View Full Version : Your 10 Favourite Albums of the last decade.

jod23
29 Nov 2001, 02:27
OK so this is just to get a better feel of all your music tasted, i know some of yours like Macca who's top 10 will be Def Leppard, Iron Maiden, Death Kill, Suicide and the classic band Die Screaming with sharp things in your head. :D

And of course Olmy's tastes include, Smashing Pumpkins and crap :D

Ok enough ribbing... :D

1. Jebediah - Of Someday Shambles - picked this one over Slightly Odway as i really thought the band had progressed with not only writing but there own music and ideas. More of a mellow album than Odway. Faves off the album include Star Machine, Run of the Company and Love at Last.

2. Jebediah - Slightly Odway - pure Rock n Roll. Contains probably my favourite song by the Jebs, Harpoon. Great ****ing album. Other faves off the album include Twilight = Dusk, Jerks of Attention and Benedict.

3. Oasis - Definitely Maybe - cant split this with Whats the Story so really its a tie for third. An extroadinary album and furthered Oasis claim as the best band since the Beatles. Slide Away, Married with Children & Supersonic are among my favourite tracks off the album.

4. Oasis - Whats the Story - exploded onto the scene with probably the best album of the last ten years. I didnt like them at first as i thought they were just trying to be another Beatles but when i sat down and really listened, they blew my hair back. Faves include Wonderwall (love to play this song on my guitar) Champagne Supernova, Dont Look Back in Anger & Some Might Say.

5. Micheal Jackson - Dangerous - should really be number 1 as this album is probably the more classic of the other 4 ahead of it. From Jam to Dangerous the album never stops producing great song after great song. Faves include Dangerous, Who Is It, In the Closet & of course Why You Wanna Trip On Me

6. Garbage - Self Titled - had to pick one between the two top Garbage albums, picked this one out because i love the last song on the album called Milk. Faves include Milk, Fix Me Now & Not My Idea.

7. Oasis - Masterplan - a best of the B-sides album that is just awesome, in my opinion better than SOTSOG and Be Here Now. Faves include Talk Tonight, Rockin Chair, Masterplan & Acquiesce.

8. Nirvana - Nevermind - contrary to others beliefs...this band started it all with this album. Faves include Smell Like Teen Spirit (the classic) Come as you Are & Lithium.

9. Counting Crows - August and Everything After - great band and in my opinion there best album, not one weak song on the album. Faves include Sullivan Street, Ana Begins and Mr Jones.

10. Silverchair - Neon Ballroom - could have had any three of there albums but i went with there newest one which i think was a big step for them musically. Looking forward to there 4th album. Faves include Emotion Sickness, Black Tangled Heart & Miss You Love.

Unlucky - Metallica, Black...Oasis, Be Here Now....Marcy Playground, Self Titled...Ben Lee, Breathing Tornados.

TheMase
29 Nov 2001, 08:15
Originally posted by jod23
9. Counting Crows - August and Everything After - great band and in my opinion there best album, not one weak song on the album. Faves include Sullivan Street, Ana Begins and Mr Jones.

Thats a fantastic CD jod. I dont meet too many people that talk about them!!

The Starchild
29 Nov 2001, 11:13
Radiohead - The Bends
Radiohead - OK Computer <==should be in everyone's list
Soundgarden - Superunknown
Smashing Pumpkins - Melencoly & the Infinite sadness
Ice Cube - Death Certificate
Alice in Chains - MTV Unplugged
KISS - MTV Unplugged <==No.1 unplugged by anyone ever IMO
Beck - Odelay
Jeff Buckley - Grace
Moby - Play

Macca19
29 Nov 2001, 11:14
Originally posted by jod23
OK so this is just to get a better feel of all your music tasted, i know some of yours like Macca who's top 10 will be Def Leppard, Iron Maiden, Death Kill, Suicide and the classic band Die Screaming with sharp things in your head. :D

now i know Iron Maiden has released a few cds in the 90s, but Def Leppard?? :confused:

anyway...
my Top 10:

1.Prodigy - Music For the Jilted Generation
The greatest 70 minutes of electronic music ever heard by man kind. An unbelivable record that fused togehter dance, rave, trance, rock, hip hop all into one. A one of a kind cd...nothing will ever match this again. Standout tracks are Break n Enter, Poison and No Good (start the dance)

2.NIN - The Fragile
An amazing double cd. Probably the best album of 1999. Definatly a classic...Trent Reznor at his best. Some amazing ballads mixed in with some of the heaviest stuff he has done along with the softest stuff he has done. Stand out tracks are SomeWhat Damaged, Into The Void, The Wretched.

3.Pantera - Vulgar Displays Of Power
One of the greatest metal cds ever. Not Panteras heaviest work, but defeinatly their best work. Some great guitar riffs miced in with awesome drumming and wicked lyrics. Standout Tracks are This Love, Mouth For War, F**king Hostile, Walk and Hollow

4.System Of A Down - Toxicity
In 2-3-4 years time this will be looked upon as a classic album. 14 of the greatest, craziest and heaviest stuff you're likely to hear on record. Some critics have said this wont sell millions of records because it is TOO good, TOO perfect. Youve got the death growls, youve got the funny voices, the screaming, the singing...its just an amazing cd. No real standout track...every track is fantastic.

5.Korn - Issues
Not many people like or rate this cd, but i think it is Korns best work to date. Definatly the heaviest, they added another dimension to their music with this cd. The album is basically a story of how Jon Davis deals with being the biggest thing in music, and dealing with his drug and insomniac problem. Stand out tracks are Trash, Make Me Bad and Counting.

