View Full Version : D GRADE: Give me something...
Pages :
[
19]
Thorpedo69
28 Aug 2006, 01:23
Re: OGs v OC, The Junction is a very large ground for OGs and I think they will go straight through. They are very good at moving the ball around and delivering long to what is a potent and diverse forward line. If Parton is in fact injured then such a result will be even more likely. I haven't checked the weather report, but someone suggested that it might be a slog, in which case OC might be more of a chance with their stronger bodies around contests. Ultimately, however, I will stick with OGs.
Re: Yarra v Rupo, I think that Rupo will enjoy the open spaces of what will be a large ground. Wet weather may make the Drew bros and Hancock, if played in middle, major weapons for Yarra. Keem and Le Cordier might also be damaging for Yarra, whether in wet or dry. From the two times I saw Rupo play this season, I think that Brennan for Rupo could potentially shut down Le Cordier. Not sure who could shut down Keem and/or Hancock, but I think if that can be achieved then Rupo's offensive running game should win out. I'll go for Rupo, although with a few reservations!
I'm still pumped about our (Prahran's) effort in avoiding relegation despite one of the worst starts to a season in VAFA history. As a player, I am so proud of everyone within the club, and especially the coach. Well done Staf- you deserve a lot of credit for the way you kept us all together against horrible odds. I love ya mate! Thanks to everyone else who was involved too....
Bring on Mad Monday!
eddiesmith
28 Aug 2006, 01:27
Does anyone know why the finals venues are so different this year?
Wasnt D1 last year out at Box Hill?
kingbrown
28 Aug 2006, 10:20
The VAFA in there wisdom saw fit to attempt to assist Rupo in there rise through the amateur ranks and make the games closer to home for us and on bigger grounds. If they could control the weather it would be 18 deg and sunny, they are currently looking into what they can do.
kingbrown
28 Aug 2006, 10:21
One option was to see if Telstra Dome was available.
Hi All, I am a shattered man today. My beloved Leo's are down to D2 - after what can only be described as a disasterous year.
Well done to Prahran, a huge effort to avoid the drop. Fact for us, is that 0-6 start, and not being able to win a close one all year cost us. Agree with an earlier post - 4 and a half wins for the year does not deserve to stay in the grade.
Good luck for all those involved in finals! I am off to the D2 board!!!
Much soul searching, hopefully some recruits, and we will hopefully be back in 2008!
Kibe (tearfully) signing off!
Yeah terrible result for you guys Kibe. Good luck next year. Hopefully a flag and another crack at D1 in 08 will be your reward!
Re finals, Dollop (or anyone else) is the 1st semi on Saturday and the 2nd semi on Sunday? Or the other way around?
Re 19th Holes comments. Yes i believe the OC Captain will be missing the entire finals campaign with a serious knee injury. Huge blow for OC. Still think they are good enough to gain promotion and perhaps even win the flag, but it is a cruel blow for one of our comps finest players.
Cheers - DG
Archangel17
28 Aug 2006, 13:08
AS PER DG REQUEST
Had a few private messages myself, similar to DG-man, however will not believe a couple until i actually read teamlists on the net, however think his odds are fairly accurate.. Key players are players outside the top 2or 3 who have either been injured or down on form, and could make the difference come the final siren
OC v OGS at Junction oval.
Key Players: OC Bull, Howgate, M Angus, C Mullins
OGS Makin, Munro, Mollard, Legoe
Weather may have a large bearing on this result. If Odin brings rain, then expect a slight advatage to the OC in and under players. If sun abounds, then OGS relentless running may take its' toll. In the end though i think the side that is prepared to work harder, apply constant pressure, and keep it's forward line open , will win the game. Both sides have potent onball divisions, solid backlines and damaging forwardlines with many options. I think Old Carey is the more complete side, however they will have been rocked by their previous loss to OGS and may just lack the confidence to carry through.
OGS by 9
Yarra V Rupo at the St Bernards.
Key Players
Yarra Hancock Savage Peake R Yeo
Rupo Quigley Gaunt Boxall Temming
Yarra's size and experience against Ruperstwood's fleetfooted runners. Two very contrasting sides present an interesting and intriguing contest. Can Yarra get enough of the ball to supply Keem and co? To me , this is the biggest question. If they can , they will win the game. However, even with the Drews this will be no easy task as West, Monzell and co will win plenty of the ball . Tip, Yarra to jump out to a comfortable lead with Rupo slowly reeling them in. Yarra holding on by 4pts in a thriller
uglydermie
28 Aug 2006, 13:39
Well what can I say?
I have been involved as a player with BT for more than 16 years (seniors) and have never been as shattered as I was on Saturday afternoon. Full credit must go to Rupo for the way they played the game-
Rupo are going to give to it one hell of a shake this year- by the way they run, carry the ball, protect each other, and use the full playing surface to their advantage.
I had a chat to a few of the players after the game …. And I can sense a real belief amongst them.
More on BT later (when I get me head around what has happened) BUT to put it simply when you lose 4 games on the trot you don’t deserve to play finals – especially when 2 of the teams that beat you are still in the game.
keep up the good work - good luck to everyone that is still alive
Archangel17
28 Aug 2006, 13:49
Yeah terrible result for you guys Kibe. Good luck next year. Hopefully a flag and another crack at D1 in 08 will be your reward!
Re finals, Dollop (or anyone else) is the 1st semi on Saturday and the 2nd semi on Sunday? Or the other way around?
Re 19th Holes comments. Yes i believe the OC Captain will be missing the entire finals campaign with a serious knee injury. Huge blow for OC. Still think they are good enough to gain promotion and perhaps even win the flag, but it is a cruel blow for one of our comps finest players.
Cheers - DG
Finals are both on the Saturday.
19th Hole
28 Aug 2006, 14:05
AS PER DG REQUEST
Had a few private messages myself, similar to DG-man, however will not believe a couple until i actually read teamlists on the net, however think his odds are fairly accurate.. Key players are players outside the top 2or 3 who have either been injured or down on form, and could make the difference come the final siren
OC v OGS at Junction oval.
Key Players: OC Bull, Howgate, M Angus, C Mullins
OGS Makin, Munro, Mollard, Legoe
Weather may have a large bearing on this result. If Odin brings rain, then expect a slight advatage to the OC in and under players. If sun abounds, then OGS relentless running may take its' toll. In the end though i think the side that is prepared to work harder, apply constant pressure, and keep it's forward line open , will win the game. Both sides have potent onball divisions, solid backlines and damaging forwardlines with many options. I think Old Carey is the more complete side, however they will have been rocked by their previous loss to OGS and may just lack the confidence to carry through.
OGS by 9
Yarra V Rupo at the St Bernards.
Key Players
Yarra Hancock Savage Peake R Yeo
Rupo Quigley Gaunt Boxall Temming
Yarra's size and experience against Ruperstwood's fleetfooted runners. Two very contrasting sides present an interesting and intriguing contest. Can Yarra get enough of the ball to supply Keem and co? To me , this is the biggest question. If they can , they will win the game. However, even with the Drews this will be no easy task as West, Monzell and co will win plenty of the ball . Tip, Yarra to jump out to a comfortable lead with Rupo slowly reeling them in. Yarra holding on by 4pts in a thriller
Key Players
Add White for OG, he came off injured for last Quarter against Rupo and with him and Munroe not playing left a big hole up back.
sideshowbob
28 Aug 2006, 14:42
maybe someone can help, but when was the last time the two promoted sides from one year competed in the grand final the following year,
Last year Grand Final Old Geelong V Rupertswood.
Along way off, however maybe again this year ?
Ugly, can you please tell me what happened, did you guys at any stage think that you may be in danger of dropping out of the four,
Thorpedo69
28 Aug 2006, 14:47
I agree that White for OGs will be pretty important. He is a class act and can play tall. I'm looking forward to what will be an exciting contest at the Junction! I'll be looking around trying to spot DG Man, Geeves, and any others on the thread...
