View Full Version : D GRADE: Give me something...

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22

Moss Rocket
24 May 2006, 17:57
Old Carey by 23
OGS by 17
Banyule by 29
BT by 41
YV by 16

D4 - Powerhouse by 100 (Parton 18 goals)
Eltham by 68 (Matthews 10 goals, 50 disposals)

MJS2
24 May 2006, 18:25
TIPS

Old Carey in a close one against Woods
Geelong to much run foe Therry
Yarra at home against St Leos
Banyule by plenty against Two Blues
Bullants to make it 5 in a row againts Mentone

Big round of footy, we will find out if Rupertswood are the real deal

MJS2

kingbrown
24 May 2006, 18:35
Tips
Therry to put it all together against OG
Rupo to continue its total dominance of OC from the u/19 days (What is it about Rupo). Its called fabric.
St. Leos improving again over YV
Banyule with its young improving list over Prahran
BT (never seen them play) over OM simply because this thread raves about BT.
Just a general comment about the uncertainty of Rupo that continues to overflow from the doubters. You are jealous. We may not have the rich history of some of the great clubs in the VAFA, however we feel priveleged to be a part of the VAFA and this respect (Sandra Sully is having fun), will take us a long way.
Rumour has it Evans and Stewart-Holmes went overseas for a reason!
Go Rupo, the relentless warriors.

DG-Man
24 May 2006, 18:57
Tips
Therry to put it all together against OG
Rupo to continue its total dominance of OC from the u/19 days (What is it about Rupo). Its called fabric.
St. Leos improving again over YV
Banyule with its young improving list over Prahran
BT (never seen them play) over OM simply because this thread raves about BT.
Just a general comment about the uncertainty of Rupo that continues to overflow from the doubters. You are jealous. We may not have the rich history of some of the great clubs in the VAFA, however we feel priveleged to be a part of the VAFA and this respect (Sandra Sully is having fun), will take us a long way.
Rumour has it Evans and Stewart-Holmes went overseas for a reason!
Go Rupo, the relentless warriors.

To play cricket, earn some coin. That is what was said earlier in thread. Rupo can silence all doubters this week. And good luck to them. Will be a great game. Both camps seem packed full of confidence. Outsiders seem to think OC will be a little too good. I will be reserving my judgement till after training on Thursday. I need to look into some eyes!
Keep the tips rolling in!

Is that so
25 May 2006, 01:53
dont know Waters. obviously he is a ruckman.. is he young?? tall?? . tap ruckman, or athletic aroudn the ground??

Heard he played against Prahan (Radywonik state selected ruckman for Prahan) and at least held his own. Listed with Port Melbouren so not sure how mch club he'll play Bt would value him no doubt.

Is that so
25 May 2006, 02:11
OC by 18 pts.
OG by 5 pts.
YV by 18 pts.
Banyule by 24 pts.
BT by 20 pts.

Sigmund
25 May 2006, 13:44
Great point Sigmund, the Oggery has held its side together for a couple of years now and look to be going nowhere but up. Playing solid footy at the moment (from all repoorts) but nothing special. Will be interesting to see them up against the flag favourites Carey, and last years GF victim Rupertswood.
Vickers-Willis, Casboult, O'Brien are consistently kicking sausages so they are definately in for a big year. ;)

Thanks Cowboy. OG have been there before, and do not seem to have lost many players from last year. Maybe going out on a limb here, but I would almost have them as flag favourites. It is only early days and good teams get better as the season goes on.

silky_skills
25 May 2006, 14:14
Old Carey by 23
OGS by 17
Banyule by 29
BT by 41
YV by 16

D4 - Powerhouse by 100 (Parton 18 goals)
Eltham by 68 (Matthews 10 goals, 50 disposals)

Has Matthews got his clearance? Maybe Tuckey could get a game at Eltham?

DG-Man
26 May 2006, 10:26
Hi all,

We have 11 people in the tipping comp. This is great. Anyone else reading this thread, jump in today, as there are no second chances tomorrow.
Where is Uglydermie?? Don't want him to miss out!!!!

DG Tips:

Rupo in the big one by a goal or two. Home ground advantage is enough to sway me there way.
OGS by 25
Banyule by plenty
BT to continue there winning ways
YV at home (Not confident on this, but they did whip OGS there)

Massive week. Banyule and OM's need to win to have any chance of making the 4. Also a must game for Therry. Early pacesetters will slip to 3-3 if they lose to the OGS. Just who is the flag favourie? Rupo or OC's. We will find out tomorrow!:thumbsu:

sideshowbob
26 May 2006, 11:01
Rupo agian in a close one agaist Oc's - 2 points
Banyule by geez i don't know could be 100 +
YV at home, although St Leos very close to a win - 13pts
Bulleen Temp, will be a training drill, OM dont travel at all well - 60pts
Ogs far to good for therry at home, if therry lose, good bye to season - 38pts.

Good luck to all involved, player, offical, supporter.

Sideshow.

D grade footy thread, again proving it's the best thread going around.:thumbsu:

Midas
26 May 2006, 11:08
Massive week. Banyule and OM's need to win to have any chance of making the 4. Also a must game for Therry. Early pacesetters will slip to 3-3 if they lose to the OGS. Just who is the flag favourie? Rupo or OC's. We will find out tomorrow!:thumbsu:[/quote]

Interesting concept, how would you frame a market. Regardless of RUpo winning this week, this is how I'd be framing it:

Old Carey 2.80
Old Geelong` 4.50
Bulleen Temp 5.50
Rupo 8.00
Therry 9.00
Banyule 21.00
Yarra Valley 31.00
Old Mentonians 41.00
Prahran 151.00
Leos 201.00

There you go, all bets cash up front and good luck finding me if there's a massive blow out. I'll be screaming Simon Beasley style!!!! No credit for you VAFA footballers, don't think your clubs would help to bail you out.

Moss Rocket
26 May 2006, 11:16
Old Carey 2.80
Old Geelong` 4.50
Bulleen Temp 5.50
Rupo 8.00
Therry 9.00
Banyule 21.00
Yarra Valley 31.00
Old Mentonians 41.00
Prahran 151.00
Leos 201.00

I think you might be underestimating the Rupo. They are 5 zip, Therry will go 3-3 if they lose to OGS (and you think they will). Rupo beat Therry at Therry. Most reports suggest the margin flattered Therry and it was at Therry.

I would not have them this close. But each to there own.

I would be going:

Old Carey 3.0
Rupo 3.60
BT 5.00
OGS 5.00
Therry 10.00
Banyule 31.00
Yarra Valley 81.00
OM's 81.00
Prahran 121.00
St.Leos 151.00

I wonder if we will have 12 markets in by days end??

sideshowbob
26 May 2006, 14:01
Moss rocket, i think you have got it spot on, and regardless of the result between OC and Rupo tomorrow, the market stays as such.

I can confirm for you that the reports you have on the Therry V Rupo game were spot on, Rupertswood controled the play for all bar the last 5 mins of the first quarter, and could have / should have / but didn't win by a good 6-7 goals.