6.Fear Factory - Demanufacture
FF changed the style from their first record and went from a death metal to a different style altogether. A very well produced album with plenty of killer songs. The first we heard of Cazares and Herrera's huge staccato riffs. Almost a perfect album! Standout tracks are Self Bias Resistor, Demanufacture, New Breed and Body Hammer

7.Korn - Korn
This cd basically created metal (well..nu-metal) as we know it today. A one of a kind cd with a style that was unheard of before. Great material, pretty well produced and some great songs. Stand out tracks are Blind, Predictable, Faget and Daddy.

8.Incubus - SCIENCE
A wonderful cd that doesnt get the credit it deserves. A funk, jazz, rock,porn, metal infusion. A style that was unheard of back in the mid 90s. Some awesome tracks with massive killer chorus's that you cant help singing to. Standout tracks are Redefine, Vitamin, New Skin and Certain Shade Of Green

9.Radiohead - OK Computer
In my opinion this is a classic album. Not a weak track on it and one of the greatest albums of its style ever produced. Standout tracks are Karma Police, Airbag and Paranoid Android.

10.Sevendust - Sevendust
A personal favourite of mine. A very strong debut album from a band that gets no credit. This debut is likened to Cowboy From Hell. Some great riffs, strong lyrics and a voaclist that actually has a great voice and who doesnt scream. Stand out Tracks are Will It Bleed, Bitch, Black and Terminator

apologies to Earth Crisis - Slither, Machine Head - The More Things Change, Vision Of Disorder - Imprint, Prodigy - Experience

The Starchild
29 Nov 2001, 11:34
Originally posted by Macca19
9.Radiohead - OK Computer
In my opinion this is a classic album. Not a weak track on it and one of the greatest albums of its style ever produced. Standout tracks are Karma Police, Airbag and Paranoid Android.
In the UK, as part of the whole millenium thing, they had a nationwide poll last year as to the best albums of the past 10 years, then the best albums of all time.

OK Computer and The Bends got no.1 + 2 on the past decade, amazing for one band. OK got no.2 of all time behind The Beatles Sergent Pepper.

OK isn't just one of the best albums of it's type, it is quite simply THE best and will never be equalled by anyone ever.

DEVO
29 Nov 2001, 12:21
1. CURVE - Come Clean
First album after a four year hiatus. In between albums, The Prodigy came and stole their thunder, but after listening to this masterpiece you can understand why the Prodigy came back with zilch, nothink, nada. Standout tracks are "Chinese Burn", "Coming Up Roses" and "Recovery".

2. CURVE - Doppelganger
Tough Raw Curve. This came out when they were the darlings of the English and American press, and further stamped them as the future of music. Standout tracks are "Horrorhead", "Split into Fractions" and "Fait Accompli".

3. CLOUDS - Thunderhead
The Clouds went a little heavier but kept their harmonies. The best Aussie Album. Standout Tracks are "Bower of Bliss", "Domino" and "The Rocket".

4. CLOUDS - Penny Century
The Clouds debut albums is light(ish) guitar pop with fantastic harmonies from Jodi and Patricia. Deserved a bigger following. Standout tracks "Heironymous", "Immorta" and "Show Me".

5. FALLING JOYS - Psychohum
Another Guitar based Aussie independent whose output was continually first class. Standout tracks "Balck bandages", "Dynamite" and "A Winter's Tale".

6. FALLING JOYS - Wish List
Debut from Canberra band had the music press in awe. Unfortunately outside of Triple J, no radio stations seemed to care. Standout tracks "Lock it", "Puppy Drink" and "You're in a Mess".

7. DOT ALLISON - Afterglow
The weirdest s*it I think I've ever heard, but I love it. Can't even begin to discribe it.

8. ROLLINS BAND - End Of Silence
"The Neck" screams out 12 tunes about god knows what, but he makes sound good. "Low Self Opinion" is fantastic.

9. SONIC YOUTH - Goo
Sonic Youth's first album an a major label, is a brilliant collection of hundreds of noises incredibly structured and crafted to produce 11 fantastic songs. "Mildred Pierce" is a knockout.

10. JULIANA HATFIELD THREE - Become What You Are
Enjoyable light guitar based pop. Easy to listen to, although Juliana's lyrics occasionally hit a harder subject.

The_Flying_Egg
29 Nov 2001, 12:47
Mines of the last 11 years

1. Ten - Pearl Jam
2. V's - Pearl Jam
3. Whats the Story Morning Glory - Oasis
4. Black - Metallica
5. Definetely Maybe - Oasis
6. Throwing Copper - Live
7. Yield - Pearl Jam
8. Load - Metallica
9. Human Clay - Creed
10. Theres Nothing Left to Lose - Foo Fighters

Unlucky were: Vitalogy, Masterplan, The Distance to Here, Reload, Garage Inc., The Shape and the Colour and Weathered

FIGJAM
29 Nov 2001, 13:12
Some of these I wouldn't have remembered unless you guys didn't remind me! In no particular order except for the first one which is clearly the best:

Radiohead - OK Computer
Radiohead - The Bends
Nirvana - Nevermind
Pearl Jam - Ten
Pantera - Vulgar Display of Power
Beck - Odelay
Prodigy - Music For the Jilted Generation (thanks Mac)
Massive Attack - Blue Lines and/or Mezzanine
Air - Moon Safari
DJ Shadow - Endtroducing

gPhonque
29 Nov 2001, 13:17
Mine:

1. Space Channel 5 Soundtrack
The soundtrack to (suprisingly :D) the game Space Channel 5 on Dreamcast. They used an old song called "Mexican Flyer" as a reference (i can't remember who did the original) and ended up with an album of the funkiest music EVER. Big brass lines, wah guitar, awesome techno, it has everything. All recorded by Japanese people in Japan. Just an amazing album. (and the most stylish funky game ever made.)

