View Full Version : D GRADE: Give me something...

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22

St.Kev's Cowboy
3 May 2006, 22:08
Any news of injured guns likely to come back into first's sides in the next couple of weeks?

Moss Rocket
3 May 2006, 22:12
Anyone know what happened to Stewart-Holmes from Old Carey? Still playing or O/S? Heard he was one of the better 19s a couple of years ago

Unfortunatley Stewart-Holmes and Tommy Evans will be O/S in England

SKC,

from an earlier thread. Evans was a very good player (top 3-4 IMO) Stewart-Holmes, pretty good. Not in the best 12, but certainly a senoir player.:thumbsu:

Moss Rocket
3 May 2006, 22:17
Any news of injured guns likely to come back into first's sides in the next couple of weeks?

Old Carey have plenty to come in. Side in round 1 vs Yarra Valley had 2 players only from the semi final team last year. I think 4 came back last week, and they have another 6-8 to come back over the next 6 weeks, with another few expected back mid-late year (work / OS committments)
Current team is pretty good. There 3-4 best players are playing, with the rest a very even unit. Not sure even if people return whether the side will change too much. I think the Ressies this year will therefore be very strong.

hansie
4 May 2006, 11:22
Old Carey have plenty to come in. Side in round 1 vs Yarra Valley had 2 players only from the semi final team last year. I think 4 came back last week, and they have another 6-8 to come back over the next 6 weeks, with another few expected back mid-late year (work / OS committments)
Current team is pretty good. There 3-4 best players are playing, with the rest a very even unit. Not sure even if people return whether the side will change too much. I think the Ressies this year will therefore be very strong.

Spot on there Moss, we have so many blokes atm that we don't know what to do with 'em all! May have to revive Clubbies, up to 10 blokes missing 2's each week (same with 19s..)

Moss Rocket
4 May 2006, 16:36
Real shame about the clubbies. They have battled for a few years when numbers were down. Now we have up to 20 players missing selection in 2's and 19's each week, plus the dozen or so who would have played clubbies.
Anyway, we certainly have depth, but as i said before, our best players are playing at present, and even though we have plenty to return, i'm not sure how much better we will get. Big game this week against Mentone @ Mentone. They have started the year well, and i think would have there hopes set on a finish between 3-5. So a win away there would be a very good one. Fingers crossed!

hansie
4 May 2006, 16:53
Real shame about the clubbies. They have battled for a few years when numbers were down. Now we have up to 20 players missing selection in 2's and 19's each week, plus the dozen or so who would have played clubbies.
Anyway, we certainly have depth, but as i said before, our best players are playing at present, and even though we have plenty to return, i'm not sure how much better we will get. Big game this week against Mentone @ Mentone. They have started the year well, and i think would have there hopes set on a finish between 3-5. So a win away there would be a very good one. Fingers crossed!

Thanks mate, hope we can bring home the bikkies from down Keysy way this Sat. As for the CLubbies, something may be happening very soon - watch this space I guess...

Midas
5 May 2006, 18:01
Here's the mail this week:

Therry, early seaon pacesetter, will win comfortably at home against Leos whose best will be vewry competitive despite an ordinary start.
Careys "cavalcade of superstars" (at least according to this forum!) will get them over the line against Mentone, should be too physical believe it or not with Dolly back.
Prahran will be the upset of the round at home over Rupo, have a feeling they'll improve massively this week and Rupo have limped in twice.
OG's track out to Domeney for a tough one against the Valley boys who won't be the easybeats many are predicting - similar list to last two years and they've been more than competitive but OG's in a tight one.
And Bulleen Temp might just have too many weapons for the young Banyule Bears.

See how we go eh!!! Dont say I wasn't right!

Moss Rocket
5 May 2006, 18:14
Moss Rockets thinks:

Therry by 50
Rupo by 24
OGS by 15
Mentone by 6
BT by 50

hansie
5 May 2006, 18:48
Therry, Rupertswood, Old Geelong, Bull- Temp and hopefully we'll get over the line against Mentone

Is that so
5 May 2006, 19:14
St Leos struggling,this will make it 0-3 and fighting out relegation with Prahran and Banyule.
Therry by: 32

Carey will have to do more before I join their band wagon, over confident, over rated.
Mentone by: 8 pts.

Prahran can't get worse and all the Ruppo hype must inspire Prahran to perform far better close one.
Prahran by: 1pt.

Old geelong to big to strong by 36pts over Yarra.
Old Geelong: 36 pts.

Banyule will need the home ground advantge to keep the margin under 10 goals, Bulleen temp greter depth of talent.
Bulleen temp by 42pts.

uglydermie
5 May 2006, 21:20
This thread is kicking #%$#! Keep up the good work...
Ugly reckons:

St Leos to make a stand. Can win this and will! ST L by 15

Mentone better at home but not good enough to beat OC. OC x 36

Ruppo to beat Prahran (but another win that wont mean much) by 40

OGs to win by 30.

Bullants should beat the Bears and with 5 positive changes at the selection table the margin could be more than 50 points.

Good luck to all concerned.

Ugly loves sitting back on Friday night enjoying a couple of quiet ales only to wish that he was still young enough to pull the boots on for his beloved ANTS....

Moss Rocket
5 May 2006, 23:06
Old Carey aint over confident. Don't worry about that. It wasn't thatl ong ago we were in G Grade with 25 guys playing. Club is improving, numbers are great and we would love to get to C Grade.
Yes there are a few blokes pumping them up on Bigfooty, but that's what bigfooty is all about. Most of the guys don't even play.
Like Ugly, i would love to pulling on the boots tomorrow. Unfortunately, a little old, a little slow and a large bit too fat!

