View Full Version : D GRADE: Give me something...
uglydermie
26th February 2006, 20:37
Any news out there about D grade? The 6 teams left from last year where all fairly even. Any team out there recruiting? Any news on the relegated Therry or Banyule? How D2 Grand finalists?
Come on, don't be shy!
Moss Rocket
27th February 2006, 06:27
Ex Scotch gun onballer Collins is playing with Old Carey in 06. Other better players, Kent, Parton, Angus are all playing, so they will have a big year. C-Grade 07!!:thumbsu:
Mobbenfuhrer
27th February 2006, 11:26
How are Prahran looking? Got close last year, would be good to see them take it the next step.
Moss Rocket
27th February 2006, 16:22
I think Prahran had a Delidio cousin, plus a few other country ring-ins playing last year. If they play again they will be strong. Perhaps meet Old Carey in the GF!
barrybogan
28th February 2006, 07:58
I think Prahran had a Delidio cousin, plus a few other country ring-ins playing last year. If they play again they will be strong. Perhaps meet Old Carey in the GF!
Probably half, if not more, of the Prahran list are blokes originally from the country - due to the lack of a school or uni affiliation.
Don't know anything about a Deludio cousin but can say that the 2005 team was largely unchanged from 2004 except for the loss of captain and CHB Aaron Rhoda and the FB Fraser.
It might be tough for Prahran in 2006 with a couple of big departures particularly '05 captain CHF Adam Sleight ('04 and '05 leading goal kicker), and Gerard Bevan ('05 B&F winner and only D grade rep in the Vic Country vs Amo's match last year). Other players who have also headed overseas include Bunnett, Campbell, McCudden (FF). Retirements of Kristian Plummer ('05 CHB) and Wil Walford wont help either.
My tip - Prahran to finish sixth and Matt Harrison to win the '06 club B&F.
sideshowbob
28th February 2006, 10:59
Edwards leaving therry to play at powerhouse couldn't help their chances, rupo to hold steady,however a finals birth wouldn't surprise they a an extremly good team that run and run and run, Old geelong to play finals, the bears to miss out, prahan will still make it, old Carey to also make it, bullen to round out the 4.
agree ?
uglydermie
28th February 2006, 13:48
Pretty sure Delidio's cus was at Ormond. I like Careys chances, heavily reliance on Parton thou, as seen when he was not playing last season with his wrist injury... - not sure about Old Geelong and Rupo- I think they might find it a big step to expect to play finals, unless they add 4 or 5 good senior players. Banyule are struggling with numbers and top line departures including captain to Northcote park with last years coach. Bulleen have been recruiting hard from all accounts and picked up a few from Trinity and other suburban clubs. D grade is traditionally a very even comp and looks set to be so again. Edward's is a big loss to Therry as he can play at both ends and adds a fair amount of strenth.
Any news from Old Mentone and Yarra Valley? Both sides finished mid field last year and would have been a bit dissapointed with that.
sideshowbob
1st March 2006, 10:37
word has it that old geelong have lost a couple to overseas commitments, therry have lost a couple as well including captain nancarrow to overseas.
Have not heard anything about yarra valley old boys, although i have heard rupo may have picked up dan jordan and simon clarke, both ex rupertswood players, who went and played at st.bernards, dan back from perth to continue his footy this year while simon was at geelong last year, anyone heard this ?
barrybogan, you seem to know a lot about prahan, are you involved their ?
bulleen have picked up very well, they are now the team to beat this year, and will most probley play Old Carey again in the rematch of 2004 gf.
barrybogan
1st March 2006, 10:54
not really involved - just have a good mate at the two blues and have seen those boys out a bit.
Creeker
1st March 2006, 11:42
Heard O'Connor is going back to Therry this year I think he played there a few years back, will add a lot of strength and experience. If I remember when they played against Prahan a few years back him and Elliott put on a show that as a spectator was very enjoyable to watch.................both very hard at it as well.
Moss Rocket
2nd March 2006, 15:00
D-Grade Fans - From The Old Carey Website -
The club has worked hard to recruit new faces and we are delighted to secure Laurence Basell (University Blues), Steve Collins (Old Scotch), Andrew Fluitsma (Montrose), Luke Maslin (Northern Bullants), Platon Maniotis (Templestowe), Peter Nowland (Oakleigh Districts), Luke Wraight (Karingal) as well as welcoming back Troy Chapman, Tim Collins, Richard Oppy and Simon Wood.
It is also great to see the young guys coming out of U19 footy and into seniors working hard and pressing for a spot in the 1’s. There is a great feeling that 2006 could be a special year for the Old Carey Footy Club.
:thumbsu: :)
buffolo bill
4th March 2006, 15:29
old carey have new coach too who is a gun, cam matthews, spent a year down at box hill and is a fantastic communicator. switched on when it comes to the game too
sideshowbob
20th March 2006, 10:35
Guys,
anyone played in practice games over the weekend, anyone know how any teams have went ?
any last minute pick ups / departures for anyone ?
overtheline
20th March 2006, 15:24
word has it that old geelong have lost a couple to overseas commitments, therry have lost a couple as well including captain nancarrow to overseas.
Have not heard anything about yarra valley old boys, although i have heard rupo may have picked up dan jordan and simon clarke, both ex rupertswood players, who went and played at st.bernards, dan back from perth to continue his footy this year while simon was at geelong last year, anyone heard this ?
bulleen have picked up very well, they are now the team to beat this year, and will most probley play Old Carey again in the rematch of 2004 gf.
Bulleen would want to go ok...have you seen their website? Talk about pump up your own tyres!! I don't quite know why clubs do that sort of thing.