However, market moves i think will be interesting after everyone has played each othe once.

sideshowbob
26 May 2006, 14:37
and lets remember that in the three out off four weeks Ruperstwood face OC, OGS and BT,

They may well lose all three of these games and then all of a sudden they don't look like the team they are talked up to be.

Only time will tell.

Sandra Sully, been very quite of late, nothing to say ? I find that very hard to believe, maybe you have just relized what position you have put your team mates in ??

Midas
26 May 2006, 16:15
Guys, these are my markets based on who I think has the arsenal to actually WIN the flag. It is after all a premiership market, not a where will they finish market because at 5-0 it's a significant head start in anyone;s language although the next 4 weeks will be interesting.

One dominating performance over another side doesn't necessarily give you all the tools required to win a flag, otherwise we'd have Hawthorn at shorter odds than Geelong to win the AFL flag, Freo shorter than the Eagles and Geelong & Collingwood poles apart.

Am happy to take money on Rupo at those odds, no problems whatsoever. PM me if you like!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Bede me up
26 May 2006, 16:25
Guys, these are my markets based on who I think has the arsenal to actually WIN the flag. It is after all a premiership market, not a where will they finish market because at 5-0 it's a significant head start in anyone;s language although the next 4 weeks will be interesting.

One dominating performance over another side doesn't necessarily give you all the tools required to win a flag, otherwise we'd have Hawthorn at shorter odds than Geelong to win the AFL flag, Freo shorter than the Eagles and Geelong & Collingwood poles apart.

Am happy to take money on Rupo at those odds, no problems whatsoever. PM me if you like!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

My word is Rupo are playing on pure emotion - this can;t be sustained. OC have the class factor with numerous stars that have / could play at a far higher level. This will carry them to a premiership victory over OG's, with Rupo and BT to fill the 3rd and 4th positions.

Very solid thread.

uglydermie
26 May 2006, 17:34
will post tonight. Been flat knacker. This thread is on fire....

ugly out!

silky_skills
26 May 2006, 17:35
I wonder how a BT vs OC final would go? Do the OC still have nightmares from 2004? Would a OG v Rupo final give the same result as last year?

DG-Man
26 May 2006, 17:58
I wonder how a BT vs OC final would go? Do the OC still have nightmares from 2004? Would a OG v Rupo final give the same result as last year?

Interesting thoughts. I think both BT and OC would take a GF appearance right now and go to C Grade. BT were very solid in 04. They would certainly feel confident in any GF i would think. I guess it depends on the two results earlier in the year, and who won a 2nd semi final. In 04, BT had a lot of confidence by winning the 2nd Semi. The games between OC and BT this year will be very interesting.
Old Carey have a new coach and heaps of new players. I would guess that on GF day (if it comes) 12-14 players would not have been in the side that played BT in 04.
OG and Rupo, well there is another interesting one. I am not sure about the turnover of players this year, but i believe that OGS are a very similar side, whist Rupo have had an influx of younger kids. These kids are used to success (U19's) so i don't think they would be intimadated or take scars from the 05 GF.
Nice Post!:thumbsu:

bullant10
26 May 2006, 18:13
Whispers are on the weekend the bullants have a couple of guns missing a tall, very handy ruck, and a solid as a rock half back flanker. Not going to be full strength which will make it interesting. Still think the ants will get up but some of their good players need to stand up.
Happy with the markets that have been posted - rupo are very good value!
OC v BT would be a cracking grand final cause both teams have numerous changes and the rivalry that has been building up would see both sides have a massive crack. In 04 BT lost both games during the season then came out and smashed them in the semi and agrain GF day! Finals are a different ball game, making it is the hard part - once you are in you are a chance!

good luck on the weekend, Go Ants!:thumbsu:

uglydermie
26 May 2006, 20:42
A huge weekend in D grade and fantastic to see the efforts by all on this thread. Here are uglies tips this week:

1) Huge game out Sunbury way. Plenty of hype from both camps and regardless of what a few Rupo fans think of my opinion of them, I honestly think they are the real deal and like my boys at BT the next 4 weeks will tell plenty. I reckon OC will win this one away from home BUT not by much and in the longer term (like August/ September) Rupo will get plenty out of the loss. OC by 11

2) The oggers to expose TP. Not sue about Therry's class. OG's on the other hand are a good unit and will have enough talent to win this easily

3) BT will win at home against OM. Wont be able to see the game but I have heard that a few of the BT senior blokes (like Matthews - unless he is lining up with the Turtles) are starting to gain a bit of match fitness and that could be bad news for the Mentonians. BT by 56 with Matthews kicking 8 from a half forward flank

4) banyule to beat Prahran by 10 points, after Prahran lead for most of the day...... or banyule win by 100 points after leading all bloody day against a crap team from Toorak park....NOT SURE!

5) Yarra Bloody Valley are a weird bunch of units. Flogged OG then hammered BT in the first quarter of that game by kicking 8 goals to 1 before losing by 50 points. beaten again last week. Animals desperate for a win and have been in many of their games. Tough one this. Flipped the coin YV just!

Ugly happy to put a slab of VB in to the winners pool. Not sure how I can distribute the prize but I am sure it can be worked out.

Good luck to all those still on the paddock and better luck to all those who just pop down to their local club and support. Much harder to watch than play..... and very tricky negotiating the roads home whilst finishing that last frothy one!

Henry24
27 May 2006, 17:58
BT went down to OM's by about 7-8 goals. Players missing that bullant10 was talking about: Waters, Pietryk, Millar....also Frost and Touriganis. Mentone had a couple of blokes from sandringham that dominated.

DG-Man
27 May 2006, 19:41
Results people:

OM's gave BT a touch up by plenty
Rupo steamrolled the OC by 10 goals
YV easily at home over Leos
OGS just over Therry
Banyule easy over Prahran

Very interesting. DG will post tipping results later. No 5's, some 3's and 4's, even some 2's. Nothing easy about this tipping caper!

DG was at Rupo v Old C's. Great game to watch. Rupo flew out of the blocks, kicking 8 to 1 early. Old C's fought back to get within 13 points late in the second. Only for Rupo to kick away again in the second half.
As an independent watcher, with no bias, i will give you my thoughts. I'm sure there are many Rupo and Old C fans who can tell you what they saw. IMO it was a game Rupo had to win. And win they did. At home, up against the early favourites (maybe not in Sandra's eyes) it was important for them to stamp themselves on D1. They had some doubters, but after today, there can be no question that this Rupo side will be hard to beat. Rupo are a very small and fast running team. They play a great brand of football and are obviously very well coached. They move the ball like lightening, having runners on the attacking side of the ground to ensure quick delivery to there leading forwards. It seemed like thay had an extra man aroung the ball all day. Despite this look of an extra man, they were also able to get back and flood the Carey forward zone. I think this was more an indication of how slow and wide Carey moved forward. Rupo were great. They were fierce at the ball and ran all day.
Re Old C's. They had a bad one. They looked slow and lethargic. When they kicked 4-5 in a row late in the second, i thought they were finally waking up from there sleep. But when Rupo came at them again in the 3rd, i realised that they were going to be no match for them today. It will be intersting to see how Carey respond next week against OGS. They probably needed a wake up call, as they hadn't really met any of the top sides yet. They have a few to come back in, but will certainly need to lift there intensity at the ball and also create faster run through the middle if they are going to remain up the top.
I tipped Rupo, so the result (a home win) did not suprise me. The margin did. I think it will be a big week on the track out at Bulleen.