Go C's

DG-Man
6 May 2006, 20:58
Wow, what a forum i've just found. Love D Grade Amatuer footy.
Big matches today. YV upset OGS by 8 goals. Rupo and BT get up. Old Carey win by 6 and Therry remain undefeated. My spies tell me that OGS were hopeless. YV poor start to the season may be a reflection of the cattle thay had in the first 2 rounds, rather than what we can expect of them over the whole season. BT get up again in a close one. Not playing all that well yet, when they click, they will be better.
DG-Man thinks top 4 will be Therry, OC, BT and OGS.
Big game next week. OC v Therry will be a ripper. Think Therry may be the team to beat this year. Look for BT, Rupo, OGS and Leos to also notch up wins.

Keep posting lads. The more talk, the more intersting it all becomes!

uglydermie
6 May 2006, 21:02
good work DG man. Did you see a game?

DG-Man
6 May 2006, 21:13
Didn't see a D Grade today. Was watching Old Xavs v O-Tri. Have been reading through this thread. You are a BT man. I think they will have a good year this year. You guys, OC and OGS were all pretty even a few years back and the nucleas of all 3 teams remain. Rupo and Therry are interesting ones. Might try and catch the OC v Therry next week. Should be ripper. Winner may have claims to be early flag fav. Never seen Rupo play. Can't knock 3-0. SHould be a massive year.

uglydermie
6 May 2006, 21:18
good to see the hedge burners beat xavs. that is good for football.
Enjoy the thread!

DG-Man
6 May 2006, 21:30
Moss Rocket,
I thought you were an OC man. What you doing tipping Mentone.?Tell me your not one of those who picks with the head and not the heart??
Old C,s "rocketing" to 3-0. You think thay can beat Therry next week. Will be a beauty.

Old Warrior
7 May 2006, 20:29
Played against Carey in 98 when they won the flag in one of the E grades. Had a guy playing FF then called Matthew Spencer, should have kicked 100 if he had played a full season. I had a really good battle with him both times we played. Is he playing for anyone now? It surprised me following the progress of Carey in the years after 98 that they didn't progress up the grades more because although we were only playing E grade it looked like they had a side that could take them a lot further.

Moss Rocket
8 May 2006, 10:28
DG-Man

Thought Mentone away would be a difficult assignment. Happy to be proved wrong. Anyone see the game? What about the OGS result. Have YV had players missing? OGS perhaps not as good as first thought.
Anyone see any games over the weekend / have anything to report.
Site is a little quiet lately??

oc37
8 May 2006, 10:52
Spencer did his knee after kicking about 70.. never been able to play again.. knee just not the same

uglydermie
8 May 2006, 11:50
missed the BT game on the weekend but happy to see they won. Never easy at banyule. Ogs result was a shock but again YV can grow a few extra legs at home. How many did Dolly kick this week? Big game against Therry this week...although I still think they may be kidding themselves a bit and havent beaten much yet.
Moss- What can you tell me about OM? We play them in a few weeks!

sideshowbob
8 May 2006, 13:25
don't worry about OGS, first game they have lost in a year, i wouldn't want to be playing in a two blues jumper this week.

Midas, rupo have beat who they have had to play, yes they may have limped across the line, but from all reports have been well short of their best side in all three games,so they are maybe lucky to have not drawn ogs, oc's and bullen early, they will see were thay are at this week agaist OM'S.

Ugly, puzzled by your comment ( Rupo to beat Prahran (but another win that wont mean much) by 40 ) why would that be the case ?

Do you not rate the team from sunbury ?

BT, good win away, would like to know why the margin was so close, with an impressive five positive changes ?

game of the round as everyone would agree this week will be Therry V OC's, might even get a look at this one myself,

Been a pleasure reading this great material, keep up the good work and winning form.

uglydermie
8 May 2006, 13:49
Sideshow. I do rate the boys from Sunbury but I think the boys from Toorak Park might be in for a long season. You can only beat the team you are up against on the day and three from three is a great start.

BT game was on a windswept dung heap and from all account were just happy to get out of there with the 4 points and ake the short drive home with out any injuries.

Moss Rocket
8 May 2006, 14:08
Ugly,

Didn't see the game first hand but heard it was a good win by OC's. Hard to win down there. That's why i foolishly tipped OM's.
Can't really help you with OM's style or players. Last year they were pretty quick and gave a bit of lip. Certainly a game you would like to win as they are probably going to be around the 4-6 mark on ladder at seasons end IMO. Big game this week OC's vs Therry. Hopefully a nice sunny day to watch a bit of classic D-Grade footy.

bullant10
8 May 2006, 16:52
old geelong result very suprising,
anyone catch that game or have heard what happened. Geelong were raging favorites and thought they would have done it easy after having seen them beat bulleen comfortably in roulnd one. Will YV be a top four side?

themagicfrog
8 May 2006, 17:16
Hi All can anyone tell me about a couple of players that have played with St Leos Emmaus, there names are Frank Bowden, Jonathon Gettoes and Steve Ebacioni. Just want to know how they go and reps they have got.
Thanks in advance
Magic

uglydermie
8 May 2006, 17:43
Bullant10 - send me a PM and let me know who you are so I can uy you a beer next time we are both a the club. I thought you must have been Jordan Wise and made the mistake of walking up to him a couple a weeks ago and calling him Bullant10. He looked at me like an idiot (most people do) and didn't know what the hell I was talking about.

DG-Man
8 May 2006, 17:44
Bullant,

Heard whispers that OGS start to the year may flatter them. Unless they had huge numbers out, there side looks a little short on quality talent. Depth is not an issue at OGS, as they have big numbers and reserves are obviously pretty good, however senior stars they hasve not. I think they are a 3-5 proposition.
YV, thought they might improve. Don't think they are a top 4 side.
How are your Bullants travelling? I thought you would beat the Bears a little more comfortably.

