs balls. BT have gone a 1/4 season too far. They just did not have the speed to match the smarts in some of their older bodied veterans. Chivers has played injured for the last two weeks, however it is understandable that he would want to play.
Rupo's performance in the ressies as well indicates a depth that would certainly not put them out of place in C-Grade next year. (Also Unders finished 5th in Division 1)

So DG has a new market, and it is a little controversial!

OC - $2.50
OGS - $2.50
Rupo - $3.50
YV - $8.00

Apologies to Toohas and friends, however i am a Rupo convert. I am tipping them this week to knock off YV reasonably comfortably. The loser of the OC vs OGS game will face a very diffcult Preminary final showdown against them.

Next Week:
OC vs OGS - Only a few weeks back, OGS handled OC with ease, however we since learned that OC were without a number of players. With these players returning, OC whipped BT and then today pumped Banyule. They are in form and will be much tougher this week (Particularly away from Como) OGS have been handed 2nd spot and are suddenly 1 game away from C-Grade. Full list, depth, form pretty good (except for a last quarter fade at Rupo!) It is a real toss of the coin. DG will sit on this one until later in the week.

YV vs Rupo - Classic match-up. 2 Sides who have been in great form and who have been seemingly battling for the one last position, suddenly find that there is room for both. Very deserving finalists. YV certainly have some great talls, as well as some handy runners. If Rupo can shut down the talls, i think they have the speed to topple YV. This will be a bruising encounter. YV are an interesting team when it comes to pyhsicality (DG will not elaborate) whilst Rupo showed me today that they are indeed a very tough unit. I think Rupo will continue their recent amazing form and make it through to the second week of finals.

Better nick off and watch a little AFL, Geeves has just produced an amazing sponge cake with tea!

Cheers - DG

kingbrown
27 Aug 2006, 02:01
DG man wanted to hear a thread on my 14th brewskie. So here it is. I'm going to bed. Stuffed!!! But had a great karaoke night at the club. What a day!!!! Bacon and Eggs tomorrow? I hope so!!!!

Dudley Hamstrung
27 Aug 2006, 04:55
Well, well, well. One weekend is a long time in football.
I'll start with my boys at Rupo.Today (yesterday now) was probably the best footy I have ever seen played at an amateur level ever. It was like the boys were posessed. Abley led by one of their more prolific ball winners (old head in an old head/that's still kind of young) Simon Sweeney. I won't say too much about it because alot has been said but it was good. Hats off to BT though, they had one hell of a year and to think a side can drop from 2nd to 5th gives a fair indication of how close D1 has been this year.
Bad luck to Leos and Banyule, I'm sure they both have the capacity to bounce back and it wouldn't suprise the one that is Hamstrung if they find themselves back in D1 in 08.
Finals this week, will speak some more rot when I have a clearer head, just about to embark on the shots, peace till then.
Dud.:thumbsu:

can't mark can't kick
27 Aug 2006, 08:20
what a game at Toorak Park!
well done Two Blues.
bad luck Leos. bounce straight back.

MC Extra Dollop
27 Aug 2006, 10:28
Cheers, Archangel. Obviously percentage can be a subjective thing. You can have as big a percentage boost winning by thirty points as you can have winning by sixty points, depending on what the total score for the game is. Since Bulleen-Templestowe put a reasonable amount of points on the board, Rupo did have to smash them. Taking Bulleen-Temp's score of 63, Rupo had to put 133 or more points on the board to jump over them in percentage (if the score had have been 133 to 63, Rupo's % would have been 109.0 and BT's would have been 108.92. If the score had have been 132 to 63, Rupo's % would have been 108.95 and BT's would have been 108.99). Therefore, you can say BT missed out on finals by 17 points.

See, the thing about percentage is, it can come down in a hurry when you are playing one of those “eight point games”. The results that I wrote (that I thought were unlikely) were based on the assumption that the Bullants had a bit of ticker. Guess I was wrong. Here are the facts:

Firstly, BTs insipid performance should in no way take the luster of a famous Rupo victory. The respect they have earned is now universal. After people thought they had played above themselves when they were 6-0, they took their rough trot, lost their spot in the four and actually decided, they deserved to be a finals team and proved it. Well done, Rupo and all the best for finals.

A good team WOULD NOT lose a game like that when second spot on the ladder is on the line. A good team WOULD be able to keep a loss respectable, knowing that a “respectable loss” is all they had to achieve to make finals. A good team WOULD NOT lose their last four games of the season in a row.

Surprised we heard from some Rupertswood people last night. Thought they would be making the most of Bulleen-Templestowe’s hospitality. Perhaps the Bullants needed the clubrooms for their crisis meeting that would have been held about three weeks too late.