2. System Of A Down - Toxicity
Yep - i like it that much and i've only had it since Sunday. Perfect album.

3. Temple Of The Dog (self titled)
Half of Soundgarden + half of Pearl Jam + released before 'Ten' = another perfect album.

4. Rage Against The Machine (self titled)
I kind of wish this album was never made as i'm sick of hearing every new wannabe-heavy band rip off everything from it.

5. Stone Temple Pilots - Purple
Brendan O'Brien is a genius. This has to be the fattest and most "real" sounding album ever made. And the songs are as good as the sound.

6. Jamiroquai - Emergency On Planet Earth
What a shame Jay Kay discovered the pop charts.

7. Red Hot Chili Peppers - Blood Sugar Sex Magic
What a shame John Frusciante discovered smack.

8. Pearl Jam - Vitalogy
The best PJ album by a mile. Brendan O'Brien again.

9. Mr Bungle (self titled)
I still want to see these guys play more than just "Quote Unquote" live from this album. (did you know that song was originally called "Travolta"? A friend of mine has a copy from the US with "Travolta" as the first song. Just a bit of Bungle trivia for those who are interested. :))

10. Beastie Boys - The In Sound From Way Out!
Instrumental grooves. Very cool.

There's heaps i have forgotten as i'm at work so i don't have my CD collection in front of me. And i didn't bother putting Jeff Buckley "Grace" or Radiohead "OK Computer" as they're most likely in everyone elses lists anyway.

cheers!

EDIT: Christ! Just looking at my list, i think Brendan O'Brien worked on #'s 3, 4, 5, 7 & 8. Not bad for one guy. The man is a genius. :eek:

gPhonque
29 Nov 2001, 13:21
Oops - just looking at Maccas list, i realised i left out "Jilted Generation" and "The Fragile". I could probably add The Prodigy "Experience" to my list somewhere too.

I hate these lists as i can never remember what i like as there's just too much! :( :D

edit: AND Foo Fighters first album.....

The Starchild
29 Nov 2001, 13:24
Originally posted by The_Flying_Egg
Mines of the last 11 years

1. Ten - Pearl Jam
2. V's - Pearl Jam
3. Whats the Story Morning Glory - Oasis
4. Black - Metallica
5. Definetely Maybe - Oasis
6. Throwing Copper - Live
7. Yield - Pearl Jam
8. Load - Metallica
9. Human Clay - Creed
10. Theres Nothing Left to Lose - Foo Fighters

Unlucky were: Vitalogy, Masterplan, The Distance to Here, Reload, Garage Inc., The Shape and the Colour and Weathered Egg, we clash on many things, and this really isn't meant to be having a go at you but I notice your albums are all basically the same type of music, hard guitar, pretty grungey. Do you like any other type of music?

Ok now another thing, and this IS having a go...Metallica have 3 albums that are miles, and I do mean MILES better than "Black" and "Load". "And Justice For All" absolutely takes both of them to the cleaners. Black and Load were their sellout mainstream pop crap that was sad to stomach from such a great band. I can't believe you could put in those albums ahead of AJFA just shows you like the mainstream burble not the real stuff Mr TripleM Bunny.

gPhonque
29 Nov 2001, 13:28
Originally posted by The Starchild
Ok now another thing, and this IS having a go...Metallica have 3 albums that are miles, and I do mean MILES better than "Black" and "Load". "And Justice For All" absolutely takes both of them to the cleaners.

Well, i'll have a go at you and remind you that "....And Justice For All" was released in 1988.....what was the title of this thread again?

The Starchild
29 Nov 2001, 13:37
Oh sheeeeaat I screwed up!!! Haha oh well I'm a goose I guess...sorry Eggman!!!

All that stirring for nothing!

BomberBoy
29 Nov 2001, 14:12

Wait till Dan sees this. :eek:

gPhonque
29 Nov 2001, 14:20

Hehe. Sorry Starchild, but you left yourself wide open there. :D ;)

The_Flying_Egg
29 Nov 2001, 14:58
Egg, we clash on many things, and this really isn't meant to be having a go at you but I notice your albums are all basically the same type of music, hard guitar, pretty grungey. Do you like any other type of music?

I don't know if Oasis are hard guitar and pretty grungey, but I'll agree most of the music I like is.

And 2 albums I cannot believe I forgot which are also rock albums are the Chili Peppers 'Blood Sugar Sex Magik' and 'Californication'. They'd both be in the top 10

As for the old Metallica albums 'And Justice for All' is not nearly as good as Ride the Lightning and Master of Puppets.

And Black is not pop. Offspring changed to pop. Metallica changed from metal to hard rock.

FIGJAM
29 Nov 2001, 15:27
Originally posted by The_Flying_Egg
And Black is not pop. Offspring changed to pop. Metallica changed from metal to hard rock.
Hardrockica!

The Starchild
29 Nov 2001, 16:09
Originally posted by BomberBoy
Wait till Dan sees this. :eek: I hope Dan DOES see this, it proves that I'm not a friggin know-it-all and can retract when I'm wrong and apologise when I screw up and put my foot in my gob.