Re St.Leos players....don't know nothing about them.

Play on!

sideshowbob
9 May 2006, 13:46
old geelong only missing two players from last years senior priemership team, of which one will be returning mid year from overseas travel, so from what i have heard it was just one of days, and lets face we all have them, the footy is a funny shape and sometimes it just dosen't bounce your way.

to suggest that they are running thin on talent in their senior squad, well that is a big call.

OM's are they quick, small, big, strong bodies, does anyone know anything about them at all ?

DG-Man
9 May 2006, 14:11
Sideshow, Re OM's they are quick, small, like to move the ball by hand. The spacious playing grounds at Keysborough suit there style, as the wings are massive. I assume OGS are playing them at Como this week? They will look to take risks and play on from every opportunity. Good side. Not to be taken lightly! have a few guys who are on the Sandringham list, but normally play. Good luck!

MJS2
10 May 2006, 00:02
DG-Man

Bullants going along ok, havent hit their straps but i have no doubt will be there come september, have a good mix of older and younger players. Will be a good test this week vs Yarra Valley but should get over the line at home

Lions Den
10 May 2006, 10:22
How has Chris Frost been going?

bullant10
10 May 2006, 15:00
How has Chris Frost been going?

started off just getting a feel and now has really taken off. Absolute gun on and off the field. Great to have him back at the bullants.
He can really turn games around. Frosty will keep getting better cause he hasn't played in a while and is loving being back at the ants!

MJS2
10 May 2006, 23:04
Round 4 Tips

Emmaus 15
Old Carey 25
Old Geelong 60
Rupurtswood 5
Bullants 20

I Love Sandra Sully
11 May 2006, 04:36
I am a D grade follower, have been for the last 5 years, great standard of footy...have caught a couple of games this year... OG's looking good as are OC... although the sleeping giant is Rupertswood....the boys from Sunbury are just warming to the new Grade and will be all the better for the return of Niall McGovern who is about a week away from senior selection with rupertswood, played reserves last week... and from all reports racked em up!!!.. Rupertswood have been falling in against teams for the first 3 weeks.... all i can say is that McGovern will add at the very least 3-4 goals on any rupertswood score... very hard, skillful and smart player..... contacts from Rpts say he should be back for the Therry game... look out Penola is all i can say... this bloke has the potential to rip teams to shreds.... up with the top 5 players in D grade footy. Old Mentonians will be all the better with the reteurn of there two gun forwards this week.... Yarra Valley should be up to the task of the Bullants... Banyule to get over the line in a close one with St leos...OG easily against Prahan... GC over and out... good luck for the weekend lads... keep up the posts... D GrAde footy is very respectable.

OldMelburnian28
11 May 2006, 12:08
You seem to know a great deal about this rupertswood side 'i love sandra sully'. Do you have a reliable source? or are you on the players list/ administration?

Is that so
11 May 2006, 13:33
Last week my tipping was (ordinary to be polite)
The results indicated that this will be a tight section this year but for say those who are yet to win one!

St leos v Banyule shoud tell us something about these 2, tipping Banyule Margin 12pts

OC v TP tipped against OC last week and was embarrased by the margin they won by, surely they want do it 2 me twice in a row?
Therry by a margin of 11 pts tpo go top of the table.

OG v Prahran - unless thay have big outs as they must have last week
OG margin 50Pts.

Ruperstsood v Old Mentone , close game but home ground advantage.
Rupertswood by 4 pts.

BT v YV
BT well beaten round 1 by OG at home then got over the line to SL and Banyule both away.
YV lost to OC @ home and Rupertswood away then gave OG a lesson @ home?
Form would suggest that YV will win by plenty, last round lasy tear BT beat YV @ BT by 10 goals or similar, cant see YV improving that much since then tipping BT @ home by 20pts.

uglydermie
11 May 2006, 13:49
is that so? is that so. Interesting analysis. Do you have any connection to a D Grade club or are you just an interested bystander? can't help be agree with some of the stuff you have written but I think Old carey will pump Therry. Not convinced about them yet.

St Leos will beat banyule
Prahran will get smashed by the oggers
carey to sit on top after beating TP
BT to get home against yarravalley
Old Mentone to win away from home providing all connecting flights are not delayed!!!

DG-Man
11 May 2006, 14:02
Lot's of intersting theories. This will be a big week of footy. Will sort out a number of things.
If BT can beat YV, as i predict they will. YV may find it difficult to get the 11-12 wins needed to play finals. I predict BT, as they look to improve and challange for that top 2 spot.
OC v Therry will be ripper. If Therry can knock off the team most predict to finish top 2, away at Bulleen, they would have to become the team to beat and early flag favourite. However at Bulleen, i think i will tip the OC just. A win will put them on top and from there they will be hard to topple.
St.Leos v Banyule. Bears in crisis. No depth (see reserves), so very unlikely that they can avoid relegation. Leos for me.
OGS v Prahran. OGS need to win this and win well, to restore my confidence in them after rd 3. I predict they will do this. If they lose, i am off them for rest of the year. Finalists last year, i think Prahran are in for a long and sorry season.
Rupo v OM's will also be a big game. I like OM's, don't know much about Rupo (but have to respect the 3-0 start and the pumping up of the team i have been hearing) For me....It will be the OM's to come through.