The top four teams definitely made the finals. With wins of 105, 78, 69 and 86 points respectively, OC, OG, YV and Rupo showed that they were the best four teams this season.

Will be interesting to see how many BT people step up and take their medicine on this thread. Going over this thread from the start, they’ve had a lot to say about other teams, I hope they can take it as well. King Brown when considering your breakfast options, keep in mind you could feed the entire Rupertswood senior list by scraping all the egg off some Bullant faces…

The five winners from this week? Five of the happiest clubs going around: Carey, Geelong, Yarra, Rupertswood and…Prahran! Well done to the Two Blues, going 5-4 over the second half of the year and showing the true spirit of a great Ammos club. Too good for a disappointing Panther team yesterday. IF they can keep their veteran list intact for 2007, they will be thereabouts, back to their 2005 form. Although I don’t think the Animals will stay down longer than a year, I’m a bit sick of the whole “they’re unlucky to be relegated” talk. They won 4 ½ games, for crying out loud! Since when is that a good enough record to get you to stay in your grade? Great club at Emmaus Leo’s, but they need to take stock, carve D2 next year and come back stronger in 2008.

Two clubs have just the one side competing in finals: Yarra Valley (seniors) and Old Mentonians (reserves). Is this a big advantage? Personally, I believe so, which is why it’s so hard for a team to win both senior and reserves flags in the same year. While it makes for tougher decisions at the selection table, you can’t underestimate the benefits of being able to choose from 30+ players every week, all of whom will be absolutely busting their balls to keep their spot in the side.

DG Man, as a man from a team that is treading water in D1 (a lot like BT), I’m a bit disappointed that you are not continuing the tipping comp into finals. I thought I could dominate the finals series with a lot of guys tipping with their hearts instead of their heads. To illustrate:

FINALS MATCHES
FIRST SEMI FINAL
Yarra Valley vs Rupertswood:

Venue: St Bernards College. Should be an advantage for Rupertswood, I’d assume it’s big and it’s local for the Western suburbs boys. Good weather should also play into their hands.

Head to head: Last time, Yarra won by 45 points, with Keem kicking 5. First time around in round 2, Rupo finished over the top of Yarra with a 9 point victory. Collins was the best for Rupo, setting a standard that he continued for the rest of the year. I’d give Yarra an edge here.

Recent form: Two contrasting seasons. After round 6, Rupo were 6-0, had just smashed Carey and were on top of the world. Flash forward and they have gone just 6-6 over the past twelve rounds to scrape home by the skin of their teeth. However, they have had confidence building wins against Old Geelong and Bulleen-Temp and a respectable defeat at the hands of Old Carey, which boosts them a couple of notches, in my book. Also, many wrote them off after their loss to Yarra and they seemed to thrive on being the underdog all season. Their form would be classified as good.
However you can’t fault Yarra’s form. They’ve won five in a row and 11 of 13, since a shocking start to the year. Like Rodney Dangerfield, they must be wondering what they have to do to earn some respect from the D1 tote and tipsters. Yarra have to be ahead here.

Form against the top teams: Rupo, interestingly, have beaten every D1 team this year at least once. Probably as recently as a month ago, they were looked upon as a side that might make finals, but couldn’t knock off the big boys when it mattered. They’ve blown that out of the water, breaking a hoodoo against Geelong in the process. No team would hold any fear in Rupos minds.
Yarra haven’t beaten Old Carey, losing comfortably both times, however they have beaten Old Geelong home and away and handled Rupo comfortably last time they met. They probably weren’t shedding any tears about Bulleen-Temp missing out. I’d say, based on the fact that Rupo have knocked off each of their possible opponents, they have the edge here.

Prediction: Not sure why, but everyone seems to think Yarra can’t handle a road trip, when their away record was just as good as their home record this year. I think their big bodies will be too much for Rupo. Yarra Valley will win.

SECOND SEMI FINAL
Old Carey vs Old Geelong

Venue: Junction Oval. Both teams are used to playing on big grounds in good nick, so I don’t really think either will have any problems adjusting to the Melbourne Grammar ground.

Head to head: Each has won at their home ground, with Old Geelong giving the Panthers a touch up last time. OG had no answer for Parton at Dunshea, the Carey skipper booting six in a BOG display. Colby O'Brien has been dangerous in both matches for the Oggers and it is a toss up who will get the job on him. Apparently, Old Carey were missing half their side, in the Round 16 matchup. Regardless, a six goal win at home and a close loss away suggests an Old Geelong advantage here.

