View Full Version : D GRADE: Give me something...
I Love Sandra Sully
28 Jun 2006, 17:54
The only infighting going on a rupo is a healthy infighting amongst players all pushing to be selected for the ones.
Just a bad (some could say lazy) couple of weeks on the field, better to have a bad run now than come finals time.
We will be back on track come Sat Afternoon... i have no doubt about it.
[quote=Half Back]Ilss,
Can you confirm a rumor, that there is some in-fighting at the club??
Evidence half back?? Or is this just a stir??
St.Kev's Cowboy
28 Jun 2006, 18:45
The cowboys tips for the return round 1:
The Oggery to beat BT just. BT for mine appear the only side likely to knock the OGs off at Como, but I still cant see it happening. Have to go with DG ob this one. OGS by 15 points.
Therry easy. Therry by 8 goals.
Rupo desperatley need a W, not a good side to come up against in the improving Yulers but they should get it done. Rupo by 5 goals.
OC over YV by 25 points.
And finally the animals will face the good OMs this week and will be beaten by a comfortable margain. OMs by 40ish points.
You're right Sandra about the form slump now, but regardless of when a slump occurs, it still needs to be turned around.
Ugly you saw the game first hand, apart from Chivas, who played well for BT? Any of the young Rupo side impress?
kingbrown
28 Jun 2006, 19:08
Offended!!! Always give a quick insight to the Rupo game immediately on a Saturday night from KB. You,d have to say the Therry boys have been even quieter this week. Has Takeover Target run again, at least let us know that.
Rupo's injury list has grown starting from the OC game, however i don't feel we have been on our own. 2 key players, one who was doing a great job on Chivers in the second quarter both come off the ground in the first half with injuries. Similar OG, our gun CHF did an ankle (4 weeks), with an important midfielder sidelined with a calf (3 weeks) both in the first quarter. Mind you i think nearly every side suffers from similar things week to week. No excuses here.
I'm more pi??ed we don't here from the clubs i mentioned recently. OG, Banyule, Prahran, and OM, this thread is a bit of fun and all clubs should join in.
kingbrown
28 Jun 2006, 19:14
DG would i be wrong in assuming that there is more at OG than the pie or Hot Dog. When we visited there i was ready to join up as a member immediately. A hell of alot of thorougbred dogs, being paraded by some very attractive football lovers!!! Next time i visit i might put the sunglasses on as well. Sun or no sun!!!!
TIPS
Match of round bullants to knock of OGS 3 goals
Old Carey only because of home ground 4 goals
Old Mentonians by 35 points over leo's
Ruppo to quick for banyule 40points
Therry easily 50 points
DG would i be wrong in assuming that there is more at OG than the pie or Hot Dog. When we visited there i was ready to join up as a member immediately. A hell of alot of thorougbred dogs, being paraded by some very attractive football lovers!!! Next time i visit i might put the sunglasses on as well. Sun or no sun!!!!
Yes KB, the sites at Como can be very easy on the eye, can't they! Certainly the OGS can lay claim to having the best looking partners and supporters in D1. I think it is something all APS schools seem to suffer from. Watching a Xavs, Old Scotch, Old Melburnians etc game can be a very pleasant experience.
It is a pity that bad weather is forecast for this Saturday. Some of those early season or late season warmer games, when the enrobing is more unimportant, can be even more pleasant!
Ugly, the DG-Man certainly does not play across the Half Back Flank, nor are the hoops my favourite windjammer. Whether it be proximity or a love of the yarra, Como certainly is a favourite haunt of mine. I remember fondly running laps of Como many years ago before a big night out. Donning a leather jacket, heading out to a nearby nightspot and duly performing with distinction on the floor and with a young lady. I have always thought that perhaps the extra kilo dropped that late afternoon at the Como had something to do with my luck that evening.
So Como will always be close to the heart!
uglydermie
29 Jun 2006, 09:15
I love you DG
Conduct Unbecoming
29 Jun 2006, 11:11
"It is a pity that bad weather is forecast for this Saturday. Some of those early season or late season warmer games, when the enrobing is more unimportant, can be even more pleasant"
While you guys are on the topic, managed to catch myself a half of the Thomastwon v Reservoir game in the Diamond Valley last week.....couldn't help but notice that in terms of the female contingent and the associated presentation of said females, the colder the better.
Tips for the week:
Oggers just over the ants - should be a cracker down at Como
OM's over Leos
Rupo over Banyule - but the bears will put up a fight!
Therry comfortably over Prahran
Us over the Valley boys
Cheers
Bede me up
29 Jun 2006, 11:58
My tips :
Ogs comfortably
Animals just
OC in a spiteful one
Therry easy
Rupo regrettably
Half Back
29 Jun 2006, 13:04
My tips :
Wet weekend ahead
Animals
Carey
Therry
Banyule
Cheers!!
sideshowbob
29 Jun 2006, 13:18
Half back,
get the feeling you don't like rupertswood.
Do you not like the blokes or the club ?
Do you Still think Therry will finish top two ?
Massive games this week, should be a cracking round of d grade footy.
Tips for this week
Carey
Ogs
Rupo
Therry
Oms
Conduct Unbecoming
29 Jun 2006, 13:22
Anyone know the dates and venues for the D1 finals this year?
Half Back
29 Jun 2006, 14:05
Sideshow...
I thought you guys were a very good young team. With all good young teams they will go through a low patch. I don't think this is your year, but within 5 years i can see you guy's in B grade.
Top two may be out of the question but i think any team that makes the final's can win it!! Top six teams are very close. Injuries will be the factor in the end. Therry will be the team to watch in the second half of the year!!
bullant10
29 Jun 2006, 14:06
Anyone know the dates and venues for the D1 finals this year?
BOx hill city oval
DAtes ???
bullant10
29 Jun 2006, 14:16
Of the four teams at the top of the ladder who is going to miss out if any, why?, and who will replace them?;)
BlueBoys88
29 Jun 2006, 14:26
I know it's a bit late to start off my d1 tipping, but im gonna do it anyway!
My upset of the round, Emmaus to beat the mentonians. In the last couple of weeks Mentonians have not impressed me at all, going down to yarra valley and just scraping over the line against pharan. However Emmaus have given pharan a footballing lesson and have showed better form of late. 26 points.
Yarra valley have won 4 on the trot! And are currently lurking just outside the top 4, with finals football definently a big aim for the club. But lets be honest here, old carey have far too much talent for this choo choo train and yarra valley will be derailed 4:30 saturday. OC by 41.
Match of the round OG vs Bulleen. As impressive as bulleen have been lately the OG's will not loose at home this year. No more said, OG's by 29.
Therry Penola take host to the struggling pharan. Therry's season has been washed down the drink, Pharan's never got out of the drink. Insignificant clash in my opinion but we must back the Therry boys. 31 points
Rupo v Banyule. Speaking of season's going down the drink rupo have a chance to turn it round. Going from 6-0 to 6-3 will hurt any club, but there is a reason why rupo were sitting undefeated on top of the ladder, i wouldn't write them off. Banyule however are basically playing for respect and to avoid relegation. rupo by 53.
Big round of d1 footy guys, can't wait to hear some results!
BOx hill city oval
DAtes ???