DG - Out

MJS2
27 May 2006, 20:12
The bullants new it was a danger game and it turned out to be. Mentone came to play and deserved to win. The bullants missed five quality players, Waters being the big one. However Mentone played good solid football and will be pushing up the ladder. The bullants had a shocker with most players playing well below thier best.They have a tough month ahead but i can assure you will bounce back...

kingbrown
27 May 2006, 21:17
As a rupo person we have had a great day both on and off the field(the beer tasted fantastic) however we are not stupid enough to get carried away. Our performance today was the equal of any in our short history. You cannot watch a game like that and help but admire our lack of size our lack of weight however this mattered for nothing.

I Love Sandra Sully
28 May 2006, 12:09
Well Well Well......... All hail king Sandra and the mighty Rupy!!!
Ok.... look i am the first to admit when i have made a mistake....and i made a mistake last week when i said the OC coach would be looking like this :eek: after being 5 goals down in the first quarter....It was a mistake on my behalf, OC were down by 8 goals at the end of the first.:eek: :eek: :eek: .... ahhhhh ha ha ha ha ha... Words to describe the so called premiership favorites....SLOW, SOFT, PATHETIC..... As i told everyone, Rupo would steam roll the Old Fairy's.... so now when i speak you all pay attention.... Sandra knows best.
Bede me up: your word was that Rupo are running on pure emotion.......well i have news for you buddy........that's 10 goal emotion!! back in your box.... you have been silenced by the great team.
Sideshowbob: will be very interested to hear from your sorry a55 this week...... have i realised what position i put my team mates in???........ Ahhh yes A WINNING POSITION!!! You have also been silenced.....you will only speak when spoken to from now on..... which will be never, so have a good life.

Ahhhhhh well that is Sandra sullys news wrap for this morning.... i look forward to the abuse which will follow........ But as the old saying goes...... SCORE BOARD LADS!!!!!

YELLOW AND BLUE OH WE'RE FROM RUPERTSWOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D

DG-Man
28 May 2006, 18:44
I was hoping Sandra would visit over the weekend!! Yes winners are grinners and the rest can suit themselves. I must correct you Sandra. The premiership favourites were not soft, slow and pathetic. That is a terrible way to describe Rupo!!!:D :D
Certainly one to savour for you. I doubt there will be too many people questioning your boys for the remainder of the year. The return match at Bulleen later in the year should be a ripper. Old Carey MUST now prove themselves as more than just a bunch of talented kids. They need to become a ruthless side. A little like the boys from Sunbury showed this week.
Will be interesting to see how OC's and BT respond next week. Tough matches for both teams. But come Saturday next, we will see what they are made of, and whether they are lkkely to be able to catch the tareaway competition giants. Well done Rupo!:)

linger_isgod
28 May 2006, 19:33
A. Kent to have a shoulder operation during June/July, put him out for the rest of the season...

DG-Man
28 May 2006, 20:52
Interesting mail Linger. I guess you are talking about Old Careys number 50. That will certainly be a huge loss. I noticed he didn't play on Saturday. Perhaps he has already gone under the knife? I have heard that this boy is a great cricketer. I believe he may be captain of Melbourne in the 1sts? Perhaps cricket is his number 1 sport and he wants to be right for the start of the season. Bad luck for OC's. They missed him yesterday!
Hopefully he can get back for the finals if it is not too major an op.
Anyone from the OC have any news on this??

DG-Man
29 May 2006, 09:49
D-Grade Tipping Ladder

St Kevs Cowboy - 4
Henry 24 - 4
DG-Man - 4
Sideshowbob - 4

Is that so - 3
MJS2 - 3
Moss Rocket - 3
Midas - 3
Ugly Dermie - 3

OC37 - 2
Hansie - 2
Kingbrown - 2

Bullant - 1

Most disappointing to see Sandra not send in tips. We know he would have got the Rupo game correct!!
Nobody tipped OM's against BT, the Rupo / OC's game was split, quite a few tipped Therry and St.Leos. Obviously the Therry result was pretty close and some were iunlucky there.

Good luck for next week!

I Love Sandra Sully
29 May 2006, 10:56
MISSING:

1 Uglydermie

1 oc37

1 Bede me up

If anyone knows the where abouts of these three wise men who new all about how good OC were before this round can you please tell them that 'I love Sandra Sully' is looking for them.... I can be contacted at the following website www.bigfooty.rupertswood.made.fools.of.you.com.au (http://www.bigfooty.rupertswood.made.fools.of.you.com.au)

Thankyou.

Bede me up
29 May 2006, 11:07
MISSING:

1 Uglydermie

1 oc37

1 Bede me up

If anyone knows the where abouts of these three wise men who new all about how good OC were before this round can you please tell them that 'I love Sandra Sully' is looking for them.... I can be contacted at the following website www.bigfooty.rupertswood.made.fools.of.you.com.au (http://www.bigfooty.rupertswood.made.fools.of.you.com.au)

Thankyou.

That's funny Sandra, as I just logged in to www.bigfooty.letsgetcarriedawaywithonevictory.com.au (http://www.bigfooty.letsgetcarriedawaywithonevictory.com.au) and I found your pathetic self there also! I stand by my prediction - OC for the flag over OGS, with Rupo to remain in D grade. Winning a home and away match and winning a final are two different things pal. You've got a bit to learn yet.

footy_nerd
29 May 2006, 11:51
spot on bede me up, whilst a good win for rupo and will silence a lot of critics on this thread, you don't win premierships in may. there is a long way to go and with big games in a grand final rematch with old geelong and then a tough encounter against bullen temp will show the boys from sunbury where they sit in terms of the bigger picture.

Yarra Valley seem to be on the improve they pumed st leos who look like they are in for a long year and with a win over old geelong and a close loose to rupo they could be the D1 suprise packet. Thought the margin would of been a bit bigger in the ogs therry game but therry are a good unit and whilst ladder doesn't depict a good overall picture of their year they will cause some upsets during the year. Mentonians had a win, which continues their up an do season so forth.