Moss Rocket
20th March 2006, 16:01
That certainly is a pump up! Old Carey have played BT over the past 2-3 seasons and they have been v.good, however the better players have always been the older guys like Chivers, Dean Matthews etc. Doubt these guys are still playing so they will need to have recruited well to stay in D-Grade as they were bottom half last year. I think this year will be very strong as you can expect Rupo and OGS to be very good.
AJPAJP
20th March 2006, 20:41
That certainly is a pump up! Old Carey have played BT over the past 2-3 seasons and they have been v.good, however the better players have always been the older guys like Chivers, Dean Matthews etc. Doubt these guys are still playing so they will need to have recruited well to stay in D-Grade as they were bottom half last year. I think this year will be very strong as you can expect Rupo and OGS to be very good.
Chivers is not yet 30, hardly old
sideshowbob
21st March 2006, 10:35
was speaking to a bloke who is heavily involved at st.albans in WRFL and BT have got one of their younger blokes back in burridge, left to play back with his mates, but told st.albans he would only play probley around 6 games, was having a shoulder reconstruction ???
Rupo and ogs will be very good, watched their grand final last year, ogs just a little to smart, couple of older heads, rupo just ran and ran, safe to say both with hard work could stay up and enjoy the following year in d1 maybe c grade ??
heard banyuale really struggling, maybe the double drop ??
AJPAJP
21st March 2006, 11:49
was speaking to a bloke who is heavily involved at st.albans in WRFL and BT have got one of their younger blokes back in burridge, left to play back with his mates, but told st.albans he would only play probley around 6 games, was having a shoulder reconstruction ???
Rupo and ogs will be very good, watched their grand final last year, ogs just a little to smart, couple of older heads, rupo just ran and ran, safe to say both with hard work could stay up and enjoy the following year in d1 maybe c grade ??
Kaine Burridge should be close to play by Round 1 his shoulder reco was 12 months ago, he didnt play at all last year
streetball
22nd March 2006, 20:09
Can anyone give me something on D2? Like anything on the teams such as Peninsula, Salesian etc etc...cheers
Lions Den
23rd March 2006, 10:04
Yesterday 22:09streetballCan anyone give me something on D2? Like anything on the teams such as Peninsula, Salesian etc etc...cheers
Heard La Trobe have plenty on the track but lost a few key players. The 2 sides coming up should also be strong. If Peninsula have kept most of their players they should be the side to beat though.
Son of a Gun
24th March 2006, 12:45
I've also heard that Banyule have lost a few though it should be remembered they have had some good U19 teams in the past couple of seasons (including S2 Premiers last year) so will be interesting to see how they go and if they've retained these young players.
streetball
26th March 2006, 19:15
Any results from w/e's practice matches? Peninsula went down to Salesian by 3 goals at Harry McDonald today..East Burwood beat de la by 5 goals yesterday.
sideshowbob
27th March 2006, 06:37
Rupertswood beat la trobe by around 18 goals, without a few of their playmakers, they looked very sharp, fit , and the open ground at la trobe seemed to suit them.
it could be a long year for the trobers ???
Supa Frank
27th March 2006, 09:54
Did Michael Hazell play for Salesian?
Scribe
27th March 2006, 11:22
Did Michael Hazell play for Salesian?
Yep - had a stint at Collingwood, then played for OMs for a few years, and coached the Salesian U19s last season. Highly respected and will be a very good coach for the club in 2006.
streetball
27th March 2006, 12:21
Yep - had a stint at Collingwood, then played for OMs for a few years, and coached the Salesian U19s last season. Highly respected and will be a very good coach for the club in 2006.
By all reports he dominated yesterday against peninsula- only played the second half a mate was saying.
uglydermie
27th March 2006, 12:50
been lucky enough to play rep footy with Mick. Hazzell. There is no better bloke/ player to ever pull on an ammo jumper than this fellow. Great to hear he is playing again with his old club and I wouldn't mind betting he takes them a fair way....
Good luck Mick
streetball
27th March 2006, 13:00
been lucky enough to play rep footy with Mick. Hazzell. There is no better bloke/ player to ever pull on an ammo jumper than this fellow. Great to hear he is playing again with his old club and I wouldn't mind betting he takes them a fair way....
Good luck Mick
would it be fair to say that salesian mite in fact be favourites to get promoted ? i would have thought peninsula would have been favourities ? came 3rd last year behind old geelong and rupertswood. Full strengh peninsula who lost a lot of 19s players lost by 18 points to salesian who did have a few players out and hazell only played a half. He's a machine.
oldtimer
27th March 2006, 13:02
would it be fair to say that salesian mite in fact be favourites to get promoted ? i would have thought peninsula would have been favourities ? came 3rd last year behind old geelong and rupertswood. Full strengh peninsula who lost a lot of 19s players lost by 18 points to salesian who did have a few players out and hazell only played a half. He's a machine.
Aquinas will be raging favourites. Picked up a lot of quality players from the efl. Glen Eira will also be very good.
sideshowbob
27th March 2006, 15:03
fair call about the two teams that have been forced to play D2 this year after poor performance last year, only because the remaing teams in d2 from last year are no good, Peninsula really do play alot through shaun paze and as good as he is can't do it all. williamstown, in my humble opion would be the best of the teams that still remain, as per previous post i would expect the two teams in Aquinas and glen eira to be the teams to beat and werribee the best of the two teams comming up.
spent a lot of time watching teams in d2 last year, and ogs and rupo were clearly better then everyteam they faced, salesian could be an improver, ivonhoe terrible, very old, oakleigh no good, again very old but may improve to play finals.
will be an interesting year in the world of D2 ammo's footy.