A & B FINALS SEPTEMBER 9/10, 16/17, 23/24
C-D4 & U19 FINALS SEPTEMBER 1/2, 9/10, 16/17
CLUB XVIII FINALS AUGUST 12/13, 19 & 26
I Love Sandra Sully
29 Jun 2006, 16:45
The great ladies tips:
Ogs
StLeos
Rupo
Therry
OC
kingbrown
29 Jun 2006, 19:08
Conduct, it may be even colder on Saturday!
My tips
OG 14 pts over BT. BT has a huge chance, biggest danger to OG at Como Park this half of the season. BT play with a great belief.
YV over OC. Need an upset, at 9 i'm in trouble, 4pts
The animals over OM by 2 pts
Rupo in a must win game. Should be very fired up against a good side in Banyule, (never to be underestimated). 16pts
Therry to bounce back over Prahran 28pts.
It's like trying to tip winners in the AFL, very difficult
What about some feedback on the first half of the year.
Most Physical: BT
Most Skilled: OG
Biggest: YV
Smallest: Rupo
Best Midfield: OC
Best Backline: Therry
Best Forward line: OG
What's everyones thoughts? Quickest? Slowest? Best Ruckman? Animals!
Conduct, it may be even colder on Saturday!
My tips
OG 14 pts over BT. BT has a huge chance, biggest danger to OG at Como Park this half of the season. BT play with a great belief.
YV over OC. Need an upset, at 9 i'm in trouble, 4pts
The animals over OM by 2 pts
Rupo in a must win game. Should be very fired up against a good side in Banyule, (never to be underestimated). 16pts
Therry to bounce back over Prahran 28pts.
It's like trying to tip winners in the AFL, very difficult
What about some feedback on the first half of the year.
Most Physical: BT
Most Skilled: OG
Biggest: YV
Smallest: Rupo
Best Midfield: OC
Best Backline: Therry
Best Forward line: OG
What's everyones thoughts? Quickest? Slowest? Best Ruckman? Animals!
Goodwork KB, nothing like a few D1 theories to ponder late on a Thursday.
I agree that BT are the most physical. Thery have some very strong bodies that are hard to move. Hate to be playing them in a final on a wet day in September.
Most skilled, this is a close one. Was very impressed with Rupo's form over OC. They were hitting targets all day. OC's skills that day were woeful. OGS in full flight look very nice. I will go Rupo..just!
Biggest. Everyone is talking about the YV tall timber. Haven't seen it, but will agree with it.
Rupo were very small. From teams i have seen, they are clear winners in this division.
Best midfield. This is an even one. The big 4 all have some great onballers. Big fan of Bayles, Chivers, S.Collins. Not sure i can single one out.
Backline - Therry certainly have the least scored against them this year. So they can have this title....for now.
Forward line. I will go OC over OGS. OC have Parton, Tiras, White and Howgate. Now that is a splendid group of players.
Rupo were quick, i am slow, The OC and Prahran ruckman impress me, and by animals, do you mean dirty players or Leos??
Is that so
29 Jun 2006, 23:08
Goodwork KB, nothing like a few D1 theories to ponder late on a Thursday.
I agree that BT are the most physical. Thery have some very strong bodies that are hard to move. Hate to be playing them in a final on a wet day in September.
Most skilled, this is a close one. Was very impressed with Rupo's form over OC. They were hitting targets all day. OC's skills that day were woeful. OGS in full flight look very nice. I will go Rupo..just!
Biggest. Everyone is talking about the YV tall timber. Haven't seen it, but will agree with it.
Rupo were very small. From teams i have seen, they are clear winners in this division.
Best midfield. This is an even one. The big 4 all have some great onballers. Big fan of Bayles, Chivers, S.Collins. Not sure i can single one out.
Backline - Therry certainly have the least scored against them this year. So they can have this title....for now.
Forward line. I will go OC over OGS. OC have Parton, Tiras, White and Howgate. Now that is a splendid group of players.
Rupo were quick, i am slow, The OC and Prahran ruckman impress me, and by animals, do you mean dirty players or Leos??
Smallest and quickest - Rupo
Most skillful - perhaps Rupo , likley OG.
Biggest forwards: YV
Best Forward: Basile OM
Berst Midfield : OC, BT,OG and OM with VFL players.
Best Backline: TP, least scored against.
Most Physical: BT or TP
Most likley to get in a melle:YV
Best Ruckman : Radywonik Prahan, Waters BT, Smith Banyule and ? ELS.
Best onballers: Collins, Baranello ,Barker, Parton, Bayless, Wise
Best Coach: Easton
Dirtiest: see suspended players and offences for the year and its clear.
OG's v Bulleen, definitely a critical clash, but I think OG's at home.
Leos will out tough Mentone at home.
OC will get themselves back on track and pump the Valley - their cockiness will catch up with them.
Therry ought to get over Prahran, whose performances are up and down but they're not far away. If there's an upset, this will be it. Big call.
Rupo should be able to account for Banyule.
All the best
Ruckman for Leo's is Ballard, quality player - would have to be one of the better ruckman in the comp.
Big game for Leo's, I was at the club last night, and their setting it as a very winnable game, with a massive chance to help avoid relegation.
However injuries from last week certainly haven't helped us!
knackers29
30 Jun 2006, 11:52
Some Big Ins for Therry this week. Back comes Corey Bannister, who has been sorely missed at Full Forward. Also Back is McWhinney at CHF, and the long awaited return of one G. O'Connor.. Should be interesting viewing!!
A spy tells me (yes Dermie, just a spy), that OGS welcome back Mollard and Vasey for the top of the table clash. A couple of regular goalkickers, to help this already potent side. Thomas Fallaw is missing unfortunately.
Am waiting for a few other spies to report back further team news:)
bullant10
30 Jun 2006, 12:18
Look for BT new inclusion (ex AFL) and a couple of injuries for the boys from bulleen
There was a rumour going round a few years back that the manningham city council wanted both templestowe and bt to join forces and play in the efl. This was quickly knocked on the head by both clubs. Let's not forget either that the player who "jumped the fence" was actually going up to speak to Easto after being sent off and only made a bee line to the opposition supporter after he became threatening towards him.
Question Bullant10 or Dermie –
Any truth in the rumor that BT was almost ‘removed’ from the VAFA a few years back before the cleanout of snipers? Have seen them twice this year and both times saw a couple of behind play hits. I saw a player jump the fence a year back and hit a spectator…heard they talked with the Ammos about moving to the Diamond Valley? Can you clarify?
Great post by the way..been reading all year![/quote]
bullant10
30 Jun 2006, 15:39
Quikest team: Rupo without a doubt
Most Physical: Therry Penola/BT
Most skillful: Geelong
Best Ruckman: Waters BT/ Ballard ESL
Best backline: Therry/Geelong
Dirtiest: YV
Best midfield:OMs/OC
Best Player in D1: Parton
Most annoying supporters: YV/Rupo
Top Four:OG,BT,OC,TP
Grand Finalists:OG v BT
Premiers: BT:thumbsu:
uglydermie
30 Jun 2006, 16:39
Cat - Go back about 10 pages and read the multitude of comments about BT mergers and hitmen. Tell me about the 2 behind the ball incidents you have witnessed this season? Send me a PM is you want dont want to put it on the table! Very easy for people to hide behind their keyboards throw rubbish about!
I Love Sandra Sully
30 Jun 2006, 16:45
Most distracting supporters: OG's (no wonder we got pumped with those fillies roaming around the ground)
Uglydermie any truth in the rumour that your infact very ugly?