John Cena
29 May 2006, 12:10
Hello everyone,
I am new to this thread, have had some thoughourgly enjoyable reads, and it seems now there is some bitterness towards I love Sandra Sully, i think some of you blokes out there should just swallow your pride and give credit where it is due, after all it was only last week that a few of you blokes were telling us how great OC were and were premiership favorites (carried away???).
Interesting result score line in the Therry v OG Game, are Og's off the boil a little bit at the moment??? injuries?? I personally thought they would be the team to beat this year.

uglydermie
29 May 2006, 13:18
well done Rupo. A great win indeed. Certainly surprised me by both the result and the margin. Can someone please give me an honest rundown of Old Carey from saturdays performance. ILSS - you are a very excitable young rooster......Do you play?

I will be able to watch Rupo in a few weeks and can only assume that you are the small skinny kid with the green boots, white headband, superman tattoo on you right shoulder (that mum has not seen yet), the one with the very high pitched voice that will slowly leave you when you nuts drop and the one who still wears his undies in the shower after a game. Is that you??

DG-Man
29 May 2006, 13:59
Ugly,

I think we can probably give the OC the benefit of the doubt last week and wait until they play OGS on Saturday before deciding if it was just a one off, or whether they are perhaps not in the best 1-2 sides in the comp.
From my view they were simply outplayed on the day. Rupo won the clearances and with blistering pace were able to dominate Old Carey from the start of the game. Confidence is an amazing thing. Rupo suddenly had plenty, whilst Old Carey had no idea how to move the ball forward. While the difference is scores accurately reflected the game, i think the gap between the two sides is nothing like that. Old Carey had a shocker. They will adjust their team (too top heavy) when they play them next time, and have the players to match them in the clearance department. It looked like they came up against a side that they new little about, and were able to play the game on their terms and to their strengths.

It is certainly very interesting to see that Rupo and OGS are the number 1 and 3 teams on the ladder. It is a great performance from teams to play off in D2 GF and then keep it going in D1 the following year. Old Carey and BT were unable to do it last year. (Old C's did finish 4th however)

sideshowbob
29 May 2006, 14:00
sandra, i for one am sorry for doubting both yourself and the rupertswood footy club, i will say however i am now quite confident the boys from sunbury will play finals, and if they can turn 9-0 / 8- 1 at the half way mark could possibly finish 1/2 and if their effort on saturday is anything to go by should progress another grade.

Sill plenty of time left and after speaking to dolly after the game, who i might add played a pretty good game of footy, while carrying a groin type injury, he was pretty impressed by what he saw, and what was more impressive was that from what i heard only three players missing from OC's best side, unsure if true but that is what i was told.

DG-MAN, your report was not to bad, i think you sumed it up with your description, They looked slow and lethargic, I do believe however the next time round the result will be slightly different, and then as Bead me up states Winning a home and away match and winning a final are two different things, so while everything looks rosy at the moment, every win you have is closer to a loss, and let's be honest Rupo's grand final history has not been that flash.

A source of mine confirmed for me that Therry very unlucky not to win, C. Bannister in deverstating form kicking 8 out of 12 goals,three and half goals up with 10mins to go, OGS kick last four goals of game and steel it, Therry just cant nail the close ones,

YV, i agree along with banyule will be the two teams pushing for that fourth spot, Bulleen need to win this week to hold them off a little longer, can't wait for the OC / OGS game this week,

Anyone want to take the $7.50 about St.Leos knocking off Rupo at home ?

Please note that although stated in a earlier post by Bead me up about the Oc's having several players that could play at a higher level, I would suggest that all clubs including Rupo do, a wise man once said " a champion team will always beat a team of champions ", maybe that is the Oc's poblem, to many good players not wanting to do the team things ?

Thankyou D graders, again a wonderful round if football, and again some wonderful posts.

Sideshow.

Moss Rocket
29 May 2006, 14:54
Hi All,

Very interesting results indeed. Old Carey and BT let me down in the tipping comp.

The whole section suddenly looks a lot more even. Banyule, YV and OM's are at the very least going to be tough match ups for the top sides, and at best push for a position in the bottom of the 4.

DG-Man
29 May 2006, 16:53
Intersting times at the tribunal this week. I see 2 from OC and 2 from Rupo are up. S.Collins and T. Howgate are the two from the OC. These 2 make up 2/3rds of the OC's contribution to the Rep side. If Parton is carrying a groin (Sideshows mail), Kent has done a shoulder (Someone elses mail) and they lose 2 of there best from the side that got a Rupo pasting!?!?!?
Are there some cracks starting to appear??
Any news OC boys??
Looks like the game against the OGS will be a difficult one to win.

linger_isgod
29 May 2006, 17:01
Kent won't miss any games between now and his operation, but it's a wear and tear thing that he wants to have right by cricket season.

Which is understandable - he's in the Top 50 cricket players in Victoria, doubt he's in the Top 50 footy players in Victoria. :thumbsu:

uglydermie
29 May 2006, 17:20
my mail is that Kent is infact in the best 5-10 batsman in the state and that his dodgy shoulder effected his ability in the field more than with the actual willow. He will be a huge loss to OC as I reckon he is their most influential player (beat dolly in b@F in their GF season in 2004).... and he is a top fella aswell.

DG-Man
29 May 2006, 17:25
Linger,
Are you sure he hasn't had the op?? I was at Rupo on weekend and he didn't play. I was looking for him as i have heard he is a gun player.

BlueBoys88
29 May 2006, 17:50
Intersting times at the tribunal this week. I see 2 from OC and 2 from Rupo are up. S.Collins and T. Howgate are the two from the OC. These 2 make up 2/3rds of the OC's contribution to the Rep side. If Parton is carrying a groin (Sideshows mail), Kent has done a shoulder (Someone elses mail) and they lose 2 of there best from the side that got a Rupo pasting!?!?!?
Are there some cracks starting to appear??
Any news OC boys??
Looks like the game against the OGS will be a difficult one to win.

I recieved some mail sunday about the rupo vs carey clash, and apparently both the seniors and the reserves games were very physical and hostile with fights occuring on a regular basis. What charges are the rupo and carey players up on?

linger_isgod
29 May 2006, 17:56
Linger,
Are you sure he hasn't had the op?? I was at Rupo on weekend and he didn't play. I was looking for him as i have heard he is a gun player.
He may well have.

uglydermie, top 10 would be a stretch, but arguably Top 15, definently Top 20. And you're right, as with most bad shoulders, they don't affect him in batting, it lessens his ability to dive, and maybe throw (not sure which shoulder it is, though).

Anyways, back to the important stuff (i.e. not cricket :D ) :thumbsu:

DG-Man
29 May 2006, 18:05
I recieved some mail sunday about the rupo vs carey clash, and apparently both the seniors and the reserves games were very physical and hostile with fights occuring on a regular basis. What charges are the rupo and carey players up on?

I believe striking.

I saw the end of the ressies game and it was a hoot. Forgive me fans of Rupo and OC if numbers, people are wrong (this is reserves and i don't know any players by name)
Number 63 Old Carey put a high hit on small bald guy (maybe number 2) This number 2 was angry, he ran at the Carey guy with arms up and was going to whack him one. The Carey guy put up his arms as the blow was iminent, and the Rupo guy ran straight into his forearm and played knocked out. This caused the Rupo crowd to give it to the Carey guy for the rest of the game. He was got at on 2-3 occasions with behind the play hits. Umpires did nothing. It was getting a little out of control. Carey guy had a big mouth and was abusing the crowd and bench. They were abusing him.
All in all, 63 should have pulled his head in. Rupo guy copped it, but was going to give him one, so it was ok.