Lions Den
28th March 2006, 10:41
Yesterday 16:03sideshowbobfair call about the two teams that have been forced to play D2 this year after poor performance last year, only because the remaing teams in d2 from last year are no good, Peninsula really do play alot through shaun paze and as good as he is can't do it all. williamstown, in my humble opion would be the best of the teams that still remain, as per previous post i would expect the two teams in Aquinas and glen eira to be the teams to beat and werribee the best of the two teams comming up.
spent a lot of time watching teams in d2 last year, and ogs and rupo were clearly better then everyteam they faced, salesian could be an improver, ivonhoe terrible, very old, oakleigh no good, again very old but may improve to play finals.
will be an interesting year in the world of D2 ammo's footy.
Didn't Ivanhoe beat Williamstown, Salesion and Oakleigh last?
sideshowbob
28th March 2006, 11:01
lions den, they very well may have beaten all of them one of the two times they played, i don't believe they beat all of those teams once, all i was saying is they appeared to be fairly old last year, and correct me if i am wrong but i don't think they have u/19s whereas the likes of a werrbiee, very young, oakleigh -they have u/19, salesian have u19s have the ability to put some kids in and have them run all over ivonhoe, and lets not forget that ivonhoe escaped relagation by the skin of their teeth, with bentleigh not being able to beat swinburne by more then 14points in the last game.
sideshowbob
28th March 2006, 11:03
lions den, they very well may have beaten all of them one of the two times they played, i don't believe they beat all of those teams once, all i was saying is they appeared to be fairly old last year, and correct me if i am wrong but i don't think they have u/19s whereas the likes of a werrbiee, very young, oakleigh -they have u/19, salesian have u19s have the ability to put some kids in and have them run all over ivonhoe, and lets not forget that ivonhoe escaped relagation by the skin of their teeth, with bentleigh not being able to beat swinburne by more then 14points in the last game.
sideshowbob
28th March 2006, 11:04
Lions Den
28th March 2006, 12:20
sideshowbob, your right on the unders statement but I do think you need to check the D2 results.
goldenbrown
28th March 2006, 17:54
good point sideshow
sideshowbob
3rd April 2006, 12:56
does anyone know how the therry V Werribee game went ?
result ? full team / better players ?
heard old carey weren't that flash ?
any other news from games over the weekend
AJPAJP
3rd April 2006, 17:06
does anyone know how the therry V Werribee game went ?
result ? full team / better players ?
heard old carey weren't that flash ?
any other news from games over the weekend
Nunawading beat BT by about 1 goal......i think. No scores were kept apart from the guy running the tiny scoreboard, but his frequent trips to the bar meant a few scores were missed. The 1/4s with Nuna kicking with the gale seemed a tad longer aswell.
Having said that, Nuna were good and deserved to get up in a pretty decent game.
sideshowbob
11th April 2006, 12:41
guys, any word on games over the weekend ?
interested on how bulleen , old carey and yarra valley old boys went.
Had a look at the rupo v therry game out at rupertswood, very tuff hit out for both sides, rupo won by 5 goals after being three goals down at 3/4 time.
Therry could't run with the boys from sunbury,
uglydermie
11th April 2006, 20:03
Bulleen Temp and Old Geelong played a game at Como. With both sides playing against each other in round one at Bulleen they where both keeping a bit up their respective sleeves. I think BT won the game but only by a goal or two. Old Carey got flogged by Monash 2 weeks ago who in turn got beaten by St leo's on Saturday.
Word is Yarra Valley may be battling a bit this year... can any one confirm?
bullant10
14th April 2006, 10:20
i heard prahran lost to williamstown by around four goals in a practice game and have lost a few key players such as bevan and sleight!
sideshowbob
16th April 2006, 11:15
Well it all starts this week.
for what it is worth here are my tips. Winners in Red, your thoughts ?
2:00 PM Sat 22/Apr
YARRA VALLEY OB (http://www.sportingpulse.com.au/nf/team_info.cgi?id=4364040&team=YARRA%20VALLEY%20OB&client=%40Victorian%20Amateur%20Football%20Association%40323 2%4039471%40%40%40%40%404%40D1%401%40)
VS (http://reg.sportingpulse.com/onlineresults_new/onlineresults.cgi?a=L_&MswID=2073&aID=9&dt=20060422&t1=&t2=&cn=D1)
OLD CAREY GRAMMARIANS (http://www.sportingpulse.com.au/nf/team_info.cgi?id=4364027&team=OLD%20CAREY%20GRAMMARIANS&client=%40Victorian%20Amateur%20Football%20Association%40323 2%4039471%40%40%40%40%404%40D1%401%40)
OLD MENTONIANS (http://www.sportingpulse.com.au/nf/team_info.cgi?id=4364047&team=OLD%20MENTONIANS&client=%40Victorian%20Amateur%20Football%20Association%40323 2%4039471%40%40%40%40%404%40D1%401%40)
VS
EMMAUS ST LEOS OC AFC (http://www.sportingpulse.com.au/nf/team_info.cgi?id=4364057&team=EMMAUS%20ST%20LEOS%20OC%20AFC&client=%40Victorian%20Amateur%20Football%20Association%40323 2%4039471%40%40%40%40%404%40D1%401%40)
BULLEEN TEMPLESTOWE AFC (http://www.sportingpulse.com.au/nf/team_info.cgi?id=4364048&team=BULLEEN%20TEMPLESTOWE%20AFC&client=%40Victorian%20Amateur%20Football%20Association%40323 2%4039471%40%40%40%40%404%40D1%401%40)
VS
OLD GEELONG FC (http://www.sportingpulse.com.au/nf/team_info.cgi?id=4364026&team=OLD%20GEELONG%20FC&client=%40Victorian%20Amateur%20Football%20Association%40323 2%4039471%40%40%40%40%404%40D1%401%40)
PRAHRAN AFC (http://www.sportingpulse.com.au/nf/team_info.cgi?id=4364007&team=PRAHRAN%20AFC&client=%40Victorian%20Amateur%20Football%20Association%40323 2%4039471%40%40%40%40%404%40D1%401%40)
VS
THERRY PENOLA OB (http://www.sportingpulse.com.au/nf/team_info.cgi?id=4364017&team=THERRY%20PENOLA%20OB&client=%40Victorian%20Amateur%20Football%20Association%40323 2%4039471%40%40%40%40%404%40D1%401%40)
BANYULE AFC (http://www.sportingpulse.com.au/nf/team_info.cgi?id=4364066&team=BANYULE%20AFC&client=%40Victorian%20Amateur%20Football%20Association%40323 2%4039471%40%40%40%40%404%40D1%401%40)
VS (http://reg.sportingpulse.com/onlineresults_new/onlineresults.cgi?a=L_&MswID=2074&aID=9&dt=20060422&t1=&t2=&cn=D1)
RUPERTSWOOD AFC (http://www.sportingpulse.com.au/nf/team_info.cgi?id=4364064&team=RUPERTSWOOD%20AFC&client=%40Victorian%20Amateur%20Football%20Association%40323 2%4039471%40%40%40%40%404%40D1%401%40)
uglydermie
16th April 2006, 16:10
all spot on except I think Prahran should have enough left in he tank to beat Therry. Yarra Valley are rooted from all accounts, struggling to make 2 teams. Could be a whiteash for the C's to start their assult. Game of the round to be BT v Old Geelong. Do we know if Vickers Willis is playing this season?