Bullant10 any truth in the rumour that Baygon doesn't affect you??
Midas any truth to the rumour that you do great mufflers??
Knackers29 any truth in the rumour that you play for Therry an have none of your name?
Ahhhh nothing like a stir of the pot on a Friday afternoon!!!
And to answer the rumours weather i actually love Sandra Sully??? YES...YES I DO.
kingbrown
30 Jun 2006, 18:03
Kibe, yeah i thought your Ruckman Ballard was a ripper! 17 i think, young bloke was good in the midfield along with 2 small brothers very experienced.
Rupo's raring to go, usual story some ins some outs. Hope the weather stays good and the beers taste better on Saturday night. KB out.
ILSS, you are becoming both likeable and funny. Congratulations.
Bullant, your list of D1 theories looks pretty spot on. I am beginning to think this will be a 3 horse race between the same top 3 in D2 2004.
Great effort by all 3 clubs to continue growing and not fall into the more common basket of struggling when moving up a grade and then falling back down.
Bullant, the injuries you talk about? Serious? Longterm? Any names you wish to share?
uglydermie
30 Jun 2006, 18:13
ILSS- The name is UGLY DERMIE for a reason.
and...weather or whether? Did you miss that class is grade 5!
uglydermie
30 Jun 2006, 18:31
For those interested in the "whether":
Forecast for Saturday
Fine at first. A shower or two developing by afternoon then tending to rain by
evening. Becoming cloudy with a fresh northerly wind shifting southwest to
southerly later in the day.
Precis: Rain later.
City: Min 10 Max 14
Laverton: Min 9 Max 14 Yarra Glen: Min 7 Max 13
Tullamarine: Min 9 Max 14 Mt Dandenong: Min 7 Max 10
Watsonia: Min 8 Max 14 Scoresby: Min 8 Max 13
Frankston: Min 10 Max 13 Geelong: Min 8 Max 14
Henry24
30 Jun 2006, 19:55
St Leos V OM's
OC V YV
OG V BT
TP V Prahrahn
Rupo V Banyule
Good luck and have an injury free saturday!
uglydermie
30 Jun 2006, 22:13
Ugly reckons:
The animals to salute
YV to have their cocky redneck bottoms smacked by OC
BT to be enjoying the beer at club como with 4 more point on the board
Therry just
Rupo to win BUT the Bears play a very similar game
Ugly- half cut from a long lunch!
Look for BT new inclusion (ex AFL) and a couple of injuries for the boys from bulleen
Ryan Bain ?
uglydermie
30 Jun 2006, 22:51
Na. He shoud be next week....
My wife has just handed me two sandwiches to take to Como with me. Not happy! Should i bin them early and get the pie and hotdog i deserve, or should i not spoil the early morning gym sessions and just eat the scummy salad sangas. This is a hard one. Every Saturday it is the same difficult decision. I might go 1 x Sanga, 1 x Hotdog. A man deserves a treat!
BTW, ran into somebody last night who plays at the OC. Says they have 4-5 new guys playing this week who are very good. An ex Scotch A-Grade onballer (Not Collins, someone else) I forgot his name. Plus a big unit who got back from O/S or work. A new gun onballer who crossed from another league, plus someone else. I had had a few brews, so was a little forgetful on names. Anyone att he game today, please confirm this in your report!
Good luck all! Off to the footy i go!
My wife has just handed me two sandwiches to take to Como with me. Not happy! Should i bin them early and get the pie and hotdog i deserve, or should i not spoil the early morning gym sessions and just eat the scummy salad sangas. This is a hard one. Every Saturday it is the same difficult decision. I might go 1 x Sanga, 1 x Hotdog. A man deserves a treat!
BTW, ran into somebody last night who plays at the OC. Says they have 4-5 new guys playing this week who are very good. An ex Scotch A-Grade onballer (Not Collins, someone else) I forgot his name. Plus a big unit who got back from O/S or work. A new gun onballer who crossed from another league, plus someone else. I had had a few brews, so was a little forgetful on names. Anyone att he game today, please confirm this in your report!
Good luck all! Off to the footy i go!
Waiting for you match report DG, Bullants were way too good today. Young Bain puting on a show for his older brother. And to think there is another one to come next year!
Magic Micky
1 Jul 2006, 20:00
Bullants have just got through the toughest month of football, and secured 4 great wins. Very hard at the footy today and came away with a very good 9 goal win. BT ran very hard, the backline was superb. Barker and Cherbakof were sensational all day. If they keep playing like this I will be enjoying my satrurday afternoon spectating for the rest of the year. Go Ants!
uglydermie
1 Jul 2006, 20:27
bullants have done well. Missed the game - would love to here some unbiased reports.
cheers
Ugly
kingbrown
1 Jul 2006, 21:06
Well what another week in D1 footy. Is this for real! Prahran i take my hat off to you . Therry, i can't believe it. BT what a result, your club has a special suburban belief. The Animals and OM this result exemplifies the evenness of D1. Oc have put there mark back on the competition. Rupo got over the line today, very similar to the game against BT. Were 24 pts up at 3/4 time with Banyule having a shot in front of goal 35mtrs to go 4pts in front at the 18 minute mark. We settled and won. Thank my wife as well as the team! Banyule, will if committed seriously challenge sides, there is nothing in this competition.
Rupo are not entirely back, but to get the four points was great. The BEERS were fantastic tonight. My idea of a great night. Win at home at Rupo. Drink 6 beers. Go home have dinner. Watch the AFL. Have one more beer. Go to Bed. Bacon and Eggs Sunday Morning. Fantastic.
My long term goal: get invited to an OG dinner dance. Run 5,000,000,000 laps of Como to get into shape. Eat, drink and dance the night away. DG Man you reckon your slow, this will never happen!
kingbrown
2 Jul 2006, 10:33
Ugly, Well done to BT, your weather report must now become mandatory to this thread.
uglydermie
2 Jul 2006, 12:16
ok. I just took a look out the window, sucked the finger and pointed it to the sky.... that was the best I could come up with!
Will follow up next week.
good win by Rupo. Will be an interesting next 10 weeks.
After Yarra Valley jumped out to an early lead, Carey got some late goals in the first quarter to be trailing by just 2 points at quarter time. From then on, Old Carey's fitness and class stood out, they won the next three quarters by roughly two goals each to have a comfortable victory.
Can't comment on any new players, as I didn't play the first game against them this year. I thought #18 was a standout and Parton was a great focal point up forward. Sam Savage and the Drew brothers was good players for us. No excuses for us, Carey were just far too good. The loss emphasises that we've got some work to do if we intend to challenge for the last finals spot. Next week's match against Rupertswood puts us in a familiar position, if we win, we're back in the hunt. If we lose, the final four will be a tough ask. Should be a great game out at Domeney.
Tipping Ladder
MJS2 - 17
Henry - 16
Ugly - 16
DG-Man - 15
IsItSo - 15
StK Cowboy - 15
Hansie -15
Bullant - 14
SSBob - 14
Moss Rocket - 13
Bede Me Up - 13
Toohas - 13
Midas - 13
OC37 - 12
Mysterydog - 12
King Brown - 10
Half Back - 10
ILSSully - 10
Blueboys88 - 10
Tipping ladder clearly shows those smart guys following BT over the last month are starting to rise to the top. Silly fools who keep tipping against them (Hi there) are falling back into the pack.