Good luck all!

sideshowbob
11 May 2006, 14:29
great postings,

my thoughts, old geelong to flog the two blues, banyule to get over the line in a close one, oc's to beat therry, im with you ugly, not convinced on therry yet, yarra valley in a suprise of sorts agaist BT - sorry ugly just think the very big talls up foward will again get them over the line, and rupo to continue their good form with a win over OM'S and be one of only two teams on 4 - 0.

good luck to all concerned,

sidshowbob....

Magic Micky
11 May 2006, 16:21
Loving the D Grade forum blokes.

Some great reading, very interesting.

Thought i'd get in with my tips this week. Games beginning to get very interesting and a lot more valuable.

St Leo's and Banyule should be a great game, battle for relegation? St Leo's by 1 goal for mine.

Old Carey and Therry will be a cracker, but OC's at home by 3 or 4 goals.

Old Geelong over Prahran by 9 goals.

BT v YV. Should be an interesting game but at home, BT starting to hit their straps. BT by 4 goals.

Rupo v OM's. Rupo have been just getting over line, and will do it again by 2 goals.

Good luck this weekend, and keep the forum going, it's fantastic.

St.Kev's Cowboy
11 May 2006, 16:54
Nice work guys.
Congrats to all those named in the A-D4 rep side. Big effort all round, well done.
Have to agree with most of the tips bar one:
OC over Therry
Rup over OM
OG over P
Ban to upset St L
& YV to get over BT
Good luck to all playing this weekend.
And go you Hawkers!

bullant10
11 May 2006, 17:34
My tips

Old Carey over Therry 4 - 6 goals

Old Geelong over Prahran 10 goals (last week was just a bad day-it happens)

Banyule to beat St Leos. Very honest side and will get their first points for the year

BT over YV - Bit of a rivalry built up over last few years and will be a cracking game. BT by 18 points

Rupertswood over OMs by 4 points

This is a great thread gentlemen keep up the good work - Great reading!!

Midas
12 May 2006, 13:04
On last week:

"Therry, early season pacesetter, will win comfortably at home against Leos whose best will be vewry competitive despite an ordinary start."

Look like a pretty fair side, and despite the doubts of some on this forum will finish at least top 3.

"Careys "cavalcade of superstars" (at least according to this forum!) will get them over the line against Mentone, should be too physical believe it or not with Dolly back."

Good win against a middle of the road side in OM's, who always play better at home.

"Prahran will be the upset of the round at home over Rupo, have a feeling they'll improve massively this week and Rupo have limped in twice."

Got this one wrong although don't think the result was conclusive for either side - don't think Prahran are that bad and don't think Rupo are that good.

"OG's track out to Domeney for a tough one against the Valley boys who won't be the easybeats many are predicting - similar list to last two years and they've been more than competitive but OG's in a tight one."

Only wish I'd gone with my gut and tipped the Valley boys. Often sides coming up fly early then run into some hardened sides in D1, of which Yarra qualifies. As stated, don't write YV out of finals action.

"And Bulleen Temp might just have too many weapons for the young Banyule Bears."

For all the hype, BT although winning, which is a good sign, are not on the march in the fashion some would suggest although any win at Banyule is a goodun.

This week:

The confines of the Animals home ground should see Leo's get the points over the young running Banyule Bears, who have been close twice so far and probably deserve a win.

Carey & Therry, the two sides most likely in my opinion, do battle at Carey. I think Therry, despite the home ground advantage enjoyed by OC's might just have too many weapons up forward, although their smallish defence may have trouble containing Dolly.

OG's will be smarting after their reality check at Domeney while the Two Blues appear to be struggling. At some stage the Two Blues will get it together but maybe not this week. OG's in another one that will be a lot closer than many imagine.

Undefeated Rupo take on perennial poor travellers Mentone, and I'd like to tip an upset because I just think Rupo will consolidate at best this year as the season wears on. However, they might just get 4 straight, JUST.

BT & Yarra is an interesting one. Both sides can score heavily and these games can be blowouts. Can the Yarra boys keep the lid on thier one good performance for 06 - if they don't get cocky they'll win, but I'll back BT based on the tyre pumping the Bullants are getting on here.

See how we go.

uglydermie
12 May 2006, 14:12
Excellent work there Muffla. You certainly have the golden touch!

It is efforts like this that keep this "D" grade post hammering along. We all love it so take the time to (like Midas) press down on the old type writer and let us all know what's happening around the traps. We don't expect big club secrets but all in all the general discussions on this thread is first class.

At the very least we call all give an honest opinion on the teams we play against each week like:
-Go to players
-guns
-game styles
-weaknesses/ strengths

I will do my best to give you a fair wrap up of Yarra Valley by Monday AM- (unless of course they pumped us and I am too depressed to recount the game)

For those lucky enough to be at the Bullants game this week my true identity can be identified as I am rostered on to serve hot dogs, pies and donuts in the canteen from 12-2 and then do the interchange in the big game. Introduce yourself BUT beware not to address the canteen boss as Ugly. She hates that......

Good luck to you all this weekend

Love it!

Ugly-out

Moss Rocket
12 May 2006, 18:31
Midas,

Intersting to see on this thread you name Old Carey as one of the two teams most likely, yet on another thread you talk up how they started well last year only to falter. Which way is it??
Also notice you make reference to only 3 players making the Rep squad, yet this is just the number that i suggested. Crazy to try and ridicule another OC contributor to the thread "who dared" to throw up a longer list of names of people who may be considered. NOT who would make the side. You seem to battle a little with arguments and consistency!
Big week this week, OC's v Therry will be a ripper. OC's missing quite a few, have no idea about Therry, will head down and check it out. Tipping the home team, beacause of that reason.:thumbsu:

uglydermie
12 May 2006, 18:50
I hope that is not a hint of an excuse should OC lose? OC easy for mine.