On Metallica yeah true they didn't really go pop but their latest stuff isn't nearly as good as the old (which it seems you agree with) and that was all I was trying to point out.

The Hitman
29 Nov 2001, 16:21
Hitter's turn...

1. OK Computer - Radiohead
Quite simply, my favorite album ever. The greatest. Absolute bliss to listen to, takes you to another place.

God bless Thom and Ed... ;)

2. Blood Sex Sugar Magik - Red Hot Chili Peppers
Their best album, and while not perfect, it is bloody close. You can rock out, or be real mellow, which is a good quality in an album.

3. Ten - Pearl Jam
Best Pearl Jam album, classic PJ. My favorite band ever, and best album by Eddie and co.

4. Grace - Jeff Buckley
I own every album of his stuff on the market, he was an absolute freak. The only studio album which was released while he was alive, it is just classic Jeff. Who haven't heard this album, or of him, do yourself a favour. Beautiful music.

5. In Utero - Nirvana
In my opinion, their best work. Not as famous as Nevermind, not as raw as Bleach, but better than both. Rock to it, sing along to it, relax to it...just listen to it.

6. Vitalogy - Pearl Jam
From the beats of opening track 'Last Exit', to the sounds of the lil' boy in 'Hey Foxymophandlemama, that's me', this album goes. Recorded after Kurt's death, it is influenced (unknown to many a PJ fan) heavily by Cobain's demise. Legendary.

7. Achung Baby - U2
Best U2 album which showed their progression from just anti-war songs, to other influences and inspirations. Many say The Joshua Tree was their giant leap, but this album did it for me. 'One' is simply one of the greatest songs ever.

8. Foo Fighters - Foo Fighters
Self titled album by the fighters of foo, which officially kicks. Dave Grohl behind a microphone at his best.

9. Rage Against The Machine - Rage Against The Machine
RATM kicked it off with this baby, and 'Killing In The Name' brought them to the public. So many anger bands are almost direct rip off's of these guys, and De La Rocha shows his passion and anger beautifully. Also, one of the most hard-hitting covers.

10. Soulfly - Soulfly
Not as hard as Sep, but Max came out after his abandoning of Sep, and made this beauty. Mixing hard edged metal with traditional Brazilian influences, this tribal piece hits home. Showed how much Max can bring to a band, and instantly leapfrogged Sep in popularity and musical talent at the time.

So there ya's go. So many albums, so little space...

The Hitman

coxon
29 Nov 2001, 16:27
ah... will compile them in a sec..

starchild, figjam... great stuff...

ok computer is a must have..

Beck's Odelay is definitely my fav album of the 90's...

catalyst
29 Nov 2001, 16:32
Difficult choice this....mine are in no particular order:

Placebo - Black Market Music

Placebo - Without You I'm Nothing

Live - Secret Samadhi (or Throwing Copper)

Matchbox 20 - Matchbox 20

Matchbox 20 - Mad Season

Motor Ace - Five Star Laundry

Foo Fighters - There Is Nothing Left To Lose

silverchair - Neon Ballroom

The Goo Goo Dolls - Dizzy Up The Girl

Pearl Jam - either Vitalogy or Versus

gPhonque
29 Nov 2001, 16:44
Originally posted by The Hitman
5. In Utero - Nirvana
In my opinion, their best work. Not as famous as Nevermind, not as raw as Bleach, but better than both. Rock to it, sing along to it, relax to it...just listen to it.

Agree with you there. Nevermind was too nice. Bleach was too raw. (although had Mr Grohl been playing drums it would have been a different story...) In Utero on the other hand......"Milk It' just has to be the best Nirvana song ever. :)

Mcchawk
29 Nov 2001, 17:06
Originally posted by gPhonque

5. Stone Temple Pilots - Purple
Brendan O'Brien is a genius. This has to be the fattest and most "real" sounding album ever made. And the songs are as good as the sound.

Great to see someone thinks this band is worth a mention, great band pity about drugs and rock and roll

The_Flying_Egg
29 Nov 2001, 17:36
Hitter's turn...

[B]2. Blood Sex Sugar Magik - Red Hot Chili Peppers
Their best album, and while not perfect, it is bloody close. You can rock out, or be real mellow, which is a good quality in an album.

3. Ten - Pearl Jam
Best Pearl Jam album, classic PJ. My favorite band ever, and best album by Eddie and co.

6. Vitalogy - Pearl Jam
From the beats of opening track 'Last Exit', to the sounds of the lil' boy in 'Hey Foxymophandlemama, that's me', this album goes. Recorded after Kurt's death, it is influenced (unknown to many a PJ fan) heavily by Cobain's demise. Legendary.

I agree with everything you've said about these 3 albums, except for one thing. Hey Foxymophandlemama is without doubt the worste song Pearl Jam have ever put on an album :)

SydneyBomber
29 Nov 2001, 18:15
(In no particular order... well maybe alphabetical as I scan the CD rack!)

Carcass - Heartwork
Bit of a tossup between this and Necroticism (91), but I think Heartwork has stood the test of time a little better.... Both awesome though.

Cradle Of Filth - Cruelty And The Beast
Another one that was a bit of a tossup b/w this one, Principle, & Vempire. How can anyone go past a (loosley based) concept album all about Elizabeth Bathory?!