Can i still join the BT bandwagon?? Bullant, Ugly, MJS2...is there room? I will take a standing only ticket down the back if i have too!
Massive win by BT. They are clear fav's for the flag after an enormous month. They seem to have a great belief at the moment, and i sense this club does not believe they belong down in the D-Grades of the Amatuers!
A great coach, experienced veterans, new quick youth, great key position players, an amazing ability to win away (remember finals aren't played at home!) plus this X-Factor of having some new key players joining the club mid season.
DG only saw a little of the match yesterday, as my perfect day of amatuer footy was ruined by the arrival from O/S of an old friend. I hit the bar a little earlier than anticipated. Was very suprised when i heard the final result.
OGS would be very disappointed with this. With the rain holding off, i'm sure they thought they would have the speed and crisp ball movement to trouble the bullants. It seems that the Ants have a few more strings to their bow than someone gave them credit for. They look the complete package and look certain to be there on that final day in September!
Other results see OC cruise in over YV. Anyone see this? Were the OC impressive? Did they have some big inclusions playing?
Well done Prahran. Therry are gone re making finals.
Rupo.....just! Very importasnt 4 points, with all chasers faltering on weekend.
If i was a bookie (and let's pretend i am) My new market would be:
BT - 9/4F
OC - 3/1
OGS - 5/1
Rupo - 15/1
Therry, YV, OM's - 100/1
Sorry i couldn't help you our Dermie with a report. I would have loved to have seen unfold, what obviously unfolded. I'm sure it would have been very interesting viewing!
Keep up the posts, particulary match reports from the weekend?? Love to hear about Prahran and OC's wins. And the draw!!
After Yarra Valley jumped out to an early lead, Carey got some late goals in the first quarter to be trailing by just 2 points at quarter time. From then on, Old Carey's fitness and class stood out, they won the next three quarters by roughly two goals each to have a comfortable victory.
Can't comment on any new players, as I didn't play the first game against them this year. I thought #18 was a standout and Parton was a great focal point up forward. Sam Savage and the Drew brothers was good players for us. No excuses for us, Carey were just far too good. The loss emphasises that we've got some work to do if we intend to challenge for the last finals spot. Next week's match against Rupertswood puts us in a familiar position, if we win, we're back in the hunt. If we lose, the final four will be a tough ask. Should be a great game out at Domeney.
18 would be S.Collins. He is having a great year. Seems to be in the best players most weeks! Nice report.
You are right, next weeks game will be a ripper. A real 8 point game for both clubs. Being out at Domeney, i would suggest, YV may start favourites and i am guessing most tipsters will lean their way. A loss by YV will most certainly kill off their finals chances!
Dudley Hamstrung
2 Jul 2006, 23:01
BT just doing it all over the past month or so. Firmly stamped their name all over this grade of footy. Well done.
Rupo just got over Banyule. Banyule play a hard at it attacking game and they are better than their win loss ratio suggests IMO.
Were Old Geelong any good at all? I mean, they just got done by OC smacked the living crap out of the Rupi and then lost at home which was un-doable. BT really are the travellers I guess.
can Banyule pounce on the wounded OGs, OM v Therry will be another good one, YV v Rupo will effectivelty decide 4th spot BT should beat ESL and I think regardless of this weeks results, Prahran will find the going tough v OC.
uglydermie
3 Jul 2006, 09:46
welcome dudley- great to have you on board.
Ugly
Conduct Unbecoming
3 Jul 2006, 10:25
[quote=uglydermie]Cat - Go back about 10 pages and read the multitude of comments about BT mergers and hitmen. Tell me about the 2 behind the ball incidents you have witnessed this season?
I think I stupidly started the talk about BT mergers, behind play hits and the rumour of them being 'encouraged' by the VAFA Executive to leave the Ammos....didn't mean to start throwing mud - but thought it was pretty well known by most. I heard it from a nearby A-Grade club official who was at an Executive meeting where it was mentioned and he mentioned it to me. Anyaway, we should all move on coz they (BT) have always been a hard at it side - thats how district sides should be. They have a fantastic junior program and a community involvement and commaradarie that most local EFL & DVFL clubs splashing round big $$ wish they had.
Speaking of local A-Grade clubs, was at Marcellin v Trinity on weekend. Marcellin's team reminds me very much of Rupo - very strong reliance on under-19s to bolster senior ranks. Not saying Rupo will be up with us in A-grade soon, but should be looking for further movement up the grades in next 2-3 years.
Ugly - was speaking to an ex- BT player 2 weeks ago who played at Marcellin rumoured to be making a comeback at BT. Tattood bogan - has he trained? What about the Essendon guy?
Tiges Alive
3 Jul 2006, 10:30
Can anyone connected with BT let me know how Rob Schneider is going this year. Also, is "SCRATCHER" still running round. Can't remember his surname but he had red hair and always wore long sleeves. I have been o'seas until a few weeks back and am still trying to catch up on things.
Played on both of these blokes a few years ago and wold be interested how they are going.
I Love Sandra Sully
3 Jul 2006, 10:40
Gee I can't wait to here from Phar Lap and his report on the apparant top 2 finisher Therry!!
OG's v Bulleen, definitely a critical clash, but I think OG's at home.
Leos will out tough Mentone at home.
OC will get themselves back on track and pump the Valley - their cockiness will catch up with them.
Therry ought to get over Prahran, whose performances are up and down but they're not far away. If there's an upset, this will be it. Big call.
Rupo should be able to account for Banyule.
All the best
Wish I had some balls, because the Two Blues selection would have been the biggest of the year. From all accounts they played some pretty good footy, particularly in the final quarter when they comfortably outscored and controlled the game kicking into the wind. Blew my faith in Therry being a top two side completely out of the water.
YV bubble burst, Rupo just keep on getting up in tight ones much to their credit, Leos and OM's played out a thriller which suggests there isn't much between the two sides and BT, well what a ripping win. They would have to be flag faves now IMO, they have a solid record over Carey, their main rivals and the trouncing of OG's at Como is a massive feather in its cap.
Framing the market, would look like this:
BT 3.00
OC 3.75
OG 4.50
Rupo 9.00
YV 15.00
Therry 40.00
OM 50.00
Write your own ticket the others.
Relegation odds
Prahran 1.33
ESL 2.40
Banyule 3.30
OM's 15.00
Therry 41.00
YV 80.00
Quickest - Rupertswood
Most skillful - Old Geelong.
Biggest forwards - Therry
Best Forward - Parton, Vickers-Willis, Chivers
Best Midfield - Old Carey, great depth
Best Backline - Bulleen Temp
Most Physical - BT
Best Ruckman - Ballard
Best onballers - Collins, Crotty.
Best Coach - Lockman
Hi all, we are very dissapointed down at Bennetswood - a game we should have won. All credit to OM's, they never gave up, but we were a couple of goals up late in the game, went a goal down, and kicked a goal with almost the last kick of the day to get the draw.
Big chance gone for us to continue to fight our way out of relegation.
KingBrown, 17 is Nic Robin, one of our young guns. First year out of U/19's, was best on ground in their grand final win last year. Playing on a wing at the moment.
Framing the market, would look like this:
BT 3.00
OC 3.75
OG 4.50
Rupo 9.00
YV 15.00
Therry 40.00
OM 50.00
Write your own ticket the others.