bullant10
17th April 2006, 09:57
vickers is playing i am pretty sure. Didn't play the prac game v BT but heard he would be back for round 1
koby01
17th April 2006, 10:35
Can assure you all that old geelong will go close to winning the gf in 2006. Saw them play alot last year and if the keep the same list no one will stop them.
bullant10
18th April 2006, 16:49
big call very early aboput old geelong!
Still some very solid teams in D1 remaining from last year. Prahran, old carey both finalists, with bt and st leos not far away!
linger_isgod
18th April 2006, 17:11
Old carey lost a couple of players to cricket duty o/s.
bullant10
18th April 2006, 17:19
any names? They will still have their core like dolly, kent, angus, evans etc? Good 19s coming through you would think they would push for top 2-3
linger_isgod
18th April 2006, 17:21
Evans, Stewart-Holmes, Thompson. Not sure if James "Jogger" White (ex-Richmond) is back, he left halfway through last year (and then returned for the semi vs Prahran where they lost)
uglydermie
18th April 2006, 18:01
how about Kent? he is a gun cricketer too?
Moss Rocket
18th April 2006, 18:08
how about Kent? he is a gun cricketer too?
Unfortunatley Stewart-Holmes and Tommy Evans will be O/S in England. Kent is playing this year. Jogger White is also playing. Dolly is burning up the track. Steve Collins (ex Scotch onballer) is also raring to go. A heap of new recruits and a bunch of talented youngsters, plus the core of last years team = Premiership. However i need to keep a lid on it...Na Premiership.
Word is that Old Geelong have lost a heap of premiership players and haven't really recruited. Always a problem when the older ones win a premiership. Hard to keep them for a crack at the next grade.
bullant10
19th April 2006, 14:24
evens is a massive loss to oc. Very quick and good skills. How is the ex scothch bloke travelling?
Moss Rocket
19th April 2006, 15:44
evens is a massive loss to oc. Very quick and good skills. How is the ex scothch bloke travelling?
Evans is a huge loss i agree. Along with Kent and Dolly, definately one of the top 2-3 last year. Collins is travelling very well. Has brought with him a level of professionalism with attitude and training i haven't seen at OC's b4. Should be couple of good Bulleen local derby's this year!
digger9
19th April 2006, 17:19
guys, all reports that rupertswood are getting stronger each year as they progress. the young players have brought the club through the ranks to reach their under 19 side to section 1 this yearand at the same time the seniors have reached d1 in 6 years. all reports, they have got the same bunch of players down there including plummer,boxall, brennan, phillips, mcewen, moule, gaunt. just to name a few. mcewen kept evans down to nothing in the 19s grand final. we all know in here seniors is a step up but look at the avergae age of afl clubs these days. im a bernards boy and have kept a close eye on the progress of rupertswood as some of the other boys who are interested. prediction rupertswood to b section in 4 years and for experienced quality players to start going to them to play in the next 2-3 years without recruiting. Old carey will be strong, as will Banyule if they kept their up and coming players from the under 19s.
chiefwiggam
19th April 2006, 21:11
guys, all reports that rupertswood are getting stronger each year as they progress. the young players have brought the club through the ranks to reach their under 19 side to section 1 this yearand at the same time the seniors have reached d1 in 6 years. all reports, they have got the same bunch of players down there including plummer,boxall, brennan, phillips, mcewen, moule, gaunt. just to name a few. mcewen kept evans down to nothing in the 19s grand final. we all know in here seniors is a step up but look at the avergae age of afl clubs these days. im a bernards boy and have kept a close eye on the progress of rupertswood as some of the other boys who are interested. prediction rupertswood to b section in 4 years and for experienced quality players to start going to them to play in the next 2-3 years without recruiting. Old carey will be strong, as will Banyule if they kept their up and coming players from the under 19s.
mate exactly right - rupo are the emerging force of sunbury , a club that has a great junior program and are consistantly producing good footballers . also lost a lot of quality to st bernards for a couple of yrs but seem to be covering them and will again go up a grade this yr , -
interesting to note - st bernards without the regular influx of rupo stars they enjoyed in the premiership/grand final era, struggling last yr and favorites to get relegated this yr,
will be poetic justice the yr bernads drop and rupo rise
Grass Cuts
20th April 2006, 09:12
Hello boys
I am an avid fan of all the VAFA leagues, I have been for quite a few years now and I think digger is correct in that Rupertswood is certainly on the rise and will become quite a force in the VAFA ranks.