DG-Man
12 May 2006, 19:15
Yes injuries are just part of the game, and all clubs have to deal the best they can with them. In saying this however, i know that Old Carey would be missing at least 10 of there best 22. Fortunately for them many will be right in coming weeks. I think they have had to make 5 changes from last week, with key players, including there best player (in my humble opinion) not playing. A win by Old Carey in these circumstances would be therry good.:)

Moss Rocket
12 May 2006, 19:25
No excuses, just have a spy at the club who tells me a few things. Depth is ok, so all should be fine. Might be looking for a hotdog tomorrow as i do the whip around a few games.
Spies also tell me that OGS have had a hard week on the track and weilded the axe? Not sure if it was due to injuries, but i hear 5 changes at selection.

Is that so
12 May 2006, 20:23
So OG changes is that due to players coming back in having not played last week against YV or are YV better than early form suggested? I see vickers willis didnt trouble the scorers for OG perhaps he didnt play?

Tomorrow we should know, will it be the much talked about on this forum BT ( whose web site pumps them up a bit , it's a good site but need more player profiles surely there are more than 4 players at the club!)
or YV who till last week it seemed would stuggle for the year.

Sticking with my earlier prediction BT at home by a fair margin which will have all of totally confussed about form, exactly how it should be!
Enjoy the weekend boys, look forward to reading Mondays reports etc.

I.T.S

Is that so
12 May 2006, 20:37
is that so? is that so. Interesting analysis. Do you have any connection to a D Grade club or are you just an interested bystander? can't help be agree with some of the stuff you have written but I think Old carey will pump Therry. Not convinced about them yet.

St Leos will beat banyule
Prahran will get smashed by the oggers
carey to sit on top after beating TP
BT to get home against yarravalley
Old Mentone to win away from home providing all connecting flights are not delayed!!!

Hi Ugly - happen to know players at several clubs from this side of town playing in the D comp at the minute with OC, Banyule, BT, SL.
Know some blokes who went to school at Therry 30 years ago , and recall it being a tough side of town, perhaps thats why I tip them over OC, (have not yet seen Therry play yet so just an opinion) my brother lives out that way and showed me an article about a coaching appointment made and the belief system the playing group have- so far good form.

I.T.S

uglydermie
12 May 2006, 22:08
Is That So. Are you any relation to the Lord mayor of Melbourne?

oldtimer
12 May 2006, 23:41

Banyule have an ex Afl player who played in the sanfl last year playing his first game for the club after signing on tuesday night.

uglydermie
13 May 2006, 10:39
what is his name? Which afl club?

oldtimer
13 May 2006, 10:45
what is his name? Which afl club?

Played at Collingwood. Last year played at South Adelaide. That's all I'm prepared to give out until tonight when you see either best players and goal kickers.

Easto must be slightly disappointed with last week considering Banyule have lost 10 senior players from last year to other clubs and their gun centre half back didn't play!!!

uglydermie
13 May 2006, 11:59
Easto was happy with the win out there. BT still not at full strength yet. Hopefully will build over the next month. If you know easto you will understand his philosophy about not many premiership ever being won in April, May or June!

Our premiership team in 2004 added 5 new players to the club/ senior team between rounds 6 and clearance cut off.

On the Banyule recruit, they may well need more than just him given they are zip and 3!

Is that so
13 May 2006, 12:03
Played at Collingwood. Last year played at South Adelaide. That's all I'm prepared to give out until tonight when you see either best players and goal kickers.

Easto must be slightly disappointed with last week considering Banyule have lost 10 senior players from last year to other clubs and their gun centre half back didn't play!!!

Interesting that they lost 10 senior players and are able to attract a past AFL player , what do the 10 know that he doesnt?

Or is he a past player ?

Is that so
13 May 2006, 12:04
Have been known to frequest his restaurants..- good call Ugly:cool:

oldtimer
13 May 2006, 19:22
Interesting that they lost 10 senior players and are able to attract a past AFL player , what do the 10 know that he doesnt?

Or is he a past player ?

Didn't end up playing as SANFL would not give him clearence. Will be taken to appeal at vafa this week. Is a mate of someone who plays there.

Uglie Dermie I know for a fact that Easto has been spuiking Bullen Temp since January.

uglydermie
13 May 2006, 20:40
tell me more old fella? You come on here and drop a bomb shell about a gun new recruit (that still hasn't been registered) and then have a go at our coach. What is your problem?

BTW BT v Yarra Valley today was an interesting game. At qrt time YV had kicked 9 goals to BT 1. After that BT rammed home 17 to 4 to win by 7 goals.

BT now 3 and 1 and equal 4th with Old Geelong. Interesting few weeks ahead.

oldtimer
14 May 2006, 00:27
tell me more old fella? You come on here and drop a bomb shell about a gun new recruit (that still hasn't been registered) and then have a go at our coach. What is your problem?

BTW BT v Yarra Valley today was an interesting game. At qrt time YV had kicked 9 goals to BT 1. After that BT rammed home 17 to 4 to win by 7 goals.

BT now 3 and 1 and equal 4th with Old Geelong. Interesting few weeks ahead.

Definitely not having a go at your coach, know him very well. Has been a legend in the diamond valley. however, he has been talking you blokes up to anyone who would listen.

You can only beat who you have played, but have you guys played anyone yet? - besides Old Geelong who smashed you!!!

By the way I am not involved with any D1 side!!!

Is that so
14 May 2006, 02:20
Definitely not having a go at your coach, know him very well. Has been a legend in the diamond valley. however, he has been talking you blokes up to anyone who would listen.

You can only beat who you have played, but have you guys played anyone yet? - besides Old Geelong who smashed you!!!

By the way I am not involved with any D1 side!!!