Death - Symbolic
Originators of an entire movement in heavy music pull out all stops with their playing abilities, whilst still writing some of the catchiest songs of their career. Gene Hoglan on drums is phenomenal.
Get well soon Chuck:(

Emperor - Anthems To The Welkin At Dusk
An absolute whirlwind of great production, extreme intricacy and aggression. Their first album ws great, but this blew it away IMHO.

Faith No More - Angel Dust
EVERY song a classic, and much betted/darker than 'The Real Thing'. Patton is still the best 'singer' I have had the pleasure of listening to.

The Haunted - The Haunted
Slayer & Kreator for the 90's! If you thought 'thrash' was dead during this period, check this out! Vicious!

Korn - Korn
Possibly a 'surprise' inclusion considering my 'heavier' tastes, but I cannot deny the impact it had when I first heard it.
ie. "How looooowww are they tuned?", and "Ohmigod, that's groovy, but STILL heavy!"
Found their following albums a bit hit & miss though, and not too keen on what they turned into (a trendy corporate monster?)

Napalm Death - Enemy Of The Music Business
How good is this album?! Another brilliant effort of catharsis and primal scream therapy! A great return to form, after a couple of average releases.

Nine Inch Nails - Broken
'Wish' is on this EP, nuff said!

Nine Inch Nails - Downward Spiral
A pretty big development from 'Broken', which lead the way for the even more experimental 'Fragile'.
I still hate 'Closer' though....

Suicidal Tendencies - Freedumb
Another great return to form from a band I grew up with! Speedy West coast HC, that did away with solo's (Rocky George is a great player though!), and got back to the meat of what they are all about!

I think that's eleven - sorry!

Also, this list may be revised as I keep listening to more of the latest Testament release - 'First Strike Still Deadly', where they redo some of the tracks from their first two albums with updated speed, and production. So good it's scary!

Honorable mention to the self titled Mr.Bungle debut that just missed out as it was released in 1990.
The creativity in this band, and the bassline in the chorus of 'Dead Goon' changed my life!
:D

If you like heavier stuff, and would like to investigate some songs of these bands (via mp3 searches etc), let me know and I'll point you in the right direction of the best stuff.;)

hawkfan5
29 Nov 2001, 18:57
1. The Living End - The Living End - Has all their classics on it, Save the Day, Prisoner of Society, Second Solution and West End Riot just to name a few and I pretty much just love their music

2. The Offspring- Americana Well after the success that 'Pretty Fly for A White Guy' had how could I resist going out and buying the album, what an album it turned out to be.

3. Green Day- Nimrod - Just love the music even though I have only been listening to it a whole lot recently.

Ok, I could only name three so far.... but that is because I have a mental block at the moment, I'll list my other faves later.

hawkfan5
29 Nov 2001, 19:00
4. Grace - Jeff Buckley
I own every album of his stuff on the market, he was an absolute freak. The only studio album which was released while he was alive, it is just classic Jeff. Who haven't heard this album, or of him, do yourself a favour. Beautiful music.

I've actually only heard one of his songs, havent had the chance to download more due to my download limits coming into play late in the month.

But that one song was an absolute beauty 'Last Goodbye'.

I just love that song now and play it constantly

brampta
29 Nov 2001, 19:20
1. Offspring - Smash
2. Nirvana - Nevermind
3. Powderfinger - Internationalist
4. Jebediah - Slightly Odway
5. The Living End - The Living End
6. Silverchair - Frogstomp
7. The Whitlams - Eternal Nightcap
8. Green Day - Dookie
and if I had to look at the more mainstream releases...
9. Shania Twain - Come on Over
10. Hoodoo Gurus - Electric Soup

Shinboners
29 Nov 2001, 19:36
Okay, not in any particular order (and I can't be arsed writing about them all, but anyway....I love making lists):

"Screamadelica" by Primal Scream
"At Home And Abroad With the Steinbecks" by the Steinbecks
"Heavenly Versus Satan" by Heavenly
"We're All Trying To Get There" by the Sugargliders
"For Keeps" by the Field Mice
"So Tough" by Saint Etienne
"Behaviour" by the Pet Shop Boys
"She Hangs Brightly" by Mazzy Star
"So Tonight That I Might See" by Mazzy Star
"Penny Century" by the Clouds
"Gun" by the Plums
"Marvin - The Album" by Frente!
"Loveless" by My Bloody Valentine
"Tigermilk" by Belle and Sebastian
"If You're Feeling Sinsister" by Belle and Sebastian
"The Boy With The Arab Strap" by Belle and Sebastian
"A Good Kind Of Nervous" by the Lucksmiths
"Hi-Fi Way" by You Am I
"Dummy" by Portishead
"Giant Steps" by the Boo Radleys

Macca19
29 Nov 2001, 19:47
[QUOTE]Originally posted by SydneyBomber
Cradle Of Filth - Cruelty And The Beast
Another one that was a bit of a tossup b/w this one, Principle, & Vempire. How can anyone go past a (loosley based) concept album all about Elizabeth Bathory?!

eveyrone has to have a favourite cradle album :) Cruelty i reckon is their best work.

Korn - Korn
Found their following albums a bit hit & miss though, and not too keen on what they turned into (a trendy corporate monster?)

I think this album was in the charts up until early this year i think!!! Thats an amazing effort seeing it was released in 94. At one stage Korn had all 4 albums in the top 40 in Australia - a huge effort really. Korn only hit big overseas with Got The Life. They were already huge in America tho. I dont reckon they sold out...Korns music has definatly progressivly got heavier...Issues was definatly the heaviest theyve done, and it was a smart move getting rid of Ross Robinson (the man who has spawned every single crappy rap metal band around). So yeah...i dont reckon they turned into a corporate image...if anything the musical public suddenly took a liking to heavy music.