But my question is what are the players like this year?
I have herd there is quite a young list down at the club and haven’t herd much about these players you have mentioned, I only know of Brennan who kicked a truck load of goals last year in D2, can you give me an insight to these other young up and comers you mentioned.
footy_nerd
20th April 2006, 16:43
rumours have it that brennan was offered substantial amounts of money by several clubs but opted to stay down at rupo with his mates.
the running players such as moule phillips boxall plummer and the likes look extremely fit and raring to go. with the addition of a couple of key recruits over the preseason and an influx of u19 talent rupo should be a force this year. in both d grade and in the 19s
there has been a couple of key losses over the summer none bigger though than james house who has left to play at a fellow sunbury team for what rumours say to be quite a considerable amount of money
Grass Cuts
21st April 2006, 12:41
No questions asked about Brennan, after kicking so many goals in a season you would expect a player of that caliber to be poached by other clubs. It’s good to see a good player playing football where he wants to rather that being draw to other clubs which all they care about is giving the big bucks to so called “superstars” who after 1 or 2 years leave the club out in the cold and they are back to square 1 pressuring other clubs guns players to fill the void once again.
Just wondering if there are any boys this year in the senior squad who played 19s last year?
I remember there were 2 or 3 Rupertswood boys who played in the u19’s rep squad and just wondering if they stuck around or went else where for the illustrious dollar?
Can’t say ive heard of a James House before, is he any good?
What are his qualities that the woodsmen will miss?
digger9
21st April 2006, 12:50
continuing on about rupertswood, i hear that they have a massive inclusion into their tall timber this year being matt clarke. he is the brother of vfl superstar at geelong this year and last year/vafa representative in recent years in simon clarke. reports have it that he has the arms like the wingspan of a hawk. a rugged back pocket player from wangaratta named zeb milne has been training the house down according to a spy that we have had down watching them. he looks like steve monagetti, so all you d section teams know who to tag when you play against rupertswood. he will dominate. all reports from my spy down at carey is that they are looking strong even with the losses of key midfielders. i have heard that the prahran team is training well and looking for a big year.
St.Kev's Cowboy
21st April 2006, 19:44
Digger 9, from what I've read, you're either involved or close with someone who is involved at Rupertswood. Besides Clarke and the other pick ups, who else looks the goods at Rupo? Know anything about any other D1 sides?
Moss Rocket
24th April 2006, 09:35
Word is that Old Geelong have lost a heap of premiership players and haven't really recruited. Always a problem when the older ones win a premiership. Hard to keep them for a crack at the next grade.[/quote]
Safe to say my mail here was pretty average. Am sacking my Old Geelong spy. Interesting set of results. Couldn't get to the Old Carey game this week. Always good to start with an away win. ANyone catch any D Grade games and have any insights worth sharing??
Big Man27
24th April 2006, 13:04
Gday all. Was at the Banyule, Rupertswood game. Rupertswood were too good. But i have daughts if they will go all the way, they seemed very young and i cant help but think when they come up against the bigger and stronger teams they could struggle. I was also speaking to a rupertswood official and i heard that they were missing alot of players. Could you rupertswood people confirm? Banyule shall go ok this year. and can any of you ruperswood people on here tell me why on earth is Keenan playing in the twos? As i have been involved in the amature squad the last couple of years and have seen him down there and he is a very smart and skilled footballer. Cheers
I Love Sandra Sully
24th April 2006, 13:24
Had a look at the second half of Banyule v Rupertswood, #1 for The Rupertswood team was a stand out and absolutely dominated, he is knee high to a grasshopper, but very quick, strong and very hard at it with skills to boot, anyone got information on this young kid? looks like he could be playing at a much higher level.
footy_nerd
24th April 2006, 15:38
keenan hurt is knee falling down the steps at the attic, chasing what many say was something that resembled a cross between a wilderbeast and a wild pig. Just being eased back into it from reports
zeb milne was it?, lighting quick defensive player who will no doubt push into the ones within the next few weeks.
Thats_Special
24th April 2006, 16:18
there has been a couple of key losses over the summer none bigger though than james house who has left to play at a fellow sunbury team for what rumours say to be quite a considerable amount of money
Right, how much are these rumours talking about??? Shame that James had to leave Rupo, unfortunately some of the people at Rupo are a little unprofessional in thier dealings...
Super side though Rupo, and as long as they continue to keep thier younger talent from taking a step and going to stronger teams they will be very good for a long time...
digger9
24th April 2006, 17:14
Digger 9, from what I've read, you're either involved or close with someone who is involved at Rupertswood. Besides Clarke and the other pick ups, who else looks the goods at Rupo? Know anything about any other D1 sides?
sorry st kevs, i am from sunbury and do have interest in the local footy. i went and watched the kangas on saturday as I am recovering from a rib ijury i sustained running back into a pack at the Royal Pub. will be fit to play in the bernards guernsey this saturday. I have sources down at rupo and other d1 teams, rupo are travelling well without giving too much away. geelong are going to be a force. it seems that after saturdays effort of prahran, my report was inconclusive during last week. Unsure on the others at present time. I am working on it though.
digger9
24th April 2006, 17:23
Had a look at the second half of Banyule v Rupertswood, #1 for The Rupertswood team was a stand out and absolutely dominated, he is knee high to a grasshopper, but very quick, strong and very hard at it with skills to boot, anyone got information on this young kid? looks like he could be playing at a much higher level.