Good to see some spirit between the Ugly and the old (sounds like a western movie title )

Interetsing point you raise OT, BT got smashed by OG rd 1, Og got smaseh by YV rd 3, and BT YV rd 4? sounds like an interesting comp to me.
Ugly whats with the 17 goal to 4 last 3 qtrs you mentioned?

Keep up the banter boys.:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

oc37
14 May 2006, 09:46
Brent Tuckey.

footy_nerd
14 May 2006, 14:32
nothing to interesting in the results, old carey firming as early premiership favourites with a solid win over therry.

Rupertswood have stamped their authority on the competition with a 73 point flogging of mentonians, they seemed to have hit their straps but with a big games to come against therry this week followed by carey and bullen temp the jury is still out on whether they will be serious contenders come september.

uglydermie
14 May 2006, 15:08
word on Tuckey is that he was offered a sizable sign on fee at another D grade club (Not Banyule). Can you confirm this OC37????

oldtimer
14 May 2006, 15:24
word on Tuckey is that he was offered a sizable sign on fee at another D grade club (Not Banyule). Can you confirm this OC37????

Definitely signed during week with Banyule. South Adelaide knocked it back. Haven't heard about the other clubs that have shown interest.

Is that so
14 May 2006, 19:01
Definitely signed during week with Banyule. South Adelaide knocked it back. Haven't heard about the other clubs that have shown interest.

Interesting that Tuckey signed with Banyule - Panton Hill had him "locked in" and he was not going to be playing "for the love of the game".
Would have to be a very good "mate" arrangement to see him go to Banyule.

:confused: :confused:

oc37
14 May 2006, 19:31
:confused:nah hadnt heard this

oc37
14 May 2006, 22:23
:) :) :)

hansie
15 May 2006, 09:37
:confused:nah hadnt heard this

I had - few whispers out on the track Thurs night, nothing more about it Saturday though

DG-Man
15 May 2006, 10:16
Saw the Rupo v OM's game and i think Rupo along with Old Carey are the early favourites. Unless Therry had a power of players out, can't see them improving enough to challenge Old Carey (who had out half a side)
I rate OM's and was suprised by the result. They need to learn to adapt to different conditions. At home there game plan suits them. On Saturday, they were constantly being found out. Played on way too much, handballing to opponents, nobody or putting teamates under the gun. Rupo look great. They have a side that runs very hard and has a great attack on the ball.
BT and OGS had good wins that they just had to have if they are going to pressure OC's and Rupo for that coveted top 2 finish. Looks like after 4 games (i am about to make a rediculously early call, which will undoubtedly come back and bite me on the cracker) OC's, Rupo, BT, OGS and Therry are in 1 division fighting for positiioons 1-5, whilst the others will have to fight hard to avoid that bottom 2 spot.
Some great games coming up in the coming weeks. I think the Bulleen derby between C's and BT will be worth watching. A great rivalry over the last few years and C's owe them one after the 2004 finals series.

uglydermie
15 May 2006, 15:48
who biffed who?

VAFA TRIBUNAL THIS WEEK

Lee Hollow, Therry Penola
Kyle Parker, Old Carey

Coach Hollywood
15 May 2006, 16:22
Interesting that Tuckey signed with Banyule - Panton Hill had him "locked in" and he was not going to be playing "for the love of the game".
Would have to be a very good "mate" arrangement to see him go to Banyule.

:confused: :confused:

Where did you hear Panton Hill had him "locked in" Is That So?
They could well do with him at Panton Hill, as they are currently sitting on the bottom of the ladder without a win. Maybe the single win by Banyule swayed him?

bullant10
15 May 2006, 16:50
D Grade must be the talk of the ammos at the moment. Very even comp, as shown by the weekends results.
Would have been good to see carey v therry game. heard that therry had a few out which might explain the score. Rup looking very good as is carey.
Some cracking games coming up over the next few weeks so shoulsd be good D grade viewing.
Keep up the great thread - best going around!

Is that so
15 May 2006, 19:10
Where did you hear Panton Hill had him "locked in" Is That So?
They could well do with him at Panton Hill, as they are currently sitting on the bottom of the ladder without a win. Maybe the single win by Banyule swayed him?

Till the weekend they had not had one, so that cant be it!

Know a guy who used to play @ Panton Hill , moved to another DV club and Panton hill are talking up the changes that are coming these next few weeks talent etc.

Good to see ex AFL players in te ammos.

Coach Hollywood
15 May 2006, 19:30
Looks like D2 is even closer than D1 Bullant. I think it's the only grade without a undefeated team after 4 rounds? Williamstown who are on the bottom without a win only lost by a point last week also. Good to see there's not a huge step between the 2 with Old Geelong and Rupertswood doing so well?

sideshowbob
16 May 2006, 09:31
I think you will find coachhollywood that these two clubs are an expection to the rule, you look at rupertswood who have played in nothing less then a pre lim in the 7 years at VAFA Level, including three grand finals, and from all reports looking and believing that they can move up three grades in three years

Midas
16 May 2006, 10:12
Gee you people down there a sensitive bunch, so let me clarify.

Midas,

Intersting to see on this thread you name Old Carey as one of the two teams most likely, yet on another thread you talk up how they started well last year only to falter. Which way is it??

As far as this is concerned, my opinion is the competition is nowhere near as strong as it was last year and even if the Carey boys were to falter slightly as the season progresses, I still believe they will probably finish in the top two. Pointing out that they faltered last year was merely a reminder of the fact that you struggled last year after winning the first six or seven was it? Raw nerve perhaps?