L:ove the banter betwwen crowd and supporters. Love the Ammos!!:)

silky_skills
29 May 2006, 21:09
Good post DG.... can rupo hold their own in a fight?

DG-Man
29 May 2006, 22:03
Of course Rupo can hold there own. So can 9 other clubs in D1. I know a little about a few clubs and a lot about some others. I really don't think there are tough, strong teams and weak, intimadated teams. All teams are capable of being tough (that is being prepared to put their heads over the footy and take a hit) There is nothing tough about whacking someone behind play, or even in play. I don't think D1 ammos is like this. Most clubs weed out those kind of people themselves. There will always be a bad egg or two, but little respect is gained from both inside or outside of clubs if you think being tough is being able to throw a cheap punch.
Being tough is about taking a hit when it is your turn. Putting your body on the line. Backing back into a pack. I think all clubs in D1 are strong, tough clubs.
The battle, as it should be, will be won on the scoreboard.
Go D1

Moxy
30 May 2006, 10:06
Thanks DG-MAN!

Hi guys, can anybody confirm for me the return of Geoff O'Conner back to Therry, after a couple of years stint in the DVFL.

DG-Man
30 May 2006, 10:12
Thanks DG-MAN!

Hi guys, can anybody confirm for me the return of Geoff O'Conner back to Therry, after a couple of years stint in the DVFL.

Moxy,

If he is a good player, ie would play firsts, then i don't think he is at Therry this year. There has been no O'Conner play a senior game at Therry in 06. Maybe ressies??

Moxy
30 May 2006, 11:15
Moxy,

If he is a good player, ie would play firsts, then i don't think he is at Therry this year. There has been no O'Conner play a senior game at Therry in 06. Maybe ressies??
DG-MAN, he hasnt played there yet, just training with them I think, Still getting over an ankle injury.
Just heard rumours that he has been spotted down at training. Yes he is a good player and would play ones easily.
He was playing at Wallan in the DVFL for the last couple of years, he played 4 games with us this year but then stated that he has to retire due to a severe ankle injury.
But then I hear rumours he is training at another club, just want to find out if they are true.

johnfromtheVAFA
30 May 2006, 11:19
Rupo silencing some crtics this. A great win for the club, from all reports they really focussed on this game and really showed throughout the day. A quality team with a strong midfield. A new addition in the ruck though this week, the young developing forward for the woodmen was thrusted into the ruck and i thought he performed well and contributed to the rupo drive from the middle.:thumbsu: Oc were off on the day and were really outclassed still a great side but need to play well thiss week i am going to be leaning towrds the oc this week to aveng last weeks loss

Midas
30 May 2006, 13:18
Well all the best to those Rupo supporters that smashed my nines, have reeled them in to 6.50 with an easing OC out to 4.00. OG's are at 5.00 still in my book and the BT boys, well didn't they let me down!!! Out to 6.00 with the Therry boys out to 10.00.

6-0 top of the table, still confident they won't win it and I'll take that country money but gee, aren't they a chance now of a top two finish which gives them a good crack at it. Still have my doubts though.

Sleeper is Banyule, who seem to be emerging bearing in mind they lost two by less than a kick. From all reports were very impressive on Saturday and the next couple could see them pushing for a place in the four by the turn.

Leos really appear to be gone, but the Domeney factor for the Yarra boys should never be underestimated. As for Prahran, well what can you say. Yarra at Toorak Pk this week would have to be their last chance to set themselves on a path avoiding relegation, if the die has not been cast already.

Old Mentonians pulled off one of their usual two massive wins for the year. Can they maintain it away from home this week. It's a topsy turvy season in D1 as I have said all along. I honestly believe the standard has slipped this year and accompanying that, I also believe any side in the comp can beat any other even more so than any year in recent memory.

Roll on round 7!

AJPAJP
30 May 2006, 14:30
Old Mentonians pulled off one of their usual two massive wins for the year. Can they maintain it away from home this week. It's a topsy turvy season in D1 as I have said all along. I honestly believe the standard has slipped this year and accompanying that, I also believe any side in the comp can beat any other even more so than any year in recent memory.

Roll on round 7!

Fleming played his first game for the year, he is a very handy player. Sandringham had a bye. BT didnt have their VFL players - thems the breaks

kingbrown
30 May 2006, 18:39
Round 7 here is my tips. After 2 last week i dont confess to know much about alot of the teams but as long as Rupo win i dont care.

Rupo, has a danger game, like many others on this thread i believe on any given day sides depending on personell can topple each other. Rupo have to come up again after a great performance last week. This is the major test for young relentless warriors. St.Leos have nothing to lose and feel they have played well at home going by results. Rupo by 12 points

OC and OG should be a cracker of a game. Old Geelong prevailed strongly over Rupo in 2005, not unlike Oakleigh in 2004. I'm suggesting Rupo improves at a greater level than all sides and will have OG's measure (all be it not by much) and with a rebounding OC at home i'll tip them by 7 points.

Therry VS BT Yet to see BT, this thread again suggests whos available is all important. Have seen Therry, pretty impressed, Darren Goodwin have seen him play and is a gun (didn't play against Rupo) so if he is available i will lean towards Therry (22points).

OM v Banyule. Can't pick it. OM very inconsistent and Banyule improving. OM good at home. Banyule by 6 points.

Prahran v YV. Was very impressed with YV against Rupo. Were 4 goals up in th 2nd quarter only to be over run with our fitness and run. Prahran struggling ( the mud heap they evidently play on doesn't help) so i'll tip YV by 28pts

This thread is enjoyable keep it going. D1 is pretty even and the standard weplayed on Saturday was very high, so i'm not sure about past years but we are playing tremendous footy, Just ask who's played us.

Creeker
30 May 2006, 19:18
Hey Moxy,

I am a good mate of G O'Connor and I can confirm he is down training at Therry but only in the gym, he has told me that he want to play his final year with his good mates...........I think he did play down there for 8 years before wallan. I don't know if he will play ones or just help out from time to time in the 2's. Did he leave Wallan on bad terms? As far as I am aware he did like the blokes and stuff up there.

Moss Rocket
30 May 2006, 19:28
Of course Rupo can hold there own. So can 9 other clubs in D1. I know a little about a few clubs and a lot about some others. I really don't think there are tough, strong teams and weak, intimadated teams. All teams are capable of being tough (that is being prepared to put their heads over the footy and take a hit) There is nothing tough about whacking someone behind play, or even in play. I don't think D1 ammos is like this. Most clubs weed out those kind of people themselves. There will always be a bad egg or two, but little respect is gained from both inside or outside of clubs if you think being tough is being able to throw a cheap punch.
Being tough is about taking a hit when it is your turn. Putting your body on the line. Backing back into a pack. I think all clubs in D1 are strong, tough clubs.
The battle, as it should be, will be won on the scoreboard.
Go D1

Passionate!!!!!! It brings a tear to the eye!