What I heard is that he did play well but no standout. Plenty of more better players on the day for rupertswood including Monkhorst, Vidovic and Spider Burton. i didnt get to see the match but reports are that the big men played a big part in the win. St bernards have got off to a good start in a grade. anyone see the match? i missed it.
uglydermie
24th April 2006, 20:00
Here is a bit of a report on the BT v Old Geelong game. Sadly for me (BT Supporter from way back) OG were fantastic. Any suggestion of a premiership hangover was dismissed with a great team effort. No less that 17 members of their flag winning team played on Saturday with a couple of others to be added in the next few weeks. Very strong on ball group- headed by Bayles (33), number 6 and number 2. For the losers, only a couple of blokes could hold thier heads up. Kaine Burridge played well in his first game for 18 months as did Jordon Wise and Greg Chivas.
All in all it was an ordinary day for the bullants but until every one has played each other once you don't really know where you stand. For our sake we can only hope that OG rack up a few more scalps along the way to make our 7 goal hiding look reasonable.....::
Keep up the good work on this thread. D1 is alive and well and we all appreciate the efforts of everyone keeping us upto date.
Cheers Ugly
sideshowbob
26th April 2006, 12:41
uglydermie, what's with the BT website being so good ( giving yourselves a wrap ), no good getting blokes back to the club if you dont come out to play or there no good ?
Old Geelong that good ? or you blokes just didn't turn up on the day ?
Hope you boys turn it aroun this week. GO BT !!!
Therry may have found the whole left by edwards with bannister slotting 7, again i thought therry would win , but for the two blues to only kick 3 goals for the day, well can some provide me with what happened ?
Old carey as expected won, without anyone really staring, could be a long year for the YVOB'S,
old Ment , big win most surprising result of the weekend for me,
Rupo won well, scores flatter The bears, from reports that i heard they were 5 1/2 goals up half way through the last, then restered their guns, the bears kicked one after the siren to bridge the gap,
uglydermie
26th April 2006, 15:05
mmmmm where to start! Old geelong where good, as you would expect a team to be coming off a year when they only lost 1 game. The booted 6 goals in 15 minutes in the 3rd quarter to break the game open and never looked back from there. BT had a shocker nd would expect them to bounce back. Great result by Therry- the bannister boys (about 50 of them) can play but word is that Prahran may battle a bit this year. Good win by Rupo - any win at Banyule is a good one and Old Carey are sure to be there abouts at the end of the season. Big surprise to me was the St Leos game - I thought they may have the better of Old mentone. Lets give it a few more weeks before we hammer the nail into sides BUT 0-2 is very very ugly indeed!! Who are you supporting Sideshow?
Moss Rocket
28th April 2006, 14:48
Any news out there D-Grade fans??
I hear Old Carey have Kent, Munter, Angus and Jogga White returning this week. Had to drop 4 from last weeks winning team.
oc37
28th April 2006, 15:23
Now how do you get the team so quickly Moss rocket.. you must have pretty reliable source of information.. How many late changes possible and who are the players???
oc37
28th April 2006, 15:25
When was Buckle sent off for Leos?? this would have had an enourmous impact on the game, as will his missing the 6 next weeks.Could be game over Animals before he returns
Moss Rocket
28th April 2006, 15:56
Now how do you get the team so quickly Moss rocket.. you must have pretty reliable source of information.. How many late changes possible and who are the players???
Hi OC37. Does this mean you wear number 37 for Old Carey or Old Camberwell?? Or perhaps an ex who used to wear that number? I have an ear to the ground at the club. Probably shouldn't be flashing around too much info, however this site is really only visited by a few fans of D Section and i am yet to see a Prahran boy amongst them. I think the OC's may be in for a solid year. I agree with your call on the other thread with AL Parton. I remember watching him kick 3 goals in a winning Old Xavs premiership 3 or so years ago. Can play, very very hard at it!! Not sure about any late changes.
oc37
28th April 2006, 16:55
Maybe both Moss Rocket.. i had actually never heard about this site until a few around the club mentioned it..i think a lot more peopel know about it now.. all fun anyway
Moss Rocket
28th April 2006, 17:19
Maybe both Moss Rocket.. i had actually never heard about this site until a few around the club mentioned it..i think a lot more peopel know about it now.. all fun anyway
I'm picking Old Carey. Good to hear that it is spreading. For such a good comp, the amatuers gets far too little press. The weekly record is very basic in its tips and reviews. If a wider group of participants started to contribute here, we would get some great goss, lots of crap, half truths etc. But all in all it will be pretty interesting stuff.
SO everyone.. Any updated thoughts on D1???
Any new top four or relegation tips?? Mayeb a gflag tips?
BT conitunue to talkt themselves up , as do OGs, while THerry plug away....
mayeb there is soem more player goss around???
uglydermie
2nd May 2006, 09:32
Where are "BT continuing to talk themselves up"? The team (or individuals) doing most of the "talking up" are OC37 and Moss Rocket about Old Carey. We have heard all this over the past 3 years and the fact remains that Old Carey have won only one final out of six when it really matters (including getting their cocky little bottoms spanked by BT in the second semi and gf in 2004 by a total of 83 points). Winning games easily in the early part of the season haven't helped you much in the past.......
Give Old Geelong some serious credit where it is due- They will be up the top end in September with any doubt, whilst at the other end it seems likely to be out of Banyule, Prahran and Yarra Valley. Time will tell!
keep up the good posting on this tread thou.....D1 is a great grade to be in......but hopefully for only this season!
Moss Rocket
2nd May 2006, 10:47
We have heard all this over the past 3 years and the fact remains that Old Carey have won only one final out of six when it really matters (including getting their cocky little bottoms spanked by BT in the second semi and gf in 2004 by a total of 83 points).