Relegation odds
Prahran 1.33
ESL 2.40
Banyule 3.30
OM's 15.00
Therry 41.00
YV 80.00
Quickest - Rupertswood
Most skillful - Old Geelong.
Biggest forwards - Therry
Best Forward - Parton, Vickers-Willis, Chivers
Best Midfield - Old Carey, great depth
Best Backline - Bulleen Temp
Most Physical - BT
Best Ruckman - Ballard
Best onballers - Collins, Crotty.
Best Coach - Lockman
I think that's a pretty decent analysis, Midas. Old Carey and Bulleen-Temp seem to have been the most consistent teams over the course of the year and I think they'd have to be the two clear favourites for promotion. I still think Therry Penola would have to be the best defence, not just because of how stingy they were when we played against them, but if you look at their points against for the season, they are 91 points better than the second best on the ladder. Ballard is the best ruckman in the comp while Radywonik is struggling with injuries. And I think I'll do my betting with DG Man, $20 on Yarra Valley, thanks...
If i was a bookie (and let's pretend i am) My new market would be:
BT - 9/4F
OC - 3/1
OGS - 5/1
Rupo - 15/1
Therry, YV, OM's - 100/1
Midas,
I was close to giving you the Prahran win. Had to read it two or three times b4 deciding that you were sitting on the fence, slightly leaning away from a Two Blues win. Very nice call. I don't think anyone saw Therry losing another close won at home again!
Midas,
I was close to giving you the Prahran win. Had to read it two or three times b4 deciding that you were sitting on the fence, slightly leaning away from a Two Blues win. Very nice call. I don't think anyone saw Therry losing another close won at home again!
COuld be the beginning of those crazy results as a result of the dual promotion/relegation scenario, one of the great features of Amateur footy.
It would appear that Prahran are certs, and looks like you may even need to win 7 to avoid the drop given the improved form of Leos and the consistently inconsistent Banyule. The next side down might be tough, but wouldn't it open up if the Two Blues could claim another scalp in the next two while OM's or Therry falter. The draw may be a godsend for both OM's & Leos in the final wash up!
Still think it looks straight forward, but stranger things have happened and it is truly a relatively even comp.
I think Prahran will be absolutely pumped up with their result. Playing at home against Old Carey next week, they will fancy an upset and 2 wins in a row.
OC will have to have their minds 100% on the job to ensure they don't let this one slide.
I'm going to get in nice and early with my tips (work 9is a little slow this morning)
OC, but it will be a tough slog at Prahran
YV to roll Rupo at the Domoney.
OM's at home over Therry
BT easily over the animals (on bandwaggon)
OGS just (massive danger game) at the Bear Lair!
Phar Lap
3 Jul 2006, 12:16
ILSS, thanks for your concern about me mate..........nice to see. What can I say we were just outplayed by a side that wanted to win more than us. I hate to harp on about injuries but losing Bannister and Goodwin is crucial. We may not be a top two side now but we can still make finals. We are yet to get a belting this year and have lost 4 games by under 10 points, and yes I know they are the ones you need to win. Anyway I look forward to 4 weeks time when we get to venture down to the town that never sleeps.
[quote=uglydermie]Cat - Go back about 10 pages and read the multitude of comments about BT mergers and hitmen. Tell me about the 2 behind the ball incidents you have witnessed this season?
Ugly - was speaking to an ex- BT player 2 weeks ago who played at Marcellin rumoured to be making a comeback at BT. Tattood bogan - has
he trained? What about the Essendon guy?
I remember him well Ugly. If that is the same person with the arms bigger than Chris Tarrants and more tattoos than the boys at Fawkner, then beware opposition sides. Not only is he as mean as cats ...... but also a brilliant footballer. I remember him training with an AFL club.
Your club seems to be kicking goals on and off the ground Ugly. A spy tells me you do actually have some good players yet to come into the side and there are some uncanny similarities to 04.
Where are you playing this week?P.S. How is player Hare going?
I can answer that Hare is on fire. Infact, if it is not raining on Tuesday at training, someone should bring down a bucket of water!!!
This BT and new players talk is getting intriuging! It hardly seems fair on the others. I think BT are a GF cert as it is. More class added to the side will only spell big danger for the challengers.
A guess the big question is?
Are other sides player for the glory of a runners up medallion and the promotion to C-Grade that goes with it??
OC and OG fans. What do you think. Can you turn the tables on BT??
Conduct Unbecoming
3 Jul 2006, 13:21
Like pre-season, so much talk but lets wait and see what eventuates. If you listen to Carey & BT they both have half a side ready to make a comeback for the finals....Old Geelong still the pick imo.
Amused, you seem to know some BT people - Did the Essendon CHF play for BT v OG? What has happened to former Trinity A Grade rep Chris Frost?...and had to laugh re former player comeback (yeah, I asked a loaded question the answer to which I already knew). He was sighted at Marcellin on weekend on crutches. If he was keen he would be watching BT play - not his old club. No comeback there.
Like pre-season, so much talk but lets wait and see what eventuates. If you listen to Carey & BT they both have half a side ready to make a comeback for the finals....Old Geelong still the pick imo.
Amused, you seem to know some BT people - Did the Essendon CHF play for BT v OG? What has happened to former Trinity A Grade rep Chris Frost?...and had to laugh re former player comeback (yeah, I asked a loaded question the answer to which I already knew). He was sighted at Marcellin on weekend on crutches. If he was keen he would be watching BT play - not his old club. No comeback there.
You obviously didnt read my thread properly C.U. I only commented on him as a player, not about him playing for B.T. Dont get ahead of yourself in stirring the pot! You will outsmart yourself,which doesnt seem too dificult.
uglydermie
3 Jul 2006, 14:45
Can anyone connected with BT let me know how Rob Schneider is going this year. Also, is "SCRATCHER" still running round. Can't remember his surname but he had red hair and always wore long sleeves. I have been o'seas until a few weeks back and am still trying to catch up on things.
Played on both of these blokes a few years ago and wold be interested how they are going.
Tiges,
Scratcha (Ash Humphrey) is working in QLD. doing well and about to become a DAD for the first time (that he knows off.... plenty of scruffy looking red headed kids bere his genetic look).
Snids is still playing in the seniors and going along OK. For such a small bloke I have never seen a harder bloke at the ball - both in the air and on the ground.
Any other blokes? Your not an old Cobra?
Cheers and thanks for your interest.
UGLY
uglydermie
3 Jul 2006, 15:27
name is Chris Darby - Played 20 odd reserves games with Fitzroy and Collingwood - played in under 19 flag with marcellin in 1990. Plenty of his mates still pull the boots on with the ants (Matthews, Tulloch, Hare etc). Darbs tore his calf muscle on Thursday night at training - hence the crutches. Can he play? You bet. Was he hard at it? You bet. Will he be fit by finals? Time will tell - we hope so......
Thought it was him. Then what i posted earlier stands. Hey Ugly, what can you tell me about these old B.T. boys. Smith,Glover,Robertson and Driver. Is it true they are being nursed through. I have seen their names floating around the best in the seconds. Once again this comes to me second hand, but i hear a couple of them are keeping very fit, all be it very quietly.
Conduct Unbecoming
3 Jul 2006, 16:06
Quote: Dont get ahead of yourself in stirring the pot! You will outsmart yourself,which doesnt seem too dificult.
Now Amused, you are a treat, but let me point out the following.....