Recent form: Carey have only dropped away games to second, fourth and fifth all season. They have gone 9-1 over their last ten, smashing most teams they come into contact with. Apart from said loss to Old Geelong, they haven’t lost since mid-June. Old Geelong have been a little more patchy, having a great win against Old Carey, but dropping the closest thing to a finals game they have had so far (against Rupo) despite being in an apparently unloseable position. I don’t think you can understate that loss and despite pole axing a relegation victim in the final round, I just get the feeling that the Oggers may have a real problem stepping up when it counts. Old Carey win this category, though it is dropped back a few notches, due to the Oggers recent win over them.

Form against the top teams: Of the five standout teams in the division this year, Old Carey went 5-3 playing against their significant competition. Old Geelong went 3-5. Further illustrating this point, Old Carey went 3-1 against these teams in the second half, Old Geelong went 1-3. Advantage, Old Carey.

Verdict: Just seems like Old Carey have been setting themselves for this moment since pre-season. The Oggers, along with Rupertswood, overcame their excitement to be promoted in a hurry and OG haven’t been out of the top four all season. Maybe the ressies curtain-raiser between these same two combatants will provide some inspiration for the teams. As an outsider looking in, though, Old Carey haven’t put a foot wrong all year, have won the games they’ve needed to and have been a classy, professional outfit every step of the way. Old Geelong have had some disturbing lapses, which may have been swept under the rug by them destroying a few also-rans along the way. In my mind, there is no doubt. Old Carey.

As for the odds, if I was betting with $100, I’d be putting $75 on Old Carey and $25 on Yarra Valley. Put $10 each into and Old Mentonians ressies flag, which would probably be paying pretty handsomely (DG Man has probably taken the OG ressies off the board).

eddiesmith
27 Aug 2006, 15:17
Good previews, I must admit yesterday was the 1st D1 game I have done this year after years of seeing Yarra every week, it would be good to see them make the grand final after a few years of being middle of the division

As for the weather the 7 day forecast is a shocker so who does a wet weather slog at the snake pit favour? Cheers

MC Extra Dollop
27 Aug 2006, 18:46
I figure I might as well have a crack at the club b&fs as well:

Old Carey: Collins
Old Geelong: Casboult
Yarra Valley: R Drew
Rupertswood: Monzell
Bulleen-Temp: Chivers
Old Mentonians: Carroll
Therry Penola: Foster-Knight
Prahran: Harrison
Emmaus St. Leo's: P Baranello
Banyule: Gayfer

johnfromtheVAFA
27 Aug 2006, 21:10
congrats to rupo looking very impressive. They will be too good down back for yarra valley, with the skipper collins, speed of dressler, moule (injured with buttocks) and the tower of strength Baddeley (aka Chad cornes) at centre half back. Rupo have to much class and should account for the valley, a quick quote from "Point Break" for Yarra valley has rupo quoting "GO BACK TO THE VALLEY MAN"

DG-Man
27 Aug 2006, 22:33
Hi all. DG has received a heap of PM's over the last 24 hours. Plenty of people wanting to stay a little low key heading into the finals. And a few departed and still here, wanting to take a swipe at certain predictions and certain people. All good!
There is a rather large piece of news that has come to my attention and this has certainly had large ramifications on the DG odds.

DG Odds:

OGS - $2.20
OC - $2.80
Rupo - $3.50
YV - $8.00

I will sit on this info for a little while. It is not small!

Re tipping comp. It certainly does continue into the finals. I will update the ladder early in the week.

I agree with dollop that the sides who have made the 4 are very deserving. I really think the depth of clubs like OGS, OC and Rupo in particular would handle C-Grade comfortably.

OGS have another team missing selection every week, with their amazing depth. Their ressies form reveals just how deep the list runs.

At OC, they also have a huge number missing selection most weeks, as well as having a 3rd team playing in a second-semi next week. Their U19's finished on top of division 2.

And finally at Rupo, they not only have the ressies in the finals, but also have their U19's finishing a very credible 5th in division 1, as well as running a second unders team in U19 Reds.

This is a great base for any two of these clubs to enter into C-Grade next year with a genuine ability to keep climbing the grades. All clubs were in D2 recently, and all clubs are deserving of this continued climb.

This leaves YV, who DG is not writing off, however i have to have an outsider. With the way YV ressies have fared this year, i am not sure YV would have the ability to stay up in C-Grade for more than a year. I don't believe they have an unders side, and would need to recruit extremely well and heavily to be able to compete at a higher level.

Their current side is big and strong and on a roll. They are certinnly not without a show, however after seeing Rupo on Saturday, i think that they will be a little too quick for the Valley boys.

Keep the posts coming. Great to have dollop aboard entertaining us all with his detaild analysis.

Perhaps a few more Semi final previews would make good reading.

Midas and Archangel...you both seem like good preview candidates!

DG-Out!

19th Hole
28 Aug 2006, 00:23
Rumour around that Dolly P has done his knee and won't play again that might alter the odds a bit if true. I believe it is.:eek: