View Full Version : Sydney amateur clubs

demon_magik
27 Feb 2006, 02:00
Hey boys and girls.

I moved to Sydney over the summer and am desperate to play footy again. I haven't for years now and I need to know what the lowest form of senior footy is up here. There seems to be no infrastructure in place and searching on the net is useless. Does anyone know of a place I can get a list of clubs that might accept new, 25yo players up here? I realise there's a league that would be the equivalent of, say, a small sized VFL, but that doesn't really do me any good. I moved to a place caled Kogarah, which is in the southern suburban part of Sydney, so a club near here would be ideal. Any help, or even a point in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers.

Pantsless
27 Feb 2006, 06:54
Hey boys and girls.

I moved to Sydney over the summer and am desperate to play footy again. I haven't for years now and I need to know what the lowest form of senior footy is up here. There seems to be no infrastructure in place and searching on the net is useless. Does anyone know of a place I can get a list of clubs that might accept new, 25yo players up here? I realise there's a league that would be the equivalent of, say, a small sized VFL, but that doesn't really do me any good. I moved to a place caled Kogarah, which is in the southern suburban part of Sydney, so a club near here would be ideal. Any help, or even a point in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers.

There are two clubs in your area...one is the St George Crows. They plays at Olds Park. They are in the Premier division. If you haven't played for a while, you might find that level a little hot.

The division underneath is that is the 1st division. The club closest to you is the Southern Sharks. They play at Gwawley Oval in Taren Point. I used to play for Manly in that comp and remember driving past Kogarah Oval to get there. They have 3 sides in Seniors, Ressies and 3rds. It's a fair bit more relaxed than the Premier division.

The website for the http://www.sydneyafl.com.au has a list of clubs and their website links.

demon_magik
28 Feb 2006, 03:38
Hey thanks pantsless.

Who'da thunk a Don's supporter would be so helpful to a dees supporter!

But seriously folks, how hot are we talking here. Could you give me an example relating to an existing club? That is, would the 2nd and 3rd divisions be comparable to, say, Hampton Rovers and their reserves?

Or whatever is easiest for you.

Thanks mate, appreciate the help.

Pantsless
28 Feb 2006, 10:08
Hey thanks pantsless.

Who'da thunk a Don's supporter would be so helpful to a dees supporter!

But seriously folks, how hot are we talking here. Could you give me an example relating to an existing club? That is, would the 2nd and 3rd divisions be comparable to, say, Hampton Rovers and their reserves?

Or whatever is easiest for you.

Thanks mate, appreciate the help.

Well, a few years ago, Troy Luff retired from the AFL and started coaching Balmain in the PD. He ended up winning the comp B&F that year. Jason MacPherson from Sydney played for Easts straight out of the Swans as well and does pretty well.

The standard is getting better.

Premier Division is the elite State league in NSW (although you could argue the Riverina is a stronger comp). They get on TV as well. They employ admin officers and it's all getting quite professional.

The 1st division is still good footy. The strong teams last season were UTS, Sydney Uni and Manly. I reckon the Sharks might be getting better. 3 sides and they've been training for a while.

The 2nd division is a mix of clubs that don't compete in the other 2 divs and other teams 3rd grade sides. The Sharks have a team in this comp. It's early kick off and some of the players have never played footy before.

As for an existing club, Premier div would be the standard of B Grade Ammos here in Melb. 1st grade isn't far behind that though.

demon_magik
28 Feb 2006, 12:08
Well, a few years ago, Troy Luff retired from the AFL and started coaching Balmain in the PD. He ended up winning the comp B&F that year. Jason MacPherson from Sydney played for Easts straight out of the Swans as well and does pretty well.

The standard is getting better.

Premier Division is the elite State league in NSW (although you could argue the Riverina is a stronger comp). They get on TV as well. They employ admin officers and it's all getting quite professional.

The 1st division is still good footy. The strong teams last season were UTS, Sydney Uni and Manly. I reckon the Sharks might be getting better. 3 sides and they've been training for a while.

The 2nd division is a mix of clubs that don't compete in the other 2 divs and other teams 3rd grade sides. The Sharks have a team in this comp. It's early kick off and some of the players have never played footy before.

As for an existing club, Premier div would be the standard of B Grade Ammos here in Melb. 1st grade isn't far behind that though.

That's what I wanted to hear. Thanks mate, I reckon I'll sign up on Thursday. Good on ya.

tarrants guns
2 Mar 2006, 15:00
Does Andrew Smail deserve to wear 35 at macquarie uni kookas.

Is Drew Spider Spiden overated as a key forward.

Big questions that will be answered on the 8th of April