Also notice you make reference to only 3 players making the Rep squad, yet this is just the number that i suggested. Crazy to try and ridicule another OC contributor to the thread "who dared" to throw up a longer list of names of people who may be considered. NOT who would make the side. You seem to battle a little with arguments and consistency!

Don't think I was referring to your opinion, as at least your suggestions were bordering on accurate.. Just think that some of the names thrown up were way off the mark on observation and history in comparison to a number of the players I mentioned outside of OC. Don't see where that lacks consistency or credibility as at least I tossed up some alternatives for you.

Big week this week, OC's v Therry will be a ripper. OC's missing quite a few, have no idea about Therry, will head down and check it out. Tipping the home team, beacause of that reason.:thumbsu:

And what a great win, would have the OC slotted in as premiership favorites as far as I am concerned, hopefully that won't lead you to some more dismissive remarks on my "ill-informed" opinions. On exposed form, don't think I'm breaking any new ground here but the competition would suggest that this is the case. Not sure how that lacks consistency, but can't remember ever suggesting Carey would not be around the mark!!!

Good day

uglydermie
16 May 2006, 10:13
If Rupo move up 3 grades in the next 3 years (that is A Grade in 2009) then I will personally drive to Sunbury every Sunday morning and clean the boots of every player in the club... including juniors! I am getting a bit sick of the Rupo this and Rupo that rubbish that I am reading on this thread. Who have they played so far this year??
Banyule - won by only 8 points (sitting 4rd bottom with 1 win)
Yarra Valley - won by 9 points (sitting 5th bottom with 1 win)
Prahran- won by 35 points (sitting on the bottom with 0 wins)
Old Mentonians- won by 12 goals (sitting 3rd bottom with 1 win)

The next 5 week sees them playing:

Therry (beatable)
Old Carey (Rupo wont get even close)
Old Geelong (hammered as per last year)
Bulleen Templestowe (i suggest another smashing here too)

Demographics is a wonderful thing boys. Make the most of it while you can because before you know it another suburb will open up over the hill with cheaper blocks, bigger houses (a few with a pools and tennis courts) and a new footy club. Same thing happened in the big smoke a few year ago!

Ugly - out

Midas
16 May 2006, 10:21
If Rupo move up 3 grades in the next 3 years (that is A Grade in 2009) then I will personally drive to Sunbury every Sunday morning and clean the boots of every player in the club... including juniors! I am getting a bit sick of the Rupo this and Rupo that rubbish that I am reading on this thread. Who have they played so far this year??
Banyule - won by only 8 points (sitting 4rd bottom with 1 win)
Yarra Valley - won by 9 points (sitting 5th bottom with 1 win)
Prahran- won by 35 points (sitting on the bottom with 0 wins)
Old Mentonians- won by 12 goals (sitting 3rd bottom with 1 win)

The next 5 week sees them playing:

Therry (beatable)
Old Carey (Rupo wont get even close)
Old Geelong (hammered as per last year)
Bulleen Templestowe (i suggest another smashing here too)

Demographics is a wonderful thing boys. Make the most of it while you can because before you know it another suburb will open up over the hill with cheaper blocks, bigger houses (a few with a pools and tennis courts) and a new footy club. Same thing happened in the big smoke a few year ago!

Ugly - out

Here Here!

Good win over OM's I will admit, but serioously can't see them anywhere near the top two, let alone the top four by season's end. Can see them getting picked off by a few of the sides they've beaten in the second half of the year too. Anyhoo, just my opinion but good luck to them.

DG-Man
16 May 2006, 10:27
Love your work ugly. Very funny read. I don't think they will be in A-Grade 2009....however, they are a good side. I saw them last week and they were very handy. I rate OM's (well at least when they play at home) and was suprised by the result.
I think you will see Rupo up amongst the top few for most of the season.

sideshowbob
16 May 2006, 10:37
sorry guys, looks like you have misunderstood me, all i was saying was in regards to the three grades in three years thing was that two years ago they were in d3, made grand final, pushed up to d2 the next year, made grand final, and find themselves in d1 this year, nothing at all to do with the next three years , as you said ugly that would make them played A grade, and that wont happen, we all know that.
I don't think that i have read that much about rupo on this thread, i would have this thread favouring OC'S, Ogs and BT,

i agree it would at this stage look like rupertswood have played what could shape to be the bottom half of the ladder first up, but only time will tell, and i didn't relise that you would be so angry about a new club on the scene being 4 - 0, have BT played Ogs yet ? oh yes they were flogged, have BT played Bayuale yet ?, oh yes they won by 6 points, played emmaus, o wins and have'nt looked like it and won by 19 points, and beat yarra valley in what i heard was a very good win so comparing who rupo havew and haven't played dosen't mean a great deal.

OldMelburnian28
16 May 2006, 11:14
Some harsh words there ugly dermie. But a club with a history of 6 years which has progressed 4 grades ain't bad in my eyes.

DG-Man
16 May 2006, 11:17
Nice comeback. This is what i want to see. A little rivalry. A little bit of banter. Just who has played the weaker sides (and performed worse) Bulleen Temp or Rupo?? Who is going to finish higher?? Who has players to come back in?? What are your thoughts?? This site is a little stale at present. I think we need a few supporters from other sides. I haven't seen anyone from OGS, Banyule, Leos, Therry, Prahran, OM's or YV even contribute to this thread. A couple of present young Old Carey Grammarians (Hansie / OC37)?? and a couple of maybe old retired BT players (Ugly / Bullant) have been the most vocal so far.
Crank it up!

I Love Sandra Sully
16 May 2006, 12:36
I can vouch for the OG's players and supporters, they are all busy lining up at the dry cleaners getting there gay yellow cardigins cleaned so they can wear it around there neck like the poofy toffs they are.... OG's make me ill.... i can't wait to smash them.
P.S. Note to all OG's supporters and players....Boat shoes went out of fashion about 8 years ago.

HotShoeShuffle
16 May 2006, 13:32
I can vouch for the OG's players and supporters, they are all busy lining up at the dry cleaners getting there gay yellow cardigins cleaned so they can wear it around there neck like the poofy toffs they are.... OG's make me ill.... i can't wait to smash them.
P.S. Note to all OG's supporters and players....Boat shoes went out of fashion about 8 years ago.

I never realised Boat Shoes were ever in fashion.

I Love Sandra Sully
16 May 2006, 14:51
Shhhhhh Shoe Shuffle....... Don't break OG's hearts........

It's ok all you old geelong folk........ your old off brown boat shoes are very fasionable, especially when worn with knee high beige colured socks.

St.Kev's Cowboy
16 May 2006, 18:23
Thanks for that Om28, didn't realise Rupertswood were so new. In that case I am going to follow them very closely and I have been to an extent after I saw their 19's give St.K's a touch up in round 3.
I heard a couple of those younger Rupo players talking about a 'Frothie' 'T-Man' and 'Goat Man' to come back in or play at some stage this year.
As for everyone performing, I think it is a little early to tell who has and who hasn't, from the sound of things all sides are very different and may suit playing some teams better than others.
I think it is great that theyve stepped up to the task of D grade footy, and three grades in three years is unlikely, but theyve done it before.
Tips this week anyone? Therry v Rupo will be a rip snorter i believe.

Moss Rocket
16 May 2006, 18:26
Big game this week down at Mentone, as the OGS head down to Keysborough. I will be heading there to take notes. I think that OM's will prevail. This is there last chance to keep in touch with the leading clubs and they also play pretty good football at home. My spies tell me that OGS were pretty average last week and i think they may struggle away from Como. The YV result is still haunting them and i think they are realising that the jump from D2 grade may be a litlle bigger than they had hoped for. For Moss Rocket it will be OM's by 6 goals.

sideshowbob
17 May 2006, 09:06
moss rocket, big call, do you or anyone else on this forum know if they have lost big name players, i was under the impression that they were only missing a couple from last year,

i hope they get done myself, taking notes ??? well i hope that you get all the information you require to knock them off in the upcomming weeks.

uglydermie
17 May 2006, 11:02
OGs are much the same team as last year. Fair to say that after they flogged us (BT) in round one the expectations about them rose a few notches. Not uncommon for premiership teams to get off to a flyer the next season as winning form and confidence are half the battle as we all know. From all account they have not had the greatest preseason so maybe it is catching up on them. But - they have a very even team! Obviously the next 5 weeks will sort the men from the boys in terms of ladder positions.

I Love Sandra Sully
17 May 2006, 11:48
I can sort the men from the boys now.

MEN - RUPERTSWOOD

BOYS - THE REST.

uglydermie
17 May 2006, 12:17
Nice work Sandra.

Did you come up with that on your own, or did you get some help?

The one thing that can be said about the lads from Rupertswood is that they love their footy and their club. Even Ugly takes his hat off to that!

Moss Rocket
17 May 2006, 12:23
Sandra,

Nice 1 liner. Don't think you'll get too many bites however, we all know you love your D-Grade footy, just like you love your newsreader!

footy_nerd
17 May 2006, 12:36

Ugly - out[/quote]

Demographics?, not being from around rupo, surely someone could help me out here, but isn't their another three clubs in sunbury, the lions, kangaroos and digger rest. Sunbury are an extremely good team who have a large salary to pay players with good facilites so for rupo to maintain and attract the players it does is a credit to the committee and playing group. I don't think demographics will be an issue in moving up the grades it will be whether or not they can attract past key position players that moved on to play higher gardes such as the jordans, simon clark, luke spinner, lucas feilding, chooka henry and last but not leats probably the player they need most to get back JAMES HOUSe

sideshowbob
17 May 2006, 13:52
Ugly,

your bloke get a couple in ?

*Paul Robertson, Bulleen Templestowe. Striking, 2 matches.
*Timothy Hancock, Yarra Valley. Striking, 2 matches.

OldMelburnian28
17 May 2006, 13:55
Hmmmm I’d say demographics are a common thing…wouldn’t you ugly???
Not sure what context or detail demographics are being used in there, although that’s a big word from you. Everyone give ugly dermie a clap .

bullant10
17 May 2006, 15:54
Ugly,

your bloke get a couple in ?

*Paul Robertson, Bulleen Templestowe. Striking, 2 matches.
*Timothy Hancock, Yarra Valley. Striking, 2 matches.

Both blokes got good ones in! and will have a couple of weeks to think about them.

Bullants tips this week

old carey over st leos - 8 goals
Banyule over YV - flip of the coin only a kick in it
Therry over rupertswood - first challenge for rup and they will fail
Old mentonians over old Geelong- 4 points
BT over prahran - 4 goals:thumbsu:

uglydermie
17 May 2006, 16:27
Hmmmm I’d say demographics are a common thing…wouldn’t you ugly???
Not sure what context or detail demographics are being used in there, although that’s a big word from you. Everyone give ugly dermie a clap .

OM28. Did you go to school?

If you don't understand the context of the word demographic in the thread that I posted then I suggest you read it again and again until it sinks in. Not that difficult to comprehend.

Does you Mum and Dad know that you are using the computer whilst they are at work?

Is that so
17 May 2006, 17:16
Ugly
Even when I do not log on I love to have a look to see what pearls you have produced, your last one was a ripper , still laughing as u type.
"do your mum and dad know..."
OM28 can you interpret (another work you may not understand) what Ugly is telling you??

Ugly rules!