Dee Snider
28 Aug 2006, 14:52
Have been invloved (on and off) with BT since under 12s.
I share Ugly's sentiments.
Watched first half and bits of the second before trundling off to see Lalor v Nth Heidelberg...
Could not believe the season could end the way it did. Losing 4 on the trot, its probably just as well the boys didn't scrape in. No doubting the ability to win finals was there amongst the group, just the space between the ears suffered and the last month was a disaster.
The promised return of players next year provides little solace from the a wasted opportunity.
Long time players like Tulloch, Hare, Matthews, Schneider and Williams deserved better.
Good luck to Rupo, they played great football on the day and I think most would be glad to see them make it.
oldtimer
28 Aug 2006, 14:55
Have been invloved (on and off) with BT since under 12s.
I share Ugly's sentiments.
Watched first half and bits of the second before trundling off to see Lalor v Nth Heidelberg...
Could not believe the season could end the way it did. Losing 4 on the trot, its probably just as well the boys didn't scrape in. No doubting the ability to win finals was there amongst the group, just the space between the ears suffered and the last month was a disaster.
The promised return of players next year provides little solace from the a wasted opportunity.
Long time players like Tulloch, Hare, Matthews, Schneider and Williams deserved better.
Good luck to Rupo, they played great football on the day and I think most would be glad to see them make it.
Boys, do you think it was the number of old legs that was their downfall in the long run. All of those guys mentioned are wll over 30 - especially Tulloch, Matthews and Williams.
From all reports Rupo took it wide and ran all day.
Thorpy, Geeves is literally jumping out of his skin as he prepares for another finals series. Like all years, we will be up early for a swim and a quick walk of the dogs before we talk tactics and likely key match-ups over one of Geeves special "Finals fry-ups!"
Eggs, Bacon, Mushrooms, Spinach, Sausages and Tomatoes...drizzled with a Geeves special Hollondaise sauce. Can't wait.
Re the game, it seems everyone is starting to lean towards the OGS and the Rupo. It certainly would be amazing if these two teams could jump 2 grades together in 2 years. The OC will have plenty to say about this however. You do not finish 15-3 with a 3 game plus % buffer unless you are a very good side.
At Como, geeves tells me that at the selection table it will be a very difficult night come Thursday after training. Is there room for the Pauls and Kimp in their best 22? White and Munro will come back in...bit at whose expense. Interesting times at the selection table!
DG
White (OG) will be a big inclusion - first 3/4 against rupo 2 weeks ago were outstanding.
Conduct Unbecoming
28 Aug 2006, 17:29
Well done 2-Blues!! Leos must be shattered; Bullants must be shattered(Yarra must be over the moon) and don't even get me started on Rupo..
Some interesting finals ahead.
Old Geelong = D1 flag certainties.
Didak cleared!
Tipping Ladder
MJS2 (3) 45
Is That So (2) 44
Bede Me Up (3) 44
UglyDermie (3) 44
Hansie (4) 44
DG-Man (4) 44
Bullant10 (3) 42
Moss Rocket (4) 41
St.Kevs Cowboy (3) 39
Toohas (3) 39
Midas (4) 38
OC37 (5) 36
Halfback (3) 34
Archangel17 (3) 34
Knackers (3) 33
Kingbrown (2) 32
Henry, Sideshow, MagicMickey, BB88, Om28 and ILSS have been deleted due to no tips being entered.
Talk about tight at the top. It is a 6 horse race with 4 games to go.
Well done 0C37 for tipping all 5. Very solid effort.
DG's New Odds:
Money is flying left, right and centre for OGS. Everytime i trim them in, Geeves tells me their has been yet another go for them. Conduct has just thrown $5,000 large on the nose
OGS - $2.00
OC - $2.70
Rupo - $3.50
YV - $7.50
DG will throw tips in early. As my market suggests, i will be tipping OGS and Rupo this week. OGS vs Carey will be a corker. Nothing will seperate these two teams all day, however i think the OGS greater run will see them come over the top in a thriller. OGS by 9 points
Rupo are the new IT team. Young, brash, exciting, pacy and with a confidence and will too succeed that has non converts...converting!
They will have a little too much of everything for YV. Rupo by 5 goals!
Cheers - DG
Half Back
28 Aug 2006, 18:21
Choke (of the year)
The Bullants Choke is right up there with Greg Norman. Yv will to big for Rupo.
YV by 6 Goals...
Bit harsh half back. I think BT just genuinely ran out of legs. Guys like Chivers (inj), Hare, Williams, Schneider, Tulloch, Smith and co were probably found out a little towards seasons end.
Rupo and OC (there last 2 games) have some pretty quick players. BT will need to call upon some of their successful unders guys and regroup next year.
Although it is a massive fall (2nd - 5th), i think the writing has been on the wall for a few weeks and that they would not have made an impact come finals time anyway.
End of an era for many BT champs. Looking forward to Ugly's more detailed report at a later date.
Bit too slow and certainly not good enough. Choking....not so sure. As i said, will be interested to see some BT imput and see whether it was the bodies or the minds that were the major fault!
kingbrown
28 Aug 2006, 19:17
I know you all want to give Rupo some credit and that is great, you forget we beat OC by 10 goals and eclipsed OG 2 weeks ago. We are a very different side now that most sides have played us all year, will we be at full strenghth? I have said always our best will worry any side. We are young, we are ready and we are willing. My love for the D1 competition and my belief in Rupo has never waned, in saying this YV commands the utmost respect going right back to the first time we played them. We will have to be at our best, and if we are watch out!!
Our greatest strenghth is we have 22 contributors, i am very glad i will be at the bar Thursday night and not having to pick a side. Many players never mentioned on this thread are as important as the ones mentioned regularly.
19th Hole
29 Aug 2006, 13:41
Flag Favorate's
1. Can only be OC. They finished well clear on top and deserved the spot. They have done absolutely nothing wrong.
2. Only by grace of the fact that they fluked 2nd spot. Lost way to many soft games they should have won if they were as good as many think. They went missing when the heat came on against Rupo and lost.
Cellar dwellers Prahan made them look ordinary only a few weeks ago and they are yet to beat YV
3. Rupo and should probably be 2nd only they have to play a first semi and also play and win 5 cut throat must win games in a row against improving opposition. Having said that they are on fire.
4. YV deserve their spot and will give it a big shake especially if they meet OG as they have their measure.
Reserves
1 OG Deserve to be favorites and will win unless they get ahead of themselves Pleanty of sides have lost from this position.
2 OC been second best all year only lost to OG so that should be the GF
3 Rupo Classy outfit D2 finalists and always dangerous
19th Hole
29 Aug 2006, 13:45
Flag Favorate's
1. Can only be OC. They finished well clear on top and deserved the spot. They have done absolutely nothing wrong.
2. Only by grace of the fact that they fluked 2nd spot. Lost way to many soft games they should have won if they were as good as many think. They went missing when the heat came on against Rupo and lost.
Cellar dwellers Prahan made them look ordinary only a few weeks ago and they are yet to beat YV
3. Rupo and should probably be 2nd only they have to play a first semi and also play and win 5 cut throat must win games in a row against improving opposition. Having said that they are on fire.
4. YV deserve their spot and will give it a big shake especially if they meet OG as they have their measure.
Reserves
1 OG Deserve to be favorites and will win unless they get ahead of themselves Pleanty of sides have lost from this position.
2 OC been second best all year only lost to OG so that should be the GF
3 Rupo Classy outfit D2 finalists and always dangerous. Rise for the big ones.
4 OM able to play all eligible seniors makes them extremely dangerous. ?
Just wanted to quickly echo the sentiments of Thorpedo re: Prahran's amazing effort to avoid the drop. Obviously many of us on here have attempted to remain anonymous for good reason, but as coach of the Prahran Football Club I just have to say I am so proud of the group of 30 or so guys that put in all season, toughed it out when our backs were to the wall after a disgraceful effort v Leos in Round 8 and turned what could have been a stinker of a season into one of the truly great moments of mine and many other player's football careers. To come back from 0-9, having been touched up by most sides showed an unbelievable amount of character and can only be used as a springboard to bigger and better things next year.
To all of the contributors on this thread, well done, it certainly keeps it interesting and it's been great to hear the different perspectives of the solid footy people on this thread.
As far as the opposition goes, I have to say I've really enjoyed the comp this year, particularly playing against sides like Bulleen Temp (really disappointed for you boys), Old Carey (Have stepped up a notch this year and am confident they will win it), Rupertswood (have exceeded all of my expectations, love the way they go about their footy), Old Mentonians (very genuine, young side with a lot of ability), St Leos (really good hard core football club, shame they've dropped down) and Therry (a side I think will be right in the mix in 2007).
No guesses for the side I don't enjoy playing against, let's hope it's the Rupos day on Saturday hey.
But as a rule the players, coaches, supporters are a ripping bunch in this comp and it's a pleasure to go out every week and have a crack at one another then enjoy a beer afterwards! Good work D1 footy.
sideshowbob
29 Aug 2006, 14:01
Well, it's getting so close to game time.
Ogs have not beaten Yarra Valley in two attemps, beaton Oc when undermanned, beat rupo once. in my opion can't win the big one( will make it however )
The Oc, well finished on top, very impressive unit, if rumors about dolly are true, i don't think will make a massive difference,( they respect him that much that they won't allow them selves a poor showing but still will fall just a little short) however look for them to have another year in d section next year, just think the big wide open spaces of junction oval and preston will find their big bodies wanting ( they will be playing in the prelim after the ogs are the first side to jump into C grade next year )
Yarra Valley one a piece with the woodsman, very big side, however over the last month a little bit of height that has made it's way into the Rupo side as we witnessed on saturday should be enough to get the footy to ground and then that is where this 1st semi will be one.
Finally Rupo to defeat the valley's this week, big wide open st bearnards ground will suit this fast paced, highly skilled young team from sunbury.
they will then again have to much pace to get around the preston city oval and will account for the OC.
Which then leaves two sides from last years grand final to do battle, which will be a huge effort by both clubs.
Rupo to turn around last years result and win.
That's how i see it, good luck to all involved in what should be a cracking finals season.
Hope all stay injury free, :thumbsu:
Hi all. Some great posts coming in. Seems OC/OGS/Rupo are hard to split. As i said in an earlier post, all 3 teams have the strength and depth to stay up in C-Grade next year...but just who will miss out?
Keep the previews rolling in.......plus the tips!
Cheers - DG
Put $1,000 on the OC for me thanks DG Man, love the look of those odds. They will touch OG's up this week as I honestly believe Carey are the best team we played for the season.
As for the other game, have to be impressed with both outfits - their form has been exceptional but think that Rupos pace and skill might just get them over the line against the dangerous YV in what should be an exceptionally tight contest.
A Midas plunge causes stirs in the market:
OGS - $2.25
OC - $2.45
Rupo - $3.50
YV - $7.50
OGS vs OC
$1.70 $2.00
Rupo vs YV
$1.33 $4.00
Half Back
29 Aug 2006, 17:27
DG,
I have the $500 ILSS owes me from when Therry belted them and have it on YV to smash Rupo.
OC's to take home the flag over YV!!!
Chip & Gravy
29 Aug 2006, 17:41
Despite Rupo's come from behind win at Home against the Ogs, the way the finals are set they will have to beat the Ogs at some stage to win the flag, and considering their record against them, and being touched up twice in last years final series, they will not be wanting to face Old Geelong until promotion is secured. Likewise i'm sure that old Geelong would not want to face YV in hurry. However I think that without (or even with) Parton, the Old Geelong unit looks to good for OC as was proven just a few weeks ago, so with Rupo looking likely to take out YV in week one, the smart money is on the hoops. You might want to lay some of my forthcoming bets off DG as there could be large sums involved...... :thumbsu:
Archangel17
29 Aug 2006, 17:53
Im going to buck the trend and put my hard earned on an outsider
YV at $500. Think they will see this as one of their last chances for a flag with current list and may lift even more. Hancock is huge for them, as he did not play OC last time, and is very hard to stop for OGS and Rupo. Keem is hitting peak form, and others rally around him.
then keep $250 to cover any losses on OC. Suspect OGS may be kidding themselves if they think they are close to OC with or without Parton. Had a look at a few teamlists from the past few weeks and think OGS were missing 3 that day, OC 6 or 7 not including Parton. Also we played OC when Parton i thought was relatively well held and they had many others step up. more so i think than OGS.. i remember the OGS bandwagon showing its head a couple of times earlier in the season before being beaten down. It will happen again. So for this to happen i am going to have to go back on my earlier tips
For the flag
hmm same bet
500 on YV
250 on OC
OC by 23
YV by 3
Archangel17
29 Aug 2006, 18:22
Forecast for Wednesday
Fine. A sunny day with light winds tending northerly.
Precis: Fine.
City: Min 6 Max 20
Laverton: Min 5 Max 19 Yarra Glen: Min 4 Max 18
Tullamarine: Min 6 Max 19 Mt Dandenong: Min 5 Max 13
Watsonia: Min 5 Max 19 Scoresby: Min 4 Max 19
Frankston: Min 8 Max 15 Geelong: Min 4 Max 19
UV Index: 4 [moderate]
Thursday Fine. Min 10 Max 22
Friday Windy. Few showers later. Min 15 Max 22
Saturday Mainly fine. Min 9 Max 17
Sunday Few showers. Min 8 Max 16
Monday Clearing shower or two. Min 8 Max 15
Tuesday Showers. Min 7 Max 15
The next routine forecast will be issued at 10:50 pm EST Tuesday.
www.bom.gov.au
think it was uglyderm who used to post the weather forecast??
Chip & Gravy
29 Aug 2006, 18:27
I fail to see how a team who won their last encounter against the OC, by some margin, and who controlled the entire game could be "kidding themselves" I beleive that DG was roaming around in the shadows that day also, so maybe he can shed some light on this apparently dillusional tip for the OGS to possibly have it over OC in recent weeks............... I would suggest that your stats are somewhat fictional. However I do agree that the OC are the team to beat as they are the minor premiers, and the Rupo and YV both came home like steam trains. so it is by no means cut and dry. But the OGS know how to win it, and will be hungry for back to back success.
AA17 - Mainly fine on Saturday. I think this means it will favour OGS over OC?? You seem to be changing your mind a little bit on this one. It certainly is a tricky game to pick. Are you locking in OC (as per last post), or on a fine, fast day...may you hoop back up?
Cheers - DG
Archangel17
29 Aug 2006, 18:40
HMM.. i know.. waiver either way..Two very good sides.
maybe i will sit on it .
I stick by YV
. other tip.. will think
Chips. my apols. was not at that game myself , but in another windier part of Melbourne. I can only go by what i have seen from both teams this year(thus I cannot make up my mind) and from the names i saw missing from both teams that day( and who knows they might be missing still come sat) i believe OC were missing more.I do believe both have added 3 with possibly more to come from OC.
Geeves has just rung the supper bell...so i must be quick.
OGS were all over OC that day, however AA17 is correct, some big names were missing. Unfortunatley i think we will have to wait and see who runs out on Saturday as news from both camps seems a little scarce. At a guess, i think the OC will have 6-8 different faces and the OGS 2-3. Whether the different faces are any better than those who lined up...we will just have to be wait and see. One thing we know is that Dolly will not be out there, as for fitness and names of others....time will tell!?!
"Coming Geeves".....(he gets so uptight in finals week!)
Chip & Gravy
30 Aug 2006, 10:57
Fair enough AA17, the Ogs have seemed to have had some ordinary displays mixed in with there better performances. However it seems that everytime OC is down a few players they are said to be having anywhere between 6 & 12 players to "come back in". And possibly due to lack of OG people on this site, we haven't heard any similar excuses from the hoops, so either they have had an extremely good year with injury, or they just get on with the job and cover losses with depth. DG has given us some insight, but considering the time of year I'm doubtful on whether we'll be getting accurate reports on how close sides are to full stength
Thorpedo69
30 Aug 2006, 13:03
Can I please have $2.50 for OGs to beat OC this week? Don't have much cash to play with but am pretty confident of securing myself enough cash for a hot dog after the game!
MC Extra Dollop
30 Aug 2006, 18:39
So the league B&F will come from the following players:
Banyule: Nicholas Taylor
Bulleen-Templestowe: Greg Chivers
Emmaus-St. Leo's: Anthony McKenzie
Old Carey: Stephen Collins, Allister Parton
Old Geelong: Nick Casboult
Old Mentonians: Trent Wiltshire
Prahran: Leigh Northway
Rupertswood: David Collins
Therry Penola: Mark Faroldi
Yarra Valley: Robin Drew
Don't know how to frame a market, so I'll just rank what order I reckon they'll finish in (remembering that Parton and Collins have the same votes):
1. Nick Casboult
2. Greg Chivers
3. Rob Drew
4. Stephen Collins, Al Parton
6. Trent Wiltshire
7. David Collins
8. Anthony McKenzie
9. Mark Faroldi
10. Leigh Northway
11. Nicholas Taylor
What do ya reckon? Obviously there will be some players from the top teams in between, but just looking at the leaders, that's how I reckon they'll poll in order. Any info on who the MVPs will be?
1. Nick Casboult
2. Greg Chivers
3. Rob Drew
4. Stephen Collins, Al Parton
6. Trent Wiltshire
7. David Collins
8. Anthony McKenzie
9. Mark Faroldi
10. Leigh Northway
11. Nicholas Taylor
Wouldn't mind these four in a boxed quinella. Have been saying Collins (OC) and Chivers all year, so i will stick with them as my equal 1, 2.
Cheers - DG
Archangel17
30 Aug 2006, 19:21
Looking at those names.
1 R Drew
2 Chivers
3 S Collins/Parton
4 Casboult
5 D Collins
6 Northway
7 Wiltshire
8 Mckenzie
9 Taylor
10 Faroldi
also on the basis that other names will pop up inbetween.. just not sure if Collins S can get enough if Parton has that many, though they could have 22, 23 votes each. would that be enough? I think R Drew with that info, as Chivers will also lose votes to others, as will Casboult
MC Extra Dollop
30 Aug 2006, 22:02
Surely Ash Drew would have to be taking some votes off Rob Drew? Valoppi is a gun as well and could also get in the teens for votes, based on what I've seen. Anyway, with the Carey boys tying on votes, it could be shades of Miller and Kelleher (I think it was Kelleher anyway) last year tying for the award...
Archangel17
30 Aug 2006, 22:14
Ash Drew could definitely takes some votes of Rob. I do wonder though if it may also work in his favour here. It may appear he is picking up 55 possessions instead of 30 , particularly if he is the brother remembered more easily by the umpires? Will be a top effort by OC pair if they pull it off. Just not sure it could happen again. I could be wrong.
Bede me up
31 Aug 2006, 10:59
Very confident in tipping the OC to prevail this week and secure a place in C grade.
Less confident about tipping YV, but that's what I'm going to do.
Archangel17
31 Aug 2006, 12:07
Ok, i have to make up my mind.
Sitting here looking at the beautiful weather and the warm sun, i wish i was outside my office, hmm maybe a beer garden beckons for lunch.
OC v OGS.- I have been unable to make up my mind on this one. From my viewings of both sides during the season i leant a fair bit(like 8 goals) towards OC. The rumoured season ending injury to Parton has knocked this margin back a couple of goals. The recent comfortable win by OGS, knocked it back a few more. The wide open spaces of Junction, and the magnificent weather took it back even more. Suddenly i had an OGS win by 18 pts. Then i thought of all the OC boys reading about everyone predicting their demise. No Parton- No Carey, and the sound of blood boiling could be heard in Perth. HMM..
OC by 3pts - reasoning . Very good football side. More than just their skipper, have many other very good players, and think if Parton is missing this may in fact push his side to an extra effort above and beyond. Believe it may also be a fallacy that wide open spaces dont suit. They play most of their home games, where they are undefeated, on the wide open spaces of the front Bulleen oval. Whilst not in the league of COMO this oval is not dwarfed by Junction, and i think is bigger than Sunbury.
Game 2, i stick by Yarra
Ok, i have to make up my mind.
Sitting here looking at the beautiful weather and the warm sun, i wish i was outside my office, hmm maybe a beer garden beckons for lunch.
OC v OGS.- I have been unable to make up my mind on this one. From my viewings of both sides during the season i leant a fair bit(like 8 goals) towards OC. The rumoured season ending injury to Parton has knocked this margin back a couple of goals. The recent comfortable win by OGS, knocked it back a few more. The wide open spaces of Junction, and the magnificent weather took it back even more. Suddenly i had an OGS win by 18 pts. Then i thought of all the OC boys reading about everyone predicting their demise. No Parton- No Carey, and the sound of blood boiling could be heard in Perth. HMM..
OC by 3pts - reasoning . Very good football side. More than just their skipper, have many other very good players, and think if Parton is missing this may in fact push his side to an extra effort above and beyond. Believe it may also be a fallacy that wide open spaces dont suit. They play most of their home games, where they are undefeated, on the wide open spaces of the front Bulleen oval. Whilst not in the league of COMO this oval is not dwarfed by Junction, and i think is bigger than Sunbury.
Game 2, i stick by Yarra
good work Arch. u've obviously put alot of thought into this. i'd have to agree with u hands down. come on OC !!!
Moss Rocket
31 Aug 2006, 12:49
Old Carey in a thriller - 5 pts
Rupo by 4 goals.
Don't think OC boys will win B&F if they have best two players tied. Combined they will be pretty good, but think Chivers may win it.
Moss on
sideshowbob
31 Aug 2006, 13:28
i think it's fair to say, and i am stating what blind freddy could see, but both games should be crackers.
with predicted wheather looking good, we should see two faced paced highly skilled hard at it games of footy.
I can't wait, the oc v ogs game, oh so much at stake, c grade next year for one of these teams at the end of the day, the other a possible straight sets exit.
Ogs wouldn't want to be playing the valleys in the 2nd week, with the form agaist them this year,then again neither side would want to play the small flett footed boys from sunbury in a must win game either.
still not convinced that the big boy from the Oc won't be there, but they have quality all around the park to make inroads to his brillance and leadership,
If chivers is to win the b&f he would want to have a big big lead heading into the last four rounds, couldn't see him polling any in three heavy losses and a tight loss agaist the Om's away.
any whoever does achieve this award it will be well deserved and they are some many very good footballers running around in D1 this year.
It's been a fantastic year, lots of highs and lows for everyteam,
sideshow wishes all involved in finals both 1s and 2s the very best with their quest for the ultimate glory.:) :thumbsu:
sideshowbob
31 Aug 2006, 13:41
my tip for the b&f would be nick casboult. Have $100 at 6-1 for me DG-MAN
Casboult.N - 19 votes
Collins.S - 18 votes
Parton. A - 18 votes
Collins.D - 17 votes.
Mark Harvey
31 Aug 2006, 15:38
Old Carey in a thriller - 5 pts
Rupo by 4 goals.
Don't think OC boys will win B&F if they have best two players tied. Combined they will be pretty good, but think Chivers may win it.
Moss on
bright spark i think you'll find Parton from OC won goal kicking, not most votes, trix for young players
Nice pick up Harvs! Hadn't thought of that one either!
Seems my Collins (OC) and Chivers double is looking good. Forgot that Parton would be there for the goalkicking and not the B&F.