Settle down ugly one. Old Carey have been great over the last few years. Not quite good enough against BT a few years back, but as you know promotion is the important thing. As for last year, we were never able to beat the two top sides during the year, so not making the GF was not really a suprise. Cocky?? Not sure about that. From my undersatanding the club was a little disappointed with the finals against BT, however we went in a little undermanned, played in conditions that suited the bigger, older and wiser bodies, and were still pretty happy with the promotion. Apart from a little Dean Matthews aggro at BT a year or so back, I think the two clubs get on well. Certainly didn't think you would find us cocky.
As for D1, it would be nice if Old Geelong, BT and Old Carey were able to amongst it come years end. 3 clubs that were not long ago all in D2. It would be fantastic to see 2 in C Section next year.
al parton - quite clearly the most influentual, and arguably the best player going around in D grade.
old carey will romp it in this year. make no mistake.
AJPAJP
2nd May 2006, 12:15
al parton - quite clearly the most influentual, and arguably the best player going around in D grade.
old carey will romp it in this year. make no mistake.
maybe there's the cockiness the Ugly man was talking about
sideshowbob
2nd May 2006, 12:54
spot on AJPAJP and the ugly man.
we are two rounds in, no side even as good as old carey think they are should be expressing themselves as the team to beat, in club you might like your chances, but keep it in house, i love nothing more then prodcing brilliant games agaist these cocky clubs to put them back in their place.
Lets be honest, old carey have played YVOB, and yes they won easy minus a couple of quality blokes, and prahan who look like they may struggle, so form nothing really to write home about.
Keep talking yourselves up boys, looking foward to reading the upcomming results, and i will be waiting to pouce.
Interesting. i still cant see anyone other than Og's( rightfully so maybe) and Bt via their website , talking themselves up. I think the only hype you have from Old CArey is excitement at the return of VAFA's hardest man and one of the most talented players, Al PArton- (See jordan Wise blog to see a BT view on this). Most old Carey people i kno ware nervous about what looks to be a very even tough season, and no-one is talking flags, though finals is a serious goal. What side does nto have finals as a goal though??? Odl carey is a largely new side who have a lot of work to do.. Dids got a bit excited.. but his comment on Parton is accurate not cocky.
uglydermie
2nd May 2006, 13:48
No arguements from me about Parton being a gun player but I do recall him playing in all 5 recently losing final games.....although whether or not he has past his lofty peaks is yet to be answered!
I must correct Moss Rocket thou. Surely this statement "but as you know promotion is the important thing" is a bit foolhardy. Premierships are the important thing and promotion for the loser is a bit like dancing with you sister at the year 11 prom.....
The Hunter
2nd May 2006, 14:13
Agreed about Premierships Ugly.
Question: Does anyone know of clubs that have risen through the ranks without winning a flag (ie promoted as runners ups regularly)?. Must have happened to some and I would think the satisfaction levels would be different to those that won. (Would you rather play in two prmierships say in D4 and D3 and then get stuck in D2, or play in four losing Grand Final teams but be playing in C Grade?)
Just interested in thoughts
Scribe
2nd May 2006, 14:17
I'd rather get to C grade without a flag than D2 with two flags.
As an aside - does anyone from BT want to comment on Chris Frost's game on the weekend? From personal experience, when his mind is right, he's a joy to play with. Looks like he turned it on nicely, can we expect more of the same throughout the season?
uglydermie
2nd May 2006, 14:21
Scribe: he was brilliant on Saturday and will only get better as he has not played for a couple of seasons. The kid can play and is so relaxed to be back at his home club playing with his mates. They way he has fitted in and they way he conducts himself at training is a joy to watch. What are your memories of him as a player?
Moss Rocket
2nd May 2006, 16:01
No arguements from me about Parton being a gun player but I do recall him playing in all 5 recently losing final games.....although whether or not he has past his lofty peaks is yet to be answered!
I must correct Moss Rocket thou. Surely this statement "but as you know promotion is the important thing" is a bit foolhardy. Premierships are the important thing and promotion for the loser is a bit like dancing with you sister at the year 11 prom.....
Uglydermie, the two games Al played against BT, he was playing after a broken hand, needing surgery, just holding on till the seasons end. Although you know this. As i said, last year we were clearly not in Ormond or Reds league.
And for me, promotion is by far the most important thing. I would be absolutely wrapped if Old Carey could lose a couple of GF's and get into B Grade. This way we wouldn't see ex Carey Grammarians running around at Old Scotch or Uni Blues. Obviously for the players (and i am not currently one) winning a premiership would be more important, but gaining promotion is not far behind. And certainly not like dancing with your sister!:thumbsu: :)
Moss Rocket
2nd May 2006, 16:13
spot on AJPAJP and the ugly man.
we are two rounds in, no side even as good as old carey think they are should be expressing themselves as the team to beat, in club you might like your chances, but keep it in house, i love nothing more then prodcing brilliant games agaist these cocky clubs to put them back in their place.
Lets be honest, old carey have played YVOB, and yes they won easy minus a couple of quality blokes, and prahan who look like they may struggle, so form nothing really to write home about.
Keep talking yourselves up boys, looking foward to reading the upcomming results, and i will be waiting to pouce.
Hello Sideshowbob,
Remember this post
So you predict BT to win, playing against us. Yet get surly about us pumping up our chances (although you seem to think we will make the GF) And tell the forum that people should keep thing "in house" yet post that you asre the team to beat.
I express confidence that OC's can along with OG's, BT make the finals and you, who nominate your club the team to beat, has a go at us!!!!
Very strange.