My tips:

OC to bounce back
Rupo on there merry way
Therry must win or season may be sliding away. So its Therry
OM's at home in a thriller
YV in a close one at Toorak

Quite a tough round. Rupo looks like the only easy one (sorry Leo's fans)

Moxy
30 May 2006, 22:25
Hey Moxy,

I am a good mate of G O'Connor and I can confirm he is down training at Therry but only in the gym, he has told me that he want to play his final year with his good mates...........I think he did play down there for 8 years before wallan. I don't know if he will play ones or just help out from time to time in the 2's. Did he leave Wallan on bad terms? As far as I am aware he did like the blokes and stuff up there.
Hey creeker,
nah he didnt leave on bad terms. If anything we are gonna miss him. The reason I was wondering if he was playing down there, was because he told us he has retired due to his ankle injury.
So when I heard that he was playing at another club I was gobsmacked. He did a pre-season with us and played a handful of games.
So why wouldnt he stick around?
Maybe something happend at the club that he didnt like or he got a better offer from somebody.
We are looking good this year and I personally thought he would want to stick around and see if we could make finals for the first time in DVFL, as he was apart of the original team that started of the building process.

Just doesnt seem right!

Creeker
30 May 2006, 22:55
I will be catching up with him very soon so i will find out for sure. I know he def isn't 100% and he is regualary back at the surgeon for jabs and what ever else. Nothing at wallan upset him and I know he was upset to have to leave. Has anyone from the club kept in still in contact with him?

DG-Man
31 May 2006, 10:01
Tribunal results.

Both Rupo boys got off.
Collins got off
Howgate copped 2 weeks.

Pretty good result alround. Carey will be relieved not to lose Collo for the b ig game against OGS. Disappointing to lose Howgate. Don't know much about him, but he is young, big and talented from reports.

Rupo.....can anything go wrong for these lads. On a roll!!

Keep the tips coming in lads!!

I Love Sandra Sully
31 May 2006, 10:03
All you punters have prob been holding back waiting for the great mans tips........well here they are you ferals.... pay attention.

Rupo easily over St Leos (+39.5 points Margin)
OG to knock off OC (plenty of yellow scarves are the order of the day here)
Therry over BT (say......30 points)
OM to beat Banyule (22 points)
YV to beat Prahan (34 points)

OG's to win by a point over OC by the way.....Just to break there spirits that little bit extra going into the break.

OldMelburnian28
31 May 2006, 13:11
Sandra sully not a bad set of tips. So good that i will submit identical picks for the round.

I still don't like you though.

DG-Man
31 May 2006, 15:30
Sandra and OM, you didn't put your tips in last week. You are starting behind the pack.

This week DG-Man thinks:

OM's in a nailbiter against the Bears
YV to be a little too strong for Prahran
Therry to win a must win game over BT
Rupo to keep cruising along (maintain ther 1 game advantage hey Sandra. Nice late edit)
OGS to upset the OC in a ripper of a game.

Would be interesting to see last years D2 Grand finalists be 1 and 2 after round 7. Would certainly give weight to the theory that D1 is not as strong as last year.

I'm sure the Old C's think they have improved since last year, so they will be pulling out all stops to stop the OGS this week. Will be a great game, but i think the OGS are looking ominous!

Send all your tips in. Missing 11 tipsters at the moment.

Please note: If you do not post tips by Sat Morning, you recieve all away teams as your tips. Last week that = 1 (OM's)

uglydermie
31 May 2006, 15:45
great to see that the vast majority of people contining to use this forum in the manner in which it was designed. ILSS still manages to undo all the great work by Rupo.... This little fettish of his regarding Oggers and OC's wearing yellow scalves intrigues me a bit. After consultation with an old university prof. I have been informed that such silly statements by ILSS can almost certainly be an indication of ones own sexual uncertainties. Perhaps the pressure of still being sexual inactive or having active (wet) dreams of gay romps are starting to take there toll on the young rooster. Either way young man, please continue to humour us with your great football knowledge but please leave out the other rather boring and unnecessary stuff.

Ugly - OUT

St.Kev's Cowboy
31 May 2006, 15:56
Tips this week:
Old Carey and Old Geelonh to be close but Old Geelong run over OC in the last 5 minutes.
Yarra Valley to slap the shizen out of Prahran
Banyule to beat OM's (i think this is Oms week off again)
Rupo over Emmaus
BT and Therry, too close to call but i reckon Therry just. Really need this win (as has been stated in above posts) to keep in touch.

John from the VAFA who is this developing ruckman/forward you mentioned from Rupo? What sort of player is this bloke thats been mentioned who trained with therry but has a crook ankle? Will he play this year?
Cheers Cowboy

I Love Sandra Sully
31 May 2006, 16:05
Gee i'm sorry Uglydermie i didn't realise you were the forum co-ordinator... terribly sorry bout that, in future i will just do as you say.
I shouldn't be bringing up yellow scalves.... next time i will stick to the homosexual jibes like you.

Everyone, Uglydermie is telling me to stick to what the forum is for (talking footy i presume) only to proceed to dish out 7 lines of absolutley nothing to do with footy... bit contradictive if you ask me.... or could it be that he is upset about the young Rupo side sitting pretty on top??? I think the latter.

Anyway you lot decide.....

Bede me up
31 May 2006, 16:21
My Tips :

OC to be stung into action and defeat OGS in a GF preview
YV to win
BT to defeat Therry
Rupertswood(what sort of name is that anyway) to beat the dirty Animals
The Banyule Bears to win

.......and my biggest tip - ILSS - pull your head in!

hansie
31 May 2006, 16:35
My Tips :

OC to be stung into action and defeat OGS in a GF preview
YV to win
BT to defeat Therry
Rupertswood(what sort of name is that anyway) to beat the dirty Animals
The Banyule Bears to win

.......and my biggest tip - ILSS - pull your head in!

Hear, Hear! Good call that!

And, despite what ILSS thinks, my spirit and that of my teammates is not broken (nor do I even own a yellow scarf). Yes, we were beaten by a better side on the day, however all is not lost (or won) in Rd 6! Well done Rupo, we'll see you again in about 10 weeks, Bulleen way.

TIPS:
YV
Bulleen-Temp
Rupertswood
Banyule
Us (goes without saying really, sure that OGS will take it right up to us)

Cheers boys and enjoy the footy

Is that so
31 May 2006, 16:58
ILSS you will have to be on the thread a bit longer before you get support against Ugly, he may not be moderator but definately respected.

My tips:
Rupo over st leos who are gone, by 30pts
OG over OC by 10pts
BT to bounce back and secure 4th place by 20pts
OM over Banyule by 10pts
Yv over Prharn by 30pts.