In your post # 601, you commented that you "used to play against BT and found them a very hard and occassionally unfair team". I would suggest that this post was designed to convince all and sundry that you are not affiliated with the club in any way, having played 'against' them.
However, I draw your attention to the following posts:
#610: somehow you knew that player 36 was 39 years old;
#644: somehow you knew that Chivers had won 3 B&Fs in a row and that his nightclubbing prowess was legendary down at BT;
# 662: somehow you knew of at least 3 EFL clubs that have sought to merge with BT and that the entire strength of the BT sporting club was a reason why such clubs would be seeking to do this; and
finally, in your final post above, you knew the identity of the ex-player I referred to, that he had some time with an AFL club; that he had also spent some time in both the gym and tattoo parlour.
Now, Amused...which one is it? Either you used to play against the club, or you know everything about it. So before I outsmart myself (which incidentally, is not that hard to do), would you please decide?
oldtimer
3 Jul 2006, 16:30
Quote: Dont get ahead of yourself in stirring the pot! You will outsmart yourself,which doesnt seem too dificult.
In your post # 601, you commented that you "used to play against BT and found them a very hard and occassionally unfair team". I would suggest that this post was designed to convince all and sundry that you are not affiliated with the club in any way, having played 'against' them.
#644: somehow you knew that Chivers had won 3 B&Fs in a row and that his nightclubbing prowess was legendary down at BT;
# 662: somehow you knew of at least 3 EFL clubs that have sought to merge with BT and that the entire strength of the BT sporting club was a reason why such clubs would be seeking to do this; and
finally, in your final post above, you knew the identity of the ex-player I referred to, that he had some time with an AFL club; that he had also spent some time in both the gym and tattoo parlour.
Now, Amused...which one is it? Either you used to play against the club, or you know everything about it. So before I outsmart myself (which incidentally, is not that hard to do), would you please decide?
Don't worry about Darbs, he is only just a player and would now be 34 / 35. Has always been injury prone. Clubs will have to keep a watch out for Ryan Bain. Easto expects him to be 1 of the premier players in the comp. Was at Eatern Ranges before being highly though of as a draft pick. Think he was a rookie for a year.
[quote=Conduct Unbecoming]Quote: Dont get ahead of yourself in stirring the pot! You will outsmart yourself,which doesnt seem too dificult.
Never played there but did indeed play against them throughout the 90`s. have an associate who is well connected. As for 3 B&Fs. That was brought to our attention by another posting. I watched the B.T v O.C game and associate asked me to watch 2 players. 36 and 1. He asked me to guess his age,(which i missed by 10 years).I have no knowledge of oast proposed mergers. Suffice to say you were stirring the pot... AGAIN.
As for Darby, i personally played against him, hence the hard and occasionally unfair comment. Like you i keep an eye out for names i played against to see who is still getting a kick.
It is also well known to anyone who has there ear close to the ground that B.T. have gret junior set up that perhaps now is paying off.
Does that satisfy your curiosity C.U?
Conduct Unbecoming
3 Jul 2006, 16:54
Yes Amused - that satisfies my curiosity (but I am watching you). And yes, I am stirring but given that it looks like the BT guys run this whole thread, it seems the only way to get a bite is to throw the bait towards their well-run sporting club (imagine being told 5 years ago that BT people would know how to type or use the internet!!).;)
Anyway, would be interested to hear from those at Rupo re their views on the differences between D1 and D2 grades. Personally, have no first-hand knowledge of D2 so it would be interesting to guage some feeback from those who would know. Old Geelong seem to have covered the jump pretty well (and Rupo too for that matter). I believe they will cover the jump to C Grade equally well.
I would suspect whoever else goes up to C Grade this year (OC or BT) will be happy just to consolidate in the higher grade in 2007. It will be a difficult jump.
Very intresting CU, that you still fancy OGS to be the certs for promotion with OC and BT fighting out the other spot. In 2004 OC and BT had OGS covered, and more recently (last few weeks) both have had wins against them.
Do you think the OGS are just in a bad patch or are they perhaps missing some key players? What gives you this confidence?
BlueBoys88
3 Jul 2006, 17:30
Good point C.U.! I think everyone gets the feeling the bulleen people run this thread, and i am personally sick to death of the rumours being posted about ex AFL guns etc etc etc. Just my opinion so dont bother spraying me with a return post Bullant people.
OG's and Rupo have definently impressed me (and im sure the majority of D1 followers) with their success this year in a new grade. Both have spent time at the top of the table and are expected to make finals, with promotion still a big chance. As for last year these 2 teams coasted through without being challenged by other d2 sides. Although the Ogger's a;ways had the wood on the woodsmen. (pardon the pun).
Anyway, what a great round of football we have just seen! Therry Penola...goodbye. And to think i rated them as finals definants earlier in the year lol. Phar lap no more talk off you please, your team is hopeless and will not make finals.
Conduct Unbecoming
3 Jul 2006, 17:49
DGMan: Don't get to see D1 every week (so some may say I have too much to say for a guy who only sees a game maybe every fortnight), but as stated in earlier posts, of the sides I have seen OG looks the complete package and Old Carey looks like the best collection of individual footballers (and thats how they play).
BT have beaten them both and while man for man they don't appear (to me) to be comparable to these two sides, they do seem to have something OG & OC miss - guts, determination and a togetherness that playing with your mates since under 12s obviously brings. If Rupo can keep their side together they might get the same in a few years.
I have said it before and will say it again - the best quater of football I have seen this year was Yarra Valley against BT (9 goals to one) before they rolled over after BT got ****ty and played like a proper district side.
Old Geelong for me, Old carey to beat BT in prelim unless its a hard, physical day.
Therry - you blokes disappoint me. I remember playing against you in B Grade. You guys are more talented than you think - get it together.
silky_skills
3 Jul 2006, 17:55
Who said BT rule the world? You won't be hearing this from BT people. Until a month ago, some other clubs in D1 had already boasted of their 'successful' clubs moving up the grades. The OC and Rupertswood spring to mind.
Silky, I would ignore any posts relating to BT ruling the world. BT posters, like yourself, Ugly, Bullant and MJS2 have done nothing of the sort. You tip your team to win (which they normally do) and that is about it. Other people jump on and ask about players coming down to the club. Rarely do you guys initiate this!!
You are on fire and some people seem to not like this. It is a competitve comp, some people have made some bold predictions. Egos have been dented, some pundits proved wrong.
It is going to be a fantastic last 8 rounds as the leading teams battle for those coveted top 2 positions.
Keep the banter up. It is 95% of the time in good spirits:thumbsu:
kingbrown
3 Jul 2006, 18:35
Silky, find a post from Rupo where they have spruked about going to "C" grade. Perhaps ILSS 8 weeks ago, but even he has settled a bit. At no stage even after going 6-0 were we spruking, perhaps responding to some bagging. Rupo's goal has always been to be competitive in D1 and evaluate as the season wears on. Obviously we haven't written us off and feel strongly we can be competitive against BT, OC and OG. Anyone who seen our play against OC will see where i am coming from, and the BT result was one bad quarter against a side who got tremendous momentum early in the final from some ordinary umpiring. Mind you over the day we certainly did not get the worst of it, so it is not an excuse. Our result on Saturday was attributed to our BT experience. We settled and had a good win against a side who had momentum. We learnt alot from the BT game.
Rupo has a foundation to move up the grades which everyone seems to agree.