Nine Inch Nails - Broken
'Wish' is on this EP, nuff said!

best song ever.

SydneyBomber
29 Nov 2001, 20:43

I think this album was in the charts up until early this year i think!!! Thats an amazing effort seeing it was released in 94. At one stage Korn had all 4 albums in the top 40 in Australia - a huge effort really. Korn only hit big overseas with Got The Life. They were already huge in America tho. I dont reckon they sold out...Korns music has definatly progressivly got heavier...Issues was definatly the heaviest theyve done, and it was a smart move getting rid of Ross Robinson (the man who has spawned every single crappy rap metal band around). So yeah...i dont reckon they turned into a corporate image...if anything the musical public suddenly took a liking to heavy music.

Issues wasn't bad actually, and there has been at least a couple of good songs on all of their other albums ('Good God' being one of their best actually), I just got a bit turned off by the teenyboppers and trend followers.

I can remember Korn when they were NOBODIES supporting Danzig throughout the States, and a friend of mine got 'Korn' before ANYONE I knew had ever heard of them.

I guess seeing bands you 'discover' before they get hugely successful is always a little bittersweet....

RE: 'Wish'
"26 years, and I'm on my way to hell" - The whole song (and esp. THAT line) was played about 100 times the night of my 26th b'day.;)

Too bad I'm no longer 26 years old huh!:(

gPhonque
29 Nov 2001, 20:45
Originally posted by Mcchawk

Great to see someone thinks this band is worth a mention, great band pity about drugs and rock and roll

No way! Have you got No. 4 ??? It's a great album and it's all about smack!!! In fact, apparently Scott Weiland was off his face all through the recording of it! And you can hear it in parts, but it's a better album for it. :)

Also, the new one is good too. And Tiny Music was good. So i guess i disagree with you. :p ;) Drugs do wonders to rock n roll, or music in general. (christ, if you get the right drugs, Britney Spears can sound good! :eek: :D

cheers!

jod23
29 Nov 2001, 20:51
Originally posted by TheMase

Thats a fantastic CD jod. I dont meet too many people that talk about them!!

Im with ya Mase. An awesome cd and its very rare when i come across someone who also like the Counting Crows..

jod23
29 Nov 2001, 20:55

No way! Have you got No. 4 ??? It's a great album and it's all about smack!!! In fact, apparently Scott Weiland was off his face all through the recording of it! And you can hear it in parts, but it's a better album for it. :)

Also, the new one is good too. And Tiny Music was good. So i guess i disagree with you. :p ;) Drugs do wonders to rock n roll, or music in general. (christ, if you get the right drugs, Britney Spears can sound good! :eek: :D

cheers!

Ive got No.4, great album and was probably unlucky not to make my top 10. 94's Purple was prolly better with tracks like Pretty Penny, Vaseline and the classic Interstate Love Song. But No.4 is very close behind, Down is a great song that starts off the album with a bang and other favourites include Church on a Tuesday, Sour Girl, I Got You and the classic ending track Atlanta.

Great Album.

jod23
29 Nov 2001, 20:57
Oh and i cant believe i forgot Live's Throwing Copper off my list. What an album, not one bad song on it...that would slot in right after MJ's Dangerous in 6th.

M29
29 Nov 2001, 21:12
I listen to alot of older stuff.
But the bands that would be in it would be:
Oasis
Coldplay
Guns and Roses
Travis

coxon
29 Nov 2001, 22:04
okayyy... in no particular order..

Beck - 'Odelay' .... the enchanted wizard of rhythm.. the coolest performer/musician in the world today...

Blur - 'Parklife'... so very brit.. this cd lifts my spirits everytime i'm feelin down... britpop at its very finest.... oi !!

Radiohead - 'OK Computer' ... cant compare this to anything else i own.. just mesmerising..

Gomez - 'Bring it on' ... wish more ppl in Aust knew about these guys... very dweeby/geeky.. but, this cd' is fantastic.. bluesy, and very unsual music~

Suede - 'Coming up'.. dont buy if if u dont like whiny & nasally sounding vocalist.. brett anderson has the most distinct voice...

Ash - '1977' ... infectious teen pop/rock melodies.. the then trio were teenagers when this album was released... makes silverchair look like dyslexic dumb c*nts...

Kulashaker - 'K'... great stuff... who would have thought i would ever be listening to brit rock music with sitars and songs with hindi lyrics?!

Mansun - 'Attack of the Grey Lantern'.. everytime i mention mansun to a friend, they think marilyn manson... %$@frick

Smashing Pumpkins - 'Mellon Collie and the infinite sadness'.. 2cd's worth of great music... much prefer the second cd (blue one)

Dr Dre - 'The Chronic'... dre at his finest.. featuring a young protege snoop doggy dogg... simply the greatest rap/hiphop album ever made~!

Olmy
29 Nov 2001, 22:30
I found it pretty hard just to limit it to 10 albums, so I went for 20 ;).

These are some of my favourites

Mine are all from the 90's (1990-1999, in alphabetical order by band).

If You're Feeling Sinister - Belle and Sebastian
Come Again - Even
Bring it On - Gomez
Mezzanine - Massive Attack
The Bends - Radiohead
OK Computer - Radiohead
Out of Time - R.E.M.
Automatic for the People - R.E.M.
Up - R.E.M.
Gish - Smashing Pumpkins
Siamese Dream - Smashing Pumpkins
Adore - Smashing Pumpkins
Dirty - Sonic Youth
Grave Dancers Union - Soul Asylum
Psyence Fiction - U.N.K.L.E (DJ Shadow and James Lavelle + Guests).
Zooropa - U2
A Storm in Heaven - (The) Verve
A Northern Soul - The Verve
Urban Hymns - The Verve
I can feel the heat beating as one - Yo La Tengo
Hi-Fi Way - You Am I

Since the '99, my favourites have included:

Sunsent Studies - Augie March
Lost Souls - Doves
Is This It - The Strokes
Get Ready - New Order
Fold your hands child, you walk like a peasant - Belle and Sebastian
Kid A - Radiohead
Amnesiac - Radiohead
Reveal - R.E.M.

Plus others.

Really any of these lists could go on for ages . . . as there are heaps and heaps of great albums around to listen to . . . if you have the time! ;)

Macca19
29 Nov 2001, 22:59

cheers!

STP are one of the great 90s bands. Fantastic, talented, it is a pity Scott Weiland spent most of the 90s in prison tho.
Sad thing is he got arrested again yesterday for alledgedly beating up his girlfriend.

Danny Chook Fan Club
29 Nov 2001, 23:09
Pardon my mainstream tastes ...

10. Jagged Little Pill - Alanis Morrissette: Often imitated, never bettered. Classic female introspection rock.

9. The Man Who - Travis: Five or six great pop song. Driftwood is a criminally underrated classic.

8. Album Of The Year - Faith No More: The finest moment from one of the finest bands of the last 20 years.

7. Urban Hymns - Verve: Strong from start to finish. I love Velvet Morning.

6. Definitely Maybe - Oasis: Punk meets pop in eleven excellent tunes. Started a whole genre.

5. All That You Can't Leave Behind - U2: Classes above their adult rock contemporaries.

4. Different Class - Pulp: Jarvis Cocker at his whiny, sneering, acerbic best.

3. Try Whistling This - Neil Finn: Musical genius.

2. Together Alone - Crowded House: Neil Finn is a musical genius.

1. Word Gets Around - Stereophonics: My favourite album of all. A Thousand Trees, More Life In A Tramp's Vest, Local Boy In A Photograph, Same Size Feet, and so on.

Macca19
29 Nov 2001, 23:16
[QUOTE]Originally posted by SydneyBomber

I can remember Korn when they were NOBODIES supporting Danzig throughout the States, and a friend of mine got 'Korn' before ANYONE I knew had ever heard of them.

I guess seeing bands you 'discover' before they get hugely successful is always a little bittersweet....

Yeah...i reckon i knew about Incubus before most people in Australia did...i ordered SCIENCE before anyone in australia had heard of them, before any store stocked it. Same with Spineshank...same with sevendust...its good to see bands youve liked since they first came out get some recognition after a while.

RE: 'Wish'
"26 years, and I'm on my way to hell" - The whole song (and esp. THAT line) was played about 100 times the night of my 26th b'day.;)

classic song!!! Pinion is the perfect starter for the song as well. I love Pinion. I love NIN. NIN are great :D

my fav line in that song is "put my faith in god, my trust in you, now theres nothing more f**ked up i can do"

Best song ever!!!
The heavy *noise* after each verse line is just great

coxon
30 Nov 2001, 00:12
Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
Pardon my mainstream tastes ...

4. Different Class - Pulp: Jarvis Cocker at his whiny, sneering, acerbic best.

oh shyte... left this one out of my list.. argh!
i'll sub in jarvis cocker.. strike out crispian mills (kulashaker's K)

SydneyBomber
30 Nov 2001, 06:35

my fav line in that song is "put my faith in god, my trust in you, now theres nothing more f**ked up i can do"

Best song ever!!!
The heavy *noise* after each verse line is just great

How about:
"Don't think you're having all the fun, you know me.. I hate EVERYONE!"

In fact I think I've just found my new sig!;)

The Starchild
30 Nov 2001, 08:15
Originally posted by coxon
Gomez - 'Bring it on' ... wish more ppl in Aust knew about these guys... very dweeby/geeky.. but, this cd' is fantastic.. bluesy, and very unsual music~

Suede - 'Coming up'.. dont buy if if u dont like whiny & nasally sounding vocalist.. brett anderson has the most distinct voice...
I saw Gomez when they played at the Shepherds Bush Forum (joint next to the Walkie) about 3 years ago, they were huge in the UK but never seemed to get played here much. That's a good thing. I don't go for the grunge style that prevails here so much these days, aust radio is badly closed off to new music and that annoys me badly but what can you do???

Anyway my fav Gomez is off their earlier album, with Tijuana Woman etc, excellent album all round (forgotten the name right now though).

I was close to putting in Suede, close to putting in plenty but you can only name 10 so they got cut. Pulp are pretty good, Coldplay not too bad, Travis good, Richard Ashcroft's album is excellent too in the same style.

Has anyone checked out Mogwai?? They got a great album too but I don't know one creature in Australia that has ever even heard of them. What a sad musical society we live in here!

Stereophonics are good but jeez best ever? Big call DCFC. I actually preferred 'Performance & Co-cktails'.

Another band that were very very stiff not to get in were Supergrass, they've made some brilliant stuff.

Mcchawk
30 Nov 2001, 08:28

cheers!