John Cena
31 May 2006, 17:46
Let it be known that i support Sandra Sully, and think this site would be dull without him.
And before you all get on your high horse and start abusing me, i am not from Rupertswood!!!!!!! I am just sick of listening to you idiots critisize the young lad for having a crack and winding up you old Carey blokes... which he has clearly done, you have all been sucked in.
Sandra Sully, keep up the good work son..... they are just disgruntled about your club knocking them off there purch.

Now to my tips:

OG in a very tight one over OC
Therry over BT
Rupertswood in a surprisingly close contest against Stleos
Banyule over OM by 20+ points
YV in another tight one against two blues.

Go Bears!!!

silky_skills
31 May 2006, 17:48
Hey Ugly,

My friend says you were a fine player during your day and your opponents feared you. Apparently you also have friends in high places at the VAFA. Is this true?

Sandra you should pull your head in.

I Love Sandra Sully
31 May 2006, 17:59
ha ha ha ha ha Friends in High places in the VAFA huh???!!! ahhhh ha ha ha ha people who know who i am on here would be laughing right now.

Thanks for the kind words Mr Cena.

DG-Man
31 May 2006, 18:36
I know who you are Sandra, and from the theme of the last few posts, there is nothing to laugh about. Nice attempt to try and place yourself as somebody you are not. To deflect is to remain hidden.
Let's keep the banter as kind as we can ladies and gents. Big week of footy ahead of us all!:)

uglydermie
31 May 2006, 19:17
Hey Ugly,

My friend says you were a fine player during your day and your opponents feared you. Apparently you also have friends in high places at the VAFA. Is this true?

AAAggghhhh Silky, I think you may be barking up the wrong tree. Can't confess to ever being a fine player or one that could be feared. Alas I do know a few people in high places within the ranks of the Ammos BUT best not go any further on this line.

Keep up your good work Silky,

Ugly- out

OldMelburnian28
31 May 2006, 19:34
Hey Ugly,

Ahahaha Silky Skills you have just left the funniest post of the year!!!
I can honestly say i was 'Laughing out loud' when i read this poor attempt of intimidation!

Now i am going put forward a notion to suspend and disregard anything said by silky skills for 2 days.

Thank you mr speaker (referring to a parliamentary debate) as i've heard whispers ugly dermie is not only high up in the vafa, but also a major player in the coalition government, and chums with peter costello.

mysterydog
31 May 2006, 20:37
tips and hello all........

oc to beat og think og were very very lucky boys last week against therry.
rupo to beat leos but not by much cause of the small ground and not being able to run and move as much
therry to beat bullen and set the mark that the can be a top 4 side.
old menton in a close on against the bears
yv to beat the toorak boys

long time reader first time poster

Dog out........as ugly says it

MJS2
31 May 2006, 20:48
TIPS

Carey will defeat OGS at home 25 points
Rupertswood will be pushed but will beat St.Leos 15 points
Yarra will win against two blues 35 points
Mentonians at home will beat Banyule in a close one 9 points
Bullants to bounce back and stay in the four by 13 points

DG-Man
1 Jun 2006, 11:13
Tipsters:

Still waiting on Henry, Sideshow, Midas, Ugly, OC37 and Bullant.

5 newies this week. Of the 12 already in, some close games are predicted

OC v OGS 6/6 at present (huge match for the shaping of D1 in 06)
All 12 For Rupo
All 12 for YV
OM's v Bears 7/5 (Winner will be chasing the loser of Therry v BT)
Therry v BT 8/4 (Must win. Loser will need to sart looking at the chasing pack)

Keep em rolling in.:)

uglydermie
1 Jun 2006, 12:46
Ugly reckons:

with rain and mud predicted I forcast the following results:

oggs to beat a shattered oc by 18 points (s collins broken wrist, dolly crook groin)
rupo to do enough against the animals
Yarra to pump prahran
oms at home against the bears (providing they have the sandy blokes from last week)
bt to bounce back against Therry in a bog heap (providing we get our VFL chaps)

U-out

DG-Man
1 Jun 2006, 13:36
Ugly,

Interesting mail. So Collo has broken his wrist. What's that 4-6??
And Dolly, will he continue to play half fit? Or will he be having break??

Big Chance for Rupo and OGS to pull away from the pack.

Interesting thoughts on the VFL players. Most sides fortunes it seems ride on the availability / non availability of some gun players. Well especially BT and OM's.

Do many other clubs have players playing every now and then with a VFL team?

sideshowbob
1 Jun 2006, 13:39
again an interesting round of football.

I select Ogs to get up over oc, 22 points

YV to flog two blues, two blues big chance to go though without a win, big call but have lost a lot of quality from last year, quite sad to be honest.

the bears the big imporvers and they will win by 18points

Ugly summed it up nicley, rupo to do just enough over the animals, 8 points

and if therry lose this game, they will not play finals, and i think BT will win easily, Shut down bannister and they can't kick a winning score, BT by 35 points.

Gents, i want to ask your thoughts on the blokes who are on VFL lists, i know that most clubs have them, does it effect team balances, OM proved that with these guys, they play extremly well, BT didn't have their VFL guys last week and seemed to struggle ?

Sigmund
1 Jun 2006, 14:56
Let it be known that i support Sandra Sully, and think this site would be dull without him.
And before you all get on your high horse and start abusing me, i am not from Rupertswood!!!!!!! I am just sick of listening to you idiots critisize the young lad for having a crack and winding up you old Carey blokes... which he has clearly done, you have all been sucked in.
Sandra Sully, keep up the good work son..... they are just disgruntled about your club knocking them off there purch.

Now to my tips:

OG in a very tight one over OC
Therry over BT
Rupertswood in a surprisingly close contest against Stleos
Banyule over OM by 20+ points
YV in another tight one against two blues.

Go Bears!!!

I agree John. ILSS seems like a bit of a clown but he does add some life to the forum (which I am enjoying following). I was actually speaking to the Rupo coach after one of the games this year and no one is quite sure of who he is. It seems that he keeps his identity fairly well covered. My sense is that he is just trying to suck blokes in and his views do not represent the views of the club. But I say keep going Sandra!

Trueblueroo
1 Jun 2006, 16:47
Rupo's coach is a bloke by the name of Shane Mclochlan aka Smacka! Good bloke ideas of coaching are slightly different than clubs belief, but what he's doin is what the club ask's of him. Formaly the reserves coach under Westy and smacka has aslo played at the woods, im leed to believe.

Rupo are winning games, and thats what a board ask's, no matter how you he goes about it!

Sigmund
1 Jun 2006, 16:56
True Blue - sorry - I meant that ILSS views are not necessarily those of the clubs. I am sure that the club and the coach are on the same wavelength. You are right though - Shane is a nice bloke

I Love Sandra Sully
1 Jun 2006, 17:58
Wait a minute... are you guys trying to imply i am not on some sort of a wave length???
I'll have you know my length of wave is just fine.