Still waiting on plenty of tips: Leader MJS2 and chasers Ugly, Is that So, Hansie and Bullant10 being the most crucial.
At the moment - 6 tips in 5/1 in favour of OC and 3/3 in the 1st Semi.
Are we 100% sure that both games are on Saturday???? All other sections have one Saturday and 1 Sunday. Reading a footy mag today, it said 1st Semi on Sunday. Can i have confirmation from the smartest cookie in the jar please??
Re training tonight. Geeves will be everywhere. Teams will be listed as soon as they come to hand!
Cheers - DG
St.Kev's Cowboy
31 Aug 2006, 16:18
Two big games this week as we all know, it will be interesting to see if selection throws up any suprises/disappointments - I'll take a stab in the dark and suggest they will.
I think Carey will just get over Geelong although I wouldn't be shocked by any means to see the Oggers do the double jump (as opposed to the double drop) in a nail biter. I don't think we can take much out of the last game as neither was apparently at full strength.
The loser of this will face a running, running and running youthful Rupo side who I think will enjoy the lovely finals weather and open spaces at the Snake Pit. Having said that, reading previous reports from the BT v Rupo game suggest they have upped the ante in terms of hardness and aggression which will only benefit them in the finals series. I'm not taking anything away from YV here, have been an admirer of their season thus far, but I think Rupo will be too good on the day.
Interesting to see the highest vote getters from C-D4 grades posted on VAFA site. I guess this means a winner will come from Parton/Collins, Casboult, Chivers, D.Collins or Drew. I'm gonna go with either Casboult or Drew. I think they were in the top few for number of times in best.
Good luck to all those playing this weekend. Hope those that aren't had a cracker on Mad Monday!
Ride on train, ride on.
Moss Rocket
31 Aug 2006, 16:19
bright spark i think you'll find Parton from OC won goal kicking, not most votes, trix for young players
brighter spark, so why aren't Sharp and Edwards invited? Trix for smart a$$es.
Chip & Gravy
31 Aug 2006, 16:56
The B&F is hard to pick this year, but I think that it's a race in 2 between Collins and Casbolt. They're both prolific ball winners in the centre and own the corridor for there respective teams. They both stand out in different ways. I think Casbolt will take the honours just, due to greater effectiveness and has the ability to go fwd or back in key positions when required, which is sure to really catch the umpires eye. DG, how far have the odds blown out on the Hoops since the tips have come in??? I've decided to jump right on board the Ogs banwagon with you, so if the odds are lengthening I want some more action.
MC Extra Dollop
31 Aug 2006, 17:53
VOTE COUNT - YOUR CLUB'S HIGHEST VOTE WINNERS ANNOUNCED!
OLD CAREY - Stephen Collins
OLD CAREY- Allister Parton
Hmmm, you're right Harvs, not sure where I got the idea that Parton was equal with Collins as OC's highest vote getter...
Is that so
31 Aug 2006, 18:56
Nice pick up Harvs! Hadn't thought of that one either!
Seems my Collins (OC) and Chivers double is looking good. Forgot that Parton would be there for the goalkicking and not the B&F.
Still waiting on plenty of tips: Leader MJS2 and chasers Ugly, Is that So, Hansie and Bullant10 being the most crucial.
At the moment - 6 tips in 5/1 in favour of OC and 3/3 in the 1st Semi.
Are we 100% sure that both games are on Saturday???? All other sections have one Saturday and 1 Sunday. Reading a footy mag today, it said 1st Semi on Sunday. Can i have confirmation from the smartest cookie in the jar please??
Re training tonight. Geeves will be everywhere. Teams will be listed as soon as they come to hand!
Cheers - DG
Sorry DG though the tipping was over for the season:
OC will win
Rupo will win
OG will beat Rupo
and OC will win Flag
B & F
Best player in comp at the moment is Collins (OC) by a fair bit IMO.
Chivers was awesome for about 6-7 weeks and and will Poll very well, needs to be in front early as last 4- 5 weeks he was well under done.
cant have casboult saw him 3 times and was solid in 3 of the 3 but not BOG in any.
Collins of Rupo strong.
uglydermie
31 Aug 2006, 19:24
Ugly still sooking..... Hopefully will come good once the prozac kicks in (Dr said could take a week when heavy grief is involved)!
On to this week. I have seen all BUT OGS recently so for what is it worth:
Old Carey by 25 point (even with out Dolly). Hoops have no one to stop Collins - not that they are on their own there...
Rupo by 80 points (I genuinely belive this - they were very good last week and Yarra want be able to get close to them). - Ugly happy to take $$ on this if someone wants to offer odds!
thanks for listening...thanks for caring.....love you all....
Carey easily
Ruppo will destroy yarra
but who cares......
Nah good luck to all in finals still cant believe bullants not in.....:eek:
kingbrown
31 Aug 2006, 22:48
Selection night on finals, what a nightmare for the coaches. I'm with Ugly, i love you all but i have to go and have another VB. This was a very difficult night, not easy.
My tips Rupo, we are looking very,very good IMO.
The other game i don't give a stuff because barring injury we currently have the ability to beat anyone.
I honestly believe YV are the side that would hold the least fears playing us, hopefully they are in for a shock.
Watch out for our reserves, just very quietely!!!!!
Richard Clay Torpedoes
1 Sep 2006, 10:20
Just dropping down a Section briefly to pass on a tip regarding the VAFA Section vote counts...treat with caution the teams who have had two names listed on the Ammos website...it could in fact be that both players poll extremely well and one of the two or both win or finsh very high in the count...my mail is the Ammos are not giving everything away!
Been great reading the D Section thread throughout the year.
Best of luck to all teams/clubs in the finals
RCT
Interesting thoughts RCT. Very interesting indeed. With OC winning 15 games, you can expect enough votes to enable either of their stars to win. However the other 4 leading clubs with "Rock the Cazboult", The Helmetted Chiv", "The other Drew" and "The other Collo" all being come alone attendees....it is a difficult one to pick.
I think everyone concedes that the OC's Collo is the premier player in the comp in 06, however i am just not sure he stands out as obviously as Parton and Chivers do.
I'm going with Chivers. Yes he will need to be out in front early as he tailed a little. But remember BT won plenty of games early and he seemed to star in all of them. Does not hurt wearing a helmet and shaking the umpys hand before a game each week.
DG says:
Chivers - 20
Casboult/Drew/Parton/Collins/Collins - 17
Geeves has told me that the OGS welcome back 3 important ins for the weekends game. White, Munro and Paul seem to back in the side. This is not 100% guaranteed, as Geeves only sourced this info by bribing an official with a plate of scones. With the respect Geeves scones have at Como, it is unsure whether the unamed official gave up the correct info...or was just desperate for a plate of Geeves gourmet delights!
Down at Bulleen, the selection committee toiled long and hard. A few key ins, plenty of ressies players putting thier hands up...but definately no Parton. Still waiting for spy tape footage re final side. Geeves bugged the committee room where coach Matthews and crew were deciding the final 22. Is looking to retrieve the tapes this afternoon.
Cheers - DG
Half Back
1 Sep 2006, 11:37
Half Back's Finals Tips
First Semi
YV V Rupo.... Yv in a close one by 3 Goals
Second Semi...
OC V OG... Another close one OG the first through to C Grade by 4 Goals
Cheers
Half Back
Firstly DG, Geeves must've been in the wrong place last night! We don't have a committee room at Bulleen. Kanga and Co pick the sides while standing out on the landing outside the clubrooms. Makes it interesting for the blokes in the club that smoke - they get first hand knowledge of the sides!
For what its worth, we'll get over OGS - in a close one. Hopefully we can do the double and win in the 2s as well.
Meanwhile, I tend to lean towards Rupo in the first semi - think the warmer weather will favour their running style of footy more so that Yarra's stoppage-type, arm wrestle style. Again, not too much in it and I wouldn't be surprised if Yarra beat them at all!