Difference between D2 and D1. Sides were not as capable of blowing us away with momentum and confidence (apart From OG), better quality footballers, more depth, more experience and more skill. We still have to work our butts off to win games every week. No exceptions.
BlueBoys88
3 Jul 2006, 20:49
I guess that's why i've been enjoying this years D1 competition so much KB, no game is a guarenteed victory!
Im not sure if anyone would've backed pharan on the weekend, or picked the bottom side to upset the top side a few weeks back...but i've been loving it!
kingbrown
3 Jul 2006, 22:11
Just looking at C grade, Ormond and Fitzroy Reds 3rd and 4th with 5/10 wins each. Crikey that competition must be even. How much ahead of other sides were they last year? I've been told that D1 to C grade is a huge jump. The competitions seem very even throughout the Amateurs. Aquinas and Glen Eira going OK in D2 without dominating.
Fitzroy were a class above everyone last year in D1, Ormond were good but not dominant. I here Fitzroy have had a heap out through injury and VFL, otherwise im sure they would have had more wins. This years D1 is more even, with Bulleen Temp being the big improvers through less injurys and picking up a few good quality players who have stood up. In my opinion Carey have gone backwards a bit from seeing them against bullants. Any Carey blokes agree/disagree?? The other sides in D1 seem to have stayed about the same eg. Mentonians, Yarra
Old Carey are a much improved side from last year, in my opinion. They seem to be a lot bigger than they were last year, for one thing. I reckon it would be fair to say that St Leo's and Prahran have dropped off a bit, Prahran slipping from 3rd spot last year and St. Leo's from 5th. The signs are good for both these teams though with Prahran rarely being blown out and registering their first win on the weekend and E-SL looking to have got their act together since Buckle has come back.
I think we (Yarra Valley) will finish higher this year than we did last year, though our depth is obviously not where it needs to be with the Ressies still yet to open their account. Obviously Bulleen-Temp have stepped it up in a big way from last year and we're looking forward to the rematch against them in a couple of weeks. Last year, we were flying out of the blocks, starting 4-1, but we had an unbelievable amount of injuries (I think 47 blokes played 1s footy and only 4 played every game) which saw us finish with just 7 wins and eighth on the ladder. It's the club's job to manage the list though, and have players ready to make the step up to senior football, which was something we obviously didn't do well enough last year.
I thought both Ormond and Fitzroy were a cut above last year, with Fitzroy possibly being a bit bigger and stronger in the key positions than Ormond. I don't think Ormond really pushed Fitzroy in their four meetings, but they definitely managed to smash us! I thought Ormond really had the ability to make other teams look silly, particularly when they were at home, with guns in their midfield like Miller, the Deledios, Kelleher etc, able to tear a game apart in a hurry. Miller was just about the best player I saw last year, his pace and skills made him virtually unstoppable.
Moss Rocket
4 Jul 2006, 07:47
Fitzroy were a class above everyone last year in D1, Ormond were good but not dominant. I here Fitzroy have had a heap out through injury and VFL, otherwise im sure they would have had more wins. This years D1 is more even, with Bulleen Temp being the big improvers through less injurys and picking up a few good quality players who have stood up. In my opinion Carey have gone backwards a bit from seeing them against bullants. Any Carey blokes agree/disagree?? The other sides in D1 seem to have stayed about the same eg. Mentonians, Yarra
Re Carey, was a poor game against BT. You have them every now and then. We are 8-2. On top of the ladder. Two losses against other top 4 teams at their home grounds. Meaning undefeated at home. Not sure if we are going backwards??
Tiges Alive
4 Jul 2006, 11:49
Ugly,
No not an old Cobra. Played against them when they were in E East and then in D1 when they turned up at BT. Seemed to have this knack of sharing the ball all the time. Would have driven their coaches mad.
Do you know if Scratcha is playing in QLD or has he hung up the boots.
Scratcha (Ash Humphrey) is working in QLD. doing well and about to become a DAD for the first time (that he knows off.... plenty of scruffy looking red headed kids bere his genetic look).
Snids is still playing in the seniors and going along OK. For such a small bloke I have never seen a harder bloke at the ball - both in the air and on the ground.
Any other blokes? Your not an old Cobra?
Cheers and thanks for your interest.
UGLY[/quote]
We're going along OK (Carey). It's a tight tough comp at the top, and we are progressing well, still think we can improve even more before the year is out...getting blokes bakc from injury now, so hopefully the team will settle now and begin to gel.
Nice theories on D1 gents.
The way i see last years teams performing this year are:
BT - Clearly the big improvers. Better depth, better personnel, better mood around the club. There website pretty much sums up their attitude to this season and the coming ones. Are driving hard for the better grades
OC - Definately improved. I agree with Moss, the BT result was ordinary, but OC had 5 players plus missing that game, that were available for YV and still have a few more to come back in. OC were 4th last year and didn't look like ever being able to match it with Reds or Ormond. This year they can match it with anyone.
YV - Around the same. Will finish 5th or 6th in my opinion.
Prahran, Leos and OM's - gone backwards.
BT - Clearly the big improvers. Better depth, better personnel, better mood around the club. There website pretty much sums up their attitude to this season and the coming ones. Are driving hard for the better grades
OC - Definately improved. I agree with Moss, the BT result was ordinary, but OC had 5 players plus missing that game, that were available for YV and still have a few more to come back in. OC were 4th last year and didn't look like ever being able to match it with Reds or Ormond. This year they can match it with anyone.
I administer the BT website, if you have any suggestions throw them at me
I Love Sandra Sully
4 Jul 2006, 14:10
AJPAJP.... What about a special blog on the Great lady (Sandra Sully)??
Leo's have definitely gone backwards this year - and I think it is our lack of depth that has really hurt us. We have had a horrible run with injuries and unavailabilities - which I know every club has. However the difference for us this year as against previous years, is that over the off season we lost 6-8 fringe players - the type that are very good twos players, and can come into the ones and do a job, and contribute when required.
These guys have gone to other clubs for better opportunities. Now that we have had some bad luck with injuries - the guys coming in aren't up to it, and it has shown with some of our results.
Just my two cents worth.
AJPAJP.... What about a special blog on the Great lady (Sandra Sully)??
pass
It is a ripper of a site. Don't think you need too many suggestions from me. Perhaps more player profiles, as that is always a fun read when visiting club websites! Keep the great reports!
The match reports aren't mine, I just put them up. Things like player profiles will slowly grow as I get the time and nail guys down for some answers.
kingbrown
4 Jul 2006, 14:39
Kibe, great post. Fringe players who don't think they are fringe players! One of our great challenges is to keep these players at our club with 60 on the under 19 list these players will be terrific senior footballers at various levels in the future. But you can only fit 22. We have lost some good players because they were fringe players as well. Very hard to manage. Our reserves a calling more and more on ex-players who just want to enjoy a run without the rigors of a full footy season.
Re: the standard of footy this year, I believe that in fact overall it has improved, but at the top end it has dropped off marginally.
I have no doubt that were Ormond, Reds and Prahran of last year in this competition, then they would be clear standouts - Prahran included because they did beat both Ormond and Reds once and ran Reds to 9 points in the only other encounter. Also thought they were significantly better than Carey despite the close result in the Finals. Their loss of players like Beven, McCudden, Plummer, Sleight and Scicluna took their entire goal to goal line, and they haven't recovered.