Creeker
1 Jun 2006, 23:08
Hey Moxy

I have it now on good info that O'Connor signed down at Therry tonight, he has told me that there is nothing that Wallan has done wrong nore no players up there. His reason is that he has been told by the surgeon that it's only a matter of time before his ankle goes and he simply wants to play with his good mates down there. I believe that he has one or two in his wedding party. He hopes Wallan do make finals and I still think you will see him at games from time to time. I do how ever feel sorry for anyone that plays on him or gets in his way in D Section, I know personnally I would be taking a side step............

Midas
2 Jun 2006, 02:35
OC, Rupo, Prahran, Therry, Banyule

DG-Man
2 Jun 2006, 09:31
Hey Moxy

I have it now on good info that O'Connor signed down at Therry tonight, he has told me that there is nothing that Wallan has done wrong nore no players up there. His reason is that he has been told by the surgeon that it's only a matter of time before his ankle goes and he simply wants to play with his good mates down there. I believe that he has one or two in his wedding party. He hopes Wallan do make finals and I still think you will see him at games from time to time. I do how ever feel sorry for anyone that plays on him or gets in his way in D Section, I know personnally I would be taking a side step............

Funny when people drop those kind of comments. If he is a thug and you are talking about a whack behind play...then that is a fair warning. Lets hope he gets rubbed out for 10. If you mean he is just a hard ball player, strong, fierce, will stick his head in a pack etc etc... I think you will find ALL clubs in D-Grade have planty of these type of players. He will fit in just nicely!!:) Welcome aboard!

I Love Sandra Sully
2 Jun 2006, 10:02
Creeker.... Side stepping???? phht........... Wait let me guess....??? your from Therry??? Are you trying to scare us all......:confused: ha ha ha ha.....D Grade is a good hard league buddy...and for once i agree with DG man... all clubs have hard players.
As a very wise man once said.......
Therry look like tarzan....Play like Jane... Just another Big muscular looking Ape for the midfield who can't get near it.

themagicfrog
2 Jun 2006, 10:03
HI ALL
just after some info on a old Berrigan boy that is playing with OC, his name is Stephen Carr, goes by the nickname Ratty. I think he has been playing 2's.
Thanks in advance

DG-Man
2 Jun 2006, 10:11
Maybe running around in the 2's. There is a Josh Carr at the club who has played all 6 games in the 1's. Perhaps it is his brother and that's why he went to the OC!? Can't help you with any more info on Ratty.
There are a few OC supporters who frequent this site. Perhaps they will respond, or you can shoot a PM there way!

hansie
2 Jun 2006, 11:13
HI ALL
just after some info on a old Berrigan boy that is playing with OC, his name is Stephen Carr, goes by the nickname Ratty. I think he has been playing 2's.
Thanks in advance

Frog,

You are 100% spot on, Stevie Carr is playing 2's at Old Carey, loves a goal! Doesn't play every week due to work commitments, but a handy player and a good bloke.

cheers,

Creeker
2 Jun 2006, 12:44
Creeker.... Side stepping???? phht........... Wait let me guess....??? your from Therry??? Are you trying to scare us all......:confused: ha ha ha ha.....D Grade is a good hard league buddy...and for once i agree with DG man... all clubs have hard players.
As a very wise man once said.......
Therry look like tarzan....Play like Jane... Just another Big muscular looking Ape for the midfield who can't get near it.
ILSS

No not a thug and is hard at it,top bloke actually, should fit in very easily to D1. I have played against him in the DVFL for the past 2 years and he has killed that, I can somehow not see D1 Ammos being quite as tough as DVFL......I mean I am sure there are some hard blokes in D1 but when push comes to shove.........are they just that??

themagicfrog
2 Jun 2006, 12:53
Frog,

You are 100% spot on, Stevie Carr is playing 2's at Old Carey, loves a goal! Doesn't play every week due to work commitments, but a handy player and a good bloke.

cheers,

Thanks Hansie, has he kicked many this year? on the net it says that he has kicked 3 in four games this year is those details correct?
How's your numbers down there? Ratty tell me you have a good turn out at training.
Magic

OldMelburnian28
2 Jun 2006, 13:24
Thanks Creeker, im sure all the players in d1 will read your post and have trouble sleeping before a therry match.

uglydermie
2 Jun 2006, 13:54
Creeker, he sounds like a top bloke. A good illistration of this is the fact that he has walked out on his club after 6 weeks because they are struggling. Sounds like a cracker of a bloke....shame there is not more like him getting around, the world would be a much better place!!

hansie
2 Jun 2006, 14:20
Thanks Hansie, has he kicked many this year? on the net it says that he has kicked 3 in four games this year is those details correct?
How's your numbers down there? Ratty tell me you have a good turn out at training.
Magic

Web site would be pretty much right frog, apparently he was the leading 2's goalkicker at the club last year. Numbers have been quite good, and there was gnashing of teeth that we couldn't get the Clubbies up and running. A few injuries and the colder weather have bitten this week, but big tests for both sides with Old Geelong, hopefully we can come up the goods at home!

How about numbers with you blokes? Getting any better? Good win over the 'smallest sheep station in the world' on the weekend!

Creeker
2 Jun 2006, 14:40
Creeker, he sounds like a top bloke. A good illistration of this is the fact that he has walked out on his club after 6 weeks because they are struggling. Sounds like a cracker of a bloke....shame there is not more like him getting around, the world would be a much better place!!

I am not going to get into a slugging match with you here. Lets talk footy.......who do you blokes have this week? Are you a ammos player??

the_kid_can_play_footy
2 Jun 2006, 14:45
hey, long time reader first time poster here.
just wanted to say that i cant see what all the fuss was about with ILSS he just a bloke (i Think) who is just tryin to pump up his side. i say good on him!!:thumbsu: he ads a bit of life to the forum!
heres a question who would be the most feared side in D1?

The Ox
2 Jun 2006, 14:50
While we are talking about Therry, can someone please tell me how they lost to Rupo a few weeks back, they would have to be the softest side going around in Victoria maybe even Australia. They should organise a game against the Nerds Soccer Team from SBS..............

themagicfrog
2 Jun 2006, 14:54
Web site would be pretty much right frog, apparently he was the leading 2's goalkicker at the club last year. Numbers have been quite good, and there was gnashing of teeth that we couldn't get the Clubbies up and running. A few injuries and the colder weather have bitten this week, but big tests for both sides with Old Geelong, hopefully we can come up the goods at home!

How about numbers with you blokes? Getting any better? Good win over the 'smallest sheep station in the world' on the weekend!

a was just a win, but thanks, we faired alot better in the magoo's with a 21 goal victory.
numbers are still bad with an average of 15 a night. and by the looks of things we will lose another two players including my little bro who will be going and playing for Kangaroo Flat, as his sparky job fell through here and they found him one down ther. He is in our top three players at the club and only 19, as a committee member I'm upset but as a brother I think he should go for it as it's going to better his footy and job, and I'll get him back next year!
But we do have three old St leos boy playing here when they can
thanks for ya interest
Magic