A well-stacked Mentonians Ressies will get through and await the loser of us and Oggers.
Good luck!
Cheers,
I think Old Carey will win, show why it finished on top of the ladder and why its overall evenness will set it apart. Parton's apparent injury will hurt, and I see this as being some issue for them but the back up in Bull, White and Angus might still stretch a somewhat brittle OG's defence in my opinion, as will the penetrating kicking of Collins, while Tiras' addition to the upfront cavalry has also been significant.
The midfield will be where the game will be won, and some great battles will be seen with the likes of James (massively underrated in my opinion), Howgate (a super addition), Angus (excellent shadower) and of course Collins coming up against the OG's strong on ball brigade of Casboult, Bayles, Bell etc. The mix of size, strength and speed in both sides will be imperative here, but I just feel like the balance is slightly better with OC hence finishing significantly clear on top.
The OG's forward line can rotate and score heavily - and damn quickly. The Hyphen, along with messrs O'Brien & Kimpton, and Bell provide the class from on the ball will be difficult to contain. But the mid sized defenders of Old Carey are solid if not spectacular, and might be able to hold the varied OG's attack.
In terms of style, the OG's blatantly shovel backwards, to try and create the man with vision running forward to hit leading targets. It's interesting given the size and strength of many of its onballers, but it also plays into the strength of its backline in having the capacity to run off in numbers.
Conversely, the strength and speed of the Carey on ballers will often see them take players on, and with devastating effect. This is where the likes of Howgate and James have really strengthened the OC midfield, along with Collins. It is the area thought that with the size and strength of it'smidfield, the OG's may be able to hold them up and then unleash its own game to effect.
The midifeld battle is critical, as I think OC are better up front and have a better, more organised defence from a defensive point of view compared to OG's attacking style. OG's really need to win the battle in here, and should they do that, then the hoops hitting C Grade are a possibility.
But I just feel that some of the older heads in the OC, having played higher level footy and having I believe superior ability over the park, will prevail by about 25 points.
As for the Bushrangers and Rupo, I must confess to having more of a gut feel with how you look at this one, as I've Rupo a really hard side to put a finger on.
They are not that big, but they hold their ground well over the ball. Their defence seems stretched height and strength wise, yet they have the ability to get a fist on the footy. Their skill level appeared ordinary (note we played them on the wet day, so can't comment like the BT boys from last week who'll differ), but yet they seem to score heavily.
They are the ultimate conundrum.
The upside, and the thing they do well, is run well in numbers, rotate heavily through the midfield, have an even multi dimensional forward line and are almost impossible to shut out by focusing on one or two players.
The Bushrangers, well you;ve got to give them respect for the effort to make the Finals after being written off pre-season and after their disastrous start.
The evenness that exists with the other three finalists I don't believe is the same, but the star quality in a few players is exceptional when they are on and haven't they been on lately.
The Drew borthers in the midfield have been spoken about ad nauseum, but it is their contrasting styles that makes them so dangerous. Ash is brilliant at getting in and under, extracting the footy to a teammate in a better position by hand or forcing it forward by foot. Rob is equally as hard, with the same hard ball winning capacity but can break a pack, as well as roll back across half back and provide a thorn in the forward line of an opposition but winning and using the footy deep.
Valoppi is so underrated in this comp, hard, skilful, gets on the end of it, and has a huge enigine. And it is these three in the midfield that hold the key to their fortunes, along with Hancock who needs to play in the ruck apologies Toohas. In these four players, they can dominate the midfield for extended periods with their hardness, skill level and will to win the footy. I know Rupo have some good smalls, but these guys strength, speed and second and third efforts are difficult to stop and I believe are a little more complete than the six or seven Rupo rotate through there. Rupo could do worse than to work hard to tire this crew out through rotations and try and take advantage when they're off the ball.
Up forward Le Cordier and Keem provide great targets. Big admirer of Le Cordier, leads genuinely, with pace, adn attacks the footy with eyes only for it and is a beautiful kick. As for Keem, a true key forward in every sense of the word, but his yips are as bad as you'd see and if he's off, it could spell danger. Wonder how happily he'll be driving that really "super" Lancer of his with the Keema number plates! Stone is the other one up forward - clever, attacks the pill and the man hard and is probably going to be difficult to stop from kicking two or three, been consistent all season.
Defensively YV are a little brittle, and the even spread of goalkickers Rupo consistently has will be the YV Achilles Heel, as they do have a couple of defenders that can be exploited. This will be critical and provide Rupo with plenty of opportunities to score even if forays inside 50 are limited.
It's a really tough call this one, but YV have stepped up to the mark, have some tall forwards that will make it tough and as long as its midfield quartet dominate for long enough patches, they might just get over the line against a Rupo side who as long as they keep coming will be so very close.
YV by a point.
Chip & Gravy
1 Sep 2006, 14:16
Great Analysis Midas, very insightful (obviously you're not the quill), its interesting to see the game through a coaches eyes. If you were coaching against these sides (OGS & OC), which players would you be trying to shut down? Would it be just the obvious ones??
Monkeyboy
1 Sep 2006, 15:27
Enjoyable read everyone. Think Old Carey will win as they have been the best side all year. Rupo will beat YV as they are fast and confident and will be too slick for Valley unless it rains.
Think Carey and Geelong will go up. They will play off in both senior and reserves grand finals.
Winner of the B&F - Drew YV and Collins Rupo
Good luck to all the players and teams. It has been fun reading all the posts through the year. Geeves and Sandra Sully the funnyiest stuff.
Mate, with 1 win, 7 losses against these mobs, is my opinion worth that much?
In all honesty, I would look at a key few, but it would be more about implementing a game plan to counteract the style of play you're up against.
Collins I'd have a run with player, told not to worry about the footy too much and make sure every touch he gets is under pressure. But what you do there is negate your own ability to win the footy, so I'd instruct him to try and stand between Colllins and where he thinks the footy will go at any stoppage, with a hand on, but not get sucked in unless he was supremely confident he'd take the ball quickly - because the quick squirt will kill you. A lot of it gets back to fanataical tackling from your half forward line, so I'd be inclined to roll a predominantly defensive player on to the half forward line with the role of crashing the contest, and hunting them down from behind, try and create perceived pressure. This would be the same for both these sides.
But rather than players, it's a style of play that may well determine the result. How well you implement it might make the difference.
See for instance with OG's, if they tackle well around the stoppages and can stop the ball being cleared by pack-breakers and force spills to where they have numbers at the rear of the pack (or fwd for Carey), they could really cause some problems by winning some clean possesions after turnovers strictly by weight of numbers.
If however, Carey start to look backwards, and handball away from the contest, they could really expose OG's propensity to sit off the footy around the contest - meaning plenty of uncontested, clean footy for the likes of Collins, James etc who are penetrating kicks
But the key thing here is still always winning the footy first, and then making sure you use it as effectively as possible.
Then about how you can break sides down. Be it defensive run, be it allowing a run at all coast mentality or a crowded, stay at home defensive mentality. Up forward, against both these sides I'd back their forward lines one out so I'd try and separate them as much as possible, as they tend to assist each other pretty well so I'd have the forwards own their own space but stay well and truly clear of others, as both have five or six who could kick five or six. This also creates confiusion and allows more accountablility on rebound from defence. It's always horses for courses, but being able to slightly tweak your own basic game plan is usually the key to getting over the line.
My two cents worth anyway
Chip & Gravy
1 Sep 2006, 16:07
Do you think these 2 sides will go relatively head to head? I think that both sides will back themselves in, in the one on one contests, so it could be an attacking game.
If it comes to which side can tweak it's structure to gain the advantage, then I think the OGS will win out, as they seem to have an extremely flexible side with many players who can hold down various positions. From reading what a few others think, if OC can settle, and there structure is right from the 1st bounce then the damage could be already done.
If it's a close game, or even close at half time, expect the OGS to be the first promoted to C Grade, as they have come home strong all year by all accounts.