Let's all hope we are all correct and we can continue to rise through the grades together!!!:thumbsu: :)
AJPAJP
2nd May 2006, 16:13
Uglydermie, the two games Al played against BT, he was playing after a broken hand, needing surgery, just holding on till the seasons end. Although you know this. As i said, last year we were clearly not in Ormond or Reds league.
And for me, promotion is by far the most important thing. I would be absolutely wrapped if Old Carey could lose a couple of GF's and get into B Grade. This way we wouldn't see ex Carey Grammarians running around at Old Scotch or Uni Blues. Obviously for the players (and i am not currently one) winning a premiership would be more important, but gaining promotion is not far behind. And certainly not like dancing with your sister!:thumbsu: :)
It's pretty simple
Promotion is for the club
Premiership is for the players
uglydermie
2nd May 2006, 16:43
well said Mossman. I would love it to be Old Carey and BT in C grade next year and I couldn't agree more about the difficulty in retaining players in the lower grades. Bulleen Templetowe (via our junior club) have more than 20 players between 18-22 playing either VFL, A and B grade or Eastern districts.
If only all clubs in the lower grades could keep these sorts of players. It becomes a bit like the chicken and the egg.... all we can do it try to promote the club and its coaching resources are widely as possible to offer these guys a viable alternative. Surely there is no disgrace is playing D or C grade football with your mates? I will take on anyone in that arguement! Old Carey are a great club (with great people involved - Kanga, Barry H, Nick Vas, Hedgey etc etc and Moss Rocket) with arguably the best facilities in the comp and without a shadow of a doubt are a potential sleeping giant of the Ammo's but face the same issues as we do in player retention. keep up the good work!
PAST HIS LOFTY PEAKS??? YOU OBVIOSULY HAVENT SEEN HIM IN THE PAST COUPLE OF WEEKS< HE HAS BEEN AWESOME. OTHER PLAYERS OF SIMILAR QUALITY HAVE NOW JOINED HIM TAKING SOME OF THE WEIGTH OFF HIS SHOUDLERS.
REMEMBER HIS ONYL 25
uglydermie
2nd May 2006, 19:32
OC37- I simply posed the question. I am not sure a return of 11 goals against 2 teams likely to be fighting relegation is a demonstration of an Al Parton in full flight. Pretty serious injury to come back from - many players have not returned to their previous best (Gerard Healy).
Big Man27
2nd May 2006, 21:37
hello all. here are my predicitions. Old Geelong and Carey are going to be the teams to beat.BT arnt going to be as good as you guys say they will. The surprise packet that none of you guys are talking about is Rupertswood. They might struggle when they come up against big teams but then again they wouldnt have come up against a team smaller than them in the past and when i have seen them over the past couple of years teams cannot keep up with them for 4 quaters. Also they have a couple of real quality players with the likes of Collins, Burrows and Keenan who are all easily good enough to play higher.But all over the ground Geelong and carey are too good. Just my thoguhts.cheers
Fair point.. but he has also been playing up the ground. Has Laidlaw, White, Howgate, Watts, and soon Wood and Angus, as other targets so there is no need for him to kick ten. His leadership to Odl carey is just as important as his goal kicking.
I have no idea how his hand feels, but the way he was attacking the ball on Saturday was exciting to watch, especially with Hogate looking every bit a younger version of the same player...
Grass Cuts
3rd May 2006, 11:03
Hi Guys
Just like to get on my soap box as they say
I think you guys are right in that Old Carey and Old Geelong will be the bench mark in the D1 competition with there wide verity of players across the board which will make them a massive force to both go up to C grade and possibly even give that a shake and then maybe you never know B grade in 1 or 2 years down the track, but in retrospect to that I think Big Man 27 is right in that the Dark horse for this competition is Rupertswood.
We all know that they have got some guns in Collins, Burrows and Keenan who are all former A grade players that give them a lot but its all these young guns such as Brennan, Gaunt, Plummer, Boxall and Spinner who played in last year grand final side at the age on 19/20 and then this year you have a young crop again with the like of Phillps and Moule who are setting the pace by the looks of it in 2006.
Easily the best sides are Old Carey and Old Geelong but don’t give Rupertswood the cold shoulder because I think they will give these two teams a massive scare with their running game, fitness and hardness at the ball.
If anyone’s got any thoughts on the matter please let me know because I am interested to see you point of view.
Cheers :thumbsu:
St.Kev's Cowboy
3rd May 2006, 12:53
Our coach had his eye on a couple of the rupo younger boys at the end of last year. Same with Old Carey. Reports were that the young blokes coming out from Sunbury were all capable of playing up.
Our 19's play them and Banyule who came up from sec 2 hopefully they'll both have young blokes pushing up to their ones.
Do old geelong have an under 19s side? If not can they keep going up without having younger guys coming through the ranks?
bullant10
3rd May 2006, 14:10
Grass cuts i agree both old Cs and Old Geelong will be up there but to have them that farc ahead at this stage is a big call. Carey have only beaten two sides that will be fighting to stay away from relegation.
D1 is a very even and good standard this year with a few chances to take away the flag!
hansie
3rd May 2006, 15:17
Grass cuts i agree both old Cs and Old Geelong will be up there but to have them that farc ahead at this stage is a big call. Carey have only beaten two sides that will be fighting to stay away from relegation.
D1 is a very even and good standard this year with a few chances to take away the flag!
Good call bullant - reckon you can't make a true call on a comp until at least Rd 10, once everyone has played one another. We have started well but could be better. We know full well we have some tough ones coming!
And Dolly is indeed a gun - proven player in A Grade and leading the club beautifully. Good captain, great player and even better bloke.
St.Kev's Cowboy
3rd May 2006, 21:06
Anyone know what happened to Stewart-Holmes from Old Carey? Still playing or O/S? Heard he was one of the better 19s a couple of years ago
vBulletin® v3.7.1, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.