Have all of those albums mentioned but the point I'm making is the band will never tour Australia due to Scott's drug problem. Also under substance abuse last new years eve Robbie Williams and Kylie Minogue sounded good!:rolleyes: Go figure

The Hitman
30 Nov 2001, 09:48
One that got close to mine was the Dandy Warhols '13 Tales From Urban Bohemia'. Bloody awesome album.

Whataya think?

The Hitman

The Starchild
30 Nov 2001, 10:05
Yeah not bad the Dandy album but not in the top10, that'd be another big call to make.

More I think about this the more i think you could list 50 that would be worthy.

Naming the number 1 is much easier than naming 10. Radiohead by a long way.

gPhonque
30 Nov 2001, 11:00
Originally posted by Mcchawk

Have all of those albums mentioned but the point I'm making is the band will never tour Australia due to Scott's drug problem.

Ah yeah - good point. :(

coxon
30 Nov 2001, 12:04

Has anyone checked out Mogwai?? They got a great album too but I don't know one creature in Australia that has ever even heard of them. What a sad musical society we live in here!

Another band that were very very stiff not to get in were Supergrass, they've made some brilliant stuff.

ah.. great stuff...

mogwai.. i've only heard one of their songs.. some instrumental one, or is all their stuff like that? wasnt too keen on them after the frontman made their 'blur are sh1te' campaign.. :P

supergrasss.. yeah, they were close to my ten..
left computer on while i slept, and downloaded a full supergrass concert last nite on windows media file..havent got around to watching it yet..

The Starchild
30 Nov 2001, 13:20
cox what do you think of sigur ros?

I saw them supporting Radiohead in Paris twice last year, they were amazing. Had beer with the guitarist from Tool there too, bit of a spinout that the only English speaking dude I met (apart from the guys i was with) was a dude from Tool.

Shinboners
30 Nov 2001, 14:59
Starchild,

Yep, I've heard some Mogwai and Sigur Ros....neither band do much for me (I don't enjoy Radiohead either)

But if you're really into bands that do that really involving and atmospheric style of music, you might want to check out "Low" (an American band) or "The Art of Fighting" (a Melbourne band). Neither of these bands are as, I guess (and this could be a bad term) "experimental" as Mogwai et al, but they have the ability to create a certain soundscape.

Oh, there's also another Melbourne band named "Architecture In Helskini" that you might want to check out as well.

coxon
30 Nov 2001, 16:00

I saw them supporting Radiohead in Paris twice last year, they were amazing. Had beer with the guitarist from Tool there too, bit of a spinout that the only English speaking dude I met (apart from the guys i was with) was a dude from Tool.

heard of that name, but i havent heard their stuff yet..

are any of u fans of the manic street preachers?
they get alot of press, but i havent heard anything that appeals to me..

Danny Chook Fan Club
30 Nov 2001, 16:15
Originally posted by coxon
are any of u fans of the manic street preachers?
they get alot of press, but i havent heard anything that appeals to me.. I like them. Everything Must Go is a regular in my CD player.

The Hitman
30 Nov 2001, 18:02
Had beer with the guitarist from Tool there too, bit of a spinout that the only English speaking dude I met (apart from the guys i was with) was a dude from Tool.

How could I forget 'Aenema'? :( :mad:

Man, 10 albums is too hard... :o

The Hitman

FIGJAM
3 Dec 2001, 08:36

There are a heap of bands that have benefited from the Radiohead "seal of approval".

Godspeed Your Black Emperor, Sparklehorse, Sigur Ros, Boards of Canada, Autechre & Aphex Twin are all groups that have had the nod from at least one of the lads.

The thing that sort of links all of these bands together (and Radiohead's last few albums) is the distinct lack of a formulae, or more specifically, the lack of a catch. Although seemingly difficult to listen to at the beginning, repeated listens will have you hooked.

I don't buy many CD's and have listened to most of these bands in mp3 format only (I don't burn CD's).

Aphex Twin is fairly well known already, so out of the other groups based on what I've heard, I think I would go for GYBE first. I don't know if their album's are readily available in Australia.

I am sure I would get to like Sigur more once I hear more of their work. It's just a little wierd hearing a bloke sing like a chick. I know it is cold in Iceland, but what the??? Seriously though, they produce some beautiful sounds and when I have time and money to get into them more, I will.

Shinboners
3 Dec 2001, 12:58
Originally posted by FIGJAM
I think I would go for GYBE first. I don't know if their album's are readily available in Australia.

Your local indie shop will have GYBE (and for that matter, Autreche, Boards Of Canada etc.) CDs in their racks. In Melbourne, try PolyEster, AuGoGo, Greville, Missing Link, and Heartland.

FIGJAM
3 Dec 2001, 13:24
Originally posted by Shinboners
Your local indie shop will have GYBE (and for that matter, Autreche, Boards Of Canada etc.) CDs in their racks. In Melbourne, try PolyEster, AuGoGo, Greville, Missing Link, and Heartland.
Thanks Shinners.

Now if only I could stop drinking all my money...

Darky
4 Dec 2001, 00:49
Too many to choose from, but those that stand out :

Arch Enemy - Burning Bridges (1999)
Glenn Tipton - BaptiZm Of Fire (1997)
AC/DC - The Razor's Edge (1990)
DAD - Riskin' It All (1991)
DAD - Helpyourselfish (1995)
Slayer - Seasons In The Abyss (1991)
Helloween - Master Of The Rings (1994)

That's not counting live albums or compilations.