Monkeyboy
1 Sep 2006, 16:17
Do you think these 2 sides will go relatively head to head? I think that both sides will back themselves in, in the one on one contests, so it could be an attacking game.
If it comes to which side can tweak it's structure to gain the advantage, then I think the OGS will win out, as they seem to have an extremely flexible side with many players who can hold down various positions. From reading what a few others think, if OC can settle, and there structure is right from the 1st bounce then the damage could be already done.
If it's a close game, or even close at half time, expect the OGS to be the first promoted to C Grade, as they have come home strong all year by all accounts.
Gravyman, you are an OGS through and through and know exactly how your side has been coming home. I'm sure you will deny it, but it is sooooo obvious. Deny it all you want, but you will be the first one showing your true colours when the season is over and OGS are in C Grade. Nothing wrong with laying low, but you don't do it very well.
Conduct Unbecoming
1 Sep 2006, 17:09
Old Carey and Rupertswood.
Chip & Gravy
1 Sep 2006, 17:23
I am quite happy to run with this accusation. At least I now have a team in the finals!
In all seriousness, I guess I am going for Ogs, but only because I simply don't do things in halves, I said they would win, and I'm explaining why.
I think that you might have been reading too many of your little sisters text messages when you chose to emphasise sooooooooo the way you do.......... All i'm doing is providing some opinions on what I know about rather than what I don't know about......
Chip & Gravy
1 Sep 2006, 17:42
Or is Gravy Man Geeves??????
kingbrown
1 Sep 2006, 18:01
What's amazing about Rupo really is that no one really has an idea about them. I've read some stuff on players that is not even close, it is very interesting that Midas calls us a conundrum!! All other sides there seems to be a close analysis of key players. I am not sure they are accurate however there seems to be alot more knowledge of them.
DG Man has seen us out our best twice and at our worst once, i am quivering with excitement and anticipation of the Rupo side that runs out tomorrow.
Good Luck to all.
Rupo to win
And Chips and Gravy is as Ogs as i am OC- except in the name of course
Hi all. Geeves is picking me up in the "stretch" in about 5 minutes and we are headed down to the Toorak Lion to talk turkey. Two large whiteboards, magnets with 44 players pencilled in on them (Geeves also bugged the smokers balcony and has the OC team lists Mr Hansie. Very interesting stuff OC. Very interesting indeed!)
Nothing like a finals eve drink and "talk the tactics" dinner. Everyone enjoy your finals eve festivities. We know we will!
Still waiting on Bullants tips to finish it off.
At present OC have a 11/3 split and Rupo a 9/5 split.
Latest markets can't split the teams in the second semi, whilst Rupo remain strong favourites in the first semi.
Good Luck to all participants. May the better sides win!
Cheers - DG
Thorpedo69
2 Sep 2006, 11:33
DG Man,
Will be looking out for you at the Junction today. Any tips on your appearance?
Trueblueroo
9 Sep 2006, 19:01
D1 Section
Preliminary Final
RUPERTSWOOD AFC 2.6 7.9 12.12 14.15 (99)
OLD GEELONG FC 3.2 4.5 5.9 8.14 (62)
Goals: Ruperts: Quigley 7 Boxall 2 Burrowes 2 Bishop 2 Gaunt..
Old Geel: Kimpton 2 Dah 2 Cox Wilson McCarthy Bell.
Best:
Ruperts: J Phillips Quigley Sweeney Bishop Ata D Collins.
Old Geel: Bell Gates McCarthy Legoe Lansdell Cox.
uglydermie
9 Sep 2006, 21:51
saw the game- Ugly likes the way rupo play. Big test for them next week.
(I think a few punters are on to my true identity) - Good luck to both clubs involved next week.
Cheers #23
Well done Rupo. Convincing and emphatic win. Terribly disappointed with the OGS. Like last week, they started strong and lead at quarter time despite kicking into a 4 goal breeze. Lansdell was steady down back, Bell, McCarthy and Bayles were winning ball and Wilson and in particular V-W were presenting well up forward. Rupo were a little wasteful early. Hatty looked very dangerous across half forward. The second quarter was all Rupo. Kicking into the wind they dominated play. Collins was the general, Phillips and Boxall the strength, and a host of runners that would take me 10 minutes to type all their names.
Kicking with the wind in the 3rd, Rupo had it in the bag. The Quig and the Bish were rampant. Rupo runners were just everywhere. OGS looked a little old, slow and sore.
For OGS, the season ends in a disappointing fashion. Promotion to C-Grade required just 1 victory against 2 teams thay had beaten once during the year. With the OGS depth and talented list, they should be a powerhouse in D1 next year and will hopefully join OC and Rupo in C-Grade in 08.
For Rupo, next week will be a massive opportunity to ice thier fantastic year. If playing in C-Grade next year wasn't enough, i'm sure even their most loyal supporters (AND THEY HAD PLENTY TODAY!) didn't dare dream of a flag after only gaining promotion to D1 last year.
Next week will be a ripper. OC have the hardness over the ball that OGS don't posses. They will be a harder proposition for Rupo. In saying that, Rupo are quick and the Preston City Oval is wide. I will be talking tactics and game plans with Geeves all week. Tips and match ups to follow.
Cheers - DG
Tiges Alive
9 Sep 2006, 23:35
Ugly, you will always be one of the most influentual ammo players I have played with. In my mind one of the greatest ever to pull on derme's number. Between Doug Searl and yourself simply insirational
Gilbert's Mate
kangaman06
10 Sep 2006, 01:09
Big question for all Rupo people here, will the sween machine (simon sweeney)play in the g/f? Heard some work commitments may force him out of the game??? His finals form has been fantastic, not bad for someone who looks old enough to have fathered some of the Rupo boys as someone here said about him. Where's that tool now??
kingbrown
10 Sep 2006, 13:50
Huge night for Rupo. Can anyone confirm if we are a soft or hard side? You blokes who said we were soft want to have a good look at your own side. Rupo were magnificent. Our tackling was superb. If we lift to the skill level we showed against BT two weeks ago we can win it. Our skills have to be up there and our conversion has to be good. The club is very happy to be in "C" grade in 2007 but the players are genuinely hungry for the premiership.
Ugly, i looked for you in the bar yesterday but you weren't there. I am very crook today there must have been something in the VB Can. I asked the bartender if she was ugly but she again denied it.
Bad luck to OG but you were very convincingly beaten and if it wasn't for NO.6 the result would have been 15 goals.
kingbrown
10 Sep 2006, 22:17
It is interesting the last 6 pages have been taken off the thread, i would assume it is over what was discussed about incidents in the OG OC game. Can anyone enlighten me?
I hope the thread has a bit of bite this week in what has been a fantastic season of footy. We are happy to be underdogs at Rupo, as Carey deserve favoritism as they deserved favoritism before our Round 6 match. Rupo was 50-1 after Round 15 by memory, it would have been nice to be on us then. It is interesting a side i believed were very good, kicked 20 goals against us (St. Leos) in both games are now in D2 and we are in C, also Banyule were under 10 points against us in both games. Testimony to the evenness of the competition, and testimony to the fabric at Rupo.
Monkeyboy
11 Sep 2006, 08:29
Nothing to with any incident KB. Bigfooty crashed and every thread has lost a week or so.
Tipping Ladder
MJS2 (0) 47
UglyDermie (1) 47
Bede Me Up (1) 46
Is That So (Did Not Tip) 46
Hansie (Did Not Tip) 46
DG - OUT OF CONTENTION!!!
So it looks like it has come down to a BT vs BT confontation! BT were all pretty impressed with Rupo in round 18, so i would not be suprised to see them fancied by our leaders in the big one. However the OC have been the form team all year, finishing 3 games clear and having a nice 1 week break to refresh.
Should be a great game. DG is out of the tipping comp, however i will still select this week.
OC by 3 points.