Leos are also disappointing, although the loss of some key players like Dintina whatever and another forward (maybe Ellis, cant remember his name), the lack of young players like Carse who was there last year coming through may have made it tougher for a side I felt was probably the 4th best in it last year.
As for Old Mentonians, I believe they are in fact playing more consistent footy than they did last year, so have improved significantly but it hasn't translated on the scoreboard, although it is pretty much out of relegation earlier than it has been in the past two years.
Yarra I believe are the best indication, with a similar list to last year they have performed quite well yet didn;t beat any of the three sides mentioned above last year, and can't remember them running any of them very close off the top of my head.
Yet this year they have been in almost every game and believe they are a real chance for a place in the finals. Admittedly we can use injury etc as a reason for its performance last year, but this is a side that has remained almost unchanged from last year (when compared with the remaining 6 sides who have had fair change in personnel, perhaps OM excluded) save for a loss of a little depth.This can probably be equated by having a new coach which can often have a positive impact, and shows that the comp is probably deeper this year but IMO may not be quite as strong as last year.
Having said that BT's list is healthy and deep when compared to last year, and OC seem to be similar to last year with significant losses like Evans & Kent compensated for by the likes of Parton & Collins, so maybe these sides would have been right up there last year as well.
AS for the new sides, OG's & Rupo have perofrmed really well, and it is interesting that the top four have been promoted over the last two years and have gone on with it thus far. Again, in previous years generally one side coming up will struggle a little and stave off relegation but this hasn;t been the case, suggesting that there hasn;t been the level of improvement in this comp as in previous years.
Therry & Banyule certainly haven;t come back and set the world on fire, and would have been middle of the road sides in last year's comp as well, which is probably the finla word on the comp IMO.
Aside from the struggling Two Blues, there doesn;t appear to be any Glen Eira's and Aquinas's in this years comp, and the middle level sides seem to have improved ie Mentone/Yarra/BT. Therefore, the competition is more even, has more depth but maybe doesn't have quite the same quality at the top, particularly when compared to Reds, Ormond and to a lesser degree Prahran from last year.
For what it's worth!!!!! Sure some will agree, some will disagree.
oldtimer
4 Jul 2006, 15:59
Re: the standard of footy this year, I believe that in fact overall it has improved, but at the top end it has dropped off marginally.
I have no doubt that were Ormond, Reds and Prahran of last year in this competition, then they would be clear standouts - Prahran included because they did beat both Ormond and Reds once and ran Reds to 9 points in the only other encounter. Also thought they were significantly better than Carey despite the close result in the Finals. Their loss of players like Beven, McCudden, Plummer, Sleight and Scicluna took their entire goal to goal line, and they haven't recovered.
Leos are also disappointing, although the loss of some key players like Dintina whatever and another forward (maybe Ellis, cant remember his name), the lack of young players like Carse who was there last year coming through may have made it tougher for a side I felt was probably the 4th best in it last year.
As for Old Mentonians, I believe they are in fact playing more consistent footy than they did last year, so have improved significantly but it hasn't translated on the scoreboard, although it is pretty much out of relegation earlier than it has been in the past two years.
Yarra I believe are the best indication, with a similar list to last year they have performed quite well yet didn;t beat any of the three sides mentioned above last year, and can't remember them running any of them very close off the top of my head.
Yet this year they have been in almost every game and believe they are a real chance for a place in the finals. Admittedly we can use injury etc as a reason for its performance last year, but this is a side that has remained almost unchanged from last year (when compared with the remaining 6 sides who have had fair change in personnel, perhaps OM excluded) save for a loss of a little depth.This can probably be equated by having a new coach which can often have a positive impact, and shows that the comp is probably deeper this year but IMO may not be quite as strong as last year.
Having said that BT's list is healthy and deep when compared to last year, and OC seem to be similar to last year with significant losses like Evans & Kent compensated for by the likes of Parton & Collins, so maybe these sides would have been right up there last year as well.
AS for the new sides, OG's & Rupo have perofrmed really well, and it is interesting that the top four have been promoted over the last two years and have gone on with it thus far. Again, in previous years generally one side coming up will struggle a little and stave off relegation but this hasn;t been the case, suggesting that there hasn;t been the level of improvement in this comp as in previous years.
Therry & Banyule certainly haven;t come back and set the world on fire, and would have been middle of the road sides in last year's comp as well, which is probably the finla word on the comp IMO.
Aside from the struggling Two Blues, there doesn;t appear to be any Glen Eira's and Aquinas's in this years comp, and the middle level sides seem to have improved ie Mentone/Yarra/BT. Therefore, the competition is more even, has more depth but maybe doesn't have quite the same quality at the top, particularly when compared to Reds, Ormond and to a lesser degree Prahran from last year.
For what it's worth!!!!! Sure some will agree, some will disagree.
Enjoy reading all about D1 in this thread, keep up the good work.
In relation to the standard I can only base my opinion on the fact that Banyule lost 9 excellent senior players from last year (including captain, 3 best and fairest winners and a best in the comp player) to other clubs throughout Metropolitan Melbourne. In last weeks game they had 16 players who played either reserves or Under 19's last year. Of last weeks side only 5 were regular senior players in 2005. A massive turnover in anyone's language.
Whilst they have an extremely young side and their future looks rosy (juniors have 13 sides) the side that they are putting out each week wouldn't get within 15 - 20 goals of last years side.
I cannot comment on other sides as I haven't seen them but I know that Banyule have been within 8 points of Rupo twice and 7 points of BT and both are seen as finalists.
Agreed, Midas. Kevin Barnes has been a major influence on the boys this year and the level of respect he has around the club is huge. Obviously having players like Ash and Rob Drew, Sam Savage and Dan Lecordier healthy for over half the games this season has helped (all of these players have already played more games in '06 than they did in '05), as well as the natural progression of younger players like Ant Russell, Simon Yeo and Huon Clark. It's interesting, because overall, we've probably lost more senior players than we picked up this year. It's just that a lot of the guys in our team at the moment were on the sidelines for extended periods last year.
Re: our performances against the top three last year, when we were 4-1, we came up against Prahran at home in a game we were expected to win given the relative positions on the laddrr at the time. Prahran came back from about five goals down and knocked us off, starting our slide last year. In the second last game, we were leading Fitzroy at three quarter time, only to have them run over the top of us and win by two goals. Ormond killed us both times. We only beat Glen Eira and Aquinas in the second half of '05 and it's a pretty safe bet that most of the boys were ready for cricket season by the end of the year.
BlueBoys88
4 Jul 2006, 17:11
Just curious about the feeling around clubs at the moment. We could expect bulleen to be buzzing with an impressive past month, but what about sides like the OM's and YV? Is finals footy a realistic chance in everyone's opinion?
July will sort that out for us I reckon. We've already played Carey and lost and now we have Rupertswood (h), Old Geelong (a) and Bulleen-Temp (h). We're two games behind Rupertswood and Old Geelong, so we must win this week and next week to stay in touch with them. Old Mentone are another half game behind us, so they probably can't afford to have many more results like Saturday, but I'm sure they'd still consider themselves a chance. At the moment, I think it's still very early to be writing teams off for finals, I'd wait until about Round 15 and see where we are. I guarantee you, while a team is still a chance mathematically to make finals, they would and should still be believing they can do it.
silky_skills
4 Jul 2006, 18:01
Oldtimer,
You have a v good knowledge of D1. Maybe you should write for the Amateur Footballer? Or do you?