Could go either way, but safer to go with the form side all year!
Cheers - DG
Tipping Ladder
MJS2 (0) 47
UglyDermie (1) 47
Bede Me Up (1) 46
Is That So (Did Not Tip) 46
Hansie (Did Not Tip) 46
DG - OUT OF CONTENTION!!!
So it looks like it has come down to a BT vs BT confontation! BT were all pretty impressed with Rupo in round 18, so i would not be suprised to see them fancied by our leaders in the big one. However the OC have been the form team all year, finishing 3 games clear and having a nice 1 week break to refresh.
Should be a great game. DG is out of the tipping comp, however i will still select this week.
OC by 3 points.
Could go either way, but safer to go with the form side all year!
Cheers - DG
I'll also get in early (as I missed last week). Pretty obvious who I'll be going for, however I'll make it all official, and say that we'll get up. (We being OC - and I'm not giving a margin, as a point will be good enough - just ask the mighty Swannies!)
Cheers,
uglydermie
11 Sep 2006, 14:13
I will take Rupo and hope MJS2 takes OC so we can have a winner.
very hard to select the winner and both sides are very different which makes it more interesting. Very funny to suggest (and correct me if you think I am wrong) but the top sides would have been happy to see the end of us (BT) but as it had turned out we (BT) may have been easier to match up on than Rupo. OC may have to pick a completely different team that the one that defeated OG 2 weeks ago - and given carey beat Rupo in round 15 on their small back ground they probably can't take much from the result as Rupo are definately suited to bigger, wider ground - like Preston.
mmmmm should be ripper.
linger_isgod
11 Sep 2006, 14:42
Preston's a pretty weird ground - not all that wide out on the wings. Very much an oval - if you were playing a cricket game there, it'd be very very short straight. As such, there isn't really THAT much room out wide as what there is somewhere like the Junction, which has that more circular shape about it.
However, Preston does have very deep pockets. Grandstand side can become a bit of a dead side too.
Archangel17
11 Sep 2006, 17:34
Saw Preston for the first time in ages on Saturday. I think everyone should take ground size out of the equation. Preston is smaller than Junction where OC smashed the OGS, and lies somewhere in size between the OC main home ground and second ground. Deep Pockets make it seem larger than it really is.
The game will not be won by the ground, but by the two sides that take the field.
We have two Hydras taking the field on Saturday. "Many headed Serpents" Now i am not calling them snakes, but referring to both sides' enviable depth.
Will Rupertswood's fleet footed runners sweep in waves up the ground, providing Sweeney, Quigley and co first use of the ball. Or will Old Carey's hard bodied ball winners win the crucial clearances prviding White, Bull, Angus and co with the footy. This is where the game will be won. Old Carey have an edge in the ruck. Rupertswood in pace.
For Old Carey to win they need to stop Rupertswood's run off the halfback line, and wings. They need to block runners hard and tackle in packs. First in to the ball applies for both sides, however if James, Ratcliffe, Howgate,and Collins can win the ball first and get it to OC own fleet of foot Maslin, Tiras, White,Watts, then the game should be theirs. Easier said than done though.The other thing they need to watch is who plays on D Collins. He is a class act , the quarter-back for Rupertswood and a marking machine, so whoever plays on him has to be very defensively minded. At the same time DCollins is remarkably unaccountable for his defensive matchup. He relies on his amazing ability to read the play. Someone clever enough to exploit this, whilst restricting Collins, could be the matchbreaker. Does this player exist?
Rupertswood are not soft , they are young , but are a tough gritty unit. For them to win, they probably need to accept that Collins will win plenty of the ball, even if tagged. They need to concentrate on Old Carey's next line of onballers and ensure they do not get too much of the ball. Monzell, West and co need to win the clearances, and shark the ball from the OC pair.Rupertswood's forward line as already mentioned can kick enough goals if the ball is brought in quickly. Brennan was one forward i neglected to mention. His goalkicking ability will be very important in what could well be a shootout.D Collins as usual will be a key, sweeping across half back and working as a quarter back. Other half backs and backs will also need to work hard to run off their men as Bull, Angus and Co will not enjoy being run up the field.
In the end it probably comes down to the battle of the mid-fields. Are Rupertswood too quick? Will OC ruckmen dictate the play? Which side is fitter?
My Tip?
OC by 19 pts.
kingbrown
11 Sep 2006, 21:40
Great work angel other than the tip. Enviable depth is the key. You mentioned 11 OC players in your summary against Rupo's 5. What is exciting as good as those 5 you mentioned are there are 17 others on any given day can be just as good and at times better. I said it last week, the players that did not make the side last week will end up top line senior footballers, it has all come together for us, we are very excited. The players that started on the bench last Saturday accumulated over 80 possessions between them, watch out OC.
Archangel17
11 Sep 2006, 21:48
Totally agree. Think it is far harder to pick Rupo's keys(though you will see i did add Brennan) as they have so many who can be THE key on any one game day; a very even , talented well drilled unit. I have gone for OC mainly due to their extra experience, but honestly believe the game could swing either way.
The Tiger's Nuts
11 Sep 2006, 21:54
So! The magoos are OG vs Mentonians on Saturday - will there be a number of OG seniors making the switch to the seconds? I was told yesterday that OG tended to run two separate sides, rather than shuffle players back and forth between ressies and seniors. Wonder how that will affect the game.
Tigernuts
kingbrown
11 Sep 2006, 22:34
Arch i love your work, first of all what i am about to divulge has been approved by the coaching group. Leigh Brennan broke his leg in the second quarter against YV. He is now the players inspiration. He started as an 8 year old at the club , he has blossomed into a brilliant young man who has from an 18 year old led our forward line as its main target. The players love him and he loves them, big dollars has been thrown at Leigh but he has stuck by his mates. If there is a player who deserves to be there its Leigh. He will be there Saturday barracking just as hard as KB, and thats pretty damned hard.
I am 99.9% sure OC knew of this anyway, it is as equal a blow as Parton to OC. I don't how many times this year opposition supporters have said, "gee that No. 8's good."
Yes it was common knowledge at the ground on Saturday. I sent Geeves out looking for him as we couldn't see him on the field. Geeves came back to me with the news all OGS fans wanted to hear..that the gun forward LB was infact at the base of the grandstand, surrounded by his mates, hobbling on crutches.
Unfortunately for OGS, Rupo had plenty to cover him. Like Dolly for Old Carey, Brennan is a big loss, however both sides have plenty of other talented forwards, and i guess one cancels out the other.
Both seem to be well loved at their respective clubs. One thing we can be sure of come final whistle time.....we will see a big forward on crutches, rushing onto the ground, being mobbed by his beloved team mates.
Just who will this forward be???
DG
PS - Tension is building.
bundles
12 Sep 2006, 09:14
This thread has become one big "Lets suck each other off" and talk about Rupos 75 superstars. Carey will smash Rupo on the weekend. Too strong, too skillfull. They love the big ground as much as Rupo and have only lost 3 games for the year.
Well aren't you just a bundle of joy Mr Bundles.
sideshowbob
12 Sep 2006, 09:35
bundles, one of those three games was to rupo by 10 goals, on a warm sunny day, were that running ability really seemed to worry the oc,
only time will tell.
Archangel17
12 Sep 2006, 09:42
MMM. Didnt know about Brennan, probably should have , having been at the game , however was dazzled by other forwards. Both sides will miss a key forward, but as previously mentioned both sides have a lot of depth, and will hold their missing players close to them as they try to win a flag. My one disappointment is that i wont be there myself with other committments, but i rely on other posters, and friends who are going, for a report on what should be a great grand final
kingbrown
12 Sep 2006, 10:22
No need to get angry Bundles, i think more OC superstars have been mentioned than Rupo, everyone acknowledges they are a formidable line up. You are either from OC or just crying over a crap season by your side.
If i could have a dollar for everytime we have been told we will be smashed or we are gone on this thread i'd be very rich.